About The French Kitchen - Lord Baltimore Hotel

20 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Located at the top of the lobby’s grand staircase in the historic mirrored Versailles Room, this elegant restaurant focuses on market-driven interpretations of classic French bistro fare. French Kitchen serves dinner, as well as special holiday meals.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast- Monday thru Friday 6:30am-10:30am, Saturday and Sunday 6:30am-11am


Lunch – Monday- Friday 11:30am-2pm


Dinner- Friday and Saturday only 5:30pm-9p

Cross Street:
Hanover Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-5257

Website:
http://www.lordbaltimorehotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking accessed via Hanover Street

Public Transit:
On Charm City Circulator Route,
Across Street from Bus Terminals & Metro,
3 Blocks from Light Rail

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The French Kitchen - Lord Baltimore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Business Meals (3)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

would have liked to have French food for ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

would have liked to have French food for lunch. The waitress with excellent plus because I had a disability and she respected it . She read me the menu planned and very attentive

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The French Kitchen is a beautiful restau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The French Kitchen is a beautiful restaurant with excellent food at good prices. We were there on a Saturday evening, a party of 9, and the place was empty. With 9, we had a great time. If there had been 2 of us, it would have been terribly awkward. There is a beautiful white bar adjacent to the dining room where we wanted to have a drink, but it was closed. We were told it was closed due to the fact that the hotel was not full. We were disappointed that we had to use the lobby bar instead.

The décor and caliber of the restaurant calls for more than a typical, dark lobby bar for a before or after dinner drink. TFK and/or the Lord Baltimore Hotel needs to up its marketing so that the white bar becomes a revenue generator and a feeder for the lovely dining room. SO many people have never heard of TFK and that is a shame.

The service was attentive but the food was slow coming out of the kitchen which was surprising since there were literally 5 other tables of 2 and 3 the entire time we were there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We went to the French Kitchen with high ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went to the French Kitchen with high hopes. Our pre-dinner cocktails were lovely and well made. Our appetizers were good also. Then came the wait. Our entrees came almost an hour later. Mine was very good and the correct temperature. My husband's was cold. The waiter, who was lovely and knowledgeable, disappeared for large chunks of time. In the end, he said we could have dessert on the house. We chose strawberries and crepe which turned to be more like strawberry cheesecake. This restaurant has great potential but is not there yet.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was fantastic but the service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was fantastic but the service was painfully slow. The staff was very friendly. If they moved a little quicker, bringing the drinks, the food, the check etc, then it would be a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Our meal was delicious, but the acoustic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our meal was delicious, but the acoustics are terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great ambience and location. Food portio ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great ambience and location. Food portion size was good and tasted delicious. Parking was included.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, fantastic service, beautiful ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, fantastic service, beautiful dining room, two bars, and a speak easy room, all located in a beautiful, historic hotel. Who could ask for more? Ours was a party of 10, and everyone agreed, The French Kitchen is on our list for another visit. We had a fantastic time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service - Excellent Menu - Exc ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent Service - Excellent Menu - Excellent Food - Good Prices - Great Surroundings

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful girls' lunch, I had s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We had a wonderful girls' lunch, I had salmon and my friend had rockfish. Both meals excellent with warm bread on the side. The restaurant is beautiful and the hotel had a lovely holiday tree display. Free valet parking makes it easy to do a weekday lunch. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

6 friends gathered for lunch and our exp ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

6 friends gathered for lunch and our experience exceeded expectations. Our 2 soups were interesting and delicious. The Caesar salad and our sandwiches were way above average. And bring your appetite because the servings were generous.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, ambiance and service. A ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very good food, ambiance and service. A delicious crab cake that the out of townerx really enjoyed. Our server, Isis, was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a beautiful restaurant, but empty ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It is a beautiful restaurant, but empty the night we went. The food from the limited menu was very good. It is now only open on Friday and Saturday nights. Sadly, I suspect that this restaurant will close or be reorganized very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The atmosphere at the French kitchen was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The atmosphere at the French kitchen was great, the entire dining experience however, was lacking. Our server was unable to answer simple questions about the menu. Her standard of professionalism for a restaurant of such caliber (or should I say a restaurant trying to pull off such caliber) was grossly lacking. My $36 filet & lump crab was very tasty...but I wouldn't pay that much for it again. My friend ordered the rockfish entree- the fish was slightly overdone. It could have been good with a sauce of some type. Everything could have been hotter. We also had a very long wait from the time our order was placed until we received our meal-about 25-30 minutes (we did not order apps or salad). The portion sizes were reasonable.

This is such a neat hotel and dinning room. If they had better service I would not have minded paying such high prices for the food... too bad it could be a very hang out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Pretty setting - food ok

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2016

The server was very attentive , Best thing about the meal was the beet salad - highly recommend it. One of us had the NY and the other beef bourguignon. Average. Nice setting, quiet so good for business conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A very elegant dining experience.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2016

The dining room was too cold. The restaurant is very elegant and has great ambiance. The décor is magnificent. I highly recommend and look forward to going there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful room..there was only 3 tables ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2016

Beautiful room..there was only 3 tables filled. They had a limited menu food was good..but not memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were the only ones in the entire plac ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 18, 2016

We were the only ones in the entire place. Service was decent. Ambience felt more like eating in a hall of an economy hotel. The food was okay. I would not return not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

New Year's Eve

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Lord Baltimore Hotel for New Year's Eve. We decided to dine at the restaurant located inside the Hotel. The food and service at The French Kitchen were great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Kitchen is a misnomer!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Just like saying The French Laundry in Sonoma CA is a bistro. New Years Eve was a joy of surprises for our first visit. The prix-fixe menu covered land, sea and veggie choices of distinction. The "good luck" black-eyed pea fritter was imaginative and served with a piquant sauce. The violin and keyboard ensemble that played through dinner was top-notch and played at the perfect level to insure ambiance, yet easy conversations at even the largest tables. Dessert was not spectacular, hence only four stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely New Year's Even Fixed Price Dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Exceptional cuisine and lovely setting with terrific service. The french onion soup was luscious and the prime rib was massive and tasty. Complimentary champaign was just one of the lovely touches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to expectations.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2015

We arrived to be told the dining room was closed due to "private party" despite our reservation. This was changed to they were honoring those with reservations. Waitress not very knowledgeable or friendly. Food mediocre. Saving grace was time to catch up with my daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The restaurant is beautiful inside and I ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2015

The restaurant is beautiful inside and I can imagine even more so during the evening. We had lunch and it was very good. I would like to go back and try the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A hidden gem

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2015

Loved the food, this historic hotel is amazing a truly historic landmark of Baltimore. I love the decor, the staff is great and I will come back again

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Going to try again

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2015

Brilliant ambience and excellent attentive service. We were there on a weekday afternoon and the usual chef was on leave. With the exception of the best tomato soup I've ever tasted and a nice pork terrine the fare was ordinary. A chicken salad sandwich served with stale chips disappointed. We will come for dinner and give it another shot when chef is working. I am, for some reason, optimistic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Lazlo

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Only OK.

Pretty room and so-so food. Some of my issues are:

Our bottle of wine was not opened at the table but poured in back and brought out. It was awful and the server happily brought another, this time opened table side although no taste was offered until requested. The original bottle was comped.

Appetizers were entree size. My salmon soufflé was oddly a large piece of salmon with a soufflé like sauce. Not what I had envisioned. Escargot was served in a pot and not in shells. Pate was enough for the table. All too big. Entrees uneventful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Expertly done food in a magnificent setting

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2015

The French Kitchen certainly lived up to its name for us, serving some of the best classic bistro dishes impeccably done. The room itself is spectacular -- so refreshing to dine in a restaurant with a grand, classical ambiance rather than the cookie-cutter contemporary style of most new places. Yet it still has a bright, stylish, modern flair. Service was friendly, attentive and professional. Highlights of our meal were a flawless beef tartar, a delicious and plentiful beef bourguignon, and possibly the best omelet I've ever tasted -- just tomato and brie, with a small green side salad, but a perfect meal. Looking forward to return visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Downtown Lunch Venue

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 17, 2015

Wow - complimentary valet parking for lunch at the French Kitchen .. we had a wonderful meal in a unique room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Well prepared food in a beautiful room

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2015

The restaurant is very beautiful--instantly makes you feel inclined to enjoy your meal. Luckily, the food is worthy of the room. Well prepared and beautifully presented dishes. Will eat here again, and hopefully soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A lovely spot

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2015

We had dinner here on July 30, 2015. The restaurant was rather empty at 8 PM, which made me wonder how long they would be able to remain open if this was a typical Thursday evening. Excellent, friendly and helpful service, and as it was restaurant week, I had the available Cesar salad variation and the the scottish salmon souffle, both excellent. The sherbert based dessert was sublime. Reasonable and pleasant wine list. The room itself is just beautiful. All together, such a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wanted to be impressed, but was not

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2015

We ate at the French Kitchen during Restaurant Week. The room was bright and open and the service was good, although it seemed a bit short staffed. The food: Disappointment. I could have done better at home with the same ingredients. The best dish of the night was the Caesar salad with real anchovies. The chicken pollard should have been kept in the kitchen - a boring thin slice of sauted chicken with a little bit of brown gravy. The French onion soup was strange - way too much vinegar and not enough deep savory flavor in the broth. We will not be returning unless the kitchen improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Loved the decor and furniture in the res ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Loved the decor and furniture in the restaurant. We had a lovely dinner with great food in a very relaxing atmosphere. Robin was a great waitress and the manager and chef stopped by our table as well to check in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marvelous! Everything was perfect. All ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Marvelous! Everything was perfect. All 5 of us “seasoned foodies” -- no pun intended -- were impressed! Katie was our server and was wonderful -- very attentive, but not intrusive, provided a history of the hotel, knew the menu and its preparation, and waited until everyone was finished to clear our plates after each course. Four of us had the salmon and one had scallops. All were delicious! The salads were very nice and the French onion soup was served in a clear glass bowl and was delightful; full of flavor and onions without too much cheese. One person had escargot and said they were delicious – just right! Desserts were beautiful, decadent, and delicious! Many of the staff stopped by our table to chat and make sure we were satisfied. We even had a tour of the 2nd floor ballroom which is beautiful and has historical photos of Baltimore on the walls. We had a truly great dining experience and that is how it should be, right? HDM

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting, great company, mediocre m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Great setting, great company, mediocre meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Food was awesome

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2015

Food was awesome first restaurant I've been to in which I was able to finish the food and wanted more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

OK downtown hotel food

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2015

Got to give them credit for offering french brasserie food and a live jazz cocktail piano in a part of town without many choices. But, they were out of my entree and wine selections. My beef bourguignon came out hot - except the meat was still cold! So, a mixed bag in the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice atmosphere, convenient in town dining

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2015

This restaurant was very pleasant for a relaxing dinner in the city. Service was very good; food was good, however, wine list was non-existent! We were told by our server they were undergoing a revamping of the wine cellar and they did not have a wine list to give us; however, they would accommodate us with what was left - by the glass or by the bottle. The wine was "okay" and the meal was good, but not gourmet. Dessert was good, but uninspired. For the convenience, I would come here again if staying at the hotel, but would not seek it out as a destination.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had the best duck confit and boeuf bo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2015

We had the best duck confit and boeuf bourguignon since Paris. This place deserves more attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointing dinner

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2015

My wife and I as well as three friends went to The French Kitchen on a Saturday evening at 6:00 PM before going to a play. We were the only guests in the entire restaurant and were informed that it had just "reopened" with a new chef the day prior. All of us ordered drinks/wine, appetizers and entrees. After 30 minutes had passed, I waved down our waitress and asked about the status of our order. I was informed that it was delayed since the kitchen staff couldn't find an oyster knife to shuck the oysters that had been ordered; we cancelled that order immediately. When the remaining appetizers eventually arrived, they were ok. My pate was good. The tomato soup likewise was good but tepid. The caesar salad was likewise ok. The entrees on the other hand were pitiful. I had ordered scallops. What arrived was 3 scallops on wilted greens, nothing else.... an appetizer size portion ($29). My wife's boeuf bourguignon likewise was quite small (3 pieces of beef with a few vegetables). The other meal, chicken, was dry. I left the restaurant hungry and not satisfied! DON'T bother to come to The French Kitchen. There are much better venues in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Slipped to very ordinary.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2015

Went for special occasion last year and was impressed. Disappointed this time. Maybe between chefs? We have so many great food choices in Baltimore. Ok if staying in hotel. Will make no further "special" trip. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Really good restaurant - but no "Hall of Mirrors"

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We went for Valentines Day dinner, expecting a good meal in a space fashioned after the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles.

The meal was wonderful - we had lobster bisque and crab souffle for starters, and coq au vin and cod for the principal dish. All of these dishes were remarkable in some good way!

The service was outstanding and friendly - knowledgeable on the menu, timely and attentive, and everything with a smile.

The only "complaint" was that the dining room was advertised as being fashioned after the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles - but other than being rectangular in shape with tall windows on one side and mirrors over doors on the other, its nothing like the Hall of Mirrors. We thought the decor detracted from their efforts - the Hall of Mirrors conjured up images of elegance, perhaps white linen with brilliant stemware and candles - but the table settings are mundane.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.