About The French Kitchen - Lord Baltimore Hotel

Located at the top of the lobby’s grand staircase in the historic mirrored Versailles Room, this elegant restaurant focuses on market-driven interpretations of classic French bistro fare. French Kitchen serves dinner, as well as special holiday meals.

20 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast- Monday - Friday 7:00 am-10:30am,
Saturday and Sunday 7:00 am-11:00am

Lunch – Monday - Friday 11:30am-2pm

Dinner- Wednesday - Saturday only 5:30pm-9:00p

**These hours are subject to change without notice due to Private events

Cross Street:
Hanover Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-5257

Website:
http://www.lordbaltimorehotel.com/

Public Transit:
On Charm City Circulator Route,
Across Street from Bus Terminals & Metro,
3 Blocks from Light Rail

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The French Kitchen - Lord Baltimore Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Historic (3)
See All
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The setting is lovely in a Historic Hotel of America, and close to Baltimore's Inner Harbor, theaters, and sports complexes. Our server was friendly, attentive, and made great recommendations. Every aspect of our meal was perfection; we cannot rate it highly enough.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very friendly helpful staff, very good food in a wonderful atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Beautiful dining room in a classy, restored historic hotel. Excellent presentation and preparation. I would prefer the wine list to be a little deeper. Most people dining at a restaurant named "The French Kitchen " will want to go beyond Cote du Rhone and Cru Bourgeois Bordeaux. I coordinated a large party and wasn't thrilled about the plastic event chairs. But, that's a minor detail. I would absolutely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Old hotel in a city in need of a serious clean up. Providing a restaurant for hotel patrons is a necessity and that pretty much is the effort put forward. Food was ok. Service was awful. Took forever to get our food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Breakfast was decent, nothing to really rave over. Standard, simple plates served, which is good when dining with a 3-yr old. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, fruit, etc. Waiter was accommodating and provided paper and crayons. I only wish he wouldn't have put the check on the table before we had finished eating. As a matter of fact, the bill arrived as soon as he put our plates down. Big no-no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great new spot in beautifully renovated turn of the century ballroom. Staff a little overwhelmed by the last minute reservations but food was great when it arrived. White bar is pretty cool

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I should have known better,
Lots of mixed reviews.
Arrived at 6:30, people at only 4 or 5 tables place was 80% empty.
We order drinks and dinner all at the same time I ordered a salad before dinner salad didn't come for over an hour and I'm not exaggerating, never saw our meal, we left.
1 waitress for the whole restaurant on a Saturday night. What were they thinking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife's and my first time at this place. Food was okay. My vegetables were cold, but the steak was very good. Service was a bit spotty: I could tell they were trying to be attentive, but I got the sense they were short on staff. Also, it took too long to get served. Very attractive setting and the bar area is quite classy. Would probably give these folks another chance.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I had a difficult time rating this restaurant. Its absolutely beautiful inside, but we were seated outside of the restaurant on the interior balcony overlooking the hotel lobby, so we didn't get to enjoy the ambiance at all. I would suggest requesting an inside table. Our server was very friendly and attentive, and while the menu was not extensive, the dishes we had were all very good (crab fondue, crabcakes, lentil salad). We came for dinner at 6:15, plenty of time to make an 8 o'clock show at the Hippodrome, and we told the waiter our time constraints at the beginning. But as time passed and it became clear we would have to choose between inhaling our $30 entrees or miss the shows start, we were less than thrilled. Our food arrived just after 7:30, giving us not much time to eat and enjoy. However, the waiter assured us right away, and without us asking, that our entire bill would be comped due to this. That made a world of difference and is why I will definitely be giving French Kitchen another chance.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

in town for a show across the street at the royal farms arena. food was fabulous. loved the charm in the old hotel. def recommend if you are in the area and looking for french food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very nice place, excellent food, friendly staff, tasty entrees

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

On a cold afternoon, the sun pouring in through the elegant two-story windows made this a great place for lunch. It's been restored to its 1920s elegance, but the service is anything but stuffy--very warm and friendly in fact. The rockfish special of the day made a meatless Friday in Lent no penance whatsoever. The lunch menu has all the basics plus a few very imaginative choices. The three of us loved it and will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We made a reservation for 8:30 on same afternoon-Friday. When we arrived on time we were told that the kitchen closes at 8:30 and they couldn't serve us. The reservation was confirmed and we received no notice that it couldn't be honored. No explanation or apology.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Good food, good service. Great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great restaurant for a pre-show dinner and drinks near the Baltimore theatre district.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

would have liked to have French food for lunch. The waitress with excellent plus because I had a disability and she respected it . She read me the menu planned and very attentive

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The French Kitchen is a beautiful restaurant with excellent food at good prices. We were there on a Saturday evening, a party of 9, and the place was empty. With 9, we had a great time. If there had been 2 of us, it would have been terribly awkward. There is a beautiful white bar adjacent to the dining room where we wanted to have a drink, but it was closed. We were told it was closed due to the fact that the hotel was not full. We were disappointed that we had to use the lobby bar instead.
The décor and caliber of the restaurant calls for more than a typical, dark lobby bar for a before or after dinner drink. TFK and/or the Lord Baltimore Hotel needs to up its marketing so that the white bar becomes a revenue generator and a feeder for the lovely dining room. SO many people have never heard of TFK and that is a shame.
The service was attentive but the food was slow coming out of the kitchen which was surprising since there were literally 5 other tables of 2 and 3 the entire time we were there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went to the French Kitchen with high hopes. Our pre-dinner cocktails were lovely and well made. Our appetizers were good also. Then came the wait. Our entrees came almost an hour later. Mine was very good and the correct temperature. My husband's was cold. The waiter, who was lovely and knowledgeable, disappeared for large chunks of time. In the end, he said we could have dessert on the house. We chose strawberries and crepe which turned to be more like strawberry cheesecake. This restaurant has great potential but is not there yet.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was fantastic but the service was painfully slow. The staff was very friendly. If they moved a little quicker, bringing the drinks, the food, the check etc, then it would be a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our meal was delicious, but the acoustics are terrible.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great ambience and location. Food portion size was good and tasted delicious. Parking was included.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, fantastic service, beautiful dining room, two bars, and a speak easy room, all located in a beautiful, historic hotel. Who could ask for more? Ours was a party of 10, and everyone agreed, The French Kitchen is on our list for another visit. We had a fantastic time!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent Service - Excellent Menu - Excellent Food - Good Prices - Great Surroundings

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We had a wonderful girls' lunch, I had salmon and my friend had rockfish. Both meals excellent with warm bread on the side. The restaurant is beautiful and the hotel had a lovely holiday tree display. Free valet parking makes it easy to do a weekday lunch. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

6 friends gathered for lunch and our experience exceeded expectations. Our 2 soups were interesting and delicious. The Caesar salad and our sandwiches were way above average. And bring your appetite because the servings were generous.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very good food, ambiance and service. A delicious crab cake that the out of townerx really enjoyed. Our server, Isis, was terrific.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It is a beautiful restaurant, but empty the night we went. The food from the limited menu was very good. It is now only open on Friday and Saturday nights. Sadly, I suspect that this restaurant will close or be reorganized very soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The atmosphere at the French kitchen was great, the entire dining experience however, was lacking. Our server was unable to answer simple questions about the menu. Her standard of professionalism for a restaurant of such caliber (or should I say a restaurant trying to pull off such caliber) was grossly lacking. My $36 filet & lump crab was very tasty...but I wouldn't pay that much for it again. My friend ordered the rockfish entree- the fish was slightly overdone. It could have been good with a sauce of some type. Everything could have been hotter. We also had a very long wait from the time our order was placed until we received our meal-about 25-30 minutes (we did not order apps or salad). The portion sizes were reasonable.
This is such a neat hotel and dinning room. If they had better service I would not have minded paying such high prices for the food... too bad it could be a very hang out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2016

The server was very attentive , Best thing about the meal was the beet salad - highly recommend it. One of us had the NY and the other beef bourguignon. Average. Nice setting, quiet so good for business conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2016

The dining room was too cold. The restaurant is very elegant and has great ambiance. The décor is magnificent. I highly recommend and look forward to going there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2016

Beautiful room..there was only 3 tables filled. They had a limited menu food was good..but not memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 18, 2016

We were the only ones in the entire place. Service was decent. Ambience felt more like eating in a hall of an economy hotel. The food was okay. I would not return not recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Lord Baltimore Hotel for New Year's Eve. We decided to dine at the restaurant located inside the Hotel. The food and service at The French Kitchen were great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Just like saying The French Laundry in Sonoma CA is a bistro. New Years Eve was a joy of surprises for our first visit. The prix-fixe menu covered land, sea and veggie choices of distinction. The "good luck" black-eyed pea fritter was imaginative and served with a piquant sauce. The violin and keyboard ensemble that played through dinner was top-notch and played at the perfect level to insure ambiance, yet easy conversations at even the largest tables. Dessert was not spectacular, hence only four stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Exceptional cuisine and lovely setting with terrific service. The french onion soup was luscious and the prime rib was massive and tasty. Complimentary champaign was just one of the lovely touches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2015

We arrived to be told the dining room was closed due to "private party" despite our reservation. This was changed to they were honoring those with reservations. Waitress not very knowledgeable or friendly. Food mediocre. Saving grace was time to catch up with my daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2015

The restaurant is beautiful inside and I can imagine even more so during the evening. We had lunch and it was very good. I would like to go back and try the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2015

Loved the food, this historic hotel is amazing a truly historic landmark of Baltimore. I love the decor, the staff is great and I will come back again

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2015

Brilliant ambience and excellent attentive service. We were there on a weekday afternoon and the usual chef was on leave. With the exception of the best tomato soup I've ever tasted and a nice pork terrine the fare was ordinary. A chicken salad sandwich served with stale chips disappointed. We will come for dinner and give it another shot when chef is working. I am, for some reason, optimistic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Only OK.
Pretty room and so-so food. Some of my issues are:
Our bottle of wine was not opened at the table but poured in back and brought out. It was awful and the server happily brought another, this time opened table side although no taste was offered until requested. The original bottle was comped.
Appetizers were entree size. My salmon soufflé was oddly a large piece of salmon with a soufflé like sauce. Not what I had envisioned. Escargot was served in a pot and not in shells. Pate was enough for the table. All too big. Entrees uneventful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.