About The Free Press Bistro

#80, 10014 - 104 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0Z1
View Larger Map

“4 spoons out of 5”


-The Edmonton Sun



A hip newspaper-themed panino bar in downtown Edmonton. Specializing in hot pressed sandwiches and pasta.



Live music venue. Located on 104 St - South of Jasper Avenue.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
100 Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 497-7784

Website:
http://www.freepressbistro.virb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music. Check our calendar for events.
April 11: John Schogen Band (Blues) 7 pm
May 9: Lana Lenore & Co. (Pop) 7 pm

Catering:
Our signature hot-pressed sandwiches, homemade potato chips, salads,
soup and desert are all available for catering delivery or take out in the downtown Edmonton area.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of street parking at meters (free after 6:00pm) and a public pay lot right across the street.

Public Transit:
We are one block south of Jasper Ave. There are a number of buses that stop right at the corner, we are also right down the block from The Bay LRT station.

Executive Chef:
Natalya Shekhter

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
'80s Tuesdays: '80s Music. '80s Prices.

$4 Beer and $4 Hi-Balls every Tuesday at The Free Press.

The Free Press Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.0

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sandwich was okay but not great. Fries a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Sandwich was okay but not great. Fries accompanying the sandwich were slightly soggy (oily).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was ver clean & the server were very ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

It was ver clean & the server were very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent choice for lunch

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The Free Press Bistro is an excellent choice for lunch. Their tomato vegetable soup, known as The Soup, is the best I've ever had - hands down. They have a great variety of pressed sandwiches, no matter what you are craving. The servers here are friendly and give excellent service. The meal is also served fairly quickly so you have lots of time to eat or visit. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Free Press Bistro

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

I've been going to Free Press for years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointment

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I have eaten lunch here several times and the sandwiches are very good. The special menu for the Dining Week may have taken them out of the comfort zone.

Presentation was poor and taste left allot to be desired. Quantity was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

great place to go for a quick bite servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

great place to go for a quick bite

service was fast and efficient

daughter and I split a dish and it was brought to us on two plates...much appreciated

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

January 2016 - place has really gone downhill.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Visited this place again after a few years. Service was TERRIBLE - understaffed and who they did have were too slow. The food took 25 minutes to cook - not reasonable for a grilled sandwich. All items tasted really over-processed. The only bright spot was the free refill on the soda pop and the italian salad that accompanied my sandwich - for an extra $1.50. Would NOT go back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Always great

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

I've eaten here at least 10 times and i've never had a problem with the food or service. I really like the potato salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Try somewhere else.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

I had heard good things about the place and was excited to go and try it out. The server accidentally got my order incorrectly which happens. However since dinning there with my girlfriend we have both had digestive issues.

Personally I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

There service, location and ambiance was ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

There service, location and ambiance was great.

The food was was not good. I had the beet salad with chicken and it came with chicken breast that was pre cooked then left in the fridge which resulted in a cold dry piece of meat. It had a similar feel to the premade salads from ikea or other cafeterias.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Amazing lunch spot!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

This was the first time for our group to visit The Free Press Bistro. They accommodated our party of 8 by having our orders placed before arrival. We were seated immediately, received our beverages followed by our hot meal. We were able to eat & visit and still meet our short lunch schedule. The food was terrific! Very fresh, flavorable and the home cut chips were the perfect side order. We all ordered a different item and no one was disappointed. The portions were just perfect for lunch. The restaurant is very clean, great service, the servers were very courteous and the experience was great. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sadly lacking

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

I went for lunch with my coworkers and based on the online menu we were all very excited. Unfortunately the overall experience was a disappointment as the food was universally bland and unimpressive. The sandwiches had more bread than filling and my fry portion was about 1/2 the size of my friend's who ordered the same thing. I also got the Thai chicken salad to go which was awful, it tasted like something you would buy at Safeway but not as fresh! All the sandwiches are the same price - not a bad deal if you're getting a burger with the works but a bit pricy for a simple grilled cheese. The service was friendly but quite unorganized - the only time we were approached for refills on our drinks was after we had already paid and put on our coats to leave! It's a shame because it's a cute little restaurant with a lot of potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The food was good but not life changing, ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 6, 2015

The food was good but not life changing, the service was good and we were seated quickly at lunch even though it was busy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Rock Solid for a Business Lunch

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

This is an excellent lunch spot for the business crowd.

Consistent food quality, speedy service, medium noise.

With reservations in and out in 45 - 60 minutes.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place will cheer you up.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Comfort food. I do not care what else you order you must try the soup everyone talks about. It is absolutely lovely. The server was fun, energetic and engaging.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

The go to place for lunch downtown

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

The go to place for lunch downtown, but it helps to have a reservation as sometimes they get busy quick (usually Fridays). I love that you have the option to make any sandwich into a wrap and the cost is the same. Have to get the chips with aioli!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great sandwiches!!!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 20, 2015

Good bread and great variety. Something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really love the Free Press Bistro. The s ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

Really love the Free Press Bistro. The service is excellent - and the servers are very friendly. I enjoy their pressed sandwiches and their roasted vegetable tomato soup is THE BEST in the city.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our server made the experience a great one!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

Last minute we had to bring our soon and they were very accommodating!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Best tomato soup in town. Waitress/serve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 18, 2015

Best tomato soup in town. Waitress/server was very pleasant .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Delicious as always! One of my fav lunch ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

Delicious as always! One of my fav lunch spots down town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is, hands down, my favourite lunch ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 5, 2015

This is, hands down, my favourite lunch spot in downtown Edmonton. I love their sandwiches and their tomato soup is the best in the city. Staff are nice and friendly. I love eating here!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good lunch option downtown. Was hap ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 25, 2015

Very good lunch option downtown. Was happy to have an OpenTable reservation as we otherwise wouldn't have gotten a table (noon on a Wednesday) - service was a little slow, but not ridiculously so for how busy the place was. Food was simple and comforting. Would return to try more of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Food

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 9, 2015

Overall just an amazing atmosphere and great staff!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Craving a Cuban Sandwich

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

My husband and I hadn't been to the Free Press for a couple of years, but after we found ourselves craving cuban sandwiches, we decided it was high time to return. Our server was excellent - we never sat with empty glasses or plates, and she was very cordial. The restaurant was nearly empty when we ate shortly after 5 on a Friday, but it started to fill up when we were leaving. The chip butty (mini French Fry sandwiches with a lemon dill aioli) was surprisingly tasty and the The Cuban hit the spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food served quick

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 5, 2015

The service was great and the food was very good. Easy and quick sandwiches and a good side Caesar salad. I would return here to eat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome Lunch

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 21, 2014

Fantastic service, fantastic food. Would recommend to friends & family. Nicely sized menu and knowledgeable staff. Will definitely eat here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Umm sammies

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 3, 2014

Always love this place. Sandwich varieties are all tasty. Service is usually good but it was really good this time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great service

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 6, 2014

Nice spot downtown for either a quick bite or a leisurely lunch. Server was attentive and helpful. My meal was not as spicy as I had hoped but my companion loved hers. I will certainly go there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Who doesn't love paninnis

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2014

Love the interesting choices for sandwiches. So hard to choose which one so you have to keep going back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bernadine Schlender

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2014

Great service, awesome food, easy-to-find location. Definitely great for a business lunch or catching up with your hubby! Nice for a group of four or less.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Who knew...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2014

My only complaint was the service.... not of the floor staff but in the kitchen. We made reservations for 11:45 in hopes of keeping it to a reasonable timeframe; order, eat and walk back to the office. Unfortunately another group (of around 10) made reservations AND preordered which meant everyone whose order hadn't been started yet waited until theirs was finished. Good thing we weren't in that big of a rush.

The food was very tasty. The variety was great and I could see going back again... although maybe plan to arrive at 11:30 instead, just in case.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We've been going to Free Press for lunch ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

We've been going to Free Press for lunch for years. They staff is always friendly and we've come to know them all. It's nice when staff doesn't change much and you are able to get to know them. The service is always good and the food hot and yummy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

good but past visits were better

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 15, 2014

As always, the service at the free press was fantastic. Staff are always warm and welcoming, and meals hot and fresh. Slightly disappointed with meal, blue cheese burger did not live up to past meals. My request for no onions was completed, but aside from cheese, found topping skimpy. Had two small slices of tomatoe, what amounted to one strip of bacon on one side of burger, none on other side and lettuce was totally forgotten. Staff as always was tops and drinks where always topped up, just too bad burger was not topped as well as drinks were. As always pomme frites were to die for. Will go back again, but if find same stinginess with toppings, will not again. Hoping to be able to be a free. Press booster again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The staff are very cheery and helpful. T ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2014

The staff are very cheery and helpful. They make the best tomato soup I have ever tasted. They are quick and I love going there for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Prompt, Friendly Service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 10, 2014

The service is always fast, efficient, non-rushed, so you feel relaxed, which is great when you leave the chaos of the office. Every server we've had has always been on top of things. In the off chance that your server is busy, another one will check the other tables as they're walking around to ensure drinks are filled, food is acceptable (always great!). I would definitely highly recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place for lunch

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 2, 2014

The service was very prompt, efficient, not rushed, our orders were right on. We had a group of 5, made a reservation through OpenTable, when we arrived, we were seated immediately, drink orders were taken right away and delivered shortly after, our food was ordered, took about 10-15 mins for the food, our drinks were kept topped up, it was overall an excellent experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

quick and bland

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 30, 2014

Great service, very underwhelmed by the decor and the food is bland.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Awesome Staff, Prompt Service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 11, 2014

The staff at The Free Press Bistro were amazing, they were efficient, friendly and created a warm, inviting atmosphere. The food service was excellent, our food was delivered within 15 minutes of ordering, during the peak lunch hour! Drinks were kept topped up, I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing special

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 24, 2014

It was alright; portions were generous but the quality was mediocre. For the price I'm fine with going to subway instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.