Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Sat 8:00am-11:00am

Lunch
Mon-Sat 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner
Sun-Thu 5:00pm-9:00pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm-9:30pm

Sunday Brunch
Sundays 9:00am-2:00pm
$44 adults, 13 and older
$27 children, 5-12yrs
All you can eat buffet

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/foundry-grill/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Private Party Facilities:
The Foundry Grill is available for private party rentals. Price is dependent on the day, date, menu, set up, and whether lodging has been booked for the group.

Private Party Contact:
Jonny Losee: (801) 223-4216

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (22)
Fireplace (20)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (7)
Historic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was calm and quiet. Service was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food,but priced for a resort.
Expensive wine list
Great service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always have a wonderful experience at The Foundry!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Best meal I have had there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've eaten at the Foundry Grill several times. Service is almost always amazing, and the appetizers were fantastic. I'm not a fan of brussel sprouts, but wow, these are in a league of their own. First time trying the smoked salmon app, on flat bread w/ wasabi cream cheese, and it's my new favorite for sure. Only negative was that the chicken dish was dry, but I shared my wife's scallops, and they were to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambience, food and service was outstanding.......a delightful evening.....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Sundance at it's finest! My wife and I retuned for yet another outstanding meal, at the Foundry. It's well worth the drive over from Park City.... in fact, the drive itself is well worth while and the Foundry is the cherry on top!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The last 4 times they have seated us in the back room which feels like we are in the low budget part of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love the ambiance of the room, it was generally busy, but had slowed since our arrival. We booked a later reservation so to miss the rush. We were seated within 10 minutes, the hostess quickly sat us and left. It was probably a good 8 min before we were approached by our server. She seemed in a hurry. She took our drink order and our entree order and then was gone. Our drinks were served by another person. She breezed by and asked if we were OK, served us bread and left. Our appetizers were served by another staff, they tasted wonderful. especially the Brussels sprouts. Our server stopped by to remove the appetizers and she was on her way. After a few more minutes wait we were served our entrees by another server. The food was superb, My husband ordered the short ribs and was thoroughly impressed. I ordered the salmon and was not disappointed. We will return again for the food but not for the service. Our server left a lot to be desired, she stopped by our table 3 times the whole evening and didn't once serve our food. I was not impressed at all, from the hostess (who looked like she just walked off the ski slope in her coat), to our server who flew by our table 3 times. I was however impressed with the young man filling our water and bussing the tables, he did a phenomenal job. My compliments to the chef, and the buss boy, they deserve the tip I left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful location but bland food. The description of the soup-of-the-day was the best part of the soup. The vegetable pot pie was uninspiring.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a fantastic evening at The Foundry. The food was beyond delicious, the waitstaff was courteous and helpful, and the pacing of the meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome experience - food and service were both excellent. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great resort. Recommended.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been here many times. I always love it. The menu is seasonal so sometimes I like it more than others but I usually have a great experience. I love the atmosphere and the service is great. Double thumbs up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've been going to the foundry grill for more than 15 years and it's sad to say the food quality continues to drop off.

The ambiance is still wonderful but the food is average given the price point. Hope they can up their game or our twice monthly visit may turn into a twice yearly visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wife's birthday. Will be back every year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, atmosphere & service. The Foundry is always a favorite & I love the fireplace in the winter!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

All of our dinners were nicely presented and in a great atmosphere. Excellent bread/butter served complimentary prior to dinner. My entree of braised beef was a nice portion, just slightly overcooked, but tasty nonetheless. My wife had the burger which was perfectly prepared and served with a choice of 3 kinds of potatoes. A dinner featuring scallops was done to perfection as well. Erin, our waitress, was knowledgeable and offered worthwhile suggestions and was very attentive. All in all, a great place for dinner while at the Sundance Resort.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Love the homemade soups, sweet potato fries, and Moscow mules! I eat there every time that I go to Sundance and I've never had a bad meal or poor service. I LOVE it there!! :-)

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

apparently not all of the items on the menu taste that great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food, location and feeling inside the restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I am rating my experience very low for this visit. I have been going to Sundance and either the Grill or the Treeroom for over 25 years. It has always been incredible. This past time was such a disappointment. The food was overcooked and the tastes not matched up at all. I had the lamb and it could not have been done any worse and the overall plating and complementing items on the plate were all bad. On top of that the dessert was burnt and poorly put together. After the 25+ years this was a horrible miss from what I had become accustomed to as a 5 star location.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent mountain dinning. Good menu with a large choice of delicious reasonable priced food. Good wine and beer list. We chose some excellent local beers and the Sundance house white wine. Compared to other nearby resorts this is a much better ambiance and value for money. Friendly staff. Service a little laid back if you were in a hurry but who is here? Bar next door the Owl is another true Gem. All in all Sundance is a special place and this restaurant does it proud.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We were staying at the resort. Restaurant was good enjoyed it with family

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Tell your waiters when serving nearby tables to keep their butts away from my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have never been disappointed with The Foundry Grill. This time I ordered a Ruben sandwich. There was excessive fat on the corned beef. I've had many Rubens in my life but never had so much fat on the meat. I chose an alternate entree and was very happy with it. The server did not charge me for my meal. This one odd experience did not diminish my enthusiasm for The Foundry Grill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The brussels sprouts were easily the best I've ever tasted (and I love brussels sprouts). They are an absolute must-order if you go. The service was great. The atmosphere was fantastic. The rest of our food was good. Nothing besides the brussels sprouts was note-worthy, though none of it was bad. I was a little disappointed in the lack of options on the menu (but I don't particularly care for mushrooms which ruled out half of the choices).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love the Foundry Grill at Sundance. It's one of our favorite restaurants in the wintertime for its cozy, warm feel like a cabin. The food is outstanding as is the service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

been coming for twenty years. first date with girl of my dreams. close to montana as I can find in utah. i come for those reason as well as good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We arrived at the beginning of lunchtime. We were quickly seated at a warm, sunny table for two next to a window with a cozy view. The atmosphere is warm, quiet and intimate. The servers were very attentive without being omnipresent. Appetizer and drink came out sooner than we anticipated. Entree came out timely as well and both dishes were fabulous! Nothing felt heavy in our stomachs and our mouths were very-well satisfied. The overall experience... TOTALLY worth the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Freezing and we were near the fireplace and dressed appropriately. Too COLD to really enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrate our anniversary here almost every year and have always had 5 star service. Our last visit was un-Sundance-like. The waitress did the bare minimum. We felt rushed by her quickly taking our order, walking away from our table before we were done talking, and making very little eye contact. Although, we will go back to Sundance because of tradition and great food we hope for better service and to feel like guests.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Although the food was good, I had reserved a special table to celebrate a birthday. We were given the table right next to the entrance door with a terrible view of a wall with knives on it. Everyone in the party comented on the dissapointing table location. Very high priced for our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Delicious meal, top notch service and all around a beautiful atmosphere to dine in. Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is one of our favorites. You are greeted by name and receive special attention if the visit is for a celebration. We will go back soon!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Absolutely delicious meal and great service. Can't ask for more!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always enjoy coming to the Foundry Grill. The entire menu is good and I think I've tried every entree over the years. Keep it up !

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love the feel of Sundance and we enjoy eating here at least a couple of times a year. We do wish they had a better choice of appetizers...but overall it's a fun place to go.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First, the service was wonderful throughout the resort, but I won't go back to stay or to eat.
Foundry Grill was breakfast. No, it wasn't terrible, but it's a "resort" -- it didn't meet my expectations. Nor did the room -- though they did upgrade us. Notwithstanding, for the price, I fully expected something better- it was more than what I pay at Grand America... not planning to give it a second try.

Perhaps under the guise of 'rustic'... but nothing special about breakfast -- other than $$. I ordered the yogurt, granola and fruit. Yogurt was ok and plentiful... the berries didn't even fill the little ramekin, the granola -- dregs.

If you're going because it's got "resort" attached to it's name, do more research -- there's a reason they haven't won any awards in a few years. Yes, we ate at Tree as well -- It was pleasant, but again, I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great as always, but the service was pretty poor. Our waitress was super-rushed and acted like she couldn't really be bothered. We were part-way through the appetizers when the main course came out. She totally forgot my soup order. She presented the bill at the same time as the desert was brought out. She tried to whisk away the bill before I had paid, and before we had hardly started on desert. We seemed to be in her way. She looked around when we were talking to her and clearly she didn't listen. It was extraordinarily disappointing for a somewhat pricey place suitable for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.