Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch
Mon-Sat 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner
Sun-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm

Sunday Brunch
Sundays 9:00am-2:00pm
$44 adults, 13 and older
$27 children, 5-12yrs
All you can eat buffet

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/foundry-grill/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Private Party Facilities:
The Foundry Grill is available for private party rentals. Price is dependent on the day, date, menu, set up, and whether lodging has been booked for the group.

Private Party Contact:
Jonny Losee: (801) 223-4216

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (25)
Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Casual (16)
Cozy (16)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fireplace (5)
Business Meals (5)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic setting, delicious food. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Foundry is a favorite of ours!! We love the feel and the service is amazing (GO CHARLIE!!). It's fun when the menu changes and we get other options.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We are locals and love to drive to sundance to escape the valley heat. We often say that we wish the food were better. We keep trying it, only to be disappointed. For the price, it's not that great. The beauty of sundance is well with a look but bring a picnic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Outstanding other than waiter little slow and forgetful

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and service! Can't beat the beautiful Wasatch Mountains and a great meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great location, excellent food. Our server and other wait-staff were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent lunch. Brought friends from the East Coast and they loved everything about Sundance. Lunch was creative and delicious. Highly recommend

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Have been to Foundry Grill on multiple occasions and always find the food delicious, the atmosphere charming, and the service exceptional. Both the inside and outside dining offer a unique environment. Both sun and snow at Sundance are beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Worth the trip! Great food in a beautiful setting!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I remember the food at the Foundry Grill being outstanding. I've be going to Sundance for over 30 years. Last night our meal was fair at best. My old favorite, pear, blue cheese, and bitter greens salad (had a horseradish taste). My guess is they used the beet salad dressing by mistake. We tried 5 different entrees, all mediocre. It makes me sad because I love Sundance. But I'm not willing to spend $350 for a meal that isn't exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The patio at the Foundry Grill is amazing. We were literally eating in a forest! The food however was a little disappointing. I had the halibut and my husband had the filet. Neither had hardly any seasoning. The corn "sauce" side dish that came with the halibut was a very small portion and not very tasty. The service was fine...our water was filled regularly and the waitress was informative but not super friendly. It was a delightful dining experience just because of the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

They were kind.

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2017

When we visit Sundance for a hike or zip line, we love to eat at Foundry Grill. My wife got the Ricotta Gnudi and proclaimed it one of the best meals she ever had. I am a picky eater and just wanted some type of grilled chicken dish. I asked our server, Jordan, if that was possible. She offered several off menu alternatives to meet my wishes. Overall, great service, beautiful venue, and reliably good food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

What an awesome Sunday Brunch. We went for Father's Day and sat on the patio. Wonderful atmosphere. The staff was very attentive. The food was great (prime rib, omelets, salads) and the dessert bar was sinful. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great menu ... the truffle mac n cheese is amazing! The setting is beautiful and the ambiance is just right... not too noisey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We always have an amazing time at The Foundry. The food is great and the service is fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The kitchen forgot several items that were ordered along with our waitress forgetting to input one of our meals completely. One person at 25 mins after the others. Also, ingredients were missing from our salads that were supposed to be there. We had to point it out to the waitress. Sub-par experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

It was easy to get a reservation online. The customer service was great. I felt over comfortable with the enviornment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at the Foundry Grill, however, the portions were very small, especially the Halibut. The side dish served with it was not very good or appetizing. We enjoyed eating outside but the seating is very tight quarters.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I go to The Foundry Grill primarily for the atmosphere. The food is good, but pricey. You have to pay extra for a salad with your meal. They usually have something unusual that I haven't tried before and I enjoy that.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a business team dinner that was excellent. All of our meals were great and the staff were very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Recommended by a friend. Worth the drive, excellent food and atmosphere. Good value. Will recommend to others and defiantly return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent service but the food was superior- salad and bread. We were more than impressed. The setting is incredible too.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The flat iron steak was the worst cut of meat ever served to us at a restaurant - it was tough and chewy with a very small portion as well. The ricotta gnudi was taste less and plain.
On the up side the wine was vey reasonably priced for a good cab, the tempura artichoke hearts were amazing, and the truffle mac-n cheese was wonderful as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was such a bad dining experience because of the service. The waitress (& all the waiters) rushed around & talked as fast as they could as little as they could. They were down right rude to customers & I was embarrassed for having brought my family there. I'll never be back. The food was either awful or just ok but terribly expensive. I get better service at McDonalds or Polar King
Stay away if you'd like a pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The ambiance is always fantastic. The service is always really good with knowledgeable wait staff and fast runners. The food is fabulous. I have taken several family members multiple times and everyone always loves it. I highly recommend the brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Creative menu, very nice service, rustic ambience, good parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Many employees at Sundance are not customer service oriented. They often are undertrained, and inexperienced. They are more interested in socializing with coworkers than engaging in a meaningful way with the guests. They are not focused on their work, but are "putting in time" and "watching the clock", not really becoming of a 4-5 star experience. Don't get me wrong, some employees are very friendly and do focus on their work and on serving the guests, but way too many are under qualified. The food was mediocre. The stuffed peppers appetizer was soaking with oil - no one at our table wanted to eat them. The other dishes were average - I could make most of it myself at home. Can't beat the mountains and the setting. We will go back, but wish for significant improvements.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Good food in a good locations. Sundance is a gorgeous place and the Foundey Grill fits perfectly in the mountain environment.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A hidden gem in the mountains, but at the same time only a shirt drive away from Provo. Food is delicious and atmosphere is romantic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I went for the Table for Two special with the overnight and it was well worth it in every way. We live in Park City so it was great to "get away" only 20 miles away. From the reception to the trails to the incredible food, the stay-cation was excellent and we will be returning soon. The only problem, the food was too good so we ate too much. Just the entree and awesome dessert next time - skip the appetizers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined at the Foundry a number of times and it is very consistent. The food was good but the setting is great. Joel was our server and he was awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Not sure that I would recommend this restaurant. Tries to paint itself as a elegant establishment but the food is bland at best and over priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, great setting and great service! Would definitely recommend! Will be visiting again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Foundry Grill is the perfect location year round. Very good food & wine. Enjoy the stunning beauty of Sundance Resort from the large restaurant windows. Easy access off I-15. The drive (exiting I-80 @ Park City) is truly memorable through the rolling Wasatch hills (waterfalls everywhere in May). Ask your server about their Sundance Wines. Recommend reservations through Open Table.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

sit by a fire while you wait and take it in the gorgeous mountain surroundings. the aspens in the windows, the fireplace inside the restaurant and the old wood, farm equipment and photos makes this place great. the food was excellent! I am GF/vegetarian and I had no problem filling my gut. yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Must order Brussel Sprouts--to die for! Filet is always an excellent choice!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent place, absolutely beautiful and service was excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The pork chop special was amazing and the burger is the best in the state!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.