About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://sundanceresort.com/dine/foundry_grill.html

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Private Party Facilities:
The Foundry Grill is available for private party rentals. Price is dependent on the day, date, menu, set up, and whether lodging has been booked for the group.

Private Party Contact:
Jonny Losee: 8012234216x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Utah
Most Booked
Sundance
Best Restaurants in Sundance ›

Scenic View (19)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fireplace (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Historic (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious meal, top notch service and al ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Delicious meal, top notch service and all around a beautiful atmosphere to dine in. Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorites. You are gr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is one of our favorites. You are greeted by name and receive special attention if the visit is for a celebration. We will go back soon!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious meal and great serv ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Absolutely delicious meal and great service. Can't ask for more!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy coming to the Foundry Grill ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always enjoy coming to the Foundry Grill. The entire menu is good and I think I've tried every entree over the years. Keep it up !

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the feel of Sundance and we enjoy e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love the feel of Sundance and we enjoy eating here at least a couple of times a year. We do wish they had a better choice of appetizers...but overall it's a fun place to go.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First, the service was wonderful through ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First, the service was wonderful throughout the resort, but I won't go back to stay or to eat.

Foundry Grill was breakfast. No, it wasn't terrible, but it's a "resort" -- it didn't meet my expectations. Nor did the room -- though they did upgrade us. Notwithstanding, for the price, I fully expected something better- it was more than what I pay at Grand America... not planning to give it a second try.

Perhaps under the guise of 'rustic'... but nothing special about breakfast -- other than $$. I ordered the yogurt, granola and fruit. Yogurt was ok and plentiful... the berries didn't even fill the little ramekin, the granola -- dregs.

If you're going because it's got "resort" attached to it's name, do more research -- there's a reason they haven't won any awards in a few years. Yes, we ate at Tree as well -- It was pleasant, but again, I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was fantastic and the atmospher ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great as always, but the service was pretty poor. Our waitress was super-rushed and acted like she couldn't really be bothered. We were part-way through the appetizers when the main course came out. She totally forgot my soup order. She presented the bill at the same time as the desert was brought out. She tried to whisk away the bill before I had paid, and before we had hardly started on desert. We seemed to be in her way. She looked around when we were talking to her and clearly she didn't listen. It was extraordinarily disappointing for a somewhat pricey place suitable for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

We were treated so well at this restaura ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were treated so well at this restaurant and we can't wait to go back! We felt like we were dining in the epicenter of fall!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. My favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great experience. My favorite restaurant in the Utah valley area. Always has great unique menu items that are a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great restaurant. It is pricey, but the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great restaurant. It is pricey, but the food and environment are great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a special event and we were sta ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This was a special event and we were staying in the Sundance Resort B&B. We had dinner at The Foundry. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was very limited at providing appet ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Menu was very limited at providing appetizing choices for both Appetizer and Entree. Anything close to being appealing was over priced. The only saving grace was the excellent service and ambiance. In the past, one felt he could get a good mix of food, drink, service, and ambiance at a reasonably somewhat healthy price. No longer feel there is value that the restaurant offers except in service and ambiance. Food was so so and expensive. Take for example the soup of the day. Cabbage and lentil soup. Tiny little serving, very one dimensional cumin flavor for $8. This was like a poor mans ketchup and hot water soup and for what I got way over priced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Fabulous food. We went here twice and ev ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Fabulous food. We went here twice and everything was delicious! The wait staff is wonderful and very helpful on where to hike and what to see in the area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in a gorgeous setting

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food in a gorgeous setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We also had a lunch experience on Tuesda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We also had a lunch experience on Tuesday of the same week. THe food was outstanding. However, there was not enough wait-staff so service was a little slow, especially considering the crowd waiting to be seated. We had a reservation and still waited almost 30 minutes. I love taking guests, especially those from out of State, to experience Sundance and Foundary Grill. I have never been disappointed in the food and seldom in the experience but I do expect enough staff to feel "waited on". ALso the parking needs to be addressed...lately there have been too many non-tagged cars in Handicapped parking places...

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent ambiance en outstanding servic ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent ambiance en outstanding service. Not cheap though! Realy nice waiter who was'nt to pushing with his own list.

Very nice Filet Mignon and soup of the day!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two of the three main courses were only ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Two of the three main courses were only average - the baby back ribs and Corn bisque soup w/Lobster. The hallibut was very good. Service excellent, ambience excellent, food-average.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We are regulars at the Foundry Grill. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are regulars at the Foundry Grill. The atmosphere is great, and being up in the canyon around Sundance is always a treat, any time of year. The food is generally quite good, though we tend to stick to the cheaper end of the menu (which still isn't all that cheap). On this visit, though, we had some service issues. A $64 wine charge mysteriously appeared on our bill (we had no alcohol at all on this visit). It was no problem to get it removed, but it made us wonder how it got there in the first place, and which table got a free but radically overpriced bottle of Charles Krug Cabernet as a result. Then, when we asked the waiter to divide the bill between the two couples, he simply split it down the middle--50/50--instead of separating it out into the two orders, which is what they've done every other visit. I've never seen that before, here or at any other restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Always love Sundance and true to form, i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always love Sundance and true to form, it didn't disappoint. We hiked and then ate lunch at the grill. The food was great! The service was a little slow but they made it right and to me that's all you can ask actually. Things happen. It's how you handle them.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always loved FG. But have been disa ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Have always loved FG. But have been disappointed on our last few visits. Service and food has been very inconsistent, less and less worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The service could not have been better w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service could not have been better we were extremely well taken care of. However the food was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The setting is glorious, but the food wa ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The setting is glorious, but the food was below disappointing. My salad, which took more than 45 minutes to arrive tasted like it had been made and tossed two days earlier. And even then it wouldn't have had much flavor. I was entertaining guests from LA and was truly embarrassed by the poor quality of the service and the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance is by far o ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance is by far one of my favorites places to dine and take in the entire atmosphere! Food, Service & ambiance were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Utah and Sun ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Utah and Sundance and we had Sunday Brunch at the Foundry Grill. I think it's the best brunch I have ever eaten. Nice selection of food, cooked perfectly, and presented well. Service was friendly and attentive. Empty plates were removed immediately and patrons encouraged to return for more. The desserts were excellent, particularly the chocolate peanut butter mousse. I would highly recommend it but be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First to say that Sundance is a great pl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

First to say that Sundance is a great place to visit on its own. The foundry grill is the perfect dining experience. We have been there for lunch but first for dinner. We had an error on our reservation but the hostess was able to make arrangements and we were ushered in only minutes after our original reservation.

The Foundry Grill experience is amazing. Our server, Jordan, was spot on.

The wine list, like the menu, is paired perfect.

My wife had the salmon, with fingerling potatoes, and I the seared halibut with couscous. The chive buttermilk sauce was the perfect match. I paired mine with the Oregon Pinot Gris. Couldn't have been better.

Our guests both had the bison ribeye. An offering that must be tasted to be believed.

The foundry grill is just about perfect.235.9

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Foundry Grill for our busin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We chose the Foundry Grill for our business dinner. It was quite enjoyable! It was a little hard to find since there wasn't a sign above the entry door but from the moment you walked in the decor was rustic and beautiful, the service was very attentive and friendly, and the ambiance was wonderful. A perfect place to take an out of state guest. Our food was fantastic as well! We ordered the appetizers before the rest of the party arrived and they came out super quick!! AND they were gone super quick (so delicious)!! So, "unfortunately"(wink) we had to order more before the rest of the party arrived. They entrees were divine, the specialty drinks were fabulous and a the desert was great too! One of the members of our party had REALLY enjoyed a desert at the Tree Room so asked if they could have that instead. Our waiter was very accommodating, pulled some strings and got it for him! All around fantastic. I would very much give this place my recommendation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sundance is a very beautiful place for l ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sundance is a very beautiful place for lunch and the ride up the chairlift is very scenic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have eaten at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten at The Foundry. Both times we got fantastic food and service. I am sure the service might not have been as quick if it were more crowded, but they really seemed interested in how we enjoyed the meal and were very attentive. We will go back many times in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love coming to Sunday Brunch at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We just love coming to Sunday Brunch at Sundance. We are always treated as if we are special and important. We come to ride the chairlift, hike and eat! Love it every time! The food is always delicious and there are just enough choices to choose from without being overwhelming. I loved being able to make a reservation online! Wow gotta love technology! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have brunch on a fairly regular basis ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have brunch on a fairly regular basis, and the quality of food as been on a steady decline. My wife looks forward to the bacon but the last few visits the bacon has been undercooked, not crisp, soggy is he best way to descibe it. The rest of the brunch was ok, they have had better options in he past. We do love lunch and dinner at the Foundry grill, but will probably take break from brunch for a bit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Worth the hike from Park City!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worth the hike from Park City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We normally LOVE foundry, it is one of o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We normally LOVE foundry, it is one of our favorite places that we've come many times and will come many times again I'm sure but this night was our first bad experience. Their menu has changed and they aren't serving some of our fav old standards. Nothing on the menu really sounded good with is rare as I usually can't decide! No pork chop, no ribeye, no tortilla soup etc. I got the pizza which was yuck and my husband got the ribs which also didn't impress. Our salad was over dressed and our dessert was mediocre at best. Such a disappointing experience from a place we've come to have high expectations from. Hope it's not the new normal! We love you foundry, come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The Foundry Grill offers a wide choice o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The Foundry Grill offers a wide choice of dining delights. This is supported by pleasant and helpful staff, mood-setting decor, excellent menu and efficient operations. This venue is a highlight of the Sundance experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to sit on back patio that bordere ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had to sit on back patio that bordered the maintenance area. Awful!! Sweltering hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Such great food. Simple and delicious!!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Such great food. Simple and delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sunday brunch and the views ar ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch and the views are amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOT IMPRESSED...GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT!!! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2016

NOT IMPRESSED...GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT!!! Arrived at the restaurant with great hopes. We were seated at a small two person table...ok, kind of intimate BUT it was in the middle of the room! EVERYONE coming and going and server had to pass by us. Then the table (only 2 feet apart) next to us had 2 loud obnoxious people and the more wine they drank, the louder they got. We couldn't even hear each other to carry on a conversation. There were several empty tables that we could have been seated at and they stayed empty the whole time we were there. I may be able to understand it if we were really late for our reservation and the place was packed and they wanted to punish us, but it was towards the end of the night and they just wanted to keep the customers in one area... all about their convenience. When our server brought our appetizers and bread we asked for two small plates because the couple next to us had taken them just before we were seated because they never got the extra plates they asked for.... well we never got ours either. Salad was good, but you can't mess up a salad too much. The halibut my husband had was tasteless and tough and WTH was that side it was paired with? The pasta I had was good, but I have had better and for far less. We had planned on having dessert, but by this point we just wanted to cut our losses and get back to our cabin. If you are very pretentious you are going to LOVE this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We love the relaxed and rustic ambiance ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love the relaxed and rustic ambiance of the Foundry Grill. The service is always knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. On this visit, the lunchtime entree selections allowed for varied appetites and preferences. We ordered the veggie flatbread pizza and a catch of the day fish sandwich (salmon). Both were nicely prepared and delicious. Also worthy of mention was my beverage, a very refreshing rocky mountain cooler, consisting of ginger beer, agave, lime and mint - a welcome drink on a very hot day. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly awful. Service was clueless and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Truly awful. Service was clueless and arrogant. Food was poorly executed. Worst of all, the room was tacky, shop-worn and not well maintained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food at The Foundry Grill was surpri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food at The Foundry Grill was surprisingly unremarkable: our entrees ranged from too bland to too salty. However, I'd still go back again because the service was impeccable - attentive and friendly - and the ambience is incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.