About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://sundanceresort.com/dine/foundry_grill.html

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
Tim Anderson

Private Party Facilities:
The Foundry Grill is available for private party rentals. Price is dependent on the day, date, menu, set up, and whether lodging has been booked for the group.

Private Party Contact:
Jonny Losee: 8012234220x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Most Booked
Sundance
Best Restaurants in Sundance ›

scenic view (25)
special occasion (24)
great for brunch (21)
See All
romantic (18)
fit for foodies (17)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Still a little pricey, but I guess that ...

Dined 4 days ago

Still a little pricey, but I guess that comes with the Sundance name.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4

Their lunch menu defiantly doesn't hold ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Their lunch menu defiantly doesn't hold up to their prices. We prefer their Sunday brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

My second visit and it was just as fanta ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My second visit and it was just as fantastic. Love this place. Always on the itinerary when we we in Park City.

food3
ambience5
service2

We've been going to the foundry for over ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We've been going to the foundry for over a decade and the quality of the experience has declined over the past few years. The fillet was ordered medium and came out rare. The wait staff was unobservant not sure the experience matches other competitive restaurants.

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The ambience of the resort is wonderful, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The ambience of the resort is wonderful, not so impressed with our server Patrick, he seemed in a constant rush and we had to ask the guy who was pouring the water to check on some things we ordered with Patrick, that never came. This was a case of role reversal whereby if the water/bus guy was our actual waiter, it would have been a much better experience. My only other comment was that the Hawaiian Pizza did not state on the menu that it actually had hot peppers on it, which I can't tolerate. Other than that, the hostess who sat us was charming and professional and our request for an outside table was honored.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 30, 2016

Took my wife here for her birthday. They were very accommodating and went out of their way to make it a special occasion. I called ahead to see if there was anything outside of the norm that they could do and they have a Bakery on-site. They baked a wonderful red velvet cake with Raspberry mousse filling (3 layers). The hostess took photos and distracted my wife while the cake was brought out as a surprise. Could not have asked for a better experience. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointing compared to 10 years ago. ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Disappointing compared to 10 years ago. Waited half an hour past reservation time to be seated. Brunch featured less than fresh food. Pre-cooked eggs, bacon, pancakes and banana bread were cold. Only saving graces were smoked salmon and peach and cherry cobbler. Expected much better. Not worth $37 per person or the drive.

food5
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere at Sundance is incomparab ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The atmosphere at Sundance is incomparable. For years it has been my go to place for business lunches, excellent breakfast, and wonderful dinners. A quick ten minute drive from Provo takes you to a place that feels like a serene escape from the busy day. Very good food and service. It's an excellent choice to dine here whenever possible.

food1
ambience1
service1

This was the absolute WORST experience I ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the absolute WORST experience I have ever had in my dining experiences! The waitress overlooked our table, intentionally, and took the order of a table that came in behind us. The food was not up to standards, in any form or manner. I've had better service at Applebee's! And then of all things, when I wake up, after I left a tip that I should have not left, I was overcharged. Needless to say I will never done at the Foundry, even if Robert Redford himself paid for my meal!

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Could have been great but...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We looked forward to special lunch and was very unfortunately greeted with a jackhammer through the lunch. Made it absolutely impossible to enjoy. For the caliber and price of the restaurant - you need to absolutely suspend the construction during peek hours at the very least or close the restaurant for the duration of construction. Not fair to your patrons - very expensive for a horrible experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Texas thyme today We loved it wil ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Texas thyme today We loved it will be back soon

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A bit pricey, but such delectable food.

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is quite wonderful, but it's very pricey. Everything is a la carte, so the bill can run up fast.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

We've been wanting to try this restauran ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a long time and finally went on a quiet Sunday night. The ambiance was great , loved the rustic natural feeling, much like the Tree Room. Service was awesome, attentive, not intrusive. Hubby had the trout and said it was delicious with interesting combination of seasonings. I had the pork chop which was tasty, but a bit tough and dry. I had expected a much thicker and more tender piece of meat with more flavor. The cheese grits were a bit too runny but tasty. We will probably return since there were other menu offerings we would like to try.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The BEST!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been to brunch at Sundance many times.. but this Sunday it was exceptionally good! The best ever!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always love this place

Dined on April 24, 2016

We eat at the Foundry Grill about 5-6 times a year, sometimes more. (We only eat out about a month, so...) It has always been a good place to go if you need to impress someone. The food has never disappointed and it's a good place to get a drink or a glass of wine with your food and good service from a staff who seems to care about their customers. This time however, we had reservations because it was a birthday. We arrived 10 minutes early and were told we'd have to wait right to the time we reserved. Okay, no problem. There was only 1 other couple waiting when we arrived. We sat and waited, watching as people started pouring in, each group being taken back to tables as they arrived. We finally asked and were told they were all only seating two-person tables, but since ours was a 4 person, they were waiting for 2 groups to leave who'd already paid their checks, but were sitting around shooting the breeze. I know for a fact that many of the people who were seated were larger than just 2 people. The group right next to us had 6. An HOUR LATER!!! not an hour after we arrived, but an hour beyond our reservation time, and we were the last people left in the waiting area, we were finally seated. This was very disappointing, since we did actually go through the rigmarole of booking online in advance. There goes my impressive place to take clients and out-of-towners. I'll have to go back to using Salt Lake City restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Graduation Lunch

Dined on April 22, 2016

Although we weren't seated until nearly 20 minutes past our on-line reservation, we were greeted quickly. Jordan was very nice, though not extremely personable. She was quick to get us our drinks and take our order. The food came very quickly and was delicious. Although our table viewed the inner parking lot, the ambiance and views outside were amazingly beautiful.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We love the Foundry Grill but we were ve ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We love the Foundry Grill but we were very disappointed on April 21st. We came to celebrate our children college graduations and had made reservations. We got seated a little later than our reservation time but that was not a big deal. Our food server was very nice but we waited forever for every course and our sons fried chicken was way undercooked but because the service was so slow he shared his wife dinner. The rest of our dinners were delicious. The restaurant was just overcrowded with big parties and and it was obvious the kitchen was under staffed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Great atmosphere ...not so great food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service and atmosphere were great. Food wasn't worth the price, fair at best. If you are going to spend that much on dinner go to the Tree Room.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Meatloaf too spicy

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant. The ambience was wonderful and the scenery beautiful. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We enjoyed the appetizer and my husband enjoyed his filet mignon. My meatloaf was way too spicy. I wish the server would have mentioned the spicy taste when I asked him his opinion on the dish. I could only eat half of it because of the spice. I would have ordered something different.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always go back to the Foundry Grill, ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We always go back to the Foundry Grill, as it is always a sure value and the brunch is just excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience, great food and service ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great experience, great food and service was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ideal Mountain Brunch - doesn't get much better

Dined on March 20, 2016

Regularly choose this Sunday Brunch option, particularly when we have out of town guests. Everyone loves the serene location, the ski runs and white capped mountains. The service here is impeccable and we have actually lucked out and had the same server over two visits within a 30-day period. Always a first-class experience and it will leave your guests wanting to return as often as we do...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foundry Grill & The Tea Room at Sundance

Dined on March 15, 2016

Terrific and varied menus, superb service, wonderful views. The Tea Room was terrific - one of the best meals I've ever had. Everything was perfect, from the food to the service to the ambiance. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best relaxing, delicious brunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

I love the Foundry Grill for brunch. I have visited a few times and the food is varies but is always delicious and exceptional. The selection is amazing, from prime rib to omelets, cheese and fruit selections, poached eggs, french toast, and the most delicious pastries and coffee. I love the ambiance as well, big windows with views of the mountain surround from a warm, rustic cabin. The servers are attentive and quick to meet your needs. I've never seen stray children running around or heard them yelling in excess either, which is an added bonus. It's a very enjoyable, relaxing dining experience that will leave you satisfied and happy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Miss the old menu

Dined on March 5, 2016

The menu has been changing lately and a lot of people seem to be upset. The pomegranates are no longer on the green salad which is a huge bummer. Don't know why these changes are happening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Purchased the Salmon. Absolutely delicious. Melted in my mouth. Loved the Sampling Potatoes as a side dish.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great iconic Utah legend

Dined on March 4, 2016

Must go for locals and those from out of town. Great food and awesome ambience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect atmosphere for a cozy meal and ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Perfect atmosphere for a cozy meal and very comfortable environment. The attentive waitstaff and easy ambience makes for a warm and enjoyable experience

food5
ambience5
service5

I love The Foundry Grill at Sundance! Th ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

I love The Foundry Grill at Sundance! They always exceed my expectations!!!

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Lack luster were those really stale eggo waffles?

Dined on February 28, 2016

Leggo my eggo? Really? Is that really what you are offering? Lack of viable breakfast options for a pricy brunch. French toast and what I am almost positive are eggo waffles. The waffles tasted stale and hard. Couldn't even chew the corners. The chef should consider whipping up some fresh waffles, pancakes or french toast... Overall disappointing given the price tag. Try Stein Ericksen brunch instead. Also $20 corkage fee- wow, it must have been really difficult to open that bottle. Other places offer a $10 cork fee. Brunch felt more like chuck -a rama options rather than high end resort offerings.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Timpanogos Mt. Gem

Dined on February 13, 2016

Love Sundance. food is great and well prepared. atmosphere is warm and inviting

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner experience!

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a great dinner after a fun day of skiing at the Foundry grille! We had the charcuterie plate, salad and pizza. All was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love eating at Foundry Grill! I know I ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

I love eating at Foundry Grill! I know I will always have fantastic service & the food is ALWAYS DELICIOUS!!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Foundry Grill Sundance-great atmosphere

Dined on January 1, 2016

The service and atmosphere were absolutely amazing. The food was tasty, but not particularly amazing for the price range. We were also surrounded by tables with noisy children, which again, for the price range, can detract from a meal.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love The Foundry

Dined on December 29, 2015

Great food, ambiance and service...consistently. The Foundry reallly adds to the fantastic experience staying at Sundance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

not as good as it use to be

Dined on December 27, 2015

We came for brunch on Sunday and it wasn't as good as it was the last time we visited earlier in the year. The meat wasn't great and the dessert's were not good at all. If I am going to pay that much for a brunch I would expect higher quality and better. The atmosphere is amazing and the service was good, it is really pretty and we did sit by the fireplace so it was nice and cozy!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Rustic Splendor

Dined on December 26, 2015

We love the rustic elegance of this small gem nestled in this scenic grand canyon. Taking visitors here is always a treat for all!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Foundry at Sundancw

Dined on December 12, 2015

Good food, service and setting. Would eat there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Great service, much more expensive than expected

Dined on December 10, 2015

Charlie was the best server we've had in years. We knew it would be expensive, but wow, we ended up walking out with a $120 bill, plus tax (and no alcohol). They did have a couple (literally) cheaper options—burger ~$15—but if you want a burger there are way more options down in the valley. The pork chop I got was $28 and the filet my wife got was $44 (both very delicious). Appetizer was $18 and salad about $15. Virgin specialty drinks were $5 each and disappointingly small (maybe 6oz plus ice). Again, our server was amazing and put the experience over the top, but for the price and menu choices we made, we could have hit the Tree Room or Ruth's Chris and been in the same ballpark for price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Amazing

Dined on December 6, 2015

The Foundry Grill is one of my favorite places in the entire world to dine - and it's only a short drive from my home. For special occasions and when we have friends visit from out of town The Foundry Grill is where we go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.