The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

4.6
992 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch
Mon-Sat 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner
Sun-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm

Sunday Brunch
Sundays 9:00am-2:00pm
$44 adults, 13 and older
$27 children, 5-12yrs
All you can eat buffet
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 223-4220
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Mullen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sundance Resort
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Resort parking available for all our guests.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 992 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenal service I believe his name was Charlie and he took care of me and my demanding spoiled picky children… She made funny jokes and made my date feel at home and comfortable your chefs are amazing the food blew our minds.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Well, as usual, when there’s a good item on the menu, it’s replaced with something not good at all! The angry mussels were INCREDIBLE....replaced by mussels and frittes....HORRIBLE! Made both of us sick......

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The ambience was pleasant, the food and service were pretty good, but we had a couple of complaints. We had an opentable reservation for 7:00, arrived right on time, and although there were plenty of available tables, we were asked to have a seat in a waiting area for about 10 mins. before being seated. Others were treated the same way. While waiting, we discussed it with the others...no one was pleased. Also, I am not a big eater, so we asked the waitress if the Caesar salad (as a starter) was large enough to share. It was offered as a plain salad, or as a salad you could add shrimp, chicken or salmon to. For this reason I assumed it was large enough to split. The waitress said “oh no, it is strictly a side salad”. I ordered it anyway and my husband ate two thirds of it. I think I was mislead and didn’t appreciate it. There was a real variety of clientele from families with small children to couples on a date night. Like the rest of the Sundance resort, it felt a little beat. Not sure I would return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Overpriced and the food was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We went for my daughters graduation. I had the halibut, she had the salmon. They were both very good and we would order them again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

My wife and I have loved the Foundry Grill for years. Based on past experience, I would have given it five stars. The setting is beautiful, the food phenomenal, and the service superb. We had friends visiting from out of state this weekend and decided to treat them to one of our favorite places. As usual, it was all fantastic...except...

I wasn't terribly hungry, and I have consciously cut back on my portion sizes lately to be more healthy, so I went with the angel hair pasta instead of my usual meat or fish. When it arrived, it was beautifully presented, fantastically delicious, and absolutely tiny. Literally five polite forks full and it was gone. Again: scrumptious, delectable, superb. But definitely not worth what I paid for it. Even not being particularly hungry, it was not even close to a reasonable serving. All the others in our party enjoyed their meals, which were extremely well prepared, but also on the small side. We ordered desserts, which were very tasty.

I hadn't commented on the size of my portion, but on the way home, my friend joked that we should stop so he could buy me a burger. We all got a laugh out of that, but if this is the new normal for Foundry Grill, they may be losing a couple of loyal fans. I'm sure we'll give it another chance, but this was a disappointing visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Grilled brussel sprouts starter is amazing! The filet Minon was delicious and pork tenderloin was on point. Awesome patio and our server was ace! Chocolate brownie with ice cream is worth going for even if you are full : )

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Our table was attended to quickly and we placed our orders for appetizers and our main entrees. For some reason, the entrees were provided to us before the appetizers. My wife ordered the short ribs and the skillet and the food were both cold. We sent it back and the gave her a new meal that was hot. The meat was excellent. I ordered the grouper and absolutely loved it. For appetizers, we ordered the artichoke hearts and sweet potato fries. Both were excellent, but they did not provide enough dipping sauce. We asked for extra sauce, but they forgot and had to be reminded. In the OpenTable app, I specified this was for our 20th anniversary, but no one at the restaurant mentioned anything, so I don't know if that information was conveyed to them or not. I was a little discouraged at that fact.
The atmosphere is excellent! In all, the dinner was a success and I will return again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Booked a table for 6pm but was still waiting for them to call us at 6:20pm. The reservation system clearly doesn’t work at this restaurant. At the end of the wait they seated us in a major traffic thoroughfare by perhaps the loudest guest there. We requested a change of table but were denied by the staff although there were plenty of other tables free. Our meal took 45 minutes to arrive and was wrong when it finally made it to the table. All in all it was a totally miserable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

As good as it gets! We live in TIMBERLAKES, been coming to Sundance for 21 years....my absolute favorite place to visit. Had lunch at the Foundry outside seating....Emily was terrific,.fabulous weather, outstanding food (especially the angry mussels!).....great drinks, had 2 friends from out of town....then did chairlift ride to the Bearclaw.....couldn’t ask for a better day! All of the lift operators were friendly, caring for us older folks 😜....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

In the two decades I lived in Provo, I proudly called Sundance my second home. Sunday's experience was perfection!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The appetizer of sausage and homemade sauerkraut was delicious. The mountain cooler was awesome and the salad was unique but unfinished. The main course was decent, but the dessert fell flat. It was undercooked and the ginger in the peach ginger crumble was non existent. For the cost it was not worth it for dinner. I've heard that for lunch it's much more reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Very fun and romantic evening for our wedding anniversary. The food was wonderful and our server was fantastic. Lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We’ve been going to Sundance for years. The ambience and service are impeccable. For a more formal occasion we prefer the Treehouse, but for a more casual feel, the Foundary Grill is great. The food was very good and the service (Brian and Bryan) was perfect as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The staff is very kind and attentive. Very good portion sizes. The chicken was very moist and well cooked; not dry like many other places. The Rotolo was also amazing. Very good food overall.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We found that the Foundry Grill was charging Tree Room prices for their Mother' Day buffet. the seafood and mains were excellent, but desserts were not up to the calebar we expected for the price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Mother’s Day Brunch has always been a family favorite for years and years but this year the food was very disappointing. It tasted like it was prepared by Sisco Foods. In the past the food was fresh, well prepared, gourmet and delicious. The desserts were too sweet which is usually a sign that low quality ingredients were used. I guess next year we will be going to Stein Erickson Lodge which still has high culinary standards.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my mom out for mother's day the Foundry Grill is one of our favorite places. This experience was by far the worst. Took almost an hour to get our food after we ordered. My wife's short rib came out ice cold. Like it had been sitting out for an hour. My mom's fish that she ordered was raw in the middle. I have ate here dozens of times never had an experience like this before. All that was said was sorry we will get you new food. 30 minutes later they got there food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great experience at the Foundry Grill at Sundance Resort. What a beautiful setting! The service and the food was outstanding and they bought us a dessert for our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Everything was great about it I just recommend to have more comfortable chairs for the outside sitting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We had a fabulous meal at The Foundry Grill. There were 8 of us, and we ordered a ton of appetizers and starters followed by mains including Steelhead Trout, Chicken, Filet Mignon, and pasta for the kids. Not one bad dish! We will definitely be returning next time we are in Sundance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The staff overall were super helpful. Our particular wait person had a moment or two of conduct that seemed rude. We had asked for drink refills and waited for a while. She then began waiting on another table and when she passed our table I asked about our refills. She said, “can you give me a few minutes? I will bring them!” We had guests with us and after we left the restaurant, our friends said they felt uncomfortable for me because the wait person had spoken discourteously to me. The food was great and the person we thought was the manager was very kind and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Sunday Brunch is fantastic. Top notch, fresh gourmet selections, beautifully prepared and presented. Plus fantastic service and charming atmosphere. The Ritz on Maui was our favorite brunch until today - this beat that previous family favorite. Looking forward to our return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Loved it! I flew in to Provo and my son took me there for brunch as we needed several hours to play catch up! The staff could not have been nicer about our lengthy meal time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent service and food! We were greeted immediately by the hostess who was warm and friendly. Our entire party had not all arrived yet - and the hostess asked if we would like to be seated or wait. Our waiter was prompt, knowledgeable, and was always readily available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The only negative was that it was a little chilly in the restaurant since we got seated next to the door. We asked the hostess if we could shut the double doors to the outside, she said that it makes it easier for the bartender if they’re left open. Other than that everything was amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I thought the location was very nice, and I liked the down-to-earth feel of the restaurant, even though it's a little more upscale. The food was good, but not out of this world. I would possibly go back and try something else, but I liked the location more than the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food, enjoyed by a roaring fire and an attentive waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great, as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Forgot to wait on us. Manager apologized and gave us a free appetizer. We had the steelhead trout and fish tacos. Both were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Fabulous food, service and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We have dined at the Foundry Grill frequently and have always been impressed with the food. Today I ordered the Black Angus Wagyu burger. The meat was dry and the bun was dry and stale. The meat tasted like it had not been seasoned and it was really bland. I was really looking forward to having a nice juicy cheeseburger with a soft bun, so it was really disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good food and good times with the girls! Charlie is an exceptional server and always takes good care of us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Have been to the Foundry Grill several times now - for business meetings, dates with my wife, during a ski day. It has never disappointed. Great food options. Great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

As usual Sundance lived up to its reputation! Amazing wait staff gave us the perfect table by the fireplace for our anniversary. The food was incredible!! Literally the best yet and this is probably my 20th time eating at the grill. Great new menu items, and some old time classics. Made a reservation and did not have to wait. Well done Sundance!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Loved everything about the place. Well worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We were up for a day of skiing and didn’t want to do the usual cafe-style lunch. This sit-down for lunch by one of the fireplaces was perfect to warm us up and satisfy our hunger.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great service, good food and good value, overall the experience I come to expect from The Foundry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Food was good and love the ambience in Sundance

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Food was great but the staff could have done better at keeping water in our glasses. I went 15 minutes without any water.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25

Tweets by The Foundry Grill @ Sundance