Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch
Mon-Sat 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner
Sun-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm

Sunday Brunch
Sundays 9:00am-2:00pm
$44 adults, 13 and older
$27 children, 5-12yrs
All you can eat buffet

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/foundry-grill/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Scenic View (18)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, good food and good value, overall the experience I come to expect from The Foundry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good and love the ambience in Sundance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great but the staff could have done better at keeping water in our glasses. I went 15 minutes without any water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, service, and ambience. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Main course comes very late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

First trip to the foundry. Really not sure if I will go back. Didn’t totally enjoy the meal. Chicken was dry and the sauce on the filet was not a great combo. Service was great and although the food looked good, the taste left me wanting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Their Filet Mignon will make your eyes roll back in your head. You may swoon. Service is exceptional. Love the cozy, rugged atmosphere.

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was great. Staff gracefully handled an uncomfortable situation with customers trying to bring in their own booze (against state law). Restaurant had a great upbeat vibe and the food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2018

The Foundry Grill at Sundance is our favorite special occasion dining. The total experience of the drive up the canyon to Sundance, the excellent food, friendly service and resort atmosphere makes it one of our favorite places to dine. When we have guests from out of state we always try to take them there.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2018

This is the best restaurant in Utah, hands-down. I prefer it to the Tree Room even, as I enjoy the decor and the commotion of the Grill. The food is second to none.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Had a great time at the Foundry Grill this weekend. Started our evening at Owl Bar and then popped over at the time of our reservation. They do get busy and we unfortunately did have a wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time to get our table, but it was a Saturday night and there was a lot of food traffic. The staff was exceptionally accommodating though and the food was excellent! It's a gorgeous location and I'd 100% recommend stopping by both Foundry and Owl Bar if you're in the neighborhood!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Sundance Resort is always a special place and the food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2018

The food was amazing! The filet and mashed potatoes were the best I’ve ever had!

The service is always amazing at the Foundry Grill! Our server on this night, Charlie, was the best server I’ve ever had.

Can’t wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Our group of four friends meets up at the Foundry Grill for each of our birthdays, and many other times throughout the year. The ambiance of the restaurant (and Sundance in general) is amazing. Over the years, the food has been exceptional at times and just ok at times. Lately we’re in a “just ok” phase. We started with a charcuterie board. Absolutely delicious. Three of us ordered the filet, after commenting that there weren’t any other very appealing meat dishes listed. (What happened to the out of this world pork chop??) my steak was cooked properly, but was missing the garnish and was sitting on a bed of not quite warm mashed potatoes. I probably should have sent it back, but it was fine and I didn’t want to slowdown the rest of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

All of the servers are terrific! We especially appreciate the professional and friendly service of Charlie who is simply the best! Really advise you re-think how you deal with the week during Sundance and allow people to get a quick bite and a drink at the Foundry. Sunday afternoon between films we couldn't get either in the Foundry, and the Owl Bar was packed as was the deli....just seems lost a lost revenue source and provide good will to your patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Always LOVE the Foundry Grill!!! Can’t eat the ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Our server was wonderful and only added to the experience. The food was fabulous! Everything was great! We were seated by the fireplace and that was an extra bonus.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Great Beer, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The entire surroundings are special. The food is a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2018

We love the dinner at the Foundry...the dinner is very good, and the wait staff is terrific!
Would really be great if you could grab a quick bite and a glass of wine in the afternoon
if you didn't want, or couldn't get in to the Owl Bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Ate here multiple times on a recent Sundance trip. Menu isn’t huge, but everything is really good. The Angry Muscles are a must. Service is perfect with a top quality staff. Atmosphere is exactly what you’d expect with a rustic cabin feel. Can’t wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2018

The ambiance and the server were excellent! The food was great too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Took some friends for lunch today. Usually I take people here for the great attention ...but things were a little off the pace of the service. However, then the main dishes finally arrived, the main courses were 'spot on'. The trout has always been good, but the potatoes were overcooked. My wife had the rotolo and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Unfortunately, the desserts were less than adequate. The blackberry chocolate tart was very dry, upon our mention-they removed it from our bill. Our friends had the apple cranberry crisp and gingerbread pudding, but they didn't seem that excited about the dishes...leaving more than half on their plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Sundance is one of my favorite places to go visit and spend relaxing time enjoying the scenery, especially during the autumn season, but just went up in January and it was so beautiful with the snow. It is a great destination to escape the city and enjoy a beautiful drive and arrive at a one-of-a-kind resort to wander around, ride, the lifts up the mountain, and especially enjoy the Foundry Grill's amazing, delicious food. The food is unique, phenomenal, and the presentation is beautiful!! I would highly recommend it to EVERYONE!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Fantastic food and atmosphere. The drive up is stunning as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch.......all employees were excellent, efficient and friendly. Decor superb, food excellent. Thank you.....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We are never disappointed with the food and service at the Foundry Grill. We've spent a few past New Year's Eves . Great place to go with friends to have fantastic food and quite conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Sundance is great anytime of the year...we live close and always go for the holidays. Charlie, our waiter is outstanding! Friendly, knowledgeable, suggested options and he even went way out of his way to get me a peanut butter cookie!!!! The Angry mussels are to die for!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We have never had anything we didn't love. The brunch is amazing but any meal is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We have always loved Sundance and enjoyed their various menu options. Finding ourselves empty nesters for Christmas we took our two college kids for Christmas brunch. The food was tasty but came to the table barely warm and with a lengthy delay which was NOT typical for Foundry Grill. The staff were all wonderful but the menu was lacking.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Always a pleasure at Sundance. Great food and cool atmosphere. Charlie is an awesome server. We will return again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Dine at the Foundry Grill at least twice a year. We travel from upstate New York to Utah 2 or 3 times a year and would never skip the Sundance Resort or The Foundry Grill. The Owls Bar is always a stop after the Foundry Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Family Christmas Eve lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Amazing, as always. The Foundry Grill at Sundance has a rugged yet elegant sophistication rarely found elsewhere. I've been many times, and will be back many more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2017

The Foundry Grill is a can't miss favorite in the area and among the best restaurants in Utah. The combination of setting, small space, small but excellent menu, good service and casual atmosphere are unbeatable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Every time we are out skiing or vacationing in Utah, we always plan at least one night to head out to Sundance and have a relaxing drink at the Owl Bar and then meander over to the Foundry for dinner. The ambiance is “one of a kind”, the staff are exceptional and the food is absolutely delicious! This place always exceeds my expectations!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We came during a vacation in Utah. We had a great meal at the Foundry Grill. Some of the dishes could have been a little more flavorful, but all-in-all, they were good. I enjoyed the ambiance, and I really appreciated the availability of non-alcoholic cocktails.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Hostess found us an especially quiet area with a fireplace when I asked for just that. Server was attentive, helpful with specials and in explaining certain items on the menu. She gave us time when we asked for that but didn't forget about us. Also knew the wine menu very well and her recommendation proved to be perfect. It was a great 90 minute lunch and I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2017

We went on a quiet Monday night and got a table by the fire. The ambiance was wonderful. A bit pricey but they do have to cart in all their ingredients up the canyon. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were perfect. Just outside the restaurant is a deli and bakery, and they had a delicious lemon tart I had for dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Loved it. Friendly service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2017

We went for my birthday from a recommendation from my mom. It was a great experience and the server was great.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.