About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://sundanceresort.com/dine/foundry_grill.html

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Private Party Facilities:
The Foundry Grill is available for private party rentals. Price is dependent on the day, date, menu, set up, and whether lodging has been booked for the group.

Private Party Contact:
Jonny Losee: 8012234216x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Sundance
Best Restaurants in Sundance ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Scenic View (23)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance is by far o ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance is by far one of my favorites places to dine and take in the entire atmosphere! Food, Service & ambiance were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Utah and Sun ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Utah and Sundance and we had Sunday Brunch at the Foundry Grill. I think it's the best brunch I have ever eaten. Nice selection of food, cooked perfectly, and presented well. Service was friendly and attentive. Empty plates were removed immediately and patrons encouraged to return for more. The desserts were excellent, particularly the chocolate peanut butter mousse. I would highly recommend it but be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First to say that Sundance is a great pl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First to say that Sundance is a great place to visit on its own. The foundry grill is the perfect dining experience. We have been there for lunch but first for dinner. We had an error on our reservation but the hostess was able to make arrangements and we were ushered in only minutes after our original reservation.

The Foundry Grill experience is amazing. Our server, Jordan, was spot on.

The wine list, like the menu, is paired perfect.

My wife had the salmon, with fingerling potatoes, and I the seared halibut with couscous. The chive buttermilk sauce was the perfect match. I paired mine with the Oregon Pinot Gris. Couldn't have been better.

Our guests both had the bison ribeye. An offering that must be tasted to be believed.

The foundry grill is just about perfect.235.9

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Foundry Grill for our busin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We chose the Foundry Grill for our business dinner. It was quite enjoyable! It was a little hard to find since there wasn't a sign above the entry door but from the moment you walked in the decor was rustic and beautiful, the service was very attentive and friendly, and the ambiance was wonderful. A perfect place to take an out of state guest. Our food was fantastic as well! We ordered the appetizers before the rest of the party arrived and they came out super quick!! AND they were gone super quick (so delicious)!! So, "unfortunately"(wink) we had to order more before the rest of the party arrived. They entrees were divine, the specialty drinks were fabulous and a the desert was great too! One of the members of our party had REALLY enjoyed a desert at the Tree Room so asked if they could have that instead. Our waiter was very accommodating, pulled some strings and got it for him! All around fantastic. I would very much give this place my recommendation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sundance is a very beautiful place for l ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sundance is a very beautiful place for lunch and the ride up the chairlift is very scenic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have eaten at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten at The Foundry. Both times we got fantastic food and service. I am sure the service might not have been as quick if it were more crowded, but they really seemed interested in how we enjoyed the meal and were very attentive. We will go back many times in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love coming to Sunday Brunch at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We just love coming to Sunday Brunch at Sundance. We are always treated as if we are special and important. We come to ride the chairlift, hike and eat! Love it every time! The food is always delicious and there are just enough choices to choose from without being overwhelming. I loved being able to make a reservation online! Wow gotta love technology! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have brunch on a fairly regular basis ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have brunch on a fairly regular basis, and the quality of food as been on a steady decline. My wife looks forward to the bacon but the last few visits the bacon has been undercooked, not crisp, soggy is he best way to descibe it. The rest of the brunch was ok, they have had better options in he past. We do love lunch and dinner at the Foundry grill, but will probably take break from brunch for a bit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Worth the hike from Park City!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worth the hike from Park City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We normally LOVE foundry, it is one of o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We normally LOVE foundry, it is one of our favorite places that we've come many times and will come many times again I'm sure but this night was our first bad experience. Their menu has changed and they aren't serving some of our fav old standards. Nothing on the menu really sounded good with is rare as I usually can't decide! No pork chop, no ribeye, no tortilla soup etc. I got the pizza which was yuck and my husband got the ribs which also didn't impress. Our salad was over dressed and our dessert was mediocre at best. Such a disappointing experience from a place we've come to have high expectations from. Hope it's not the new normal! We love you foundry, come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The Foundry Grill offers a wide choice o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The Foundry Grill offers a wide choice of dining delights. This is supported by pleasant and helpful staff, mood-setting decor, excellent menu and efficient operations. This venue is a highlight of the Sundance experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to sit on back patio that bordere ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had to sit on back patio that bordered the maintenance area. Awful!! Sweltering hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Such great food. Simple and delicious!!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Such great food. Simple and delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sunday brunch and the views ar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch and the views are amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOT IMPRESSED...GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT!!! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

NOT IMPRESSED...GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT!!! Arrived at the restaurant with great hopes. We were seated at a small two person table...ok, kind of intimate BUT it was in the middle of the room! EVERYONE coming and going and server had to pass by us. Then the table (only 2 feet apart) next to us had 2 loud obnoxious people and the more wine they drank, the louder they got. We couldn't even hear each other to carry on a conversation. There were several empty tables that we could have been seated at and they stayed empty the whole time we were there. I may be able to understand it if we were really late for our reservation and the place was packed and they wanted to punish us, but it was towards the end of the night and they just wanted to keep the customers in one area... all about their convenience. When our server brought our appetizers and bread we asked for two small plates because the couple next to us had taken them just before we were seated because they never got the extra plates they asked for.... well we never got ours either. Salad was good, but you can't mess up a salad too much. The halibut my husband had was tasteless and tough and WTH was that side it was paired with? The pasta I had was good, but I have had better and for far less. We had planned on having dessert, but by this point we just wanted to cut our losses and get back to our cabin. If you are very pretentious you are going to LOVE this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We love the relaxed and rustic ambiance ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love the relaxed and rustic ambiance of the Foundry Grill. The service is always knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. On this visit, the lunchtime entree selections allowed for varied appetites and preferences. We ordered the veggie flatbread pizza and a catch of the day fish sandwich (salmon). Both were nicely prepared and delicious. Also worthy of mention was my beverage, a very refreshing rocky mountain cooler, consisting of ginger beer, agave, lime and mint - a welcome drink on a very hot day. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly awful. Service was clueless and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Truly awful. Service was clueless and arrogant. Food was poorly executed. Worst of all, the room was tacky, shop-worn and not well maintained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food at The Foundry Grill was surpri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food at The Foundry Grill was surprisingly unremarkable: our entrees ranged from too bland to too salty. However, I'd still go back again because the service was impeccable - attentive and friendly - and the ambience is incredible!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch was amazing! Carving stations fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch was amazing! Carving stations for roasts beef and lamb, breakfast items. Delicious deserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience! For holidays, be sure ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great experience! For holidays, be sure to make a reservation if you want a table for brunch. They get crazy busy and try to arrive early to sort out any parking challenges that may arise. Brunch buffet was great. Lots of choices, all presented beautifully. The meal can get expensive rather quickly if you like to enjoy mimosas with your meal. Definitely would do again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Been there a half dozen times for the Su ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been there a half dozen times for the Sunday brunch which has always been excellent. Prompt wait staff and nice decor. Only downside was the no mimosas before noon. Not their fault, just Utahs' lack of separating church and state.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still a little pricey, but I guess that ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Still a little pricey, but I guess that comes with the Sundance name.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Their lunch menu defiantly doesn't hold ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Their lunch menu defiantly doesn't hold up to their prices. We prefer their Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

My second visit and it was just as fanta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My second visit and it was just as fantastic. Love this place. Always on the itinerary when we we in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been going to the foundry for over ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We've been going to the foundry for over a decade and the quality of the experience has declined over the past few years. The fillet was ordered medium and came out rare. The wait staff was unobservant not sure the experience matches other competitive restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The ambience of the resort is wonderful, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The ambience of the resort is wonderful, not so impressed with our server Patrick, he seemed in a constant rush and we had to ask the guy who was pouring the water to check on some things we ordered with Patrick, that never came. This was a case of role reversal whereby if the water/bus guy was our actual waiter, it would have been a much better experience. My only other comment was that the Hawaiian Pizza did not state on the menu that it actually had hot peppers on it, which I can't tolerate. Other than that, the hostess who sat us was charming and professional and our request for an outside table was honored.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Perfect Birthday Dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Took my wife here for her birthday. They were very accommodating and went out of their way to make it a special occasion. I called ahead to see if there was anything outside of the norm that they could do and they have a Bakery on-site. They baked a wonderful red velvet cake with Raspberry mousse filling (3 layers). The hostess took photos and distracted my wife while the cake was brought out as a surprise. Could not have asked for a better experience. :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing compared to 10 years ago. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Disappointing compared to 10 years ago. Waited half an hour past reservation time to be seated. Brunch featured less than fresh food. Pre-cooked eggs, bacon, pancakes and banana bread were cold. Only saving graces were smoked salmon and peach and cherry cobbler.

Expected much better. Not worth $37 per person or the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The atmosphere at Sundance is incomparab ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The atmosphere at Sundance is incomparable. For years it has been my go to place for business lunches, excellent breakfast, and wonderful dinners. A quick ten minute drive from Provo takes you to a place that feels like a serene escape from the busy day. Very good food and service. It's an excellent choice to dine here whenever possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was the absolute WORST experience I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the absolute WORST experience I have ever had in my dining experiences! The waitress overlooked our table, intentionally, and took the order of a table that came in behind us. The food was not up to standards, in any form or manner. I've had better service at Applebee's! And then of all things, when I wake up, after I left a tip that I should have not left, I was overcharged. Needless to say I will never done at the Foundry, even if Robert Redford himself paid for my meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Could have been great but...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We looked forward to special lunch and was very unfortunately greeted with a jackhammer through the lunch. Made it absolutely impossible to enjoy. For the caliber and price of the restaurant - you need to absolutely suspend the construction during peek hours at the very least or close the restaurant for the duration of construction. Not fair to your patrons - very expensive for a horrible experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great Texas thyme today We loved it wil ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Texas thyme today

We loved it will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit pricey, but such delectable food.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is quite wonderful, but it's very pricey. Everything is a la carte, so the bill can run up fast.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We've been wanting to try this restauran ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a long time and finally went on a quiet Sunday night. The ambiance was great , loved the rustic natural feeling, much like the Tree Room. Service was awesome, attentive, not intrusive. Hubby had the trout and said it was delicious with interesting combination of seasonings. I had the pork chop which was tasty, but a bit tough and dry. I had expected a much thicker and more tender piece of meat with more flavor. The cheese grits were a bit too runny but tasty. We will probably return since there were other menu offerings we would like to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The BEST!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been to brunch at Sundance many times.. but this Sunday it was exceptionally good! The best ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always love this place

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We eat at the Foundry Grill about 5-6 times a year, sometimes more. (We only eat out about a month, so...) It has always been a good place to go if you need to impress someone. The food has never disappointed and it's a good place to get a drink or a glass of wine with your food and good service from a staff who seems to care about their customers.

This time however, we had reservations because it was a birthday. We arrived 10 minutes early and were told we'd have to wait right to the time we reserved. Okay, no problem. There was only 1 other couple waiting when we arrived. We sat and waited, watching as people started pouring in, each group being taken back to tables as they arrived. We finally asked and were told they were all only seating two-person tables, but since ours was a 4 person, they were waiting for 2 groups to leave who'd already paid their checks, but were sitting around shooting the breeze.

I know for a fact that many of the people who were seated were larger than just 2 people. The group right next to us had 6. An HOUR LATER!!! not an hour after we arrived, but an hour beyond our reservation time, and we were the last people left in the waiting area, we were finally seated. This was very disappointing, since we did actually go through the rigmarole of booking online in advance. There goes my impressive place to take clients and out-of-towners. I'll have to go back to using Salt Lake City restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Graduation Lunch

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Although we weren't seated until nearly 20 minutes past our on-line reservation, we were greeted quickly. Jordan was very nice, though not extremely personable. She was quick to get us our drinks and take our order. The food came very quickly and was delicious. Although our table viewed the inner parking lot, the ambiance and views outside were amazingly beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the Foundry Grill but we were ve ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We love the Foundry Grill but we were very disappointed on April 21st. We came to celebrate our children college graduations and had made reservations. We got seated a little later than our reservation time but that was not a big deal. Our food server was very nice but we waited forever for every course and our sons fried chicken was way undercooked but because the service was so slow he shared his wife dinner. The rest of our dinners were delicious. The restaurant was just overcrowded with big parties and and it was obvious the kitchen was under staffed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great atmosphere ...not so great food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Service and atmosphere were great. Food wasn't worth the price, fair at best. If you are going to spend that much on dinner go to the Tree Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Meatloaf too spicy

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant. The ambience was wonderful and the scenery beautiful. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We enjoyed the appetizer and my husband enjoyed his filet mignon. My meatloaf was way too spicy. I wish the server would have mentioned the spicy taste when I asked him his opinion on the dish. I could only eat half of it because of the spice. I would have ordered something different.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.