Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Sat 8:00am-11:00am

Lunch
Mon-Sat 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner
Sun-Thu 5:00pm-9:00pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm-9:30pm

Sunday Brunch
Sundays 9:00am-2:00pm
$44 adults, 13 and older
$27 children, 5-12yrs
All you can eat buffet

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/foundry-grill/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Private Party Facilities:
The Foundry Grill is available for private party rentals. Price is dependent on the day, date, menu, set up, and whether lodging has been booked for the group.

Private Party Contact:
Jonny Losee: (801) 223-4216

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Cozy (23)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Worth the Drive (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fireplace (15)
Scenic View (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (7)
Historic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food in a good locations. Sundance is a gorgeous place and the Foundey Grill fits perfectly in the mountain environment.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A hidden gem in the mountains, but at the same time only a shirt drive away from Provo. Food is delicious and atmosphere is romantic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I went for the Table for Two special with the overnight and it was well worth it in every way. We live in Park City so it was great to "get away" only 20 miles away. From the reception to the trails to the incredible food, the stay-cation was excellent and we will be returning soon. The only problem, the food was too good so we ate too much. Just the entree and awesome dessert next time - skip the appetizers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have dined at the Foundry a number of times and it is very consistent. The food was good but the setting is great. Joel was our server and he was awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Not sure that I would recommend this restaurant. Tries to paint itself as a elegant establishment but the food is bland at best and over priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, great setting and great service! Would definitely recommend! Will be visiting again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Foundry Grill is the perfect location year round. Very good food & wine. Enjoy the stunning beauty of Sundance Resort from the large restaurant windows. Easy access off I-15. The drive (exiting I-80 @ Park City) is truly memorable through the rolling Wasatch hills (waterfalls everywhere in May). Ask your server about their Sundance Wines. Recommend reservations through Open Table.

Tags: Fireplace, Organic, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Vegan, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

sit by a fire while you wait and take it in the gorgeous mountain surroundings. the aspens in the windows, the fireplace inside the restaurant and the old wood, farm equipment and photos makes this place great. the food was excellent! I am GF/vegetarian and I had no problem filling my gut. yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Must order Brussel Sprouts--to die for! Filet is always an excellent choice!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent place, absolutely beautiful and service was excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The pork chop special was amazing and the burger is the best in the state!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The menu was enticing, the food expertly presented and flavorful, the portions moderate. The wait staff appeared harried. My guests and I conversed through much of the meal, occasionally obliged either to raise our voices and wait in silence for the noise level at nearly tables to subside. The vista remained majestic.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went to The Foundry Grill (Sundance) last weekend to celebrate our daughter's college graduation. We have been several times before when we've stayed at Sundance. Once again, the food and service were amazing!
We had the Charcuterie Board and hummus as an appetizer and loved the variety. My father-in-law chose the Pork Chop special and was nice enough to share it around the table; we all loved it (it was cooked to perfection). Three of us had the Scallops meal and I thought it was the best scallops that I've ever eaten (the marinade and the crispiness of the seared scallops was mouth-wateringly delicious). My mother-in-law ordered the Wagu Steak hamburger and raved about it. She shared tastes of it and the yummy fries which we all enjoyed as well. The only problem we had was that we ate so much, we didn't leave any room for desserts- which looked amazing. Maybe next time-- and there will be a next time for sure!
My daughter and I loved the non-alcoholic Mountain Cooler ginger drink special which we thought was a wonderful palette cleanser throughout the meal. My husband appreciated the nice variety of wines offered.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Birthday and graduation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The only negative thing about our dining experience at the Foundry Grill was the initial wait time to be seated. We weren't seated until 40 minutes past our reservation time--but it was a busy night at the restaurant, and we had a fairly large party. Once seated, everything was great. The dining room is very warm and inviting, the service was excellent, and the food was very good. We enjoyed dining here and wouldn't hesitate to return the next time we're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Pricey, but worth every penny. We plan on going again for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. One of my favorites around.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The restaurant was calm and quiet. Service was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food,but priced for a resort.
Expensive wine list
Great service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always have a wonderful experience at The Foundry!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Best meal I have had there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've eaten at the Foundry Grill several times. Service is almost always amazing, and the appetizers were fantastic. I'm not a fan of brussel sprouts, but wow, these are in a league of their own. First time trying the smoked salmon app, on flat bread w/ wasabi cream cheese, and it's my new favorite for sure. Only negative was that the chicken dish was dry, but I shared my wife's scallops, and they were to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambience, food and service was outstanding.......a delightful evening.....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Sundance at it's finest! My wife and I retuned for yet another outstanding meal, at the Foundry. It's well worth the drive over from Park City.... in fact, the drive itself is well worth while and the Foundry is the cherry on top!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The last 4 times they have seated us in the back room which feels like we are in the low budget part of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love the ambiance of the room, it was generally busy, but had slowed since our arrival. We booked a later reservation so to miss the rush. We were seated within 10 minutes, the hostess quickly sat us and left. It was probably a good 8 min before we were approached by our server. She seemed in a hurry. She took our drink order and our entree order and then was gone. Our drinks were served by another person. She breezed by and asked if we were OK, served us bread and left. Our appetizers were served by another staff, they tasted wonderful. especially the Brussels sprouts. Our server stopped by to remove the appetizers and she was on her way. After a few more minutes wait we were served our entrees by another server. The food was superb, My husband ordered the short ribs and was thoroughly impressed. I ordered the salmon and was not disappointed. We will return again for the food but not for the service. Our server left a lot to be desired, she stopped by our table 3 times the whole evening and didn't once serve our food. I was not impressed at all, from the hostess (who looked like she just walked off the ski slope in her coat), to our server who flew by our table 3 times. I was however impressed with the young man filling our water and bussing the tables, he did a phenomenal job. My compliments to the chef, and the buss boy, they deserve the tip I left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful location but bland food. The description of the soup-of-the-day was the best part of the soup. The vegetable pot pie was uninspiring.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a fantastic evening at The Foundry. The food was beyond delicious, the waitstaff was courteous and helpful, and the pacing of the meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome experience - food and service were both excellent. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great resort. Recommended.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been here many times. I always love it. The menu is seasonal so sometimes I like it more than others but I usually have a great experience. I love the atmosphere and the service is great. Double thumbs up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've been going to the foundry grill for more than 15 years and it's sad to say the food quality continues to drop off.

The ambiance is still wonderful but the food is average given the price point. Hope they can up their game or our twice monthly visit may turn into a twice yearly visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wife's birthday. Will be back every year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, atmosphere & service. The Foundry is always a favorite & I love the fireplace in the winter!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

All of our dinners were nicely presented and in a great atmosphere. Excellent bread/butter served complimentary prior to dinner. My entree of braised beef was a nice portion, just slightly overcooked, but tasty nonetheless. My wife had the burger which was perfectly prepared and served with a choice of 3 kinds of potatoes. A dinner featuring scallops was done to perfection as well. Erin, our waitress, was knowledgeable and offered worthwhile suggestions and was very attentive. All in all, a great place for dinner while at the Sundance Resort.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Love the homemade soups, sweet potato fries, and Moscow mules! I eat there every time that I go to Sundance and I've never had a bad meal or poor service. I LOVE it there!! :-)

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

apparently not all of the items on the menu taste that great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food, location and feeling inside the restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I am rating my experience very low for this visit. I have been going to Sundance and either the Grill or the Treeroom for over 25 years. It has always been incredible. This past time was such a disappointment. The food was overcooked and the tastes not matched up at all. I had the lamb and it could not have been done any worse and the overall plating and complementing items on the plate were all bad. On top of that the dessert was burnt and poorly put together. After the 25+ years this was a horrible miss from what I had become accustomed to as a 5 star location.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent mountain dinning. Good menu with a large choice of delicious reasonable priced food. Good wine and beer list. We chose some excellent local beers and the Sundance house white wine. Compared to other nearby resorts this is a much better ambiance and value for money. Friendly staff. Service a little laid back if you were in a hurry but who is here? Bar next door the Owl is another true Gem. All in all Sundance is a special place and this restaurant does it proud.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.