Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Foundry Grill @ Sundance

The Foundry Grill was opened in July of 1996. The name is taken from the concept of the large foundry wall located in the main room. The word foundry also implies simplicity and a return to the fundamentals. The room, the service, and the menu are an extension of this idea. The Foundry Grill is committed to providing the freshest of vegetables and meats cooked in our apple wood rotisserie oven. In warm weather, the patio opens for outside dining. Sundance believes in the preservation of our resources; all our water glasses are created from recycled glass and are hand blown here at the Sundance Resort.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch
Mon-Sat 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner
Sun-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm

Sunday Brunch
Sundays 9:00am-2:00pm
$44 adults, 13 and older
$27 children, 5-12yrs
All you can eat buffet

Cross Street:
Sundance Resort

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4220

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/foundry-grill/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available for all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Foundry Grill @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Scenic View (23)
See All
Casual (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Romantic (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance, wonderful food unbeatable scenery, relaxing and very comfortable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Fun, People Watching, Live Music, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We had a outstanding experience at The Foundry Grill on a Tuesday afternoon. Our waiter was very helpful with ordering options and he made us feel welcome. We will be back next time we
visit Sundance.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Sundance is so beautiful and away from the city! Loved the food and atmosphere!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Unfortunately, the quality of the food was really low. This was a new low. I have typically had good experiences. Our server was great. The dessert took nearly 20 minutes to come out. Our server, thankfully, recognized that was a problem and did not charge us.

Honestly, I was most disappointed with the couple sittle next to us who were jokingly discussing incredibly inappropriate things in a public setting WITH the dining room manager. Very disappointed.

Overall- food quality- below standard

Ambience- still good (inspite of the conversation)

Our server- no complaints

I don't know if I will go back. This was our anniversary and I expected more.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Was recommend by a few friends for our 28th anniversary. Wow, great service, ambience, food and favor! We will be coming back often. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. Thank you Foundry & our waiter!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Surprised my husband here for our anniversary breakfast on the recommendation of a friend. I will be recommending it to others, and I will definitely be back. The whole morning was an experience, and the service was impeccable. In nearly 30 years, I have never been offered coffee to go, that's something that will forever stick with me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We sat outside - it was beautiful. The food was all excellent, esp. the filet mignon and salmon. A bit pricey, but nice place to go for a splurge.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had our meal on the patio and it was beautiful. The food was delicious! We had a chocolate cake for dessert and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I'm perplexed as to why on some visits the menu is full of good food, then other times it's meh.

Desserts needs some help. There was a lovely fresh fruit crisp in the summer months before, now it's no where to be found on the menu. Fresh, local fruit is abundant?

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Fantastic dinner, great food, wonderful atmosphere. Came here for a birthday dinner and loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Fantastic setting and delicious food. Perfect night for our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great service, delicious, great environment!!! I would definitely go back again and recommend it to all family and friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

It was our group of Ladies 12th Anniversary of getting together one a month for 12 years!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had steak and it was wonderful. The service and food were outstanding, as always!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Highly recommended but disappointed in the flavor and presentation. Difficult to get a reservation because of it's location at Sundance Resort and the number of people visiting the various outdoor attractions.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing setting and atmosphere. Fun menu but can be a little expensive. Menu has limited variety of food. But if they have what you like is really delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I've been to the Foundry several times. I made a reservation for 5 before the theater. I requested outside but didn't get it. They assured me a 6:15 reservation was PLENTY of time (as it has been in the past). We were seated 20 minutes late. We were unable to stay for our dinners as at 7:50 they had still not arrived. Then we were still charged for our salads and bottle of wine. There was not even an apology just that "it wasn't your fault". It was an embarrassment for me bringing new people here and raving about how good it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very good service. Food was excellent. We were taking an arts class and was very short on time. Our food was prepared quickly to accommodate us.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My favorite patio dining, gorgeous!! Seems like their prices have increased, for special occasion is ok. Entrees took a while, server was a bit quick to grab items off table. Still, an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I've been to the Foundry Grill numerous times and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and the staff is always personable and fun.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I took my fiance here for his birthday and was underwhelmed by the food (especially at those prices!) but the biggest disappointment was our server who was not personable in the least. She didn't crack a smile the entire time or even introduce herself by name and even her menu recommendations fell short. I'm hoping this was just one bad apple and it won't spoil the barrel of beauty, tradition, and rustic class at such a special place as Sundance. I may visit the Tree Room again in future, but will definitely think twice about patronizing the Foundry Grill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Foundry Grill is one of our favorites and never disappoints. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

A great experience as always! I come back for the charcuterie board, the fresh honeycomb makes it special. We tried the halibut this time and my wife, (not a seafood lover,) said it was the best fish she'd ever had. The food was incredible and a wonderful environment. I will definitely be back,...again. :)

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fantastic Food! Best Wagu Hamburger I have ever had! Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic setting, delicious food. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 13, 2017

I love the Foundry Grill. It's always a treat to eat there.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Foundry is a favorite of ours!! We love the feel and the service is amazing (GO CHARLIE!!). It's fun when the menu changes and we get other options.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We are locals and love to drive to sundance to escape the valley heat. We often say that we wish the food were better. We keep trying it, only to be disappointed. For the price, it's not that great. The beauty of sundance is well with a look but bring a picnic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Outstanding other than waiter little slow and forgetful

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and service! Can't beat the beautiful Wasatch Mountains and a great meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great location, excellent food. Our server and other wait-staff were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent lunch. Brought friends from the East Coast and they loved everything about Sundance. Lunch was creative and delicious. Highly recommend

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Have been to Foundry Grill on multiple occasions and always find the food delicious, the atmosphere charming, and the service exceptional. Both the inside and outside dining offer a unique environment. Both sun and snow at Sundance are beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Worth the trip! Great food in a beautiful setting!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I remember the food at the Foundry Grill being outstanding. I've be going to Sundance for over 30 years. Last night our meal was fair at best. My old favorite, pear, blue cheese, and bitter greens salad (had a horseradish taste). My guess is they used the beet salad dressing by mistake. We tried 5 different entrees, all mediocre. It makes me sad because I love Sundance. But I'm not willing to spend $350 for a meal that isn't exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The patio at the Foundry Grill is amazing. We were literally eating in a forest! The food however was a little disappointing. I had the halibut and my husband had the filet. Neither had hardly any seasoning. The corn "sauce" side dish that came with the halibut was a very small portion and not very tasty. The service was fine...our water was filled regularly and the waitress was informative but not super friendly. It was a delightful dining experience just because of the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

They were kind.

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

LOVE this place! It has an inviting rustic interior, an impeccably trained serving staff, and more-than-delicious choices on the menu. Sunday brunch in summer is de rigueur if you're in this area over a weekend...leave time to amble around the spectacular Sundance property before or after dining. We are repeat visitors lucky enough to call ourselves regulars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2017

When we visit Sundance for a hike or zip line, we love to eat at Foundry Grill. My wife got the Ricotta Gnudi and proclaimed it one of the best meals she ever had. I am a picky eater and just wanted some type of grilled chicken dish. I asked our server, Jordan, if that was possible. She offered several off menu alternatives to meet my wishes. Overall, great service, beautiful venue, and reliably good food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.