About The Forge

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until 11 PM
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until Midnight

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty four wines from a bottle Opus one to a more modest yet equally deserving pour are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 28 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

We are now offering complimentary transportation sponsored by miRide. Please call 305-538-8533 to reserve.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Specials

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Remastered Sundays

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Join us every Friday for our famous Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour at the bar. Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar. Live DJ and live performers throughout the evening. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 24, 2016 on Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Remastered Sundays

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 24, 2016 on Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (58)
Notable Wine List (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Historic (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Live Music (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Scenic View (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went with my family for Miami Spice an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

I went with my family for Miami Spice and was very satisfied. I ordered the Mayan Shrimp for appetizer, filet mignon for entree and chocolate lava cake for dessert. Everything was delicious. The shrimp came on a bed of corn and was very tasteful. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection with a side of Brussels sprouts and potato purée. The only item I was too crazy about was the chocolate lava cake but the ice cream it came with was really good. I would definitely be back regardless of Miami Spice or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great DJ, awesome soul singers Sunday ni ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great DJ, awesome soul singers Sunday night, Vueve Fridays are not to be missed, excellent food, lively bar scene, world-class people watching. Whenever I'm in Miami, I always go to The Forge.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Forge restaurant was one of our high ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Forge restaurant was one of our highlights from our trip to Miami Beach. The menu offers a terrific variety of seafood, steak and all of the extras to go along with the meal. Javier was our waiter and we couldn't have been happier with our service and dining experience. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Miami.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Talia was very attentive and she also ga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Talia was very attentive and she also gave us the history and a walking tour of the restaurant.

Miami Spice was outstanding -- suggest the tuna tartar and filet mignon! Definitely coming back!

Also, cannot beat the happy pricing on champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our meal, the service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, the service was VERY good - staff on top of everything and very friendly. We ended up doing the Miami Spice menu for the first time and it was a delight. So nice for the staff to educate us and let us know about both menus. The value of what is offered on the Miami Spice menu was GREAT! Really nice for a restaurant to offer great items on their regular menu, truly gives you a taste of what the restaurant serves. The decor was not what I expected, I anticipated a very traditional style given the buildings history, so a little odd and I didn't think it needed that contemporary miami style but I still very much enjoyed the evening and would recommend a visit to friends!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance , excellent food, his ...

vip
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wonderful ambiance , excellent food, historical place, all around excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service, very reliable performance ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service, very reliable performance from the kitchen and wonderful wine by the glass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server Shane was exceptional! And th ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our server Shane was exceptional! And the blue cheese -Carmelized onion dip for the filet was amazing!!'

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restaurant, the food, the expe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved the restaurant, the food, the experience. Had a smidgeon of a feeling though that the servers were disappointed when we asked for the Miami Spice menu - I sensed a change of attitude. Aside from that, the service, food, and environment were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Historic, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a birthday there. Our wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We celebrated a birthday there. Our waiter was just outstanding. The service was impeccable. The food and presentation was perfect.

I can't wait to go back to Miami, just so I can dine there again!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing experience The food ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very disappointing experience The food was mediocre, the service was appallingly bad Overall, I would not return. I had always loved this restaurant, but it's gone downhill dramatically. I do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

hadn't been in years, brought my two son ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

hadn't been in years, brought my two sons (6 &17) , they sat us in the back which was better for us as a family although not as lively or desirable as the main room. The food was great but the service pretty slow. They were super busy though. Servers knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing atmosphere. Amazing food. Amazin ...

vip
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Amazing food. Amazing service! Can't wait to come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was impeccable, but good was ok

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was impeccable, but good was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great first night in Miami dining here! ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great first night in Miami dining here! Food, entertainment and staff were amazing!

Definitely will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Forge once before and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I have been to the Forge once before and loved how beautiful and romantic it was so I decided to try again for my first year anniversary. It was such a let down. the waiters kept on all standing in a corner all laughing among themselves. Our waiter looked like he was bored and kept dragging his feet loudly as he passed by our table. Needless to say the food was not the best I've had or even close. My husbands filet mignon was beyond dry borderline burned, as well as his molten was so over cooked it had no melted chocolate on the center. For sure not a restaurant that ill return to nor recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

While the food was very good, the servic ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

While the food was very good, the service was totally absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent service and food!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A superb dining experience with extraord ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A superb dining experience with extraordinary ambience. Outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

this place is completely overrated save ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

this place is completely overrated save your money and go to Morton's Capital Grille or Fleming's instead the food was cold and under seasoned. I found it to be very Bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Amazing service, exquisite food! Never a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing service, exquisite food! Never a disappointment.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service are both amazing

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food and service are both amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, this was an amazing experience! ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall, this was an amazing experience! We were celebrating my wife's birthday. Our reservation was for 9:30pm, we were seated within 5 minutes of our arrival. The restaurant was chic and the music was great. Our server Jill, was amazing from recommendations with drinks to what we should choose as a side dish from the MS menu. Everything we ate was what we expected and more. After dinner Jill took us on a small tour of the restaurant and wine cellar. She (Jill) went beyond what is expected of a server at this type of restaurant. Highly recommend and will be going back. Keep in mind that the Miami Spice menu changes weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good, but impersonal and det ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was good, but impersonal and detached.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Neal was our server. Outstanding job! E ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Neal was our server. Outstanding job! Excellent bar. Music in the bar but not overpowering. It was our anniversary and the staff went above and beyond to make it special. Definitely worth a return trip

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For me it is the best place for have a g ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For me it is the best place for have a good dinner and drink in Miami

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife their for date night and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I took my wife their for date night and had an absolutely fabulous time. The dining areas was booked, but we were able to get a seat at the bar and enjoyed wonderful food and perfect martinis. Highly recommend if you want to impress!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was executed perfe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The entire experience was executed perfectly in particular the black grouper was cooked to perfection with a nice sear and great flavor. The petit fillet was cooked to a perfect medium rare. All topped off with excellent service. Two exceptions were the octopus was very spicy for some reason on two out of 7 orders and the orange tart was really too sweet for most of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Had a great time celebrating my son's bi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my son's birthday with a few of his friends. The food was excellent, as well as the service. Our waitress was truly a delight and very attentive. She made great recommendations. Would definitely come back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and ok ambiance.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food and ok ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great ambiance and mouthwatering food. I ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great ambiance and mouthwatering food. Incredible service, friendly staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it the place is excellent

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love it the place is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food wasn't good and the service was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food wasn't good and the service was dis organized. I ordered two bottles of champagne and my fiancee had something floating in one of the glasses and the waiter blamed it on her rudely. The food wasn't that great and wayyyyyy over priced. The only thing i would tell someone to go there for is a drink at the bar and then continue on your night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great music, great ambiance, food is goo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great music, great ambiance, food is good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is my new favorite place! I had an ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is my new favorite place! I had an amazing experience at The Forge last Friday night. First, they had great music playing and a lively crowd around the bar for happy hour. I had a reservation at 9:00 and was seated the moment I walked in. The wine list is HUGE and had so many good bottles on it, the sommelier's recommendation was delicious. Service was amazing, from our server to the food runner to the bus boy. Lastly, the food was outstanding. We went for the Miami Spice menu which is 35$ for an appetizer, entrée, and dessert. The Jamaican jerk bacon appetizer was so delicious, the filet mignon was cooked perfectly with amazing truffle fries, and the pecan tart with banana bread ice cream was the perfect dessert. The best part is, they change their Spice menu every week. I will definitely be coming back here very soon! I loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to the Forge for over ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I have been going to the Forge for over 30 years. The inside decor has definitely changed, but the food and service is always wonderful. Look at the brick wall all I could think of was "if only these walls could talk."

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was fantastic and very attentive. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Server was fantastic and very attentive. Steaks were cooked perfectly and we got a pasta that was on Miami Spice menu as a platter to share for the table Adam appetizer... it was so amazing that we ordered a 2nd portion. Soufflé for dessert was a perfect finish to our special evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter sasha was absolutely delightf ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our waiter sasha was absolutely delightful so helpful polite and made us feel very welcoming! Front of house service was fantastic food incredible. Will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Too, too, noisy. Had to lean across tabl ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Too, too, noisy. Had to lean across table to converse...my bad for booking 8:30 res on a Sat night. However wait staff were warm, friendly & attentive although Sommelier brought bottle instead of glass of wine. We never did get the gratis dessert wine advertised on their website for their Miami Spice menu but the onion soup (to die for), filet (forget the collard greens) & meringue tart (perfectly creamy & tart) were enough & good value for $39. I 'm going back to sample their two other Spice offerings but never on a Sat.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love the place but fish portions are ver ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love the place but fish portions are very small not worth the price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.