Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About The Forge

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until 11 PM
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until Midnight

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty Four wines from Opus One to a more modest yet equally deserving pour, all are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 40 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Specials

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Join us every Friday for our famous Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour at the bar. Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 2, 2017 on Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (37)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Business Meals (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (12)
People Watching (12)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Live Music (4)
Scenic View (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing, even though we have some mistakes. The service was very poor at the bar and at the table..
We ordered two courses with truffles, but unfortunately we couldn't feel the taste of it (no truffles at all) -- we ordered the filé a Rossini and truffle fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent ! Steak was cooked to perfection took a wine paring suggestion and it was delicious. First time here and won't be the last

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

This place has the best ambiance. Very classy place. The bartenders made great drinks and played really cool music. I was only there for dinner but ended up staying a hour after eating just enjoying scenery and music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was amazing. Music was shockingly great!
I will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service! Great staff! Friday nights amazing DJ.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Had an amazing time, service and food was excellent. Looking forward to going again. Champagne bottle special on Fridays, great idea !
Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Go for the experience. Food was delish, but incredibly overpriced. Go once and you're done.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome! I loved this place! You have to ask for the tour! The have a treasure in there! Very good service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Bath)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Considering we were celebrating our 39th Wedding Anniversary, I was appalled with the service we received. We were early, and although the table was ready, opted to have a cocktail at the bar. There was one lady working the bar and it took 30 minutes to get 4 cocktails for us. Two came out together, and then we had to wait another 10 minutes to have the other two despite being a party of 4. The food was nice, although avoid the crab cake as it's more of a potato cake. They got a rare steak and a medium steak the wrong way around and then it was hard to catch the waiters eye to say it was wrong so ended up just swapping it. The food came out really fast and we felt super rushed. Once said that we felt rushed, the servers attitude towards us completely changed and it spoilt the whole experience. Burnt soufflés finished off a rubbish wedding anniversary, so thank you for making it truly special for all the wrong reasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Beautiful Restaurant and the food was very good. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall great experience with Miami Spice menu and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The hostess was so rude. They sat us at this table that was too big and we could not hear on another. I asked to move and they refused. Meanwhile the small four top did not get sat at all which was what we requested. The worst experience. Thank god for the food and waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Only one of the three bartenders was active and attentive to the customers. The one man bartending was an idiot and didn't know what he was doing; avoiding eye contact with the customers.
Live Music by the Bar was too loud. Couldn't hear each other speak.
Waiter at our table was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Our waiter Ashton was amazing, helpful and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

They were out of lobster and the lobster bisque was just ok. Steak was pretty good but the chocolate cake with the banana ice cream really saved the meal for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My girlfriend and I visited from San Francisco. Booked a couple hours beforehand on open table and arrived to find out they didn't have my reservation on their "system". We finally got seated at a super small table that was barely enough space for the food and wine menu. Although dressed well, I didn't feel welcomed, I'd hate to think it was because of my dark complexion. The service? They tried but I've been to many places in SF, Hawaii, Napa, Mexico etc with superb service. The food? Much like the service..it was ok, not for the price however. A appetizer, wine, and 2 filets..went for almost 300 due to a 40 dollar service I was not aware of. I will give them credit for their super cool wine cellar, we got a tour of. We chose this place to be away from busy south beach places. It's worth it if you check travel zoo or other sites like Groupon to see if you can get a deal, which we learned we could have done afterwards. Otherwise, I've spent 120 at other steakhouses for much better food.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was an amazing experience!!! Me and my husband enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I have been wanting to visit The Forge for a while now, and finally took my girlfriend there for her birthday. The place looked great; Huge open spaces, lights were dimmed and the food was amazing! The drinks were alright, although we decided to try two new drinks we had not tried before. Just not our preference, but that is why its good to try out new things! :)
Overall, The Forge met all our expectations and we will definitely come back and bring some friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

An incredible DISAPPOINTMENT! The structure of the building, the decor, the stained glass, the library, the dining rooms were all spectacular to see. However, we waited 90 MINUTES for our appetizer! Complaints to the managers feel on deaf ears. Their responses were "Well, the kitchen must be backed up". We waited another half an hour for the main course, filet mignon with mashed potatoes. Both were cold when they arrived. They had been cooked correctly, but obviously they sat around somewhere in the kitchen instead of being brought to our table when still warm. The waitress was so awful that she was pulled from our table by her shift captain, and the captain substituted for her. The captain was very nice. To accommodate us for the gross inconveniences and cold food, we were comped, for the mashed potatoes. Then they added a 20% gratuity to the bill. We will never go back. Limiting ourselves to just admiring pictures of this restaurant online is far more satisfying than actually trying to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This place is expensive! But the food wasn't that great. We had the seafood tower and did not like some of the items. This was the first time this had happened. Next, we had the wedge salad which was good. Then, we had the crispy crab cake which was ok but had a smoky flavor that was overbearing. We ended with a New York strip. It would have probably been good but we added the signature spice rub recommended by the waitress and did not enjoy it at all. We also had the truffle mac and cheese which was delicious. We were full at that point but had too many so so items in our meal. I would not return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Located in the posh corner of North Miami Beach, The Forge boasts a subtle but elegant facade. Only those who know where to look find it upon first glance. Upon walking into the grand double, heavy doors, you are greeted by opulent interior design replete with dark walls, warm lighting, and unique sconces. The grand room is the central focus, with cathedral ceilings and an enormous but beautiful vintage chandelier reminiscent of the days when Frank Sinatra and Billie Holiday's voices rang through the jazz clubs where only the elite met. Candle light and wing back chairs help set the mood for a romantic dinner, and the bar in the back is as graceful as it is long. Cocktails at The Forge come in a variety of flavors and smoothness. The Pimms Cup was my favorite. The dinner and wine menu are exquisite, with steaks being cooked to perfection. The Forge is an experience, to put it simply. It is a special place for those wanting to dress up and join North Miami Beach's high society for a night. While the cost may be a bit steep for some, what you get from The Forge and the service from its excellent staff are worth the investment if you have can do it.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Best truffled mac and cheese, very romantic environment and excellent service. Beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My first time back in 10 years food was fantastic as well as the service keep up the great work Shareef !!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

enjoyable dinner with the use of travelzoo that included dinner and dessert

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We are regulars here because the ambiance is so comforting.
But you add to that the great food and service and it just makes all that satisfying. My filet was perfectly cooked and tender as butter and our server and his assistant were always on top of things making sure our beverages and bread basket were filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This steak has earned its strong reputation for food and service. A great spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cancún)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We do have dinner at the Forge everytime we are in Miami, i do regret when the restaurant rush the service. We did spend 100us in a few minutes at the bar before taking our table, ordering a bottle and oysters. The place was relatively quiet for a Friday evening and we did fill that pressure of a service that is rushed and expecting to finish your meal and leave the table. I wish there was a little more finesse amongst staff to recognize when a couple is enjoying a meal and good conversation and there is no need for a table. A NY trend that is regrettable and moving to Miami

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service by Talia and staff. Chilean Sea Bass exceptional as usually. $50 Veuve Cliqout on a Friday nights are the cherry on top.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It felt over hyped and over priced. Staff was very friendly. Valet took a very long time when we arrived and when leaving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday and unfortunately it was so loud in the dining room. We wish we would have known when we made the reservations that the music in the bar area would carry over to the dining-room. The food and service was spectacular. I would recommend to go any night but Friday evening when they are playing loud music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Extremely pretenses attitude of reception team of hot babes not interested in common folk. Music blaring, if you like that sort of vibe. Food was decent and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I have been going to the Forge since 1972. I is my favorite restaurant in South Florida. This time, along with another couple, my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. For those who have never dined at The Forge, you are really in for a treat. Not only is the ambiance 6 Stars, the food wonderful, the wine list and cellar a real treat (I had my 60th birthday surprise party in their private wine cellar dining room) but over the years once in a while the service is not up to par.
On Thursday 7/6/17, this was one of those times. The waiter (Sergio) was terrible. I had to wait over ten minutes for my scotch to arrive (they were not busy at that time) AFTER my table mates were served wine. It was only thru a request to the bus-boy (he was great) that it arrived at all. This occurred over and over again with regard to ice, a souffle that never arrived along with sorbet that took 15 minutes and three requests. It was so bad that it became comical.
Again, the norm for the Forge is 4 to 5 star service. Tina, a Manager on duty did try to make amends with Comp. deserts after the souffle did not make it to our table.
Regarding dinner, I had a 12 Oz. strip that was perfect, my wife's tuna tartar was out of this world, our friends had the pastrami duck and fish, both excellent.
The Somieler, Gino, was on vacation (he is the best in Florida) his standby was OK, but we were surprised that after ten years in this position he had not visited either Sonoma or Napa Valley. Yet he served us a good bottle at a reasonable price. More assistance with pouring would have been appreciated.
Go there, it is a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excelente servicio y comida sobresaliente!, realmente un lugar fantástico!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great experience. Steak was perfectly cooked and tender. We also enjoyed the king crab risotto. Excellent service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our experience at the Forge was amazing! Easily the best server we have ever had, even arranged for a private tour of the building and the AMAZING wine cellar! Will definitely be coming back as soon as I am in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Birthday. Atmosphere is amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

our waitress was lovely and gave us great service. although usually the restaurant is louder and has more music/performances, we enjoyed the quieter experience this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service was really good
Smiles and well trained team
Compliments

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We live part-time in Miami and had never been to the Forge. From the minute you walk in the front door you feel like you are someplace special. Everyone is treated with great respect and all of the tables seem to have a great appeal. The bar was fun and lively with a DJ, yet it did not cause the restaurant to be so loud that you couldn't have a nice conversation. The food and drinks throughout the meal were of the highest caliber, and the service was perfect. What a great find

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.