About The Forge

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until Midnight
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until 1 AM

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty four wines from a bottle Opus one to a more modest yet equally deserving pour are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 28 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Promotions

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Remastered Sundays

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Join us every Friday for our famous Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour at the bar. Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar. Live DJ and live performers throughout the evening. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 24, 2016 on Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Remastered Sundays

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 24, 2016 on Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

special occasion (55)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (32)
See All
fit for foodies (31)
hot spot (31)
good for groups (31)
vibrant bar scene (20)
late-night find (15)
neighborhood gem (15)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Forge for almost any occasion ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I love the Forge for almost any occasion. The food, the service and the ambiance are great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Wonderful all around!! Loved the Ve ...

Dined 5 days ago

Just Wonderful all around!! Loved the Veuve Happy Hour. Highly recommend going on a Friday. Too fun!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Talia, was outstanding! Grea ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, Talia, was outstanding! Great experience and bubbling personality. Will done here again very soon!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was the night to celebrate my birth ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the night to celebrate my birthday which I have done at the FORGE several birthdays from my past. Great place which ever disappoints.

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The decor and ambiance are probably to b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The decor and ambiance are probably to best features in the restaurant. We have two servers and our service was still disappointing. Neither of them were very attentive and time for refills was unacceptable for a restaurant with prices that high. I ordered the New York Strip cooked medium. Blood was all over my plate ( it looked medium rare to me) and I still struggled to cut through it. It was a terribly disappointing steak. However, the creamed spinach was very good as were the sweet potatoes. I enjoyed the singing - very pleasant surprise and thev70s/80s music was very nice too. I would definitely give The Forge 5 Stars for ambiance, but the service and food can get 3 stars at best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food but Noisy

Dined on June 10, 2016

Reservation was easy to make and confirmed by the restaurant as a reminder. The wedge salad, fillet mignon main course, sides and dessert were all superior. Service was attentive and always at the right time. Bar noise was fairly high and combined with music which was distractingly loud took away from the overall experience. Inexplicably at 9 PM a singer with a keyboard started singing in the middle of the restaurant and drowned out any chance of dinner conversation. Maybe weekday evenings are quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Great staff, decor and especial ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Amazing! Great staff, decor and especially the food !

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth every penny

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Forge is an upscale restaurant with amazing food, service, and atmosphere. My boyfriend and I dined there last Saturday and were seated in the Library, which is quieter than the main rooms with beautiful stained glass windows and bookcases lining the walls and a chandelier that came from the White House (from JFK and Jackie O's residency). After ordering a bottle of wine and sampling the bread basket, we selected the Canadian Salmon (me) and 8 oz Filet Mignon with the house rub (him) with sides of Asparagus, Black Truffle Mac & Cheese Pot Pie, and Parmesan Truffle Fries. I cannot tell you how delicious everything was, even the breads. I particularly loved the Salmon - very savory. The only item that wasn't AS delicious was the asparagus, which lacked a kick - but it tasted amazing in the butternut squash sauce that my Salmon came in. We ended the meal with the S'mores Souffle and a scoop of vanilla ice cream at our server's recommendation. The bill ran up about $200, but it was well worth it. Would definitely recommend The Forge to anyone looking for a romantic date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

Dined on May 28, 2016

I booked our table in October last year to celebrate my sister's birthday and The Forge did not disappoint. Our server, Anna was attentive but not overbearing. My sister marvelled at how she just knew what we needed before we asked. The food was amazing and the setting gorgeous! Well worth the visit! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place

Dined on May 18, 2016

We waited quite a time to order but everything else was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great evening...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Neil was awesome. The food was great. I wish I could do that every day. If I made enough money, I would. Terrific place, service, and food. They go above and beyond to make you happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BEST STEAKS IN THE COUNTY !

Dined on May 8, 2016

tHE fORGE HAS BEEN MY FAVORITE SINCE HIGH SCHOOL. EVERYTHING IS THE BEST AND I can't find a single thing to complain about. One of the few restaurants with soufle's on the menu and boy are they great. Enjoy

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious super steak with foie gras!!! ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious super steak with foie gras!!! Side order is amazing... The tuna Wellington ! Yum!! Outstanding service with Talia!! Decadent Chocolare Napoleon Definitely going back for more

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistency at the Forge

Dined on May 7, 2016

The Forge delivers again with excellent food and service in an elegant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Good food, but not spectacular

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I went there for dinner and the food was good, but not outstanding, specially when compared to other amazing restaurants available in Miami. I really liked the atmosphere and the design though. Very different and edgy. Service was also not very good. Ask for a table in the main dining room, much more fun.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great steaks and chops

Dined on May 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the dinner here. Had a great aged steak, and what made it really special was the Foie Gras and truffle sauce on top. Also, the rack of lamb was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put, the best restaurant in Miami ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Simply put, the best restaurant in Miami. Service, entertainment, vibe, and of course the food, always spectacular!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended

Dined on April 30, 2016

I went there for my boyfriend's birthday dinner and early Mother's Day celebration. I love the long history that the place have. The amazing wine list that they have to offer. The decoration is top notch. They have a live singer ~9pm. And to my surprise my boyfriend proposed, the staff went beyond and created an amazing experienced and customer service was amazing. The truffle Mac and Cheese is a most try !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant! The food was fantastic ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great restaurant! The food was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, Sophisticated and really eleg ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Delicious, Sophisticated and really elegant!!! It's a pleasure to enjoy a dinner at The Forge:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and ambiance

Dined on April 23, 2016

For a night out, something different, this is the place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular dining experience. First cla ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Spectacular dining experience. First class service, amazing food. The Forge doesn't disappoint. Still the best filet mignon in Miami.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything blends with this opulent rest ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything blends with this opulent restaurant : the ambiance, the food and the impeccable service. This is a very romantic restaurant to take your loved one or impressing your date.

food4
ambience4
service4

This has always been our "go to" restaur ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

This has always been our "go to" restaurant for most important life celebrations, yet this time we were underwhelmed. The overall quality seems to have gone down on every level and for the first time we sat next to a family with small children. I am a parent and love children but not when I'm at a fine dining establishment. It seemed that the adult patrons weren't the same either, some men dressed in very casual t-shirts and tennis shoes and had a general lack of fashion etiquette, simply too dressed down, one thing that I loved about The Forge was the incentive to dress up, this was the one place to do that despite being in a beach town. Lastly and most importantly, the food: though good, was not as good as it's been in the past, it really seemed to be of a lesser quality, starting from the dry, wafer-like sweet crackers in lieu of bread all the way to their meat, our whole table agreed on that... It's sad to see such an iconic place go down a notch in my book. With Miami becoming such a foodie destination, with new and delicious places opening everyday, the older spots like The Forge need to step up their game (or preferably go back to the original recipe) if they want to stick around. Again, it's still a good restaurant but not as great as it once was. Sad. I miss The "original" Forge and the whole experience.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Little disappointed in food

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Billed as the best steak house in South Beach, it fell short. The food was good, not great, and overpriced for the quality. Had a large group, 14, and the back room was a godsend. Other then that, I can eat much better and tastier food elsewhere.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed in serve

Dined on April 10, 2016

Was in Miami for boyfriend's birthday. What should have been a romantic celebration was ruined do to poor service. First, they brought out the wrong cocktail. Secondly, they brought out the wrong cut of steak. After waiting 20 minutes for my steak to arrive, my boyfriend was finished eating, so I ate alone. They brought a dessert out "on the house" for his birthday and to apologize for the mix up, but ended up charging us for it. Total letdown from what we were expecting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forge has the best Happy Hour on Fridays

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The Forge is the offer vueve cliquot bottles for $50.00 on Fridays. The food is great and the ambience is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service and steaks

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Somewhere we go back again and again whenver we have an excuse. Don't miss the chocolate soufle!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our go to weekend restaurant

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We love this spot, food is outstanding, service impeccable and entertainment is super fun. It's our go to weekend restaurant spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is absolutely divine!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service. Top notch!"A must " when in Miami Beach/South Beach area

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 29, 2016

This place is like eating in a fairy tale! It's absolutely fantastic from the moment you step into the door until your first bite of food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had dinner Easter Sunday. We have been to the restaurant a few times prior to this & will go back again. Food was amazing…service was perfect & atmosphere was great as well. We enjoyed tour of wine cellar as well as other dining rooms & appreciate the history of the place even more now. Highly recommend this restaurant. We drive from Fort Lauderdale.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

One of our steaks was cooked medium rare ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

One of our steaks was cooked medium rare instead of medium well. But, they gave us a complimentary dessert to compensate! Everything was delicious!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice decoration and good food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Service could be improved. The air conditioning was so cold. Is it the Forge or the Fridge ?;)

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All-Around Perfect Meal

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Both the meal and the service were impeccable at The Forge. The decor is what really stole the show, as it is clear management has taken great lengths to create a decadent yet relaxing atmosphere for their restaurant. We will be returning many times over the years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forge is in my top 5 restaurants

Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic romantic evening at the Forge, first time dining at this restaurant and it will not be the last. The strip steak was perfectly done to my satisfaction and the sweet potato au gratin was superb. Our host Mary was marvelous in assisting with our wine selection and kind enough to share the history of this beautiful building and escort through the facility with a educational tour. Give Mary a raise, she is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

spectacular Forger

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Terrific service, very good steaks, trendy ambience on South Beach, but the most interesting thing about the entire evening was the private tour of the wine cellar. Unbelievable. Never seen anything like it. For a spectacular experience, you should give this place a try !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Second time and it was disappointing. S ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Second time and it was disappointing. Service was slow and food was mediocre

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would right in line with some other ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

It would right in line with some other fine restaurants that they offer to refresh your drink with an ice glass ( for martinis ) it would be an excellent caring gesture I love that Very good place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.