About The Forge

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until Midnight
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until 1 AM

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty four wines from a bottle Opus one to a more modest yet equally deserving pour are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 28 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Some Like It Hot Wednesday Party offers an exciting evening with special performances, DJ and $50 bottles of Moet

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Veuve Clicquot bottles

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Miami / Southeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Miami - Dade County
Steakhouse
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (56)
notable wine list (49)
See All
hot spot (39)
good for groups (38)
fit for foodies (37)
vibrant bar scene (25)
late-night find (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
scenic view (8)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place

Dined on May 18, 2016

We waited quite a time to order but everything else was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great evening...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Neil was awesome. The food was great. I wish I could do that every day. If I made enough money, I would. Terrific place, service, and food. They go above and beyond to make you happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BEST STEAKS IN THE COUNTY !

Dined on May 8, 2016

tHE fORGE HAS BEEN MY FAVORITE SINCE HIGH SCHOOL. EVERYTHING IS THE BEST AND I can't find a single thing to complain about. One of the few restaurants with soufle's on the menu and boy are they great. Enjoy

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious super steak with foie gras!!! ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious super steak with foie gras!!! Side order is amazing... The tuna Wellington ! Yum!! Outstanding service with Talia!! Decadent Chocolare Napoleon Definitely going back for more

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistency at the Forge

Dined on May 7, 2016

The Forge delivers again with excellent food and service in an elegant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Good food, but not spectacular

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I went there for dinner and the food was good, but not outstanding, specially when compared to other amazing restaurants available in Miami. I really liked the atmosphere and the design though. Very different and edgy. Service was also not very good. Ask for a table in the main dining room, much more fun.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great steaks and chops

Dined on May 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the dinner here. Had a great aged steak, and what made it really special was the Foie Gras and truffle sauce on top. Also, the rack of lamb was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put, the best restaurant in Miami ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Simply put, the best restaurant in Miami. Service, entertainment, vibe, and of course the food, always spectacular!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended

Dined on April 30, 2016

I went there for my boyfriend's birthday dinner and early Mother's Day celebration. I love the long history that the place have. The amazing wine list that they have to offer. The decoration is top notch. They have a live singer ~9pm. And to my surprise my boyfriend proposed, the staff went beyond and created an amazing experienced and customer service was amazing. The truffle Mac and Cheese is a most try !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, Sophisticated and really eleg ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Delicious, Sophisticated and really elegant!!! It's a pleasure to enjoy a dinner at The Forge:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and ambiance

Dined on April 23, 2016

For a night out, something different, this is the place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular dining experience. First cla ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Spectacular dining experience. First class service, amazing food. The Forge doesn't disappoint. Still the best filet mignon in Miami.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything blends with this opulent rest ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything blends with this opulent restaurant : the ambiance, the food and the impeccable service. This is a very romantic restaurant to take your loved one or impressing your date.

food4
ambience4
service4

This has always been our "go to" restaur ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

This has always been our "go to" restaurant for most important life celebrations, yet this time we were underwhelmed. The overall quality seems to have gone down on every level and for the first time we sat next to a family with small children. I am a parent and love children but not when I'm at a fine dining establishment. It seemed that the adult patrons weren't the same either, some men dressed in very casual t-shirts and tennis shoes and had a general lack of fashion etiquette, simply too dressed down, one thing that I loved about The Forge was the incentive to dress up, this was the one place to do that despite being in a beach town. Lastly and most importantly, the food: though good, was not as good as it's been in the past, it really seemed to be of a lesser quality, starting from the dry, wafer-like sweet crackers in lieu of bread all the way to their meat, our whole table agreed on that... It's sad to see such an iconic place go down a notch in my book. With Miami becoming such a foodie destination, with new and delicious places opening everyday, the older spots like The Forge need to step up their game (or preferably go back to the original recipe) if they want to stick around. Again, it's still a good restaurant but not as great as it once was. Sad. I miss The "original" Forge and the whole experience.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Little disappointed in food

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Billed as the best steak house in South Beach, it fell short. The food was good, not great, and overpriced for the quality. Had a large group, 14, and the back room was a godsend. Other then that, I can eat much better and tastier food elsewhere.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed in serve

Dined on April 10, 2016

Was in Miami for boyfriend's birthday. What should have been a romantic celebration was ruined do to poor service. First, they brought out the wrong cocktail. Secondly, they brought out the wrong cut of steak. After waiting 20 minutes for my steak to arrive, my boyfriend was finished eating, so I ate alone. They brought a dessert out "on the house" for his birthday and to apologize for the mix up, but ended up charging us for it. Total letdown from what we were expecting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forge has the best Happy Hour on Fridays

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The Forge is the offer vueve cliquot bottles for $50.00 on Fridays. The food is great and the ambience is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service and steaks

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Somewhere we go back again and again whenver we have an excuse. Don't miss the chocolate soufle!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our go to weekend restaurant

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We love this spot, food is outstanding, service impeccable and entertainment is super fun. It's our go to weekend restaurant spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is absolutely divine!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service. Top notch!"A must " when in Miami Beach/South Beach area

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 29, 2016

This place is like eating in a fairy tale! It's absolutely fantastic from the moment you step into the door until your first bite of food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had dinner Easter Sunday. We have been to the restaurant a few times prior to this & will go back again. Food was amazing…service was perfect & atmosphere was great as well. We enjoyed tour of wine cellar as well as other dining rooms & appreciate the history of the place even more now. Highly recommend this restaurant. We drive from Fort Lauderdale.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

One of our steaks was cooked medium rare ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

One of our steaks was cooked medium rare instead of medium well. But, they gave us a complimentary dessert to compensate! Everything was delicious!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice decoration and good food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Service could be improved. The air conditioning was so cold. Is it the Forge or the Fridge ?;)

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All-Around Perfect Meal

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Both the meal and the service were impeccable at The Forge. The decor is what really stole the show, as it is clear management has taken great lengths to create a decadent yet relaxing atmosphere for their restaurant. We will be returning many times over the years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Forge is in my top 5 restaurants

Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic romantic evening at the Forge, first time dining at this restaurant and it will not be the last. The strip steak was perfectly done to my satisfaction and the sweet potato au gratin was superb. Our host Mary was marvelous in assisting with our wine selection and kind enough to share the history of this beautiful building and escort through the facility with a educational tour. Give Mary a raise, she is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

spectacular Forger

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Terrific service, very good steaks, trendy ambience on South Beach, but the most interesting thing about the entire evening was the private tour of the wine cellar. Unbelievable. Never seen anything like it. For a spectacular experience, you should give this place a try !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Second time and it was disappointing. S ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Second time and it was disappointing. Service was slow and food was mediocre

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would right in line with some other ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

It would right in line with some other fine restaurants that they offer to refresh your drink with an ice glass ( for martinis ) it would be an excellent caring gesture I love that Very good place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Forge

Dined on March 4, 2016

Was expecting more. Had heard great things about this resto. Service was very good, but food just mediocore. Doubt I would return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicago Visiters

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Had an opportunity to visit the Forge recently. Fantastic food and service. Try the mushroom/chips side- just outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place in Miami

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The wine list is incredible and the quality of the food is amazing. This is restaurant is worth of what you pay, our dinner was about $100/person and I will not hesitate to go back the next time I visit Miami.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

It's my must go to place in Miami! They ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

It's my must go to place in Miami! They have nice live music throughout the night. Service is always amazing. And we were there for $50 per bottle Veuve night! What could be better.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

See and be seen , low substance, high style

Dined on February 27, 2016

I felt The Forge was a big South Beach tourist trap. The food was very, very average at best and the service was not up to par for a place that sells itself as being so upscale and chic. You can tell The Forge is a big money maker for whoever owns it - a lot of the FF&E, flatware, glassware and plates are very old and worn out, giving the restaurant a Disney World sort of feel - looks good from afar, but once you see the quality level and condition of these items you realize you have been had. Food was very bland and highly salted. One redeeming quality was the wine list was fairly priced.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

50th wedding anniversary dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

We were greeted in a very welcoming manner. As they knew this was a 50th wedding anniversary dinner the hostesses showed us several different tables and gave us an opportunity to pick our spot. Analea, our waitress, was amazing, couldn't have been nicer in the warmth she showed for the occasion. Super attentive...please thank her. All-in-all it was a memorable dinner with great food (I had the Branzino) and a bottle of VC.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on February 24, 2016

This was a random last minute dinner spot for me while at a loose end on a Tuesday evening of a one day visit to Miami Beach. Good service, good martini, probably the best presented and most creative appetizer I've had in a decade (the beet salad) . Good steak selection, no waving raw slabs of meat at startled and unsuspecting diners (a la Mortons). Knowledgeable serving staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miami Beach Dining Icon.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food, attentive service and beautiful décor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Hot Spot Dining

Dined on February 18, 2016

Loved the main dining area with the live entertainment...plus great food and service..made for a very lovely night out! The only negative was my cocktail was not brought to the table from the bar and the wine is extremely overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Not impressed

Dined on February 18, 2016

I have lived in SoFla for 18 years and have heard about the Forge forever. I finally went for a business dinner with associates from Europe and was hoping for an outstanding dining experience. Based on the prices I was expecting nothing less than the very best, I was sadly disappointed. It wasn't a very particularly busy evening, there were open tables and no one at the bar. I made reservations on Open Table and we were seated at a booth table. Those sitting on the booth portion were a foot lower at the table than those sitting on chairs. A very awkward arrangement for business dinner. I very politely asked if we could be seated at a table with all chairs and was told that all those open tables were reserved and subsequently seated in a remote corner in another booth/table arrangement but at least we all sat at eye level. I ordered a bottle of wine off the wine list which was out of stock. The sommelier came over to tell me and just handed me the wine book. No offer to assist or apologize for the inconvenience, I guess I had it wrong, we were the inconvenience (haha). The steaks came in a reasonable amount time and was average (at best). We're talking $50+ steaks and fish entrees and $14 sides, at that price I expect to be overwhelmed. As we left at 11 PM the bar was starting to get lively and there were plenty of beautiful young girls gathering outside. It became very apparent that it was all about the "club crowd" and not a first class dining experience. VERY DISAPPOINTED and never again unless of course I want to hang out at the bar after 11 PM.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Special occasion

Dined on February 16, 2016

Excellent food. Steak and salmon were unbelievably delicious. Celebrated our anniversary here and had a wonderful time. Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion. Really neat environment inside too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.