Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About The Forge

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 6 PM until 11 PM
Friday, Saturday & Sunday 6 PM until Midnight

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty Four wines from Opus One to a more modest yet equally deserving pour, all are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 40 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Historic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (12)
People Watching (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Live Music (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Private Room (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Dancing (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The Forge is classic fine dining at its best. The decor is sultry and romantic. The service impeccable and the food preparation and presentation was five star.

We had the Chilean sea bass which was the most incredible we've ever had.

I look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was fantastic, the food was great and the tour of the property was amazing. I always have a fantastic time here and get great photographs. Lots of history here and a must- see!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The waitress, Jasmine, made the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

One of our absolute favorites when we visit Miami. The service and food are always excellent. I have been visiting since I was a little girl and. Ow bring my own children. I love how we walk in with our 4 children, three this visit. We are not seated at some terrible table, or treated like second class citizens as a result! No always the case! We will continue o return each and every trip!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excelent service, food, wine... EVERYTHING!! ❤️❤️❤️ We're in love with this place!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful staff, great venue, wonderful food!!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Phenomenal place with wonderful service and even better food. It was easily the best place i have ever been to in miami

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raum Köln)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Julie's food is amazing and Geno's wine service is top notch! One of my favorite restaurants in America!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were there last year and the food was better. This year very little had taste. Very good wine list.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I think the decor is beautiful. Now the good wasn't that good. Just a steak thrown on a plate. The sides only for two people to share. We had to refill our own water and wine. The lady would barely come around. 20%tip is already included.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Forge was outstanding. The decor and atmosphere was very elegant and the food was first rate. Expensive but very good food and excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Probably the worst experience we ever had in a Miami restaurant. On a good note we were there before and we had a great time so I hope it was just a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The dinner at the Forge was for our 37th anniversary and the evening was very special. We arrived at 7:00 PM for our reservation and there were only a few tables being occupied. We ordered with Anna and she was very courteous and answered all of our questions. All through our dinner Anna would ask us if we needed anything. Several members of the staff came by to wish us Happy Anniversary. We had the Filet, and the New York Strip, both were fantastic. We had mashed potatoes, and sweet mashed. Both were delicious. We will be back when we get the chance. My wife was here 36 years ago. When we left at 9:00 the place was full with a waiting line. We loved the evening. Thanks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Bronzino and the fixings were unique and tasty. However the best part was the hostess Tony. She set the stage for a great dining experience showing class and pleasure to see us making it a great start !

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a reservation for 8:30 got seated at around 9:15. Got served my entree at aroond 10:30pm. My night was completely ruined. I have been here several times and this is the first bad experience. Moral of he story either come really early (6ish) or really late (10ish)

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

took an hour over reservation time to be seated. not attentive at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great steak place with very extensive wine list. Steaks were extremely good. Our waitress was extremely nice. Issue was Saturday night wait. We had reservations at 8:30. Arrived a little before. We were told it would be 20-35 minute wait. At 9:05 checked and told would be 15 more minutes. Many people were very annoyed at hour wait who had reservations. At 9:30 complained to manager who finally got us a table for two. He said traffic caused 6 pm arrivals to be late which slowed all reservations. Wish they had said that right away. Also, people more than 15 minutes late should lose their time slot to people on time. Had similar problem several years ago. Admit was a Saturday night during boat show.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived only 15 minutes late. The place was completely packed. They did not seat us for 45 minutes. We asked when we would be seated, they said their system was down and they did not know. We left and walked to another restaurant. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I must say, I wanted to go to this Iconic restaurant for a while, but I am not a fan of dining in Miami beach, too touristy and too over priced for the value. The Forge meets these preconceptions and then some
We had a reservation at 8 Pm, we were told upon arrival 10 min prior that they were running a little late, well 1 hour and 15 minutes later we were finally seated, After I approached the manager on duty 3 times about our table, he finally seats us , we spent about 100 dollars while we waited at the bar ( We were not even offered a drink nothing ) then another 590 at dinner, so for 700 spent that night I will say it's not worth it, I have been to many places all over and I am sure this would never happen in NYC, SF, LA, Paris, London . I now understand why I dislike Miami, it will never measure up to great cities and the Forge is a good reason why.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My son and I both got the "Super Steak," the special 16oz NY strip. His was cooked properly and tasted good. Unfortunately mine came out warm and was the fattiest, most disappointing NY strip I have ever had. I work in NYC and eat at the top steakhouses there on a regular basis, and I know what NY strip is supposed to taste like. We have also been to Red and Prime 112 and have had excellent meals there. Apparently because I didn't send the steak back immediately and ate most of it (thinking it would get better but never did) they couldn't take it off the bill but instead comped me a $20 dessert instead of a $59 steak. My wife's branzino was excellent, as was the Caesar salad for 2 and the soufflés, but we won't be going back again anytime soon, as there are just too many other steakhouses to eat at in Miami Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome cuisine and music! But if you're looking for a quiet dinner, the Forge is not for you.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

On Monday February 13, my husband and I celebrated my birthday at Forge. Chef Julia & Forge staff made our evening a special occasion. We had an incredible meal, everything was exceptional! Fabulous evening! Thank you Julia! We're looking forward to coming back!
Robin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is truly unique in every way, from the moment you walk through the front door it's special. The service is excellent, efficient, warm, and friendly. The wine list was amazing and our choice was helped by the best Sommelier we've encountered. The food is fantastic and the ambience warm and inviting. When you go, request a tour of the private rooms and wine collection, an excellent end to an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Skip the overly expensive alcohol at the Forge.
Wine mark up is for flashy dudes, fancy expense accounts or showy tourists. Gin martini 2$ less than Vodka martini. But at $25 can't imagine top shelf surcharge!
Steaks cooked perfectly, yet only average for high end steakhouse. Sides tasty; Souffle divine Used to be our go to place for out of town guests. Hip Hop music after 8PM; Way too loud, so stay far away from center room.
Needs to pick up their game-- Make the Forge Great Again"

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous food! Great waiter !!!Excellent evening in an absolutely spectacular surrounding.We will definitely come back! Wonderful experience!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had never heard of it prior to searching for good food on Open Table. Great find. Excellent wait staff. Thanks so much for what seemed like your undivided attention Talia Vazana!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

They did a nice gesture for our anniversary but for the price of the items it was about mediocre in food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A wonderful surprise! Expected an architecturally beautiful but dated restaurant with OK old fashioned food & service. What we found: an architecturally beautiful space with stunning trendy decor (just short of over the top), gracious service (just short of hovering), fun, high energy ambience (just short of noisy) and delicious food (just short of fabulous)!
Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

So it was My wife's and I 1 yr marriage anniversary celebrating here at the forge. As we entered, the host greeted us very politely and sat us down in a quickly fashion. He mentioned the server would be right with us shortly. So we waited 5,then 10,then 15 minutes pass by and our server has not even greeted the table. At this point my wife and I start getting a bit flustered especially since its a Wednesday night and there weren't many tables being occupied at that time. Then someone stops by and drops off some bread, still not the server at this point. I think we eat the entire bread bowl given to us before the server came and greeted us. At this point the good impression I tried to make for my wife has gone down the drain. Of course instead of complaining, my wife being a manager at a high end restaurant herself, wanted to give the server the benefit of a doubt. As the night continued, mistakes kept arising. No app plates for our appetizers, wrong sauces for our steaks, wrong side dish orders for our dinner entrees, and we had to ask for more olives for our drinks 3 times and still is was a no show and we had to ask someone else working there to bring it and it finally came. At this point there was no excuse for the service because the restaurant was not busy,she did have a note pad and was writing things down, if you are in the weeds and need help simply ask your co workers and I'm sure they will help, and if things came out wrong to the table , fine it happens, but your job is to be attentive and make sure your we are okay when the food comes out and not have us wait 5 minutes while our food is getting cold for you to then pass by to let you know things aren't okay and wait more time after that to get our sauces, sides, garnishes fixed. We were not happy with the overall service but I what I CAN say is that the quality of the food was phenomenal. Hopefully IF we ever go back to visit, we will defiantly advise the host to sit us with the best server he knows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Hands down the best steak and sea bass in Miami! The food was phenomenal, the service was impeccable, and the ambiance was outstanding. Do not go to Miami without a night at The Forge! Dinner turned bar with live music...cannot be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This restaurant is top notch. Can I say I'm in love with it LOL. Let me start by saying I just moved to Miami Beach and two random people I met told me to try The Forge. I finally suggested to my family and we went. The wine list is awesome...whatever you could imagine is on there. The food was the best I've ever had. We eat out a lot and this is the best food I've ever had. I cannot wait until we go back which will be in two weeks 😃.
We had the our 3 year old with us, he was so comfortable at table #50. It's bench seating and he was laid out with his tablet..first time we were able to enjoy our food.
You must try...I meant it...

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing food and entertainment throughout the evening!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Another outstanding meal at the forge! My favorite restaurant In Miami!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Thought food was ordinary
Never been to a restaurant that automatically puts a 20% gratuity on a check for a party of 2!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

What a treat! The Forge is a splurge but I am so glad we did! The interior alone is worth a visit. Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. The steak was amazing and the wine selection was -- no words. Beyond incredible. Highly, highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Extremely attentive service but not bothersome. Excellent food & recommendations. Delicious virgin cocktails & excellent wine recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our party of 6 was very well served with great food and drinks. The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. Management also checked on us. Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very good but the service was terrible. Our waiter ran off in the middle of taking our order so he could get a plate for his other table. When he finally came back to continue taking our order, he was so concerned with what the men at his other table were saying that he totally ignored us while standing at our table and when I asked him to repeat our order he had missed half of it. The other issue I had was how long they let empty plates sit in front of you. We ordered appetizers entree and dessert(of which we ordered at the same time that we placed appetizer and entree order). They did not pick up our dirty appetizer plates until they brought the entrees and then let the dirty entree plates sit there until they brought dessert, of which we waited at least 25 minutes for after we finished our entree. Hmm wonder if the waiter who was not paying attention did not put the soufflé order in when he put our dinner order in . All of this is unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber. I had heard about this place forever. It was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Was very expensive and they add a $30 or more service charge to your bill

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.