About The Forge

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 6 PM until 11 PM
Friday, Saturday & Sunday 6 PM until Midnight

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty Four wines from Opus One to a more modest yet equally deserving pour, all are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 40 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (18)
Historic (16)
Live Music (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Fun (11)
People Watching (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Private Room (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Dancing (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love love this place. Food and service ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love love this place. Food and service were amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Tapas,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Iconic place.

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic meal. Iconic place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was served Luke warm

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was served Luke warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Looking for a good steak and boy did we ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Looking for a good steak and boy did we find a great one. Close to beach area we went for a special dinner our last day in Florida, our waiter Jonathan was fantastic and also gave us a tour or the building. The steak simply melts in your mouth. Would highly recommend to all.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entertainment was great but the food ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The entertainment was great but the food was really bad. Table side Caesar looked great while it was being made but when ended up being dry and very little dressing at all. Ordered a $90 Bone in Ribeye but came out completely raw and not seasoned. I think they need to focus more on improving the food and less on the gimmicks.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

The service, food and atmosphere was awe ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service, food and atmosphere was awesome. Definitely plan on going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, , Historic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely too expensive for what you ge ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Definitely too expensive for what you get: good average food, waiters extremely pushy and old dated ambience. Waiters are the kind of guys friendly until they realize you are not available to order the most expensive items from the list. Then they treat you very coldly. Unacceptable that the wine by the glass is served from a small pitcher (probably to measure quantity) but you do not see which bottle the wine is coming from. Considering that one wine glass starts from 15 dollars and above. Now we can say we dined at the famous Forge but never again, be sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Expensive and mediocre. It is a grand re ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Expensive and mediocre. It is a grand restaurant but appears to be unloved. In our dining room, there were at least 10 burnt out light bulbs. Salads were very good. We had the table made Caesar and wedge. Sides were tasty-spinach, mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts. The big letdown were the steaks-super steaks and filets were flavorless although cooked to temperature. The wine list is large but few interesting choices or values. Would not return or recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Overall a really good meal! Only complai ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Overall a really good meal! Only complaint: waiter forgot to bring one of our salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special night out on vacation.

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Special night out on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, live music, excellent se ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great ambiance, live music, excellent service, landmark building.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible place....

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible place....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience we have had in qu ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best dining experience we have had in quite a long time.

Our steaks were perfectly cooked, and the sides were well prepared. In particular, the sauce with the haricot verts was amazing.

An energetic crowd on Friday night. There is a $50 Veuve Clicquot bottle special, and there were samplings of Johnny Walker Black.

Overall, and excellent experience.

Thanks to our waiter ("Jergens"?) for helping to make it a terrific night.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience! Dinner was excelle ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful experience! Dinner was excellent and entertainment was awesome! A Favorite of mine in SB :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing dinner at The Forge. Exc ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Another amazing dinner at The Forge. Excellent service and food. Still the best Filet Mignon in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They either treat Travelzoo vouchers wit ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

They either treat Travelzoo vouchers with disdain or else the restaurant is extremely ordinary overall. The Travelzoo menu items were nothing to write about as appetizer of two marinated shrimps seemed to miss the mark whereas the Main entree of filet served over broccoli slaw was somewhat extra salty and not exactly the write temperature for the steak. The chocolate lava cake dessert appeared to be a grocery store dessert heated up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Food and Service.. Hands down my f ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Food and Service.. Hands down my favorite restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I rate this restaurant a C- at best. The ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

I rate this restaurant a C- at best. The jumbo shrimps were dry and disgusting. The octopus was fair. Our waitress and her help were both on drugs. We would never go back. I felt ripped off that we had to tip 20%

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Off the charts! A must go to if you are ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Off the charts! A must go to if you are in Miami and looking for upscale dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dinners ever (a ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was one of the best dinners ever (and I've had quite a few) Guillermo provided excellent service. The food (Super steak for me, strip steak for wife and son, bronzing for daughter-in-law) was outstanding and the desserts (chocolate soufflé and chocolate bombe) was outstanding. Beautiful setting and we got a tour of the enormous wine cellar afterwards

All in all a fantastic evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and I loved the a ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was excellent and I loved the ambiance. The service was very good. My team loved the restaurant and I will be returning back with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always exceptional. Waiters paci ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food is always exceptional. Waiters pacing of meal and attentiveness was not good. You should never have to ask for water or remind a waiter what you ordered and about a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Small portions steak over cooked average ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Small portions steak over cooked average taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Amazing place with the best wine selecti ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing place with the best wine selection. Highly reccommended for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Excellent... From the welcoming ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Simply Excellent... From the welcoming staff , amazing crafts drinks, a wine selection that serves every pallet and cuisine that never disappoints . The Forge is a sexy steakhouse that touches all your senses. A must do when in Miami.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Live Music, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and ambiance! First tim ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Exceptional food and ambiance! First time. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a pleasurable experience. From th ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a pleasurable experience. From the bread basket to the dessert every detail is well prepared and exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Forge always is terrific! It is eleg ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The Forge always is terrific! It is elegant and the food and service are great! It can get a little loud with the jive entertainment on weekends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thoughoughly enjoyed the dinner at The F ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Thoughoughly enjoyed the dinner at The Forge. The service and food were excellent. They had occasional entertainment, not continuous so it was not distracting. The decor was very nice. It is a bit pricey, but nice for a special treat.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Forge is one of those restaurants th ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Forge is one of those restaurants that never seems to go out of style. The food is classic with contemporary twists like my absolutely perfectly grilled filet mignon paired with caramelized brussel sprouts. Normally, I detest brussel sprouts but ate every morsel of these they were so good. The steak was fork tender and perfectly seasoned. YUM. My husband's salmon was also perfect as was his lettuce wedge salad. The only disappointing part of the meal was dessert. Our chocolate lava cake had no lava flowing and it had the texture of something out of the microwave and not completely thawed at that. It was mediocre. Still, the rest of the meal was so spectacular, we would not hesitate to recommend the Forge to anyone looking for a special night out. Just order a different dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I 'be been to the forge many times over ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

I 'be been to the forge many times over the years. We were asked if we wanted to sit in a quieter room and we said yes. It was still very noisy and we asked for the music to be turned down at least 4 times. The food was as good as ever but the service was a bit clumsy, not as impeccable as in the past. Not sure if I'd return which is sad as it was always one of my favorite Miami restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner is always superb! Love bringing c ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Dinner is always superb! Love bringing clients here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to the table sid ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were looking forward to the table side Ceasar Salad, we expected something sensational for $18 per person, boy were we disappointed worst salad we've had in a very long time, better off with MDs, my steak was less than good being very dry. The server paid little or no attention to us, couldn't even get the bill for dinner until I begged someone. Don't waste your money, not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good food Expensive but in line wit ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very good food

Expensive but in line with expectations

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I loved it.... it was unique and differe ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

I loved it.... it was unique and different not your typical south beach spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Steak was amazing, melts in your mou ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Steak was amazing, melts in your mouth and cooked to perfection (medium rare). The tuna appetizer was also fantastic.

Sommelier, Dean, was very friendly and did a great job of recommending wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to The Forge was 30 years ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

My first visit to The Forge was 30 years ago. The Forge has and always has had the best food, service and ambience. Unlike most south Florida restaurants you can always count on a wonderful evening here.

I was a little nervous on this visit as the service was certainly off. As each course was brought to our table the server / food runner held the plate up and announced what it was so that we could claim it, as soon as my table mate finished eating his plate was whisked away while I was still eating, the check was brought with our coffees - without us asking for it. These service errors are basic standards that need to be taught to all servers but especially at the Forge as clientele expect it. Hopefully the restaurant is just gearing up for season and has some green dining room staff - but they should not be left on their own until they are properly trained.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

They have maintained this old time nosta ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

They have maintained this old time nostalgic restaurant. The food is fresh and well prepared. The souffle was a true treat. The server was wonderful well paced in delivering the food. The old FORGE was well decorated and comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

First time at the Forge, but not the las ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time at the Forge, but not the last. We went for Thanksgiving dinner and could not have had a better experience. The food and presentation of the food were outstanding as was the service from everyone we encountered. The restaurant was quite busy, but never got too loud and the experience still felt intimate at our table. Also, the design of restaurant is fantastic. This is really a special place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.