About The Forge

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until Midnight
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until 1 AM

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty four wines from a bottle Opus one to a more modest yet equally deserving pour are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 28 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Promotions

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Remastered Sundays

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour

Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Join us every Friday for our famous Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour at the bar. Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar. Live DJ and live performers throughout the evening. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 24, 2016 on Fridays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Remastered Sundays

Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 24, 2016 on Sundays from 6:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

special occasion (47)
romantic (41)
notable wine list (32)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
hot spot (29)
good for groups (27)
vibrant bar scene (21)
late-night find (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great environment great service will be ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great environment great service will be back again 😬

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I was on vacation for my birthday & wan ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I was on vacation for my birthday & wanted to give myself a treat. Everything was excellent!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love dining at The Forge. The food is ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love dining at The Forge. The food is excellent and the service is immaculate. I went on a Thursday night this last time around. It was quiet. If you want a vibrant scene, you must come on a Friday night. It is quite an experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to the Forge several times, a ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We've been to the Forge several times, and there's a reason why it's an icon....everything is excellent! We especially always enjoy the live musicians/singers...it's the perfect combination of great food and service but not at all a stuffy steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited for a special anniversary dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Visited for a special anniversary dinner on a weekend trip form NYC to Miami. Food and service were top notch but not worth the upcharge.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Great service. Food was so so. Interesti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service. Food was so so. Interesting performance but not suitable for a relaxing/quiet dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Great restaurant with amazing ambiance. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great restaurant with amazing ambiance. One of my favorites!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious.... Spectacular

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was delicious.... Spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Forge is beautiful and a remarkable ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Forge is beautiful and a remarkable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time and great food at th ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a great time and great food at the Forge! Especially on Fridays with Veuve Rose at $75 a bottle!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is great are better than Wednesday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Place is great are better than Wednesdays. They have and singers great time

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience as always! If you want ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great experience as always! If you want the ultimate place in Miami, incredible good, best atmosphere - surreal, and the finest service, this is it! Expensive and worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the vegetarian medley entrée which c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had the vegetarian medley entrée which came with no quinoa or Bing cherry as it was supposed to, and looked up at my wine glass (full of wine) to find that the waiter had poured water in it on top of my wine

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Went for the Friday champagne happy hour ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for the Friday champagne happy hour at the bar - bottles of Veuve are only $50! Then we had dinner in the dining room where we listened to live singers and great music. This place is a nice mix of energetic and romantic because of the nice dark ambiance. The food was perfect, I would eat my salmon entree again and again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant I've ever been in my ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The best restaurant I've ever been in my life, great food, great atmosphere!

I already brag about it to all my friends and colleagues!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Forge for almost any occasion ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the Forge for almost any occasion. The food, the service and the ambiance are great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Wonderful all around!! Loved the Ve ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Just Wonderful all around!! Loved the Veuve Happy Hour. Highly recommend going on a Friday. Too fun!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Talia, was outstanding! Grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, Talia, was outstanding! Great experience and bubbling personality. Will done here again very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the night to celebrate my birth ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the night to celebrate my birthday which I have done at the FORGE several birthdays from my past. Great place which ever disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The decor and ambiance are probably to b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The decor and ambiance are probably to best features in the restaurant. We have two servers and our service was still disappointing. Neither of them were very attentive and time for refills was unacceptable for a restaurant with prices that high. I ordered the New York Strip cooked medium. Blood was all over my plate ( it looked medium rare to me) and I still struggled to cut through it. It was a terribly disappointing steak. However, the creamed spinach was very good as were the sweet potatoes. I enjoyed the singing - very pleasant surprise and thev70s/80s music was very nice too. I would definitely give The Forge 5 Stars for ambiance, but the service and food can get 3 stars at best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great Food but Noisy

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Reservation was easy to make and confirmed by the restaurant as a reminder. The wedge salad, fillet mignon main course, sides and dessert were all superior. Service was attentive and always at the right time. Bar noise was fairly high and combined with music which was distractingly loud took away from the overall experience. Inexplicably at 9 PM a singer with a keyboard started singing in the middle of the restaurant and drowned out any chance of dinner conversation. Maybe weekday evenings are quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing! Great staff, decor and especial ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Amazing! Great staff, decor and especially the food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth every penny

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Forge is an upscale restaurant with amazing food, service, and atmosphere. My boyfriend and I dined there last Saturday and were seated in the Library, which is quieter than the main rooms with beautiful stained glass windows and bookcases lining the walls and a chandelier that came from the White House (from JFK and Jackie O's residency).

After ordering a bottle of wine and sampling the bread basket, we selected the Canadian Salmon (me) and 8 oz Filet Mignon with the house rub (him) with sides of Asparagus, Black Truffle Mac & Cheese Pot Pie, and Parmesan Truffle Fries. I cannot tell you how delicious everything was, even the breads. I particularly loved the Salmon - very savory. The only item that wasn't AS delicious was the asparagus, which lacked a kick - but it tasted amazing in the butternut squash sauce that my Salmon came in. We ended the meal with the S'mores Souffle and a scoop of vanilla ice cream at our server's recommendation. The bill ran up about $200, but it was well worth it. Would definitely recommend The Forge to anyone looking for a romantic date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special occasion

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I booked our table in October last year to celebrate my sister's birthday and The Forge did not disappoint. Our server, Anna was attentive but not overbearing. My sister marvelled at how she just knew what we needed before we asked. The food was amazing and the setting gorgeous! Well worth the visit! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We waited quite a time to order but everything else was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great evening...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Neil was awesome. The food was great. I wish I could do that every day. If I made enough money, I would. Terrific place, service, and food. They go above and beyond to make you happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BEST STEAKS IN THE COUNTY !

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

tHE fORGE HAS BEEN MY FAVORITE SINCE HIGH SCHOOL. EVERYTHING IS THE BEST AND I can't find a single thing to complain about. One of the few restaurants with soufle's on the menu and boy are they great. Enjoy

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious super steak with foie gras!!! ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious super steak with foie gras!!! Side order is amazing... The tuna Wellington ! Yum!!

Outstanding service with Talia!!

Decadent Chocolare Napoleon

Definitely going back for more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistency at the Forge

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The Forge delivers again with excellent food and service in an elegant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, but not spectacular

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I went there for dinner and the food was good, but not outstanding, specially when compared to other amazing restaurants available in Miami. I really liked the atmosphere and the design though. Very different and edgy. Service was also not very good. Ask for a table in the main dining room, much more fun.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Great steaks and chops

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the dinner here. Had a great aged steak, and what made it really special was the Foie Gras and truffle sauce on top. Also, the rack of lamb was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Simply put, the best restaurant in Miami ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Simply put, the best restaurant in Miami. Service, entertainment, vibe, and of course the food, always spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommended

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I went there for my boyfriend's birthday dinner and early Mother's Day celebration. I love the long history that the place have. The amazing wine list that they have to offer. The decoration is top notch. They have a live singer ~9pm. And to my surprise my boyfriend proposed, the staff went beyond and created an amazing experienced and customer service was amazing. The truffle Mac and Cheese is a most try !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Great restaurant! The food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious, Sophisticated and really eleg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Delicious, Sophisticated and really elegant!!! It's a pleasure to enjoy a dinner at The Forge:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and ambiance

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

For a night out, something different, this is the place.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular dining experience. First cla ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Spectacular dining experience. First class service, amazing food. The Forge doesn't disappoint. Still the best filet mignon in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything blends with this opulent rest ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything blends with this opulent restaurant : the ambiance, the food and the impeccable service. This is a very romantic restaurant to take your loved one or impressing your date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has always been our "go to" restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

This has always been our "go to" restaurant for most important life celebrations, yet this time we were underwhelmed. The overall quality seems to have gone down on every level and for the first time we sat next to a family with small children. I am a parent and love children but not when I'm at a fine dining establishment. It seemed that the adult patrons weren't the same either, some men dressed in very casual t-shirts and tennis shoes and had a general lack of fashion etiquette, simply too dressed down, one thing that I loved about The Forge was the incentive to dress up, this was the one place to do that despite being in a beach town.

Lastly and most importantly, the food: though good, was not as good as it's been in the past, it really seemed to be of a lesser quality, starting from the dry, wafer-like sweet crackers in lieu of bread all the way to their meat, our whole table agreed on that...

It's sad to see such an iconic place go down a notch in my book. With Miami becoming such a foodie destination, with new and delicious places opening everyday, the older spots like The Forge need to step up their game (or preferably go back to the original recipe) if they want to stick around.

Again, it's still a good restaurant but not as great as it once was. Sad. I miss The "original" Forge and the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.