About The Forge

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until 11 PM
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until Midnight

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty four wines from a bottle Opus one to a more modest yet equally deserving pour are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 28 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

We are now offering complimentary transportation sponsored by miRide. Please call 305-538-8533 to reserve.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Special Occasion (55)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Historic (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
People Watching (17)
Live Music (15)
Authentic (12)
Private Room (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Dancing (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were looking forward to the table sid ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

We were looking forward to the table side Ceasar Salad, we expected something sensational for $18 per person, boy were we disappointed worst salad we've had in a very long time, better off with MDs, my steak was less than good being very dry. The server paid little or no attention to us, couldn't even get the bill for dinner until I begged someone. Don't waste your money, not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good food Expensive but in line wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very good food

Expensive but in line with expectations

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I loved it.... it was unique and differe ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I loved it.... it was unique and different not your typical south beach spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Steak was amazing, melts in your mou ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Steak was amazing, melts in your mouth and cooked to perfection (medium rare). The tuna appetizer was also fantastic.

Sommelier, Dean, was very friendly and did a great job of recommending wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have maintained this old time nosta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

They have maintained this old time nostalgic restaurant. The food is fresh and well prepared. The souffle was a true treat. The server was wonderful well paced in delivering the food. The old FORGE was well decorated and comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My first visit to The Forge was 30 years ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My first visit to The Forge was 30 years ago. The Forge has and always has had the best food, service and ambience. Unlike most south Florida restaurants you can always count on a wonderful evening here.

I was a little nervous on this visit as the service was certainly off. As each course was brought to our table the server / food runner held the plate up and announced what it was so that we could claim it, as soon as my table mate finished eating his plate was whisked away while I was still eating, the check was brought with our coffees - without us asking for it. These service errors are basic standards that need to be taught to all servers but especially at the Forge as clientele expect it. Hopefully the restaurant is just gearing up for season and has some green dining room staff - but they should not be left on their own until they are properly trained.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

First time at the Forge, but not the las ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time at the Forge, but not the last. We went for Thanksgiving dinner and could not have had a better experience. The food and presentation of the food were outstanding as was the service from everyone we encountered. The restaurant was quite busy, but never got too loud and the experience still felt intimate at our table. Also, the design of restaurant is fantastic. This is really a special place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very disappointing. Steak had a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Steak had a gamy taste. Vegetables were overcooked. Shrimp cocktail and salad was very good, everything else was not!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Best meal we had on Miami Beach!

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best meal we had on Miami Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restaurant...and the food. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Loved the restaurant...and the food. Waitress had a bit of an attitude....but oh well. The rest of the staff were all very attentive.

Would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Over priced and they automatically inclu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Over priced and they automatically include 20% gratuity whether you like it or not. not Cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We got the bone in filet mignon and was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We got the bone in filet mignon and was not happy with it it was dry we ordered medium

We were disappointed because this was our third time there and really liked it the other two.

Lucille Giganti

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Usually the food is great but this time ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Usually the food is great but this time it seemed as though the food had been sitting out. I am adventurous with food and love trying new things however my mom is not so she didn't like the food too much. We got there kind of early so it was empty and they were still trying to get the restaurant together. Overall just an "OK" experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location. Great foods. Great ambia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great location. Great foods. Great ambiance. Wonderdfull allover

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Beach Pioneers Party at The Forge ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

South Beach Pioneers Party at The Forge was perfect! Love the Vueve Special on Friday's

The Tuna was delicious & are server was on point!

We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fabulous time. Singers, a coupl ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We had a fabulous time. Singers, a couple getting engaged, great food on our Anniversary. Will go again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time celebrating our 2 ye ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great time celebrating our 2 year anniversary! We will definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and wonderful service. Wh ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic food and wonderful service. When you go, be sure to inquire about a tour of their very impressive wine cellar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really appreciated our server - wonderfu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really appreciated our server - wonderful guy, friendly and funny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Dancing, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and ambience was perfec ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great restaurant and ambience was perfect. It gets louder after around 8, but perfect for hanging out and being entertained. You've gotta try the Mahi, its to die for. And the service is 5 star all the way. I think their were about 8 different staff members helping my table of 3. Highly recommend this place if you're looking for amazing food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a nice time. The customer service wa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a nice time. The customer service was excellent starting at the valet.. atmosphere was relaxed and comforting.. beautiful scenery.. the food was ok thought it would be a bigger portion and more flavor.. Good experience overall

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated promptly, had a nice tabl ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were seated promptly, had a nice table, a very nice and attentive server Talia, my wife's birthday, we actually had a groupon we had purchased but treated very well, there was live music, good food and very nice ambiance, highly recommend.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was a little surprised that not all st ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I was a little surprised that not all steaks were prime for a restaurant of this caliper. Waiter actually pointed this out and recommended the prime entree. Dinner was delicious. Need to remember they add the tip in to your bill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Forge continues to be an outstanding ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Forge continues to be an outstanding place for a special occasion or just a great meal. It is not cheap, but you leave very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dining experience Highly ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience

Highly recommend for a special occasion

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

From the appetizers to the drinks, every ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

From the appetizers to the drinks, everything was magnifique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Miami! The foo ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Miami! The food is sensational!!! Our waitress, Alex, was wonderful!!! Can't wait to go back again soon!! Thank you for a fabulous evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beatiful restaurant! Nice food!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Beatiful restaurant! Nice food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I celebrated my 50th Birthday at The For ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I celebrated my 50th Birthday at The Forge with a group of 10 friends. The decoration, music, ambiance and service were amazing. The food was a mixed bag. Not the quality I expected, but good. The atmosphere inside makes up for it, though.

I would definitely recommend The Forge and I suggest you order the beef dishes if you eat meat.

We had a lot of fun! The service was also very good.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Restaurant was good, food was good...noi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Restaurant was good, food was good...noise level too high, ok for small tables but for a large table it would be difficult to hear

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

we had a great time. it was worth everyt ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

we had a great time. it was worth everything and I will be coming back even before Miami spice. I think its worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went for a Miami Spice d ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My friend and I went for a Miami Spice dinner. It was my first time going to the iconic Forge and it did not disappoint. One of the best, most tender and we'll cooked steaks I've had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to The Forge with friends to enjoy ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Went to The Forge with friends to enjoy Miami Spice Dinner. The Kale salad was actually minced kale with a few cranberries and cheese. I had to return after a few spoonfuls and traded for tomato salad with burrata which was more flavorful and balanced. I ordered the filet mignon which melted in my mouth and was very flavorful. I had an opportunity to taste the swordfish which was also very tasty. The bread pudding was mushy, order the chocolate lava cake instead. Servers are extremely attentive and friendly.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place! I have lived in Miami all m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great place! I have lived in Miami all my life and had always hear of of The Forge and how great it is, and yet I had never been there. I am glad we went. The Miami Spice menu was superb and enough to fill us. Our waiter, Dean was was the best! He was on target with everything. He even gave us a mini-tour of the restaurant. The wine and cocktail list was huge. The bar scene was alive and electric! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, this restaurant has lower ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Unfortunately, this restaurant has lower its standards. The steaks came well done after requested medium. Manager did not solve the matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Since childhood, dining at The Forge was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Since childhood, dining at The Forge was a special event which I always looked forward to. My family celebrated most special occasions there, and we often called in for "Forge Salads" to go. Over the years, the restaurant has changed dramatically. It was a destination spot because it was elegant, refined and the steaks were always perfect. The decor is now modern and quite glamorous, but the food has gone downhill dramatically. The must-have Forge chopped salad has disappeared, replaced by a kale salad, which is soaked in a lemon vinaigrette which disappoints bc it is always VERY oily, salty and NEVER lemony. The menu is ambitious, aiming for a unique take to separate the place from its competitors, but it fails to hit the mark. I made reservations to celebrate a family event on a Friday evening. Big mistake bc extremely loud music pumps through the restaurant at a club decibel to get the bar scene going. Diners have to shout to hear each other and that just contributes to the deafening volume. Completely detracts from the fine dining experience. On this particular night, there were 2 tables of guests who seemed to think that they were at a private party. One table was a group of drunk women who kept screaming and standing up. A waiter went to quiet them down (management watched but did not get involved!). Another table with 2 older couples was causing more of a scene, screaming, laughing and banging into other diners in an effort to take standing selfies and group shots. Oddly enough, they were locals-and regulars, not tourists. They told everyone within earshot that they enjoy making a scene. As for the food, the burrata/heirloom salad was superb. The swordfish was fine, nothing special, quite small in size. The steaks were perfect, as usual. The chocolate lava cake never disappoints. I will NEVER return on a Friday night. Stick to the steak, fish, seafood, burrata salad and lava cake. Request less salt and oil and pass on the kale salad!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

I went with my family for Miami Spice an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went with my family for Miami Spice and was very satisfied. I ordered the Mayan Shrimp for appetizer, filet mignon for entree and chocolate lava cake for dessert. Everything was delicious. The shrimp came on a bed of corn and was very tasteful. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection with a side of Brussels sprouts and potato purée. The only item I was too crazy about was the chocolate lava cake but the ice cream it came with was really good. I would definitely be back regardless of Miami Spice or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great DJ, awesome soul singers Sunday ni ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great DJ, awesome soul singers Sunday night, Vueve Fridays are not to be missed, excellent food, lively bar scene, world-class people watching. Whenever I'm in Miami, I always go to The Forge.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Forge restaurant was one of our high ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Forge restaurant was one of our highlights from our trip to Miami Beach. The menu offers a terrific variety of seafood, steak and all of the extras to go along with the meal. Javier was our waiter and we couldn't have been happier with our service and dining experience. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Miami.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Talia was very attentive and she also ga ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Talia was very attentive and she also gave us the history and a walking tour of the restaurant.

Miami Spice was outstanding -- suggest the tuna tartar and filet mignon! Definitely coming back!

Also, cannot beat the happy pricing on champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.