Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About The Forge

The award-winning restaurant is not your grandfather’s steakhouse – although it once was. With its modern décor, ambiance and philosophy, The Forge has undergone a total makeover, the overall design and décor was executed by Francois Frossard. Walls of hand-carved blonde wood and antique mirrors, lilac and white crystal chandeliers, a wall of bubbles – are perfectly interspersed with the historical pieces that adorn the space. Every diner’s seat is “the best in the house.” The open floor plan of the 6,000-square-foot space allows guests to see and be seen. Executive Chef Julia Doyne presents a 65-item menu along with a delicious Dessert Menu. Finally, there's a labyrinth-like Wine Cellar with eight-rooms devoted to the rarest vintages in the world, and even a secret, lux private dining room, which seats up to 25 guests. The bar offers guest 64 Enomatic's wines by the ounce.

432 W. Forty First Street
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 6 PM until 11 PM
Friday & Saturday 6 PM until Midnight

Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Cross Street:
Royal Palm Ave & Sheridian Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 538-8533

Website:
http://www.theforge.com/

Entertainment:
Sixty Four wines from Opus One to a more modest yet equally deserving pour, all are available in 1/3/5-ounce pours with the swipe of the “Forge Wine Card,” which works similar to a debit card system. Another set of enomatics can be found flanking the Sommelier Station, whose backdrop is the floor-to-ceiling crystal bubbles – a perfect stage for veteran executive sommelier Gino Santangelo to decant his vintages.

Live Entertainment performed by the cast of Project F
Dj sets on Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Catering:
The Forge has an exclusive private dining room with a terrace for 30 to 250 guests. The board room offers a beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” style setting for 16 guests. The Library accommodates up to 40 guests with a fireplace. Easily one of the most elegant venues in Miami to have a wedding. Wi-fi though out entire venue. The Forge is available for private luncheons; board meetings; bar-bat mizvahs; birthday celebrations & holiday parties.

Contact Eric@theforge.com for private bookings.

Parking Details:
$10 a car for valet. Public lots are also available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Julia Doyne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Watch for special holiday dinners and other Epicurean special events. Visit The Forge online: www.theforge.com for Seasonal Notes

Ongoing Events:
Veuve Clicquot Happy Hour - Friday from 6pm to Midnight with $50 Bottles of Veuve Clicquot & Complimentary Hors d' oeuvres at the bar.

Remastered Sundays offers special rotating prix fixe menus featuring comforting soul food, live performances, DJ and $50 Moet bottles

Private Dining

Shareef Malnik recently opened The Forge Restaurant | Wine Bar after an extensive renovation of the entire property presenting a refreshing new look, Cuisine by Chef Julia Doyne and 64 wines-by-the-glass via Enomatic Wine System. “A restaurant Men Should know About” - Esquire

The Forge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
People Watching (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (15)
Historic (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Live Music (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (10)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (6)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Dancing (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu was delightfully imaginative! Salmon is relatively common fare at restaurants but the other menu items here made me want to give it a go. At the urging of our absolutely BRILLIANT server, Jasmine (Paris 😉), I ordered the salmon and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food overall was good, but we waited for over 30 minutes beyond our reservation, and they weren't very apologetic. Understandable that things get busy, but it didn't seem that they cared. Also, the restaurant wasn't full, so it seemed a little odd. Our meals were good though, and location is close enough to South Beach activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Such a great night ! Thank you . Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing location and food. Service was just as good. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a lovely evening.
Service and food were fantastic!
Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our captain Ana catered to our every need, explained the menu entirely and offered her personal insights as to selections we may enjoy from wine to main our courses. I can not say enough about her wit, knowledge and just wonderful authentic personality. We will return to The Forge, not only to dine, but also to utilize the unique private party accommodations. Fabulous Miami evening! Unparalleled venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The forge was AWESOME! The service was amazing, the employees were really friendly and made my group and I feel so comfortable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Just a tremendous experience in every way. Food was imaginative-not your usual steakhouse at all. The menu is so diverse you could eat here 3x in a week and have a completely different tasting experience each time. Our waiter Danilo was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and guided us to a perfect evening. The $50 bottles of Veuve Clicqout is a great way to start (Fridays only). After dinner there was a great DJ in the bar and the people watching was a 10. 8 days in Miami and we ate at some fantastic restaurants-this is the first one we will come back to next trip (and likely more than once).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Really great spot to go for a family dinner, our waiter Neal was amazing and the food was incredible.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Everything was outstanding. One of the best restaurants in South Beach.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Interior looked very good. Hosts were welcoming. Servers talked too much and did not listen, they always came to us at a wrong time, and disappeared when we needed them. They made mistakes when taking our order. We had 和牛 , fillet mignon and Colorado lamb rack, all medium-rare. The wagye beef was too salty and less tasty compared to those we tasted in other places all over the world. The fillet was salty either and the lamb was fatty. Sides were very good. French wines generally were overpriced, but one we chose was good for the price and they served it at a right temperature. One of the parties who set next to us looked as if they were Eastern European criminals, the other one consisted of three young ladies which looked as if they were hunting.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were 2 people for bday dinner. We are locals, familiar with The Forge and Miami's restaurant scene. We were greeted with a warm happy birthday upon arrival by the Maitre D' staff. Dinner was flawless. It was a refined meal, real dining. Unhurried. Attentive and unobtrusive service; a rarity in South Florida. Well-paced. We pre-ordered a souffle, and it was elegantly decorated with a bday greeting on the plate in fine script. Overall a very elegant meal in an impeccable atmosphere earning 5-stars. I felt happy to see that The Forge has kept up its standards for so many years. Bravo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What a fabulous restaurant- with history, beauty, antiques- and delicious food with amazingly kind staff- our sommelier Dean Forst was incredible & gave us a tour to remember of the gorgeous wine cellar & many dining rooms. Our waiter Lawrence was from the first second we met him supremely thoughtful nice & kind- he was just perfect in all ways as were also the others that helped with our table. I could not give a higher review to the establishment or the personnel- incredible: we took our daughter here as she will be moving to Miami in a few months- What an introduction at The Forge: a night to be remembered forever! Nick H

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed the entire experience. The atmosphere was a pleasure. Of note, the 20% gratuity was added to the bill for you.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, exceptional wine list. Salt baked Branzino was out of this world. Had Lawrence for a server/waiter. Exceptionally excellent service. Expensive so not something you'll do twice a month but well worth it for an exceptional night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I could tell there was a new chef. My husband and I go every year on our anniversary and the food this time was impeccable. Their new (and first) female chef does an amazing job with all the traditional items on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ana was awesome. Loved this place. Expensive like the rest of Miami. Cool environment. Great music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

When you go to a high end restaurant $$$$'s - your expectations rise up a notch. And when you are referred several times they rise another notch. Although food and service was good they both fell short of expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 27, 2017

They took forever that night l was disappointed about that because it was not my first night there but that night was a disaster

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic food and great service. Not only did we have our own waiter , but the waitress near our section kept checking on us as well. Made us feel special

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The Forge is classic fine dining at its best. The decor is sultry and romantic. The service impeccable and the food preparation and presentation was five star.

We had the Chilean sea bass which was the most incredible we've ever had.

I look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our server was fantastic, the food was great and the tour of the property was amazing. I always have a fantastic time here and get great photographs. Lots of history here and a must- see!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The waitress, Jasmine, made the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

One of our absolute favorites when we visit Miami. The service and food are always excellent. I have been visiting since I was a little girl and. Ow bring my own children. I love how we walk in with our 4 children, three this visit. We are not seated at some terrible table, or treated like second class citizens as a result! No always the case! We will continue o return each and every trip!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excelent service, food, wine... EVERYTHING!! ❤️❤️❤️ We're in love with this place!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful staff, great venue, wonderful food!!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Phenomenal place with wonderful service and even better food. It was easily the best place i have ever been to in miami

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raum Köln)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Julie's food is amazing and Geno's wine service is top notch! One of my favorite restaurants in America!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were there last year and the food was better. This year very little had taste. Very good wine list.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I think the decor is beautiful. Now the good wasn't that good. Just a steak thrown on a plate. The sides only for two people to share. We had to refill our own water and wine. The lady would barely come around. 20%tip is already included.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Forge was outstanding. The decor and atmosphere was very elegant and the food was first rate. Expensive but very good food and excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Probably the worst experience we ever had in a Miami restaurant. On a good note we were there before and we had a great time so I hope it was just a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The dinner at the Forge was for our 37th anniversary and the evening was very special. We arrived at 7:00 PM for our reservation and there were only a few tables being occupied. We ordered with Anna and she was very courteous and answered all of our questions. All through our dinner Anna would ask us if we needed anything. Several members of the staff came by to wish us Happy Anniversary. We had the Filet, and the New York Strip, both were fantastic. We had mashed potatoes, and sweet mashed. Both were delicious. We will be back when we get the chance. My wife was here 36 years ago. When we left at 9:00 the place was full with a waiting line. We loved the evening. Thanks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Bronzino and the fixings were unique and tasty. However the best part was the hostess Tony. She set the stage for a great dining experience showing class and pleasure to see us making it a great start !

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a reservation for 8:30 got seated at around 9:15. Got served my entree at aroond 10:30pm. My night was completely ruined. I have been here several times and this is the first bad experience. Moral of he story either come really early (6ish) or really late (10ish)

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

took an hour over reservation time to be seated. not attentive at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great steak place with very extensive wine list. Steaks were extremely good. Our waitress was extremely nice. Issue was Saturday night wait. We had reservations at 8:30. Arrived a little before. We were told it would be 20-35 minute wait. At 9:05 checked and told would be 15 more minutes. Many people were very annoyed at hour wait who had reservations. At 9:30 complained to manager who finally got us a table for two. He said traffic caused 6 pm arrivals to be late which slowed all reservations. Wish they had said that right away. Also, people more than 15 minutes late should lose their time slot to people on time. Had similar problem several years ago. Admit was a Saturday night during boat show.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived only 15 minutes late. The place was completely packed. They did not seat us for 45 minutes. We asked when we would be seated, they said their system was down and they did not know. We left and walked to another restaurant. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I must say, I wanted to go to this Iconic restaurant for a while, but I am not a fan of dining in Miami beach, too touristy and too over priced for the value. The Forge meets these preconceptions and then some
We had a reservation at 8 Pm, we were told upon arrival 10 min prior that they were running a little late, well 1 hour and 15 minutes later we were finally seated, After I approached the manager on duty 3 times about our table, he finally seats us , we spent about 100 dollars while we waited at the bar ( We were not even offered a drink nothing ) then another 590 at dinner, so for 700 spent that night I will say it's not worth it, I have been to many places all over and I am sure this would never happen in NYC, SF, LA, Paris, London . I now understand why I dislike Miami, it will never measure up to great cities and the Forge is a good reason why.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.