About The Flatiron Cafe

The Flatiron Cafe's staff has been happily serving the theater crowd, business travelers and those celebrating special occasions since 1995.


Chef Rob Hill oversees the preparation of the evenings special dishes. We're always on the look out for exceptional wines to add to our list. Please come.

1722 Saint Marys Ave
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Howard St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 344-3040

Website:
http://www.theflatironcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Rob Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Osso Bucco - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Seared Loup De Mer, Roasted Mushrooms, Califlower Puree - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Ribeye With Lobster Sauce - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Surf And Turf - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Sausage and Duck Cassoulet - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE

Report a photo problem

Molten Chocolate Cake - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Osso Bucco - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Seared Loup De Mer, Roasted Mushrooms, Califlower Puree - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Ribeye With Lobster Sauce - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Surf And Turf - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Sausage and Duck Cassoulet - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Flatiron Cafe is New American fine dining located in downtown Omaha's historic Flatiron building. An easy walk from most downtown hotels, theaters, and fine Old Market neighborhood.

We will tailor our menu choices, room design, and staff to suit your specifications.

The Flatiron Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Historic (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Like usual, we had an amazing experience ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Like usual, we had an amazing experience at Flat Iron. Thw cuisine is amazing and the wait staff makes you feel special each time. I would recommend to anybody wanting to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited The Flatiron to ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I visited The Flatiron to celebrate our anniversary. All four courses were some of the best dishes I've ever had (Roasted Squash, warm Kale and Spinach Salad, Vegetarian entree for me, Prime Rib for my husband, and Moose for dessert). The service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for our occasion. Overall, the menu is pricey, but it tasted superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been in several years. Previo ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had not been in several years. Previous chef had left. Thought we would try again for my wife's birthday. It could not have been better, enjoyed our 3 hours with exceptional wines, food and service. A previous favorite sea bass was back on the menu prepared to perfection. I'm looking forward to meeting Chef Rob on my next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful experience, the staf ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a delightful experience, the staff was charming & made it a fun experience for my teenage boys. I had the most scrumptious lobster & risotto. The lobster bisque was delicious. A nice surprise was the refreshing cocktail the Jamaican Fresh. So yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful atmosphere with som ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely wonderful atmosphere with some of the most delicious dishes I have had. My wife had the Lobster and I had the Veal Chop. Both were perfectly prepared and the side dishes were amazing as well. We will definitely be going back there soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. The service was g ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was fabulous. The service was great. The atmosphere was cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding menu with excellent choices, ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding menu with excellent choices, flawlessly executed. Impeccable, well timed service. Top notch in every way.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Food was gre ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was excellent. Food was great except my chocolate cake wasn't super it was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef has elevated menu with better s ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

The chef has elevated menu with better sourced raw ingredients but unfortunately the same upgrade in service is a process yet to be completed. Your expect a level of attention to your order but staff seemed more concerned about gossiping amongst themselves that delivered a Burger King experience. Omaha has many excellent alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My wife and I decided to try the Flatiro ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

My wife and I decided to try the Flatiron before attending the Mannheim Steamroller concert. We were greeted, and shown to our table by the owner. The excellent service continued from there. My wife had Poached Lobster, and I had Tournedos of Beef. We were both more than happy with our meals. I usually get to finish my wife's meal, as she is a very light eater, but unfortunately for me, she ate it all.

It was a perfect choice for food, ambiance, and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top TWO in Omaha! On my top FIVE list in ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Top TWO in Omaha! On my top FIVE list in the world.

It just has so much going for it, location, location, location. Then the food is always absoluty amazing.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating and attentive. All 6 ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very accommodating and attentive. All 6 of our party had great food. Will definitely be back

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience at Flatiron re ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a great experience at Flatiron recently. It was the coldest night in Omaha in about 10 years, but there was a great, warm and surprisingly busy vibe inside the restaurant. The service was excellent, and the food was truly top notch through all our courses. My wife and I split the seared Ahi, which was a good portion, perfectly prepared, with nice additions. My main course was sea bass which was prepared perfectly, and she had the vegetarian option, which had really nice Indian flavors. Dessert was crème brulee with an almost impossibly thick hardened surface which was incredibly delicious. It was one of the nicest meals we've had in Omaha in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service in probably the t ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service in probably the top one or two spaces in Omaha for ambiance. Great drinks as well.

Love this place.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was attentive. The food delicio ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was attentive. The food delicious, everything from the deep fried scallops topped with a spicy cream sauce and caviar, the lobster bisque, house salad, fish and lobster, cheesecake to the Lithuanian torte and cappuccino, everything was perfectly prepared. We've been long time fans and will continue to celebrate at the FlatIron.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the correct reservation all the way ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

From the correct reservation all the way to dessert the experience was delightful. Cocktails were excellent. The wine selection was a bit small but efficient. Food presentation and flavor was wonderful. The service and ambience made the while package complete.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A good place for business dinners. The r ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

A good place for business dinners. The restaurant has a special atmosphere that makes it ideal for hosting business functions. Watch out for "today's specials" that are not on the menu - it might be a very expensive experience ....

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Flatiron Cafe is always a favorite a ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Flatiron Cafe is always a favorite and never disappoints! Outstanding service and food! Tried the Sea Bass which has to be the best Sea Bass dish I have ever had! Will definitely order that again next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PERFECT for our sons 21st birthday celeb ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

PERFECT for our sons 21st birthday celebration! Omg! Just a wonderful wonderful experience! Our little waitress McKenna was absolutely delightful and adorable! We'll be back Jan 5th (or thereabouts) for my birthday celebration. Food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always. Just amazing. Our wai ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing as always. Just amazing. Our waiter didn't give us his name, as it should be, but now I wish I knew what it is because he was fabulous and I'd like to give him credit. We were there Friday 12/9 if that helps management know.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Excellent, friendly service ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food!! Excellent, friendly service. I would recommend Flat Iron for any special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our favorite place to go for spe ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is our favorite place to go for special occasions. The food is always delicious and service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely evening. We always enjo ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

We had a lovely evening. We always enjoy the Flatiron, and this was no exception. The food was just outstanding, perhaps the best ever, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but very classy with gr ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey, but very classy with great food. Perfect place for special events and romantic dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding every time we go. The best i ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding every time we go.

The best in Omaha!

Feels like we r in New York!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meals were superb and Joe our server ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our meals were superb and Joe our server made the evening spectacular. Always love our time at the flatiron

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Scenic View, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner at the Flatiron ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at the Flatiron. The food was excellent and matched by the service. Our waitress was attentive and careful that we met our schedule for a show downtown. She got us out in plenty of time and we never felt rushed. It's quiet enough to enjoy a conversation with friends while dining. Great food!!! Great Service!!! A Great Place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribeye steak was one of the best, if ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

The ribeye steak was one of the best, if not THE best I've ever had! The lobster bisque was fantastic! And a great dessert menu. Our waiter took very, very good care of us! I am SO looking forward to my next visit!

~Carrie Reynolds

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience in downtow ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

A wonderful dining experience in downtown Omaha.

A historic building that is worth the trip just to see.

Wonderful food, with exceptional service and a must for all people.

Do not miss stopping here, as it will be something that you will remember.

I'm sure that this will rate a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of ten. One couple had ne ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a group of ten. One couple had never been here before.

Everyone had a great dinner.

Anne Marie was our requested server. I always request Anne Marie. She is exceptional.

They also serve great drinks, and we found two wines we liked.

If you have never been here you need to come, and if it has been a while you should come again.

I always make "points" with my wife when we dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome in every way. The best restaura ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome in every way. The best restaurant in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and service! My all time f ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous food and service! My all time favorite Omaha restaurant. I was dining with a friend from NYC and she raved about her meal and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Flatiron is always exceptionally goo ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Flatiron is always exceptionally good. I had the salmon and my husband had the duck. Both were outstanding and the service was exceptional. It is fine dining but at a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in the Flatiron after a long ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We stopped in the Flatiron after a long day of driving. We received a friendly greeting upon arrival and seated immediately, even though we were a few minutes early for our reservation. The service was impeccable and the food was excellent. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful small restaurant near in dow ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

A wonderful small restaurant near in downtown Omaha, Ne. Server and food outstanding.

For soup course had Lobster Bisque. Salad course the Kale & Artisan greens. Main course

Grilled rib eye, the portion was very large, meat and cooking of rib eye fabulous.

The salmon with bagel pudding great, anyone who likes salmon will love this dish.

The service is so outstanding our server was pleasant, didn't rush us.

I will keep going back to the Flatiron.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved the Flatiron Café! T ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

We absolutely loved the Flatiron Café! The service was outstanding, the food phenomenal and we would recommend it to absolutely anyone! We will be back indeed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice to have the dining room crowded ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

So nice to have the dining room crowded on a Saturday night yet be able to talk in a conversational voice. Pleasant setting and outstanding food. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Could not be better!!!! Service, food an ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Could not be better!!!! Service, food and drinks were GREAT!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food, nice location ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service, good food, nice location to eat prior to orphium plays

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another memorable meal. Been getting gre ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another memorable meal. Been getting great food and great service here for many years. Always consistent and always really outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.