About The Flatiron Cafe

1722 Saint Marys Ave
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

The Flatiron Cafe's staff has been happily serving the theater crowd, business travelers and those celebrating special occasions since 1995.


Chef Rob Hill oversees the preparation of the evenings special dishes. We're always on the look out for exceptional wines to add to our list. Please come.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Howard St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 344-3040

Website:
http://www.theflatironcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Rob Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Osso Bucco - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Seared Loup De Mer, Roasted Mushrooms, Califlower Puree - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Ribeye With Lobster Sauce - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Surf And Turf - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
  • Sausage and Duck Cassoulet - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Molten Chocolate Cake - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Osso Bucco - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Seared Loup De Mer, Roasted Mushrooms, Califlower Puree - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Ribeye With Lobster Sauce - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Surf And Turf - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE
Sausage and Duck Cassoulet - The Flatiron Cafe, Omaha, NE

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Flatiron Cafe is New American fine dining located in downtown Omaha's historic Flatiron building. An easy walk from most downtown hotels, theaters, and fine Old Market neighborhood.

We will tailor our menu choices, room design, and staff to suit your specifications.

The Flatiron Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Food
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
12 More
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Nebraska
American
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
American
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Scenic View (7)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a lovely evening. We always enjo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a lovely evening. We always enjoy the Flatiron, and this was no exception. The food was just outstanding, perhaps the best ever, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but very classy with gr ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey, but very classy with great food. Perfect place for special events and romantic dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding every time we go. The best i ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding every time we go.

The best in Omaha!

Feels like we r in New York!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meals were superb and Joe our server ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our meals were superb and Joe our server made the evening spectacular. Always love our time at the flatiron

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Scenic View, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner at the Flatiron ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at the Flatiron. The food was excellent and matched by the service. Our waitress was attentive and careful that we met our schedule for a show downtown. She got us out in plenty of time and we never felt rushed. It's quiet enough to enjoy a conversation with friends while dining. Great food!!! Great Service!!! A Great Place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribeye steak was one of the best, if ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The ribeye steak was one of the best, if not THE best I've ever had! The lobster bisque was fantastic! And a great dessert menu. Our waiter took very, very good care of us! I am SO looking forward to my next visit!

~Carrie Reynolds

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience in downtow ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A wonderful dining experience in downtown Omaha.

A historic building that is worth the trip just to see.

Wonderful food, with exceptional service and a must for all people.

Do not miss stopping here, as it will be something that you will remember.

I'm sure that this will rate a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of ten. One couple had ne ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a group of ten. One couple had never been here before.

Everyone had a great dinner.

Anne Marie was our requested server. I always request Anne Marie. She is exceptional.

They also serve great drinks, and we found two wines we liked.

If you have never been here you need to come, and if it has been a while you should come again.

I always make "points" with my wife when we dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome in every way. The best restaura ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome in every way. The best restaurant in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Flatiron is always exceptionally goo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Flatiron is always exceptionally good. I had the salmon and my husband had the duck. Both were outstanding and the service was exceptional. It is fine dining but at a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in the Flatiron after a long ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We stopped in the Flatiron after a long day of driving. We received a friendly greeting upon arrival and seated immediately, even though we were a few minutes early for our reservation. The service was impeccable and the food was excellent. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful small restaurant near in dow ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A wonderful small restaurant near in downtown Omaha, Ne. Server and food outstanding.

For soup course had Lobster Bisque. Salad course the Kale & Artisan greens. Main course

Grilled rib eye, the portion was very large, meat and cooking of rib eye fabulous.

The salmon with bagel pudding great, anyone who likes salmon will love this dish.

The service is so outstanding our server was pleasant, didn't rush us.

I will keep going back to the Flatiron.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved the Flatiron Café! T ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We absolutely loved the Flatiron Café! The service was outstanding, the food phenomenal and we would recommend it to absolutely anyone! We will be back indeed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice to have the dining room crowded ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

So nice to have the dining room crowded on a Saturday night yet be able to talk in a conversational voice. Pleasant setting and outstanding food. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Could not be better!!!! Service, food an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Could not be better!!!! Service, food and drinks were GREAT!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food, nice location ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service, good food, nice location to eat prior to orphium plays

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another memorable meal. Been getting gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another memorable meal. Been getting great food and great service here for many years. Always consistent and always really outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUR GO-TO RESTAURANT FOR DOWNTOWN DINING ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2016

OUR GO-TO RESTAURANT FOR DOWNTOWN DINING NEVER LETS A DOWN. THE FOOD IS CONSISTENTLY EXCELLENT AND THE STAFF IS ALWAYS FAST AND EFFICIENT. GREAT BAR AND THE CC MANHATTANS ARE CRAZY GOOD. FRIENDS AND FAMILY ALIKE NEVER TURN DOWN THE OPPORTUNITY TO DINE AT THE FLATIRON. THEY ALWAYS ASK IF YOU HAVE PLANS FOR A SHOW OR A DEADLINE TO MEET AND SERVE ACCORDING TO OUR TIMELINE. THE VEAL CHOP IS INCREDIBLE AS IS THE SALMON AND THE FILET. LIKE I SAID, THE FLATIRON NEVER LETS US DOWN.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flat Iron is by far our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Flat Iron is by far our favorite restaurant in Omaha. The food is exceptional, the service is amazing, and the atmosphere is exquisite. I love this place! It is a phenomenal place to celebrate a special occassion!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance were fine. My ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The service and ambiance were fine. My ribeye was salty to the point of it being inedible...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I had dinner at Flatiron ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Flatiron this past Saturday. The meal was exceptional ... on par with many restaurants we've been to in London. I'm not typically a beef eater but the surf & turf with accompanying sides was delicious! My husband had the tournados of beef which also was a great choice. We'all definitely be back and will recommend The Flatiron to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ann Marie's service was outstanding. She ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Ann Marie's service was outstanding. She made our Anniversary more special with her attentiveness and great conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are absolutely amaz ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and service are absolutely amazing. The restaurant has a unique layout, very romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were traveling through Omaha and rese ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were traveling through Omaha and reserved the Flat Iron Café after seeing reviews on Open Table.

Food was outstanding. We had an awesome waitress. It's just a cool place all around.

Would highly recommend unless you are on a tight budget.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always...always...lovely meal, attentive ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always...always...lovely meal, attentive service...it's our favorite when visiting Omaha!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful staff, exceptional food and be ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful staff, exceptional food and beautiful atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Flat Iron is our "go to" place for s ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The Flat Iron is our "go to" place for special occasions. Unfortunately, it's not inexpensive, so reserved for only special occasions. In this case, we were entertaining a friend from Texas, and she loved it as well. Joe was our waiter, and although he was young, he conversed easily with adults, and made the whole experience that much more wonderful. We've only been there about 4 or 5 times, but the manager always greets us like he knows us and remembers us (which isn't even possible considering the amount of people that pass through the doors), but he does make you feel like an honored guest, rather than just a patron. The food is always superb - you don't need a knife for the steaks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice dinnning experience for special occ ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice dinnning experience for special occasion or anytime. Food consistently good and unique.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant in NE! Quaint, roma ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Favorite restaurant in NE! Quaint, romantic and fabulous food!!

Tags: Lieu huppé, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une vue pittoresque, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got drinks at the bar before dinner. Exc ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Got drinks at the bar before dinner. Excellent. Ordered the shiitake mushroom for app, lobster bisque & surf and turf for my main entree. Paired dinner with the Caymus Cabernet . Everything was amazing! Topped it off with strawberry cheesecake and cappuccino for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Omaha's Best Restaurants. I had a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of Omaha's Best Restaurants. I had a new Item, Poached Lobster and my wife opted for the Beef Tornadoes - Wonderful, flavor and served to perfection. The Service was Excellent.

Had the Bella Gloss Pinot - Excellent wine and fair price.

Thanks Again FlatIron - Wish we could go every week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EVERYTHING-Food, service, cocktails were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

EVERYTHING-Food, service, cocktails were all magical! We truly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend Flatiron Cafe.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have b0een coming for years and never ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We have b0een coming for years and never a disappointment.

Great food and service.

Joe is a good for suggestions and so very friendly.

We can only dine here once a year but well it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of my favorites i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2016

This restaurant is one of my favorites in Omaha. But the food ( steak) was uncooked (raw) and the service person never came back in time for me to enjoy the steak. Not good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

my wife i went out for special night wit ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2016

my wife i went out for special night without kids, a lot of great tasting food that's worth the cost..just not in our budget to eat there more often so it's designated as a special occasion place eat us

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Lobster with cauliflower and r ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had the Lobster with cauliflower and risotto. It was phenomenal! The lobster tail comes cut in half laying on a bed of risotto with the roasted cauliflower on the side. Every aspect of the dish was delicious. I ungracefully scarfed it down in about 5 minutes.

Our server was wonderful. She catered to the multiple food allergies at the table and was there with some wonderful food and drink suggestions.

I had to leave early my group due to a prior engagement but my husband and his sister both got the duck dish, my Mother-in-law got the salmon, and my father-in-law got the seabass. I was told everyone enjoyed their meal immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our 1st time despite living in Omaha for ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our 1st time despite living in Omaha for years. The food was very good and portions nice sized so my husband and I split a salad and our entrée which they plated separately. We also had 2 appetizer plates with great presentation. We brought our own wine which they corked for us for a reasonable fee. Wait staff attentive, but not overbearing. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Flatiron Cafe's excellent ambiance w ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Flatiron Cafe's excellent ambiance with its old charm yet chic décor is lovely. The staff made excellent wine suggestions and were attentive at the correct levels. The food was beautifully presented and so delicious. The beef tenderloin was incredible and so was the salmon. If you would like a quiet, beautiful dinner with great service, this is a top five restaurant in Omaha.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been living adjacent to the Old Mar ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Have been living adjacent to the Old Market for over a year and have been meaning to give this place a try. Glad we finally did! My wife had the sake marinated sea bass; great presentation and flavor and sufficient quantity. I had the veal chop, which was extremely tender and had a tasty berry-flavored sauce the worked perfectly with it. The Brussels sprouts and warm potato salad were perfect accompaniments. Chocolate mousse desert was a memorable ending.

Service was very friendly and attentive.

Our other favorites in the area J. Coco and Pig & Finch. Flatiron is a step up in price, ambiance, food and overall experience. Not an every week or so place, like the others because of the price, but glad to have a new go to place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Flatiron is always a wonderful dinin ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Flatiron is always a wonderful dining experience. The staff is always friendly and eager to serve you. The food is always delicious and presented beautifully. They always have a splendid wine list to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.