About The Flatiron Cafe

1722 Saint Marys Ave
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

The Flatiron Cafe's staff has been happily serving the theater crowd, business travelers and those celebrating special occasions since 1995.


Chef Rob Hill oversees the preparation of the evenings special dishes. We're always on the look out for exceptional wines to add to our list. Please come.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Howard St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 344-3040

Website:
http://www.theflatironcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Rob Hill

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Molten Chocolate Cake
  • Osso Bucco
  • Seared Loup De Mer, Roasted Mushrooms, Califlower Puree
  • Ribeye With Lobster Sauce
  • Surf And Turf
  • Sausage and Duck Cassoulet
Molten Chocolate Cake
Osso Bucco
Seared Loup De Mer, Roasted Mushrooms, Califlower Puree
Ribeye With Lobster Sauce
Surf And Turf
Sausage and Duck Cassoulet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Flatiron Cafe is New American fine dining located in downtown Omaha's historic Flatiron building. An easy walk from most downtown hotels, theaters, and fine Old Market neighborhood.

We will tailor our menu choices, room design, and staff to suit your specifications.

The Flatiron Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Food
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
12 More
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
American
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
American
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (59)
romantic (51)
fit for foodies (41)
See All
notable wine list (27)
neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (18)
scenic view (14)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Flatiron Cafe's excellent ambiance w ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Flatiron Cafe's excellent ambiance with its old charm yet chic décor is lovely. The staff made excellent wine suggestions and were attentive at the correct levels. The food was beautifully presented and so delicious. The beef tenderloin was incredible and so was the salmon. If you would like a quiet, beautiful dinner with great service, this is a top five restaurant in Omaha.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been living adjacent to the Old Mar ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have been living adjacent to the Old Market for over a year and have been meaning to give this place a try. Glad we finally did! My wife had the sake marinated sea bass; great presentation and flavor and sufficient quantity. I had the veal chop, which was extremely tender and had a tasty berry-flavored sauce the worked perfectly with it. The Brussels sprouts and warm potato salad were perfect accompaniments. Chocolate mousse desert was a memorable ending.

Service was very friendly and attentive.

Our other favorites in the area J. Coco and Pig & Finch. Flatiron is a step up in price, ambiance, food and overall experience. Not an every week or so place, like the others because of the price, but glad to have a new go to place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Flatiron is always a wonderful dinin ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Flatiron is always a wonderful dining experience. The staff is always friendly and eager to serve you. The food is always delicious and presented beautifully. They always have a splendid wine list to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever in Omaha this is where we eat d ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 6 days ago

Whenever in Omaha this is where we eat dinner . I would rate it with some of the best around the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined at Flatiron for our ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My wife and I dined at Flatiron for our wedding anniversary and were extremely pleased. From the moment we walked through the door, everyone was courteous and very attentive to our needs. The hostess and wait staff were very pleasant, cordial, and even comical at times. The staff had an in-depth knowledge of their menu and made great recommendations. The appetizer, first plate, and main courses were out-of-this-world amazing, and the dessert somehow managed to top that. The ambience was pleasant, the noise level was very low, and the mood was enhanced by the pleasantry of live violin music. The location of the restaurant itself was very unique, an isosceles-shaped restaurant nestled on a street corner in downtown Omaha. I can't speak to their kid-friendliness due to no children present at our time of dining, nor to the bar scene, as we dined around 6pm on a Wednesday evening. Overall: outstanding, highly recommended, and we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Haven't been at the FlatIron ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place. Haven't been at the FlatIron for a few years and it remains a very good restaurant. Food and wine were excellent and our friendly and outgoing waitress "sealed the deal" for being a very enjoyable weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered my steak medium rare but the w ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I ordered my steak medium rare but the waiter suggested going for medium which he said would make it more tender. When it came it was well done and not tender. Never had this problem at this restaurant before. It was a disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved our dining experience at the Flati ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved our dining experience at the Flatiron. Drinks and wine were very good. We had a salad each and my husband had the house dressing rather than the ceasar. The yogurt dressing on my salad was good. I ordered the sea bass and my husband had the tournados of beef. Both were done just right. Will for sure be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service. Nice sized portions. Gre ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service. Nice sized portions. Great food. Not a huge menu but everyone at the dinner enjoyed the meal they had and we each had a dinner was that different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent - as usual! The Flatiron cont ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent - as usual! The Flatiron contines to be my first choice in fine dining in Omaha.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and amazing food! The ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful service and amazing food! The staff made us feel welcome and special as we celebrated my husband's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood-great. Steak-great. Wine-great!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Seafood-great. Steak-great. Wine-great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find! In searching Open Ta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

What a great find! In searching Open Table for a nice place to take some clients, I found this restaurant. Everyone loved their meals and the restaurant and wait staff were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4.5 Stars

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Short version: A nice - near the Old Market - place that never disappoints. Yes we would go back. Longer version: It was my wife's birthday, and we had both been to Flatiron before, but I have with business associates several times in between. On a weeknight so it was slow, but service, food, wine, all were very good+. I had the salmon special, she the sea bass. Nothing left on the plate and we are not big people. Very, very good. Service was very good as well. Nice blend of everything, the wine list was a bit sparse, but not really a complaint. A well established great place in downtown Omaha - we would recommend.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

More than expected.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The restaurant was nice enough to push back our reservation an hour. The taxi let us off at the back door but the staff were very nice to let us go right through the kitchen and not make us walk all the way around the block. The menu was very chic and the wine list had a nice variety. The wait staff were very nice and attentive but not annoying and didn't rush us. The food was very good but the attempt at Asian items should be left to the Asians. Fortunately, they were just side items on the plate. The desserts were especially good. My Cousin and I were visiting from the West Coast and we were pleasantly surprised to find such a nice place in the Midwest.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Business dinner downtown

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Good location; have to pay for parking. Great food and service and good atmosphere. Only negative was that it was very noisy based on the building layout so it was hard to have a conversation across a table of 8 when the restaurant was full. Wait staff was good, appetizers excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very average meal for a high price. Not ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Very average meal for a high price. Not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great service, great drinks, good food!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service, great drinks, good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our anniversary and was a per ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary and was a perfect night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic restaurant. It's one of our f ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. It's one of our favorite places to eat in Omaha. Great food, great service, and we love the unique building and space within the restaurant. Their ribeye is ridiculously good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about the Flatiron. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved everything about the Flatiron. The atmosphere was upscale and luxurious. The food was unbelievably good (ribeye and sea bass). The service was outstanding. We can't afford to do this type of dining frequently, but we would be willing to drive 5 hours to Omaha to eat here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flatiron continues to be outstanding. Lo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Flatiron continues to be outstanding. Love to entertain my customers at this great Omaha spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took a potential client here for dinne ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I took a potential client here for dinner. We arrived, it was partially busy. We were promptly greeted by our server, Ann Marie- who was amazing throughout the entire night. They have a staff of servers clearing plates, filling water and of course checking in at a respectable interval on our progress. The food was out of this world! My guest and I both had the ribeye - to die for. My boss had the lamb chop and he also raved! I'm sure hoping I win this deal so I can go back to Omaha for dinner here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Our drinks however w ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was very good. Our drinks however were not the best in our opinion. For whatever reason they just didn't seem that good. I had old fashioned and my wife had lemon drop. It wasn't just one we both had 2 just to make sure. Overall a good experience

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was beyond hospitable. My thr ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was beyond hospitable. My three year old son was not in the best mood but she was still calm and very accommodating. The food was really great and I had the best steak that I've had since moving to Omaha four years ago!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our meal was outstanding. My ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

As always our meal was outstanding. My third visit in the last two months, and I never seem to feel bored with the menu. Over the years I have tried most everything on the menu, and have never been disappointed.

The service is always top notch, but I have recently found a server that I feel is exceptional. Her name is Anne-Marie (I hope I remembered it and spelled it correctly). I have dined all over the world, and I must say this young lady is consistently one of the best I have ever found. Good service means a great deal to me, and I have found it in Anne-Marie. I now ask for her when I make my reservations. I have mentioned her to several friends and business associates.

The Flatiron Cafe is a great well managed restaurant that you are confident to bring family, friends and customers to for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Bit noisy though ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was delicious. Bit noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Flatiron!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Went to the Flatiron before a show at the Orpheum. It is perfect walking distance. The meal was fantastic, all the wait staff were helpful and friendly. We can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great at the FlatIron

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner at the Flatiron Cafe is something I always look forward to when I visit Omaha. The location is great, the staff warm, friendly and helpful and the food is outstanding! They all treat you like you are "old pals" when you visit. I was with my elderly parents and our hotel shuttle bus dropped us off on the back side of the building...so we were preparing to walk around to the entrance when the kitchen door popped open and the maitre de (not sure I spelled that right?) said "Don't walk all the way around come on in here. This is the VIP entrance, we only allow special people to come in this way!" It made us feel very special and helped set the tone for a great evening. Our waiter Jordan was outstanding and the food and drink was fantastic. While some people may think the prices are high, I find them to be very reasonable considering the great care you receive at the FlatIron. Food served is generous. I have traveled many countries in Europe and been to Argentina...but I would count Flatiron as one of the best places I have ever had the pleasure of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Friendly staff!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and service were excellent! We had the escargot and ahi tuna as starters. They were both so good we couldn't decide which we liked the best, High praise for the poached lobster!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Menu change

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The menu has changed and some food is less spicy than I prefer. The salmon is excellent but no longer blackened which is how I prefer it. It is still one of my favorite places to dine!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

even though unexpectedly crowded, the le ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

even though unexpectedly crowded, the level of service and quality of the food was first rate. The Flatiron continues as one of Omaha's finest and most adult restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good and would recommend.

 
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Very good upscale restaurant. Service was terrific, as good as it gets. Modern décor but in a unique older building. Menu is very good although not too extensive. Almost all food items were very good, some great but sadly some less so. The house salad was fine but nothing memorable, lobster bisque and lobster were terrific as were veggies and potatoes but surprisingly for Omaha the steak was disappointing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Flatiron continues as one of Omaha's ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The Flatiron continues as one of Omaha's best dining sites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Wife and I were celebrating an award she had won earlier that day. Staff caught hold of this and brought out a dessert with ice cream and candle to celebrate. Excellent surprise and above and beyond. Definitely going back and recommending to other.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Omaha

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Simply put one of the best in Omaha for an over all higher end dinning experience. Perfect for business or personal dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Flatiron is a treasure! They make y ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Flatiron is a treasure! They make you feel like family, whether it's the first time you've been, or have been coming for years, as we have. We came again before a show at the Orpheum and ordered the special of the night, a delicate and delicious barramundi topped with the most wonderful pico de gallo (among other things). Our server, Jordan, with help from Lance, steered us to the perfect wine to accompany it, a refreshing Vouvray. Lovely! Always a pleasure to visit the Flatiron.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great especially for special occasions.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This is a small establishment with a wonderful menu, excellent service and a sweet ambiance. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Just a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timely service

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Our server was aware that we were dining before the local show. She graciously acknowledged and offered to watch the time for us. Unfortunately, when I did check the time, I was shocked that we were very close to showtime and did not have our bill and had not seen our server for quite a while. I asked a server filling water to please get our bill to us. ....it became a panic situation at the end.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing Always

 
·Dined on March 16, 2016

My Favorite place!!!! We do not live in Omaha so we are not fortunate enough to eat at Flatiron cafe as much as we want. But it is always the place we hit when we are in the area. Love the Service it's never rushed... They always ask if we are on a timeframe- which we never are.... That's when the magic happens... Drinks, appetizers ,soup , salad wine, entrees.... Perfection and delicious!!! The wait staff always have a story or two to share--ending with dessert and Porto!!! HEAVEN. Your loss if you don't stop by!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.