About The Five Fishermen

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill is known for its Nova Scotian Seafood, Alberta Angus beef and an array of Chef-inspired menu items, prepared with uncompromising quality.

Recognized annually as one of the best dining experiences in Halifax; it is located in one of downtown's most historical buildings with connections to the Titanic and Halifax Explosion.

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill offers valet parking service beginning at 5pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
The Restaurant (Upstairs):
Daily from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday - Saturday

Valet Parking available beginning at 5pm

The Grill (Downstairs) no reservation required:
Monday to Thursday 11:30 to 10 pm
Friday 11:30 to 11pm
Saturday 4pm to 11pm
Sunday 4pm to 10pm

Oyster Happy Hour: 4:00-6:30 pm daily (The Grill)

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as large covered parking lot one block from restaurant and hotel parking nearby. Valet parking service available.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Kyprianou

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with capacity for 35. Restaurant buy-out available.

Private Party Contact:
Alana Stobert: 9024224421x240

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
7 More
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (86)
Romantic (62)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Good for Groups (40)
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Scenic View (14)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for a Date (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our dinner was exquisite! Service was am ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our dinner was exquisite! Service was amazing, starting with the maitre 'd who gave you history of the building while seating you that was quite interesting. Our waiter was attentive, efficient professional and charming. The food was delicious!! I will definitely return on my next trip to Halifax.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and our server was the nicest and most friendly lady! We had a lovely seat upstairs overlooking the street and were very well taken care of. It was a wonderful experience to start off our anniversary trip

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The hotel recommended the place and it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

The hotel recommended the place and it was good, just not great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A must stop in Halifax. History, ambien ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

A must stop in Halifax. History, ambience, creative food and drinks plus great service adds up to a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Historic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut and mussels was excellent. Going ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Halibut and mussels was excellent. Going back again before we leave. Service was excellent too. Eat upstairs.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered Halibut and the mixed seaford en ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ordered Halibut and the mixed seaford entre. Waiter (Cory) brought us Spanish Mackerel because they were out of Halibut and said I can change it if I wanted. No mention of the substitution before it arrived with the other meal. We kept it or I would have eaten on my own or waited for another dish for my wife while mine got cold. Got the check and it said Halibut when I said to the waiter you brought us Spanish Mackerel he said it's the same price. Also, no bread was provided.

Thanks Five Fisherman for a great anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Basil Cucumber Fizz is one of the best d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Basil Cucumber Fizz is one of the best drinks I have had ever.

We had tuna tartar and watermelon/tomato salad for starts. The tuna was incredible and fresh. Watermelon slices looked like tomatos to add to the experience. For mains we had lobster stuffed scallops and the five fisherman dishes with lobster tail and lobster mashed potato's as sides. All the food we had was really good and we highly recommend this restaurant to any seafood lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a wonderful meal with a great sampli ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with a great sampling of local seafood. Service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was generally of high quality a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was generally of high quality accompanied by a lack-lustre salad. Unfortunately our server was an incredibly awkward chap who tainted the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We wanted a special dinner for our last ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We wanted a special dinner for our last night in Canada after a five week tour. The Five Fisherman had been recommended and we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. Excellent food and friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We waited over 35minutes past our reserv ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We waited over 35minutes past our reserve time and they stayed they missed us

Who knows how much longer if u did not ask

Then they went to put us in the grill area when we booked the formal area

Totally messed up after that was great

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were visiting Halifax and this restau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were visiting Halifax and this restaurant was recommended. We ordered dinner and after 45 minutes, the waiter said that the order was lost and we had to start over but he would rush it. When the meals came 20 minutes later they were room temperature so it seems that the food was prepared and it was lost--and then found. It was inedible--so much so, that the restaurant did not charge us at all. We would have preferred to have paid and had a good meal. It was our vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We loved the Five Fishermen restaurant! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We loved the Five Fishermen restaurant! Christine, from Queensland, Australia, our waitress was delightful! So friendly and told us about the restaurant's history.... loved the stories about the Hauntings and the connections to early schools, and sadly as a mortuary for victims of the Titanic. Food was great.. my husband had steak and I had the rack of lamb - perfect! We highly recommend this restaurant as a must on your list.. and eat upstairs, with the stained glass windows and ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, have been there before ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience, have been there before and it has not lost it shine.

Relax and enjoy the fine food and great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific service, fresh oysters, and a r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Terrific service, fresh oysters, and a remarkable seafood meal~

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service with excellent food! L ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic service with excellent food! Lobster salad, haddock tacos and fish and chips! No room for dessert!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scott our server upstairs was outstandin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Scott our server upstairs was outstanding. Downstairs host could have been a bit more engaging on our arrival. Sample test of local wines was fun thanks to Scott. French rose on the menu is great but liked the local rose too. Ordered the Char , Shellfish Tagliatalle plus Forgers salad. All very very good. Downstairs Grill vibe looked intersting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This an amazing meal!!!!!! It was our 21 ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This an amazing meal!!!!!! It was our 21 Anniversary! !!!! Our server Liam was the best!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was definitely not as good as previ ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was definitely not as good as previous visit. Salad was mushy and dressing lacked flavor. My daughter's burger was dry and tomatoes were added when we asked they not be due to food sensitivity. Disappointing. Our server CeCe however was AMAZING. Huge thumbs up to her! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Cook. The five Fishermen dish was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good Cook. The five Fishermen dish was awsome. Service excellente too

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was recommended to us by a friend, an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was recommended to us by a friend, and I would say it was the best meal we had in the two weeks we travelled through Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and PEI. I would recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow - we had to wait & ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was very slow - we had to wait & wait for everything. Food was good but we have had just as good elsewhere for less. We could hear the entire conversations of the tables on either side of us, which put a damper on our own conversation as we realized that they would be hearing everything that we said as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I recently took a friend from away to th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I recently took a friend from away to the Five Fishermen restaurant to allow her to taste a properly cooked Atlantic Lobster.Not only was the food fantastic,the service was great as well.A little on the pricey side,but a wonderful place to have a "special dinner "

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was poor & slow. We were 30 minu ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was poor & slow. We were 30 minutes before I received my drink. Apparently there was nobody to go downstairs to get my Rum & Ginger as I was told. The worst disappointment of the night was my fish was overcooked. We have been to this restaurant many times and with much better experiences and that is why Saturday night was so disappointing to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

A lovely meal in an interesting building ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A lovely meal in an interesting building full of history. We dined here on our first night in Nova Scotia and it was the best meal of the trip. Lovely service, friendly staff and delicious food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a causal dinner at the Grill. The ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a causal dinner at the Grill. The calamari and the lobster mac&cheese excellent. The setting in this historic building was very nice and the service friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The 2 men in our party really enjoyed th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The 2 men in our party really enjoyed the service and the delicious oysters and martinis provided at the bar. Meanwhile at the table we had ordered a feature salad, that was tasteless, and lobster slider rolls that had excessive bear arise type mayo, yuk. Dinner was okay, but not exceptional or even great. The lobster linguine was sparse at best....then it was dessert, and we chose to split two dessert, shared by four people. We chose the flourless choc. Cake, it came burnt on the hidden bottom side , tasted dry and awful, we sent it back , inedible. It,was removed from our bill. The drinks were great. Not our first time at this restaurant, which is why we recommended it to our friends as a great place for us all to go, but....sadly it will be the last time we go.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

It was my wife's 60 th birthday and I re ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was my wife's 60 th birthday and I reserved at the Five Fisherman's thinking it would be a

a beautiful place to treat her. A new step for me, since I'm a creature of habit and have always went tothe dining room at Salty's since 2005.

However, the decor of your restaurant blew me away and the main menu equally. Without being too critical, what ruined my evening ,as well as my spouse was my appetizer. I chose the fresh oysters with lemon and horseradish, which was my first time eating oysters and fresh at that. Unfortunately, I did not think the oysters were CHILLED enough and when I finished the last two with horseradish they did not TASTE alright, especially with the horseradish and left me a metallic taste in my mouth and left my stomach quite upset. I should of spoke up, but i did not want to be seen as being over critical. I could not enjoy my main because the oysters kepted repeating on me, nor could I enjoy the expensive bottle of wine, which was hardly touched; this was very upsetting.I became very sick, but the assistance of the waiters and your remarkable Manager Alana were remarkable. I'm just starting to recover. I've worked in all the hospitals in the city, and I've seen what food poisoning looks like. Sorry, because you are a high end restaurant, and I don't like to be critical.

We received a call from the Grafton company, which upset me unfortunately. He inquired on my health, but it did not seem sincere. I think the call was more to feel out what we would do after our experience. I ASSURE YOU NOTHING NEGATIVE WILL EVER BE SAID OR POSTED REGARDING YOUR RESTAURANT. YOUR STAFF WAS AMAZING...

Thank you,

Ginette Bernard and Beverly Ann Stone

902-292-5107

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife & I enjoyed the food it was deli ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My wife & I enjoyed the food it was delicious.

The waitress Christine with the Australian accent was very kind and hospitable.

We would recommend this as a Perfect Special Occasion Dinner and reserve your table in the upstairs dinning area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at the Five Fishermen four years ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at the Five Fishermen four years ago and returned specifically for the mussel and salad bar so we're very disappointed that it is no longer there. Our daughter is vegetarian and without the salad bar the menu was extremely limited for her. Unfortunately with these 2 items now missing I don't believe we will be returning on our next trip to Halifax. The location and ambiance of the restaurant along with the service were excellent, however.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We been there several times before and t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We been there several times before and this time was kinda disappointing with the loss of the muscle bar. That used to be very good and more fun experience. This time it was just like any other higher class dining. The food was good and service too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordinary. Overpriced. Halibut was all bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Ordinary. Overpriced. Halibut was all but.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nothing special I was there many years a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Nothing special

I was there many years ago and I mistakenly thought it would be the same

Food was bland and not hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Excellent ambiance Service was exception ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent ambiance

Service was exceptional

Highly recommended

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another memorable experience. Have been ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Another memorable experience. Have been dinning here since 1975 (I think that was our 1st year) and have never had anything but a phenomenal experience!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was outstanding. O ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The whole experience was outstanding. Our server Jenn great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charlie Our waitress was totally awesome ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Charlie

Our waitress was totally awesome

I wish she would call me 403 616-188

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For me, the Five Fishermen is the most f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

For me, the Five Fishermen is the most famous never-miss dining venue in Halifax. No stop here would be complete without a fabulous meal here. Great selection, always fresh & tasty, enthusiastic service - the finest seafood restaurant in a place chock full of seafood restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The main dining room is on the second fl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The main dining room is on the second floor which we had not realized. My wife has a bad knee so we were seated at the grille on the main floor after a wait; what we were not told was that the grille menu is not the same as the main menu--- we had spent a while picking out what we wanted from the main menu. We then decided to venture upstairs despite the knee problem We ordered a sea food chowder and both of us ordered the salmon (advertized as Nova Scotia salmon). The chowder took at least 15 minutes to arrive and was barely warm. We returned it and it arrived after 10 minutes -- was well below average -- not much seafood in it and not hearty. The salmon was very good but didnt taste like wild salmon; when we asked we were told it was told it was farm raised. This should have been indicated on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent service. Good food. Somewhat ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent service. Good food. Somewhat expensive. Great environment. Clean. Quiet

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.