Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

The Five Fishermen

4.6
1164 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Join us at Five Fishermen restaurant in Downtown Halifax and let the personalized service and warm contemporary ambiance, set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and wood fire grill to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our lively bar where you can sip classic and creative hand-shaken cocktails or a selection of micro-brewed beers and ales, regional wines, single-malt scotches and fresh squeezed juices and enjoy signature appetizers . Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Contemporary Canadian, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday – Thursday: 5:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM


Complimentary Valet Parking available with reservations only
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 422-4421
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Chris Kyprianou is a new addition to the Five Fishermen family; having joined us in the spring from Toronto. Chris comes from a family that was built around the dinner table. It was a time to unwind, laugh and indulge with great food so it comes as n
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
If you are searching for a place to host your next group function, Five Fishermen is the perfect setting for your private or semi-private event. Visit us at www.FiveFishermen.com to book your next event.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Carmichael Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary valet service with dinner reservation for the Five Fishermen Restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
One block from major public transit stop.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour M-F 4:30-6:30 PM, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine
What 1164 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 16 hours ago

Nice, quiet dinner. Food and service were excellent. Some menu items are pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful seafood. Very good, friendly service. The Oyster Rockefeller could have been a tad warmer, but everything else was A++

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Five Fisherman, a fabulous meal! The service was superb, the chef/kitchen brilliant. Don’t miss incredible fusion of the freshest ingredients and imaginative preparation. The scallops were amazing, so fresh! The staff recognized our anniversary with a delicious dessert to share. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, great service, wonderful place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our group of 10 had an excellent time. The food and service were excellent as well. I think we were the last table at the end of the evening but we were not made to feel that we had to rush out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was very good and our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our second time there didn't dissapoint. We will definitely dine here often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We couldn’t say enough amazing things about The Five Fisherman. A local staple, we were wowed from beginning to end. We’re not big fancy people, but we never felt looked down on, or discriminated. Every single person had exceptional customer skills. The food were still rheeming from. The wine was wonderful. Can’t wait to come back again. Thank you !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Just because you're in Halifax doesn't mean seafood is done right. This place knows seafood and does it right!!! Excellent food, worth the drive and worth a bit extra in cost.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

It was a wonderful evening spent celebrating mother’s 91st

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We had a wonderful meal here. My husband is vegetarian and gets sick of being offered pasta wherever he goes. The Five Fisherman has a separate vegetarian menu so he was delighted and thoroughly enjoyed his meal. I had the halibut. It was exquisite! Our server was exceptional and the atmosphere was lovely. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food, service. Each fish entree was cooked perfectly. Love the atmosphere and no rush service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Annual dinner meeting

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Have already submitted my review to Asst Manager, Andrew Mitton on May 2. Please check with him for my comments.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Loved it! Delicious meal. Our waiter Mitch was helpful. One of our guests had several food allergies and the restaurant was very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Our dinner was incredible. The oysters and seafood were so fresh. We enjoyed the ambiance, the great wait staff and the delicious food. 5 stars on all counts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great seafood in iconic landmark. Worth a stop especially if attending event at convention Centre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

A great night, excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food and service was excellent!
Will definitely go back next time
I’m in Halifax.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Reservation was for 7:00 waited a good 45 min to be seated. Waiter seemed upset that two people were in a table for 6 or 6. Not our fault of course. Wedge salad was not a wedge salad everything else was good they did give us a drink for the wait, I would not go back on my choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My wife & I were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and the attentiveness to detail and personal touch not only by the staff but manager certainly enhanced the occasion especially the roses delivered to our table at just the right time.
The food was exceptional as always.
This was not our first visit and certainly will not be our last.
Sincerely Dave & Mary

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Returning home from out of country and all I wanted was 1/12 lb lobster and a ceaser salad
or the lobster vegetable dinner for $49.95 believe. I got neither. I got the lobster, with some kind of salad, but it certainly was not ceaser which the waitress assured me one could be made for me, and was charged the price for the full lobster dinner at $49.95. Was with too many VIP's to question therefore just paid bill. Would have thought bill would have been adjusted accordingly without having to ask. Not sure I would return and have been there many times over the years.

Saturday, 21 April 2018

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Wine is a bit expensive, but then again, this is an upscale restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I stuck with the seafood and was not disappointed. The seafood chowder was very good, but under-seasoned. The shellfish tagliatelle was excellent -- great balance between the amount of pasta and a good amount of seafood. I went with the tomato sauce and was glad I did -- not heavy, lots of tomatoes,nicely seasoned. Tip: there were five whole cloves of garlic buried in the dish -- fish around for them, and smash them to turn their homemade biscuits into garlic biscuits -- yum!

The service was friendly but not as attentive as it should be (I had to ask for more water, and it finally arrived after my plate was already taken away).

Overall, very good food -- fresh, local, well prepared -- and good service in a nice setting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Good food, warm ambiance, and cheerful service - just a little disappointed that after having taken the time and trouble to make a reservation there was no table ready. We had to wait 45 minutes. OpenTable, this is something I would expect you to follow up on to ensure that reservation availability reflects reality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Everything was fine until the end, when I was unable to get our server’s attention to bring the cheque.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good as a tourist dining spot. Well located, easy to make reservations, great seafood options, great beer and wine list, and the service was absolutely outstanding. Although the lobster went fast and they ran out before we arrived, they actually tried to find us another restaurant that would have some. We decided to stay and try some of the other dishes simply because they were so friendly; we were not disappointed. Oh, and because my girlfriend is French and doesn’t speak a word of English, they chased down their only French speaking waiter to cater to us out of his section. How awesome are these people?They all deserve a raise!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

It was great. Everyone tried something different and everyone was really happy with their meals

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Seated at 2 person table with draft blowing on my back.
Server stated it may be the air conditioning unit at my back (concealed ?)that may be creating issue and said would send manager over to discuss. Server came back and asked if manager was over and I replied no. Put my jacket on and ate my meal when served.
No solutions offered, no management contact even though he was within 6 feet of our table on several occasions. Maybe server did not communicate the draft issue.
Visually the quantity of staff on hand seemed to be more than adequate to serve your customers at that time of evening. May want to look into the overall quality of staff.

Mike Connors

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We had a wonderful meal. We would highly recommend this restaurant, and we'll be back again soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Excellent service and food. The Arctic Char was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great meal with great service. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great place and very nice dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The renovations have created a very inviting and diverse space with lots of seating options and upscale finishes. The food was excellent, with a good diversity of both surf and turf with great apps and service. Would recommend highly for anyone looking for a great dining experience in Halifax.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

everything taste just perfect! We seat in the chef’s table and every single colleague told me they have lots of fun that day and the food is really good! Especially the swordfish, even we ask for well-done, it’s still juicy, soft and taste incredibly good!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Service: Phil and his team were personable, funny, observant attentive, and prompt. It was a pleasure interacting with them.

Food:
Starters: The mussels were a flavour explosion. When dipped in the mussel sauce, the biscuits became kryptonite to even the most anti-carb advocate ... The Oysters Rockefeller were delicious, but served lukewarm.
Food to Share: Truffle fries were delicious (crispy and warm). The lobster mac & cheese was disappointing as it was also cold.
Main: Three diners had the Five Fish. Overall, the risotto was strongly peppered, and the swordfish was a little rubbery. The salmon was done nicely with a crispy skin. Scallops were seared perfectly. The lobster disappeared quickly.
Dessert: While everybody was too full to partake, the live dessert menu was a unique enticement.
Wine: I would recommend the Cab Franc (sold by the bottle) if looking for a big and bold red wine to pair with dinner. The Malbac was a little thin.

Ambiance: Was delightful in the elegant finishes of the renovated upstairs. The 1/2-moon open-facing booth was comfortable (the pillows were a nice touch), if a little awkward to enter. However, entertainment was quickly provided by the table opposite whose antics reminded us all of the value of discretion and that quality and 'klass' are different.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. Everything was great and surprising. The offered champagne at the bar, the very friendly service, the food, the rose for my wife and the card signed by 10 people. Not printed! Thank you, we will be back without a special reason. A note, the music was not always suitable and a bit noisy for such a good restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Hi, Bruce and I have been going to the Five Fishermen for years. We enjoyed the decor and the service was wonderful. I said to my husband that the food was not very good. I am sorry to say that. All four of us had not very good meals. It appeared to not be fresh and over cooked. ‎ I would never of said anything but wanted to answer your email.
Thank you, Caroline Clarke

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This restaurant is both exqusitite and refined. The dining was local and delcious and the service was welcoming, friendly and of high quality. The staff were professional and knowledgable on the dining options.
We could not have chosen a better option to dine with a close friend on a visit from the UK. We were all very impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Amazing food, atmosphere and service. The hostess asked if we were celebrating any special occasion so I mentioned we were celebrating my boyfriend’s 30th birthday, the server gave us complimentary champagne and a signed bday card for him! So thoughtful :)

We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30

Tweets by The Five Fishermen