Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About The Five Fishermen

Join us at Five Fishermen restaurant in Downtown Halifax and let the personalized service and warm contemporary ambiance, set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and wood fire grill to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our lively bar where you can sip classic and creative hand-shaken cocktails or a selection of micro-brewed beers and ales, regional wines, single-malt scotches and fresh squeezed juices and enjoy signature appetizers . Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Canadian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday – Thursday: 4:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM


Complimentary Valet Parking available with reservations only

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Catering:
If you are searching for a place to host your next group function, Five Fishermen is the perfect setting for your private or semi-private event. Visit us at www.FiveFishermen.com to book your next event.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet service with dinner reservation for the Five Fishermen Restaurant.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Chef Chris Kyprianou is a new addition to the Five Fishermen family; having joined us in the spring from Toronto. Chris comes from a family that was built around the dinner table. It was a time to unwind, laugh and indulge with great food so it comes as n

Private Party Facilities:
If you are hosting an intimate dinner for family, a party or a corporate event, your guests will feel welcomed and catered to at Five Fishermen. Our dining rooms can be configured to suit your needs and our event coordinator will see to every detail. From separate lighting, music and temperature controls, to complimentary A/V, we will ensure your event is seamlessly executed. Our menus change with the season to offer our guests the best of the season. So the custom menu we prepare for your event will depend on the time of year you plan to join us. But whatever the season, your menu will feature rustically prepared ingredients at their peak of freshness and a Sommelier-selected international wine list. Visit us at www.FiveFishermen.com to book your next event.
If you are searching for a place to host your next group function, Five Fishermen is the perfect setting for your private or semi-private event.

Private Party Contact:
Alana Stobert: (902) 422-4421 ext. 240

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour M-F 4:30-6:30 PM, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (9)
Fun (9)
Great Beer (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Scenic View (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Waterfront (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was the best part. I thought they were a bit skimpy on the bread and the portion size was very small. No complaints from me as I'm watching my waistline but don't expect heaping portions given the price. Our server was informative about local options in wine and we sampled a few choices. Not really kid friendly unless your child enjoys fish and chips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined 2 days ago

After a very long day, we were looking forward to a restful and pleasant evening and are pleased to say that we loved our dining experience. The Five Fisherman was recommended by family who had been there the week before and it surpassed our highest expectations. Everything was perfect... from staff and ambiance to our meals. Our highest compliments to the chef for delicious and beautifully-presented food! The oysters surrounding dry ice were a lovely start... the wood smoked salmon and the sea bass along with sauces suggested to us by Luca were perfectly cooked and so flavourful. The lemon/berry tarts were delicate and a perfect ending to a delicious meal. We loved that the seafood was locally-caught. Rather than wine we decided to try local beers and our choices complemented our meals. Luca was our wonderful waiter. He was so personable and gracious and took time to answer questions and tell us about the history of the building. Those who greeted us and brought us to our table and those who brought our meals to us were all friendly and very professional. I also loved the added touch of fresh flowers and high quality hand towels in the ladies' room. We will recommend The Five Fishermen to everyone. In fact, it's already on my Facebook page :)

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A bit over priced with low quality food. One could do better by eating further away from the water front. We were staying in Halifax for the week and had far better meals away from the tourist areas.Evan the hotel resturants offer a better deal in the quality & price.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional service, oysters to die for, amazing five fish plate, We would come back tomorrow!! Wonderful experience! Mhmmm! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

A great restaurant to celebrate our 47 wedding anniversary, great food, great service, great ambience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

À fantastic experience. The food was amazing and the service exceptional.
Joel couldn't have done a better job.

I travel a lot and have many opportunities to try different restaurants. This is one place among my top experiences that I strongly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had the pleasure of experiencing the renovated restaurant for our 2nd year anniversary. Our server, Emily was absolutely fantastic - professional, funny, and helped make us feel like a million bucks. We were over the moon! Thank you, Emily! The host staff were also fantastic and took the time to write a special Anniversary card for us - such a lovely touch, thank you! Mitton shared great stories with us and it was so good to feel like part of the Five Fish Family!

For dinner, we enjoyed the fresh shucked oysters (perfect! and we loved the unique mignonette!) and mussels (everyone MUST try these!) with our main meals being the Five Fishermen and Halibut. My only tiny suggestion would be to let the chef know if you like your fish cooked a certain way. I prefer a less done (is that a thing?!) halibut/fish and scallops. The halibut and scallops that we had were delicious and the flavors were perfect, we just would have preferred them a touch "rarer".

The Bar! Gorgeous wine selection and pairings. We would have had more if we were staying downtown! Definitely take the time to try one of the cocktails. I can't remember the name of the Goslings rum cocktail we had but it was spectacular. We also enjoyed wine by the glass and there is a great selection to choose from.

If you're in the city, the Five Fishermen is a unique treat and well worth the visit. Though they have renovated and have a modern look, the charm and elegance of the restaurant and its history is still tangible. No ghosts were spotted....

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a wonderful early dinner. Very happy to see delicious vegan and vegetarian options. Desserts were yummy. Loved the view of church grounds. Also loved the haunted washrooms. Our server answered our ?s and was so friendly. It was a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The staff and restaurant think this is a special place but behind the mask it's very standard fare. Decor and lighting In upstairs dining room is harsh.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We dined at the Five Fishermen several years ago. At that time the interior was decorated to reflect the historic nature of the building and you felt like you were in an old building and could relate to its past. At that time we had an enjoyable evening and connected to the significance of this venue which was part of the allure to dine there.

This year we dined and the interior had been completely renovated and modernized which removed any feeling of historic importance. This was, to me, very disappointing and for that reason I will not return, have told others not to go back and although the meal was excellent the ambience was destroyed.

Now for the meal' The menu has been downsized from our first visit and the mussel bar is no longer available.

My wife ordered a glass of wine, but we were told they had only one bottle left and did not want to open it for one glass even though it was on the menu by the glass. We ordered the pork belly appetizer but asked for no goat cheese which was not a problem. Although not a big issue it took a long time to get it. Later we were told they made an error and initially added the goat cheese and had to redo. Thirdly, my wife asked for ancient grain as the side with her order but it came with rice. So that is three strikes. Fortunately the meals were very good (after they brought a side of the ancient grains).

We learned afterwards that the staff were all new since reopening which may explain why certain things happened.

Unfortunately, my disappointment was initiated by the modernization of a very historic building and that is the main reason I will not return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The atmosphere was lovely...well appointed, trendy. My daughter and husband had the oysters and they thought they were the best they had in all the Halifax restaurants where they tried them over the course of a week of vacation. The wine selection is extensive however, no martini's are on the menu. Some fancy cocktails were featured and was mixed nicely. The food was good but the portion sizes are small. Vegetable was included but only had 4 small asparagus and 6 bite size potatoes. With a serving of 6 oz. of fish, I will still a smidge hungry. Would have been nice if they had a bread basket to accompany dinner. My daughter had asked about the ghost hauntings (apparently the place had been a morgue at one point in the past) and is claimed to be haunted but the staff didn't want to be bothered with trivial talk after they got their tip. The place is very pricey, the food was good, but be prepared to pay high tourist/city prices!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent dinner venue and delicious food. Highly recommended spot near the water.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The five fisherman has been a staple in the Halifax restaurant scene for a long time now, may places have come and gone and this one has remained. In keeping with the times they have renovated their space hitting the nail on the head with a beautiful chic dining area, open spaces, refreshing concept of an open kitchen (very big in Montreal /Toronto) and gorgeous wood plank bar. This isn't even the best part it is simply the first impression, the mussels are to die for with a rich creamy white wine sauce, I followed with the sea bass which had a peppery skin on a bead of chefs vegetables and creamy whipped potato and the chai cheesecake with coconut whip cream... Well I've said enough, except I can't go without mentioning the amazing service, truly.. Well done five fish you continue to shine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My wife and I were in Halifax for the first time and Five Fishermen was recommended by a friend. We were VERY impressed by the entire experience. We had a very personable and knowledgeable server (Tyler) and he helped us with menus choices and parings, desserts, etc. The swordfish was especially tasty, and went well with a tasty smokey scotch (Lagavulin 16). We had a wonderful time, and have already recommended the restaurant to friends and family. The recent renovations create a very classy, yet comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. If we are ever back in Halifax, this place will be at the top of the list of places to visit again.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. The food and service were top notch. Highly recommended when you are in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 8, 2017

From the friendly welcome, great wine list, got-to-come-back food and entertaining and knowledgeable service, this was a wonderful place to spend an evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

While we didn't appreciate being seated in the back of the restaurant next to the staff entrance, the service and food were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance, ready to eat there everyday

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We all met from around the world to tour Nova Scotia and was told to dine at the Five Fisherman and it did not disappoint. I don't normally order seafood at restaurants but they did not over cook anything and did it just right. Thank you for a great experience!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. I wish the web site had mentioned the steep staircase because I have difficulty. I would have requested a different seating are ahead of time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Nice food and nice servant, definitely recommend friends go there to try the sea food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We planned a visit to Nova Scotia and really wanted to dine at the Five Fishermen as we had seen it on a TV show. The restaurant has been recently renovated which is nice but now has lost its historic character. The waitress we had was very clumsy and spilled both our water and wines when pouring. She was probably new as she had a nervous laugh and didn't really know how to respond when we showed our disappoint in her skills. The food took a while and one of the dishes was under cooked when it arrived. To be fair, the manager did come over and make amends. I believe once the staff is properly trained, both kitchen and wait staff, this should be a very nice restaurant but it was pricey for the service we received. A note that the bar staff was very well trained and knowledgeable.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It all started with the attitude of the host at the host stand. We arrived a bit early for our reservation as my wife uses a cane to walk and we wanted to make sure we arrived on time. The female hostess said they were clearing our table, I then asked how long a wait and she said 10 minutes and offered us a seat in the lounge or bar. Usually no prob, but it was what the male host said right after that in a condescending tone that ticked me off, he said "yeah about the time of your reservation". Not professional at all. So we are waiting more like 15 minutes when a 3rd person comes over and ask if we have a reservation and our name. I tell her it and my wife tells her. We wait probably another 5 minutes then she comes back like she can't find the reservation (that they already acknowledged they had) and has the wrong name. I will admit I was probably a bit rude at that point, which I think must have gotten us flagged in their system, because once we were seated things took forever. When we interacted with the waiter he was good, but the time it took him to come by and how long it took between courses took forever. The table next to us came in 20 minutes after us and got their entrees before us, as an example.

Now onto the food which was quite good and the only thing saving this from a 2 or 1 star rating. The mussels appetizer is very good and the bread they serve is great. I had the swordfish which was good and my wife had the chicken and shrimp combo which she said was delicious. The bartender also made me a really nice mock-tail.

I wish the overall experience would have been better. I am disappointed as I was really looking forward to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We traveled to Halifax and this was one spot I was really looking forward to having dinner. We were not disappointed! Fabulous food and cocktails. We had great service and our waiter even took a photo of us at dinner and sent us home with a fun snapshot. I loved everything about the meal. I had the Five Fish meal and it was amazing. The cocktails were delicious and you definitely do not want to leave without dessert. We had the cedar smoked Smores. Thye had recently renovated and I thought the décor made the place super cozy but elegant. We had a window seat and the view was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Super Sophisticated atmosphere in Halifax
Excellent seafood and wine selection

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

After 30 minutes of waiting for service we had to get up and say something. It was another 10 minutes before our table was even approached

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at The Five Fishermen and returned t celebrate our 46th. It was a lovely meal - the food was excellent and they gave me a red rose as a token of our anniversary. Probably won't make it n our 75th but certainly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was our first experience at the Five Fishermans Restaurant. Everything was perfect. Great delection of wines (over 100), food tasted fresh. Tuna Tataki, lobster and USDA steak was excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Jacob rocks ! We love Newman !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing place!!! Absolutely fantastic food! Livia was our server --> perfect service!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Tapas, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I went to the Five Fishermen on a whim for our first anniversary, and I can say with absolute certainty that we will return next year. The staff and managers treated us like royalty. I can't ever remember having such a wonderful dining experience as this one.

The food was spectacular; the desert was to die for (flourless chocolate brownie - yum!); the wine was lovely.

Our amazing waiter even gave me a rose at the end of dinner, and a card for us signed by the staff. We were overwhelmed with the hospitality.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dinner at The Five Fishermen was delicious! The food is fresh, products come from within a 50 mile radius and the dishes prepared are savoury.

The ambiance is great for casual and fine dining, with soft, good tunes playing in the background, just loud enough to be heard, but low enough that you can hold a conversation, even in a group of friends.

The service is excellent! Our waiter, Joel, was attentive, made great suggestions from the menu, and was very personable and friendly. The courses were served in a very reasonable time, allowing you to enjoy some conversation without starving.

Overall, wonderful experience and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Halifax.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This restaurant has been transformed by a recent renovation. Although I miss the cosiness of its former guise, the food and service are excellent. I felt the nicoise salad was overpriced for the portion size but the 5 fish entree was good value. SErvice was very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, excellent service! One of the best meals we've had in Halifax!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our waitress was exceptional she went over and above with surprising my husband with a birthday card signed by the staff and free dessert. She was also very personable and attentive. Thank you for the great dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our experience was exceptional. All of the staff were very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. Kudos. The food was delicious. No complaints about anything...only praise. One of our best restaurant experiences ever.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We arrived a bit early for our reservation but were accommodated by the hostess and 'manager'. The table had a lovely view of the park.

To acknowledge our 40th Wedding Anniversary, the manager sent champagne, a red rose and card with well wishes from the staff - a wonderful gesture.

We were invited to choose from a sommelier prepared list of wines. Our selection of an Australian Shiraz was wonderful and reasonably priced.

Our oysters Rockefeller and Grilled Cauliflower appetizers were delicious.

My wife's strip sirloin and my '5 Fish' entrees were done perfectly. The cheesecake and sherbet we had for dessert were a perfect conclusion.

Our dining experience was absolutely perfect - with the exception of an occasionally disruptive child a few tables over ......... not exactly something within the restaurant's control.

Thank you so much for the experience.

Sincerely,
K&D

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was our honeymoon and the crew of Five Fisherman were amazing to us. They introduced us to a new wine favorite, created an awesome assortment of tasting portions and even gave us a card signed by the staff to congradulate us. It was amazing and never to be forgotten.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent meal at the newly refurbished Five Fishermen restaurant. Food simple but of high quality, portion sizes moderate, encouraging flirtations with dessert which might have otherwise been resisted. All staff helpful, friendly and enthusiastic. Not cheap, but a good example of getting what you pay for. If we lived in Nova Scotia rather than Auld Scotia we'd be regulars!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was superb. It was my first time to have a scallop ceviche which came on bite-sized toasted pita chips. Delicious. Followed by halibut with cassoulet and then a really nice sharing, creative desert - a trio with dry ice for show. With some Grand-Pré wine it made a lovely evening. I was asked for feedback and gave it, something that is usually ignored but this time it was welcomed and acted on which really impressed me. At the end our waiter, Ben even wrote a very nice personal note on the bill. All the touches that go to make a memorable meal and so I would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.