About The Five Fishermen

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill is known for its Nova Scotian Seafood, Alberta Angus beef and an array of Chef-inspired menu items, prepared with uncompromising quality.

Recognized annually as one of the best dining experiences in Halifax; it is located in one of downtown's most historical buildings with connections to the Titanic and Halifax Explosion.

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill offers valet parking service beginning at 5pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
The Restaurant (Upstairs):
Daily from 5:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday - Saturday
Daily from 5:00pm - 9:00pm Tuesday - Saturday (Winter Hours)
Valet Parking available beginning at 5pm

The Grill (Downstairs; no reservation required):

4:30 pm to 9:00 pm Sunday to Saturday (Winter Hours)

Oyster Happy Hour: 4:30-6:30 pm daily (The Grill)

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as large covered parking lot one block from restaurant and hotel parking nearby. Valet parking service available.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Carmelo Olivar

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with capacity for 45. Restaurant buy-out available.

Private Party Contact:
Alana Stobert: 9024224421x240

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
2 More
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (54)
romantic (45)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (12)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just perfect. A must if in Hali ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was just perfect. A must if in Halifax. Wish we were locals just for the restaurant

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We ate at the Grill downstairs. Very goo ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We ate at the Grill downstairs. Very good food, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Great overall value. Wine list could use a little work. Very enjoyable experience!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was excellent and very knowledgable.

Dined on May 17, 2016

The choices were great and the meal was excellent . A very nice experience. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 ladies ate here while in halifax at a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

3 ladies ate here while in halifax at a conference- Excellent food , service , wine and ambiance. Server was very knowledgeable and helpful when making our selections- had the 5 fish meal - food was excellent- seafood chowder to start was like stew - very, very good! Salted caramel cheesecake was excellent too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

A warm, welcoming greeting started off a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

A warm, welcoming greeting started off a great evening. Attentive staff, excellent service, delicious food . A lovely night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing. The Bloody Cease and Gar ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Disappointing. The Bloody Cease and Garlic soup was superb and we thought we made the right choice. Service slowed, food arrived at diffrent times, not together. The lobster tail was either frozen or overcooked (or both) as it was tough and rubbery. The scallops were more akin to a piece of hard candy, dry and hard, mussels, there were 4 shells and only 3 mussels. The shrimp was perhaps the most edible of our entrées, the artic char being dry and flavorless. Service seemed to disappear with the customers. After r0 years in business they appear to be relying on their past reputation. So many other Halifax restaurants would have been a better choice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service, staff and atmosphere all ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food, service, staff and atmosphere all very good, I would have no trouble recommending to others.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was fine and so was the service ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was fine and so was the service. I just found that this probably wasn't the best value for money. The 5 Fish dish is good, but on the pricey side . Among those five fish, the salmon and the shrimp were divine, whereas the scallops were under and the white fish (halibut?) was over. The lobster risotto would have been good except it came with vanilla (!) roasted fennel which overwhelmed the whole dish. Vanilla!! In a savory dish! Weird, if you ask me. So in all honesty, I probably wouldn't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Popular weekend spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a reservation for 8:30 pm, but had to wait a half hour due to the popularity of this restaurant. Our only worry was the Open Table advisory that the kitchen closed at 9. However, we were reassured that the restaurant doesn't seat anyone coming to the door after 9 pm. Over all, it was worth the wait. We enjoyed the crabcake appies and the chowder is chock-a-block with chunks of seafood and shellfish - very good. Most of us had the Five Fisherman plate, nice scallops, shrimp and fish. The atmosphere was charming, fitting to the style of east coast dining. Our server was attentive and casually joking when he sensed we were that kind of group.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good atmosphere, but felt a bit rushed

Dined on May 6, 2016

Met up with some friends - we hadn't seen each other in a long while, and had a lot of catching up to do. Food was good and hot and arrived quickly, the burger was delicious and fish and chips were crisp and tasty . Desserts were to die for! Our server was friendly, informative, helped us make good decisions about micro-brewery beer. The background music was just right - not so loud one had to shout at one's companions to be heard. :) Décor was warm, comfortable and inviting. However, at the end of our meal, we felt that we were being rushed out. There were other tables available (we would have left if there were no tables and/or people waiting). Our server came to our table three times within about 15 or 20 minutes after we had our dessert and tea - ostensibly to see if we wanted anything else. So we left, even though we were not quite ready. We ended up going to a coffee shop for a half hour or so to continue our visit. Overall, our experience was good and we will probably return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot to bring friends from out of ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great spot to bring friends from out of town who want to enjoy NS seafood in a classy atmosphere, and with a reasonably priced wine list. A friend who came to visit from Ottawa loved the fresh variety of both appetizers and mains. The crab and scallop cakes, and the tuna tartar were superb ! I only wish some of the menu items available in the Grill downstairs were available upstairs as well. And I do miss the mussel bar :(

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Coach

Dined on April 26, 2016

Service was fantastic. Our server was very polite and provided prompt service. Food was very good. Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a Wonderful Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Five Fishermen. The atmosphere was warm , quaint and inviting. We had wonderful service and the food was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FPE - Good Food, good People, good Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Right from the entrance you get greeted by Nova Scotia hospitality. We got there earlier so we "waited" at the bar. ohhh oysters from Beausoleil bay New Brunswick served by a very nice young fellow original from Calgary Alberta that moved to first study in NS but since has permanently moved there! We were then escorted to our table upstairs at the diner room. Very nicely decorated room to 18 century ship, very nice. The very friendly "serveur" greeted us and helped us out with the menu the wine selection and recommended us one of locals' fine single malt whisky (That we later bought at the farmers market the very next day!) the "serveur" was often times, noticing our language conversation, speaking French, always a nice touch thank you ;-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place to go in Halifax

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service by ( LIAM DUNLOP ) is Professional, if you are in Halifax it is the place for a excellent diner. Also a nice welcoming by Ross Mc Kinnon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 20, 2016

Ooh my. If you love seafood then this is the place. The service and food is exceptional, yes a bit expensive but worth the investment. We visited on a Wednesday and the various dining rooms were busy, a validation of the quality. I will definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food lovely service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a wonderful meal here. We are locals entertaining out of town friends who were keen on a good seafood experience. Everyone was more than satisfied with their meal and they were able to accommodate our large group without trouble. Would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great surf and turf items - delicious and fresh

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

A great tradition in Halifax, this restaurant has a lovely upstairs formal dining room with stained glass and Windows overlooking the hilly streets and waterfront. Wonderful staff and delicious consistently delivered seafood and meats. A little small on the veggie sides.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must when in Halifax

Dined on March 31, 2016

With its incredible place in the history of Halifax.. The location is a delight... The menu is always a comprehensive reflection of local, freshly caught fare and the chef works wonders with flavor and presentation. The knowledgeable, professional staff complete the experience. We had the pleasure of Jack in this visit.. A brilliant, attentive server.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The tuna tartare appetizer was excellent ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

The tuna tartare appetizer was excellent and I really enjoyed my halibut.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Some stand-out items on the menu...

Dined on March 26, 2016

For the most part, the food was very good. The spicy Tuna Tartar on the appetizer menu was a standout. Beautifully presented, the various flavours of the dish's components complemented each other well. I only wished it was available as a main course item. However, the duck special was a bit of a disappointment. Initially way over done, it was surprising that the chef allowed it to be served that way especially when the recommendation was to have it medium-rare (which we requested). Overall, the rest of the meal was a terrific blend of flavours and the portion sizes were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great except the steak I ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything was great except the steak I ordered medium and it came out rare. For a near $50 dish you would expect it to be cooked as ordered

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

Seafood chowder lacked seafood Would not order again Flavour was nice Main course was great Desserts great

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Seafood was over cooked

Dined on March 18, 2016

We were a party of 4 and 3 of us ordered seafood dishes, the "five fish". We all agreed that the paring with a sweet vanilla flavoured risotto was overpowering and a poor combination with fish. It tasted like rice pudding - dessert. The scallops, halibut and salmon were all over cooked and possibly previously frozen and they lacked flavour. This was most disappointing as we went to this restaurant for a good quality fish meal. On a positive note the wine was good, as were the steamed mussels and crab cakes. The oven baked oysters could use less goat cheese.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All in all another great experience.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We did feel a bit rushed being a late reservation (no reflection on our server) I might suggest going no later than 8pm so you can get the sense of spreading out the evening over two hours rather than less than 60 minutes. We dined from 9pm-10pm and we were the very last people to leave the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Gem

Dined on March 12, 2016

The restaurant,food and service were outstanding. I had the vegetarian dish and it was delicious. My husband had the lamb, he enjoyed it immensely. We were celebrating our anniversary and the night couldn't have been any better. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

dinner

Dined on March 1, 2016

Was there for a business dinner. Steak was overcooked, dry and thin. Tasted as if it was frozen. Something I would expect at a steak and Stine. Not a top rated, expensive restaurant. Will not be taking clients again.

food3
ambience1
service2
value4

No atmosphere. People were polite doing their JOB.

Dined on February 27, 2016

No music, very dry. Servers were polite, wearing a smile but did not seem authentic. The food was tasty and the plate looked nice.Within 45 minutes we were in and out. Just plate after plate and there you go.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

Our evening was a great experince from the time we stepped in the door until we left. Our server was top notch and was very attentive to us the entire time the and the meal was excellent. This was our first time eating at The Five Fishermen and when we return to Halifax again it will be our restaurant of choice

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE Seafood restaurant in Halifax

Dined on February 18, 2016

I would like to mention the outstanding service from ROSS McKINNON ( Host), LIAM DUNLOP (Professional server) and JACK RILETT ( Professional server ). When you are in Halifax, the Five Fisherman is the place to be for excellent food and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Not all change is good.

Dined on February 18, 2016

I have eaten at Five Fishermen many times. Over the last couple of years things have been changing - first doing away with the Mussels and Salad bar which was always a treat for me; then changing the menu and eliminating a few of the dishes I really enjoyed. There is no doubt the quality of food, the creativity of presentation and the overall ambiance are all still very good but something is lost for me.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 14, 2016

On Valentine's Day, we arrived early, but were seated anyway. The Valentine's Day special was fantastic, a bit expensive but well worth it. What could they do better? Nothing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good quality, tiny portions, and high prices.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The overall rating of this restaurant is an overall 4 star quality based on my visit. The food was excellent, but after a full 4 course meal I was still hungry. This because of tiny servings on each plate. When you pay more than $100 Per person you should be full at the end of your meal. Yet that being said the ambience was great, service was wonderful, and it was a very quiet restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for the wonderful evening. The ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful evening. The seafood pappardelle was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service

Dined on February 5, 2016

Our first experience was nothing but excellent, the food was delicious and our waiter Jack was great , Jack had a good understanding of the buildings history and turned out to be a good story teller. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Night out

Dined on February 2, 2016

The service was wonderful as usual and the food was delicious. This is one of our favourite restaurants in Halifax! Although our last dining experience we were seated next to the window and it was very chilly (may have been the draft from the window) but we didn't find it warm and as comfortable on our last visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

50 / 50 split

Dined on January 15, 2016

In general we were satisfied and happy with this dining experience. The service and decor was wonderful. My wife's meal was excellent, however mine was a huge disappointment. I ordered the pan seared halibut and when it came it looked wonderful, but it was EXTREMELY dry and practically tasteless. In all fairness I haven't eaten halibut previously so I must admit that possibly this fish is actually that dry and tasteless. I would go back to the five fishermen, but will never order halibut again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience.

Dined on January 10, 2016

The service was exceptional here. When we first arrived was was sure because when we booked the reservation we told them we didn't like small tables or being crammed next to other diners. We were seated right between to large parties. One was quiet but the other was very loud. There were tons of other tables available. But as soon as we asked our server if we could be moved he said certainly. Just go pick any table you want and he would find us. We got a great table and he was an amazing server. The food was delicious. We were given mixed reviews of the place from different taxi drivers. Very glad we went.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service!

Dined on January 6, 2016

The service was great, the food was great. Definitely an enjoyable experience. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful venue for a New Year's Eve Celebration

Dined on January 1, 2016

We rang in the New Year in fine style! Their 5-course meal, prepared specifically to mark the occasion, was superb as were the array of choices. Timing of the various courses was perfect and allowed ample opportunity to converse prior to being presented with our next pleasure. The ambience this historic building embodies only served to enhance our experience and is conveniently located across from Parade Square where NY celebrations were in full swing. Our attendant was personable, efficient and went over the top to ensure we had a memorable evening. Five Fisherman will be our premier choice to usher in our next New Year after this year's delightful experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.