About The Five Fishermen

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill is known for its Nova Scotian Seafood, Alberta Angus beef and an array of Chef-inspired menu items, prepared with uncompromising quality.

Recognized annually as one of the best dining experiences in Halifax; it is located in one of downtown's most historical buildings with connections to the Titanic and Halifax Explosion.

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill offers valet parking service beginning at 5pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
The Restaurant (Upstairs):
Daily from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday - Saturday

Valet Parking available beginning at 5pm

The Grill (Downstairs; no reservation required):
Monday to Thursday 11:30 to 10 pm
Friday 11:30 to 11pm
Saturday 4pm to 11pm
Sunday 4pm to 10pm

Oyster Happy Hour: 4:00-6:30 pm daily (The Grill)

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as large covered parking lot one block from restaurant and hotel parking nearby. Valet parking service available.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Carmelo Olivar

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with capacity for 45. Restaurant buy-out available.

Private Party Contact:
Alana Stobert: 9024224421x240

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
1 More
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (59)
romantic (44)
fit for foodies (44)
See All
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (29)
neighborhood gem (21)
scenic view (11)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were visiting Halifax and the Five Fi ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We were visiting Halifax and the Five Fishermen was recommended by a friend. We were very pleased with our meal and the restaurant in general.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a pleasure bringing guests. This ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Always a pleasure bringing guests. This restaurant is always a hit. Consistent food and pleasant staff. One of the better restaurants in Halifax.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was really good (the salmon pla ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good (the salmon plate) and the service, friendly. The menu was a bit short & the prices a little high. We had one vegetarian in our group who basically had exactly one choice for appetizer & dinner, but I realize this is a seafood restaurant. That said, I would certainly return for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Corey our server looked after our every ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Corey our server looked after our every need and gave us some history of the building at the same time! Great experience! We brought parents her for a Birthday & Father's Day meal! Definitely will return for another visit before hey go home to the UK!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining at the 5 Fisherman was a unique e ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Dining at the 5 Fisherman was a unique experience considering how the building is part of Halifax history regarding the Titanic and Halifax explosion disasters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

GREAT oyster happy hour worth going back ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

GREAT oyster happy hour worth going back to. Dining room upstairs a bit too busy to pull things off to foodie standards on a Friday night. Next to Press Gang, I wouldn't bother, but might give it a second chance on a quiet night midweek.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall, a pleasant experience. The serv ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Overall, a pleasant experience. The service was very slow initially (it took quite a while to get our drink order) but then improved over the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Refined dining at comfortable, well-spac ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Refined dining at comfortable, well-spaced tables and professional service. Excellent oysters both on the half shell and Rockefeller, and good seafood entrees. A mean caramel cheesecake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends were from Alberta so the seaf ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My friends were from Alberta so the seafood was a must and did not disappoint them. Excellent seafood and presentation Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Staff was awesom ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was outstanding. Staff was awesome would definitely recommend this restaurant. A must when visiting halifax

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The ingredients were fresh (good scallop ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The ingredients were fresh (good scallops and lobster) but the seasoning was uninspired. A new chef is probably needed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Grill part. A little less ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to the Grill part. A little less up-scale. Easier to get reservations. Good food and GREAT Happy Hour. 4:30 - 6:30, Oysters for $1.50 each.. and they were awesome. They have other Oyster combinations (6 oysters and a drink for $15.00). Really enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Halifax with our son's and th ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were in Halifax with our son's and their wives, we had an excellent meal at Five Fishermen, our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. Although the restaurant is not located on the waterfront, it has a great location. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a family member from Saskatchewan, ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a family member from Saskatchewan, and her friends at home told her it was a MUST to do when in Halifax. We both had a Seafood pasta dish that was outstanding. I had forgotten how good the food was!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was excellent.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Average food, nice ambiance

Dined on June 7, 2016

Unfortunately our experience didn't live up to the good reviews we read about this restaurant. The spicy shrimp appetizer was completely over cooked resulting in dry, tough shrimp. The mussels in the shellfish pappardelle were mushy. The glass of rose wine tasted off and I noticed a person at another table sending their glass back. However, the five fish entree (the signature dish) was tasty. The server was friendly (although I did have to ask for a spoon so that I could eat the pasta) and the restaurant is nicely decorated. We ate at several other high end restaurants in the city during the week and this one was our least favourite.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best seafood in the City

Dined on June 4, 2016

As always the seafood was cooked perfectly, the presentation was superb and it tasted fantastic. I will always return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just perfect. A must if in Hali ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was just perfect. A must if in Halifax. Wish we were locals just for the restaurant

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We ate at the Grill downstairs. Very goo ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We ate at the Grill downstairs. Very good food, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Great overall value. Wine list could use a little work. Very enjoyable experience!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was excellent and very knowledgable.

Dined on May 17, 2016

The choices were great and the meal was excellent . A very nice experience. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 ladies ate here while in halifax at a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

3 ladies ate here while in halifax at a conference- Excellent food , service , wine and ambiance. Server was very knowledgeable and helpful when making our selections- had the 5 fish meal - food was excellent- seafood chowder to start was like stew - very, very good! Salted caramel cheesecake was excellent too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

A warm, welcoming greeting started off a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

A warm, welcoming greeting started off a great evening. Attentive staff, excellent service, delicious food . A lovely night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing. The Bloody Cease and Gar ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Disappointing. The Bloody Cease and Garlic soup was superb and we thought we made the right choice. Service slowed, food arrived at diffrent times, not together. The lobster tail was either frozen or overcooked (or both) as it was tough and rubbery. The scallops were more akin to a piece of hard candy, dry and hard, mussels, there were 4 shells and only 3 mussels. The shrimp was perhaps the most edible of our entrées, the artic char being dry and flavorless. Service seemed to disappear with the customers. After r0 years in business they appear to be relying on their past reputation. So many other Halifax restaurants would have been a better choice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service, staff and atmosphere all ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food, service, staff and atmosphere all very good, I would have no trouble recommending to others.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was fine and so was the service ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was fine and so was the service. I just found that this probably wasn't the best value for money. The 5 Fish dish is good, but on the pricey side . Among those five fish, the salmon and the shrimp were divine, whereas the scallops were under and the white fish (halibut?) was over. The lobster risotto would have been good except it came with vanilla (!) roasted fennel which overwhelmed the whole dish. Vanilla!! In a savory dish! Weird, if you ask me. So in all honesty, I probably wouldn't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Popular weekend spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a reservation for 8:30 pm, but had to wait a half hour due to the popularity of this restaurant. Our only worry was the Open Table advisory that the kitchen closed at 9. However, we were reassured that the restaurant doesn't seat anyone coming to the door after 9 pm. Over all, it was worth the wait. We enjoyed the crabcake appies and the chowder is chock-a-block with chunks of seafood and shellfish - very good. Most of us had the Five Fisherman plate, nice scallops, shrimp and fish. The atmosphere was charming, fitting to the style of east coast dining. Our server was attentive and casually joking when he sensed we were that kind of group.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good atmosphere, but felt a bit rushed

Dined on May 6, 2016

Met up with some friends - we hadn't seen each other in a long while, and had a lot of catching up to do. Food was good and hot and arrived quickly, the burger was delicious and fish and chips were crisp and tasty . Desserts were to die for! Our server was friendly, informative, helped us make good decisions about micro-brewery beer. The background music was just right - not so loud one had to shout at one's companions to be heard. :) Décor was warm, comfortable and inviting. However, at the end of our meal, we felt that we were being rushed out. There were other tables available (we would have left if there were no tables and/or people waiting). Our server came to our table three times within about 15 or 20 minutes after we had our dessert and tea - ostensibly to see if we wanted anything else. So we left, even though we were not quite ready. We ended up going to a coffee shop for a half hour or so to continue our visit. Overall, our experience was good and we will probably return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot to bring friends from out of ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great spot to bring friends from out of town who want to enjoy NS seafood in a classy atmosphere, and with a reasonably priced wine list. A friend who came to visit from Ottawa loved the fresh variety of both appetizers and mains. The crab and scallop cakes, and the tuna tartar were superb ! I only wish some of the menu items available in the Grill downstairs were available upstairs as well. And I do miss the mussel bar :(

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Coach

Dined on April 26, 2016

Service was fantastic. Our server was very polite and provided prompt service. Food was very good. Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a Wonderful Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Five Fishermen. The atmosphere was warm , quaint and inviting. We had wonderful service and the food was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FPE - Good Food, good People, good Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Right from the entrance you get greeted by Nova Scotia hospitality. We got there earlier so we "waited" at the bar. ohhh oysters from Beausoleil bay New Brunswick served by a very nice young fellow original from Calgary Alberta that moved to first study in NS but since has permanently moved there! We were then escorted to our table upstairs at the diner room. Very nicely decorated room to 18 century ship, very nice. The very friendly "serveur" greeted us and helped us out with the menu the wine selection and recommended us one of locals' fine single malt whisky (That we later bought at the farmers market the very next day!) the "serveur" was often times, noticing our language conversation, speaking French, always a nice touch thank you ;-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place to go in Halifax

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food is outstanding, and the service by ( LIAM DUNLOP ) is Professional, if you are in Halifax it is the place for a excellent diner. Also a nice welcoming by Ross Mc Kinnon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 20, 2016

Ooh my. If you love seafood then this is the place. The service and food is exceptional, yes a bit expensive but worth the investment. We visited on a Wednesday and the various dining rooms were busy, a validation of the quality. I will definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food lovely service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a wonderful meal here. We are locals entertaining out of town friends who were keen on a good seafood experience. Everyone was more than satisfied with their meal and they were able to accommodate our large group without trouble. Would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great surf and turf items - delicious and fresh

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

A great tradition in Halifax, this restaurant has a lovely upstairs formal dining room with stained glass and Windows overlooking the hilly streets and waterfront. Wonderful staff and delicious consistently delivered seafood and meats. A little small on the veggie sides.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must when in Halifax

Dined on March 31, 2016

With its incredible place in the history of Halifax.. The location is a delight... The menu is always a comprehensive reflection of local, freshly caught fare and the chef works wonders with flavor and presentation. The knowledgeable, professional staff complete the experience. We had the pleasure of Jack in this visit.. A brilliant, attentive server.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The tuna tartare appetizer was excellent ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

The tuna tartare appetizer was excellent and I really enjoyed my halibut.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Some stand-out items on the menu...

Dined on March 26, 2016

For the most part, the food was very good. The spicy Tuna Tartar on the appetizer menu was a standout. Beautifully presented, the various flavours of the dish's components complemented each other well. I only wished it was available as a main course item. However, the duck special was a bit of a disappointment. Initially way over done, it was surprising that the chef allowed it to be served that way especially when the recommendation was to have it medium-rare (which we requested). Overall, the rest of the meal was a terrific blend of flavours and the portion sizes were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great except the steak I ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything was great except the steak I ordered medium and it came out rare. For a near $50 dish you would expect it to be cooked as ordered

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

Seafood chowder lacked seafood Would not order again Flavour was nice Main course was great Desserts great

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.