About The Five Fishermen

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill is known for its Nova Scotian Seafood, Alberta Angus beef and an array of Chef-inspired menu items, prepared with uncompromising quality.

Recognized annually as one of the best dining experiences in Halifax; it is located in one of downtown's most historical buildings with connections to the Titanic and Halifax Explosion.

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill offers valet parking service beginning at 5pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
The Restaurant (Upstairs):
Daily from 5:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday - Saturday

Valet Parking available beginning at 5pm

The Grill (Downstairs) no reservation required:
Monday to Thursday 11:30 to 10 pm
Friday 11:30 to 10pm
Saturday 4pm to 10pm
Sunday 4pm to 10pm

Oyster Happy Hour: 4:00-6:30 pm daily (The Grill)

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as large covered parking lot one block from restaurant and hotel parking nearby. Valet parking service available.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Kyprianou

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with capacity for 35. Restaurant buy-out available.

Private Party Contact:
Alana Stobert: 9024224421x240

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Strawberry Shortbread Cheesecake - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
  • Brome Lake Duch - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
  • Grilled Salmon - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
  • Tuna Tartare - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
  • Seafood Chowder - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
Strawberry Shortbread Cheesecake - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
Brome Lake Duch - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
Grilled Salmon - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
Tuna Tartare - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS
Seafood Chowder - The Five Fishermen, Halifax, NS

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
3 More
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Nova Scotia
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Historic (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Authentic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Cozy (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Scenic View (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mixed experience. My partner liked her c ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Mixed experience. My partner liked her choice which is a menu item. My main was the special, fresh on the day, but it was very disappointing. The risotto was a soild slab of dry over salted shiitake flavoured rice, and the Atlantic Char was overcooked, dry and also too salty. I could hardly eat it. Not what I expected in one of Halifax's supposed best restaurants. The only reason I did not send it back was that my partner does not like a fuss in a restaurant and I did not want to spoil her evening.

The waiter was friendly, and let us try a couple of wines, but when I told him as he took the plates that it had been too salty he did not respond or reassure that he would ensure the kitchen were told. I left feeling very disappointed.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Attentive and friendly service. Excellen ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Attentive and friendly service. Excellent food quality and pleasing presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All quite excellent. We also were very i ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 11, 2016

All quite excellent. We also were very impressed with the knowledge, personality, and the service provided by the male waiter. It was worth the trip from P.E.I., even with the horrendous chore of finding a place to park.

Fraser Campbell

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is always special. The servi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This place is always special. The service is always first class, and the atmosphere is laid back. Great for a date or anniversary, classy. We had the lobster. I'm thinking it's not in season in November? The texture was lacking that snap as you expect when in season. We also missed the mussel bar😟. We did enjoy our meal all in all, nice presentation. The scallops were great, done to perfection!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Four of us gathered for a girl's weekend ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Four of us gathered for a girl's weekend and Five Fishermen Restaurant was the top of our list for our restaurant of choice. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere, service, food and wine were all excellent. I'd highly recommend this restaurant and we'll definitely be back on our next trip to Halifax.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Deux fois par année je prends le train d ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Deux fois par année je prends le train de Montréal a Halifax spécialement pour aller déguster un excellent repas au Five Fisherman. L acceuil est très chalereux , le service impécable et les plats sublimes. C est un incontournable a Halifax.

Je le recommande fortement.

André Roy ( Via Rail Canada )

Tags: Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Décontracté, Cuisine ouverte, Historique, Il en vaut le détour, Romantique, Idéal pour les fêtes, Environnement paisible, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Une carte des vins remarquable, Une valeur sans pareille, Une occasion spéciale, Foyer, Salle privée, Repas d’affaires, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Chaleureux, Authentique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster was amazing but the oysters ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The lobster was amazing but the oysters Rockefeller left something to be desired. Our waiter could have been warmer and more attentive. My partner's lobster and scallops was mediocre.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service! Went there for our annive ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great service! Went there for our anniversary, and were treated to complimentary sparkling wine and dessert.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we all enjoyed the meal and ambiance and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

we all enjoyed the meal and ambiance and also finding about the history of the building including the discussion from the waiter about its ghosts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Historic Building in central downtown Ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Historic Building in central downtown Halifax. Make a reservation to eat upstairs; walk-ins are seated downstairs. Food is creative, local and delicious. I'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very very slow. There wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was very very slow. There was apparently a problem in the kitchen. The food was Ok but servings small for,the expensive prices. There were several items not available from the menu that night. The gelato substitute for the one we wanted was horrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Lovely restaurant with great ambiance. F ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Lovely restaurant with great ambiance. Food was excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at this restaurant about 1 ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant about 10 times now and each time we love the food and the people serving and working at The Five Fisherman, even one of the owners stopped by our table to say hello. Great place to eat at all times if you love seafood and ambiance.

James

Montreal, QC

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

OVERRATED. LOBSTER WAS A DISGRACE. THIS ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 15, 2016

OVERRATED. LOBSTER WAS A DISGRACE. THIS PLACE IS OLD AND THE FOOD IS NOT GOOD.

WE HAD BETTER PREPARED LOBSTER AT OTHER PLACES.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Always a wonderful experience very frie ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a wonderful experience very friendly staff,pleasant environment,wwarm atmospher

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, staff superb. Especia ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Beautiful setting, staff superb. Especially liked Jen our server, and Luca(s) who took care of the car. Food used to be better. Portions were small, and my vegetables were cold. Not Luke warm, cold. The others dining were happy with theirs. Way overpriced for what we got. We had no alcohol, but dinner was well over two hundred dollars. For that kind of money, it should have been perfect. Still love the place, but miss the mussel bar. Such a shame it's gone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Duck as it was intended to be!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Duck as it was intended to be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great fine dining experience. Costly but ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great fine dining experience.

Costly but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was recommended by a fel ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a fellow traveler. Our food was delicious and our waiter was very attentive. I would not say this restaurant was at the most expensive level but it was in the higher price range. It was near the waterfront in Halifax. It was busy when other restaurants were not so I am guessing that it had a good reputation locally as well as with travelers. Pictures of the real five fishermen were on display.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lots of attitude for such an average mea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Lots of attitude for such an average meal. Haddock was overdone. Coffee cold,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We disappointed with our service. Food w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We disappointed with our service. Food was adequate. We were visiting from the States and disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice restaurant for a quiet evening with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Nice restaurant for a quiet evening with friends. Interesting building history and décor. Well prepared food and pleasant service

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

4 day business trip to Halifax. eaten ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

4 day business trip to Halifax. eaten here previously, this time the service was terrible. Wait staff appeared overwhelmed and understaffed. Food was good but not great. Ate downstairs in their Grill restaurant the previous night and both the food and service was MUCH better. Would not eat upstairs again but HIGHLY recommend a visit to the Grill downstairs as it was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This restaurant is centrally located in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This restaurant is centrally located in downtown Halifax between the Historic Properties and the Citadel. The food was fresh and fabulous; and the service was friendly and unobtrusive.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic supper. My date ha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic supper. My date had the lobster. I had the 5 fish platter. The scallops were to die for. Mojitos were also outstanding. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wonderful service and full o ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great food, wonderful service and full of history that makes this the perfect spot to entertain out of town business guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was less than perfect. We arrive ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service was less than perfect. We arrived on time and were told we had to wait until they checked to see if our table for 2 was ready. We waited at least 10 minutes to get our table. We noticed there were at least 4 empty tables for 2 near us which never were filled. Waitress took 15 minutes to come to us to welcome us and offer a drink despite the fact dining room was two thirds empty in upstairs dning room). Orange ice-cream ( which was recommended by waiter ) lacked orange flavour. We were underwhelmed by this restaurant's service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The whole experience was enjoyable. Our ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The whole experience was enjoyable. Our halibut was very mild and flakey. The accompanying vegetables were a delightful combination. Our best meal in Halifax by far!

The wait staff were very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We so enjoyed our evening of dining with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We so enjoyed our evening of dining with you. Beautiful setting , interesting history of this historic building, attentive waiter and wonderful food made for a special evening. Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was stellar. Food quality was ex ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was stellar.

Food quality was excellent.

We really missed the mussel bar that The Five Fishermen Restaurant was world famous for.

Our family gathering was very disappointed to find out that this wonderful offer was discontinued a few years ago. The restaurant manager came through and offered up a bountiful supply of mussels to save the evening.

Please keep up the great work Five Fishermen!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visiting once per year while in town for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Visiting once per year while in town for business since 2003. Remarkable place for seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated quickly at our reserved t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were seated quickly at our reserved table with lovely view of Parade Sq., very pleasant waiter, complimentary champagne for our 50th wedding anniversary and a free desert after the meal. Food was great and other servers thanked us on the way out, a perfect celebration.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Historic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding restaurant! I had not ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2016

An outstanding restaurant!

I had not been there in twenty years but I remebered it and suggest to my wife we go on a recent trip to Halifax. It was one of the best meals we've had in years

Highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, a wide ranging wine list ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food, a wide ranging wine list and knowledgeable professional staff. We could not find a single fault, and can fully recommend the restaurant to anybody who likes good food and wine with spot on service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A perfect treat for a tourist. Was exci ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 2, 2016

A perfect treat for a tourist. Was excited to try the lobster and it didn't let us down! Relaxed but impressive environment - beautiful decor and stained glass. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not my first time at he 5 Fishe ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was not my first time at he 5 Fisherman and the place doesn't loose it feeling of wanting to come back and highly recommend it to others both in my personal life and business colleges. Our server Frank was outstanding in providing the history of the building and restaurant when was asked the question. Very professional also in his serving manners that demonstrated he cares for his customers and proud to be an employee which is very important. It reflects on the customers.

I could only find one disappointment that was a big attraction for me and I boast about it to my friends and family as one of the reasons to dine there. Was the unlimited mussels are no longer offered.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful unique setting, rich in histor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Beautiful unique setting, rich in history: grand circular staircase, stained glass windows, overlook park and monuments, nice intimate decor with beautiful table setting). Only problem was very disappointing food: salmon buried in thick pasty sauce - steak rated 4 out of 10 - humdrum mashed potatoes. Downstairs is an attractive grill with lovely atmosphere: will try it next visit.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Dined here (at the grill) on the patio a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dined here (at the grill) on the patio a couple of times while on vacation. Was great food and family friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our dinner was exquisite! Service was am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our dinner was exquisite! Service was amazing, starting with the maitre 'd who gave you history of the building while seating you that was quite interesting. Our waiter was attentive, efficient professional and charming. The food was delicious!! I will definitely return on my next trip to Halifax.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was the nicest and most friendly lady! We had a lovely seat upstairs overlooking the street and were very well taken care of. It was a wonderful experience to start off our anniversary trip

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.