About The Five Fishermen

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill is known for its Nova Scotian Seafood, Alberta Angus beef and an array of Chef-inspired menu items, prepared with uncompromising quality.

Recognized annually as one of the best dining experiences in Halifax; it is located in one of downtown's most historical buildings with connections to the Titanic and Halifax Explosion.

The Five Fishermen Restaurant & Grill offers valet parking service beginning at 5pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
The Restaurant (Upstairs):
Daily from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday - Saturday

Valet Parking available beginning at 5pm

The Grill (Downstairs; no reservation required):
Monday to Thursday 11:30 to 10 pm
Friday 11:30 to 11pm
Saturday 4pm to 11pm
Sunday 4pm to 10pm

Oyster Happy Hour: 4:00-6:30 pm daily (The Grill)

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Parking Details:
Street parking as well as large covered parking lot one block from restaurant and hotel parking nearby. Valet parking service available.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Carmelo Olivar

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with capacity for 45. Restaurant buy-out available.

Private Party Contact:
Alana Stobert: 9024224421x240

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
  • The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen
The Five Fishermen

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
8 More
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (67)
romantic (46)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (28)
neighborhood gem (21)
scenic view (10)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service. Good food. Somewhat ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. Good food. Somewhat expensive. Great environment. Clean. Quiet

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

It was our last night in Halifax and we ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was our last night in Halifax and we had to give this place a try. It's such a fun little building with great ambiance and our service was terrific. No ghosts popped up for this visit, but I love that the place embraces the stories.

All food items were very good, though the seafood chowder had a very strong lemon flavour to it. It didn't make it bad, but it was a little unexpected. Smoked salmon is definitely worth it. Mussels were great, but you can't really go wrong with those anywhere in the Maritimes. We will definitely be back once we relocate!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the service and the food was great. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Both the service and the food was great. It was a very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over charge us ....but was made amendmen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Over charge us ....but was made amendment after ..when we when home we found out actually they also over charge us for appertizer

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was exceptional. Food amazin ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was exceptional. Food amazing. I can't say enough positive remarks about the five fisherman.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequently host guests to the Five Fis ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I frequently host guests to the Five Fishermen and in the past have been very satisfied. On this past occasion I found the food to be overcooked. Particularly the scallops in my pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The ambiance was great. Our server Jerem ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The ambiance was great. Our server Jeremy was awesome. He gave us some great recommendations for wine and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in Halifax. Recommended by h ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great find in Halifax. Recommended by hotel staff. Great choice. I would go there anytime and put it at the top of my list when I return to Halifax

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted a table with a view, so our wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We wanted a table with a view, so our waiter was kind enough to arrange for us to be moved. Our waitperson Christine, from Australia, was charming and very helpful. We had a tasty and delightful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has a great location. It ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant has a great location. It's spacious and cosy. It's service is very good. What is most striking is that I couldn't consider it's food better than that offered by other good restaurants in the downtown core. I'm always willing to pay extra bucks as long the products/services I get for those bucks justify them in terms of distinction and superiority. With respect to Five Fishermen, I'll think twice next time!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The staff from start to finish were noth ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff from start to finish were nothing short of outstanding. They went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a great Anniversary experience. The hosts and our server were incredible from start to finish. The food was terrific and we will definitely return and promote our experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay Night It was good, but not over th ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Okay Night It was good, but not over the top. The first glass of Cava was flat, which they replaced immediately. The food was okay. Not over the top, just okay. Other places in the city that are worth going to first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food and service was great. Decor was hi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food and service was great. Decor was high class. Would come on our next visit to Halifax

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding service! we were fortunate e ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

outstanding service! we were fortunate enough to be served by Christine who was very knowledgeable about the menu. Quality of the food would have me return again in the future.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

this is our first trip to Canada, and i ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

this is our first trip to Canada, and i researched restaurants in the Halifax area and choose the 5 Fisherman. We are both so glad and happy with our dining experience. If we come back, wait, WHEN we come back, 5 Fisherman will be on our list of places to dine---WONDERFUL!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought friends from Windsor Ontario w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I brought friends from Windsor Ontario whom I hadn't seen for years. They were Italian and wanted a good seafood experience. They were not disappointed. The atmosphere and service was outstanding and the meal was just as good. The husband is a very good cook and just edited an Italian cookbook for the Giovanni Caboto Society and was very impressed with your menu, decor and fine service. Thank you for a very memorable birthday.

Warmest Regards,

Freeman and Patricia Hall

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Order the scallop appetizer - it's fabul ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Order the scallop appetizer - it's fabulous

Five fishes good dish also

Oysters superb

Wait staff and crew outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Loved everything about The Five Fisherme ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved everything about The Five Fishermen - great service, beautiful lunch on the patio and AMAZING food, especially the PEI mussels were out of this world, even better than on Prince Edward Island itself. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant, kudos to the team!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had heard such fantastic things about ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I had heard such fantastic things about this restaurant that I reserved far in advance for June 29/16. What a disappointment. My Caesar was boring, my meal consisted of 5 scallops and a chorizo patty that tasted terrible. My husband ordered a steak Oscar-the steak was tiny (in all fairness it was described as a 5 oz), very undercooked and tasteless. It was accompanied by 5 small, thin potato fingers. Very small portions. If there were positives, I would surely mention them. Unfortunately, this was a bad experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Was disappointed in the Grill. Smelled ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was disappointed in the Grill. Smelled like a fish and chip 'joint' upon entering. Food was not as good as I expected. First time and last time. Always enjoyed eating upstairs so hope that hasn't changed. On our way out it was obvious customers near the door were visibly upset with their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We were disappointed that the restaurant ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were disappointed that the restaurant had changed from our last visit and gone "upscale". The food was excellent, but we had been anticipating the old mussel bar. Portion sizes were very small. One guest ordered the lamb and only got two tiny ribs. Our waiter Jeremy was terrific. So, it was delicious but disappointing. I'd recommend with caveats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Celebrated friends wedding anniversary- ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Celebrated friends wedding anniversary- great food, excellent service and we appreciated the help from staff when a drink got spilled (by us!). Lovely venue for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Halifax and the Five Fi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were visiting Halifax and the Five Fishermen was recommended by a friend. We were very pleased with our meal and the restaurant in general.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a pleasure bringing guests. This ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Always a pleasure bringing guests. This restaurant is always a hit. Consistent food and pleasant staff. One of the better restaurants in Halifax.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good (the salmon pla ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good (the salmon plate) and the service, friendly. The menu was a bit short & the prices a little high. We had one vegetarian in our group who basically had exactly one choice for appetizer & dinner, but I realize this is a seafood restaurant. That said, I would certainly return for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Corey our server looked after our every ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Corey our server looked after our every need and gave us some history of the building at the same time! Great experience! We brought parents her for a Birthday & Father's Day meal! Definitely will return for another visit before hey go home to the UK!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at the 5 Fisherman was a unique e ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dining at the 5 Fisherman was a unique experience considering how the building is part of Halifax history regarding the Titanic and Halifax explosion disasters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

GREAT oyster happy hour worth going back ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

GREAT oyster happy hour worth going back to.

Dining room upstairs a bit too busy to pull things off to foodie standards on a Friday night. Next to Press Gang, I wouldn't bother, but might give it a second chance on a quiet night midweek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, a pleasant experience. The serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Overall, a pleasant experience. The service was very slow initially (it took quite a while to get our drink order) but then improved over the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Refined dining at comfortable, well-spac ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Refined dining at comfortable, well-spaced tables and professional service. Excellent oysters both on the half shell and Rockefeller, and good seafood entrees. A mean caramel cheesecake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My friends were from Alberta so the seaf ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My friends were from Alberta so the seafood was a must and did not disappoint them. Excellent seafood and presentation

Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Staff was awesom ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was outstanding. Staff was awesome would definitely recommend this restaurant. A must when visiting halifax

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ingredients were fresh (good scallop ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The ingredients were fresh (good scallops and lobster) but the seasoning was uninspired. A new chef is probably needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to the Grill part. A little less ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to the Grill part. A little less up-scale. Easier to get reservations. Good food and GREAT Happy Hour. 4:30 - 6:30, Oysters for $1.50 each.. and they were awesome. They have other Oyster combinations (6 oysters and a drink for $15.00).

Really enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Halifax with our son's and th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were in Halifax with our son's and their wives, we had an excellent meal at Five Fishermen, our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. Although the restaurant is not located on the waterfront, it has a great location. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a family member from Saskatchewan, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a family member from Saskatchewan, and her friends at home told her it was a MUST to do when in Halifax. We both had a Seafood pasta dish that was outstanding. I had forgotten how good the food was!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average food, nice ambiance

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unfortunately our experience didn't live up to the good reviews we read about this restaurant. The spicy shrimp appetizer was completely over cooked resulting in dry, tough shrimp. The mussels in the shellfish pappardelle were mushy. The glass of rose wine tasted off and I noticed a person at another table sending their glass back. However, the five fish entree (the signature dish) was tasty. The server was friendly (although I did have to ask for a spoon so that I could eat the pasta) and the restaurant is nicely decorated. We ate at several other high end restaurants in the city during the week and this one was our least favourite.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The best seafood in the City

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As always the seafood was cooked perfectly, the presentation was superb and it tasted fantastic. I will always return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just perfect. A must if in Hali ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was just perfect. A must if in Halifax. Wish we were locals just for the restaurant

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.