Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About The Five Fishermen

Join us at Five Fishermen restaurant in Downtown Halifax and let the personalized service and warm contemporary ambiance, set the tone for an exceptional dining experience.

Choose from a varied selection of the finest seafood available, or indulge in our critically acclaimed prime center cut steaks, aged 28 days and wood fire grill to perfection. Complement your meal with a selection from our wine menu — an award-wining list of more than 200 wines curated by our Sommelier.

If a more relaxed experience is desired, visit our lively bar where you can sip classic and creative hand-shaken cocktails or a selection of micro-brewed beers and ales, regional wines, single-malt scotches and fresh squeezed juices and enjoy signature appetizers . Whatever the occasion, from a quiet weeknight dinner to a special private event, let us handle every detail. We'll do the work. You bask in the glory.

1740 Argyle Street
Halifax, NS B3J 2B6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Canadian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday – Thursday: 4:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM


Complimentary Valet Parking available with reservations only

Cross Street:
Carmichael Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 422-4421

Website:
http://www.fivefishermen.com/

Entertainment:
The Five Fishermen - has earned the reputation of Halifax's premier seafood restaurant for over 35 years. Internationally known for delicious seafood and historical setting, The Five Fishermen offers the best of Nova Scotia hospitality and cuisine. The freshest Maritime bounty, an award winning wine list and genuine Maritime hospitality makes dining at the Five Fishermen extraordinary.

Catering:
If you are searching for a place to host your next group function, Five Fishermen is the perfect setting for your private or semi-private event. Visit us at www.FiveFishermen.com to book your next event.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet service with dinner reservation for the Five Fishermen Restaurant.

Public Transit:
One block from major public transit stop.

Executive Chef:
Chef Chris Kyprianou is a new addition to the Five Fishermen family; having joined us in the spring from Toronto. Chris comes from a family that was built around the dinner table. It was a time to unwind, laugh and indulge with great food so it comes as n

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour M-F 4:30-6:30 PM, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

The Five Fishermen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (68)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Local Ingredients (58)
Romantic (55)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Business Meals (38)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (26)
Fun (26)
Authentic (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Seasonal (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Casual (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Scenic View (15)
Great Beer (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Waterfront (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Organic (5)
Tapas (5)
Vegan (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible food and service all the way through! Wish we had one in Toronto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 3 days ago

This place is fantastic! We were in Halifax for a trade show and went here after a very long day. The staff was amazing, took great care of us and helped us finish the day on a high note!!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the evening as it was a Special event for my husband & I , but after eating at a few restaurants on the waterfront we thought it was a little overpriced as it was so noisy & had such a limited menu. Wait staff was Super !!! And decor quite lovely!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Solid choice, very busy and good quality restaurant. Pricier than advertised but good value regardless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A bit disappointed in the level of service, wrong meal was brought out, steak was incorrectly cooked., request for beverage was forgotten, needed to remind random staff. Mussels were incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals that I have had in awhile. Make sure you ask for the Vegan/Vegetarian/Gluten free menus. My Ginger Spiced Carrot & Beet Soup and Curried Quinoa & Ancient Grain were awesome. Six of us in the group. All were pleased with their meals. Service was great.

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice new decor, service and food. Our experience was excellent, but we did find the music a bit load for a Sunday night. Every bite was tasty, but as Nova Scotia seafood freshness, goes, the sea bass was judged as just ok. We are fussy.
Nice wine, happy veggie choices, awesome dessert and wowie from me on the Five Fish dish. Great experience. Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food qas delicious and the service second to none.
A great place for a night out with friends/family to partake in excellent food and comfortable seating and quiet enough for good conversation

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful booths on the 2nd floor, a bit lighter/better view. Had the cauliflower and oyster "happy hour" specials. LOVED the cauliflower with the chimichurri sauce. Second course was the lobster and the five fish with asparagus risotto, very tasty. The Hell Cat Cream Ale was awesome as well. Service was pretty good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great overall experience. Our meal was delicious & hot, the service was fast & our server Jen was very pleasant & very helpful. We will be back. What a great way to spend an evening. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Diverse menu. The watermelon salad was excellent. We both had a fish which we liked. Our server was helpful. Didn't rush us. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Restaraunt was good, noisey and overpriced. Service was very good and ambiance nice.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Both the food and service were excellent. Glad we spent the money to experience this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great atmosphere and loved the new renovations since the last time I was there 2years ago
The waiter however was not to the standards I expected from a restaurant of this caliber- we ordered a bottle of wine as it was our anniversary and we wound up pouring it ourselves once it was opened ! Not the best experience
Otherwise it was a lovey meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

For a top rated restaurant, this was the low point of a mainly food-focused trip in Halifax area.

The cost was high, the portions small, everything was bland. It took 30 minutes to get appetizers.

Oysters finally showed up without any explanation. One of the sauces was just Frank's red hot.

Tuna tataki was 4 tiny pieces.

In fairness they comped one of the apps.

$44 for the signature 5 fish dish. Small pieces of admittedly high quality fish, cooked ok, but bland and unseasoned.

Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

great staff and exceptional food. Would highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service. Properly prepared seafood. Comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We celebrated our first year wedding anniversary here! This was our first experience at a Halifax restaurant as we are from Toronto and it did not disappoint!
From being greeted into the restaurant,to waiting at the bar for our table and being served at our table, the service was impeccable. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Lobster was amazing! A little crowded at the booth we were in as the staff or customers had to step around anyone standing or waking by.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our first trip to Halifax and was the best dining experience ..... loved it ... wanna go back .... too far from Manitoba... sad! Definitely a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Eaten here several times before and always had a nice meal with attentive and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had an amazing experience again at The Five Fisherman. The service was impeccable and the food delicious. Can't wait for our next time. Thank you for such an easy manner for reserving a table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Amazing food and great service. Went there for a birthday dinner and we received champagne and a candle on our dessert. Overall very impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Dinner was wonderfully prepared and presented. Staff very helpful in choosing wine and entrees as well as being efficient. Kitchen was exceptionally accommodating to my food allergy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I have been to the Five fisherman many times. The historical atmosphere and ambience, plus the excellent seafood have always drawn me back. I was so disappointed with the renovations. While they were lovely, the place is now like any other high-end restaurant. None of the wait staff knew of any hauntings and i wonder if there was a purposeful move away from this history. The pulley system was removed. No reason to return for a "trip back in time" as it is gone. As for the food, the salad bar was certainly missed. My dish was served with risotto that was heavy on the salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent service, knowledgeable waitress, comfortable seating, no rush ambiance...overall lovely experience

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

From BC, went here for a famous NS lobster dinner with a party of 6. Totally disappointed. $49 for a lobster and a few pieces of potato, carrot and raw asparagus, we've had much better tasting food elsewhere. The oysters were good but pricey. Chicken and shrimp dinner was also mediocre but better priced. We've been to many nice restaurants but never felt so ripped off and disappointed. Cannot understand the high rating this place had, it was the reason we went here. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. The staff were friendly but slow taking our order and getting drinks. If your going to charge that much it has to be special. Not even close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My boyfriend and I ate there for our anniversary. The staff were wonderful and brought us out glasses of champagne, roses and a card, which was very thoughtful and totally unnecessary!

Our server (Ben) was friendly and very attentive. He walked us through the menu and suggested certain dishes and wine.

We were unfortunately underwhelmed by the food, which is why I'm giving our overall experience 3 stars. We ordered the pork belly to start, which was good. We then ordered the five fish and the 16oz ribeye. It took around 45 mins for our main dishes to come after we finished eating our appetizers, which in my opinion is way too long. The dishes were decent, but the seafood didn't have as much flavour as I would have expected and the ribeye was cooked to more of a medium than a medium rare. The fries were also luke warm. Overall the service was great, but the meal was only OK, which was pretty disappointing for the price tag & after reading such great reviews ($230 for a bottle of wine, appetizer, 2 dishes and 1 dessert). Maybe it was an off night for the kitchen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We went there for a special night out. The valet parking was a nice touch. We were seated pretty close to the clearing area, but had a friendly waitress.
I had some fresh oysters and my wife had the oysters Rockefeller. Both were well presented and tasty.
For main course we ordered the 5 fish combo and the seafood linguine. Both were good but nothing special. We had a good Pinot Grigio with dinner some dessert and coffee.
We had a nice evening our with only a sour note; the bill.
The place is totally overpriced!
We have worked in the Hospitality industry a long time,
and there is much better Seafood to be had for a fraction of the price.
If money is no object then please visit the 5 Fishermen in Halifax.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2017

From the moment arriving. Having our car looked after by the valet, too finishing our meal was wonderful.
Andrew the manager was so welcoming . Taking us to our table, providing us with a complementary glass of champagne.
Our server Jacob was terrific in providing information on the food, being at the table to check on us (but not intrusive ).Suggesting even thinks to do in Halifax and to come back and see more of the leaves changing colors another time. Mention Cape Brenton was stunning in the fall also. When providing the check,event brought me a rose.
Felt so welcomed. AWESOME food. We would come back again when we are out East again.
Had a meal that made our day and holiday memorable .
Thank you so much.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food and seafood , we were a little disappointed only by the lack of gluten free beer having a nice gluten free menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was very good but first they had no sauvignon blanc [only one on menu per glad and they were out. ) choose a pinot group and that was out as well and they delivered a less expensive pinot. For a fancy restaurant I
Was a bit surprised at the limited selection of glad of wine and out off stock and no substitutes available.

Waiter was a little scattered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fantastic dinner at a magnificent restaurant. Went here for our 2nd year anniversary. My husband told the waiter (Tyler) that it was our anniversary. He gave us free champagne, a rose, and a card signed by the kitchen staff. Super nice and sweet. Mussels were the best I've ever had and the cocktails were great! Thank you so much for a lovely dinner, it made our night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The renovations have added to the already great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 2, 2017

There were 4 people in our group, 2 of whom had not bad meals. The other 2 were soooo disappointed: one person's main course was not cooked as requested (medium rare was requested - came well done); the other person had varying doneness on the plate - scallops were cooked to perfection; the other seafood was all overdone; the shrimp was too salty to eat; the side order of vegetables was charred beyond belief - could not be eaten. Our waiter did credit the one meal, for which we were grateful. But it was very disappointing as we were in Halifax for a special vacation, this was to have been one of our highlights (we were anticipating a great evening) and it fell flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent meal server Tyler outstanding. Only problem our table wasn't ready so we were placed at bar to wait. We had one member of our party who wasn't 19 and the bar tender kept telling us he was doing us a favour and stretching the rules to let us sit here. The manager made a big deal of this too. We were placed here too wait - we didn't ask to sit here because our table wasn't ready . Very uncomfortable situation.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our best meal in Nova Scotia so far. Service was very attentative but not rushed and the food was outstanding. We had the swordfish and the house specialty Five Fish - sword, salmon,shrimp, scallops and lobster over an asperagas risotto. Grilled to perfection. Wine list was an eclectic, but interesting, mix of unusual varietals - try the Nova Scotian local blend Tidal Bay.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Would recommend to anyone visiting Halifax.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food was pretty good, didn't fee it was worth the high price tag. Service was average. Ambiance was terrible - if you're a young couple stay away, unless you want to be surrounded by complaining elderly people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great experience. Food was excellent. I had the short ribs and my coworker had the five fish meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.