About The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

One Heron Road
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Port Ludlow, WA 98365
View Larger Map

The Fireside, waterfront dining located at The Resort at Port Ludlow. The Fireside is open every day (except Christmas Day) and offers breakfast, lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, and special events. Classical guitarist on Thursday evening. Farm to table Dinner with Daily Dinner Menu reflecting what"s freshest from the farms, artisans and local fisheries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak Bay Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 437-7412

Website:
http://www.portludlowresort.com/food/fireside-restaurant

Entertainment:
Classical guitar in evenings on occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking on site is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Jefferson County Transit bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Dan Ratigan

Private Party Facilities:
Rooms available with a view of Ludlow Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Port Ludlow Marina. Special events from weddings to social gatherings to corporate events.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Cope: 3604377040x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
North of Seattle
Fit for Foodies
North of Seattle
3 More
Romantic
North of Seattle
Scenic View
North of Seattle
Special Occasion
North of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Port Ludlow ›

scenic view (13)
romantic (12)
special occasion (12)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
good for groups (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love This Place

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have come to The Fireside on several special occasions. The food and service never disappoint and chef and staff always make extra effort to accommodate. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The only game in town

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate here while staying at the Resort at Port Ludlow. Basically, unless you want to drive 10 miles for dinner it's your only choice. The view is lovely and the general ambiance is very nice. The staff is very young and overly friendly- by that I mean they engage in banter that is better off in a lower end dining establishment. Thoroughly capable, I'm sure that with some training by management ( which was no where to be found), they would excel . They have a superb if overpriced wine list, but if you want something good to drink you will not be disappointed. The food is ok, pretty standard fare. Uninspired appetizers, no specials on the menu. The chicken and fish that we had was prepared in a pretty standard way. Vegetables were under cooked and spare, and my fish was overly salted. Kind of a shame for fresh Halibut. Dessert was a generous portion of Creme Brulee, but like most other restaurants, served ice cold with a warmed up top. Basically, I would not spend $200 + for 2 people to eat here again. It's not that it's bad, it's just nothing special. They don't have to be, and I guess they know that.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoys a buffet brunch occasionally on special occasions because each person has such a different set of culinary requirements. The Fireside satisfied all the requirements and had delightful, friendly service. We will be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view restaurant

Dined on March 20, 2016

We were staying at Port Ludlow Marina in our boat and had dinner there. The food was wonderful and the service was great. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Wish it lived up to the resort

Dined on March 13, 2016

We've stayed at the inn 5 times and always have high hopes for the restaraunt. Menu is boring and little variety. Prices are what really shocks me. $15 for starter soup is a joke. Very poor service last time at dinner (although breakfast was great ) I got something that was disappointing -waitress argued with me and offered to take it off the bill but never did. It's just too bad because it's the only place to eat for miles

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely anniversary dinner

Dined on March 1, 2016

We were at Fireside for our anniversary dinner. The food & service were fantastic. This restaurant always delivers!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great St. Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to the Fireside Restaurant to celebrate St. Valentine's Day. The dinner was a set 8-course menu with an option for a complementary wine pairing. The food was excellent, including some items that I probably would not have selected on my own. Kudos to the chef. The presentation of the food was attractive and our server did a great job of moving the dinner along at a comfortable pace. The dinner was pricey compared to other options in the area, but I think it was a good value for the experience. The setting at Port Ludlow is picturesque, but we could not really enjoy it because February 14th was dark and wet - its the Pacific Northwest, after all. We are looking forward to returning some time to dine at the Fireside and enjoy the food and the view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner for Two

Dined on February 5, 2016

My husband and I had a date night recently and went to the Fireside Restaurant. It was quiet with live easy listening music playing. I had Jidori Chicken and my husband had the Salmon, both were excellent. The service was great and we really enjoyed an evening together away from the distractions of home. So nice....

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Underwhelmed and disappointed.

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was under seasoned, dry, and not very creative. The highlight of the meal was the 1/2 doz oysters and the ice cold martini we had to start things off. But the service was very slow, and they tried to rush our order, even though the restaurant was not very full. I was pretty disappointed as I expected a higher end dining experience. But it didn't even measure up to mediocre standards.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Good but expected better

Dined on January 17, 2016

Based on the menu and pricing, I expected someplace that would pay a little more attention to detail. We waited a good 5 minutes after being seated before our server came and she treated us very casually. I had notified them ahead of time that we were there to celebrate my husband's birthday, and when we got there it seemed that message was either discarded or never noted and therefore not passed on to our server. The food was really, really good and if it there had been daylight I'm sure the view was great (I've seen the restaurant during the day, just not eaten there except this once at night.)

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect birthday dinner

Dined on January 16, 2016

We stayed at the Inn at Port Ludlow for one night and had a belated birthday dinner at the restaurant. The service, food, and wine recommendations were spot on! We were seated right next to the fireplace and it made for a cozy, romantic feeling. Would highly recommend the restaurant and hotel for a calm weekend getaway. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lunch group

Dined on January 13, 2016

This is a lovely location with very friendly staff who always welcome me back each visit. Super quiet dining area with great window views over the harbor and waterfront. You can even sit by the fireplace in the winter.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for the New Years Eve dinner. There was a set menu consisting of seven courses of locally sourced ingredients. The food was excellent. The only complaint my group had was with the main course which was duck. It was cooked medium well. Everyone agreed they would have preferred it served rare. Beside this dinner was excellent. The recommended wine parrings were very balanced and helped to compliment the meal. Highly recommended the Fireside if you have a chance to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Not worth the price

Dined on December 27, 2015

I would recommend finding somewhere else to dine. Prices $24-$36 (plus $14 little salads) were expensive and the food was not good. Little portions, salty and a huge pile of mashed potatoes in the middle of every dish. Our party of six gave the food a YUCK rating and none of us felt good paying the $264 (plus tip) tab. My dish was beef bourguignon which turned out to be a thick brown stew-like substance with tiny pieces of meat, larger pieces of mushroom and other unidentifiable chunky ingredients - somebody dropped the salt shaker in the mix - then put two giant scoops of mash potatoes in the middle and served the meal in a deep small rimmed bowl. Cost $24 plus a $14 salad for a total of $38 plus wine, dessert, coffee and tip (all for a thick brown gooey stew-like bowl of stuff). Pork dish was overcooked and dry. Scallops were good but only three medium scallops were served again on top of a giant pile of mash potatoes. So in other words, the Fireside scored a zero for all six of our dishes. Our group left hungry and decided we won't be back!

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Over-Rated and Over-Priced

Dined on December 25, 2015

A simple 3-course dinner (nothing special) with wine-pairing was over $150...and worth half that. Three wines were offered ($19 per person) and ONE INCH was poured into the goblets with each course. Hardly enough to taste. Talk about CHEAP! VERY unimpressed with food, service and prices. Never going back.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cozy but conventional

Dined on December 20, 2015

Only have ever had lunch here (couple times). The food is fine, but lunch can be a hard meal to be exceptional. Overall it's a very nice, calm atmosphere, so much nicer than many of the loud venues that are common now.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Fantastic!!!

Dined on November 21, 2015

As always Fantastic!!!

food4
ambience5
service5

Good Food, Excellent Service

Dined on November 4, 2015

The service at the restaurant was excellent. My meal (salmon) was perfect, but my husband's meal (chicken) was dry, so he was only able to eat about half of it. The salad and bread were delicious and we sat at a table near the window, which was what we requested. Overall, it was a good experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Night Celebrated

Dined on October 25, 2015

My Sweetie and I visited the area for the weekend celebrating his birthday, and I chose The Fireside for our special night out based solely on the restaurant's website. I knew I was taking a chance, and we were completely blown away by our experience, start to finish. As soon as we walked in my partner was wished a happy birthday. A window table had been chosen specifically for us. The wait service was impeccable from the beginning as well - Jeff was friendly but not too familiar, helpful and available but not overbearing. Everything we ordered was delicious. Timing between courses was just right. If we lived closer we'd be back more often. When the occasion strikes again, The Fireside will be on our list of places to which to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was professional and yet ver ...

vip
Dined on August 12, 2015

The service was professional and yet very friendly and helpful; we had a table of 5 and all of fish dishes came out eye appealing and delicious! We easily shared two rich desserts between us all and left very satisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great dinning experience. Tremendous views.

Dined on July 23, 2015

We stayed at the Port Ludlow Resort and the Fireside Grill was not only very convenient but ended up being one of the highlights of our visit. We had such a nice dinner experience that we returned for breakfast the following morning. The restaurant is in a great setting which just makes the entire dinning experience that much more enjoyable. We will come back to both the resort and restaurant on our next trip up to this beautiful area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fireside meal - the best

Dined on June 20, 2015

Probably the best meal I have had in over a year. The spinach bacon salad, the steak done to medium rare perfection the bread and tepinia, the wine selection, everything was exceedingly wonderful , and that's before the outdoor patio ambience- thank you for making a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful night

Dined on June 10, 2015

Sometimes things work out as you hoped, they did, and the evening was wonderful. The weather was perfect for sitting outside and the tables are arranged well. The wine list is extensive and fascinating, and we especially appreciated that Washington state wines are listed separately. We tried a new (to us) Pinot noir and it was very good. Our entrees, king salmon and hanger steak, were well proportioned and absolutely delicious. Service was friendly, professional and well done. Overall, a terrific night. We have also had lunch at the Fireside, and it is equally as pleasurable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Kitsap County Restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2015

This is by far my favorite Kitsap County restaurant. The service is very good and unobtrusive, and the food is consistently wonderful. Our party all look forward to returning another time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

QUIET EVENING; GREAT FOOD

Dined on June 1, 2015

We arrived before 6:00 PM and enjoyed some $5.00 tapas, and then went on to our main courses. Everything was fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. Add to this great service and world class view and things could not have been more perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

Reservation not in system

Dined on May 23, 2015

Very disappointed this year, we dine here every year over Memorial Weekend as we camp in the RV park a mile away. This year they had not put our reservation in their system and we ended up waiting about 15 minutes to be seated even though the restaurant was empty. We got a table that didn't have a view although we requested a few that were by windows, only to be told they were reserved. Food was great as usually but the server we had was very slow and not attentive at all. Normally very happy with this place but this put a sour taste in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! Dined on the patio- ...

Dined on May 18, 2015

Food was wonderful! Dined on the patio-it was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

Dined on May 16, 2015

Ambiance, service, presentation, food everything was top quality. We came here for my husbands birthday and it was just perfection! My husband is not a foodie but even he loved the food here. Thank you Chef!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a special occassion

Dined on March 15, 2015

Excellent service. Menu changes daily but the options available were well prepared and perfectly cooked. Great for a special occasion. Atmosphere was perfect to share with that special someone. Not really kid friendly. Huge wine selection and cocktails were delish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Positive Experience

Dined on March 15, 2015

We enjoyed an intimate table in front of the fireplace, which added to our positive experience. Our server was very informative and helpful in offering suggestions for wines and special dishes. The flat-iron steak was delicious and nicely presented. We appreciated the attentiveness shown by our server and being there when appropriate. A lovely three hour meal that was relaxing and enjoyable. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place for a quiet dinner

Dined on March 9, 2015

The Fireside is a tiny restaurant in the Port Ludlow Inn. A small but very fresh and interesting menu. Great place to share an appetizer and split an entree. The portions are good so I never go hungry. A wonderful wine list, I wish I was more of a wine drinker. It has a beautiful view of the marina and the couple of times we've come we've loved the food. It's a bit of a drive but a perfect evening when you want to spend time alone with someone you love. Try it for an anniversary or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

special Valentine prepared dinner was ex ...

Dined on February 15, 2015

special Valentine prepared dinner was exceptional and very strong positive comments and congratulations to the Chef and kitchen staff. All excellent,

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We love it

Dined on January 4, 2015

What could be better than not only staying at the Port Ludlow Resort, but dining at the Fireside. From the service provided to the amazing flavors combined together - all add up to a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We love it here! One of our favorite pl ...

Dined on December 28, 2014

We love it here! One of our favorite places. Great happy hour menu and food. Service is always top notch!

food3
ambience4
service4

Menu choices limited. Overall experienc ...

Dined on October 23, 2014

Menu choices limited. Overall experience very good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Even better than we expected

Dined on October 7, 2014

We planned our stay at the Port Ludlow Resort, made a hotel reservation directly with the hotel and our dinner reservation through Open Table. When we arrived, right on time, for supper, the hostess said she had no reservation for us. This has never happened to us before when using Open Table. Our table was excellent, the dining room a bit noisy. It grew quieter when the guitarist performed. Our meal was truly outstanding as was the service we received from Amy. We will absolutely return but I'm concerned about the mess-up with the reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Most enjoyable

Dined on September 7, 2014

We had a brunch reservation at The Fireside recently and enjoyed it very much. Our server was most attentive and the food was good. We were seated indoors near the fire but we had a good view of the marina outside which was lovely. We also were at The Fireside for dinner the previous night. Because it was early, we sat outside on the veranda. The weather was glorious and the food and wine were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Quiet Waterside dining

vip
Dined on August 21, 2014

Had a wonderful... well make that good... dinner at the Fireside on the deck. While the food preparation was disappointing (risotto cold) and scallops very small, our waitress made the entire meal fabulous!! Heather was amazing, knew her "stuff". (another order of risotto and one more scallop were prepared, but by then everything else was luke warm or eaten)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A night out

Dined on August 17, 2014

We had gone over to Port Ludlow for a weekend getaway.. and reserved Saturday for a quiet dinner, the restaurant was amazing, we sat outside and enjoyed not only a great night out.. but the food was also amazing.. our waitress took very good care of us, making sure we had everything we needed without being overboard on service. We will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellently prepared food

Dined on August 9, 2014

The dinner entrees are delicious and perfectly prepared. Breakfast is also very well prepared. The only thing on my wish list is a selection of less rich and simpler fare for breakfast in addition to the existing selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.