Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

4.5
134 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
  • Worth the Drive
The Fireside, waterfront dining located at The Resort at Port Ludlow. The Fireside is open every day (except Christmas Day) and offers breakfast, lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, and special events. Classical guitarist on Thursday evening. Farm to table Dinner with Daily Dinner Menu reflecting what"s freshest from the farms, artisans and local fisheries.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest, Contemporary American, Organic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(360) 437-7412
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dan Ratigan
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Rooms available with a view of Ludlow Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Port Ludlow Marina. Special events from weddings to social gatherings to corporate events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Claire Cope: (360) 437-7040
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Oak Bay Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking on site is complimentary.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Jefferson County Transit bus stop.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Classical guitar in evenings on occasion.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 134 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great meal. Best service we have ever had. The atmosphere was pleasant. The view of the water was beautiful. We ate 2 meals at the restaurant and they both exceeded our expectations.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I was really disappointed in my experience at Fireside. I brought my 72 year old mother from Arizona to Mothers Day Brunch. Upon entering the girl seating people was not welcoming. She seemed very stressed and overwhelmed with her job. We were seated promptly, but we were taken to a table in a dark corner, with no chairs. I was told very matter of factly when I asked for another table that I should’ve put in a special request if I wanted a decent table. I walked up to the front to speak to the girl overwhelmed with her job, and she very rudely told me I can’t make a request to change tables and they’ll get me some chairs. I was stunned. I’ve worked in customer service for 15 years and I would never treat a customer the way I was treated. It wasn’t until I asked for a manager that we were seated at a table(with chairs) and a beautiful view. The service we received was excellent by our waiter. The food was really good, although the selection was pretty slim for the buffet room. Although we won’t be coming back there, I really hope some customer service training is implemented with staff so no one else has to experience the type of service we received from the girl greeting at the front. Kudos to the chefs! The creme brûlée was excellent, Food 10/10, service1/10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Very relaxing yet upscale cuisine. Wine pairing s were fabulous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Loud 6 party table next to us. Had to ask for bread. Service not up to par based upon prior visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food, excellent service, pleasant atmosphere. Flat iron steak always great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Took my sister and daughter-in-law for St. Patrick's day dinner to celebrate 2 wonderful people. Food was good, view WONDERFUL and service outstanding! THANKS!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food, friendly service, the wine steward -- it was all great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

A return visit for us. Wonderful food, friendly service and gorgeous views. What could be bad?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

This was only our second visit to the Fireside Restaurant. The food was excellent, although a little on the pricey side. For our special occasion and the quality of the meal, the price was acceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Delish.good service.great wait staff.the wine person was very knowledgeable,Andrew I think his name is.great park,good biscuits ,great wines

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Terrific overall - as usual! Great food and service. Wait people are warm, friendly and genuinely nice. Menu was perfect and meal was tasty. Highly recommend for any and all occasions!!😆😆

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Dinner was good, appetizer “mushroom strudel” fantastic.

Scallops were good but not hot, my wife’s rack of lamb had excellent flavor but was on the border of being cold. Everything tasted great, just not served as warm/hot as it should have been.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve ever had! Every course was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Unfortunately, it was our waiters last night working for fireside, but he was very attentive, personable, and funny which just made the meal even better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Excellent everything. My favorite dining spot. Food is great service awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

We came for a special birthday dinner and it did not disappoint. The food was fabulous and the location, breathtaking. Would highly recommend and can't wait to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Four of us ate a splendid meal early on a Friday evening in August in a very uncrowded and pleasant dining room. The offerings had choices of types, but not a lengthy list of each. Fish, lamb, pork, beef, etc. - usually one or two items for each type. To me this is the sign of a competent chef - which is not to over promise a score of items that cannot be delivered without the microwave nearby. Two of us had the beef dish which was perfectly cooked and served with delicious baked beets on the plate. And I usually do not like beets, but these were superbly roasted and had turned so sweet and flavorful I'm going to do them at home. The beef itself was tender and very tasty, perfectly pan sauced. The serving is a la carte - no other vegetables or a salad; this should not be a problem. The menu changes seasonally, or with availability.

For the other two, they ran through about 5 items from the appetizer, tapas, and salad menu listings - both diners were extremely pleased. The lamb albondigas were spectacular. My wife is gluten intolerant, so for dessert we split a gluten free chocolate cake, but I topped mine a la mode, which made it so much more moist.

Very knowledgeable and excellent service from a waitress originally from France. Comfortable chairs and clean and serviceable restrooms. With a glass of wine, plus service and tax, it ran right at $100 for two. Worth it for special occasions, or if you are a foodie. You could do the tapas menu during happy hour for considerably less and still be very pleased. On the other hand, their wine list is deep and well worth a look if your party has the need for a worthy bottle of wine with your dinner.
Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful environment for dinning. Food was good to very good. Service was very slow. Staff was friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2017

Always an enjoyable dining experience. Bobbie is our favorite waitress!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 30, 2017

We were staying at the Inn for a long weekend and dined at the Fireside several times. We enjoyed every meal. (I wish there was a "frequent diner" complimentary drink!) The meals were good, and on a warm day the deck can't be beat-- yet the dining room is cozy and inviting as well. (Be sure to indicate you'd like an outdoor or indoor table on your reservation, & be on time or they might give away your favorite spot!) The steamed clams and mussels were a favorite, as well as the salmon & halibut dishes. On Sunday evening, service was slow due to low staff, but every other time the service was warm, attentive, & timely! We will return to the inn and Fireside for sure. Only 2 hours from Seattle, but mentally a world away.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent, again. We went for one of their Thursday fish dinners and had delicious plank-roasted salmon. The setting, overlooking the harbor and the Olympics, is magnificent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

We stayed overnight on our way up the coast. We were impressed with the quality of food and the relaxing environment! Staff were warm and kind.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was poor due to under staffing on a Saturday evening. Food was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 20, 2017

Celebrated a friend's birthday and everything was wonderful. Our server, Paula, was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

The scallops were fantastic!! Only suggestion, salads quite pricey

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 14, 2017

We were displeased with our dining experience at the Fireside Restaurant. With the exception of our server "Bobby", who did an outstanding job, the staff was very poorly trained and unaware of how to properly treat, interact or take care of the patrons.

We were also disappointed with the entries in that they were basically flavorless other than for the salt.

In the interest of brevity I will conclude our comments, but we have more if interested.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 9, 2017

The Fireside is a classic on-the-water restaurant at a boutique hotel at beautiful Port Ludlow. The food is exceptional and service both friendly and professional.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 3, 2017

The service although friendly was ridiculously slow. Three kids sat baking in the sun while others got seated fed and left, prior to cheese pizza arriving.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a wonderful breakfast with out of town friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 2, 2017

The food and ambiance were amazing! The food was fresh, the combinations of flavors were in point, and everything was cooked perfectly! The restaurant had a quiet elegance about it, with beautiful views of the marina. The service was very sporadic for both dinner and lunch the next day, however, which took away from the total experience. But I would definitely go back and recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

Our fourth or fifth visit. Always can be relied upon as a place to bring friends for a delicious meal in quiet , beautiful surroundings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Took advantage of the "Happy Hour" menu. Terrific food, great service and enjoyable experience - as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Great spot out of the way in a marina

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Fantastic food and a lovely evening on the patio watching the sun set over the marina. A perfect night out

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We had been to the Fireside several times before, all for breakfast. We made a reservation and arrived on time. We were seated and waited 25 minutes before a waitress came to get our order. From that point, the service went down hill. It appeared that the Manager was not aware of the issue because he never approached the table. The waitress was helpful but seemed equally unaware. It took us 2 hours to complete the meal. I did address the issue with with one of the staff members but he seemed equally uninterested in helping us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 23, 2017

While the table we had meant we heard the noise and disturbance of people coming in and out, and was close to wait station and bar, the attention we received from the wait staff and manager was wonderful. Our waitress was extremely helpful and gracious. I loved my main dish and felt the steak was done perfectly with a wonderful combination of creamy risotto and crunchy roasted watermelon radishes that added a nice zip to the plate. We also loved the cocktails and the wine selections. I thought it was wonderful food for a good price and the service could not have been better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful location and views. Good happy hour menu. Food was good but a bit blandly seasoned. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2017

Once again our Dino g experience was excellent. Whenever I am in Port Ludlow I have to go there for dinnner. The service is excellent and very friendly. Food delicious and ambiance fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Our group of four sat near the fireplace looking out over the harbor marina and the Olympic mountains at sunset. Our salads—mine was arugula with thinly sliced heirloom tomatoes and a slightly tangy sweet dressing—were made with greens from Red Dog Farm, a organic farm we passed on the way to the restaurant. My wife raved about the skirt steak with roasted peppers and onions. I had Neah Bay salmon, perfectly grilled with just the hint of a crust—delicious! This is just a lovely spot to relax with friends and a glass of wine, and enjoy an unhurried, farm-to-table meal, beautifully prepared and presented. You're in good hands. Oh, and did I mention the view?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely location, local vegetables and seafood, plenty of staff. Went for Mother's Day dinner. Loved the clams, skirt steak average, pommel frites excellent. Liked the tapenade with the bread, loved the salt scrub to try in the restrooms. Fireplace added lovely atmosphere. Bar only big enough for 4-6. Get a table!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Amy was friendly and fun. We were greeted immediately upon entering the Hotel and again by the Manager and Waitress at the restaurant. Great service and food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining