Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi
  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi
  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi

About The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

The Fireside, waterfront dining located at The Resort at Port Ludlow. The Fireside is open every day (except Christmas Day) and offers breakfast, lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, and special events. Classical guitarist on Thursday evening. Farm to table Dinner with Daily Dinner Menu reflecting what"s freshest from the farms, artisans and local fisheries.

One Heron Road
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Port Ludlow, WA 98365
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak Bay Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 437-7412

Website:
http://www.portludlowresort.com/food/fireside-restaurant

Entertainment:
Classical guitar in evenings on occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking on site is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Jefferson County Transit bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Dan Ratigan

Private Party Facilities:
Rooms available with a view of Ludlow Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Port Ludlow Marina. Special events from weddings to social gatherings to corporate events.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Cope: (360) 437-7040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (5)
Fireplace (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Casual (3)
Waterfront (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Amy was friendly and fun. We were greeted immediately upon entering the Hotel and again by the Manager and Waitress at the restaurant. Great service and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The restaurant has limited seating, food was good but not outstanding. The menu was fairly small but reasonable. Our waitress was outstanding and the wine selection was excellent. I did over hear several customers get upset with the lack of drop in seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I actually had to cancel these reservations due to the missing the ferry to be able to drive there from Seattle. I did however go the next night and it was lovely. Unfortunately our waiter didn't tell us about the special, so after we ordered and saw that people were getting lobster tails next to us I asked if we had missed it somehow on the menu. No big deal but that would have been a nice alternative. They also ran out of mash potatoes for one of the dishes so my daughter had to make a different choice. Though these issues came up, the food was good and the service as well. I'd recommend for laid back dining when in Port Ludlow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had been given a gift certificate from a family member from the east coast. She was impressed by the web site and sent it to us in Port Townsend. We are new to this area and found it to be a perfect gift. It is a lovely setting and a nice ambience. The food did not disappoint and the server was pleasant and attentive enough. We will return with visitors soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The first room we were seated in was large and open with only three tables. It was way too bright and quiet, table conversation would have been heard by all and it was not comfortable. I asked to be reseated in the main restaurant near the fireplace and the host gladly made it happen. The room was much better from the lighting to the background music. Our food was amazing and the wine list is on point! Aside from the first room an overall excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and ambiance were wonderful. The staff was quite friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always an outstanding place to go for a special occasion or anytime you truly want to dine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was marginal, portions small and inconsistent, pork loin tough as leather, prices astronomical, i.e. asparagus $3 per spear, small dinner salad $14!!!!!! Never again. Would be funny if it weren't so expensive. Chef should be forced to eat his own food - and PAY for it!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

What a wonderful evening we had in this lovely restaurant. The scallops were done to perfection in their cream sauce on mashed potatoes. Delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It's hard not to recommend the Fireside because it's the only fine dining in town. But, each time I return, I'm disappointed with the food vs. the cost. The salad this time, on the "comfort foods menu" was probably one of the most bland I've ever eaten -- it was over-oiled with no discernable flavor. The ambience is nice, with the fireplace and marina-side dining, but overall the food is good, but pricey.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I made reservations for my wife's birthday. The service and atmosphere is top notch. And the food was amazing! I had the Carmel glazed Steel head and my wife had the Jidori Chicken! We highly recommend these selections. They had a very nice wine list also. We had a glass of Bordeux to wash our meals down with. Very clean establishment. Our server was awesome too! 👍🏿Check this place out, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great time celebrating my birthday, delicious high quality food (dinner and dessert)! Great service from Nickie. Lovely date night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As locals, we enjoy meeting friends at our own resort for the tapas bar and menu offered daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner here and the food was outstanding, service was great. It is a quiet romantic setting by the fireplace. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great as always. We had family style Thanksgiving dinner for the second year. They have a lovely tradition of packing your leftovers up in a carrier bag so you can have sandwiches the day after. They made a special effort to provide a dairy free meal for our party member who needed it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for their annual Thankgiving Dinner. The whole roasted turkey was delicious, tender and juicy. The sides were great as were the extra cost wine pairings. Service was wonderful and the food plentiful with more of the turkey and any of the sides available on request.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Thanksgiving reservation made on Open Table was invalid because the restaurant was having technical troubles. We booked for 12:45, but got a phone call a few days before the reservation and was told they shut down the Open Table system and based on what was then available at that point, they could only seat us at noon.
Price was advertised as $49.00 (& my Open Table confirmation stated that price clearly) but we were charged $59/p. We told our server of this discrepancy. She took the bill back & she said made the correction, but she hadn't. My husband didn't want to make a fuss, so we just paid and left.
Food was fine, but not for that price. Even $49 seemed high, but if was a special occasion, so went with it.
Overall, the staff seemed disorganized, but were very pleasant and polite. Ambiance or location is very nice. I'll eat there again but never again for a pre-set menu. NOT a good value!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Seems the chef doesn't taste or care what leaves the kitchen. The meat was too hard to cut through, the staff didn't care even though they had to have noticed and heard me attempting to cut my raw hide textured beef. Instead of knife, fork and spoon, I should have had a hatchet. My complaint was ignored. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great atmosphere, wonderful service simply great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I greatly enjoyed my meal at Fireside. The service was wonderful and the dish I had, the scallops, was outstanding. Nice tapas menu for happy hour as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was SOOO IMPRESSEDwith the service, food and ambiance of the folks at Fireside! Thank you so much for a delicious and wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Over all good, we were there for a late evening dinner service, we just got the feeling that the server just wanted to go home.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We have eaten at the Fireside a number of times. It is the main place we go when we are entertaining out of town guests. The food is always gourmet quality, the service is personal, the atmosphere is conducive to conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful again! This was our second time to the Fireside...just out for a date night, and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Notable decline in a once elegant experience. Now the staff loudly discusses business operations at the bar, disturbing the dining experience of patrons in the primary dining room, as if there were no guests present. At these prices, this is a dealbreaker. Menu has been pared down to minimal offerings. Low quality beef was a disappointment, especially since I had praised the establishment to my guest, based on my past experiences. Unique status and unique location could be a stellar restaurant, with some attention to staff deportment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We have had a number of meals at the Fireside. We live in Port Ludlow. It is a great place to take friends. Always outstanding food. Very fine service. The servers are always very friendly and accomodating. The best restaurant within many miles.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice setting, good view. Food was just "OK". I was expecting more based on the reviews I had seen in magazines. Server was good, but didn't stop by much. I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Interesting menu but the consistency is not good. We had breakfast there 3 times and it was always good flavor. However, the chorizo dish was supposed to have Yukon Golds in it but did not have them and the portions were supposed to be 3 eggs and was barely 1.5 on one morning. Dinners - the hamburgers were great as were the other main courses we had. The dish I had was a small plate of fruit and cheese. It was much overpriced for the amount of food. Overall, I was disappointed. Too bad because the restaurant is located in a very special spot and has good ambiance. Aim higher!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Consistently good food, nice menu options, excellent service and good wine list. Happy hour is a great bargain. Setting and ambiance lovely for outside summer dining or inside by the fire. A relaxed, comfortable feel. Highly recommend for special occasion or a casual get together with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food and service are consistently great - choice of dining outside or inside by the fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2016

All was very nice Med. Steak wasn't cooked to likeness was rare. We found the breakfast meal the much better food with delicious version of Eggs Benedict, Fritata & Biscuit gravy .

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience! Our wine, dinner, and dessert was delicious and our waitress was helpful and genuine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The eating experience would have been quite different if we had eaten inside as the restaurant is a bit noisy, like most restaurants. The food was good. The salad was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The quality of the food and service at this restaurant did not merit the pricetag for the meal. Our food was very good but not outstanding. The restaurant was not air-conditioned so we had to have a fan blowing on our table to be comfortable. Service was spotty and not very refined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Their reservation system is very customer unfriendly. We wanted an outside seat closest to the best view. They would not accommodate us even though there were three tables vacant and we were told they were being held for customers being seated an hour after us. So they set us up inside on a warm beautiful evening and 3 tables sat vacant in front of us (through the window) for a full hour and half!!
When we brought this to the restaurant managers attention he agreed their reservation system needed to be changed! In the end we were given a reduced amount for our dinner.
The food was okay but expensive for the quality delivered. The lettuce was limp and the salmon overcooked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 14, 2016

2015 lunch on the patio was exceptional, GREAT meal and service, so we returned with friends for Sunday brunch. This visit in 2016 for Sunday brunch was very disappointing: small portions although tasty, lukewarm food, NO JAM (for brunch??), and a waitress who called the ladies at our table "sweetie" - HATE that! Disappointed and likely will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Having just moved to Port Ludlow nine months ago, we had heard mixed reviews of the Fireside Restaurant. So we decided to try it ourselves for my wife's birthday. We chose to eat indoors, although the deck was inviting. The food and wine was exceptionally good. The service was excellent, the waiter was pleasant, efficient while not being intrusive. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We expected more. We met there with friends we had not seen in a while. We were looking forward to fine dining together in a lovely setting. The service was slow. We waited to order and then the entrees took much too long arrive. The plates were attractively presented. The halibut was dry and tough. So were the shrimp. The pork was fine. When the light from the setting sun shone directly onto one of us, the wait staff refused to adjust the blinds. We had to move our chairs to one side of our round table instead.
A pricey but disappointing meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We first dined at this restaurant last year and really enjoyed it. We were able to dine outside with our dog (so that she didn't have to remain on the boat) and both the food and service were outstanding. My husband even remarked that it was the best food he'd eaten at a restaurant marina - ever!

Fast forward to last Friday. We were eagerly awaiting our opportunity to return to this restaurant. Sadly we were disappointed with both our food and the slow (though friendly) service. I had the Kobe flank steak with truffle risotto. The steak was very difficult to cut (plus I was not given a steak knife which didn't help) and it was very chewy and difficult to eat. I cook enough to know that the steak was undercooked even though I asked for medium rare, and it was not cut properly for flank steak. It should have been cut at an angle which might have made it more tender. Everything on my plate was over-salted and my risotto was flavorless, dry and overcooked. My husband's flat iron steak was similar - difficult to cut, not very tender and overly salted.

I'm not sure if they are experimenting with new recipes or a new chef but we were very disappointed with the quality of our meal, especially considering the cost. Also, it took over 45 minutes to get our main dish and we did not order a salad or appetizer. After receiving our bill it took another 20+ minutes to get the payment processed.

Based on this experience we would not return to this restaurant again. I can grill better steak on the barbecue on my boat!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful views, quality food, poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.