About The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

One Heron Road
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Port Ludlow, WA 98365
View Larger Map

The Fireside, waterfront dining located at The Resort at Port Ludlow. The Fireside is open every day (except Christmas Day) and offers breakfast, lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, and special events. Classical guitarist on Thursday evening. Farm to table Dinner with Daily Dinner Menu reflecting what"s freshest from the farms, artisans and local fisheries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak Bay Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 437-7412

Website:
http://www.portludlowresort.com/food/fireside-restaurant

Entertainment:
Classical guitar in evenings on occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking on site is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Jefferson County Transit bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Dan Ratigan

Private Party Facilities:
Rooms available with a view of Ludlow Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Port Ludlow Marina. Special events from weddings to social gatherings to corporate events.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Cope: 3604377040x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
North of Seattle
Scenic View
North of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Port Ludlow ›

Scenic View (13)
Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
See All
Romantic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Interesting menu but the consistency is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Interesting menu but the consistency is not good. We had breakfast there 3 times and it was always good flavor. However, the chorizo dish was supposed to have Yukon Golds in it but did not have them and the portions were supposed to be 3 eggs and was barely 1.5 on one morning. Dinners - the hamburgers were great as were the other main courses we had. The dish I had was a small plate of fruit and cheese. It was much overpriced for the amount of food. Overall, I was disappointed. Too bad because the restaurant is located in a very special spot and has good ambiance. Aim higher!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Consistently good food, nice menu option ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Consistently good food, nice menu options, excellent service and good wine list. Happy hour is a great bargain. Setting and ambiance lovely for outside summer dining or inside by the fire. A relaxed, comfortable feel. Highly recommend for special occasion or a casual get together with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are consistently g ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food and service are consistently great - choice of dining outside or inside by the fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was very nice Med. Steak wasn't cook ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

All was very nice Med. Steak wasn't cooked to likeness was rare. We found the breakfast meal the much better food with delicious version of Eggs Benedict, Fritata & Biscuit gravy .

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience! Our wine, dinner, and dessert was delicious and our waitress was helpful and genuine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The eating experience would have been qu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The eating experience would have been quite different if we had eaten inside as the restaurant is a bit noisy, like most restaurants. The food was good. The salad was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The quality of the food and service at t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The quality of the food and service at this restaurant did not merit the pricetag for the meal. Our food was very good but not outstanding. The restaurant was not air-conditioned so we had to have a fan blowing on our table to be comfortable. Service was spotty and not very refined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Their reservation system is very custome ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Their reservation system is very customer unfriendly. We wanted an outside seat closest to the best view. They would not accommodate us even though there were three tables vacant and we were told they were being held for customers being seated an hour after us. So they set us up inside on a warm beautiful evening and 3 tables sat vacant in front of us (through the window) for a full hour and half!!

When we brought this to the restaurant managers attention he agreed their reservation system needed to be changed! In the end we were given a reduced amount for our dinner.

The food was okay but expensive for the quality delivered. The lettuce was limp and the salmon overcooked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

2015 lunch on the patio was exceptional, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

2015 lunch on the patio was exceptional, GREAT meal and service, so we returned with friends for Sunday brunch. This visit in 2016 for Sunday brunch was very disappointing: small portions although tasty, lukewarm food, NO JAM (for brunch??), and a waitress who called the ladies at our table "sweetie" - HATE that! Disappointed and likely will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Having just moved to Port Ludlow nine mo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Having just moved to Port Ludlow nine months ago, we had heard mixed reviews of the Fireside Restaurant. So we decided to try it ourselves for my wife's birthday. We chose to eat indoors, although the deck was inviting. The food and wine was exceptionally good. The service was excellent, the waiter was pleasant, efficient while not being intrusive. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We expected more. We met there with fri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We expected more. We met there with friends we had not seen in a while. We were looking forward to fine dining together in a lovely setting. The service was slow. We waited to order and then the entrees took much too long arrive. The plates were attractively presented. The halibut was dry and tough. So were the shrimp. The pork was fine. When the light from the setting sun shone directly onto one of us, the wait staff refused to adjust the blinds. We had to move our chairs to one side of our round table instead.

A pricey but disappointing meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We first dined at this restaurant last y ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We first dined at this restaurant last year and really enjoyed it. We were able to dine outside with our dog (so that she didn't have to remain on the boat) and both the food and service were outstanding. My husband even remarked that it was the best food he'd eaten at a restaurant marina - ever!

Fast forward to last Friday. We were eagerly awaiting our opportunity to return to this restaurant. Sadly we were disappointed with both our food and the slow (though friendly) service. I had the Kobe flank steak with truffle risotto. The steak was very difficult to cut (plus I was not given a steak knife which didn't help) and it was very chewy and difficult to eat. I cook enough to know that the steak was undercooked even though I asked for medium rare, and it was not cut properly for flank steak. It should have been cut at an angle which might have made it more tender. Everything on my plate was over-salted and my risotto was flavorless, dry and overcooked. My husband's flat iron steak was similar - difficult to cut, not very tender and overly salted.

I'm not sure if they are experimenting with new recipes or a new chef but we were very disappointed with the quality of our meal, especially considering the cost. Also, it took over 45 minutes to get our main dish and we did not order a salad or appetizer. After receiving our bill it took another 20+ minutes to get the payment processed.

Based on this experience we would not return to this restaurant again. I can grill better steak on the barbecue on my boat!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Beautiful views, quality food, poor serv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful views, quality food, poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

As always, outstanding food, served in a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, outstanding food, served in a cozy environment, with attentive and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Views...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Love this place - great for tapas and drinks from 4-6! Great full dinner menu also in a waterside New England inspired resort. One of my favorites!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love This Place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We have come to The Fireside on several special occasions. The food and service never disappoint and chef and staff always make extra effort to accommodate. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only game in town

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate here while staying at the Resort at Port Ludlow. Basically, unless you want to drive 10 miles for dinner it's your only choice.

The view is lovely and the general ambiance is very nice. The staff is very young and overly friendly- by that I mean they engage in banter that is better off in a lower end dining establishment. Thoroughly capable, I'm sure that with some training by management ( which was no where to be found), they would excel .

They have a superb if overpriced wine list, but if you want something good to drink you will not be disappointed.

The food is ok, pretty standard fare. Uninspired appetizers, no specials on the menu. The chicken and fish that we had was prepared in a pretty standard way. Vegetables were under cooked and spare, and my fish was overly salted. Kind of a shame for fresh Halibut.

Dessert was a generous portion of Creme Brulee, but like most other restaurants, served ice cold with a warmed up top.

Basically, I would not spend $200 + for 2 people to eat here again. It's not that it's bad, it's just nothing special. They don't have to be, and I guess they know that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Easter Brunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoys a buffet brunch occasionally on special occasions because each person has such a different set of culinary requirements. The Fireside satisfied all the requirements and had delightful, friendly service. We will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view restaurant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We were staying at Port Ludlow Marina in our boat and had dinner there. The food was wonderful and the service was great. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish it lived up to the resort

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We've stayed at the inn 5 times and always have high hopes for the restaraunt. Menu is boring and little variety. Prices are what really shocks me. $15 for starter soup is a joke. Very poor service last time at dinner (although breakfast was great ) I got something that was disappointing -waitress argued with me and offered to take it off the bill but never did.

It's just too bad because it's the only place to eat for miles

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Lovely anniversary dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We were at Fireside for our anniversary dinner. The food & service were fantastic. This restaurant always delivers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great St. Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to the Fireside Restaurant to celebrate St. Valentine's Day. The dinner was a set 8-course menu with an option for a complementary wine pairing. The food was excellent, including some items that I probably would not have selected on my own. Kudos to the chef. The presentation of the food was attractive and our server did a great job of moving the dinner along at a comfortable pace. The dinner was pricey compared to other options in the area, but I think it was a good value for the experience.

The setting at Port Ludlow is picturesque, but we could not really enjoy it because February 14th was dark and wet - its the Pacific Northwest, after all. We are looking forward to returning some time to dine at the Fireside and enjoy the food and the view.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for Two

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

My husband and I had a date night recently and went to the Fireside Restaurant. It was quiet with live easy listening music playing. I had Jidori Chicken and my husband had the Salmon, both were excellent. The service was great and we really enjoyed an evening together away from the distractions of home. So nice....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Underwhelmed and disappointed.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was under seasoned, dry, and not very creative. The highlight of the meal was the 1/2 doz oysters and the ice cold martini we had to start things off. But the service was very slow, and they tried to rush our order, even though the restaurant was not very full. I was pretty disappointed as I expected a higher end dining experience. But it didn't even measure up to mediocre standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Good but expected better

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Based on the menu and pricing, I expected someplace that would pay a little more attention to detail. We waited a good 5 minutes after being seated before our server came and she treated us very casually. I had notified them ahead of time that we were there to celebrate my husband's birthday, and when we got there it seemed that message was either discarded or never noted and therefore not passed on to our server. The food was really, really good and if it there had been daylight I'm sure the view was great (I've seen the restaurant during the day, just not eaten there except this once at night.)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Perfect birthday dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We stayed at the Inn at Port Ludlow for one night and had a belated birthday dinner at the restaurant. The service, food, and wine recommendations were spot on! We were seated right next to the fireplace and it made for a cozy, romantic feeling. Would highly recommend the restaurant and hotel for a calm weekend getaway. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch group

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

This is a lovely location with very friendly staff who always welcome me back each visit.

Super quiet dining area with great window views over the harbor and waterfront. You can even sit by the fireplace in the winter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

New Years Eve

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for the New Years Eve dinner. There was a set menu consisting of seven courses of locally sourced ingredients. The food was excellent. The only complaint my group had was with the main course which was duck. It was cooked medium well. Everyone agreed they would have preferred it served rare. Beside this dinner was excellent. The recommended wine parrings were very balanced and helped to compliment the meal. Highly recommended the Fireside if you have a chance to visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not worth the price

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I would recommend finding somewhere else to dine. Prices $24-$36 (plus $14 little salads) were expensive and the food was not good. Little portions, salty and a huge pile of mashed potatoes in the middle of every dish. Our party of six gave the food a YUCK rating and none of us felt good paying the $264 (plus tip) tab.

My dish was beef bourguignon which turned out to be a thick brown stew-like substance with tiny pieces of meat, larger pieces of mushroom and other unidentifiable chunky ingredients - somebody dropped the salt shaker in the mix - then put two giant scoops of mash potatoes in the middle and served the meal in a deep small rimmed bowl. Cost $24 plus a $14 salad for a total of $38 plus wine, dessert, coffee and tip (all for a thick brown gooey stew-like bowl of stuff). Pork dish was overcooked and dry. Scallops were good but only three medium scallops were served again on top of a giant pile of mash potatoes. So in other words, the Fireside scored a zero for all six of our dishes. Our group left hungry and decided we won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Over-Rated and Over-Priced

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

A simple 3-course dinner (nothing special) with wine-pairing was over $150...and worth half that. Three wines were offered ($19 per person) and ONE INCH was poured into the goblets with each course. Hardly enough to taste. Talk about CHEAP!

VERY unimpressed with food, service and prices. Never going back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Cozy but conventional

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Only have ever had lunch here (couple times). The food is fine, but lunch can be a hard meal to be exceptional. Overall it's a very nice, calm atmosphere, so much nicer than many of the loud venues that are common now.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As always Fantastic!!!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

As always Fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food, Excellent Service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

The service at the restaurant was excellent.

My meal (salmon) was perfect, but my husband's meal (chicken) was dry, so he was only able to eat about half of it. The salad and bread were delicious and we sat at a table near the window, which was what we requested.

Overall, it was a good experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Special Night Celebrated

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

My Sweetie and I visited the area for the weekend celebrating his birthday, and I chose The Fireside for our special night out based solely on the restaurant's website. I knew I was taking a chance, and we were completely blown away by our experience, start to finish.

As soon as we walked in my partner was wished a happy birthday. A window table had been chosen specifically for us. The wait service was impeccable from the beginning as well - Jeff was friendly but not too familiar, helpful and available but not overbearing.

Everything we ordered was delicious. Timing between courses was just right.

If we lived closer we'd be back more often. When the occasion strikes again, The Fireside will be on our list of places to which to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was professional and yet ver ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

The service was professional and yet very friendly and helpful; we had a table of 5 and all of fish dishes came out eye appealing and delicious! We easily shared two rich desserts between us all and left very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great dinning experience. Tremendous views.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

We stayed at the Port Ludlow Resort and the Fireside Grill was not only very convenient but ended up being one of the highlights of our visit. We had such a nice dinner experience that we returned for breakfast the following morning. The restaurant is in a great setting which just makes the entire dinning experience that much more enjoyable. We will come back to both the resort and restaurant on our next trip up to this beautiful area.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fireside meal - the best

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Probably the best meal I have had in over a year. The spinach bacon salad, the steak done to medium rare perfection the bread and tepinia, the wine selection, everything was exceedingly wonderful , and that's before the outdoor patio ambience- thank you for making a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful night

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2015

Sometimes things work out as you hoped, they did, and the evening was wonderful. The weather was perfect for sitting outside and the tables are arranged well. The wine list is extensive and fascinating, and we especially appreciated that Washington state wines are listed separately. We tried a new (to us) Pinot noir and it was very good. Our entrees, king salmon and hanger steak, were well proportioned and absolutely delicious. Service was friendly, professional and well done. Overall, a terrific night. We have also had lunch at the Fireside, and it is equally as pleasurable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Kitsap County Restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2015

This is by far my favorite Kitsap County restaurant. The service is very good and unobtrusive, and the food is consistently wonderful. Our party all look forward to returning another time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

QUIET EVENING; GREAT FOOD

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 1, 2015

We arrived before 6:00 PM and enjoyed some $5.00 tapas, and then went on to our main courses. Everything was fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. Add to this great service and world class view and things could not have been more perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.