Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi
  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi
  1. Distance: 7.67mi
  2. Distance: 11.90mi
  3. Distance: 11.91mi
  4. Distance: 12.25mi

About The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

The Fireside, waterfront dining located at The Resort at Port Ludlow. The Fireside is open every day (except Christmas Day) and offers breakfast, lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, and special events. Classical guitarist on Thursday evening. Farm to table Dinner with Daily Dinner Menu reflecting what"s freshest from the farms, artisans and local fisheries.

One Heron Road
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Port Ludlow, WA 98365
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak Bay Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 437-7412

Website:
http://www.portludlowresort.com/food/fireside-restaurant

Entertainment:
Classical guitar in evenings on occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking on site is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Jefferson County Transit bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Dan Ratigan

Private Party Facilities:
Rooms available with a view of Ludlow Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Port Ludlow Marina. Special events from weddings to social gatherings to corporate events.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Cope: (360) 437-7040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Waterfront (8)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Scenic View (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fireplace (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was poor due to under staffing on a Saturday evening. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Celebrated a friend's birthday and everything was wonderful. Our server, Paula, was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The scallops were fantastic!! Only suggestion, salads quite pricey

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were displeased with our dining experience at the Fireside Restaurant. With the exception of our server "Bobby", who did an outstanding job, the staff was very poorly trained and unaware of how to properly treat, interact or take care of the patrons.

We were also disappointed with the entries in that they were basically flavorless other than for the salt.

In the interest of brevity I will conclude our comments, but we have more if interested.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The Fireside is a classic on-the-water restaurant at a boutique hotel at beautiful Port Ludlow. The food is exceptional and service both friendly and professional.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The service although friendly was ridiculously slow. Three kids sat baking in the sun while others got seated fed and left, prior to cheese pizza arriving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a wonderful breakfast with out of town friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food and ambiance were amazing! The food was fresh, the combinations of flavors were in point, and everything was cooked perfectly! The restaurant had a quiet elegance about it, with beautiful views of the marina. The service was very sporadic for both dinner and lunch the next day, however, which took away from the total experience. But I would definitely go back and recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our fourth or fifth visit. Always can be relied upon as a place to bring friends for a delicious meal in quiet , beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Took advantage of the "Happy Hour" menu. Terrific food, great service and enjoyable experience - as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great spot out of the way in a marina

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fantastic food and a lovely evening on the patio watching the sun set over the marina. A perfect night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had been to the Fireside several times before, all for breakfast. We made a reservation and arrived on time. We were seated and waited 25 minutes before a waitress came to get our order. From that point, the service went down hill. It appeared that the Manager was not aware of the issue because he never approached the table. The waitress was helpful but seemed equally unaware. It took us 2 hours to complete the meal. I did address the issue with with one of the staff members but he seemed equally uninterested in helping us.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

While the table we had meant we heard the noise and disturbance of people coming in and out, and was close to wait station and bar, the attention we received from the wait staff and manager was wonderful. Our waitress was extremely helpful and gracious. I loved my main dish and felt the steak was done perfectly with a wonderful combination of creamy risotto and crunchy roasted watermelon radishes that added a nice zip to the plate. We also loved the cocktails and the wine selections. I thought it was wonderful food for a good price and the service could not have been better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful location and views. Good happy hour menu. Food was good but a bit blandly seasoned. Great service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Once again our Dino g experience was excellent. Whenever I am in Port Ludlow I have to go there for dinnner. The service is excellent and very friendly. Food delicious and ambiance fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our group of four sat near the fireplace looking out over the harbor marina and the Olympic mountains at sunset. Our salads—mine was arugula with thinly sliced heirloom tomatoes and a slightly tangy sweet dressing—were made with greens from Red Dog Farm, a organic farm we passed on the way to the restaurant. My wife raved about the skirt steak with roasted peppers and onions. I had Neah Bay salmon, perfectly grilled with just the hint of a crust—delicious! This is just a lovely spot to relax with friends and a glass of wine, and enjoy an unhurried, farm-to-table meal, beautifully prepared and presented. You're in good hands. Oh, and did I mention the view?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely location, local vegetables and seafood, plenty of staff. Went for Mother's Day dinner. Loved the clams, skirt steak average, pommel frites excellent. Liked the tapenade with the bread, loved the salt scrub to try in the restrooms. Fireplace added lovely atmosphere. Bar only big enough for 4-6. Get a table!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Amy was friendly and fun. We were greeted immediately upon entering the Hotel and again by the Manager and Waitress at the restaurant. Great service and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The restaurant has limited seating, food was good but not outstanding. The menu was fairly small but reasonable. Our waitress was outstanding and the wine selection was excellent. I did over hear several customers get upset with the lack of drop in seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I actually had to cancel these reservations due to the missing the ferry to be able to drive there from Seattle. I did however go the next night and it was lovely. Unfortunately our waiter didn't tell us about the special, so after we ordered and saw that people were getting lobster tails next to us I asked if we had missed it somehow on the menu. No big deal but that would have been a nice alternative. They also ran out of mash potatoes for one of the dishes so my daughter had to make a different choice. Though these issues came up, the food was good and the service as well. I'd recommend for laid back dining when in Port Ludlow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had been given a gift certificate from a family member from the east coast. She was impressed by the web site and sent it to us in Port Townsend. We are new to this area and found it to be a perfect gift. It is a lovely setting and a nice ambience. The food did not disappoint and the server was pleasant and attentive enough. We will return with visitors soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The first room we were seated in was large and open with only three tables. It was way too bright and quiet, table conversation would have been heard by all and it was not comfortable. I asked to be reseated in the main restaurant near the fireplace and the host gladly made it happen. The room was much better from the lighting to the background music. Our food was amazing and the wine list is on point! Aside from the first room an overall excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and ambiance were wonderful. The staff was quite friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always an outstanding place to go for a special occasion or anytime you truly want to dine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was marginal, portions small and inconsistent, pork loin tough as leather, prices astronomical, i.e. asparagus $3 per spear, small dinner salad $14!!!!!! Never again. Would be funny if it weren't so expensive. Chef should be forced to eat his own food - and PAY for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

What a wonderful evening we had in this lovely restaurant. The scallops were done to perfection in their cream sauce on mashed potatoes. Delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It's hard not to recommend the Fireside because it's the only fine dining in town. But, each time I return, I'm disappointed with the food vs. the cost. The salad this time, on the "comfort foods menu" was probably one of the most bland I've ever eaten -- it was over-oiled with no discernable flavor. The ambience is nice, with the fireplace and marina-side dining, but overall the food is good, but pricey.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I made reservations for my wife's birthday. The service and atmosphere is top notch. And the food was amazing! I had the Carmel glazed Steel head and my wife had the Jidori Chicken! We highly recommend these selections. They had a very nice wine list also. We had a glass of Bordeux to wash our meals down with. Very clean establishment. Our server was awesome too! 👍🏿Check this place out, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great time celebrating my birthday, delicious high quality food (dinner and dessert)! Great service from Nickie. Lovely date night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As locals, we enjoy meeting friends at our own resort for the tapas bar and menu offered daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner here and the food was outstanding, service was great. It is a quiet romantic setting by the fireplace. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great as always. We had family style Thanksgiving dinner for the second year. They have a lovely tradition of packing your leftovers up in a carrier bag so you can have sandwiches the day after. They made a special effort to provide a dairy free meal for our party member who needed it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Thanksgiving reservation made on Open Table was invalid because the restaurant was having technical troubles. We booked for 12:45, but got a phone call a few days before the reservation and was told they shut down the Open Table system and based on what was then available at that point, they could only seat us at noon.
Price was advertised as $49.00 (& my Open Table confirmation stated that price clearly) but we were charged $59/p. We told our server of this discrepancy. She took the bill back & she said made the correction, but she hadn't. My husband didn't want to make a fuss, so we just paid and left.
Food was fine, but not for that price. Even $49 seemed high, but if was a special occasion, so went with it.
Overall, the staff seemed disorganized, but were very pleasant and polite. Ambiance or location is very nice. I'll eat there again but never again for a pre-set menu. NOT a good value!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for their annual Thankgiving Dinner. The whole roasted turkey was delicious, tender and juicy. The sides were great as were the extra cost wine pairings. Service was wonderful and the food plentiful with more of the turkey and any of the sides available on request.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Seems the chef doesn't taste or care what leaves the kitchen. The meat was too hard to cut through, the staff didn't care even though they had to have noticed and heard me attempting to cut my raw hide textured beef. Instead of knife, fork and spoon, I should have had a hatchet. My complaint was ignored. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere, wonderful service simply great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I greatly enjoyed my meal at Fireside. The service was wonderful and the dish I had, the scallops, was outstanding. Nice tapas menu for happy hour as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was SOOO IMPRESSEDwith the service, food and ambiance of the folks at Fireside! Thank you so much for a delicious and wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Over all good, we were there for a late evening dinner service, we just got the feeling that the server just wanted to go home.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.