About The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

One Heron Road
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Port Ludlow, WA 98365
View Larger Map

The Fireside, waterfront dining located at The Resort at Port Ludlow. The Fireside is open every day (except Christmas Day) and offers breakfast, lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, and special events. Classical guitarist on Thursday evening. Farm to table Dinner with Daily Dinner Menu reflecting what"s freshest from the farms, artisans and local fisheries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak Bay Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 437-7412

Website:
http://www.portludlowresort.com/food/fireside-restaurant

Entertainment:
Classical guitar in evenings on occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking on site is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Jefferson County Transit bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Dan Ratigan

Private Party Facilities:
Rooms available with a view of Ludlow Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Port Ludlow Marina. Special events from weddings to social gatherings to corporate events.

Private Party Contact:
Claire Cope: 3604377040x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
North of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Port Ludlow ›

Scenic View (16)
Fireplace (15)
Waterfront (13)
See All
Local Ingredients (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great time celebrating my birthday, deli ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Great time celebrating my birthday, delicious high quality food (dinner and dessert)! Great service from Nickie. Lovely date night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As locals, we enjoy meeting friends at o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

As locals, we enjoy meeting friends at our own resort for the tapas bar and menu offered daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner here and the food was outstanding, service was great. It is a quiet romantic setting by the fireplace. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always. We had family style Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great as always. We had family style Thanksgiving dinner for the second year. They have a lovely tradition of packing your leftovers up in a carrier bag so you can have sandwiches the day after. They made a special effort to provide a dairy free meal for our party member who needed it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for their annual Thankgivi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for their annual Thankgiving Dinner. The whole roasted turkey was delicious, tender and juicy. The sides were great as were the extra cost wine pairings. Service was wonderful and the food plentiful with more of the turkey and any of the sides available on request.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Thanksgiving reservation made on Ope ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Thanksgiving reservation made on Open Table was invalid because the restaurant was having technical troubles. We booked for 12:45, but got a phone call a few days before the reservation and was told they shut down the Open Table system and based on what was then available at that point, they could only seat us at noon.

Price was advertised as $49.00 (& my Open Table confirmation stated that price clearly) but we were charged $59/p. We told our server of this discrepancy. She took the bill back & she said made the correction, but she hadn't. My husband didn't want to make a fuss, so we just paid and left.

Food was fine, but not for that price. Even $49 seemed high, but if was a special occasion, so went with it.

Overall, the staff seemed disorganized, but were very pleasant and polite. Ambiance or location is very nice. I'll eat there again but never again for a pre-set menu. NOT a good value!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Seems the chef doesn't taste or care wha ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Seems the chef doesn't taste or care what leaves the kitchen. The meat was too hard to cut through, the staff didn't care even though they had to have noticed and heard me attempting to cut my raw hide textured beef. Instead of knife, fork and spoon, I should have had a hatchet. My complaint was ignored. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great atmosphere, wonderful service simp ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great atmosphere, wonderful service simply great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I greatly enjoyed my meal at Fireside. T ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I greatly enjoyed my meal at Fireside. The service was wonderful and the dish I had, the scallops, was outstanding. Nice tapas menu for happy hour as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was SOOO IMPRESSEDwith the service, fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was SOOO IMPRESSEDwith the service, food and ambiance of the folks at Fireside! Thank you so much for a delicious and wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over all good, we were there for a late ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Over all good, we were there for a late evening dinner service, we just got the feeling that the server just wanted to go home.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have eaten at the Fireside a number o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We have eaten at the Fireside a number of times. It is the main place we go when we are entertaining out of town guests. The food is always gourmet quality, the service is personal, the atmosphere is conducive to conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful again! This was our second tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful again! This was our second time to the Fireside...just out for a date night, and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Notable decline in a once elegant experi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Notable decline in a once elegant experience. Now the staff loudly discusses business operations at the bar, disturbing the dining experience of patrons in the primary dining room, as if there were no guests present. At these prices, this is a dealbreaker. Menu has been pared down to minimal offerings. Low quality beef was a disappointment, especially since I had praised the establishment to my guest, based on my past experiences. Unique status and unique location could be a stellar restaurant, with some attention to staff deportment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We have had a number of meals at the Fir ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We have had a number of meals at the Fireside. We live in Port Ludlow. It is a great place to take friends. Always outstanding food. Very fine service. The servers are always very friendly and accomodating. The best restaurant within many miles.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting, good view. Food was just " ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice setting, good view. Food was just "OK". I was expecting more based on the reviews I had seen in magazines. Server was good, but didn't stop by much. I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Interesting menu but the consistency is ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Interesting menu but the consistency is not good. We had breakfast there 3 times and it was always good flavor. However, the chorizo dish was supposed to have Yukon Golds in it but did not have them and the portions were supposed to be 3 eggs and was barely 1.5 on one morning. Dinners - the hamburgers were great as were the other main courses we had. The dish I had was a small plate of fruit and cheese. It was much overpriced for the amount of food. Overall, I was disappointed. Too bad because the restaurant is located in a very special spot and has good ambiance. Aim higher!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Consistently good food, nice menu option ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Consistently good food, nice menu options, excellent service and good wine list. Happy hour is a great bargain. Setting and ambiance lovely for outside summer dining or inside by the fire. A relaxed, comfortable feel. Highly recommend for special occasion or a casual get together with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are consistently g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food and service are consistently great - choice of dining outside or inside by the fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was very nice Med. Steak wasn't cook ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2016

All was very nice Med. Steak wasn't cooked to likeness was rare. We found the breakfast meal the much better food with delicious version of Eggs Benedict, Fritata & Biscuit gravy .

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience! Our wine, dinner, and dessert was delicious and our waitress was helpful and genuine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The eating experience would have been qu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The eating experience would have been quite different if we had eaten inside as the restaurant is a bit noisy, like most restaurants. The food was good. The salad was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The quality of the food and service at t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The quality of the food and service at this restaurant did not merit the pricetag for the meal. Our food was very good but not outstanding. The restaurant was not air-conditioned so we had to have a fan blowing on our table to be comfortable. Service was spotty and not very refined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Their reservation system is very custome ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Their reservation system is very customer unfriendly. We wanted an outside seat closest to the best view. They would not accommodate us even though there were three tables vacant and we were told they were being held for customers being seated an hour after us. So they set us up inside on a warm beautiful evening and 3 tables sat vacant in front of us (through the window) for a full hour and half!!

When we brought this to the restaurant managers attention he agreed their reservation system needed to be changed! In the end we were given a reduced amount for our dinner.

The food was okay but expensive for the quality delivered. The lettuce was limp and the salmon overcooked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

2015 lunch on the patio was exceptional, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 14, 2016

2015 lunch on the patio was exceptional, GREAT meal and service, so we returned with friends for Sunday brunch. This visit in 2016 for Sunday brunch was very disappointing: small portions although tasty, lukewarm food, NO JAM (for brunch??), and a waitress who called the ladies at our table "sweetie" - HATE that! Disappointed and likely will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Having just moved to Port Ludlow nine mo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Having just moved to Port Ludlow nine months ago, we had heard mixed reviews of the Fireside Restaurant. So we decided to try it ourselves for my wife's birthday. We chose to eat indoors, although the deck was inviting. The food and wine was exceptionally good. The service was excellent, the waiter was pleasant, efficient while not being intrusive. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We expected more. We met there with fri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We expected more. We met there with friends we had not seen in a while. We were looking forward to fine dining together in a lovely setting. The service was slow. We waited to order and then the entrees took much too long arrive. The plates were attractively presented. The halibut was dry and tough. So were the shrimp. The pork was fine. When the light from the setting sun shone directly onto one of us, the wait staff refused to adjust the blinds. We had to move our chairs to one side of our round table instead.

A pricey but disappointing meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We first dined at this restaurant last y ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We first dined at this restaurant last year and really enjoyed it. We were able to dine outside with our dog (so that she didn't have to remain on the boat) and both the food and service were outstanding. My husband even remarked that it was the best food he'd eaten at a restaurant marina - ever!

Fast forward to last Friday. We were eagerly awaiting our opportunity to return to this restaurant. Sadly we were disappointed with both our food and the slow (though friendly) service. I had the Kobe flank steak with truffle risotto. The steak was very difficult to cut (plus I was not given a steak knife which didn't help) and it was very chewy and difficult to eat. I cook enough to know that the steak was undercooked even though I asked for medium rare, and it was not cut properly for flank steak. It should have been cut at an angle which might have made it more tender. Everything on my plate was over-salted and my risotto was flavorless, dry and overcooked. My husband's flat iron steak was similar - difficult to cut, not very tender and overly salted.

I'm not sure if they are experimenting with new recipes or a new chef but we were very disappointed with the quality of our meal, especially considering the cost. Also, it took over 45 minutes to get our main dish and we did not order a salad or appetizer. After receiving our bill it took another 20+ minutes to get the payment processed.

Based on this experience we would not return to this restaurant again. I can grill better steak on the barbecue on my boat!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Beautiful views, quality food, poor serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful views, quality food, poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

As always, outstanding food, served in a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, outstanding food, served in a cozy environment, with attentive and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Views...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Love this place - great for tapas and drinks from 4-6! Great full dinner menu also in a waterside New England inspired resort. One of my favorites!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love This Place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2016

We have come to The Fireside on several special occasions. The food and service never disappoint and chef and staff always make extra effort to accommodate. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only game in town

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We ate here while staying at the Resort at Port Ludlow. Basically, unless you want to drive 10 miles for dinner it's your only choice.

The view is lovely and the general ambiance is very nice. The staff is very young and overly friendly- by that I mean they engage in banter that is better off in a lower end dining establishment. Thoroughly capable, I'm sure that with some training by management ( which was no where to be found), they would excel .

They have a superb if overpriced wine list, but if you want something good to drink you will not be disappointed.

The food is ok, pretty standard fare. Uninspired appetizers, no specials on the menu. The chicken and fish that we had was prepared in a pretty standard way. Vegetables were under cooked and spare, and my fish was overly salted. Kind of a shame for fresh Halibut.

Dessert was a generous portion of Creme Brulee, but like most other restaurants, served ice cold with a warmed up top.

Basically, I would not spend $200 + for 2 people to eat here again. It's not that it's bad, it's just nothing special. They don't have to be, and I guess they know that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Easter Brunch

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoys a buffet brunch occasionally on special occasions because each person has such a different set of culinary requirements. The Fireside satisfied all the requirements and had delightful, friendly service. We will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view restaurant

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 20, 2016

We were staying at Port Ludlow Marina in our boat and had dinner there. The food was wonderful and the service was great. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish it lived up to the resort

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We've stayed at the inn 5 times and always have high hopes for the restaraunt. Menu is boring and little variety. Prices are what really shocks me. $15 for starter soup is a joke. Very poor service last time at dinner (although breakfast was great ) I got something that was disappointing -waitress argued with me and offered to take it off the bill but never did.

It's just too bad because it's the only place to eat for miles

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Lovely anniversary dinner

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2016

We were at Fireside for our anniversary dinner. The food & service were fantastic. This restaurant always delivers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great St. Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to the Fireside Restaurant to celebrate St. Valentine's Day. The dinner was a set 8-course menu with an option for a complementary wine pairing. The food was excellent, including some items that I probably would not have selected on my own. Kudos to the chef. The presentation of the food was attractive and our server did a great job of moving the dinner along at a comfortable pace. The dinner was pricey compared to other options in the area, but I think it was a good value for the experience.

The setting at Port Ludlow is picturesque, but we could not really enjoy it because February 14th was dark and wet - its the Pacific Northwest, after all. We are looking forward to returning some time to dine at the Fireside and enjoy the food and the view.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for Two

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2016

My husband and I had a date night recently and went to the Fireside Restaurant. It was quiet with live easy listening music playing. I had Jidori Chicken and my husband had the Salmon, both were excellent. The service was great and we really enjoyed an evening together away from the distractions of home. So nice....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Underwhelmed and disappointed.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was under seasoned, dry, and not very creative. The highlight of the meal was the 1/2 doz oysters and the ice cold martini we had to start things off. But the service was very slow, and they tried to rush our order, even though the restaurant was not very full. I was pretty disappointed as I expected a higher end dining experience. But it didn't even measure up to mediocre standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.