Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (82)
Romantic (78)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Notable Wine List (51)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Business Meals (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Cozy (24)
Authentic (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fun (13)
Seasonal (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

We use this as our "special spot" however, after our last visit we are in search of a new one. Dinner for 7, 1st course lovely, second course, lovely, dinners....mostly delicious. However, never have I seen such overcooked scallops, carmelized?? rubber. Scallop in"firehouse trio" exceptional. Scallops for dinner, catastrophe. My birthday, they bring me a "birthday unsolicited crème brulee and then charged me 9.50 for it. Service was excellent as always, overcooked meals and charges for unsolicited birthday dessert, bad. Dinner was over 500.00 about 600.00 with tip. If it had been excellent 5 stars would have been given.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our 21st Wedding Anniversary at the Firehouse. Wonderful food, great service, and a quiet atmosphere with old world charm. Pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful patio setting, staff was very attentive and professional and the food was delicious. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Firehouse has always been a great “traditional” restaurant with quality food and a variety of options. Their new chef has not lost a beat from the former chef.
My pork chop was cooked just right and my wife’s halibut ( the evening’s special) was moist and very tasty!
Wait staff was attentive without being over powering, and were very helpful with suggestions.
The wine list is extensive and varied.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We go once or twice a year. Very good experience. made reservations for Turkey Day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great customer service. Definitely will go back. The food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

My girlfriend anniversary. Service was attentive and food was excellent. I got the scallops and they were probably the best scallops I have ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A lovely evening spent in the courtyard patio. Can't wait to do it again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 50th anniversary and dining there was part of it.

Everything about our dining experience at the Firehouse was wonderful and added luster to our happy occasion.

We were warmly greeted, we were politely escorted to our table (reservation) where Cort (?) helped us to decide on an entre, which when served, was delicious.

The entire experience was fabulous and memorable - we could not have found a better place to have a celebratory meal on such a grand occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great place but too cold when i went, my date was freezing.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I left the following as a private note to the restaurant a week and a half ago but never heard back so I guess it is now a review. Bummer.

Our waiter was amazing. Unfortunately, we thought notating (TWICE) that we were celebrating a birthday would have warranted something from the restaurant. Perhaps we've grown accustomed to something we should not.

Sad to say but the food was not as good as our precious visit. Either it came out much too salty (the salmon tasted like sardines and the salted caramel was like a mouthful of salt) or bland (one cheese literally tasted of nothing and the artichoke potato soup tasted like Campbell's chicken noodle soup blended). Also, the palate cleanser was unpalatable (maybe that was the point?). The pork belly was lovely as was the starter bread and butter.

The reason we did not initially leave this as an official review is that we did not inform our server and had we done so, we are positive he would have done something but the kitchen's lack in skill is not his fault. He was an exceptional server. But after hearing nothing from the restaurant after a week and a half, it is now an official review.

We may go back for another birthday celebration so long as we heavily lower our overall expectations to ensure we have an enjoyable time (as we did the first time we went). Sorry for the less than stellar words. Wish we would have heard something from those in charge. Truly sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Flavors didn't go well on both Salads that were ordered. There is fresh ingredients but the flavors lack chemistry. Tequila Thyme is probably one of the worst drinks I've ever had it tasted like if I were to take a bite out of an orange without pealing, leaves a terrible bitter taste in the mouth. Besides that, the champagne ice cream is very original and served in the perfect amount to clean the pallet. The service and ambient are remarkable but sadly the food quality certainly does not match the buck.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very good for lunch. Exceptional service. Enjoyed the patio seating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fantastic meal, the only qualm was my date thought her meat was to tough to eat for Prime Beef, but the flavor was good. all in all a great experience, special thanks to Chris our waiter who was awesome!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Second year in a row that our anniversary (30-31) fell into a time and we could not get out of town. Both times we did the chef's 5 course dinner - this time we did the wine pairings. The waiter and his team were fantastic. All five courses were prepared so beautifully and were delicious. My foodie wife's only complaint was that the tomatoes were too chilled - I survived. I'd give them five stars, but I just never do that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Staff were very friendly an accommodating. We were seated at a table near the entrance in a high traffic area. Our request to be relocated was gracious and quick. Throughout the evening the manager stop by to assure that we were happy with everything about our experience. The scallops were just like they looked on the menu online, and we are hands-down the best I've ever eaten!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Cowboy steak overdone, a little tough, creme brulee and scallops heavenly. Salmon appetizer weird.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Even though I made a reservations months ahead of time we were not seated in the main dining area. As a result we were seated in a path of travel for patrons and employees.
Also your current menu does not have the reasonable priced dinner for two. Bad decision that
dinner for two drew many people to the Firehouse.
Howard Harris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We loved everything! My only disappointment was that I had the black cod which was terribly over cooked and quite dry. I should have sent it back. Everyone else had duck or meat and their meals were fabulous. The atmosphere was fantastic as were the wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food and service were excellent. We would return for more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was our first visit for lunch and boy, was it a special place! We live in Walnut Creek and whenever we are in the Sacramento area we try and eat at The Firehouse since it is so extraordinary. Lunch is served downstairs in the Courtyard, most of the diners were outside in the lovely tree shaded garden. It is pricey, but I think well worth it. The wine list is extensive and you cannot go wrong with anything you choose. We split a luncheon salad as a side dish, then the chicken pot pie and the pork chop. Both were tasty but I thought the meat was overdone, tho my husband loved the flavor of the pork chop and didn't find it too done. I was happy we saved room for dessert--ordered the frangipane cake with caramel sauce which was incredible! I would personally return just for dessert since there were at least three other desserts I would have liked to try. And an important comment, there was plenty of wait staff, which isn't always the case. Our waiter was very helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable, again this is getting rare these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The waiter was arrogant and rude. He was interested in the table next to us since they ordered a $400 bottle of wine ( he shared with us)

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We were seated promptly, beautiful rooms and bar with an authentic historic feel, food was good, somewhat limited selection, excellent service and cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great upscale place in the heart of old Sacramento.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I ordered a steak medium well and when I received it, it was well done. They brought me another one and it was medium rare. The third time they brought it, it was finally cooked right. In the meantime of me waiting for my steak they brought me a complimentary salad while I waited. At the end of the evening they were very apologetic and I received my meal on the house which by the way was very delicious once the cook got it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

My first experience with Firehouse was in 1971. It has retained an uncompromising excellence in service, quality of food and wine through my dinner this last Saturday.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was fantastic! The dining room so elegant, service was impeccable, all dishes prepared were stunning! It was really a great evening!! We will definitely make the trip back to the Firehouse soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I haven't been to The Firehouse in a good 12 years, but thankfully, it only seems to have improved in that time. I came with a friend of mine for my birthday, and it was the BEST way to celebrate my special day! Everything we had was unique without being blown out of proportion with too many gimmicks, and executed flawlessly. Even our pre-dinner cocktails were incredible. I really enjoy the new (to me) style of cuisine that Chef Jay Veregge has brought to this Sacramento institution. It's modern, fresh, and definitely Sacramento, but what makes it so delightful is that it's not trying too hard to be something it's not. My duckling entree, for example, was the epitome of Sacramento fresh and local, with its nod to tomato season displayed in the heirloom tomato "pot pies" that topped off the tenderloins of duckling breast. The fava beans that everything was nestled upon were deeply flavorful and reminiscent of a good cassoulet. It was gorgeous to look at, and even more exquisite to taste. I still wish I'd taken some leftovers home, just to prolong the deliciousness.

Service-wise, you couldn't ask for a better team. Our every need was anticipated and attended to, without the hovering that sometimes happens in some restaurants. It was a pleasure to have the servers and bussers we had that evening. Even the staff that clearly read how lost I was when trying to look for the ladies room were courteous and helpful. Sometimes, those little things are the ones that matter the most to restaurant patrons (especially me, as I'm a HUGE stickler for impeccable customer service!).

Thank you to the crew of The Firehouse for making my birthday dinner a truly special and memorable occasion!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The evening started well. We weren't rushed to order. The first course was very tasty and picturesque. The second course, the Caesar salad, left a great deal to be desired...stale croutons and large chunks of anchovies. Would not recommend. The entree, I had scallops, was fabulous. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his steak.
The dessert was a complimentary creme brulee.
Our server was condescending and vacant. We had to search for him and flag him down on at least 2 occasions.
For such an esteemed restaurant, our server/service was definitely lacking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The service was great, the food was excellent, nothing was left on our plates. Dining in the courtyard is a wonderful relaxing experience. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

My husband made dinner reservations for our 47th Anniversary. Very romantic n AWSOME dinner. Everyone treated us excellent!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 22, 2017

All as advertised and reviewed. A lovely evening in a lovely setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food at Firehouse never fails to amaze me. Creative, flavorful, interesting and always very well done. Fascinating menu choices and an outstanding wine list. Pricey, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Located in Old Town Sacramento, The Firehouse is an excellent fine dining experience. The menu was large enough to satisfy varied tastes and small enough to allow the chef to shine. We had the Halibut with crab & lobster risotto and duck breast. Both dishes were perfectly prepared and served hot. This was a great evening with fine food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Sacramento and service was amazing and fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Still a standard in quality fine dining. The service is wonderful and you can't beat it for pre-event dining at Golden 1 arena. They offer valet parking that you can walk to the center after dinner, experience your event, then stroll back to pick up your car - for $5.00! Have a beautiful meal in a wonderful setting with great and professional service and then not have to move your car or pay upwards of $20.00 in parking? Why dine anywhere else? The scallops are divine and they have a sommelier's choice on wine specials.....Frank Family Chardonnay for $50.00!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I was worried I'd be disappointed but the food was excellent and the service friendly, relaxed, and attentive. Flavor combinations of the dishes we're amazing, particularly the pork belly starter. Halibut with crab risotto was also excellent. Beautifulatmosphere was comfortable not too quiet where you feel awkward. Overall a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great service our waiter was real courteous and helpful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I had made my reservations through Open Table. We were 10 minutes late for our 7:15 PM reservations. They did not have any reservastions for us under Ginnie Mc Drew. I pulled it up on my cell phone to prove to them I had a reservation. So we had to sit at the bar until they could seat us. I have been to this restaurant many times and surprised they didn't remember me.
Anyway we finally got seated and had a lovely meal. Had my son and daughter-in-law with us
whom were from the Bay Area. Everytime I go to Ella's Restaurant they know who I am and always give me a very warm welcome. I was truly surprised with the Matrade`

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our dinner was a wonderful way to celebrate 33 years of marriage. The food, Jeremy's service, and the ambiance were wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.