Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for a Date (76)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
See All
Romantic (70)
Notable Wine List (61)
Historic (59)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Business Meals (39)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Fireplace (10)
Seasonal (9)
Scenic View (8)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined a day ago

Amazing. I had the special of halibut and it was the most incredible tasting meal. Definitely in my top ten ever. The accompanying apple, fennel and edible flowers were bursting with intense flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Bartenders, hostess, and waiter were great! Busboys splashed me with water twice. Seating seemed cramped, and it was a little TOO busy. First time here after living in Sac for 30 years. Food is not worth the amount they charge. Filet was not good. Appetizer Trio was ok. Would not recommend as there are better food options in Sac... lots of them.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food! Best stake I have had in a loog time

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual the best venue in Sacramento for Mothers Day Brunch. Outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice brunch. Will definitely return..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A Sacramento classic. When you want to have a memorable event this is the place. Brunch or lunch in the courtyard is special.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch was wonderful! Excellent food, fantastic atmosphere and wonderful service. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Still one of my favorite restaurants in Sacramento. My daughter and I come every year for Mother's Day Brunch and the food is delicious, the service impeccable and the ambiance well curated. Its a bit pricey for children outside of special occasions so she only joins me for Mother's Day. When the group is adults only the wine cellar is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Firehouse lives up to the hype. It is a slight throw-back with its somewhat formal ambiance, white table cloths and napkins. The service is excellent with no touch left undone. New flatware is never forgotten when used is cleared. Water glasses never go empty. Plates are cleared quickly, but never too quickly. Service is definitely leisurely, and although it is very busy, no one is rushed. Best of all, the food is really good. Ingredients definitely matter and the preparation matches. The combinations are interesting and well designed. Where else do you find Fiddle Heads? Yes, it is expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a pretty good experience here. The good was very good and my steak was cooked perfectly. We had one issue. I let the staff know that we had someone with Celiac at our table. The server was very knowledgeable and said they take allergies seriously. When I was given my dinner, there was a roasted tomato topped with what looking like panko bread crumbs. I asked and the server immediately apologized and took it back. Mistakes happen and I'm glad I noticed before eating or else it would have been a bad situation. The rest of the experience was good. Beautiful historic building and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Firehouse is as much a dinning institution as the Capitol Building is a political one. It serves the best meal in town on a regular and consistent basis and has done so for nearly six decades. The service is so good it is practically invisible. The food represents the finest dinning traditions updated to modern tastes and palates with locally-sourced ingredients. The wine cellar is so extensive, when I jokingly asked after 1921 Dom Perignon, the wine steward went to check. For a moment, I thought they really might have it (for those not in on the joke, the 1921 Dom is the very first year this storied champaign was issued. It is a great year and only about three drinkable bottles are known to exist). The oysters were so fresh I swear the kitchen put on a diving suit and dragged them out of the ocean for our dinner. The Steak Delmonico was better than what Delmonico's would have done. The lobster mac and cheese is the ideal meeting of lobster and comfort food.

This restaurant sets the standard for all a restaurant could be. I am a total grump and big complainer, but there is simply nothing to improve at the Firehouse. I started eating there when I was in high school in the 1970s and it has never failed to provide the perfect dinning experience in the forty years plus I've eaten there. If one is going to have only one meal in Sacramento, have it at the Firehouse.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Service and food was great! My only criticism comes in the restaurant's misleading customers: their online menu (here on OpenTable) is completly different than in the restaurant. The also advertise their happy hour but do not conspicuously state that you must seat at the bar in order to have access to Happy Hour options. This made the first impression disappointing - we nearly left as it seemed nothing was as it was advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A nice meal in a quiet, upscale atmosphere. Most menu options are a la cart, so it is quite pricey. The waiter helped choose a quite acceptable wine that was lower priced as compared to most wines on the list. All in all, a nice evening celebrating my son's birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Every dining experience is special at Firehouse. Exceptional from the wine list to the food and the service. I travel extensively and this is one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Great food. Wonderful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

As usual, a wonderful setting and overall experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Phenomenal wine cellar, the food is always great. The grand mariner souffle is a rare treat. There was a chef change a few months ago and some favorites are missing. A great restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great place to fine dine. Food was excellent. Best food my husband and I have ever had at a restraunt. Service was excellent! Would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 3, 2017

top of the line service, friendly staff, food was well prepared and good presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have eaten here before and have always loved it. But this visit was a little different. While the service and atmosphere was perfect the food was only very good instead of great. The steak that usually melts in your mouth was chewy and had little taste. We hope this was a glitch in their usual great ways. We can only hope so as we usually love this place

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Jason was great !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have eaten at Firehouse four years ago for a special gathering of friends and I wanted to go back to revisit the wonderful time we've had. I was not disappointed. In fact, I was more impressed with my second visit two days ago. Instead of eating at the patio, we sat in the main dining room where the ambience was beautiful and sophisticated. Our server, Kristy, was part of the exceptional dining experience we had. She was knowledgeable about the menu, engaged and attentive. Just the right touch of an experienced waitress made our evening a touch more special and memorable. The grand marnier shuffle was to die for and was worth ordering ahead of time. I have dined at many fine restaurants in the past but this one will be one of the most special ones that I now have to go back to again for a special occasion in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Second visit to the Firehouse but this time I was disappointed. It's a lovely room, good service although it seemed there were a few too many wait person overseeers in dark suits who were dressed more formally than the patrons.
We received a pathetically tiny amuse bouche of a smaller than postage size graham cracker with an even tinier topping and followed by a small ball of cucumber sorbet. Could really do without these little niceties.
The bread was ok, nothing special. They proudly announced that the Cesar salad was prepared minus anchovies - so not a real Cesar and who sees the pulverized tasty little fishes anyway!
The entrees were few and even though they covered all the bases of chicken, fish, pork, lamb and even venison - there was only one preparation of each and none seemed appealing enough to be an easy choice. In addition, the prices were jaw droppingly high as were the wine offerings.
In the future, I might give the Firehouse one more try, but for lunch and perhaps choose from the more varied and affordable appetizer list.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Unique piece of Sacramento history with great food ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic food and impeccable service. Extensive wine list as well. Always enjoy a good meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I went to the Firehouse on a dinner outing with my brother and his wife. We were not impressed. The service was very slow. It took us three hours to get through three courses. The food was "ok", but not what we expected. The tab was $400. Earlier in the week I went to the Mikuni restaurant in Elk Grove and had a great dinner for six people for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is the first " nice "restaurant my husband took us to almost 50 years ago! We go every year on our Anniversary .We just had our 48th Anniversary. We r so glad The Fireshouse is still going strong. Looking to celebrate our 50 th Anniversary there in a few years. The food, service , and ambiance are all still outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This was me and my husband's second time eating here. And just like the first it did not disappoint on any level. The wine selection & choice was perfection. I ordered the lamb which was cooked perfectly. My husband ordered the delmonico steak. We both let out a "yum" as we took our full bite. Service is impeccable. I would highly recommend for a date or business meal. This place definitely impresses us each visit, so much so that anytime we go back to Sacramento this will be our only spot for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This has become our new favorite special restaurant. I'd only been to the Firehouse before for lunch. The food was fabulous. Even the specialty cocktail (Eyes of Egypt) was unusual and a great flavor combination. We'll be bringing our friends here for their anniversary next month.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance; our overall favorite restaurant in the Sacramento area. A but pricey, but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Enjoyable lunch. Wife is currently on crutches so the valet parking was a real plus for $5! Every contact with the employees was outstanding and the food recommendations by the wait staff was perfect. Extensive and reasonably priced wine list. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is a special place in Sacramento! Old-school style service and ambiance, with modern cuisine. It's a fine dining experience with an especially inventive chef's tasting menu. Our server Sean was extremely attentive and knowledgeable about our food and wines, and took time to talk to us on a personal level. We will definitely be back many, many times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food, great service, excellent ambiance! I would dine at this restaurant every time I visit Old Sacramento.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lovely place! The food was very good but what really stood out was the service and the overall ambiance! The staff was outstanding and it really was a lovely dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Thank you to the staff for helping make anniversary celebration special. Everything was perfect. We loved the seafood and the asparagus salad. I recommend this restaurant, truly a Sacramento treasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Chris was an excellent waiter and suggested many gluten-free options for my friend. Sean was very helpful too, also Braiden was great with the bread. Loved this place.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was fabulous!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always enjoy the history. The staff and service is great for feeling pampered. The food has always been outstanding. Can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Firehouse lived up to its reputation!
Wonderful service, food, ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I made reservations for three of us (all out of state friends) and this was our second visit to the restaurant. This visit was just as great as the first and we were not disappointed. Great ambiance, great bar for pre-dinner drinks, great menu selections and great service. So, I guess it is all just great. One of the largest wine menus around and the prices are not outrageous. Our waiter, Howard, was awesome and made several sound recommendations for appetizers and entree choices. I would recommend that you also use the front door valet parking, it is very convenient and they give you a code for your phone and your car is ready within 3-minutes of requesting it to leave. We are already booked to return again in August

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.