HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

The Firehouse Restaurant

4.2
250 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (10)
  • Special Occasion (9)
  • Good for Birthdays (8)
The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(717) 234-6064
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 250 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It was Valentine's Day, we made reservations. They put us in the "VIP" section, a spare room at the complete opposite end of the building. The food was good, server did the best she could based on our location. Ambience? Give me a break? It was grandma's spare bedroom. We use to love it here, probably won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

We had our first date here around 5 years ago, but haven't been back. This weekend we came for dinner with family members. We found the menu to be outdated and overpriced. I ordered a portabella salad and added shrimp. The mushrooms were ice cold (I just assumed they would have been freshly grilled) and there were 5 small, unseasoned shrimp. The shrimp add on was $7. The salad itself was $12. I was just not impressed. Our family members enjoyed their meals, but they were nothing outstanding or unforgettable. We had chicken parm, crab cake sandwiches and fish and chips. We do not really plan to return.

Report
Helpful
JudyB (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Our Waitress was very helpful in that she knew the menu and could help us with making our choices so we all tried things we have never tried before! The food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
TammyH (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Loved it. This is a great restaurant. The stuff mushrooms are to die for.

Report
Helpful
Dontcook (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

We arrived 25 minutes early for our reservation, but were seated immediately.. Our waitress Morgan arrived at our table with a smile and turned out to be one of the best servers we have had eating in out in a while( and we eat out a lot) . Our drinks and food arrived perfectly timed. Our favorite here is the Phoenician Baked Trout, and she did a great job with the presentation at table. It was a great evening all around on such a cold night.
I would suggest the Bar carry Blackberry Brandy, and maybe try some of Morgan's Boilo. Lol

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

I had the Phoenician Baked Trout, which came with a frizzled spinach and I substituted grilled vegetables for the orzo and it was all outstanding. The presentation tableside was also very impressive. My husband had the Stoned Chicken and he said that it was also very good. Our server was also very attentive. We would definately do back again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

It was a great restaurant with great food. Reasonable price!

Report
Helpful
kats (Washington DC)
2.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

terrific menu. terrible execution. The only thing we ordered that we liked at a table of 4 was the fish and grits.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
2.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

My wife and I visited this establishment recently (jan 2018) and we were definitely met with an air of disappointment. The food wasn't bad by any sense of the means, just uninspired.

Our starter (cheese board) was good, though the crostinis were nearly tasteless and did nothing to add to the dish. An Olive tapenade was watery and poorly seasoned.

My meal (special) steak and crab cake with blue cheese mashed potatoes and veggies was the highlight. Steak and crab cake were exceptional. Mashed potatoes didn't seem to have the blue cheese at all and were overmashed/gummy.

My wife opted for a chicken cheesesteak sandwich. Her fries were not freshly prepared (room temp) and her sandwich appeared to have sat under the heat lamp a while. Flavors were great, but unfortunately the sandwich wasn't served at the proper time to keep it hot/warm.

I will say we both left full, as plenty of food was provided, but for around $90 with two beers perhaps a bit more quality in preparation of a few food items would be worth it.

Report
Helpful
Outandabout (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Out for New Years Eve with friends and family. We were there on the early side, so it wasn't too full when we arrived. Our service was very good, the waitress was friendly, the food came out quickly and she checked back with us often.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

This was our second New Years Eve at the Firehouse. I can’t be more satisfied with our experience. We had early dinner (5:00) reservations, were seated immediately, had great food and great service. Our waiter was on top of everything and came back multiple times to check on us! We certainly will be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

we have been here several times and never had a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Food & service were both exceptional!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
1.0  Dined on December 15, 2017

We read the reviews, figured we stop here for dinner. Appetizers were better than out meal. 1 out of 4 meals were eatable. Wife had Filet way over cooked and tasteless, Daughter had chicken that was suppose to be a glaze and it looked like ketchup poured over the chicken, I had a steak and it was way over cooked. Its a shame that you have to spend $ 200.00 for a bad meal. When this happens I know the waitress still expects a tip. I also noticed that the manager of the restaurant was treating her job like she was one of the boys, paying more attention to her drinks and finger food. I would have had a better meal at Long Horn Steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
DoesntGetOutMuch (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on December 8, 2017

Excellent experience. The food was great. We had the scallops the the baked trout. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17