The Firehouse Restaurant

4.4
274 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch
The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(717) 234-6064
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 274 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Service was poor. Waitress was very blah, had to wait on a glass of wine that she forgot while everyone else at the table had our drinks. Apps were fair, entrees were over cooked and the menu descriptions sounded better than the actual food was. The restaurant sounded like a fun place to eat since it was in a old firehouse, but once inside it felt like someone’s basement that had a firefighter theme.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The Phinecian Baked a Trout was great as usual, the steak was cooked to just the way hubby likes it done, very tender. Server was not the friendliest we ever had here. Mojito was mostly ice, need to work on those, they used to be a favorite, will stick with wine next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Diverse menu for its size. Food was good quality, but not exotic in any way. Portions were large, almost too large. Service was consistent (my drink never got empty) and friendly without being intrusive. Nice ambiance too, with the bar near the front door and table/restaurant style seating toward the back. I'd definitely go back if given the chance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Exceeded my expections in terms of food quality & ambiance. Fun firefighting collection, old victorian feeling walls & ceiling, gourmet inspired eats pefectly prepared. Small but cozy space.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We had a business luncheon with 8 people. The Firehouse was very accommodating. The service was quick and friendly and the food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was a great place. The employees were very good at what they do and know of the menu. Plenty of selection on the menu and the beer list is great. The food was extremely good. Steak was cooked to perfection. All the choices we ate were great. We went back there again and actually only restaurant we ate at while there

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We had the Prime Rib. It was slightly under cooked and chewy. No choice of sides, it came with b.potato and fresh veggies. Salad was extra. We went (had a reservation)on a Friday night, extremely busy. Been there, done that. Don't have to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food is always good, and service was good as well. I was disappointed in the noise level downstairs. This is the first time we were seated there and it was very noisy from 2 parties. When they left it became much nicer for conversation, but it's too expensive to not be able to enjoy through the meal. Recommend you put large parties and parties with kids all in same sections for the comfort of other patrons.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great location and ambience. Our server was fantastic - very accomodating. Our food was great. We all (including 2 kids (ages 11 and 13)) really enjoyed our meals and had plenty to take home for later.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Cool atmosphere. Good food for price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Large portions, great taste, varied and fun options, along with Fair pricing make this a great option. Love the historic building too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent food and great service. We love going to Firehouse for dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The cold smoked ribeye was excellent. Had a very unique flavor. Temperature was right on.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

I was entertaining government officials last week, and at the last minute, they decided they wanted a quick bite for dinner. The Firehouse was accommodating, ready for us, and seated us immediately. We chose to eat at the bar, and our group was expanded - which was no problem for the staff.
Drinks, appetizers, and sandwiches were the fare. The Firebread and JJ Duck Cakes were great as always - the roast, shredded duck breast with soy sauce, garlic and sweet chili are a favorite, and must try. The gumbo, as usual, didn't disappoint either.
We settled for sandwiches, including the Cubano, Blackened Chicken Cheesesteak and Grilled Cheese (off the menu, but available). All were well prepared, with choice of sides. The Cubano is huge - and usually half ends up going home with the diner.
It's worth a visit and a taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I have eaten at The Firehouse Restaurant several times so it was my first suggestion when my friends wanted to meet for dinner. The firebread is a must-have appetizer! I usually get the Firehouse Pasta because it is always delicious and it didn’t disappoint this time either. All of my friends cleared their plates and had a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food was very good but I explicitly requested "rare " prime rib. The meal was absolutely delicious but not rare. I'm not one to "send things back". The flavor was amazing but for those that appreciate rare, will understand the 'texture'.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We love the crab cakes and steak. Also enjoy the overall feel of the atmosphere, especially the booths. The waitstaff are friendly and really pay attention to our needs to have a nice dining experience. Daniel was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Nice evening of cocktails followed by a good meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Consistently good food. LOVE the black martinis (after many years away, LOVED to see these were kept on the menu and just as delicious as when we first tried many, many years ago).
Love the apps and salad options, in addition to the entrees. Can always find something no matter how hungry you are (or not).
Enjoy revisiting this place again after several years off.
Keep up the good work.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Good food. Reasonable craft beer list. Very interesting Decour and nice ambience, though it got somewhat noisy. Service was OK. Little expensive. Most likely will visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was delicious and service was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

I had been to the Firehouse before but only for drinks and a sandwich. This time for dinner, my girlfriend ordered the trout cooked in salt with frizzled spinach. The dish was amazing, the presentation fun and the taste wonderful. I highly recommend the Firehouse. Get the trout!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This place has gone downhill. We had not been in years and were looking for a fun Friday night - unfortunately, we did not last even five minutes because the place smelled so bad- like a bathroom that needed some serious cleaning. Won’t be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Overall food was great. Service was slow for a night where the restaurant wasn't overly busy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was Valentine's Day, we made reservations. They put us in the "VIP" section, a spare room at the complete opposite end of the building. The food was good, server did the best she could based on our location. Ambience? Give me a break? It was grandma's spare bedroom. We use to love it here, probably won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We had our first date here around 5 years ago, but haven't been back. This weekend we came for dinner with family members. We found the menu to be outdated and overpriced. I ordered a portabella salad and added shrimp. The mushrooms were ice cold (I just assumed they would have been freshly grilled) and there were 5 small, unseasoned shrimp. The shrimp add on was $7. The salad itself was $12. I was just not impressed. Our family members enjoyed their meals, but they were nothing outstanding or unforgettable. We had chicken parm, crab cake sandwiches and fish and chips. We do not really plan to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Our Waitress was very helpful in that she knew the menu and could help us with making our choices so we all tried things we have never tried before! The food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Loved it. This is a great restaurant. The stuff mushrooms are to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We arrived 25 minutes early for our reservation, but were seated immediately.. Our waitress Morgan arrived at our table with a smile and turned out to be one of the best servers we have had eating in out in a while( and we eat out a lot) . Our drinks and food arrived perfectly timed. Our favorite here is the Phoenician Baked Trout, and she did a great job with the presentation at table. It was a great evening all around on such a cold night.
I would suggest the Bar carry Blackberry Brandy, and maybe try some of Morgan's Boilo. Lol

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

I had the Phoenician Baked Trout, which came with a frizzled spinach and I substituted grilled vegetables for the orzo and it was all outstanding. The presentation tableside was also very impressive. My husband had the Stoned Chicken and he said that it was also very good. Our server was also very attentive. We would definately do back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

It was a great restaurant with great food. Reasonable price!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 12, 2018

terrific menu. terrible execution. The only thing we ordered that we liked at a table of 4 was the fish and grits.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 6, 2018

My wife and I visited this establishment recently (jan 2018) and we were definitely met with an air of disappointment. The food wasn't bad by any sense of the means, just uninspired.

Our starter (cheese board) was good, though the crostinis were nearly tasteless and did nothing to add to the dish. An Olive tapenade was watery and poorly seasoned.

My meal (special) steak and crab cake with blue cheese mashed potatoes and veggies was the highlight. Steak and crab cake were exceptional. Mashed potatoes didn't seem to have the blue cheese at all and were overmashed/gummy.

My wife opted for a chicken cheesesteak sandwich. Her fries were not freshly prepared (room temp) and her sandwich appeared to have sat under the heat lamp a while. Flavors were great, but unfortunately the sandwich wasn't served at the proper time to keep it hot/warm.

I will say we both left full, as plenty of food was provided, but for around $90 with two beers perhaps a bit more quality in preparation of a few food items would be worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Out for New Years Eve with friends and family. We were there on the early side, so it wasn't too full when we arrived. Our service was very good, the waitress was friendly, the food came out quickly and she checked back with us often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

This was our second New Years Eve at the Firehouse. I can’t be more satisfied with our experience. We had early dinner (5:00) reservations, were seated immediately, had great food and great service. Our waiter was on top of everything and came back multiple times to check on us! We certainly will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

we have been here several times and never had a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Food & service were both exceptional!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We read the reviews, figured we stop here for dinner. Appetizers were better than out meal. 1 out of 4 meals were eatable. Wife had Filet way over cooked and tasteless, Daughter had chicken that was suppose to be a glaze and it looked like ketchup poured over the chicken, I had a steak and it was way over cooked. Its a shame that you have to spend $ 200.00 for a bad meal. When this happens I know the waitress still expects a tip. I also noticed that the manager of the restaurant was treating her job like she was one of the boys, paying more attention to her drinks and finger food. I would have had a better meal at Long Horn Steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Excellent experience. The food was great. We had the scallops the the baked trout. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

I made reservations for a Saturday night date. We drove around looking for parking. Found a spot marked for Firehouse. We arent familiar w Harrisburg so it took a while in the dark. Walked in, was pretty empty. Seated right away. Secluded booth was nice for date night. We were greeted right away by our waiter. He was very pleasant. Ordered food was served within 15 min. It was good, but nothing I would rave about. It was probably a comparable price for a downtown Harrisburg location. We would go back, but it wouldnt be marked as a "must go again"

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7