About The Firehouse Restaurant

606 North 2nd Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
View Larger Map

The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 234-6064

Website:
http://www.thefirehouserestaurant.com/

Catering:
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.

Private Party Facilities:
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Hershey / Harrisburg
Best Restaurants in Harrisburg ›

neighborhood gem (29)
special occasion (27)
good for groups (21)
See All
romantic (17)
fit for foodies (17)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (3)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

2nd time here and was very disappointed. ...

Dined 6 days ago

2nd time here and was very disappointed. Waited 1 1/2 hours from the time we sat down until our dinner was served. Although tasty the food was tepid at best. Wait staff did their best but there is no excuse for the long wait and then cold food when it did come.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great decor and food

Dined on May 19, 2016

At first glance it looked small but the place was larger than it looked. Relaxed atmosphere and the place was absolutely packed by the time we left. The decor looked like it was from back in the early 1900's (unique and beautiful) and the food was outstanding. Choices from simple to complex. A little on the high side for local prices but the food was very good. Felt like I was right in Manhattan in our little Harrisburg. Definitely worth a visit. Great impressive place to bring guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Not what it was

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Firehouse was a great place for celebrations in the past. I expected cost to increase, but food quality should at least maintain or get better than times past. It seems that the menu has shrunk. A candidate for a makeover show!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Harrisburg

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service, great food, everything was excellent. We visit Harrisburg a couple times a year and eat dinner here every visit. The food and service are truly exceptional, we are never disappointed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

eh...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food on this particular visit left a lot to be desired. The shrimp in the hook and ladder combo were down right cold. The ribs also were not warm. This was a considerable step down from other meals that we have had here. For the prices, I expect better quality. We probably will not return after this meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service is outstanding. The food is ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service is outstanding. The food is always superb.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Boring

Dined on April 28, 2016

The decor was interesting, but that is about the best thing I can say. The food was meh. Salad was straight out of a bag with some tomatoes uncut thrown on top. I could overlook the mediocre food if there was great service, but there definitely wasn't. The place has great reviews but I can't figure out why. Don't waste your time/money here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lunch in the Fire House

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

The Fire House is exactly that. A former city fire house, now converted to a bar and restaurant, with a menu laced with firehouse titles. The second floor puts you up under the reconstructed ceiling, which is charming. Our lunch server was quick and attentive - not obtrusive - and helped us get through a good meal in good time. The two of us had soups and sandwiches. A Tomato Bisque with a fully loaded grilled cheese, and the shrimp and andouille gumbo, followed by a Cuban sandwich. Both were excellent, and the Cuban was enough for two - we asked for a to-go box when we ordered it, and needed it. Great lunches, helpful service, and friendly bar servers. A good place for a business-like lunch with a bit of a flair.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Friendly service.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food. Friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Firehouse Restaurant in Harrisburg - Great Find

Dined on April 14, 2016

I was looking for a nice restaurant to take my son and fiancé near the Harrisburg bus station. My son came in from Penn State and we wanted to take him to a nice place for dinner before taking him home to Reading. Plenty of parking near the Firehouse. We parked on the street for free after 7pm. The décor is fun firehouse. Red and black tiles on the floor around the bar. Red walls. Fire truck models, fire truck pics on the walls, all sorts of fire memorabilia. Drinks were good. Food was delicious. Bar was at street level, eating area was several steps down behind the bar. The building is the second oldest firehouse still standing in PA.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Dining experience

Dined on April 13, 2016

This restaurant is overall a nice cozy fun place. However I ordered a pasta dish and requested no chicken. The dish came out with chicken so I returned it and it came back 60 seconds later. I said clearly the chicken was picked off to which the server insisted it had not. Knowing this was impossible in that time frame i kept this dish to not hold up my party. Of course there were still small pieces of chicken throughout the dish. Very unprofessional and dishonest

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to have a surprise baby sprinkle!!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Our waiter Joe was just all out amazing, he decorated , he help load our cars and carry out gifts . I will remember him and will be returning for when we all need a girls night out. Thank you Joe for all your help to make my best friends surprise special baby sprinkle fall in place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

Lacks in presentation

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Firehouse has a good number of items on the menu, presentation is lacking, food should be the center of attraction on the plate. The description are good but when delivered doesn't match

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Phenomenal Food!

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food at Firehouse is consistently phenomenal! The service and atmosphere is dependent on the night. They have premium prices for premium food. Everything on the menu is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 19, 2016

It is a gem of a restaurant! The trout was melt in ur mouth delicious and with the ozzo was a perfect touch. The salmon was perfectly done also! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent steak and ribs!

Dined on March 12, 2016

The Steak Frites au Poivre was so flavorful and delicious. Large portion and cooked to perfection! The baked potato and mixed vegetables were the perfect steak companion. This was a good value for the portion size!! The barbecue ribs flavored with Vermont maple syrup were also very, very good! Our waitress was personable and attentive without hovering. We sat upstairs were it was nice and quiet.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

Haven't been to the Firehouse for dinner ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Haven't been to the Firehouse for dinner in a long time. It use to be " the place" to go. Sadly it just wasn't the same. The food was so so and the ambiance just wasn't anything to bring me back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vibrant and fun place for dinner!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Love the old firehouse building and decor! Be sure to make a reservation because this place is really popular! We enjoyed an "all-appetizer" dinner that was just delicious. We had the calamari marinara, the jumbo chicken wings, and the lobster stuffed mushrooms - plenty of food for a light dinner for two. The staff was great and the service was spot on.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go!

Dined on February 27, 2016

If you haven't had the opportunity to try it, head over. The environment is amazing, The servers are great, and the food is delicious. Expect $100 at least for the meal if you order appetizers and entrees with dessert and drinks. Value was well worth it though. Highly recommended. We had the prime rib and salmon. Creme brûlée and meat and cheese board. Portions are big.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

No thanks..

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was way over priced and wasn't even great. The service was absolutely awful. It took over 2 1/2 hours from the time we got there till the time we left. We had a party of five (2 couples and a single) so obviously we had 3 separate checks but since we were a party of 5 they still added on an automatic 20% tip for each of our bills. The waitress also didn't want to honor the "birthday deal" where you get a meal up to $20 free with the purchase of another entree. (There is like 3 entrees that are less then $20) We had to pull up the website on our phones and prove to her what the website said. We won't be going back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in unique environment

Dined on February 14, 2016

My first time trying this restaurant, loved the converted atmosphere from old firehouse. The food was great, service exemplary. The staff was happy to adapt food choices to my taste., substituting potatoes with my steak meal. Two things, parking an issue, need to park and nearest lot is a few blocks away( important to know ), also, my husband ordered steak medium, but it was a bit more rare then he would have liked( need to be specific with what you want). This is definitely a " Do Again" for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Usually great

Dined on February 14, 2016

We've been to The Firehouse numerous times. It has been a go to for birthdays, anniversaries, and Valentine's Day celebrations. However, this time I did not like the special V- Day menu, and my Prime Rib, supposedly, as stated, "The Best in Harrisburg" was very tough. Also, usually attentive wait staff, seemed to be occupied with other things, or maybe he had too many tables. All in all, disappointed. The highlight was the tangerine IPA on draft.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and Service

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was awesome. Like my tastebuds went to heaven. Great drink selection. Service was outstanding. Very nice atmosphere, especially for date or special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for lunch on a "holiday" weekend. F ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for lunch on a "holiday" weekend. Food was good service was good. Decor is a little dated but we didn't mind.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire House is on fire

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great place on ever count and from start to finish!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Energetic restaurant

Dined on February 6, 2016

Love the Firehouse! Great appetizers, salads, and entrees. Good beer selection and cocktails. Attentive and friendly staff. Service is fast and good is delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server Mike was excellent. Very at ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our server Mike was excellent. Very attentive and an excellent personality to match. We'll done!

food4
ambience5
service5

The gumbo was incredible. The service wa ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

The gumbo was incredible. The service was good and very personable.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Improvement

Dined on January 30, 2016

Wait staff was friendly and was helpful in getting a soup sample for friend who was hesitating as well as keeping the coffee mug full and warm. Soup sample as well as the soup order was badly warm and we should have returned it. The lunch meals were just fair. Maybe we made the wrong choices.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

GREAT PLACE!

Dined on January 29, 2016

WORTH A VISIT! This place has excellent food, great service, and options for every taste bud! The only slight downside is that you dine so close to a noisy bar and when people were coming in and out you can feel the cold draft, even in the seating area. Dress warm, focus on your date and ignore the bar, the food is worth it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite

Dined on January 3, 2016

My boyfriend and i dine here fairly regularly on date night. I've never had issues with food, service or getting a table. I've also been here with a bigger group with young kids and the atmosphere works well for either size of a party, large or small. Any servers I've had at firehouse have all been friendly and personable. I always get the same dessert- a lemon blueberry cake and its exceptional!! Firehouse is always a contender when i go out to eat because its a roomy and comfortable restaurant, where i know I'll be full and happy when i leave.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Haven't been here in years, but was exci ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Haven't been here in years, but was excited to have NYE dinner with friends there this year. My BF is a FF, so I was excited for him to see the decor. We were seated on the 3rd floor, so he missed a lot of the "firehouse" memorabilia. We all were disappointed by the service and food. Very expensive and just not the same as it was in years past.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food!

Dined on December 31, 2015

My friends and I went to The Firehouse Restaurant for dinner on NYE and we all had a great time. The food was absolutely delicious (I had the trout and was blown away by how good the meal was). We were on a bit of a time crunch, but our server was very accommodating and we were able to get in and out as we had planned. Great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5

New Years Eve. Seated promptly. One item ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

New Years Eve. Seated promptly. One item was too spicy and returned within issue and the new entree was brought outbid 4 minutes. Well done.

food2
ambience3
service3

overpriced

Dined on December 13, 2015

Instant mashed potatoes for $30 a plate,calamari was dry, drinks over priced $160 with tip should have went to davincis BYOB

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on November 14, 2015

A must try great good and great ambiance. Came highly recommended, the ride was worth it. Came from Manheim, Pa.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as it has been for the last decade ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Great as it has been for the last decade!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

Dined on November 6, 2015

My family and I went here based on the great reviews and kid-friendly atmosphere and menu. Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious! Highly recommend the baked trout!! The prices are fair too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot!

Dined on October 13, 2015

Great food, great atmosphere and awesome drinks. If you are looking for a great date night location then I would definitely choose the firehouse.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Dan

Dined on October 3, 2015

We had one of the funniest and friendly waiters. He was exceptional. Two of us ordered the firehouse pasta which was exceptional but it didn't even have any bread with it. When we asked our waiter he did bring us some but that should accompany that pasta dish. Our waiter made our first visit so much fun

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.