Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.

606 North 2nd Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 234-6064

Website:
http://www.thefirehouserestaurant.com/

Catering:
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.

Private Party Facilities:
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Historic (14)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
207 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and our server was very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was my first time at the Firehouse in five or six years. The decor is showing its age, but the food was very good and service excellent, much as I had remembered. I was with three other colleagues for a business trip. The menu has good variety - we all had some version of fish/seafood - the drinks are good and the wine and beer options very good. Everyone thought their dinner was excellent...no complaints about the food. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and well timed. I would definitely recommend for business meals or just a nice dinner when in Harrisburg.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food. Good size portions and overall great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loud is not lively, nor energetic nor fun and the Firehouse was loud. I reserved a downstairs table for 2 for a date night dinner. What we got was an upstairs table directly next to a party of 30 people, all of whom were talking louder than the person next to them. The ceiling literally is too low to accommodate that many people and expect it to be manageable. The food was marginal at best. We tried an item from each "Alarm" and there wasn't one course that I'd consider coming back for. Our booth had torn seats and the table surface was chipped. The décor and ambience of the entire place seemed run down. We eat downtown Harrisburg often enough to know that we probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic- extra busy because of the st Patrick's day parade but they didn't miss a beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Okay, we were heading to the Hershey Bears game and it was my daughter's birthday, she picked the Firehouse to eat at around 4:30 before the hockey game. I read the reviews and they seemed to be all over the place. The bad reviews seemed to reflect two things....noise level and service problems. We were there on March 18th along was a big "after" crowd from the St. Pat's parade watching the Basketball game on tv. The crowd was lively but didn't disturb us. There was no music on since the game was on on. Also, our waitress was fantastic. Everyone's meal was delicious and we were very happy with the overall experience. However, since we were there to meet friends and catch up...if the music would have been loud...I don't think it would have as pleasant as it was. I would have loved to hear or read about the history of the building as well.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

If I was a party-- type person this place would be fine. For me and our part of 4-- way too noisy; could not carry on a conversation w/o shouting. In addition-- I ordered a side of asparagus (extra charge)-- and all I got were the woody ends. And----$10.00 for a glass of wine! Really! I could buy a bottle! So-- will we go back? Not until next year sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I definitely stop in when in the area and well worth the travel. Fire Bread, J.J.s Duck Cakes and Phoenician Baked Trout are some of my favs...Have never found anything quite like these at any other restaurant. Unique yet plenty on the menu to choose from to suit all taste buds!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pulled duck cakes and lobster stuffed mushrooms were outstanding! Service was excellent. Add the ambience of the place, and everything about our visit made it a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Vday and they had a special menu for the night. Ordered an app but had no silverware. The appetizer plates still had food on them. My fiance ordered a cocktail and it tasted as if it was all pineapple juice. Fiance ordered the prime rib and it came out cold and we had to send back. I ordered the $39 steak meal and it was cooked properly (medium) but seasoning was mediocre, at best. Our server apologized endlessly, was no fault of his, but then had problems with our bill. Server removed the one cocktail (that was not drank) on the first check ($91) but then after returning my card for the signed bill it showed $99. Had to have manager fix the issue. This may be a great place to grab a burger in the afternoon but not for "fine dining" on a special occasion. It may have just been their promotional valentines day menu but nothing about the experience was worth a $100(ish) tab

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

service started out good , then down hill. waitress forgot to put our salad order in, no salad. meal came. queen cut prime rib i had to saw threw with a steak knife, my friend had a pasta chicken dish, she ate the pasta, but the chicken was tuff. they offered a free desert which we took home. had to get out of there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

WAYYYYYYY to expensive. Prices so high for Valentine's Day. $32 for 2 medium size crab cakes and fries? I don't think so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food and Andre was a great server as well. He was accommodating and patient when we were ordering. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The restaurant was ok. For the prices I expected a lot better food. Tried it once, wont be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I hope our waitress was new.

We stopped in during a road trip on the way home from dropping our daughter off at college in NC. I made the reservation online prior to arriving, and we were seating 15 minutes later, even though there were many open tables. When we were seated, we were upstairs in the very back corner.

My husband asked for a side of sauteed spinach. The full plate of spinach came out fried- charred and crispy. When we asked her to take it off the bill she responded by telling us that she told the kitchen to fry the spinach. I have no clue what chef would ever send out a dish looking like that- it was awful. Our steaks took forever, and they were over cooked. I asked for medium and he go medium rare. Thank god the Caesar salad was good, or I would have left there hungry and $100 poorer.

Overall this restaurant was a huge disappointment, especially after a long drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cannot comment enough about the flavor of the food. Excellent!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Each member in our family of four had a delicious entree. There were no complaints about the food or the service. Excellent!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Loved the Firehouse Restaurant! The Polynesian trout with the orzo and fried spinach leaves was outstanding! Went for a birthday dinner. My boyfriend had the filet and crabcake and said it was so tender and the crabcake was all meat. Our server was very attentive yet patient. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The lobster bisque was great. Can't wait to go back and have some more. The attention and assistance by our waiter was very friendly and much appreciated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I don't know how this restaurant is rated as one of the top restaurants in Harrisburg. The food is mediocre at best, and that's being overly generous.
My husband and I ordered salads with shrimp and salmon - lettuce tasted old - no flavor at all,
The only plus was the hostess and waitress were very attentive and friendly.
Disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall we had a great experience at the Firehouse Restaurant. We loved the atmosphere and the food was well prepared and fresh. I highly recommend it .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took my wife here for her 50th Birthday. We both got blackened salmon and it was great. The fish and chips was HUGE, but we all agreed it was a little lacking in the taste category. Not that the taste was in any way bad, it was acatualky good, gut we all just expected a little bit more taste. Fire bread was great and the service was excellent and very fast.

Restaurant was a little empty because of the holiday being on Monday, but still noise level was fine. Wife really enjoyed herself and was very thankful we chose the Firehoise place for her.

P.S. - I wish I could remember the servers name. Young black fellow and he was one of the best we ever had. Very enthusiastic and know how to take care of his customers. I had a chance to observe other servers at others tables and they were great too.

One sign of a good restaurant...? You can satisfy the "paying, service observant" adult customers along with the teenage picky eaters. Not an easy task but everyone at the Firehouse was able to get it accomplished. All around great experience for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for our first time on NYE. I looked at the menu in advance so I would have an idea what I wanted to eat. Since it was NYE they had a limited menu so I was not able to get what I wanted from the regular menu. That was a little disappointing. The food was good and definitely looked and tasted chef prepared. The prices for the meals should include a side or salad, though. They really should have more than one stall/toilet in the restroom.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was just okay, maybe it was just my order but it was nothing special and/or nothing I couldn't make at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

While my boyfriend and I enjoyed our dinner at the Firehouse on NYE, we did not feel that the cost of the food merited the food we were given. At $32, the crab cakes were tiny and only served with French fries. The frizzled spinach that I had was greasy and made me sick to my stomach. We had also seen inexpensive sandwiches and burgers on the menu, which were removed without explanation or notice on NYE, which was disappointing. Had we known dinner would be so expensive, we would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was mediocre at best not bad but nothing to get excited about. Service, I would rate a C. Overall experience I would say was not bad, at the same time nothing to right home about. With that being said, I will not be returning unless there are some culinary changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good place for a steak, overall food quality needs a little work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service was attentive and friendly.
Our waitress was Morgan and she made it a fun evening.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic food. Fun waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to the Firehouse Restaurant for a business lunch and as always had a good meal and great service. Both of us had the tomato bisque, and we each had a different sandwich from the menu. The Cuban is more than enough on its own and usually half goes home with me. This will continue to be a go-to place for business and working lunches, and for a quick after hours check-in.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Small portions, for the most part, it was kind of expensive but the food was good and the service was friendly. I might come back here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The hostess and waitstaff "Ed" were very attentive to our short time frame before the concert; drinks & food arrived timely and was delicious. Very accurate restaurant name, firehouse described the definite level of spicyness. Very reasonably priced.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Both the cold-smoked ribeye and Chicken Genovese were delicious, and the pork roulade special of the night was truly awesome. Our server was very attentive and helpful with several special requests and questions. We enjoyed the interesting atmosphere and history of the old firehouse building. All in all, a standout evening and we are very glad to have gone there for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Server was not very knowledgeable about the beer selections, and tap beer selections were slim.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great service but horrible food. I sent the food back and 2nd time and both dishes had no flavor. My second meal was spaghetti and meatballs which had no flavor and the meatballs were cold in the middle. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My husband and I had a guest in town for the evening and thought it would be nice to check out something new. The firehouse is an interesting setting, in an old firehouse and of course had a firehouse themed menu and decor. On a Monday evening it seemed quiet but the wait staff was attentive and friendly. Great beer menu, with several local brews. Large selection of food, everyone enjoyed their dinner choice. Cool bar seating as you come in though we sat in a cozy booth. A variety of people, a booth of young men hanging out, a young couple, a family of five that looked like they came in after a youth soccer game, an older couple, us older people 50's, 60's. We enjoyed our visit and definitely will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had business dinner at the Firehouse. Service was great and food was great. Reasturant has a cool look to it with its history

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service from our waitress. Food was good and as described on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Took our neighbors out for dinner as a thank you for helping us out the last couple of weeks. Our server was great. We all really enjoyed the bread. We each had a different entree and everybody enjoyed their meal. Get place to dine and even had some leftovers to take home.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent experience, great food and excellent service. Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.