Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.

606 North 2nd Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 234-6064

Website:
http://www.thefirehouserestaurant.com/

Catering:
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.

Private Party Facilities:
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience. The food was great. We had the scallops the the baked trout. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

I made reservations for a Saturday night date. We drove around looking for parking. Found a spot marked for Firehouse. We arent familiar w Harrisburg so it took a while in the dark. Walked in, was pretty empty. Seated right away. Secluded booth was nice for date night. We were greeted right away by our waiter. He was very pleasant. Ordered food was served within 15 min. It was good, but nothing I would rave about. It was probably a comparable price for a downtown Harrisburg location. We would go back, but it wouldnt be marked as a "must go again"

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great Food & EXCELLENT Service! Thank You Firehouse Restaurant Staff for making it an Enjoyable Evening for our gathering!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was just ok and the server wasn't the smartest man on the planet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We visited for lunch on a weekday. The ambiance is very cool with all of the fire house memorabilia. Our meal was delicious and the service was great. We will definitely be back for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

We made a reservation went in and were seated. This pictures online give the impression of a nice romantic place for dinner. We walked in and the football game was on which we didn’t have a problem with but we were seated and for 10 minutes no one came to wait on us or greet us. There were only three other tables on the ground floor with patrons.
Not our idea of a quiet romantic dinner menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

We have been here before and came back because the food,service and atmosphere were great we will be back again

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Went here with a group of 6 for a birthday dinner...great service and friendly staff, food was pretty good. It is a decent place for a good, but somewhat pricey dinner out - for a date or with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I picked this restaurant based on a local flavor coupon for the Harrisburg area. A friend of mine and I were looking for a place for dinner prior to a special event at the PA Farm Show Complex. We were pleasantly surprised! Cool restaurant/bar. Great food and service! Next time I'm in the area I will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Stopped here for dinner and found it to be a truly charming restaurant. Good portions and well prepared. Good value for the money.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Enjoyed the history and decor. Great variety of menu selections. Food quality and size of portions was excellant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

I’ve heard about this place from family and friends so long. I finally get a chance to check it out, with a date. The food was great, service was on point. They had to tell us it was closing we were so comfortable. I’ll be back once a week 👍🏾

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food is always perfectly prepared at the Firehouse. The somewhat limited menu has not been updated in a long time though. It would be nice if they added some new dishes. The portions are a little small. I go because every meal is absolutely delicious every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Bigger inside than I was expecting. Nice booth seating on the lower level. Seared scallops in sweet corn sauce was quite delicious. Server was courteous & friendly.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Awesome service, delicious prime rib, spectacular all around!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was very good. Waitress was GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We work in town, a few blocks away and have been dining at the Firehouse for many years. We have recently noticed, although the menu is somewhat the same, the food consistency in not as it was. The quality has declined . The 'originals' I have ordered many times as favorites: Back Draft and Bella Salad are not the delicious dishes I so enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I took my boyfriend on a surprise date for him. We got couples massages and then I took him to the Firehouse because he is a firefighter. I've never been to Harrisburg nor have I ever been to The Firehouse. It was great. Our server was awesome and he was making sure we were taken care of. The food on the other hand...the Firehouse Pasta was the worse. The pasta was very watered down and had no flavor to it. I should have ordered something else but I love pasta and it was something I won't ever order again. They need a new pasta or change that one completely but overall...i liked it very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Nice people and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good food. Very friendly staff. We were there with an elderly woman who doesn't get around well. There is no real handicap access but everyone was extremely helpful getting her to the table. We left through the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good lunch menu. Reasonably prompt service. Our server today was very good. I had the Southwest Salad with chicken. Generous and fresh. Only complaint is that the bowl, tho attractive, is not easy to eat from!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good food, good service but $10 for a glass of wine was a bit much.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was very good had the prime rib could have used some rolls or bread with meal never offered or suggested friend ordered the jumbo wings it was far from jumbo and they were split wing not a whole wing disapionted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Requested a booth didn't get it. When I called in to make reservation the lady whom name I won't use was not hospitable very rushed to get off phone , I was still talking and she hung up on me . We were seated at a table where the servers bumped into the table all the time because there wasn't room to walk through . Just not a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food is excellent; unfortunately, our visit to this restaurant got off to an odd start. This was our first visit to Harrisburg & we wanted to try a new restaurant. After reading the reviews on OpenTable in the morning, I booked a reservation for 3 people for evening an timeframe. There was lots of availability, so the booking process was stress free. When we arrived, we were seated in the upper level (very nice booth). Unfortunately, the A/C was on blast in that section (only 60F outside), so we asked to move across the aisle to another booth. The server was accommodating and moved us( she also volunteered to turn down the air conditioner. About 2 minutes later, she came back and said she would have to move us to another table because the one we were seated at was reserved. We agreed to move but were puzzled because we made a reservation too.
The table she moved us to was smaller and sandwiched between 2 other tables. This wasn't going to work as both my husband and son are more than 6 feet tall. We approached the manager about the situation and he repeated that the 2nd booth we had been reseated to was reserved and that there was a annual Fireman's Party about to get underway. His tone was brusque. I responded that we made a reservation via OpenTable and felt we were getting shuffled around. After a few minutes, the manager found another booth for us (lower level) and another great server... I believe his name was Jay. Evening was fine after that!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We go here every year and never disappointed! Love the "Fire"bread!

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding Gumbo

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time visitor. Very impressive. Awesome food, everything was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The noisy bar overpowers the otherwise comfortable dining area. The food and service are very good, but dinner conversation is difficult due to the noise level coming from the bar area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was my first time at the Firehouse in five or six years. The decor is showing its age, but the food was very good and service excellent, much as I had remembered. I was with three other colleagues for a business trip. The menu has good variety - we all had some version of fish/seafood - the drinks are good and the wine and beer options very good. Everyone thought their dinner was excellent...no complaints about the food. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and well timed. I would definitely recommend for business meals or just a nice dinner when in Harrisburg.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food. Good size portions and overall great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loud is not lively, nor energetic nor fun and the Firehouse was loud. I reserved a downstairs table for 2 for a date night dinner. What we got was an upstairs table directly next to a party of 30 people, all of whom were talking louder than the person next to them. The ceiling literally is too low to accommodate that many people and expect it to be manageable. The food was marginal at best. We tried an item from each "Alarm" and there wasn't one course that I'd consider coming back for. Our booth had torn seats and the table surface was chipped. The décor and ambience of the entire place seemed run down. We eat downtown Harrisburg often enough to know that we probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic- extra busy because of the st Patrick's day parade but they didn't miss a beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Okay, we were heading to the Hershey Bears game and it was my daughter's birthday, she picked the Firehouse to eat at around 4:30 before the hockey game. I read the reviews and they seemed to be all over the place. The bad reviews seemed to reflect two things....noise level and service problems. We were there on March 18th along was a big "after" crowd from the St. Pat's parade watching the Basketball game on tv. The crowd was lively but didn't disturb us. There was no music on since the game was on on. Also, our waitress was fantastic. Everyone's meal was delicious and we were very happy with the overall experience. However, since we were there to meet friends and catch up...if the music would have been loud...I don't think it would have as pleasant as it was. I would have loved to hear or read about the history of the building as well.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

If I was a party-- type person this place would be fine. For me and our part of 4-- way too noisy; could not carry on a conversation w/o shouting. In addition-- I ordered a side of asparagus (extra charge)-- and all I got were the woody ends. And----$10.00 for a glass of wine! Really! I could buy a bottle! So-- will we go back? Not until next year sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I definitely stop in when in the area and well worth the travel. Fire Bread, J.J.s Duck Cakes and Phoenician Baked Trout are some of my favs...Have never found anything quite like these at any other restaurant. Unique yet plenty on the menu to choose from to suit all taste buds!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pulled duck cakes and lobster stuffed mushrooms were outstanding! Service was excellent. Add the ambience of the place, and everything about our visit made it a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went on Vday and they had a special menu for the night. Ordered an app but had no silverware. The appetizer plates still had food on them. My fiance ordered a cocktail and it tasted as if it was all pineapple juice. Fiance ordered the prime rib and it came out cold and we had to send back. I ordered the $39 steak meal and it was cooked properly (medium) but seasoning was mediocre, at best. Our server apologized endlessly, was no fault of his, but then had problems with our bill. Server removed the one cocktail (that was not drank) on the first check ($91) but then after returning my card for the signed bill it showed $99. Had to have manager fix the issue. This may be a great place to grab a burger in the afternoon but not for "fine dining" on a special occasion. It may have just been their promotional valentines day menu but nothing about the experience was worth a $100(ish) tab

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

service started out good , then down hill. waitress forgot to put our salad order in, no salad. meal came. queen cut prime rib i had to saw threw with a steak knife, my friend had a pasta chicken dish, she ate the pasta, but the chicken was tuff. they offered a free desert which we took home. had to get out of there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.