About The Firehouse Restaurant

606 North 2nd Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
View Larger Map

The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 234-6064

Website:
http://www.thefirehouserestaurant.com/

Catering:
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.

Private Party Facilities:
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Historic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the Firehouse Restaurant! The Poly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the Firehouse Restaurant! The Polynesian trout with the orzo and fried spinach leaves was outstanding! Went for a birthday dinner. My boyfriend had the filet and crabcake and said it was so tender and the crabcake was all meat. Our server was very attentive yet patient. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lobster bisque was great. Can't wai ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The lobster bisque was great. Can't wait to go back and have some more. The attention and assistance by our waiter was very friendly and much appreciated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I don't know how this restaurant is rate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I don't know how this restaurant is rated as one of the top restaurants in Harrisburg. The food is mediocre at best, and that's being overly generous.

My husband and I ordered salads with shrimp and salmon - lettuce tasted old - no flavor at all,

The only plus was the hostess and waitress were very attentive and friendly.

Disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Overall we had a great experience at the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall we had a great experience at the Firehouse Restaurant. We loved the atmosphere and the food was well prepared and fresh. I highly recommend it .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my wife here for her 50th Birthday. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took my wife here for her 50th Birthday. We both got blackened salmon and it was great. The fish and chips was HUGE, but we all agreed it was a little lacking in the taste category. Not that the taste was in any way bad, it was acatualky good, gut we all just expected a little bit more taste. Fire bread was great and the service was excellent and very fast.

Restaurant was a little empty because of the holiday being on Monday, but still noise level was fine. Wife really enjoyed herself and was very thankful we chose the Firehoise place for her.

P.S. - I wish I could remember the servers name. Young black fellow and he was one of the best we ever had. Very enthusiastic and know how to take care of his customers. I had a chance to observe other servers at others tables and they were great too.

One sign of a good restaurant...? You can satisfy the "paying, service observant" adult customers along with the teenage picky eaters. Not an easy task but everyone at the Firehouse was able to get it accomplished. All around great experience for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for our first time on NYE. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for our first time on NYE. I looked at the menu in advance so I would have an idea what I wanted to eat. Since it was NYE they had a limited menu so I was not able to get what I wanted from the regular menu. That was a little disappointing. The food was good and definitely looked and tasted chef prepared. The prices for the meals should include a side or salad, though. They really should have more than one stall/toilet in the restroom.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was just okay, maybe it was jus ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was just okay, maybe it was just my order but it was nothing special and/or nothing I couldn't make at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

While my boyfriend and I enjoyed our din ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

While my boyfriend and I enjoyed our dinner at the Firehouse on NYE, we did not feel that the cost of the food merited the food we were given. At $32, the crab cakes were tiny and only served with French fries. The frizzled spinach that I had was greasy and made me sick to my stomach. We had also seen inexpensive sandwiches and burgers on the menu, which were removed without explanation or notice on NYE, which was disappointing. Had we known dinner would be so expensive, we would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was mediocre at best not bad bu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was mediocre at best not bad but nothing to get excited about. Service, I would rate a C. Overall experience I would say was not bad, at the same time nothing to right home about. With that being said, I will not be returning unless there are some culinary changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Good place for a steak, overall food qua ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good place for a steak, overall food quality needs a little work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The service was attentive and friendly. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service was attentive and friendly.

Our waitress was Morgan and she made it a fun evening.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Fun waitress!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic food. Fun waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to the Firehouse Restaurant for a b ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to the Firehouse Restaurant for a business lunch and as always had a good meal and great service. Both of us had the tomato bisque, and we each had a different sandwich from the menu. The Cuban is more than enough on its own and usually half goes home with me. This will continue to be a go-to place for business and working lunches, and for a quick after hours check-in.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small portions, for the most part, it wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Small portions, for the most part, it was kind of expensive but the food was good and the service was friendly. I might come back here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The hostess and waitstaff "Ed" were very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The hostess and waitstaff "Ed" were very attentive to our short time frame before the concert; drinks & food arrived timely and was delicious. Very accurate restaurant name, firehouse described the definite level of spicyness. Very reasonably priced.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, , Spicy, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. Both ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Both the cold-smoked ribeye and Chicken Genovese were delicious, and the pork roulade special of the night was truly awesome. Our server was very attentive and helpful with several special requests and questions. We enjoyed the interesting atmosphere and history of the old firehouse building. All in all, a standout evening and we are very glad to have gone there for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was not very knowledgeable about ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Server was not very knowledgeable about the beer selections, and tap beer selections were slim.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service but horrible food. I sent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great service but horrible food. I sent the food back and 2nd time and both dishes had no flavor. My second meal was spaghetti and meatballs which had no flavor and the meatballs were cold in the middle. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

My husband and I had a guest in town for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My husband and I had a guest in town for the evening and thought it would be nice to check out something new. The firehouse is an interesting setting, in an old firehouse and of course had a firehouse themed menu and decor. On a Monday evening it seemed quiet but the wait staff was attentive and friendly. Great beer menu, with several local brews. Large selection of food, everyone enjoyed their dinner choice. Cool bar seating as you come in though we sat in a cozy booth. A variety of people, a booth of young men hanging out, a young couple, a family of five that looked like they came in after a youth soccer game, an older couple, us older people 50's, 60's. We enjoyed our visit and definitely will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had business dinner at the Firehouse. Se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had business dinner at the Firehouse. Service was great and food was great. Reasturant has a cool look to it with its history

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from our waitress. Food w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service from our waitress. Food was good and as described on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Took our neighbors out for dinner as a t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Took our neighbors out for dinner as a thank you for helping us out the last couple of weeks. Our server was great. We all really enjoyed the bread. We each had a different entree and everybody enjoyed their meal. Get place to dine and even had some leftovers to take home.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent experience, great food and exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent experience, great food and excellent service. Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, had the crab, spinach an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent meal, had the crab, spinach and artichoke dip for starters followed by the hook and ladder (ribs with shrimp), they were fall of the bone delicious. The coleslaw that was served with it tasted home made and was a perfect side. Great atmosphere and the staff was very pleasant and helpful!!!!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived a little after 6 pm on Saturday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Arrived a little after 6 pm on Saturday evening, found a parking spot across the street, then noticed they were paid parking spots. Of course, you had to pay until 7 pm on Saturdays. With the tow truck literally half a block away, I began the arduous task of figuring out yet another government cash grabbing machine.

Finally entered the restaurant and headed over to the hostess who greeted me nicely. They escorted me upstairs to our booth as my partner had entered upon arrival knowing the government tax grabbing machine would take me a while to master.

Our very pleasant waitress came for our drink order and we ordered two Margarita's on the rocks. The menu listed the drink as El Jimador Tequila, Cointreau and sour mix. One taste of this told me the bartender must have measured the shot of tequila, put no Cointreau in it, and used the absolute cheapest, worst tasting Margarita Mix there is, Master of Mixes. I know a bad Margarita when I taste it, because it's the only drink I ever order. We're off to a bad start, and it didn't get any better as the food arrived. First out was the gumbo. It needed some salt, but was otherwise tasty. Next came the Caesar Salad, with frost on the bowl from where they just pulled it out of the cooler. I had asked about anchovies, but was told they were not available. Why do restaurants serve Caesar Salad and not have anchovies? They cost like $1 a can. Even Red Lobster doesn't have them available, and they're obviously a seafood restaurant. The salad was bland, and blah. The dressing was uninspired and rather tasteless. For my final offering of 25 steamed clams, I was presented with a large bowl with 27 clams that were overcooked, and bland. Now, steamed clams aren't the most flavorful dish, but when properly prepared, they do offer some interesting textures and subtle flavor. These clams were like little rubber balls.

The waitress took the two drinks we sent back off the bill and I left her 20%. Nothing was her fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

good food ,good wine , not too pricey . ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2016

good food ,good wine , not too pricey . Good waitress

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, not too bad of a restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Overall, not too bad of a restaurant. The decor is odd-lots and lots of red and black. The old fire equipment was interesting but not compelling. I had a Black Martini that was the best part of my meal. There were not a lot of vegetarian choices but the cheese plate was ok, the spinach salad pretty boring. The rest of my family enjoyed their drinks (margaritas) and meals (ribs, prime rib). Our server was pleasant and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

One of my favorite places to eat in Harr ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Harrisburg. When friend's, relative's or the kid's come up we always reserve one night at the Firehouse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is not just good food it is g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This place is not just good food it is good people. Everyone from the reception people the bar area and the table service are outstanding! All pleasant, friendly and have big smiles. You can tell they like working there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was so good that we went back the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner was so good that we went back the next night. The only problem was that the server was not that attentive. She had too many tables, I guess.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Disappointed in the food. I've gone to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointed in the food. I've gone to The Firehouse for years and the quality and taste was severely lacking. Probably won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The prime rib was to die for.... and the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2016

The prime rib was to die for.... and the fish and chips, which my friend had, was a magnanimous portion. Can't wait to go back and try other dishes. We had reservations and were immediately seated. The area was quiet and nostalgic with a setting reminiscent of the old firehouse that was at the location in the late 1900's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

At first the ambience seemed nice until ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2016

At first the ambience seemed nice until we notice all the food on the carpet. It looked like it hasn't been vaccumed in days. It was really dirty. The food was ok, but very pricey for the quality compared to other resteraunts within walking distance. I would not reccomend going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The server was very nice but our food wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The server was very nice but our food wasn't good. Probably just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It was OK. Nothing special, nothing bad. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2016

It was OK. Nothing special, nothing bad. I was just looking for a bite to eat. Nothing motivates me to rave about it. If I was in Harrisburg again, I wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Firehouse.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Centrally located in Harrisburg ... Grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Centrally located in Harrisburg ... Great service , lunch specials and very reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! The crab cakes were amaz ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful food! The crab cakes were amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Changed over the years

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2016

It had been about 2 years since the last time I was at the Firehouse and things have changed. It was dead on a Friday evening. The menu was smaller and not impressive. Our server was great and we were sitting in a very quiet area (as in, no one else was sitting on the entire floor expect out table), but the food was average. I'll go back but helpful for a better menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Had seven of us including three kids. Waitress was awesome and so incredible accommodating to our three tired (not listening) kids. Very cool and fun place with great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We met friends here for a Friday night dinner and was impressed. We had never been before and loved the atmosphere. The waitress and bartender were phenomenal, the good was outstanding, and the price was reasonable! Will definitely be back!! 👍🏻💯

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.