Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The Hope Station building, which is home to The Firehouse Restaurant, is the oldest standing firehouse in the city of Harrisburg and is the second oldest in Pennsylvania. Most of the architecture is the original design; those areas in need of repair were restored to their original splendor. Along with the brickwork, all of the original sashing, window muntins, mullions and doors were retained in the restoration.

606 North 2nd Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday- Saturday 11:30am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
State St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 234-6064

Website:
http://www.thefirehouserestaurant.com/

Catering:
The Firehouse restaurant can accommodate parties of 12 - 200 on the premises. There is no limit to events off-site. Catering packages and flexible menus are offered.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available. Public lot available after 6:00pm.

Private Party Facilities:
2nd Floor private room is terrific for groups up to 15.
This room is ideal for business meeting, seminars, business lunches and a host of other business and private functions.
Our 3rd floor private room can do 20 to 100 persons at any time. The room features a full bar at one end, a stage at the other end, plenty of seating restrooms and room for dancing.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Bigger inside than I was expecting. Nice booth seating on the lower level. Seared scallops in sweet corn sauce was quite delicious. Server was courteous & friendly.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Awesome service, delicious prime rib, spectacular all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was very good. Waitress was GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We work in town, a few blocks away and have been dining at the Firehouse for many years. We have recently noticed, although the menu is somewhat the same, the food consistency in not as it was. The quality has declined . The 'originals' I have ordered many times as favorites: Back Draft and Bella Salad are not the delicious dishes I so enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I took my boyfriend on a surprise date for him. We got couples massages and then I took him to the Firehouse because he is a firefighter. I've never been to Harrisburg nor have I ever been to The Firehouse. It was great. Our server was awesome and he was making sure we were taken care of. The food on the other hand...the Firehouse Pasta was the worse. The pasta was very watered down and had no flavor to it. I should have ordered something else but I love pasta and it was something I won't ever order again. They need a new pasta or change that one completely but overall...i liked it very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Nice people and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good food. Very friendly staff. We were there with an elderly woman who doesn't get around well. There is no real handicap access but everyone was extremely helpful getting her to the table. We left through the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good lunch menu. Reasonably prompt service. Our server today was very good. I had the Southwest Salad with chicken. Generous and fresh. Only complaint is that the bowl, tho attractive, is not easy to eat from!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good food, good service but $10 for a glass of wine was a bit much.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was very good had the prime rib could have used some rolls or bread with meal never offered or suggested friend ordered the jumbo wings it was far from jumbo and they were split wing not a whole wing disapionted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Requested a booth didn't get it. When I called in to make reservation the lady whom name I won't use was not hospitable very rushed to get off phone , I was still talking and she hung up on me . We were seated at a table where the servers bumped into the table all the time because there wasn't room to walk through . Just not a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food is excellent; unfortunately, our visit to this restaurant got off to an odd start. This was our first visit to Harrisburg & we wanted to try a new restaurant. After reading the reviews on OpenTable in the morning, I booked a reservation for 3 people for evening an timeframe. There was lots of availability, so the booking process was stress free. When we arrived, we were seated in the upper level (very nice booth). Unfortunately, the A/C was on blast in that section (only 60F outside), so we asked to move across the aisle to another booth. The server was accommodating and moved us( she also volunteered to turn down the air conditioner. About 2 minutes later, she came back and said she would have to move us to another table because the one we were seated at was reserved. We agreed to move but were puzzled because we made a reservation too.
The table she moved us to was smaller and sandwiched between 2 other tables. This wasn't going to work as both my husband and son are more than 6 feet tall. We approached the manager about the situation and he repeated that the 2nd booth we had been reseated to was reserved and that there was a annual Fireman's Party about to get underway. His tone was brusque. I responded that we made a reservation via OpenTable and felt we were getting shuffled around. After a few minutes, the manager found another booth for us (lower level) and another great server... I believe his name was Jay. Evening was fine after that!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We go here every year and never disappointed! Love the "Fire"bread!

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding Gumbo

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time visitor. Very impressive. Awesome food, everything was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The noisy bar overpowers the otherwise comfortable dining area. The food and service are very good, but dinner conversation is difficult due to the noise level coming from the bar area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was my first time at the Firehouse in five or six years. The decor is showing its age, but the food was very good and service excellent, much as I had remembered. I was with three other colleagues for a business trip. The menu has good variety - we all had some version of fish/seafood - the drinks are good and the wine and beer options very good. Everyone thought their dinner was excellent...no complaints about the food. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and well timed. I would definitely recommend for business meals or just a nice dinner when in Harrisburg.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food. Good size portions and overall great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loud is not lively, nor energetic nor fun and the Firehouse was loud. I reserved a downstairs table for 2 for a date night dinner. What we got was an upstairs table directly next to a party of 30 people, all of whom were talking louder than the person next to them. The ceiling literally is too low to accommodate that many people and expect it to be manageable. The food was marginal at best. We tried an item from each "Alarm" and there wasn't one course that I'd consider coming back for. Our booth had torn seats and the table surface was chipped. The décor and ambience of the entire place seemed run down. We eat downtown Harrisburg often enough to know that we probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic- extra busy because of the st Patrick's day parade but they didn't miss a beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Okay, we were heading to the Hershey Bears game and it was my daughter's birthday, she picked the Firehouse to eat at around 4:30 before the hockey game. I read the reviews and they seemed to be all over the place. The bad reviews seemed to reflect two things....noise level and service problems. We were there on March 18th along was a big "after" crowd from the St. Pat's parade watching the Basketball game on tv. The crowd was lively but didn't disturb us. There was no music on since the game was on on. Also, our waitress was fantastic. Everyone's meal was delicious and we were very happy with the overall experience. However, since we were there to meet friends and catch up...if the music would have been loud...I don't think it would have as pleasant as it was. I would have loved to hear or read about the history of the building as well.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

If I was a party-- type person this place would be fine. For me and our part of 4-- way too noisy; could not carry on a conversation w/o shouting. In addition-- I ordered a side of asparagus (extra charge)-- and all I got were the woody ends. And----$10.00 for a glass of wine! Really! I could buy a bottle! So-- will we go back? Not until next year sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I definitely stop in when in the area and well worth the travel. Fire Bread, J.J.s Duck Cakes and Phoenician Baked Trout are some of my favs...Have never found anything quite like these at any other restaurant. Unique yet plenty on the menu to choose from to suit all taste buds!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pulled duck cakes and lobster stuffed mushrooms were outstanding! Service was excellent. Add the ambience of the place, and everything about our visit made it a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went on Vday and they had a special menu for the night. Ordered an app but had no silverware. The appetizer plates still had food on them. My fiance ordered a cocktail and it tasted as if it was all pineapple juice. Fiance ordered the prime rib and it came out cold and we had to send back. I ordered the $39 steak meal and it was cooked properly (medium) but seasoning was mediocre, at best. Our server apologized endlessly, was no fault of his, but then had problems with our bill. Server removed the one cocktail (that was not drank) on the first check ($91) but then after returning my card for the signed bill it showed $99. Had to have manager fix the issue. This may be a great place to grab a burger in the afternoon but not for "fine dining" on a special occasion. It may have just been their promotional valentines day menu but nothing about the experience was worth a $100(ish) tab

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

service started out good , then down hill. waitress forgot to put our salad order in, no salad. meal came. queen cut prime rib i had to saw threw with a steak knife, my friend had a pasta chicken dish, she ate the pasta, but the chicken was tuff. they offered a free desert which we took home. had to get out of there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

WAYYYYYYY to expensive. Prices so high for Valentine's Day. $32 for 2 medium size crab cakes and fries? I don't think so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food and Andre was a great server as well. He was accommodating and patient when we were ordering. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The restaurant was ok. For the prices I expected a lot better food. Tried it once, wont be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I hope our waitress was new.

We stopped in during a road trip on the way home from dropping our daughter off at college in NC. I made the reservation online prior to arriving, and we were seating 15 minutes later, even though there were many open tables. When we were seated, we were upstairs in the very back corner.

My husband asked for a side of sauteed spinach. The full plate of spinach came out fried- charred and crispy. When we asked her to take it off the bill she responded by telling us that she told the kitchen to fry the spinach. I have no clue what chef would ever send out a dish looking like that- it was awful. Our steaks took forever, and they were over cooked. I asked for medium and he go medium rare. Thank god the Caesar salad was good, or I would have left there hungry and $100 poorer.

Overall this restaurant was a huge disappointment, especially after a long drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cannot comment enough about the flavor of the food. Excellent!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Each member in our family of four had a delicious entree. There were no complaints about the food or the service. Excellent!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Loved the Firehouse Restaurant! The Polynesian trout with the orzo and fried spinach leaves was outstanding! Went for a birthday dinner. My boyfriend had the filet and crabcake and said it was so tender and the crabcake was all meat. Our server was very attentive yet patient. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The lobster bisque was great. Can't wait to go back and have some more. The attention and assistance by our waiter was very friendly and much appreciated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I don't know how this restaurant is rated as one of the top restaurants in Harrisburg. The food is mediocre at best, and that's being overly generous.
My husband and I ordered salads with shrimp and salmon - lettuce tasted old - no flavor at all,
The only plus was the hostess and waitress were very attentive and friendly.
Disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall we had a great experience at the Firehouse Restaurant. We loved the atmosphere and the food was well prepared and fresh. I highly recommend it .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took my wife here for her 50th Birthday. We both got blackened salmon and it was great. The fish and chips was HUGE, but we all agreed it was a little lacking in the taste category. Not that the taste was in any way bad, it was acatualky good, gut we all just expected a little bit more taste. Fire bread was great and the service was excellent and very fast.

Restaurant was a little empty because of the holiday being on Monday, but still noise level was fine. Wife really enjoyed herself and was very thankful we chose the Firehoise place for her.

P.S. - I wish I could remember the servers name. Young black fellow and he was one of the best we ever had. Very enthusiastic and know how to take care of his customers. I had a chance to observe other servers at others tables and they were great too.

One sign of a good restaurant...? You can satisfy the "paying, service observant" adult customers along with the teenage picky eaters. Not an easy task but everyone at the Firehouse was able to get it accomplished. All around great experience for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here for our first time on NYE. I looked at the menu in advance so I would have an idea what I wanted to eat. Since it was NYE they had a limited menu so I was not able to get what I wanted from the regular menu. That was a little disappointing. The food was good and definitely looked and tasted chef prepared. The prices for the meals should include a side or salad, though. They really should have more than one stall/toilet in the restroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was just okay, maybe it was just my order but it was nothing special and/or nothing I couldn't make at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.