About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Restaurant Photos

12 Oysters on the Half Shell
Amuse Bouche
Creme Brulee
Hearts Of Romaine Caesar Salad
Pork Belly Sliders
Chicken Forestier
Delicata Squash Bisque
Black And White
Mixed Green Salad
Pork Porter
Winter Harvest Risotto
Lobster Tagliatelle
Lobster Bread Pudding
Oaxacan Pork Belly Appetizer
Black And White And Black
Pork Cheeks "Benedict"
Pork Cheek Benedict
Bread Basket
Lemon Drop
Champagne Persimmon Gaspacho
Ceja Savignon Blanc
Champagne And Persimmon Gazpacho
Duck
Is That Kimik Eating Oysters Again? I Think It Is!
Jordan Cabernet 1995
Chocolate Bombe
Chocolates
Mushroom And Leek Soup
Jim Beam & Water
White Chocolate Halloween Pumpkins
Strawberry Cheesecake
Miso Glazed Pork Belly
Pistachio Chicken
Porcini Sea Scallop
Créme Brûlée With Berry Compote
Steak Delmonico
Thai Pork Shank
Pb&C - Peanut Butter And Chocolate
Artichoke Tortellini
Rib Eye
Dungeness Crab Cake
Chèvre And Asparagus Bisque
Poached Shrimp Amuse Bouche
Filet Mignon
Smoked Tenderloin Carpaccio
carpaccio
The Firehouse Filet Mignon
#Oysterporn
Delmonico
The Sampler
Green Tomato And Cucumber Gaspacho Amuse Bouche
Blackberry Cabernet Sorbet
Chicken Fingers With Fruit & Waffle Fries
Blackberry Currant Pâtes De Fruits
Oysters
Vodka Martini
Frutti Di Mar
Cheeseburger With Fruit & Waffle Fries
Nouveau Louis
Manhattan
Tartufata Sea Scallops
Cassis Sorbet
Poached Salmon Amuse Bouche
grand marnier souffle
Artisanal Fruit & Cheese Plate
Palate Cleanser
Miyagi Oysters
Two Dozen $1 Oysters
gaspacho
Smoked Mozarella Caprese Amuse Bouche
Cucumber Lime Sorbet Intermezzo
Bone Marrow Panna Cotta
Rack of Lamb
Chicken Parisienne
Fruti De Mare
Gianduja Mousse Bombe
Butter Rose
Smirnoff Mar
Happy Birthday Creme Brulee
Beef Tataki
House Bread
Heirloom Tomato And Panchetta Amuse Bouche
1989 Dominus Estate Napa Valley Magnum
Happy Hour Manhattan
D3
Pork Tenderlion
Fried Burrata
Intermezzo Picante
Sancerre
B3 Dessert
1998 Domaine Drouhin "Laurène" Oregon Pinot Noir
Grilled Shrimp Bruschetta
Coffee-Crusted Lamb
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque
Chocolate Mocha Crunch
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne
Whiskey A-Peel
Heirloom Gazpacho Shooter
Duck Ravioli
Artichoke Tortell

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

The Firehouse restaurant will be serving a gourmet four-course Thanksgiving dinner sure to please every palate. Menu features traditional fall flavors with vegetarian and vegan options available. Young Patrons' menu available. Open 1:00-8:00 pm.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
5 More
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (133)
Romantic (103)
Fit for Foodies (71)
See All
Notable Wine List (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Historic (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Scenic View (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server asked the table next to us if ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server asked the table next to us if they were celebrating a special occasion, but he didn't ask us. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary. We had our left over food wrapped up and they only included the filet, not the veggies with it? I was disappointed, especially since we spent so much for our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

This was our first time at the restauran ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at the restaurant, all the reviews were great and we were not disappointed. The place is great for a romantic dinner, food was wonderful and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place to celebrate special occas ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

A great place to celebrate special occasions, date nights and for weddings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice atmosphere, excellent service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, excellent service, and the food was good. The entrees were bland. I expect more flavors and even some experimentation from very good restaurants. The meat was just cooked meat. Doubt I'll be back, but it was nice enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Its a little pricey but worth the $$$. W ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Its a little pricey but worth the $$$. We had the 1/2 rack of lamb and the lobster tail, which were both absolutely amazing, and my wife had the filet mignon, and we both had the lobster mac & cheese. Everything was cooked perfectly as ordered, and it was all so delicious. We have never had a bad experience with the Firehouse. So good!

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

as usual Firehouse was a Sacramento clas ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

as usual Firehouse was a Sacramento classic with good service and good food, though $$$, as expected.

Excellent choice for formal occasions.

one of the nicer restaurants in the downtown area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow. Excellent food.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wow. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Poor service from waiter. The table buse ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Poor service from waiter. The table busers were better .

They sat a noisy group of 8 next to my table of 2. We had to ask to be moved away from them.

The room is beautiful. The service level was so disappointing. I will not come back. It is too bad because we loved the extensive, high-end wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Fabulous overall. Can't find a restaura ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Fabulous overall. Can't find a restaurant in Sacramento with amazing, elegant decor. Everything else, the food, the wine, the service was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre food and service for the price. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Mediocre food and service for the price. I ordered a drink with food but had to remind the server to bring it out after the first course. The gimlet was super sweet but I liked the lemongrass flavor. Took me as a good idea executed poorly. Pork belly was underwhelming with a tasty but overpowering sauce. Gazpacho was a collection of items that did not seem to complement each other at all. Grainy gazpacho had grapes dropped in it, oils drizzled on top and some tough lobster. I liked the smoky flavor of the lobster but it was not worth the chewiness of it. Lamb was perfectly cooked but the crust was without flavor and the chimichurri was super salty and took away from the lamb and did not complement it in any way. The frisée looked good but also added nothing to the dish. The side dishes of creamed spinach and wild mushrooms were inedible in my (and my wife's ) opinion. I cannot fathom how those dishes were deemed appropriate to serve.

The service was very friendly although somewhat inattentive. We planned on having dessert but skipped it as we went 0 for 3 with the earlier dishes and decided to cut our losses. I liked the atmosphere and really wanted to like the food but it was disappointing at best. It seems whoever is cooking the meat knows how to cook lamb and a filet but everything else was just plain sloppy food, more akin to Applebee's than a fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

First time there in YEARS. I have to sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time there in YEARS. I have to say I was a bit disappointed, perhaps my expectations were too high? Wine selection is A+ though! Delightful chefs taster gifts and a wonderful palate cleanse with that amazing cucumber sorbet! The soup was disappointing, as was the caprese salad; very lackluster tomatoes. My steak was very good and perfectly prepared but my other guests were only so-so on the duck confit. The rack of lamb, the same; my husband said it barely made his top ten. Let me say, the food was good, but the price commands VERY good, so I felt the value was not there. We're the prices lower, my feedback would be different. The service was A+ also. We had a delightful time no matter the food quality! And what a beautiful historic room.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed Mario's 45th Anniversary Chef's ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Enjoyed Mario's 45th Anniversary Chef's Tasting Menu in celebration of our 45th wedding anniversary. Outstanding! Made for a great evening in Old Sac.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very busy for a Wednesday night b ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was very busy for a Wednesday night but we were seated at our reservation time.

The waiter did a good job of interpreting the menu and making suggestions for both the food and wine.

Service was timely and accurate. The food was delicious and plentiful.

The only bothersome point is that the tables are quite close together. The waiter at the table diagonally behind us would brush my husband's chair as he took the order, delivered the food, etc. Because of the number of people in the room and the high ceilings it was a little loud.

It IS a beautiful restaurant with good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been taking my girlfriend here fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I have been taking my girlfriend here for three years now to celebrate her birthday. It has become one of our favorite traditions and each year as the day approaches we start getting so excited for the delicious steaks and tomato bisque! Although this time around, the restaurant is now under a new chef and we weren't able to enjoy the tomato bisque, there were notable improvements. Our food came out much faster than our previous times and our steaks were cooked even better! We finally ordered the souffle and it was our first one ever. There will be a very high bar now for any other souffle we have that isn't the Firehouse souffle. It was simply delicious!

Everyone there was a lot more talkative as well. In the previous years taking her here not many of the hostess or waitresses/waiters spoke or said happy birthday except for maybe once. But this time everyone who met her wished her a happy birthday which surprised her. Our waiter, on our way out even apologized for not wishing her a happy birthday earlier! I wish I could remember his name but he was extremely impressive. We both work in customer service jobs so it was impressive how he handled himself even though it seemed like he had a big group in the bar to serve as well-I'm not too sure what the situation was but we could see him moving fast to get to us and his other tables and he answered all of our questions about the menu as well.

It was, as always, a great experience, but each year gets better than the last it seems. We simply love the Firehouse Restaurant and will continue to come. We enjoyed the first course so much we might end up visiting sooner just for that yummy pork belly!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional, the wine was d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was exceptional, the wine was delicious and we had amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the atmosphere along with fantas ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere along with fantastic food. Very nice place to enjoy the food and be able to have conversation with your group.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for our 47th wedding anniver ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great place for our 47th wedding anniversary. The tasting menu was very good, just the squab wast too rare for me. The service was flawless.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel like this restaurant is living of ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I feel like this restaurant is living off its past. Other steakhouses make better steaks and sides.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Business dinner, excellent food, excelle ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Business dinner, excellent food, excellent service. My foodie business associates were impressed. Even the vegetarian.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outdoor dining was very nice in the beau ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Outdoor dining was very nice in the beautiful courtyard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The initial presentation of the restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The initial presentation of the restaurant as you walk in the door is great and it continues as you walk past the well-stocked bar and into the heart of the main dining room. The wait staff is very professional appearing and the guys were wearing dark tux-like suits (very classy). Large, beautiful and 'old-appearing' paintings adorn the walls and are highlighted by the big hanging chandeliers and the dim lighting adds a little more ambiance to the place. It looks old, rich and beautiful. The service was most excellent and the food and wine menus were great. The drinks from the bar were large, well-made and reasonably priced. This place is on my list of places to go when in Old Town Sacramento again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant with great wine l ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with great wine list, service, and classic fine dining experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you. Service and Food was great. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Thank you. Service and Food was great. Five Stars. Outstanding Restaurant

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thefoodandservicewereunbelievablyoutstan ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Thefoodandservicewereunbelievablyoutstanding. Therewerecomplimentarydelicacies toprepareorcleansepalatebefore, afterandbetweencourses. Kudostoafinechefandtoaprofessionalwaitstaff. BestmealI'veryhadanywheresincethelasttimeIwentonaHollandAmericacruise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've always enjoyed the Firehouse for s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We've always enjoyed the Firehouse for special occasions. This year my husband & I were celebrating our mutual 8/8 birthdays with another couple visiting from the Bay area. Having enjoyed a matinee performance at Music Circus, we arrived before our 5 pm reservation. We were invited to sit at the bar while waiting; however being elderly, we weren't certain we could balance our rear-ends on the bar-stools! After a short discussion we were seated at our table. We were grateful. As usual our service was superb. Our waiters pleasant, helpful with suggestions, and attentive. My husband and I shared a delicious beef fillet cooked to perfection. Our friend's venison arrived at the table "lukewarm" and was returned to the kitchen. The plate was cold. It was served once again with slight improvement in temperature. It was rejected. The manager was called; listened to our guest's concern, and was professional in attempting to rectify the situation. We were surprised that even in a respected restaurant simple mistakes happen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent everything. Love it all. the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent everything. Love it all. the burger was perfect and my friends steak sandwich was great also.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and overall experi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Amazing food, service and overall experience!! Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the fish special, which was wild ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had the fish special, which was wild caught Coho salmon. It was nicely prepared, skin left on, very crispy, the fish was cooked just right. It came with a sauce, and mixed grilled vegetables. Everything would have been great, except it was very salty. I also had a whole leaf Caesar salad. The croutons had a nice texture but we're also very salty. The mise en bouche and cucumber sorbet were a nice touch. With 2 glasses of wine and tip the dinner was $90.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is one of my very favorite places f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is one of my very favorite places for lunch and dinner in Sacramento. It makes

any occasion special and special occasions

even more special. The food is consistently

outstanding and has been for the forty years

that I have been coming here. The menu changes with the times and seasons so it

is consistently outstanding. The staff are

very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, People Watching, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special reuniting with an ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was a special reuniting with an ex gf ~ it is just such a wonderful ambiance and the staff is so professional, knowledgeable and happy with what they are doing ~ we also had fun with an outstanding tasting menu based on Mario's 45th Anniversary at this venue ~~~ Not my first visit and it won't be my last ~~~ I would recommend it to anyone ~~

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Historic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had recently had Beef Bourguigon in Y ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had recently had Beef Bourguigon in Yountville and loved it, so when I saw it on the menu at the Firehouse I eagerly ordered it for lunch. I was deeply disappointed. First, it was spelled incorrectly on the menu (Bourgogne instead of Bourguigon). The meat was dry and stringy. There were no carrots or pearl onions, just a couple of plain potatoes, and the sauce/gravy was tasteless. And finally it was wayyy wayyy too salty. The cold tomato soup was delicious but I would not go back to the Firehouse again for lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Their courtyard is one of our favorite p ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Their courtyard is one of our favorite places to just sit and relax. The ambience is perfect for that special evening, and the food is exquisite. If you're looking for a place to celebrate a special event, give it a try… You won't be sorry you did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always impeccable service, unique dishes ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always impeccable service, unique dishes and food pairings, excellent menu choices. Overall a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences ever for my wife and I. The food, service and atmosphere was excellent. Can't wait to go back. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine list. Excellent ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and wine list. Excellent service from a knowing and caring and friendly staff. A very special dinner for a very special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Although we have been to Firehouse many ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Although we have been to Firehouse many times, this was our first time eating in the beautiful courtyard. It was very nice, beautiful flowers, fountain and a great ambiance. Once again the service was impeccable and the food mouth watering delicious!

Thank you for making our 35th wedding anniversary special!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to the Firehouse for our an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We have gone to the Firehouse for our anniversary for years and have enjoyed the lovely abiance, excellent food, and impeccable service. This was my birthday so my husband wanted to take me to a very special place. When we arrived we were seated in the courtyard, as it was a Monday night and the formal dining room is closed. We didn't know this at the time of booking, but found the outside very lovely. We both ordered the filet requesting that it be pink in the middle. My husband's was perfect and mine was brown and I returned it. The waiter said he was sorry, but a little indifferent in his mannerism. In a few minutes, the next level of sever came to reassure me that my steak would be out shortly. After aabout 10 minutes the second steak arrived and with only a slight pink tone to it. I didn't want to ask for a third try and ate the steak. It was tender and delicious, but not to my request. My husband mentioned it was my birthday and the waiter said, "Oh, happy birthday" matter of factly. In the past we have received a complimentary dessert for special occasions. Nothing. I felt I might have been offered something for the inconvenience of having to sit and watch my husband eat his dinner while I waited. But nothing. We just may have hit a waiter who was having a bad day, but it did leave a sour note with us. We will think twice before going back and paying $120 for just a filet and one side dish. No salad, no drinks. We wishyou better luck than we had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was fabulously prepared and pre ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was fabulously prepared and presented. You get free chef "treats" in between courses as well. Excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As compared to many other quality restau ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

As compared to many other quality restaurants we felt the menu was sparse, and over priced. The same comments apply to both the side dishes and the entrées.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We were celebrating our 50th Wedding Ann ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The Firehouse has always been our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. Although they were aware of this via the reservation, no one commented on it. The hostess did acknowledge our anniversary but I guess we thought 50 years warranted a special remark. Our dessert plates wished us a Happy Anniversary, but the server made an after thought congratulations as she walked away and still no one asked how many, etc. or made a comment. Initial service was delayed and not timely throughout the dinner. Not what we have come to expect from previous visits. The food, as always, was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.