About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet is $7 per vehicle. Street parking is available. Two city lots are located at either end of Second St. We validate for 2 hours at these lots. A parking garage is located one block over on L St.

Enjoy free valet when dining at lunch Monday-Friday. Check-in on Facebook, foursquare, Yelp or Twitter with your smartphone and receive free valet parking with check-in. Show phone to your server. Valid only with food purchase and during valet hours (11:30am-2:30pm and 4:45pm-9:00pm).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Restaurant Photos

12 Oysters on the Half Shell
Amuse Bouche
Creme Brulee
Hearts Of Romaine Caesar Salad
Pork Belly Sliders
Chicken Forestier
Delicata Squash Bisque
Black And White
Mixed Green Salad
Pork Porter
Winter Harvest Risotto
Lobster Bread Pudding
Lobster Tagliatelle
Black And White And Black
Pork Cheeks "Benedict"
Oaxacan Pork Belly Appetizer
Pork Cheek Benedict
Lemon Drop
Is That Kimik Eating Oysters Again? I Think It Is!
Bread Basket
Duck
Champagne Persimmon Gaspacho
Ceja Savignon Blanc
Champagne And Persimmon Gazpacho
Jordan Cabernet 1995
Chocolate Bombe
Chocolates
Mushroom And Leek Soup
Jim Beam & Water
White Chocolate Halloween Pumpkins
Filet Mignon
Miyagi Oysters
Miso Glazed Pork Belly
1998 Domaine Drouhin "Laurène" Oregon Pinot Noir
Nouveau Louis
Delmonico
Happy Birthday Creme Brulee
1989 Dominus Estate Napa Valley Magnum
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque
Grilled Shrimp Bruschetta
Heirloom Gazpacho Shooter
Strawberry Cheesecake
Pistachio Chicken
Porcini Sea Scallop
Créme Brûlée With Berry Compote
Steak Delmonico
Thai Pork Shank
Pb&C - Peanut Butter And Chocolate
Artichoke Tortellini
Rib Eye
Dungeness Crab Cake
Poached Shrimp Amuse Bouche
Chèvre And Asparagus Bisque
Smoked Tenderloin Carpaccio
carpaccio
The Firehouse Filet Mignon
#Oysterporn
The Sampler
Green Tomato And Cucumber Gaspacho Amuse Bouche
Blackberry Cabernet Sorbet
Chicken Fingers With Fruit & Waffle Fries
Blackberry Currant Pâtes De Fruits
Oysters
Frutti Di Mar
Vodka Martini
Cheeseburger With Fruit & Waffle Fries
Tartufata Sea Scallops
Manhattan
grand marnier souffle
Cassis Sorbet
Poached Salmon Amuse Bouche
Artisanal Fruit & Cheese Plate
Two Dozen $1 Oysters
Palate Cleanser
Smoked Mozarella Caprese Amuse Bouche
gaspacho
Cucumber Lime Sorbet Intermezzo
Bone Marrow Panna Cotta
Chicken Parisienne
Rack of Lamb
Fruti De Mare
Gianduja Mousse Bombe
Smirnoff Mar
Butter Rose
Beef Tataki
House Bread
Heirloom Tomato And Panchetta Amuse Bouche
Happy Hour Manhattan
Intermezzo Picante
Pork Tenderlion
Fried Burrata
D3
Sancerre
B3 Dessert
Coffee-Crusted Lamb
Chocolate Mocha Crunch
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne
Artichoke Tortell
Whiskey A-Peel
Duck Ravioli

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
8 More
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (159)
romantic (127)
notable wine list (79)
See All
fit for foodies (75)
great for outdoor dining (63)
great for lunch (40)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (36)
great for brunch (24)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (15)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There is a lovely shaded outdoor patio f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

There is a lovely shaded outdoor patio for lunch. Fish tacos were great.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm sorry to report that our dinner was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I'm sorry to report that our dinner was strictly mediocre. The menu is boring with way too much beef. The salads were subpar with barely detectable dressing and not nearly enough non- lettuce ingredients. We had a party of eight and everyone was disappointed with their entree. The chocolate pave dessert was fabulous and our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Having dined at the Firehouse several ti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Having dined at the Firehouse several times in the past, I found this experience to be lacking all the way around. Upon arriving at 915pm for dinner on a Friday night, I went to valet our car. The valet was rude and said "you know the restaurant closes in 30 minutes" trying to hint that she did not want to valet our vehicle. Next, I found the restaurant to be overly empty and staff seemed to be bothered that we had just arrived for dinner. Come on, its a Friday night and dinner here is not cheap. Not impressed with the staff whatsoever. Luckily the food was excellent and what I expected. Based upon my experience, I think it will be a long time before I visit again. There are plenty of other places which would welcome my money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Firehouse rarely disappoints and thi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Firehouse rarely disappoints and this trip wasn't a "disappointment", but it wasn't as fantastic as previous visits. For starters we were seated close to the host stand and bar area. It was noisy and busy. We were against the wall which was helpful, but I much prefer the back section of the room. We ordered the appetizer trio and were completely underwhelmed. We won't be ordering any of them again. However, the entrees were fantastic! Salmon for me and filet for my husband. They were cooked to perfection and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service, great food and never ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, great food and never had to ask for water or refill on drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent dining experience.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is wonderful here, and the serv ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is wonderful here, and the service is great too. They give you small treats in between courses, which is delightful. However, we were a party of 5 on a Saturday night at 7:45. They sat us at a table meant for 6 or 8, and it was a large round table and we could not hear each other across the table, so with the Sat. night buzz in the restaurant, we could not carry on a conversation that everyone in our party could hear. That was unfortunate. We told them we were celebrating a birthday, but we got no special treat for the birthday person. I recommend The Firehouse, but with these various caveats (go when the crowd will tend to be less, get a table that fits your party's size). You probably know this place is pricey, but one of the best restaurants in Sac.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oysters were small and very fishy tastin ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Oysters were small and very fishy tasting and way over priced! Service was good though, but everything else.... Over rated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

The valet parking was a plus and not exp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The valet parking was a plus and not expensive. We were seated on time in a very comfortable booth. The room is very ornate and interesting. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Good food and drink timing was excellent. Overall met expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the second time I came to this ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was the second time I came to this restaurant - the first was for a romantic evening - I was so impressed by the food and the service that I wanted to have my co-workers enjoy a special meal after all of the hard work they were doing on a special project. This place does not disappoint. The food is consistently amazing, the service is impeccable and the attentive staff really make you feel like your satisfaction is all they are focused on. Will be back every time I'm in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff are down to earth and respectable, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Staff are down to earth and respectable, we felt comfortable and well taken care of.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner on the courtyard at the Firehouse ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Dinner on the courtyard at the Firehouse in Old Sacramento is a long-standing tradition that remains unique in our fair city. Others (e.g., Mulvaney's) attempt to capture the same ambiance but no one comes close to the Firehouse's courtyard. Our dinner on this visit, as expected, was very good -- probably not outstanding. My rack of lamp was a little tough ("grass-fed"?) and it should be served with the rack/ribs sliced, as opposed to having to muscle through it with the steak knife to separate the ribs. My spouse's steak was good, again, not exceptional. Service WAS exceptionally good; side orders (creamed local corn and creamed spinach with bacon) were excellent. Our salads of romaine and citrus with croutons was light and tasty. The wine list is the best in Sacramento (and prices reflect it). This is a place for that special occasion, or, I suppose, if you are a better lover of their food then we are, a place to seek out more routinely. The dinner tab reflects the high class of the place, so don't be surprised at an easy $100 pp including a couple of glasses of good vino with your dinner. Top it up another $100 if you want a bottle of decent wine, or further indulge from mixed drinks from the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a lovely dinner on our first visi ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a lovely dinner on our first visit to this restaurant and city. Excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining evening . We started ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Outstanding dining evening . We started with an oyster appetizer which was delicious and delicate. The salads were ok. We both ordered filet mignon that were each prepared to our request but with different preparations both excellent. We shared a chocolate cake with a salted caramel sauce and ice cream delicious but couldn't finish. The service was impeccable . The courses were will paced never felt rushed. Excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 10 ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary, my husband and another guest ordered steak (med rare) and lobster. The steak was blood red and was sent back and still came back to rare to eat, his lobster was tough and stringie.

The service was the best that we have ever had. Besides the food we did enjoy it very much.

We will be back.

Thank you Donna L. Smith

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

We thought the wine was too expensive, $ ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We thought the wine was too expensive, $17 per glass! Yikes!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding as was the atmos ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was outstanding as was the atmosphere. The food was very good but a bit pricey. Other than that, no complaints. We had a very nice evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating b-day's and had a gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were celebrating b-day's and had a great time. The food was excellent and our server was great. Loved everything and will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Atmosphere was exce ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Atmosphere was excellent. I had a filet and was as good as I have ever had. Top notch and worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal coupled with an expansive win ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great meal coupled with an expansive wine list. Our service was great and our beverages were constantly full. The food was well prepared and delicious. Will definitely come back with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dining experience at The Fire House ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our dining experience at The Fire House Restaurant was a revelation. The attractive décor, the exceptionally attentive and professional service, and the incredibly creative (and delicious!) menu attractions all combined to make my date with my wife a fun and memorable time for us. She exclaimed that the filet mignon was the BEST she has ever had! Thank you so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been dining here for years and yo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I have been dining here for years and your new menu is NOT good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

We dined at The Firehouse Resturant for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We dined at The Firehouse Resturant for our anniversary and it was an amazing experience! Certainly delicious and magnificently plated, the meal and wine was dream-like. We've always seen dining experiences like this in movies, and it was everything we hoped for and more. The staff was friendly, patient, and knowledgeable about wine pairings, despite me asking novice questions. I highly recommend dining here for special occasions and an opportunity to dress-up!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The biggest problem for us was the food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The biggest problem for us was the food. The ambiance is great. My salad looked like spring greens from Costco with a light vinaigrette and a few sliced carrots. My filet was almost raw (ordered medium rare) and needed seasoning. I would not recommend this restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The Firehouse restaurant has excellent s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Firehouse restaurant has excellent service and good food. While the food was good, there are better values to be found at other restaurants. Very pricey, count on about $75 a person plus drinks.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way. Good was inc ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Good was incredible( service was perfect; and the setting was interesting, amusing, and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken had no flavor. The bread/biscui ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Chicken had no flavor. The bread/biscuit with chicken was old tasting. Gravy tasted like it was out of the can. Too many frills and lack of quality.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

My wife and I love the Firehouse and wou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My wife and I love the Firehouse and would find almost any reason we could to travel the distance to enjoy the hospitality and amazing food. We were sorely disappointed on our last visit. While we were seated immediately, they seemed to be at half staff. While we enjoy and savor each course, the length of time between each course was much too long. The chef and kitchen staff must be new as every item served was just not up to the standards we have come to enjoy. We can honestly say we can get the same or better at half the price without having to drive to the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful evening. The meal and service ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful evening. The meal and service were outstanding. The salads were fresh and tasty. The pork dish was tender and perfectly seasoned. We will be back as we had a very special evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I usually go out on Friday n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I usually go out on Friday nights to decompress but have frequently been unable to have a conversation over dinner due to loud music or feeling rushed to eat and get out of the restaurant. We were able to have a conversation and enjoyed each pothers company as well as the food and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is perfect when your looki ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The ambiance is perfect when your looking for that high end dinner experience. The bar is welcoming and the service was genuine and warming. Excellent drinks, food, wine and presentation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy a workday courtyard lunc ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I always enjoy a workday courtyard lunch; lunch at the Firehouse takes the edge off a workweek. New menu will take some getting used to and the new dessert just don't have the over-the-top flair of the old (and I miss the bombe terribly!!!), but still better than most anything else in Sacramento. The cool mist on the courtyard on a scorching Sacramento Summer day is a thing of beauty!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took two friends to dinner. One was ce ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I took two friends to dinner. One was celebrating a birthday.

As always, the service and quality of food was excellent. The birthday boy's Filet Mignon was slightly overcooked. It was whisked away and another perfectly cooked steak quickly took its place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite place to take out of towners! ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Favorite place to take out of towners! Great for lunch with friends. Great for dinner with your hubby or good friends. Great for a wedding or shower!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed could not eat in the courty ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Disappointed could not eat in the courtyard , it really didn't need to be closed, as the evening was not that hot outdoors

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The bartender, decor, and food were grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The bartender, decor, and food were great. The waiter was a hack. He made us wait a long time to order, interrupted us to chat, and didn't bring one of the items ordered. Poor at best especially for a meal that cost so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Party of seven. Very inconsistent qualit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Party of seven. Very inconsistent quality. While some were thrilled, two were overcooked, the pork being downright dry! Waitstaff was excellent! Cocktails were very good. The management type that interrupted as to ask how our meal was, should be replaced with a real manager. He looked very out of place, definitely not a hands on kind of person or just without any people skills. Most likely a family member that has to be placed somewhere that they can't cause problems. Not an asset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The dinner portions were so small that i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The dinner portions were so small that it was a rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The Firehouse always delivers on great s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Firehouse always delivers on great service and food. Highlights included the Mushroom appetizer (glad I added it at the last minute!), oysters, and the souffle! It was excellent. I had to split the beef slices with my son. I really wish they would allow splitting of the premium steak choices as we would have preferred that because an order for each of us is way too much!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff at the Firehouse took such goo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The staff at the Firehouse took such good care of us. Service was excellent. We had only one complaint. We wanted to split one of the larger meals, but the menu told us we could not split it - the 12 oz steak. Disappointing. The waiter said he would check with the chef to see if they could disregard the rule, but we declined his offer. The rule didn't make much sense to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.