About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet is $7 per vehicle. Street parking is available. Two city lots are located at either end of Second St. We validate for 2 hours at these lots. A parking garage is located one block over on L St.

Enjoy free valet when dining at lunch Monday-Friday. Check-in on Facebook, foursquare, Yelp or Twitter with your smartphone and receive free valet parking with check-in. Show phone to your server. Valid only with food purchase and during valet hours (11:30am-2:30pm and 4:45pm-9:00pm).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Restaurant Photos

12 Oysters on the Half Shell
Amuse Bouche
Creme Brulee
Hearts Of Romaine Caesar Salad
Pork Belly Sliders
Chicken Forestier
Delicata Squash Bisque
Black And White
Mixed Green Salad
Pork Porter
Winter Harvest Risotto
Lobster Bread Pudding
Lobster Tagliatelle
Black And White And Black
Pork Cheeks "Benedict"
Oaxacan Pork Belly Appetizer
Pork Cheek Benedict
Lemon Drop
Is That Kimik Eating Oysters Again? I Think It Is!
Bread Basket
Duck
Filet Mignon
Jordan Cabernet 1995
Champagne Persimmon Gaspacho
Ceja Savignon Blanc
Champagne And Persimmon Gazpacho
Miso Glazed Pork Belly
Chocolate Bombe
Chocolates
Mushroom And Leek Soup
Jim Beam & Water
White Chocolate Halloween Pumpkins
Miyagi Oysters
Nouveau Louis
Delmonico
1998 Domaine Drouhin "Laurène" Oregon Pinot Noir
Dungeness Crab Parfait
Happy Birthday Creme Brulee
1989 Dominus Estate Napa Valley Magnum
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque
Grilled Shrimp Bruschetta
Heirloom Gazpacho Shooter
Wagyu Bavette
Sweet Tart Charlotte
Veal Strip Loin
2010 Stag's Leap Wine Cellars S.L.V. Cabernet Sauvignon, Napa Valley
Strawberry Cheesecake
Pistachio Chicken
Porcini Sea Scallop
Créme Brûlée With Berry Compote
Steak Delmonico
Thai Pork Shank
Pb&C - Peanut Butter And Chocolate
Artichoke Tortellini
Rib Eye
Dungeness Crab Cake
Poached Shrimp Amuse Bouche
Chèvre And Asparagus Bisque
Smoked Tenderloin Carpaccio
carpaccio
The Firehouse Filet Mignon
#Oysterporn
The Sampler
Green Tomato And Cucumber Gaspacho Amuse Bouche
Blackberry Cabernet Sorbet
Chicken Fingers With Fruit & Waffle Fries
Blackberry Currant Pâtes De Fruits
Oysters
Frutti Di Mar
Vodka Martini
Cheeseburger With Fruit & Waffle Fries
Tartufata Sea Scallops
Manhattan
grand marnier souffle
Cassis Sorbet
Poached Salmon Amuse Bouche
Artisanal Fruit & Cheese Plate
Two Dozen $1 Oysters
Palate Cleanser
Smoked Mozarella Caprese Amuse Bouche
gaspacho
Cucumber Lime Sorbet Intermezzo
Bone Marrow Panna Cotta
Chicken Parisienne
Rack of Lamb
Fruti De Mare
Gianduja Mousse Bombe
Smirnoff Mar
Butter Rose
Beef Tataki
House Bread
Heirloom Tomato And Panchetta Amuse Bouche
Happy Hour Manhattan
Intermezzo Picante
Pork Tenderlion
Fried Burrata
D3
Sancerre
B3 Dessert
Coffee-Crusted Lamb

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
8 More
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (162)
romantic (138)
notable wine list (94)
See All
fit for foodies (74)
great for outdoor dining (69)
good for groups (43)
great for lunch (40)
neighborhood gem (39)
great for brunch (29)
hot spot (16)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. The meal and service ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful evening. The meal and service were outstanding. The salads were fresh and tasty. The pork dish was tender and perfectly seasoned. We will be back as we had a very special evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I usually go out on Friday n ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I usually go out on Friday nights to decompress but have frequently been unable to have a conversation over dinner due to loud music or feeling rushed to eat and get out of the restaurant. We were able to have a conversation and enjoyed each pothers company as well as the food and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is perfect when your looki ...

Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance is perfect when your looking for that high end dinner experience. The bar is welcoming and the service was genuine and warming. Excellent drinks, food, wine and presentation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy a workday courtyard lunc ...

Dined 5 days ago

I always enjoy a workday courtyard lunch; lunch at the Firehouse takes the edge off a workweek. New menu will take some getting used to and the new dessert just don't have the over-the-top flair of the old (and I miss the bombe terribly!!!), but still better than most anything else in Sacramento. The cool mist on the courtyard on a scorching Sacramento Summer day is a thing of beauty!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took two friends to dinner. One was ce ...

Dined 5 days ago

I took two friends to dinner. One was celebrating a birthday. As always, the service and quality of food was excellent. The birthday boy's Filet Mignon was slightly overcooked. It was whisked away and another perfectly cooked steak quickly took its place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite place to take out of towners! ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Favorite place to take out of towners! Great for lunch with friends. Great for dinner with your hubby or good friends. Great for a wedding or shower!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed could not eat in the courty ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Disappointed could not eat in the courtyard , it really didn't need to be closed, as the evening was not that hot outdoors

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

The bartender, decor, and food were grea ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The bartender, decor, and food were great. The waiter was a hack. He made us wait a long time to order, interrupted us to chat, and didn't bring one of the items ordered. Poor at best especially for a meal that cost so much!

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Party of seven. Very inconsistent qualit ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Party of seven. Very inconsistent quality. While some were thrilled, two were overcooked, the pork being downright dry! Waitstaff was excellent! Cocktails were very good. The management type that interrupted as to ask how our meal was, should be replaced with a real manager. He looked very out of place, definitely not a hands on kind of person or just without any people skills. Most likely a family member that has to be placed somewhere that they can't cause problems. Not an asset.

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The dinner portions were so small that i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The dinner portions were so small that it was a rip off.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Firehouse always delivers on great s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Firehouse always delivers on great service and food. Highlights included the Mushroom appetizer (glad I added it at the last minute!), oysters, and the souffle! It was excellent. I had to split the beef slices with my son. I really wish they would allow splitting of the premium steak choices as we would have preferred that because an order for each of us is way too much!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff at the Firehouse took such goo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The staff at the Firehouse took such good care of us. Service was excellent. We had only one complaint. We wanted to split one of the larger meals, but the menu told us we could not split it - the 12 oz steak. Disappointing. The waiter said he would check with the chef to see if they could disregard the rule, but we declined his offer. The rule didn't make much sense to us.

food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice place but food was somewhat bland, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place but food was somewhat bland, didn't taste all the favors. Ordered lamb med well and was red ordered steak medium rare and was like warm in middle. Didn't want to complain because waited an hour for main course to come. We had ordered our main dishes and about 24 more people came in right after that, all 24 people received their dinner plates before we received ours with no apology. Waiter very nice but didn't have control over his tables. Waited 20 minutes to receive check after we said we were done. Dinner for two took 2.5 hours and we had no dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful place to have lunch. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a wonderful place to have lunch. The courtyard is so charming. A real OldSacramento place, full of history.

food5
ambience5
service4

Setting is a great place with old world ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Setting is a great place with old world charm. Food ( filet mignon with decadent chocolate dessert) was excellent, the steak melts in your mouth. Definitely recommend, you won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire house is the go to for a date night ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Fire house is the go to for a date night! Great food, good customer service and sophisticated feel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The three of us were well attended. The ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The three of us were well attended. The food tasted great. Right amount on portions. Love the extra touch of palette cleansing sherbet!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 25th Anniversary and we c ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Celebrated our 25th Anniversary and we couldn't have made a better choice. The service was absolutely top shelf! The food was wonderful. Highly recommend for your special occasions or when you just want a really nice evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent decor and service plus great food

Dined on June 11, 2016

Charming classic settings with big tables, paintings and chandeliers. Impeccable service. And the food was excellent. Best of all, very reasonable price. Too add one more, the wine selection is super but mark up is pretty high.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Firehouse Favorite

Dined on June 11, 2016

We don't live in the area but take the opportunity every chance we get to Old Town Sac to enjoy the Firehouse. It is by far the best, most delicious, well staffed restaurant in California and beyond. Get yourself dressed up and prepare to enjoy an excellent dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We both had seafood. It all was cooked t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We both had seafood. It all was cooked to perfection and tasted great. I had Salmon and my date had the scallop special. We both were happy with our choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is better than advertised!

Dined on June 11, 2016

I hosted a dinner for three of my best friends from high school that I had not seen in close to 25 years The dining experience provided to us was flawless from appetizers to entrées. At one point we were even served by General Manager Mario Ortiz who was highly visible on the floor greeting guest. This place is destination dining!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed at lunch time

Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I have celebrated many special occasions over the past several years and decided to try lunch this time. I have to tell you that we were disappointed. The food was good, however, it was not excellent like it has over the many times we have had dinner. The service was okay, but not outstanding. We will stick with dinners in the future.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Special occassion restaurant

Dined on June 10, 2016

We came here for our son's college graduation. The restaurant is very elegant, attentive service and good food, extensive wine list. Expect to spend money. We had a party of 6. We ordered ala carte: a couple of appetizers to share, salads and main courses, and one desert to share and one bottle of wine. It was $360 before the tip.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice evening, I don't know what the ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Very nice evening, I don't know what the staff could have done to make it more enjoyable. Great food, great attention to us by the staff (not to much, not to little).

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner, outstanding service

Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious dinner, outstanding service

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Didn't live up to its reputation!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had made reservations for 6 on Memorial Day Weekend. The service was extremely slow although very courteous and attentive. For the price, the portions were small. I thought the menu was very limited in scope. I was very surprised that the seafood selections were so limited as shrimp was nowhere to be found on the menu. It was very pretentious and if you are only looking for ambiance in a restaurant, the Firehouse has it in spades. I was not impressed with the food.

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Much ado about nothing

Dined on May 29, 2016

Much ado about nothing. Multiple wait staff swirling around doing mostly nothing. Stingy by the glass wine pours fot$$$. First course carpaccio served, screaming for a carbohydrate side Had to request bread, which is usually served upon seating. Wine list is notable for its outragageous prices.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

I have done it, now moving on...

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was one of those experience where you build it up so much in your head that you are a little let down when you actually go there. Don't get me wrong, it was great food, fantastic service and great wine menu. It was pricey which was expected, but in the end, would I go back, probably not unless it is with a group already going.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was too salty. Overpriced. Server h ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was too salty. Overpriced. Server had no personality and overall seemed bothered to be there.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great eating outside this time of year.

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great eating outside this time of year.

food3
ambience5
service3

Disappointing this visit, not up to past ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Disappointing this visit, not up to past experiences.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was the perfect spot for my parents anni ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Was the perfect spot for my parents anniversary :)

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have you ever seen in movies where you g ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Have you ever seen in movies where you go to a classy restaurant and order an entre that just sounds amazing! And then it comes ...and all that's on the plate is a small piece of meat and 2 leaves? Yeah, the entres are very small, really good, but very small coupled with a high price.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great place to spend a special ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a great place to spend a special occasion at.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Sacramento.

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was my husband's birthday. I really wanted to spend the evening with him in an elegant setting, with lovely food and excellent service. (It was my gift to him.) And we got it there. My husband was happy and so am I. My husband said that we should dine here more often. Special thanks to chefs - the food was delicious! Pleasantly surprised with small "presents" from the restaurant - cucumber ice-cream (want to know the recipe), toast with smoked salmon, and chocolate candy at the end of dinner (this all is given to all customers). We chose the foie gras, Oregon mushrooms, an entrees with salmon and scallops. Also wine was ordered and dessert. We paid about $200. I highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic evening and for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

This is not The Firehouse, I am sad to s ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This is not The Firehouse, I am sad to say. Chef Deneb is gone, and so is the menu we loved. I'm sure the change will be successful, but it is (sadly) no longer my favorite restaurant in the world.

food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service. Nice pacing. And ya g ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful service. Nice pacing. And ya gotta live a wine list w/ a table of contents! The "sampler" appetizer was confusing - it read to us like it should serve the table (especially for the price) & it was about 4 bites. Steaks & seafood entrees were well enjoyed. Vast improvement is needed as far as the lone vegetarian entree; unequal & unfair.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and i dined at the Firehouse as ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and i dined at the Firehouse as part of our eighth wedding anniversary. Everything was wonderful; the service, the wine list, presentation and the meal. We were there for just under two hours and had a wonderful dining experience. We highly recommend this restaurant for any event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an exquisite experience hosting 2 ch ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had an exquisite experience hosting 2 cherished relatives from out of state. As always, the food and service was exceptional. Once a price point was established and a few questions regarding preferences , the wine recommendation was perfect. This is my go to venue any time I want to impress my guests. For decades I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.