About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet is $7 per vehicle. Street parking is available. Two city lots are located at either end of Second St. We validate for 2 hours at these lots. A parking garage is located one block over on L St.

Enjoy free valet when dining at lunch Monday-Friday. Check-in on Facebook, foursquare, Yelp or Twitter with your smartphone and receive free valet parking with check-in. Show phone to your server. Valid only with food purchase and during valet hours (11:30am-2:30pm and 4:45pm-9:00pm).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
7 More
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (187)
romantic (162)
notable wine list (111)
See All
fit for foodies (99)
great for outdoor dining (69)
good for groups (54)
neighborhood gem (43)
great for lunch (39)
great for brunch (28)
hot spot (19)
scenic view (14)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (6)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was too salty. Overpriced. Server h ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was too salty. Overpriced. Server had no personality and overall seemed bothered to be there.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great eating outside this time of year.

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great eating outside this time of year.

food3
ambience5
service3

Disappointing this visit, not up to past ...

Dined 6 days ago

Disappointing this visit, not up to past experiences.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was the perfect spot for my parents anni ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Was the perfect spot for my parents anniversary :)

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have you ever seen in movies where you g ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Have you ever seen in movies where you go to a classy restaurant and order an entre that just sounds amazing! And then it comes ...and all that's on the plate is a small piece of meat and 2 leaves? Yeah, the entres are very small, really good, but very small coupled with a high price.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great place to spend a special ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a great place to spend a special occasion at.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Sacramento.

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was my husband's birthday. I really wanted to spend the evening with him in an elegant setting, with lovely food and excellent service. (It was my gift to him.) And we got it there. My husband was happy and so am I. My husband said that we should dine here more often. Special thanks to chefs - the food was delicious! Pleasantly surprised with small "presents" from the restaurant - cucumber ice-cream (want to know the recipe), toast with smoked salmon, and chocolate candy at the end of dinner (this all is given to all customers). We chose the foie gras, Oregon mushrooms, an entrees with salmon and scallops. Also wine was ordered and dessert. We paid about $200. I highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic evening and for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

This is not The Firehouse, I am sad to s ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This is not The Firehouse, I am sad to say. Chef Deneb is gone, and so is the menu we loved. I'm sure the change will be successful, but it is (sadly) no longer my favorite restaurant in the world.

food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service. Nice pacing. And ya g ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful service. Nice pacing. And ya gotta live a wine list w/ a table of contents! The "sampler" appetizer was confusing - it read to us like it should serve the table (especially for the price) & it was about 4 bites. Steaks & seafood entrees were well enjoyed. Vast improvement is needed as far as the lone vegetarian entree; unequal & unfair.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and i dined at the Firehouse as ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and i dined at the Firehouse as part of our eighth wedding anniversary. Everything was wonderful; the service, the wine list, presentation and the meal. We were there for just under two hours and had a wonderful dining experience. We highly recommend this restaurant for any event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an exquisite experience hosting 2 ch ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had an exquisite experience hosting 2 cherished relatives from out of state. As always, the food and service was exceptional. Once a price point was established and a few questions regarding preferences , the wine recommendation was perfect. This is my go to venue any time I want to impress my guests. For decades I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Got the 3 course tasting. They started w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Got the 3 course tasting. They started with an amuse-bouche then brought my lobster bisque. They brought the pot out and poured it in my bowl in front of me, so you know it was hot. Then they brought a cucumber sorbet as a palate cleanser. Then I had the chateaubriand. I ordered it medium/medium well and it was probably medium rare. I didn't send it back or anything but it was not cooked enough for my liking. Was very delicious, just would have liked it cooked longer. Then I got the creme brûlée and my fiancé got the chocolate pave. Both were delicious! I couldn't finish anything. Too much food. Would probably not get the 3 course next time because for me it was too much to eat. Very tasty overall!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had reservations for 6 pm arrived a litt ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Had reservations for 6 pm arrived a little early, seated immediately, staff was friendly and professional, food served hot and well presented. The food and entire experience was special, I would expect 65 to 85 dollars plus alcohol per guest. Recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lobster bisque was really flavorful! ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The lobster bisque was really flavorful! The tenderloin w/ potatoe fingerlings I ordered was a little salty for my taste though, my husband loved his fish taco, the kids's burger was great as well and the kahlua cake dessert was exceptional , overall the experience (food/service/ambiance) was good and would be returning to try some other entrée.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I hate to base my review on this one event alone, as I know this is a much busier day than usual. The service was excellent, but the food was so-so. The entres were cold and frankly not all that good. The only thing that was truly spectacular was my drink, which was excellent (something with peach but I can't recall the name of it).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fixed price menu with varied unique selections. Meals were excellent and the outdoor courtyard made for a beautiful ambience, Not cheap, but price was commensurate with the food and the atmosphere. The desert was also unique and very good. Meal could have been brought a little faster.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The Ambiance and the service is excellen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Ambiance and the service is excellent but the food was overpriced 50$ per person should include the drinks, and higher quality selection and more generous portions. The crab bennedict was subpar.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was top shelf. The food, drinks, decor, and service were all excellent. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Sacramento (or living there, for that matter!).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

I ordered the fish special with shrimp a ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

I ordered the fish special with shrimp and spinach. My date ordered the sampler. My dinner was drowned in soy sauce, the bread sticks that came with it where already soggy when I got it. The excessive soy sauce ruined the over all taste. Her sampler was better. Came with steak, crab cakes, and honey ham. The steak was perfection. The rest of it was not very good. The crab cakes where dry and the ham was drowned in the honey dressing. The waiter had the additude of the kind of person ready to go home. And not ready or even in a good mood. The drinks where not very good either. I got the whisky peel and it was not very good. Honestly if i were to go back, I'd go back to get the steak and go. But in reality. I don't plan on spending the time to be let down again. I do not plan on returning.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

General

Dined on May 3, 2016

The experience and food variety & quality was very enjoyable. The service, while friendly and knowledgeable, was a bit too leisurely.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 23rd Anniversary dinner and ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

This was our 23rd Anniversary dinner and it did not disappoint! The meal was one of the best we have ever eaten! The Chateaubriand and steak delmonico were amazing! The chocolate pave with salted carmel, the lobster bisque, crab cakes and Oaxaan pork belly... WOW! It was the perfect anniversary celebration!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Attention to Detail

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

the food was wonderful and the service outstanding. The special touch that impressed me was that each different wine was served in the appropriate glass from chardonnay to zinfandel! So few restaurants know the difference a proper glass makes! Only drawback was location and parking!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went here for my birthday dinner with my fiance' and requested to sit on the patio (as they tout on their website and signage in front of the building that they have a wonderful outdoor courtyard). I received a phone call a few hours prior to my reservation stating that they only seat diners in the courtyard on Monday evenings. I was disappointed and a little confused (why only on Mondays? Especially when you have such a wonderful outdoor space!), but I decided to give it a try anyway. Ambiance: We were sat at a table immediately adjacent to the hostess stand and the bar area. It was not very romantic and it made me a little mad that a restaurant that is so pricey would even put a table there. Especially since they couldn't accommodate a spot on the patio you would think they would at least seat me in a better location. The ambiance throughout the restaurant was very stuffy and "old" feeling. And not "old" as in antique or charming. Old as in musty and needing a refurbishment. Wine/Drinks: They have an extensive wine list... but only if you're ordering by the bottle. Otherwise, it's a pretty standard list of wines to choose from. Menu/food: The menu was one option of each: Duck, Lamb, Filet Mignon, rib-eye, fish, chicken, pork. My fiance and I started with the lobster bisque and that was wonderful - I highly recommend it. For main dishes I chose the rib-eye dish as it sounded like a specialty of theirs, and my fiance ordered the fish. My steak was undercooked and chewy and not seasoned well. The fish was bland. The sides for both were bland and boring. Overall: Will not be returning. So many better restaurants in Sacramento for the price. Paragary's, Mulvaney's, The Press, Lucca - just to name a FEW. The ambiance was pretty terrible and the food was not good (not for the price). They should also not advertise patio seating if they only use it one night a week - kinda feels like a bait and switch tactic honestly.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wife's Birthday

Dined on April 30, 2016

She was happy, hence so was I. Happy wife is a happy life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliably Good

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was a family get together with guests from San Fransico, so expectations needed to be high. The waitstaff was attentive and accommodating to our elderly guests needs bringing her down the elevator to the garden patio and a chair from the dining room. The table for five was set in a awkward layout but was easy to remedy. Harder to manage was the slant of the table. But the service remained consistent and even excelled when our guest ordered a bygone apéritif they no longer kept in stock by bringing her a sample of another one they did for her approval. The food was wonderful and presentation nice, but I wish they had not had the small gap in bringing them out. Please check with the waitstaff about the free valet parking with social media sign up. There was confusion with the parking attendants. My husband was even instructed to go back and get a copy of the bill which they then did not accept. I still don't know what when wrong there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Courtyard update

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had our wedding reception in courtyard 28 years ago, and have been coming ever since. Metal chairs especially, tables too, can use newer and more comfortable. They feel old and rusty.Sorry!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

miss the formal nature this place used to have.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Been going there for 30 years. Miss the formal nature it used to have.

food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best dining experience in S ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The absolute best dining experience in Sacramento. High class. High quality.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful Dining

Dined on April 26, 2016

I went to The Firehouse on a Monday evening around 7. My girlfriend and I were celebrating our 3 year anniversary and we're dressed in business casual and had worried that we were under dressed. For a Monday we fit in, but I could tell that if we arrived on a Saturday that might have been the case. We were warmly greeted at the door by the bartender and the host, but at the host stand they were slightly reserved about us. I am a young man and I guess that our age played a factor in how we were seated and treated, but it was pleasant never the less. The food was amazing. I recommend the filet mignon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing . . . .as always

Dined on April 25, 2016

Celebrated my Birthday 4/24 at The Firehouse. We have returned many times because they never disappoint. I had the sea bass (outstanding) and a Caesar salad, my husband the chateaubriand, with lobster bisque and we shared a fabulous chocolate dessert. Dale was our waiter, and he was knowledgeable and had great timing and humor. We polished off some lovely wine and some great sparkling wine. Soft jazz background music, soft lighting . . . .it was classy and delicious and we will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Fresh & Local

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wait staff was attentive, yet not intrusive. Great wine and bar drinks! Entrees were top notch; Chef's Menu, Pork Chop, and Porterhouse Steak. Dessert was awesome (Creme Brulee & Kahlua Chocolate Pave) Delicious coffee rounded out a dining experience which was also our evening's entertainment. Definite 5 Star Restaurant.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chefs menu; it was a great ex ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had the chefs menu; it was a great experience to have some amazing food, wonderful wine pairing and a fun evening with my friend. We look forward to doing it again another month when the courtyard is open, because it's beautiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sacramento Staple

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

I attended with a small business group. Our first time to dine at Firehouse. Beautiful establishment with great service and the food was so good. This restaurant represents Old Sacramento well. We were visitors to the city. I am so glad I read the reviews and chose to have dinner at Firehouse.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner with impeccable service. T ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Lovely dinner with impeccable service. The food was wonderful. Chilly temp for the ladies but overall very nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service and Food

Dined on April 18, 2016

While the food was superb, the service was exceptional! Though we not feel any delays, we received a complimentary appetizer. After our salad, we received a complimentary cucumber sorbet to cleanse our palate. My wife had the chef's 3-course with the Chateaubriand filet mignon and I had the Firehouse filet mignon. Both were perfectly cooked. Dessert was Kahlua Dark Chocolate Pave and Creme along with coffee. Great experience for our.wedding anniversary. Only recommendation for Firehouse is that the valet open the door for any ladies getting out of the car.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Start

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very nice location. FFood was outstanding alone with the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

Not that good. I don't think we will go ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Not that good. I don't think we will go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful food, great wait staff, and fantastic bartenders.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse terrific food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Last time I had the chop, it was superb. This time the filet mignon, tasteless. Fabulous restaurant with great food, just a miss this time. The appetizer sampler is phenomenal, the Caesar Salad mediocre. Desserts excellent, wine excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, supurb food, A++

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service, delicious food, perfectly cooked steak, yummy drinks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.