Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a delicious Mother's Day Brunch from 9:30 am - 3:30 pm. The three-course menu starts with an appetizer of salmon and duck rillettes with farmers cheese, which leads into a choice of entrees, followed by a choice of a dessert. Adult menu is $54.95, and Young Patron's menu is $24.95.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for a Date (91)
Romantic (84)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Notable Wine List (76)
Historic (62)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Cozy (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Fireplace (15)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Scenic View (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Private Room (6)
Organic (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyable lunch. Wife is currently on crutches so the valet parking was a real plus for $5! Every contact with the employees was outstanding and the food recommendations by the wait staff was perfect. Extensive and reasonably priced wine list. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service, excellent ambiance! I would dine at this restaurant every time I visit Old Sacramento.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Thank you to the staff for helping make anniversary celebration special. Everything was perfect. We loved the seafood and the asparagus salad. I recommend this restaurant, truly a Sacramento treasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Chris was an excellent waiter and suggested many gluten-free options for my friend. Sean was very helpful too, also Braiden was great with the bread. Loved this place.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was fabulous!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always enjoy the history. The staff and service is great for feeling pampered. The food has always been outstanding. Can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Firehouse lived up to its reputation!
Wonderful service, food, ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I made reservations for three of us (all out of state friends) and this was our second visit to the restaurant. This visit was just as great as the first and we were not disappointed. Great ambiance, great bar for pre-dinner drinks, great menu selections and great service. So, I guess it is all just great. One of the largest wine menus around and the prices are not outrageous. Our waiter, Howard, was awesome and made several sound recommendations for appetizers and entree choices. I would recommend that you also use the front door valet parking, it is very convenient and they give you a code for your phone and your car is ready within 3-minutes of requesting it to leave. We are already booked to return again in August

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Waiters were very attentive in a nice way. Pork Belly app and pea/watercress soup were delicious. It was a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I wanted to go out for a special evening and this was perfect ! Service was amazing and the wine was incredible ! So many choices !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The views were amazing, the customer service was great, and so was the food. However, it took one hour to receive the food after ordering which would be my only compliant. Overall, amazing high end restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our first time dining at the Firehouse Restaurant. It was a very elegant experience for our second anniversary. The lamb dish was to die for. My husband had the scallops special, they were very plump and tender. We will definitely return for a future visit. Thank you Firehouse staff for your attentiveness, knowledge of your food offerings, and the beautiful ambience and decor.
Christine and Matt

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been to The Firehouse several times. The food, as usual, was very good and a good value. The service was impeccable, always available but not overbearing. The wine list is very good and the list of wine by the glass is good .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excelent food and beautiful place, excelent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been to the Firehouse many times before, normally we have an amazing experience. This round it was just okay. We came for our 22nd anniversary. We had already looked at the menu before we came out and decided we would like the chef's tasting menu. However, when we got there, they were not offering it. We found out they do not offer it on "busy nights" but would check to see if they could accommodate us, in which they could, so in that regard, we were pleased. Our waiter was fine but very impersonal and did not seem like he could be bothered for idle chit chat. This is a fine dining institution, if you cannot be personable to your patron's then why not just be a Chili's? As far as the food, here it was really good, up until the third course, where I had 2 really large bones that I found in my fish, again their food is not cheap, and this was unexpected, the fish was delicious and I informed our waiter of bones, but no offer to make it right with me at all, but oh well, guess that is not the world we live in anymore. The evening could have been much nicer with just a little more attentive service but instead it was just okay, and expensive for just okay...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Firehouse Restaurant is absolutely a wonderful place to dine. This was my wife and my 36th yesr anniversary and we choose to dine here based on prior experience. The service is exquisite and the food is excellent. The before dinner drinks were stout and well worth the money. The overall ambiance was superb and we will definitely dine again in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

food was OK it is hit and miss. But I want to go t9ba excellent restaurant but this one isn't consistent..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 30, 2017

First night out for my wife and I since we had our new baby, so it was a bit of a celebration our server was very friendly unfortunately I'm horrible with names. I ordered the lamb as my entree was one of the best lamb racks I've ever had perfect medium my wife had the delmonico was very flavorful. I can't say anything bad about the place it was just what I was looking for kudos .. I will be back again soon . Ramsey tamayo

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. My husband and I have dined in at the firehouse once. We returned for my husbands birthday. Very memorable and fantastic

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Beautiful old spot. Food and presentation were excellent?

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

After I proposed to my future wife. We had an awesome dinner at the Firehouse. Everything was indeed perfect.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

excellent dinner and service as always. Your Filet Mignon is the best in northern California.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Took my girlfriend for our anniversary best food we have ever tasted the 1929 bottle of wine we had was truly amazing will be coming back every year for our anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious! Very attentive staff.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We arrived earlier than our reservation and there was no problem in being sat earlier. Our waiter was attentive and was there to ensure we had everything we needed to our satisfaction. Dinner was outstanding. Thank you

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was mediocre and chef tasting menu was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice Resturant. Really the the food and service would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Delicious meal. Watercress and pea soup. Friend and I had different sandwiches. I had the portabello mushroom sandwich with delicious fries. Would totally recommend others to patronize restaurant, and even recommend the open-faced ahi tuna sandwich.

However, I would also advise NOT to order the coffee there. Save your $ and go elsewhere. I got a double shot of espresso. Asked for cup of ice separately. Came combined and the worst cup of coffee. Should have sent back. How can you get a double shot of espresso wrong? Bitter, acidic -- tasted old. Did they just fake it? Had to ask for cream. (waiter didn't even bring a spoon.) Then asked for a spoon, then more sugar. But nope still couldn't swallow it. $4. worst part of the experience. I could have had a better experience even at Starbucks for $2.50. Whoever made the coffee did a disservice to the restaurant. Would have been a perfect experience otherwise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We took my aunt to lunch to celebrate her 99th birthday. The staff was friendly and efficient, from the time we arrived at valet parking until we walked out the door. Our server and other staff members took the time to engage her in conversation, and she commented that she would love to come back next year to celebrate her 100th! The patio was idyllic and the food as delicious as it always is. We are grateful to everyone at The Firehouse for making her birthday such a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The Firehouse tops the charts in all aspects. First, it is an absolutely gorgeous and romantic restaurant. The main dining room is adorned with huge paintings and five gold-leaf mirrors and contains a fireplace. Second, the black-napkin place settings and service were topnotch. Our server, Sean, was very friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable about the food and wine and was very helpful with recommendations. And, of course, the main event, the food, was also exceptional. Entrees of roasted loin of venison and Maple Leaf Farms duckling were delicious. There is a huge wine list with a number of reasonably priced selections and a nice list of specialty cocktails. The location is great in Old Sacramento, very near the world-class railroad museum. Street parking is available as well as nearby parking garages.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic. Really love the atmosphere. The food is always so good and the wine list is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband and I were in Sacramento for the March Madness games. We found it on trip advisor, and decided to make a reservation. We are very happy to recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes food, good service and nice atmosphere:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful service. Loved the interior, but got a peak at the patio outside...it looks perfect for a wedding reception or private party. Definately want to come back! Meals were delicious...especially the grand marinier(sp?) souffle!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Lives up to the memory of previous good visits. Excellent, creative food preparation. Quality all the way. I've been coming here since 1970s. It does not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious innovative food. Friendly, processional staff. Beautiful, historical location. Would definitely recommend for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We always love The Firehouse. The quality of the food is excellent and the preparations are artistically inspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The service is always great and the food is super. We like the atmosphere and location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had the tasting menu with the wine pairing it was amazing. Our server forgot our drinks, was very awkward and definitely put a damper on the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent food and wines. The service was impeccable *Steve*! It was my husband's birthday and we celebrated it here for the third time in a row. Never disappointed. The staff fulfilled my every request. We'll be back next birthday!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Celebrated my birthday with my wife for a romantic dinner. The atmosphere was wonderful and the professionalism of the staff was exceptional. The presentation of 4 course dinner was top drawer. The pairing of tasty wine with each entree was delicious.

I highly recommend the Firehouse Restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.