Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Romantic (68)
See All
Good for a Date (62)
Notable Wine List (55)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Business Meals (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Historic (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Cozy (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (10)
Seasonal (9)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Be sure to clarify where you would like to be seated if you're looking for a more intimate dining experience...we were placed in a rather "public/service" space. It was fine for our occasion, but I wouldn't want to attempt a romantic dinner in that spot. The bartenders were hurried and not necessarily polite, but they were quite busy as well and could hardly spare a moment for a smile. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The Firehouse lived up to its great reputation. Ambience, wine list, menu and service were superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

They could not find our reservation. Our server was only concerned about half the arty ignoring others. Don't know if this was age or racial bias.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Went to celebrate 21st year anniversary. All was excellent except, for what we paid, the food was somewhat disappointing; good but not great. I had their tasting menu. The courses served were creative but did not have that "wow" factor. With the wine pairing the tasting menu was $120, as I recall. For that price I would have expected more "wow"

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My wife's dinner of scallops was outstanding, mine on the other hand, was the most disappointing filet I've ever had. They were gracious enough to remove from the bill.
Unfortunately, I just don't see us going back. Which is sad, because they have a great reputation here in Sacramento.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This was the first time at the Firehouse that dinner wasn't awesome. I've dined here no less than 30 times over the years, and I've always been amazed at how consistently spot on this place is. It was bound to happen. I finally had a dinner with issues.

The filet that I ordered was WAY under cooked and was barely room temperature when I got it. So this was likely a combined poorly trained cook and a pacing issue from the server. And frankly, any server that offers to take the steak back and cook it longer doesn't understand the importance of pacing and eating together. There is nothing worse than sitting there waiting for your steak to come back while everyone else is eating, only to get your steak and begin eating while everyone else is finished. And no, it won't only take a minute. How about you make sure you always have a chef that knows how to cook a steak correctly the first time. I don't send food back, and I don't ask for anything to be free. I'll let you know of the error, and then enjoy what I can. And then leave a review like this.

As I said, first time in 30 or more visits, so it's pretty easy to excuse. I'll be back... I just hope this isn't a trend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I had read the high reviews of service and food, so had high expectations of both. Service was good, not great. Same with the food. Ambiance in outside courtyard was very pretty..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Trip to old stomping grounds and a favorite restaurant. Excellent as always. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 10, 2017

One of my favorites for lunch especially. Even in this hot weather sitting outside was wonderful. It is very shady and they have a fountain which adds to the ambience. Our waiter was excellent - very attentive. We both had the special - devine! Seared ahi slices over a bed of risotto with a variety of shell fish and root vegetables in a mild spicey sauce. We also had a berry creme brulee to celebrate our birthdays. We were there 3 hours. Also nice with the valet parking for $5.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our meal was superb! I had the del (rib eye) & hubby had the filet. Both excellent, mine was too much. Started with a stone fruit slider, palette cleaner, very tasted, great bread,great service. Jason was our guy, very friendly & helpful. The manager (Tric spelling) was his so helpful & knowledgeable.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

7-8-27 not great food/ nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We spent a most delightful evening here and indulged in great food. In fact, the guest of honor rejected breakfast having indulged so at dinner. The service is outstanding, absolutely marvelous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

As usual, our dining experience was outstanding in every way. The food was exceptional, the service was impeccable, and the additional appetizer tasting and dessert candy was such a nice touch. The decor is beautiful and dining at The Firehouse is a "First Class" experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Five long time friends enjoyed a fabulous lunch. The crispy salmon tostadas were to die for_______a real keeper. One in our party had the day's special, rare Ahi over noodles, and raved about it. Service was outstanding. We weren't rushed so we could chat as long as we wanted. We'll do it again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was delightful! We shared our first course, the oysters. Exquisite and they were so clean. Best oysters I've ever had. The second course was a summer melon and prosciutto salad. The server offered to put black pepper on it, and I'm so glad he did! I would never combine the butter lettuce, prosciutto, honeydew melon, and pepper in a lifetime -- but the tastes blended so well together, creating an amazing summer salad. Then the main course came and I ordered the double R ranch filet and my husband ordered the lobster tail -- both dish presentations were beautifully plated. We each had a taste of each other's food and again, everything tasted like a dream. The whole experience was the best service and food I've ever had in years! From the fresh baked bread and butter, to the fig and wafer, to the apricot sorbet, and to the white chocolate truffle in between our courses, and the wonderful service from all of the servers and mait're d, my husband and I were beyond impressed. Can't wait to celebrate his birthday here, so I can treat him!

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have visited The Firehouse half a dozen times now for special occasions. I am always blown away by the quality, depth and craft behind the preparing of the food. Never, ever have I been disappointed. I continue to visit this place because the service is impeccable and knowledgeable and that makes for a well-rounded first class dining experience for me.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Firehouse and we were once again delighted with every aspect, food, service, ambiance. Will return as often as possible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I can say our entire party all LOVED the Firehouse experience. The staff and our waiter were absolutely wonderful, the attention to details were over the top.
All dishes were prepared perfectly. Complementary items were offered between courses.
This is the place you want to go and take someone special.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was my second time to the Firehouse Restaurant. Although the menu has changed from last year the service was just as friendly and efficient as ever and the food was, as usual, spectacular. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This was our 31st anniversary dinner and we have eaten at the Firehouse on many occasions and had great service but this time the food came out on top of the previous dishes making us hurry to finish. The salad came out ontop of the appetizers then the melon sorbe came and we took one spoonful and the steaks were there. My steak was cooked perfectly but it was barely warm, the souffle was perfect. Our waitress and bus personel were great, But i think with only 5-6 tables occupied the kitchen staff were too quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 28, 2017

One of my favorite eating establishments. Always excellent dining selections and impeccable service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We have eaten here many times and looked forward to dinner. Two problems: noisier than usual, probably because every seat was taken in the dining room and tables seemed unusually close. This type of food requires quiet, luxurious ambience. Also, though very pleasant, our waiter needed more polish. If you are going to charge top dollar, there needs to be a type of professional, attentive (but not necessarily overly friendly) server like there is at Biba's. The classy, attentive "Jeeves" makes a huge difference in terms of restaurant experience and desire to return. Food was great as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a most memorable anniversary dinner at the Firehouse. The service was excellent, attentive but not too attentive and the food was clearly made with the finest ingredients. The melon and prosciutto salad with vanilla and mint dressing was superb. The sweetness of the melon balanced perfectly with the saltiness of the prosciutto and the mint vanilla dressing was subtle. The filet and the Delmonico were cooked to perfection. The Firehouse prices are commensurate with the service and quality of the food so for the budget conscious I would recommend it for special occasion dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Truly outstanding ambiance. We were in a very elegant, spacious, attractive room. The wine list is extraordinary in its breadth and depth, particularly in California wines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Firehouse has always been one of my favorite Restaurants in Sacramento. Food is outstanding and every once in awhile they will feature something different on the menu like Venison. The waiters are awesome. knowledgeable and pleasant. It is very elegant.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent service, food, menu choices and ambiance, as usual. Food presentation is lovely, and service is prompt but unotrusive. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day! Elegant service and fabulous food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family of four, including kids ages 8 and 10, have different ideas of good food. My husband loves meat and potatoes, I love vegetables, and my kids are picky eaters. Every order suited our likes and was prepared to perfection. Amazing that The Firehouse pleased all of us. My vegetarian dish was exquisite - one of the best I've ever had. Who would have thought that The Firehouse could nail a vegetarian order! We enjoyed multi courses, including amazing desserts and cocktails. The downstairs seating, overlooking the patio (too hot to enjoy), was beautiful and the servers were flawless. I used to think The Firehouse was for geared toward the elderly, but this experience changed my opinion. My whole family looks forward to returning. Try it out, yourself.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of the 5 best restaurants in the region. From the food to the service, it never fails to delight and amaze. Recommendations: You cannot lose with any of the steak options, including the lean Delmonico or the richer Cowboy ribeye. The venison is farm raised so the meat is wonderfully sweet and not gamey. The peas ravoli is a must try. And, above all, save room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have been there several times and it has always been excellent. The service is attentive and the food is excellent. It is expensive but in my opinion worth it. Valet parking is available for diners at a price of $5. Reservations seem to be a must as it is always busy on the nights we visited. They had 2 wine flights available which were a good value and nice wines. Leave room for dessert which is also a must.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great experience overall. The staff, from bartender to host to waiter, were polite and helpful.

Our table was tended to well and kept very clean. Appetizers and sides were excellent. Palette cleansers were a nice touch.

Delmonico steak was slightly under-cooked. After sending back, we noticed it was still a little too red.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Have been here several times over the years and have NEVER been disappointed. The staff are attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was one of the best fine dining experiences I have had. Absolutely fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2017

It was our first time there and our waiter was very patient with us. He had great customer service and explained everything to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Have dined at the Firehouse on many occasions. On our latest visit the quality of the food was far below what we have come to expect at The Firehouse.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We have loved the Firehouse for over 50 years. We are glad that they are still doing well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was good and the service was very good as well. Menu doesn't offer many options if you are a vegetarian and this is an area that this restaurant has a long way to go to improve. Wish the restaurant would enforce business casual dress code as we saw many folks come in dressed poorly for an upscale dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My wife and I went to Firehouse for our 3 year anniversary and we couldn't have been happier with everything! The service was very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing! We were able to just relax and enjoy our evening with no worries or complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The occasion was a Birthday lunch treat for a friend and I know how much she enjoys the patio at The Firehouse. We had a lovely table, right next to the beautiful fountain, so the ambience was lovely. We both had steak sandwiches, which were tender and super tasty, served with cross-hatch fries. Very good and reasonable for the quality. If there was one misstep, it was the service . . . we actually waited quite a while for our waiter to take our order. However, he did comp us our beverages and apologized profusely. This restaurant is one of my husband's and my favorites . . . .no harm done. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The Firehouse has bee one of our go to places for many years. If a special occassion comes up that is the first place that we think of

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.