About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Restaurant Photos

12 Oysters on the Half Shell - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Creme Brulee - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Hearts Of Romaine Caesar Salad - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Belly Sliders - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Forestier - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Delicata Squash Bisque - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Black And White - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Mixed Green Salad - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Porter - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Winter Harvest Risotto - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Oaxacan Pork Belly Appetizer - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Cheeks "Benedict" - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lobster Bread Pudding - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lobster Tagliatelle - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Black And White And Black - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lemon Drop - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Cheek Benedict - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Duck - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bread Basket - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Jordan Cabernet 1995 - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Champagne Persimmon Gaspacho - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Ceja Savignon Blanc - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Champagne And Persimmon Gazpacho - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chocolate Bombe - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chocolates - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Mushroom And Leek Soup - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Jim Beam & Water - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Strawberry Cheesecake - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Miso Glazed Pork Belly - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pistachio Chicken - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Porcini Sea Scallop - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Créme Brûlée With Berry Compote - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Steak Delmonico - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Thai Pork Shank - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pb&C - Peanut Butter And Chocolate - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Artichoke Tortellini - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Rib Eye - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Dungeness Crab Cake - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chèvre And Asparagus Bisque - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Poached Shrimp Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Filet Mignon - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Is That Kimik Eating Oysters Again? I Think It Is! - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Smoked Tenderloin Carpaccio - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
carpaccio - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
The Firehouse Filet Mignon - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
#Oysterporn - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Delmonico - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
The Sampler - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Green Tomato And Cucumber Gaspacho Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Blackberry Cabernet Sorbet - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Fingers With Fruit & Waffle Fries - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Blackberry Currant Pâtes De Fruits - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Oysters - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Vodka Martini - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Frutti Di Mar - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cheeseburger With Fruit & Waffle Fries - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Nouveau Louis  - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Manhattan - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tartufata Sea Scallops - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cassis Sorbet - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Poached Salmon Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
White Chocolate Halloween Pumpkins - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
grand marnier souffle - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Artisanal Fruit & Cheese Plate - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Palate Cleanser - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Miyagi Oysters - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Two Dozen $1 Oysters - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
gaspacho - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Smoked Mozarella Caprese Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cucumber Lime Sorbet Intermezzo - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bone Marrow Panna Cotta - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Rack of Lamb - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Parisienne - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fruti De Mare - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gianduja Mousse Bombe - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Butter Rose - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Smirnoff Mar - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Happy Birthday Creme Brulee - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Beef Tataki - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
House Bread - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Tomato And Panchetta Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
1989 Dominus Estate Napa Valley Magnum - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Happy Hour Manhattan - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
D3 - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Tenderlion - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fried Burrata - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Intermezzo Picante - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sancerre - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
B3 Dessert - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
1998 Domaine Drouhin "Laurène" Oregon Pinot Noir - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Grilled Shrimp Bruschetta - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Coffee-Crusted Lamb - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chocolate Mocha Crunch - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Whiskey A-Peel - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Gazpacho Shooter - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Duck Ravioli - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Artichoke Tortell - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

The Firehouse welcomes you to join us for a special Christmas Eve three-course menu. Young Patrons' menu and vegetarian/vegan options available. Open 3:30 pm - 9:00 pm. Reservations are required.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a delicious four-course New Year's Eve menu. Open from 5:00 pm to midnight. Reservations are required.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento
2 More
Californian
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (59)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Historic (49)
Notable Wine List (48)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Business Meals (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Cozy (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Private Room (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Seasonal (9)
Fireplace (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (4)
Fun (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A friend and I were there on a Tuesday n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

A friend and I were there on a Tuesday night prior to a show at the Golden 1 Center. I have been to the Firehouse before and it was great. This time the service was so slow. The pre meal demitasse soup was lukewarm. It came before the cocktails. The salad was average and arrived with the drinks. The wine came a few minutes later. My friends seafood was tough and overcooked. My steak was good but nothing spectacular. All in all very average for a premium price. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Really wanted to give 5 star for food, b ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Really wanted to give 5 star for food, but our steaks were not exceptional, which they should be since this is the now the star of the menu. They were good not great. In fact, we were misled re: ordering based on color and one of our steaks was very over-cooked even though we asked clearly. Salads were great. Apps were great. The dessert menu is unappealing to us, and we are dessert eaters in general. Our service was efficient if a bit rushed feeling. Sommeliers are excellent and wine is excellent. Coffee excellent. We will keep trying. Oh, and the sides were fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I've been to the Firehouse multiple time ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I've been to the Firehouse multiple times in the past few years. However our most recent visit on Thanksgiving Saturday was disappointing. The bartender was excellent, the meals were great but the service was lacking. The hostess was territorial about seating guests. We had asked for a table along the wall but told that was not possible since "those" tables were reserved.....we too had a reservation. Another couple were informed the same and they ended up leaving. Please share with staff that a smiling hostess is a welcome gesture. The young lady clearing tables could use a crash course on customer service skills. Throughout the evening the vibe appeared tense. The wait staff need to relax and enjoy & engage their guests.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful food and service in a great hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful food and service in a great historic building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had high hopes for this restaurant giv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I had high hopes for this restaurant given it's history and reviews, however, I was greatly underwhelmed in their Thanksgiving meal. The organic turkey had the texture and tasted of processed turkey and served luke warm. The pumpkin pie shell was rock hard and the pie itself had unmixed clumps of salt. What a disappointment. Incredible price gauging at it's best. The Thanksgiving meal on the Delta King is a much better deal - better food, better variety, all you can eat and an entire crew at your service. The Firehouse is an empty house, no Fire!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Had Thanksgiving dinner at the Firehouse ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had Thanksgiving dinner at the Firehouse. The restaurant was very busy. Service was slow, though the waiter was friendly and obviously doing his best. The food was good, not great. The salad was uninspiring with mixed greens and apples but little else. The turkey was moist and flavorful, but we were given no choice of light or dark meat. The dressing and cranberry sauce were tasty but portions were small. The dessert was disappointing. The bread pudding was dry. The individual sized pumpkin pies had rubbery crusts. Overall, expected more from this well regarded establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I was expectingan amazing dinner. But I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was expectingan amazing dinner. But I got an OK dinner. Not really a memorable meal. I was disappointed.

The pumpkin pie wasn't pie it was a small tart with too much pastry. Was hoping for a wonderful meal...didn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We arrived early. Hostess indicated she ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We arrived early. Hostess indicated she may be able to seat us early. 1/2 hour later still waiting. Went to check on seating, the hostess never checked us in as early arrivals. Wine cellar may be a treat for some but the scent from the cellar did not help my meal. I smelled the wine cellar more than my meal. Overall. Not a very pleasant experience. Called the valet for our car, still had to wait 15 minutes before our car came. Not our best Thanksgiving memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We had a great Thanksgiving day experien ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great Thanksgiving day experience; great service and environment with wonderful food choices.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Firehouse for Thanksgivin ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went to the Firehouse for Thanksgiving Dinner. They had a set four course menu with options for the third (main) course and dessert. The service was exceptional and all of the food options delicious. The ambience, service, presentation and food were well worth the money. The Firehouse maintained its reputation for one of Sacramento's finest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Their Thanksgiving dinner, for $60 per p ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Their Thanksgiving dinner, for $60 per person, featured a processed turkey roll, of the kind you might find in an ordinary turkey sandwich. The other courses were satisfactory to good. We would have paid not more than $25 for this meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The steaks were cooked exactly to order ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The steaks were cooked exactly to order and were some of the best we'd ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had very nice time with our friends. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had very nice time with our friends. Food was great and we like service. I will definitely come back to celebrate another event.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had Steak and Lobster! Delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had Steak and Lobster! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!!! One of the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent food and service!!! One of the top steakhouses in Sacramento.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a great Friday night d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I had a great Friday night dinner date at the Firehouse restaurant. Our reservation was at 8:00 pm, so there wasn't much people there, which we did not mind. The service was exceptional, the food was good and the place was great.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was excellent and the service a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our food was excellent and the service as well. I would recommend as it is a historical place where there is good food and wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met friends for dinner and had a great t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Met friends for dinner and had a great time. Our server was excellent and had a sense of humor, which added fun to the evening. The food was very good. It was a bit pricey, but we all had a great time, so worth it.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I really like firehouse but I was upset ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I really like firehouse but I was upset they don't split entrees anymore like they used to.

Also on my way out of the bathroom the door doesn't stay open as someone was in front of me and the door hit me in the arm and it hurt really bad.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exquisite surroundings/atmosphere, delic ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Exquisite surroundings/atmosphere, delicious food, excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 27th Anniversary and had ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Celebrated our 27th Anniversary and had a tough time choosing a great restaurant as there are many in the Sacramento area. We had never been to the Firehouse, their menu looked great and we've heard nothing but good from our friends. By the end of the evening, this was one of the best dinners we've had in a long time. The service, ambiance, wine list (largest I've ever seen) and food (the lobster was amazing) was all EXCELLENT!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was negligent. Food was average. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Server was negligent. Food was average. Setting is lovely. It was our anniversary. Told my husband we could have had the same food, better service and one quarter of the price at Outback Steakhouse. Yikes.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We went there for our anniversary (we ha ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We went there for our anniversary (we had a wonderful wedding there the year before), so our expectations were high. However, we were pretty disappointed. The valet was disorganized (though not busy), our server took way too long to come to our table for what we thought would be to take our drink order only to have him give us the specials then run off, never to be seen again. After about 15 minutes we flagged down a bus boy to get a drink, whereupon a new server rushed up to us apologetically for some "miscommunication" between the staff. Steve was friendly, attentive and professional. The first course of wild mushroom bagattel was a little bitter, almost like it had been burnt at some point. The $49 Delmonico steaks were flavorful, but a little tough and dry. Unfortunately, the sauce that came with it was too skimpy to compensate for the dryness. It definitely did not feel worth the high price tag.

After having incredible meals there before at two weddings and a large birthday party, this was an overall let-down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Possibly the best filet mignon ever. My ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Possibly the best filet mignon ever. My sister and I were celebrating her birthday and they brought our dessert on your big plate with lovely writing saying happy 70th birthday. Our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. A Sacramento institution.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful. The lack of a dress code and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful. The lack of a dress code and noise level are distracting

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall dining experience from ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent overall dining experience from the ambiance, service, and food. Wonderful romantic evening that we will remember for a long time!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit since their big ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was my second visit since their big change last spring, at which time I did not like it. This time, we found our way through the menu a little better, and I will say we enjoyed it much more. The steaks our table ordered were outstanding and this is what I will get here from now on since they fashion themselves more of a steakhouse now. The fish our table ordered was a notch below outstanding, but the presentation and accompaniments we excellent. The Caesar replacement salad was excellent and I will get it next time (yes, there will definitely be a next time) again. The bread was better than ever. Our service was odd...almost awkward. I look forward to a 3rd try to decide if I like it a lot or a little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mild food poisoning within 12-24 hours. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Mild food poisoning within 12-24 hours. very very rare experience for me.

Fish tacos & chicken brie sandwich.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Historic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

What a pleasant surprise! Not only did w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! Not only did we take a step back in time with the wonderful facility but the evening could not have been better. Excellent service by Kristen and others and the food was perfectly prepared and served at the right temperature and with a classical flair. I look forward to our next visit...which will be very soon.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time. Great service. Best meal of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great time. Great service. Best meal of the night was the mac n cheese w/ lobster. We were looking forward to some fancy meals, unfortunately there weren't enough flavored as expected. Overall, I'll definitely come back for more mac n cheese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second time we've eaten here ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is the second time we've eaten here and it was good but not "perfect" like the first time. Our first time set the bar (food and service) and we were hoping for the same. Unfortunately they changed their filet dish and the duck dish so we were expecting something different. The service was just okay. We'll definitely give it another shot another time and feel different when we leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was very relaxing and comfortable. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was very relaxing and comfortable. We stayed over 2 hours. The lighting and temperature was perfect! The food was excellent. Firehouse is always so wonderful and we come here for very special occasions. Therefore i feel I must address some things

Here are few things that needs attention:

-my meal was not hot enough.

-The young man who brought out 1st small bite from the chef could not explain what is was....

-The waiters did not pay attention to detail/ kinda sloppy for ex....swept my fork into my lap... supposed to sweep away crumbs but after he was finished still plenty there.

-In the bathroom, it was very dusty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went in for lunch since the menu is s ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went in for lunch since the menu is significantly more affordable. My boyfriend, who is a sous chef in Sacramento, said that the steakhouse burger was the only burger in the whole city that he has ordered out and was successfully cooked to temp. The homemade bread was delicious as was the open faced Dungeness crab sandwich. The wine was also excellent but a little pricey for what you got. With tip the lunch bill was $70 for two sandwiches and two glasses of wine. We were seated right next to the fireplace and the building/ambience were great. The service was ok but nothing to write home about. The dessert menu and tasting menu looked tempting but be prepared to spend a lot. But the mantra is true: you get what you pay for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was mediocre at best...filet was un ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was mediocre at best...filet was underwhelming, lobster did nothing for me...excellent service, but food was lacking in quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The Firehouse Restaurant is beautiful an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The Firehouse Restaurant is beautiful and historic. We had lunch in the courtyard and it was lovely on a sunny afternoon. Unfortunately, the food was not nearly as nice as the setting. We had the $25 Courtyard 3 course lunch special and, while well-priced, it wasn't particularly great. The salad was very plain and tiny and the desert still half frozen, not freshly made. The lovely setting, however, soften the disappointment somewhat.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Firehouse is our go to place for special ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Firehouse is our go to place for special occasions. Excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable fall afternoon on the pat ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very enjoyable fall afternoon on the patio. Lunch was exquisite, and the food was cooked to perfection. Service was flawless. The Firehouse is far and above the finest restaurant in Sacramento.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For Sacramento, this place is over-the-t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

For Sacramento, this place is over-the-top awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll start out by saying that my husband ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I'll start out by saying that my husband is a chef, so whenever we go out to eat we do it with a critical eye (or tongue, as the case may be). The ambiance was great. The service was good. The food was underwhelming. The best things we had were the pork belly and a side of creamed spinach, which were both delicious and seasoned perfectly. Everything else was underseasoned. I believe if you're going to charge fine dining prices (and not have salt available on the table) then the seasoning should be spot on. It was especially sad to order a $50 steak (delmontico) and have it come underseasoned and plated with raw vegetables. In fairness the steak was cooked perfectly, which made the lack of salt seem all the more sad. Uncooked vegetables used for plating was a theme, as my duck breast came with what appeared to be hand-shucked peas that were raw. What a waste. Everything on a plate should be edible. The duck was also underseasoned. It makes me sad to say this, but for the money I wouldn't recommend going here (unless specifically targeting the pork belly and creamed spinach). You'd be better off spending your money at Mother or Ella's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

In old town Sacramento --- it tends to g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

In old town Sacramento --- it tends to get busy on concert nights -- best avoided then.

It has classic meat and potatoes stuff

i didn't get what the 'Thai coffee deconstructed dessert was all about --just foamy coffee

anyway -- worth the trip once if you like steaks and local color

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.