Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Firehouse Restaurant

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for a delicious three-course Easter brunch menu for $49.95. Seatings are from 9:30 am - 3:30 pm. Reservations and credit card guarantee are required. Vegetarian options and Young Patrons menu available.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a delicious Mother's Day Brunch from 9:30 am - 3:30 pm. The three-course menu starts with an appetizer of salmon and duck rillettes with farmers cheese, which leads into a choice of entrees, followed by a choice of a dessert. Adult menu is $54.95, and Young Patron's menu is $24.95.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (88)
Good for a Date (87)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Historic (66)
Notable Wine List (66)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Cozy (27)
Tasting Menu (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Authentic (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Seasonal (14)
Fireplace (13)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Scenic View (8)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (7)
Organic (6)
Private Room (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Waterfront (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Took my girlfriend for our anniversary best food we have ever tasted the 1929 bottle of wine we had was truly amazing will be coming back every year for our anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious! Very attentive staff.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was mediocre and chef tasting menu was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice Resturant. Really the the food and service would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Delicious meal. Watercress and pea soup. Friend and I had different sandwiches. I had the portabello mushroom sandwich with delicious fries. Would totally recommend others to patronize restaurant, and even recommend the open-faced ahi tuna sandwich.

However, I would also advise NOT to order the coffee there. Save your $ and go elsewhere. I got a double shot of espresso. Asked for cup of ice separately. Came combined and the worst cup of coffee. Should have sent back. How can you get a double shot of espresso wrong? Bitter, acidic -- tasted old. Did they just fake it? Had to ask for cream. (waiter didn't even bring a spoon.) Then asked for a spoon, then more sugar. But nope still couldn't swallow it. $4. worst part of the experience. I could have had a better experience even at Starbucks for $2.50. Whoever made the coffee did a disservice to the restaurant. Would have been a perfect experience otherwise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We took my aunt to lunch to celebrate her 99th birthday. The staff was friendly and efficient, from the time we arrived at valet parking until we walked out the door. Our server and other staff members took the time to engage her in conversation, and she commented that she would love to come back next year to celebrate her 100th! The patio was idyllic and the food as delicious as it always is. We are grateful to everyone at The Firehouse for making her birthday such a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic. Really love the atmosphere. The food is always so good and the wine list is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband and I were in Sacramento for the March Madness games. We found it on trip advisor, and decided to make a reservation. We are very happy to recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes food, good service and nice atmosphere:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful service. Loved the interior, but got a peak at the patio outside...it looks perfect for a wedding reception or private party. Definately want to come back! Meals were delicious...especially the grand marinier(sp?) souffle!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Lives up to the memory of previous good visits. Excellent, creative food preparation. Quality all the way. I've been coming here since 1970s. It does not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious innovative food. Friendly, processional staff. Beautiful, historical location. Would definitely recommend for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We always love The Firehouse. The quality of the food is excellent and the preparations are artistically inspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The service is always great and the food is super. We like the atmosphere and location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had the tasting menu with the wine pairing it was amazing. Our server forgot our drinks, was very awkward and definitely put a damper on the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent food and wines. The service was impeccable *Steve*! It was my husband's birthday and we celebrated it here for the third time in a row. Never disappointed. The staff fulfilled my every request. We'll be back next birthday!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Celebrated my birthday with my wife for a romantic dinner. The atmosphere was wonderful and the professionalism of the staff was exceptional. The presentation of 4 course dinner was top drawer. The pairing of tasty wine with each entree was delicious.

I highly recommend the Firehouse Restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent food and the service was wonderful. The wine list is incredible with great selection. Interesting decor - ask the staff about the paintings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

nice evening getaway with good food and wonderful service. sounds a bit costlier but the quality, quantity and service is worth much more than that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious food and superb service. Everything was perfectly attended to. No complaints.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My boyfriend and I went there for the first time for his birthday. The experience and service was great. However, I did make a complaint my lobster was bad and nothing was done. It had a pungent ammonia like taste. I expected better quality from a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Take advantage of their happy hours, good starters and drinks before your meal. Remember to always save room for dessert. The services and food never disappoints. Happy dining :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My first experience with an evening dinner. The atmosphere was very satisfying.
The service was very professional, attentive and friendly. Our dinner was thoroughly
enjoyed and the desserts were superb.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Firehouse is a familiar dining establishment for me, fortunately.

Recently, I took my sons out to celebrate their birthdays.

The latest dining experience was sadly somewhat disappointing. They did not have my favorite appetizer trio. I understand it's seasonal (although all items were on the menu, just "spread out" into separate appetizers). The steak, lobster, duck - divine. The lobster Mac and cheese - sinfully delicious. I am not sure why we were charged for our sides, as the menu indicated one side was included with each entree.

I've had the "top of the line" service here, and, with our most recent (approximately $250 bill)...the "bottom of the barrel". The restaurant is beautiful, however, the background music, coupled with the folks around us, made it virtually impossible to hear the soft spoken waiter, and I struggled to hear my companions. I am usually seated on the first floor, and my heart dropped as we were led downSTAIRS to our table. I whispered to who was leading us stairs were something I was not expecting due to my bad knees who responded they do have an elevator; however, how embarrassing would that be for me (the only one in my party) to need to use it?

Our tablecloth was sprinkled with bread crumbs, which previous dates were almost constantly "swept" clean. Not once was our table cleaned on this evening of the fallen carpaccio, bread crumbs. However, water was promptly refilled, and, other than loud music, maneuving stairs, messy table, and nothing offered (like a complimentary crime brûlée) in the way of celebrating two birthdays...no other "complaints". It was surprising, though, as I was thrilled to introduce my sons to the Firehouse, bragged about the service, and wanted the experience to be a memorable and delightful one, in every way!

Valet parking is $9, but was convenient, necessary, and prompt. My son helped me with the step up from the wobbly cobblestone street, to the "sidewalk" leading the the entry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We enjoyed a fine meal here at the Firehouse. Not a particularly broad menu, especially for those who don't eat meat, but the dishes we had were all excellent and they'll improvise if need be. Attentive service and a nice atmosphere. The slight ding to "ambience" was due to the room becoming a bit cool and drafty for a while but when brought to their attention they fixed it, to their credit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Brilliant place and simply amazing food and wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Nice ambiance. Slow seating - our table for 5 was already reserved and set up, don't know why the hostess had us go all the way to the front and wait another 15 minutes (?) before seating us. Our table had ordered steak, venison, fish and chicken- all of them served luke warm. In fact my venison arrived a bit cold. The flavors were OK, not so special. Service was attentive. Not worth the price to dine there with your own money but good for business dinners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was good and some areas and decent in others. The owner and most staff were attentive. However, I felt the menu only played it safe and I felt it was well prepared but bland and uninteresting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and great service. I will definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The best, most relaxing and delicious meal we'd had in a while. The ambience was elegant and calm. Staff was clearly highly trained and professional- we felt like royalty. Historically significant location. Can't recommend Firehouse enough.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent service coupled with a wonderful meal. I took a friend for his birthday and he's a very picky eater, he loved his meal! Definitely a must do again

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very beautiful restaurant! The ambiance & the service were top notch! We would definitely recommend this to our friends & family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food! Service was a bit dis-jointed due to multiple courses coming out and business of the restaurant. Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Appetizer and second course was phenomenal. But the rack of lamb that was served was cooked well done... Not great... I don't think the server asked me how I wanted my rack of lamb and I forgot to mention that I would like it medium rare. Guess the chef or waiter didn't bother to come out to ask. I don't think a rack of lamb should ever be cooked well done..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Spectacular food. Fabulous seafood bisque. The kind of food that takes your breath away with each bite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome Valentine's Date place. A bit pricey...but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've been coming to Firehouse for over 20 years. I had my 16th and 25th birthday dinners here, my graduation dinner, my mom's 55th birthday, and many, many other memorable and special meals. Firehouse has always meant a lot to me. In all of my past experiences, they've had outstanding food and service. Last night however, both were outstandingly terrible.

My boyfriend and I arrived early and sat in the bar waiting for our 7:30 reservation. We weren't seated until after 7:40. Normally this wouldn't have bothered me but there were plenty of empty tables and no one else was waiting. Once seated, we waited another 10 minutes or so before our waiter came to our table for the first time and took our drink order.

It also took our waiter over and hour to take our food order. Both my boyfriend and I have worked in restaurants for years and know that even if you're juggling 15 tables (he had 4) an hour to take an order is ludicrous. I'm all for savoring a fine dining experience, but sitting at your empty table looking around for your waiter for over an hour is ridiculous.

We ordered appetizers, soup and salad, all tasted like they had been prepped days before and reheated. And then our main course. My boyfriend ordered Del Monaco steak, it was tough, overdone and just outright bad. I ordered the lobster tail. It was also completely overdone (the texture was like chewing on a balloon) and had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp for ages as the fricassee on the plate with it was literally burned. We sent both entrees back and still ended up paying over $100 for an absentee waiter, horrible food and an overall really disappointing experience. I was really looking forward to showing my boyfriend one of Sacramento's gems.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perfect evening. Great food and service. Hostess store could use an upgrade to be in line with rest of staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Arrived a little early for our 5:45 pm reservation, was seated promptly, waiter and staff very professional, very attentive, excellent meal, amazing dessert, definitely pricey, but well worth it for our anniversary dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic service, meal, and attention to detail. Wine list is quite extensive as well. Still a very good restaurant after many years

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.