About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

12 Oysters on the Half Shell - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Creme Brulee - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Hearts Of Romaine Caesar Salad - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Belly Sliders - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Forestier - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Delicata Squash Bisque - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Black And White - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Mixed Green Salad - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Porter - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Winter Harvest Risotto - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Oaxacan Pork Belly Appetizer - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Strawberry Cheesecake - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Miso Glazed Pork Belly - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pistachio Chicken - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Porcini Sea Scallop - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Créme Brûlée With Berry Compote - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Steak Delmonico - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Black And White And Black - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Thai Pork Shank - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pb&C - Peanut Butter And Chocolate - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Artichoke Tortellini - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Rib Eye - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lobster Tagliatelle - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Dungeness Crab Cake - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chèvre And Asparagus Bisque - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Poached Shrimp Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Filet Mignon - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Is That Kimik Eating Oysters Again? I Think It Is! - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Smoked Tenderloin Carpaccio - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
carpaccio - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
The Firehouse Filet Mignon - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
#Oysterporn - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Delmonico - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
The Sampler - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Cheeks "Benedict" - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Green Tomato And Cucumber Gaspacho Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Blackberry Cabernet Sorbet - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Fingers With Fruit & Waffle Fries - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lemon Drop - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Blackberry Currant Pâtes De Fruits - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Oysters - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Vodka Martini - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Frutti Di Mar - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cheeseburger With Fruit & Waffle Fries - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Nouveau Louis  - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Manhattan - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tartufata Sea Scallops - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bread Basket - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cassis Sorbet - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Poached Salmon Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
White Chocolate Halloween Pumpkins - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
grand marnier souffle - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Artisanal Fruit & Cheese Plate - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Palate Cleanser - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Miyagi Oysters - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Two Dozen $1 Oysters - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
gaspacho - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Smoked Mozarella Caprese Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cucumber Lime Sorbet Intermezzo - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bone Marrow Panna Cotta - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Rack of Lamb - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Parisienne - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fruti De Mare - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gianduja Mousse Bombe - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Butter Rose - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Champagne Persimmon Gaspacho - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Smirnoff Mar - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Happy Birthday Creme Brulee - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Beef Tataki - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
House Bread - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Tomato And Panchetta Amuse Bouche - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
1989 Dominus Estate Napa Valley Magnum - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Happy Hour Manhattan - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
D3 - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Tenderlion - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fried Burrata - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Intermezzo Picante - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sancerre - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
B3 Dessert - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
1998 Domaine Drouhin "Laurène" Oregon Pinot Noir - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Grilled Shrimp Bruschetta - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Coffee-Crusted Lamb - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Tomatoe Bisque - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chocolate Mocha Crunch - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Jordan Cabernet 1995 - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Ceja Savignon Blanc - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Whiskey A-Peel - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Gazpacho Shooter - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Duck Ravioli - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Artichoke Tortell - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
2006 Domain Serene Evenstad Reserve Pinot Noir - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
intermezzo - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chocolate Cake - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Napkin Art - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fannie Bay Oysters On The Half Shell - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Opus One 2006 - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sweet Tart Charlotte - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cold Poached Lobster - The Firehouse Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Make your Valentine's Day dinner extra special. Voted Sacramento's Most Romantic restaurant, The Firehouse will be serving a delicious four-course dinner menu from 4:30-10:30 pm. Vegetarian options available.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for a Date (61)
Romantic (59)
See All
Historic (58)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Notable Wine List (53)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Business Meals (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Private Room (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fireplace (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Healthy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Waterfront (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a fabulous dinner. We came here f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a fabulous dinner. We came here for the Dine Downtown event and we're floored with the quality service and food. Needless to say this restaurant has made it to the top of both our personal favorite and recommendation lists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Food was delicious but a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. Food was delicious but a bit pricey. Great for special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful setting in an Old Sacramento f ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful setting in an Old Sacramento fire house. Excellent all around - food, service, wine list and friendliness of wait staff. No delays waiting for courses; we had an early reservation and not too many people had arrived yet, though restaurant was completely filled by the time we left. Everything was simply delicious; my husband and I will definitely come back even if it is somewhat pricey.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in Sacramento hands down ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Best Restaurant in Sacramento hands down. Exceptional service, consistently awesome food, phenomenal wine list... Couldn't recommend this place more. I need to dine here more often than I already do.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mom, a California native now 7 ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

I took my mom, a California native now 70+, here for her first visit - just a mom/daughter dinner for fun. Wonderful experience that, days later, she continues to rave about! Thank you for the awesome service and splendid food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. The ambiance in the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent service. The ambiance in the historic building in Old Town made the event more special as well. All 4 of us liked our meals very much.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a fabulous experience from ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is such a fabulous experience from the moment we came thru the door. Excellence in all things.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good, but the 9 oz ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was very good, but the 9 oz steak filet I had was dry. They took it back came back with a replacement steak and it was dry too. I ordered it medium well, but a med well steak, especially a filet, should still me moist and flavorful.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Love this beautiful restaurant, I brough ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Love this beautiful restaurant, I brought a friend visiting from Los Angeles who frequently goes to high-end restaurants and she was suitably impressed!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Customer service was that comparable to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Customer service was that comparable to the Ritz Carlton, Nordstrom-- just outstanding. From being greeted by the host to server and management. I also loved the fact that every corner we walked passed as we were leaving, we were greeted with: Thank you for coming in." Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going to the Firehouse since I ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been going to the Firehouse since I was in high school. The food continues to be very good, with a nice and artistic presentation always. The wait staff are prompt, courteous, professional and accommodating. We went on New Years Eve for this review which isn't the best time to try to showcase such a classy venue. It was noisier than it ever is, and a bit more manic because of the occasion, but nonetheless it was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We did New Year's Eve dinner there...... ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We did New Year's Eve dinner there......had an excellent dinner there last year and were excited for the repeat experience. There was a price fixe dinner with four courses. Wasn't all that impressed with the first two starter dishes. I had beef, my wife chose the lamb.......both were unimpressive. I saved a portion of my beef for my dog which was not included in the doggie bag we took home.......a bit frustrating, right?? Desserts were good. The price ($125/person) was excessive. We brought our own bottle of wine.....so with corkage fee and tip, tab was in excess of $300. We were able to enjoy the fireworks during dinner which was entertaining. While we would dine here again, we will not be doing NYE again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for 22nd wedding anniversary and Ne ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for 22nd wedding anniversary and New Year's Eve dinner. The service was good. The food was not good. Lamb was mostly fat and grizzle. Portions we're very small. Cocktails were poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

After all these years The Firehouse stil ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After all these years The Firehouse still manages to delivery an excellent dining experience. We were there to celebrate the new year and they had a $125 prix fixe menu... about 3 choices per course. We were a group of 10 so ordered everything available that day and every dish from the lamb cheek and pork belly appetizers to the duck confit and lobster pasta entrees were absolute winners. Service was a little slow though... understandable because of the high volume that day but that's why you have a limited menu. All in all a great way to welcome the new year just before the 9pm fireworks show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated New Year's Eve by dining at t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated New Year's Eve by dining at the Firehouse. The ambiance is fitting for a fine dining establishment, and on New Year's it was also decorated for the occasion. There was a set menu and price per person was $$$. Unfortunately, the quality of the food did not rise to the occasion or to what I expected given the price tag. The dishes with meat were over cooked, and the flavor of the food made me want to cry...not because it was divine, but rather because I paid so much for meh. Mass produced food on a set menu may be the culprit, but even catering for big events has an expectation of quality.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The service and setting was great. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service and setting was great. The food was awful! Too much butter doesn't make food better! They need to find a new chef, quickly!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

We loved our dinner and our waiter. Our ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We loved our dinner and our waiter. Our only comment is that we thought it would be a little more romantic for our 21st anniversary and my husbands birthday. The internet made it seem like the tables were away from others. We were in a square room with as many tables that could fit. On my right I had a party of six- only two feet away. It was cramped!!

The food was beyond excellent- the professionalism of the staff was unsurpassed. I just wish it was more romantic and special for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I had the lamb chops for dinner. I real ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had the lamb chops for dinner. I realize that lamb tends to be fatty, but there was more fat than lamb on my chops.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We are always treated exceptionally well ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We are always treated exceptionally well at the firehouse. The dining experience is consistent and better than most.l restaurants in that price range. We always love a night out at Firehouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat to dine here. This is our ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a treat to dine here. This is our third time dinning here , including the day we got married in the Golden Eagle room 11 years ago. We have tried to make it a tradition to go at least once a year, we haven't done it, but we haven't given up either.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great. The vegetables with m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was great. The vegetables with my duck was the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting they place all early reserva ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Interesting they place all early reservations in one room with dim lighting. A little dreary. Don't know why you can't open some of the other nicer parts of restaurant. Menu is limited- only one fish selection, no potatoes with meat entrees and gnocchi was cold. Side selections are limited and small for the price you pay for an entree. Service is very good but menu could use some enhancement

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was less than professional and n ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was less than professional and not very attentive. In fact, the entire staff seemed like amateurs, which was extremely disappointing at a restaurant like that. The waiter charged us full value of the check without seeing the gift card we had given. Despite the manager assuring me that the charge would not appear on my credit card statement, the amount was still there three business days later. We ordered the rack of lamb which was dry and awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Great historic place with amazing cuisin ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great historic place with amazing cuisine! I brought my fiance here for the first time and we were both impressed with both the presentation of the food as well as the exceptional service. Thank you to the chef and staff of the Firehouse for a special and romantic evening for the two of us!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had good experiences in the past ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have had good experiences in the past at the Firehouse and that is why we chose to dine there Christmas eve. Unfortunately the prime rib was very bad and we had one person in our party get sick that night . The other dishes were good but it felt like they were trying to do too much in an evening. The server was nice but not well-trained and their response to our complaint on the prime rib was to offer a remake and to serve dessert wine. We didn't have time for a redo but did enjoy the dessert wine. I would not try a special occasion there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Sorry to say we were disappointed. We k ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Sorry to say we were disappointed. We knew the Christmas Eve menu was three courses for about 65 each plus tax and tip. With a nice bottle of wine the total was just under 300 bucks. What we didn't expect was men in our elegant dining room wearing baseball caps! My wife noted this to our waiter who replied men were asked at the door if they wanted to check their ball caps. They chose to keep them on. Totally classless. My wife chose the lamb chops. Well prepared but the serving was so large she lost her appetite. I chose the prime rib. Very tender but plopped on top of a huge pile of mashed potatoes. My chocolate desert was terrible but the clam chowder was the best I've ever eaten.

My wife has had lunch there several times and was always pleased. I'm sure we'll give them another chance sometime other than Christmas Eve.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We dined here on Christmas Eve, and alth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We dined here on Christmas Eve, and although it was very busy, the service was exceptional. They were not serving their full menu but had called me advance to let me know this would be the case. They confirmed that there would be a vegetarian option (for one member of our party), and that option was the only disappointment of the evening. The other entrees were excellent as were the soup and salad starters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect.......had a limit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was perfect.......had a limited menu as it was Christmas Eve but great selection of each course. The clam chowder was amazing. I had the lamb rack and my wife selected the salmon.......both tasty and cooked perfectly. The desserts were wonderful. Service was excellent!! About the only thing I could suggest is to upgrade the cherry in my wife's manhattan and perhaps not charge a dollar for the blue cheese olives in my martini........

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our Chris ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were very disappointed with our Christmas Eve dinner at The Firehouse. There was no

holiday spirit. You would never have known it was Christmas Eve. I never heard anyone say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays. Our waitress never smiled, seemed very serious and really had no personality. My husband wanted the prime rib but asked for a piece that was more well done . Our waitress made a face and said that wouldn't be possible because there are only so many end pieces. I would have expected her to at least indicate she would go check; considering the dinner was $70 a plate. He ended up ordering the pork but had wanted the prime rib. The avacado with the salad was brown as if it had been cut hours before. We just expected so much more and were disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Soup was lukewarm but tasty. We were at ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Soup was lukewarm but tasty. We were at an early seating and told that one of the deserts from the prefix meal was not available but later in the meal was told that that particular desert was now available. Prime Rib was a little on the tough side. Service and ambiance top tier as expected.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Members of my party were very impressed. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Members of my party were very impressed. One person compared the quality of food and service on a par with Parisian restaurants. The only shortcoming was the desert.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful rooms, fun location in old tow ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Beautiful rooms, fun location in old town Sacramento. Great ambience and attentive service.

However, we were there on Christmas EVE. Fixed price menu, seemingly good choices, but all not well executed.The chowder was tasty, but the salad not dressed well enough. The

prime rib was good, portions huge, in fact too big for women, ( of any age), and the salmon dry. . The fritters were uninspired and flavorless , and the buche de noel, way too dense, not at all cake like, and cold from refrigeration.

For the price, almost 70.00 per person, it was a big disappointment. The staff was exemplary,

and very attentive, and did their best, but all in all, not a meal I wanted to tell my friends about. Not sure I'd go back.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

This place was great! Celebrated our 10 ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This place was great! Celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary there. The pork belly sliders were delicious! For the entree we each has the filet with lobster Mac n Cheese, it was out of this world!!! Definitely want to go back for more; the food and service were excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual it was a fabulous lunch before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As usual it was a fabulous lunch before we went to B St Theater. Wish they could cut down on noise during indoor dining. Thanks

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm embarrassed to say it had been 16 yr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I'm embarrassed to say it had been 16 yrs since we last ate at the Firehouse, yet it seemed like no time had passed! Par excellence!!! We have now promised ourselves to not let another 16 yrs pass before we return again. Service, food and attention to detail was attained. I give everything 5stars. It did seem a bit noisy, but did not deter our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Sacramento during Christmas w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We came to Sacramento during Christmas week & made reservations at this restaurant our first night. We were glad we did. The service was impeccable, the food excellent & the ambiance exceptional! The location in Old Town Sacramento was nice, giving one the opportunity either before or after dinner to walk around & see the shops.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the service to be somewhat lack ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We found the service to be somewhat lacking--had to ask for bread after 1/2 hour from being seated, had to check on meals after two hours of waiting. Food was all very good, although the romain salad was quite skimpy and the salmon was a very small portion without much accompanying it, not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Still one of Sacramento's top picks for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Still one of Sacramento's top picks for fine dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steve, waiter/sommelier was awesome with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Steve, waiter/sommelier was awesome with his wine pairings throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We go to the Firehouse every year for a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We go to the Firehouse every year for a holiday lunch. This will have been our last time; picking a new place next year. The service was not good (I had to ask for a drink; they immediately wanted to know what our order for food would be, neglecting to ask about cocktails or appetizers); the waitress seemed rushed and she was a bit rude, the Chardonnay was bland and acidic, and the food wasn't any better than Ten22 down the street for half the price. Also, the vibe was retirees. Oh well, we had a good run for the last 10 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.