Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 45 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Firehouse Restaurant

4.5
3205 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays
December 25, 2017 Christmas Day
January 1, 2018 New Year's Day
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(916) 442-4772
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
K & L
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us for an exquisite three-course Mother's Day Brunch Menu from 9:30 am - 3:30 pm. Adult menu is $59.95 and Young Patron menu is $24.95 for children ages 5-12. Credit card guarantee is required. Deadline to cancel is 5:30 pm on May 11. This brunch sells out quickly.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 3205 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Or meal at Firehouse Restaurant was truly an amazing experience. Our server Justin was great and Atique (the manager that night) ended our evening on a high note with his dessert recommendations of the Grand Manier Souffle and of course an Affogato.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great, the only mood killer was when we ask the waiter to bring the cake ( which we provide) he said we're going to be charged 4 dollars per person, (4 persons), this is the first restaurant that charged me for cutting a cake and bringing it to the table,, it shouldn't be that way, after all was a good amount of $$ for the dinner, besides that everything else was good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Really nice place. Friendly yet fancy. Would go again for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Regi was our waiter and a great one at that! The escargot was the first time I had tried it, and it was amazing! Loved that it was wrapped in philo dough and the escargot was still very tender. I would have loved a couple pieces of escargot in the dough for more flavor. The pork belly was definitely something to write home about- the best I've had so far (don't change a thing, just add more!). The scallops had a bit of grit but I couldn't get enough of the sauce. All in all, it was great. The lamb was cooked to perfection (very mild for lamb) and I always love when it's coated in horseradish sauce. We went for our first wedding anniversary and will be back to hopefully sit outside. I did love the cushioned seats inside though, very romantic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was great! Definitely will refer to friends and families. Also will return. Thx

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Was disappointed with the noise level. It was a birthday party of 6 & we could barely hear each other. My entree was not good tasting so was disappointed. Service & atmosphere was great. Doubt I would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Very delicious! Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Four of us enjoyed drinks, dinner and dessert on Friday. The service was excellent from the parking valets to the hostess to our server! The food was very good with the exception of one piece of fish that was a bit small and slightly over cooked to our taste. Everything else was beautifully prepared and presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great experience. We'll be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting, great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had a great evening at the Firehouse. We were seated immediately, the service was excellent, as was the food (although the escargot in puff pastry was a mistake; much prefer traditional approach). Never felt hurried, and got to the 8:00 show on time. Expensive but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great waiter and the sauce that was on the filet is the best tasting sauce I have ever had. I even asked the waiter if he could give me the recipe and he offered to give me a bowl to go but I had to decline because I was going to a comedy show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I went to this restaurant on a Friday night with my parents. I had the duck, my father had the pork chop and my mother had the chicken. Of the three, the pork chop was the best. The duck and chicken were good, but I found the sides with the duck less than compelling, and the chicken was not very original. Very attentive service, nice ambiance. Overall, I recommend this restaurant, but if I go again, I'd try the chef's five-course sampler, fairly moderately priced at $90, $130 with wine pairing (compared to the prices of the stand-alone dishes), which seems to get more of the cooking staff's attention.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Just think! You can converse with your friends without having to shout; pure joy. Well priced, tasty contemporary offerings at lunch. Photos from 1970s stars, Merv Griffin, Andy Warhol, etc, line one hallway. The street view of the restaurant hides it's opulent interior.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

First time there. Had an enjoyable time. Will be back for happy hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

When my fiance and I want to go out to a fancy/nice meal this is our go to place. The service is always top notch and the food is always delicious. I can't recommend this place more than I already do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Girl I took out told me it was the best meal she ever had

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Service...Does not get any better. The food...very tasty and unique. The wine list...very complete.
Enjoy !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Fancy, nice place for an anniversary . Recommend for anyone who likes a quiet place to dine and talk with other half.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went here for Easter Brunch and it was beautiful. Can't wait to go back and try the regular menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We enjoyed Easter brunch on The Firehouse's courtyard patio. While there are usually challenges with eating out on holidays like this (limited menu, very crowded), the food was good, service was excellent and we were not rushed. And in nice weather, the courtyard at the Firehouse is hard to beat - so lovely.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Daughter’s steak was ordered medium and came out extremely rare. Her meal was removed from the bill but the wait for the additional cook time extended the meal time greatly with two hungry children.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Food and wonderful outdoor dining , great scenic Spot in old sacramento

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Wonderful experience! Food was spectacular and service was impeccable. Cannot wait to go back again :-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It was an amazing night out with my wife

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Fantastic food and excellent service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We were there for our wedding anniversary and the food, staff and ambiance were spectacular! One of our best dining experiences. Reggie was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Always impeccable food and service. You are truly treated like Royalty at The Firehouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Fabulous place and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Excellent food and service. Old school victorian ambiance, very attentive servers. Loved the interior of the restaurant. Reminds me of what was considered top-class when I wad a kid visiting Chicago. Like a classic chop house.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I have gone to the Firehouse for many years, and find it to be consistently excellent. Fresh food with excellent flavor. The atmosphere is conducive to conversation. Great wine cellar and space for a party downstairs around the wine cellar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The perfect dining experience, pricy but amazing! Every staff member was charming and courteous. The food was remarkable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Birthday dinner for my wife. Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Got a call from restaurant asking if it was special occasion. I said yes, I had completed my 1year probation at work and was now permanent. At dinner there was no mention of it. Waiter was not personable. Very just business. Took order, checked in quickly, passed out dessert menu, etc. no effort to show he considered us humans. Even dropped the check early and he admitted he was just so used to doing it after the main course even tho we were still waiting for our dessert. The Delmonico steak was a let down. Though the steak itself was tasty, it was ruined by being over salted and a overtly salty sauce. Price wise I don't think we really got our money's worth out of the meal. Our last meal at firehouse was so amazing that we came back, but it'll be awhile before I give the restaurant another try. Which is sad because it was on our list of wedding venues.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The food quality varies tremendously from the dish selected. There are very few gluten free/vegetarian options but the ones available were wonderful. I selected the fish which rivaled the mediocre hotel food served at cheap luncheons. The head servers lacked warmth and were almost cartoon characters in their actions.

Finally, the décor reminded me of a funeral home. The restaurant came highly recommended and was expensive so I was quite disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

The food was very good as well as the service. We enjoyed ourselves.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I’ve had several great experiences at the Firehouse Restaurant but I’m finding diminishing returns each time I go. The food was good but for the price, especially in Sacramento, I might expect a little better value. The wine was good and I always enjoy the ambiance. Our server wasn’t rude but she wasn’t friendly either - a bit intense.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I was in town with 2 friends for a half marathon. We chose the restaurant based on Yelp reviews and the menu, wanting a "safe" meal before a large race. Being that we were in town for a race, we were casually dressed in jeans and even a plaid shirt. We walked in and immediately knew we were terribly underdressed. The staff didn't bat an eye. Our waiter was so friendly, making us feel at ease in what could have been a very uncomfortable situation. The food was EXCELLENT and I wholeheartedly would recommend it to anyone. I just wish I could have splurged with wine and dessert. We will absolutely return and this time, we will be wearing the appropriate attire!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Our dinner was delicious. The steak, lobster and lamb was cooked perfectly. Cocktails were nice and strong which my fiancé loved. The ambiance was perfect for date night. Service was great but we did feel a bit rushed which was surprising for a fine dining restaurant. Overall we had a great time and enjoyed ourselves.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
81