About The Firehouse Restaurant

1112 Second St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

The splendid ambiance of The Firehouse is enhanced by its reputation for excellence in food, wine and hospitality. The most award-winning restaurant in Sacramento, The Firehouse has earned the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine for 12 consecutive years and was voted "Best Wine List" - Best of Sacramento. The Firehouse has been rated as Zagat's Top 100, and has also been the recipient of the "Award of Unique Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm.

Closed Holidays 2016
New Year's Day, Staff Appreciation Party (Jan 31), Super Bowl (Feb 7), Private Event (Apr 11), Memorial Day (May 30), Independence Day (Jul 4), Labor Day (Sep 5), Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Cross Street:
K & L

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 442-4772

Website:
http://www.firehouseoldsac.com/

Entertainment:
The Firehouse hosts a weekly wine tasting every Tuesday from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for $15 per person. Each weekly tasting features a different theme. Please call the restaurant for more details about these events. Wine Events Contact: Mario Ortiz 442-4772

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking are available. A City lot is located at Second and I Streets. A City parking garage is located one block over on Neasham and Front Streets.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Firehouse Restaurant is known throughout the Sacramento region for our dedicated special events department, and is host to a variety of events. The Firehouse is known as the premier wedding site in Sacramento.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Since 1960, The Firehouse has been the destination for guests that desire an exceptional setting to celebrate a special occasion, conduct an important meeting or host a memorable luncheon or dinner. The quiet elegance of the decor, including 7 private rooms, lends itself to occasions of all sizes.

The Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for a Date (80)
Romantic (77)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Historic (66)
Notable Wine List (65)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Business Meals (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Cozy (27)
Authentic (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Seasonal (18)
Fireplace (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Private Room (12)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Healthy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Organic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Waterfront (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and great service. I wil ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and great service. I will definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best, most relaxing and delicious me ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

The best, most relaxing and delicious meal we'd had in a while. The ambience was elegant and calm. Staff was clearly highly trained and professional- we felt like royalty. Historically significant location. Can't recommend Firehouse enough.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service coupled with a wonderf ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service coupled with a wonderful meal. I took a friend for his birthday and he's a very picky eater, he loved his meal! Definitely a must do again

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very beautiful restaurant! The ambiance ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Very beautiful restaurant! The ambiance & the service were top notch! We would definitely recommend this to our friends & family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Service was a bit dis-jointe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Service was a bit dis-jointed due to multiple courses coming out and business of the restaurant. Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Appetizer and second course was phenomen ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Appetizer and second course was phenomenal. But the rack of lamb that was served was cooked well done... Not great... I don't think the server asked me how I wanted my rack of lamb and I forgot to mention that I would like it medium rare. Guess the chef or waiter didn't bother to come out to ask. I don't think a rack of lamb should ever be cooked well done..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Spectacular food. Fabulous seafood bisqu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular food. Fabulous seafood bisque. The kind of food that takes your breath away with each bite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Valentine's Date place. A bit pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome Valentine's Date place. A bit pricey...but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been coming to Firehouse for over 2 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been coming to Firehouse for over 20 years. I had my 16th and 25th birthday dinners here, my graduation dinner, my mom's 55th birthday, and many, many other memorable and special meals. Firehouse has always meant a lot to me. In all of my past experiences, they've had outstanding food and service. Last night however, both were outstandingly terrible.

My boyfriend and I arrived early and sat in the bar waiting for our 7:30 reservation. We weren't seated until after 7:40. Normally this wouldn't have bothered me but there were plenty of empty tables and no one else was waiting. Once seated, we waited another 10 minutes or so before our waiter came to our table for the first time and took our drink order.

It also took our waiter over and hour to take our food order. Both my boyfriend and I have worked in restaurants for years and know that even if you're juggling 15 tables (he had 4) an hour to take an order is ludicrous. I'm all for savoring a fine dining experience, but sitting at your empty table looking around for your waiter for over an hour is ridiculous.

We ordered appetizers, soup and salad, all tasted like they had been prepped days before and reheated. And then our main course. My boyfriend ordered Del Monaco steak, it was tough, overdone and just outright bad. I ordered the lobster tail. It was also completely overdone (the texture was like chewing on a balloon) and had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp for ages as the fricassee on the plate with it was literally burned. We sent both entrees back and still ended up paying over $100 for an absentee waiter, horrible food and an overall really disappointing experience. I was really looking forward to showing my boyfriend one of Sacramento's gems.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Perfect evening. Great food and service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Perfect evening. Great food and service. Hostess store could use an upgrade to be in line with rest of staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Arrived a little early for our 5:45 pm r ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Arrived a little early for our 5:45 pm reservation, was seated promptly, waiter and staff very professional, very attentive, excellent meal, amazing dessert, definitely pricey, but well worth it for our anniversary dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service, meal, and attention t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic service, meal, and attention to detail. Wine list is quite extensive as well. Still a very good restaurant after many years

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service from the staff competed for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service from the staff competed for such wonderful food. I will return to the Firehouse as it was my first time and highly recommend the Firehouse.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to love this place. All the rav ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I wanted to love this place. All the rave reviews! The drinks were stellar, the food just left a lot to be desired for a more refined eater. So many great eating choices in sacramento that do not overcharge like the firehouse. Both of our steaks were tough and one was over cooked. I had to ask the server to slow down our serving of courses and stagger them. This is a 4 course meal - it's not to be done in an hour! The room was overly lit and dated decor. Pork belly appetizer was dry, bread basket was delish. The Caesar was delish but my leek (with a tablespoon of chopped crab) bisque needed to be tweaked to allow for more flavor. $14 for crab bisque better be good! Steaks were $50 each. Sides were nothing to write home about. Mushrooms were cold, Brussels sprouts fried (yum) and lobster mac's sauce was a bit curdled. Save some moolah and have a more date-ambiance at Banderas!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent food and amazing service! The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and amazing service! The staff really takes care of their customers.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was absolutely amazing! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely amazing! From beginning to end, all of it was amazing! Food was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early Valentine dinner. And as always, e ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Early Valentine dinner. And as always, excellent food, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for amazing service and for wi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Thank you for amazing service and for wishing us a happy anniversary! Our servers were wonderful and we highly enjoyed our night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is our second time at the Firehouse ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our second time at the Firehouse restaurant and it was great. The ambiance is wonderful and they take the time to make you feel welcome. It's the only "fine dining" restaurant I have ever been to and it was lovely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

*****Five Star in Sacramento, CA and sho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

*Five Star in Sacramento, CA and should be a Six Star

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quickly became one of our all-time favor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Quickly became one of our all-time favorites. So satisfying in every way ! We are from DC and would fly back for this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason I didn't rate the food o ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The only reason I didn't rate the food outstanding was because some of the wine served with the Chef's menu were a little "young". Other than that everything was outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch was wonderful! The potato leek sou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lunch was wonderful! The potato leek soup was very good. The prime Steakhouse burger was awesome! Great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My fourth time eating here. Still one o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My fourth time eating here. Still one of the best restaurants in California. I live in Southern California but whenever I come to Sacremento, I try to get to The Firehouse. The food is always spectacular and the ambience is lovely and amazing. Some of the best wait staff I have ever encountered. They always have significant knowledge of not just the menu but the history of The Firehouse, and it is quite a history. I

If you have the time, ask for a tour of the basement and patio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere. Quiet and relaxing. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great atmosphere. Quiet and relaxing. Service was very friendly and efficient. Liked having a salad option instead of French fries. The greens served were very tasty along with the crab sandwich. My dining companion enjoyed the stroganoff and also had a plate of greens. Pricing was very good. No more expensive than many less creative and tasty restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing food, service and amb ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Absolutely amazing food, service and ambience. Garrison and fellow staff made me feel like a princess, presenting each beautiful course in a carefully timed and beautiful manner. Delicious and unique food; particularly the "perfect" bisque and chef's trio. I've been to few other restaurants in Sacramento, but am still guessing that this is the nicest. Really a very classy restaurant without being even a little stuffy. 5 solid stars and worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic, , Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snooty service. Food overpriced. Dinner ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Snooty service. Food overpriced. Dinner for 4 was $450. Food was bland and just so so. Filet was good. Have been enjoying Firehouse for years but they are now off my list.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The food here is amazing, but be prepare ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food here is amazing, but be prepared to pay a good amount of money. Well worth it though if ya have the money to spend. Lunch is much more reasonable if you want to experience a taste of what the chef has to offer. The wait staff are very attentive and they like to bring out selections to taste that the chef has prepared complimentary. I love this place for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for eight with great options exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner for eight with great options except for the fish. All the food was great, the noise level was such that you could converse across the round table which was great. Definitely go again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Firehouse Restaurant last ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to the Firehouse Restaurant last year for my daughters birthday and liked it so much we came back again this year. I love the decor and that it used to be a Firehouse. The food is really great. Not inexpensive though. A very impressive level of service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the steak sandwhich I had and the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Loved the steak sandwhich I had and the dessert was devine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Historic, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was OK. I remember it being better ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Food was OK. I remember it being better last time I came. Service was top notch. They no longer validate parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Wonderful evening, went for the Dine Dow ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wonderful evening, went for the Dine Downtown week, very generous selections & portions. Service could not have been better, very friendly. Took advantage of the accompanying wine flight which was a good pairing for our choices. First visit there was 53 years ago & it just keeps getting better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We took advantage of the Sacramento Rest ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We took advantage of the Sacramento Restaurant Week $35.00 prix fixe dinner. It was good but the dessert was not their best effort. The chicken entrée was outstanding and the salad was good. The wine flight was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Came with friends for the Dine Downtown ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Came with friends for the Dine Downtown Sacramento Restaurant week. The selection was good. The endive salad was ok, needed some punch/flavor though. I had the salmon with the wild mushroom risotto. The flavors were good but the portion was a bit small compared to a similar dish from another restaurant. My friends had the grilled Vande rose pork chop and chicken paillard which they very happy with. The apple croustade was lacking apples. The plum pudding was excellent, reminds me of a fruit cake but better. I would suggest to make the wine flight paired with the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice....almost made the outstanding ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very nice....almost made the outstanding category....turn the large over head lights down just a little bit....would add to the ambiance.....but a very very nice restaurant....

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Regular menu is qu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Regular menu is quite pricey, so we took advantage of restaurant week. Set menu included salad, main course and dessert. Salad was nice, nothing special but good interesting greens including red endive, candied walnuts and a well balanced dressing. The chicken paillard was amazingly succulent (it is brined before roasting) and the gnocchi with brown sage butter excellent, firmly sautéed on the outside and melting silky inside. For dessert there was plum pudding and apple cake. The pudding was a lititle dry but came with a great citrus hard sauce. The cake was excellent but there was too much of it. There was an amuse bouche in the beginning and a cucumber lemon sorbet palate cleanser before the man course, both very innovative and strongly flavored. Service was very attentive. Overall a great restaurant. Valet parking and coat room available. Decor is Victorian with old paintings on the wall, and tables roomy (we had a classy banquette).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here for Dine Downtown. The serv ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went here for Dine Downtown. The service was amazing! However for the price of this restaurant the food was a little disappointing. The chicken was a little rubbery, like it had been pre-cooked the heated for serving. The porkchop was very tasted however. The dessert was dry and if there hadn't been ice cream on the plate I don't think I could have eaten it.

Amazing wine selection although I could probably not afford to buy a bottle here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I always come here for Dine Downtown to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I always come here for Dine Downtown to sample their latest creations. I wasn't as blown away as last year's Dine Downtown but it was still an impressive fine dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.