Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About The Fine Diner

New School Diner in Old School Inglewood. We take classic comfort food and make it for foodies. From "Traditional Eggs Benedict" to "Grilled Caesar Salad" to House-Cured Candied Bacon. We are a Scratch Cooking & Community Sourced restaurant who's goal is to serve you the freshest food in a comfortable friendly environment giving back to our community with our all-in pricing strategy and Not-For-Profit Partnerships (Meal Share, Leftovers, Impact Society & Meals on Wheels"

1420 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, French / Canadian

Hours of Operation:
7 Days a Week: 8am-3pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 234-8885

Website:
http://www.finedinerbistro.ca/

Catering:
We offer package and custom catering to our community with on-site and off-site caterings as well as our private dining room.

* Restaurant Buy-Outs
* Corporate Caterings
* Wedding & Private Events
* Event Planning Services

Parking Details:
There is a small lot on the east side of the diner. There is also a great deal of free street parking right on 9th ave

Public Transit:
We are on the #1 Bus Route

Executive Chef:
Stephen Szostak

Private Party Facilities:
| Catering to Community |
We have a private dining room that can accommodate groups up to 14 people. There is a large central table in the room and it is perfect for "lunch & learns", board meeting, team building or a group of friends with a privacy door and separate entrance

We also offer Restaurant Buy-Outs and Offsite Caterings

Private Party Contact:
Events Specialist: (844) 227-0184

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
.

The Fine Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food seems to have gone downhill and was disappointing as I've been here many times in the past few years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Went for my first time since it's been taken over by new management and was quite disappointed. The prices are sky high and quite ridiculous for breakfast food. I see in previous comments that the "tips are built in to the prices" but they don't advertise that boldly and the debit machine still asks for tips when you pay. Service was also below par. There were 4 of us with empty water glasses, I had to flag our server down to ask for more water and she only filled mine, no one else. Highlight was that the food was good and came out quickly, but the restaurant was only half full. We used to come ALL the time to the Fine Diner and there was always a full house with people waiting outside. Unfortunately, won't be going back which is very disappointing as it was a favorite restaurant of mine for so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Bread and hash tasted old/leftover, could not cut bread used for benny with the butter knife provided. Server was asking about the cheque while we were still eating - felt rushed/encouraged to leave while restaurant was empty. Ordered/ate/pushed out within 30 minutes.

Usually so good - was an expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We used to come here all the time. Something has changed. The food has gone downhill and so has the service. We were disappointed that we spent about $50 on two bacon and egg breakfasts plated with food we had not asked for. There used to be an abundance of seasonal fruits on the plate, but a standard bacon and egg now only comes with potato hash, two eggs, and two slices of bacon. My husband asked for no potatoes (fruit instead) and still got potatoes with sliced apples and oranges. This is not what I expected for $50.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is one of my wife's favourite breakfast spots to go to. The food is great, the service is excellent and we always look forward to coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had brunch at Fine Dining on July 1st, 2017 (the reservation was easily made 2 days before on Open Table). The portions are large (the pancake stack -3- was huge), the prices are a bit high ($17 for said pancakes), the ambience is so-so and the noise (music) was too loud for my taste. However, the service was friendly and the food was tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I met Chef Szostok at Foodies in the Park, hosted by great events catering where I work, and his protege Winter. I love that the bistro gives back to the community with donations of food and money, has friendly staff, and a great menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Weekend brunch RESERVATIONS! What a life saver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We shared two plates for lunch and both were very tasty. Perhaps it was a good thing they had run out of their Chocolate Peanut Butter pie.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is fantastic! Service is ok. Love that you can make brunch reservations. Personally, I dislike sitting in the back section as there is zero atmosphere back there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Love this place, take clients for lunch here regularly. Great food and service, but music is a touch loud for business lunches. But wth that said, they're catering to a much crowd and not much business talk there. Highly recommend.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a breakfast favourite - never disappoints. Not the restaurant's fault, but access will be so much easier once repairs are completed on 9th Avenue. It's a restaurant you'll go to again & again!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our server was very friendly although one of us never did the drink we ordered. Great menu selections for both breakfast items and lunch. I would eat here again and take friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is one of my favourite breakfast places, but on this occasion, I was quite disappointed with the service. The staff seemed like they had too many tables each. Also, we found out they were changing the menu the next day, so they had run out of at least 3 items that we requested, included pastries, roasted duck, and tea. I heard another one from another table very shortly thereafter. On a busy Sunday, I thought this was very disappointing.

However! The food that they did have was delicious, and The Fine Diner always has a fairly pleasant vibe.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

For a Sunday, we expected to wait for quite some time but a table was arranged within 15 minutes. We were seated on the inner dining room in the back, a recent expansion. The lighting was dim and atmosphere needed a lift but the server explained that the overflow seating was temporary and about to go through a renovation. The food was excellent, and I still find myself thinking about their bacon! It was crispy and thick but sweet and flavourful. Prices are what you would expect to find at any typical hipster brunch establishment in Calgary. Would return and spend some time walking around Inglewood afterwards too! Street parking was widely available.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went for brunch. Quite a varied selection of dishes. The hash medley is a very good idea and well made. But overall the food is not the most tasty. Too bad, cause decor is really nice!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Best bacon in Calgary - thick cut and cured in maple syrup and brown sugar for two weeks

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went there for the bacon!
and the big breakfasts.
good food!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

So Good!
The food was enjoyed by all of our party. We were welcomed at the door and seated promptly. Our server was accommodating to our delayed ordering due our talking and our requests to adapt some menu items was obliged. The Bennys were "amazing", the Poutine (wild mushroom) delicious and the Frittata very satisfying (without the jalepenos). No room for dessert - but next time...!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Local ingredients are important to the Fine Diner and that is something I really like. However, I'm not a big fan of their local coffee and the traditional eggs Benedict where not so traditional. There was a kick to the hollandaise sauce and my eggs and egg whites were very runny when I asked for medium poached eggs. The restaurant has two different rooms and the hallways are awkward going between them and also the washrooms. It is nice they have the open kitchen style and you can see them preparing the food. The frittata was bland and the truffle oil was not noticeable at all in the dish. The in-house cured maple bacon is the best in the world and worth a trip to this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was disappointing- the menu oversold the quality, freshness and innovation of the food significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was lovely. My only complaint was the amount of time that it took for our food to arrive. It took nearly an hour (50 minutes) from the time we ordered (it was only myself and my fiancé) until we received our brunch. The restaurant was full, however, it is a small place and I felt that it was an overly long wait for eggs Benedict.

The food is definitely good and I would recommend going there if you don't mind the wait :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place is a gem. They make their own bacon and their food is hearty and great value (on the breakfast menu at least) I want to come back and try their dinner menu. So happy to see they take reservations for breakfast. Great for families with tween/teenage kids. My favourite breakfast spot in a city with some great breakfasts spots.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband and I went to Fine Diner based on the online menu that we saw - however when we arrived the menu was more limited and then after we sat and thought about what to order we were then told that two of the only five entree items were no longer available. Yikes!

The choices available were attempting more than they delivered and the food we ended up choosing was disappointing. I wish the restaurant well and hope that they improve in the future. Unfortunately with all the great Calgary restaurants available I won't be returning to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overall, loved the experience. Delicious Gluten Free options, and fantastic meals! My one disappointment was that they had no type of lactose free option for milk, which I found odd considering their progressive take on their menu. I couldn't have a latte with my breakfast, but opted for an espresso, which sadly turned out to be one of the worst espressos I've ever had. That being said I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to someone! But if you're lactose intolerant, grab a coffee before hand.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nice spot. We had lunch but the breakfasts looked real good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The French Toast was excellent. However, for someone that doesn't eat pork or pork products, it was a little difficult to choose something to eat as a large proportion of the items on the menu had pork or pork products.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was here once before and the food was so-so, service terrible. I said I would not go back. Friend picked it this time and until I got there did not realize it was the same place, but they redeemed themselves. Food was good and the service was very good. If this is a convenient location for you, I would definitely recommend it as a good neighborhood spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've always recommended the fine diner for the local ingredients and great food. But of all the times I've visited, this one was disappointing, and there were only 4 other tables with customers. The food was bland, as though the care is no longer there. And the service was forgettable.

I don't think I will be visiting for a while..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice stop for brunch on a Sunday. We were seated kind of in an awkward corner in the back room and it was a bit noisy back there. We didn't feel like we had privacy to our conversation, but it wasn't terrible.

The food was good. I had the classic eggs benedict, and my friend the omelette. The ciabatta bun (?) beneath my benedict was tasty, but quite difficult to cut through. The hollendaise sauce wasn't as hot as it should have been, but the unique flavor was really great.

Thumbs up on the grapefruit mimosas too. Excellent touch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Right away our waitress told us that they were two servers short and that our service might be affected. We really appreciated being told this in advance . We were two friends that hadn't seen each other in awhile so it didn't matter if our meal was slow coming out. If we hadn't have been told in advance and if we were the type of diners that were in a hurry then we may have been upset. Good call on the waitress part (I wish I could remember her name as she was awesome.) We were put in the back room and that was weird but once we got used to being cut off from the world then all was good. Our Mushroom Benedict was amazing. (we both had one) I plan on coming again and also recommending the Fine Diner to friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

First time to The Fine Diner and not the last. Breakfast was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I fond the service very slow. Also, I had requested my hollandaise sauce on the side of my Eggs Benedict and that did not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was a fantastic breakfast brunch spot on a lazy Sunday! Delightful staff and super tasty eats! We'll be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant and food. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Fine Diner has a great atmosphere, excellent wait staff, the food was amazing and all cooked from scratch! I'll definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It's our second time here and first without our 4 children. Excellent food especially the eggs Benedict with the perfect hollandaise sauce! Service was excellent as the food came fast and hot! Our server was diligent but not obtrusive and we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I went to this place a couple of years ago and thought it was excellent - not sure what happened to it but it was not great and the place was empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Breakfast was delicious as always, the servers were either inexperienced or not caring that day. Nothing major though, everyone has a bad day so that's understandable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best duck salad I have ever had! Burgers looked very juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.