About The Fine Diner

1420 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T5
View Larger Map

New School Diner in Old School Inglewood. We take classic diner fare and make it for foodies. From "Traditional Eggs Benedict" to "Grilled Citrus Salad" to homemade "Meatballs". We are a Food Network featured (You Gotta Eat Here!) scratch restaurant who's goal is to serve you the freshest food in a comfortable friendly environment. Come down and see what we are talking about.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, French / Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 8am-8pm
Friday & Saturday 8am-9pm
Monday & Sunday 8am-3pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 234-8885

Website:
http://www.finedinerbistro.ca/

Catering:
We are happy to accommodate whenever possible. We do lunch caterings for both delivery and pick up. Please call the restaurant for details.

403.234.8885

Parking Details:
There is a small lot on the east side of the diner. There is also a great deal of free street parking right on 9th ave

Public Transit:
We are on the #1 Bus Route

Executive Chef:
Joshua Hobin

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
.

Private Dining

| Catering to Community | We have a private dining room that can accommodate groups up to 14 people. There is a large central table in the room and it is perfect for "lunch & learns", board meeting, team building or a group of friends with a privacy door and separate entrance

The Fine Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (17)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We shared two plates for lunch and both ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We shared two plates for lunch and both were very tasty. Perhaps it was a good thing they had run out of their Chocolate Peanut Butter pie.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is fantastic! Service is ok. Love t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is fantastic! Service is ok. Love that you can make brunch reservations. Personally, I dislike sitting in the back section as there is zero atmosphere back there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Love this place, take clients for lunch ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Love this place, take clients for lunch here regularly. Great food and service, but music is a touch loud for business lunches. But wth that said, they're catering to a much crowd and not much business talk there. Highly recommend.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a breakfast favourite - never di ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a breakfast favourite - never disappoints. Not the restaurant's fault, but access will be so much easier once repairs are completed on 9th Avenue. It's a restaurant you'll go to again & again!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very friendly although on ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our server was very friendly although one of us never did the drink we ordered. Great menu selections for both breakfast items and lunch. I would eat here again and take friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is one of my favourite breakfast pl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is one of my favourite breakfast places, but on this occasion, I was quite disappointed with the service. The staff seemed like they had too many tables each. Also, we found out they were changing the menu the next day, so they had run out of at least 3 items that we requested, included pastries, roasted duck, and tea. I heard another one from another table very shortly thereafter. On a busy Sunday, I thought this was very disappointing.

However! The food that they did have was delicious, and The Fine Diner always has a fairly pleasant vibe.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

For a Sunday, we expected to wait for qu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

For a Sunday, we expected to wait for quite some time but a table was arranged within 15 minutes. We were seated on the inner dining room in the back, a recent expansion. The lighting was dim and atmosphere needed a lift but the server explained that the overflow seating was temporary and about to go through a renovation. The food was excellent, and I still find myself thinking about their bacon! It was crispy and thick but sweet and flavourful. Prices are what you would expect to find at any typical hipster brunch establishment in Calgary. Would return and spend some time walking around Inglewood afterwards too! Street parking was widely available.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Went for brunch. Quite a varied selectio ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went for brunch. Quite a varied selection of dishes. The hash medley is a very good idea and well made. But overall the food is not the most tasty. Too bad, cause decor is really nice!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Best bacon in Calgary - thick cut and cu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Best bacon in Calgary - thick cut and cured in maple syrup and brown sugar for two weeks

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for the bacon! and the bi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went there for the bacon!

and the big breakfasts.

good food!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

So Good! The food was enjoyed by all of ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

So Good!

The food was enjoyed by all of our party. We were welcomed at the door and seated promptly. Our server was accommodating to our delayed ordering due our talking and our requests to adapt some menu items was obliged. The Bennys were "amazing", the Poutine (wild mushroom) delicious and the Frittata very satisfying (without the jalepenos). No room for dessert - but next time...!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Local ingredients are important to the F ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Local ingredients are important to the Fine Diner and that is something I really like. However, I'm not a big fan of their local coffee and the traditional eggs Benedict where not so traditional. There was a kick to the hollandaise sauce and my eggs and egg whites were very runny when I asked for medium poached eggs. The restaurant has two different rooms and the hallways are awkward going between them and also the washrooms. It is nice they have the open kitchen style and you can see them preparing the food. The frittata was bland and the truffle oil was not noticeable at all in the dish. The in-house cured maple bacon is the best in the world and worth a trip to this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was disappointing- the menu ov ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was disappointing- the menu oversold the quality, freshness and innovation of the food significantly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was lovely. My only complaint was the amount of time that it took for our food to arrive. It took nearly an hour (50 minutes) from the time we ordered (it was only myself and my fiancé) until we received our brunch. The restaurant was full, however, it is a small place and I felt that it was an overly long wait for eggs Benedict.

The food is definitely good and I would recommend going there if you don't mind the wait :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This place is a gem. They make their own ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place is a gem. They make their own bacon and their food is hearty and great value (on the breakfast menu at least) I want to come back and try their dinner menu. So happy to see they take reservations for breakfast. Great for families with tween/teenage kids. My favourite breakfast spot in a city with some great breakfasts spots.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Fine Diner base ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I went to Fine Diner based on the online menu that we saw - however when we arrived the menu was more limited and then after we sat and thought about what to order we were then told that two of the only five entree items were no longer available. Yikes!

The choices available were attempting more than they delivered and the food we ended up choosing was disappointing. I wish the restaurant well and hope that they improve in the future. Unfortunately with all the great Calgary restaurants available I won't be returning to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Overall, loved the experience. Delicious ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overall, loved the experience. Delicious Gluten Free options, and fantastic meals! My one disappointment was that they had no type of lactose free option for milk, which I found odd considering their progressive take on their menu. I couldn't have a latte with my breakfast, but opted for an espresso, which sadly turned out to be one of the worst espressos I've ever had. That being said I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to someone! But if you're lactose intolerant, grab a coffee before hand.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice spot. We had lunch but the breakf ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nice spot. We had lunch but the breakfasts looked real good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The French Toast was excellent. However, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The French Toast was excellent. However, for someone that doesn't eat pork or pork products, it was a little difficult to choose something to eat as a large proportion of the items on the menu had pork or pork products.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I was here once before and the food was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was here once before and the food was so-so, service terrible. I said I would not go back. Friend picked it this time and until I got there did not realize it was the same place, but they redeemed themselves. Food was good and the service was very good. If this is a convenient location for you, I would definitely recommend it as a good neighborhood spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've always recommended the fine diner f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've always recommended the fine diner for the local ingredients and great food. But of all the times I've visited, this one was disappointing, and there were only 4 other tables with customers. The food was bland, as though the care is no longer there. And the service was forgettable.

I don't think I will be visiting for a while..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice stop for brunch on a Sunday. We wer ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice stop for brunch on a Sunday. We were seated kind of in an awkward corner in the back room and it was a bit noisy back there. We didn't feel like we had privacy to our conversation, but it wasn't terrible.

The food was good. I had the classic eggs benedict, and my friend the omelette. The ciabatta bun (?) beneath my benedict was tasty, but quite difficult to cut through. The hollendaise sauce wasn't as hot as it should have been, but the unique flavor was really great.

Thumbs up on the grapefruit mimosas too. Excellent touch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Right away our waitress told us that the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Right away our waitress told us that they were two servers short and that our service might be affected. We really appreciated being told this in advance . We were two friends that hadn't seen each other in awhile so it didn't matter if our meal was slow coming out. If we hadn't have been told in advance and if we were the type of diners that were in a hurry then we may have been upset. Good call on the waitress part (I wish I could remember her name as she was awesome.) We were put in the back room and that was weird but once we got used to being cut off from the world then all was good. Our Mushroom Benedict was amazing. (we both had one) I plan on coming again and also recommending the Fine Diner to friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to The Fine Diner and not the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

First time to The Fine Diner and not the last. Breakfast was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I fond the service very slow. Also, I ha ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I fond the service very slow. Also, I had requested my hollandaise sauce on the side of my Eggs Benedict and that did not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was a fantastic breakfast brunch sp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was a fantastic breakfast brunch spot on a lazy Sunday! Delightful staff and super tasty eats! We'll be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed the restaurant and food. Servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant and food. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Fine Diner has a great atmosphere, e ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Fine Diner has a great atmosphere, excellent wait staff, the food was amazing and all cooked from scratch! I'll definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's our second time here and first with ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It's our second time here and first without our 4 children. Excellent food especially the eggs Benedict with the perfect hollandaise sauce! Service was excellent as the food came fast and hot! Our server was diligent but not obtrusive and we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to this place a couple of years a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I went to this place a couple of years ago and thought it was excellent - not sure what happened to it but it was not great and the place was empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Breakfast was delicious as always, the s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Breakfast was delicious as always, the servers were either inexperienced or not caring that day. Nothing major though, everyone has a bad day so that's understandable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

Best duck salad I have ever had! Burgers ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best duck salad I have ever had! Burgers looked very juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation on July 03 at 12:30. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had a reservation on July 03 at 12:30. Arrived and was greeted warmly by the hostess. We were 20 minutes early so we had to wait which was fine. We read the menu so we knew what we wanted. Got our table 10 minutes early which was wonderful, sat down ordered coffee and lunch. This is where things go really bad. After about 30 minutes our waiter comes back and said he was sorry but forgot to enter our food order, said he was sorry and that it would be about 10 minutes to get it to us. No problem we had no where to go. 20 minutes later we notice that the couple that came after us had their meal and we still did not have ours. I was about to complain when one of the waitresses bring our meal. However the meal she brought my wife was completely wrong. She ordered poach eggs and got over easy, I ordered poach eggs as well and got scrambled. My wife returned her meal to which the waiter said it would be another 10 minutes to which my wife answered by cancelling her meal and wanted another cup of coffee. I ate mine regardless. It took another 7 minutes for my wife to get her coffee. I ate and promptly got up and stood by the cash register to pay. When our waiter came out my wife asked to speak to the manager to which the answer was there was no manager on site. Now the place was not busy and there was no way that we should have had to wait as long as we did for our meal. Needless to say that this will be the last time we are at this place, and hey for a hint guys have a MANAGER ON at ALL time. We did not have to pay for anything and that was about the only thing that went right

Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My husband and I were there for the firs ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I were there for the first time to try the breakfast and we were really not impressed with the service.

Our server did his best to take our orders and was very nice, but when he has all the 17 tables to take care of, of course he won't be able to give the attention everyone need. We could clearly see that he was running around to give 1 minute of attention to all tables.

He had two girls helping him, but the one that was taking care of our section had really poor costumer service skills! We asked her to change our coffees because it tasted old and sour and we never got our coffees back!

The restaurant really need to have more servers if they want to give a good service!

The food was good! It was tasty and looking good, but it took around 10 to 15min for us to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Went there two days in a row just for ba ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went there two days in a row just for bacon. Their home cured bacon is amazing. We brought our infant son and the staff was accommodating and the space wasn't too loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was ok for brunch. I ha ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2016

This restaurant was ok for brunch. I had higher expectations. The food was average, but the service was below that.

Not sure why it is so hard to serve a few tables in a small restaurant.

The place was nice and clean, and location was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I was disappointed with the service. Th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was disappointed with the service. The young girl that was working needs to be trained better. Customer service was not a priority--cleaning tables was. She was all alone at the front until two gentlemen from the back came out to give her a hand. I hope the next time is different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

We made a reservation since there were g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We made a reservation since there were going to be 6 of us and we needed to leave by a certain time to make it to an event nearby. When we arrived for our 11:30 reservation our table wasn't ready, and tables that could have been placed together to accommodate the 6 of us were given to other people. At 11:45 they were no where close having a table ready for us so I asked if we could at least be placed at two separate tables just so we'd be able to eat and leave by 12:45. So much for our reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What a disappointment. Had heard good th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2016

What a disappointment. Had heard good things about the Fine Diner , but our experience was dreadful. Felt sorry for our server as she did her best appeasing her diners however a two hour wait for brunch bad enough and the kicker our food was cold. A few of the regulars mentioned both the menu and management had recently changed, and not for the better at least not for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Fine Diner used to be a much better rest ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fine Diner used to be a much better restaurant. We recently went for dinner (after dining there for brunch and dinner several times prior). The restaurant was almost full and only had one server thus it took us a full half hour to receive drinks and have our order taken after being seated. Half the menu was unavailable, and one of us (who has Celiacs) was served a meal that had gluten in it after specifically telling him that he had an allergy. The remainder of the food was good but we will not be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.