About The Fine Diner

1420 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T5
View Larger Map

New School Diner in Old School Inglewood. We take classic diner fare and make it for foodies. From "Traditional Eggs Benedict" to "Grilled Citrus Salad" to homemade "Meatballs". We are a Food Network featured (You Gotta Eat Here!) scratch restaurant who's goal is to serve you the freshest food in a comfortable friendly environment. Come down and see what we are talking about.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 8am-9pm
Friday & Saturday 8am-10pm
Monday & Sunday 8am-3pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 234-8885

Website:
http://finedinercalgary.com/index2.php#/home/

Catering:
We are happy to accommodate whenever possible. We do lunch caterings for both delivery and pick up. Please call the restaurant for details.

403.234.8885

Parking Details:
There is a small lot on the east side of the diner. There is also a great deal of free street parking right on 9th ave

Public Transit:
We are on the #1 Bus Route

Executive Chef:
Robert Greco

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can accommodate groups up to 14 people. There is a large central table in the room and it is perfect for "lunch & learns" , birthdays, showers or just going for lunch with a group of friends

Private Party Contact:
Rob: 4032348885x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
.

The Fine Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Great for Brunch
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

great for brunch (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
great for lunch (24)
kid-friendly (9)
good for groups (7)
special occasion (4)
hot spot (4)
romantic (2)
scenic view (1)
afternoon tea (1)
business meals (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We made a reservation since there were g ...

Dined 6 days ago

We made a reservation since there were going to be 6 of us and we needed to leave by a certain time to make it to an event nearby. When we arrived for our 11:30 reservation our table wasn't ready, and tables that could have been placed together to accommodate the 6 of us were given to other people. At 11:45 they were no where close having a table ready for us so I asked if we could at least be placed at two separate tables just so we'd be able to eat and leave by 12:45. So much for our reservation!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

What a disappointment. Had heard good th ...

Dined 6 days ago

What a disappointment. Had heard good things about the Fine Diner , but our experience was dreadful. Felt sorry for our server as she did her best appeasing her diners however a two hour wait for brunch bad enough and the kicker our food was cold. A few of the regulars mentioned both the menu and management had recently changed, and not for the better at least not for brunch.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fine Diner used to be a much better rest ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fine Diner used to be a much better restaurant. We recently went for dinner (after dining there for brunch and dinner several times prior). The restaurant was almost full and only had one server thus it took us a full half hour to receive drinks and have our order taken after being seated. Half the menu was unavailable, and one of us (who has Celiacs) was served a meal that had gluten in it after specifically telling him that he had an allergy. The remainder of the food was good but we will not be returning.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This is one of my favorite restaurants - ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants -normally. The service was mediocre on saturday morning and their pulled pork hash tasted and looked like they washed the pork in warm water. It was mushy and had zero flavour and the eggs were poached soft instead of medium as ordered. I don't know if they have new staff but this experience will make me think twice before going again.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We popped in a for a quick dinner. The ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

We popped in a for a quick dinner. The food & service was great. We were too full for dessert, but will be back another time for that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this place on a whim and it is the ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Found this place on a whim and it is the best hidden gem I've ever stumbled across. Everything about our experience was amazing, the talented staff making our meal, the dazzling server, the styling of the place and our meal was without a doubt the best I've ever had. In 1 all-encompassing word: Spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great quality and excellent value. The d ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great quality and excellent value. The duck melted in your mouth and the pork belly was perfectly balanced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My year and a half son and I took my hus ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My year and a half son and I took my husband there for Father's Day and it was wonderful! The food and service was exceptional. I had the eggs Benedict and he had the bacon and eggs. If you are a bacon aficionado, then this is the place that you need to go! We were seated in the back area and it was quiet and perfect for my chatty son. A perfect neighbourhood gem and excellent place for a delicious brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing bacon! Eggs Benedict was perfect ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Amazing bacon! Eggs Benedict was perfect. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Met up with a friend for brunch and it w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Met up with a friend for brunch and it was our first time trying out The Fine Diner. It's a great little restaurant in Inglewood. Both of us being busy moms, we loved the fact we could make a reservation, something that can't be done at almost any other diner in the city. We both had a version of their Eggs Benedict. Drool! So delicious and fresh. Definitely will be coming back to try other brunch items. On our way out, I noticed the 'You Gotta Eat Here' sticker, a show I often watch for recommendations when we are out of town. I looked up the episode and can't wait to come back to The Fine Diner to try out the lunch/dinner items recommended. Our server was great, she had apologized for the wait as they were short a waitress that morning but we didn't even notice the wait. Our coffee was always full and she was attentive to our needs. Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Food but be patient with wait staff

Dined on June 11, 2016

The Fine Diner has been an Inglewood Gem for many years and recently had some changes to ownership and wait staff. The food remains EXCELLENT - fresh farm to table. The wait staff appears to be new and with time hopefully they will improve their serving techniques. We were disappointed in that aspect only. They were not attentive to our needs - water refills, coffee refills etc. We had to flag them down a couple of times. In time we are confident it will improve. the good food will bring us back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing, server was attentive!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was amazing, server was attentive!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service, nice quiet place

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Took my daughter (13) for a daddy-daughter meal and evening. I had scouted the menu prior to going and was a little disappointed that the one posted on Open Table was "new" and a few days from being available. What I had expected both my daughter and myself to order didn't happen. That being said, we both enjoyed our meals and the servers were both attentive and generous with us. The Fine Diner is an unpretentious and thoroughly enjoyable establishment!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place take a date too. Everyth ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fantastic place take a date too. Everything was great, the food was almost perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was average and the waiter was ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was average and the waiter was poor. He was making in appropriate jokes and lacking to do his job.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was excellent. I had a burger, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent. I had a burger, my friend had eggs benny with duck. She raved about it. This was her first time at the Fine Diner and she said she would definitely go back. This was my second visit. I will also be visiting again. They should open one in Airdrie!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

new owner ... still going to make their own bacon!

Dined on May 3, 2016

they were out of caesar salad that day ... ? ... but still had a great meal, great service ... keep it up! And good luck to the new owner! I'll be back ... with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Good Food, OK service, horrible end

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was really good, a bit on the pricey side, but expected for brunch in Calgary. The server was good, not too intrusive or hovering but knowledgable and efficient. The ambience was fine. We were seated in the back room away from the general area. It was quiet and good for catching up, but looked into the alleyway so the scenery was delivery trucks. The tact of the hostess was artrouseous! As soon as we had paid our bill she approached our table to let us know that we had overstayed our "allotted time" and would need to leave as they were going to put another party at our table. We had been there an hour and a half! Not sure what allotted time we were overstaying, as I was not told when making the reso we only had an hour and a half. After telling us, she hovered about 5ft away making sure we left. There was no apology, none quirky into how things were, just you need to leave. Will never go back or recommend it to anyone

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem of a place

Dined on April 20, 2016

As always, great food in a nice little gem of a place. Their burgers and fries are wonderful - so good that I've been several times to add jalapenos and monterrey jack, tried the lamb burger, and a classic cheeseburger. I'm not one to have a burger at just any place, but this place is an exception.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

My French toast was good except for the ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

My French toast was good except for the berries, they tasted freezer burnt. The service was slow considering we were one of three groups in the restaurant and the waitress was not very pleasant. I've been here before and had better experiences but after this I would not go back as it is not a family friendly place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Inglewood's gem! Fantastic breakfast and brunch menu and amiable service. Enjoyed the delicious Steak Hash which consists of house cut sirloin and two poached eggs on hash medley, served with hollandaise. Add fresh coffee and a side of succulent, sweet, thick-cut bacon and you'll be smiling for the rest of the day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, but a bit inconsistent

Dined on March 20, 2016

Last time I was here I got the 3 egg breakfast and I was floored. The bacon was the best I'd ever had and the seasoning the potatoes/sweet potatoes/purple potatoes was perfect! This time, I ordered the same thing, but the potatoes were salted way too much and the bacon was soggy and limp, rather than crisp. A little sad about that, but the ingredients are still great. Just have to hope you get the right cook for the right amount of seasoning and firmness in the bacon!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious hash browns

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch, had reservations, so no wait. Great selection - fantastic presentation with fruit & hash browns but I did have to send the Croque Madame I ordered back since it was pretty cold and had almost no sauce. On return, it was delicious. Husband enjoyed his Huevos Rancheros. Good spot, although not a quiet one, for brunch with decent prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best burger ever!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Order one of the specialty burgers. Cannot remember the name, but wowza it was soooo good. Had not been there in a while and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite diner in Calgary!

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

My favorite diner in Calgary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant experience, easy charm a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

A very pleasant experience, easy charm and great service accompanied my fantastic meal. Both my guest and myself thoroughly enjoyed our first experience at The Fine Diner. Came for lunch, looking forward to going back for Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Breakfast @ Fine Diner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service, food and location fabulous. Only negative is we were rushed out at the end, but I guess with such a small setting and good food, maybe you have to accept that, sigh!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fine Diner for Valentines Day!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place to enjoy a wonderful Valentine's Day brunch. Table was right by the window, sun was shining. Food and Service were excellent! We will be back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great diner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Valentines day for brunch. Place was very busy, god thing we had a reservation as some people were turned away. Our server was delightful and the food was fantastic. Will be coming back soon to try their dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to The Fine Dinner several times and the food and service has always been great. It would be nice to have half orders for children and seniors.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A diner for all reasons!

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have been to Fine Diner with 6 of my girlfriends for dinner, lunch with my elderly uncle and breakfast, brunch and lunch with my two young daughter and husband and it has been fantastic each time and everyone I have ever brought has loved it regardless of age or palette. You can count on Fine Diner!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb Burger and Maple Duck Benedicts wer ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Lamb Burger and Maple Duck Benedicts were soooo gooood. Portion was a little small but enough to fill our stomach! Our server was very nice.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place for lunch! Will try breakfast soon!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Good prices, great staff, great atmosphere and really really good food! Family wanted to visit The Fine Diner in Calgary since we saw the show "You Gotta Eat Here" (a favorite on the food channel) now we will be eating there a lot in the future!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great breakfast

Dined on January 25, 2016

As always, food was wonderful and fresh. I had the pulled pork hash with soft poached eggs, which were done perfectly (so many places get this wrong). Delicious dish. One of their best. My wife had the stuffed french toast, simply, tasty and filling, keep up the good work guys.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

An Inglewood asset

Dined on January 17, 2016

The Fine Diner provides a friendly, casual atmosphere with quality food. It's a little less pretentious that some of the other "hip" diners on the scene and that's a good thing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice Meet-up Spot

Dined on January 12, 2016

Went here with some out-of-town friends for lunch and really enjoyed our experience. Food was good, service was good, and it was the perfect spot to catch up. Nothing outstanding, but nothing negative, either. Would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Hard to get to too!

Dined on January 11, 2016

To get over the curb to Fine dining in the winter is a nightmare. The snow was piled so high we had to walk to the driveway to get on the sidewalk. Not a good first impression. The waiter did not get one of the orders correctly. The eggs Bennidict were done very well, just as I had asked, but you have to ask for a side order of Hollandaise. I thought Hollandaise was the main ingredient for Eggs Benny. The servings, I must say, are very generous. I love how they serve their French Fries. I couldn't, however, eat the hash browns on my order as they were dripping in grease. I may go back

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A nice brunch spot in a nice neighbourhood

Dined on January 10, 2016

Really good brunch and without a wait! Weekend wait times are out of control in this city so it was a relief to find a nice spot with having to wait an hour. I love that you can make reservations as well.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

awesome

Dined on January 10, 2016

as usual you never disappoint! We loved food and the atmosphere! We will continue to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A lot of hype

Dined on December 30, 2015

The food was good. Nothing that blew me away. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.