About The Fine Diner

1420 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T5
View Larger Map

New School Diner in Old School Inglewood. We take classic diner fare and make it for foodies. From "Traditional Eggs Benedict" to "Grilled Citrus Salad" to homemade "Meatballs". We are a Food Network featured (You Gotta Eat Here!) scratch restaurant who's goal is to serve you the freshest food in a comfortable friendly environment. Come down and see what we are talking about.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 8am-9pm
Friday & Saturday 8am-10pm
Monday & Sunday 8am-3pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 234-8885

Website:
http://finedinercalgary.com/index2.php#/home/

Catering:
We are happy to accommodate whenever possible. We do lunch caterings for both delivery and pick up. Please call the restaurant for details.

403.234.8885

Parking Details:
There is a small lot on the east side of the diner. There is also a great deal of free street parking right on 9th ave

Public Transit:
We are on the #1 Bus Route

Executive Chef:
Robert Greco

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can accommodate groups up to 14 people. There is a large central table in the room and it is perfect for "lunch & learns" , birthdays, showers or just going for lunch with a group of friends

Private Party Contact:
Rob: 4032348885x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
.

The Fine Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Great for Brunch
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

great for brunch (35)
neighborhood gem (28)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
great for lunch (21)
kid-friendly (10)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (4)
special occasion (4)
Sunday lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
afternoon tea (1)
business meals (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Fine Diner has a great atmosphere, e ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Fine Diner has a great atmosphere, excellent wait staff, the food was amazing and all cooked from scratch! I'll definitely be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's our second time here and first with ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It's our second time here and first without our 4 children. Excellent food especially the eggs Benedict with the perfect hollandaise sauce! Service was excellent as the food came fast and hot! Our server was diligent but not obtrusive and we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to this place a couple of years a ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I went to this place a couple of years ago and thought it was excellent - not sure what happened to it but it was not great and the place was empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Breakfast was delicious as always, the s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Breakfast was delicious as always, the servers were either inexperienced or not caring that day. Nothing major though, everyone has a bad day so that's understandable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

Best duck salad I have ever had! Burgers ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best duck salad I have ever had! Burgers looked very juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation on July 03 at 12:30. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had a reservation on July 03 at 12:30. Arrived and was greeted warmly by the hostess. We were 20 minutes early so we had to wait which was fine. We read the menu so we knew what we wanted. Got our table 10 minutes early which was wonderful, sat down ordered coffee and lunch. This is where things go really bad. After about 30 minutes our waiter comes back and said he was sorry but forgot to enter our food order, said he was sorry and that it would be about 10 minutes to get it to us. No problem we had no where to go. 20 minutes later we notice that the couple that came after us had their meal and we still did not have ours. I was about to complain when one of the waitresses bring our meal. However the meal she brought my wife was completely wrong. She ordered poach eggs and got over easy, I ordered poach eggs as well and got scrambled. My wife returned her meal to which the waiter said it would be another 10 minutes to which my wife answered by cancelling her meal and wanted another cup of coffee. I ate mine regardless. It took another 7 minutes for my wife to get her coffee. I ate and promptly got up and stood by the cash register to pay. When our waiter came out my wife asked to speak to the manager to which the answer was there was no manager on site. Now the place was not busy and there was no way that we should have had to wait as long as we did for our meal. Needless to say that this will be the last time we are at this place, and hey for a hint guys have a MANAGER ON at ALL time. We did not have to pay for anything and that was about the only thing that went right

Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My husband and I were there for the firs ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I were there for the first time to try the breakfast and we were really not impressed with the service.

Our server did his best to take our orders and was very nice, but when he has all the 17 tables to take care of, of course he won't be able to give the attention everyone need. We could clearly see that he was running around to give 1 minute of attention to all tables.

He had two girls helping him, but the one that was taking care of our section had really poor costumer service skills! We asked her to change our coffees because it tasted old and sour and we never got our coffees back!

The restaurant really need to have more servers if they want to give a good service!

The food was good! It was tasty and looking good, but it took around 10 to 15min for us to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Went there two days in a row just for ba ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went there two days in a row just for bacon. Their home cured bacon is amazing. We brought our infant son and the staff was accommodating and the space wasn't too loud.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was ok for brunch. I ha ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This restaurant was ok for brunch. I had higher expectations. The food was average, but the service was below that.

Not sure why it is so hard to serve a few tables in a small restaurant.

The place was nice and clean, and location was great.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I was disappointed with the service. Th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was disappointed with the service. The young girl that was working needs to be trained better. Customer service was not a priority--cleaning tables was. She was all alone at the front until two gentlemen from the back came out to give her a hand. I hope the next time is different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

We made a reservation since there were g ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We made a reservation since there were going to be 6 of us and we needed to leave by a certain time to make it to an event nearby. When we arrived for our 11:30 reservation our table wasn't ready, and tables that could have been placed together to accommodate the 6 of us were given to other people. At 11:45 they were no where close having a table ready for us so I asked if we could at least be placed at two separate tables just so we'd be able to eat and leave by 12:45. So much for our reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What a disappointment. Had heard good th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

What a disappointment. Had heard good things about the Fine Diner , but our experience was dreadful. Felt sorry for our server as she did her best appeasing her diners however a two hour wait for brunch bad enough and the kicker our food was cold. A few of the regulars mentioned both the menu and management had recently changed, and not for the better at least not for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Fine Diner used to be a much better rest ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fine Diner used to be a much better restaurant. We recently went for dinner (after dining there for brunch and dinner several times prior). The restaurant was almost full and only had one server thus it took us a full half hour to receive drinks and have our order taken after being seated. Half the menu was unavailable, and one of us (who has Celiacs) was served a meal that had gluten in it after specifically telling him that he had an allergy. The remainder of the food was good but we will not be returning.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

This is one of my favorite restaurants - ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants -normally. The service was mediocre on saturday morning and their pulled pork hash tasted and looked like they washed the pork in warm water. It was mushy and had zero flavour and the eggs were poached soft instead of medium as ordered. I don't know if they have new staff but this experience will make me think twice before going again.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We popped in a for a quick dinner. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We popped in a for a quick dinner. The food & service was great. We were too full for dessert, but will be back another time for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this place on a whim and it is the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Found this place on a whim and it is the best hidden gem I've ever stumbled across. Everything about our experience was amazing, the talented staff making our meal, the dazzling server, the styling of the place and our meal was without a doubt the best I've ever had.

In 1 all-encompassing word: Spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great quality and excellent value. The d ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great quality and excellent value. The duck melted in your mouth and the pork belly was perfectly balanced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My year and a half son and I took my hus ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My year and a half son and I took my husband there for Father's Day and it was wonderful! The food and service was exceptional. I had the eggs Benedict and he had the bacon and eggs. If you are a bacon aficionado, then this is the place that you need to go! We were seated in the back area and it was quiet and perfect for my chatty son. A perfect neighbourhood gem and excellent place for a delicious brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing bacon! Eggs Benedict was perfect ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Amazing bacon!

Eggs Benedict was perfect.

Looking forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Met up with a friend for brunch and it w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Met up with a friend for brunch and it was our first time trying out The Fine Diner. It's a great little restaurant in Inglewood.

Both of us being busy moms, we loved the fact we could make a reservation, something that can't be done at almost any other diner in the city.

We both had a version of their Eggs Benedict. Drool! So delicious and fresh. Definitely will be coming back to try other brunch items.

On our way out, I noticed the 'You Gotta Eat Here' sticker, a show I often watch for recommendations when we are out of town. I looked up the episode and can't wait to come back to The Fine Diner to try out the lunch/dinner items recommended.

Our server was great, she had apologized for the wait as they were short a waitress that morning but we didn't even notice the wait. Our coffee was always full and she was attentive to our needs.

Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food but be patient with wait staff

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The Fine Diner has been an Inglewood Gem for many years and recently had some changes to ownership and wait staff. The food remains EXCELLENT - fresh farm to table. The wait staff appears to be new and with time hopefully they will improve their serving techniques. We were disappointed in that aspect only. They were not attentive to our needs - water refills, coffee refills etc. We had to flag them down a couple of times. In time we are confident it will improve. the good food will bring us back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was amazing, server was attentive!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was amazing, server was attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food and service, nice quiet place

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Took my daughter (13) for a daddy-daughter meal and evening. I had scouted the menu prior to going and was a little disappointed that the one posted on Open Table was "new" and a few days from being available. What I had expected both my daughter and myself to order didn't happen. That being said, we both enjoyed our meals and the servers were both attentive and generous with us. The Fine Diner is an unpretentious and thoroughly enjoyable establishment!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic place take a date too. Everyth ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Fantastic place take a date too. Everything was great, the food was almost perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average and the waiter was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was average and the waiter was poor. He was making in appropriate jokes and lacking to do his job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was excellent. I had a burger, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent. I had a burger, my friend had eggs benny with duck. She raved about it. This was her first time at the Fine Diner and she said she would definitely go back. This was my second visit. I will also be visiting again. They should open one in Airdrie!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

new owner ... still going to make their own bacon!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

they were out of caesar salad that day ... ? ... but still had a great meal, great service ... keep it up! And good luck to the new owner! I'll be back ... with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, OK service, horrible end

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was really good, a bit on the pricey side, but expected for brunch in Calgary. The server was good, not too intrusive or hovering but knowledgable and efficient. The ambience was fine. We were seated in the back room away from the general area. It was quiet and good for catching up, but looked into the alleyway so the scenery was delivery trucks. The tact of the hostess was artrouseous! As soon as we had paid our bill she approached our table to let us know that we had overstayed our "allotted time" and would need to leave as they were going to put another party at our table. We had been there an hour and a half! Not sure what allotted time we were overstaying, as I was not told when making the reso we only had an hour and a half. After telling us, she hovered about 5ft away making sure we left. There was no apology, none quirky into how things were, just you need to leave.

Will never go back or recommend it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Gem of a place

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

As always, great food in a nice little gem of a place. Their burgers and fries are wonderful - so good that I've been several times to add jalapenos and monterrey jack, tried the lamb burger, and a classic cheeseburger. I'm not one to have a burger at just any place, but this place is an exception.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My French toast was good except for the ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

My French toast was good except for the berries, they tasted freezer burnt. The service was slow considering we were one of three groups in the restaurant and the waitress was not very pleasant. I've been here before and had better experiences but after this I would not go back as it is not a family friendly place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Amazing Sunday Brunch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Inglewood's gem! Fantastic breakfast and brunch menu and amiable service. Enjoyed the delicious Steak Hash which consists of house cut sirloin and two poached eggs on hash medley, served with hollandaise. Add fresh coffee and a side of succulent, sweet, thick-cut bacon and you'll be smiling for the rest of the day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, but a bit inconsistent

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Last time I was here I got the 3 egg breakfast and I was floored. The bacon was the best I'd ever had and the seasoning the potatoes/sweet potatoes/purple potatoes was perfect! This time, I ordered the same thing, but the potatoes were salted way too much and the bacon was soggy and limp, rather than crisp. A little sad about that, but the ingredients are still great. Just have to hope you get the right cook for the right amount of seasoning and firmness in the bacon!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious hash browns

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch, had reservations, so no wait. Great selection - fantastic presentation with fruit & hash browns but I did have to send the Croque Madame I ordered back since it was pretty cold and had almost no sauce. On return, it was delicious. Husband enjoyed his Huevos Rancheros. Good spot, although not a quiet one, for brunch with decent prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best burger ever!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Order one of the specialty burgers. Cannot remember the name, but wowza it was soooo good. Had not been there in a while and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My favorite diner in Calgary!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My favorite diner in Calgary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very pleasant experience, easy charm a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

A very pleasant experience, easy charm and great service accompanied my fantastic meal. Both my guest and myself thoroughly enjoyed our first experience at The Fine Diner. Came for lunch, looking forward to going back for Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast @ Fine Diner

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service, food and location fabulous. Only negative is we were rushed out at the end, but I guess with such a small setting and good food, maybe you have to accept that, sigh!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine Diner for Valentines Day!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place to enjoy a wonderful Valentine's Day brunch. Table was right by the window, sun was shining. Food and Service were excellent! We will be back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great diner

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Valentines day for brunch. Place was very busy, god thing we had a reservation as some people were turned away. Our server was delightful and the food was fantastic.

Will be coming back soon to try their dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to The Fine Dinner several times and the food and service has always been great. It would be nice to have half orders for children and seniors.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.