About The Fine Diner

1420 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T5
View Larger Map

New School Diner in Old School Inglewood. We take classic diner fare and make it for foodies. From "Traditional Eggs Benedict" to "Grilled Citrus Salad" to homemade "Meatballs". We are a Food Network featured (You Gotta Eat Here!) scratch restaurant who's goal is to serve you the freshest food in a comfortable friendly environment. Come down and see what we are talking about.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 7am-9pm
Friday & Saturday 7am-10pm
Sunday 7am-4pm

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 234-8885

Website:
http://finedinercalgary.com/index2.php#/home/

Catering:
We are happy to accommodate whenever possible. We do lunch caterings for both delivery and pick up. Please call the restaurant for details.

403.234.8885

Parking Details:
There is a small lot on the east side of the diner. There is also a great deal of free street parking right on 9th ave

Public Transit:
We are on the #1 Bus Route

Executive Chef:
Robert Greco

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that can accommodate groups up to 14 people. There is a large central table in the room and it is perfect for "lunch & learns" , birthdays, showers or just going for lunch with a group of friends

Private Party Contact:
Rob: 4032348885x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
.

The Fine Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Great for Lunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Great for Brunch
Calgary
1 More
Great for Lunch
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

great for brunch (39)
fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (27)
See All
great for lunch (24)
good for groups (8)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (6)
special occasion (2)
romantic (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place take a date too. Everyth ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fantastic place take a date too. Everything was great, the food was almost perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was average and the waiter was ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was average and the waiter was poor. He was making in appropriate jokes and lacking to do his job.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was excellent. I had a burger, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent. I had a burger, my friend had eggs benny with duck. She raved about it. This was her first time at the Fine Diner and she said she would definitely go back. This was my second visit. I will also be visiting again. They should open one in Airdrie!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

new owner ... still going to make their own bacon!

Dined on May 3, 2016

they were out of caesar salad that day ... ? ... but still had a great meal, great service ... keep it up! And good luck to the new owner! I'll be back ... with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Good Food, OK service, horrible end

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was really good, a bit on the pricey side, but expected for brunch in Calgary. The server was good, not too intrusive or hovering but knowledgable and efficient. The ambience was fine. We were seated in the back room away from the general area. It was quiet and good for catching up, but looked into the alleyway so the scenery was delivery trucks. The tact of the hostess was artrouseous! As soon as we had paid our bill she approached our table to let us know that we had overstayed our "allotted time" and would need to leave as they were going to put another party at our table. We had been there an hour and a half! Not sure what allotted time we were overstaying, as I was not told when making the reso we only had an hour and a half. After telling us, she hovered about 5ft away making sure we left. There was no apology, none quirky into how things were, just you need to leave. Will never go back or recommend it to anyone

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem of a place

Dined on April 20, 2016

As always, great food in a nice little gem of a place. Their burgers and fries are wonderful - so good that I've been several times to add jalapenos and monterrey jack, tried the lamb burger, and a classic cheeseburger. I'm not one to have a burger at just any place, but this place is an exception.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

My French toast was good except for the ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

My French toast was good except for the berries, they tasted freezer burnt. The service was slow considering we were one of three groups in the restaurant and the waitress was not very pleasant. I've been here before and had better experiences but after this I would not go back as it is not a family friendly place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Inglewood's gem! Fantastic breakfast and brunch menu and amiable service. Enjoyed the delicious Steak Hash which consists of house cut sirloin and two poached eggs on hash medley, served with hollandaise. Add fresh coffee and a side of succulent, sweet, thick-cut bacon and you'll be smiling for the rest of the day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, but a bit inconsistent

Dined on March 20, 2016

Last time I was here I got the 3 egg breakfast and I was floored. The bacon was the best I'd ever had and the seasoning the potatoes/sweet potatoes/purple potatoes was perfect! This time, I ordered the same thing, but the potatoes were salted way too much and the bacon was soggy and limp, rather than crisp. A little sad about that, but the ingredients are still great. Just have to hope you get the right cook for the right amount of seasoning and firmness in the bacon!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious hash browns

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch, had reservations, so no wait. Great selection - fantastic presentation with fruit & hash browns but I did have to send the Croque Madame I ordered back since it was pretty cold and had almost no sauce. On return, it was delicious. Husband enjoyed his Huevos Rancheros. Good spot, although not a quiet one, for brunch with decent prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best burger ever!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Order one of the specialty burgers. Cannot remember the name, but wowza it was soooo good. Had not been there in a while and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite diner in Calgary!

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

My favorite diner in Calgary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant experience, easy charm a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

A very pleasant experience, easy charm and great service accompanied my fantastic meal. Both my guest and myself thoroughly enjoyed our first experience at The Fine Diner. Came for lunch, looking forward to going back for Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Breakfast @ Fine Diner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service, food and location fabulous. Only negative is we were rushed out at the end, but I guess with such a small setting and good food, maybe you have to accept that, sigh!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fine Diner for Valentines Day!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place to enjoy a wonderful Valentine's Day brunch. Table was right by the window, sun was shining. Food and Service were excellent! We will be back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great diner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Valentines day for brunch. Place was very busy, god thing we had a reservation as some people were turned away. Our server was delightful and the food was fantastic. Will be coming back soon to try their dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to The Fine Dinner several times and the food and service has always been great. It would be nice to have half orders for children and seniors.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A diner for all reasons!

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have been to Fine Diner with 6 of my girlfriends for dinner, lunch with my elderly uncle and breakfast, brunch and lunch with my two young daughter and husband and it has been fantastic each time and everyone I have ever brought has loved it regardless of age or palette. You can count on Fine Diner!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb Burger and Maple Duck Benedicts wer ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Lamb Burger and Maple Duck Benedicts were soooo gooood. Portion was a little small but enough to fill our stomach! Our server was very nice.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place for lunch! Will try breakfast soon!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Good prices, great staff, great atmosphere and really really good food! Family wanted to visit The Fine Diner in Calgary since we saw the show "You Gotta Eat Here" (a favorite on the food channel) now we will be eating there a lot in the future!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great breakfast

Dined on January 25, 2016

As always, food was wonderful and fresh. I had the pulled pork hash with soft poached eggs, which were done perfectly (so many places get this wrong). Delicious dish. One of their best. My wife had the stuffed french toast, simply, tasty and filling, keep up the good work guys.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

An Inglewood asset

Dined on January 17, 2016

The Fine Diner provides a friendly, casual atmosphere with quality food. It's a little less pretentious that some of the other "hip" diners on the scene and that's a good thing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice Meet-up Spot

Dined on January 12, 2016

Went here with some out-of-town friends for lunch and really enjoyed our experience. Food was good, service was good, and it was the perfect spot to catch up. Nothing outstanding, but nothing negative, either. Would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Hard to get to too!

Dined on January 11, 2016

To get over the curb to Fine dining in the winter is a nightmare. The snow was piled so high we had to walk to the driveway to get on the sidewalk. Not a good first impression. The waiter did not get one of the orders correctly. The eggs Bennidict were done very well, just as I had asked, but you have to ask for a side order of Hollandaise. I thought Hollandaise was the main ingredient for Eggs Benny. The servings, I must say, are very generous. I love how they serve their French Fries. I couldn't, however, eat the hash browns on my order as they were dripping in grease. I may go back

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A nice brunch spot in a nice neighbourhood

Dined on January 10, 2016

Really good brunch and without a wait! Weekend wait times are out of control in this city so it was a relief to find a nice spot with having to wait an hour. I love that you can make reservations as well.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

awesome

Dined on January 10, 2016

as usual you never disappoint! We loved food and the atmosphere! We will continue to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A lot of hype

Dined on December 30, 2015

The food was good. Nothing that blew me away. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good food but over priced

Dined on December 29, 2015

The food is delicious but expensive. Location is good and parking was easy. It is tight quarters so close to other tables. Recommend making a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4

We had the Burger, quite tasty and the p ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

We had the Burger, quite tasty and the pretzel bun added great texture.

food2
ambience3
service3

Okay

Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was just okay, nothing great. We've been on other occasions and loved it, but the is the first time in a few months and the foods taste and quality seems to have slipped. When we asked for ketchup for the fries, the waiter just plunked down a mega bottle of ketchup - what happened to the nice cups. Our friend had the trout and said it was tasty.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

2nd Visit and Still Good!

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

Our second visit and the food was as good as the first time. We had a vegan with us this time and the restaurant bent over backwards to accommodate the very limited diet needs. Service was excellent! We will return again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4

Unique twists on traditional breakfast o ...

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

Unique twists on traditional breakfast options.

food5
ambience5
service5

We will be back.

Dined on November 4, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Fine Diner. The food was outstandingly good, the service was wonderful, and the ambiance, even in such a small space, was lovely. All of our party very much enjoyed the food. We've already decided to go back and dine there again at our next opportunity.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

a Gem in Inglewood

Dined on October 31, 2015

I found this place simply by googling the phrase "Best breakfast restaurants in Calgary", and the Fine Diner came up high on the list. It's not super fancy inside, but certainly very clean and well kept. The servers and hostess were very pleasant and attentive. The food really blew us away. It's not 'diner' food, it's somewhere between diner and the old 'Mescalero group' restaurants. A surprising and enjoyable morning (make a reservation).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall very good. Fantastic food with OK service.

Dined on October 31, 2015

First time at The Fine Diner with a group of 5. The restaurant is rather small but, our table was comfortable. Our server was, overall, very friendly and attentive and made great conversation with us while we were there. The menu is diverse and nobody had trouble finding something that they liked. Our order consisted of two burgers, two meat loafs, and the cassoulet. Everything was cooked and seasoned well and made it out in a timely manner (maybe a bit slower than I expected due to the few tables that were there).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on October 25, 2015

we went for brunch and had the mushroom fritata, it was delicious. the menu had great choices. Would return to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service2

Not Fine Dining this time

Dined on October 24, 2015

We have frequented the Fine diner on numerous occasions. This time the whole experience was not very good. We had made reservations but were informed when we showed up that we would have to wait for the server to arrive, even though there was ample space in the restaurant . After we were seated one of our guests asked about a menu substitution and was rudely told absolutely....NOT. Our meal service was really slow, coffee service for the one cup that was ordered by our table even slower, we had to go seek another server for coffee refill. Our meals showed up and were room temperature at best, the eggs obviously sitting for a long time before being served. We also did not get an upgrade ordered. When we did receive our bill I was charged for an extra coffee, and had to run the debit machine myself after our server dropped it off and disappeared.

food3
ambience2
service2

Excellent Burgers, Everything Else Okay

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Dined with 3 friends. The burgers are excellent. The meatloaf came with roasted small potatoes and roasted cauliflower, it was okay. The Diner Lasagna was bland. Side salads were really good. It's a very small room and dependent upon the other diners can get loud (people need to use inside voices).

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Awesome Carrot Cake!

Dined on October 15, 2015

A nice quiet place to meet up in Inglewood. Our bookclub had nearly the whole restaurant to ourselves; making it a great venue for us to chat! The menu prices are refreshingly reasonable... less than $8 for a good sized dessert?! The Fine Diner has OUTSTANDING Carrot Cake! We may have been biased since it was freshly baked and 4 of our 6 diners indulged in it... but not a crumb was left on any of the plates! Note that Nutella was used as a garnish so be sure to indicate if you have an allergy. The Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake was delicious too! Unfortunately, the waitress was a bit short with us and offered little apology when she mistakenly made an Americano instead of the London Fog that was ordered. She wasn't very welcoming or attentive all evening even though we were basically the only table in the place. Although the service was disappointing, I would certainly return to try more of the menu items.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food

Dined on October 12, 2015

i love the atmosphere there. Our food was a little slow. I had the maple duck Benny and my husband had the mango stuff French toast. My duck Benny was cooked to perfection but the mango in the French toast was a little raw. But definitely would come back and try out new dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.