About The Fig Tree Restaurant

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: 7043323322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

Restaurant Photos

The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
Sea Scallops
Trout
Elk Chops
Striped Bass
Cheese Plate
Quail

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
10 More
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Fit for Foodies
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte

Special Occasion (131)
Romantic (103)
Notable Wine List (98)
See All
Fit for Foodies (95)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (12)
Historic (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, wine, and service. Our waite ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, wine, and service. Our waiter was knowledgeable of the menu and pairings. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Fig Tree event was outstanding. Di ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

This Fig Tree event was outstanding. Dinner with good friends is always fun; but, this evening was special. The food was terrific, the wines were exquisite and the service was off-the-chart. Both couple will be returning and advising others to come.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've heard such great things about Fig T ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I've heard such great things about Fig Tree and was excited to finally give it a try for our anniversary. Here are the positives; excellent service, wine list and ambiance. The historic house is beautiful and very romantic. Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed in the food. There are a handful of excellent restaurants in Charlotte, this is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

After all high recommendations in tripad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

After all high recommendations in tripadvisor, we booked a table. Even though booked weeks in advance, they could not seat us outside. The food was ok. Took a while to figure out what to eat, as many dishes ahead many, almost too many ingredients for my taste. It was ok, service was ok, but I would not return

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Pros: The service and drinks were outsta ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Pros:

The service and drinks were outstanding !!

The Grouper with lobster tail and the Elk chop was excellent!

Calamari appetizer was the best!

Cons:

Lobster sauce served with the Grouper was VERY VERY rich. Overwhelming!

A lot of work needs to be done on the braised red cabbage.

Improvement on Spaetzle needs to be done. Undercooked and bland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Fig Tree was the height of excellenc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Fig Tree was the height of excellence in their execution of the menu items, their attention to detail and knowledgeable and friendly staff. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed, yet refined. I can't say enough good things about it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Party of 1; 1 appetizer, 1 entree, 1 gl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Party of 1; 1 appetizer, 1 entree, 1 glass of wine, 2 cocktails, $110.00 out the door.

The initial hostess was pleasant. 3 service representatives work with me, a little funky seemed uneasy. The Octopus was just a hair over cooked. needed seasoning & citrus.

No salt & pepper on the table. The roasted Garlic smear was critical! Very nice add. The Bread was tasty. The Parpadelle was a bit chewy, dish was dry, lacked sauce, needed seasoning S&P. fresh grated Parm was offered I had to ask for more due to blandness. For Farm raised free range chicken it was tough, extra 10 dollars for the chicken. The vegetables were all good.

Over all it was good.

If charging these higher prices, they gotta have steller product. And be tastier..

In my eyes the prices could be dropped.

I am a certified Chef/Restaurateur.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was highly recommended. Everything ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This was highly recommended. Everything was just fine but nothing was outstanding. It is expensive which would be alright if there were something special about the food. We found the food plain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

excellent food and service. Five star al ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

excellent food and service. Five star all the way. Chairs you sit in not so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We asked to sit outside because the insi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We asked to sit outside because the inside is smaller and a bit noisey because it's so close to other diners. The outside was relaxing and romantic. Our server Vanessa was awesome and the food was amazing. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was decent, but not for the hig ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was decent, but not for the high entree prices ($42). Our server was snobby and condescending (tall, older man with white hair). The spaetzel that came with the elk entree was completely flavorless. Tasted like cool macaroni noodles with no sauce. I had much higher expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Amazing as usual, don't waste your money ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing as usual, don't waste your money elsewhere in Charlotte! Best wine selection in the city, best food, nothing bad on the menu. Just go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful culinary meal. All item ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

What a wonderful culinary meal. All items were wonderfully assembled, well presented, and most of all, delicious. All in our group of 4 found their food (all ordered in a different manner and style) to be properly and wonderfully prepared. Tying that in was the service. The waiter (ask for Zach!) was well informed, properly attentive, and had a great sense of humor. The package made for a super evening out.

The foie gras was wonderfully taste (though a bit tiny), and others enjoyed the trout, elk, duck and filet. The wine list was excellent. The roasted garlic puree for the focaccia, along with rosemarie olive oil was terrific.

Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend this as a gourmet dining experience that did not disappoint. FYI, we visited from out of town, and joined our parents here. My bride and I were happy with the choice we made, and expected the check.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service! Our server, Dave, wa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service! Our server, Dave, was very knowledgeable about the history of the home and was so very kind to our family. We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Each course was fabulous. Look forward t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Each course was fabulous. Look forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with dinner the other night. In short, a phenomenal dining experience from the moment we entered the restaurant. Small rooms, tastefully decorated enhanced the ambiance. The food was superb as was the service from Curt (strongly recommend him). Special mention for the calamari appetizer w/ chorizo and eggplant as well as the broiled scallops. Great wine list with numerous affordable options available. We loved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting NC from out of state fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were visiting NC from out of state for a short stay and wanted a special dinner. Reviews described this restaurant as one of the best in Charlotte and they were not wrong! The service was personal, friendly, & professional. The menu was not extensive, but offered lots of creative options (meats, including elk, fish, pasta). The Beet Carpaccio appetizer was delicious. It had a little tang from the goat cheese with a bit of sweet and a bit of spice - YUM! For dinner, we ordered one meal from the regular menu and one from the nightly specials. Both were terrific. My fish and my guest's steak were perfectly prepared. Desserts were magnificent - creative and delicious! This was probably our only opportunity to dine at The Fig Tree and I'm very sorry we won't be able to eat there again because we live several hundred miles away. But if we're ever in the area, we will certainly dine there again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Fig Tree has always been on the to d ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Fig Tree has always been on the to do list, finally made it so for the wife's B'day. Located in a 2 story bungalow built in 1903 makes it somewhat unique. Seating on both levels we chose second floor with tables for 4. Server was very knowledgeable of menu as well as wine list. Presentation of food is excellent our selections included their signature seafood (3 oz ) lobster tail on top of fresh grilled grouper, Veal and a strip steak from local sourcing. Only entrée issue, strip steak arrived over cooked-this after a detail discussion with server and the chef on duty. Server was more than ready to have another steak prepared I made the decision to

stay with as delivered, I would have gone with replacement; my call my decision. Wife received a complementary desert with candle. Service & food was good, not certain check was commensurate with aforementioned but alcohol was served and that always inflates the bottom. Overall a good dining experience in a quiet atmosphere which is always refreshing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Fig Tree delivers on its promise of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Fig Tree delivers on its promise of a fine dining establishment with a creative menu and extensive wine list (38 pages!). The food is of the highest quality and each of the main courses my wife and I had (elk ribs for her and filet mignon for me) were well-matched with their accompanying sides that got no less attention than the headline item. The desserts were equally well-prepared. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were amazing. We had o ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service and food were amazing. We had our own private room which was nice for our larger party but the noise level was high (more of our own doing).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food was great. Chase was o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service and food was great. Chase was our waiter and he did a super job. The elk chop was usual and wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for birthday dinner and was so plea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Went for birthday dinner and was so pleased. Our waiter recommended the most perfect wine. The service was attentive and professional. The meals were outstanding. And the dessert was presented with a lit candle and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey, but worth it!! Perfectly balance ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Pricey, but worth it!! Perfectly balanced food served in a warm setting, without being hurried along. Fine dining beautifully plated; friendly staff ensures a delightful experience. Our selections were the evening special, a fish [striped sea bass?] , the veal shank with mushroom risotto (the best I've ever had TBH), and the peach & golden raisin topped pork chop (2 1/2-3" thick) served with a perfect polenta cake (another best--not kidding). Vanilla cheesecake with passion fruit glaze and spiced ginger was amazing. Everything was exceptional. Eat here -- no regrets!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely everything was above and beyo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Absolutely everything was above and beyond! Cannot describe how perfect in every aspect!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Fig Tree many times and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have dined at Fig Tree many times and consider it the best restaurant in Charlotte. However, after our most recent experience, we will never return. We had a party of 9 celebrating a birthday dinner. We had drinks at the bar and were seated approximately 45 minutes after our reservation. I kept wondering why we were not being seated when I could clearly see our table. Upon being seated we were immediately informed by the waiter that the owner asked that we lower our voices so the other tables could enjoy their dinner. Since we had just been seated, we were all a little stunned. Dinner was great as always and my husband informed the waiter that he would like a phone call from the owner. We have brought many friends to this wonderful restaurant and had brought a group that had never dined there. One commented to me that dinner was great with the exception of being scolded.....Very embarrassing!

The owner did call my husband and informed him that the hostess had asked our group 3 times if we wanted to be seated. Since I made the reservation, I would assume they would have asked me but no one did. I am not sure who was asked. She also said that a party asked to not be seated near us since we were loud at the bar. Their bar area is quite small and there were 9 of us! I guess we were supposed to whisper. With their lack of air conditioning and loud fans blowing, you have to speak up to be heard.

The owner was very rude and I am sad to say that we will never return. The food is great, but maybe they should not offer tables to a large group if noise is their concern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

While quite pricey, (we knew that going ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

While quite pricey, (we knew that going in), it was worth the experience. The filet was fabulous. The cheese encrusted meat was tender and tasty. The foie gras was perfectly prepared. The cream sauce for the escargot was delectable. And desserts were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was not that good. Wine and salad w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was not that good. Wine and salad were both great. Veal was fatty and kinda strong. Duck was tough and not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Excellent meal, excellent service for ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent meal, excellent service for our wedding anniversary celebration. We enjoyed the peaceful upper floor seating as Rich helped us select a reasonably priced Cabernet which was very nice. My wife chose the filet and I the elk chops. Perfectly prepared and paired with spätzle and red cabbage. Our dessert was presented with "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate.exquisite!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was deliciously Great! We wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was deliciously Great! We will definitely be back for a Private Dinner for two and or future Business Meetings!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been there several times and always a 5 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Been there several times and always a 5 STAR experience. Our seating upstairs has been consistently served by Curt, who is excellent. He makes the dining an experience which is what you go out for anyway. The food choices are "best available to table" and prepared magnificently, as evidenced by Chef and his sous chef going to a James Beard event in the coming weeks. The wine list is one of the most extensive in North Carolina as well as nationally. There are wine tasting events on occasion for an in depth wine experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service -nice atmosphere- crab ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent service -nice atmosphere- crab appetizer good- dinner was ok- had hoped for a bit more flavor for the price- but overall very nice

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my wife's birthday and they mad ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was my wife's birthday and they made it great! Our dinner was perfect. The presentation and pace was as if we were in Europe again. I recommend the Fig Tree to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great service and the food was de ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had great service and the food was delicious with nice sized portions. We also had a great bottle of wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my daughters 17th birthday be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Celebrated my daughters 17th birthday before the play "Newsies". The food, atmosphere and service were all excellent. Nothing was inexpensive but the prices were what would be expected from an upscale French restaurant. I will definitely return for future special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazing and we had a great serv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was amazing and we had a great service and time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, though it seemed to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent, though it seemed to take a long time to move on from one course to the next. Our only complaint was that the air was not working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I chose Fig Tree by rando ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I chose Fig Tree by random to try out and absolutely loved it! It's a quiet romantic setting and was perfect for date night.

The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. I had veal while my husband tried the elk and both came out quite quickly and with beautiful presentation.

Overall, I would recommend to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion. But because it was a more quiet setting I wouldn't recommend small children.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go here. Delicious food, great service. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Go here. Delicious food, great service. We had one minor hiccup at the beginning of our meal and the owner handled it beautifully. Highly recommend Fig Tree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here was among the best we will hav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food here was among the best we will have this year. My husband had the lamb chop, and found both the meat and side dishes to be superb. I had the elk chop (aka red stag) and was just as impressed. The side dishes were spectacular. We are definitely "foodies," and were pleased with the variety and quality. The wine list was also great. Pricing was beyond reasonable. Just try this one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service at The Fig Tree are ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service at The Fig Tree are simply outstanding. We have always been impressed with the quality and professional service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.