Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Fig Tree Restaurant

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: (704) 332-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (76)
Good for a Date (75)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Notable Wine List (67)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Cozy (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Worth the Drive (31)
Historic (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Authentic (17)
Fireplace (13)
Private Room (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

As always an exceptional meal with a comprehensive wine selection to enhance the event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall excellent food and service. Definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to celebrate a special evening out. Delicious food that satisfies anyone's palette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding in every way. Cocktails were perfect. Each item ordered was superb. One of the best meals we have had in recent years.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was great. Our waiter was very helpful in answering questions and the staff was very attentive. We were celebrating an anniversary and they brought us a dessert. We would definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very mediocre. When we walked in the door we were greeted by a very nice hostess and an overpowering seafood smell. Once we were seated the smell was less noticeable.

The food? Was good, but nothing to rave about. Wife had escargot as an appetizer and she enjoyed it. We both had a Ceasar salad, it was underdressed and over cheesed. For entree, she had the Lamb. It had flavor, but severely lacked seasoning, salt and pepper would have been a nice addition. I had the Filet, again it had flavor, but would have benefitted from seasoning.

Overall, it was ok, probably won't be back. Can get better for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My sister and I came here for dinner while she was visiting Charlotte for business. This is a wonderful restaurant. Our meal was so delicious. The handcrafted cocktails were fantastic. I highly recommend the scallops and Chilean sea bass if available. Also, the foie gras is spectacular. My grapefruit Martini was the best martini I've ever had. Will definitely return to The Fig Tree the next time I'm in Charlotte

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fig Tree really doesn't ever disappoint. The service while quit formal is very personable and top notch. But the food continues to impress with each visit. The Elk steak was very good and the veal with lobster was a great execution on a pretty traditional and rich dish. The appetizers stood out as being special and I seldom miss an opportunity to order stuffed squash blossom in the US, Fig Tree delivered.
We were celebrating an event and we were immediately recognized.
Thank you

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed my Mother's Day dinner with family! Great food & great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a return trip. My mother always requests to go here for her birthday sine my father died and we were hoping to make this a new tradition. This year; however, they did not acknowledge her like the year before. Last year she was served a desert with "Happy Birthday Mom" written in chocolate and a sparkling candle. After comparing pictures from previous years I was disappointed in the decline in quality. It wasn't just obvious in pictures but also in taste and presentation. Great wine selection though. I would consider eating here again but it would not be for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We selected Fig Tree for an early dinner on Mother's Day. Very welcoming--accommodated our last minute reservation and need to catch a flight. High standards for food and service. Everything was delicious! Lovely craftsman style home with seating both inside and outside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great experience for our 2nd anniversary. Samantha was a great server and our food was excellent! The pastry chef put happy anniversary on all of our dessert plates!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Portion size was towards the small side but the flavor was amazing and I did not go away hungry.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First dining experience with the Fig Tree -
Upon making reservations I let them know we were on a limited schedule - we were going to a show at the Knight Theatre and wanted to make sure we would be able to enjoy our dinner without being rushed -
Upon arrival at the restaurant we were escorted upstairs to a lovely cozy dining room -
The waiter arrived briskly - letting us know he was aware of our schedule and assured us that we would even have time to enjoy coffee and dessert!
We made our dinner selections and every plate arrived at the table like a piece of fine art!
Appetizers, soup, salad, main entree and very nice French press coffee and desserts!
Every plate a work of art to the eye and orgasmic to the palate!
The wait staff of three - attended to us with great detail as tho they were performing a ballet - calm,cool and poised.
Our party of four enjoyed every decadent morsel!

We will most certainly return soon and share our dining experience with friends and family.
* five star - a dining experience not to be missed!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The cauliflower and saffron soup was very good. Elk was excellent. The Grouper smelled a little fishy, but the parsnip puree it was served over was amazing. The chef does a very nice job with beets, which is a nice twist. The beignets for dessert were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went there for our anniversary as we have for the past 10 years, great food and impeccable service. If you have never been there put it on your list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Truly an outstanding meal with excellent service. The food was delicious and perfectly prepared. Our server was attentive and personable and never overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Celebrated our birthdays, the Fig Tree Restaurant is always wonderful. Great food and service

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent atmosphere for a date night. Excellent food and service. Delicious dessert (we had the beignets). A little pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Kurt took great care of us! We had a last minute addition to our 2 top and they were quite accommodating. Great wine, yummy cheese plate! My filet cooked to perfection. My friend's pappardelle was amazing! Even a vegan option for our add-on guest with the portobello mushroom. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful service, with wonderful ambiance. The wine list was incredible, and the food was fantastic. Perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Check out the menu, including the desserts, everything is amazing. Among the appetizers, the Beet Carpaccio is to die for.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As usual our experience at Fig Tree was very good. However I would have to say that at $365 for three people (including tip and moderate priced bottle of wine), the whole thing is a little overrated. We go to this restaurant at least once a year and this is the first time the desserts were mediocre. Not to say this was a bad experience, just know the price/value ratio before you go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

good but not the best i have had, it is very cozy and romantic

Tags: Fireplace, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Spicy, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We visited the Fig Tree for the first time to celebrate our 35th anniversary. The food, the service, and the wine list we outstanding. We will be return guests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Lovely restaurant in a charming house. The food was great and our waitress was very knowledgeable about all the dishes and gave us great wine recommendations. Came here for our anniversary and had a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fig Tree is our favorite place to celebrate special occasions. It never disappoints and it was a fabulous way to celebrate our anniversary. You won't regret dining with them!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My fiance and I dined before a concert and the service (Curt) was wonderful. We were seated on the porch and we had a very enjoyable experience. The food was superb (special care taken for our meals as we're in the middle of our Whole30 journey). We promise to return to experience wine with our meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was excellent the only reason it was not scored higher was due to no great options for the picky eater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our 25th wedding anniversary and they were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic all the way around. I understand why this is one of the best restaurants in CLT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was great. Wait staff is fantastic, food is super fresh and can't wait until we can come back. We love the old house feel.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server was super & had a great knowledge of menu & its preparation. She was pleasant & very sweet! We've dined her before & wanted to return & so happy we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful place for a date. Only criticism is the cocktails were inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent food, great staff, amazing wine list, cozy atmosphere. This restaurant was amazing and everyone must try it at least once. I know we will go back when we are in the Charlotte area again.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Overall very good. The negatives are few but my elk was ordered medium and it arrived medium well and ended up well by the time i was finished. Still tasty and i did not send back because the meal would have been quite prolonged. It tasted good but hat to think of what i missed out on if cooked as ordered. The sides with elk were also very underwhelming compared to the rest of the meal.

Stuffed calamari- awesome
Sea bass- awesome
Wine list- ridiculous, we had a $40 bottle that was great
Service- top notch
Scene- great for special occasion or date night

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Restaurant never disappoints. If you are looking for unique fare with exceptional service, Fig Tree is that. Love the extensive wine selection. Great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We dined at the Fig Tree for a business dinner. The food was excellent, and the atmosphere was perfect for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner! Husband had the elk chop which he really liked and I had the filet. Best meal I've had out in years! We will be back for every special occasion I can make an excuse for in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner. Service very attentive and the food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.