Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Fig Tree Restaurant

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: (704) 332-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (66)
Good for a Date (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Notable Wine List (62)
Cozy (47)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Historic (28)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Business Meals (15)
Fireplace (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Private Room (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful place for a date. Only criticism is the cocktails were inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great staff, amazing wine list, cozy atmosphere. This restaurant was amazing and everyone must try it at least once. I know we will go back when we are in the Charlotte area again.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall very good. The negatives are few but my elk was ordered medium and it arrived medium well and ended up well by the time i was finished. Still tasty and i did not send back because the meal would have been quite prolonged. It tasted good but hat to think of what i missed out on if cooked as ordered. The sides with elk were also very underwhelming compared to the rest of the meal.

Stuffed calamari- awesome
Sea bass- awesome
Wine list- ridiculous, we had a $40 bottle that was great
Service- top notch
Scene- great for special occasion or date night

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant never disappoints. If you are looking for unique fare with exceptional service, Fig Tree is that. Love the extensive wine selection. Great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

We dined at the Fig Tree for a business dinner. The food was excellent, and the atmosphere was perfect for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a lovely anniversary dinner! Husband had the elk chop which he really liked and I had the filet. Best meal I've had out in years! We will be back for every special occasion I can make an excuse for in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Very enjoyable dinner. Service very attentive and the food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was different and delicious. Waiter was very helpful with pairing win with the meal, the food and apps came out in a timely matter. Loved the garlic roasted butter!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding service, romantic atmosphere and the Elk Chop was one of the best meals I've ever had. My wife loved my date night idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Service was impeccable! The best restaurant in Charlotte!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fabulous dinner with excellent service. Thanks for making my birthday even more special!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We hadn't been to Fig Tree in a long time and I don't know why. It's been around for years and there's a good reason. Very cozy (in an early 20th century house), delicious food, excellent service. We went for a special occasion and Fig Tree definitely delivered.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fig tree never disappoints. The menu has been updated with several excellent new choices. The main courses are spectacular and everything is carefully done.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Upon staff recommendation I ordered the Elk Chop. After trying multiple ways to cut the chop I was brought a 2nd knife. I still could not cut even one bite. The staff was quick to replace my meal with a filet mignon. Nice gesture but unfortunately same result. I suppose I have lost the ability to cut my own meat. Or they need new cutlery. Or their meats were inferior. My wife's Sea Bass was mediocre at best.
Our server was pleasant at the beginning but as it became clear we were disappointed he quickly brought our check. I doubt we will be back. So much for a Happy Anniversary dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I really enjoyed The Fig Tree. It has such a nice upscale ambiance and excellent cuisine. Would definitely recommend for a very special occasion or date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waitress was terrific and knowledgeable. The food prep and presentation fabulous. Amazing wine list. Great spot for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

There is a reason this place is #1. Unpretentiousness, incredibly nice, oh and the food and wine are amazing. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always a treat and wonderful experience. Creative and wonderful cuisine and atmosphere. Staff is out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A truly wonderful meal with no complaints about anything. Good guidance provided on wine. We both had fish/seafood and it was delicious. A romantic, quiet setting. Truly top-notch dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Cheese plate was good, lamb shank was good but way under seasoned. Overall happy with everything except veal entree. Veal was very chewy and the sections of the king crab still had cartilage left in them. Server was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Have been here before. Not quite as good as before . Food was a bit bland and generally pedestrian. Nice surroundings. Food nothing special for a fine dining experience. Preparation was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Best restaurant in Charlotte? Could be. Absolutely fabulous meal, cocktails, and wine. Couldn't ask for more or better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Dinner was exceptional as was the service. Steve was extremely helpful with the wine list as well as descriptions of specials for the evening. All four people in our group would recommend The Fig Tree and will be returning again in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Delicious scallops. Sea bass also good. Fresh salad with very tasty house dressing. Good wine list but waitress not knowledgeable about the wines. She did, however, get information for us from the chef.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was fantastic from our waiter to our meal and all the little extras in between. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place to go. We will definitely be back and will highly recommend it to our friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

After much anticipation and excitement to finally try The Fig Tree Restaurant, by the end of our experience, we were highly disappointed. To start with a positive note, Kurt, our server did an excellent job: He chose two great bottles of wine to go with our courses. Since it was our first time, he thoroughly explained to us the menu, shared his favorites, and mentioned the specials of the night. He sold us right there and had our mouths watering. We decided to start with the foie gras and the apple beggar's purse. When they both came out, I was shocked the portion size they served relative to the price they charged. Right when I looked at the foie gras, I knew something wasn't right. It was overcooked! Foie gras is meant to be rare and spread like butter. It is liver and very fragile, so I understand how easily it is to overcook it, but don't send it out because you messed up and it's expensive to waste. To the entree course, we decided on elk chop and ostrich. Both proteins came out medium to medium well (a reddish pink center). Kurt asked us how we enjoy our steak and we told him medium rare, so I was expecting something more like a warm red center. With both proteins being overcooked, it made it difficult to fully taste the unique proteins which should have been juicy and flavorful. Finally with the dessert course, we tried the beignets—which I admit were delicious—and the honey and goat cheese pots de creme, which was not delicious at all. The pots de creme was overpowered by the honey. It was in a parfait dish and had the goat cheese on the bottom and too much honey on top. I feel the dessert would have been better if the two ingredients were incorporated together instead of one sitting on top of the other. All in all, service was on point with refilling our waters, thorough wine service, and table maintenance. Unfortunately, I wasn't amazed by the quality, taste, or uniqueness of the courses we were served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Fig Tree. Fig Tree has become our favorite restaurant in Charlotte as it hits every criteria. The food is creative and awesome, the staff is professional and well trained, timing was perfect, and the atmosphere varies by room, but all are nice. We have not yet sat outside, but that could be great on the proper weather day also. If I could find a negative, it would be the parking. Take uber, it is easier.
The entire night was great, from the terrific specialty cocktails, to the dessert served on a customized plate with "Happy Anniversary". We will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This will be our new anniversary tradition!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I never write reviews and it hurts my feelings to write this one. I chose The Fig Tree tonight because it came so highly recommended not by friends, but also by family. We were meeting this evening a very special friend and also business partner we have not seen in a couple of years. We had an early reservation on Sunday evening -- the restaurant was not crowded. Our waiter though polite enough, was fairly insistent on driving us to order. He showed up too many times at the table once we had only ordered wine to move us to the next course and the next. He assured us that the food would arrive at appropriately spaced times but he was in such a hurry to get us going -- we never really had time to really relax and breath into the space, and our time of reconnection. He also told us the restaurant was owner and chef driven -- and here is where the real disappointment lies... I imagine the owner/chef must have been off on Sunday night. We ordered the snails -- which came in the sauce advertised, but it was luke warm at best and quickly congealed. Even the never ending bread basket couldn't save the soupy milky cheesy sauce where the unshelled snails were left lying. I had the salmon -- unfortunately overlooked, and on a bed of "fingerling potatoes" -- but once again were overcooked and just a mash of luke warm potatoes that were creamed. My husband's filet was fine -- but certainly not able to "cut with a fork" as described or even just melt in your mouth goodness that a really good filet can be. We ordered plenty of wine and dessert -- and I can assure you, because we dine out so often we're more than respectful. However, there was an air from our waiter and his assistant that we were somehow in the queue. The experience did not feel special in the least. We won't be returning. And we were out in under two hours. On a slow night -- when all the tables were far from full, a finer fuller dining experience would have been fully appreciated and rewarded. Oh well...

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful experience! The food was phenomenal! Will definitely be going back to The Fig Tree!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food, terrific waiter. Recommendations on the spot. Look forward to dining with them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a friend's recommendation - WOW! We loved our date night. Food was impeccable! Our waitress, Ashley, was awesome and attentive. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fig Tree has always been one of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte. On this visit I was disappointed with the service and food. This is the only time it has happened so I am willing to give it another try. I just hope they haven't changed as they have gotten more popular!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I read other reviews prior to going and was not at all disappointed. The food, selection and service were all spectacular

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As usual the food was excellent. However, while we endorse the idea of some menu changes; we were very disappointed that the signature grouper and lobster had been amended wth Bok chop and black beans!!! The service by Eddie was as always, superior, professional, and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Pre-board meeting dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my first time and I really enjoyed it overall. I will definitely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never disappointed. Food is always delicious, service outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had the special- striped bass over risotto. Beat carpaccio appetizer was delicious, but my main course tasted like pure salt. I woke up a few times in the night feigning for water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was average at best. The soup I ordered had no flavor, the salad also had no flavor. For my entree I ordered the Filet. It was covered in blue cheese, I don't like blue cheese and it wasn't disclosed on the menu. Because the meal, with drinks was $200+, you expect everything to be fantastic and that was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.