About The Fig Tree Restaurant

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: (704) 332-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (70)
Romantic (70)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Notable Wine List (58)
Good for a Date (56)
Cozy (47)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Historic (28)
Authentic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Business Meals (14)
Fireplace (13)
Private Room (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner, service and ambiance. Will ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dinner, service and ambiance. Will dine here again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at The Fig Tree since it ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We love eating at The Fig Tree since it is so cozy and quaint and the food and service are always spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere , great food, great win ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere , great food, great wine list with reasonable pricing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal on Valentine's Day. Kurt ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent meal on Valentine's Day. Kurt was our waiter and selected an excellent bottle of wine for us. Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lobster tail strangely prepared (as thou ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lobster tail strangely prepared (as though it had been cut in half width-wise then steamed...flavorless.) Sea bass ok. Chinese rice unappealing & too much of it. Base on its reputation, we were disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

This was by far one of the best experien ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was by far one of the best experiences we had! The food and service coupled with great wines and spirits made for a memorable evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience! Food was perfect a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful experience! Food was perfect and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, our meal was amazing, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service, our meal was amazing, perfect recommendations on wine. Ambiance was romantic and quiet, perfect for date night or special occasions. I highly recommend the veal and elk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. It is charming, roman ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love this place. It is charming, romantic and the service and food are excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience, food and service were ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great experience, food and service were top.

thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our evening at the Fig Tree was incredib ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our evening at the Fig Tree was incredible from start to finish. Steve, our server, was incredible all night long. The timing was spot on in terms of when our courses were brought to us. Water's were never less than half full. The cocktails were great, I really enjoyed the Scottish Vesper. The Elk and Veal Chops were both cooked exactly how we asked for. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience ever. It was a su ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best dining experience ever. It was a sulfide for my wife and she was so happy. Everything was perfect. Already planning our next trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Wonderful food!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience! Wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Elk is phenomenal. Service is attent ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Elk is phenomenal. Service is attentive and professional. The ambience is intimate and special. A definite rare gem.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The layout makes you feel like you are h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The layout makes you feel like you are having a fine meal in a friends home!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining in a cozy setting. I've neve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fine dining in a cozy setting. I've never been disappointed by a meal or service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was the third or fourth time getting ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was the third or fourth time getting there. Every time we come to Charlotte, we go there, just enjoy the food.

Very comfortable just sitting there. Great atmosphere!

The waiter/waitress are very nice and kind.

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, , Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening couldn't have been any bette ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The evening couldn't have been any better.

Our waiter was fantastic . Food was amazing .

And the little touches for my date's 40th birthday was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a birthday dinner for my b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Went here for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend and I. The food was amazing- delicious, great selection, perfect portions! I also had a tasty cocktail called The Bostic. One thing about the tables- we sat at a table for 2 that was a little wide, we felt a bit far from each other. Waiter was very nice!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place awesome!! Great food and serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This place awesome!! Great food and service. I brought my mom here for her birthday and she said it was perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great job accommodating my wife's food a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great job accommodating my wife's food allergies. Very personable and well polished wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, , Historic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has great reviews so our expe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This place has great reviews so our expectations were high. They exceed them.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always my favorite! Sarah and Steven, th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always my favorite! Sarah and Steven, thank you for finding the perfect wine to accompany my dinner! So looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Travelled for business from Chicago for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Travelled for business from Chicago for the weekend. This came highly recommended on Yelp. Did not disappoint - excellent meal. The only small complaint is that the table for two was quite long and it was somewhat difficult to converse.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of the meal was excellent; ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Every aspect of the meal was excellent; from Rebecca's outstanding service to the food and ambiance. Great place and good location before heading to Ovens auditorium.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't leave without the dessert! We sha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Don't leave without the dessert! We shared several and every one was phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very limited menu. Food did not live up ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very limited menu. Food did not live up to my expectations. I would recommend a lot of places over this one. Sorry

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Always a great place for a special occas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a great place for a special occasion dinner! Good food, an expansive wine list and great service! We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants in Charl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte, my husband and I had a very enjoyable meal from start to finish. Wonderful service, ambiance and lovely combinations of flavors, we would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to have a romantic meal or taste Charlotte's finest.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm not from Charlotte but met a friend ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'm not from Charlotte but met a friend for a "foodie" weekend where we went tasting bf around Charlotte. In my research for a nice dinner in town I look for the most consistently listed restaurants from a lot of lists. Then I look at the menu, atmosphere, etc. My study led me to The Fig Tree and once again my methods proved correct. What a wonderful place with great food. The atmosphere is awesome! Each room of a home built in 1913 turned into a dining room. Our table was in a room that used to be a bedroom and was right next to the wine room that houses over 1000 bottles that is consistently touted by Wine Spectator.

Kurt was our server and what a great one he was. Soothing voice and very knowledgeable and personable. We started with the cheese plate which had a selection of 5 different choices and the most amazing honey comb that blended so well with the cheese (and everything else). We ordered the lamb and elk for our entrees. The elk is dish that has been on the entree selection longer than any other and for good reason. It was amazing! Great grill taste on the outside and so tender inside. The land was the same. Such a wonderful flavor and cooked perfectly. We shared beignets that had a coffee ice cream and they were served warm and wonderful. By that point we really didn't appreciate them as much because we were so full!

Oh, the wine list. When your wine list is 2 inches thick it kinda means you're serious!

I would go back in a heartbeat and will plan on it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As with most restaurants in Charlotte, r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

As with most restaurants in Charlotte, rated a 4+ but really a solid 3 (due to the server who really stood out). Other than that, solid ok. If you're in the neighborhood, and can walk right in ok. If not, don't save this for a special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Really enjoyed the restaurant!!! Food a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Really enjoyed the restaurant!!! Food and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To the individual who cooked my elk chop ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

To the individual who cooked my elk chop, Thank you. I felt like an ancient warrior consuming the spirit of a worthy adversary. I asked for rare, and you served me life. I am a poor man from South Carolina, and you enriched my life during my evening at your restaurant. I was turning 30, and not wanting to celebrate my journey across three decades. You made it worth every breath i have taken in my walk with the world. I am overjoyed I found your restaurant, and I am grateful I drove specifically to try the elk chop. I was not disappointed, I was in awe. Thank you to the sacrifice of the consumed elk, thank you to the culinary artists, thank you to the well-mannered waitstaff. Perfection can not describe my experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant. I give ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. I give it 5 stars! Food is outstanding and service is excellent. Don't miss out! You need to dine here!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is some of the best I have e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service is some of the best I have ever had! The staff is all so friendly and works together to ensure a wonderful experience. The salmon was average but the scallops and the special were excellent. It was quiet when we first arrived but a table of 8 people next to us was quite loud - but did not take away from our experience at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A true gem in Charlotte. Upscale romanti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A true gem in Charlotte. Upscale romantic cozy. Attention to detail, attentive but not intrusive service. The food portions and quality equal the price-- you won't leave hungry. We'lol be back!

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and service!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Superb food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The customer service was amazing, both w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The customer service was amazing, both waiters took care of us and the drinks never stop coming. The elk was delicious a little more rare than I asked but delicious regardless.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special sea bass probably one of the bes ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Special sea bass probably one of the best pieces of fish ive ever had. Crispy, firm. Wonderful risotto. Tiny bit heavy on the butter. Great wines. Quiet. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.