About The Fig Tree Restaurant

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: 7043323322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

Restaurant Photos

The Fig Tree Restaurant - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Fig Tree - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Fig Tree - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Fig Tree - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Fig Tree - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Sea Scallops - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Trout - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Elk Chops - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Striped Bass - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Cheese Plate - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC
Quail - The Fig Tree Restaurant, Charlotte, NC

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year at our house! Chef Greg will feature our full menu and festive features.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
2 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte

Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (73)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
See All
Notable Wine List (56)
Good for a Date (51)
Cozy (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Historic (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fireplace (7)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant. Food was excellent as ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant. Food was excellent as well as the service. Ryan was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal...elk....can be a little ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal...elk....can be a little noisy, hardwood floors... but conversation was reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Get the orange cake for dessert...VERY u ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Get the orange cake for dessert...VERY unique, from scratch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Kurt was phenomenal and the f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our server Kurt was phenomenal and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal last night at The Fig Tree ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Fabulous meal last night at The Fig Tree! Kirk, our waiter was wonderful and certainly created a truly great experience for this first time visit! We would definitely return. Good , wine, and service couldn't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday with ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a fantastic dining experience at The Fig Tree! The wine list is really impressive and the food was fabulous!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb chops were amazing and the begg ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The lamb chops were amazing and the beggars purse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always end our girls shopping trip at ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We always end our girls shopping trip at The Fig Tree. The food is fabulous as is the service. Their apps are so good it's hard to save room for the delicious main courses. Pacing is nice tho so they give u time to digest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The historic building provided a romanti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The historic building provided a romantic ambiance. Small rooms with about four tables provide quiet areas for talking, though other conversations can easily be overheard. The maple bacon spinach salad was excellent, but cost $6 extra with the substitution from the house salad and the addition of goat cheese (but well worth it). It was a great spot for a birthday dinner. We made a 5:30pm reservation on a Saturday because that was the only option, but even when we left around 7pm it wasn't crowded.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. We ordered the veal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. We ordered the veal chop and the lamb chops. The lamb was delicate in flavor and had a wonderful texture and tenderness. I normally dislike lamb because it typically has a very gamey lamb flavor. This lamb was very much like what I've eaten in Europe - delicate yet still hearty. The portion was huge. The veal chop (also huge) was cooked perfectly, and its accoutrements also shone bright.

Server was very attentive and friendly.

If I could have changed one thing, it would have been to make the dining room a touch brighter. But the lower light level didn't take away from the experience.

Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Appetizers were nothing special. Salmon ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Appetizers were nothing special. Salmon main dish was the best salmon we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic start to end.

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fantastic start to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my boyfriend's birthday as ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Came here for my boyfriend's birthday as an impromptu trip. Amazing ambiance with quality food, you will not be disappointed by the service. Definitely recommend for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best restaurant in Charlo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Absolutely the best restaurant in Charlotte!! Had the beggars purse as an ap, the veal chop for our meal - was entertaining colleagues from NJ and Atlanta who were convinced Charlotte had no good restaurants. They're left impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Really go ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Really good well prepared food. Excellent service. You can hear everyone at your table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Over the years, Fig ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Never disappoints. Over the years, Fig Tree has been one of our very favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The reasons are myriad. The food preparation and quality is consistent and excellent regardless of the dish chosen. On this night celebrating my wife's birthday, everyone enjoyed their choices. The veal chop, elk chop, lamb chops, halibut, and grouper with lobster were all great. The Caesar salads are always very good as are the escargot. We always finish with the beignets which are the perfect end to a sumptuous meal. Of course, as usual, the service was impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, my favorite Charlotte dining exp ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

By far, my favorite Charlotte dining experience. Excellent food, wonderful wine choices, set in a beautiful old house - what more could anyone want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awe - wait for it - some. This place nev ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Awe - wait for it - some. This place never disappoints. Octopus appetizer, filet mignon for me, my wife had the surf and surf special, chocolate torte for dessert. Nice wine pairing and my old fashioned was just right. Everything was amazing. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every aspect of the Fig Tree was Fantast ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Every aspect of the Fig Tree was Fantastic, Rich our waiter and the staff were on point every second of our meal. We let Rich make a wine suggestion to go with our meal and it was Perfect. We can't wait to return as this was our first visit. Thank You for making our Tenth Wedding Anniversary Dinner So Wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, Service and ambiance nothing shor ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food, Service and ambiance nothing short of fantastic

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my girlfriend here for our annive ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for our anniversary and we had an excellent time. The restaurant is gorgeous, the wait staff is pleasant and knowledgeable, and most importantly the food is outstanding! Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Ashley, was attentive and pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our server, Ashley, was attentive and professional. We had dinner outdoors on the porch, and the weather was perfect. Great view of the skyline. Our food was wonderful, including the mushroom soup, and parpardelle with portobello. We had a little hiccup with the lamb chops, which came out too rare the first time, but this was promptly corrected by Ashley, and the medium rare replacement was delicious! We finished with panna cotta and cognac, and left looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. The elk chop was unbeliev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service. The elk chop was unbelievably great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live really close to this gem but had ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We live really close to this gem but hadn't been in for dinner, that won't happen any more. Eclectic menu, enormous wine list and white glove service. Our server Curt wss both friendly and knowledgeable. He real made our experience enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful ingredients well-prepared. Ex ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful ingredients well-prepared. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant is very nice and the serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and the service was very good. I ordered elk and while the sides were very good I did not like the meat. I think I learned that I do not like elk. Everyone else in our party enjoyed all parts of their meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A real treat. Very competent wait staff. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A real treat. Very competent wait staff. Outstanding flavors and presentation. Unbelievable wine list. All around great evening.

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dessert. The French press co ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for dessert. The French press coffee and beignets are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Had family in from Kansas! Sa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing! Had family in from Kansas! Said it was the best filet they have ever had!!!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fireplace, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the service was t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was top notch. Our first visit, even though we had passed by the restaurant for years and said " We should try that restaurant out some time". Not sure why we took so long, but we will revisit.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous experience at Fig Tree ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a fabulous experience at Fig Tree this past weekend! Wonderful ambiance, fantastic server (Ryan), and a truly exceptional dining experience! The New Zealand elk chop was a wonderful kick off to cooler weather, along with chicken pate' and Beignets to end the night. Fantastic wine list with a great wine recommendation from Ryan. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Fig Tree for my sister's birth ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I came to Fig Tree for my sister's birthday. The food was on point and very delicious. The service was flawless, the servers knew the menu and did a great job pairing wines with the meal. I just told them what I was looking for with flavor profiles and they brought us the perfect wine for each course. I told the restaurant that we were celebrating my sister's birthday and they brought out a dessert with chocolate piping; "Happy Birthday." This was a great finish to an excellent meal. Thank you staff and kitchen at the Fig Tree Restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and the the staff and food w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place and the the staff and food were amazing. I will definitely return. Make a reservation and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time trying The Fig T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first time trying The Fig Tree and we will definitely be back. Outstanding food and wine list in an intimate setting. Loved the service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in the door th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 20, 2016

From the moment we walked in the door the service was nothing but excellent. Our dinners were delicious (veal steak for my wife, elk for me) and cooked to perfection. A great birthday dining experience for my wife. We have an anniversary in a few months and I will make a reservation for that night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Allowed time for ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great food and service. Allowed time for the group to talk and didn't rush. Knowledgeable understanding staff (Thanks Eddie!)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was really looking forward to dinner bas ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Was really looking forward to dinner based on recommendations. However, food was very bland and not full of flavor. We were dining a little later, so maybe that had something to do with the quality of food. The fish was over cooked and again bland. I will say the service was outstanding and the wine list was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Overall, it was great. Excellent food: d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall, it was great. Excellent food: delicious and interesting without being unnecessarily exotic. Atmosphere was quite nice, though if everyone else in your room is being exceptionally quiet, you'll definitely feel like you have to be as well. I especially appreciated that we never felt rushed through our dinner; they encouraged us to take our time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only been once, and it was won derful. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Only been once, and it was won derful. Great bartender, great waiter, overall service. All knowledgeable, polite to a fault, and formal. Food was excellent, with a wide variety. A wine list for those with greater and a wider variety of tastes then I. Seasonal food was mentioned, I look forward to returning. For me, it was $$$ but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fig Tree never disappoints! We have ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Fig Tree never disappoints! We have celebrated several special occasions there and it offers the perfect atmosphere for your occasion. The house is quaint and romantic. The service is personal and they are very attentive. The food was amazing! Desert was to die for! We spent time at the be after dinner and "Mark" the bar tender whipped us up some special drinks! All around one of our favorite spots. Can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.