Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Fig Tree Restaurant

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 38 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: (704) 332-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (78)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
See All
Good for a Date (69)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Notable Wine List (56)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Cozy (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Business Meals (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Authentic (18)
Healthy (13)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fireplace (5)
Organic (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service is wonderful. Attention to detail. Nice wine list

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Took my girlfriend here for her bday on 7/16. Had a wonderful experience overall. I definitely would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Love Fig Tree, their food is amazing. We like to get the stuffed calamari appetizer. Desserts are good as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was absolutely fantastic and greatly satisfying for us foodies. Our server Rich was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Eating at the Fig Tree was such a great experience! It's located in a house which is very cozy. The food is amazing and the service matched the quality of the food. Though expensive I think it's a great spot for local and well prepared food. I'll definitely be returning at some point to try more of their dishes since they have an exotic and rotating menu.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

AMAZING!!! My husband and I worked in fine dining for years in Charleston. This was one of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had. We can't say enough good things.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Extremely satisfied with our choice for food. First visit here and won't be our last. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food and service were great! Drinks were a delicious accompaniment to the unique menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great food and excellent wine list. Table was on time. Service prompt and excellent. My one significant criticism is that they continue to accept big tables and place them adjacent intimate groups. We had about 10!businessmen at a dinner adjacent to our table of 4; they were well behaved and quiet, but it is a bad dining concept and reduces ambience. For a restaurant if this caliber, it isn't rocket science, so figure out a solution!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was our second visit to the Fig Tree. The service was outstanding and the food very good. We had the Sea Bass and the Lobster/Sole dishes which were great. The wine list is outstanding likewise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We go to the Fig Tree at least 3-4 times per year and have never been disappointed. The Wine list is excellent with reasonable pricing. The food is consistently good and the subtle menu changes always add a nice touch. Well worth a visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The chef was very accommodating when we requested a vegan dinner for my granddaughter. The food is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant was a joy! From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we walked out everything was perfect.

The menu was small but very well thought out. We were a party of 3 and we all had multiple choices within minutes of looking at the menu.

We had apps, mains, and dessert. Each and every course was a case study in how to run a fine dining establishment. This was simply the BEST experience that any of us have had in a long while.

Also need to mention that the service was impeccable. Our waiter struck that perfect chord between unobtrusive and being there whenever needed.

Cudos to the owner(s) of The Fig Tree! I only wish that more restaurants could be this wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing restaurant with great food and wonderful people. Best in Charlotte!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, everything about this restaurant was perfect. The decor is a little dated, but overall a ten out of ten. My only bug is that the bathrooms are on the second floor(getting older ): -)
Our waitress, Natallia was very sweet and professional.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend...:-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Took K there for her birthday. Was warmly greeted and they wished her a Happy Birthday and promised they would not sing at her table ! We had a glass of rose champagne to start with. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable and we each found an entree ( trout & pork chop ) that we ordered.
The food was good but nothing special, particularly at the price point charged. We both had a glass of white burgundy, which was very good and each had a dessert. The bill was about $170 with a tip.
It was a pleasant evening but at this price range I'd go to Lumiere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went for dessert. Never disappointed with the beignets and French press coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Then food was excellent and delicious. The service was perfect. Quite.great atmosphere. Highly recommend. Definately on our list to go again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Best restaurant in Charlotte in my opinion. But Saturday night was an off night. Service was fantastic (incredibly well run restaurant). Ambiance was great as always. But my elk was chewy (bad cut) and had some weird creamy sauce which took away from the meat. And the cheesecake dessert was way too tiny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Steve provided fabulous service for a delicious and memorable dinner. We will be back next month and have already requested Steve.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Highly recommend asking for the patio if good weather!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I had planned a special evening for my sister's birthday and The Fig Tree restaurant exceeded all expectations! Fabulous staff, the amazing atmosphere and unbelievable food. My sister has a taste for very good wine and the wine list met her taste....😊 I will definitely recommend this place for dining and I'll definitely be bringing my boyfriend here for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The Fig Tree is probably the best restaurant in Charlotte. It has very fine and unusual food, like the Elk that was on the menu this week, and the best waitstaff. Our waiter, Ty, always seemed to know when we needed something without having to hover. My tuna and my wife's veal loin were both delicious as were the Dark Chocolate-Hazelnut French Silk Torte and the Beignets.

We';re not wine experts but there is an extensive wine list.

It is not the cheapest restaurant but for a special occasion, you can't do better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent food beautifully presented and served professionally. They know how to make a special occasion unique.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing!! Went for my birthday with the family for the first time and just loved it!! Wonderful place, staff, FOOD!! It's a 10 in my book!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was our first visit to The Fig Tree and it most certainly will NOT be our last. The atmosphere was wonderful and pleasant... the service was second to none and the food was remarkable. Thank you for creating such a memorable and delicious food experience for us. We can't wait until we have out of town family come to visit, just so we can take them to The Fig Tree Restaurant.
Sincerely,

Joe and Vicky Valle

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This restaurant has all aspects of a fine dining experience down pat. From the attentive service, the fresh and imaginative dishes, and the extensive but fairly priced wine list, Charlotte should be very proud to have this gem!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A very nice evening. And what welcome dining experience! It is not often that throughout a meal I find myself thinking about how relaxing, rewarding, delicious or spot-on a meal is but this was one of those meals! Our water, Rich, was knew the menu, appreciated our questions and provided, for us, the perfect level of service. My wife's stuffed calamari appetizer brought to mind the best we ever had in Thailand. My frenched elk chop was as good as I have ever had--perfectly aged and cooked to perfection. We both love the arts and crafts ambiance of the old Lucas house and happy murmur of contented diners around us. And having a wonderful Peter Michael chardonnay and a well-cellared Clos Erasmus added to our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2017

From beginning to end the staff was outstanding. Everyone was very polite, knowledgeable and efficient. The food was very good with very nice presentation. I found the setting to be a little underwhelming. I would consider going again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was good...my wife had the filet which was cooked to her liking and perfectly done...truly melted in your mouth...aged beef or so it tasted that way...I had the lobster and grouper...very buttery tasting but good...lobster was cooked perfectly. The lighting was very dark/dim, it was an 8pm reservation but plenty light out, the interior setting was just dark. The service was very attentive and great!! The rest of the staff was warm and welcoming. I would eat here again but we were advised that the menue does change outside of a couple of staple items. Thus not many options for side items or soups. Again a good place to eat and there was an option to eat outside.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful all around! Best meal of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One word, awesome! Must try, a hidden gem. Everything was fabulous! Why did it take so long for me to try the Fig Tree! Ask for Steve, a great server indeed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Fig Tree is the essence of fine dining but without the stuffy atmosphere some places have. the location is a renovated house with excellent outdoor dining on the front porch and a small garden area in front. The menu is amazing with excellently prepared dishes for a wide scope of tastes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was very good and the wine was fantastic. We enjoyed that our dinner was not rushed and our meals were delivered timely.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Friendly and very efficient staff. Creative cuisine. Unfortunately for me my fish was a little dry and salty. New York prices but not the quality. Overall I enjoyed my birthday celebration there and would give it another try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Everything was very good!! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Dinner made for a great Anniversary. Our waiter was very helpful. We had the Elk and Lamb and both were excellent. Their wine list was large and we found a wonderful NAPA Valley choice. Would love to come back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a wonderful experience, there, ad the service was excellent.
Thank you Samantha.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.