Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Fig Tree Restaurant

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (80)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Notable Wine List (61)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Cozy (44)
Worth the Drive (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Authentic (27)
Local Ingredients (22)
Business Meals (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
2133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

3rd time at the Fig Tree and it continues to impress. Went with my wife on Sunday afternoon for our anniversary.
The food is just incredible. Must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The lobster and salmon were excellent! Great service too

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We were super excited to spend our Anniversary at Fig Tree. This restaurant has been on our list for quite a while. The restaurant is in an old home and has a quaint charm. Of note is that there are multiple signs as you come into the restaurant and make your way to your seat to "Turn Off Your Cellphone". Evidently, this needs to be posted in neon. We asked for a quiet and special table for our anniversary dinner. The restaurant did indeed attempt to comply with this request. We were taken to a room upstairs with only four other tables. However, there was already another table seated. This table had no respect for the volume of their conversations. Keep in mind that this is a quiet and not at all boisterous restaurant. Unfortunately, this table was so loud that we could not keep from being part of their conversation, including topics such as prejudice, religion, and politics. Shortly after we were seated one of the diners at this table had their cell phone ring. Not only were we subjected to the noise of the cell phone, she actually answered it! Then she proceeded to have a five minute FACE TIME conversation with her grandson!!! To make matters worse, a second couple was seated near the end of our dinner and he also decided to take a call in the middle of the restaurant. While I don't blame the restaurant for these experiences, people really need to learn some etiquette. If I am having a quick dinner at a local pub this is not a problem or a nuisance. However, when I am spending $200 on an anniversary meal with my wife, I shouldn't have to be subjected to this level of poor manners.
The service was excellent, with the exception that they did nothing to prevent the cell phone conversations. The food was quite good. We started with an Apple Beggar's Purse and Octopus. Both were fantastic. The Caesar salads were amazing. Highly recommend adding the calamari. Dinner of Halibut and Lobster and Scallop dishes were spot on. Food is great, other clientele - not so much.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wonderful food, service and ambiance. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wedding anniversary.. great food, great location, high lever cusine! We will be back :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great hi-end dining. A bit pricey but worth every nickel. Great food (I wanted to try most everything on the menu), wonderful service (Ryan gets a big shoutout and is a seriously cool dude) and an atmosphere second to none. I'm definitely going back (when I save up a few extra bucks)!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my first visit to Fig Tree and it was a great place for a birthday dinner. We sat on the front porch which was lovely. Our server was very attentive, our food was delicious and they went out of their way to send me birthday wishes. I would recommend this for a special occasion dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined at the Fig Tree for his birthday dinner and it was exceptional. Everything was delicious and the service was impeccable. The restaurant is in a historic house and the ambiance is very elegant. I had the filet mignon which was perfectly cooked and had stilton cheese on top which made it very flavorful. My boyfriend had lamb which was also great. The only mishap was when the server spilled some champagne on my dress but he was very apologetic, brought over some towels, comped our champagne and dessert, and handled it perfectly. I will absolutely be returning to this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was amazing! The food, service, wine, and ambience were outstanding. We will definitely be back. Foie gras, escargot, wine list, elk, focaccia with garlic paste - excellent!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

his place is a real gem. Great ambiance in a perfectly restored 1900's home. Food was delicious and a good variety. Over 1000 wine labels reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Have been meaning to check out this restaurant and the occasion of my 62 birthday gave us an excuse. The only negative, and I will get it out of the way to start with, is the jumbled parking availability and the confusion over which door to use to enter the restaurant. Minor inconveniences. The food was spectacular, only topped by incredible and attentive service. Possibly the best wait staff I have experienced in the Carolinas. Superb wine list and excellent food preparation. This is now our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary. We were looking for a quiet, romantic dinner for a special occasion. We found the right spot in Fig Tree. The space was intimate and décor was lovely. The food was excellent and the service was great. My husband had the Elk Chop and was terrific! I had the chicken an was also very good.

The only thing that was not spectacular was the wine list was too extensive. It was a bit overwhelming and we gave up and just told the waiter what we were looking for.

A little pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was my first trip to the Fig Tree. I have always heard such good things about it but we don't live that close to it and had never made it. We had a special occasion and went there recently on a weeknight. It was reasonably busy but not crowded. I was looking forward to an exceptional meal but everything about it was just ok. Food was ok, service was ok, etc. But for $300 for dinner for two people I expect better than ok. There are a lot of better options for great dinners in Charlotte for 1/2 to 2/3 the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was amazing as usual. Service was top notch. Our favorite place to dine!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have been to The Fig Tree a number of times and have never been disappointed. The staff is incredible and the food is beautifully prepared and, more importantly, delicious. The wine list can be intimidating, but the servers are always ready to make recommendations based on the dish and our personal tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food and wine in a terrific setting! A tremendous anniversary dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Curt is the best server ever !! Get the elk chop :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2017

What a wonderful experience! Our waiter made our anniversary even more special. He explained the dishes thoroughly and was very pleasant. The foie gras was such a treat. Amazing all around!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

As always, The Fig Tree pulls together outstanding flavors from good ingredients. Went there for a birthday and was too full for dessert, but got complimentary chocolate ganache pecan truffle on a plate with happy birthday written in chocolate--and yes, we used our fingers to eat the message. The entries are large for a high-end restaurant and beautifully preapred and rresented. Wait staff is extremely helpful and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2017

My wife and I had been planning to go to the Fig Tree for a while. We finally made it and found the food and service were very good. The sweet potato soup and bread were excellent! I was pleasantly surprised with the cost. I will definitely go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We recently dined on our 25th anniversary. The hostess, managers, servers were all professional, smiling and courteous. The food was excellent and was fresh. The servers were attentive and knowledgeable. We highly recommend and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Absolutely delicious food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Service and ambiance was excellent. Food was very good. The steak was really good but not quite as good as top steakhouses. The veal chop was a star but advertised it came with jumbo shrimp and it was 2 normal size shrimp.
Desserts are to die for and may be the overall winner along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I grew up in Charlotte when it was a "food waste land". I recently returned for a visit and went to the fig tree with my sister. What a treat! It happened to be a cool night for August so we sat outside . We have a delightful waitress and the ambience was wonderful. The food was simply outstanding. I can see why he gets high reviews. I will definitely go back again the next time I'm in Charlotte.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was a wonderful restaurant, as we went there for a birthday celebration. The food & service was exceptional and we'll go back in Sep 2017.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Waiter was awesome. Food was unique and outstanding

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This was for a special business dinner with a new partner coming to town with his wife. We had a very enjoyable meal and great service and conversation. Kurt did a great job with a vegetarian diet and a gluten-free diet and overall good food and wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was wonderful
Best lamb I ever had. and Ryan was awesome! He was informative and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our meals were wonderful, atmosphere is lovely, service is exceptionally gracious. Love coming here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The wine list is extensive and many bottles are reasonably priced. We celebrated our anniversary here and it was perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent meal! Everything was delicious. However, the bartender was quite rude and the server was nice but not very knowledgeable. Improve service and this would be an all around wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Service Grey food. Wonderful for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best is Charlotte, great food and wonderful service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went for our 30th anniversary, it was wonderful. I recommend the grouper and lobster. The warm bacon dressing and spinach salad is a southern classic as are the beignets. One of the best restaurants in the south, it is both well known yet at the same time a secret gem of the southeast.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fig Tree has, in my opinion, taken over the #1 restaurant spot in Charlotte ! The food and service are excellent. The kitchen will accommodate any and all special requests and the wine list, while top shelf, is very reasonably priced! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always top notch. I think it is the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

All of the staffers were wonderful! The food was excellent! I loved the choice of jazz they played! My husband truly enjoyed his birthday! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I highly recommend the veal chop it was the highlight of the meal. Great service and atmosphere. Only down side is the dessert menu. They try too hard with the gastronomy, after an incredible meal offer a well made lemon meringue pie or fabulous cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The foie gras was exquisite. The lobster thermador and elk were amazing. Every bite was delicious. Service was attentive and perfectly timed. What a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.