About The Fig Tree Restaurant

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: (704) 332-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Spend a romantic Valentine's Day evening at our house. Chef Greg will feature his full menu and festive features.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (63)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (40)
Cozy (39)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Historic (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Private Room (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoyed the restaurant!!! Food a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Really enjoyed the restaurant!!! Food and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To the individual who cooked my elk chop ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

To the individual who cooked my elk chop, Thank you. I felt like an ancient warrior consuming the spirit of a worthy adversary. I asked for rare, and you served me life. I am a poor man from South Carolina, and you enriched my life during my evening at your restaurant. I was turning 30, and not wanting to celebrate my journey across three decades. You made it worth every breath i have taken in my walk with the world. I am overjoyed I found your restaurant, and I am grateful I drove specifically to try the elk chop. I was not disappointed, I was in awe. Thank you to the sacrifice of the consumed elk, thank you to the culinary artists, thank you to the well-mannered waitstaff. Perfection can not describe my experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant. I give ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. I give it 5 stars! Food is outstanding and service is excellent. Don't miss out! You need to dine here!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is some of the best I have e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service is some of the best I have ever had! The staff is all so friendly and works together to ensure a wonderful experience. The salmon was average but the scallops and the special were excellent. It was quiet when we first arrived but a table of 8 people next to us was quite loud - but did not take away from our experience at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A true gem in Charlotte. Upscale romanti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A true gem in Charlotte. Upscale romantic cozy. Attention to detail, attentive but not intrusive service. The food portions and quality equal the price-- you won't leave hungry. We'lol be back!

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and service!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Superb food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The customer service was amazing, both w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The customer service was amazing, both waiters took care of us and the drinks never stop coming. The elk was delicious a little more rare than I asked but delicious regardless.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special sea bass probably one of the bes ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Special sea bass probably one of the best pieces of fish ive ever had. Crispy, firm. Wonderful risotto. Tiny bit heavy on the butter. Great wines. Quiet. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 8. We had indicate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were a party of 8. We had indicated both when we made the reservation as well as during a confirmation call that two of the party were vegetarians. The waitress was unaware of this and was not particularly helpful besides pointing out the only vegetarian entrée (which was obvious) . She did eventually come up with another option off the menu, but would have been helpful if she had been better prepared. I have not been to this restaurant in some time, but at least on this occasion the service did not seem to be up to the same level I had experienced in past visits.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food and service was amazing. Very conf ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and service was amazing. Very confined area so an obnoxious group enjoying there dinner made outing quite loud. Other then them this place was perfect place to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely amazing!!!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience, with impeccable food a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great experience, with impeccable food and service. Beautiful wine list as well. A standard for fine dining in Charlotte, and provides one of those meals that you don't want to end.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding establishment. One of the f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding establishment. One of the finest all around dinning facilities in all of Charlotte. Service and Food is outstanding. Can not wait to return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food.. excellent service.. cal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food.. excellent service.. calm relaxing atmosphere with our every need attended to. We love The Fig Teee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night with my girlfriend. The appet ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Date night with my girlfriend.

The appetizers are amazing: foie gras, escargot, stuffed calamari.

I had the grouper and she tried the elk. Both very good. Elk too mineraly for her taste but cooked very well.

Had beignets for dessert which was very good.

Excellent experience overall. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been a "want to" for over 5 yea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This has been a "want to" for over 5 years. My expectations were easily met. The service was outstanding (thanks to Samantha). My wife had the grouper w lobster and saffron risotto. I'm not a fine dining level chef, but I do grouper dishes and risotto and hers was delectable. I had to go w elk chops w spaetzle and braised red cabbage (the German in me). My meal was executed to perfection.

So worth the wait and hoping it's not another 5 years before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary experience in every way po ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Extraordinary experience in every way possible as demonstrated by the superb team at fig tree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. The food was amazing and the service was great. Thank you Samantha L for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible experience.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Absolutely incredible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One word, STUNNING. Everything about The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 26, 2016

One word, STUNNING. Everything about The Fig Tree was perfect for my family visiting in town for Christmas; decor, atmosphere, menu, drinks, dessert, our server Ryan, YOU NAME IT. The Fig Tree is the best place you can bring your out of town guests. The menu is challenging only because you won't know what to order and you won't want to miss out on anything coming out from the kitchen. I highly recommend the escargot appetizer and the lamb chop entree. All of the desserts are outstanding. Thank you for the perfect evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time at The Fig Tree and it wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My second time at The Fig Tree and it was just as wonderful as the first - AMAZING food with a unique menu and extensive wine list. The service is A++

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service is phenomenal. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and the service is phenomenal. My wife and I are definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Th food and service was very good. The r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Th food and service was very good. The restaurant is in an old home in a historic part of Charlotte. We felt there may or may not be a great backstory that they could play up...either the home or the area. Our waitress was terrific, keeping us informed and was nonplussed when my meal came EXACTLY as I ordered it yet had to ask to send it back to be heated a little more (my fault). Very nice evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of the finest restaurants in ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is one of the finest restaurants in Charlotte, offering a unique ambiance and a fantastic menu. It is a special experience, and well worth a visit on special occasions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dinning at The Fi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was my first time dinning at The Fig Tree. We started with escargot which was delicious accompanied with the homemade bread and Gorgonzola sauce. For Entree I went with the famous Elk chop. It was phenomenal taste is in between steak and lamb. Full of flavor! I would recommend this restaurant for dates or special occasions. Wine list is very extensive and food menu is a bit pricey but well worth it! Servers are also very attentive and friendly. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A special occasion dinner, and the food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A special occasion dinner, and the food and service were fantastic. The menu items were perfect and accommodate all tastes. The dessert menu was very good.

This is a great sport a for special occasion as it is the TOTAL OPPOSITE of a chain type establishment

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great. Room was dark and cold b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food was great. Room was dark and cold but had a nice view of uptown. Another table was too loud making business deals that we couldn't hear our own conversation

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Awesome as always, had seasonal items. G ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Awesome as always, had seasonal items. Great service- we come here about 3 times a year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have no issues! love this place!! Great ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have no issues! love this place!! Great for anytime!!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very attentive, cadre was in ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was very attentive, cadre was intimate, wine list was extensive, I can find no bad things to say about this place other than the price, which for a full-course meal including wine came out to about $100/person. It was definitely worth it, though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What can I say!! WOW!!! Dinner was del ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What can I say!! WOW!!! Dinner was delish!! We started with a cup of the celery root soup. My first thought was EWWW. But our server highly recommended it. It was fantastic. A unique blend of flavors. Truly an explosion of flavor!! Next was the spinach salad served with warm bacon dressing. We added pine nuts and goats cheese. I could have made this my main meal it was fantastic!!! Our entree choices where the elk chop which was cooked perfectly and melt in your mouth tender and the chicken served with orzo and spinach. Both were cooked perfectly and tasted superb!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my fiancee here for her birthday. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I took my fiancee here for her birthday. Had left a note in my open table reservation and everyone (the hostess, waiter, and busser) all told her Happy Birthday...the chef also wrote a little message on our dessert! Wonderful service and, while a bit pricey, the portions were on point. I got the elk chop and she got the salmon - loved them both. Randomly, my side caesar salad was possibly the best caesar salad I've ever had (get the calamari added). Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely our fav restaurant in Mecklen ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Absolutely our fav restaurant in Mecklenburg county.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Fig Tree provided my friends and I w ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Fig Tree provided my friends and I with a lovely meal and fantastic wine pairings. The good was interesting, well plated and prepared, and tasty. The setting was beautiful and comfortable and the wine list is exceptional.

We will eat here any time we are in Charlotte.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience! The serve ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always a wonderful experience! The server was great, but normally it's EXCEPTIONAL! So a little bummed about that. Will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great restaurant. Food was excellent as ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great restaurant. Food was excellent as well as the service. Ryan was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal...elk....can be a little ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent meal...elk....can be a little noisy, hardwood floors... but conversation was reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Get the orange cake for dessert...VERY u ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Get the orange cake for dessert...VERY unique, from scratch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Kurt was phenomenal and the f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our server Kurt was phenomenal and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal last night at The Fig Tree ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Fabulous meal last night at The Fig Tree! Kirk, our waiter was wonderful and certainly created a truly great experience for this first time visit! We would definitely return. Good , wine, and service couldn't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.