About The Fig Tree Restaurant

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: 7043323322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

Restaurant Photos

The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
Sea Scallops
Trout
Elk Chops
Striped Bass
Cheese Plate
Quail

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
10 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Fit for Foodies
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte

Special Occasion (150)
Romantic (119)
Fit for Foodies (112)
See All
Notable Wine List (111)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Good for Groups (11)
Scenic View (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pricey, but worth it!! Perfectly balance ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Pricey, but worth it!! Perfectly balanced food served in a warm setting, without being hurried along. Fine dining beautifully plated; friendly staff ensures a delightful experience. Our selections were the evening special, a fish [striped sea bass?] , the veal shank with mushroom risotto (the best I've ever had TBH), and the peach & golden raisin topped pork chop (2 1/2-3" thick) served with a perfect polenta cake (another best--not kidding). Vanilla cheesecake with passion fruit glaze and spiced ginger was amazing. Everything was exceptional. Eat here -- no regrets!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Fig Tree many times and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Fig Tree many times and consider it the best restaurant in Charlotte. However, after our most recent experience, we will never return. We had a party of 9 celebrating a birthday dinner. We had drinks at the bar and were seated approximately 45 minutes after our reservation. I kept wondering why we were not being seated when I could clearly see our table. Upon being seated we were immediately informed by the waiter that the owner asked that we lower our voices so the other tables could enjoy their dinner. Since we had just been seated, we were all a little stunned. Dinner was great as always and my husband informed the waiter that he would like a phone call from the owner. We have brought many friends to this wonderful restaurant and had brought a group that had never dined there. One commented to me that dinner was great with the exception of being scolded.....Very embarrassing!

The owner did call my husband and informed him that the hostess had asked our group 3 times if we wanted to be seated. Since I made the reservation, I would assume they would have asked me but no one did. I am not sure who was asked. She also said that a party asked to not be seated near us since we were loud at the bar. Their bar area is quite small and there were 9 of us! I guess we were supposed to whisper. With their lack of air conditioning and loud fans blowing, you have to speak up to be heard.

The owner was very rude and I am sad to say that we will never return. The food is great, but maybe they should not offer tables to a large group if noise is their concern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

While quite pricey, (we knew that going ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

While quite pricey, (we knew that going in), it was worth the experience. The filet was fabulous. The cheese encrusted meat was tender and tasty. The foie gras was perfectly prepared. The cream sauce for the escargot was delectable. And desserts were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was not that good. Wine and salad w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was not that good. Wine and salad were both great. Veal was fatty and kinda strong. Duck was tough and not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Excellent meal, excellent service for ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent meal, excellent service for our wedding anniversary celebration. We enjoyed the peaceful upper floor seating as Rich helped us select a reasonably priced Cabernet which was very nice. My wife chose the filet and I the elk chops. Perfectly prepared and paired with spätzle and red cabbage. Our dessert was presented with "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate.exquisite!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was deliciously Great! We wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was deliciously Great! We will definitely be back for a Private Dinner for two and or future Business Meetings!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been there several times and always a 5 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Been there several times and always a 5 STAR experience. Our seating upstairs has been consistently served by Curt, who is excellent. He makes the dining an experience which is what you go out for anyway. The food choices are "best available to table" and prepared magnificently, as evidenced by Chef and his sous chef going to a James Beard event in the coming weeks. The wine list is one of the most extensive in North Carolina as well as nationally. There are wine tasting events on occasion for an in depth wine experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service -nice atmosphere- crab ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent service -nice atmosphere- crab appetizer good- dinner was ok- had hoped for a bit more flavor for the price- but overall very nice

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my wife's birthday and they mad ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was my wife's birthday and they made it great! Our dinner was perfect. The presentation and pace was as if we were in Europe again. I recommend the Fig Tree to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great service and the food was de ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had great service and the food was delicious with nice sized portions. We also had a great bottle of wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my daughters 17th birthday be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Celebrated my daughters 17th birthday before the play "Newsies". The food, atmosphere and service were all excellent. Nothing was inexpensive but the prices were what would be expected from an upscale French restaurant. I will definitely return for future special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazing and we had a great serv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was amazing and we had a great service and time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, though it seemed to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent, though it seemed to take a long time to move on from one course to the next. Our only complaint was that the air was not working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I chose Fig Tree by rando ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I chose Fig Tree by random to try out and absolutely loved it! It's a quiet romantic setting and was perfect for date night.

The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. I had veal while my husband tried the elk and both came out quite quickly and with beautiful presentation.

Overall, I would recommend to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion. But because it was a more quiet setting I wouldn't recommend small children.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go here. Delicious food, great service. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Go here. Delicious food, great service. We had one minor hiccup at the beginning of our meal and the owner handled it beautifully. Highly recommend Fig Tree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here was among the best we will hav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food here was among the best we will have this year. My husband had the lamb chop, and found both the meat and side dishes to be superb. I had the elk chop (aka red stag) and was just as impressed. The side dishes were spectacular. We are definitely "foodies," and were pleased with the variety and quality. The wine list was also great. Pricing was beyond reasonable. Just try this one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service at The Fig Tree are ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service at The Fig Tree are simply outstanding. We have always been impressed with the quality and professional service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very professional and re ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was very professional and respectful.

The proteins were delicious but all the sides were tired and bland... so sad since our other experiences there were wonderful. It's summer time with a bounty of fresh vegetables...couldn't the chef take advantage?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food and service every time. Love ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service every time. Love that it is a chef owned restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we were quite excited to dine a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Although we were quite excited to dine at the Fig Tree, it was sadly a rather disappointing experience. I ordered the elk chop, which is a $42 dish. The meat was so tough that I couldn't even eat it. The other members of our table ordered the filet mignon, which was delicious, and the grouper/lobster plate, which had undercooked risotto as a side.

However, the $42 inedible, tough elk ruined our experience. A neighboring table also ordered this dish, and agreed with us when asked their opinion of it. We told our waitress about the problem, and instead of the $42 elk being removed from the bill, our desserts were comped instead, as they cost less than the elk plate. For such a well known and expensive restaurant, we were all disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Once again Fig Tree was exceptional. F ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Once again Fig Tree was exceptional. Food, wine, and service were fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service by our waiter, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food and the service by our waiter, Kurt, was wonderful! We loved the fact that Fig Tree was in a 1913 era home. Don't tell anyone but we had a fig off the tree in the front yard. It was fantastic!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the scallop dish and my wife the s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had the scallop dish and my wife the salmon....both were excellent. The beet appetizer was something different we tried this time and wow....it was outstanding! Deserts were great as always. Started a bit noisy due to a loud party of 4 but soon quieted down and more normal. I had ordered flowers for my wife through the open table reservation system and they were at the table as expected...great dinner and evening, service was just right.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and the service we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was awesome and the service we received from Eddie was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best wine in Charlotte by far, and the m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best wine in Charlotte by far, and the mark up is less than you would expect. There was a big selection of half bottles if your group wants to experiment. Excellent food and service. The server was attentive but not at the table too frequently. Definitely a place for a special meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were under the impression that it wou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were under the impression that it would be a $30 or $35 three course meal (not including drinks of course) for Queens Feast listed as one of Charlotte's participating restaurants through Open Table Reservations, but that's not what we discovered. The food was good and the service was great but I can't afford a $185 tab for one dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

One of our favorite restaurants in Charl ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte! This was our second visit, and will certainly return for many more! The service & food are impeccable!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reviews were over rated. The place w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The reviews were over rated. The place was kinda quiet and a bit awkward. The place inside was an old house redone into a restaurant, it smelled old. The food was different but not the best I ate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was amazing. The food and wine was fa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was amazing. The food and wine was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was on point especially the e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything was on point especially the elk chop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great however our main e ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was great however our main entrees were underwhelming. My duck was extremely chewy and inedible. The value for money was not there.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was by far the best local dining ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was by far the best local dining experience in recent years. I appreciated the menu being straight forward and not overwhelming. Food quality, preparation and presentation top notch! Impressive wine list and server was a great help sorting through. Service and attention was exceptional ... The perfect amount of attention. Would highly recommend and can't wait to dine there again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service superb, cocktails delicious and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service superb, cocktails delicious and food excellent in attractive century old mansion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great as usual. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food and service was great as usual. Love that restaurnt

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time to the Fig Tree. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was my second time to the Fig Tree. The first experience was impeccable. The service this time was lacking. It took almost an hour to get our salad from the time we finished our appetizer. While I'm not averse to a 2-3 hour meal, waiting 45 minutes between dishes is unacceptable. We left without getting dessert, something I had been looking forward to the whole evening, because we were concerned it would take another 45 minutes we didn't have. I would go back one more time, but this experience has left me skeptical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent food. Everything got was deli ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food. Everything got was delicious. Excellent service. I hope return here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food. Ambiance. Service. Elegant. All ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food. Ambiance. Service. Elegant. All outstanding!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, setting, and service were outstand ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food, setting, and service were outstanding! My wife and I had zero complaints, and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, they were a little la ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting, they were a little late for our 8pm, but we were seated before finishing one glass of wine, so no big deal. The wine list was very extensive, and the menu was creative, but somewhat overpriced. Other recent meals at equally rated restaurants have been just as good/creative but about $50 less for the two of us. That being said, the food was excellent, though my veal was a little under-cooked. My wife's grouper was awesome; it made me jealous. Our waitress was amazing; the service can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Fig Tree has been a favorite of ours ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Fig Tree has been a favorite of ours for years and, once again, did not disappoint. Food, wine and service are top rate. We continue to highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.