Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Fig Tree Restaurant

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: (704) 332-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (69)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Special Occasion (67)
See All
Good for a Date (60)
Notable Wine List (60)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Cozy (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Historic (30)
Authentic (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Private Room (14)
Fireplace (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

After much anticipation and excitement to finally try The Fig Tree Restaurant, by the end of our experience, we were highly disappointed. To start with a positive note, Kurt, our server did an excellent job: He chose two great bottles of wine to go with our courses. Since it was our first time, he thoroughly explained to us the menu, shared his favorites, and mentioned the specials of the night. He sold us right there and had our mouths watering. We decided to start with the foie gras and the apple beggar's purse. When they both came out, I was shocked the portion size they served relative to the price they charged. Right when I looked at the foie gras, I knew something wasn't right. It was overcooked! Foie gras is meant to be rare and spread like butter. It is liver and very fragile, so I understand how easily it is to overcook it, but don't send it out because you messed up and it's expensive to waste. To the entree course, we decided on elk chop and ostrich. Both proteins came out medium to medium well (a reddish pink center). Kurt asked us how we enjoy our steak and we told him medium rare, so I was expecting something more like a warm red center. With both proteins being overcooked, it made it difficult to fully taste the unique proteins which should have been juicy and flavorful. Finally with the dessert course, we tried the beignets—which I admit were delicious—and the honey and goat cheese pots de creme, which was not delicious at all. The pots de creme was overpowered by the honey. It was in a parfait dish and had the goat cheese on the bottom and too much honey on top. I feel the dessert would have been better if the two ingredients were incorporated together instead of one sitting on top of the other. All in all, service was on point with refilling our waters, thorough wine service, and table maintenance. Unfortunately, I wasn't amazed by the quality, taste, or uniqueness of the courses we were served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Fig Tree. Fig Tree has become our favorite restaurant in Charlotte as it hits every criteria. The food is creative and awesome, the staff is professional and well trained, timing was perfect, and the atmosphere varies by room, but all are nice. We have not yet sat outside, but that could be great on the proper weather day also. If I could find a negative, it would be the parking. Take uber, it is easier.
The entire night was great, from the terrific specialty cocktails, to the dessert served on a customized plate with "Happy Anniversary". We will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

This will be our new anniversary tradition!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I never write reviews and it hurts my feelings to write this one. I chose The Fig Tree tonight because it came so highly recommended not by friends, but also by family. We were meeting this evening a very special friend and also business partner we have not seen in a couple of years. We had an early reservation on Sunday evening -- the restaurant was not crowded. Our waiter though polite enough, was fairly insistent on driving us to order. He showed up too many times at the table once we had only ordered wine to move us to the next course and the next. He assured us that the food would arrive at appropriately spaced times but he was in such a hurry to get us going -- we never really had time to really relax and breath into the space, and our time of reconnection. He also told us the restaurant was owner and chef driven -- and here is where the real disappointment lies... I imagine the owner/chef must have been off on Sunday night. We ordered the snails -- which came in the sauce advertised, but it was luke warm at best and quickly congealed. Even the never ending bread basket couldn't save the soupy milky cheesy sauce where the unshelled snails were left lying. I had the salmon -- unfortunately overlooked, and on a bed of "fingerling potatoes" -- but once again were overcooked and just a mash of luke warm potatoes that were creamed. My husband's filet was fine -- but certainly not able to "cut with a fork" as described or even just melt in your mouth goodness that a really good filet can be. We ordered plenty of wine and dessert -- and I can assure you, because we dine out so often we're more than respectful. However, there was an air from our waiter and his assistant that we were somehow in the queue. The experience did not feel special in the least. We won't be returning. And we were out in under two hours. On a slow night -- when all the tables were far from full, a finer fuller dining experience would have been fully appreciated and rewarded. Oh well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful experience! The food was phenomenal! Will definitely be going back to The Fig Tree!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food, terrific waiter. Recommendations on the spot. Look forward to dining with them again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was a friend's recommendation - WOW! We loved our date night. Food was impeccable! Our waitress, Ashley, was awesome and attentive. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I read other reviews prior to going and was not at all disappointed. The food, selection and service were all spectacular

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As usual the food was excellent. However, while we endorse the idea of some menu changes; we were very disappointed that the signature grouper and lobster had been amended wth Bok chop and black beans!!! The service by Eddie was as always, superior, professional, and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Pre-board meeting dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my first time and I really enjoyed it overall. I will definitely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never disappointed. Food is always delicious, service outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had the special- striped bass over risotto. Beat carpaccio appetizer was delicious, but my main course tasted like pure salt. I woke up a few times in the night feigning for water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was average at best. The soup I ordered had no flavor, the salad also had no flavor. For my entree I ordered the Filet. It was covered in blue cheese, I don't like blue cheese and it wasn't disclosed on the menu. Because the meal, with drinks was $200+, you expect everything to be fantastic and that was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good food, flavorful yet accessible to all. Excellent service, and decor is unpretentious in this small house.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The home that was converted into a restaurant, was absolutely adorable. The restoration was maintained with the year the house was built.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Charlotte. I've never even had anything mediocre at this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Triple CouplesNight Done Right
We were welcomed and we sorta noticed one of the couples already seated so we announced that we were here for my party and see that some guest were seated so we can make our way over. The hostess was pleasant and agreed.
Upon seating our server Curt came over to provide menus for my husband and I and took our drink order. Curt was a very honest, informative and pleasant server to say the least.
As we waited on the other guest we decided to order an appetizer, we ordered the scallops with Apple Jalepeno chutney and whipped sweet potato. it was so delicious, my husband and I devoured it. I had the grapefruit martini, the other ladies did as well it was just the right amount of kick from grapefruit and the right pinch of liquor.
Curt went over the specials and my husband and I decided on our main course. I went with the Sea Bass with Lobster on the menu and my husband has the Snapper special.
The other couples has the Grouper, The Salmon added Lobster, Scallops and Salads.
The entrees come with a salad which was a tasty salad to say the least, the only offset is when my husband got down to the lower end of his salad where you can see the plate he also saw a piece of straight Black Hair which threw him off and he didn't finish his salad. He informed Curt and Curt took it away and apologized and even cracked a joke about the salad guy being bald to help lighten the mood.
My SeaBass was the BEST item at the table in my opinion and I would gladly come back to have it again. I gave my husband a piece and he shared a piece of his Snapper with me BUT wanted more of my SeaBass and he kept eyeing it across the table saying "That is AMAZING".
We ordered the Beignets for dessert as it comes with 4 however Curt said he can customize any dish and he didn't misspeak at all. He add 2 more Beignets in order to allow everyone to have one at the table. We ate it so fast and it was so good we ordered another order of 6 :-)
We Will Be BACK :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Awesome everything! Great drinks and service! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our experience at The Fig Tree was absolutely amazing, from Samantha our waitress to the cuisine. I can not say anything bad about our dinner, the atmosphere is quiet and cozy get from dates or just a quality night out to dinner with friends. Don't forget to try the homemade bread and garlic spread! I would recommend The Fig Tree to anyone wanting creative cuisine with beyond fantastic service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Wonderful evening

We have been trying to go here for awhile, but our schedule and getting a reservation had not clicked until recently. Everything was top notch. Service was attentive but not intrusive; everything we ordered was delicious. We were there on a Thursday evening so the downstairs dining was not that full. They did have several groups in their rooms upstairs. Their wine list is extensive and has some really wonderful selections. Parking can be a bit tricky. If the small lot is full you will be looking for parking on the street.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great dinner, service and ambiance. Will dine here again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love eating at The Fig Tree since it is so cozy and quaint and the food and service are always spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great atmosphere , great food, great wine list with reasonable pricing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent meal on Valentine's Day. Kurt was our waiter and selected an excellent bottle of wine for us. Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lobster tail strangely prepared (as though it had been cut in half width-wise then steamed...flavorless.) Sea bass ok. Chinese rice unappealing & too much of it. Base on its reputation, we were disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was by far one of the best experiences we had! The food and service coupled with great wines and spirits made for a memorable evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful experience! Food was perfect and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service, our meal was amazing, perfect recommendations on wine. Ambiance was romantic and quiet, perfect for date night or special occasions. I highly recommend the veal and elk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love this place. It is charming, romantic and the service and food are excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great experience, food and service were top.
thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our evening at the Fig Tree was incredible from start to finish. Steve, our server, was incredible all night long. The timing was spot on in terms of when our courses were brought to us. Water's were never less than half full. The cocktails were great, I really enjoyed the Scottish Vesper. The Elk and Veal Chops were both cooked exactly how we asked for. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best dining experience ever. It was a sulfide for my wife and she was so happy. Everything was perfect. Already planning our next trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience! Wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Elk is phenomenal. Service is attentive and professional. The ambience is intimate and special. A definite rare gem.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The layout makes you feel like you are having a fine meal in a friends home!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fine dining in a cozy setting. I've never been disappointed by a meal or service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was the third or fourth time getting there. Every time we come to Charlotte, we go there, just enjoy the food.

Very comfortable just sitting there. Great atmosphere!

The waiter/waitress are very nice and kind.

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Awesome in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The evening couldn't have been any better.
Our waiter was fantastic . Food was amazing .
And the little touches for my date's 40th birthday was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.