About The Fig Tree Restaurant

1601 East 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
View Larger Map

Just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in the Historic Elizabeth neighborhood, The Fig Tree Restaurant is located in a beautifully restored 1913 Bungalow. Offering Seasonal Cuisine with influences from Italy and France, an award winning and affordable wine list and outstanding service. Whether you are looking for a romantic fireside dinner, a fun evening of dining al fresco or a private room for your group, The Fig Tree has it all. We look forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday 5:30pm - 11:00pm Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-3322

Website:
http://www.charlottefigtree.com/

Parking Details:
A private parking lot for patrons is located between the Mecklenburg Times building and The Fig Tree Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Greg Zanitsch

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate parties up to 40 people in an individual room or we can make the full house available for parties up to 75 people. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Scheidler: 7043323322

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

Restaurant Photos

The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
The Fig Tree Restaurant
Sea Scallops
Trout
Elk Chops
Striped Bass
Cheese Plate
Quail

The Fig Tree Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
11 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte

special occasion (144)
romantic (116)
notable wine list (107)
See All
fit for foodies (106)
neighborhood gem (83)
great for outdoor dining (55)
good for groups (12)
scenic view (10)
hot spot (9)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food. Ambiance. Service. Elegant. All ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food. Ambiance. Service. Elegant. All outstanding!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, setting, and service were outstand ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food, setting, and service were outstanding! My wife and I had zero complaints, and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, they were a little la ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting, they were a little late for our 8pm, but we were seated before finishing one glass of wine, so no big deal. The wine list was very extensive, and the menu was creative, but somewhat overpriced. Other recent meals at equally rated restaurants have been just as good/creative but about $50 less for the two of us. That being said, the food was excellent, though my veal was a little under-cooked. My wife's grouper was awesome; it made me jealous. Our waitress was amazing; the service can't be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Fig Tree has been a favorite of ours ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Fig Tree has been a favorite of ours for years and, once again, did not disappoint. Food, wine and service are top rate. We continue to highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great! Can't wait to go back and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was great! Can't wait to go back and try something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service but you will ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service but you will pay for that. Not a lot of options for those on a low carb diet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent place... My only complaint is ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent place... My only complaint is he tables are to close together, so it's not conducive to having a personal conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our server, Zack, had such attention to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server, Zack, had such attention to detail. Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, great service

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious, great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was very knowledgeable and attent ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable and attentive. Was helpful with excellent wine and food suggestions. Elk chop was a little dry but very flavorful. Would definitely recommend for a fine dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal & service.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding meal & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & service were fantastic. One of t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food & service were fantastic. One of the best in Charlotte. Looking forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was spectacular and the service ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was spectacular and the service was superb. When I asked a question about the New Zealand Elk during the confirmation phone call, I had a beautifully hand written note with the answers when we arrived! That required wait staff and kitchen coordination and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything was excellent. Sta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always, everything was excellent. Staff, food, ambiance.

Birthday - but asked for no fuss. Laughed when they brought a very large plate with chocolate happy birthday and one candle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I booked this restaraunt as a thank you ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I booked this restaraunt as a thank you for my partners family hosting us for a few days.

Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and steered us in the right direction about portion sizes which was most helpful.

I had the grouper and lobster (first time I had eaten grouper) it was delicious and would thoroughly recommend it. My partner had the scallops which were equally good.

The pepper panacotta was disappointing ;too firm. All the staff were very attentive and helpful.

I would recommend this restaraunt to anyone visiting Charlotte.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is the best meal I have had in Char ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This is the best meal I have had in Charlotte. Everything was excellent, from the service, the appetizers, the wine, the main course, and the desert. A rare find.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our visit to the Fig Tree was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always our visit to the Fig Tree was a pure delight. We were warmly received by the staff who acknowledged our reservation promptly and professionally and acknowledged our special request for a down stairs dinning table. Our favorite bar tender, Ron, prepared our favorite drink to our specific liking and shared good conversation.

The wait staff was very attentive and professional. They had full knowledge of the menu and specials of the day which they explained in great detail. The red and white gazpacho was to die for and very fitting for the 4th of July festivities. My Trout was the best that I have ever had and was prepared to perfection as my wife's filet which was so tender it could be cut with a fork.

Again my congratulations to the owners, chef, and the entire staff of the Fig Tree for making our dinning experience so enjoyable and memorable we can't wait to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in a quiet upstairs room where al ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We sat in a quiet upstairs room where all four dining couples were celebrating an anniversary. Service was impeccable, menu selections were amazing, and wine list was clearly selected by a pro. We both opted for seafood entrees: the scallops & couscous and grouper/lobster with saffron risotto were prepared and presented waaaaay above average. Though nearly-always red wine drinkers, we chose an Anderson Valley Chardonnay which paired with our meals exceptionally well. We shared a fine dessert which the pastry chef plated with a special anniversary message for us. I'm so glad we went to the Fig Tree!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Granted we did have an early dinner, so ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Granted we did have an early dinner, so if the restaurant was crowded it might be louder, but that is speculation. What I know for certain is that we had a great experience. Excellent service. Excellent food. Excellent wine selection, and ambiance.

We'll be visiting as often as we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality food prepared perfectly.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

High quality food prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Fig Tree never disappoints... Always ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Fig Tree never disappoints... Always great food and service. Wine is kind of over priced but you see that everywhere these days. I highly recommend wether it's a special occasion or you're just looking to have a great dinner on a Wednesday.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fig Tree is one of our go to restaurants ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fig Tree is one of our go to restaurants. They always deliver! The food is great as is the service. The grouper topped with lobster and a wonderful light sauce was just stellar. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is a nice place but IMHO ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This restaurant is a nice place but IMHO is not worth the high prices, mediocre food, and lack of

ambiance. We were there for a special occasion that they were aware of. We were seated in a small upstairs room with 4 tables. With 12 people in this room it was not very comfortable. I was especially disappointed in the Elk Chop entrée. It was small, dry, and not very tender, and at $42 not great value. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

They have unusual entrees, sometimes wit ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

They have unusual entrees, sometimes with elk, venison and other atypical meats. The pairings are excellent and the service is outstanding.

The food could have used a bit more seasoning and salt, especially the cold soup.

Otherwise, this was a very good dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and ambiance lovely, the was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service and ambiance lovely, the was up the standard. We had stuffed calamari, the elk steak, scallops with risotto , and a peanut and lemon curd desert, none of which was worth recommending.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great meal and fabulous service.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great meal and fabulous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and ambiance. Hard to bea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance. Hard to beat. Separate rooms make for quiet evening. Too expensive to take children.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were great.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome restaurant! We'll be back.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome restaurant! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great evening. Food did not disap ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a great evening. Food did not disappointment. Service was outstanding. Wine list awarded from Wine Spectator multiple years in a row. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food were excellent. Samant ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Samantha, our server, waspolite, knoledgeable andfriendly. Her recommendations were spot on. Pricey, but well worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect meal, the perfect service, t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The perfect meal, the perfect service, the perfect everything. The reason this place is a mainstay is obvious. Do not hesitate to go. The wine list is also sublime. Jean Louis Chave Hermitage Blanc - enough said. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely stellar service, food to matc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Absolutely stellar service, food to match. Had a lovely evening. By far one of the top 3 restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience all around. Our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

An excellent experience all around. Our server was wonderful. He was pleasant and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the ambiance was great. We sat upstairs next to a group but it was still easy to hear each other. A fantastic evening. Will recommend and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience, from start to finish. It was obvious our food had been prepared with attention to detail and flavor. Each accompaniment to the main dish ordered was absolutely perfect. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Being a former chef, and having moved fr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Being a former chef, and having moved from the NYC metro area to Charlotte, I am always on the hunt for a top-notch restaurant here. The Fig Tree is comparable to any fine dining NYC establishment, with a much warmer service approach (we are still in the South, after all). I went for a birthday dinner, and the entire meal was beyond expectation. I highly recommend the escargot appetizer, lamb entree, grouper entree, and the beignets for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, good food, fantastic servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place, good food, fantastic service. I will go bacl

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous meal as usual at this quaint re ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fabulous meal as usual at this quaint restaurant! Love dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, we enjoyed our date at the Fig ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed our date at the Fig Tree. The food was splendid and the service was superb. We plan to go back for our next special occasion!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I were traveling from ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I were traveling from the DC area and wanted to have a date night just the two of us before the wedding we were attending kicked off for the weekend. This restaurant has in our opinion and dinning experience the feel of a 5 star restaurant without the complete price of one. This is a steal for a get away night being the the food is excellent and reasonably priced as well as offers very fine and local ingredients. We were very impressed with the wait staff and our meal. I recommend this restaurant to anyone trying to have a romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.