The Fifth Grill & Terrace

4.6
672 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Cozy
Voted Best Restaurant in Toronto by OpenTable Diners for its romantic ambience, rooftop patio and delicious cooking, The Fifth Restaurant & Terrace boasts twenty years of excellence and is always evolving. Headed by Chef Robert Toppan, our culinary team creates a modern cuisine to suit today’s tastes, accommodating vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diets.

Located atop Toronto’s Entertainment District, the dining room is intimate with fire-side sofas and the terrace offers great views of Toronto. This summer, our rooftop oasis will be the best restaurant in Toronto for alfresco dining with Mediterranean inspired foods and wines showcasing flavours from the French Riviera to the Amalfi Coast. Find out more about The Fifth Terrazzo.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 979-3005
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Toppan
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are a number of parking lots near The Fifth building. The most convenient parking lot is located on the south side of Richmond Street West, just west of Duncan St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Osgoode Station at Queen St W and University Ave or streetcar stops on King St W at John St or Simcoe St.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine
What 672 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.7
service
4.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

There are no words for how amazing the experience was!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and good service, very thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Worth the high(!!) price point.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

My husbands dish was great!
He ordered the steak and a few sides.
I ordered the lobster risotto. I Was a bit disappointed it was grainy on the throat and just need a little something to give it moistness, flavour and texture.
Not too many options on the menu. Which is both good and not so good sometimes. If it's hard to choose something it's great. If you have allergies, not so great!
The waiter was very nice and as was all the staff. Thank you!
I was really hoping to give a 5, but I'm giving a 4 based on my husbands meal only.
The terrace is lovely as well.
Quaint and quiet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The service was great but the music was a little loud at times and the lobster risotto was quite bland. The octopus was great though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fantastic space and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Dinner was lovely, great food and wine...patio dining is fantastic. Thanks for a great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Amazing! We had Rob as our waiter and he was magnificent. Food was also fantastic, and if I lived in Toronto, I'd make it a habit to come here and eat. Wine, food, and ambience left nothing to be desired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was our first time to the Fifth Grill and will definitely go back. The service provided by the entire staff but particularly our waiter Rob, was fantastic. This was a special occasion and they took care to make it a memorable one. The food was amazing, the steak tartare one of the best we've ever had and Kammy makes a great cocktail too!
Worth the drive from Alliston! We will go back with friends!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The service was awesome and everyone was friendly. The food was good we would recommended the steak and charcuterie board.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The ambiance was great, service was good and the food was lovely. Nice place to have a great dinner and enjoy conversation. Looking forwards to when the Terrace is opened !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This was our first time at The Fifth Grill. We had a wonderful evening. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Absolute perfection! Service was outstanding and the food.... oh the food....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Went to this restaurant 20 years ago when it first opened, and then again this past weekend. The food is outstanding. Our server seemed a little pre-occupied but was still satisfactory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Wonderful restaurant with excellent cuisine, warm charming ambience and top notch service. The ride up to the restaurant in the old wooden freight elevator adds an interesting and fun touch to the experience. Highly recommended. Will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The service staff were very attentive and checked in when every course was served. The winter menu choices and wine pairings were excellent , tasty and nicely presented. Robert The chef stopped by which made the whole experience special . Thank you for a perfect anniversary evening. We will come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This was one of the loveliest dinner experiences we've had in years. Everything was perfect. Truly exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I’ve beeb coming here for years. The service is as amazing as the food. I can’t say enough good things about the ambiance, vibe, food, service and the entire experience as a whole. 5 stars all the way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Wonderful ambience, love the elevator. A++++ service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was fantastic, my hubby even called the dessert “magical”. It was a great Valentines Date Night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Love the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Amazing food and service! The three course menu for Valentine’s Day was superb! Merci beaucoup!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Wonderful evening. Fine French inspired food that isn't overdone. Great service and ambience with a fun entrance that always makes it all feel like an exciting discovery. Great for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Picked this restaurant based on reviews and was curious to do the old style elevator ride. The experience was great from the beginning. Hard to find entrance, but adds a little mystery to the restaurant. A little introduction of the place in the old school elevator started the fun evening experience. Friendly and attentive staff, cozy ambiance. Great wine, and food tasted amazing. Definitely live up to the star reviews and the price tag. Will go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Absolutely amazing experience! We went here for winterlicious and not only did the menu have amazing dishes it was very inclusive, as I’m vegetarian and my boyfriend a full meat eater. Portions were as expected but they were super filling, even for my boyfriend! I requested a special surprise cheese platter for the occasion, and was super impressed with their accommodations & discreetness for the surprise. Ambiance was amazing, decor had so much character (particularly loved the tiny disco ball in the centre of the dining area - like comic relief in such a fancy place), all the staff was incredibly friendly & knowledgeable of the menu and I could go on! Overall, I’d highly recommend this place for those who are looking to feel like a million bucks without having to spend a million, and for those who are truly looking for a great place to share with great company! It’s a venue that fits all occasions, and I’ll definitely be coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

A unique space with good food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The overall experience from the front door staff to the old pull cord elevator was warm and inviting! Being able to bring your own wine and they decant it for you and serve throughout the meal was a pleasure! It was great to have a small environment and friendly service! Highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Although a wonderful ambiance and superb service, food was scarce and mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Wonderful experience, top notch service, food and presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Attentive service , great ambiance and prix fixe menu. Even a vegan and vegetarian option which was greatly appreciated , thanks!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Definitely will reserve another dinner in the future at this restaurant. The experience, staff, and food was great. Highly recommend. The nightclub is also a great place to party.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, a little pricey however the service and the food make it a good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was good overall. The osso buco was somewhat swamped by the overly large serving of risotto. Although the meat was superbly cooked the dish felt and looked heavy and colourless.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2017

all in all great...food was extremely good: tasty and well presented...our reservation was for 8 so i didnt really understamd why we were so rushed...i feel that more time could have been taken between courses...would still recommend both the restaurant itself as well as a special event venue...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Amazing atmosphere, service was supburb. Great job to our server Rob and the chef being so accommodating for my celiac
Definitely coming back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

We had a wonderful evening
Food was outstanding
The waiter was very attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Fantastic! Took my girlfriend for her birthday and she loved it. Would have been nice if we had bread served to the table without asking, but everything else was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We had our wedding at the 5th and decided to come back to have our second month anniversary to relive it. The service and food was exceptional again and reinforced our wonderful memories . Bravo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Great place been a couple times highly recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing in every way. The food was exquisite, the service impeccable and the experience unforgettable. It is the way restaurants should be

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

I was pleased to have visited the Fifth Grill & Terrace for a good cause that benefited Second Harvest but we really did have a fabulous meal! The food was so good and the service and ambience was spectacular. I hope more restaurants downtown jump onto these tasting menus to benefit good causes as it attracts patrons that would never have visited their restaurants previously.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17

Tweets by The Fifth Grill & Terrace