Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

Voted Best Restaurant in Toronto by OpenTable Diners for its romantic ambience, rooftop patio and delicious cooking, The Fifth Restaurant & Terrace boasts twenty years of excellence and is always evolving. Headed by Executive Chef JP Challet and Chef Robert Toppan, our culinary team creates a modern cuisine to suit today’s tastes, accommodating vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diets.

Located atop Toronto’s Entertainment District, the dining room is intimate with fire-side sofas and the terrace offers great views of Toronto. This summer, our rooftop oasis will be the best restaurant in Toronto for alfresco dining with Mediterranean inspired foods and wines showcasing flavours from the French Riviera to the Amalfi Coast. Find out more about The Fifth Terrazzo.

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://fifthrestaurant.thefifth.com/

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat dad to the perfect surf & turf! Our new menu of Italian and French coastal flavours offers the best of our grass-fed steaks aged a minimum of 42 days with delicious seafood choices from charred octopus to branzino. Make dinner extra special with a customized Chef's tasting menu.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends, hosting a corporate event or wedding, THE FIFTH can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (7)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went on a Friday night date with my partner. Food was unbelievable good. We had a great time. It is worthy every loonie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall we were disappointed in our last visit to The Fifth. I had booked it for our Mother's Day celebration. Over the years we've been there many times for anniversaries and birthdays but the menu has recently changed and the last time we went the food was barely considered passable for a restaurant that charges 60 per person. We did let the manager know that our food was not satisfactory and would not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Was an amazing experience. The waitress was extremely good and would want her again.
The food was the best. The restaurant was older , bohemian french style ...i was in french heaven.
Pricey , but worth it ..my office team were amazed.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I reread the description of the restaurant before starting on this review just to make sure I did not miss anything. We had a wonderful dining experience eating here last summer and loved the chef's cooking at Ici so naturally we invited friends from NYC to dine with us at the Fifth. The ambiance was indeed pretty and the service was very attentive before the restaurant got busy. My daughter's steak was the only excellent dish out of dozen or more items that were either mediocre or downright disappointing. Cocktails were good but not amazing and overpriced. The charcuterie board was made up of super fatty pieces of meat that could not be discriminated on the palate, same goes for forest mushrooms that tasted all the same. Calmari with snow crab lacked salt as did steak tartare, while tasty lobster risotto had more salt than needed, and the plain pasta that we ordered for a child in our party was over peppered. We were tempted by desserts but did not finish the plum tart that tasted as it was baked 3 days before. At $600 for a group of six this was a costly mistake...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

As usual an outstanding meal by a marvelous chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food, good service, good environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

nice place, salad is tasty, lamb pasta and steak is great. dessert is great. service is welcoming and with care. expect toback in summer to try their balcony view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Starters and main dishes are very good. Service is good. A little disappointed on desserts. It's noisy than I thought because other customers sitting around us talked loudly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beef tartar is phenomenal. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great staff, location and outstanding food! will defenately go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a go to place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner with girlfriend - celebrating moving in together. Ambiance and food were amazing, would definitely recommend to friends and family. We ordered the wine paired valentines menu - everything was delicious. Our server was polite and friendly. All of our wine pairings save for the first one were served after we received our courses, not ideal, and we waited some time after finishing dessert to pay the bill. Understandably the restaurant was busy at this time, however I would not have ordered the pairings had I known they wouldn't be served together. There was also some sort of suction powered machine behind the bar which cut through the music every time it was used, which served to startle us. Our table was also right next to the kitchen even though we arrived at 6:30 when few people had been seated, also not ideal. Girlfriend was happy though so mission accomplished. Thanks for having us, will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attentive service, excellent food and wine pairings, lovely cozy atmosphere made valentines day dinner by the fireplace memorable. :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great. It was creative, well presented and tasted good. The wine was overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This place is wonderful, enjoy the service and food.
We ordered pumpkin soup and shrimp sth for appetizer. Soup is creamy and made with real pumpkin
As for salmon Wellington love the corn inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great night out. Had reserved a quiet table on the terrace celebrating 20th wedding anniversary. Food, service and ambience were on point. My request was noted and staff all great. Very attentive and felt special when dessert came out with "happy anniversary " written in chocolate accompanied my plate. My husband raved about the filet mug on! It's the attention to detail that keeps me going back. Only wish the service elevator was working as this is a cool feature of the whole experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great unique menu. Very good food. Excellent service. Quiet private-club like atmosphere. Very cool elevator ride up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Although the kitchen really messed up my meal, the staff did their best to make up for the mix up. How they served me something that wasn't even on the menu is still a mystery to me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Came here for the terrace which is advertised as heated and open all year. Food was decent, but the server informed us that the terrace was closed and not fit for visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was very slow and my entree was on the cool side when it finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My cousin and her husband flew in from Montreal to celebrate her birthday and I wanted them to have an amazing meal as they are most definitely foodies so The Fifth was an easy decision.

Chef JP Chalet and the team at The Fifth didn't disappoint on any level. We shared mussels to start followed by the lobster bisque which makes my mouth drool as I type. Most of us had a filet as our main but my husband had the smoked salmon which he said was the best salmon he ever had and our friend had the lamb chops which she loved.

My cousins husband selected all the wines which were delicious!

Such nice night and we cannot wait to return again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Fifth never disappoints! Went to celebrate 2 family birthdays. Food was exceptional & servicespot on. Reasonable & well curated wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food great service Very romantic and cozy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great quiet conversation ambiance, tasty food and attentive service. André is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food and evening with friends...as usual. Service was excellent as were the martinis :)

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Executive chef. J. P. Challet, can do no wrong. His lobster bisque and lobster risotto are culinary masterpieces. His duck magret and his beef hanger steak, to justice to the whims and desires of any carnivore. On his menu you will also find seafood and homemade pasta.
Where "J. P." particularly excels, is by giving you a choice of whether or not you want a large portion or a small portion, of everything on the menu. He also offers selected wines in either three or six ounce glasses, to pair with your meal.
Service is appropriately understated and professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Arrived to a roaring wood fire front row table
Interesting and delicious choice of cocktails
A very eclectic menu , did not disappoint
Only criticism would be that the food wasn't as warm as I would have liked it to be
Otherwise perfection , great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Chef JP Challet is one of the best we have in Canada. I will be dreaming of his food long after we leave the restaurant! Simply delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Staff were great and helpful. Always a great experience at the fifth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent food in a great space. Good quality service and wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant was very romantic, servers were absolutely amazing! Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good service, great food. Unfortunately we had to take the other elevator to the top but I didn't hold that against them. Would go back and definitely would recommend to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Decided to go to The Fifth before TIFF. Right from when we were treated by security in the alley we knew it was going to be a special night.

Our server was great food was awesome and the ambience so amazing. Sitting ion the roof top Terrance , we nearly forgot we were in one of the busiest parts of the city.

A great place for a romantic, special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing place, great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sat on The Terrace for dinner on a warm Friday between screenings during TIFF - Toronto International Film Festival. Lovely ambiance on the rooftop, nicely decorated, terrific food, excellent service. Fun getting up there through the "back door" on an old elevator (the regular access was closed off due to the Festival). Did 5 sharing courses and that was plenty for two people. Recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Arrived an hour late for reservation - shame on us. Easy to find and very pleasant. Food was great (I should of had dessert but, alas, I ran out of steam) Waitstaff was super - gracious and very knowledgeable with a keen sense of humor. The room(s) are beautiful and presentation of the food shows the care in the kitchen. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a lovely time here, I personally didn't enjoy lobster risotto but the salmon, Clamato, deserts, they were very delicious. Most of all, the atmosphere, thee service, and the vibe were what made For a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was the third time I dined at the restaurant and once again it completely surpassed my expectations! I came with a few of my coworkers and we opted for the tasting menu as JP Challet and his team always offer delectable dishes - this time was no exception! We started off with a cod cake for the amuse bouche, which was a great choice to kick off the meal. We opted for the wine pairing with each of our courses and the maitre d, Andre, professionally presented each wine and did a great job of explaining why it was the right pairing for the dish.

Our first item on the tasting menu was the asparagus salad with goat cheese burek - all of the ingredients were incredibly fresh and blended well together to create a delicious salad. Next, we had the organic salmon with peach chutney, corn ragout, espelette popcorn, and corn tuille - the salmon was incredibly tender and cooked to perfection! Best I've had in the city by far. Following this, we had the fresh pasta, which consisted of a shrimp and lobster canneloni in a lobster bisque base. Having already tried the bisque previously, I knew this selection would please my guests and indeed, they finished every last bite! We then ate the Duck Magret, which similarily was the best duck I had eaten in a while (since the last time I came to The Fifth!). We ended with a sampling of the desserts, of which all were sublime and paired with delicious ice creams in flavours such as honey lavender.

In addition to the food, the service was impeccable and our table felt incredibly well taken care of. Thank you so much to the wonderful front of house and kitchen staff for making our experience such a great one! We'll definitely be back! :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Organic, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall, the food and service was great! We had a nice side two seater view overlooking the city of toronto. Our server was professional and all the wait staff was quick and friendly and polite.
We ordered the lobster risotto and calamari and drinks, all were very well crafted and professionally plated.
The wait staff were friendly taking us up and helping us back down to enter the night club. Would recommend to friends because of efficient service, great food and ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.