Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

Voted Best Restaurant in Toronto by OpenTable Diners for its romantic ambience, rooftop patio and delicious cooking, The Fifth Restaurant & Terrace boasts twenty years of excellence and is always evolving. Headed by Executive Chef JP Challet and Chef Robert Toppan, our culinary team creates a modern cuisine to suit today’s tastes, accommodating vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diets.

Located atop Toronto’s Entertainment District, the dining room is intimate with fire-side sofas and the terrace offers great views of Toronto. This summer, our rooftop oasis will be the best restaurant in Toronto for alfresco dining with Mediterranean inspired foods and wines showcasing flavours from the French Riviera to the Amalfi Coast. Find out more about The Fifth Terrazzo.

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://fifthrestaurant.thefifth.com/

Parking Details:
There are a number of parking lots near The Fifth building. The most convenient parking lot is located on the south side of Richmond Street West, just west of Duncan St.

Public Transit:
Osgoode Station at Queen St W and University Ave or streetcar stops on King St W at John St or Simcoe St.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends, hosting a corporate event or wedding, THE FIFTH can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Seasonal (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Ambience was just perfect. The service was absolutely delightful. Food was delicious and just the perfect place to spend with friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The beef was good as usual but the sea bass was disappointed. Miss the old elevator!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I came in for a fifth anniversary dinner this past Friday and we were very pleased with the exceptional service at the Fifth.

Our server Charles as well as the entire staff we encountered were very attentive, friendly, and hospitable. We were seated in a separate, special booth which was a great treat. The Summerlicious menu was fantastic and the cocktails (I had the Scarlet and a gin and tonic) were also expertly mixed. We especially enjoyed dessert -- deconstructed strawberry Napoleon was a hit for us, though the other two meals were cooked to perfection and equally delicious. Charles even helped us get a photo after the meal in a great spot on the terrace.

We don't do upscale dining very often, but this was a picture perfect experience. Thanks to Charles and the rest of the staff at the Fifth for making our special day extra special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

This secretive restaurant greets you by name and the excellent service continues from there. We shared a bottle of red wine, a blend from the region. Our food was delicious and well presented. We were not rushed but didn't have to looking for our server. A wonderful experience we hope to repeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I have celebrated 2 anniversaries here and both times the 5th has made it very special and memorable. The staff go above and beyond and the food is to die for. They do whatever they can to make sure you enjoy the experience of being there. The views on the rooftop balcony are outstanding, the inside is charming and we love the other little nooks on the rooftop as well. I can't say enough about this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We did the Summerlicious menu. The salad was nice. The veggie gnocchi could use a little more salt; the beef tenderloin was good. The strawberry napolean dessert was absolutely delicious. The service was very good. We had a nice quiet table on the terrace and Charles, our server, was very polite and attentive.

The one thing that I did not really like was the way to the terrace - we had to walk through a portion of the restaurant that was being used as a kitchen. I didn't want to see trays and trays of desserts being laid out - it felt "industrial" ....almost like a factory ...like some sort of a production line. That took away from feeling "special".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

good cozy comfy, super service, good food. few levels very romantic ;)

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very pretty, great for date night, food was good, service was not on par for atmosphere or quality of good do I would only give this place 4 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ambience sets the tone for a dining experience and meal that one never forgets. Highly recommend booking the fifth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The route up to the terrace feels like a mix of a secret club and labyrinth-- only to end up on a lovely terrace! Wait staff was superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We celebrated our son's birthday on the terrace on a beautiful night. The view and decor were lovely. The service and food were very good. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

on june 17 the alley elevator was not in service. the richmond st entrance ha s a steep set of stairs before the elevator. if we had known about this beforehand we would have come another tim.e I have broken a hip and use a walker.
william maunder

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was great!!! The Sea Bass had a bit fishy smell to it. And my husband's meal had a piece of metal in his meal. The management staff was very kind enough to make up for it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was outstanding. They went an extra mile for the birthday occasion. Filet mignon was a thing of beauty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Strange entrance off side street but guided to elevator to Fifth floor. Room decor not much but table nicely arranged. Somewhat limited menu, but food was excellent and presentation was very nice. Service was good. Restaurant deserves its high Open Table rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went on a Friday night date with my partner. Food was unbelievable good. We had a great time. It is worthy every loonie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall we were disappointed in our last visit to The Fifth. I had booked it for our Mother's Day celebration. Over the years we've been there many times for anniversaries and birthdays but the menu has recently changed and the last time we went the food was barely considered passable for a restaurant that charges 60 per person. We did let the manager know that our food was not satisfactory and would not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Was an amazing experience. The waitress was extremely good and would want her again.
The food was the best. The restaurant was older , bohemian french style ...i was in french heaven.
Pricey , but worth it ..my office team were amazed.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I reread the description of the restaurant before starting on this review just to make sure I did not miss anything. We had a wonderful dining experience eating here last summer and loved the chef's cooking at Ici so naturally we invited friends from NYC to dine with us at the Fifth. The ambiance was indeed pretty and the service was very attentive before the restaurant got busy. My daughter's steak was the only excellent dish out of dozen or more items that were either mediocre or downright disappointing. Cocktails were good but not amazing and overpriced. The charcuterie board was made up of super fatty pieces of meat that could not be discriminated on the palate, same goes for forest mushrooms that tasted all the same. Calmari with snow crab lacked salt as did steak tartare, while tasty lobster risotto had more salt than needed, and the plain pasta that we ordered for a child in our party was over peppered. We were tempted by desserts but did not finish the plum tart that tasted as it was baked 3 days before. At $600 for a group of six this was a costly mistake...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

As usual an outstanding meal by a marvelous chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food, good service, good environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

nice place, salad is tasty, lamb pasta and steak is great. dessert is great. service is welcoming and with care. expect toback in summer to try their balcony view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Starters and main dishes are very good. Service is good. A little disappointed on desserts. It's noisy than I thought because other customers sitting around us talked loudly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Beef tartar is phenomenal. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great staff, location and outstanding food! will defenately go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a go to place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner with girlfriend - celebrating moving in together. Ambiance and food were amazing, would definitely recommend to friends and family. We ordered the wine paired valentines menu - everything was delicious. Our server was polite and friendly. All of our wine pairings save for the first one were served after we received our courses, not ideal, and we waited some time after finishing dessert to pay the bill. Understandably the restaurant was busy at this time, however I would not have ordered the pairings had I known they wouldn't be served together. There was also some sort of suction powered machine behind the bar which cut through the music every time it was used, which served to startle us. Our table was also right next to the kitchen even though we arrived at 6:30 when few people had been seated, also not ideal. Girlfriend was happy though so mission accomplished. Thanks for having us, will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attentive service, excellent food and wine pairings, lovely cozy atmosphere made valentines day dinner by the fireplace memorable. :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was great. It was creative, well presented and tasted good. The wine was overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This place is wonderful, enjoy the service and food.
We ordered pumpkin soup and shrimp sth for appetizer. Soup is creamy and made with real pumpkin
As for salmon Wellington love the corn inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a great night out. Had reserved a quiet table on the terrace celebrating 20th wedding anniversary. Food, service and ambience were on point. My request was noted and staff all great. Very attentive and felt special when dessert came out with "happy anniversary " written in chocolate accompanied my plate. My husband raved about the filet mug on! It's the attention to detail that keeps me going back. Only wish the service elevator was working as this is a cool feature of the whole experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great unique menu. Very good food. Excellent service. Quiet private-club like atmosphere. Very cool elevator ride up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Although the kitchen really messed up my meal, the staff did their best to make up for the mix up. How they served me something that wasn't even on the menu is still a mystery to me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Came here for the terrace which is advertised as heated and open all year. Food was decent, but the server informed us that the terrace was closed and not fit for visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was very slow and my entree was on the cool side when it finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My cousin and her husband flew in from Montreal to celebrate her birthday and I wanted them to have an amazing meal as they are most definitely foodies so The Fifth was an easy decision.

Chef JP Chalet and the team at The Fifth didn't disappoint on any level. We shared mussels to start followed by the lobster bisque which makes my mouth drool as I type. Most of us had a filet as our main but my husband had the smoked salmon which he said was the best salmon he ever had and our friend had the lamb chops which she loved.

My cousins husband selected all the wines which were delicious!

Such nice night and we cannot wait to return again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Fifth never disappoints! Went to celebrate 2 family birthdays. Food was exceptional & servicespot on. Reasonable & well curated wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food great service Very romantic and cozy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great quiet conversation ambiance, tasty food and attentive service. André is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.