About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map



Located on the rooftop of an old warehouse within Toronto's Entertainment District and accessible by a private elevator, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is an experience you should not miss. The press has called us 'a glamorous hideaway' and our terrace 'the best patio in Toronto'. Our award winning cuisine headed by renowned French chef JP Challet is often described as 'lavish', 'heavenly' and 'creative'.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Steakhouse, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://thefifthgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 6:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
French
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
2 More
Romantic
Toronto
French
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Entertainment District ›

romantic (51)
special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
scenic view (14)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

The environment gives the impression of ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The environment gives the impression of an exclusive private club. The effect is compromised by the round table with very pronounced expansion wings that don't reach level.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was ok..nothing special..Was charged 28 bucks for a plate of simple pasta (tomato sauce and pasta) for my 8 year old I know the chef had to prepare this item since it was not on the menu..but 28 dollars ?! Other similar high-end places charged me $10-12 which is reasonable.. Ordered a glass of wine..waiter just brought the glass of wine to my table. I had no idea from which wine bottle my wine came from.The proper way is for waiter to bring the bottle of wine to the table then pour the wine into the glass in front of customer..overall experience is fair..will not be coming back again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always worth the elevator trip!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The Fifth always delivers on a night out with friends & I never have to ask them twice. Everyone loves this place, especially we can't wait for patio season!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Fifth Grill are always atte ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The staff at Fifth Grill are always attentive, kind and provide great service. I hope the elevator will be fixed soon as we wanted our guests to have that special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the entire experience. We shared a ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Loved the entire experience. We shared a few appetizers and a main course. Great filet mignon. The chef sent out a few items for us to sample from the tasting menu. Everything was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean Pierre le Chef

Dined on April 16, 2016

JP is an amazing Chef and everybody should enjoy his delicious food.... or you never have tasted the best menu in Toronto until then....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Hidden Gem

Dined on April 15, 2016

Really good food, cooked to perfection. Great service too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything and have been raving ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I loved everything and have been raving about it to all my friends since I came home - right down to the crazy elevator ride in a freight elevator. Our servers were very friendly, and especially Christopher in the elevator was a hoot! The food was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly excellent!

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Truly excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!

Dined on March 10, 2016

We were a large party that arrived for a reservation at 6pm and we're welcomed with very friendly servers. We were seated right in the centre of the restaurant and we're greeted by our server Andre who was just superb at his job. We had opted for Chef JPs tasting menu as we couldn't decide what to order. The first dish that came out was a fried mac n' cheese croquette which was beyond amazing, we were then served a lobster bisque with potato fondant and fresh poached lobster which was so rich with flavor. Next we had a take on a classic carbonara with a poached egg so we could break the egg and would be able to emulsify the pasta ourselves it was melt in your mouth delicous. Third Course was salmon which was organic with a fresh cucumber salad and Tempura Salmon Mousse! Finally we had Braised Beef with mushroom ravioli which came in such a unique shape that I've never seen before, needless to say this was my favorite dish of the evening, for dessert we were celebrating a birthday party and the kitchen wrote on the birthday girls plate happy birthday which was a great added touch, I had also called earlier in the week and asked for a speciality dessert (a vodka cran creme Brulee) and it arrived along with a platter of all the desserts for us to share which were all fantastic chief among which was the poached pear which was so tasty! Overall fantastic evening right from the elevator ride up to the moment we left, staff were extremly professional and the kitchen said goodnight to us as well. Definitely a hidden gem in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic food, atmosphere, a ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff was friendly and helpful.

Dined on February 19, 2016

The elevator ride to the 5th added to the ambiance as well as the wood burning fireplace which is rare in a restaurant. The food was served efficiently and timely. The quality was excellent. We would go back and would recommend the restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Patio seating would be great in the summ ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Patio seating would be great in the summer, unfortunately we were sat by the "window" while it was -30 outside. The heaters were running flat out but didn't quite keep the chill out of the plastic sheeting that was covering the patio.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was perfect. Food, service, environment. Great value for the valentine's dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great ambiance, the fireplace was fantastic on such a cold night and the wait staff were excellent - enough attention so you always felt looked after but never rushed or intrusive. There was a discreet 'happy birthday' dessert plate for my wife which was a very appreciated touch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

No service for 20mins after being seated

Dined on February 13, 2016

After being seated, we waited over 20 mins before anyone even asked if we wanted a drink. That only happened because my wife flagged down one of the helpers serving water. Then we had 3 different waiters serve us. Seemed very disorganized for an evening that was not that busy. Having said that, the cocktail was excellent and the food was very good. No complaints on that side. All in all, it was a nice evening out for an early Valentine's day celebration. Good company and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time resulting in a great experience!

Dined on February 12, 2016

It was our first time at The Fifth and we were blown away by EVERYTHING - the atmosphere was great, the food was delicious and the service was fantastic. We couldn't have expected anything better than the 10/10 experience that night, even though the place was packed and the kitchen likely very busy! We didn't feel any rush and we taken care of as if we were the only customers in the restaurant. Will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great value, delicious and surprisly!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Went to dinning at the last day of Winterlicious promotion. Building entrance from a back alley to a bar and then ride up in an antique elevator. Ambience was gorgeous with very good service, $45 includd three courses before tax, superb food from appetizers to desserts, all were delicious and tasty.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

The service was unprofessional and semi-rude. The food was mediocre.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night out in the city

Dined on February 6, 2016

The rustic five story tower turned restaurant was an interesting and delightfully delicious experience. After entering the back alley up stairs and being escorted to the tastefully redecorated freight elevator complete with operator, we knew our adventure had begun. We were escorted out onto the fifth floor our coats were checked and we were seated at our table for four behind the curtain and close to the bar. The restaurant opened at 6pm we were slightly early for our 6:30 reservation but it took no time for the floor to fill with people dining for the night. The winterlicious menu options were creative and delicious from salmon to lasagna to beef with salads or soup starters and decatant desserts to please the vanilla chocolate or caramel palate. The French cuisine with cocktails was not inexpensive (approx $150 per person) however well worth the experience. Highly recommended for special night out in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner was stellar

Dined on February 4, 2016

Ribeyes were cooked to perfection. Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make our anniversary special. Thank you for the champagne and "Happy Anniversary" plate written in chocolate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining location on theatre night

Dined on February 4, 2016

We tried this restaurant as it was close to the theatre and they were participating in Winterlicious. We loved the location and the ambience. Although lots of stairs - not sure if there is an accessible entrance. The service was efficient - not too rushed but definitely on track so we would be out on time for the show. We share our dishes - beef and salmon - and both were prepared beautifully with lots of flavour. Would definitely go back again - next time would like to go in the summer and enjoy the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Great experience until the end

Dined on February 4, 2016

I went to this restaurant with a friend for Winterlicious. Everything about the restaurant is great for a special occasion, or a romantic night out with a significant other. The old school elevator adds a nice touch to the restaurant. The shrimp cakes and salmon were delicious. However, the presentation of the apple tart was most certainly lacking in taste and presentation, in comparison to the former courses. The service was very good, until the end of the meal. The waitress was incredibly attentive and polite- she would frequently refill our glasses of water, or ask us how our food was. However, it took forever to receive our bill. There was only 3 tables of people left by the time we were finished our meal, so 'busy' is not a viable excuse to me. The waitress who was initially attentive, became incredibly negligent of us. The only somewhat valid reason I can think of is that she didn't want to interfere with our conversation, but I don't see the validity in that, considering she would interrupt to ask how our meal was. We asked for the bill to be split, and it took around 10-15 minutes to receive the bill... which was not split. We asked again, and it took another 20 minutes to get the bill. By the time we received our bill, we were the only people left in the restaurant. 'Busy' is not excusable, because it doesn't take that long to print a receipt. I felt like the time waiting for the bill ruined the whole experience for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

winterlicious

Dined on February 4, 2016

We booked a table for 3 on a weekday for Winterlicious, the entry to get in always is tricky but once you're in, you're in for a treat. Riding the lift elevator is kinda fun, it has the ambiance of something mysterious but it's a short ride. We sat on the terrace, ordered our items and enjoyed the rest of our night. The food was delicious as everyone was quite satisfied with their portions and the terrace was warm even in winter with the tarps covering the windows. Drink menu is a bit pricey at $15 for a cocktail though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

What a fantastic dining experience in su ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience in such a unique space. The experience riding up to the top floor was like taking you back in time. The food was great and my braised beef with gnocchi and potatoe his the spot on a cold tdot evening. Service was TOP notch, attentive and sync. Very professional . I can't wait to go back. Thanks for a fantastic meal before a night to the Toronto Symphony. ;)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First class al the way

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

IF you are cool with spending close to $200 all in per couple, drinks, tip tax and great dinner, this is about the best you are going to find in Toronto. Impeccable service, inventive but classic dinners, all prepared to perfection. Bravo, it's nice to see the fifth where it once belong...GET BACK Loretta, your mamma's waitin for ya!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening out

Dined on December 11, 2015

This is the second time I have eaten at the Fifth Grill, and I was just as pleased as the first time. The food is excellent, the staff is attentive, but not intrusive, and the ambiance is wonderful. We were looking for a great steak place for a small office holiday dinner, and wanted something outside of the usual chain restaurants. The Fifth Grill was exactly what we were looking for. During my last visit in nicer weather, the terrace is also a great feature instead of a patio - no traffic noise or car fumes to worry about!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on December 5, 2015

The food was great, the service was impeccable and the overall experience was well worth the price tag.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Steak - not sufficient salt. Bearnaise - ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Steak - not sufficient salt. Bearnaise - insufficient reduction and thin. No time to cook the egg yolk sufficiently to bind the butter. Braised beef was braised with a weak stock so you can imagine the flavour. None. Lobster bisque was lack of dimension. They forgot to deglaze with cognac? Wine is good. Overall, another French restaurant wannabe.

food4
ambience5
service5

Experience was good; food was not over t ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Experience was good; food was not over the top which I did expect but it wasn't bad just didn't meet quality in relation to price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Evening

Dined on November 29, 2015

We always have such a nice time here. The terrace is so inviting and cozy. The venison was delicious as was the filet. The service was perfect. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Something different

Dined on November 21, 2015

A most unusual dining room with an eclectic decor and quiet music playing in the background - perfect for a romantic evening. It would also make a nice venue for a small wedding reception. We opted for the small plate portions which gave a nice overview of what is featured on the menu but I think the next time we would opt for the a main course each, possibly sharing a small plate as an appetizer. The lobster risotto was very good with generous chunks of lobster.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in the city!!

Dined on November 21, 2015

Wow, came in for dinner tonight with a friend and opted for chef JPs tasting menu. Our amuse Bouche started with his signature steak tartare which you could tell was freshly cut. I normally am not a fan but this was absolutely delicious. The lobster bisque came next and I can assure you it is easily the best in the city, silky smooth texture, complex flavour, just to die for. The next course we received a pasta which is made in house daily from scratch! Today it was a locally sourced duck egg tagliolini, served with Shaved fresh white truffles and boschetto cheese (which has become my new favourite cheese). This pasta in my opinion is even better than Buca's pasta. Next we had a baked organic salmon with red beet farfalle where you can actually taste the beets in it! The salmon was cooked perfectly and was served with a warm cucumber salad with edamame, coriander, and radishes, very light and refreshing. Last course we had was the braised beef dish which I cannot stop raving about to my friends. It's a boneless shortrib which is so tender you don't even need a fork as it can be easily done with a spoon. The dish is served with a lovely potato purée, foie gras pâté and these ravioli which are so unique in shape, I've never seen anything like it before! Finally dessert , we had a mini platter sent out from the kitchen consisting of a wonderfully poached pear, a delicious apple Tatin and a stuffed chocolate ganache with pear and homemade hazelnut Icecream all of which was just so good! The service was excellent as well, top notch. And the kitchen really knows what they are doing back there! Definitely best restaurant in the city in my own opinion and we will be returning! Great job guys!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Andre, the head maître and his team are the epitome of attentive professional and friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food and ambiance

Dined on November 5, 2015

excellent food and ambiance

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply blown away...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

I wouldn't normally write another review for a restaurant after just reviewing them on Open Table a few weeks ago but after our experience on Saturday night I just had to! We took our friends Michael and Janet in to celebrate Janet's birthday (Happy Birthday Janet!) with some trepidation from Michael. Michael hadn't been to the Fifth in some time and said he would prefer to go somewhere else. I said he needed to trust me after we had the opportunity a few weeks ago to have a tasting menu from Chef JP Challet which was remarkable. I am very happy to say that Michael & Janet were so impressed they are going to make the drive back as soon as possible from Waterloo to bring friends :) I knew I would be receiving my email to review so I took the time when we were done to record all the dishes so could list the items we all had as every single dish was delicious - we all gave each other a taste even though I do not like to share but in the interest of being a good sport conceded to the wishes of the birthday girl. My husband: Decided to have three items from The Five Elements menu as they give you the choice of having them as an entree or an appetizer portion. 1) Bisque & Lobster Salad, potato fondant, ginger oil & micro greens, 2) Shrimp Cake with mozzarella agnolotti, tomato, ginger & mayo, 3) Braised Beef with foie gras, black trumpets, morels and yukon mash Michael: Seafood Platter followed by 6oz Filet Mignon Janet: Steak Tartare with potato pancake, harissa sauce, gherkins & toast followed by Organic Salmon with farfalle, edamame, cucumber & radish Me: Lobster Risotto (blew my mind away) and as always a 6oz Filet Mignon for me Medium which was absolutely cooked to perfection and the best filet I have had in my life. We asked for a recommendation on wine and it was reasonably priced at $90 and was so good we enjoyed a second :) I cannot wait to go back and try Chef JP's next creation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A true gem!

Dined on October 31, 2015

The room is warm and romantic, the service seamless, and the food exceptional. Our group of 4 had a number of items from the JP Challet menu, including the steak tartare, shrimp cakes, duck magret, and rack of venison. Each dish had wonderful depth and complexity of flavour and was beautifully plated. The music playlist curated around Sinatra standards was an added bonus!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal

Dined on October 17, 2015

The meal was excellent and the service was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been to The Fifth for some tim ...

vip
Dined on October 15, 2015

We hadn't been to The Fifth for some time and we won't be waiting as long again. JP Challet has returned and every single dish we had was absolutely amazing! We were lucky enough to have a tasting menu....my favourite was Lobster Bisque and Ron's was the Venison with a Chocolate Bordelaise....next would be the Agnolotti Chorizo. This is French Cuisine at its finest! I also love when you ask for a wine recommendation that the server doesn't instantly offer you something that breaks the bank. We had a very reasonably priced bottle of wine that was spectacular! If you are looking for an amazing meal, terrific wine selection and wonderful ambiance then The Fifth should be your first choice. P.S. Perfect for a special evening or date night with its chic loft environment!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.