Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

Voted Best Restaurant in Toronto by OpenTable Diners for its romantic ambience, rooftop patio and delicious cooking, The Fifth Restaurant & Terrace boasts twenty years of excellence and is always evolving. Headed by Executive Chef JP Challet and Chef Robert Toppan, our culinary team creates a modern cuisine to suit today’s tastes, accommodating vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diets.

Located atop Toronto’s Entertainment District, the dining room is intimate with fire-side sofas and the terrace offers great views of Toronto. This summer, our rooftop oasis will be the best restaurant in Toronto for alfresco dining with Mediterranean inspired foods and wines showcasing flavours from the French Riviera to the Amalfi Coast. Find out more about The Fifth Terrazzo.

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://fifthrestaurant.thefifth.com/

Parking Details:
There are a number of parking lots near The Fifth building. The most convenient parking lot is located on the south side of Richmond Street West, just west of Duncan St.

Public Transit:
Osgoode Station at Queen St W and University Ave or streetcar stops on King St W at John St or Simcoe St.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Scenic View (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 9, 2017

While it's always fun to try new places, there is sometimes that apprehension as to what the place will be like. The Fifth is a most pleasant surprise with regards to food and atmosphere! A varied menu and excellent service made our evening most enjoyable. Although the terrace was closed for a private event, our waiter was able to give us a brief look for next time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Absolute best service we have had in a while, the wine suggestions were dead on

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Not very happy with the meal this time. Hope the items of bigger portions and better taste improves as the ambience is beautiful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Went to The Fifth Grill & Terrace for an anniversary dinner. Went for an early dinner at 6pm so the restaurant was mostly empty. The service was good and attentive. We did not order alcohol but the bartender made perfect cocktails based on our different tastes. Food came quickly and was delicious ( I would strongly recommend their Carbonara it was amazing). Only negative which took away from the food and the atmosphere were the fruit flies. Not sure if they were all drawn to our table because we had food in an empty restaurant. The swarm of little bugs took away from the romance a bit. Otherwise delicious food and helpful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went here to celebrate our anniversary while in Toronto. It has some previous great reviews so I figured we'd check it out. We were going to just have oysters and steak, maybe the crudo but then our server told us they had a special of seared himachi and we were sold. It was quite possibly one of the best meals I've had. Everything about it was superb. I also enjoyed a craft cocktail and my date had a delicious Pinot noir. Just all in all really excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great night out
Sorry took so long to find this place
Will be back soon
Waitress Kim was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great. But steak was over done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My wife and i went for dinner on Saturday, the 26th of August. We really enjoyed ourselves, however our evening started off a little rocky. Let me explain. When we arrived the folks downstairs were great. They took us to the elevator, through the club and explained to us we could come down after dinner.

We were warmly greeted by a hostess on the fifth floor, and brought to our table. For a Saturday evening I thought it was a little quiet (8:30PM), and commented to the waitress if this was a normal Saturday night?

My wife and I both tried to engage her in conversation...to no avail. She really seemed aloof and lacked any personality for someone in the service industry. We ordered a bottle of wine, and she seemed agitated we were not ready to order our meal right away. My wife asked her a few questions, and we got limited answers. She sucked the energy out of the room.

At this point the wine came and I'm ready to go. We noticed a patio next to us (part of the restaurant) with a lot of activity going on...which my wife went over to have a look at. I'm literally looking for another reservation on my App and do not want to stay.

Jen comes back and says lets go to the other side...she spoke to someone over there and we had a table waiting! It was a great spot...great vibe..and the service was excellent. It begs the question why were were seated in the area we were in the first place? And secondly, how different the service and experience was with a new waiter who seemed to want to be there.

The ambience was excellent...the meal was excellent. Had we not been moved and got a new waiter, i would never go back. He saved the experience for us and we would return (but request a different server if it was the same woman) . It's a shame, that 1 employee could make us feel that way. Maybe management should ponder this when the restaurant is half-empty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We both love this restaurant and it is my favorite in TO. The food is exceptional, service is excellent, and it's cozy. The desserts are to die for.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I wanted some where that was unique,classy, great food and excellent service. I had high expectations however this restaurant surpassed expectation. The ambiance itself is worth the drive. I give them a 10+ out of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Server was great. Was able to help us with our choices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was amazing. My husband and I went on a date there and we got more than what we hoped for. He ordered the 12oz Striploin and I ordered a 6oz filet mignon and they both came served with cream potatoes. Both were done to perfection and according to what we asked for. We also ordered dark chocolate mousse with vanilla gelato and that was also done perfectly. I would give the service a 10/10 and the waiters were so professional and they went above and beyond to make our experience amazing. I would recommend to anybody who likes high end dining! We will be returning.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Calm and beautiful hidden restaurant with well tasted food. Will recommend this place to my friends for romantic dining. And public outside parking right next to the building!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We celebrated a special occasion with our family on Saturday night. My son's girlfriend called in to the restaurant in advance to order her favourite bottle of wine and asked that it be served during our meal which I thought was a nice touch on her part. The restaurant wouldn't let her pay for it over the phone in advance and consequently she had to settle up when she arrived at the restaurant. The price of the wine in the LCBO is $34.95 and she paid $136 in the restaurant for it. Unfortunately by the time she realized the cost of the wine, it had already been opened and served at the table. In my estimation, that is a almost a 300 per cent markup. Admittedly I know nothing about the restaurant industry, but I will bet that they paid even less than $34.95 per bottle of that wine. I find that to be an exorbitant markup and unfortunately it left a lasting impression despite the good food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great meal, the food was amazing. It beats our expectation. We recommend it and of course we will go back. Thank you to the staff for warm welcome and special attention to recognize out wedding anniversary although we did not mention it at the time of reservation we got a special sweet at the end and it was really appreciated

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had a great time at the 5th terrace. Great ambience, terrific patio and amazing food. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food is amazing, the ambience is fantastic, and our host Andrey never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I went to the fifth for my first time this pass Saturday and it did not fail to disappoint. Every dish we had was delicious superb. The ambiance was great and the service was very good. I would recommend for anyone to try out this restaurant. I will forsure be going back to this establishment.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Ambience was just perfect. The service was absolutely delightful. Food was delicious and just the perfect place to spend with friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The beef was good as usual but the sea bass was disappointed. Miss the old elevator!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My husband and I came in for a fifth anniversary dinner this past Friday and we were very pleased with the exceptional service at the Fifth.

Our server Charles as well as the entire staff we encountered were very attentive, friendly, and hospitable. We were seated in a separate, special booth which was a great treat. The Summerlicious menu was fantastic and the cocktails (I had the Scarlet and a gin and tonic) were also expertly mixed. We especially enjoyed dessert -- deconstructed strawberry Napoleon was a hit for us, though the other two meals were cooked to perfection and equally delicious. Charles even helped us get a photo after the meal in a great spot on the terrace.

We don't do upscale dining very often, but this was a picture perfect experience. Thanks to Charles and the rest of the staff at the Fifth for making our special day extra special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I love love love the Fifth!

The food is always top notch and the ambiance is the best!

This is a perfect place for a date or friends get together. My favourite place to be is on the terrace when the weather permits.

I have been countless times in the past ten years and you know that a restaurant that has been around for 20 years has to be doing something right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This secretive restaurant greets you by name and the excellent service continues from there. We shared a bottle of red wine, a blend from the region. Our food was delicious and well presented. We were not rushed but didn't have to looking for our server. A wonderful experience we hope to repeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Very nice, we didn't know about the terrace and thought it was great. We had the tasting menu and were really happy with the pairing. Over all was really good and for sure we will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I have celebrated 2 anniversaries here and both times the 5th has made it very special and memorable. The staff go above and beyond and the food is to die for. They do whatever they can to make sure you enjoy the experience of being there. The views on the rooftop balcony are outstanding, the inside is charming and we love the other little nooks on the rooftop as well. I can't say enough about this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We did the Summerlicious menu. The salad was nice. The veggie gnocchi could use a little more salt; the beef tenderloin was good. The strawberry napolean dessert was absolutely delicious. The service was very good. We had a nice quiet table on the terrace and Charles, our server, was very polite and attentive.

The one thing that I did not really like was the way to the terrace - we had to walk through a portion of the restaurant that was being used as a kitchen. I didn't want to see trays and trays of desserts being laid out - it felt "industrial" ....almost like a factory ...like some sort of a production line. That took away from feeling "special".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

good cozy comfy, super service, good food. few levels very romantic ;)

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very pretty, great for date night, food was good, service was not on par for atmosphere or quality of good do I would only give this place 4 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ambience sets the tone for a dining experience and meal that one never forgets. Highly recommend booking the fifth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The route up to the terrace feels like a mix of a secret club and labyrinth-- only to end up on a lovely terrace! Wait staff was superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We celebrated our son's birthday on the terrace on a beautiful night. The view and decor were lovely. The service and food were very good. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

on june 17 the alley elevator was not in service. the richmond st entrance ha s a steep set of stairs before the elevator. if we had known about this beforehand we would have come another tim.e I have broken a hip and use a walker.
william maunder

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was great!!! The Sea Bass had a bit fishy smell to it. And my husband's meal had a piece of metal in his meal. The management staff was very kind enough to make up for it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was outstanding. They went an extra mile for the birthday occasion. Filet mignon was a thing of beauty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went there for the 3rd time & never disappoint! Unfortunately, there was no Mixed grill on the menu-they changed the menu so we had lesser options than the previous times. However, food quality, presentation & taste was amazing! Great place for a classy & intimate dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Strange entrance off side street but guided to elevator to Fifth floor. Room decor not much but table nicely arranged. Somewhat limited menu, but food was excellent and presentation was very nice. Service was good. Restaurant deserves its high Open Table rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went on a Friday night date with my partner. Food was unbelievable good. We had a great time. It is worthy every loonie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall we were disappointed in our last visit to The Fifth. I had booked it for our Mother's Day celebration. Over the years we've been there many times for anniversaries and birthdays but the menu has recently changed and the last time we went the food was barely considered passable for a restaurant that charges 60 per person. We did let the manager know that our food was not satisfactory and would not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.