About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map

Located on the rooftop of an old warehouse within Toronto's Entertainment District and accessible by a private elevator, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is an experience you should not miss. The press has called us 'a glamorous hideaway' and our terrace 'the best patio in Toronto'. Our award winning cuisine headed by renowned French chef JP Challet is often described as 'lavish', 'heavenly' and 'creative'.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://thefifthgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends, hosting a corporate event or wedding, THE FIFTH can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
French
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Toronto
2 More
Best Ambiance
Toronto
French
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Entertainment District ›

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (5)
Fireplace (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was very slow and my entree was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was very slow and my entree was on the cool side when it finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

My cousin and her husband flew in from M ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My cousin and her husband flew in from Montreal to celebrate her birthday and I wanted them to have an amazing meal as they are most definitely foodies so The Fifth was an easy decision.

Chef JP Chalet and the team at The Fifth didn't disappoint on any level. We shared mussels to start followed by the lobster bisque which makes my mouth drool as I type. Most of us had a filet as our main but my husband had the smoked salmon which he said was the best salmon he ever had and our friend had the lamb chops which she loved.

My cousins husband selected all the wines which were delicious!

Such nice night and we cannot wait to return again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Fifth never disappoints! Went to cel ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Fifth never disappoints! Went to celebrate 2 family birthdays. Food was exceptional & servicespot on. Reasonable & well curated wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food great service Very romanti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food great service Very romantic and cozy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great quiet conversation ambiance, tasty ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great quiet conversation ambiance, tasty food and attentive service. André is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and evening with friends...as ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food and evening with friends...as usual. Service was excellent as were the martinis :)

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Executive chef. J. P. Challet, can do no ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Executive chef. J. P. Challet, can do no wrong. His lobster bisque and lobster risotto are culinary masterpieces. His duck magret and his beef hanger steak, to justice to the whims and desires of any carnivore. On his menu you will also find seafood and homemade pasta.

Where "J. P." particularly excels, is by giving you a choice of whether or not you want a large portion or a small portion, of everything on the menu. He also offers selected wines in either three or six ounce glasses, to pair with your meal.

Service is appropriately understated and professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived to a roaring wood fire front row ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Arrived to a roaring wood fire front row table

Interesting and delicious choice of cocktails

A very eclectic menu , did not disappoint

Only criticism would be that the food wasn't as warm as I would have liked it to be

Otherwise perfection , great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef JP Challet is one of the best we ha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Chef JP Challet is one of the best we have in Canada. I will be dreaming of his food long after we leave the restaurant! Simply delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were great and helpful. Always a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Staff were great and helpful. Always a great experience at the fifth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food in a great space. Good q ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent food in a great space. Good quality service and wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was very romantic, serve ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant was very romantic, servers were absolutely amazing! Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, great food. Unfortunately ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good service, great food. Unfortunately we had to take the other elevator to the top but I didn't hold that against them. Would go back and definitely would recommend to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decided to go to The Fifth before TIFF. ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Decided to go to The Fifth before TIFF. Right from when we were treated by security in the alley we knew it was going to be a special night.

Our server was great food was awesome and the ambience so amazing. Sitting ion the roof top Terrance , we nearly forgot we were in one of the busiest parts of the city.

A great place for a romantic, special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing place, great food and service

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing place, great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on The Terrace for dinner on a warm ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sat on The Terrace for dinner on a warm Friday between screenings during TIFF - Toronto International Film Festival. Lovely ambiance on the rooftop, nicely decorated, terrific food, excellent service. Fun getting up there through the "back door" on an old elevator (the regular access was closed off due to the Festival). Did 5 sharing courses and that was plenty for two people. Recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived an hour late for reservation - s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Arrived an hour late for reservation - shame on us. Easy to find and very pleasant. Food was great (I should of had dessert but, alas, I ran out of steam) Waitstaff was super - gracious and very knowledgeable with a keen sense of humor. The room(s) are beautiful and presentation of the food shows the care in the kitchen. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time here, I personally ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a lovely time here, I personally didn't enjoy lobster risotto but the salmon, Clamato, deserts, they were very delicious. Most of all, the atmosphere, thee service, and the vibe were what made For a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the third time I dined at the r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was the third time I dined at the restaurant and once again it completely surpassed my expectations! I came with a few of my coworkers and we opted for the tasting menu as JP Challet and his team always offer delectable dishes - this time was no exception! We started off with a cod cake for the amuse bouche, which was a great choice to kick off the meal. We opted for the wine pairing with each of our courses and the maitre d, Andre, professionally presented each wine and did a great job of explaining why it was the right pairing for the dish.

Our first item on the tasting menu was the asparagus salad with goat cheese burek - all of the ingredients were incredibly fresh and blended well together to create a delicious salad. Next, we had the organic salmon with peach chutney, corn ragout, espelette popcorn, and corn tuille - the salmon was incredibly tender and cooked to perfection! Best I've had in the city by far. Following this, we had the fresh pasta, which consisted of a shrimp and lobster canneloni in a lobster bisque base. Having already tried the bisque previously, I knew this selection would please my guests and indeed, they finished every last bite! We then ate the Duck Magret, which similarily was the best duck I had eaten in a while (since the last time I came to The Fifth!). We ended with a sampling of the desserts, of which all were sublime and paired with delicious ice creams in flavours such as honey lavender.

In addition to the food, the service was impeccable and our table felt incredibly well taken care of. Thank you so much to the wonderful front of house and kitchen staff for making our experience such a great one! We'll definitely be back! :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Organic, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the food and service was great! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall, the food and service was great! We had a nice side two seater view overlooking the city of toronto. Our server was professional and all the wait staff was quick and friendly and polite.

We ordered the lobster risotto and calamari and drinks, all were very well crafted and professionally plated.

The wait staff were friendly taking us up and helping us back down to enter the night club. Would recommend to friends because of efficient service, great food and ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I hope I get the servers name right, I t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I hope I get the servers name right, I think it was Dejan. He was great. There were four of us friends just getting together. The guidance to the table and service were flawless. A glass never went dry. We had such a great time. Two of us had upcoming birthdays and they did an impromptu birthday plate. Very cool. Didn't get a chance to check out the club downstairs but it looked like fun.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our friends who arrived from Italy ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Took our friends who arrived from Italy that day to our favourite Toronto restaurant and they were so impressed as were we (as usual).

Everyone started out with either the Lobster Bisque or Lobster Risotto and both were delicious....stole a little taste of the Risotto from my husband :). Our friend is Lactose intolerant and the Chef was most kind to accommodate including the muse bouche that was sent out.

One of our guests had the flank steak with tongue and although the idea terrified me he said it was amazing. Other dishes included the salmon dish and I as normal stuck with my petite filet and nothing but praise from everyone.

Service is impeccable and they have a great wine list. We also ask for a wine recommendation and they always pick something great that doesn't break the bank. This is such a gem of a place and if you are reading this and trying to make a decision look no further...you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and service was even bett ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great and service was even better, I think the waiters name was Armando, he was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lamb and great lobster risotto... ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great lamb and great lobster risotto... Cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a bit of the Beef and Venison Carp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had a bit of the Beef and Venison Carpaccio at The Fifth Grill & Terraces tonight. My most favourite bite tonight out of this four course meal and it wasn't even my food. Anyways, it was surprising to taste a tender texture and a crunch from mini samosa within layers of raw meat. It did not feel heavy on my tongue despite each item was actually very oily I h.d such a perfect wine with my meal too - finally a red wine I love on first sip! Hopefully will be back soon! The service was so much nicer post-summerlicious and they gave us the corner spot on the terrace so best views according to my opentable rsvp request !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful ambiance , great food & wine, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Beautiful ambiance , great food & wine, excellent service ,

From the entrance on the side street,to the elevator ride up & then the restaurant .

Great experience , booked for a birthday for a group of 8,

Everything was perfect.

Looking forward to dinning here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for a nice date night dinner a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went here for a nice date night dinner and it did not disappoint! Great ambience and perfect for a summer dinner. The patio seating completely reminded me of being in Egypt! But the food is pure European continental and it was delicious! Great service too! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent excellent excellent!!! Everyth ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent excellent excellent!!! Everything is 5 stars,food vine serves!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can safely say one of the best meals I h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Can safely say one of the best meals I have had in Toronto in a while!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful room, excellent food and att ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

A beautiful room, excellent food and attentive service. What more could you want!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great location, great ambiance, great se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

great location, great ambiance, great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Summerlicious On July 22, 20 ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went for Summerlicious On July 22, 2016. The portions are miniscule. The menu says that you get a chilled soup which we didn't receive. Instead we got another amuse bouche a tiny brioche.

The canneloni of salmon gravlax was the width of your index finger. The warm goat salad was also small. The best appetizer for taste and portion was the chilled summer soup caprese.

The main courses: The pickerel was tasty, but again portion about 3 oz. The accompanying "caponata of seasonal vegetables" consisted of a palm size of vegetables. And, caponata is to be sweet and sour vegetables - not the case in this caponata.The steak was served medium rare, although medium was requested and it was not hot. The agnolotti were tasty but don't expect more than three on your dish. The frozen grand marnier souffle was tasty but more of a semi-freddo. The consistency was not light as expected for a souffle. The lemon-vanilla creme brulee was okay. Overall the meal was underwhelming. The outdoor dining is fantastic. The service was good, if a bit rushed. I had a look at their regular menu and it is on the high end. I don't mind paying, but I am concerned that the portions will be akin to what we received during Summerlicious. For $48 per person, go in knowing that the portions will be small. Try to get an outdoor table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

It was a bit of a disappointment on Satu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a bit of a disappointment on Saturday evening. It was my husband's birthday and we were looking forward to a special evening. The service wasn't nearly as good as it has been in previous visits. They didn't know where to seat us...thought we were another party. We ordered oysters that never arrived. We didn't feel take care of. The ambiance was lovely and the steak was perfectly done but it was an expensive evening and we felt overlooked. Service is everything. We won't be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Summerlicious dinner with my friends. St ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Summerlicious dinner with my friends. Steak was really good, recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Similar to previous occasions, The actua ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Similar to previous occasions, The actual Dining Experience was great.

BUT it was upsetting to receive a call the week before telling me that the reservation would be cancelled unless I provided a $100 deposit within 48 hours. In this age of Identity Theft and Credit Card Scams, I was not prepared to provide my credit card info to a voice over the phone. btw...This was Friday afternoon, before the long w/e. And the deposit could only be made to their business office (Not at the restaurant). I appreciate the issue restaurants have with cancellations but I wish OpenTable had told me about the deposit requirement when I booked.

p.s. i managed to get to their office and to pay the deposit with 45 minutes to spare

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always ambiance was perfect though we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always ambiance was perfect though we were a bit disappointed that the decorated freight was elevator out of commission for the evening! The ride up in it is a great intro to this unique restaurant. This rooftop restaurant five stories up is an essential Toronto experience. To me it gives off the vibe of a camp while on safari with pitched wooden roof and white curtains fluttering in the night breeze from the open sides. Service was very attentive. Hard to find entrance at the back of the building with no less than 3 staff escorting you up through the interior spaces while communicating through earpieces like secret service agents very cool.

Great wine list though during summerlicious the reduced menu did not offer as much choice as we expected. Food was prepared wonderfully. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and the staff fri ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very good and the staff friendly and accommodating, and the food was good. The best part of the experience is that the restaurant is on the top floor of an old building, built in the 1800's and you have to access the outdoor dining deck via an old-time elevator that was installed as the original elevator in the building. It was the most unusual way to get into a dining area I've ever had. Totally fun and very unique, which I love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just amazing! I don't remem ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was just amazing! I don't remember going to such a great restaurant in a long time. My only point is that service was really slow. It took a long time to bring the menu, then take our orders, food came super quick, but then we wanted to order extra butter and it took forever for the server to come. I have to say though, even with a very slow service the food quality compensates it. Definitely going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was slow and disorganized and th ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was slow and disorganized and they ran out of several menu items (in particular the dessert). The food was ok, and the ambiance on the outdoor terrace was lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

What a perfect start to summer patio sea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a perfect start to summer patio season! Great food, great drinks, great ambiance. This is our favourite restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.