About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map



Located on the rooftop of an old warehouse within Toronto's Entertainment District and accessible by a private elevator, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is an experience you should not miss. The press has called us 'a glamorous hideaway' and our terrace 'the best patio in Toronto'. Our award winning cuisine headed by renowned French chef JP Challet is often described as 'lavish', 'heavenly' and 'creative'.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Steakhouse, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://thefifthgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 6:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
French
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
2 More
Romantic
Toronto
French
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Entertainment District ›

romantic (35)
special occasion (34)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
great for outdoor dining (25)
scenic view (15)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a bit of a disappointment on Satu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a bit of a disappointment on Saturday evening. It was my husband's birthday and we were looking forward to a special evening. The service wasn't nearly as good as it has been in previous visits. They didn't know where to seat us...thought we were another party. We ordered oysters that never arrived. We didn't feel take care of. The ambiance was lovely and the steak was perfectly done but it was an expensive evening and we felt overlooked. Service is everything. We won't be returning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Similar to previous occasions, The actua ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Similar to previous occasions, The actual Dining Experience was great.

BUT it was upsetting to receive a call the week before telling me that the reservation would be cancelled unless I provided a $100 deposit within 48 hours. In this age of Identity Theft and Credit Card Scams, I was not prepared to provide my credit card info to a voice over the phone. btw...This was Friday afternoon, before the long w/e. And the deposit could only be made to their business office (Not at the restaurant). I appreciate the issue restaurants have with cancellations but I wish OpenTable had told me about the deposit requirement when I booked.

p.s. i managed to get to their office and to pay the deposit with 45 minutes to spare

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always ambiance was perfect though we ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always ambiance was perfect though we were a bit disappointed that the decorated freight was elevator out of commission for the evening! The ride up in it is a great intro to this unique restaurant. This rooftop restaurant five stories up is an essential Toronto experience. To me it gives off the vibe of a camp while on safari with pitched wooden roof and white curtains fluttering in the night breeze from the open sides. Service was very attentive. Hard to find entrance at the back of the building with no less than 3 staff escorting you up through the interior spaces while communicating through earpieces like secret service agents very cool.

Great wine list though during summerlicious the reduced menu did not offer as much choice as we expected. Food was prepared wonderfully. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and the staff fri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very good and the staff friendly and accommodating, and the food was good. The best part of the experience is that the restaurant is on the top floor of an old building, built in the 1800's and you have to access the outdoor dining deck via an old-time elevator that was installed as the original elevator in the building. It was the most unusual way to get into a dining area I've ever had. Totally fun and very unique, which I love.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just amazing! I don't remem ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was just amazing! I don't remember going to such a great restaurant in a long time. My only point is that service was really slow. It took a long time to bring the menu, then take our orders, food came super quick, but then we wanted to order extra butter and it took forever for the server to come. I have to say though, even with a very slow service the food quality compensates it. Definitely going again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was slow and disorganized and th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was slow and disorganized and they ran out of several menu items (in particular the dessert). The food was ok, and the ambiance on the outdoor terrace was lovely.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

What a perfect start to summer patio sea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a perfect start to summer patio season! Great food, great drinks, great ambiance. This is our favourite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service can be better

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was great. I specifically noted in my reservation that we are celebrating a birthday yet no one acknowledged that. I think it's important to appreciate that customers chose your restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. All in all the food was great but the table cloth was stained

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had never been to this restaurant and found it because we were looking for patio dining. Wow! We had no idea. The service was outstanding-some of the best we have found in Toronto and the food and presentation was incredible. We will certainly be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was sublime. We would hav ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The experience was sublime. We would have preferred to sit near the edge by the window, but the seat by the bar was ok. Other than that the meal was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and fantastic service.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food and fantastic service; definitely recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Served 3 bad dinners to myself and 2 gue ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Served 3 bad dinners to myself and 2 guests. One of the worst meals ever in Toronto . Having dined here happily before several times, we imagine new management, kitchen staff may be the reason. Recognized no staff other than elevator guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Always a wonderful time, without fail

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Each staff member provides stellar service - polite, professional, pleasant and always with a smile. Tasteful dishes in both flavor and presentation..standouts were the Hamachi dish and the Quail dish. The option of smaller portions was a splendid idea. Lovely city view and our servers keen attention to detail made for a superb summer eve.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The environment gives the impression of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The environment gives the impression of an exclusive private club. The effect is compromised by the round table with very pronounced expansion wings that don't reach level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not worth the money

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was ok..nothing special..Was charged 28 bucks for a plate of simple pasta (tomato sauce and pasta) for my 8 year old

I know the chef had to prepare this item since it was not on the menu..but 28 dollars ?! Other similar high-end places charged me $10-12 which is reasonable..

Ordered a glass of wine..waiter just brought the glass of wine to my table. I had no idea from which wine bottle my wine came from.The proper way is for waiter to bring the bottle of wine to the table then pour the wine into the glass in front of customer..overall experience is fair..will not be coming back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always worth the elevator trip!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The Fifth always delivers on a night out with friends & I never have to ask them twice.

Everyone loves this place, especially we can't wait for patio season!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Fifth Grill are always atte ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The staff at Fifth Grill are always attentive, kind and provide great service. I hope the elevator will be fixed soon as we wanted our guests to have that special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the entire experience. We shared a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Loved the entire experience. We shared a few appetizers and a main course. Great filet mignon. The chef sent out a few items for us to sample from the tasting menu. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jean Pierre le Chef

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

JP is an amazing Chef and everybody should enjoy his delicious food.... or you never have tasted the best menu in Toronto until then....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Hidden Gem

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Really good food, cooked to perfection. Great service too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything and have been raving ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I loved everything and have been raving about it to all my friends since I came home - right down to the crazy elevator ride in a freight elevator. Our servers were very friendly, and especially Christopher in the elevator was a hoot! The food was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly excellent!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Truly excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We were a large party that arrived for a reservation at 6pm and we're welcomed with very friendly servers. We were seated right in the centre of the restaurant and we're greeted by our server Andre who was just superb at his job. We had opted for Chef JPs tasting menu as we couldn't decide what to order. The first dish that came out was a fried mac n' cheese croquette which was beyond amazing, we were then served a lobster bisque with potato fondant and fresh poached lobster which was so rich with flavor. Next we had a take on a classic carbonara with a poached egg so we could break the egg and would be able to emulsify the pasta ourselves it was melt in your mouth delicous. Third Course was salmon which was organic with a fresh cucumber salad and Tempura Salmon Mousse! Finally we had Braised Beef with mushroom ravioli which came in such a unique shape that I've never seen before, needless to say this was my favorite dish of the evening, for dessert we were celebrating a birthday party and the kitchen wrote on the birthday girls plate happy birthday which was a great added touch, I had also called earlier in the week and asked for a speciality dessert (a vodka cran creme Brulee) and it arrived along with a platter of all the desserts for us to share which were all fantastic chief among which was the poached pear which was so tasty! Overall fantastic evening right from the elevator ride up to the moment we left, staff were extremly professional and the kitchen said goodnight to us as well. Definitely a hidden gem in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic food, atmosphere, a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was friendly and helpful.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The elevator ride to the 5th added to the ambiance as well as the wood burning fireplace which is rare in a restaurant.

The food was served efficiently and timely. The quality was excellent.

We would go back and would recommend the restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio seating would be great in the summ ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Patio seating would be great in the summer, unfortunately we were sat by the "window" while it was -30 outside. The heaters were running flat out but didn't quite keep the chill out of the plastic sheeting that was covering the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was perfect. Food, service, environment. Great value for the valentine's dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great ambiance, the fireplace was fantastic on such a cold night and the wait staff were excellent - enough attention so you always felt looked after but never rushed or intrusive. There was a discreet 'happy birthday' dessert plate for my wife which was a very appreciated touch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

No service for 20mins after being seated

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

After being seated, we waited over 20 mins before anyone even asked if we wanted a drink. That only happened because my wife flagged down one of the helpers serving water. Then we had 3 different waiters serve us. Seemed very disorganized for an evening that was not that busy.

Having said that, the cocktail was excellent and the food was very good. No complaints on that side.

All in all, it was a nice evening out for an early Valentine's day celebration. Good company and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

First time resulting in a great experience!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

It was our first time at The Fifth and we were blown away by EVERYTHING - the atmosphere was great, the food was delicious and the service was fantastic. We couldn't have expected anything better than the 10/10 experience that night, even though the place was packed and the kitchen likely very busy! We didn't feel any rush and we taken care of as if we were the only customers in the restaurant. Will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value, delicious and surprisly!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Went to dinning at the last day of Winterlicious promotion. Building entrance from a back alley to a bar and then ride up in an antique elevator. Ambience was gorgeous with very good service, $45 includd three courses before tax, superb food from appetizers to desserts, all were delicious and tasty.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The service was unprofessional and semi-rude. The food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great night out in the city

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The rustic five story tower turned restaurant was an interesting and delightfully delicious experience.

After entering the back alley up stairs and being escorted to the tastefully redecorated freight elevator complete with operator, we knew our adventure had begun.

We were escorted out onto the fifth floor our coats were checked and we were seated at our table for four behind the curtain and close to the bar.

The restaurant opened at 6pm we were slightly early for our 6:30 reservation but it took no time for the floor to fill with people dining for the night.

The winterlicious menu options were creative and delicious from salmon to lasagna to beef with salads or soup starters and decatant desserts to please the vanilla chocolate or caramel palate.

The French cuisine with cocktails was not inexpensive (approx $150 per person) however well worth the experience.

Highly recommended for special night out in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner was stellar

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Ribeyes were cooked to perfection. Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make our anniversary special. Thank you for the champagne and "Happy Anniversary" plate written in chocolate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining location on theatre night

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We tried this restaurant as it was close to the theatre and they were participating in Winterlicious. We loved the location and the ambience. Although lots of stairs - not sure if there is an accessible entrance. The service was efficient - not too rushed but definitely on track so we would be out on time for the show. We share our dishes - beef and salmon - and both were prepared beautifully with lots of flavour. Would definitely go back again - next time would like to go in the summer and enjoy the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience until the end

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

I went to this restaurant with a friend for Winterlicious. Everything about the restaurant is great for a special occasion, or a romantic night out with a significant other. The old school elevator adds a nice touch to the restaurant.

The shrimp cakes and salmon were delicious. However, the presentation of the apple tart was most certainly lacking in taste and presentation, in comparison to the former courses. The service was very good, until the end of the meal. The waitress was incredibly attentive and polite- she would frequently refill our glasses of water, or ask us how our food was.

However, it took forever to receive our bill. There was only 3 tables of people left by the time we were finished our meal, so 'busy' is not a viable excuse to me. The waitress who was initially attentive, became incredibly negligent of us. The only somewhat valid reason I can think of is that she didn't want to interfere with our conversation, but I don't see the validity in that, considering she would interrupt to ask how our meal was. We asked for the bill to be split, and it took around 10-15 minutes to receive the bill... which was not split. We asked again, and it took another 20 minutes to get the bill. By the time we received our bill, we were the only people left in the restaurant. 'Busy' is not excusable, because it doesn't take that long to print a receipt.

I felt like the time waiting for the bill ruined the whole experience for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

winterlicious

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We booked a table for 3 on a weekday for Winterlicious, the entry to get in always is tricky but once you're in, you're in for a treat. Riding the lift elevator is kinda fun, it has the ambiance of something mysterious but it's a short ride. We sat on the terrace, ordered our items and enjoyed the rest of our night. The food was delicious as everyone was quite satisfied with their portions and the terrace was warm even in winter with the tarps covering the windows. Drink menu is a bit pricey at $15 for a cocktail though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a fantastic dining experience in su ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience in such a unique space. The experience riding up to the top floor was like taking you back in time. The food was great and my braised beef with gnocchi and potatoe his the spot on a cold tdot evening. Service was TOP notch, attentive and sync. Very professional . I can't wait to go back. Thanks for a fantastic meal before a night to the Toronto Symphony. ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First class al the way

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

IF you are cool with spending close to $200 all in per couple, drinks, tip tax and great dinner, this is about the best you are going to find in Toronto. Impeccable service, inventive but classic dinners, all prepared to perfection. Bravo, it's nice to see the fifth where it once belong...GET BACK Loretta, your mamma's waitin for ya!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.