About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map

Located on the rooftop of an old warehouse within Toronto's Entertainment District and accessible by a private elevator, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is an experience you should not miss. The press has called us 'a glamorous hideaway' and our terrace 'the best patio in Toronto'. Our award winning cuisine headed by renowned French chef JP Challet is often described as 'lavish', 'heavenly' and 'creative'.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Steakhouse, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://thefifthgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, View, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 6:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
Romantic
Toronto
1 More
French
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Entertainment District ›

Romantic (53)
Special Occasion (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Scenic View (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I hope I get the servers name right, I t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I hope I get the servers name right, I think it was Dejan. He was great. There were four of us friends just getting together. The guidance to the table and service were flawless. A glass never went dry. We had such a great time. Two of us had upcoming birthdays and they did an impromptu birthday plate. Very cool. Didn't get a chance to check out the club downstairs but it looked like fun.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our friends who arrived from Italy ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Took our friends who arrived from Italy that day to our favourite Toronto restaurant and they were so impressed as were we (as usual).

Everyone started out with either the Lobster Bisque or Lobster Risotto and both were delicious....stole a little taste of the Risotto from my husband :). Our friend is Lactose intolerant and the Chef was most kind to accommodate including the muse bouche that was sent out.

One of our guests had the flank steak with tongue and although the idea terrified me he said it was amazing. Other dishes included the salmon dish and I as normal stuck with my petite filet and nothing but praise from everyone.

Service is impeccable and they have a great wine list. We also ask for a wine recommendation and they always pick something great that doesn't break the bank. This is such a gem of a place and if you are reading this and trying to make a decision look no further...you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and service was even bett ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great and service was even better, I think the waiters name was Armando, he was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lamb and great lobster risotto... ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great lamb and great lobster risotto... Cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a bit of the Beef and Venison Carp ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had a bit of the Beef and Venison Carpaccio at The Fifth Grill & Terraces tonight. My most favourite bite tonight out of this four course meal and it wasn't even my food. Anyways, it was surprising to taste a tender texture and a crunch from mini samosa within layers of raw meat. It did not feel heavy on my tongue despite each item was actually very oily I h.d such a perfect wine with my meal too - finally a red wine I love on first sip! Hopefully will be back soon! The service was so much nicer post-summerlicious and they gave us the corner spot on the terrace so best views according to my opentable rsvp request !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful ambiance , great food & wine, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Beautiful ambiance , great food & wine, excellent service ,

From the entrance on the side street,to the elevator ride up & then the restaurant .

Great experience , booked for a birthday for a group of 8,

Everything was perfect.

Looking forward to dinning here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for a nice date night dinner a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went here for a nice date night dinner and it did not disappoint! Great ambience and perfect for a summer dinner. The patio seating completely reminded me of being in Egypt! But the food is pure European continental and it was delicious! Great service too! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent excellent excellent!!! Everyth ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent excellent excellent!!! Everything is 5 stars,food vine serves!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can safely say one of the best meals I h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Can safely say one of the best meals I have had in Toronto in a while!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful room, excellent food and att ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A beautiful room, excellent food and attentive service. What more could you want!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great location, great ambiance, great se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

great location, great ambiance, great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Summerlicious On July 22, 20 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went for Summerlicious On July 22, 2016. The portions are miniscule. The menu says that you get a chilled soup which we didn't receive. Instead we got another amuse bouche a tiny brioche.

The canneloni of salmon gravlax was the width of your index finger. The warm goat salad was also small. The best appetizer for taste and portion was the chilled summer soup caprese.

The main courses: The pickerel was tasty, but again portion about 3 oz. The accompanying "caponata of seasonal vegetables" consisted of a palm size of vegetables. And, caponata is to be sweet and sour vegetables - not the case in this caponata.The steak was served medium rare, although medium was requested and it was not hot. The agnolotti were tasty but don't expect more than three on your dish. The frozen grand marnier souffle was tasty but more of a semi-freddo. The consistency was not light as expected for a souffle. The lemon-vanilla creme brulee was okay. Overall the meal was underwhelming. The outdoor dining is fantastic. The service was good, if a bit rushed. I had a look at their regular menu and it is on the high end. I don't mind paying, but I am concerned that the portions will be akin to what we received during Summerlicious. For $48 per person, go in knowing that the portions will be small. Try to get an outdoor table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

It was a bit of a disappointment on Satu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a bit of a disappointment on Saturday evening. It was my husband's birthday and we were looking forward to a special evening. The service wasn't nearly as good as it has been in previous visits. They didn't know where to seat us...thought we were another party. We ordered oysters that never arrived. We didn't feel take care of. The ambiance was lovely and the steak was perfectly done but it was an expensive evening and we felt overlooked. Service is everything. We won't be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Summerlicious dinner with my friends. St ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Summerlicious dinner with my friends. Steak was really good, recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Similar to previous occasions, The actua ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Similar to previous occasions, The actual Dining Experience was great.

BUT it was upsetting to receive a call the week before telling me that the reservation would be cancelled unless I provided a $100 deposit within 48 hours. In this age of Identity Theft and Credit Card Scams, I was not prepared to provide my credit card info to a voice over the phone. btw...This was Friday afternoon, before the long w/e. And the deposit could only be made to their business office (Not at the restaurant). I appreciate the issue restaurants have with cancellations but I wish OpenTable had told me about the deposit requirement when I booked.

p.s. i managed to get to their office and to pay the deposit with 45 minutes to spare

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always ambiance was perfect though we ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always ambiance was perfect though we were a bit disappointed that the decorated freight was elevator out of commission for the evening! The ride up in it is a great intro to this unique restaurant. This rooftop restaurant five stories up is an essential Toronto experience. To me it gives off the vibe of a camp while on safari with pitched wooden roof and white curtains fluttering in the night breeze from the open sides. Service was very attentive. Hard to find entrance at the back of the building with no less than 3 staff escorting you up through the interior spaces while communicating through earpieces like secret service agents very cool.

Great wine list though during summerlicious the reduced menu did not offer as much choice as we expected. Food was prepared wonderfully. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and the staff fri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very good and the staff friendly and accommodating, and the food was good. The best part of the experience is that the restaurant is on the top floor of an old building, built in the 1800's and you have to access the outdoor dining deck via an old-time elevator that was installed as the original elevator in the building. It was the most unusual way to get into a dining area I've ever had. Totally fun and very unique, which I love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just amazing! I don't remem ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was just amazing! I don't remember going to such a great restaurant in a long time. My only point is that service was really slow. It took a long time to bring the menu, then take our orders, food came super quick, but then we wanted to order extra butter and it took forever for the server to come. I have to say though, even with a very slow service the food quality compensates it. Definitely going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was slow and disorganized and th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was slow and disorganized and they ran out of several menu items (in particular the dessert). The food was ok, and the ambiance on the outdoor terrace was lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

What a perfect start to summer patio sea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a perfect start to summer patio season! Great food, great drinks, great ambiance. This is our favourite restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outdoor Eating, Hot Spot, Romance, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service can be better

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was great. I specifically noted in my reservation that we are celebrating a birthday yet no one acknowledged that. I think it's important to appreciate that customers chose your restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. All in all the food was great but the table cloth was stained

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had never been to this restaurant and found it because we were looking for patio dining. Wow! We had no idea. The service was outstanding-some of the best we have found in Toronto and the food and presentation was incredible. We will certainly be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was sublime. We would hav ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The experience was sublime. We would have preferred to sit near the edge by the window, but the seat by the bar was ok. Other than that the meal was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and fantastic service.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food and fantastic service; definitely recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Served 3 bad dinners to myself and 2 gue ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Served 3 bad dinners to myself and 2 guests. One of the worst meals ever in Toronto . Having dined here happily before several times, we imagine new management, kitchen staff may be the reason. Recognized no staff other than elevator guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Always a wonderful time, without fail

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Each staff member provides stellar service - polite, professional, pleasant and always with a smile. Tasteful dishes in both flavor and presentation..standouts were the Hamachi dish and the Quail dish. The option of smaller portions was a splendid idea. Lovely city view and our servers keen attention to detail made for a superb summer eve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The environment gives the impression of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The environment gives the impression of an exclusive private club. The effect is compromised by the round table with very pronounced expansion wings that don't reach level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not worth the money

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was ok..nothing special..Was charged 28 bucks for a plate of simple pasta (tomato sauce and pasta) for my 8 year old

I know the chef had to prepare this item since it was not on the menu..but 28 dollars ?! Other similar high-end places charged me $10-12 which is reasonable..

Ordered a glass of wine..waiter just brought the glass of wine to my table. I had no idea from which wine bottle my wine came from.The proper way is for waiter to bring the bottle of wine to the table then pour the wine into the glass in front of customer..overall experience is fair..will not be coming back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always worth the elevator trip!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The Fifth always delivers on a night out with friends & I never have to ask them twice.

Everyone loves this place, especially we can't wait for patio season!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Fifth Grill are always atte ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The staff at Fifth Grill are always attentive, kind and provide great service. I hope the elevator will be fixed soon as we wanted our guests to have that special experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the entire experience. We shared a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Loved the entire experience. We shared a few appetizers and a main course. Great filet mignon. The chef sent out a few items for us to sample from the tasting menu. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jean Pierre le Chef

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

JP is an amazing Chef and everybody should enjoy his delicious food.... or you never have tasted the best menu in Toronto until then....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Hidden Gem

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Really good food, cooked to perfection. Great service too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything and have been raving ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I loved everything and have been raving about it to all my friends since I came home - right down to the crazy elevator ride in a freight elevator. Our servers were very friendly, and especially Christopher in the elevator was a hoot! The food was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly excellent!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Truly excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We were a large party that arrived for a reservation at 6pm and we're welcomed with very friendly servers. We were seated right in the centre of the restaurant and we're greeted by our server Andre who was just superb at his job. We had opted for Chef JPs tasting menu as we couldn't decide what to order. The first dish that came out was a fried mac n' cheese croquette which was beyond amazing, we were then served a lobster bisque with potato fondant and fresh poached lobster which was so rich with flavor. Next we had a take on a classic carbonara with a poached egg so we could break the egg and would be able to emulsify the pasta ourselves it was melt in your mouth delicous. Third Course was salmon which was organic with a fresh cucumber salad and Tempura Salmon Mousse! Finally we had Braised Beef with mushroom ravioli which came in such a unique shape that I've never seen before, needless to say this was my favorite dish of the evening, for dessert we were celebrating a birthday party and the kitchen wrote on the birthday girls plate happy birthday which was a great added touch, I had also called earlier in the week and asked for a speciality dessert (a vodka cran creme Brulee) and it arrived along with a platter of all the desserts for us to share which were all fantastic chief among which was the poached pear which was so tasty! Overall fantastic evening right from the elevator ride up to the moment we left, staff were extremly professional and the kitchen said goodnight to us as well. Definitely a hidden gem in the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic food, atmosphere, a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was friendly and helpful.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The elevator ride to the 5th added to the ambiance as well as the wood burning fireplace which is rare in a restaurant.

The food was served efficiently and timely. The quality was excellent.

We would go back and would recommend the restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio seating would be great in the summ ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Patio seating would be great in the summer, unfortunately we were sat by the "window" while it was -30 outside. The heaters were running flat out but didn't quite keep the chill out of the plastic sheeting that was covering the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.