Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Fifth Grill & Terrace

Winner of OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is a French fine dining restaurant known for award-winning cuisine, impeccable service and charming ambiance. This hidden gem atop Toronto’s Entertainment District is the perfect restaurant for birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations, pre-theatre dinner, romantic date night or special occasions of any kind. Your journey to The Fifth’s rooftop oasis begins with a concierge operated century-old elevator ride. Sit by the wood-burning fireplace in The Fifth Grill Dining Room or take in spectacular views of the city skyline on the heated rooftop terrace. Enjoy seasonal cocktails, carefully selected wines and artisan breads while awarding-winning chef JP Challet prepares your dinner. Known as one of Toronto’s Best French Restaurants by critics and customers, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is an experience not to be missed.

225 Richmond Street West
entrance from the alleyway southside of building
Toronto, ON M5V 1W2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW corner of Richmond and Duncan

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-3005

Website:
http://thefifthgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Jean-Pierre Challet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Specials

Six Course Prix Fixe Meal for $60.00

Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00

Thursdays and Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Six Course Prix Fixe Meal for $60.00

Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Six Course Prix Fixe Meal for $60.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. A dinner event celebrating France cuisine with 2000 chefs in five continent. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Mar 25, 2017 on Thursdays - Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00

Thursdays and Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Discover new dishes and flavours in Chef JP Challet's exciting modern cuisine. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Apr 1, 2017 on Thursdays and Fridays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends, hosting a corporate event or wedding, THE FIFTH can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food, good service, good environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

nice place, salad is tasty, lamb pasta and steak is great. dessert is great. service is welcoming and with care. expect toback in summer to try their balcony view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Starters and main dishes are very good. Service is good. A little disappointed on desserts. It's noisy than I thought because other customers sitting around us talked loudly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beef tartar is phenomenal. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great staff, location and outstanding food! will defenately go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner with girlfriend - celebrating moving in together. Ambiance and food were amazing, would definitely recommend to friends and family. We ordered the wine paired valentines menu - everything was delicious. Our server was polite and friendly. All of our wine pairings save for the first one were served after we received our courses, not ideal, and we waited some time after finishing dessert to pay the bill. Understandably the restaurant was busy at this time, however I would not have ordered the pairings had I known they wouldn't be served together. There was also some sort of suction powered machine behind the bar which cut through the music every time it was used, which served to startle us. Our table was also right next to the kitchen even though we arrived at 6:30 when few people had been seated, also not ideal. Girlfriend was happy though so mission accomplished. Thanks for having us, will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attentive service, excellent food and wine pairings, lovely cozy atmosphere made valentines day dinner by the fireplace memorable. :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great. It was creative, well presented and tasted good. The wine was overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This place is wonderful, enjoy the service and food.
We ordered pumpkin soup and shrimp sth for appetizer. Soup is creamy and made with real pumpkin
As for salmon Wellington love the corn inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great night out. Had reserved a quiet table on the terrace celebrating 20th wedding anniversary. Food, service and ambience were on point. My request was noted and staff all great. Very attentive and felt special when dessert came out with "happy anniversary " written in chocolate accompanied my plate. My husband raved about the filet mug on! It's the attention to detail that keeps me going back. Only wish the service elevator was working as this is a cool feature of the whole experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great unique menu. Very good food. Excellent service. Quiet private-club like atmosphere. Very cool elevator ride up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Although the kitchen really messed up my meal, the staff did their best to make up for the mix up. How they served me something that wasn't even on the menu is still a mystery to me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Came here for the terrace which is advertised as heated and open all year. Food was decent, but the server informed us that the terrace was closed and not fit for visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was very slow and my entree was on the cool side when it finally arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My cousin and her husband flew in from Montreal to celebrate her birthday and I wanted them to have an amazing meal as they are most definitely foodies so The Fifth was an easy decision.

Chef JP Chalet and the team at The Fifth didn't disappoint on any level. We shared mussels to start followed by the lobster bisque which makes my mouth drool as I type. Most of us had a filet as our main but my husband had the smoked salmon which he said was the best salmon he ever had and our friend had the lamb chops which she loved.

My cousins husband selected all the wines which were delicious!

Such nice night and we cannot wait to return again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Fifth never disappoints! Went to celebrate 2 family birthdays. Food was exceptional & servicespot on. Reasonable & well curated wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food great service Very romantic and cozy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great quiet conversation ambiance, tasty food and attentive service. André is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food and evening with friends...as usual. Service was excellent as were the martinis :)

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Executive chef. J. P. Challet, can do no wrong. His lobster bisque and lobster risotto are culinary masterpieces. His duck magret and his beef hanger steak, to justice to the whims and desires of any carnivore. On his menu you will also find seafood and homemade pasta.
Where "J. P." particularly excels, is by giving you a choice of whether or not you want a large portion or a small portion, of everything on the menu. He also offers selected wines in either three or six ounce glasses, to pair with your meal.
Service is appropriately understated and professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Arrived to a roaring wood fire front row table
Interesting and delicious choice of cocktails
A very eclectic menu , did not disappoint
Only criticism would be that the food wasn't as warm as I would have liked it to be
Otherwise perfection , great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Chef JP Challet is one of the best we have in Canada. I will be dreaming of his food long after we leave the restaurant! Simply delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Staff were great and helpful. Always a great experience at the fifth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent food in a great space. Good quality service and wine. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant was very romantic, servers were absolutely amazing! Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good service, great food. Unfortunately we had to take the other elevator to the top but I didn't hold that against them. Would go back and definitely would recommend to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Decided to go to The Fifth before TIFF. Right from when we were treated by security in the alley we knew it was going to be a special night.

Our server was great food was awesome and the ambience so amazing. Sitting ion the roof top Terrance , we nearly forgot we were in one of the busiest parts of the city.

A great place for a romantic, special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing place, great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sat on The Terrace for dinner on a warm Friday between screenings during TIFF - Toronto International Film Festival. Lovely ambiance on the rooftop, nicely decorated, terrific food, excellent service. Fun getting up there through the "back door" on an old elevator (the regular access was closed off due to the Festival). Did 5 sharing courses and that was plenty for two people. Recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Arrived an hour late for reservation - shame on us. Easy to find and very pleasant. Food was great (I should of had dessert but, alas, I ran out of steam) Waitstaff was super - gracious and very knowledgeable with a keen sense of humor. The room(s) are beautiful and presentation of the food shows the care in the kitchen. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a lovely time here, I personally didn't enjoy lobster risotto but the salmon, Clamato, deserts, they were very delicious. Most of all, the atmosphere, thee service, and the vibe were what made For a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was the third time I dined at the restaurant and once again it completely surpassed my expectations! I came with a few of my coworkers and we opted for the tasting menu as JP Challet and his team always offer delectable dishes - this time was no exception! We started off with a cod cake for the amuse bouche, which was a great choice to kick off the meal. We opted for the wine pairing with each of our courses and the maitre d, Andre, professionally presented each wine and did a great job of explaining why it was the right pairing for the dish.

Our first item on the tasting menu was the asparagus salad with goat cheese burek - all of the ingredients were incredibly fresh and blended well together to create a delicious salad. Next, we had the organic salmon with peach chutney, corn ragout, espelette popcorn, and corn tuille - the salmon was incredibly tender and cooked to perfection! Best I've had in the city by far. Following this, we had the fresh pasta, which consisted of a shrimp and lobster canneloni in a lobster bisque base. Having already tried the bisque previously, I knew this selection would please my guests and indeed, they finished every last bite! We then ate the Duck Magret, which similarily was the best duck I had eaten in a while (since the last time I came to The Fifth!). We ended with a sampling of the desserts, of which all were sublime and paired with delicious ice creams in flavours such as honey lavender.

In addition to the food, the service was impeccable and our table felt incredibly well taken care of. Thank you so much to the wonderful front of house and kitchen staff for making our experience such a great one! We'll definitely be back! :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Organic, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall, the food and service was great! We had a nice side two seater view overlooking the city of toronto. Our server was professional and all the wait staff was quick and friendly and polite.
We ordered the lobster risotto and calamari and drinks, all were very well crafted and professionally plated.
The wait staff were friendly taking us up and helping us back down to enter the night club. Would recommend to friends because of efficient service, great food and ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I hope I get the servers name right, I think it was Dejan. He was great. There were four of us friends just getting together. The guidance to the table and service were flawless. A glass never went dry. We had such a great time. Two of us had upcoming birthdays and they did an impromptu birthday plate. Very cool. Didn't get a chance to check out the club downstairs but it looked like fun.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Took our friends who arrived from Italy that day to our favourite Toronto restaurant and they were so impressed as were we (as usual).

Everyone started out with either the Lobster Bisque or Lobster Risotto and both were delicious....stole a little taste of the Risotto from my husband :). Our friend is Lactose intolerant and the Chef was most kind to accommodate including the muse bouche that was sent out.

One of our guests had the flank steak with tongue and although the idea terrified me he said it was amazing. Other dishes included the salmon dish and I as normal stuck with my petite filet and nothing but praise from everyone.

Service is impeccable and they have a great wine list. We also ask for a wine recommendation and they always pick something great that doesn't break the bank. This is such a gem of a place and if you are reading this and trying to make a decision look no further...you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great and service was even better, I think the waiters name was Armando, he was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great lamb and great lobster risotto... Cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I had a bit of the Beef and Venison Carpaccio at The Fifth Grill & Terraces tonight. My most favourite bite tonight out of this four course meal and it wasn't even my food. Anyways, it was surprising to taste a tender texture and a crunch from mini samosa within layers of raw meat. It did not feel heavy on my tongue despite each item was actually very oily I h.d such a perfect wine with my meal too - finally a red wine I love on first sip! Hopefully will be back soon! The service was so much nicer post-summerlicious and they gave us the corner spot on the terrace so best views according to my opentable rsvp request !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Beautiful ambiance , great food & wine, excellent service ,
From the entrance on the side street,to the elevator ride up & then the restaurant .
Great experience , booked for a birthday for a group of 8,
Everything was perfect.
Looking forward to dinning here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.