About The Fieldhouse

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Healthy (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Organic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (5)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sunday Brunch at the Fieldhouse is a mus ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined 7 days ago

Sunday Brunch at the Fieldhouse is a must. Wonderful service and top quality food. Great spot to slow down and enjoy a well crafted meal. I look forward to drying their dinner menu!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice brunch. Prompt and attenti ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a nice brunch. Prompt and attentive service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

we love the Fieldhouse for brunch and a ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

we love the Fieldhouse for brunch and a great date for my husband and I who don't get away in the evening very often. The menu this time was a little sparse and that was disappointing, hoping they add to it or at least spice it up some in the coming months.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

I always enjoy the experience of eating ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I always enjoy the experience of eating at the Fieldhouse, and it really is an experience. I never feel rushed there, the service is excellent and it wasn't very busy the night we were there so it was nice and quiet and easy to carry on a conversation.

They were featuring two specials that evening and we each had one. I had a pesto pasta and my date had the ox tail with polenta. The polenta was probably the highlight of the dishes, but everything was very good. We also had a cheese plate to start. Our cheese was made in Bozeman. I honestly didn't know there were that many cheeses made in Montana. We'll be back to try more.

A great meal all around. It even seems like their prices have come down a bit since the last time we had dinner there, which was a welcome surprise. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the Fieldhouse. The brus ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always enjoy the Fieldhouse. The brussels are my favorite veggies in town. The burger was cooked perfectly and was so delicious. I had order envy when my friend ordered the special pasta, it also looked amazing. Our server was awesome; very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Great dinner out with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing but our table was t ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was amazing but our table was too close to the couple next to us. We could hear their entire conversation. If we would have had a different table I would have given 5 stars.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service! Our waitress ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Our waitress was exceptional and the food was absolutely Delish from the appetizers to the main course! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint is the wine---The pour is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Only complaint is the wine---The pour is on the light side!!! For $12 of more a glass i would expect 3/4 of a glass!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food with good service. Be aware t ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food with good service. Be aware that the salads are really small, for $ 7 we expected a bigger size. Wish the waitress would have told us something about this, else she was really good. and the taste of the food was delicious.

Atmosphere there is great.

Would go there again.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good as usual but out of several things ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good as usual but out of several things but it was the day after Christmas . Waiter wasn't too into it however. It was a birthday so it wasn't up to usual standards

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We love the relaxed atmosphere. The brus ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love the relaxed atmosphere. The brussel sprouts and beet salad are a must! Everyone loved the chicken. Yummy deserts too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, , Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places for brunch or ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of our favorite places for brunch or dinner. As always, superb food, service, and atmosphere. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's very good, but the portions keep ge ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It's very good, but the portions keep getting smaller. My chicken didn't come with a starch, and my wife's steak had very little. Not sure we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our meals were delicious (meatloaf $17 a ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our meals were delicious (meatloaf $17 and new york steak $36). I can't add to that! The food was just great! So was the service, very nice, friendly, accomodating. They have 1/2 off wine and beer from 5-6 p.m. with a good wine selection of bottles and limited selection of wine by the glass, still very good.

I think their prices are somewhat high but they are making an effort to source locally as much as possible (pretty hard to get fresh, local veggies in winter in MT).

If the prices were 20% lower we would definitely eat at the Fieldhouse more often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the fresh homemade fai ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We really enjoyed the fresh homemade fair. Everything was delicious! Service was spectacular too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, , Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The burger is back on the menu!....and t ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The burger is back on the menu!....and the Brussels appetizer is amazing!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & great food!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service & great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a good experience when we ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We always have a good experience when we go here. Food has great flavors. Food is always consistent. Just an overall fine place to eat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love this place for the ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I love this place for their outstanding food!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always outstanding! ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding! Outside the box, but delicious every time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find. Everything is locally ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

What a great find. Everything is locally sourced. The presentation & good quality is equal to any where I have ever eaten. The vegetarian and meat options were both top class. The ambience was right out of the wine country. This is a must visit any time you are in Billings!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere, good food, great service ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fun atmosphere, good food, great service. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third visit. Food is always ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was my third visit. Food is always beautifully presented, fairly priced and absolutely delicious! I can't wait for my next visit.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had he pumpkin hummus and coconut broth ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had he pumpkin hummus and coconut broth mussels. My husband had the chicken and it was tender and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

While I would still recommend this resta ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

While I would still recommend this restaurant I do feel that the quality of the food has slipped from last year. Can't quite place my finger on it. Hopefully this is a trend that will be reversed. I would also hope they consider offering a lunch service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Katelyn, our server was fantastic! We ha ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Katelyn, our server was fantastic! We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative use of locally sourced ingredie ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Creative use of locally sourced ingredients. Great too for vegetarians

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Fieldhouse was delicious, we celebra ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Fieldhouse was delicious, we celebrated our 17th anniversary and loved it! The food was creative and locally sourced. Everything we had was very different and delicious. Lynzie our waitress was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best food ever!! The deco was our style! ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Best food ever!!

The deco was our style!! The food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small menu. Over priced appetizers. Serv ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Small menu. Over priced appetizers. Server was friendly but not very professional. May be back in the distant future but not any time soon.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The meatloaf was excellent but expensive ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The meatloaf was excellent but expensive. It would be nice if it included a salad. My friends ordered the pasta but it was such a small portion and without salad, they didn't get full. The atmosphere was just ok, rather noisy and the seats weren't very comfortable. Maybe some carpet on the floor would absorb some of the sound. Overall, couldn't recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

After reading the reviews on open table ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 19, 2016

After reading the reviews on open table we decided to try this restaurant, not disappointed!! We started with the Brussel sprouts appetizer, yum !! The chicken was delicious as was the pasta dish. Travis , our waiter, greeted us with a bottle of wine our daughters had called ahead to request for our anniversary. It was a perfect compliment to our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. The front dining room is stone and can get quite loud (There were several LOUD parties in there with us). Honestly the noise of surrounding parties was the only not great thing about this place. The meatloaf is DYNAMITE and I even got a surprise birthday dessert even though it was really a business dinner and my birthday just happened to be a few days away.

I will definitely be back next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner was amazing as always, a bit disa ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was amazing as always, a bit disappointed in the recent menu change but overall great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Vegan, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Fieldhouse is a beautiful restaurant ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Fieldhouse is a beautiful restaurant, it is intimate and refined, you feel good the minute you walk in. The food is intriguing, it’s not over the top culinary just interesting and good. The menu is small but I’m hoping that allows the prices so be reasonable for the quality. If you are in Billings the Fieldhouse is a must for an incredible lunch or brunch, or a fantastic dinner. They can accommodate big groups (10+ call ahead though) too. My wife and I love to eat out, we’re new to Montana (from Oregon) and have eaten at the Fieldhouse a couple of times and always had a great time. Cheers

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Weekend breakfast at The Fieldhouse is ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Weekend breakfast at The Fieldhouse is always so enjoyable. Food was delicious and the service was excellent...as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for the first day of a new ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were there for the first day of a new menu, so we were kind of bummed that we couldn't have the Hummus Plate and the Pad Thai, but everything we ordered was wonderful as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Historic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a lovely experience and delicious ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a lovely experience and delicious meal! One of our favorite restaurants in Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I love the Fieldhouse! The ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My husband & I love the Fieldhouse! The atmosphere is great & the food even better! I appreciate the menu changes it keeps it interesting & fun! Staff is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.