Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Fieldhouse

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm
lunch:
Monday-Sunday 11:00am-2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Healthy (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Local Ingredients (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fun (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Organic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vegan (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful setting, great food, and splendid service! The charcoal bread is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food & great service as always. Definitely going back in the near future.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The Field House is very much a favorite of mine. All my experiences there, of which there are many, have been very very good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great find, enjoyed eating here when from out of town. Would go here in a heartbeat again. Just set some wasp traps, the only negative of the meal when eating outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Brussels sprouts were terrific, the frittata was very good, and the kale salad needed a dressing that was not so ranch-like. The space was great and the service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

It's good. Get it. The prices aren't too bad. Okay

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful farm fresh dishes, nice wines different exciting beers and a nice staff. If we lived here we would be regulars.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Organic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Another yummy meal at The Fieldhouse . The chef just gets the flavors right! Bring back the tuna appetizer on the toasted bread with micro greens. Amazing!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The kitchen was a little backed up so it took more time than usual. But the food was top notch and priced like an Applebee's. If I lived here... I'd go a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

What a hidden gem! The food was delightful! Each of us got a different dish and loved every bite! I had read reviews about the Brussels beforehand and knew we wanted to try them. Definitely met our hopes! Dessert was good too! Only item we should have asked for was ice in our water, but that was our fault. Love finding new places for the palate!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We were passing through town and picked the Fieldhouse based on web reviews. The wine suggested by our waitperson was a good match for my Halibut entree. The fish was very good, nice and moist but was served over hummus which was a little strange. I had brussel sprouts for an appetizer - they were tasty but too salty. My cousin had the vegetable risotto entree which she thought was very good. I would look around for another restaurant next time I'm in Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Service was excellent staff was friendly engaging while still attentive to customers meals

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had the pork chop and my wife had the risotto. Both were good meals and good portions. I tasted both. I thought my pork chop was best. It was perfectly cooked and had a great smoked flavor. The risotto was very fresh and light tasting. I would recommend both.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Restaurant was Fantastic!! Food was simple and amazing! It's funny what you can do with simple food and creative talent. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and preparation. He absolutely understands the nuances of cooking and flavor. His recommendations were spot on and nothing disappointed! The kicker ending was the strawberry/rhubarb dessert, it was out of this world. This was a first time in Billings, but if ever back I wouldn't miss this restaurant on a bet!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I asked for and got a good table as it was my wife's B'day.

The server was well informed and skilled.

My dish, the special, which was monkfish was over cooked. I didn't complain as it wasn't inedible.

The creme brulee dessert was excellent. There was no charge for coffeee, a rarity.

The place can be noisy but was fine Thursday night.

The menu is limited but there's something for everyone.

Great wine list. Limited beer choices.

Prices are fair.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was fabulous, and beautifully presented! Roasted Brussels were the best I've had, and the salmon was perfectly cooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Foodie alert: wow Billings Montana. Required dining... Great menu, but is probably different from on-line. Great flavor mix on all dishes. Amazing warm olives appetizer, flavored with brined coriander, orange peel, and poblano pepper. Specials this evening were blackened ribeye (perfectly medium rare) with spicy Asian noodles, veggies and peppers. Australian salmon with cucumber coulee and quinoa/walnut side and woody broccolini. All paired with a 2014 Failla Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir. Fantastic service from the waiter and team. Don't pass it up.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great handcrafted food sourced from local and regional farms and ranches, great service, ok drink menu but expand the wine and beer list to include more regional suppliers.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Organic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Authentic local ingredients. The specials were a little expensive but well presented and tasty.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The most perfectly prepared salmon I have ever had. Everything was flavored extremely well. My partner had the meatloaf, which I had to sample and was equally amazed at the attention to seasoning and presentation. The chicharone was excellent as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service & staff were friendly and efficient. The menu is different from any other place in Billings, which is a nice change, & the prices were affordable. The wine selection was good, but did not serve a good Pinot Gris, but found a good replacement!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I expected a little more variety and local fare, but the meal was very satisfying.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always fantastic dining at The Fieldhouse -- one of our favorite restaurants! I had the halibut tacos, and shared a plate of brussels sprouts (the best!) with a friend. We all devoured every bite of our food and enjoyed delicious desserts too. It's a wonderful place to eat!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server Stephen was wonderful. He was very warm and attentive. The food was better than expected and very nice presentation of each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Everything was spot on. I highly recommend the wings, and the brussel sprouts. Our server was amazing and our experience was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was the most delicious dinner I have had in forever. I ate so much I had to wait two hours before my stomach stopped hurting.

Thanks for the yumminess!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We arrived on a Sunday night, late for our reservation after driving in from Whitefish on our way back to Denver. The restaurant had been slammed since Friday after 6 sold-out Garth Brooks concerts. In fact, within about a half hour after we arrived, the last of the concert goers left the restaurant almost empty. The staff must have been bushed, but it didn't show. We were greeted warmly and asked for a seat at the bar so that we could see the food coming out of the kitchen, a glorious sight, and to check out how the staff worked together. We shared delicious warm olives with a glass of wine to start, followed by house-made burrata served on a dice of slightly pickled fresh peaches with toast. We split the generously sized smoked pork chop served with roasted baby broccoli and a bottle of red wine. It was so generous that we ended up with left-overs. Everything was prepared and presented perfectly. The servers were friendly and relaxed, kind of hard to believe after the crowds they had been serving for brunch and dinner for three days. Even those not serving us specifically made time to talk to us as they dried rack after rack of wine glasses coming from the dishwasher. We could not have asked for a lovelier way to spend an evening. Thank you Field House. We'll see you the next time we're on our way to Whitefish.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Four of us ate here before a concert. We came from out of town and chose this based on online reviews. We all liked our food, although one comment was that the mac and cheese was a little salty. The menu is quite limited but the ingredients are local and the flavors were excellent. The atmosphere is converted-garage funky. The server was attentive and responsive to our needs. I would be happy to eat here again.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiter was fantastic. The only issue was I made a reservation and the table wasn't seated until 20 minutes after the designated time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service is excellent. The burgers are the BEST in Billings. Top notch service when just ordering burgers. Extra special simplicity to the meals with water and drinks. I love this place! I was able to make reservations quickly too.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Sat outside in their patio for the first time, beautiful day, great fish tacos and good conversation. The only bad part was going back to work.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Quality food, nicely prepared and presented. Great, friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent every time! Would definitely recommend eating here.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We often stop in at the Fieldhouse when in Billings, but this trip we just needed to get away from home and have some great food, so made the drive up from Wyoming specifically for dinner here. As always, was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had a nice dinner before heading to a show at the Alberta Hair theater. Three generations of women, all with different tastes, but all very satisfied. And great, friendly and knowledgeable service to boot. A win, all around.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Fiekdhouse has become a household word. We love it!

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant was busy as it was Mother's Day. Service was excellent all things considered and the food was awesome. Atmosphere was cool, as in hip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A busy day. We made reservations knowing this. Seated right on time. Wonderful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great meal; I had the duck with a beet salad--excellent balance of flavor. I split a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc with two of my dining companions; also very nice. A charming and pleasant waitress and a quiet dining room assured a return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great as always & the place never disappoints. Going back in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.