Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Fieldhouse

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm
lunch:
Monday-Sunday 11:00am-2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Great for Brunch (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Healthy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Organic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vegan (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined 4 days ago

The service & staff were friendly and efficient. The menu is different from any other place in Billings, which is a nice change, & the prices were affordable. The wine selection was good, but did not serve a good Pinot Gris, but found a good replacement!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I expected a little more variety and local fare, but the meal was very satisfying.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server Stephen was wonderful. He was very warm and attentive. The food was better than expected and very nice presentation of each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Everything was spot on. I highly recommend the wings, and the brussel sprouts. Our server was amazing and our experience was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was the most delicious dinner I have had in forever. I ate so much I had to wait two hours before my stomach stopped hurting.

Thanks for the yumminess!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We arrived on a Sunday night, late for our reservation after driving in from Whitefish on our way back to Denver. The restaurant had been slammed since Friday after 6 sold-out Garth Brooks concerts. In fact, within about a half hour after we arrived, the last of the concert goers left the restaurant almost empty. The staff must have been bushed, but it didn't show. We were greeted warmly and asked for a seat at the bar so that we could see the food coming out of the kitchen, a glorious sight, and to check out how the staff worked together. We shared delicious warm olives with a glass of wine to start, followed by house-made burrata served on a dice of slightly pickled fresh peaches with toast. We split the generously sized smoked pork chop served with roasted baby broccoli and a bottle of red wine. It was so generous that we ended up with left-overs. Everything was prepared and presented perfectly. The servers were friendly and relaxed, kind of hard to believe after the crowds they had been serving for brunch and dinner for three days. Even those not serving us specifically made time to talk to us as they dried rack after rack of wine glasses coming from the dishwasher. We could not have asked for a lovelier way to spend an evening. Thank you Field House. We'll see you the next time we're on our way to Whitefish.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Four of us ate here before a concert. We came from out of town and chose this based on online reviews. We all liked our food, although one comment was that the mac and cheese was a little salty. The menu is quite limited but the ingredients are local and the flavors were excellent. The atmosphere is converted-garage funky. The server was attentive and responsive to our needs. I would be happy to eat here again.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiter was fantastic. The only issue was I made a reservation and the table wasn't seated until 20 minutes after the designated time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service is excellent. The burgers are the BEST in Billings. Top notch service when just ordering burgers. Extra special simplicity to the meals with water and drinks. I love this place! I was able to make reservations quickly too.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Sat outside in their patio for the first time, beautiful day, great fish tacos and good conversation. The only bad part was going back to work.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Quality food, nicely prepared and presented. Great, friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent every time! Would definitely recommend eating here.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We often stop in at the Fieldhouse when in Billings, but this trip we just needed to get away from home and have some great food, so made the drive up from Wyoming specifically for dinner here. As always, was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had a nice dinner before heading to a show at the Alberta Hair theater. Three generations of women, all with different tastes, but all very satisfied. And great, friendly and knowledgeable service to boot. A win, all around.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Fiekdhouse has become a household word. We love it!

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant was busy as it was Mother's Day. Service was excellent all things considered and the food was awesome. Atmosphere was cool, as in hip.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A busy day. We made reservations knowing this. Seated right on time. Wonderful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great meal; I had the duck with a beet salad--excellent balance of flavor. I split a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc with two of my dining companions; also very nice. A charming and pleasant waitress and a quiet dining room assured a return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great as always & the place never disappoints. Going back in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of our favorite spots. Great food, adventurous menu, love the staff and owners!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sunday night and not very many decent eateries open (that were not bars). Was looking for a good place that would give us a selection of tasty meals without all the calories and fat. Field house did just that. The food was AMAZING; Halibut dish - delightful. Scallops - delicious. The pairings of ingredients were interesting yet yummy.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a great atmosphere and fantastic service. Brunch menu changes were extremely disappointing. No huevo rancheros, no french press coffee, burritos, and shaved ham instead of thick pork belly in eggs Benedict, these were extremely disappointing. Can't say we will be back unless these are remedied, which is unfortunate as your restaurant was one of the best in town and your staff is great.

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We've eaten here a couple times before. We decided to come because we saw the delicious looking burgers served. They are awesome looking. They are piled high with fresh condiments,toasted buttered bun but... the skinniest pressed burger! Not what we were expecting. A farm to table type restaurant w/that?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I ususally never review, but I have to. I'm not one to send food back or complain so I'll just leave my honest experience here. I'm not a picky guy but this was not a good date night dinner choice at all.

I had never been to the Fieldhouse before. I decided to take my lady out on a date, saw the high reviews and decided it was a safe bet. While it may be for some, neither my date or I cared much for it. We were seated dead center of everyone which is fine but with the other tables full, and tight spacing between tables, it made for a fairly loud dinner. We both were laughing at the fact we had to almost shout to hear eachother or our server.

The bread appetizer with oil and vinegar was fantastic and the beer was tasty! My lady ordered the halibut special, looked good, but it was on a bed of thick oil and fatty gunk. She's from Alaska and is used to fresh fish and understands the quality won't be the same but she didn't care for the extra gunk.

I ordered the New York strip special.... Now, I may just not be fancy enough or something but that was the weirdest, and most unappetizing dish. It might just be me, but purple mash potatoes and dark green, soggy, sad looking veggies on top doesn't make me think "mmm". I tried the potatoes and veggies and thats as far as that went. The steak was nothing special, asked for medium rare and couldn't see a spot of pink in that steak. The entire outer 1/3 was gristle. I like fat on a steak, but that much unchewable gristle ruined it for me. I ate the inner steak and left the rest, pretty expensive few bites for me.

Again, maybe I'm too simple of a guy in terms of cuisine to know much about "fancy" food, but for $100, I was very disappointed. I could've gone to a steak or seafood place and got twice the food, that I knew was good for 1/2 the price. No offense here, obviously people love the fieldhouse, and maybe I just had a bad trip but I didn't care for it. I'd consider going back, we'll see.

Thank you, Nate B.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our most recent visit was for Easter brunch. I love their menu, but it does not have all that many selections. I wish there were more. They do offer a special and they always have a great mimosa special. I will definitely dine there again, but I hope eventually they will expand their menu just a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my first experience at the Fieldhouse and I am in LOVE! The atmosphere is adorable, the mimosa of the day was outstanding, and the food was to die for! I can't say enough good things about this place! JUST DO IT! :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice place to talk and enjoy really good food. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

we had a wonderful brunch with our son and his girlfriend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My bacon was cold and greasy and had the freezer burn taste. My toast came after I was done with my meal as was everyone else. No one in our group liked the coffee. The waitress seemed like she didn't really like her job. Our previous experience had been vey good this time not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Really nice meal options, fresh ingredients. Overall, great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Billings finest. Consistent service, wonderful modern food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall enjoyed our meal. My husband and I kept comparing to see who had the best food. It was a tough comparison.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with our 2 kids. Our meal was amazing and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My wife and I ate at the Fieldhouse for our anniversary. The food was exceptional. Our small plate of cheese & fruit was a real treat. The entrees were perfectly prepared and a delight to look at. Best dining experience in a very long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The Fieldhouse never disappoints. If you're having trouble picking an appetizer, I recommend the Brussels Sprouts, they are delicious! Another menu favorite is the meatloaf, it's better than your mother's! The staff is helpful and friendly. Travis has served us multiple times and is always wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch. The chicken wrap was fresh and light, mostly vegetables, which was what I wanted. Tasted my husband's meatloaf sandwich which was hearty with a good smoked honey flavor. Service at 1:00 pm was quick and friendly. We arrived just as two large parties were leaving. We had planned on brunch items (a variation of eggs Benedict and biscuits and gravy but they were out of both) but happy to explore lunch menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious! We were seated immediately at a very nice and comfortable table. Our server was very attentive and we got exactly what we ordered. We are pleased that we had the choice of breakfast or lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I started out with the meatloaf but swapped with my wife for the sirloin special. I found the meatloaf barbeque sauce to be too sweet but my wife loved it. I am seeing the sweeter side in many of the Billings restaurants so this may be a local flavor. The root vegetables were great and the wine list quite acceptable. Would go again but would like to wait for a seasonal change

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonferful dinner. Meatloaf was amazing. Will definitely be back. Best restaurant in Billings

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server Lauren was amazing! Really enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.