Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Fieldhouse

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm
lunch:
Monday-Sunday 11:00am-2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
See All
Worth the Drive (14)
Healthy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Organic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had a date for Sunday brunch. Food was excellent and fresh. Brussels were awesome as was the butternut squash purée Will definitely be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have eaten here four times now, and love it more each time. Fresh, modern, American-style food in an elegantly understated setting. Whenever in Billings, this is the place to go.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We have eaten here over the past few years. It seems to be inconsistent. After a our last dinner visit, we were hesitant to return. This time was no better. My pork entree was disappointing. Assuming that they use a local source of pork or at least good quality, and I was not asked of what temperature I would have preferred it cooked. It was cooked near to well and was dry. It was served with a cold Apple purée underneath the pork and a cold/ under seasoned potato salad on top. I can understand using components that are not hot on a summer dish or with other like temperature items, but not with this dish. Flavor composition was boring and bland. My girlfriend's steak special was meant to be cooked medium rare. Her steak was completely cold and undercooked. During our time eating we noticed a man send back a cold meatloaf entree.
Our past couple of experiences with the waitstaff have been just middle of the road. They are knowledgeable of the menu but seem to lack much interest and personability in our interactions.
I am writing this to be constructive and not to slam your restaurant. We have had great meals here but feel it is important for you to know the last few visits have not been the greatest.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Thank you for having Gluten Free options. The hamburger was devine and I loved the homemade ketchup for the fires!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great place! Nicely decorated, good food with fresh local ingredients, friendly service. Really enjoyable evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great Beer, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food here was great with very interesting choices on the menu. It's a small, quirky restaurant in the downtown area. The meal was a good value for the quality of food. My only complaint was the service was a little off. I was dining alone and felt a bit overlooked by the waiter. He didn't offer me a dessert menu even though he offered it to both tables on either side of me. He didn't really check to see if I needed anything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Found on Yelp and did not disappoint. All the different dishes we tried had local fresh ingredients. The dishes were creative and had wonderful flavors. Clean Montana industrial/modern decor a short distance off the main interstate.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

great cheese appetizer and the swordfish was fantastic but the portion was small.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always great, love the owners and the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Historically we have always had a good experience at the Fieldhouse but this visit was disappointing. The lacinato kale salad was made with baby kale (rather than lacinato as listed on the menu.) This resulted in a soggy, wet tasteless salad which I returned. My portion size on the buffalo meatloaf was significantly less than usual. The server was cordial but inattentive and never circled back to the table during our dinner (I would have liked another glass of wine....) I would still recommend the Fieldhouse as am thinking this experience was a one off from their usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great Food, Great service. Appreciate the handicap parking.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is not a restaurant to choose for those who appreciate a traditional all American brunch. Of the 4 diners in our party I was the only one who enjoyed their brunch (I chose the Frittata which was cooked perfectly and served attractively with salad). The 'Hash' brunch was greasy, the so called 'Boring' brunch of eggs and bacon was overcooked with hard bacon. The service was excellent. The price was high. The chance of revisiting The Field house is zero.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service, knew we were headed to the baseball game so served our food quickly, patio is great, trains are incredible

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful setting, great food, and splendid service! The charcoal bread is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food & great service as always. Definitely going back in the near future.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Field House is very much a favorite of mine. All my experiences there, of which there are many, have been very very good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great find, enjoyed eating here when from out of town. Would go here in a heartbeat again. Just set some wasp traps, the only negative of the meal when eating outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Brussels sprouts were terrific, the frittata was very good, and the kale salad needed a dressing that was not so ranch-like. The space was great and the service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

It's good. Get it. The prices aren't too bad. Okay

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful farm fresh dishes, nice wines different exciting beers and a nice staff. If we lived here we would be regulars.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Organic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Another yummy meal at The Fieldhouse . The chef just gets the flavors right! Bring back the tuna appetizer on the toasted bread with micro greens. Amazing!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The kitchen was a little backed up so it took more time than usual. But the food was top notch and priced like an Applebee's. If I lived here... I'd go a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

What a hidden gem! The food was delightful! Each of us got a different dish and loved every bite! I had read reviews about the Brussels beforehand and knew we wanted to try them. Definitely met our hopes! Dessert was good too! Only item we should have asked for was ice in our water, but that was our fault. Love finding new places for the palate!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We were passing through town and picked the Fieldhouse based on web reviews. The wine suggested by our waitperson was a good match for my Halibut entree. The fish was very good, nice and moist but was served over hummus which was a little strange. I had brussel sprouts for an appetizer - they were tasty but too salty. My cousin had the vegetable risotto entree which she thought was very good. I would look around for another restaurant next time I'm in Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Service was excellent staff was friendly engaging while still attentive to customers meals

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had the pork chop and my wife had the risotto. Both were good meals and good portions. I tasted both. I thought my pork chop was best. It was perfectly cooked and had a great smoked flavor. The risotto was very fresh and light tasting. I would recommend both.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Restaurant was Fantastic!! Food was simple and amazing! It's funny what you can do with simple food and creative talent. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and preparation. He absolutely understands the nuances of cooking and flavor. His recommendations were spot on and nothing disappointed! The kicker ending was the strawberry/rhubarb dessert, it was out of this world. This was a first time in Billings, but if ever back I wouldn't miss this restaurant on a bet!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I asked for and got a good table as it was my wife's B'day.

The server was well informed and skilled.

My dish, the special, which was monkfish was over cooked. I didn't complain as it wasn't inedible.

The creme brulee dessert was excellent. There was no charge for coffeee, a rarity.

The place can be noisy but was fine Thursday night.

The menu is limited but there's something for everyone.

Great wine list. Limited beer choices.

Prices are fair.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was fabulous, and beautifully presented! Roasted Brussels were the best I've had, and the salmon was perfectly cooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Foodie alert: wow Billings Montana. Required dining... Great menu, but is probably different from on-line. Great flavor mix on all dishes. Amazing warm olives appetizer, flavored with brined coriander, orange peel, and poblano pepper. Specials this evening were blackened ribeye (perfectly medium rare) with spicy Asian noodles, veggies and peppers. Australian salmon with cucumber coulee and quinoa/walnut side and woody broccolini. All paired with a 2014 Failla Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir. Fantastic service from the waiter and team. Don't pass it up.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great handcrafted food sourced from local and regional farms and ranches, great service, ok drink menu but expand the wine and beer list to include more regional suppliers.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Organic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Authentic local ingredients. The specials were a little expensive but well presented and tasty.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The most perfectly prepared salmon I have ever had. Everything was flavored extremely well. My partner had the meatloaf, which I had to sample and was equally amazed at the attention to seasoning and presentation. The chicharone was excellent as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service & staff were friendly and efficient. The menu is different from any other place in Billings, which is a nice change, & the prices were affordable. The wine selection was good, but did not serve a good Pinot Gris, but found a good replacement!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I expected a little more variety and local fare, but the meal was very satisfying.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always fantastic dining at The Fieldhouse -- one of our favorite restaurants! I had the halibut tacos, and shared a plate of brussels sprouts (the best!) with a friend. We all devoured every bite of our food and enjoyed delicious desserts too. It's a wonderful place to eat!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server Stephen was wonderful. He was very warm and attentive. The food was better than expected and very nice presentation of each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Everything was spot on. I highly recommend the wings, and the brussel sprouts. Our server was amazing and our experience was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was the most delicious dinner I have had in forever. I ate so much I had to wait two hours before my stomach stopped hurting.

Thanks for the yumminess!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.