About The Fieldhouse

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
6 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Romantic
Montana
Most Booked
Billings
Best Restaurants in Billings ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Great for Brunch (21)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our dinner was fantastic. However, we w ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. However, we wanted dessert. Our waitress told us the Flathead cherry pie was just out of the oven. So we ordered a piece. The piece of pie we got was ice cold.

We mentioned it to our waitress and she just said.."sorry". Pretty disappointing. Even if it would have been warmed in a microwave, it would have been better. That being said, everything else was delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Terrific in every way! Food was fresh, h ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrific in every way! Food was fresh, hand crafted & delicious, service was excellent and noise level was low during Sunday brunch hours. I appreciate The Fieldhouse does not cram as many tables/seats as would allow into their space, like many places do these days. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our Friday night dinner experience ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Loved our Friday night dinner experience so much we returned for brunch the next day. Outstanding again. Billings is lucky to have this quality restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveling west and found Fieldhouse on O ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Traveling west and found Fieldhouse on OpenTable and decided to give it a try. Food and service was supurb. We split a Buratta Bruschetta with fresh local cheese, tomatoes and basil on 1/2 a split toasted baugette drizzled with olive oil. I had the Smoked Brisket which was served over flattened roasted red potatoes with chard it was excellent. She had the Chicken Breast over risotto, it was tasty with the usual problem of restaurant risotto, a little too much tooth and not quite creamy enough. the flavor however was outstanding. We did not have dessert but they brought 2 house made chocolate truffles to the table which were the perfect end to the meal. The wine list was more than adequate with selections in all price ranges. We would gladly dine at Fieldhouse again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been here in the past with decent ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been here in the past with decent experience. Unfortunately this time around the food quality/quantity/price seemed way out of whack. We had to ask for salt to season the pasta and mashed potatoes - and I very rarely salt my food. My pasta portion was super small and my wife's steak was very good but very over charged for what she got - it should have had some other veggie with it. The prices were high-which I'm not afraid to pay, but there was no salads, bread or anything to accompany the high priced meal. Needless to say we stopped for icecream on the way home to compensate. Thanks for the meal, but we probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The beet salad was a must. Great farm to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The beet salad was a must. Great farm to table option for Billings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our friend from Australia was thrilled w ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our friend from Australia was thrilled with the food and it is the favorite restaurant of our tween. So win/win!

Please consider bringing back truffle fries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was ok, not good enough for their p ...

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was ok, not good enough for their prices though. Service was very friendly, but slow. Sat with empty glasses for a long time, water was warm, had to ask for icecubes. Food was extremely slow. Sat about 40 minutes before we got the appetizers (cheeseplate).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food and amazing value as always. ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food and amazing value as always. We really enjoyed our server. She did an excellent job. We enjoy the simplicity and outstanding food execution at the Fieldhouse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. We had a two year ol ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent service. We had a two year old with us and the staff ensured she got her meal quickly as we had a class of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service! I'm glut ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food and great service! I'm gluten free and found lots of options on their menu. The waiter was very helpful in making GF suggestions too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A hidden gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The Fieldhouse was an unexpected find during our one night stay in Billings. Instead of choosing one of the many steakhouses, which looked nice enough but sort of ordinary and unnecessarily expensive, we opted to try this funky, cool restaurant on what seemed to be the edge of town. Our waiter was kind and happily recommended some great cheeses for us to start with - wow! We continued our meal with the meatloaf and the bolognese, both of which were delicious. The atmosphere was friendly and quiet and the decor was nicely done - a little quirky but still tasteful. We enjoyed the local beverage selection as well. If we ever visit Billings again, we will certainly come back to the Fieldhouse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem in Billings

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I always enjoy the Fieldhouse for its consistently great food and service. Our server Lauren was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list.

The restaurant has many gluten free options as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suoer Poor Service

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were really expected for date night here. The food was pretty good but the service clouded any good time we might have had. Our server was incredibly rude. She seemed annoyed that we were even there. I would love to come back but based off of our experiences time I doubt we will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great dining experience

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

What a great restaurant! We were visiting Billings for a long weekend break and were looking for somewhere special for our final evening. The Fieldhouse was everything we hoped for .... and more. From the minute we entered the building we realized this was going to be a different sort of evening. The music, decor and service were perfect, and the food was even better! A great finish to a wonderful trip to Billings. If we ever return to the city this will be our first stop. Thanks for a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We LUV the fieldhouse! Always great food ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We LUV the fieldhouse! Always great food & friendly good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I introduced the field house to my 14 ye ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I introduced the field house to my 14 year old daughter. She has titled it her new favorite place. The menu is simple, with so many options! The Brussels sprouts were amazing and the gourmet meatloaf was a classic favorite. We shared dessert consisting of a meringue cookie with fresh whipped topping and cut strawberries. Deliciousness in every bite from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We didn't care for our seating. We were ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We didn't care for our seating. We were in some sort of a cubbyhole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious Dining

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Fieldhouse is one of my favorite resteraunts in Billings. Amazing food and service. Have not had a bad meal here! I've had bunch and dinner here multiple times and have never been disappointed. Great for any occasion with an group of people! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Industrial Contemporary Edge

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We are out of towners who looking for a Mother's Day Brunch. We found an excellent one! Thanks, Fieldhouse! Comfortable seating, reasonable sound levels, upscale ambience and especially great food provided us with a great experience. Mimosas were surprisingly huge but delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No flavor

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The had no flavor. We will not be back. Was not worth the price of the food. I wish we would not have taken my parents there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Always great

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We don't get to eat here as often as we'd like, but when we do it's always great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yummy food, I just wish we had the optio ...

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Yummy food, I just wish we had the option to put the syrup on the French toast ourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Yum!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

I don't know who the chef is but my compliments to him/her. The Fieldhouse is quickly becoming our favorite new place to have a fine dining experience. The menu changes often and that's fun. My husband loves the meatloaf very much but tried the pasta this time and loved that too. I had the halibut two Sundays in a row and it was perfect both times. The bill can add up with a group but it's well worth it for a special occasion. Sunday brunch was good too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was ok

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I tried the field house for dinner on a dreary rainy night. Perhaps that is why it was a bit off. Others around me seemed happy and enjoying. I was not blown away with the food or the experience. The food was alright, i ordered the fish special. It was an interestingly prepared halibut with coconut rice. I can't explain, except to say I didn't like the energy. Cute place, but with such great options I really enjoy in billings, I won't be returning to the field house when I return..

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very Disappointed

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I was looking forward to discovering a new favorite in Billings, this wasn't it.

The steak was at least half fat and gristle. The green beans that came with it were bitter. I had to switch plates with my son because he wouldn't even try his chicken because the glob of thick sauce on it looked gross. The chicken was very dry and whatever the sauce/gravy was made out of was way over seasoned. I ordered a second glass of wine, of a different varietal than the first, but was not given a new glass. The wait staff was efficient and friendly, atmosphere was merely ok for me. The food was just so awful and overpriced ($110 for 2 meals/2 glasses of wine), I definitely would not consider a repeat performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was delicious!!!

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I love the Fieldhouse and I appreciate the family dining style but wow it can get loud in that front room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food in Billings.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great place, my secon time here in the last couple of weeks and the food has been consistently good. They keep a short menu but the quality is consistently high. Highly recommend, have tried a couple of appetizers and mains and you can't go wrong with the daily specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Field house has great staff and great am ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Field house has great staff and great ambience. I have one excellent experience and one good experience. I will keep coming back because overall I think they have a good thing going on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

A great experience every time

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Meat cooked to perfection every time and a variety of every day foods elevated to sophistication and amazing flavor combinations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely a good quality restaurant, esp for BIL

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I went in February when there isn't exactly a ton of locall-grown produce available. Still, the menu did a good job offering things like beets and greens that one could reasonably expect for a winter crop. The menu had a little flair, but avoided being silly (as some pretend-fusion restaurants do). Honestly, there really only used to be one truly "big-city-worthy" chef in Billings. And that was at Juliano's. He was one of the early owner/chefs to try to bring food up a notch in Billings. Now, a handful of younger chefs have taken it upon themselves to offer great-quality food at reasonable prices. I don't live in Billings any more, but I grew up here and I'm glad for my hometown that this place exists. I hope it succeeds! As for the specifics of my meal. It doesn't matter, all three we had were well-prepared and tasted good. I suspect everything on the menu does. Suffice it to say, this place would fit in really well in Seattle or Portland, two cities that in-the-know foodies are aware are full of fantastic restaurants. Good luck Fieldhouse, I hope you spread the gospel of good Montana food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two folks in our party ordered the petit ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Two folks in our party ordered the petite filet and asked for Medium rare. They both came out almost well done. This ruined the experience for my friends visiting from out of town. We were so thankful a vegan dish was on the menu, but disappointed when the squash was very under done and too hard to eat in spots. Typically I have a great experience at The Fieldhouse. I would rate the food a 4 most of the time. Service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great first experience. Look forward to going back

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Great food. Nice ambience. Great waiter. Overall only experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Gorgeous room, exciting menu but it all failed to deliver. Tuna special was horribly over cooked and the black bean cakes underneath were stodgy and tasteless. The burger was so so but also disappointing.

So wanted this to be a fabulous experience. The ambience and styling is there but the kitchen just did not deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Loved the space, very good menu, great m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Loved the space, very good menu, great meal. Service was fine. It was the dead of January and it felt a bit cold inside, a cozy fire would have made it perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding as always

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Once again The Fieldhouse did not disappoint. The food was fabulous, the wine was excellent and as always the service was top notch. We are thrilled that they are now serving dinner seven days a week. One of our favorite Billings restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Every time we come to the Fieldhouse, it never disappoints. Food is always fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious New Years eve meal!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Delicious shrimp cocktail, delicious chicken and quinoa, and to top it off, they had a special dessert to fit my diet. I swear they get better every time we go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A uninspired meal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The meat loaf was dry and masked with I suspect BBQ sauce from a bottle - the chicken was adequate but the squash like vegetable with it was unpalatable. The Creme Brûlée came in the smallest ramekin I have ever seen and 4 bites hardly counts as desert. Since my son is a CIA trained chef I always give a restaurant 2 tries but that may be difficult since I understand something about the back of the house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Good with some exceptions

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We have been to Fieldhouse several times but seem to be disappointed in something each time. Often times the dining area is too loud. On our most recent visit, this was not the case. The food was good but only luke warm. When I spoke to the waitress about this, she did not do anything to accommodate the issue. Not sure we are going to rush right back there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.