About The Fieldhouse

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
2 More
Most Booked
Montana
Most Booked
Billings
Best Restaurants in Billings ›

Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (17)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
Healthy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service & great food!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service & great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a good experience when we ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We always have a good experience when we go here. Food has great flavors. Food is always consistent. Just an overall fine place to eat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love this place for the ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I love this place for their outstanding food!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always outstanding! ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding! Outside the box, but delicious every time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find. Everything is locally ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

What a great find. Everything is locally sourced. The presentation & good quality is equal to any where I have ever eaten. The vegetarian and meat options were both top class. The ambience was right out of the wine country. This is a must visit any time you are in Billings!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere, good food, great service ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fun atmosphere, good food, great service. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third visit. Food is always ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was my third visit. Food is always beautifully presented, fairly priced and absolutely delicious! I can't wait for my next visit.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had he pumpkin hummus and coconut broth ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had he pumpkin hummus and coconut broth mussels. My husband had the chicken and it was tender and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

While I would still recommend this resta ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

While I would still recommend this restaurant I do feel that the quality of the food has slipped from last year. Can't quite place my finger on it. Hopefully this is a trend that will be reversed. I would also hope they consider offering a lunch service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Katelyn, our server was fantastic! We ha ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Katelyn, our server was fantastic! We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative use of locally sourced ingredie ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Creative use of locally sourced ingredients. Great too for vegetarians

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Fieldhouse was delicious, we celebra ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Fieldhouse was delicious, we celebrated our 17th anniversary and loved it! The food was creative and locally sourced. Everything we had was very different and delicious. Lynzie our waitress was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best food ever!! The deco was our style! ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Best food ever!!

The deco was our style!! The food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small menu. Over priced appetizers. Serv ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Small menu. Over priced appetizers. Server was friendly but not very professional. May be back in the distant future but not any time soon.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The meatloaf was excellent but expensive ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The meatloaf was excellent but expensive. It would be nice if it included a salad. My friends ordered the pasta but it was such a small portion and without salad, they didn't get full. The atmosphere was just ok, rather noisy and the seats weren't very comfortable. Maybe some carpet on the floor would absorb some of the sound. Overall, couldn't recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

After reading the reviews on open table ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 19, 2016

After reading the reviews on open table we decided to try this restaurant, not disappointed!! We started with the Brussel sprouts appetizer, yum !! The chicken was delicious as was the pasta dish. Travis , our waiter, greeted us with a bottle of wine our daughters had called ahead to request for our anniversary. It was a perfect compliment to our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. The front dining room is stone and can get quite loud (There were several LOUD parties in there with us). Honestly the noise of surrounding parties was the only not great thing about this place. The meatloaf is DYNAMITE and I even got a surprise birthday dessert even though it was really a business dinner and my birthday just happened to be a few days away.

I will definitely be back next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner was amazing as always, a bit disa ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was amazing as always, a bit disappointed in the recent menu change but overall great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Vegan, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Fieldhouse is a beautiful restaurant ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Fieldhouse is a beautiful restaurant, it is intimate and refined, you feel good the minute you walk in. The food is intriguing, it’s not over the top culinary just interesting and good. The menu is small but I’m hoping that allows the prices so be reasonable for the quality. If you are in Billings the Fieldhouse is a must for an incredible lunch or brunch, or a fantastic dinner. They can accommodate big groups (10+ call ahead though) too. My wife and I love to eat out, we’re new to Montana (from Oregon) and have eaten at the Fieldhouse a couple of times and always had a great time. Cheers

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Weekend breakfast at The Fieldhouse is ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Weekend breakfast at The Fieldhouse is always so enjoyable. Food was delicious and the service was excellent...as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for the first day of a new ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were there for the first day of a new menu, so we were kind of bummed that we couldn't have the Hummus Plate and the Pad Thai, but everything we ordered was wonderful as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Historic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a lovely experience and delicious ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a lovely experience and delicious meal! One of our favorite restaurants in Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I love the Fieldhouse! The ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My husband & I love the Fieldhouse! The atmosphere is great & the food even better! I appreciate the menu changes it keeps it interesting & fun! Staff is amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was fantastic. However, we w ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. However, we wanted dessert. Our waitress told us the Flathead cherry pie was just out of the oven. So we ordered a piece. The piece of pie we got was ice cold.

We mentioned it to our waitress and she just said.."sorry". Pretty disappointing. Even if it would have been warmed in a microwave, it would have been better. That being said, everything else was delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Terrific in every way! Food was fresh, h ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrific in every way! Food was fresh, hand crafted & delicious, service was excellent and noise level was low during Sunday brunch hours. I appreciate The Fieldhouse does not cram as many tables/seats as would allow into their space, like many places do these days. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our Friday night dinner experience ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Loved our Friday night dinner experience so much we returned for brunch the next day. Outstanding again. Billings is lucky to have this quality restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveling west and found Fieldhouse on O ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Traveling west and found Fieldhouse on OpenTable and decided to give it a try. Food and service was supurb. We split a Buratta Bruschetta with fresh local cheese, tomatoes and basil on 1/2 a split toasted baugette drizzled with olive oil. I had the Smoked Brisket which was served over flattened roasted red potatoes with chard it was excellent. She had the Chicken Breast over risotto, it was tasty with the usual problem of restaurant risotto, a little too much tooth and not quite creamy enough. the flavor however was outstanding. We did not have dessert but they brought 2 house made chocolate truffles to the table which were the perfect end to the meal. The wine list was more than adequate with selections in all price ranges. We would gladly dine at Fieldhouse again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been here in the past with decent ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been here in the past with decent experience. Unfortunately this time around the food quality/quantity/price seemed way out of whack. We had to ask for salt to season the pasta and mashed potatoes - and I very rarely salt my food. My pasta portion was super small and my wife's steak was very good but very over charged for what she got - it should have had some other veggie with it. The prices were high-which I'm not afraid to pay, but there was no salads, bread or anything to accompany the high priced meal. Needless to say we stopped for icecream on the way home to compensate. Thanks for the meal, but we probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The beet salad was a must. Great farm to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The beet salad was a must. Great farm to table option for Billings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our friend from Australia was thrilled w ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our friend from Australia was thrilled with the food and it is the favorite restaurant of our tween. So win/win!

Please consider bringing back truffle fries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was ok, not good enough for their p ...

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was ok, not good enough for their prices though. Service was very friendly, but slow. Sat with empty glasses for a long time, water was warm, had to ask for icecubes. Food was extremely slow. Sat about 40 minutes before we got the appetizers (cheeseplate).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food and amazing value as always. ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food and amazing value as always. We really enjoyed our server. She did an excellent job. We enjoy the simplicity and outstanding food execution at the Fieldhouse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. We had a two year ol ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent service. We had a two year old with us and the staff ensured she got her meal quickly as we had a class of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service! I'm glut ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food and great service! I'm gluten free and found lots of options on their menu. The waiter was very helpful in making GF suggestions too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A hidden gem

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2016

The Fieldhouse was an unexpected find during our one night stay in Billings. Instead of choosing one of the many steakhouses, which looked nice enough but sort of ordinary and unnecessarily expensive, we opted to try this funky, cool restaurant on what seemed to be the edge of town. Our waiter was kind and happily recommended some great cheeses for us to start with - wow! We continued our meal with the meatloaf and the bolognese, both of which were delicious. The atmosphere was friendly and quiet and the decor was nicely done - a little quirky but still tasteful. We enjoyed the local beverage selection as well. If we ever visit Billings again, we will certainly come back to the Fieldhouse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem in Billings

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I always enjoy the Fieldhouse for its consistently great food and service. Our server Lauren was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list.

The restaurant has many gluten free options as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suoer Poor Service

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were really expected for date night here. The food was pretty good but the service clouded any good time we might have had. Our server was incredibly rude. She seemed annoyed that we were even there. I would love to come back but based off of our experiences time I doubt we will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great dining experience

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 23, 2016

What a great restaurant! We were visiting Billings for a long weekend break and were looking for somewhere special for our final evening. The Fieldhouse was everything we hoped for .... and more. From the minute we entered the building we realized this was going to be a different sort of evening. The music, decor and service were perfect, and the food was even better! A great finish to a wonderful trip to Billings. If we ever return to the city this will be our first stop. Thanks for a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We LUV the fieldhouse! Always great food ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We LUV the fieldhouse! Always great food & friendly good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I introduced the field house to my 14 ye ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 20, 2016

I introduced the field house to my 14 year old daughter. She has titled it her new favorite place. The menu is simple, with so many options! The Brussels sprouts were amazing and the gourmet meatloaf was a classic favorite. We shared dessert consisting of a meringue cookie with fresh whipped topping and cut strawberries. Deliciousness in every bite from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.