Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Fieldhouse

The Fieldhouse Cafe sources locally, sustainably sourced food grown and raised under the Big Sky right here in Montana.Almost Everything is made from scratch with whole foods, right down to the ketchup. Join us in celebrating honest food, treated well.

2601 Minnesota Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday + Sunday 9:00am- 2:00pm
lunch:
Monday-Sunday 11:00am-2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday- Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm







Cross Street:
26th & Minnesota Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 534-2556

Website:
http://thefieldhousemt.com/

Catering:
We offer catering services of all sorts. Just give Chef Ben and call to talk about the details for your next event.

Parking Details:
If there isn't a parking spot out in front feel free to park in the lot right across the street.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Harman

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There are plenty of options for special events at The Fieldhouse. Call us with your details.

The Fieldhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Organic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our most recent visit was for Easter brunch. I love their menu, but it does not have all that many selections. I wish there were more. They do offer a special and they always have a great mimosa special. I will definitely dine there again, but I hope eventually they will expand their menu just a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was my first experience at the Fieldhouse and I am in LOVE! The atmosphere is adorable, the mimosa of the day was outstanding, and the food was to die for! I can't say enough good things about this place! JUST DO IT! :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice place to talk and enjoy really good food. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

we had a wonderful brunch with our son and his girlfriend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My bacon was cold and greasy and had the freezer burn taste. My toast came after I was done with my meal as was everyone else. No one in our group liked the coffee. The waitress seemed like she didn't really like her job. Our previous experience had been vey good this time not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Really nice meal options, fresh ingredients. Overall, great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Billings finest. Consistent service, wonderful modern food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall enjoyed our meal. My husband and I kept comparing to see who had the best food. It was a tough comparison.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with our 2 kids. Our meal was amazing and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My wife and I ate at the Fieldhouse for our anniversary. The food was exceptional. Our small plate of cheese & fruit was a real treat. The entrees were perfectly prepared and a delight to look at. Best dining experience in a very long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The Fieldhouse never disappoints. If you're having trouble picking an appetizer, I recommend the Brussels Sprouts, they are delicious! Another menu favorite is the meatloaf, it's better than your mother's! The staff is helpful and friendly. Travis has served us multiple times and is always wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch. The chicken wrap was fresh and light, mostly vegetables, which was what I wanted. Tasted my husband's meatloaf sandwich which was hearty with a good smoked honey flavor. Service at 1:00 pm was quick and friendly. We arrived just as two large parties were leaving. We had planned on brunch items (a variation of eggs Benedict and biscuits and gravy but they were out of both) but happy to explore lunch menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious! We were seated immediately at a very nice and comfortable table. Our server was very attentive and we got exactly what we ordered. We are pleased that we had the choice of breakfast or lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I started out with the meatloaf but swapped with my wife for the sirloin special. I found the meatloaf barbeque sauce to be too sweet but my wife loved it. I am seeing the sweeter side in many of the Billings restaurants so this may be a local flavor. The root vegetables were great and the wine list quite acceptable. Would go again but would like to wait for a seasonal change

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonferful dinner. Meatloaf was amazing. Will definitely be back. Best restaurant in Billings

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server Lauren was amazing! Really enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Decided to try somewhere new and what a great experience it was. The decor and ambiance were fabulous, and all the staff we interacted with were excellent. The food was awesome (no seasoning needed - in fact maybe could have backed off on the salt in the fried rice just a pinch) and the presentation was outstanding. Thrilled we uncovered this gem in Billings. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The restaurant's overall decor and ambiance was satisfying and inviting. Likewise, the serving staff never made our family of two small children feel unwelcome. The cheese-plate and bread were excellent. Fine combinations of quality food--especially the olives and olive oil-balsamic vinegar. However, my entree lacked in sophistication and sensory delight. The sirloin was tough and chewy. The fried rice was overly seasoned. The poached egg overly cooked. Too say the least, I left half of the $25 steak behind. The Fieldhouse has potential, but I will not be returning there for some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Yes, yes, and yes some more. Out of this world Meatloaf (nothing like your momma's meatloaf) and killer braised pork shoulder with Brussels sprout leaves. Wow!

Great location too. In the middle of downtown, but on the side with little traffic and plenty of parking around the streets.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The quality of the salads and entrees served to us on Valentine's Day was a major disappointment. The menu options, including the specials, were very limited, and the food itself was very bland and unimaginative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very disappointed. Ordered the scallops for $22, what I got was a half hand full of grain and 3 overcooked scallops that could have been covered by a nickel. The fried brussel sprouts were great as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I found The Fieldhouse online before traveling to Billings, MT. Their meatloaf looked amazing online and didn't disappoint.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Several beer selections from the menu were unavailable. Specials sold out at 7PM despite not being very busy. Service slow. Food unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It's hard to beat the fieldhouse for breakfast. The coffee is phenomenal and you'll find traditional menu items with delightful twists. I've eaten at the fieldhouse for lunch and dinner and it was wonderful but for some reason, when we choose where to go for breakfast, we almost always choose the fieldhouse. Reservations are not always necessary but we always make reservations because there have been times we would not have gotten a table otherwise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sunday Brunch at the Fieldhouse is a must. Wonderful service and top quality food. Great spot to slow down and enjoy a well crafted meal. I look forward to drying their dinner menu!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a nice brunch. Prompt and attentive service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

we love the Fieldhouse for brunch and a great date for my husband and I who don't get away in the evening very often. The menu this time was a little sparse and that was disappointing, hoping they add to it or at least spice it up some in the coming months.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I always enjoy the experience of eating at the Fieldhouse, and it really is an experience. I never feel rushed there, the service is excellent and it wasn't very busy the night we were there so it was nice and quiet and easy to carry on a conversation.

They were featuring two specials that evening and we each had one. I had a pesto pasta and my date had the ox tail with polenta. The polenta was probably the highlight of the dishes, but everything was very good. We also had a cheese plate to start. Our cheese was made in Bozeman. I honestly didn't know there were that many cheeses made in Montana. We'll be back to try more.

A great meal all around. It even seems like their prices have come down a bit since the last time we had dinner there, which was a welcome surprise. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always enjoy the Fieldhouse. The brussels are my favorite veggies in town. The burger was cooked perfectly and was so delicious. I had order envy when my friend ordered the special pasta, it also looked amazing. Our server was awesome; very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Great dinner out with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was amazing but our table was too close to the couple next to us. We could hear their entire conversation. If we would have had a different table I would have given 5 stars.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Our waitress was exceptional and the food was absolutely Delish from the appetizers to the main course! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Only complaint is the wine---The pour is on the light side!!! For $12 of more a glass i would expect 3/4 of a glass!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food with good service. Be aware that the salads are really small, for $ 7 we expected a bigger size. Wish the waitress would have told us something about this, else she was really good. and the taste of the food was delicious.
Atmosphere there is great.
Would go there again.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good as usual but out of several things but it was the day after Christmas . Waiter wasn't too into it however. It was a birthday so it wasn't up to usual standards

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love the relaxed atmosphere. The brussel sprouts and beet salad are a must! Everyone loved the chicken. Yummy deserts too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of our favorite places for brunch or dinner. As always, superb food, service, and atmosphere. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It's very good, but the portions keep getting smaller. My chicken didn't come with a starch, and my wife's steak had very little. Not sure we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our meals were delicious (meatloaf $17 and new york steak $36). I can't add to that! The food was just great! So was the service, very nice, friendly, accomodating. They have 1/2 off wine and beer from 5-6 p.m. with a good wine selection of bottles and limited selection of wine by the glass, still very good.

I think their prices are somewhat high but they are making an effort to source locally as much as possible (pretty hard to get fresh, local veggies in winter in MT).

If the prices were 20% lower we would definitely eat at the Fieldhouse more often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We really enjoyed the fresh homemade fair. Everything was delicious! Service was spectacular too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.