About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (77)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Good for a Date (64)
See All
Worth the Drive (54)
Hot Spot (52)
Authentic (46)
Open Kitchen (44)
Casual (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Fun (39)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Business Meals (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Family Style (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Late-night Find (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (12)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Historic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wait was over our reservation time b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 18 hours ago

The wait was over our reservation time by a lot but the food made up for it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

It was a mixed night at The Factory Kitc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a mixed night at The Factory Kitchen. We arrived with high hopes, given that Zagat rates the restaurant in the top 20 in LA, and other than the clam ravioli which was memorable only for its dryness, the food was very good. The crispy leeks and chickpea fries were salty and delicious. We also liked the handkerchief pasta with pesto. The acorn squash was sweet and fabulous. The North Sea cod was light and fresh, despite it's long journey to our table.

The service was disappointing, in fact it felt as if we were an irritation to our server. He was MIA for most of the night and it was irritating to sit and watch him off by the bar joshing with his colleagues while our wine glasses sat empty and plates lay uncleared. Were it not for the hostess, who was fabulous, we would probably have left after the first course. The check was delivered with a flippant 'take care', no eye contact, no smile, no pleasantries. The service really spoiled our evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Casual, upbeat, fun to watch the kitchen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Casual, upbeat, fun to watch the kitchen. Unusual and delicious food. Corkage ($20) is reasonable. Service was very nice but too rushed. Next time, we'll ask them to slow down between courses. A little challenging to find, but truly worth it. Suggest going with four people to enjoy the variety. The two of us shared an unusually shaped stuffed pasta with veal (was enough for 4 tasting) as our first couse, then osso buco as our main with an order of charred brussel sprouts. For dessert, we shared the apple crostata and the server kindly changed out the gelato flavor to one we preferred. It was a very happy birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Very rushed by server. To point of bein ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Very rushed by server. To point of being annoying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Nice place. Excellent food. Not crowded ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice place. Excellent food. Not crowded for lunch, or maybe it was slow that day. Anyway, it was very quiet. Good for talking business. My only gripe? Why do they charge $5 for parking in their lot, when there is no viable parking on this dead end street. I didn't even use the valet, as I parked in the handicap space (yes, I have a placard). Seems a bit petty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner reservations at 9pm we rec ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner reservations at 9pm we received a text stating our table was ready at 8pm we get there at 8:30 and they stated our table wasn't ready and the text message was a mistake. We weren't seated until 9:45!!!And then rushed to hurry up and order because the kitchen was closing. On any day this shouldn't be okay and especially not on Valentines Day. The salads were dry needed dressing, the pastas were yummy, desserts average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Came here for Valentine's Day Dinner. Lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for Valentine's Day Dinner. Lovely as expected. The prosciutto is a must!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favorite places to go for Ital ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

One of my favorite places to go for Italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever I want to have pasta I come to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Whenever I want to have pasta I come to Factory Kitchen. It's simply the best in Los Angeles. Not only are their pastas great, but their mushroom pizza is hands-down the best pizza I have ever eaten. I highly recommend the prosciutto appetizer - it's also great. Everything tastes homemade and the service is good too. It's in a cool out-of-the-way location so it feels like a hidden gem. A must go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came hear on a Sunday before Valentines ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Came hear on a Sunday before Valentines day to celebrate because my GF and I have a busy week.

The valet parking ($7) went smoothly. I made a reservation for us at 6:30PM. We had to wait in the crowded bar area until about 7PM. They comped one of the pastas ($20) to compensate for the extra wait.

Service:

The waiters are nice and give good recommendations on what to order for dessert.

Food:

The handkerchief pasta was my favorite pasta. The salmon stuffed pasta w/ clams was pretty tasty. The truffle pasta was just okay. The portions were good for splitting for two or even 3 people to try different dishes.

They ran out of the bone marrow entree so we settled for this cod dish with red potatoes. The fish was cooked tender and delicious.

The apple dessert with caramel ice cream was nice. I paired the dessert with a double shot chocolate caffeinated drink. Went well to keep me up for the drive home and till 3AM.

Total bill for 2:

($140) [tax, tip, and comp deduction included]

Afterthoughts:

I would probably come back again to try some of the dishes that I didn't try and to taste the handkerchief pasta again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went here for Valentine's Day date. Well ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day date. Well worth it. Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. We were 4 people and w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great experience. We were 4 people and we have appreciated the real italian kitchen from North-West Italy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overhyped. Food was ok and prices were $ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overhyped. Food was ok and prices were $$$! Strikes me as odd when an upscale has TVs on (distracting).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Awesome! Super quick service and the foo ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome! Super quick service and the food was great. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snooty hostess. No condiments. Terrible ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Snooty hostess. No condiments. Terrible food. One of the worst restaurants I've ever been to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Outstanding food. Excellent cocktails a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food. Excellent cocktails as well. Had to wait a half hour after reservation for a table, but restaurant came to us and comped us a salad for waiting. Service was very professional, as well. I love this restaurant, but would not bring anyone here who is bothered by noise levels, it can get very loud.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought my parents for their 38th weddin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Brought my parents for their 38th wedding anniversary. Exceptional meal, from service to food. We had several dishes and everything tasted great. Cocktails were excellent and out server was helpful in suggesting some of the entrees.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding. Our reserva ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was outstanding. Our reservation was at 2pm, so it was nice and quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So good! I recommend the truffle pasta!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

So good! I recommend the truffle pasta!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in LA. My favorite of al ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best restaurant in LA. My favorite of all. Love your food, staff , your hosts, waiters, bartenders and general manager.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with home made taste. Gre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Delicious food with home made taste.

Great service

Amazing wines

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Excellent service. A lit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. A little pricy but fair. Love the ambiance. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Factory Kitc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is our second visit to Factory Kitchen. The food is outstanding (and I mean really phenomenal), the hostess staff is lovely, warm and without pretension. We love the energetic vibe at the restaurant. We had a swarm of wait staff from the sommelier, to the back waiters, to the people dressed up (managers?).

The only negative was our actual server. He seemed very sour and put out - I will chalk it up to the fact that maybe he was having a bad day, but we were not a difficult table. We ordered drinks, appetizers, entrees, coffee and dessert. Very odd considering how terrific everyone else was at the restaurant. We will be back though. That handkerchief pasta is a must.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The pastas are outstanding always. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The pastas are outstanding always. The fish dish I ordered was mediocre, and arrived without it's sauce. The wine list is fabulous.

Our waiter forgot our vegetable course. We all had a fun time, but boy does it get noisey!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this restaurant and always have ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love this restaurant and always have a great meal. The manager is great and gives us personal attention.

I love the ambience which gives the feeling of a hot spot.

The prosciutto dish with the dough is delicious and the John Dory was equally as good.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was rushed. Entrees overdone. Very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was rushed. Entrees overdone. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was delicious- Our reservation was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was delicious- Our reservation was at 2pm and I guess they close at 3 so they really wanted to rush us- but was done politely. I had a request for a birthday cake at the end but perhaps this was forgotten from wanting to close up the kitchen and get us out... But food was amazing and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for good food in DTLA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was a bit of a difficult journey to g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was a bit of a difficult journey to get to this spot from my home in Venice but the signature dishes (handkerchief pasta, flat bread and the cannoli dessert) were excellent and helped me to forget the awful LA traffic. We also had the John Dory entree which was wonderful. Great dining experience. Gave them a little less love on the ambiance as it is a little spare from a design standpoint and the tables crowded for my taste. But that's a minor quibble.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this place and accept that it's ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love this place and accept that it's noisy. We try to come early if we want it quieter and less crowded. But the food is so good we come to matter what!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Tea came a little lat ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was amazing!! Tea came a little late for our dessert, but everything was still outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent rustic food and great service ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent rustic food and great service a great combination. A bit pricey but we'll worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic, that sums it up. This was our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Fantastic, that sums it up. This was our second time and my wife insisted on it for her Birthday.She is already addicted to the Handkerchief Pasta. Who wouldn't be? We had a smaller group this time and over ordered so everyone had many dishes to try. All plates were clean when they left the table. We also over eat and it was mentioned it would have helped if there was a dish we didn't like.

My wife ordered an extra Handkerchief Pasta just to take home and we had it the next night as a special dish in the dinner we prepared for our friends anniversary. They were impressed and cannot wait to go to Factory Kitchen. Maybe this Saturday.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I can say is Wow! Great food and not ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All I can say is Wow! Great food and not "stupid" expensive.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great food. Servers do their best. We ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. Servers do their best. We really enjoyed dining here. Quite honestly, we were trying to drown our sorrows after what this new US President was doing to our country so it was difficult to be happy (we apologize to your servers). Everything was magnificent . The only negative was the noise level and being seated so close to others. When you're old (like me, 58) its very frustrating. Maybe you can try to seat seniors to the outer edges and place the younger ones in the middle tables; just a suggestion :) I will never forget your prosciutto...the best!!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fourth time in a few yrs. Only one, New ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fourth time in a few yrs. Only one, New Years Eve, was poor, and a holiday prix fixe with everyone showing up at once led to a lock down of the kitchen. Every other meal was outstanding and the service even better. Both the general manager and the owner (Mateo) stopped by the table. The portions are large, and almost all should be split. We had scottona (similar to carpaccio), prosciutto, and frittura (all appetizers). Enough food that we took half the scottona beef home for the dog. The price, including two cocktails and tax, was $98, a fantastic value for the quality. Location is great in DTLA. It is fun noisy but not oppressively loud since the ceiling is sound absorbing. We could talk easily to each other and to the staff. Very diverse diners, from 20s to 60s (us), and everyone seeming to have a good time. Much better value than many other high end DTLA restaurants (Redbird, Church and State, Faith and Flower), and the equal to Bestia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a most enjoyable dining experienc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a most enjoyable dining experience with outstanding selections of authentic Italian delights. The ownership and staff try very hard to please patrons and always make them feel welcome. The fresh pasta dishes are to die for and as they are made freshly just prior to cooking they have a light and pleasing feel that quickly differentiates great Italian food from places that use dried, box-style pastas. The wine list is excellent and the dessert list palate pleasing. This restaurant has been and exceptional choice for great food since it opened and continues to impress with each trip, once again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, , Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible service. Waiter ignored us, oth ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Terrible service. Waiter ignored us, other then to take our order. Did not get part of our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

they were rude when we showed up at the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

they were rude when we showed up at the time we booked. apparently, they leave slots open on open table right up until they close. needs to be adjusted so they aren't rude to the last folks in the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great! One of my new faves

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great! One of my new faves

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.