About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
4 More
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
Fit for Foodies
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (195)
hot spot (101)
special occasion (86)
See All
neighborhood gem (85)
good for groups (77)
notable wine list (48)
great for lunch (45)
vibrant bar scene (26)
romantic (24)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food experience

Dined 6 days ago

Date night was great. The restaurant made the experince fantastic. The food and the service were exceptional. The location was fantastic as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

The appetizers and desserts were awesome ...

Dined 6 days ago

The appetizers and desserts were awesome! The main entrées were very good!!! My 2nd visit to The Factory Kitchen seemed to be a bit more expensive than I remembered from my 1st round. Yet all in all....a great family evening with an excellent service crew makes for a wonderful birthday!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for lunch. Unlike a previous ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Went here for lunch. Unlike a previous dinner experience, the service was attentive and the noise level was low enough to comfortably carry on a conversation. Food is terrific, particularly any of the pasta dishes.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hidden Gem in Arts District

Dined 7 days ago

Unassuming spot in the Arts District, great food and warm service. A little pricy so schedule for a special occasion!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Busy, little restaurant tucked away on a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Busy, little restaurant tucked away on a former loading dock. Was noisy but never had to yell across from my date. Service was excellent and food was delicious but we did get a taste of ocean sand in the octopus dish. Overall an awesome place for special occasions. Expect to spend $100.00 but we'll worth the rich flavors in each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service4

Food didn't meet expectations relative t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food didn't meet expectations relative to the price. Also, tables were too close together.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was great! We are definitely coming back!

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was delicious. Had eaten there mont ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Had eaten there month or two before for lunch and enjoyed the atmosphere then--probably because it was towards the end of the lunch rush so there weren't many others there. Dinner there on a Saturday night wasn't a place for a quiet romantic dinner. Tables are close together and it was a bit loud with all the usual restaurant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party had an incredible experience a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our party had an incredible experience at The Factory Kitchen. We were celebrating our graduation from USC and it made our special day even better. The food was superb. Among the best Italian to be had in LA. Great ambience and layout. Fantastic and swift service. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner Downtown Arts District

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We love the Factory Kitchen but the noise level is beginning to deter us. We have never understood why a restaurant has to play music over the voices of the patrons but last Friday night it was Rap -a loud beat, loud words. And the restaurant itself is what would be called "lively" in terms of peoples voices. The food is wonderful, the service is fabulous - just wish the noise could be turned down a bit. We'll definitely go back though.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was amazing. Their gnocchi topped the charts of any I've had. The wine selection was great and the staff were attentive. The biggest problem was the noise of all the people around. Other than that everything was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Very industrial and minimalist venue. A ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Very industrial and minimalist venue. Attentive servers. Exceptionally fresh ingredients but salad was super sized with greens and not enough of the good stuff (I.e. dates, etc.)

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good but high energy

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service, but very noisy and busy. Not recommended if you want to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Run, Don't Walk

Dined on May 8, 2016

1st time & I went for the hits: handkerchief pasta, all it's cracked up to be; still savoring it the next day.. Prosciutto all that, and more. Hubby & I split all plates right down the line (a pity, sigh). To the cannoli --so rich, it almost killed me. Hubby offered to eat my share right? No chocolate chips in cannoli (almost goes without say at this establishment), thank you! Great service: not too aggressive in grabbing your barely finished plates (like Republique, ahem). Families brought young children. Don't get that? Maybe for an early Mother's Day. Def a middle-aged crowd so if young & hip do Bestia nearby. I'll be back for those other pastas..

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Italian food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I come from an Italian family of restaurateurs, and I would highly suggest eating at The Factory Kitchen. Try the mandilli, the focaccina di Recco, and the prosciutto di Parma.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Authentic Italian

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful, authentic Italian cuisine. Genuinely Italian preparations and ingredients, not US Italian as practiced in the Northeast, Chicago, etc. Great wine list and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food And ambiance. Nice to see dow ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food And ambiance. Nice to see downtown LA in better shape! We had a great time and enjoyed everything. We will be back soon

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always Awesome!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Factory Kitchen never disappoints! Food and service are always outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service !!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food great service !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in LA

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

You don't have to travel all the way to Genoa for authentic italian cuisine. 2 outstanding dishes are the handkerchief pasta and the Dover sole. Factory Kitchen continues to be our favorite place in Los Angeles.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Simply Awesome, Service was exceptional from the start and throughout. Appetizers were beyond expectations. The home made pasta dishes were delicious. And to end with a Bill that was less than expected based on our number of dishes ordered was the cherry on top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

our first time

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

we loved Factory Kitchen; their version of flatbread was absolutely superb and their pastas are delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid dishes, very inviting atmoshpere

Dined on April 28, 2016

I have been wanting to try TFK for a while. After Mozza is not what it used to be, I have been looking for a new Italian place. This one is a solid hit. It is a cross between Mozza in its good ol'days and Osteria Mamma. Part homey, part foodie heaven. Only part I did not like as much was desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dtla gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a terrific dining experience from the staff, food and presentation. A+

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious Food

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been here only twice but the food is always delicious. My favorite dishes are the Modenesi and the handkerchief pasta. I tried the Cod recently and it was perfection. Just melts in your mouth with every bite. Definitely will be coming back to try the braised beef cheek. DELICIOUS!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Food, Could Use Sound Absorbing Walls

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've been here many times and the food is always great. The servers are very friendly as well. The only complaint I have is that the place is a little too noise to carry on the conversation. Although it is very common among great number of foodie restaurants to have bare walls and concrete flooring, the sound just bounces off the wall, ceiling, and floor making everything louder. That makes diners to speak louder and the things get louder and louder. The place has many tables in close proximity making it difficult to have some private conversation. Well, it is not as noisy as Bottega Louie.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I was suppose to receive 1000 points for ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I was suppose to receive 1000 points for this reservation, but only received 100 points.

food5
ambience5
service5

From the peperu (first course)... to the ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

From the peperu (first course)... to the mandilli di setta and the modenesi (second/pasta courses)... to the porchetta with a side of patata novelle (third course)... everything was delicious! In addition, the service was excellent!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Save your money and go elsewhere

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was bland. Ravioli was under cooked. The waiters/hostess lost our leftovers.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

We were greeted warmly and seated upon a ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We were greeted warmly and seated upon arrival. A cool restaurant without the attitude, is a welcomed change. Good food too!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

pleasant surprise

Dined on April 20, 2016

I am from the Southeastern US and found this to be an edgy part of town....don't try to walk there.. However cool vibe, excellent food, lovely wait staff, and great wine list. the handkerchief pasta was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We were disappointed with our experience ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were disappointed with our experience. After arriving 20 minutes early and being told we'd be seated closer to our reservation time (which was fine), we waited more than 40 minutes after our reservation time, only to ultimately be offered a choice between a table in the bar area, if we wanted to sit immediately, or an indefinite wait for the dining room. I wasn't impressed with the cocktail program -- weird, large drinks that weren't that great. The table service (in the bar area) was friendly but not particularly knowledgable regarding the wine list; no sommelier was offered when i asked questions about bottles. We had to work to flag people down for normal follow-on requests. We were comped a couple of things on our bill, presumably for our troubles -- which was a nice gesture -- but we neither asked for it nor were informed of it directly, so it wasn't exactly a gracious apology. The food was pretty good but not particularly special. Overall, not feeling it. I'll give it another try if occasion merits, but I won't go out of my way for it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our fifth visit and we have not ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This is our fifth visit and we have not been disappointed. food we have tried has been excellent, there is energy in the room and the service is excellent. (First complaint, this review f would not let me navigate on the first iine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The burrata was amazing! The pasta dishe ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The burrata was amazing! The pasta dishes are small, but it's great to get homemade pasta in LA. Place is loud and energetic but fun. My friend and I shared the burrata, a salad and pasta. Not an inexpensive meal, but a good experience overall!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Went there for lunch and was not disappo ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Went there for lunch and was not disappointed . Defiantly would try this place for dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4

I love Factory Kitchen, and always bring ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I love Factory Kitchen, and always bring friends there for the Mandili and Cannoli.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was outstanding! I had the clams and mussels one word amazing,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is fresh and creative with and ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The food is fresh and creative with and Italian flare. We tried several appetizers and all were exceptional. The entrees were a bit under par. My fish was too salty and the veal was undercooked, but definitely will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on April 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing1

Dined on April 6, 2016

I highly recommend The Factory Kitchen for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.