Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About The Factory Kitchen

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (95)
Good for a Date (60)
Worth the Drive (56)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (45)
Hot Spot (42)
Authentic (41)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Casual (34)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Fun (29)
Open Kitchen (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Seasonal (14)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (11)
Late-night Find (9)
People Watching (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Located in the factory district of LA, you may think you're on the wrong track but rest assured it's a haven and little jewel of a spot. Searched for a new place to dine with the hubby after a day at CA Science Museum and this didn't disappoint. Service was attentive, nice selection of pastas, salads, apps and desserts. Wine list offered a nice variety of Italian wines by the glass and beer options as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Factory kitchen maintains incredibly high standards and expertise for creating Italian culinary treats. This is in part the resultant of careful, involves management by the head honcho chef, Angelo, and his two active managerial partners, Matteo and Francine. Each of the pastas we had were especially memorable. We also had a veal T-bone, which not only filled the plate but possessed outstanding, delectable flavors. The wine list has also improved significantly over the last year, offering a full spectrum from relatively inexpensive, well chosen Italian wines to more expensive highly desired wines from almost all Italian regions. The restaurant is a bit loud, with a chic clientele, casually dressed, and young 20s – early 30s vibe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The wait time was pretty bad, however they made up for it by offering 2 complimentary appetizers. The food was excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at the Factory Kitchen numerous times before theater events in downtown Los Angeles. Although it can be a bit noisy later in the evening the noise level is moderate when we dine before a theater performance. The food and service is excellent and the wine list is extensive and contains many moderately priced options. I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was my 2nd time eating Factory Kitchen. The food is very good. The same can not be said for the service. The hostess barely acknowledges us when we walked in. I don't think our waiter ever spent more than 10 seconds at the table. Neither he nor anyone from management ever came by to ask us how our meal was. Dropped off the check without asking us if we wanted anything more. We had a reservation at 5:30 pm, so it was only half full. Staff seemed more interested in chatting among themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The factory kitchen offers very good Italian food in a cool atmosphere. It is a nice place to have dinner and hang out - a bit noisy, but a very special location. We would come back! Anna

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great exceptional food.... all the pastas we ordered we shared.... especially the pesto handkerchief and the truffle pasta.
Fun cocktails... poor drink service... Half in our group ordered a second round of drinks that didn't come until dessert time. The coffee tea order was also not quite right. This was an usual as I've been here at least six times .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our waiter wasn't friendly and it set a negative tone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My first time there. Food was excellent. The pasta made fresh while you watched was yummy!!
We loved all the dishes we ordered. Looking forward to going back and trying different dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Was recommended, but I guess it was not to my taste. The Lamb was good tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Must haves are handkerchief pasta, tradizonale, chickpea fritters and profiteroles.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The service was fantastic. Wine guy (I forgot his name) was very knowledgeable and our server was attentive. Food was delicious. The appetizers were huge, we could have stopped there but glad we didn't!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

4 of us went to celebrate a birthday none of us had been and were just hoping for a good time. Each dish that came out was better than the one before. we were very pleasantly surprised what a great meal it was and will come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We ended up sitting at the bar, and only getting drinks and apps, as we weren't as hungry as we normally are. The proscuitto app was great! Drinks were delicious too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Factory Kitchen used to be really good, but going downhill and picking up speed. The normally excellent pesto pasta was oily and mushy.

Worse than the sad food was the pressure to eat and get out. My soda glass was half-full when the busboy tried to remove it (less than 30 minutes after we were seated) asking "are you done with this?" My friend still hadn't been served her post-dinner tea when they brought the check - 37 minutes after we sat down.

The only reason this is getting three stars is that the staff really is very nice, the atmosphere is fun and my friend liked her food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

great food and vibe. handkerchief pasta and ravollini and fritters were standouts among many other delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Delicious interesting dishes. We skipped the entries and focused on the rest of the menu instead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a unique setting. Freshly made pasta!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Pasta wasn't anything special and was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Problem with bill. Was overcharged X4 times $ for wine. When bill was corrected, Manager was apologetic, but for a mistake of this magnitude, I felt he should have removed our 1 item of dessert from the check, or made a similar gesture. Otherwise I would have paid an extra $225, if I hadn't noticed. Had we not liked one item of food, I imagine that he would have comped the item, or some similar gesture. Surprising.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We highly recommend the Factory Kitchen. It was my father's birthday. We decided to do family style and share all of our dishes. We started with the mushroom focaccina which was light and delicious. All the pasta is made in house and we ordered 3 dishes to share. At first glance the pasta seemed pricey until we tasted them. The signature handkerchief pesto pasta is excellent, but we all agreed that the salmon filled raviolini with littlenecks clams, langoustine, and crustacean sauce was amazing. We ordered the saracena for desert, a variation of tiramisu with a buckwheat cake base instead of ladyfingers, that was very good. Then they brought my father a complimentary gelato for his birthday. This small gesture really put a smile on his face. We will definitely revisit the Factory Kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Yummy as usual!! Seriously the best prosciutto there is!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was my second visit here and it did not disappoint. My only complaint is how they sit there tables. In order to maximize seating they put 5 tops in tables that are normally meant for 4tops. Just because you add a chair at the end of table doesn't make it good for 5 people. Luckily we ordered lightly and did not over order like we normally do.

Either way it was a good place with good vibes .

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The staff was friendly and the food was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Outstanding food, delicious and beautifully presented. Service excellent, they clear and reset after each course. Each ingredient cooked to perfection.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

They sat us very late but gave us a couple dishes as consolation which was nice. The food all rated good but was consistently over seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is the 3rd or 4th time we have dined at Factory Kitchen and it has been consistently terrific! We keep going back to a couple of favorites like the handkerchief pasta and stuffed mini peppers but every dish we selected was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our server was great and we loved the pasta!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

4/5 Everyone raves about the prosciutto. It's quality prosciutto and good burrata/mozarello but not amazing.

4/5 mussels and clams + chick peas. I'm not sure what the chick peas are for. They don't flavor anything nor soak up the flavor of the soup. The soup was tasty. Good quality seafood. I

Focaccina:
5/5. Fior Funghi. The whole table liked it. It's a bit tangy which I didn't like but it's great to share.

5/5. The pastas were very rich but tasty. Next time, I need to balance the rich sauces with tomato-based ones. Casonzei is like a little gyoza with a rich sauce. Modenesi was a table favorite.

Service. Attentive. Our water glasses were always filled. The server was helpful and nice.

Ambiance: Great vibe but it's the loudest restaurant I've been to. You can only hear the person right next to you. You'll have to yell at the person across from you. Don't go there if you want to talk to anyone sitting more than 1 seat away from you. Or maybe just go for lunch. I've only been there on Saturday nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food, cocktails/ wine selections, and service were SUPERB!! Great for the gastro curious.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food tasted exceptional, as usual. However we were done with our meal within 45 min - very rushed. Even made a comment to the waiter and after apologizing handed us a dessert menu and asked if we were thinking about dessert. Hilarious after I had seconds before commented on how rushed things were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not as good as it used to be. The handkerchief pasta/ pesto is still amazing but a seafood ravioli was a texturally mealy filling of a genetic fishy-tasting mush. A saffron and peach infused cocktail was unpleasant. If one more server asked us if we were "still enjoying" our food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

After a bit of a spotty start the restaurant really delivered! A bit cocky not having salt and pepper shakers on the table and they opened a bit late, but the food was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Best Porchetta. Ever. Melting in your mouth.

Exquisite Tiramisu.

But, oh, is it loud in there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Went for lunch with a client -- it was absolutely fabulous -- food, service, even the parking attendants! Will definitely go back -- with my husband next time!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our second visit to Factory Kitchen wasn't as good as the first. Packed, table we wanted was "reserved" yet empty through 3/4 of our time there. Servers take your plate as soon as you clear final bite. Overall disappointing. Best thing on menu the prosciutto and mozzarella - wonderful. Should have stopped there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent and fun, food was fabulous and we did not feel we were rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our waiter was friendly, helpful, and recommended great dishes and wine.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Second time eating here -- we like the cocktails and the octopus appetizer along with the the prosciutto & puff pastry/stracciatella were excellent. Mushroom flatbread was yummy, but the special pasta (lamb ragu) was just okay. My recollection from last time were that the pastas were the highlight but this one was just okay. Maybe stick with the regular menu -- this was a special, and didn't quite arrive so special. $7 valet parking so be aware. Very few other places to park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.