Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About The Factory Kitchen

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (95)
Good for a Date (78)
Worth the Drive (65)
See All
Open Kitchen (59)
Special Occasion (53)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Hot Spot (49)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Authentic (46)
Fun (41)
Comfort Food (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Casual (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Business Meals (29)
Modern Decor (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Romantic (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Family Style (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Cozy (16)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

I dream about their 'handkerchief pasta' and it never ever disappoints. It's the first thing I order with drinks. One order happily serves two and they'll kindly divide it onto two plates. My favorite moment is when I watch a loved one try it for the first time. Such a simple dish done perfectly. It would be among the dishes I'd request for a last meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Was traveling through Italy last month and obviously the food was amazing. I've been all over Los Angeles and factory kitchen's pasta is the closest to what I tasted in Italy! If you love food you'll love factory kitchen. I can't imagine anyone writing a bad review about their food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Fourth time was NOT a charm. Impression is after careful review that some of the higher end seafood and meat offerings are not of the highest quality. For example the $22 pizza with wild mushrooms and the tiniest hint of squash blossoms is a tease. I don't consider (the chef obviously disagrees) cod or sea robin to be high end seafood. The veal chop I ordered was the toughest Ive ever eaten and raw inside. Desert had a clunker too a version of a tiramisu with an overwhelming buckwheat cake underneat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A really terrific meal from start to finish. Staff was knowledgeable and pleasant
James Stewart

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Mateo keeps making it better and better! I've been going since opening day.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant has wonderful authentic Italian cuisine. Everything is delicious. I usually nix Italian restaurants because being Italian, they are usually not authentic and the food is so-so. This is the exception! Great food, atmosphere and service! Will definitely be back when in LA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time here. Eat at sister restaurant- Officine Berera, love it. Unfortunately, our food was great, but kitchen got screwed up and our guests got their food after we had finished and decided not to eat because of being so upset. Restaurant removed some of the charges and brought over desert to say they were sorry....got home and realized they charged me for deserts not ordered and only removed some of the food charges which basically were not eaten. Will go back, BUT DEFINITELY NOT OUR FRIENDS.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the city. And they seem to only get better. We went with friends who had never been, and they loved it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always, this restaurant is on point: great food, terrific service and a great dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was absolutely amazing. Delicious food, great service, wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great drinks and pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Innovative food combinations, great inventive drinks and reasonable prices. Our server, Crystal, was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. I ate the scallops and loved it. My daughter a very picky vegetarian ordered the Pizzata and didn't like it. The restaurant was incredible. I explained that she was just one picky eater who was impossible to please. They insisted on removing the dish from the check. I thought the ambience was nice it is s little loud but that is expected in the open space concept.

Definitely worth eating at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Pastas were extremely salty--too salty to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sat at the bar (helps with the acoustics AND I like bar dining) and had a glass of one of my favorite roses, the Rosamara, and dove into the gorgeous cremosella - a salad of pea tendrils, green beans, and other greens with three generous balls of fresh mozzarella injected with crepe, I believe. Similar to burrata. The fried leeks and chick pea fritters another favorite. We didn't do the 24 mo prosciutto but it is an amazing celebration of prosciutto. Finished off with the casonzei, little pockets of love in a fried sage brown butter with bits of pork, and another pocket of love dish with prosciutto and a light touch of truffle.
Consistently delicious and great service to boot. A favorite spot in the Arts District.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I love their appetizers ( the flat bread pizza(s), prosciutto & salads) but I always struggle with the main course because their selection is very limited or the item on the menu is unavailable not because they run out. it is merely because they just did not have it to begin with. We have been there 4 times within the last 4 months but I still have not been successful with seeing Osso Buco on their menu. last time, we were there, Branzino was on the menu and even though our dinner reservation was rather early at 6:15pm but they did not have it available. I ended up ordering Cod which was delicious but some of our friends of 15 guests were not very satisfied with their food. With a little TLC to their main course menu, this place could be a magnificent dinning place.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We stopped here on out way to an event at Union station. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic as always. TheFactory Kitchen never fails to make a memorable meal and a memorable occasion. One of my favorite special occasion places.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

10PM reservation on a Friday night, I have dined there in the past. Ordered 2 staters, 2 Pastas and Veal Chop told waiter DO NOT RUSH THE FOOD. Starters were staggered perfect, Pastas came together so they were cold before we could split and finish them, Veal chop came on top of the pastas...RAW, not rare but RAW.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We came to the Factory Kitchen on the recommendation of a LA native who attended culinary school in Paris. Our experience was wonderful. The food was exquisitely prepared and the cocktail and wine selections fit our high expectations. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A wonderful go-to in the Arts District! Always delicious and fun place to dine with friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great Again! Second visit and another wonderful experience.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Some of the best food I have ever had! It is almost hard to describe and put into words how good this food was!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Came on a Mon. for our second time here, based on the delicious menu. Unfortunately even with reservations, advising our anniversary & with room only have full: seated us across from main door and maitre'd. Asked for table not so close and got pointed to table one over. Really? Immediately put a damper on rest of evening. Food was ok but exactly same choices and preparation as the year before; with limited (and pricey) selections, wasn't as thrilling as first time. The beignets for dessert were amazing. Service was otherwise impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Love this place I go allll the time!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Healthy, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

First time but we will return. The food was delicious- on the recommendation of friends we ordered the handkerchief pasta. It was excellent. Beyond the food what made the evening special was talking with Andrew the GM. After we finished our dinner, he offered to take us on a tour of their other restaurant Officina. Beautiful space with a slightly different concept. We look forward to returning to Factory Kitchen and trying Officina

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lively dining room, great service and delicious food. Handmade pastas are delicious, definitely order the proscuitto on the fried sage bread - worth every calorie.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had our first date at Factory Kitchen and enjoyed it so much we decided we'd go back a couple times a year. The salads are always fresh, the handkerchief pasta is some of the best I've had - ever, and I lived in Rome for many years. Try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is an excellent Italian restaurant with an innovative menu. My only caveats are that it is expensive and quite noisy - it is impossible to have a quiet conversation...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My new fave Italian joint in Los Angeles. Mucho authentico. The handkerchief pasta is a must order. Pizza was delicious. My only complaint was the cost of my glass of wine. I look forward to many more meals here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food here is always a home run! Everything is delicious! Whitney is a great server and always makes our experience exceptional!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic pasta! We shared the prosciutto appetizer as well which was amazing. Wine excellent selection, cocktails also excellent. Service great, seated soon after our entire party arrived on a busy Saturday night. Very noisy. Good lace to go to really enjoy the food and the wine but not talk with your fellow diners so much.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Knowledgeable service, comfortable dining room, great food. I would definetly recommend Factory Kitchen and return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The black label scotch was $26.00 my wife white chardonnay was $16.00 a little bit high for that kind of Restaurant, we are not in Beverly Hills or high end Restaurant to charge that much, any way I won't go there any more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Pesto almond hankercheif past dynamite
Trout or sole on point.
Brussels sprouts amazing.
Great wine list
Awesome spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very good food...staff could be more enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food but overpriced. I loved the area and the service was great. But the price was too high.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food is superb. Service is top notch. Love this place. Been here 3 times and always enjoyed it.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Lived up to all expectations. Great service and outstanding food. Loved all. Drinks are excellent, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.