Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About The Factory Kitchen

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for a Date (59)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Worth the Drive (45)
Special Occasion (39)
Authentic (38)
Hot Spot (35)
Business Meals (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Casual (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Seasonal (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
People Watching (11)
Romantic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Cozy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing like always! We keep going back because the food is exceptional. Service is also very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

I brought an old friend who now lives in New York and dines out regularly. He was suitably impressed by the appetizers: mandilla with almond pesto and the thinly sliced beets in bechamel-cheese sauce. The waiter's wine suggestion was excellent. And the location is q great way to show off LA's Arts District

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

I think there are two kinds of great restaurants, ones with inventive dishes and one with old standbys done with finesse and freshness. This place took the former path to greatness. Admittedly, I'm more of a "finesse and freshness" kind of guy so this place fell short for me from the get go. You've got to to be a bit of a foodie to truly love this place. The menu isn't too, too, out there but it's enough that if you're squeamish about enough things on the menu, you won't have much left to order. That was the case for us. We ordered a bunch of stuff for the table and about half of it was good, some even great, and the other half really didn't get eaten. The pizza (what they call foccacina, or something like that, but it is pizza) was the true standout. The rest, I could find something wrong with each - the pasta was overdone, the fritters were just a basket of fried stuff with no other sauce or veg, the porchetta was way too fatty, the cauliflower was underseasoned and dry,... you get the idea.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Been to Factory Kitchen many times. Would eat there every night if I could!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

It is expensive but it is worth it. Ate a ton because everything we ordered was AMAZING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We were a little late arriving for our reservation and were given no hassle or attitude at all, just a warm and friendly welcome.

Since we were dining early, the noise level was reasonable when we first arrived but as the place filled up, it became extremely difficult to have a non-shouting conversation.

The food was very good - cauliflower appetizer was especially good - but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Our food was very good and I would reccomend sharing the starters. We felt very rushed and our server really didn't give us the attention we felt we should have gotten. We ordered a cocktail and asked that our food not be brought out right away. Unfortunately the starters came immediately as well as our main course. Server never asked if we wanted wine with dinner but sadly we were still working on our cocktails while we ate our entire meal. I probably will not return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Factory Kitchen serves the most authentic Italian food in Los Angeles.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Loved, loved the handkerchief pasta! The hazelnut gelato was lovely as well. Wonderful experience and the kitchen was kind enough to send an extra bite of dessert to celebrate our anniversary (thank you!!).

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The pan seared trout was prepared very well, very fresh . We asked to leave out the salt and they did. The lamb meatball and beef tongue pasta was very delicious but a bit salty for me.
The hankerchief pasta and canenoli dessert were delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The salad and starters were fresh but lackluster compared to the rest of the menu. The pasta dishes are exceptional, truly exceptional and the star of the menu. The osso bucco was fantastic. Will be coming back when the fall menu is in full swing. The wine pairing suggestion from our server was spot on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great food in an old factory in the Arts District. Certainly worth going to again. Make sure you have the bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing! We started with chicken lover pate and tomatoes with arugula. They were fresh and perfectly balanced. We finished with my favorite handkerchief pasta which led to laughter from sheer joy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

AmaZing food, great service, mellow atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Delicious food, great energy, always a wonderful meal. Mateo is delightful and staff is spot on.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Nice place, but we were sat in the bar area which wasn't great. Before going, I thought it would be a similar experience to Bestia, but it really isn't. The food is good, not great (aside from from the prosciutto and the handkerchief pasta).

If you go there not expecting too much, you'll have a good night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We've been going here since they opened and always return. I've noticed a slight decline in the service and quality. We always order the Mandili handkerchief pasta as a starter and share it. It is their signature dish, and the creamy almond pesto is typically creamy and flavorful. Tonite it was a salt bomb. They redid it for me, but it was still heavily salted. Prior service seemed professional and assured. Now it seems a bit rushed. We'll try again, but I hope they tame the salt.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent service, hip decor in an industrial building. Non-alcoholic drinks were innovative and savory. Food was very underwhelming. The appetizer of baked beets gratin was excellent, however, the $32 coniglio (rabbit) was dry, tough and salty. My wife said that her pan seared pink snapper (dentice) $36 was also overlooked and dry. Deserts were good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Have eaten here several times and it will become a regular place for us. Andrew good manager. Vera at the front door is very professional besides being pleasant to deal with. The food is first rate and always has a few surprises.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

To loud, to expensive for what you get,not much selection of beer and they cannot make a Bloody Mary , food nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

$6 Uber drive from Bunker Hill for delicious lunch. Have to come back for dinner soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Sound levels almost deafening so conversations extremely difficult.. Otherwise outstanding meal with unusual pasta combinations. Packed on a Wednesday night in the eastern end of the Arts District.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I thought the food was good...not great and a bit too pricey for small portions that I expected to be WOW'd by. Atmosphere is eclectic and the service was great...even the valet service was great. The location is in the very cool art district...feels very NYC.
Overall...a good restaurant with a nice ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outstanding food good variety great service and the mandilli-pesto ribbon pasta is a must!

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous food was worth the noise level!
Everything from appetizers to dessert and coffee was great. Just sorry we couldn't taste more things. We all had pasta and clams and mussels and salad and bread pudding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The best pasta dishes anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

1st time diner. Went for a Birthday celebration. Very nice lively place. Good food especially sauces. Had to wait a little bit for table in spite of reservation but manager comped our appetizers which was a great gesture. Will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was delish.. the service was friendly, fast and courteous! Will definitely be coming back our next time to LA

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great handmade pastas with creative, tasty sauces.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was good and ingredients were seasonal and fresh, but everything was TOO SALTY!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent across the board including the apps, mains and desserts

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food amazing, real italian food.
The waiters were not so friendly , specialy with our kids

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food. Take your servers recommendations. Only downside is that it is very, very noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

First time here. Fantastic food but did find the turkey meatloaf to be overly salty. The calamari salad and tomato salad were great. Liked the handkerchief pasta. Amused that the manager or owner talked with some tables but not ours. If you are greeting tables, greet everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Consistently superb food. Offers great wine parings. Excellent job of pacing the meal to our preference. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It NEVER disappoints. Consistantly delish and out loud "YUMMMM". Noise level is high when it's busy, but still enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Seriously, it was not memorable... all of it. Not terrible but I wouldn't go out of my way to return. I wish them the best though.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great pasta, great service ...I had the pork belly too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Angelo makes the best Pocket Ravioli ever!!!!

All the food is delicious and fresh, always the best ingregients!! and great service, several servers all hovering over the table--in a good way...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.