Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.66mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About The Factory Kitchen

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (82)
Good for a Date (71)
Worth the Drive (61)
See All
Creative Cuisine (60)
Open Kitchen (58)
Hot Spot (55)
Authentic (52)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Casual (44)
Fun (43)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Modern Decor (31)
Business Meals (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Family Style (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (17)
People Watching (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Historic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tapas (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

It was my second time back at Factory Kitchen. I really enjoyed the food and the ambiance. The prosciutto and buratta was killer and our server was hot.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived at 8:50 for a 9PM reservation. They responded that they were preparing my table and it would be a few minutes and I could wait at the bar. Well there was one stool at the bar and there were two of us. When they came for me it was 9:25. By then we were having an appetizer and preparing to leave. Very disappointed in the 35min wait for a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

OMG! Consistently good with food you can not get any where! The prosciutto with burrata and sage dough is a dream.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service, the food was also very good. Thanks to the all the people who recommended the prosciutto - they were right - you have to try it. Fantastic!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to this restaurant many times since it opened, and I will be back many times more! The food and service are consistently wonderful, which is why it is always packed. If you haven't been here before, don;t wait any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was fabulous! Will return with others...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Must go to restaurant. Food is amazing! Don't worry about the drive or the location, it is worth the trek. Cant wait to go back. Only drawback is it is noisy and seating areas are close together, but don't let that stop you. Reservations a must on the weekends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Something in the kitchen was broken, filling the restaurant with smoke and preventing the restaurant from serving all their meat entrees. Nevertheless, our waitress was unapologetic and business-like, and declined to offer a discount/token compensation.

Given the dishes I wanted were unavailable, I ordered the oxtail pasta instead. It was outstanding, but the portion was small for the price point.

Primarily due to the chilly service, I likely will not dine at Factory Kitchen again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food but a little noisy. The best pasta in LA.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall a really cool place. You'll go there for the food not the neighborhood. The food was really good, kale salad was great and the ambience and waitstaff all really good. The only negative, the wine list was expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were a party of 5, and shared 7 dishes (including dessert); each was delicious and beautifully presented. We had a great time and left happy, fully satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Factory Kitchen is a favorite of our for its amazing northern Italian menu and extraordinary pastas. The Chef is superb and we so enjoy having the restaurant in Los Angeles. I wish you would come to Pasadena, the line-up would be to the Rosebowl! There are not enough adjectives for this fantastic restaurant, service and Chef......

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

the pasta is excellent, as is most everything on the menu. a first class restaurant with great ambience, service, you name it

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Lunch with old friends

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Nice food with good service, reasoning price, definitely a must-go restaurant in LA.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food and service. Everything we tried was good. We will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Wait staff is excellent. Service was quick clean efficient highly proficient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and space was lovely. Our waiter was not good. He forgot to enter our flatbread and made no effort to correct the situation. Drinks expensive for quality. We would still recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Kind of expensive, including the beverages, especially considering that a block behind the restaurant you can find yourself in Skid-row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was our first time here, and the food was delicious all around. Really loved the specialties -- the prosciutto and handkerchief pasta were both must-haves. As others have stated, the noise level is nuts. All flat hard concrete surfaces in a packed space. I'd love them to add some fabric hanging from the ceiling to help dampen the noise levels. You had to shout to be heard by people at your own table. That said, I'd definitely go back for the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous food - should not be missed!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Not really worth it. The procuitto pizza was very good but extremely difficult to cut through. The salad was good. My husband did not like the calves liver it was chewy and salty. Not going back too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Phenomenal, the simplest of ingredients made great. The handkerchief pasta a must. All the Italian white wines by the glass extraordinary!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I visited the restaurant for the first time. I was hosting a meeting with a potential faculty candidate . The food was great but it was very noisy/ made it difficult to have a conversation. Loved the family style eating concept.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 7, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Downtown LA, alongside Officine Brera. Matteo and Francine are engaging, chanrming hosts/owners, food is delicious and service is outstanding. Plus, you can actually have a conversation at the table without being drowned out by excessive noise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Whitney took very good care of us 4 and found us a good Italian wine. It's kinda noisy, especially for a Sunday at 5, but not crazy. Food is ridiculously good. 1923 Negroni is their only mixed drinks without acid and is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Absolutely delicious meal. The pesto pasta was phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pros -great food, especially appetizers and some entrees
Cons - reservation was for 6:30pm and we got seated at 7:30pm due to "high volume night" ; waited in the cold hallway outside since there is no receiving area with no seating and no beverage (water would have sufficed); restaurant seating was tight to the point that waiters dont have enough room to walk around our seats to lay utencils and food properly ( had to be passed through the person closest to the edge of the table); music was loud which was heightened by the lack of sound barriers; desserts were acceptable but not memorable

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was good but the overall dining experience was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The flatbreads and pastas were quite amazing but the mains, salad and dessert that we tried were very mediocre. The portions are also extremely small and the prices quite high (especially for the mains which we didn't love). The stand out dishes for us were the fiori and funghi flatbread ($23), mandilli di seta ($20), and fiorelli ($22). The kale salad was kind of dry and the apple crostata was nothing to write home about. We also had the cod which was really underseasoned ($36) and the sottopaletta (flat iron steak $37) which was quite salty. My husband and I both had 2 glasses of wine and our friends had 2 cocktails each and espressos to end and the meal ended up costing $360. To be honest, id rather dine at drago or bestia....I don't think I'll think back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is great and brings some true Italian taste. Parking is very convenient and the wine list quite rich. The wines are on the expensive side, though. The nice view of the kitchen adds a positive touch to the ambiance. The only complain is that on Fridays the place is very crowded and extremely noisy. To the point that after 8p it became very difficult to have a conversation, even with your neighbor.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great place, the setting and the service is excellent. And the food was authentic and delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. There was a little hiccup in the pacing between our starters and the mains, but the staff noticed (without our saying anything) and responded in a very professional and appropriate way. It did not detract from a great dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Portions too small and very , very expensive. Service employees rushed us to get us out. Too loud and not enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Always exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Probably some of the best food I've had in LA in 20+ years. The only thing that I found odd was that even though I had made reservations weeks in advance and for an early dining hour, we were seated right by the door, which was distracting because of all the people who kept entering the restaurant. Tables are also a bit closer than one would like considering the premium charged for food. Still, portions are ample and food is well-presented. I would recommend for special occasions and for a special night out.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious as usual! We enjoyed the mandilli di seta, barberosse gratinate, frittura, gnocchi malfatti, chicken pate, and of course, pannacotta for dessert. I do have one small complaint -- the crostini served with the pate was so crispy it actually detracted from the creamy texture of the pate. Perhaps it would be good to serve some plain baguette slices as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Delicious, great service, everything we ordered was great -
- cavolonero - tuscan kale, radicchio, ricotta salata, crostini crumbs, hazelnuts 13
- cremosella - creamy mozzarella, green beans, pea shoots salad, ligurian oil
- barberosse gratinate - oven~baked sliced beet casserole, melted asiago
- mandilli di seta - handkerchief pasta, ligurian almond basil pesto
- casonzei - veal, pork sausage filled egg~pasta, cured pork, butter, sage

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Delicious food. The prosciutto and burrata on the puffed sage dough is amazing. Salad was great and the medallion pasta was unforgettable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.