About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
4 More
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
Fit for Foodies
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (177)
hot spot (98)
special occasion (74)
See All
neighborhood gem (72)
good for groups (61)
great for lunch (45)
notable wine list (44)
vibrant bar scene (23)
romantic (20)
late-night find (13)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place. The food is truly amazin ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing place. The food is truly amazing, each dish is authentically Italian but with such unique flair. The handkerchief pasta is like something I've never had, intended to be just a filler but in reality was a true highlight to the meal. And the halibut was simply amazing. Cooked to perfection, served with asparagus and a tasty asparagus cream sauce. Love the arts district location, funky blue collar feel but definitely high end. Long tables make for an ideal spot for group dining, business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delightful, really tasty. M ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food was delightful, really tasty. My only hesitation was with the service, it felt a bit rushed and our server didn't really know about the wines nor did he seem to care. Once we got our food (which came up fast) we were never checked in on and although we asked one of the other servers for bread it was never delivered. They have a whole staff working together to make sure that you are well tended to which is great but it felt really impersonal. I prefer a warmer atmosphere when dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, very attentive w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service, very attentive waiter! Noise controls private conversations. But - definitely - worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

So great. Amazing food. Exceeded expec ...

Dined 7 days ago

So great. Amazing food. Exceeded expectations in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5

We will always go back to this restauran ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We will always go back to this restaurant ! The food is soooo good , enjoyed the Pizzata so much and their pasta is to die for!!! Great attentive service , waiters are very nice , reasonable corkage fee , good for big groups ! Energetic ambiance , ample parking although they want you to valet your car !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything that I've experience so far h ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Everything that I've experience so far has been beyond expectations. The Piazzata, Hankerchief Pasta and Porchetta were all amazing. The service and the way they treat customers is unpretentious. They seated my party and let them start ordering when my daughter and I were running late. This places blows away Bestia!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent, as was the food a ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was excellent, as was the food and wine. We really enjoyed everything and would recommend to our friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and helpful servers.

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and helpful servers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Factory Kitchen NEVER disappoints. W ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The Factory Kitchen NEVER disappoints. We have been here a half-dozen times now and each time the food and service have been stellar. We never tire of the focaccina and the handkerchief pasta - we always order these for the table as starters. We were celebrating my son's 22nd birthday (his first time at Factory Kitchen) and halfway through his meal he looked up and said, "Mom... you've ruined me. I can never eat Italian food anywhere else, ever again!"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was shockingly delicious! The ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was shockingly delicious! The pasta was far better than any meal we had on our last trip to Italy. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, but our waiter's ser ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great, but our waiter's service was a strange combination of brusque and inattentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 4 split the mozzarella sala ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our party of 4 split the mozzarella salad and the prosciutto starters which were both delicious. We each got a different pasta dish and all tried each others, all of our plates were cleared! For dessert the sever recommended the cannoli which were tasty and we also shared the tiramisu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Exquisite food with great presentation. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Exquisite food with great presentation. Only compliant was the courses came out a bit fast, so we felt rushed. I would suggest you order after each course. Didn't need to have entree as everything else was quite enough. Great sharing spot.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing. I can't wait to br ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is amazing. I can't wait to bring more people to this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is foodie and grazer heaven. Skip ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is foodie and grazer heaven. Skip lunch and bring your appetite. If you are four or more you will not be disappointed if you order at least 2 or 3 dishes from each menu paragraph in order to share. Each plate is deliciously hand-crafted and uniquely different. All the appetizers are divine right down to the chicken liver pate. The pasta dishes are so unique that you can safely order a different one for each person and not be overwhelmed by too much pasta. Save room for at least one main to be shared by two. The Oso Buco, which included 3 full marrow bones, was outrageous. Undoubtedly in the top five ever. The fish special was divine, a spiritual experience...light, tender, yet full flavored and satisfying. A perfect selection and inspired preparation. The restaurant is very loud, so bring your outdoor voice if you want to be heard. The ambience could use an upgrade, but is not off-putting. Everything else was top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great..but the service was abso ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great..but the service was absolutely amazing...I have eaten in the world's most famous restaurants and never had better service...Supervision of staff outstanding during the meal...Bravo to whoever runs this operation....

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good experience. Our reservation wa ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good experience. Our reservation was at 1:30 - a perfect time to have lunch in a much quieter environment Factory Kitchen can get very noisy during peak times.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We really felt welcome and the service w ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We really felt welcome and the service was exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance was impeccable. Th ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and ambiance was impeccable. The salmon is my new must have. My original must have was and will forever remain the Mandilli di Seta. It's perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, fresh hand-made pastas a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful food, fresh hand-made pastas and friendly, attentive service. The only drawback is having to go through skid row tent city to get there. Certainly an adventure. They do have an attended parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

second time for lunch......great! Waite ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

second time for lunch......great! Waiter introduced us to a new pasta...foccacini is great! would not spend time in LA without eating here!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely spot for Italian food. Stand ou ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Lovely spot for Italian food. Stand out dishes were tomino da padella (seared soft-rind cheese), mandilli di seta (handkerchief pasta), and gnocchi malfatti. All incredibly delicious! The other dishes we tried were very tasty, but not earth-shattering. We tried the cannoli and the bigné for dessert, and they were fine but didn't wow me! Not as good as the cannolis I remember from the Italian Market in Philadelphia (though the memory does tend to romanticize). Next time I'd like to try a salad as well - a table near us ordered one that looked beautiful. Service was great! The ambiance is nice, though a bit loud. It's really fun to watch the chefs in the open kitchen, especially when they're rolling out pasta! Definitely worth a visit for the pasta!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Good service. Had to wait a bit for our ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Good service. Had to wait a bit for our res. Fried leek app was great. A touch salty as was the signature dish as well as the gnocchi. Very noisy but cool space.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Factory Kitchen is a place for a creativ ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Factory Kitchen is a place for a creative and delicious meal. The wait staff are really helpful in ordering and are good natured adding to a great eating experience. The Four of us all loved everything we ate and other than the high noise level, all was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

Service was good. The dish we enjoyed mo ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was good. The dish we enjoyed most was the mandilli di seta. Everything else was just ok. We ordered the foccacina, mandilli, modenesi, porchetta, vitellone & tiramisu. Some diners compared this to Bestia. They were way off. Our server recommended a wine which we found too light.

food5
ambience4
service5

Very fresh approach to traditional dishe ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Very fresh approach to traditional dishes.

food5
ambience4
service5

Anyone who has not taken the plunge to g ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Anyone who has not taken the plunge to go a bit out of the way downtown and get out of the west side is missing an incredible dining experience. The food here is special, especially the pasta. Had the pesto pasta and the Gnocchi with wild boar ragu, wow! Had the John Dory, very good even if a bit pricey. Corkage reasonable at $20 too. Only wish this was closer to the end of the Expo line at 7th street.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous order prosciutto and any pasta. ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Fabulous order prosciutto and any pasta. The salad with arugula and oranges is so tasty. The berry tart wonderful

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Why was my left over bag on the floor?

Dined on June 2, 2016

We booked for a table for 2 on a early weekday night, upon seated I let them know we are celebrating our anniversary and to try the place out the first time. It was early and there were only 3 tables including us and 1 guest at the bar. Serving staff were standing in groups chatting, and it remains about the same until we finished. There were multiple chances that the server or the manager can engage with us, but they chose to chat amount themselves. Bread basket was not offered but was brought to the table after we asked. Food were towards the salty side. We were still hungry but were not able to finish the food as they were so salty. The left over was boxed up. We were given a numbered card to claim our bag of left over on the way out. When we were on our way out, we gave the card to the hostess, only to be told that, "it's right there. " and she point to the front of the desk, on the floor, thats where our left over food is, left on the floor the whole 20 minutes, waiting for us. I was very upset, but chose to just leave as it was our anniversary and I didnt want to ruine the evening. I could easily kept the bag with me at the table. I dont understand the policy of getting a number for you to keep my left over for me if you dont have the space for it and decide to leave it on the floor. I hope someone can get back to me regarding this. Overall, I was not impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic. The pastas and the service were superb.

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

ALso, the one cocktail I tried which I believe was the gran barbarrasso (not exactly sure how to spell it) was spectacular. The server(s) that were assisting us did a marvelous job as well. Job well done, I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Factory Kitchen not what I remembered

Dined on May 30, 2016

I have been to the Factory Kitchen previously and really enjoyed it. Took a friend for her birthday and they had our table ready on time. The restaurant was busy. We ordered multiple items and shared. I salad with goat cheese,dates,radish mixed greens. There were 2 small pieces of date and we requested more. The waiter brought some. The dressing was almost non exisitent. We ordered the flat bread with prosciutto an it was the best dish of the evening. Very fresh and not salty. We ordered a skirt steak that was 37.00 and ok. We had a seafood ravioli that was not memorable. The filling was dry and not creamy. The dessert was tasty. We had the cannoli that were on point and a meyer lemon panna cotta that was more pudding. Tasty but not the right consistency All in all good but not exceptional like I remember

food5
ambience4
service4

Interesting menu. Very helpful server. D ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Interesting menu. Very helpful server. Delicious meal. Will definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a great dinner here. The noise level is high here, making it necessary to almost yell across the table. The service is efficient and we liked the waitress's suggestions. The food was nothing short of delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whatever words I will write will not be ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Whatever words I will write will not be able to provide the required justice owed to the Factory Kitchen and her staff. After a long and wonderful day my girlfriend and I had out first lovely night out in months, the Factory Kitchen was a huge part of this. Upon arrival we were promptly seated with menus placed in front of us. When asked for water we answered yes and a bottle was brought to our table, more often than not the bus staff or waiter would have my glass topped off. The first course we ordered was the Ortolana which was an amazing salad, fresh greens championed with flavors of dates and a champagne vinaigrette. Although my girlfriend wasn't too fond of the quantity of goat cheese, the flavors it produced were outstanding. We would then order Casonzei which to be quite honest seemed to ooze all of the flavors it punched with, I'd never seen this type of stuffed pasta and must learn how to make some. Our last main course was the Mandilli de Seta, a rather neon green unassuming dish, the pasta was delightful and the pesto was a complete surprise and I must say a complementing flavor to our previous dish. I paired the Casonzei with the Nero D'Avola a lovely dry red. My girlfriend paired the Mandilli with the Arneis a dry white. We then shared a Bicerin to finish our meal, a layered espresso with chocolate on the bottom, it was rather amazing. The highlight of our weekend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The Factory Kitchen had been highly reco ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Factory Kitchen had been highly recommended by a friend but unfortunately our experience was sub-par. Cocktails were decent, but by no means exceptional by today's standard. The starters (a salad and a flatbread) were good, but the pasta we ordered, which was supposed to be the chef's specialty, was bland and cold. We actually sent it back and the second time it was bland and warm. Visually, it was unappetizing, and when you've been steered away from another choice to try the "specialty of the chef" you expect it to be something pretty amazing. In another situation, and at a lower price point, it still would have been a disappointment, but in this case it was a major letdown. I was hoping that our main course, braised beef cheek with marrow on polenta, would save the day, but unfortunately that was not to be the case. Again, bland. I don't know how you make braised beef cheek with bone marrow come out bland, but somehow they accomplished it. We left without trying dessert. The wines we tried were decent, but nothing special. This place had been compared favorably to Bestia, which of course had a two month wait for a table on a Saturday night. Unfortunately the only thing that was similar to our experience with Bestia was the bill. My recommendation would be to skip The Factory Kitchen and hold out for a reservation at one of the many better restaurants in town.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

Date night was great. The restaurant made the experince fantastic. The food and the service were exceptional. The location was fantastic as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

The appetizers and desserts were awesome ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The appetizers and desserts were awesome! The main entrées were very good!!! My 2nd visit to The Factory Kitchen seemed to be a bit more expensive than I remembered from my 1st round. Yet all in all....a great family evening with an excellent service crew makes for a wonderful birthday!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for lunch. Unlike a previous ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Went here for lunch. Unlike a previous dinner experience, the service was attentive and the noise level was low enough to comfortably carry on a conversation. Food is terrific, particularly any of the pasta dishes.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hidden Gem in Arts District

Dined on May 20, 2016

Unassuming spot in the Arts District, great food and warm service. A little pricy so schedule for a special occasion!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Busy, little restaurant tucked away on a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Busy, little restaurant tucked away on a former loading dock. Was noisy but never had to yell across from my date. Service was excellent and food was delicious but we did get a taste of ocean sand in the octopus dish. Overall an awesome place for special occasions. Expect to spend $100.00 but we'll worth the rich flavors in each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.