About The Factory Kitchen

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (67)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Worth the Drive (46)
Hot Spot (41)
Special Occasion (39)
Authentic (37)
Fun (36)
Casual (34)
Open Kitchen (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Family Style (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (13)
People Watching (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Tapas (6)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vegan (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service and clearly a skilled kitch ...

 
·Dined 20 hours ago

Good service and clearly a skilled kitchen but the 3 dishes we ordered were consistently over salted. It was our first time eating the so may have been aberration. Also cannoli had excellent shells but the filling was almost there but over sweet. My cannoli reference is always NYC's Venero's on 12th St. So the bar is high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is amazing! Can't get enough of ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is amazing! Can't get enough of this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fourth or fifth time there – this vi ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our fourth or fifth time there – this visit we brought three newbies who now love it as much as we do! Kept raving about the food all weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent !! Great busines ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently excellent !! Great business lunch restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Factory Kitchen was fantastic! Food ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The Factory Kitchen was fantastic! Food is excellent. Service is wonderful. Great energy in the space. I will be back for sure!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was prepared really well. All ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was prepared really well. All fresh ingredients. Service was great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Manager had a poor attitude :(

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Manager had a poor attitude :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Second time but haven't been for quite s ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Second time but haven't been for quite some time. Friends hadn't been and so I was happy to return having discovered both the handkerchief pasta with pesto and a now favorite Rose the first time around.

Three of us went heavy on the starters and I gotta say, they really knocked it out of the park on these alone. The creamy mozzarella with beans, greens, olive oil was so deliciously simple. The way things should taste. Then the frittura of leeks and socca fries makes me want to get an entire garden box going stat with leeks (and garbanzos for that matter). The beet casserole with asiago was a great play of the sweet/salt of the beets against the cheese. And, finally, almost a signature is the loving mound of prosciutto with a lightly fried dough and another perfect dollop of cheese. I didn't get the sage in the dough but it was delicious nonetheless. We finished with the handkerchief pesto and the little pockets of sausage love with pancetta and sage.

The highest quality ingredients prepared in straightforward clean cooking allowing the food to shine. And the service was great too - warm and helpful but not cloying or obtrusive. And the front of house went above and beyond without any prompting. Made a great meal even better. Not lost on us. I will be back...far sooner this time I'll tell you that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as always. My friend ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was amazing as always. My friend loves garlic, and asked for chopped garlic on the side with his handkerchief pasta. The waiter refused. We all it was strange. apparently the manager of someone stepped in and when they brought his order, the manager brought a little dish of chopped garlic. We understand this is a signature dish, but it also nice to see that accommodation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great find. Great atmosphere. Great serv ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great find. Great atmosphere. Great service! And Italian food! Highly recommended !

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was better than fabulous...handkerchi ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

it was better than fabulous...handkerchief pasta was soooo awesome...great meal and then off to the theater...

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place to eat, lively but not t ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic place to eat, lively but not too loud. Food was 10/10. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time I ate at Factory Kitchen ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The first time I ate at Factory Kitchen was for a lunch meeting and it was really good. This night was New Years Eve and it seems that the preperation was rushed and the kitchen seemed overwhelmed. I might come back for lunch but never agin on a holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

i wanna come here again when i come to L ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

i wanna come here again when i come to LA.

Food is good and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt, Factory lichen is prepa ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Without a doubt, Factory lichen is preparing the best authentic Italian food in LA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, loud hot spot with tasty food. We h ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun, loud hot spot with tasty food. We had a reservation for 7:45 for 3 but still had to wait more than 30 minutes for our table. We had drinks in the bar but it was awfully loud and crowded for conversation. Food was very good but there are many other Italian restaurants in Cali that can compare.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding restaurant experience. Gre ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding restaurant experience. Great food and exceptional service. Will repeat as soon as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They know how to take a reservation but ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

They know how to take a reservation but they don't know how to keep a reservation. Reservation for party of 8 was at 8 p.m. Didn't get seated until 8:45 p.m. Service was cursory at best.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I tried every dish and I loved every bit ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

I tried every dish and I loved every bit. The octopus and calamari was divine. I had the salmon filled ravioli and it was full of flavor. No disappointments all around. 🙌🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A standard hipster palace with some outs ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

A standard hipster palace with some outstanding dishes, especially pastas. Fish entrees were a little dry & not very tasty. Wine list filled with bottles you never heard of at doubtless v high markups. Spirits are decidedly high-priced. $24 for a shot of Blanton's? Next night same drink was $18 at equally hip & noisy Tasting Kitchen in Venice. Stick with pastas and tasty desserts and you'll be fine. Good if you're near downtown, but not worth the drive from the Westside. Welcome to L.A.!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Our croup included varied palates, from ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our croup included varied palates, from vegetarian to athlete. Everyone was excited about the menu choices they had. Great coctails to go with. Conversation and a great dining experience!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place.... Great salads, pizza, pas ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great place....

Great salads, pizza, pasta!

Fun ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a late lunch. The staff was ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went for a late lunch. The staff was helpful, the service was prompt, and the meal was delicious. I wish I lived closer....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family Christmas dinner

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Family Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was a bit off and so was the men ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was a bit off and so was the menu; did not get the attention that I have gotten in the other two times I dined here. A bit disappopinted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great restaurant. A little too noisy. Th ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great restaurant. A little too noisy. The handkerchief pasta was delicious. The pepper stuffed was amazing. Canopus not good. Why marmalade

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the vibrant vibe and amazing food!

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love the vibrant vibe and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An interesting case. The food is truly m ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

An interesting case. The food is truly marvelous; inventive and nurturing. The noise is horrific—perfect for dining alone. The dining room offers no repose; the space was not released to be enjoyed; instead, hammers nailed tables into position in desperate accordance with presumed economic determinisms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Just sublime. The food, the staff, ever ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Just sublime. The food, the staff, everything was fantastic! Will definitely be back again. The handkerchief pasta with that delicious pesto was lovely...all of us left nothing but clean plates. The Factory Kitchen is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our pre-theater dinner, and a ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed our pre-theater dinner, and at that early hour, it was not particularly noisy, so we did not suffer any of the din referred to in some of the reviews. The food was delicious, and the servers were particularly nice, making a special effort to have our dinner served so that we would arrive at the theater in plenty of time. The atmosphere is friendly and the food was a pleasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremely disappointed. Watered down dr ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Extremely disappointed. Watered down drinks. Bland, oily, overpriced food. Horrible service (delivered the wrong food twice. Put our food on another table, then gave it to us).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Factory Kirchen never disappoints. The p ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Factory Kirchen never disappoints. The pastas are amazing. The service is great. You must order the handkerchief pasta...it is as good as you've heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super fun vibe and excellent food. The ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Super fun vibe and excellent food. The beet lasagna was delicious and the vegetable sides were outstanding. The bartender was super accommodating and we all had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant!

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

My favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food I've ever had in m ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Some of the best food I've ever had in my life!! The veal gnocchi. SO AMAZING. The handkerchief pasta with the walnut pesto...really good too. The drinks were delicious as well. Just go eat here....its ridiculously amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice handmade pasta cooked al dente and ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Nice handmade pasta cooked al dente and well-sauced. Tasty. Waiter was decent. A bit aloof. But overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The Factory Kitchen totally blew me away ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Factory Kitchen totally blew me away. I had heard good things but have a gluten intolerance and though lt - this is going to be difficult. I was so completely wrong. I ate a speck wrapped swordfish that is quite simply one of the best things I've eaten. It was salty, rich and perfectly cooked. I haven't stopped thinking about since I went. My colleague had the home made pasta with pesto and raved about it. The salads (one kale, one with dates) were very delicious but not outstanding. But the swordfish made up for the excitement that lacked in the salads. And I think the same is true of the pasta.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious. Innovative take o ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Innovative take on Italian. Great restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait for our table. Didn't get seat ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Long wait for our table. Didn't get seated until 25 mins after our reservation time (we were 10 mins early). Hostesses were not nice about the wait and were quite rude. We're not made whole by the restaurant and waiter made no mention of the wait and was not helpful thereafter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a very nice evening at this venue ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a very nice evening at this venue. the food was creative

and the wait staff did well despite the very busy evening

The flatbreads and pastas were especially good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.