About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
Fit for Foodies
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (149)
Special Occasion (81)
Hot Spot (71)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Good for Groups (40)
Great for Lunch (38)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (20)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1021 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoyed the Factory Kitchen. We ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really enjoyed the Factory Kitchen. We had been here before. At first, I was a bit put off as they were packed and not ready for us when we arrived. Felt like it was going to take a long time to be seated...but in fact, in 15 minutes after the reservation, we were seated at a great table that was a bit away from all the noise. Service was great. Food was just delicious. We all had a really lovely evening and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best places to eat in Los Ang ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best places to eat in Los Angeles right now. Everything is excellent.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service was fantastic. Ever ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was fantastic. Everything was prepared to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first time at Factory Kitche ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time at Factory Kitchen, and I didn't know what to expect - parking on Friday night was easy, although they also have valet. We arrived a little early to our reservation, but were able to get some wine at the bar and sit at a bar table when another party was seated. It's a very intimate place with little embellishment, but we didn't feel cramped at our table at all. And...THE FOOD. Oh my, the food. Factory Kitchen blows Bestia out of the water, and our table was unanimous on that assessment. I'm a pasta fanatic, but you absolutely must start out with the prosciutto - it looked strange upon arrival, but every bite of the sage dough served with it was delicious. We ate the mandilli (our server told us Jonathan Gold loved it, and I can see why! Flavors were fresh and bright), modenesi (omg I wanted to eat a pound of it), and casonzei (so flavorful yet not heavy at all). All pastas were perfectly cooked and the sauces/accompaniments were perfectly proportioned. The menu changes daily, and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value for higher end italian. Howe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good value for higher end italian. However, the service was way too fast--felt like we were rushed so the table could be turned over. Loved the fresh pasta. Definitely recommend it--but next time would request the pace we prefer.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Have eaten here many times. Wonderful a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Have eaten here many times. Wonderful all the way around. Unique food that actually taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Great value. One of the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food. Great value. One of the best places that we have tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

nobody makes this handkerchief pasta w s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

nobody makes this handkerchief pasta w such a light pesto sauce better than this people!

great menu beside this amazing pasta!

great ambiance! bravo

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the food especially the handkerchie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the food especially the handkerchief pasta! I love this restaurant.

It is too noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Factory Kitchen is consistently great It ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Factory Kitchen is consistently great Italian food with an extensive menu and dishes you don't find elsewhere.

Their focacina is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is overhyped, in my opinion. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This place is overhyped, in my opinion. I liked the "cool industrial" vibe of its interior, but the food is overpriced and severely lacks refinement. And the service... - well it leaves much to be desired. Nevertheless, the restaurant was packed (which might explain the poor service - our waiter constantly kept forgetting things...). The place feels very noisy and busy. Not exactly the best of atmosphere for food at that price level.

But let's start with the appetizer - chicken liver pâté. It had a nice and mild taste but it was just a pot of liver pâté and some thin slices of toasted bread. Nothing else. Can we please be a little more creative than that?

Then the pasta dish - Modenesi egg pasta. I do like rich (French and Italian) food, but this one was a little too much. The stuffed pasta itself was on the dry side, but drowned in too much cream and oil. The truffles on top just kicked it over the edge - and not in a good way...

Then we tried the Porchetta roast, a very trendy cut of Pork these days. We've had wonderful and creative dishes involving pork belly, but the version Factory Kitchen serves is not one of them. We got a pile of 4 giant slabs of extremely fatty (and not very well seasoned) pork belly roast. The roasted fennel and root vegetables underneath were drowning in fat. I have rarely seen something as uninspiring und unappealing for the price of USD 27.

To be fair, the Pannacotta we had afterwards left us in a good place. It was excellent.

Maybe we should have gone for fish dishes instead, but a place, which is that popular, should succeed on every level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I've never been disappointed at FK:the f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I've never been disappointed at FK:the food is inspired and amazing. The service is spot on without being intrusive. My favorite restaurant in LA!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. The food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. The food never disappoints. Pasta made right in front of you.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good, but way overpriced. S ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was good, but way overpriced. Service was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The Pesto is a must! Everything else wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Pesto is a must! Everything else was delicious as well. Best Italian food I've had in LA (closest comparison to my favorite meals in Italy).

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service! Our o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food and great service! Our only issue was that it is quite loud. We went on a busy Saturday Night, so it may not be as bad at lunch or on a weeknight.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Paprdelle with oxtail was exceptional. P ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Paprdelle with oxtail was exceptional. Pizatta was ok not great go with the beat casserole. As far as desert bread pudding not great the beignets were terrific. Overall for was very good and the place had a fun vibe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fresh food, great menu, superb and energ ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fresh food, great menu, superb and energetic staff. The place is very noisy on week-end nights. Really like the calmer lunch time and off peak week-nights. Still our "Go-To" downtown favorite!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I brought a friend to the Factory Kitche ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I brought a friend to the Factory Kitchen for her birthday. We had an early Saturday reservation. The tables were seated very close to each other, so when the place filled up over the course of an hour, it was almost impossible to hear each other through the din of the noise in the place. Our waiter seemed harried. We put in an order for 4 dishes. Two came fairly quickly, but he seemed to forget that we had ordered two others. We asked for the 3rd and 4th, one came, and then we had to remind him of our order for the 4th. I wondered what the system was for putting in orders.

The food itself was good and well-presented, but the environment was so off-putting that we left before ordering dessert, and I would never return to this place nor recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

The staff is wonderful; helpful, unobtru ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The staff is wonderful; helpful, unobtrusive, upbeat, just great.

The food, especially the pasta, is on par with the best in LA as well as in Italy.

We eat out a lot, most often Italian. Some of our favorites are Gusto, Angelini Osteria, John and Vinny's, Mozza and in NY, Felidia. Factory Kitchen rivals these wonderful places, and is a bit less expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Factory Kitchen is always spot on in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Factory Kitchen is always spot on in taste. Try out the Prosciutto, Peperu, & Modenesi.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best place dtla. Mateo is awesome

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Best place dtla. Mateo is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heard a lot about this place. Food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Heard a lot about this place. Food was good but service was poor. Surprised that a place like this did not have more personalized service like, say, Bestia. Server took little time to explain recommendations. She even seemed annoyed as we tried to choose being first timers.

We were celebrating my wife's 50th and the service ruined it. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The octopus and squid appetizer was very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The octopus and squid appetizer was very refreshing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I invited my son and his wife to celebra ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I invited my son and his wife to celebrate his 28th birthday we have been to this restaurant before and our experience was very memorable thanks to the waiter name Tim who waited at our table making excellent suggestions, this particular time we were waited by Jessica (I maybe mistaken her name) anyway we brought our own bottle of wine but we wanted to have a few cocktails before opening our bottle we asked for a few suggestions but our waitress does not know the menu other than one plate so we decided to start with cocktails we had the Pesca, the Primavera (this is fantastic) Corona Beer and the Rosarito with the flat bread, pasta and the prosciutto these are a magnificent appetizers as we continued to eat our appetizers we tried to order more cocktails but our waitress was “MIA” I was not happy with my Pesca when I saw the host or someone seating another patron I asked him to please change my drink for a Primavera which he did in a very pleasant fashion we continued ordering more plates but my waitress was never there the pasta for my grand son arrived after we all had finished our meal the waitress never gave us a chance to order more cocktails I was very please with the food unfortunately the service SUCK I regret not ask for a different server but at the same time I didn’t wanted to spoil my sons birthday I will comeback to The Kitchen Factory anytime I love their food but I will definitely request not to be serve by this same server ever again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

Waited 45 mins for a table with a reserv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Waited 45 mins for a table with a reservation of 9:30. Finally got seated at 10:15. When my girlfriend (who was at a 9.5/10 of hangry at this point) went to order one of the few items that meets her dietary requirements (seared ahi), they were "just out of it". I imagine it was available at 9:30 when our reservation was. Was the food great...yes for sure. Did they comp two of the cheapest appetizers for us? Yes. Was it frustrating standing around for 45 mins after making a reservation so that wouldn't happen. For sure. Unfortunately, almost everyone who was there with us was in the same boat - 45 mins to an hour wait past reservation. My tip? Make your reservation for earlier than 8pm or take your time arriving for your reservation past that. Come prepared to sit at the bar for while. Management tip? This seems like a fairly easy solve. I'm happy to do a time study on capacity vs. demand and create a reservation cap based on peak hours and table flow for you. Let's make you good restaurant great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I had made a reservation at 9 pm. They d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had made a reservation at 9 pm. They did not seat me until 945. I was offered 2 free appetizers. However one was great and the other was ehhh. The worst ravioli I have ever had. I am a VIP open table member and I hate waiting for a table. Check my lifetime points !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The best pasta I've eaten in Los Angeles ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The best pasta I've eaten in Los Angeles! Plus, you can see them making it in front of you, which really adds to the authenticity of the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a reservation at 9pm for 2, arrive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had a reservation at 9pm for 2, arrived 10 minutes early and checked in. Hostess stated the table wasn't ready and to wait by the bar. Checked in multiple times with her, but did not get seated until 9:45pm. It was ridiculous to wait almost an hour when even with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Found this restaurant on the Internet . ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Found this restaurant on the Internet . Went on line and read about it.

The food was fantastic! The wait staff was average no excitement no real conversation - he was cold to us.

Will return based on the great food but not the service.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Well the salad was under seasoned. First ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Well the salad was under seasoned. First course of pasta was cold. We complained and they paid for our dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Must get the Primavera cocktail- lavende ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Must get the Primavera cocktail- lavender infused gin, SO GOOD!

Great ambience and delicious food. We drove up to DTLA from OC to meet friends before catching a show and this place was perfect to catch up over a drink at the bar followed by an amazing, flavorful dinner. Authentic italian, reminiscent of Terroni-style but with its own flair.

I had the mandilli di seta (handkerchief pasta) was to die for, melt in your mouth goodness, friends had the pappardelle which was incredibly fresh and tasty. Every plate was really good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant is an LA gem and one of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This restaurant is an LA gem and one of my personal favorites. Got there at an earlier dinner time (6:30pm) than usual and it was perfect, not too busy or noisy yet.

The food was delicious as always and we were able to sample a bit of everything including a guest who had dairy and gluten restrictions. Each dish had a different yet distinctive flavor profile and were great compliments to each other. The handkerchief pasta is always my favorite. Best pesto I have ever tasted and such a uniquely elegant yet simple dish.

Can't wait to dine here again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's one my favorite when I'm in LA and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It's one my favorite when I'm in LA and will make it a regular. Highly recommend it

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great homemade pasta. Enjoyed the ambian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great homemade pasta. Enjoyed the ambiance and energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great italian food and all the "pasta" i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great italian food and all the "pasta" is so fresh that it is made at the moment...

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food , staff and service were all ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food , staff and service were all outstanding.. We had just returned from a fabulous Vacation in Italy and Factory Kitchen didn't miss a beat....Thanks for a "revisit" to that culinary delight....

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent and service topnotc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Dinner was excellent and service topnotch/attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, servers and manager were exemp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food, servers and manager were exemplary. The room is very loud and crowded, but that just reflects the high quality of the food and service. I'll definitely return!

I had the vegetarian pasta with almond pesto, and the kale/spinach side dish - INCREDIBLE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The manager and staff are amazing! We h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The manager and staff are amazing! We had a slight issue with the wait time (even though we had a reservation), the manager ensured to introduce himself and make things right. This is grade A customer service. Food was amazing and so was the company I was with. Would def return and recommend to friends!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.