About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Downtown / South and East LA
Hot Spot
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (176)
hot spot (85)
special occasion (78)
See All
neighborhood gem (67)
great for lunch (49)
good for groups (48)
notable wine list (43)
romantic (21)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I live on the east coast and this is my ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I live on the east coast and this is my second visit to your place and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT...

I travel to the west coast and will be there for dinner again and again.

Keep up the good food and great service.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very good. The food can be quite h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

It is very good. The food can be quite heavy and when it is hot not as sumptuous as when the weather is more temperate. Of course, we ordered and made the choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Loved the ambience! Food was average and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the ambience! Food was average and overpriced! If you are hungry order a salad or appetizer with your entree as the entrees are small portions. Service was prompt, attentive and efficient however the staff seemed robotic! Not one person smiled! Not even the hostess! I give it 3 stars.. Would I go there again? Not really!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

They were running behind so we started o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They were running behind so we started off the evening with a martini at the bar which was good, it could have been colder but drinkable. After a 30min wait, we were seated and began our dining experience. The service was exceptional, and the food was delicious from start to finish. We had the cod, which melted in our mouth along with a veal pasta, the Matradee paired our dinner with a lovely glass of red wine and topped the evening with cannoli (you must have this). Next time, I think we will let the Matradee surprise us with the evening of food, because everything from the appt. to the desert was delicious. Enjoy your experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my second visit and they were abl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my second visit and they were able to get us in earlier than our reservation. The food was delicious. The prosciutto appetizer was my favorite. Happy to see my friend Lisa Adams paintings on the walls.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was very rude when asked to expla ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waiter was very rude when asked to explain various dishes, despite vague descriptions on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was very good. Loved the flatbread ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was very good. Loved the flatbread but description on menu not helpful

Menu very hard to read & not organized well...descriptions not listed well unless you read Italian.

Lots of attentive staff

Hostess super helpful in holding my table when I was running late

Wine list limited and overpriced

All food pricey

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

great homemade pasta - I don't want to w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great homemade pasta - I don't want to write more I

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pleasantly surprised by fabulous fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised by fabulous food quality- We are all Romans, and really appreciate the cuisine!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow! The calamari was incredible! Very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wow! The calamari was incredible! Very tender. A perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best pasta I have ever had, without ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The best pasta I have ever had, without question! Salads were also outstanding. Do beware, it is VERY loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The trout is outstanding and the pesto p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The trout is outstanding and the pesto pasta is ridiculous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful surprise! We had the m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

What a wonderful surprise! We had the most distinctive Italian meal we've come across in ages, in a colorful and interesting part of town. We'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excelent authetnic italian delicious han ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

excelent authetnic italian delicious hand mada pasta

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What's not to love about The Factory Kit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What's not to love about The Factory Kitchen. Just thinking back to our dinner the other night and I cannot wait to return. So delicious!!!!

I was with someone who knew their way around the menu, and took over the ordering. But I saw so many dishes being served and everything looked like a divine intervention.

We will make this our "go-to" whenever downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WONDERFUL authentic Italian food. Howeve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

WONDERFUL authentic Italian food. However I have two issues with the restaurant. The noise level is intolerable and the service was too rushed. They want you in and out asap. Granted, with that noise level, though the food tempted me to linger, I wanted to get the hell out asap as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was some of the best food I've had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was some of the best food I've had in a long time. Service was great. Ability to share was great. I will be back again very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool atmosphere in the arts district, wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Cool atmosphere in the arts district, with a great concept, but everything after that fell flat!

There was a limited selection on pastas, which were way over priced, and way too small in size. On top of that both my husband and I got sick that night, which I believe was from how much oil was used in all the dishes...that is even after we selected a green salad and the beets for starters - both of which were also saturated in oil.

We had a party of four, and were planning on ordering a couple bottles of wine. We asked for two samples. Our server brought back two glasses, but failed to indicated that they were two different wines. I tasted one of the two, it was satisfactory. She came back and asked which one I liked...I indicated the one I tasted, and that I wasn't aware there were two? So, which one did I taste? She re-did the process, we asked if she could wait a moment, so we were certain which wine we were tasting, and could select the wine. She told us she could not stop to help us with the wine menu to order to a bottle of wine because she had to go to another table. So, in short, the server couldn't wait about 60 - 90 seconds to select a wine - not a good sign.

Also, never had to fight to get a refills on my glass of water so much in my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Love the prosciutto and the mandilli!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love the prosciutto and the mandilli!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've never been disappointed when we go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I've never been disappointed when we go to Factory Kitchen: the food is amazing and the service always on point!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Always the best

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful

Always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here several times a year as we L ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We eat here several times a year as we LOVE the food and it feels like being back in Italy. The foccaccina is incredibly addictive; the pastas are always excellent; and our most recent entree, lamb tongue with sausage, foie gras, lentils, and figs was absolutely terrific! Desserts can be good and we always find a wine to enjoy. Service is attentive and just right. However, in future I guess we will have to avoid coming at times when they are packed (e.g. Sunday at 6pm) because we can't take the the tinny background music on top of very energetic conversations and other restaurant noise. We were celebrating our anniversary so we chose to come for the larger menu for dinner instead of lunch, but the irritating background music made it difficult for the 2 of us to talk and just relax and enjoy the experience. I have never noticed this at lunches. Our friends agree that we are not the only ones who prefer softer background music, especially when restaurants are full. That said, we strongly recommend Factory Kitchen!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We'v always had a perfect meal here and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We'v always had a perfect meal here and our friends always appreciate being introduced to Factory Kitchen

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Handkerchief pasta was amazing! All our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Handkerchief pasta was amazing! All our food came out very quickly and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Thoroughly excellent as always. We liter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Thoroughly excellent as always. We literally dream of the mandilli di seta! Never have missed it in numerous visits

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is in a quirky neighborhood of DTLA ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is in a quirky neighborhood of DTLA (Arts Brewery District), but its industrial atmosphere is what gives the restaurant its appeal. The interior is poured concrete walls, ceilings and floors warmed up with basic wood finishes and reinforces the factory feel. It's the food that is the stand out. The pasta is entirely hand made, fresh and delicious. Highly recommend the handkerchief pasta and the pizza flatbreads. The sauces are outstanding and authentically Italian. The salads are sourced from top shelf farmers. The ingredients are top shelf and easily as good as anything found in a Northern Italian city. I have been here several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly a gem in the middle of downtown Lo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Truly a gem in the middle of downtown Los Angeles but just far enough outside of the congested areas to make directions and parking a breeze. Food is authentic and the menu is diverse for all appetites. All things considered, the prices are exceptionally reasonable, making this an excellent location to dine with clients downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! The food was phenome ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent service! The food was phenomenal! We let our waiter choose our food choices and everything was woderful. Our appetizer was fresh mozzarella on some puffed bread that melted in my mouth. It was topped with freshly sliced Italian ham. It was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only does the food make you feel lik ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Not only does the food make you feel like you're in Italy, but the staff is so welcoming. The handkerchief pasta with pesto is divine!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing place. The food is truly amazin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing place. The food is truly amazing, each dish is authentically Italian but with such unique flair. The handkerchief pasta is like something I've never had, intended to be just a filler but in reality was a true highlight to the meal. And the halibut was simply amazing. Cooked to perfection, served with asparagus and a tasty asparagus cream sauce. Love the arts district location, funky blue collar feel but definitely high end. Long tables make for an ideal spot for group dining, business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delightful, really tasty. M ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was delightful, really tasty. My only hesitation was with the service, it felt a bit rushed and our server didn't really know about the wines nor did he seem to care. Once we got our food (which came up fast) we were never checked in on and although we asked one of the other servers for bread it was never delivered. They have a whole staff working together to make sure that you are well tended to which is great but it felt really impersonal. I prefer a warmer atmosphere when dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service, very attentive w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and service, very attentive waiter!

Noise controls private conversations.

But - definitely - worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great. Amazing food. Exceeded expec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

So great. Amazing food. Exceeded expectations in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will always go back to this restauran ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We will always go back to this restaurant ! The food is soooo good , enjoyed the Pizzata so much and their pasta is to die for!!! Great attentive service , waiters are very nice , reasonable corkage fee , good for big groups ! Energetic ambiance , ample parking although they want you to valet your car !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything that I've experience so far h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything that I've experience so far has been beyond expectations. The Piazzata, Hankerchief Pasta and Porchetta were all amazing. The service and the way they treat customers is unpretentious. They seated my party and let them start ordering when my daughter and I were running late.

This places blows away Bestia!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, as was the food a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was excellent, as was the food and wine. We really enjoyed everything and would recommend to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and helpful servers.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and helpful servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Factory Kitchen NEVER disappoints. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The Factory Kitchen NEVER disappoints. We have been here a half-dozen times now and each time the food and service have been stellar. We never tire of the focaccina and the handkerchief pasta - we always order these for the table as starters.

We were celebrating my son's 22nd birthday (his first time at Factory Kitchen) and halfway through his meal he looked up and said, "Mom... you've ruined me. I can never eat Italian food anywhere else, ever again!"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was shockingly delicious! The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was shockingly delicious! The pasta was far better than any meal we had on our last trip to Italy. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great, but our waiter's ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great, but our waiter's service was a strange combination of brusque and inattentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.