About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
  • The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
  • The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA
The Factory Kitchen, Los Angeles, CA

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Los Angeles
Fit for Foodies
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (87)
Special Occasion (62)
Creative Cuisine (58)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Hot Spot (54)
Worth the Drive (44)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Fun (40)
Good for Groups (35)
Authentic (34)
Casual (30)
Open Kitchen (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Modern Decor (23)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Business Meals (16)
Family Style (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (6)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome dinner!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's not as much a showplace as its near ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

It's not as much a showplace as its nearby sister restaurant Officine Brera, but it's perhaps warmer and more intimate while at the same time lively and sceney in a good way. The building's industrial past has meshed nicely with the modern interiors and open kitchen. The hosts are appropriately friendly and the wait staff gave honest food recommendations and descriptions. Ours was a birthday celebration. And we had a two-year-old with us. She did very nicely on a banquette seat, though they do not have high chairs or kids menus available. But she loved the small plate of pasta they prepared. Food was uniformly savory and delicious; some found it richer than expected and couldn't finish the plate. But most important, it was a satisfying, memorable experience (with a reasonable corkage fee) and I'd go back. I might not rush back. But this is a place that should be here to stay in DTLA. The friendly and welcoming owners know how to do restaurants right!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic. Festive. Delicious. Wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic. Festive. Delicious. Wonderful in every way!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met a friend for a very early 5pm Sund ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I met a friend for a very early 5pm Sunday night dinner after a days work. We made a reservation although it really wasn't needed at that hour, but by the time we left, the restaurant was full. We started with dirty martinis (nicely made) and the prosciutto appetizer from the to share portion of the menu. Delicious!!! This came to the table and it looked HUGE, but it was actually somewhat light and fluffy and satisfying. Our waitress, who was super friendly, gave us suggestions. We decided to split a couple of pasta dishes, but couldn't pick only two so we shared three including the handkerchief pesto pasta that is their signature dish; very smooth pesto flavor, tasty although I wasn't blown away by it. The Gnocchi malfatti with wild boar was also very good; I preferred the gnocchi part of the dish over the boar, but my favorite was the cappelli di zucca - Roasted squash filled pasta. Oh YUM!!! This one was my favorite..a delicious buttery explosion of goodness! Loved it!!! I will absolutely go back to have this again and try some of the other dishes. Enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best places for pasta in LA a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

One of the best places for pasta in LA and definitely the best in Downtown that I know of. The handkerchief pasta is a must try and the carpaccio appetizer is also divine.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The big negative, is the noise level, di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The big negative, is the noise level, difficult to talk/hear across the table... Otherwise, we loved it !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall good experience. Service and foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall good experience. Service and food were slightly above average. Difficult to hear the waiter. Noise was a bit too loud. Post dinner, I felt like I was being rushed out for the next customer. If I had to give it a rating, it would be 7 out of 10

I would recommend it for a casual hangout with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food here is absolutely delicious! O ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food here is absolutely delicious! Our table of four ordered all different items and tried each. Everyone would order any of the dishes and try many of the others on the menu. The wait staff is knowledgeable if not particularly attentive. We had to flag our waiter down to order additional bottles of water. Not a huge deal, just a bit annoying. It wouldn't stop us from going back. The food is fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience great service an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great dining experience great service and ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always great, service is always ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food is always great, service is always off. It's never clear who is your waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

OMG! This place was definitely an excell ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

OMG!

This place was definitely an excellent choice! The hostess Naida was wonderfully accommodating as our party of 3 grew to a party of 7 and she just made it work without breaking a sweat, and keeping me happy at the same time!!

The food was excellent and the server was very attentive and I would love to give him a 'shout out' because I questioned him relentlessly but, he never once gave us his name (note to all servers; usually this is generally something you might want to lead with this). Other than that everything was great!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit. The Factory ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was our fourth visit. The Factory Kitchen has never disappointed us. We have sadly expected the level of service to decline...and it has not. The food and service are exemplary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in the industrial part of DTL ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food in the industrial part of DTLA. Friendly hostess and wonderful food. I highly recommend this spot for all who desire creative and tasty meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would recommend, with some reservation ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I would recommend, with some reservations.

Small plates are excellent. Very popular; waiters are not very attentive and the bus help were too abrupt and careless. I recommend going here for lunch or not on a Saturday night.

Main entree was only fair.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We started with some non-alcoholic drink ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We started with some non-alcoholic drinks at the bar. I had the blueberry mint while my husband had a the ginger smash. Both drinks were light and refreshing. For dinner we ordered pasta, tagliatelle (noodles with oxtail sugo) and cazonsei (egg-pasta filled with chicken, pork, and veal). The servings were a perfect size, although both dishes were so good that we just wanted to keep eating. We finished off the meal with the bigné, chocolate-filled cream puffs with blueberry port wine sauce, absolute heaven. One of best meals I have ever had. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic and we had a wonderfu ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was fantastic and we had a wonderful time. Service was awesome!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food =]

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food =]

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food and ambiance was really good. You' ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food and ambiance was really good. You're definitely able to share plates, which is what our party did. The drive to the restaurant is a little dicey, but once you get there, it's worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Perhaps my favorite dinner spot in downt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Perhaps my favorite dinner spot in downtown LA.... consistently delicious with outstanding service and a warm and welcoming atmosphere, for me it's perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and great service in a co ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good food and great service in a cool location but deafeningly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

great food, nice presentation, tasty win ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great food, nice presentation, tasty wines and overall nice restaurant. My only complaint is the noise level it can be difficult to hold a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent food. pretty good wine list, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

excellent food. pretty good wine list, good service. really loud so not a great date night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was lunch with the girls. The 4 of u ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was lunch with the girls. The 4 of us ordered a couple of dishes to share and that worked out really well portion sized and tasty. Our 3 entries were great. Appreciate the vegetarian options. Some discrepancy about the cost of parking between the valet and the waitstaff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch with family and out of town guests ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lunch with family and out of town guests. The right mix of special and casual. Great food (prosciutto appetizer, foccacina and mandili handkerchief pasta), service, quiet though busy atmosphere and a good glass of gavi di gavi to go with it. Three of us shared the above mentioned food items while my wife enjoyed her tuna salad, which was an ample portion for lunch. Factory Kitchen was the perfect choice for our downtown museum day outing. Return visits are a certainty.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went here for the fist time when I was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went here for the fist time when I was visiting LA. I am a vegetarian and a foodie! I loved it. I can't say enough. The flavors were amazing! Even though it is Italian everything tasted light (although I am sure it wasn't). I can't wait to go to LA again and go there. My friend who lives in LA loved it too and already booked his next trip back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I am a regular,. This guy lace has gone ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I am a regular,. This guy lace has gone too popular and busy. We had to stand and wait one hour past our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was incredibly busy when we went, so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was incredibly busy when we went, so the server took quite a while to get back to us each time. But the food was delicious and the cocktails were fantastic and the server was clearly trying his best, just overwhelmed. I would definitely return but might try to find a quieter time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I always start my reviews with the "bad" ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I always start my reviews with the "bad" news. 1) It's hidden away in the old Industrial area of downtown. 2) Nearby parking is next to zero - so be ready to valet. 3) I wouldn't just drop in without a reservation.

My wife and I just dined there for the first time last Saturday before seeing Joan Baez at the Disney. We had a 5 pm reservation when they opened. By 5:30 the place was packed and by 6 totally jammed. But there is good reason for all this...it's the food. And nice people trying make sure things work for you. There are lots of food reviews so let me just reiterate: First visit musts: the prosciutto and the handkerchief pasta. But everything we had we delicious and different. We ordered desserts. My wife asked for a "sundae" (pachiugo) without fruit. It had fruit. I asked for the tiramisu - got bread pudding. Result - desserts comped. We will be back and bring others with us to make it easier to share more goodies.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been meaning to come here ever sinc ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Have been meaning to come here ever since it opened and finally had opportunity to drive in from OC. We ordered each of the items recommended on Zagat and each was just excellent. Especially loved the handkerchief pasta with almond pesto sauce and the Parma ham appetizer that was beautifully presented and just melts in your mouth. Spouse also loved his lobster ravioli. The bread pudding dessert with gelato was scrumptious with our cafe lattes to end a lovely evening. We arrived a little early and had a drink at the bar and my dry martini was perfect. Would definitely come again and try other items on their interesting menu. Not your grandma's Italian food, but you won't be disappointed. Always love the open kitchen/great room concept. Noise level is a bit high to carry on an intimate conversation, but it adds to the vibrancy of the experience. Very glad we came here. Parking was tight so we just valeted the car ($7)

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious and the service was i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Our server was attentive, kind and warm! Every dish we ordered was sooo good! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, Love, Love!!! Can't get enough of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love, Love, Love!!! Can't get enough of the pastas. Very happy to see that they were able to accommodate the LA traffic and people being late.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Some of the best Italian food we have ev ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Some of the best Italian food we have ever had. Dishes were decadent and inventive, but cozy at the same time. We would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time and it did not d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was my second time and it did not disappoint. It was a family outing that impressed the family. Noted Winner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had high hopes, but the restaurant is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We had high hopes, but the restaurant is faceless, our server was on auto pilot, and the food was a disappointment. Our salads had little dressing and were soggy from having been rinsed and not properly dried. My salad also contained a pit, which luckily did not damage my tooth...I think. My porchetta was very fatty. My wife's pasta was quite tasty and by far the star of the meal. Our cocktails were pleasant but seemed to have been made with little alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I love the food here, it's soooo good, r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love the food here, it's soooo good, reasonably priced for what it is as well. Probably my favorite Italianish restaurant just wish I lived closer so I could go more often.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Busy restaurant! Food is amazing, servi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Busy restaurant! Food is amazing, service is great but if you're in a hurry or easily upset when folks get sat before you, even if you came in before them... then this isn't your kind of place. But if you can go with the flow, the prosciutto dish is so worth it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's better to make a reservation since ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It's better to make a reservation since this restaurant is very popular. The moment I walked inside and got seated was good. Customer service was beyond good. Service and food quality was delicious and very yummy. Lol. I had no problems or any concerns about this restaurant. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, each dish was better than th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, each dish was better than the last! Handkerchief pasta is always a fave. We loved the prosciutto with the lightly fried sage dough and stratiatella. Our waiter was attentive. A great energy but with all the hard surfaces it gets a little loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two words: handkerchief pasta. We ordere ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Two words: handkerchief pasta. We ordered two and then begged for another. All of the pastas were rich and satisfying-- $20 for an appetizer portion of pasta seemed a little steep though and detracted some from the gustatory pleasure. The hostess was infinitely pleasant, as were the valet guys. Our server was attentive but distracted--2 items we ordered never showed.

Would I go back? Not unless the price point came down. Am I glad I went? Definitely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We're regulars at this restaurant and it ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We're regulars at this restaurant and it never disappoints

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.