About The Factory Kitchen

1300 Factory Place
Los Angeles, CA 90013
View Larger Map

The Factory Kitchen is the first concept from the FactoryPlaceHospitalityGroup that opened to high acclaim on October 31st, 2013.
Helmed by Restaurateur Matteo Ferdinandi, his wife Sommelier – Beverage Director Francine Diamond - Ferdinandi and their longtime friend and Partner Executive Chef Angelo Auriana, the Factory Kitchen re-defined the approach and the experience to casual dining in the city by combining elements of culinary arts, service, and design.
A traditional Italian Restaurant & Bar in the heart of the Arts District in Downtown Los Angeles, the Factory Kitchen culinary concept focuses on local recipes from the Northern Italian Regions; but emphasizes on some Ligurian traditional dishes like Mandilli di Seta al Pesto alla Genovese and the Focaccina Calda al Formaggio di Recco.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 5:30 - 11 Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Sunday: 4:30 - 9:30

Cross Street:
Alameda

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 996-6000

Website:
http://www.thefactorykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking if available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Angelo Auriana

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
  • The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen
The Factory Kitchen

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, The Factory Kitchen can accommodate all of your special event needs.

The Factory Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (168)
Special Occasion (90)
Hot Spot (80)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Notable Wine List (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Romantic (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
 (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, servers and manager were exemp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food, servers and manager were exemplary. The room is very loud and crowded, but that just reflects the high quality of the food and service. I'll definitely return!

I had the vegetarian pasta with almond pesto, and the kale/spinach side dish - INCREDIBLE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we keep coming back.. so it must be good ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

we keep coming back.. so it must be good!

Slightly pricey for the friends we were with, but at least the food was fabulous. The seasonal dessert of peaches and strawberries in a buttery crusted whatever with homemade ice cream was fantabulous!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place always hits it out of the par ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This place always hits it out of the park.

I love coming here. Everything out of that

Kitchen is the best.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is wonderfu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love this place. The food is wonderful. Go with at least 3 or 4 others so you can sample many dishes. Only downside is it's loud. Definitely not a place to go for intimate conversation. Service andwine list are excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been to Factory Kitchen five times. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Been to Factory Kitchen five times. The food is always outstanding. Had a res for 3 people Friday night but upon arrival we were told our table wasn't ready. We stood next to a column (there was no room at the bar) for 20 minutes while a 4 top sat empty the entire time. Also, Brian Grazer was right behind us and was of course taken right to his 4 top. I finally went to the hostess for an update and I could see the flash in her eyes she had forgotten us. She said it would be another 15 minutes for our table to open up, making a total 35 minute wait time. At that moment a communal table opened up in the bar area so we sat there instead of continuing to wait. Also, we were never entered into the computer as having arrived. I know this because today I received an opentable email asking why we didn't show up. I love the food here but this treatment gives me severe pause about going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food at Factory Kitchen is fantastic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at Factory Kitchen is fantastic. Unfortunately we ended up waiting 30+ minutes after our reservation time, which is the main cause for the lower service review. Once we finally sat down at our table we had managers and multiple other people not seeming to communicate with each other, each trying to take our order and make it right. They comped a few delicious apps and suggested we try anything we want on the menu, which was certainly appreciated, but an on time seating would have been more ideal. Love the restaurant, but think they're still getting the service side of things ironed out. The Casonzei is a must get. Prosciutto appetizer is also fantastic. Bring on the sage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of my family's favorite restaurants. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of my family's favorite restaurants. One of the few restaurants my picky daughter will go. We go at least once per month.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food, drinks , wine list , and s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Awesome food, drinks , wine list , and service. Best Itialian Restuarnt in Los Angeles .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Restaurant was extremely cold from t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Restaurant was extremely cold from the air conditioning. Both of us were shivering!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Factory serves great italian cuisine ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Factory serves great italian cuisine - well thought out, authentic and the fresh pasta is a must ...also the Porchetta!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am content just ordering any of the ap ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I am content just ordering any of the appetizers, sides and pastas!! Their pastas are so so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wait staff not as knowledgeable as years ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wait staff not as knowledgeable as years past, but kitchen still creates amazing pastas. Best to go with a few friends and share them together for wonderful taste experiences.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Pro: This is a place to enjoy good food. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Pro: This is a place to enjoy good food. Almost everthing in the menu is great if not perfect.

Con: extremely noisy and crowded to the point of visiting the place once maybe twice a year max. Expect to leave an eyeball or ring finger next to the check.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Hidden gem for sure. Great ambiance. Tab ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hidden gem for sure. Great ambiance. Tables are tight and packed.

Amazing food. Not cheap cause you are paying for quality. It can get loud, definitely not recommended for a quiet romantic evening, and I would leave the kids home. I heard lunch is pretty good too. There is a bar, not sure if it's open seating.

Valet - cash only.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the handkerchief pasta!! Our serve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the handkerchief pasta!! Our server was cool and hurried things along so we could get to Adele on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and great service. Even ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Incredible food and great service.

Even the mangers helped when they

Became extremely busy, this plac ed is great

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and service was very good but it was way too loud and the reservations person gave us a hard time for being late, even though we called twice - and we had an early reservation - also there were PLENTY of empty tables the whole time we were there - pretentious attitude.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

The first time here last year was fantas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The first time here last year was fantastic. This time, however, the menu was significantly different. The veal was average, the fish wasn't fresh, the clams and mussels were over cooked, and the seared calf's liver was actually inedible. Don't know why it went downhill from the first time here but the experience was extremely poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Pasta here is handmade onsite and handma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pasta here is handmade onsite and handmade means that detail-oriented pasta will be luscious and al dente. We had the veal ravioli, handkerchief pasta, and seafood ravioli. All three were absolutely delicious but the veal ravioli was the clear winner. The meat was spiced perfectly. The pesto sauce for the handkerchief pasta is almond based which is good for folks who have a pinenut/pignoli allergy. If you are STARVING, do not come here unless you are loaded and want to eat 5 different plates of pasta. If you want carbs but very sexy and carefully portioned carbs and have a hot date, then this is a great, modernized industrial place to get that upscale downtown experience. You can find parking on the street if you're lucky, but valet is suggested. If I could make a suggestion: slightly bigger portions or knock down the mid-sized plates by a dollar or two and then this would be a better value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our 3rd visit. LOVE the food. Everythin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our 3rd visit. LOVE the food. Everything is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Incredible Italian-inspired food - take ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Incredible Italian-inspired food - take the pasta! Very friendly stuff and nice decor!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food as always!! We've been here s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food as always!! We've been here several times and every time the food is amazing. Definitely recommend and we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I decided to give it a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to give it a try, but it was disappointing. We ordered brodetto (clams and mussels) but it was bland. Next was prosciutto, it was alright but best dish by far. Next comes the pasta, I don't remember what I ordered but it was buckwheat pasta with veal or braised beef ragu and my boyfriend ordered the casonzei. Mine was all brown in colored and tasted as it looks, brown and bland. I tried my boyfriend's dish and was not all impressed either. Although food was not impressive, service was alright. The waiter didn't really know much about the food and if you have dairy-allergy like I do, forget it, there's nothing here for you. Definitely not going back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Thier pasta was good and drink was not b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Thier pasta was good and drink was not bad. The valet is $7 though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sophisticated menu with very limited opt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Sophisticated menu with very limited options for non meat eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

food was great, wish there were more pro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

food was great, wish there were more proteins on the menu for entrees. But otherwise, great experience and good food.

Tags: Group Bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This has been a terrific restaurant sinc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This has been a terrific restaurant since the day it opened, and it hasn't missed a beat. The wine list is particularly well-selected and fairly priced. Love that menu changes are made and shown on their web site on a daily basis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am in love with this restaurant! The t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I am in love with this restaurant! The taste combinations in each dish are so well thought out and so pleasing. The menu changes weekly (daily?) and is fresh. We started with the fried leeks and chickpea fries (unbelievable!), added a pizzata with pea shoots, zucchini blossoms and crescenza cheese, and had to try the beet casserole (oh, my God). We shared entrees of fresh cod, semolina gnocchi, meat filled pasta, and delicate handkerchief pasta in a pesto and almond oil sauce. You must come prepared to share with 2-3 other friends the delight of all the different tastes! Finished it off with sensational coffee. Coming back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Loved the food and the vibe of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing! Loved the food and the vibe of the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply awesome.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Simply awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrific, the service was g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was terrific, the service was great. The noise level made it very hard to hear.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

top notch in every way! Always the go to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

top notch in every way! Always the go to place for exceptional food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food & service. menu was not easy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

great food & service. menu was not easy to read. would've liked to be advised to not order too many rich pastas, or in other words wish we had balanced rich and light dishes a little better. overall great experience, though. and will definitely recommend to others

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always love it here have been at least 1 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always love it here have been at least 10 times. Something off in kitchen this time. Every dish was off. :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Spider crawling on the column behind my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Spider crawling on the column behind my guest. We spotted it and told the waiter. Waiter smashed the spider with the palm of his hand. I am not sure if he washed his hands after that. My gurst was grossed out by it. VIP tab did not work so I eas embarrased in front of my business guests. Not a good experience. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

An excellent restaurant, and one of the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

An excellent restaurant, and one of the best in Los Angeles. I have been here several times and have never been disappointed with the food or service. Even the Valet service is excellent. However, this is a pricey experience, with lunch for two pushing $100, without wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I live on the east coast and this is my ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I live on the east coast and this is my second visit to your place and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT...

I travel to the west coast and will be there for dinner again and again.

Keep up the good food and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very good. The food can be quite h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

It is very good. The food can be quite heavy and when it is hot not as sumptuous as when the weather is more temperate. Of course, we ordered and made the choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Loved the ambience! Food was average and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Loved the ambience! Food was average and overpriced! If you are hungry order a salad or appetizer with your entree as the entrees are small portions. Service was prompt, attentive and efficient however the staff seemed robotic! Not one person smiled! Not even the hostess! I give it 3 stars.. Would I go there again? Not really!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

They were running behind so we started o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They were running behind so we started off the evening with a martini at the bar which was good, it could have been colder but drinkable. After a 30min wait, we were seated and began our dining experience. The service was exceptional, and the food was delicious from start to finish. We had the cod, which melted in our mouth along with a veal pasta, the Matradee paired our dinner with a lovely glass of red wine and topped the evening with cannoli (you must have this). Next time, I think we will let the Matradee surprise us with the evening of food, because everything from the appt. to the desert was delicious. Enjoy your experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.