About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: 5023382944

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Central Kentucky
Best Value
Louisville
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
Best Restaurants in New Albany ›

fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (27)
See All
great for outdoor dining (27)
hot spot (17)
special occasion (16)
great for lunch (15)
romantic (8)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In my opinion this is the best restaurant around.

Dined 5 days ago

Great choice of food without a crowded menu. Food is unbelievably good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat in downtown New A ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful place to eat in downtown New Albany. Many of the foods are from local producers & very good quality. The building, itself has a lot of history.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love the Exchange

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have invited family and friends to the Exchange many times now and we have never been disappointed. always great food, service and the bar selection is outstanding! we will continue to be loyal customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was very good but I felt it was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was very good but I felt it was overpriced! They ran out of their special by 6:30 on Saturday evening.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant. The seasonal me ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. The seasonal menus never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drinks are always phenomenal he ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food and drinks are always phenomenal here! We had friends in from St.Louis for this meal, who have dined all over the world, and they said it was literally one of the Top 5 dining and drinking experiences they had ever had ANYWHERE!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have recommended this to several frien ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

I have recommended this to several friends already. Good atmosphere and the food was delicious. I had spinach salad with lavender dressing and lobster pasta. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have enjoyed the Exchange since it fi ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have enjoyed the Exchange since it first opened in New Albany. The food and service have always been good and it is a fun place to go to. I'm glad that they are now using Open Table. Sometimes in the past, the wait was too long for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place to hang out and visit with friends.

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been to the Exchange many times and always find it a nice place to take friends from out of town. It's unique, the food is excellent, service is great and shows off a little bit of the New Albany Riverfront. A BIG Thanks to the Exchange Personnel!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a girls night!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, fantastic food, and the ever changing cocktail menu is perfect for any occasion!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Couples night out

Dined on April 16, 2016

This couples night out was at The Exchange. Everyone enjoyed their meals, appetizers and drinks. I love the atmosphere and outdoor space here. The beer selection was good and plentiful. Cocktails were inventive and good. There's something for everyone on the menu. Unfortunately I didn't catch the name of our server, he was great. He stayed attentive to our party of 8 and was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Exchange Pub and Kitchen

Dined on April 13, 2016

I've never had a bad meal. The menu is always changing. The specials were always unique and palate pleasing. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I've taken their recommendation on several occasions and wasn't disappointed. I like the portion size except for their salads. The salad was too much food. One of the best restaurants in New Albany. If you're interested in locally grown and fresh it is the best restaurant in New Albany.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Our first time and we will be back! From ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Our first time and we will be back! From the White Cheddar Cornbread to the Steak Frites to the Creme Brulee...all were presented nicely and delicious. My wife and I prefer our steak cooked at different temps, and both were to our liking! Our server was friendly and provided excellent service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of us enjoyed our drinks and food. O ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

All of us enjoyed our drinks and food. Our waitress was nice and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for groups

Dined on March 22, 2016

Very accommodating. The food and service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Exchange is always amazing! Menu changes ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Exchange is always amazing! Menu changes often so there's always something new to try. My favorites right now are the Sirloin and the Pork Wings. Crazy good!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great

Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything was great

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Unfulfilling

Dined on February 29, 2016

Because of the limited non-meat options, it's difficult to rate the Exchange for me. I feel that the 2 vegetarian options are unimaginative and bland, and overpriced for what they are. The atmosphere is outstanding, but I rarely go just for drinks because of price. There are better options in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with the Family

Dined on February 20, 2016

With the reservations they were ready for us. The service for a big group was good and we enjoyed the food. The Pork Loin w sweet potato mash was great as was the short ribs. This was a perfect place for a family gathering. The server was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The exchange is by far our favorite plac ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The exchange is by far our favorite place to dine, we love the atmosphere and the food is always amazing!! We are often reluctant to try new places due to Not wanting to miss out on the amazing food and atmosphere at the exchange! Our last experience was for Valentine's Day and the staff was wonderful! Our waiter did an excellent job and the manager came to our table and even helped me pick out desert! A wonderful experience, I would recommend the exchange to everybody.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The pork tenderloin was exceptional. I ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The pork tenderloin was exceptional. I also highly recommend the roasted cauliflower and/or the roasted brussel sprouts.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Dining Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my first time at The Exchange. My wife and I decided to try it for a Valentine evening out. We had reservations, and we were seated right away. Our server came for our drink order, and offered a few suggestions. My wife had the Salt of the Earth cocktail, and said that it was quite good. We had the bar cheese and pretzel baguette for an appetizer. My wife thought the bar cheese was too smoky, but I thought it was just right. My wife is a vegetarian, and there weren't a lot of choices for her. She had the garden salad (which was larger than she expected!) and the roasted cauliflower. She said that the cauliflower was wonderful. I had the Exchange burger with a side of frites. The burger was cooked perfectly, and it was obvious from the first bite that quality beef was used. The frites were very tasty. A side of catsup was served with the frites, but they had plenty of flavor without the catsup. We shared the cream cheese brownie for dessert. We were both too full to finish, so we took it home and finished it later. Although I thought the prices were a bit high, overall it was a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I had the best experience. Our waiter Brandon was great. He took time with us on the menu since it was our first time eating here. My husband had the steak frites and I had the pork tenderloin. AMAZING! Will recommend to others and definitely go back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a win!

Dined on January 16, 2016

I love going to the New Albany Exchange. I took a friend over the weekend from out of town and NA Exchange did not disappoint! A beautiful restaurant with tons of character...beautiful brick interior, great lighting, awesome tables. The servers are always so attentive and pleasant! The food is the best, drinks are amazing too! You won't regret going to the Exchange. They might single-handedly put New Albany on the metro-louisville map!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with my husband

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Enjoyed dinner. The food was very good. Like the atmosphere Patrick was the best thing! He was courteous , knowledgable , & friendly! Will return!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I go to this place several times a year. ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

I go to this place several times a year. The food is typically excellent, as is the service. However, on this occasion I got the ribeye, which was the special that evening. Unfortunately I cannot recommend that particular dish. Even ordering it medium well, the steak was just way too fatty. I've had burgers that were less fatty. Every other time I've been there the food was top shelf. Maybe the cow missed too much of its treadmill time. Lol.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Noisy place to eat

Dined on November 22, 2015

Acoustics made conversations difficult. Food was good but not exceptional and service was adequate but not outstanding. This was the first time I had dinner here, but I will continue to use it and recommend it for lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5

Good

Dined on November 14, 2015

Our server was fantastic and many beers from which to choose. Unfortunately for our second visit in a row our burgers were substantially over cooked.....well done with requests for medium and medium rare. Maybe third time will be the charm.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on November 11, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised with our experience. The service was amazing. The food was delicious! The dessert was a whole experience in itself!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome good and service! Hidden gem!

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

Awesome good and service! Hidden gem!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great find for our visit to the Louisville area.

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

The service was awesome. Food was simple, yet done perfectly. Cocktails were all in the same wheelhouse taste-wise, so it made it easy to change from one to another without a major palette shock. Loved the space and esthetic. Only complaint was the gal singing with her acoustic guitar. It just didn't fit the vibe of the place. We normally love live music, but found ourselves welcoming the breaks from the indie artist and having the usual music pumped through the speakers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service1

Way over priced especially for the veget ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Way over priced especially for the vegetable sides for very small orders and under cooked. Wedge salads were wilted and you couldn't get past the garlic it was heavy on everything . I use to eat here all the time but this was the last. Sorry Exchange !

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Our table of 4 order ...

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

Food was excellent. Our table of 4 ordered scallops, salmon on the menu, the salmon special and steak frites. Everyone was very pleased with their dish. We shared the S'more dessert special (with bacon)! Great craft beer selection ms and fine wine choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightfully delicious!

Dined on September 9, 2015

From appetizer to dessert, everything was superb! Especially like that local sources are used--best way to keep dollars in the community! Charming reuse of a historic building provides an elegantly rustic ambiance. Craft beer fans will love the extensive list of on tap and bottled choices. Despite a mid-week full house, service was excellent and timing of courses was spot on! (And those Capriole goat cheese fritters are to die for!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We keep going back.

Dined on August 29, 2015

Good food, cocktails and service. Like that it's somewhere we can go with or without the kids and still have the type of time that we'd like. Make sure to try the En Fuego cocktail - it's delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on August 28, 2015

Great food and service. First time eating in outdoor area. Great addition.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on August 21, 2015

We had a wonderful time at the exchange. The food was very good, the salmon is a staple. The margaritas are different but refreshing. Don't miss out on the peach salad.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Positives all around except for noise level

Dined on August 16, 2015

All around fun atmosphere! fabulous hamburger...the kind with great meat and fixings. Ingredients a cut above. Service was efficient and friendly. No complaints but expect a lot of noise inside. Nice outdoors but went for cool interior on a hot night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food and Local Beers

Dined on August 15, 2015

Was a great experience, went there for our anniversary. Each got one of the steak options and they worth every penny. The bourbon glaze is even good on the smashed potatoes. It's not a place we will go all the time since it is a little pricey but it would be good at least once a year.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Love The Exchange!

Dined on August 14, 2015

This is my 2nd visit to The Exchange and I had another wonderful meal. The menu keeps changing, but everything continues to be delicious. I especially loved the pretzel baguette and beer cheese! Our waiter was great and informative. There was live music. All in all, we had a wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.