About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: 5023382944

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Central Kentucky
Outdoor Dining
Louisville
Best Restaurants in New Albany ›

neighborhood gem (33)
great for outdoor dining (32)
fit for foodies (31)
See All
good for groups (29)
special occasion (21)
hot spot (20)
great for lunch (16)
romantic (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been numerous times, and every ti ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been numerous times, and every time it is better than the last.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Girls Night Out group had a great ti ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our Girls Night Out group had a great time. The meals were wonderful and our server was very attentive. I would recommend The Exchange to anyone looking for a casual spot to enjoy a tasty dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to The Exchange ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit to The Exchange. We had a group of 9 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. All staff were attentive, polite, friendly and knowledgeable. The General Manager was very attentive to the diners. The food was amazing and there was a great selection from the bar. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife for our 17th anniversary. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my wife for our 17th anniversary. The food was great, the staff was amazing, and the building itself was really cool. We will definitely go back in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there on several occasions ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have eaten there on several occasions, this last time with friends who had not been there. Food was good , service good, noise level s high for people our age. Very hard to understand waiters comments.

Waiters should inform people who order drinks with ginger ale that you make it. It changes the favor of any hard drink , and we forget. We do not like it. Ordered the next on rocks!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Exchange never disappoints! Amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Exchange never disappoints! Amazing cocktail menu, upscale gastropub food choices with incredible seasonal dishes. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good but noise level was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was really good but noise level was high because it was full plus there were two guys playing guitars and singing part of the time. There were just four of us and we had to talk really loudly to hear each other even when music wasn't going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've lived in New Albany for 12 years. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I've lived in New Albany for 12 years. When I first visited The Exchange it immediately became my favorite restaurant in town. The staff is extremely friendly and educated about their menu, cocktails, beer and wine. The General Manager, Levi has amassed one of the best bourbon collections this side of the river. The beer selection is great, featuring a lot of local brews and everything I've had on the menu has been superb. For a normal night out, I tend to get the Exchange Burger or the Croque Madame. Fries are outstanding too. If your going out for a special occasion, you can't go wrong with the scallops! Always amazing!

And be sure to spend just $2 to buy a round of drinks for the kitchen staff. They earn it every night!

Cheers!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The prices were ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was delicious. The prices were high. The restaurant was noisy as are most restaurants today.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

party of eight taken care of by Andrew a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

party of eight taken care of by Andrew and he is tops in service and attentive service. three had the "new" scallop special and it was spot on exquesitly prepared and a great dish. all really enjoyed the appetizers of hummus, cheese board with aged meats. other entrees were fish & chips, the shrimp & grits. all would recommend. it was a great time...perfect food, drinks ( really like the selections) and being taken by a very competent staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We met friends for dinner at The Exchang ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We met friends for dinner at The Exchange after making a reservation through Open Table. Our table was ready on time. The food, speciality cocktails, and beer selection were all top notch as usual! Andrew, our server was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant was clean and employees were ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant was clean and employees were friendly. We arrived around 5pm on a Saturday, so it was not yet crowded or busy. Appetizers arrived promptly. Pretzel bread and beer cheese was good. Mussels were ok. The coconut milk broth served with the mussels was delicious and the mussels were cooked properly, but they were a bit fishy. We eat mussels a LOT and they do not need to be fishy. I had the scallops which was 4 scallops served over sticky rice with an avocado puree. The scallops were cooked perfectly, however the overall dish was pricy and ho-hum. It was described as deconstructed sushi, and was reminiscent of such, but it needed a bite...or something acidic...wasabi, sriracha garnish, ginger, something... $26 was too much for a ho-hum dish. Others at the table had pork chops--both the special and the one on the menu which both looked amazing. I tasted my husband's bahn mi sandwich which was rich with pork belly and tasty. The most popular dish at our table was the steak frites and it was scarfed down quickly...those fries were delish. My nine year old son ordered chicken tenders which were blah...little, not crispy breading and a bit dry. Someone else ordered the fish which was huge, crispy, and looked awesome. She didn't like the take on cocktail sauce that accompanied it, but I tasted and thought the spicy garlicy flavor was different and delicious. We have been before and we will return and I hope to choose a better entree for myself next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was good but not spectacular.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It was good but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service and food. A little loud bu ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and food. A little loud but worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've always had great food and great se ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We've always had great food and great service at The Exchange!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In my opinion this is the best restaurant around.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great choice of food without a crowded menu. Food is unbelievably good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat in downtown New A ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful place to eat in downtown New Albany. Many of the foods are from local producers & very good quality. The building, itself has a lot of history.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Exchange

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have invited family and friends to the Exchange many times now and we have never been disappointed. always great food, service and the bar selection is outstanding! we will continue to be loyal customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good but I felt it was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was very good but I felt it was overpriced! They ran out of their special by 6:30 on Saturday evening.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Our favorite restaurant. The seasonal me ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. The seasonal menus never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drinks are always phenomenal he ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food and drinks are always phenomenal here! We had friends in from St.Louis for this meal, who have dined all over the world, and they said it was literally one of the Top 5 dining and drinking experiences they had ever had ANYWHERE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have recommended this to several frien ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I have recommended this to several friends already. Good atmosphere and the food was delicious. I had spinach salad with lavender dressing and lobster pasta. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed the Exchange since it fi ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have enjoyed the Exchange since it first opened in New Albany. The food and service have always been good and it is a fun place to go to. I'm glad that they are now using Open Table. Sometimes in the past, the wait was too long for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place to hang out and visit with friends.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been to the Exchange many times and always find it a nice place to take friends from out of town. It's unique, the food is excellent, service is great and shows off a little bit of the New Albany Riverfront. A BIG Thanks to the Exchange Personnel!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a girls night!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, fantastic food, and the ever changing cocktail menu is perfect for any occasion!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couples night out

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This couples night out was at The Exchange. Everyone enjoyed their meals, appetizers and drinks. I love the atmosphere and outdoor space here. The beer selection was good and plentiful. Cocktails were inventive and good. There's something for everyone on the menu. Unfortunately I didn't catch the name of our server, he was great. He stayed attentive to our party of 8 and was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Exchange Pub and Kitchen

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I've never had a bad meal. The menu is always changing. The specials were always unique and palate pleasing. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I've taken their recommendation on several occasions and wasn't disappointed. I like the portion size except for their salads. The salad was too much food. One of the best restaurants in New Albany. If you're interested in locally grown and fresh it is the best restaurant in New Albany.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time and we will be back! From ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Our first time and we will be back! From the White Cheddar Cornbread to the Steak Frites to the Creme Brulee...all were presented nicely and delicious. My wife and I prefer our steak cooked at different temps, and both were to our liking! Our server was friendly and provided excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All of us enjoyed our drinks and food. O ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

All of us enjoyed our drinks and food. Our waitress was nice and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for groups

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Very accommodating. The food and service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exchange is always amazing! Menu changes ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Exchange is always amazing! Menu changes often so there's always something new to try. My favorites right now are the Sirloin and the Pork Wings. Crazy good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfulfilling

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Because of the limited non-meat options, it's difficult to rate the Exchange for me. I feel that the 2 vegetarian options are unimaginative and bland, and overpriced for what they are. The atmosphere is outstanding, but I rarely go just for drinks because of price. There are better options in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Dinner with the Family

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

With the reservations they were ready for us. The service for a big group was good and we enjoyed the food. The Pork Loin w sweet potato mash was great as was the short ribs. This was a perfect place for a family gathering. The server was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The exchange is by far our favorite plac ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The exchange is by far our favorite place to dine, we love the atmosphere and the food is always amazing!! We are often reluctant to try new places due to Not wanting to miss out on the amazing food and atmosphere at the exchange! Our last experience was for Valentine's Day and the staff was wonderful! Our waiter did an excellent job and the manager came to our table and even helped me pick out desert! A wonderful experience, I would recommend the exchange to everybody.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork tenderloin was exceptional. I ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The pork tenderloin was exceptional. I also highly recommend the roasted cauliflower and/or the roasted brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Dining Experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my first time at The Exchange. My wife and I decided to try it for a Valentine evening out. We had reservations, and we were seated right away. Our server came for our drink order, and offered a few suggestions. My wife had the Salt of the Earth cocktail, and said that it was quite good. We had the bar cheese and pretzel baguette for an appetizer. My wife thought the bar cheese was too smoky, but I thought it was just right. My wife is a vegetarian, and there weren't a lot of choices for her. She had the garden salad (which was larger than she expected!) and the roasted cauliflower. She said that the cauliflower was wonderful. I had the Exchange burger with a side of frites. The burger was cooked perfectly, and it was obvious from the first bite that quality beef was used. The frites were very tasty. A side of catsup was served with the frites, but they had plenty of flavor without the catsup. We shared the cream cheese brownie for dessert. We were both too full to finish, so we took it home and finished it later.

Although I thought the prices were a bit high, overall it was a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I had the best experience. Our waiter Brandon was great. He took time with us on the menu since it was our first time eating here. My husband had the steak frites and I had the pork tenderloin. AMAZING! Will recommend to others and definitely go back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a win!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I love going to the New Albany Exchange. I took a friend over the weekend from out of town and NA Exchange did not disappoint! A beautiful restaurant with tons of character...beautiful brick interior, great lighting, awesome tables. The servers are always so attentive and pleasant! The food is the best, drinks are amazing too! You won't regret going to the Exchange. They might single-handedly put New Albany on the metro-louisville map!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with my husband

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Enjoyed dinner. The food was very good. Like the atmosphere Patrick was the best thing! He was courteous , knowledgable , & friendly! Will return!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.