About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: 5023382944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Make your evening one to remember. Join us this Valentine's day for great good, fantastic service, and live Jazz.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great Beer (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (4)
Historic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had a bad experience tonight. They hav ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had a bad experience tonight. They have my table away when I had a reservation and made us wait 30 minutes before seating us. Our food took a very long time to come out and when it did, it was cold. Our waitress forgot to put one of our drinks on the check and came back, after we had already paid, and made us open the tab back up to pay again. I have been here several times before and had great experiences. Just not a great one this tome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was excellent-well prepared and goo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was excellent-well prepared and good presentation.

The restaurant was cold. We almost put our jackets back on. It was cold last time we went too.

Way too pricey!!

The atmosphere was nice but not a good value. We likely won't go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

New Years Eve reservation. So very hap ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve reservation.

So very happy they had their regular menu with a few added items for this holiday.

Service was good.

Food was excellent.

Recommend the Steak & Frites

Overall - very good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good overall; one of us didn't get our s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good overall; one of us didn't get our salad and the NY Strip was a little chewy. We really like it here and will go back no doubt, but won't get the NY Strip again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beef Wellington might be a nice addition ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beef Wellington might be a nice addition to your next menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to The Exchange a few times. ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've been to The Exchange a few times. Food is good but not great. However, their cocktails are awesome and the real reason we end up coming back. The En Fuego is the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We loved our dining experience. We had a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We loved our dining experience. We had a group of 4 and all us us want to return. Our server was excellent. The food was creative, delicious and locally purchased. Nothing pretentious here-just quality food, great atmosphere, friendly staff and easy to get to from Louisville.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No problem with taste or service but the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

No problem with taste or service but the serving size was pathetic! 4 small scallops and a small serving of rice which barely filled a third of a small dinner plate was not what I expected for $26.00. Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything we had was great. The s'mores ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything we had was great. The s'mores creme brulee was a great finishing touch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific as usual. The goat che ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was terrific as usual. The goat cheese fritters are a must, I could eat a whole order myself. We were seated in the front section, which is an outdoor seating area that is closed off during the winter. While I love sitting out there in the summer, it was drafty and cold, and there were no other tables for us. Our server tried to be attentive but had too many tables I think, we had to ask a couple of times for silverware, and an order of brussels sprouts (also delish) got forgotten. Not all was lost, I took them home, but it didn't seem like the usual top-notch service you get at the Exchange. My out-of-town colleagues enjoyed themselves, but I was disappointed as this was my recommendation and I didn't feel the experience was typical.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful food, as usual. We had friends ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful food, as usual. We had friends who were there for the first time and loved everything about the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food, but overpriced for what you ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Decent food, but overpriced for what you get. 6 oz steak and some fries was $21. Go here if you like to drink overpriced alcohol (which they have a wide selection of).

Tags: Live Music, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

No question. No doubt. The Exchange ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

No question. No doubt. The Exchange is our favorite spot in New Albany!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time here, I really en ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time here, I really enjoyed the vibe and the food. We ordered a few salads and sides and shared, everything was great. Will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eaten here many times and it's always ex ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Eaten here many times and it's always excellent. Great for date night!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Live Sports, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our son and daughter in law visiting fro ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our son and daughter in law visiting from the Indianapolis area were very pleased with the menu, entrees, and the ambiance of the surroundings.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome dining. Great drinks, wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Awesome dining. Great drinks, wonderful food, delightful server. Just the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi! Only thing wrong they had us down f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Hi! Only thing wrong they had us down for 11 am instead of 12 noon. Somebody fiddled when they should have faddled when they entered wrong time. No biggie. Food and service 5 stars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the menu selections.... Goat che ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Enjoyed the menu selections.... Goat cheese appetizers and Caprese salad were very tasty!!

Also had steak frites and Exchange burger that we enjoyed.

Will be back soon.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at The Exchange is OUTSTANDING! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food at The Exchange is OUTSTANDING! We shared the goat cheese appetizers and they are amazing! For dinner, I had the salmon (which was nice and flaky) with risotto and green beans and it had a great flavor. Our service was slow for a Saturday night and they weren't especially busy when we arrived. Other than it taking a little longer for dinner, I would recommend eating here anytime; their food is phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Friendly efficient service and yummy foo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Friendly efficient service and yummy food. We enjoyed the pork wings and goat cheese fritters immensely and the soak and smoke chicken was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful! I had the salmo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was wonderful! I had the salmon which was perfectly cooked. All of the dishes I tried at our table were delicious

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in New Albany! I've been here numerous times, and the service & food are always on point. They also have the BEST Old Fashioned around! Location is perfect, and the new(ish) outdoor patio is a great addition to an already wonderful establishment. I've brought many of my out-of-town family & friends here as well, and I've never had one person tell me anything other than "awesome"! Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer che ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer cheese, Miller Lite.. can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

An easy place to take your family as the ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

An easy place to take your family as there is something on the menu to please anyone. The beer roasted chicken was juicy and delicious. The burgers are tasty and served on a pretzel bun with or without some yummy toppings. The steak and frites are presented in a novel way and a can't go wrong entree. The pork chop and the fish sandwich were big hits with our party as well. Oh yeah, the Parmesan and garlic frites are killer!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all thought the food was great, our w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We all thought the food was great, our waiter was very good, stopping by to let us know about any delays.

Lobster pasta was really good, and the catfish special was interesting mix of flavor.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and excellent service. Food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good food and excellent service. Food was well seasoned. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and for the price a good valu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and for the price a good value. The only concern was it was very very loud so conversation was hampered. We would go back and have visited this place several times

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was great and good was delicious

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was great and good was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the exchange. Seems we are ther ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love the exchange. Seems we are there about once/week!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit just as good as the first. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Second visit just as good as the first. Food is awesome. My only complaint is the noise. Why do restaurants remove all fabric that could absorb some noise? I know you want us to leave so you can turn the tables, but if we could actually hear one another we would stay and continue ordering.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience every time we are here, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great experience every time we are here, love the Steak Frites. Usually get the beer cheese for appetizer which is excellent and the last couple times we have gotten "The Brownie" for dessert and the caramel ice-cream goes perfect with the brownie.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We regularly go to the Exchange - usuall ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We regularly go to the Exchange - usually for dinner. The menu is limited, but food is good. It is good to have a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was courteous. The food was ok ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff was courteous. The food was ok but nothing special and very pricey. It was nearly impossible to visit with our friends because it was INCREDIBLY loud. This restaurant had been highly recommended and, frankly, we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The Exchange has always been great for u ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Exchange has always been great for us in food and service. From the beer cheese to the lobster pasta! Service has always been awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good...I got the shrim ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was very good...I got the shrimp and grits. Everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got together with friends before the Lou ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Got together with friends before the Louisville Crashers concert at the New Albany Amphitheater. Food was good and the service was very good. At the time of day we were there, not many people were in the restaurant. The place will certainly be loud when the restaurant is full. We selected food from the afternoon menu; not an abundance of selections but the food was good. The fish was a big hit at our table. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eclectic old architecture in this repurp ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Eclectic old architecture in this repurposed building. Nice solo acoustic guitarist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.