About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: 5023382944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Louisville
Best Restaurants in New Albany ›

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for a Date (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer che ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer cheese, Miller Lite.. can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

An easy place to take your family as the ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

An easy place to take your family as there is something on the menu to please anyone. The beer roasted chicken was juicy and delicious. The burgers are tasty and served on a pretzel bun with or without some yummy toppings. The steak and frites are presented in a novel way and a can't go wrong entree. The pork chop and the fish sandwich were big hits with our party as well. Oh yeah, the Parmesan and garlic frites are killer!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all thought the food was great, our w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We all thought the food was great, our waiter was very good, stopping by to let us know about any delays.

Lobster pasta was really good, and the catfish special was interesting mix of flavor.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and excellent service. Food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good food and excellent service. Food was well seasoned. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and for the price a good valu ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and for the price a good value. The only concern was it was very very loud so conversation was hampered. We would go back and have visited this place several times

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was great and good was delicious

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was great and good was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the exchange. Seems we are ther ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love the exchange. Seems we are there about once/week!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit just as good as the first. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Second visit just as good as the first. Food is awesome. My only complaint is the noise. Why do restaurants remove all fabric that could absorb some noise? I know you want us to leave so you can turn the tables, but if we could actually hear one another we would stay and continue ordering.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience every time we are here, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great experience every time we are here, love the Steak Frites. Usually get the beer cheese for appetizer which is excellent and the last couple times we have gotten "The Brownie" for dessert and the caramel ice-cream goes perfect with the brownie.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We regularly go to the Exchange - usuall ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We regularly go to the Exchange - usually for dinner. The menu is limited, but food is good. It is good to have a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was courteous. The food was ok ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff was courteous. The food was ok but nothing special and very pricey. It was nearly impossible to visit with our friends because it was INCREDIBLY loud. This restaurant had been highly recommended and, frankly, we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The Exchange has always been great for u ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Exchange has always been great for us in food and service. From the beer cheese to the lobster pasta! Service has always been awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good...I got the shrim ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was very good...I got the shrimp and grits. Everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got together with friends before the Lou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Got together with friends before the Louisville Crashers concert at the New Albany Amphitheater. Food was good and the service was very good. At the time of day we were there, not many people were in the restaurant. The place will certainly be loud when the restaurant is full. We selected food from the afternoon menu; not an abundance of selections but the food was good. The fish was a big hit at our table. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eclectic old architecture in this repurp ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Eclectic old architecture in this repurposed building. Nice solo acoustic guitarist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food and service. Had the s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always great food and service. Had the shrimp and grits that were outstanding. Good choice of craft beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! Cocktails were creative a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Amazing place! Cocktails were creative and yummy, The food was over the top! Creative, tasty and generous portions. The goat cheese fritters are to die for and the prosciutto/peach salad gave me dreams for days. This was our first visit but not our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been numerous times, and every ti ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have been numerous times, and every time it is better than the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Girls Night Out group had a great ti ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our Girls Night Out group had a great time. The meals were wonderful and our server was very attentive. I would recommend The Exchange to anyone looking for a casual spot to enjoy a tasty dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to The Exchange ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit to The Exchange. We had a group of 9 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. All staff were attentive, polite, friendly and knowledgeable. The General Manager was very attentive to the diners. The food was amazing and there was a great selection from the bar. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife for our 17th anniversary. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my wife for our 17th anniversary. The food was great, the staff was amazing, and the building itself was really cool. We will definitely go back in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there on several occasions ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have eaten there on several occasions, this last time with friends who had not been there. Food was good , service good, noise level s high for people our age. Very hard to understand waiters comments.

Waiters should inform people who order drinks with ginger ale that you make it. It changes the favor of any hard drink , and we forget. We do not like it. Ordered the next on rocks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Exchange never disappoints! Amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Exchange never disappoints! Amazing cocktail menu, upscale gastropub food choices with incredible seasonal dishes. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good but noise level was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was really good but noise level was high because it was full plus there were two guys playing guitars and singing part of the time. There were just four of us and we had to talk really loudly to hear each other even when music wasn't going on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've lived in New Albany for 12 years. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I've lived in New Albany for 12 years. When I first visited The Exchange it immediately became my favorite restaurant in town. The staff is extremely friendly and educated about their menu, cocktails, beer and wine. The General Manager, Levi has amassed one of the best bourbon collections this side of the river. The beer selection is great, featuring a lot of local brews and everything I've had on the menu has been superb. For a normal night out, I tend to get the Exchange Burger or the Croque Madame. Fries are outstanding too. If your going out for a special occasion, you can't go wrong with the scallops! Always amazing!

And be sure to spend just $2 to buy a round of drinks for the kitchen staff. They earn it every night!

Cheers!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The prices were ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was delicious. The prices were high. The restaurant was noisy as are most restaurants today.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

party of eight taken care of by Andrew a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

party of eight taken care of by Andrew and he is tops in service and attentive service. three had the "new" scallop special and it was spot on exquesitly prepared and a great dish. all really enjoyed the appetizers of hummus, cheese board with aged meats. other entrees were fish & chips, the shrimp & grits. all would recommend. it was a great time...perfect food, drinks ( really like the selections) and being taken by a very competent staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We met friends for dinner at The Exchang ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We met friends for dinner at The Exchange after making a reservation through Open Table. Our table was ready on time. The food, speciality cocktails, and beer selection were all top notch as usual! Andrew, our server was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant was clean and employees were ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant was clean and employees were friendly. We arrived around 5pm on a Saturday, so it was not yet crowded or busy. Appetizers arrived promptly. Pretzel bread and beer cheese was good. Mussels were ok. The coconut milk broth served with the mussels was delicious and the mussels were cooked properly, but they were a bit fishy. We eat mussels a LOT and they do not need to be fishy. I had the scallops which was 4 scallops served over sticky rice with an avocado puree. The scallops were cooked perfectly, however the overall dish was pricy and ho-hum. It was described as deconstructed sushi, and was reminiscent of such, but it needed a bite...or something acidic...wasabi, sriracha garnish, ginger, something... $26 was too much for a ho-hum dish. Others at the table had pork chops--both the special and the one on the menu which both looked amazing. I tasted my husband's bahn mi sandwich which was rich with pork belly and tasty. The most popular dish at our table was the steak frites and it was scarfed down quickly...those fries were delish. My nine year old son ordered chicken tenders which were blah...little, not crispy breading and a bit dry. Someone else ordered the fish which was huge, crispy, and looked awesome. She didn't like the take on cocktail sauce that accompanied it, but I tasted and thought the spicy garlicy flavor was different and delicious. We have been before and we will return and I hope to choose a better entree for myself next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was good but not spectacular.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It was good but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service and food. A little loud bu ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and food. A little loud but worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've always had great food and great se ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We've always had great food and great service at The Exchange!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In my opinion this is the best restaurant around.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great choice of food without a crowded menu. Food is unbelievably good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat in downtown New A ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful place to eat in downtown New Albany. Many of the foods are from local producers & very good quality. The building, itself has a lot of history.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Exchange

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have invited family and friends to the Exchange many times now and we have never been disappointed. always great food, service and the bar selection is outstanding! we will continue to be loyal customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good but I felt it was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was very good but I felt it was overpriced! They ran out of their special by 6:30 on Saturday evening.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Our favorite restaurant. The seasonal me ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. The seasonal menus never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drinks are always phenomenal he ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food and drinks are always phenomenal here! We had friends in from St.Louis for this meal, who have dined all over the world, and they said it was literally one of the Top 5 dining and drinking experiences they had ever had ANYWHERE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have recommended this to several frien ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I have recommended this to several friends already. Good atmosphere and the food was delicious. I had spinach salad with lavender dressing and lobster pasta. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed the Exchange since it fi ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have enjoyed the Exchange since it first opened in New Albany. The food and service have always been good and it is a fun place to go to. I'm glad that they are now using Open Table. Sometimes in the past, the wait was too long for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.