About The Exchange Pub + Kitchen

118 W Main Street
New Albany, IN 47150
View Larger Map

Housed in a historic Italianate style building which was constructed in 1875, The Exchange pub + kitchen is owner Ian Hall’s take on a warm & casual neighborhood gastropub. Featuring a 15 seat bar, 120 seat dining room, 16 seat outdoor cafe, & a 50 seat private dining space, The Exchange pub + kitchen offers many different dining options. Executive Chef Robert Temple's rotating seasonal menus are the focus of The Exchange pub + kitchen. Locally sourced products & scratch ingredients are the emphasis of the kitchen. Guests will enjoy views of the open kitchen as the chefs showcase their culinary skills. The bar program is highlighted by American craft breweries with 12 rotating draught selections and 12 by the bottle options. The bar staff creates cocktails made from house-made syrups, bitters and premium spirits. The wine portfolio focuses on smaller boutique wines, giving guests the chance to indulge in something new & exciting. The food & beverage menus rotate seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 948-6501

Website:
http://exchangeforfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Friday & Saturday evening from 7pm-10pm

Executive Chef:
Robert Temple

Private Party Facilities:
A special occasion calls for a memorable space. The Stables above The Exchange is a completely private entertaining space that can accommodate up to 35 seated guests or 50 guests for standing receptions. Named after the original building, Shrader Stable and Livery, the room features original wainscoting, arched windows, exposed brick, a private bar and restroom, A/V ready 60” LCD television, and wonderful views of the Sherman Minton Bridge. It is the ideal location for daytime and evening events, wine tastings, holiday parties, and cocktail receptions, one that your won’t forget. Wonderful atmosphere, superior service and amazing menus all come together to help create your distinctive event. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for six, an elegant celebration for 30, a cocktail event for 50 or even taking over our restaurant, our private dining coordinator can assist you in hosting your next private event.

Private Party Contact:
Nikki Hall: 5023382944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Exchange Pub + Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Fun (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great Beer (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Live Music (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Romantic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, as usual. We had friends ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food, as usual. We had friends who were there for the first time and loved everything about the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food, but overpriced for what you ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Decent food, but overpriced for what you get. 6 oz steak and some fries was $21. Go here if you like to drink overpriced alcohol (which they have a wide selection of).

Tags: Live Music, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

No question. No doubt. The Exchange ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

No question. No doubt. The Exchange is our favorite spot in New Albany!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time here, I really en ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time here, I really enjoyed the vibe and the food. We ordered a few salads and sides and shared, everything was great. Will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eaten here many times and it's always ex ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Eaten here many times and it's always excellent. Great for date night!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Live Sports, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our son and daughter in law visiting fro ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our son and daughter in law visiting from the Indianapolis area were very pleased with the menu, entrees, and the ambiance of the surroundings.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome dining. Great drinks, wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Awesome dining. Great drinks, wonderful food, delightful server. Just the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi! Only thing wrong they had us down f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Hi! Only thing wrong they had us down for 11 am instead of 12 noon. Somebody fiddled when they should have faddled when they entered wrong time. No biggie. Food and service 5 stars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the menu selections.... Goat che ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Enjoyed the menu selections.... Goat cheese appetizers and Caprese salad were very tasty!!

Also had steak frites and Exchange burger that we enjoyed.

Will be back soon.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly efficient service and yummy foo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Friendly efficient service and yummy food. We enjoyed the pork wings and goat cheese fritters immensely and the soak and smoke chicken was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food at The Exchange is OUTSTANDING! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food at The Exchange is OUTSTANDING! We shared the goat cheese appetizers and they are amazing! For dinner, I had the salmon (which was nice and flaky) with risotto and green beans and it had a great flavor. Our service was slow for a Saturday night and they weren't especially busy when we arrived. Other than it taking a little longer for dinner, I would recommend eating here anytime; their food is phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was wonderful! I had the salmo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was wonderful! I had the salmon which was perfectly cooked. All of the dishes I tried at our table were delicious

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer che ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Steak frites and lobster pasta! Beer cheese, Miller Lite.. can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

An easy place to take your family as the ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

An easy place to take your family as there is something on the menu to please anyone. The beer roasted chicken was juicy and delicious. The burgers are tasty and served on a pretzel bun with or without some yummy toppings. The steak and frites are presented in a novel way and a can't go wrong entree. The pork chop and the fish sandwich were big hits with our party as well. Oh yeah, the Parmesan and garlic frites are killer!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all thought the food was great, our w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We all thought the food was great, our waiter was very good, stopping by to let us know about any delays.

Lobster pasta was really good, and the catfish special was interesting mix of flavor.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and excellent service. Food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good food and excellent service. Food was well seasoned. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and for the price a good valu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and for the price a good value. The only concern was it was very very loud so conversation was hampered. We would go back and have visited this place several times

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was great and good was delicious

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was great and good was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the exchange. Seems we are ther ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love the exchange. Seems we are there about once/week!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit just as good as the first. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Second visit just as good as the first. Food is awesome. My only complaint is the noise. Why do restaurants remove all fabric that could absorb some noise? I know you want us to leave so you can turn the tables, but if we could actually hear one another we would stay and continue ordering.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience every time we are here, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great experience every time we are here, love the Steak Frites. Usually get the beer cheese for appetizer which is excellent and the last couple times we have gotten "The Brownie" for dessert and the caramel ice-cream goes perfect with the brownie.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We regularly go to the Exchange - usuall ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We regularly go to the Exchange - usually for dinner. The menu is limited, but food is good. It is good to have a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was courteous. The food was ok ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff was courteous. The food was ok but nothing special and very pricey. It was nearly impossible to visit with our friends because it was INCREDIBLY loud. This restaurant had been highly recommended and, frankly, we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The Exchange has always been great for u ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Exchange has always been great for us in food and service. From the beer cheese to the lobster pasta! Service has always been awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good...I got the shrim ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was very good...I got the shrimp and grits. Everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got together with friends before the Lou ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Got together with friends before the Louisville Crashers concert at the New Albany Amphitheater. Food was good and the service was very good. At the time of day we were there, not many people were in the restaurant. The place will certainly be loud when the restaurant is full. We selected food from the afternoon menu; not an abundance of selections but the food was good. The fish was a big hit at our table. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eclectic old architecture in this repurp ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Eclectic old architecture in this repurposed building. Nice solo acoustic guitarist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food and service. Had the s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always great food and service. Had the shrimp and grits that were outstanding. Good choice of craft beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! Cocktails were creative a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Amazing place! Cocktails were creative and yummy, The food was over the top! Creative, tasty and generous portions. The goat cheese fritters are to die for and the prosciutto/peach salad gave me dreams for days. This was our first visit but not our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been numerous times, and every ti ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have been numerous times, and every time it is better than the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Girls Night Out group had a great ti ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our Girls Night Out group had a great time. The meals were wonderful and our server was very attentive. I would recommend The Exchange to anyone looking for a casual spot to enjoy a tasty dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to The Exchange ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit to The Exchange. We had a group of 9 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. All staff were attentive, polite, friendly and knowledgeable. The General Manager was very attentive to the diners. The food was amazing and there was a great selection from the bar. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife for our 17th anniversary. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my wife for our 17th anniversary. The food was great, the staff was amazing, and the building itself was really cool. We will definitely go back in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there on several occasions ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have eaten there on several occasions, this last time with friends who had not been there. Food was good , service good, noise level s high for people our age. Very hard to understand waiters comments.

Waiters should inform people who order drinks with ginger ale that you make it. It changes the favor of any hard drink , and we forget. We do not like it. Ordered the next on rocks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Exchange never disappoints! Amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Exchange never disappoints! Amazing cocktail menu, upscale gastropub food choices with incredible seasonal dishes. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good but noise level was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was really good but noise level was high because it was full plus there were two guys playing guitars and singing part of the time. There were just four of us and we had to talk really loudly to hear each other even when music wasn't going on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've lived in New Albany for 12 years. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 6, 2016

I've lived in New Albany for 12 years. When I first visited The Exchange it immediately became my favorite restaurant in town. The staff is extremely friendly and educated about their menu, cocktails, beer and wine. The General Manager, Levi has amassed one of the best bourbon collections this side of the river. The beer selection is great, featuring a lot of local brews and everything I've had on the menu has been superb. For a normal night out, I tend to get the Exchange Burger or the Croque Madame. Fries are outstanding too. If your going out for a special occasion, you can't go wrong with the scallops! Always amazing!

And be sure to spend just $2 to buy a round of drinks for the kitchen staff. They earn it every night!

Cheers!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The prices were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was delicious. The prices were high. The restaurant was noisy as are most restaurants today.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.