About The English Inn

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Scenic View (13)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

This visit to the English Inn was nowhere near as good as the last time we went. Maybe it was an "off" night? We are hoping they did not change owners or management.

We ordered the same appetizer as before (Baked Brie)...Last time it was deliciously drowned in a fruit sauce, fresh fruit, and came with a plate full of crackers to eat it with. This time the sauce was a tiny splash on the plate, 1/2 of what looked like a raspberry(?), and there were maybe 6-8 tiny crackers. Our waiter never checked on us (see below), so we broke them in half to make them last.

My wife ordered the Lobster and Beef Tips... The lobster was way overcooked and crispy (lobster should not be crispy). The beef tips were also overcooked. It also came with raw rainbow carrots, which didn't seem right, it seemed like they should have been cooked.

I ordered the Beef Wellington. It was somehow very tough...I don't know how a filet mignon can be tough. I was wondering if they had substituted a cheaper cut of meat. This came with obviously frozen green beans.

My wife and I both agreed that the mashed potatoes were the best thing on our plates (they were amazing!). This was painful since the bill was so high. We walked out feeling we didn't get anywhere near our money's worth.

We would have complained about the food...but, overhead another table complain about frozen fish. The Manager gave them a long explanation about how frozen fish is the same as fresh. We didn't think our comments would have mattered.

Our waiter was very nice, but seemed to have other things to do. We often saw him at the big tables asking them how everything was going. But, the side of the room we were on (mostly 2-seat tables) was only visited for taking orders, dropping off food, and the bill.
The other staff was awesome! Our waters were never low and we didn't have empty plates for very long.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best dining experiences I have had. Everything and I mean everything was spot on. I not only recommend this fine establishment but I will be back here many times from Warren MI.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, elegant atmosphere...highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I to The English Inn to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary, and everything was perfect. Service was superb, the food was excellent, and the ambiance was just right for our celebration. I know we'll be back in the future and I look forward to it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Everything was amazing. The only thing that spoiled things is that we were sat next to a crying baby. It was kind of a bummer because we were looking for a kid-free, quiet dinner. Nothing t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The filet I ordered was my only disappointment. I wouldn't call that USDS Prime, it was like stringy roast beet! It was cooked wonderful with all accents absolutely fabulous! Maybe the meat vendor should be reconsidered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went to celebrate an engagement and for the lobster special. I had the lobster tail which may have been the best lobster I have had. Seasoned perfectly
My family had the lobster and beef tips and the 3 cheese pasta. All were outstanding.
Wait staff personal and congratulated my son and fiance several times. The English inn is my very favorite to go place for a special meal or just because it is so good. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Not inexpensive, but definitely worth the price for a 'get dressed up, special occasion type place'. The meal was wonderful, as we remembered, since the last time we cane nearly 25 years ago. We won't wait 25 more years to return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had our wedding reception here and we return every year for our anniversary to celebrate. Fantastic every time! Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

English Inn amazing always the food the ambiance is so elegent yet comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was great and the ambience terrific. The only issue I had was that they seated my wife and I at a small table that was squeezed in between the wall and another occupied 4 seat table. The waitress even had problems trying to get to us. The strange thing was that there were plenty of other tables available so there was no reason to seat us where they did. We made the best of it though and the rest of the experience was very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went here for Anniversary dinner with my wife. Outstanding menu and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Filet Mignon was amazing, the salad was also amazing. We ordered the appetizer mushrooms and I would not recommend them, they were cold and a little tough. The creme brule was ok not the best that I have had but I would go back and try other appetizers and I will be getting the filet again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food, service, but especially the Inn itself. Just gorgeous, and so unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been trying to visit the English Inn for some time and finally managed it for our Wedding Anniversary. We had a great time, the food was excellent, we had the Chateaubriand for 2. My wife even managed to persuade our server David to arrange for our starter to be just a Yorkshire Pudding with gravy - my wife is a Yorkshire girl and she said it was "spot on".

As we both are from the UK originally and we loved the house and the gardens and especially that the conversation in the Dining Room was muted and low, it was a special occasion for us two and you don't want to hear everybody else's conversations - do you! Next time we will plan to stay overnight as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Great food and the dining room is very cozy and romantic. Good wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter was attentive to our needs without smothering us. He recommended a wine at my request that was very delicious. Nice piano music and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The English Inn was absolutely fantastic. The food and service is phenomenal. I highly recommend and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

There are few more remarkable settings. This is a former mansion in the style of an English country estate house, converted into an inn with wonderful overnight rooms and dining areas. There is a pub downstairs that offers drinks and lighter fare, including outdoor seating. The view is spectacular, especially the back view of the terraced gardens going down to a small river with woodlands behind. Overnight guests get breakfast with the room, and we thus enjoyer both dinner and breakfast with our overnight stay. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Just lovely - wait staff was so pleasant and helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We have always enjoyed the warmth, feel and charm of the English Inn, and this time was no exception. The waiter - Kevin - was sharp, prompt and unobstusive. Diner was good. Not exceptional as in the past. The kitchen seems to be slipping. The selections were super, and the combinations enticing. Just the quality - for example my main was prime rib and a lobster tail. The lobster tail was exceptional. The prime rib cooked to perfection, but almost cold. These little things began to add up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We adore the English Inn. It's one of the most romantic places we've ever been. Plan to spend a few hours exploring the grounds, grabbing drinks in the pub, and enjoying a luxurious meal with outstanding service. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Thought the diners could have been a little more creative. White rice with the salmon and immature asparagus with the prime rib was a little boring

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The meal was wonderful. The staff great. And of course the surrounding beautiful.

However I was disappointed when I used the restroom and the wastebasket was over flowing with paper towels. There are cleaning supplies to rid the sink of lime and rust in the sink. The window covering had caught some bugs in between the layers of curtains. The soap dispenser did not work. Not a good representation of the inn.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beautiful space in time to relax and enjoy the feel of being pampered

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service was impeccable, especially Courtney, and food was amazing. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Inn was perfect as always. Beautiful room, food and service. Always enjoy our walk down to the river to see the flowers and grounds!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Close to 5stars.Filet was best I,ve tasted[I will get that next time ].Lobster stuffed walleye also e xcellent.My prime rib was very sad(I didn't bother with a doggie bag)but that will not keep us from coming back,from Kalamazoo.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were very pleased with everything! The Buttercup Cabin was wonderful and I noticed all the high end everything! The porch was a nice relaxing ending to our gorgeous afternoon!

I had been here a couple times in the past but it was winter so the weather was a wonderful change in June!

I would highly recommend you!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful service, food and view eating on the patio behind the Inn overlooking their grounds and the Grand River. If you haven't been there, or haven't been recently, you really need to give this spot a try!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The prime rib was horrible. It was embarrassing because we were celebrating a birthday party and had guest from out of state with us. We told them how wonderful this place was and all 5 of us were so disappointed with our food. We go to the English Inn all the time and have never had bad food but this time it was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The English Inn is a lovely old manor house in a beautiful setting. The food was good but it is on the expensive side. What was the biggest disappointment was the terrible service. Although my husband and I were seated early prior to our guests arriving, we were not approached by a server for a drink order even though we were provided with the wine and drink menu. After the rest of our eight person party arrived, we were totally ignored for 35 minutes. My husband finally had to seek out the host and ask for a server. I don't expect that poor of service in a restaurant with this high of a reputation.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with dinner and an overnight stay at The English Inn. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The duck sausage in the puff pastry was delicious. The dark and stormy was a great cocktail. Our beef dishes (prime rib & fillet) were cooked to perfection. We finished our meal with a delectable crème brûlée. The pianist provided a lovely atmosphere. We just wanted to sit and enjoy after our meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Date night!!!! We love this place - food and service are great, definitely worth the drive. The bar in the basement is very cool - we always make sure to have time for a pre-dinner cocktail there. We will be back again for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall great place for nicer dinning experience for central Michigan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our third visit, and probably our last. The service was excellent as was the environment, but the food , well ,was okay, our prime rib was grisly and the veggies weren't cooked enough, when asked if we wanted coffee after the meal we said okay, then the server brought the desert selection (which lead us to believe that desert was furnished) but cost us another thirty five bucks. The dinner for three started out to cost around seventy dollars but with the coffee, tea and desert and tip came to $154.00.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I would recommend it to anyone for anything such as lunch, dinner, or get togethers. I do recommend it frequently as the best restaurant in mid-Michigan. It is definitely 5 stars.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been going to the English Inn for over five years. This visit was not quite the same. It was Mother's day. The tales were filled. My wife had to ask to have her wine glass refilled; she had to ask the server for bread three different times. An associate came later with two rolls for the two of us when our meal was finished. Not good. Just annoying but not enough to get upset over. Perhaps with the occasion and the lack of a complete staff, service was most likely less personal than normal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of us had the rack of lamb, which was very good. The other had lobster stuffed fish which was not good at all. The lobster bisque was not very flavorful and had few lobster pieces in it. The onion soup was okay, but nothing special. The house salad did not have dressing on it and we needed to ask for extra dressing. The bread rolls were soft and fluffy and not very tasty. The server was inexperienced and forgot requests. Overall, the experience is not worth the high price. It used to be much, much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.