About The English Inn

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Worth the Drive (20)
Historic (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Scenic View (14)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (10)
Fireplace (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Private Room (4)
Vegan (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

The meal was wonderful. The staff great. And of course the surrounding beautiful.

However I was disappointed when I used the restroom and the wastebasket was over flowing with paper towels. There are cleaning supplies to rid the sink of lime and rust in the sink. The window covering had caught some bugs in between the layers of curtains. The soap dispenser did not work. Not a good representation of the inn.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful space in time to relax and enjoy the feel of being pampered

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service was impeccable, especially Courtney, and food was amazing. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Inn was perfect as always. Beautiful room, food and service. Always enjoy our walk down to the river to see the flowers and grounds!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Close to 5stars.Filet was best I,ve tasted[I will get that next time ].Lobster stuffed walleye also e xcellent.My prime rib was very sad(I didn't bother with a doggie bag)but that will not keep us from coming back,from Kalamazoo.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were very pleased with everything! The Buttercup Cabin was wonderful and I noticed all the high end everything! The porch was a nice relaxing ending to our gorgeous afternoon!

I had been here a couple times in the past but it was winter so the weather was a wonderful change in June!

I would highly recommend you!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful service, food and view eating on the patio behind the Inn overlooking their grounds and the Grand River. If you haven't been there, or haven't been recently, you really need to give this spot a try!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The prime rib was horrible. It was embarrassing because we were celebrating a birthday party and had guest from out of state with us. We told them how wonderful this place was and all 5 of us were so disappointed with our food. We go to the English Inn all the time and have never had bad food but this time it was horrible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The English Inn is a lovely old manor house in a beautiful setting. The food was good but it is on the expensive side. What was the biggest disappointment was the terrible service. Although my husband and I were seated early prior to our guests arriving, we were not approached by a server for a drink order even though we were provided with the wine and drink menu. After the rest of our eight person party arrived, we were totally ignored for 35 minutes. My husband finally had to seek out the host and ask for a server. I don't expect that poor of service in a restaurant with this high of a reputation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with dinner and an overnight stay at The English Inn. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The duck sausage in the puff pastry was delicious. The dark and stormy was a great cocktail. Our beef dishes (prime rib & fillet) were cooked to perfection. We finished our meal with a delectable crème brûlée. The pianist provided a lovely atmosphere. We just wanted to sit and enjoy after our meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Date night!!!! We love this place - food and service are great, definitely worth the drive. The bar in the basement is very cool - we always make sure to have time for a pre-dinner cocktail there. We will be back again for sure!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall great place for nicer dinning experience for central Michigan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our third visit, and probably our last. The service was excellent as was the environment, but the food , well ,was okay, our prime rib was grisly and the veggies weren't cooked enough, when asked if we wanted coffee after the meal we said okay, then the server brought the desert selection (which lead us to believe that desert was furnished) but cost us another thirty five bucks. The dinner for three started out to cost around seventy dollars but with the coffee, tea and desert and tip came to $154.00.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I would recommend it to anyone for anything such as lunch, dinner, or get togethers. I do recommend it frequently as the best restaurant in mid-Michigan. It is definitely 5 stars.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been going to the English Inn for over five years. This visit was not quite the same. It was Mother's day. The tales were filled. My wife had to ask to have her wine glass refilled; she had to ask the server for bread three different times. An associate came later with two rolls for the two of us when our meal was finished. Not good. Just annoying but not enough to get upset over. Perhaps with the occasion and the lack of a complete staff, service was most likely less personal than normal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of us had the rack of lamb, which was very good. The other had lobster stuffed fish which was not good at all. The lobster bisque was not very flavorful and had few lobster pieces in it. The onion soup was okay, but nothing special. The house salad did not have dressing on it and we needed to ask for extra dressing. The bread rolls were soft and fluffy and not very tasty. The server was inexperienced and forgot requests. Overall, the experience is not worth the high price. It used to be much, much better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and service was great as always. It was nice to see familiar faces that also dined for Mother's Day last year.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always worth the visit. Recommend this place to anyone seeking a special place to take somebody for a great meal and ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous dining experience, great food and service. Only minor complaint is the tables are close together so chairs are back to back with next table, so not necessarily a private experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating at the English Inn! They accommodated our large party very well. The food was amazing and the serving staff was charming and personable. All around the perfect setting for our celebration!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was just awful Ive been there before and I can only say they've done a 180.
Chintzy wine glasses.....poor wine list, lamb was tough and old.Prime rib should have been medium - came out rare. when asked to have it cooked more, they MW'd it and it came back grey - ugh! Embarrassing as we were with friends who we had raved to.
Salad was on a hot ugly plate and besides being petite it was not dressed properly and was awful.
Their prices are not cheap but the quality of the food didn't measure up.
Perhaps they are under new cost-effective management or a new chef.
I have a reservation for Mothers day - probably won't go.
suzanne majors

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food choices are very good with plenty of protien choices. The lobster stuffed walleye is amazing and the fillet mignon is always prepared exactly as requested.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had very excellent service and the food was very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was an excellent choice for that special occasion that you are looking to celebrate. They had a live piano playing to create the perfect ambiance. The prime rib and stuffed trout was well-prepared and cooked to perfection.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful destination, excellent food & attentive staff

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another wonderful meal! A little off the beaten path, but the historic charm and great food make it well worth the trip - we make it an periodic pilgrimage and are never disappointed. The setting is fabulous and the food is always well prepared. After cocktails in the quaint pub, we moved to the dining room. There we started with the Beef Tartar and Duck Sausage for appetizers - the latter being a nice flavorful surprise. We then ventured into a dinner of Risotto Morel, Lobster stuffed Walleye, and the Duck plate, all shared over a bottle of Michigan's own Brengman Brothers Pinot Noir. All fantastic, and well proportioned - no one went home hungry, no one felt overstuffed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've never had a bad meal there. The wait staff is well trained, the food delicious and great ambience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We are never disappointed and keep coming back. They change the menu just enough during the seasons to try something different while still serving old favorites. Kudos to Eric and staff!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Casual, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It is a very nice place for special occasions. The food is excellently prepared, the service attentive, and the ambiance very attractive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was our second experience here and they did not fail to impress us. We drive from Dearborn for this dining experience and it is well worth the drive. Our first visit was our anniversary and our second was my husband's 60th birthday. our waiter and the manager were welcoming and attentive. The food was out of this world. I would recommend this place for any special dining experience. It is a dining experience not just eating a meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ambience of the inn was very lovely. The coffee was very good, the ice cream scoop of whipped potatoes where the best tasting potatoes I ever had. The server was very cold and not very friendly, All of the staff was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed but that was all. They did not go out of the way to be friendly. Not even sure our server smiled! I'm glad I got to experience dining at the English Inn but I will not recommend it and I am sure I will not return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent food! Great service at breakfast. Efficient, but cool, service at dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Good food and we usually love it here. This time, was disappointed that the hostess didn't seat us further away from other people. The dining room wasn't full; to seat us immediately next to a party of three seemed... uncharacteristically unaware. Normally a very quiet romantic place... but sure enough, on this night, adjacent loud talk of good local gynecologists was... distracting. This of course had nothing to do with the service staff... beyond being a worst case scenario that would be avoided by sprinkling guests around the room. Yes, we could have moved... but for all we knew, it was going to be a packed house. The hostess knew otherwise (she had the reservation list) but still shoehorned us in. It's the role of service staff to proactively head off situations that could be less than comfortable. Other issues: the service staff allowed empty wine glasses to be empty a bit too long, but were too quick try to clear the plates. Requests were always polite, but for the love of humanity... after the third "are you finished" (within a span of five minutes) my wife was finally worn down and let them take it away. We felt a little rushed all night... a tragedy because this place is built to be "an event". Don't let the staff push you to the next thing. My point is, there shouldn't be a push at all. Instead of three people asking redundant questions (which is kinda annoying)... how about one person that is fully aware & able to balance service and subtlety?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We always go to the English Inn to celebrate birthdays or a special occasion in the family. On Sun days they do a 4 course special that is a great value. It's definitly our favorite time to go. It's a very nice place to go for a relaxing, leisurely dinner. I highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was just excellent. Fast, and right on the spot. My duck was excellent, but my wife's prime rib was a little tough, although the flavor was as she expected. That can happen.
I didn't expect my martinis' to cost $10.00 a piece, but they were very good.
Overall. we would not hesitate to come back for a special occasion as often as we could.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the English Inn for our "date nights" when we want a more romantic feel. It is also an amazing venue for weddings and we will be holding our ceremony and reception here in May. Top notch staff and facility - absolute joy to work with.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went here with a few friends for my daughter's 20th birthday. Food was excellent, as was the intentive waitstaff. Well worth the money. I recommend the chicken, Beef Wellington, Brie starter plate and all of their desserts, especially the white mouse with raspberry and mango.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentine's Day and ate the prime rib. It was very good we come every year and never are disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely would recommend this for a date night very intimate and historical ambiance our waiter was Mike and provided great service, as a fellow server my standards are high and I left extremely satisfied! Definitely will be back

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.