About The English Inn

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Scenic View (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (9)
Historic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vegan (3)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The Filet Mignon was amazing, the salad was also amazing. We ordered the appetizer mushrooms and I would not recommend them, they were cold and a little tough. The creme brule was ok not the best that I have had but I would go back and try other appetizers and I will be getting the filet again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, service, but especially the Inn itself. Just gorgeous, and so unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been trying to visit the English Inn for some time and finally managed it for our Wedding Anniversary. We had a great time, the food was excellent, we had the Chateaubriand for 2. My wife even managed to persuade our server David to arrange for our starter to be just a Yorkshire Pudding with gravy - my wife is a Yorkshire girl and she said it was "spot on".

As we both are from the UK originally and we loved the house and the gardens and especially that the conversation in the Dining Room was muted and low, it was a special occasion for us two and you don't want to hear everybody else's conversations - do you! Next time we will plan to stay overnight as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Great food and the dining room is very cozy and romantic. Good wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter was attentive to our needs without smothering us. He recommended a wine at my request that was very delicious. Nice piano music and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The English Inn was absolutely fantastic. The food and service is phenomenal. I highly recommend and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

There are few more remarkable settings. This is a former mansion in the style of an English country estate house, converted into an inn with wonderful overnight rooms and dining areas. There is a pub downstairs that offers drinks and lighter fare, including outdoor seating. The view is spectacular, especially the back view of the terraced gardens going down to a small river with woodlands behind. Overnight guests get breakfast with the room, and we thus enjoyer both dinner and breakfast with our overnight stay. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Just lovely - wait staff was so pleasant and helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We have always enjoyed the warmth, feel and charm of the English Inn, and this time was no exception. The waiter - Kevin - was sharp, prompt and unobstusive. Diner was good. Not exceptional as in the past. The kitchen seems to be slipping. The selections were super, and the combinations enticing. Just the quality - for example my main was prime rib and a lobster tail. The lobster tail was exceptional. The prime rib cooked to perfection, but almost cold. These little things began to add up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We adore the English Inn. It's one of the most romantic places we've ever been. Plan to spend a few hours exploring the grounds, grabbing drinks in the pub, and enjoying a luxurious meal with outstanding service. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Thought the diners could have been a little more creative. White rice with the salmon and immature asparagus with the prime rib was a little boring

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The meal was wonderful. The staff great. And of course the surrounding beautiful.

However I was disappointed when I used the restroom and the wastebasket was over flowing with paper towels. There are cleaning supplies to rid the sink of lime and rust in the sink. The window covering had caught some bugs in between the layers of curtains. The soap dispenser did not work. Not a good representation of the inn.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beautiful space in time to relax and enjoy the feel of being pampered

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service was impeccable, especially Courtney, and food was amazing. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Inn was perfect as always. Beautiful room, food and service. Always enjoy our walk down to the river to see the flowers and grounds!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Close to 5stars.Filet was best I,ve tasted[I will get that next time ].Lobster stuffed walleye also e xcellent.My prime rib was very sad(I didn't bother with a doggie bag)but that will not keep us from coming back,from Kalamazoo.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were very pleased with everything! The Buttercup Cabin was wonderful and I noticed all the high end everything! The porch was a nice relaxing ending to our gorgeous afternoon!

I had been here a couple times in the past but it was winter so the weather was a wonderful change in June!

I would highly recommend you!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful service, food and view eating on the patio behind the Inn overlooking their grounds and the Grand River. If you haven't been there, or haven't been recently, you really need to give this spot a try!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The prime rib was horrible. It was embarrassing because we were celebrating a birthday party and had guest from out of state with us. We told them how wonderful this place was and all 5 of us were so disappointed with our food. We go to the English Inn all the time and have never had bad food but this time it was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The English Inn is a lovely old manor house in a beautiful setting. The food was good but it is on the expensive side. What was the biggest disappointment was the terrible service. Although my husband and I were seated early prior to our guests arriving, we were not approached by a server for a drink order even though we were provided with the wine and drink menu. After the rest of our eight person party arrived, we were totally ignored for 35 minutes. My husband finally had to seek out the host and ask for a server. I don't expect that poor of service in a restaurant with this high of a reputation.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with dinner and an overnight stay at The English Inn. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The duck sausage in the puff pastry was delicious. The dark and stormy was a great cocktail. Our beef dishes (prime rib & fillet) were cooked to perfection. We finished our meal with a delectable crème brûlée. The pianist provided a lovely atmosphere. We just wanted to sit and enjoy after our meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Date night!!!! We love this place - food and service are great, definitely worth the drive. The bar in the basement is very cool - we always make sure to have time for a pre-dinner cocktail there. We will be back again for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall great place for nicer dinning experience for central Michigan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our third visit, and probably our last. The service was excellent as was the environment, but the food , well ,was okay, our prime rib was grisly and the veggies weren't cooked enough, when asked if we wanted coffee after the meal we said okay, then the server brought the desert selection (which lead us to believe that desert was furnished) but cost us another thirty five bucks. The dinner for three started out to cost around seventy dollars but with the coffee, tea and desert and tip came to $154.00.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I would recommend it to anyone for anything such as lunch, dinner, or get togethers. I do recommend it frequently as the best restaurant in mid-Michigan. It is definitely 5 stars.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been going to the English Inn for over five years. This visit was not quite the same. It was Mother's day. The tales were filled. My wife had to ask to have her wine glass refilled; she had to ask the server for bread three different times. An associate came later with two rolls for the two of us when our meal was finished. Not good. Just annoying but not enough to get upset over. Perhaps with the occasion and the lack of a complete staff, service was most likely less personal than normal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of us had the rack of lamb, which was very good. The other had lobster stuffed fish which was not good at all. The lobster bisque was not very flavorful and had few lobster pieces in it. The onion soup was okay, but nothing special. The house salad did not have dressing on it and we needed to ask for extra dressing. The bread rolls were soft and fluffy and not very tasty. The server was inexperienced and forgot requests. Overall, the experience is not worth the high price. It used to be much, much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and service was great as always. It was nice to see familiar faces that also dined for Mother's Day last year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always worth the visit. Recommend this place to anyone seeking a special place to take somebody for a great meal and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous dining experience, great food and service. Only minor complaint is the tables are close together so chairs are back to back with next table, so not necessarily a private experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating at the English Inn! They accommodated our large party very well. The food was amazing and the serving staff was charming and personable. All around the perfect setting for our celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was just awful Ive been there before and I can only say they've done a 180.
Chintzy wine glasses.....poor wine list, lamb was tough and old.Prime rib should have been medium - came out rare. when asked to have it cooked more, they MW'd it and it came back grey - ugh! Embarrassing as we were with friends who we had raved to.
Salad was on a hot ugly plate and besides being petite it was not dressed properly and was awful.
Their prices are not cheap but the quality of the food didn't measure up.
Perhaps they are under new cost-effective management or a new chef.
I have a reservation for Mothers day - probably won't go.
suzanne majors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food choices are very good with plenty of protien choices. The lobster stuffed walleye is amazing and the fillet mignon is always prepared exactly as requested.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had very excellent service and the food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was an excellent choice for that special occasion that you are looking to celebrate. They had a live piano playing to create the perfect ambiance. The prime rib and stuffed trout was well-prepared and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful destination, excellent food & attentive staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another wonderful meal! A little off the beaten path, but the historic charm and great food make it well worth the trip - we make it an periodic pilgrimage and are never disappointed. The setting is fabulous and the food is always well prepared. After cocktails in the quaint pub, we moved to the dining room. There we started with the Beef Tartar and Duck Sausage for appetizers - the latter being a nice flavorful surprise. We then ventured into a dinner of Risotto Morel, Lobster stuffed Walleye, and the Duck plate, all shared over a bottle of Michigan's own Brengman Brothers Pinot Noir. All fantastic, and well proportioned - no one went home hungry, no one felt overstuffed.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've never had a bad meal there. The wait staff is well trained, the food delicious and great ambience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We are never disappointed and keep coming back. They change the menu just enough during the seasons to try something different while still serving old favorites. Kudos to Eric and staff!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.