About The English Inn

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 1:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (24)
Historic (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Fireplace (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Scenic View (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Waterfront (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food! Great service at breakfast. Efficient, but cool, service at dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and we usually love it here. This time, was disappointed that the hostess didn't seat us further away from other people. The dining room wasn't full; to seat us immediately next to a party of three seemed... uncharacteristically unaware. Normally a very quiet romantic place... but sure enough, on this night, adjacent loud talk of good local gynecologists was... distracting. This of course had nothing to do with the service staff... beyond being a worst case scenario that would be avoided by sprinkling guests around the room. Yes, we could have moved... but for all we knew, it was going to be a packed house. The hostess knew otherwise (she had the reservation list) but still shoehorned us in. It's the role of service staff to proactively head off situations that could be less than comfortable. Other issues: the service staff allowed empty wine glasses to be empty a bit too long, but were too quick try to clear the plates. Requests were always polite, but for the love of humanity... after the third "are you finished" (within a span of five minutes) my wife was finally worn down and let them take it away. We felt a little rushed all night... a tragedy because this place is built to be "an event". Don't let the staff push you to the next thing. My point is, there shouldn't be a push at all. Instead of three people asking redundant questions (which is kinda annoying)... how about one person that is fully aware & able to balance service and subtlety?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

We always go to the English Inn to celebrate birthdays or a special occasion in the family. On Sun days they do a 4 course special that is a great value. It's definitly our favorite time to go. It's a very nice place to go for a relaxing, leisurely dinner. I highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was just excellent. Fast, and right on the spot. My duck was excellent, but my wife's prime rib was a little tough, although the flavor was as she expected. That can happen.

I didn't expect my martinis' to cost $10.00 a piece, but they were very good.

Overall. we would not hesitate to come back for a special occasion as often as we could.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the English Inn for our "date nights" when we want a more romantic feel. It is also an amazing venue for weddings and we will be holding our ceremony and reception here in May. Top notch staff and facility - absolute joy to work with.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went here with a few friends for my daughter's 20th birthday. Food was excellent, as was the intentive waitstaff. Well worth the money. I recommend the chicken, Beef Wellington, Brie starter plate and all of their desserts, especially the white mouse with raspberry and mango.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentine's Day and ate the prime rib. It was very good we come every year and never are disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely would recommend this for a date night very intimate and historical ambiance our waiter was Mike and provided great service, as a fellow server my standards are high and I left extremely satisfied! Definitely will be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food as always. Have been here on multiple occasions and I am never disappointed always a great meal with great service.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was amazing. Our 2nd time here. Both times service and food was excellent. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everything was wonderful, from the cocktails, to the wine, to the appetizers, and dinner and dessert. Service was friendly & efficient. We enjoyed the entire experience!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The salad is a joke, no free refills on soda, they call themselves an English restaurant, but they don't even have real potatoes, just mashed, even with the English meals like beef Wellington, the portions are small but the entrees are good and the setting is nice no

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Enjoyable lunch, nice salad, fresh rolls, excellent prime rib sandwich, fantastic creme brulee. Nice wine, but coffee from carafe could have been hotter. Beautifully decorated rooms in a charming historic building.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

If you have never tried the English Inn, I would highly recommend it. It's a little pricey, but the food is great and the atmosphere unparalleled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the downstairs pub afterwards

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love The English Inn. The food is always of the finest quality and perfectly prepared. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for that extra special dining experience, this is the place!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday dinner date. Prime rib was well served but a bit cool. Pork with Scallops was great, gnocchi was less than adequate. Several large parties robbded the attention of staff.

Atmosphere and service were great. Asked for and received fireside table! Normally 5 star for every thing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We haven't been here in a few years. We celebrated both our children's high school and college and law school graduations here some years ago. The inn is now run by Gary & Donna Nelson's son. It seems to have not missed a beat. Except for the misstep between my son's and my filet preparation(he received my rare(Pittsburg) and I his medium rare. Mislabeled in the kitchen we were informed but my dessert was gratis due to this slight inconvenience. The lobster stuffed walleye was very tasty according to my wife and the scallops and pork were also as tasty. This is not a 5 star gourmet restaurant but it is very good in a delightful setting worthy of your next special occasion or wedding gathering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We both (my wife and I) loved the prime rib and the grenn beans, but especially the Yorkshire pudding. The lobster bisque was delicious, and my wife ate the entire shrimp cocktail! I had one of the best Whiskey sour drinks in many a year. The service (Amber) was great.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Enjoyed our table by the fire with the snow outside; beautiful. Wonderful service and good food. Always a pleasure to come here. Bathroom needs an update, though, but fits the quaint charm.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fast, friendly service in a beautiful old estate. Phenomenal entrees. Highly recommend the Lobster stuffed Walleye.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 28, 2016

As always, the English Inn did not disappoint. The food was excellent and the service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

wonderful classy setting! standard dishes but prepared well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy going to the English Inn, usually once or twice a year. The service and atmosphere are first rate. My lamb chops were wonderful but my wife complained her duck tasted a little "strong', so I rated the food at 4 stars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

For the price I expected exceptional food. I rated it as good, which means it is overpriced in my estimation. We were a party of 4 on Thanksgiving. It was our first and, unfortunately, our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very much enjoyed the Thanksgiving meal. One comment would be that the dinner roll served was inferior to what one would expect at an establishment of this type. Also, I felt that the waiter was not well informed about the kitchen activities or kitchen processes, which made him appear to be a server.

I do plan on continuing my patronage at the English Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The meal was delightful -- ambiance excellent -- showing the English to a young couple as a possible wedding venue.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the English Inn and stayed there for dinner. A very nice quiet, romantic dinner. Great setting, great menu and food. Places like this are getting harder and harder to find.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

always on top of game. Eric is great at knowing when to adjust menu and David is our favorite waiter who once again was outstanding. We met friends and we're pleased

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Historic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came down from Lansing with my girlfriend to try this place out and wasn't disappointed at all. There filet mignon melted in my mouth and there prime rib was amazing! To top it off I had one of the best crème brûlée's. can't wait to go back to try other things on their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are not strangers to the English Inn but have not had the pleasure of staying overnight until last weekend. The new Croquet Cottages were beautiful, clean, and cozy. Wonderful relaxing tub, warm fireplace, and comfy bed. Dinner was delicious, we love the Inn salad and the duck sausage, and rarely have I had a better filet mignon. Wine list is excellent and wait staff was very friendly. We absolutely cannot wait to come back and repeat the experience!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent, attentive service with friendly staff. My water glass was never empty or even close to it. The food was fantastic on all fronts and we were pleased with our visit. We will be back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An awesome romantic gem!! Absolutely loved it!! Everything went above

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding. Been here several times. It will remain a favorite for special occasions. Excellent value for the total package offered by the venue.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great historical setting. Creative menu and awesome food. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I was disappointed that the menu selections were not the same as on the web. Portion sizes were smaller than expected. Taste was mediocre. Not worth the expense.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice ambiance, good for romantic dinners. Appetizers were hit and miss. The mushroom caps were unappealing and bland, the baked brie was delicious. Pasta de mare was good but nothing extraordinary, can get comparable plate at many other restaurants for half price.

Filet mignon was one of the best I ever ate. This is definitely plate to come here for. Our service was extremely slow and inattentive. We had to wait a long time for our drinks and we wouldn't have even gotten our rolls if it wasn't for a bus person. Other patrons nearby complaint as well, they waited 20 minutes for their check to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Mid Michigan's better choices for quality, service, value !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was our first time at the English Inn. We were celebrating our 36th anniversary. We were impressed with the food and service, and we loved the piano music playing during our dinner. Overall it was a wonderful evening with amazing food, service, and atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went to the English Inn for a retirement celebration. We both had a cocktail, wine and the prime rib. The meal was excellent, flavorful and perfically done. The atmosphere was quiet and reserved. The service was attentive without being intrusive. All in all a quality experience. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The shrimp pasta was overpriced and not very good. Sauce tasted like it was out of a jar. Only 3 shrimp. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and stay at the English Inn while celebrating our 35th anniversary! Would definitely recommend and will visit again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We celebrated a 25th work anniversary here. The grounds are beautiful and we walked around before dinner. Our table overlooked the grounds. The wine/drink list was extensive. I really liked our server, she was helpful and appropriate. The food was delicious.

Our evening was everything we were hoping for...I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fabulous..words just cannot describe how great this hidden gem is. Food was unique but not wierd. Mango dessert is a must try. Service is excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great atmosphere & food. Could be our new venue for celebrating our anniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This restaurant is an exceptional place to dine. The food and service are neither one surpassed by any establishment I have dined in the midwest.

I would recommend it to anyone and have recommended it to many already.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The chicken sandwich was very good and the dessert was outstanding! The steak sandwich was a disappointment, very greasy and the meat didn't seem very high quality. With a limited lunch menu I expected each sandwich to be far above average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had the lobster special. The portions were appropriate, not huge. Everything was meticulously plated. Wonderful atmosphere and service. A gem in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were immediately seated and greeted by various wait staff. The food arrived quickly, was well presented and delicious. Service was friendly and quick. We plan to go back again. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.