About The English Inn

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 1:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

parpadelle with wild mushrooms - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
House Salad - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
shrimp salad - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Lobster Bisque - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Salmon salad - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
flourless chocolate cake - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Thanksgiving Feast - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Roasted Rainbow Trout - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Braised Lamb Shank - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
White Chocolate Mousse With Mango Raspberry Sauce - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Herbed Crusted Chicken - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI
Chocolate Cake - The English Inn, Eaton Rapids, MI

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be offering a special Valentines Day Menu. Our Chef has prepared a four course menu that will be offered on Valentines Day for $69 per person. Seatings on this evening will be reserved for a two hour window.

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Historic (22)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fireplace (14)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Scenic View (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Waterfront (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you have never tried the English Inn, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

If you have never tried the English Inn, I would highly recommend it. It's a little pricey, but the food is great and the atmosphere unparalleled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the downstairs pub afterwards

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We love The English Inn. The food is alw ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love The English Inn. The food is always of the finest quality and perfectly prepared. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for that extra special dining experience, this is the place!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday dinner date. Prime rib was well ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday dinner date. Prime rib was well served but a bit cool. Pork with Scallops was great, gnocchi was less than adequate. Several large parties robbded the attention of staff.

Atmosphere and service were great. Asked for and received fireside table! Normally 5 star for every thing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We haven't been here in a few years. We ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We haven't been here in a few years. We celebrated both our children's high school and college and law school graduations here some years ago. The inn is now run by Gary & Donna Nelson's son. It seems to have not missed a beat. Except for the misstep between my son's and my filet preparation(he received my rare(Pittsburg) and I his medium rare. Mislabeled in the kitchen we were informed but my dessert was gratis due to this slight inconvenience. The lobster stuffed walleye was very tasty according to my wife and the scallops and pork were also as tasty. This is not a 5 star gourmet restaurant but it is very good in a delightful setting worthy of your next special occasion or wedding gathering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We both (my wife and I) loved the prime ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We both (my wife and I) loved the prime rib and the grenn beans, but especially the Yorkshire pudding. The lobster bisque was delicious, and my wife ate the entire shrimp cocktail! I had one of the best Whiskey sour drinks in many a year. The service (Amber) was great.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our table by the fire with the s ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Enjoyed our table by the fire with the snow outside; beautiful. Wonderful service and good food. Always a pleasure to come here. Bathroom needs an update, though, but fits the quaint charm.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fast, friendly service in a beautiful ol ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fast, friendly service in a beautiful old estate. Phenomenal entrees. Highly recommend the Lobster stuffed Walleye.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the English Inn did not disap ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 28, 2016

As always, the English Inn did not disappoint. The food was excellent and the service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful classy setting! standard dishe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

wonderful classy setting! standard dishes but prepared well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy going to the English Inn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy going to the English Inn, usually once or twice a year. The service and atmosphere are first rate. My lamb chops were wonderful but my wife complained her duck tasted a little "strong', so I rated the food at 4 stars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very much enjoyed the Thanksgiving meal. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very much enjoyed the Thanksgiving meal. One comment would be that the dinner roll served was inferior to what one would expect at an establishment of this type. Also, I felt that the waiter was not well informed about the kitchen activities or kitchen processes, which made him appear to be a server.

I do plan on continuing my patronage at the English Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The meal was delightful -- ambiance exce ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The meal was delightful -- ambiance excellent -- showing the English to a young couple as a possible wedding venue.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I stayed at the English Inn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the English Inn and stayed there for dinner. A very nice quiet, romantic dinner. Great setting, great menu and food. Places like this are getting harder and harder to find.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always on top of game. Eric is great at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

always on top of game. Eric is great at knowing when to adjust menu and David is our favorite waiter who once again was outstanding. We met friends and we're pleased

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Historic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came down from Lansing with my girlfrien ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came down from Lansing with my girlfriend to try this place out and wasn't disappointed at all. There filet mignon melted in my mouth and there prime rib was amazing! To top it off I had one of the best crème brûlée's. can't wait to go back to try other things on their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are not strangers to the English Inn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are not strangers to the English Inn but have not had the pleasure of staying overnight until last weekend. The new Croquet Cottages were beautiful, clean, and cozy. Wonderful relaxing tub, warm fireplace, and comfy bed. Dinner was delicious, we love the Inn salad and the duck sausage, and rarely have I had a better filet mignon. Wine list is excellent and wait staff was very friendly. We absolutely cannot wait to come back and repeat the experience!

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, attentive service with friend ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent, attentive service with friendly staff. My water glass was never empty or even close to it. The food was fantastic on all fronts and we were pleased with our visit. We will be back!

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An awesome romantic gem!! Absolutely lov ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An awesome romantic gem!! Absolutely loved it!! Everything went above

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Been here several times. It ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding. Been here several times. It will remain a favorite for special occasions. Excellent value for the total package offered by the venue.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great historical setting. Creative menu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great historical setting. Creative menu and awesome food. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was disappointed that the menu selecti ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I was disappointed that the menu selections were not the same as on the web. Portion sizes were smaller than expected. Taste was mediocre. Not worth the expense.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice ambiance, good for romantic dinners ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice ambiance, good for romantic dinners. Appetizers were hit and miss. The mushroom caps were unappealing and bland, the baked brie was delicious. Pasta de mare was good but nothing extraordinary, can get comparable plate at many other restaurants for half price.

Filet mignon was one of the best I ever ate. This is definitely plate to come here for. Our service was extremely slow and inattentive. We had to wait a long time for our drinks and we wouldn't have even gotten our rolls if it wasn't for a bus person. Other patrons nearby complaint as well, they waited 20 minutes for their check to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Mid Michigan's better choices for qualit ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Mid Michigan's better choices for quality, service, value !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first time at the English Inn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was our first time at the English Inn. We were celebrating our 36th anniversary. We were impressed with the food and service, and we loved the piano music playing during our dinner. Overall it was a wonderful evening with amazing food, service, and atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the English Inn for a retirem ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went to the English Inn for a retirement celebration. We both had a cocktail, wine and the prime rib. The meal was excellent, flavorful and perfically done. The atmosphere was quiet and reserved. The service was attentive without being intrusive. All in all a quality experience. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The shrimp pasta was overpriced and not ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The shrimp pasta was overpriced and not very good. Sauce tasted like it was out of a jar. Only 3 shrimp. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and stay at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and stay at the English Inn while celebrating our 35th anniversary! Would definitely recommend and will visit again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a 25th work anniversary he ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We celebrated a 25th work anniversary here. The grounds are beautiful and we walked around before dinner. Our table overlooked the grounds. The wine/drink list was extensive. I really liked our server, she was helpful and appropriate. The food was delicious.

Our evening was everything we were hoping for...I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous..words just cannot describe how ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fabulous..words just cannot describe how great this hidden gem is. Food was unique but not wierd. Mango dessert is a must try. Service is excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere & food. Could be our ne ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great atmosphere & food. Could be our new venue for celebrating our anniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant is an exceptional place ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This restaurant is an exceptional place to dine. The food and service are neither one surpassed by any establishment I have dined in the midwest.

I would recommend it to anyone and have recommended it to many already.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken sandwich was very good and t ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The chicken sandwich was very good and the dessert was outstanding! The steak sandwich was a disappointment, very greasy and the meat didn't seem very high quality. With a limited lunch menu I expected each sandwich to be far above average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the lobster special. The portion ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had the lobster special. The portions were appropriate, not huge. Everything was meticulously plated. Wonderful atmosphere and service. A gem in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were immediately seated and greeted b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were immediately seated and greeted by various wait staff. The food arrived quickly, was well presented and delicious. Service was friendly and quick. We plan to go back again. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was superb and the food was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was superb and the food was delicious. The building and surroundings are beautiful. We ordered a seasonal lobster special that was a good value for the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, great food. The prime r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing service, great food. The prime rib and filet were amazing. The tableside caesar was a unique experience compared to local restaurants. The grounds are beautiful. It's beautiful little gem in a place you would not expect it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lack of competence from bus staff to man ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lack of competence from bus staff to management. Hopeless case... we were a party of 6 who agree that there is no reason to return. This was our second disappointing experience there and twice is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The English Inn is housed in a former au ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The English Inn is housed in a former automobile executives home. It's been a restaurant and inn for over 25 years. The house is remotely located in central Michigan but worth the effort to get there. The house has been divided into small dining rooms and has been very well cared for. The dining room where we were seated had a pianist that provided very nice background music that was a nice addition to the meal. The grounds were also well cared for. Ambiance and service could not have been better. The food was good, but not outstanding. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the experience. It's a great place for a special occasion and the food was above average.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is outstanding ... not inexpensive ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food is outstanding ... not inexpensive but much better value than similar venues in or around larger cities. Weekday evening was quiet and very pleasant atmosphere (one loud couple showed up near the end of our meal, but that's the exception). Prior visits on weekends have been busier and with more noise, but still extremely nice. The staff is attentive, but not intrusive. Highly recommend for occasions like birthday, anniversary, catching up with family and friends. We try to have a meal at The English Inn every time we visit the area, which is about once or twice a year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.