About The English Inn

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 1:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: 5176632500x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

parpadelle with wild mushrooms
House Salad
shrimp salad
Lobster Bisque
Salmon salad
flourless chocolate cake
Thanksgiving Feast
Roasted Rainbow Trout
Braised Lamb Shank
White Chocolate Mousse With Mango Raspberry Sauce
Herbed Crusted Chicken
Chocolate Cake

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
5 More
Best Value
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Scenic View
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Lansing
Best Restaurants in Lansing ›

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (43)
Scenic View (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and stay at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and stay at the English Inn while celebrating our 35th anniversary! Would definitely recommend and will visit again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a 25th work anniversary he ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a 25th work anniversary here. The grounds are beautiful and we walked around before dinner. Our table overlooked the grounds. The wine/drink list was extensive. I really liked our server, she was helpful and appropriate. The food was delicious.

Our evening was everything we were hoping for...I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous..words just cannot describe how ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fabulous..words just cannot describe how great this hidden gem is. Food was unique but not wierd. Mango dessert is a must try. Service is excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere & food. Could be our ne ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great atmosphere & food. Could be our new venue for celebrating our anniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant is an exceptional place ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This restaurant is an exceptional place to dine. The food and service are neither one surpassed by any establishment I have dined in the midwest.

I would recommend it to anyone and have recommended it to many already.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken sandwich was very good and t ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The chicken sandwich was very good and the dessert was outstanding! The steak sandwich was a disappointment, very greasy and the meat didn't seem very high quality. With a limited lunch menu I expected each sandwich to be far above average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the lobster special. The portion ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had the lobster special. The portions were appropriate, not huge. Everything was meticulously plated. Wonderful atmosphere and service. A gem in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were immediately seated and greeted b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were immediately seated and greeted by various wait staff. The food arrived quickly, was well presented and delicious. Service was friendly and quick. We plan to go back again. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was superb and the food was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was superb and the food was delicious. The building and surroundings are beautiful. We ordered a seasonal lobster special that was a good value for the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, great food. The prime r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing service, great food. The prime rib and filet were amazing. The tableside caesar was a unique experience compared to local restaurants. The grounds are beautiful. It's beautiful little gem in a place you would not expect it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lack of competence from bus staff to man ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lack of competence from bus staff to management. Hopeless case... we were a party of 6 who agree that there is no reason to return. This was our second disappointing experience there and twice is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The English Inn is housed in a former au ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The English Inn is housed in a former automobile executives home. It's been a restaurant and inn for over 25 years. The house is remotely located in central Michigan but worth the effort to get there. The house has been divided into small dining rooms and has been very well cared for. The dining room where we were seated had a pianist that provided very nice background music that was a nice addition to the meal. The grounds were also well cared for. Ambiance and service could not have been better. The food was good, but not outstanding. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the experience. It's a great place for a special occasion and the food was above average.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is outstanding ... not inexpensive ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food is outstanding ... not inexpensive but much better value than similar venues in or around larger cities. Weekday evening was quiet and very pleasant atmosphere (one loud couple showed up near the end of our meal, but that's the exception). Prior visits on weekends have been busier and with more noise, but still extremely nice. The staff is attentive, but not intrusive. Highly recommend for occasions like birthday, anniversary, catching up with family and friends. We try to have a meal at The English Inn every time we visit the area, which is about once or twice a year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit. It was a very ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first visit. It was a very enjoyable dining experience. We are surely returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant & grounds were very nice ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant & grounds were very nice and we enjoyed the ambiance of the Inn and the setting for our special occasion. On our next visit, we would request a table by the window overlooking their beautiful gardens. It was our first experience dining at the Inn and it met our expectations.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the meal. The server was great. The room was quiet which was very pleasant. We were not rushed at all, we had plenty of time to savor everything. Their chef is a treasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fell in love with the English ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely fell in love with the English Inn. The service was superb, the ambiance delightful with light piano music in the background and the food incredible. I was taken back to the 1920's and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for the first time ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My husband and I went for the first time for our 25th anniversary, the food and staff were wonderful and the walk around the grounds was gorgeous. We went on Wednesday to the restaurant and we were back on Friday to the pub

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy dining there. Especially li ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always enjoy dining there. Especially likethe specials you run.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Inn looked beautiful, but the servic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Inn looked beautiful, but the service and food were unimpressive. I had the surf and turf and it presented well, but lacked flavor. My guest had the prime rib and felt the same. Our appetizers were very good and so was our salad. Drinks were very week and wine pours appeared to be 5 oz at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We went to The English Inn for our 15 ye ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We went to The English Inn for our 15 year anniversary dinner, we knew we wanted to go somewhere special for our dinner. The English Inn provided such a lovely, quiet, romantic setting. The wine list was wonderful, the service was top-notch. The grounds were lovely to walk around and tour. The little pub downstairs was a great hideaway for a nightcap. The food was superb! We were very happy with everything from start to finish. Fine dining at its best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The English Inn is a very nice, borderin ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The English Inn is a very nice, bordering on elegant, restaurant in an area with very few from which to chose. The service is impeccable, the food is very good, that bar is well stocked. The signature prime rib is just so-so, nothing special. The other notables on the menu will not disappoint even a serious foodie. We love coming back for special evenings out, as a couple of with our grown children and their families.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner with friends a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends and family. The food and service were excellent. Although I made several last minute changes to the number of guests and the seating, the Inn staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We felt they did an excellent job by bei ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We felt they did an excellent job by being very attentive and making our special event more special. (50th wedding anniversary). The food was terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband loved the escargot and lamb c ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband loved the escargot and lamb chops . My prime rib was not very good- difficult to cut and tough. Desserts seemed to be old- kind of dry, like they were made a week ago and just about to be thrown away. Service was wonderful. Seems like the English Inn has gone downhill a bit, but still a great romantic date location

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Top flight food preparation, presentatio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Top flight food preparation, presentation, taste, and service! We went there for our thirtieth anniversary, and we were not disappointed. Bravo, English Inn Restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming to the English Inn is always a sp ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Coming to the English Inn is always a special treat for me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful atmosphere. Excellent food. Ex ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere. Excellent food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fabulous! Atmosphere was relaxi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was fabulous! Atmosphere was relaxing - did not feel rushed at all.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere! Food was excellent. W ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great atmosphere! Food was excellent. Would and have recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

50th. Anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I asked my wife where she would like to go for our anniversary and she said THE ENGLISH INN so being married for 50 years I said sure. It was a very special occasion(50years). The food was out of this world as was the service and fabulous surroundings. This was our second visit and sometimes when you go back to a restaurant it isn't as good as the first time but it was even better this time. We will be going again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary celebration

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I found the place, told my hubby, we booked a table for our third year anniversary. It was so romantic, we loved every second of it. We are thinking now to spend our weekend in one of the rooms for a romantic gateway.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

English INN

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the drinks and appetizer. My wife food looked amazing. I ordered the prime rib mid rare and it was cooked way past that. NOT ONE BIT OF Pink. I was very disappointed with the prime rib and my roll was burnt so bad I didn't even try it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

.Beautiful inside and out

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I thought this place was beautiful inside and out.Just had lunch for our anniversary,a little too pricey for dinner for us.Server seemed busy with a few tables,not much conversation from her..The view from our table was very nice,and walked around the grounds afterwards.Some plants not up yet ,too early.Would be beautiful for a summer wedding,esp. with water behind you.Not too many of these venues around anymore,very nice. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

English inn is a beautiful property my wife and I greatly enjoyed walking the grounds before dinner. We were greeted by the restaurant manager Erik who was great and made us feel appreciated as guests! Food was excellent farm to table feel. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure your order is understood.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was fine except the caviar selection. I asked for the domestic at $60 but was presented the imported at $169. Was not told of this until the bill came. The waiter said he thought that is what I ordered. Since my family was there I decided not to make a scene.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Simply Amazing!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

First time at The English Inn, but we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! Prime rib melted ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was amazing!! Prime rib melted in your mouth. A pianist started playing in the dining room around 6 pm and it made for a very special dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner was delightful.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at The English Inn many times over the years. Always with remarkable meals being had by all. This Mother's Day was no exception. The menu is diverse and creative and dishes come from the kitchen cooked to perfection. We had ample time between our courses for conversation in a quiet and warm atmosphere. The English Inn is one of a kind in Mid-Michigan. It is a treasure. But not a secret. Try it out. You will be pleased you did. Do make a reservation. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful outing at this restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service, with a great ambiance. The staff was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.