HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

The English Inn

4.7
467 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, French, British
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(517) 663-2500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
South of Columbia Hwy.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 467 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
JamesF 
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

This place is great, its classy, the patrons also were classy, and the price is fair for the level of service they provide. 10/10 would go back again. Wear some nice duds, I was the most underdressed one there in a sport coat and slacks.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service, delightful pianist and artfully prepared delicious food - it really doesn’t get any better than this.

Report
Helpful
silverfox (Chicago)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

We have been coming to the English Inn for nearly 20 years. It is absolutely our favorite restaurant across the country. The English Inn's ambiance, service, and menu is far superior to most restaurants and is worth a two day trip to celebrate special occasions. Looking forward to our next visit to the English Inn ...

Report
Helpful
RayC (Toronto)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Unbelievable...unbelievable...unbelievable...unbelievable!

Report
Helpful
StephenP (Grand Rapids)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

I took my wife to the English Inn for Valentine’s Day. It was our first visit, but it certainly will not be our last. The food was amazing, the service was second to none, it was wonderful experience to be able to have dinner with her someplace and not have to fight noise and be distracted by TVs on the wall. My only regret is that we hadn’t visited sooner.

Report
Helpful
GeridS (Orlando)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, impeccable service in a very unique grand setting. Be sure to have a drink in the basement pub!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Grand Rapids)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

The menu is very limited. There is no chicken on the menu at all. So if you’re not a meat or seafood eater this is not the place for you. Food was wonderful and so was the service.

Report
Helpful
numbersguy75 (Detroit)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Four of us went to The English Inn for dinner to celebrate my birthday. Overall, I love this place, but I'd say this was not our best visit. This mansion has old world charm. It's very romantic in a classic way. Lots of wood, rich colors, something that reminds one of Europe. We were greeted upon entry. They took our coats and were promptly seated. Server was very polite, nice, but maybe a bit too formal for me. Otherwise, she was very attentive and knowledgeable. Wine, beer, and cocktail list is robust. Would have been nice to have menus prior to ordering our first round so we could see the craft cocktails and other options available besides wine by the glass and beer. Food here tends to offer many of the classics. The menu has always been consistently good with a nice mix of steaks, fish, poultry, lamb and fowl. My wife ordered the lobster stuffed walleye with lemon risotto, house salad and lobster bisque. Her meal was very good. I tried the French onion soup and would say that it was just OK, not worth the $7 I paid for it. Broth wasn't as rich as it should be. House salads were fresh and tasty. The dressing is very light so you may want to ask for extra if you're into that, but most of us liked it as is. The rest of us ordered filet mignon in varying preparations which were all cooked properly. Good quality cuts, tender and delicious. Presentation was nicely done all the way around. Food came out hot. Was paced nicely. We never felt rushed.

My only real drawbacks to the night were the portion sizes being a bit small for the price. The filet Oscar didn't exactly have a lot of crab and could have had more sauce. My friend ordered a Tito's and soda and it came out with tonic on two separate occasions. I noted that it was my birthday on the Open Table reservation but it was never recognized. I ordered crème brulee and I'd say I've had much better.

We had a nice time and good meal. Worth the trip, especially in the spring.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Grand Rapids)
5.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

Had a wonderful experience. Can't wait to go back again.

Report
Helpful
KFort116 (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

We stayed at the English Inn for our 30th anniversary and dined there as well. It was a leisurely meal that lasted 2 hours but that was fine for our needs. I especially appreciated that they had several gluten free dessert options since I'm intolerant. I did feel a bit pinched for gf meal options only because of what I was in the mood for, but there were ample gf meal options available. Overall a very lovely evening....good food and beautiful surroundings with rich wood paneling and decorative ceiling. Wish we had gotten there a few minutes earlier so we could have sat close to the wood burning fireplace but we had a cozy corner table for two that was also very nice.

Report
Helpful
Paul (Grand Rapids)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

I miss the gardens. View of the banquet hall did nothing for the ambience

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Our party of four was seated near the fireplace in the dining room closest to the entrance. Elegantly decorated, peaceful and quite, which is such a rate treat to find in resturants today.

The pacing of the courses was perfect, the service was quite good - non intrusive.

Food: The prime rib was generously sized and flavorful, the roast duck was dry and crunchy- way overcooked. The beautiful shrimp cocktail appetizer had large shrimp and a very distinct, spicy hot sauce. The other food items were fairly good and served warm.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Grand Rapids)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Great service and meal was excellent! The menu offered many choices . Our reservations were early but it does get busy during prime mealtime?

Report
Helpful
Bijoux (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Celebrating an anniversary. I requested seating in the main dining room but it was not honored until i insisted on it. My meat was ordered medium-well and it was medium. Otherwise, our evening was lovely.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

We found out about the live pianist they hire for the Fridays and Saturdays leading up to Christmas in December and have now made this an annual tradition. The value is fantastic, service and atmosphere are exquisite. We split an appetizer, both ordered entrees and separate desserts and it was all wonderful. The pianist, decorations and fire in the fireplace make this such a romantic location for the holidays. For a night cap, the pub downstairs is open until 10 p.m.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32