About The English Inn

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 1:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: 5176632500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
4 More
Scenic View
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Lansing
Best Restaurants in Lansing ›

special occasion (52)
romantic (51)
scenic view (28)
See All
notable wine list (27)
fit for foodies (19)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

English inn is a beautiful property my wife and I greatly enjoyed walking the grounds before dinner. We were greeted by the restaurant manager Erik who was great and made us feel appreciated as guests! Food was excellent farm to table feel. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Make sure your order is understood.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was fine except the caviar selection. I asked for the domestic at $60 but was presented the imported at $169. Was not told of this until the bill came. The waiter said he thought that is what I ordered. Since my family was there I decided not to make a scene.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Amazing!

Dined on May 20, 2016

First time at The English Inn, but we will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! Prime rib melted ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was amazing!! Prime rib melted in your mouth. A pianist started playing in the dining room around 6 pm and it made for a very special dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day dinner was delightful.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at The English Inn many times over the years. Always with remarkable meals being had by all. This Mother's Day was no exception. The menu is diverse and creative and dishes come from the kitchen cooked to perfection. We had ample time between our courses for conversation in a quiet and warm atmosphere. The English Inn is one of a kind in Mid-Michigan. It is a treasure. But not a secret. Try it out. You will be pleased you did. Do make a reservation. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful outing at this restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service, with a great ambiance. The staff was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Setting

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our meal was delightful and in a lovely setting. The room was richly appointed with English themed art. Our server was great. The selection of food and beverages were seemingly endless. Our evening was made even more special with music from a talented pianist. The English Inn is our favorite travel destination in Michigan!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Did not meet our expectations

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I were both disappointed in our dinner experience based on all the high-rated reviews we read before we made our reservation. The food was fair, nothing exceptional. It took an unusually long time between courses and they were not busy that night. The room was pretty and that's about the best thing about our experience. I would not go back based on our experience and the cost of the dinner. Maybe it was just an off night for the restaurant?

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Especially like the music (piano).

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had the prime rib and lobster stuffed walleye. Excellent

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful lunch at the English Inn

Dined on March 25, 2016

We visited the English Inn to celebrate my sister's birthday at lunch. The six of us drove there from Grand Rapids and Saginaw, and it was well worth the trip. The building is a well-preserved 1927 gem, the service is friendly and attentive, and the food and drink are impressive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have been to the English Inn many times, but my companion had never been. In all the years that I have eaten dinner there I have never had a bad meal. With that being said, I have to say that the both dinners - while not bad - were mediocre at best. I had the pork chops which were ok...a bit chewy. And my dinner companion had a "bacon and blue" filet. We saw no evidence of bacon or bleu cheese...but copious amounts of a brown gravy. Again the meat was chewy. The ambiance is wonderful...very romantic...but the food was disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place to eat

Dined on March 18, 2016

Always good every time this one of our favorite places to eat I would recommend this to all my friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and exceptional food.

Dined on March 12, 2016

A welcome retreat from our hectic schedule. The English Inn provided us with a relaxing evening and just outrageously good food. We will be back again and often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great experience, pub ,and the food were great

Dined on February 27, 2016

The pub and the food were very nice. The server we had seemed a little preoccupied and didn't really give us the attention that we thought should go hand in hand with such a special place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great time

Dined on February 23, 2016

I Always enjoy my time here at the English Inn. One of the few dinning experiences left where you can enjoy your meal and carry on a conversation with the wonderful people your with.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall -- an incredible experience.

Dined on February 23, 2016

The English Inn also offers a wonderful and authentic lodging opportunity. We will go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Wow! Incredible food in an amazing atmo ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Wow! Incredible food in an amazing atmosphere! There aren't enough superlatives to pack into this review. Quite expensive, but oh so worth every penny!

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Overall very dissappointed.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Oh boy, I hate to give this charming little place a poor review. Food was not on par for our Valentines day dinner. Nor was the breakfast the following morning. The duck was prepped, frozen or improperly cooled and re-heated giving it a bad texture and taste. The prime rib was cold. The salad greens were grossly bitter. For breakfast, the omelet was extremely overcooked and inedible (eggs badly browned, and scallops were rubbery) and they gave me brown strawberries in my fruit cup and as a plate garnish. Quiche was dried out from sitting under a heat lamp. Bacon was baked and greasy.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in a long time

Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere is beautiful, the wait staff was excellent. Over all it was one of the best times I've had in a long time. I would recommend this for a first date or a 20th anniversary. One thing, don't plan on spending less than 50$ a person. But in the end the experience is well worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration and very much enjoyed the Festival of Filet special!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An early Valentine celebration

Dined on February 10, 2016

A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion. Our server was fantastic and the special tasted great and was moderately priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

the inn again

Dined on February 4, 2016

We visit the Inn usually 3 to 4 times a year. This visit was a little less than special. We went for our anniversary and watched as the manager visited tables and wished other couples who were there for the same reason a happy anniversary and asked how their meal was. We did not receive any of the personal attention this time and I felt a little slighted. We had the festival of filet choices for dinner and our server hand wrote how much we saved as if it would affect our tip. I do not need help with that process and with a classy as a place the Inn is I think your servers should refrain from writing things like that. Food was awesome as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great sunday deals

Dined on January 24, 2016

30 minutes from Lansing - great food, quiet atmosphere, and the servers are generally very good. Menu doesn't change much - but if you want a good value on a sunday night - it is top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Get the scallops

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We had a nice birthday dinner at the English Inn. They were very busy on a Friday night so some aspects of service like silverware, refilling water and following up on requests were slightly lacking but all staff was very friendly. The waitress knew the menu well. The dark and stormy cocktail was excellent and their wine by the glass selection was very good. We were disappointed that the tableside caesar sald wasn't available and they ran out of the mushroom caps appetizer very early in the evening so we couldn't try that. Our smoked salmon and brie appetizers were very nice. The poached scallop entree was outstanding, I hope they keep that on their menu. The scallop/lobster cake was just okay, a bit dry. The mango mousse dessert was outstanding, the flourless chocolate cake was fine but a bit dry. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre-New Years dinner was enjoyable.

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food and ambiance were excellent, the only negative was the noisy group in the next room, which was a bit distracting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on December 20, 2015

I was looking for a place for dinner half way between Grand Rapids and Brighton, MI. We were meeting relatives to celebrate Christmas. The English Inn was the perfect spot! It is a bit remote but the ambiance was lovely (an old mansion) and the food very good. The wine list was great for such a remote location. We had the prime rib and it was very good. The only thing that I could offer that would have made it perfect, is for them to offer a baked potato instead of the mashed that was on the plate. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Great Food

Dined on December 18, 2015

Had a special night out with my wife. Food was fantastic, fresh and interesting. She had the petite cut prime rib that was very generous portion along with delicious whipped potatoes. I had the special lobster stuffed walleye with lobster sauce that was spectacular. Service was very good and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Grand surroundings just south of Lansing

Dined on November 15, 2015

Good, friendly dinner service in a grand B&B, or fish & chips in the pub. Interesting menu includes special 5 course meal options under 20 bucks. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

Dined on November 15, 2015

The food was five star just overall amazing. Fine dinning to the extreme now I will come pair every other fine dining to the English Inn

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful and relaxing

Dined on November 6, 2015

we really enjoyed celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary here, we will be returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Enchanting

Dined on October 31, 2015

This is a wonderful place to dine and stay. Food is excellent as is the service. Very romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

5-years of dining experience at the English Inn

Dined on October 17, 2015

We absolutely love everything about this restaurant. The waitress was OUTSTANDING!! She recalled our daughter's name from last year(our daughter is only 4 years old). Great top-of-mind awareness, we were very impressed!! Food is typically top-notch at this restaurant. I ordered a 10oz filet, med-rare. The actual filet was close to well-done. Despite receiving it over-cooked, it was a very good cut of meat. There was no reason to make the waitress aware of the discrepancy. My wife ordered the beef wellington which WAS cooked to perfection. The waitress really made this a great dinner experience with her great personality. We will return next year during Fall Fest to make it 6 years in a row!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wedding Anniversary

Dined on October 13, 2015

We were treated very well by all the staff. The meal was very good. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Birthday dinner

Dined on October 11, 2015

Food was very good. Service forgot to bring menus in the beginning, followed by slow bread (blamed kitchen).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Different room

Dined on September 13, 2015

Love the inn but did not like the room we were in it had a noisy vibration from something mechanical

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Special place

Dined on September 13, 2015

Good food, great ambiance, good servvice. Have dined there many times over the years and never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

We try to go every year for our annivers ...

Dined on September 6, 2015

We try to go every year for our anniversary. Love the food, staff and romantic atmosphere. Must visit!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience!

Dined on August 22, 2015

My first time going and I absolutely enjoyed it. The atmosphere was calm and very serene. This a great spot for a romantic dinner out of the city.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoy the experience!

Dined on August 2, 2015

This is a great place for a memorable experience! The presentation of the food is explicit. The wait staff was so courteous and the environment for the dining was most comfortable. Please stroll through the gardens and the ground either before or after dinner. A most beautiful setting for this restaurant and bed & breakfast with the river to back of the property.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.