About The English Inn

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 12:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: (517) 663-2500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (29)
See All
Historic (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fireplace (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Scenic View (13)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vegan (5)
Casual (5)
Healthy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Waterfront (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall great place for nicer dinning experience for central Michigan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our third visit, and probably our last. The service was excellent as was the environment, but the food , well ,was okay, our prime rib was grisly and the veggies weren't cooked enough, when asked if we wanted coffee after the meal we said okay, then the server brought the desert selection (which lead us to believe that desert was furnished) but cost us another thirty five bucks. The dinner for three started out to cost around seventy dollars but with the coffee, tea and desert and tip came to $154.00.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I would recommend it to anyone for anything such as lunch, dinner, or get togethers. I do recommend it frequently as the best restaurant in mid-Michigan. It is definitely 5 stars.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been going to the English Inn for over five years. This visit was not quite the same. It was Mother's day. The tales were filled. My wife had to ask to have her wine glass refilled; she had to ask the server for bread three different times. An associate came later with two rolls for the two of us when our meal was finished. Not good. Just annoying but not enough to get upset over. Perhaps with the occasion and the lack of a complete staff, service was most likely less personal than normal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of us had the rack of lamb, which was very good. The other had lobster stuffed fish which was not good at all. The lobster bisque was not very flavorful and had few lobster pieces in it. The onion soup was okay, but nothing special. The house salad did not have dressing on it and we needed to ask for extra dressing. The bread rolls were soft and fluffy and not very tasty. The server was inexperienced and forgot requests. Overall, the experience is not worth the high price. It used to be much, much better.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and service was great as always. It was nice to see familiar faces that also dined for Mother's Day last year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always worth the visit. Recommend this place to anyone seeking a special place to take somebody for a great meal and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous dining experience, great food and service. Only minor complaint is the tables are close together so chairs are back to back with next table, so not necessarily a private experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating at the English Inn! They accommodated our large party very well. The food was amazing and the serving staff was charming and personable. All around the perfect setting for our celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was just awful Ive been there before and I can only say they've done a 180.
Chintzy wine glasses.....poor wine list, lamb was tough and old.Prime rib should have been medium - came out rare. when asked to have it cooked more, they MW'd it and it came back grey - ugh! Embarrassing as we were with friends who we had raved to.
Salad was on a hot ugly plate and besides being petite it was not dressed properly and was awful.
Their prices are not cheap but the quality of the food didn't measure up.
Perhaps they are under new cost-effective management or a new chef.
I have a reservation for Mothers day - probably won't go.
suzanne majors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food choices are very good with plenty of protien choices. The lobster stuffed walleye is amazing and the fillet mignon is always prepared exactly as requested.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had very excellent service and the food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was an excellent choice for that special occasion that you are looking to celebrate. They had a live piano playing to create the perfect ambiance. The prime rib and stuffed trout was well-prepared and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful destination, excellent food & attentive staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another wonderful meal! A little off the beaten path, but the historic charm and great food make it well worth the trip - we make it an periodic pilgrimage and are never disappointed. The setting is fabulous and the food is always well prepared. After cocktails in the quaint pub, we moved to the dining room. There we started with the Beef Tartar and Duck Sausage for appetizers - the latter being a nice flavorful surprise. We then ventured into a dinner of Risotto Morel, Lobster stuffed Walleye, and the Duck plate, all shared over a bottle of Michigan's own Brengman Brothers Pinot Noir. All fantastic, and well proportioned - no one went home hungry, no one felt overstuffed.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've never had a bad meal there. The wait staff is well trained, the food delicious and great ambience.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We are never disappointed and keep coming back. They change the menu just enough during the seasons to try something different while still serving old favorites. Kudos to Eric and staff!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Casual, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It is a very nice place for special occasions. The food is excellently prepared, the service attentive, and the ambiance very attractive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was our second experience here and they did not fail to impress us. We drive from Dearborn for this dining experience and it is well worth the drive. Our first visit was our anniversary and our second was my husband's 60th birthday. our waiter and the manager were welcoming and attentive. The food was out of this world. I would recommend this place for any special dining experience. It is a dining experience not just eating a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ambience of the inn was very lovely. The coffee was very good, the ice cream scoop of whipped potatoes where the best tasting potatoes I ever had. The server was very cold and not very friendly, All of the staff was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed but that was all. They did not go out of the way to be friendly. Not even sure our server smiled! I'm glad I got to experience dining at the English Inn but I will not recommend it and I am sure I will not return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent food! Great service at breakfast. Efficient, but cool, service at dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Good food and we usually love it here. This time, was disappointed that the hostess didn't seat us further away from other people. The dining room wasn't full; to seat us immediately next to a party of three seemed... uncharacteristically unaware. Normally a very quiet romantic place... but sure enough, on this night, adjacent loud talk of good local gynecologists was... distracting. This of course had nothing to do with the service staff... beyond being a worst case scenario that would be avoided by sprinkling guests around the room. Yes, we could have moved... but for all we knew, it was going to be a packed house. The hostess knew otherwise (she had the reservation list) but still shoehorned us in. It's the role of service staff to proactively head off situations that could be less than comfortable. Other issues: the service staff allowed empty wine glasses to be empty a bit too long, but were too quick try to clear the plates. Requests were always polite, but for the love of humanity... after the third "are you finished" (within a span of five minutes) my wife was finally worn down and let them take it away. We felt a little rushed all night... a tragedy because this place is built to be "an event". Don't let the staff push you to the next thing. My point is, there shouldn't be a push at all. Instead of three people asking redundant questions (which is kinda annoying)... how about one person that is fully aware & able to balance service and subtlety?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We always go to the English Inn to celebrate birthdays or a special occasion in the family. On Sun days they do a 4 course special that is a great value. It's definitly our favorite time to go. It's a very nice place to go for a relaxing, leisurely dinner. I highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was just excellent. Fast, and right on the spot. My duck was excellent, but my wife's prime rib was a little tough, although the flavor was as she expected. That can happen.
I didn't expect my martinis' to cost $10.00 a piece, but they were very good.
Overall. we would not hesitate to come back for a special occasion as often as we could.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the English Inn for our "date nights" when we want a more romantic feel. It is also an amazing venue for weddings and we will be holding our ceremony and reception here in May. Top notch staff and facility - absolute joy to work with.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went here with a few friends for my daughter's 20th birthday. Food was excellent, as was the intentive waitstaff. Well worth the money. I recommend the chicken, Beef Wellington, Brie starter plate and all of their desserts, especially the white mouse with raspberry and mango.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentine's Day and ate the prime rib. It was very good we come every year and never are disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely would recommend this for a date night very intimate and historical ambiance our waiter was Mike and provided great service, as a fellow server my standards are high and I left extremely satisfied! Definitely will be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food as always. Have been here on multiple occasions and I am never disappointed always a great meal with great service.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was amazing. Our 2nd time here. Both times service and food was excellent. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everything was wonderful, from the cocktails, to the wine, to the appetizers, and dinner and dessert. Service was friendly & efficient. We enjoyed the entire experience!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The salad is a joke, no free refills on soda, they call themselves an English restaurant, but they don't even have real potatoes, just mashed, even with the English meals like beef Wellington, the portions are small but the entrees are good and the setting is nice no

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Enjoyable lunch, nice salad, fresh rolls, excellent prime rib sandwich, fantastic creme brulee. Nice wine, but coffee from carafe could have been hotter. Beautifully decorated rooms in a charming historic building.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

If you have never tried the English Inn, I would highly recommend it. It's a little pricey, but the food is great and the atmosphere unparalleled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the downstairs pub afterwards

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love The English Inn. The food is always of the finest quality and perfectly prepared. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for that extra special dining experience, this is the place!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday dinner date. Prime rib was well served but a bit cool. Pork with Scallops was great, gnocchi was less than adequate. Several large parties robbded the attention of staff.
Atmosphere and service were great. Asked for and received fireside table! Normally 5 star for every thing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We haven't been here in a few years. We celebrated both our children's high school and college and law school graduations here some years ago. The inn is now run by Gary & Donna Nelson's son. It seems to have not missed a beat. Except for the misstep between my son's and my filet preparation(he received my rare(Pittsburg) and I his medium rare. Mislabeled in the kitchen we were informed but my dessert was gratis due to this slight inconvenience. The lobster stuffed walleye was very tasty according to my wife and the scallops and pork were also as tasty. This is not a 5 star gourmet restaurant but it is very good in a delightful setting worthy of your next special occasion or wedding gathering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.