About The English Inn

677 South Michigan Road
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
View Larger Map

•Distinguished Restaurants of North America(DiRōNa) award winner
•An award winning wine list
•Authentic English pub on the garden level
•Alfresco dining on our terrace during the summer months
•Live pianist playing dinner music on Thursday, Friday and Saturdays
• Major Credit Cards Accepted
• Reservations recommended
•Winner of Lansing’s Best of the Best Award
•The English Inn is a non-smoking facility
•Private Dining rooms available

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, British

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Sunday: 1:00pm - 7:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South of Columbia Hwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 663-2500

Website:
http://www.englishinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live pianist during Dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
You will find three parking lots, each in very close proximity to our main building.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer four distinct dining rooms for private dining (2-55 guests) as well as our Medovue Ballroom with capacity for 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Adriana Flynn: 5176632500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

parpadelle with wild mushrooms
House Salad
shrimp salad
Lobster Bisque
Salmon salad
flourless chocolate cake
Thanksgiving Feast
Roasted Rainbow Trout
Braised Lamb Shank
White Chocolate Mousse With Mango Raspberry Sauce
Herbed Crusted Chicken
Chocolate Cake

The English Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Value
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
5 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Scenic View
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Lansing
Best Restaurants in Lansing ›

special occasion (40)
romantic (30)
scenic view (18)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went for the first time ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I went for the first time for our 25th anniversary, the food and staff were wonderful and the walk around the grounds was gorgeous. We went on Wednesday to the restaurant and we were back on Friday to the pub

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy dining there. Especially li ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always enjoy dining there. Especially likethe specials you run.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Inn looked beautiful, but the servic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Inn looked beautiful, but the service and food were unimpressive. I had the surf and turf and it presented well, but lacked flavor. My guest had the prime rib and felt the same. Our appetizers were very good and so was our salad. Drinks were very week and wine pours appeared to be 5 oz at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We went to The English Inn for our 15 ye ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We went to The English Inn for our 15 year anniversary dinner, we knew we wanted to go somewhere special for our dinner. The English Inn provided such a lovely, quiet, romantic setting. The wine list was wonderful, the service was top-notch. The grounds were lovely to walk around and tour. The little pub downstairs was a great hideaway for a nightcap. The food was superb! We were very happy with everything from start to finish. Fine dining at its best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The English Inn is a very nice, borderin ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The English Inn is a very nice, bordering on elegant, restaurant in an area with very few from which to chose. The service is impeccable, the food is very good, that bar is well stocked. The signature prime rib is just so-so, nothing special. The other notables on the menu will not disappoint even a serious foodie. We love coming back for special evenings out, as a couple of with our grown children and their families.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner with friends a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends and family. The food and service were excellent. Although I made several last minute changes to the number of guests and the seating, the Inn staff was very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We felt they did an excellent job by bei ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We felt they did an excellent job by being very attentive and making our special event more special. (50th wedding anniversary). The food was terrific.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband loved the escargot and lamb c ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband loved the escargot and lamb chops . My prime rib was not very good- difficult to cut and tough. Desserts seemed to be old- kind of dry, like they were made a week ago and just about to be thrown away. Service was wonderful. Seems like the English Inn has gone downhill a bit, but still a great romantic date location

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Top flight food preparation, presentatio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Top flight food preparation, presentation, taste, and service! We went there for our thirtieth anniversary, and we were not disappointed. Bravo, English Inn Restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming to the English Inn is always a sp ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Coming to the English Inn is always a special treat for me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful atmosphere. Excellent food. Ex ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere. Excellent food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fabulous! Atmosphere was relaxi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was fabulous! Atmosphere was relaxing - did not feel rushed at all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere! Food was excellent. W ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great atmosphere! Food was excellent. Would and have recommend

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

50th. Anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I asked my wife where she would like to go for our anniversary and she said THE ENGLISH INN so being married for 50 years I said sure. It was a very special occasion(50years). The food was out of this world as was the service and fabulous surroundings. This was our second visit and sometimes when you go back to a restaurant it isn't as good as the first time but it was even better this time. We will be going again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary celebration

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I found the place, told my hubby, we booked a table for our third year anniversary. It was so romantic, we loved every second of it. We are thinking now to spend our weekend in one of the rooms for a romantic gateway.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

English INN

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the drinks and appetizer. My wife food looked amazing. I ordered the prime rib mid rare and it was cooked way past that. NOT ONE BIT OF Pink. I was very disappointed with the prime rib and my roll was burnt so bad I didn't even try it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

.Beautiful inside and out

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I thought this place was beautiful inside and out.Just had lunch for our anniversary,a little too pricey for dinner for us.Server seemed busy with a few tables,not much conversation from her..The view from our table was very nice,and walked around the grounds afterwards.Some plants not up yet ,too early.Would be beautiful for a summer wedding,esp. with water behind you.Not too many of these venues around anymore,very nice. Thank you

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

English inn is a beautiful property my wife and I greatly enjoyed walking the grounds before dinner. We were greeted by the restaurant manager Erik who was great and made us feel appreciated as guests! Food was excellent farm to table feel. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure your order is understood.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was fine except the caviar selection. I asked for the domestic at $60 but was presented the imported at $169. Was not told of this until the bill came. The waiter said he thought that is what I ordered. Since my family was there I decided not to make a scene.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Simply Amazing!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

First time at The English Inn, but we will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! Prime rib melted ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was amazing!! Prime rib melted in your mouth. A pianist started playing in the dining room around 6 pm and it made for a very special dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner was delightful.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at The English Inn many times over the years. Always with remarkable meals being had by all. This Mother's Day was no exception. The menu is diverse and creative and dishes come from the kitchen cooked to perfection. We had ample time between our courses for conversation in a quiet and warm atmosphere. The English Inn is one of a kind in Mid-Michigan. It is a treasure. But not a secret. Try it out. You will be pleased you did. Do make a reservation. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful outing at this restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service, with a great ambiance. The staff was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Setting

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our meal was delightful and in a lovely setting. The room was richly appointed with English themed art. Our server was great. The selection of food and beverages were seemingly endless. Our evening was made even more special with music from a talented pianist. The English Inn is our favorite travel destination in Michigan!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not meet our expectations

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I were both disappointed in our dinner experience based on all the high-rated reviews we read before we made our reservation. The food was fair, nothing exceptional. It took an unusually long time between courses and they were not busy that night. The room was pretty and that's about the best thing about our experience. I would not go back based on our experience and the cost of the dinner. Maybe it was just an off night for the restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Especially like the music (piano).

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had the prime rib and lobster stuffed walleye. Excellent

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful lunch at the English Inn

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We visited the English Inn to celebrate my sister's birthday at lunch. The six of us drove there from Grand Rapids and Saginaw, and it was well worth the trip. The building is a well-preserved 1927 gem, the service is friendly and attentive, and the food and drink are impressive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I have been to the English Inn many times, but my companion had never been. In all the years that I have eaten dinner there I have never had a bad meal. With that being said, I have to say that the both dinners - while not bad - were mediocre at best. I had the pork chops which were ok...a bit chewy. And my dinner companion had a "bacon and blue" filet. We saw no evidence of bacon or bleu cheese...but copious amounts of a brown gravy. Again the meat was chewy.

The ambiance is wonderful...very romantic...but the food was disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Favorite place to eat

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Always good every time this one of our favorite places to eat I would recommend this to all my friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere and exceptional food.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

A welcome retreat from our hectic schedule. The English Inn provided us with a relaxing evening and just outrageously good food. We will be back again and often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience, pub ,and the food were great

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The pub and the food were very nice. The server we had seemed a little preoccupied and didn't really give us the attention that we thought should go hand in hand with such a special place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

great time

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

I Always enjoy my time here at the English Inn. One of the few dinning experiences left where you can enjoy your meal and carry on a conversation with the wonderful people your with.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall -- an incredible experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

The English Inn also offers a wonderful and authentic lodging opportunity. We will go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Incredible food in an amazing atmo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Wow! Incredible food in an amazing atmosphere! There aren't enough superlatives to pack into this review. Quite expensive, but oh so worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall very dissappointed.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Oh boy, I hate to give this charming little place a poor review. Food was not on par for our Valentines day dinner. Nor was the breakfast the following morning. The duck was prepped, frozen or improperly cooled and re-heated giving it a bad texture and taste. The prime rib was cold. The salad greens were grossly bitter. For breakfast, the omelet was extremely overcooked and inedible (eggs badly browned, and scallops were rubbery) and they gave me brown strawberries in my fruit cup and as a plate garnish. Quiche was dried out from sitting under a heat lamp. Bacon was baked and greasy.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The best in a long time

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere is beautiful, the wait staff was excellent. Over all it was one of the best times I've had in a long time. I would recommend this for a first date or a 20th anniversary. One thing, don't plan on spending less than 50$ a person. But in the end the experience is well worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration and very much enjoyed the Festival of Filet special!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

An early Valentine celebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion. Our server was fantastic and the special tasted great and was moderately priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the inn again

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We visit the Inn usually 3 to 4 times a year. This visit was a little less than special. We went for our anniversary and watched as the manager visited tables and wished other couples who were there for the same reason a happy anniversary and asked how their meal was. We did not receive any of the personal attention this time and I felt a little slighted. We had the festival of filet choices for dinner and our server hand wrote how much we saved as if it would affect our tip. I do not need help with that process and with a classy as a place the Inn is I think your servers should refrain from writing things like that. Food was awesome as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.