About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (28)
Historic (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant in an historic hotel. T ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant in an historic hotel. The service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fanominal experience! The Hot B ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fanominal experience! The Hot Bowns were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed so much our Valentine's Day. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed so much our Valentine's Day. The menu was exquisite, and our waiter was extraordinary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was expensive but perfect for a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was expensive but perfect for a romantic Valentine's dinner with my wife. It was four course meal with wine parings. The filet was cooked to perfection and tender. The wine selections were perfect! The wine steward and the wait staff were friendly and attentive. It had been sometime since I had been to the English Grill but for special occasions it will be top of my list in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a Valentine's Day dinner. For t ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a Valentine's Day dinner. For the positive - the filet was very good and presented well, the dessert was unusual and tasty. The décor was just ok; seemed a bit dated and there was not as much attention to detail as you might expect - the room (across from the main section of the Grill) was a bit dingy and the door next to it leading to the outside banged loudly every time it was shut. Our waitress lost points when she spilled my coffee all over the table as she poured it, and also when she took away my still-full bowl of soup without asking if I didn't like it; I felt she should have inquired and perhaps then offered a salad in its place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Just a very pleasant place for an enjoya ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just a very pleasant place for an enjoyable evening with tasty food and good service. I don't believe you could do much better in Louisville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful structure, great story and his ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful structure, great story and history. Very classy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was exceptional. Dining was not ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was exceptional. Dining was not only about the food but the experience. Waiters were very attentive, they treat the guests like royalty. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can not say enough good things about m ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I can not say enough good things about my experience at The English Grill. The food was top notch and the service was outstanding. Our server did the table side ceasar and was extremely attentive. The hot brown can't be beat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful and prompt service. Definitely ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful and prompt service. Definitely will go back. Highly recommend the hot brown!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the English Grill before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been to the English Grill before and this time the food was not up to the standards we expected. I had the pork chop and it was very tough and difficult to cut, much less chew. The ambiance of the room was disappointing. I was wearing a suit, and my wife a beautiful dress, and we were sitting next to people in jeans. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was outstanding. The bar brought i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was outstanding. The bar brought in crafted Manhattan over the top. The food was cooked and seasoned well. Fresh flowers and a fabulous chocolate desert and wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Great food. I drove 200 m ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service. Great food. I drove 200 miles hust to stay and eat at The Brown. It was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent two nights at The Brown Hotel. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We spent two nights at The Brown Hotel. The first night we had bar food at the bar. The bar staff was wonderful. The second night we had dinner in The English bar and grill. Our God was excellent as was the service and ambiance. The wait staff shared historical stories of the hotel and restsurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a favorite restaurant for birthd ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant for birthdays, entertaining out of the area guests, adult family-member gatherings, or just as a treat for ourselves. The service is outstanding, as is the food. (We have been enjoying this restaurant for over 20 years, and it has maintained excellent standards throughout!)

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing hot brown and cauliflower soup!! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing hot brown and cauliflower soup!!!!! Beautiful space and extremely personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an AMAZING expericence we had. We w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What an AMAZING expericence we had. We were treated like roalty from the moment we stepped foot in. We had our 3 children with us ages 10, 8 and 7. The wait staff even Thanked us for bringing the children in. It was very memorbale and made our event fabulous. Food was amazing! Great recomendations by the wait staff. All the way aroun A++++

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect for New Years. A ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was perfect for New Years. A great menu and service. The ambience there is superb. A live piano player was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

From entry to exit, the service was ques ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From entry to exit, the service was questionable at best; Harold was the restaurant's only redeeming quality, and Nico, the valet's. Finally, the food: it lacked flavor distinct, 'twas rich in apathy, and devoid of mink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My husband and I had a wonderful, speci ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful, special dinner at the English Grill at the Brown Hotel! It was a unique experience for us - much fancier than what we are used to - but absolutely wonderful!

The hot brown truly is the best in Kentucky!

We will definitely be back someday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a special after Chr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I had a special after Christmas get away to the Brown Hotel. We dined at the English Grill and had a wonderful experience. Everyone was so hospitable, friendly and kind. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere lovely. Nick, our waiter, did an amazing job and Harold offered the best in Southern Hospitality. We are from central Ohio, and Harold told us he had to make a good impression, because Louisville is the "northernmost point of southern hospitality". That he did. We have already told many of our friends and family about this place and would highly recommend it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and servi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service until the end of our meal. I had seen a skillet go by our table just after we were seated. I'd asked our server and he said it was bread pudding. It had ice cream and a cookie of some kind on top.

After our meal we had wanted to order the bread pudding, but our server said he would be back to get our order. We waited quite some time while he presented wine, made a Caesar salad and never returned. We had to flag him down and when we tried to place our dessert order he then told us it would take 25 min. to prepare. I really wish he had taken our dessert order earlier since we had waited much longer than the preparation time already. We ordered another dessert which was okay, but was much smaller and definitely not what we wanted. It was not the ending we had hoped for. We rarely order dessert out so it was a treat, but it turned out to be a huge disappointment.

I enjoy a nice relaxing night out, but this 2 1/2 -3 hrs. ended on a sour note. We just wanted to get our check and go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Searching for a new Christmas tradition ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Searching for a new Christmas tradition and we have found it. Thank you for another delightful Christmas meal.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Kentucky. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Kentucky. Great for a weekend get away. The hotel is lovely too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas eve

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 5th year at The English Grill for Ch ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our 5th year at The English Grill for Christmas Eve. It is always a lovely occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience on Christmas Eve ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great dining experience on Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had dinner at the English Grill for C ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had dinner at the English Grill for Christmas Eve. It is always a wonderful experience. The service and food is always excellent. Troy Ritchie certainly knows his wine and presented an excellent pairing within the price I requested.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a most enjoyable evening. The a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a most enjoyable evening. The atmosphere was elegant, quiet and inviting . Our waiter was only in his second week but was thoroughly knowledgeable about the wine list and the menu. We dined on spare ribs and lamb shank. Both dishes were well prepared and beautifully presented.

The menu was a bit pricey but not exorbitant.

Great place. We will definitely go again when in Louisville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrat ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrate our one year and had the most incredible meal and overall experience! Whether you're celebrating or just want a delicious meal, The English Grill is divine! Wonderful staff and service all around.

Tags: , Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our wait staff made our dinner memorable ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our wait staff made our dinner memorable. The food was great, of course, but the staff was so kind. They shared a few local stories with us which made our visit to this historic place enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish you scrimp or lobster on menu oth ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I wish you scrimp or lobster on menu other wise it was very good would come back.

Tags: Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful, traditional fine dining exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A wonderful, traditional fine dining experience! Excellent food and service, beautiful atmosphere, very "clubby". The only downside to the evening was that they had run out of three menu items by the time we ordered (7:30 PM). Granted, it was a Thursday night and probably not normally a "busy" time but we did think it strange to have run out of three items. However, the chef himself came out to apologize and discuss alternative entrees, which turned out to be absolutely wonderful. We highly recommend the English Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This visit was not nearly as nice as the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This visit was not nearly as nice as the last time. Service was slow, drinks were not refilled promptly, mashed potatoes were cold. Sea bass was good, but not great. The server was very pleasant, but had too many tables.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was impeccable. Well paced, rela ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service was impeccable. Well paced, relaxed meal. The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert...and after dinner bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Food was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Food was good but not great, we were trying to find a dinner that wasn't a buffet and thought we had found one. Turns out entree was made to order but the rest was a buffet. For a dinner of this price and at this location we didn't want a buffet and really think that with most buffets the quality of food drops. To be fair the quantity does go up if this is what you are looking for.

Service was ok but also not great. I would expect with us getting up to get everything but the entree that the wait staff would have a lot less to do but ordering drinks took a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our thanksgiving d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our thanksgiving dinner at the English grill and our subsequent brunch at j Graham's. The food was good and of particular note was the maitre d of j Graham's, Nicholas. He greeted us with an authentic warmth and graciousness that is often missing in the restaurant experience. He has a great attitude and was engaging in a very appropriate way. This type of experience invites you to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had made reservations for four peopl ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had made reservations for four people. We drove in from the Knoxville, TN, area and my sister and her boyfriend drove down from Chicago. We had the best time. Our 1:45 reservation was perfect as it was not overcrowded. The appetizers were varied and plentiful and the three choices for an entrée were positively wonderful. Last year we went to Chicago to the Palmer House. Our meal with you was much better. Thank you for the wonderful experience!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vast majority of the meal was well d ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The vast majority of the meal was well done.

The deserts left much to be desired, cake was dry, pies were tasteless. Their definition of medium well for beef dish is more towards medium, very red and bleeding all over my plate.

Service by the waitress was slow and prompting for beverages was constant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience. The food was wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great experience. The food was wonderful I would go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.