About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar on Thursday and Friday evenings.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Bettis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
  • Sazerac Cocktail - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
  • The Hot Brown - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
Sazerac Cocktail - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
The Hot Brown - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for our Famous Holiday Brunch. Enjoy our Immaculate Appetizer and Dessert Buffet, while ordering your entrée a la carte. Adults $69 kids $22

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a Special Pre-fix Menu Complimented by a Reserve Champagne List. Festivities include Party Favors and a New Year's Eve Toast. First Seating 5:00 pm to 6:30pm (3 course dinner) $75, Second Seating 8:30 pm to 10:00 pm (5 course dinner) $125 plus tax and gratuity.

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
11 More
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (20)
Historic (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was impeccable. Well paced, rela ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was impeccable. Well paced, relaxed meal. The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert...and after dinner bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Food was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Food was good but not great, we were trying to find a dinner that wasn't a buffet and thought we had found one. Turns out entree was made to order but the rest was a buffet. For a dinner of this price and at this location we didn't want a buffet and really think that with most buffets the quality of food drops. To be fair the quantity does go up if this is what you are looking for.

Service was ok but also not great. I would expect with us getting up to get everything but the entree that the wait staff would have a lot less to do but ordering drinks took a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our thanksgiving d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our thanksgiving dinner at the English grill and our subsequent brunch at j Graham's. The food was good and of particular note was the maitre d of j Graham's, Nicholas. He greeted us with an authentic warmth and graciousness that is often missing in the restaurant experience. He has a great attitude and was engaging in a very appropriate way. This type of experience invites you to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had made reservations for four peopl ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had made reservations for four people. We drove in from the Knoxville, TN, area and my sister and her boyfriend drove down from Chicago. We had the best time. Our 1:45 reservation was perfect as it was not overcrowded. The appetizers were varied and plentiful and the three choices for an entrée were positively wonderful. Last year we went to Chicago to the Palmer House. Our meal with you was much better. Thank you for the wonderful experience!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vast majority of the meal was well d ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The vast majority of the meal was well done.

The deserts left much to be desired, cake was dry, pies were tasteless. Their definition of medium well for beef dish is more towards medium, very red and bleeding all over my plate.

Service by the waitress was slow and prompting for beverages was constant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience. The food was wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great experience. The food was wonderful I would go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. The on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service and food were excellent. The only disappointment was a few in the party ordered the pork chop which ended up not being available.

The setting in the historic Brown Hotel was very nice.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic restaurant with warm, friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with warm, friendly service. Excellent selection of wines to compliment dinner. A small group of friends look forward to dining here every year we come to Louisville. It is truly a dining experience that no one should miss.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a good menu before the play. But I f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was a good menu before the play. But I felt they should have offered the regular dinner menu as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Four of us dined together prior to the s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Four of us dined together prior to the start of a conference. We were looking for a pleasant dining experience prior to what was going to be three hectic days. What we got was one of the best dining experiences imaginable. From the menu selection to the food to the ambiance otheprofessional and friendly staff, it would be impossible to identify anything that was less than perfect. I would especially mention the sommelier Troy. I cannot remember ever receiving better or friendlier service in any restaurant anywhere. The evening made the entire weekend. My only regret is that I cannot return on a regular basis. Eight hundred miles is a bit far to travel for a meal, even if it would be worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing for a party of six. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very disappointing for a party of six. A special occasion for us, I called 3 times and personally made a trip up to the hotel/English Grill to assure our event went well. Service was dreadful, had to enquire when our dinner would arrive and than our dinner plates left on table until we had to request them removed and the dessert menu brought to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

This was my first visit to the English G ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was my first visit to the English Grill and I was very impressed. The staff was courteous and attentive from beginning to end. The food was delicious, including the best Caesar salad I have ever had. The dining room is elegant and quiet. The service was quick, yet not rushed. It is pretty expensive, so is not someplace to go if you are counting your pennies, but well worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant atmosphere was out standi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere was out standing and the service was out standing. The food was great and I would recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was beautiful, the staff ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The atmosphere was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making our anniversary eve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary evening so special. The service, our waiter and Harold were excellent. The Hot Brown was gorgeous and tasty. Our wonderful flaming dessert, free for the occasion was appreciated and delicious. Lovely evening and the music, piano player out in the bar area, came through because they opened the doors and the music was wonderful.

Thank You,

The Muenz-Winklers

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was beyond reproach. Our server, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was beyond reproach. Our server, Charlie, was well informed about the menu, and his recommendations were spot on. Food was excellent, cooked to perfection, with a beautiful presentation. We highly recommend the table-side Caesar salad.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant was sparsely occupied, which ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Restaurant was sparsely occupied, which is sad because the food was excellent, as was the service. The room is beautiful and worth the experience. Lots of energy in the lobby area adjacent and we could hear the piano player which added to the ambiance. Presentation and taste of food was superior. It won't be a cheap date, but it will be worth the price.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

...from the first step into the English ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

...from the first step into the English Grill you will realize you are in for wonderful experience, from the side table Caesar Salad, a little something special from the Chef to alert your palate to what is yet to come, your main course and then the out of this world desserts, presentation and taste are fabulous. They welcomes you, with" we're are so glad you are here and we are here to make your dining a memorable evening." not only the dining but the entire Brown Hotel family should be proud of their business, they make you feel as if you are staying at your home away from home!!!! We stayed in the beautiful Historic Hotel 2 night, escape and relax Luxury King package. and would not have done anything different, the stay was perfect!!!! This Missouri family would highly recommend the Historic Brown Hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a special friend visit me from Ral ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had a special friend visit me from Raleigh, North Carolina and he told me he had read and heard about the Brown Hotel. Myself, a native of Louisville but had never been to the Brown Hotel. We had a reservation on a Thursday night. It was a magical evening, perfect atmosphere and fabulous food!! A wonderful memory was made!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BROWN is solid Gold This restaurant ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

THE BROWN is solid Gold

This restaurant is well more than the reviews spoke. We certainly did not expect to be wowed. IT was hands down the most romantic dinner since we relocated to the South. .The food was brilliant. The service was sublime. When we paid our compliments regarding the kitchen we didnt expect what happened next.. the Chef came out to our table to thank us. I was amazed. I have had this experience in Los Angeles and in NYC, Paris, London etx... but not in the South. Certainly not with this same sincerity. For quite a young man (tattooed on the forearm) I did not expect his genuine courtesy. I have bragged on this restaurant a million times since I returned home to Nashville. As I look towards my wedding anniversary I am thinking Louisville and the Brown. No one is more happily surprised than this writer. Thank you very much and congratulations on a kitchen above par.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Private Room, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was flawless. E ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great.

Service was flawless.

Everyone on staff was friendly and engaging.

Table side preparation on salad and coffee was fun.

Ambiance was rich and classic without being dark and stuffy.

Great place for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is in the Brown Hotel, an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant is in the Brown Hotel, and old but very charming place. We were seated promptly and had a server at our table just moments later. The staff is very attentive and always checking back with you in the right amount of time. We each had an old fashioned which was excellent. I had the Hot Brown. I have had this dish before, but this was was the best. My wife has the Sea Bass. While very tasty, it was quite overpriced at $48. Overall a very quiet and relaxing dining experience, with great food, drink and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good. The waygu beef tartar was ex ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very good. The waygu beef tartar was excellent, as was the

tableside Caesar salad. Actually, the flavors were similar

in both preparations. My lamb was tasty, but a bit overdone.

My wife's Hot Brown was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perhaps in the marketing for the English ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Perhaps in the marketing for the English Grille they hyped it up too much by describing it as one of the finest restaurants in the US. I'd like to know how old that review is. The service was EXCELLENT, and the food was good, but none of the food was unbelievably good or worth going back for, which isn't a point in their favor with the expensive prices. Their wine list was extensive but they did not offer many options for wine by the glass. As I was the only one at the table wanting to drink wine, I went with a cocktail instead.

We had a reservation and there was hardly anyone in the restaurant but we were still seated at a table right next to the entrance of the restaurant where all the guests at the hotel would look in at us when they walked by and where we could hear the maitre d's phone ringing constantly. Speaking of the maitre d, he would stand in the entrance to the restaurant every few minutes, which was close to our table, and survey the dining room. Since we were some of the only people there and closest to the doorway, that often meant he awkwardly stared at us while we were trying to have a romantic date. He also came over at one point to say hello, which is appreciated and expected, but then kept the conversation going when we were obviously wanting to have some time just the two of us.

The music was very relaxing. Too relaxing. Between the dark stuffy room and the relaxing music I felt like I was going to fall asleep. We skipped dessert and a second round of drinks because I had to get out of there.

In conclusion. Food was fine. Waitstaff service was excellent. Atmosphere was very sedating. There are MANY other wonderful restaurants in Louisville to pick from. I recommend picking one of those. If you want to try the Hot Brown from the Brown Hotel, just get room service. We did that for lunch the next day and it was delightful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Outstanding in every way! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Excellent food, superior service, all-around wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way!! Do not miss t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding in every way!! Do not miss this dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Staff were wonderful. A ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food. Staff were wonderful. A great meal and a wonderful dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal here with wonderful ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great meal here with wonderful service by Lindsey and Harold. Harold has been there 21 years. He knew a lot of history about The Brown.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You have a dress code but don't enforce ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

You have a dress code but don't enforce it, and I think you should. Two couples were dining when we were there, some wearing shorts. They were unusually loud, and probably being permitted such casual dress signalled an ok for their loudness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the hot brown, which was good but ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had the hot brown, which was good but we wouldn't order it again since it's not our type of food. We were going to order their lobster but they had taken that off the menu. I give it high marks for the staff. This is an expensive place but the staff make you feel comfortable. I've noticed staff at expensive restaurants tend to be snooty and obnoxious but not here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful. Every dish we exp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Every dish we experienced was unique and out of this world. Will definitely return whenever in the area. We celebrated our Anniversary there, but it is a dining experience we would recommend for anytime you would want a combination of great food, service and stunningly decorated restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment that you walk in the doo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2016

From the moment that you walk in the door the atmosphere is amazing. We were extremely well taken care of, the food was amazing, and the new chef has created a fresh, vibrant menu is delicious. We definitely look forward to returning!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great cocktails! The food was good but t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great cocktails! The food was good but the Ceasar Salad was awful. Lovely surroundings in a beautiful hotel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Great atmosphere and even better food. A ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great atmosphere and even better food. An exceptional place for a date or even a small group of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The English Grill is a lovely restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The English Grill is a lovely restaurant in the Brown Hotel in Louisville. My husband and I both had the 8 oz fillets. I had mushroom risotto, he had carrots, we both had white asparagus. The fillets were among the best we've ever had. We both agreed that we enjoyed the asparagus nearly as much. It was cooked just perfectly.

You can hear the piano from the lobby bar during dinner. It was all very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was wonderful. Wil ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful. Will definitely return when in Louisville. Our waiter was very personable. We loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From reservation to the end of the meal, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2016

From reservation to the end of the meal, a pure joy. This is what fine dining should be. At the English Grill they exceed your expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite spot in Louisville for fine ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2016

My favorite spot in Louisville for fine dining. I like old elegant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great choice!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went so that we could have the original hot browns, and they naturally were the best ever! The service was impeccable. Harold took great care of us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was limited but for the most part t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Menu was limited but for the most part the food choices were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.