Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Historic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my second time at the English Grill inside of the Brown Hotel. Fabulous place, and I always look forward to the occasion. Don't be in a rush, relax and allow the staff to wait on your needs. The food was delicious and prompt. The server (Kim Ellen) was always nearby for any requests. We got a complimentary appetizer from the chef, appetizer, salad, and the Hot Brown Sandwich, followed by dessert. The food portions were large enough to share. Weeach had two cocktails from the bar, which I thought was pricy at $15 per cocktail, and my guest and I had two each. Our bar bill was $60, which was too high. I've include a picture of the salted caramel bread pudding, which was wonderful. The English Grill has a dress code policy, that apparently isn't enforced. My guest and I were dressed up, and I had on a sport coat, which wasn't required, but looked good. However, diners were allowed in wearing shorts, tee-shirts, flip-flops, and very casual wear. That clothing is not appropriate for the English Grill. My guest and I noticed, that the side of the English Grill on which we were seated, everyone on that side was all dressed up. Diners who were inappropriately dressed, were seated in the back, or all to one side, away from the main entrance. That dress code policy not being enforced, was the only troubling issue. Everything else was great and I look forward to returning. Maybe a dress code sign should be posted near the check -in hostess desk, prior to guests strolling into the English Grill wearing shorts and tee -shirts. Just a suggestion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a pleasure. My favorite Louisville restaurant. Great service and very hospitable management. The atmosphere is regal. Soft piano music and lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a great place to enjoy beautiful ambiance, excellent service and delicious food. Although, it would make a great special occasion evening , it is also perfect for a nice evening out. You can enjoy live piano music at the bar.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Dining at the English Grill was such a treat! Every aspect exceeded my expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very accommodating. Called ahead of time to see if they allowed toddlers. They definitely did. I requested ahead of time for a highchair for our 17 month old. They were more than happy to provide one. In fact, the highchair was already at our table when we arrived. Servers were very nice. Great experience! (And by the way, our little boy did wonderful!)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great experience in historic hotel. Ask for Rob....fantastic server and will spoil you with great service. The whole service team was great. What a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It's truly rare to find authentic fine dining these days, but everything about this restaurant is fine. The staff are polite and polished in their service, and never intrusive or inattentive. The food is delicious, and served in portions that allow diners to enjoy multiple courses. I highly recommend multiple courses! There is a classical, timeless look and feel to the dining room - it has warmth and dignity. It's also not filled with the clatter and noise common to modern restaurant dining rooms. This is a place to relax, and enjoy a couple of hours with friends or loved ones in an unhurried, elegant dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING, FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING, STAFF WAS VERY INFORMATIVE. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Celebrated our 40th anniversary here & it was the perfect choice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Dinner was outstanding. The original hot brown is eccellent. Wait staff was attentive and personable. Wonderful historic hotel and restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We drove from Cincinnati to Louisville to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and the English Grill was a great place for a wonderful meal lingering with our party of 6 - all the sons drove from Bloomington and Columbus Indiana to have dinner with their dad. It was the perfect venue!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had very high expectations and left disappointed. Hot Brown was good. Short ribs were tough and not much better than pot roast. Wine was overpriced and average. Tour group occupied the majority of the dining room making it noisy and not romantic at all. The best part was the appetizer and of course the courteous and professional staff.
We won't be back unfortunately.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best Hot Browns in the world, after all they invented them. The back up service from Harold is always on target. We love English Grill for a pre theatre meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The English Grill provided myself and an out of town guest with a beautiful meal, steeped in history with an amazing staff who made the evening a memorable event. The amuse-bouche was outstanding, the shrimp and grits were without a doubt the best I have ever had. The farm fresh salad was dressed lightly letting the fresh beets, feta cheese and spinach shine. The steak was cooked to perfection and served with delicious roasted vegetables and the wine (suggested by our Waiter) paired flawlessly. Dessert of homemade ice cream and creme brulee was a rich indulgence - a meal I will not soon forget.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Beautiful dining room in a historic hotel. Service impeccable and good food. The Hot Brown not so hot, but I felt a need to try it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Evening started with an amuse-Bouche which did not set a good tone. Cold meatball on a cracker with French dressing. However, moving into the meal, I had an incredible app of shrimp and grits and a HUGE porkchop cooked to perfection, juicy and seasoned well. It was accompanied by delicious Brussels sprouts. No room for dessert. My loss.....,

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Impeccable service and fabulous meal! Wonderful for Anniversary or special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent experience at English Grill. The menu is limited in terms of number of entrees offered, but they do have they do very well. The quality is outstanding and our entrees were prepared eloquently. I would recommend the Hot Brown or the filet. The service was outstanding, and the ambiance was very nice as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We had a wonderful evening Special dinner for our 35 th anniversary. Loved the food and the service was right on point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is one of the most highly-rated restaurants in Louisville, and I truly can't see why. It is over-priced and the food is not that good. The menu is very limited and the server was nice but the service was lacking. The ambiance was nice and it was fun dressing up for dinner, but I can't say I would recommend this to anyone. If you're looking for a fancy restaurant, look elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very disappointed! We don't mind paying $$$ for a great dinner, but not mediocre at best. The lamb was Luke warm and only a couple of bites on each of the 3 chops - the rest was fat, cold fat at that. The filet my husband had was good - would have been better if we ever got the salt we asked for during the salad entree. Oh, I almost forgot the salad - the Caesar salad was a few pieces of romaine lettuce soaked in a mustard/oil dressing - worst I ever had. Again, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This restaurant is amazing. We were greeted by Troy, who lead us to our beautiful table. Rob was our server. He made some fantastic suggestions, and could easily answer any of our questions. We were checked on to make sure we were happy. Food was AMAZING. Troy also stopped by our table, and shared his knowledge of everything from bourbon, to whiskey, and beyond. He's great. The whole experience was second to none.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The Hot Brown is awesome! So was the service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. Staff was very attentive, food was delicious. Loved every aspect of the meal, must go to in Loiusville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The restaurant itself is beautiful, they do a great job keeping much of the history of the hotel alive. Service is good even though we did get the feeling that we were a little pressured for time. Our server had good knowledge of the menus and we were able to move some things around which was very much appreciated. Overall the food was ok, the pork and the salmon came out both too done. The flavor could have been better, I guess here we were expecting much more from this higher rated restaurant. We had 5 courses for our dinner, overall I would rate the experience good. The price was on the high end and therefore it was somewhat disappointing. We do not mind paying more as long it was worthwhile the experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service was fantastic, the staff was incomparable, but the food sadly did not meet 2 of the 3 diners expectations. The ambiance alonee however will bring us back.

Thanks, Tim Long.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 19, 2017

After dining at The English Grill on three different occasions and experiencing delightful food and service, we were looking forward to a wonderful meal/evening. We were disappointed!!! We went to the bar for a predinner drink, sat down, and waited for 20 minutes before we saw a server.
Dinner started out okay with appetizers. My entree came with two plates! When I explained that this was what I ordered, not something we were going to share, the server looked confused. In a few minutes, our waiter came, apologized, and said my husband's entree would be out in approximately 1 1/2 minutes. At least 10+ minutes later, my husband got his food. We still don't know what the problem was . . . no explanation. By the time the second entree arrived, my food was cold because I had eaten very slowly, trying to wait on his food and my husband had lost his appetite. It took forever for our plates to be cleared! Needless to say, an evening we had looked forward to was not enjoyable.
We will think twice before returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Awesome historic landmark. Impeccable service, elegance and fine food. Waiter Rob and assistant Harold met our every need. We celebrated or44th wedding Anniversary with style and class. Piano music by Brad was a real add. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

When we want an elegant, quiet, special evening to celebrate something, we always think of the English Grill. We have been going for years and it is one of our favorites. The food is always great, the staff is professional yet personal, and the decor sets the mood just right. It is well worth the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Hosted several generations of my family for Mother's day Brunch while traveling thru Louisville. Great experience. Delightful buffet and menu chosen entrees - all prepared superbly. Good service in an elegant room. Highly recommended - experience the grace of the past with solid cuisine.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding Mother's Day Menu. Food and service were also outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere- fantastic service. Food options were plentiful and the tenderloin was amazing. It was a Mother's Day buffet and portions of the food selections were excellent others were just ok. Parking was complimentary and the music was superb. Expensive - should not have to pay for coffee and tea at 70 dollars a pop

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Excellent service and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed our experience. The mint Julip was too strong. My husband enjoyed his Burbon tasting. Shrimp and grits was delicious. Spinach salad was ok. By the time the hot brown came, I was already full. It was very rich. Our waitress was friendly and cordial. The manager was very friendly as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Although early to our reservation we were seated immediately. The wait staff was prompt in getting our drink order and dinner order. We did not wait long for our appetizer or meal. The food was delicious and well worth the money. It had always been a wish to eat a Hot Brown at the Brown; worth every penny! My only request would have been our server been more attentive. While our needs were met, the tables around he had more attention and were checked on more frequently.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The whole dining experience, starting with the valet parking - excellent service from Kelly - and ending with the valet parking, English Grill is a must for totally enjoyable fine eats with anyone special in your life.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The English Grill was awesome. People were very polite and the food was outstanding. We'll be coming back in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food and good service. A bit noisy for a fine dining restaurant, but understandable as it was the evening of the Kentucky Derby. All 6 courses of pre fix meal were great although very expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.