About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
  • Sazerac Cocktail - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
  • The Hot Brown - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY

Report a photo problem

Sazerac Cocktail - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY
The Hot Brown - The English Grill at Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come celebrate with your special someone at The English Grill! Chef Andrew W and his team will be creating a 4 course menu for an unforgettable evening.

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a favorite restaurant for birthd ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a favorite restaurant for birthdays, entertaining out of the area guests, adult family-member gatherings, or just as a treat for ourselves. The service is outstanding, as is the food. (We have been enjoying this restaurant for over 20 years, and it has maintained excellent standards throughout!)

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What an AMAZING expericence we had. We w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What an AMAZING expericence we had. We were treated like roalty from the moment we stepped foot in. We had our 3 children with us ages 10, 8 and 7. The wait staff even Thanked us for bringing the children in. It was very memorbale and made our event fabulous. Food was amazing! Great recomendations by the wait staff. All the way aroun A++++

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect for New Years. A ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was perfect for New Years. A great menu and service. The ambience there is superb. A live piano player was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

From entry to exit, the service was ques ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From entry to exit, the service was questionable at best; Harold was the restaurant's only redeeming quality, and Nico, the valet's. Finally, the food: it lacked flavor distinct, 'twas rich in apathy, and devoid of mink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My husband and I had a wonderful, speci ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful, special dinner at the English Grill at the Brown Hotel! It was a unique experience for us - much fancier than what we are used to - but absolutely wonderful!

The hot brown truly is the best in Kentucky!

We will definitely be back someday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a special after Chr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I had a special after Christmas get away to the Brown Hotel. We dined at the English Grill and had a wonderful experience. Everyone was so hospitable, friendly and kind. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere lovely. Nick, our waiter, did an amazing job and Harold offered the best in Southern Hospitality. We are from central Ohio, and Harold told us he had to make a good impression, because Louisville is the "northernmost point of southern hospitality". That he did. We have already told many of our friends and family about this place and would highly recommend it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and servi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service until the end of our meal. I had seen a skillet go by our table just after we were seated. I'd asked our server and he said it was bread pudding. It had ice cream and a cookie of some kind on top.

After our meal we had wanted to order the bread pudding, but our server said he would be back to get our order. We waited quite some time while he presented wine, made a Caesar salad and never returned. We had to flag him down and when we tried to place our dessert order he then told us it would take 25 min. to prepare. I really wish he had taken our dessert order earlier since we had waited much longer than the preparation time already. We ordered another dessert which was okay, but was much smaller and definitely not what we wanted. It was not the ending we had hoped for. We rarely order dessert out so it was a treat, but it turned out to be a huge disappointment.

I enjoy a nice relaxing night out, but this 2 1/2 -3 hrs. ended on a sour note. We just wanted to get our check and go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Searching for a new Christmas tradition ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Searching for a new Christmas tradition and we have found it. Thank you for another delightful Christmas meal.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Kentucky. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Kentucky. Great for a weekend get away. The hotel is lovely too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas eve

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 5th year at The English Grill for Ch ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our 5th year at The English Grill for Christmas Eve. It is always a lovely occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience on Christmas Eve ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great dining experience on Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had dinner at the English Grill for C ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had dinner at the English Grill for Christmas Eve. It is always a wonderful experience. The service and food is always excellent. Troy Ritchie certainly knows his wine and presented an excellent pairing within the price I requested.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a most enjoyable evening. The a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a most enjoyable evening. The atmosphere was elegant, quiet and inviting . Our waiter was only in his second week but was thoroughly knowledgeable about the wine list and the menu. We dined on spare ribs and lamb shank. Both dishes were well prepared and beautifully presented.

The menu was a bit pricey but not exorbitant.

Great place. We will definitely go again when in Louisville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrat ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrate our one year and had the most incredible meal and overall experience! Whether you're celebrating or just want a delicious meal, The English Grill is divine! Wonderful staff and service all around.

Tags: , Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our wait staff made our dinner memorable ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our wait staff made our dinner memorable. The food was great, of course, but the staff was so kind. They shared a few local stories with us which made our visit to this historic place enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish you scrimp or lobster on menu oth ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I wish you scrimp or lobster on menu other wise it was very good would come back.

Tags: Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful, traditional fine dining exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A wonderful, traditional fine dining experience! Excellent food and service, beautiful atmosphere, very "clubby". The only downside to the evening was that they had run out of three menu items by the time we ordered (7:30 PM). Granted, it was a Thursday night and probably not normally a "busy" time but we did think it strange to have run out of three items. However, the chef himself came out to apologize and discuss alternative entrees, which turned out to be absolutely wonderful. We highly recommend the English Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This visit was not nearly as nice as the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This visit was not nearly as nice as the last time. Service was slow, drinks were not refilled promptly, mashed potatoes were cold. Sea bass was good, but not great. The server was very pleasant, but had too many tables.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was impeccable. Well paced, rela ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service was impeccable. Well paced, relaxed meal. The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert...and after dinner bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Food was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Food was good but not great, we were trying to find a dinner that wasn't a buffet and thought we had found one. Turns out entree was made to order but the rest was a buffet. For a dinner of this price and at this location we didn't want a buffet and really think that with most buffets the quality of food drops. To be fair the quantity does go up if this is what you are looking for.

Service was ok but also not great. I would expect with us getting up to get everything but the entree that the wait staff would have a lot less to do but ordering drinks took a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our thanksgiving d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our thanksgiving dinner at the English grill and our subsequent brunch at j Graham's. The food was good and of particular note was the maitre d of j Graham's, Nicholas. He greeted us with an authentic warmth and graciousness that is often missing in the restaurant experience. He has a great attitude and was engaging in a very appropriate way. This type of experience invites you to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had made reservations for four peopl ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had made reservations for four people. We drove in from the Knoxville, TN, area and my sister and her boyfriend drove down from Chicago. We had the best time. Our 1:45 reservation was perfect as it was not overcrowded. The appetizers were varied and plentiful and the three choices for an entrée were positively wonderful. Last year we went to Chicago to the Palmer House. Our meal with you was much better. Thank you for the wonderful experience!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vast majority of the meal was well d ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The vast majority of the meal was well done.

The deserts left much to be desired, cake was dry, pies were tasteless. Their definition of medium well for beef dish is more towards medium, very red and bleeding all over my plate.

Service by the waitress was slow and prompting for beverages was constant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience. The food was wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great experience. The food was wonderful I would go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. The on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service and food were excellent. The only disappointment was a few in the party ordered the pork chop which ended up not being available.

The setting in the historic Brown Hotel was very nice.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic restaurant with warm, friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with warm, friendly service. Excellent selection of wines to compliment dinner. A small group of friends look forward to dining here every year we come to Louisville. It is truly a dining experience that no one should miss.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a good menu before the play. But I f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was a good menu before the play. But I felt they should have offered the regular dinner menu as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Four of us dined together prior to the s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Four of us dined together prior to the start of a conference. We were looking for a pleasant dining experience prior to what was going to be three hectic days. What we got was one of the best dining experiences imaginable. From the menu selection to the food to the ambiance otheprofessional and friendly staff, it would be impossible to identify anything that was less than perfect. I would especially mention the sommelier Troy. I cannot remember ever receiving better or friendlier service in any restaurant anywhere. The evening made the entire weekend. My only regret is that I cannot return on a regular basis. Eight hundred miles is a bit far to travel for a meal, even if it would be worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. From the minu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Service was outstanding. From the minute we arrived we were treated like we were the most important guests they had. The food was as pleasing to the eyes as well as the palate. Knowing it was my wife's birthday the Chef sent her out a beautiful delicious dessert. We liked it so much we are going back next spring to stay at The Brown Hotel and will definitely eat at The English Grill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing for a party of six. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very disappointing for a party of six. A special occasion for us, I called 3 times and personally made a trip up to the hotel/English Grill to assure our event went well. Service was dreadful, had to enquire when our dinner would arrive and than our dinner plates left on table until we had to request them removed and the dessert menu brought to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

This was my first visit to the English G ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was my first visit to the English Grill and I was very impressed. The staff was courteous and attentive from beginning to end. The food was delicious, including the best Caesar salad I have ever had. The dining room is elegant and quiet. The service was quick, yet not rushed. It is pretty expensive, so is not someplace to go if you are counting your pennies, but well worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant atmosphere was out standi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere was out standing and the service was out standing. The food was great and I would recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was beautiful, the staff ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The atmosphere was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making our anniversary eve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary evening so special. The service, our waiter and Harold were excellent. The Hot Brown was gorgeous and tasty. Our wonderful flaming dessert, free for the occasion was appreciated and delicious. Lovely evening and the music, piano player out in the bar area, came through because they opened the doors and the music was wonderful.

Thank You,

The Muenz-Winklers

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was beyond reproach. Our server, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was beyond reproach. Our server, Charlie, was well informed about the menu, and his recommendations were spot on. Food was excellent, cooked to perfection, with a beautiful presentation. We highly recommend the table-side Caesar salad.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant was sparsely occupied, which ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Restaurant was sparsely occupied, which is sad because the food was excellent, as was the service. The room is beautiful and worth the experience. Lots of energy in the lobby area adjacent and we could hear the piano player which added to the ambiance. Presentation and taste of food was superior. It won't be a cheap date, but it will be worth the price.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

...from the first step into the English ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

...from the first step into the English Grill you will realize you are in for wonderful experience, from the side table Caesar Salad, a little something special from the Chef to alert your palate to what is yet to come, your main course and then the out of this world desserts, presentation and taste are fabulous. They welcomes you, with" we're are so glad you are here and we are here to make your dining a memorable evening." not only the dining but the entire Brown Hotel family should be proud of their business, they make you feel as if you are staying at your home away from home!!!! We stayed in the beautiful Historic Hotel 2 night, escape and relax Luxury King package. and would not have done anything different, the stay was perfect!!!! This Missouri family would highly recommend the Historic Brown Hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a special friend visit me from Ral ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had a special friend visit me from Raleigh, North Carolina and he told me he had read and heard about the Brown Hotel. Myself, a native of Louisville but had never been to the Brown Hotel. We had a reservation on a Thursday night. It was a magical evening, perfect atmosphere and fabulous food!! A wonderful memory was made!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BROWN is solid Gold This restaurant ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

THE BROWN is solid Gold

This restaurant is well more than the reviews spoke. We certainly did not expect to be wowed. IT was hands down the most romantic dinner since we relocated to the South. .The food was brilliant. The service was sublime. When we paid our compliments regarding the kitchen we didnt expect what happened next.. the Chef came out to our table to thank us. I was amazed. I have had this experience in Los Angeles and in NYC, Paris, London etx... but not in the South. Certainly not with this same sincerity. For quite a young man (tattooed on the forearm) I did not expect his genuine courtesy. I have bragged on this restaurant a million times since I returned home to Nashville. As I look towards my wedding anniversary I am thinking Louisville and the Brown. No one is more happily surprised than this writer. Thank you very much and congratulations on a kitchen above par.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Late-night Find, , Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Private Room, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.