Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Historic (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The Hot Brown is awesome! So was the service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The restaurant itself is beautiful, they do a great job keeping much of the history of the hotel alive. Service is good even though we did get the feeling that we were a little pressured for time. Our server had good knowledge of the menus and we were able to move some things around which was very much appreciated. Overall the food was ok, the pork and the salmon came out both too done. The flavor could have been better, I guess here we were expecting much more from this higher rated restaurant. We had 5 courses for our dinner, overall I would rate the experience good. The price was on the high end and therefore it was somewhat disappointing. We do not mind paying more as long it was worthwhile the experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service was fantastic, the staff was incomparable, but the food sadly did not meet 2 of the 3 diners expectations. The ambiance alonee however will bring us back.

Thanks, Tim Long.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 19, 2017

After dining at The English Grill on three different occasions and experiencing delightful food and service, we were looking forward to a wonderful meal/evening. We were disappointed!!! We went to the bar for a predinner drink, sat down, and waited for 20 minutes before we saw a server.
Dinner started out okay with appetizers. My entree came with two plates! When I explained that this was what I ordered, not something we were going to share, the server looked confused. In a few minutes, our waiter came, apologized, and said my husband's entree would be out in approximately 1 1/2 minutes. At least 10+ minutes later, my husband got his food. We still don't know what the problem was . . . no explanation. By the time the second entree arrived, my food was cold because I had eaten very slowly, trying to wait on his food and my husband had lost his appetite. It took forever for our plates to be cleared! Needless to say, an evening we had looked forward to was not enjoyable.
We will think twice before returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Awesome historic landmark. Impeccable service, elegance and fine food. Waiter Rob and assistant Harold met our every need. We celebrated or44th wedding Anniversary with style and class. Piano music by Brad was a real add. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

When we want an elegant, quiet, special evening to celebrate something, we always think of the English Grill. We have been going for years and it is one of our favorites. The food is always great, the staff is professional yet personal, and the decor sets the mood just right. It is well worth the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Hosted several generations of my family for Mother's day Brunch while traveling thru Louisville. Great experience. Delightful buffet and menu chosen entrees - all prepared superbly. Good service in an elegant room. Highly recommended - experience the grace of the past with solid cuisine.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding Mother's Day Menu. Food and service were also outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Excellent service and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere- fantastic service. Food options were plentiful and the tenderloin was amazing. It was a Mother's Day buffet and portions of the food selections were excellent others were just ok. Parking was complimentary and the music was superb. Expensive - should not have to pay for coffee and tea at 70 dollars a pop

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our experience. The mint Julip was too strong. My husband enjoyed his Burbon tasting. Shrimp and grits was delicious. Spinach salad was ok. By the time the hot brown came, I was already full. It was very rich. Our waitress was friendly and cordial. The manager was very friendly as well.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Although early to our reservation we were seated immediately. The wait staff was prompt in getting our drink order and dinner order. We did not wait long for our appetizer or meal. The food was delicious and well worth the money. It had always been a wish to eat a Hot Brown at the Brown; worth every penny! My only request would have been our server been more attentive. While our needs were met, the tables around he had more attention and were checked on more frequently.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The whole dining experience, starting with the valet parking - excellent service from Kelly - and ending with the valet parking, English Grill is a must for totally enjoyable fine eats with anyone special in your life.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The English Grill was awesome. People were very polite and the food was outstanding. We'll be coming back in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and good service. A bit noisy for a fine dining restaurant, but understandable as it was the evening of the Kentucky Derby. All 6 courses of pre fix meal were great although very expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Visited the English Grill during Derby week. Excellent food and service given the number of tables and the size of our party. Will definitely be back next year!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

thought service was great and I love this restraunt, with one minor exception:
salad made at table had way to much dressing in qty terms....lettuce was simply drenched or sopped .....way too much. Be sure to ask for a light level of dressing made at table. (Caesar salad)

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Best service that I have ever received at a dining establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food is exceptional and service was excellent. Great atmosphere and decor

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Overrated is the best word to describe this place. Our server was great, I will not complain about him. Food was very so -so, given the price. We should have just had Hot Brown's and chalked it up to a been there, done that experience - but it was a special occasion. This place has an incredible reputation, just didn't see how they earned, food wise.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had an exceptional dinner. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. Thanks.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We enjoyed our evening very much. I was a little disappointed that we did not get the table we were promised. However, the main meal was divine and our server was very friendly and efficient.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was excellent; service was great; ambience exactly as expected

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter Buffet was grand, service was perfect and the dining room was beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent Evening. Delicious food. Great service. We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

the food was great and the service was some of the best I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is fine dining! The English Grill has the the grandeur of yester year with contemporary wonderful food. The cocktails are fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of the best staffs I have encountered .................................😀

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Seven of us all liked our food. Hot Browns were fabulous. Charming and historic atmosphere like a grand old steakhouse with great wait service! A must-do for locals and out-of-towners!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It took almost an hour before our entrees were served. Not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I had to have Hot Brown at the place it was invented. It did not disappoint. Delicious! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The place is beautiful. Great meal!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wonderful. Exceptional. One of the best dining experiences we've had the pleasure to experience.

Christa, Harold, and Kelly really provided truly outstanding service to us.

Kelly makes a delicious table side Caesar salad. You can't pass this up on your next visit.

Last , but definitely not least, the quality of our steak and seafood dinners were superb.

Hit this restaurant if you want a once in a lifetime experience

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were at the Brown Hotel for 3 nights for a birthday celebration. The dining room is lovely - comfortable chairs at the tables for lingering in a formal, intimate meal setting. The evening started with a good selection of bourbons/cocktails. Unfortunately, our waiter making the table side Caesar flung the whisk around so much that my dinner mate got spattered a few times. (The waiter didn't seem to notice.) The Caesar dressing was spicy and very good. Our meals took a LONG time to reach the table. No one said anything to us but the waiter walked by to fill our water a few times, sheepishly. Finally the meals came. The short rib and 1 filet were very good. 1 filet was overcooked and the fish du jour was also good. By the time we got our entrees, dessert was too much to do. Our waiter seemed to disappear as our meals came and after dinner we saw him in the lobby tending bar. All in all, English Grill seems like it does things well. Maybe we didn't hit it on a good night, but it could have been orchestrated a LOT better. We felt a bit like an afterthought.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The English Grill had an outstanding menu, a beautiful linen table setting, historic elegant feel, and impeccable service. The food was creative and everyone in my party of 12 raved on the quality of every entrée we ate. Highly recommended for entertaining clients!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Private Room, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food ambience. Good noise control. Menu and wine list encompassing. Knowledgeable manager on wines. Only issue was apparently new/untrained waiter. Didn't know what spinach salad looked like and recommended the lamb chops because had cute little bones sticking out. I had to repour all of our 80.$ wine bottle. That said was a nice evening and any concerns became a fun conservation shared!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved our food- and the wine recommended was superb! Our server was friendly and did a wonderful job! Quite a jewel for Louisville! Great bar scene!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was great and the food was great....the drinks are pricey, but we really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Enjoyed every minute! It was a dining experience! The Chef came to our table & was very Happy to have us there !

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in I will definitely be back. The staff was absolutely awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic filet!!! My wife + I took our 6 year old son. they catered to him like a little prince! Phemnominal experience!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.