Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

The English Grill hosts a formal Easter meal with over-the-top seafood and meat and cheese buffet. Plated entrée: seared beef tenderloin, roasted halibut or bone-in stuffed pork chop, and finish with house made selections from the dessert table. The cost is $69 per person, Children are $22

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

The English Grill hosts a formal Mother’s Day meal with over-the-top seafood and meat and cheese buffet. Plated entree: seared beef tenderloin, Swordfish or Duck, and finish with house made selections from the dessert table. The cost is $69 per person, Children are $22

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Historic (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

The English Grill had an outstanding menu, a beautiful linen table setting, historic elegant feel, and impeccable service. The food was creative and everyone in my party of 12 raved on the quality of every entrée we ate. Highly recommended for entertaining clients!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Private Room, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food ambience. Good noise control. Menu and wine list encompassing. Knowledgeable manager on wines. Only issue was apparently new/untrained waiter. Didn't know what spinach salad looked like and recommended the lamb chops because had cute little bones sticking out. I had to repour all of our 80.$ wine bottle. That said was a nice evening and any concerns became a fun conservation shared!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved our food- and the wine recommended was superb! Our server was friendly and did a wonderful job! Quite a jewel for Louisville! Great bar scene!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was great and the food was great....the drinks are pricey, but we really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Enjoyed every minute! It was a dining experience! The Chef came to our table & was very Happy to have us there !

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in I will definitely be back. The staff was absolutely awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic filet!!! My wife + I took our 6 year old son. they catered to him like a little prince! Phemnominal experience!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I took my 13 year old daughter here for her birthday. She loved the restaurant and her meal. She told me that it was the nicest restaurant she had ever visited and her Filet was delicious. She is small and I was surprised that she ate her entire meal. The Waiter was friendly and helpful and a hostess was kind enough to take our photograph. It was one of the highlights of our "Father Daughter Birthday Weekend"

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great restaurant in an historic hotel. The service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a fanominal experience! The Hot Bowns were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed so much our Valentine's Day. The menu was exquisite, and our waiter was extraordinary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The meal was expensive but perfect for a romantic Valentine's dinner with my wife. It was four course meal with wine parings. The filet was cooked to perfection and tender. The wine selections were perfect! The wine steward and the wait staff were friendly and attentive. It had been sometime since I had been to the English Grill but for special occasions it will be top of my list in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed a Valentine's Day dinner. For the positive - the filet was very good and presented well, the dessert was unusual and tasty. The décor was just ok; seemed a bit dated and there was not as much attention to detail as you might expect - the room (across from the main section of the Grill) was a bit dingy and the door next to it leading to the outside banged loudly every time it was shut. Our waitress lost points when she spilled my coffee all over the table as she poured it, and also when she took away my still-full bowl of soup without asking if I didn't like it; I felt she should have inquired and perhaps then offered a salad in its place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just a very pleasant place for an enjoyable evening with tasty food and good service. I don't believe you could do much better in Louisville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful structure, great story and history. Very classy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was exceptional. Dining was not only about the food but the experience. Waiters were very attentive, they treat the guests like royalty. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I can not say enough good things about my experience at The English Grill. The food was top notch and the service was outstanding. Our server did the table side ceasar and was extremely attentive. The hot brown can't be beat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful and prompt service. Definitely will go back. Highly recommend the hot brown!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been to the English Grill before and this time the food was not up to the standards we expected. I had the pork chop and it was very tough and difficult to cut, much less chew. The ambiance of the room was disappointing. I was wearing a suit, and my wife a beautiful dress, and we were sitting next to people in jeans. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was outstanding. The bar brought in crafted Manhattan over the top. The food was cooked and seasoned well. Fresh flowers and a fabulous chocolate desert and wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Celebrating a double birthday. Food great but service deplorable. When we spoke to manager, he apologized, said he would make our next visit "special" but no specifics. Three of us four are NOT interested in giving the English Grill another chance. Very disappointed in the manager response.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Beautiful dining room. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service. Great food. I drove 200 miles hust to stay and eat at The Brown. It was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We spent two nights at The Brown Hotel. The first night we had bar food at the bar. The bar staff was wonderful. The second night we had dinner in The English bar and grill. Our God was excellent as was the service and ambiance. The wait staff shared historical stories of the hotel and restsurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant for birthdays, entertaining out of the area guests, adult family-member gatherings, or just as a treat for ourselves. The service is outstanding, as is the food. (We have been enjoying this restaurant for over 20 years, and it has maintained excellent standards throughout!)

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing hot brown and cauliflower soup!!!!! Beautiful space and extremely personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What an AMAZING expericence we had. We were treated like roalty from the moment we stepped foot in. We had our 3 children with us ages 10, 8 and 7. The wait staff even Thanked us for bringing the children in. It was very memorbale and made our event fabulous. Food was amazing! Great recomendations by the wait staff. All the way aroun A++++

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was perfect for New Years. A great menu and service. The ambience there is superb. A live piano player was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From entry to exit, the service was questionable at best; Harold was the restaurant's only redeeming quality, and Nico, the valet's. Finally, the food: it lacked flavor distinct, 'twas rich in apathy, and devoid of mink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful, special dinner at the English Grill at the Brown Hotel! It was a unique experience for us - much fancier than what we are used to - but absolutely wonderful!

The hot brown truly is the best in Kentucky!

We will definitely be back someday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I had a special after Christmas get away to the Brown Hotel. We dined at the English Grill and had a wonderful experience. Everyone was so hospitable, friendly and kind. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere lovely. Nick, our waiter, did an amazing job and Harold offered the best in Southern Hospitality. We are from central Ohio, and Harold told us he had to make a good impression, because Louisville is the "northernmost point of southern hospitality". That he did. We have already told many of our friends and family about this place and would highly recommend it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and service until the end of our meal. I had seen a skillet go by our table just after we were seated. I'd asked our server and he said it was bread pudding. It had ice cream and a cookie of some kind on top.
After our meal we had wanted to order the bread pudding, but our server said he would be back to get our order. We waited quite some time while he presented wine, made a Caesar salad and never returned. We had to flag him down and when we tried to place our dessert order he then told us it would take 25 min. to prepare. I really wish he had taken our dessert order earlier since we had waited much longer than the preparation time already. We ordered another dessert which was okay, but was much smaller and definitely not what we wanted. It was not the ending we had hoped for. We rarely order dessert out so it was a treat, but it turned out to be a huge disappointment.
I enjoy a nice relaxing night out, but this 2 1/2 -3 hrs. ended on a sour note. We just wanted to get our check and go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Searching for a new Christmas tradition and we have found it. Thank you for another delightful Christmas meal.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Kentucky. Great for a weekend get away. The hotel is lovely too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our 5th year at The English Grill for Christmas Eve. It is always a lovely occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great dining experience on Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had dinner at the English Grill for Christmas Eve. It is always a wonderful experience. The service and food is always excellent. Troy Ritchie certainly knows his wine and presented an excellent pairing within the price I requested.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a most enjoyable evening. The atmosphere was elegant, quiet and inviting . Our waiter was only in his second week but was thoroughly knowledgeable about the wine list and the menu. We dined on spare ribs and lamb shank. Both dishes were well prepared and beautifully presented.
The menu was a bit pricey but not exorbitant.
Great place. We will definitely go again when in Louisville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here to celebrate our one year and had the most incredible meal and overall experience! Whether you're celebrating or just want a delicious meal, The English Grill is divine! Wonderful staff and service all around.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.