About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.

Valet parking is complimentary when dining in the English Grill.

Please accept our appreciation for your adherence to and support of our dress codes.

Business Casual
Men: Slacks or dress jeans paired with dress shirt or knit shirt with collar is required (jackets optional.)
Women: Dresses, slacks, dress jeans or skirts paired with blouse or finer knit shirt required (jackets optional.)
Not Permitted: Athletic apparel (including hats), printed t-shirts, ripped or worn denim, shorts, sandal type footwear and athletic footwear.

We look forward to serving you.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar on Thursday and Friday evenings.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Bettis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
8 More
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (57)
romantic (50)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went so that we could have the original hot browns, and they naturally were the best ever! The service was impeccable. Harold took great care of us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu was limited but for the most part t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Menu was limited but for the most part the food choices were good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How dining is done...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was one of the greatest dining experiences I, and my friends, have ever experienced. Thomas was gracious, knowledgeable, and accomodating. A magical evening for us all!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

One of two best places to dine in Louisville, wonderful appetizers, entrées, and deserts. The service and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

lovely atmosphere

Dined on May 16, 2016

Beautiful dining room, great service, good food but not the best. I tried a good watermelon-mozzarella appetizer/tasting, their homemade bread was good, and the classic Hot Brown was good but the flavors weren't as strong as I was hoping. My colleague enjoyed their gin and tonic. I might come back sometime just for the beautiful, classy environment and cocktails.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was incredibly pleased with the Brown ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was incredibly pleased with the Brown Hotel's dining experience in general. The atmosphere of the historic hotel was truly an experience rather than just a place to go eat! The staff at the English Grill were courteous, attentive, and actually seated us well before our reservations. As for the food, I would most definitely recommend the Hot Brown, a Kentucky dish that originated at the Brown Hotel. Though I do not drink, I noticed they had an extensive selection and the Lobby Bar was located just outside the English Grill for diners who wished to linger. Also, the desserts were excellent. Another great perk of dining at the Brown Hotel was the complimentary valet parking, which is a godsend in downtown Louisbille! Overall, this is a fabulous restaurant with an enlightening and educational ambiance and attentive staff. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had a Hot Brown and it was wonderful. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I had a Hot Brown and it was wonderful. I liked having a choice of bread brought to the table. I had a nice salad and my dessert choice was sorbet. With conscientious wait staff, it was a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Nice space, good service, great starter ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Nice space, good service, great starter and dessert, luke warm sides and a steak you'd need a power tool to cut.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Dined in Derby week. Busy of course but impeccable and friendly service. HAD to try the Hot Brown as a starter between us.... delicious! Beef sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 30, 2016

A Louisville destinaton stop for sure. So many excellent choices for entrees but I went with their signature plate, The Hot Brown.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

The menu has improved over the years and is very good. We enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere. The service was great. Our waiter Kerry was very knowledgable about wine. We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated elegance but not intimidating.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a lovely evening in this beautiful restaurant. This restaurant is located in The Brown Hotel (which has a gorgeous lobby) and the dining room doesn't disappoint. I had a filet which was a bit pricey but delicious. My husband had the lamb chops although he said more fat on them than he's used to seeing. The sommelier was very attentive and helpful even though we were just have a couple of glasses of wine. They offer a variety of salads including Caesar prepared tableside and also side dishes. We had the brussel sprouts with pancetta which were very good. We would definitely go back to this restaurant when we are in town again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing Dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were staying at the Brown and had read reviews that led us to believe the English Grill was better than what we experienced. Everything was fine, but uninspired with very few highlights. I had to make a wise crack for the maître'd to begin asking my wife how things were and not just me. The remaining service was friendly and fairly attentive, but it seemed as if fine dining was a new experiment, and they needed to explain many self-evident things. There is an impressive whiskey list, and the wine list had some notable values - beverage service was solid. The breads and one appetizer (a scallop-lamb bacon-quail egg riff on eggs Benedict) were excellent. The salmon, sides, and short ribs all seemed surprisingly industrial. The ravioli appetizer was bland and quite under-cooked. I'm sorry we didn't go someplace else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent service. Had minimal time to eat prior to attending a downtown concert. Server did a super job making sure that we would have enough time to make it to our concert. We opted for the Hot Brown, the signature entree so we didn't have an opportunity to try any of their entrees. Food was excellent. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Easter Sunday Dinner. For th ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent Easter Sunday Dinner. For the price, a few more options would have been nice, but overall, no complaints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Bad Service

Dined on March 20, 2016

The Hotel is grand. The restaurant is not even close. The food order was incorrect. When notified, the staff simply took the plates, switched the vegetables (the sides) and returned the plates with cold entrees

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought my parents here for dinner bef ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

I brought my parents here for dinner before the Tony Bennett concert and we had a delicious meal. The service was wonderful, and the wine list was fantastic! Overall, great experience and highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Louisville

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Fine dining at its best. Outstanding service. Very knowledgable sommelier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Did not live up to hype!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Very disappointed with the food in the English Grill. With their high star rating, the expectation was for perfectly prepared and presented dishes. Presentation was lacking and the food was so-so. For the price, would not eat there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Magical Experience

Dined on March 8, 2016

My wife and I went to the English Grill for a date night. I have to say our was an absolutely breath taking, magical experience. Thomas, our server was curtious, and respectful. The decor created romantic ambience. Our meal began with the crab cake appetizer. For our entries, I had the New York Strip. My wife chose the lamb rack. Every mouth watering morsel seemed sent from Heaven. This restaurant deserves 6 stars

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the Best Restaurants in Louisville

Dined on February 26, 2016

I had an opportunity to try out the English Grill under chef Bettis. The crab cake was the best in the city. Lots of fresh crab with no filler. Great fish selection - I ordered the salmon which had a great flavor and was cooked perfectly. My husband had the sole which was also delicious and had a great presentation. He also ordered the salad which was prepared tableside. I really like that you get to select 2 side dishes with each entree. The mushroom risotto and cauliflower worked great with the salmon. They had an interesting wine list that had a good selection from around the world and not just the US. The housemade ice cream and chocolate strip tease were delicious desserts without being too heavy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must Go in Louisville

Dined on February 23, 2016

I only had 2 days in Louisville and wanted to have the original Hot Brown. Absolutely fantastic atmosphere, service, cocktails and food. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

PRICEY

Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall this was a great place with a great atmosphere. The service was top notch! I loved the old style Brown Hotel building the restaurant was located in which was very 1920s. As expected it is expensive but I would highly recommend it for a special romantic dinner. The food was excellent but very small on the portion side (probably a good thing).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

The menu was four-course with entree' selection. The good was very good, though I'm not sure it was really worth $80 per person. Nonetheless, the atmosphere was romantic and service would top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Day dinner at the English Grill

Dined on February 13, 2016

I have been a guest several times at the Brown Hotel and eaten at the bar in the lobby, but had never eaten in The English Grill before. My wife and I had the Valentine's Day fixed price dinner. At $80. per person it wasn't cheap, but it was delicious and ample. The service and ambiance were also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

what I expected which wasnt worth the price

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

the good: service was great, matre'd was fantastic the bad: food was average in flavor, duck was under cooked short ribs lacked flavor and were not tender, NY strip was average as was the bread pudding probably would recommend going once for the decor and novalty of a vintage hotel

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent waiter with wonderful recommen ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Excellent waiter with wonderful recommendations for food and wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

Dined on January 29, 2016

My wife and I had a memorable dining experience at the English Grill at Brown Hotel on Jan. 29, 2016. The meal was prepared with particular attention to detail. Our server was pleasant, professional, engaging, skillful in relating to us, knowledgeable about the food and wine, and paid attention to the timing of presenting us with the respective portions of our meal. Lastly, he "waited" until we were finished with our meal before presenting us our bill. What a touch of class. Instead of slapping the bill on our table half way through our meal, only to hear the words, "No rush. This is just for your convenience.", these folks take pride and time in allowing you - the one paying their wages - to enjoy your meal without feeling like you need to rush so your server can get another table with new customers. They made us feel very welcome. First class service with grace, and interest is us as well. if you are considering a sports bar environment or a place filled with the ultimate experience of stimulating overload the The English Grill is not for you. Think quiet, slow paced, intentional dining where you can "enjoy" your dining experience with care and attention to your satisfaction in mind.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Quiet Dinner

Dined on January 26, 2016

I was in Louisville for a conference and was alone. I went to dinner at 6:00 PM and was the only person in the dining room. The servers and management were very attentive and professional. I had the Dover Sole which was excellent along with sides of brussel sprouts and mushroom risotto. Both were very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on January 15, 2016

The food and atmosphere was amazing. My wife is a celiac and they had tons of Gluten Free options for her.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great

Dined on January 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was even better. I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The English Grill is a great restaurant ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

The English Grill is a great restaurant but the lobster Thermidor was a dry tasteless disappointment

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I dined here on new years eve and we couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The service was excellent and the duck was the best I've ever had. We would definitely return if we are in the area again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The hot brown was amazing, but..

Dined on December 31, 2015

Went there for the first time to celebrate New Years. We had decided to split entrees since we are both new to the area and we were just enjoying the atmosphere and wanted to try things. Of course we had to have the hot brown. It was amazing. We also ordered the NY Strip. I could have went to the grocery spent a fifth of the cost and cooked it at home and it would have been better. The only thing positive I can say was that it was cooked to the right temperature and the presentation was nice. The steak had zero flavor. That is why they serve you sauce with it. It was a steak I would expect at McDonalds. I truly believe that a steak should have flavor and adding sauces and such is a negative for the chef. However even with the sauce it still wasn't great. We left half on the plate. The only reason we ate so much was because of the price we paid. Stick with the hot brown :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place, expected better attention to detail.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Food was excellent, service was not quite up to par or what expected. Water glasses empty with three servers going pass before I asked one to refill. Caesar Salad was excellent but table side presentation was very boring as if waiter had betters things to do.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always had a great experience at ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

We have always had a great experience at the English Grill. The food is prepared just right and the proportions very satisfying. The tables are not crowded together. And the waiter appears at the right moments. Can't be beat.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time!

Dined on December 20, 2015

I brought my husband in for his birthday dinner and it was fabulous! Jeremiah was the most amazing server. He treated him like a king! :) The food was tasty and I would definitely recommend The English Grill to others, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Just the righ ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

The service was excellent. Just the right amount of attention - no hovering, and no interrupting our conversation. The server's food recommendations were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food and Service and then the incorrect bill

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

We were entertaining our foodie friends from Chicago and had a great meal and service. We were presented a wine list and ordered two bottles or wine. When the bill came the charge for the wine was $30 more then what was on the wine list we ordered from. It seemed that they had just updated their list and we were given the old list. The manager would not change the bill. So we left with a feeling of being cheated. I later received an email apologizing and offered a free bottle of wine with our meal when we returned next. I'm afraid that will not be happening soon!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Place

Dined on December 11, 2015

We went here for my Birthday. We really enjoyed ourselves. The place was beautiful and the service was fine. We thought the food was delicious, however, we did order the dover sole fish and it was not hot when it arrived to our table. It was a minor disappointment. The other items on the plate were hot. I was so delighted with my birthday dessert the striptease. That was very cool and so delicious. After dinner we went out to the beautiful bar area and had a hot cocoa. It's such a lovely place with so much charm and history. We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.