Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a nice dinner to celebrate my wife's 5 year anniversary of her cancer diagnosis - she has been cancer free!
The Brown Hotel and The English Room made our trip and dinner very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The signature dish of the English Grill is suppose to be the Hot Brown. So, I ordered it. A terrible decision on my part. It was the worst Hot Brown I have ever had. It appeared to have been seating under a heat lamp for way too long. The toast was totally mush. The Mornay sauce was not even recognizable. In addition to being burned from sitting under a heat lamp, it was the consistency of poorly prepared instant oatmeal. The bacon was also over-cooked probably due to the heat lamp treatment. The service was as poor as the food despite only three other tables with customers. The whole experience was extremely disappointing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The restaurant was not busy. It took over 20 minutes to get our drinks after we ordered them. The waitress, Karen, was not attentive. Our food took forever! We ordered two sides of fries. She brought three. The fries were the more expensive kind. I guess there is a few dollar difference if they put seasoning on the fries! When she brought the bill, I told her about the extra order of fries, which we didn't even eat. She said that she would take it off our tab, but didn't. I was done and wanted to leave, so I paid the $10 for the fries. The food was delicious. We all had Hot Browns. The restaurant and hotel were beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went for our 25th anniversary celebration. They brought my meal out and completely forgot my husband's meal . The manager did come over but offered no solution except to prepare another meal for him. He didn't even offer an apology. It really was inexcusable. Our meal was excellent but the service was terrible especially for a $150.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was outstanding! Everyone was attentive and kind.Great date night atmosphere. The crab cakes were AMAZING! Definitely worth the visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I dined with two family members and it was our first time to The English Grill. The service was exceptional and the food and drink was great. I enjoyed the Kentucky Derby cocktail which was smooth and light. My son drank an Old Fashioned which was good to the last drop. Gluten free options are available. Highlights include the shrimp and grits appetizer and the pork chop entree. Although I could not help but order the traditional Hot Brown, I would suggest ordering a different entree if you do not typically eat heavy, rich meals. There was a pianist playing during our meal that enhanced the beautiful decor of this grand hotel. We hope to return and also stay in the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service was attentive without being overbearing. The food was delicious. We had filets that melted in your mouth. The room has a traditional feel about it. It was a very memorable
dinner

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I expected to really love this restaurant - but I did not. It is a beautiful space, but noisy. We had a 6:45 reservation on a Saturday, and expected to be able to hear music from the pianist in the lounge area outside the dining room, but though the player was performing enthusiastically when we arrived - soon after we were seated, we never heard him again. He was also not performing when we left at about 8:30pm. Service was poor - slow and inattentive, and at one point late in our meal, my companion and I realized that there was really no one in charge of the dining room. This was after a waiter's helper was replacing water and wine glasses on a round table next to us, and without exception, loudly clanged each glass together before placing them on the table. My guest had a Farmer's Salad and the salmon. The salmon, on a bed of risotto was the star of our meal - quite delicious and a good portion. His salad was mediocre. I had the soup of the day, an "Heirloom tomato and crab meat bisque." It too was quite good - though an extremely small portion. My main was the heralded specialty of the house The Hot Brown. It was dreadful, but in fairness, was not dissimilar to its description. In all of the customer reviews I have read of this restaurant, there was pleasure expressed at the amuse bouche and other added touches to the meal. We were given no amuse bouche, nor any special treats. It was an anniversary, which was noted in our reservation, and there was no note of that whatsoever. No offer of dessert or cocktail. That is not really an element in this review. We do not actually expect such, except that other reviewers point it out and even have photographs of the special touches they received. It was a special occasion meal that failed to deliver on any level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Kelly and Harold took great care of us. The table side Caesar salad was delicious and the hot browns were wonderful and historic. Everyone should go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place. Service could have been better, but the Hot Brown was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is "the place" to get the classic Hot Brown. The food itself was good but it took an hour to get to the table. It was not until after the meal we were given any kind of apology. When paying that much for a nice dinner, and it being a celebration, I had much higher expectations. I feel they should have offered soemthing for the hour long delay.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was good. Wine was good but expensive. I wish there had been more $80-100 bottles. Service was VERY slow. We were not in a hurry but dinner took 3.5 hours. That is way too long. Server kept forgetting to bring items we ordered.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I am here on business, my wife flew down for the weekend;
Googled downtown Louisville restaurants, English Grill came up.
We chose it, made a quick reservation and could not be happier with our choice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were looking forward to our stay. The staff were extremely nice and attentive.
The shrimp and grits had way too much butter and oil was floating. The prices were quite high for the meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated our honeymoon at the Brown Hotel and our dinner in the English Grille was the highlight of the experience! Our server, Kelly, was personable and very well-informed on both menu and wine selections and on local history! The meal was exceptionally well-prepared! We will return for a repeat of the evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Fabulous service, great food. Highly recommend visiting while in Louisville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We helped our friends celebrate their anniversary at the English Grill! They loved the entire experience, as did we. The food was delicious and everyone was so pleased that it was quiet, so we could have a good conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

As usual the food was superb. You can tell that there's time effort and thought put into the preparation and flavors which show in the way the food looks as well as how wonderful at Taste! A true classic dining room in one of the best hotels to be found anywhere. The wait staff are professional in every manner and make you feel like a king✌

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Taking middle school and high school age grandchildren to the English Grill for their birthdays is so much better than buying them a gift card, or clothes. The elegance of fine dining is best. The English Grill is my favorite venue to get that grandchild out, by themself, and let the restaurant staff take it from there! I do wish the piano player would play a longer rendition of Happy Birthday for my 20 bucks though. This visit's playing didn't last 15 seconds.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent and very informative wait-staff. We enjoyed the chef's complementary appetizer and the caesar's salad made at our table in particular, and we had our first Hot Brown. Wonderful reastraunt all around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was my second time at the English Grill inside of the Brown Hotel. Fabulous place, and I always look forward to the occasion. Don't be in a rush, relax and allow the staff to wait on your needs. The food was delicious and prompt. The server (Kim Ellen) was always nearby for any requests. We got a complimentary appetizer from the chef, appetizer, salad, and the Hot Brown Sandwich, followed by dessert. The food portions were large enough to share. Weeach had two cocktails from the bar, which I thought was pricy at $15 per cocktail, and my guest and I had two each. Our bar bill was $60, which was too high. I've include a picture of the salted caramel bread pudding, which was wonderful. The English Grill has a dress code policy, that apparently isn't enforced. My guest and I were dressed up, and I had on a sport coat, which wasn't required, but looked good. However, diners were allowed in wearing shorts, tee-shirts, flip-flops, and very casual wear. That clothing is not appropriate for the English Grill. My guest and I noticed, that the side of the English Grill on which we were seated, everyone on that side was all dressed up. Diners who were inappropriately dressed, were seated in the back, or all to one side, away from the main entrance. That dress code policy not being enforced, was the only troubling issue. Everything else was great and I look forward to returning. Maybe a dress code sign should be posted near the check -in hostess desk, prior to guests strolling into the English Grill wearing shorts and tee -shirts. Just a suggestion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a pleasure. My favorite Louisville restaurant. Great service and very hospitable management. The atmosphere is regal. Soft piano music and lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a great place to enjoy beautiful ambiance, excellent service and delicious food. Although, it would make a great special occasion evening , it is also perfect for a nice evening out. You can enjoy live piano music at the bar.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Dining at the English Grill was such a treat! Every aspect exceeded my expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very accommodating. Called ahead of time to see if they allowed toddlers. They definitely did. I requested ahead of time for a highchair for our 17 month old. They were more than happy to provide one. In fact, the highchair was already at our table when we arrived. Servers were very nice. Great experience! (And by the way, our little boy did wonderful!)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great experience in historic hotel. Ask for Rob....fantastic server and will spoil you with great service. The whole service team was great. What a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It's truly rare to find authentic fine dining these days, but everything about this restaurant is fine. The staff are polite and polished in their service, and never intrusive or inattentive. The food is delicious, and served in portions that allow diners to enjoy multiple courses. I highly recommend multiple courses! There is a classical, timeless look and feel to the dining room - it has warmth and dignity. It's also not filled with the clatter and noise common to modern restaurant dining rooms. This is a place to relax, and enjoy a couple of hours with friends or loved ones in an unhurried, elegant dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING, FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING, STAFF WAS VERY INFORMATIVE. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Celebrated our 40th anniversary here & it was the perfect choice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Dinner was outstanding. The original hot brown is eccellent. Wait staff was attentive and personable. Wonderful historic hotel and restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We drove from Cincinnati to Louisville to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and the English Grill was a great place for a wonderful meal lingering with our party of 6 - all the sons drove from Bloomington and Columbus Indiana to have dinner with their dad. It was the perfect venue!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had very high expectations and left disappointed. Hot Brown was good. Short ribs were tough and not much better than pot roast. Wine was overpriced and average. Tour group occupied the majority of the dining room making it noisy and not romantic at all. The best part was the appetizer and of course the courteous and professional staff.
We won't be back unfortunately.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had to share the amazing hot Brown with out of town guests. Service and drinks were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best Hot Browns in the world, after all they invented them. The back up service from Harold is always on target. We love English Grill for a pre theatre meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The English Grill provided myself and an out of town guest with a beautiful meal, steeped in history with an amazing staff who made the evening a memorable event. The amuse-bouche was outstanding, the shrimp and grits were without a doubt the best I have ever had. The farm fresh salad was dressed lightly letting the fresh beets, feta cheese and spinach shine. The steak was cooked to perfection and served with delicious roasted vegetables and the wine (suggested by our Waiter) paired flawlessly. Dessert of homemade ice cream and creme brulee was a rich indulgence - a meal I will not soon forget.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Beautiful dining room in a historic hotel. Service impeccable and good food. The Hot Brown not so hot, but I felt a need to try it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Evening started with an amuse-Bouche which did not set a good tone. Cold meatball on a cracker with French dressing. However, moving into the meal, I had an incredible app of shrimp and grits and a HUGE porkchop cooked to perfection, juicy and seasoned well. It was accompanied by delicious Brussels sprouts. No room for dessert. My loss.....,

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Impeccable service and fabulous meal! Wonderful for Anniversary or special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.