About The English Grill at Brown Hotel

335 W. Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

A Louisville landmark since 1923, with English Renaissance architecture and Southern grace. The English Grill is the Brown Hotel's AAA Four Diamond signature dining room serving American cuisine with seasonal and regional influences.



Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fourth Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm

Entertainment:
Pianist performing in the Lobby Bar on Thursday and Friday evenings.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when dining in The English Grill. There is a city-owned garage next to the hotel, however, we do not validate for self parking.

Public Transit:
We have the Downtown Louisville Trolley that loops every 15 minutes. There is TARC public busing system.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Bettis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The English Grill at Brown Hotel
  • Sazerac Cocktail - The English Grill at Brown Hotel
  • The Hot Brown - The English Grill at Brown Hotel
The English Grill at Brown Hotel
Sazerac Cocktail - The English Grill at Brown Hotel
The Hot Brown - The English Grill at Brown Hotel

Private Dining

The English Grill is Kentucky fine dining at its best. As much a part of Louisville's history as The Brown Hotel itself, the English Grill offers an incredible dining experience. For smaller, intimate parties, join us in our Private Dining room.

The English Grill at Brown Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Service
Central Kentucky
Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
10 More
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
American
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Historic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you for making our anniversary eve ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary evening so special. The service, our waiter and Harold were excellent. The Hot Brown was gorgeous and tasty. Our wonderful flaming dessert, free for the occasion was appreciated and delicious. Lovely evening and the music, piano player out in the bar area, came through because they opened the doors and the music was wonderful.

Thank You,

The Muenz-Winklers

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was beyond reproach. Our server, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was beyond reproach. Our server, Charlie, was well informed about the menu, and his recommendations were spot on. Food was excellent, cooked to perfection, with a beautiful presentation. We highly recommend the table-side Caesar salad.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant was sparsely occupied, which ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Restaurant was sparsely occupied, which is sad because the food was excellent, as was the service. The room is beautiful and worth the experience. Lots of energy in the lobby area adjacent and we could hear the piano player which added to the ambiance. Presentation and taste of food was superior. It won't be a cheap date, but it will be worth the price.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

...from the first step into the English ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

...from the first step into the English Grill you will realize you are in for wonderful experience, from the side table Caesar Salad, a little something special from the Chef to alert your palate to what is yet to come, your main course and then the out of this world desserts, presentation and taste are fabulous. They welcomes you, with" we're are so glad you are here and we are here to make your dining a memorable evening." not only the dining but the entire Brown Hotel family should be proud of their business, they make you feel as if you are staying at your home away from home!!!! We stayed in the beautiful Historic Hotel 2 night, escape and relax Luxury King package. and would not have done anything different, the stay was perfect!!!! This Missouri family would highly recommend the Historic Brown Hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a special friend visit me from Ral ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had a special friend visit me from Raleigh, North Carolina and he told me he had read and heard about the Brown Hotel. Myself, a native of Louisville but had never been to the Brown Hotel. We had a reservation on a Thursday night. It was a magical evening, perfect atmosphere and fabulous food!! A wonderful memory was made!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was flawless. E ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great.

Service was flawless.

Everyone on staff was friendly and engaging.

Table side preparation on salad and coffee was fun.

Ambiance was rich and classic without being dark and stuffy.

Great place for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is in the Brown Hotel, an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant is in the Brown Hotel, and old but very charming place. We were seated promptly and had a server at our table just moments later. The staff is very attentive and always checking back with you in the right amount of time. We each had an old fashioned which was excellent. I had the Hot Brown. I have had this dish before, but this was was the best. My wife has the Sea Bass. While very tasty, it was quite overpriced at $48. Overall a very quiet and relaxing dining experience, with great food, drink and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good. The waygu beef tartar was ex ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very good. The waygu beef tartar was excellent, as was the

tableside Caesar salad. Actually, the flavors were similar

in both preparations. My lamb was tasty, but a bit overdone.

My wife's Hot Brown was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perhaps in the marketing for the English ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Perhaps in the marketing for the English Grille they hyped it up too much by describing it as one of the finest restaurants in the US. I'd like to know how old that review is. The service was EXCELLENT, and the food was good, but none of the food was unbelievably good or worth going back for, which isn't a point in their favor with the expensive prices. Their wine list was extensive but they did not offer many options for wine by the glass. As I was the only one at the table wanting to drink wine, I went with a cocktail instead.

We had a reservation and there was hardly anyone in the restaurant but we were still seated at a table right next to the entrance of the restaurant where all the guests at the hotel would look in at us when they walked by and where we could hear the maitre d's phone ringing constantly. Speaking of the maitre d, he would stand in the entrance to the restaurant every few minutes, which was close to our table, and survey the dining room. Since we were some of the only people there and closest to the doorway, that often meant he awkwardly stared at us while we were trying to have a romantic date. He also came over at one point to say hello, which is appreciated and expected, but then kept the conversation going when we were obviously wanting to have some time just the two of us.

The music was very relaxing. Too relaxing. Between the dark stuffy room and the relaxing music I felt like I was going to fall asleep. We skipped dessert and a second round of drinks because I had to get out of there.

In conclusion. Food was fine. Waitstaff service was excellent. Atmosphere was very sedating. There are MANY other wonderful restaurants in Louisville to pick from. I recommend picking one of those. If you want to try the Hot Brown from the Brown Hotel, just get room service. We did that for lunch the next day and it was delightful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Outstanding in every way! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Excellent food, superior service, all-around wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way!! Do not miss t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding in every way!! Do not miss this dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Staff were wonderful. A ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food. Staff were wonderful. A great meal and a wonderful dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal here with wonderful ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great meal here with wonderful service by Lindsey and Harold. Harold has been there 21 years. He knew a lot of history about The Brown.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You have a dress code but don't enforce ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

You have a dress code but don't enforce it, and I think you should. Two couples were dining when we were there, some wearing shorts. They were unusually loud, and probably being permitted such casual dress signalled an ok for their loudness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the hot brown, which was good but ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had the hot brown, which was good but we wouldn't order it again since it's not our type of food. We were going to order their lobster but they had taken that off the menu. I give it high marks for the staff. This is an expensive place but the staff make you feel comfortable. I've noticed staff at expensive restaurants tend to be snooty and obnoxious but not here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful. Every dish we exp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Every dish we experienced was unique and out of this world. Will definitely return whenever in the area. We celebrated our Anniversary there, but it is a dining experience we would recommend for anytime you would want a combination of great food, service and stunningly decorated restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment that you walk in the doo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

From the moment that you walk in the door the atmosphere is amazing. We were extremely well taken care of, the food was amazing, and the new chef has created a fresh, vibrant menu is delicious. We definitely look forward to returning!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great cocktails! The food was good but t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great cocktails! The food was good but the Ceasar Salad was awful. Lovely surroundings in a beautiful hotel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Great atmosphere and even better food. A ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great atmosphere and even better food. An exceptional place for a date or even a small group of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The English Grill is a lovely restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The English Grill is a lovely restaurant in the Brown Hotel in Louisville. My husband and I both had the 8 oz fillets. I had mushroom risotto, he had carrots, we both had white asparagus. The fillets were among the best we've ever had. We both agreed that we enjoyed the asparagus nearly as much. It was cooked just perfectly.

You can hear the piano from the lobby bar during dinner. It was all very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was wonderful. Wil ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our dining experience was wonderful. Will definitely return when in Louisville. Our waiter was very personable. We loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From reservation to the end of the meal, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

From reservation to the end of the meal, a pure joy. This is what fine dining should be. At the English Grill they exceed your expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite spot in Louisville for fine ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My favorite spot in Louisville for fine dining. I like old elegant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great choice!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went so that we could have the original hot browns, and they naturally were the best ever! The service was impeccable. Harold took great care of us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was limited but for the most part t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Menu was limited but for the most part the food choices were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

How dining is done...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was one of the greatest dining experiences I, and my friends, have ever experienced. Thomas was gracious, knowledgeable, and accomodating. A magical evening for us all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

One of two best places to dine in Louisville, wonderful appetizers, entrées, and deserts. The service and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely atmosphere

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Beautiful dining room, great service, good food but not the best. I tried a good watermelon-mozzarella appetizer/tasting, their homemade bread was good, and the classic Hot Brown was good but the flavors weren't as strong as I was hoping. My colleague enjoyed their gin and tonic. I might come back sometime just for the beautiful, classy environment and cocktails.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was incredibly pleased with the Brown ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I was incredibly pleased with the Brown Hotel's dining experience in general. The atmosphere of the historic hotel was truly an experience rather than just a place to go eat! The staff at the English Grill were courteous, attentive, and actually seated us well before our reservations. As for the food, I would most definitely recommend the Hot Brown, a Kentucky dish that originated at the Brown Hotel. Though I do not drink, I noticed they had an extensive selection and the Lobby Bar was located just outside the English Grill for diners who wished to linger. Also, the desserts were excellent. Another great perk of dining at the Brown Hotel was the complimentary valet parking, which is a godsend in downtown Louisbille! Overall, this is a fabulous restaurant with an enlightening and educational ambiance and attentive staff. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a Hot Brown and it was wonderful. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I had a Hot Brown and it was wonderful. I liked having a choice of bread brought to the table. I had a nice salad and my dessert choice was sorbet. With conscientious wait staff, it was a great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice space, good service, great starter ...

vip
 (Dubai)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Nice space, good service, great starter and dessert, luke warm sides and a steak you'd need a power tool to cut.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great food and service!

 
 (Oxford)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Dined in Derby week. Busy of course but impeccable and friendly service. HAD to try the Hot Brown as a starter between us.... delicious! Beef sublime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

A Louisville destinaton stop for sure. So many excellent choices for entrees but I went with their signature plate, The Hot Brown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic dinner

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The menu has improved over the years and is very good. We enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere. The service was great. Our waiter Kerry was very knowledgable about wine. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated elegance but not intimidating.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a lovely evening in this beautiful restaurant. This restaurant is located in The Brown Hotel (which has a gorgeous lobby) and the dining room doesn't disappoint. I had a filet which was a bit pricey but delicious. My husband had the lamb chops although he said more fat on them than he's used to seeing. The sommelier was very attentive and helpful even though we were just have a couple of glasses of wine. They offer a variety of salads including Caesar prepared tableside and also side dishes. We had the brussel sprouts with pancetta which were very good. We would definitely go back to this restaurant when we are in town again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We were staying at the Brown and had read reviews that led us to believe the English Grill was better than what we experienced. Everything was fine, but uninspired with very few highlights. I had to make a wise crack for the maître'd to begin asking my wife how things were and not just me. The remaining service was friendly and fairly attentive, but it seemed as if fine dining was a new experiment, and they needed to explain many self-evident things. There is an impressive whiskey list, and the wine list had some notable values - beverage service was solid. The breads and one appetizer (a scallop-lamb bacon-quail egg riff on eggs Benedict) were excellent. The salmon, sides, and short ribs all seemed surprisingly industrial. The ravioli appetizer was bland and quite under-cooked. I'm sorry we didn't go someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent service. Had minimal time to eat prior to attending a downtown concert. Server did a super job making sure that we would have enough time to make it to our concert. We opted for the Hot Brown, the signature entree so we didn't have an opportunity to try any of their entrees. Food was excellent. Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Easter Sunday Dinner. For th ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent Easter Sunday Dinner. For the price, a few more options would have been nice, but overall, no complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The Hotel is grand. The restaurant is not even close.

The food order was incorrect. When notified, the staff simply took the plates, switched the vegetables (the sides) and returned the plates with cold entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I brought my parents here for dinner bef ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I brought my parents here for dinner before the Tony Bennett concert and we had a delicious meal. The service was wonderful, and the wine list was fantastic! Overall, great experience and highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.