About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Restaurant Photos

Crawfish Fritters On Bed Of Collards
Savory Pumpkin Cheesecake With Pumpkin Seed Crust
buffet
Pan Fried Trout With Mashed Potatoes
French Toast
Seasonal Fruit Salad
Amuse Bouche
Mesclun Greens With Vegetable Garniture
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Vegetarian Ravioli
Salmon
Calamari
Soft Shell Crab
Lobster Pot Pie
Maryland Crab Cakes
Filet Tips And Shrimp
Chocolate Martini
Cheese Plate
Linguini With Chicken And Marinara
Swordfish And Shrimp Alfredo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience The Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore / Maryland
8 More
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Elkridge ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (69)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Groups (19)
Scenic View (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's always good to visit the Elkridge F ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It's always good to visit the Elkridge Furnace Inn. Our friend had not been there before and she really enjoyed having lunch with us. The food was excellent. I have never had a bad meal in the many times I have visited over the years. Many of the items on our plate were grown in the garden on the premises. The atmosphere is wonderful but I was distressed to see new town homes being built on Furnace Branch Road. I fear they will ruin the lovely location of the restaurant. Fortunately it's located a little further down the road. I love the history of the building and can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is really a very nice place, which ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is really a very nice place, which I would highly recommend. It is not cheap, nor should it be for the high quality creative food that they serve. The real disappointment was the server; a young man who was, to tell the truth, very polite and attentive. However, he knew virtually nothing about how the dishes were prepared or what their ingredients were. He had to go back to talk to the chef three times to answer what should have been quite simple questions. Either no one bothered to make sure he was trained on this information, or he simply didn't pay attention or write anything down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Dinner was delicious they help us pick a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dinner was delicious they help us pick a great wine our waiter was outstanding and the food was awesome chef Dan and his wife Donna always make us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

At least my fifth time here at the Furna ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

At least my fifth time here at the Furnace Inn; however, this time, they earned five stars.

Everything was outstanding. From the greeting to the exit, it was as good as it gets.

The wine director, Ali, introduced us to a different wine than we were accustomed to.

Perfect. Service (Courtney) was stellar. Good job Furnace Inn!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome menu, chef was very personable

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

awesome menu, chef was very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I just love this restaurant for its ambi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I just love this restaurant for its ambience and service. My only suggestion when ordering food might be to ask the server's opinion. The menu is original, but not always in a good way. for instance, my sister ordered the braised rib eye steak. We were curious as to why a rib eye, which is typically tender and juicy, would need braising. Ultimately, she was underwhelmed. The meal tasted like Mom's post roast. It could have been any cut of beef, such as chuck. You could not tell it was rib eye. A broiled or pan seared rib eye would have suited my sister better.

I don't live in Maryland, so I am always craving crabs. I ordered the crab cakes, which came with a sauce containing mustard and herbs. The sauce overpowered what I imagine was a delicious crab cake. Some times it's good to just let a good food stand on its own. My other sister ordered jambalaya and the server excitedly said that was very popular. And my sister did, in fact, like it. So go with the servers' suggestions and you won't be sorry.

A really wonderful thing about this place is that fact that you don't have to shout to be heard. It is a rarity to find such a beautiful, refined atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here for dinner and enjoyed ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been here for dinner and enjoyed my meal very much so when a friend suggested meeting for lunch I said yes. The lunch menu is very limited and after looking things over the only choice that didn't have an ingredient I didn't like added to it was the crabcake platter (which we both ended up getting. We both agreed that it was pretty much tasteless as far as what you'd expect for a Maryland crabcake and didn't find the ground mustard sauce they placed it on the taste we wanted added to a crabcake. While we both agreed we'd return for dinner, $14.00 for a tasteless crabcake didn't add to our get together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

What a delightful evening! We were ther ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a delightful evening! We were there to celebrate my daughter's birthday as well as to check out the facility… Our daughter is getting married there in April!

Everyone at the Inn was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the options for wine were excellent. There was a member in our group who had specific food requirements and the menu was able to meet those needs. We were able to eat at a leisurely pace without the waitstaff hovering over us.

I would highly recommend the Elkridge Furnace Inn!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never dined at this establishment ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had never dined at this establishment and what a pleasure it was. Our server Brian was outstanding. He was very informative and kind. The food was delightful and flavorful. I would highly recommend this local gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The furnace Inn was outstanding. Food w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The furnace Inn was outstanding. Food was great and the service was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was just lovely it is a beaut ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was just lovely it is a beautiful location and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the reasons we like EFI is the un ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the reasons we like EFI is the unique twist they put on their menu items. The way the kitchen team can elevate any dish to make it special is why we continue to make this one of our "go-to" places.

As some examples, if a dish has charcuterie as an ingredient, they make it in house. They grow many of the vegetables used in the meal preparation. Other products are locally sourced. They do their own butchering. I could go on, but I'm sure you get the point.

And, when you add the location, the ambiance inside the restaurant, and the top-notch service, EFI is very special destination. They also have plenty of parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, wonderful service, and a b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing food, wonderful service, and a beautiful interior and exterior. Will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about the Inn is outstanding. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everything about the Inn is outstanding. The service was perfect. The food is wonderful and the ambience charming. The Inn should be on everyones must dine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good dinner for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very good dinner for our anniversary. A little cool until a few more tables in the upstairs room were occupied. Definitely shall return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my husband for an early birthday ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took my husband for an early birthday brunch. It took a while for a waiter to show up, but once he did, his service was great. The pineapple juice was a little warm, but the basket of pastries had the best croissant we've ever eaten. I ordered the cheese blintzes, potatoes dauphinoise gruyere, and steak & eggs. My husband ordered the french toast, potatoes dauphinoise gruyere, bacon, and quiche du jour (lobster and brie). His bacon was limp, so if you like crisp bacon, you may want to ask for it to be cooked crisp, but everything was delicious. They even gave him a complimentary small bottle of champagne for his birthday. We will definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife and I have been several times fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I have been several times for special occasions and wanted to introduce the restaurant to friends. Two of us ordered the Soft Shell Crabs and we were both very disappointed. The crabs were okay but should not have been smothered in a brown gravy sauce. All four of us agreed that the waiter was the most arrogant, unfriendly person ever and should have tried to not be so condescending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

A truly historic site dating back to 174 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A truly historic site dating back to 1744 just off the beaten path which is well kept up, has a very friendly staff and an elegant menu that changes with the seasons.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For us, an undiscovered historical prope ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

For us, an undiscovered historical property and restaurant. Very suitable for special occasions yet comfortable for regular dining. The staff excelled with friendliness and helpfulness; the food was quite good.

I am surprised that I did not hear of this place before. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our lunch and especially enjoye ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Enjoyed our lunch and especially enjoyed being shown around by the Owner/Chef and

his great knowledge of the History of the Inn and the area. In fact we reserved a date for the Sunday Brunch for a party of 12 to celebrate one couple's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Looking forward to a relaxing and happy time on Sunday the 31st of July.

Shirley Dearfield

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We often go to the Elkridge Furnace Inn ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We often go to the Elkridge Furnace Inn for special occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and changes every three months, the sauces are wonderfully savory and delicious, and the chef takes special care to prepare each dish to a very high standard. At the moment, the mixed grill is especially good, along with the prosciutto wrapped peach app. Be sure to take some time to wander the grounds and see some of the mansion (especially the bar).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was lovely. Great atmosphere, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Overall it was lovely. Great atmosphere, wonderful service and a sweet exec chef.

But I was very disappointed in my main dish, a salad. Supposedly it was a shrimp salad, with shrimp skewered on sugar cane.

It was: 2 pcs. Yes it was good, but how hard is a shrimp salad? Pretty greens set down, with pineapple and some other slices and NOT doused in dressing...all good. But 2 pcs of shrimp?

Sorry, nothing amazing. My husband enjoyed his dishes, but nothing so incredible we'd choose this for our next romantic venue.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Tucked away from the hotels and noise of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Tucked away from the hotels and noise of BWI but only a mile away was this gem. The inn is from 1744 and has a good history to it. The chef is creative yet presents in proper French form. The wine wine is good with some fairly reasonable mark up. $100 is going to cover much of the list. I had the three meats of duck breast pan braised along with a quail stuffed with a rabbit sausage. Perfectly cooked and served on potatoes parsnips with a balsamic Demi. I highly recommend the inn, the chef comes out and thanks his customers and is happy to discuss his origins in his training.

I honestly can't wait to return. His menu is seasonal and I look forward to seeing what the fall will bring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch experience in a His ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch experience in a Historic Inn. The setting is lovely. The food was presented nicely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful evening. Food was delicious an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful evening. Food was delicious and service welcoming. We will be back although we have been here several times and are always satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It has been a while since my last visit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It has been a while since my last visit to the Elkridge Furnace Inn. However, the experience was as delightful and satisfying as I remembered it. The ambiance was excellent, the service flawless and extremely attentive, and the food was indescribably delicious. Hats off to the Chef and the dining staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has an on site butcher, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This restaurant has an on site butcher, baker, and vegetable greenhouses. The food is all organic and fresh. Service was exemplary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We often have dinner at the Elkridge Fur ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We often have dinner at the Elkridge Furnace Inn when we have a special occasion, such as Mother's day, Father's day birthdays and anniversaries. The Inn never disappoints. Although it's not cheap it definitely is worth the extra expense, as the food is always fresh, expertly prepared and presented. It reminds me of good restaurants we visited when we were in France.

Even though we do not drink alcohol, we know about good wines and the Inn does a great job in pairing the meals with the appropriate wines.

Desserts are always grand and innovative and worth the splurge.

What makes the Inn even more outstanding quaint setting. Many weddings are held here, and even if you are not getting married you can still enjoy the lovely gardens near the river's edge.

The building itself has a storied history and one hopes that in this hectic time, when many people expect fast food and put up with substandard service a gem such as the Elkridge Furnace Inn survives these trends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been Elkridge Furnace fans for y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been Elkridge Furnace fans for years. Daniel Wecker is always most hospitable. You know a good restaurant when the owner/chef cares to check on your dining experience. We love it and will be back again very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic location on the river, restaur ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic location on the river, restaurant is family-owned and sources local organic produces. Desserts are wonderful, original and worth every cent. Menu varies often, and is also fantastic. Service is top of the line, one of the best I have seen. Definitely worth the trip and will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with great food. Drinks we ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service with great food. Drinks were the best

Salads, crab cakes and filet were perfect

Great experience. A definite new find for special occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Herbs and vegetables literally straight ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Herbs and vegetables literally straight from their gardens. Chef/owner gave us a personal tour of the grounds and gardens. Food is amazing, extensive wine list, lovely ambiance, great service. Prices a little expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience at EFI. Fresh ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a great experience at EFI. Fresh and local ingredients with good imagination shown on the menu. Not easy on the wallet, but a great place to celebrate a special occasion or dinner with someone special.

Would like to see them get rid of the antiquated dessert tray, but it also adds to the charm of this restaurant.

Plenty of parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A wonderful establishment filled with or ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A wonderful establishment filled with organic vegetables from Chef Dan's garden and green houses . One of my all time favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to visiting for so ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I was looking forward to visiting for some time and was excited based upon the reviews. Unfortunately my visit didn't go well at all! Our server was inattentive no bread, refills or offers to pack leftovers and we had to ask for our check. At the end of our meal we discovered why the dining experience very wasn't good when we spoke with management, unfortunately management didn't win me over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This is the 2nd time we have been there ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have been there to dine. The food is excellent and the service is exceptional. Ben has been our waiter both times we have been there and his knowledge of the food and his recommendations has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service exceptional. We' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was great, service exceptional. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, definitely expensive though. Service was impeccable, everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic people, menu and service. This ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fantastic people, menu and service. This is the nicest restaurant near the airport if you are looking for a quiet place to meet clients. Chef Dan grows his own organic vegetables year round if you also enjoy healthy choices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was great! We love the historic charm to the small rooms for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.