About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Restaurant Photos

Crawfish Fritters On Bed Of Collards
Pan Fried Trout With Mashed Potatoes
Calamari
Savory Pumpkin Cheesecake With Pumpkin Seed Crust
buffet
Seasonal Fruit Salad
French Toast
Amuse Bouche
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Salmon
Vegetarian Ravioli
Mesclun Greens With Vegetable Garniture
Soft Shell Crab
Lobster Pot Pie
Linguini With Chicken And Marinara
Filet Tips And Shrimp
Maryland Crab Cakes
Chocolate Martini
Cheese Plate
Swordfish And Shrimp Alfredo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience The Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
6 More
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Elkridge ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (67)
fit for foodies (54)
See All
notable wine list (34)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (18)
scenic view (15)
great for outdoor dining (4)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, wonderful service, and a b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, wonderful service, and a beautiful interior and exterior. Will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about the Inn is outstanding. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everything about the Inn is outstanding. The service was perfect. The food is wonderful and the ambience charming. The Inn should be on everyones must dine list

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good dinner for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very good dinner for our anniversary. A little cool until a few more tables in the upstairs room were occupied. Definitely shall return.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my husband for an early birthday ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took my husband for an early birthday brunch. It took a while for a waiter to show up, but once he did, his service was great. The pineapple juice was a little warm, but the basket of pastries had the best croissant we've ever eaten. I ordered the cheese blintzes, potatoes dauphinoise gruyere, and steak & eggs. My husband ordered the french toast, potatoes dauphinoise gruyere, bacon, and quiche du jour (lobster and brie). His bacon was limp, so if you like crisp bacon, you may want to ask for it to be cooked crisp, but everything was delicious. They even gave him a complimentary small bottle of champagne for his birthday. We will definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife and I have been several times fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I have been several times for special occasions and wanted to introduce the restaurant to friends. Two of us ordered the Soft Shell Crabs and we were both very disappointed. The crabs were okay but should not have been smothered in a brown gravy sauce. All four of us agreed that the waiter was the most arrogant, unfriendly person ever and should have tried to not be so condescending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

A truly historic site dating back to 174 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A truly historic site dating back to 1744 just off the beaten path which is well kept up, has a very friendly staff and an elegant menu that changes with the seasons.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For us, an undiscovered historical prope ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

For us, an undiscovered historical property and restaurant. Very suitable for special occasions yet comfortable for regular dining. The staff excelled with friendliness and helpfulness; the food was quite good.

I am surprised that I did not hear of this place before. We will be back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our lunch and especially enjoye ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Enjoyed our lunch and especially enjoyed being shown around by the Owner/Chef and

his great knowledge of the History of the Inn and the area. In fact we reserved a date for the Sunday Brunch for a party of 12 to celebrate one couple's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Looking forward to a relaxing and happy time on Sunday the 31st of July.

Shirley Dearfield

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We often go to the Elkridge Furnace Inn ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We often go to the Elkridge Furnace Inn for special occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and changes every three months, the sauces are wonderfully savory and delicious, and the chef takes special care to prepare each dish to a very high standard. At the moment, the mixed grill is especially good, along with the prosciutto wrapped peach app. Be sure to take some time to wander the grounds and see some of the mansion (especially the bar).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was lovely. Great atmosphere, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Overall it was lovely. Great atmosphere, wonderful service and a sweet exec chef.

But I was very disappointed in my main dish, a salad. Supposedly it was a shrimp salad, with shrimp skewered on sugar cane.

It was: 2 pcs. Yes it was good, but how hard is a shrimp salad? Pretty greens set down, with pineapple and some other slices and NOT doused in dressing...all good. But 2 pcs of shrimp?

Sorry, nothing amazing. My husband enjoyed his dishes, but nothing so incredible we'd choose this for our next romantic venue.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Tucked away from the hotels and noise of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Tucked away from the hotels and noise of BWI but only a mile away was this gem. The inn is from 1744 and has a good history to it. The chef is creative yet presents in proper French form. The wine wine is good with some fairly reasonable mark up. $100 is going to cover much of the list. I had the three meats of duck breast pan braised along with a quail stuffed with a rabbit sausage. Perfectly cooked and served on potatoes parsnips with a balsamic Demi. I highly recommend the inn, the chef comes out and thanks his customers and is happy to discuss his origins in his training.

I honestly can't wait to return. His menu is seasonal and I look forward to seeing what the fall will bring.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch experience in a His ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch experience in a Historic Inn. The setting is lovely. The food was presented nicely.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful evening. Food was delicious an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful evening. Food was delicious and service welcoming. We will be back although we have been here several times and are always satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It has been a while since my last visit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It has been a while since my last visit to the Elkridge Furnace Inn. However, the experience was as delightful and satisfying as I remembered it. The ambiance was excellent, the service flawless and extremely attentive, and the food was indescribably delicious. Hats off to the Chef and the dining staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has an on site butcher, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This restaurant has an on site butcher, baker, and vegetable greenhouses. The food is all organic and fresh. Service was exemplary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We often have dinner at the Elkridge Fur ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We often have dinner at the Elkridge Furnace Inn when we have a special occasion, such as Mother's day, Father's day birthdays and anniversaries. The Inn never disappoints. Although it's not cheap it definitely is worth the extra expense, as the food is always fresh, expertly prepared and presented. It reminds me of good restaurants we visited when we were in France.

Even though we do not drink alcohol, we know about good wines and the Inn does a great job in pairing the meals with the appropriate wines.

Desserts are always grand and innovative and worth the splurge.

What makes the Inn even more outstanding quaint setting. Many weddings are held here, and even if you are not getting married you can still enjoy the lovely gardens near the river's edge.

The building itself has a storied history and one hopes that in this hectic time, when many people expect fast food and put up with substandard service a gem such as the Elkridge Furnace Inn survives these trends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been Elkridge Furnace fans for y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been Elkridge Furnace fans for years. Daniel Wecker is always most hospitable. You know a good restaurant when the owner/chef cares to check on your dining experience. We love it and will be back again very soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic location on the river, restaur ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic location on the river, restaurant is family-owned and sources local organic produces. Desserts are wonderful, original and worth every cent. Menu varies often, and is also fantastic. Service is top of the line, one of the best I have seen. Definitely worth the trip and will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with great food. Drinks we ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service with great food. Drinks were the best

Salads, crab cakes and filet were perfect

Great experience. A definite new find for special occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Herbs and vegetables literally straight ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Herbs and vegetables literally straight from their gardens. Chef/owner gave us a personal tour of the grounds and gardens. Food is amazing, extensive wine list, lovely ambiance, great service. Prices a little expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience at EFI. Fresh ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a great experience at EFI. Fresh and local ingredients with good imagination shown on the menu. Not easy on the wallet, but a great place to celebrate a special occasion or dinner with someone special.

Would like to see them get rid of the antiquated dessert tray, but it also adds to the charm of this restaurant.

Plenty of parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A wonderful establishment filled with or ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A wonderful establishment filled with organic vegetables from Chef Dan's garden and green houses . One of my all time favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to visiting for so ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I was looking forward to visiting for some time and was excited based upon the reviews. Unfortunately my visit didn't go well at all! Our server was inattentive no bread, refills or offers to pack leftovers and we had to ask for our check. At the end of our meal we discovered why the dining experience very wasn't good when we spoke with management, unfortunately management didn't win me over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This is the 2nd time we have been there ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have been there to dine. The food is excellent and the service is exceptional. Ben has been our waiter both times we have been there and his knowledge of the food and his recommendations has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service exceptional. We' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was great, service exceptional. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, definitely expensive though. Service was impeccable, everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic people, menu and service. This ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fantastic people, menu and service. This is the nicest restaurant near the airport if you are looking for a quiet place to meet clients. Chef Dan grows his own organic vegetables year round if you also enjoy healthy choices!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was great! We love the historic charm to the small rooms for dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Our waiter Ben was excellent

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved it! Our waiter Ben was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The French toast appetizer was amazing

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The French toast appetizer was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Never fails to wow us.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We love this restaurant for special occasions . The food is consistently wonderful. The staff very helpful & friendly. We eat here for our wedding anniversary whenever we aren't traveling. The chef prepares delightful & varying cuisine all the time. Birthdays with small groups are fun here too. They have beautiful Afternoon teas & great brunch. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it and go as often as we can!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Perfect for a lovely walk through the front garden to the restaurant, welcoming atmosphere, service, cocktails, and food preparation and presentation! My favorite is usually the fish of the day because all their fish is prepared just right. This time I tried a new pork item and it was perfect, too. We will continue to go as often as we can.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was magnificent! ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The overall experience was magnificent! Everything from the appetizer, to the entrees, to the desserts were wonderful. My wife's Delmonico steak was slightly overdone but very delicious. The Lamb chops were perfect, arguably the best I've had in years. I made prior arrangements for our Anniversary celebration, and the establishment stepped up to provide us little touches that were clearly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food is spectacular. Everyo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service and food is spectacular. Everyone we encountered wanted to make a visit great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very romantic and historic atmosphere. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

A very romantic and historic atmosphere. (The inn was built in 1744.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Elkridge Furnace Inn is excellent for sp ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Elkridge Furnace Inn is excellent for special occasions or any occasion. The wine selection is impressive. The chef recommendations excellent, but you can't go wrong with any entree. The service was outstanding. So many good choices from the dessert tray, all made in house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for a quiet Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Had a business lunch recently, Service was attentive, food was great except the Duck Salad that was missing the duck, all in all a great spot for a business or private lunch

Some Real Character and would be great for a range of occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mother's Day Brunch Ok, Not Great

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch wasn't not as good as I thought it would be considering reviews of this restaurant. The french toast and asparagus with mustard sauce were excellent. Everything else was just ok or worse. Didn't even try the dried up looking scrambled eggs. The carved roast beef was gristly. Danish were stale. Our server was very nice but very slow. I thought it was really expensive at around $45/person- up from their normal posted brunch price of $28. We weren't seated in the beautiful, old historical restaurant, but ate in a big, crowded tent with extremely loud, kind of funny muzak playing so you couldn't hear conversations. (Ex. Muzak version of Michael Jackson's "Billie Jean")

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Attended a 10 AM seating for Mother's Da ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Attended a 10 AM seating for Mother's Day brunch. Although we were seated and told we could proceed to the buffet, when we did, the food was not ready. We went back and sat down and waited 10minutes. When we went back, the food was out but their were no serving spoons and forks to get the food. Most of the staff were young high school age kids. Nice but not professional. The food was okay but I thought the inn looked shabby. Area rugs were faded and worn. Also needed a good cleaning. We were seated in a tented area with lots of spider webs over our heads. I would not recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Early Mother's Day celebration. We don' ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Early Mother's Day celebration. We don't go out to dinner often, but when we do we have a couple of favorite places and EFI is one of them. Always outstanding food and attentive service. Two of the special spring seasonal offerings--the Jaegerschnitzel and Veal Oscar--were wonderful and the paired wine suggestions were a great fit. Worth the trip.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.