About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience The Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
6 More
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Elkridge ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (76)
fit for foodies (59)
See All
notable wine list (31)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for lunch (21)
great for brunch (20)
good for groups (19)
scenic view (11)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and the service was great! We love the historic charm to the small rooms for dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Our waiter Ben was excellent

Dined 4 days ago

Loved it! Our waiter Ben was excellent

food4
ambience5
service5

The French toast appetizer was amazing

Dined 4 days ago

The French toast appetizer was amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to wow us.

Dined 5 days ago

We love this restaurant for special occasions . The food is consistently wonderful. The staff very helpful & friendly. We eat here for our wedding anniversary whenever we aren't traveling. The chef prepares delightful & varying cuisine all the time. Birthdays with small groups are fun here too. They have beautiful Afternoon teas & great brunch. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it and go as often as we can!

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Perfect for a lovely walk through the front garden to the restaurant, welcoming atmosphere, service, cocktails, and food preparation and presentation! My favorite is usually the fish of the day because all their fish is prepared just right. This time I tried a new pork item and it was perfect, too. We will continue to go as often as we can.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was magnificent! ...

Dined 6 days ago

The overall experience was magnificent! Everything from the appetizer, to the entrees, to the desserts were wonderful. My wife's Delmonico steak was slightly overdone but very delicious. The Lamb chops were perfect, arguably the best I've had in years. I made prior arrangements for our Anniversary celebration, and the establishment stepped up to provide us little touches that were clearly appreciated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food is spectacular. Everyo ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Service and food is spectacular. Everyone we encountered wanted to make a visit great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

A very romantic and historic atmosphere. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

A very romantic and historic atmosphere. (The inn was built in 1744.)

food5
ambience5
service5

Elkridge Furnace Inn is excellent for sp ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Elkridge Furnace Inn is excellent for special occasions or any occasion. The wine selection is impressive. The chef recommendations excellent, but you can't go wrong with any entree. The service was outstanding. So many good choices from the dessert tray, all made in house.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Spot for a quiet Lunch

Dined on May 10, 2016

Had a business lunch recently, Service was attentive, food was great except the Duck Salad that was missing the duck, all in all a great spot for a business or private lunch Some Real Character and would be great for a range of occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Mother's Day Brunch Ok, Not Great

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch wasn't not as good as I thought it would be considering reviews of this restaurant. The french toast and asparagus with mustard sauce were excellent. Everything else was just ok or worse. Didn't even try the dried up looking scrambled eggs. The carved roast beef was gristly. Danish were stale. Our server was very nice but very slow. I thought it was really expensive at around $45/person- up from their normal posted brunch price of $28. We weren't seated in the beautiful, old historical restaurant, but ate in a big, crowded tent with extremely loud, kind of funny muzak playing so you couldn't hear conversations. (Ex. Muzak version of Michael Jackson's "Billie Jean")

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Attended a 10 AM seating for Mother's Da ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Attended a 10 AM seating for Mother's Day brunch. Although we were seated and told we could proceed to the buffet, when we did, the food was not ready. We went back and sat down and waited 10minutes. When we went back, the food was out but their were no serving spoons and forks to get the food. Most of the staff were young high school age kids. Nice but not professional. The food was okay but I thought the inn looked shabby. Area rugs were faded and worn. Also needed a good cleaning. We were seated in a tented area with lots of spider webs over our heads. I would not recommend this restaurant to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Early Mother's Day celebration. We don' ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Early Mother's Day celebration. We don't go out to dinner often, but when we do we have a couple of favorite places and EFI is one of them. Always outstanding food and attentive service. Two of the special spring seasonal offerings--the Jaegerschnitzel and Veal Oscar--were wonderful and the paired wine suggestions were a great fit. Worth the trip.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining

Dined on May 6, 2016

From out of state so we don't get here often enough but we love it when we do. Food, service, ambience is top notch. Look forward to our next trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting for fine food!

Dined on May 3, 2016

We went on my husband's birthday. We had liked certain items that appeared on their web site menu. It is not our first time, but it had been a while since we'd been here. The staff is friendly, knows the menu, and graciously answered our questions. Food came exactly as requested. We'll certainly come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elkridge Furnace Inn -

Dined on May 1, 2016

Elkridge Furnace Inn is one of our favorite restaurants. It has wonderful ambiance, superb food, and personable professional staff. Our server, Morgan, remembered serving us previously. The Inn, bordering the Patapsco River, is where we would have loved to hold our daughter;s wedding, had she not moved to Florida.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants in M ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Maryland . The ingredients are always the freshest, finest home grown, butchered and prepared organic products. The presentation is creative. The service is friendly and flawless. All this set in a 1744 house.

food3
ambience5
service2
value4

EFI is our favorite restaurant, and we h ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

EFI is our favorite restaurant, and we have greatly enjoyed dining there many times. We would like to consider this time an anamoly. There was a large wedding taking place outside, so we hope that was partly the reason for our experience. The food has always been outstanding, but this time it was a real let-down. While the jaegerschnitzle was very good, the spatzel was so overdone it was difficult to chew. The veal roulade was great, but the crab stuffing was watery and inedible. The wine was delivered cold, but was left sitting on the table, and not put on ice. It quickly got warm. For the first time in our experience, the service was less than impressive. We'll be back to try again, since it has been so good for so long. Hopefully our next visit will be back to standards.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Elkridge Furnace Inn last year and returned this year for our 1-year anniversary celebration. Our celebratory dinner was just as perfect as our wedding day. We were greeted warmly by Michael, the host, who remembered us having our wedding there. Chef Wecker also said hello and welcomed us back to his restaurant. I started with the expertly-crafted French onion soup and my husband had the backyard springtime salad, which had marinated goat cheese to accompany the garden-fresh greens. We both ordered steak - I had the Delmonico and my husband had the New York strip. As with every time we have dined here, the steaks were seasoned to perfection and cooked perfectly. We finished our amazing dinner with coffee and one of the most creative desserts we have ever experienced - Whiskey chocolate cake and bacon ice cream. An experience of flavor is the best way I can describe this dessert. The bacon ice cream was smokey, sweet, salty, and creamy all at once with pieces of their house-smoked bacon in the ice cream. The Whiskey chocolate cake appeared heavy like a brownie, but was as light as chocolate mousse. It was a euphoric dessert and perfect ending to a perfect dinner. We look forward to returning again before our next anniversary!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience from beginning to end.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great experience from beginning to end.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a perfect Saturday meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

Simply stated. A fantastic dining experience. Put ourselves on their email list as we will be going back soon.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Outstanding

Dined on April 20, 2016

I discovered this restaurant a while ago and have been here several times since. I love that they grow their own vegetables and change the menu with the seasons. Service is excellent and the food is wonderful! They have a great wine list as well. Everyone is so nice and very accommodating, even when you don't have reservations. This is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and ambiance is first rate. Nice up ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food and ambiance is first rate. Nice upscale dining experience tucked away in the woods. Five minutes from BWI.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

hit or miss dish

Dined on April 15, 2016

Everything as far as ambiance and service were wonderful. We were greeted immediately upon our arrival. All the staff were very professional and obliging. The dining area and restrooms were well decorated and clean. They only had two available restrooms as there was a wedding taking place when we dined. We had to wait to use those facilities. There were two in my party. We both ordered appetizers one was fabulous (cream of crab soup) the other was lack luster (calamari and cauliflower). Only the protein portions of our entrees were tasty. We ordered the pork loin with cabbage and the crab stuffed veal. The meats in both orders were melt in your mouth tender. I would love for them to work on the flavor profile of their vegetables and sides. Technically they were cooked properly they just lacked creativity and elevation. At fine dining prices I would expect a higher level of consistency in the dishes. For these reasons I could not give them all 5 stars. They are however some place I would give a second chance if prompted.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality in a historic setting

Dined on April 12, 2016

Pleasantly suprised to find a hidden gem with fantastical food and flavors worth the experience. Prices are higher but not outrageous, and expected or on par with the high quality and creativity sold. Atmosphere was freindly but your privacy wasn't compromised. Not an everyday dinner, but if looking for a wonderful dinning experience this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elkridge Furnace Inn

Dined on April 10, 2016

Fine dining, great menu, great wine list, and superb service. Ended up eating really slow so I could savor every last bite. Great menu for celiacs too (gluten-free), which I am. Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food. Great location in the h ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful food. Great location in the historic property. Service was very attentive and professional. Great wine list as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW - Great Dining at The Elkridge Furnace Inn!

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I went to The Elkridge Furnace Inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. The Inn is an historic property and an elegant, romantic setting, and special occasion restaurant for any level of formality - coat & tie, black tie, or if you have it white tie. We shared a room with a fireplace with two other couples celebrating their anniversaries: one 5 yrs and one 46 years. The service was impeccable, great selection of offerings on the chef's Spring 2016 menu - many choices for all courses and tough choices because they all sounded so good. Everything was prepared from scratch, fresh, and served to perfection. Dessert and special after dinner beverages were exceptional, too. Overall, I would recommend The Elkridge Furnace Inn to anyone. The cost is expensive, but good value and well worth the experience for first class dining. Compliments to the Chef and our server Hilary and his helper Sam. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Staff forgot this was her Birthday dinner although I had confirmed with the staff 3 days prior.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

The food is overpriced and not "all that ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The food is overpriced and not "all that" particularly given the hype - i.e. they grow all their own veggies, butcher their own meat etc. much better and fresher and tastier (and more realistically and reasonably priced) fare at other nearby hot spots for gourmands such as Iron Bridge and Rumor Mill for example. All three starters, mains and desserts were "meh". In addition we were repeatedly given info about future events discounts etc. very annoying. Great location lovely historical house, but not for children and not particularly good for private conversations. Wine choices were good and ok on price - on par with other places. Going back again for work and will try something else - hopefully it will be better than this visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great!

Dined on March 31, 2016

It is always a treat and a fine dining experience at the Elkridge Furnace Inn. Menu selection is diverse and unique. Martinis are exceptional! Staff is so professional and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Extensive wine selection. Fabulous duck ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Extensive wine selection. Fabulous duck and veal scallopini entrees. A wonderful experience- fine dining as it should be.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on March 16, 2016

Lovely setting, attentive service, nice chat with the owner and delicious food. Perfect spot for a special birthday treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

Dined on March 12, 2016

This is a one-of-a-kind place. Loved the experience, definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Anniversary Meal

Dined on March 6, 2016

We choose this restaurant for our 45th wedding anniversary brunch. It was wonderful! The service was impeccable, and the food was delicious. The meal was well paced. They knew it was our anniversary; our desserts were served on a platter with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate. What a treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, great service " A MUST VISIT"

Dined on March 5, 2016

The Elkridge Inn was excellent. The appetizers throughout the main course were great, with unique ingredients and wonderful flavors. The ambiance was quiet elegance in a historic location. From the host to the wait staff, the personnel were mature, well trained and always there to help. Our waiter was great he was thoughtful and timed the delivery of all parts of the meal to perfection. He made pleasant conversation and explained all aspects of the menu. This restaurant should be a must for everyone who wants great unique food, good service away from the issues in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In a world full of chain restaurants....

Dined on February 27, 2016

I know that we live in a world that appreciates predictable, fast and the best bang for your buck, but if you want a refined evening in a beautiful location with a seasonally appropriate menu then the Elkridge Furnace Inn is your place. I went to celebrate the end of a project with my husband and my daughter, we all loved it. It's a wonderful place to share a memorable meal... I had the crab cakes and they were divine. Everything was wonderful from the beginning to the end... thank you

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Its very cozy, historic and good food an ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Its very cozy, historic and good food and service. Had one of the managers take his time and tell me about the place and its history over the years. Was a fun time and my brother loved the food and place too. It was also nice next to the fire when it was cold and wet outside. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience, as always

Dined on February 19, 2016

This is our go-to place with friends when we want a wonderful experience and leisurely dinner. We are never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently one of the best...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We had another memorable experience at EFI. We asked for a table in front of one of their fireplaces and our request was honored. We started with the escargot appetizer for me, and my wife had the soup of the day which was potato, leek, and celery root. The preparation on the escargot was not your usual garlic and butter, but the dish was served with bleu cheese ravioli and a brown butter walnut sauce. The escargot were on top of the ravioli. All the components were very good and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The soup was hot, very creamy and tasted great. For our entrees, my wife had the oxtail dumpling stew and I had the Irish cheddar stuffed pork scallopini. Again, both dishes were a success. Everything worked well together. We also enjoyed selections from the dessert tray. All of EFI desserts are made in house and we have never made a bad choice. Our server Morgan took very good care of us. Some of the things that separate EFI from other restaurants is their attention to detail in their preparation. They butcher a lot of their own meat and/or source it locally. Their sausage and other elements are all made in house. They grow their own vegetables for their salads. All of these things are what elevate EFI above so many other restaurants. They also have a huge parking lot which removes another concern about going there. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.