About The Elkridge Furnace Inn

5745 Furnace Avenue
Elkridge, MD 21075
View Larger Map

For parties of five and over please call for reservations.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn holds a unique niche in Maryland history. Nestled on the Patapsco River, the Inn was first established as a tavern in 1744. Today, The Elkridge Furnace Inn houses an elegant restaurant with an intimate setting with working fire places in almost every room, lit from fall to early spring. Private parties welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 379-9336

Website:
http://www.elkridgefurnaceinn.com/

Catering:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn is delighted to deliver its fine quality food and exceptional service to the location that suites you best, home, office, or other rental site. We believe that any planned event should reflect the personality of the planner or host company. To this end we are delighted to custom design a menu focused around your corporate or personal taste or theme.

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot, please use caution. Located to the left of the facility.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Wecker

Private Party Facilities:
Escape the typical meeting hotel ballroom or restaurant backroom and experience The Elkridge Furnace Inn where you'll find a unique and elegant setting for your upcoming celebration. Meals will be served in a private dining room, prepared by our award winning chef and his culinary team.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Balan: 4103799336

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Elkridge Furnace Inn hosts a number of special events from afternoon teas, to cooking classes for children and adults, to wine tastings, murder mysteries, and special entertainment dinners. Please visit our web-site for an updated calendar of events.

Restaurant Photos

The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Crawfish Fritters On Bed Of Collards - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Savory Pumpkin Cheesecake With Pumpkin Seed Crust - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
buffet - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Pan Fried Trout With Mashed Potatoes - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
French Toast - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Seasonal Fruit Salad - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Amuse Bouche - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Mesclun Greens With Vegetable Garniture - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Pumpkin Cheesecake - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Vegetarian Ravioli - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Salmon - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Calamari - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Soft Shell Crab - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Lobster Pot Pie - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Maryland Crab Cakes - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Filet Tips And Shrimp - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Chocolate Martini - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Cheese Plate - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Linguini With Chicken And Marinara - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD
Swordfish And Shrimp Alfredo - The Elkridge Furnace Inn, Elkridge, MD

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Elkridge Furnace Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore / Maryland
7 More
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Romantic
Baltimore Suburbs
Special Occasion
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Elkridge ›

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (38)
Historic (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fireplace (16)
Scenic View (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (6)
Organic (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

EXCELLENT ! Our party of four each had ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

EXCELLENT ! Our party of four each had something different for a Sunday brunch ~ we all agreed ~ it was outstanding. It may become our new favorite place.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to have a great meal and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful place to have a great meal and a bottle of wine to match.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The crab-cakes were the best I've ever t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The crab-cakes were the best I've ever tasted! Chef made a vegan gnocchi for my son-in-law that he couldn't stop talking about all weekend! The pumpkin fritter salad, sadly, was somewhat lackluster but given the rest of the meal, still a 5-star overall. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were greeted very warmly and made to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were greeted very warmly and made to feel welcomed. Our table was ready at reservation time. Service slowed a bit after that but was still friendly. I expected more formal service of presenting of plates and removing used ones. It wasn't done with proper etiquette . Everything was served warm, I like my soup especially to be piping hot. There are challenges of working in a historic building and transporting dishes upstairs so I can understand. And it seemed to be a full house for dinner that Thanksgiving. Everything was tasty, fresh and prepared correctly, a very enjoyable meal. The genuinely caring staff was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely Thanksgiving Dinner at t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely Thanksgiving Dinner at the Inn. The food was good and our waiter was very knowledgeable, informative and attentive. We love going to the Inn for special occasions. I wish they were open for Christmas dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a reservation based off our famil ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Booked a reservation based off our family and friends recommendations and we were very happy with our experience! Celebrated an anniversary and just by a slight mention of the occasion, we were showered with complimentary champagne and a decorated dessert dish. The service was amazing, the food was delicious and the place was extremely romantic; a wonderful place to visit overall.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Organic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only locql place we've found that kn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The only locql place we've found that knows what "rare steak" means. Tasty and unusual veggies; delicious desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My Wife and I had our 1st Anniversary Di ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My Wife and I had our 1st Anniversary Dinner. We had our reception here a year ago. We have never been disappointed in the food or atmosphere. Chef rotates his menu completely for each season so there is always something new to try. Exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining at a wonderful historic prop ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Fine dining at a wonderful historic property. I felt totally at ease with plenty of personal attention from the professional staff. The main attraction was of course the exquisitely prepared offering. I had the Shrimp Curry Soup, The Pork Paupiette, and The S'mores Cheesecake. This was certainly a winning trio. Everything was simply delicious and beautifully presented. I look forward to trying a different combination!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Inn is a throwback when people treat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Inn is a throwback when people treated a dinner out as an occasion in and of itself and a destination, not just a place to grab some food. Elegance personified. In some cases, Diners actually dress for dinner. What a concept!! It is not inexpensive but well worth the price and well worth the drive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the Elkridge Furnace Inn is pricey ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

While the Elkridge Furnace Inn is pricey, the overall experience there is worth the money, especially for a special occasion. They also have very interesting special dinner events and everyone I've gone to (many) has been enjoyable. The only problem at all with this visit was that there was a wedding going on and the tent was just below our window. The initial hard rock music was very disturbing. Was relieved when they switched to jazz.

And I have been to weddings there too and it a wonderful, very special venue for such events. The restaurant has particular appeal for those who love to dine in historic surroundings, which my husband and I do.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Dan and staff provide great service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Chef Dan and staff provide great serviced and food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elkridge Furnace is one of our favorite ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Elkridge Furnace is one of our favorite restaurants. The staff is wonderful from the moment you walk in the door, until they open it for you to leave, you feel pampered. Dinners are amazing, as is Sunday brunch! Daniel (the chef) wants to encourage diners to drink wine with their meal, so his wine prices are excellent, as is the selection. We have never gone wrong with their suggestions. It's location is a little off the beaten track, but it really gives you the feel of the colonial tavern and subsequent residence of the Ellicott Family, nestled on the banks of the Patapsco River.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary and it was p ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for our anniversary and it was perfect. We were never rushed, very attentive staff, and we truly enjoyed ourselves which is hard to come by!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great dining experience. Our ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was a great dining experience. Our waiter, Hilary, was knowledgable with a good sense of humor. We never felt rushed, and spent nearly 2 hours enjoying each course. Will definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the old time atmosphere of this hi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Loved the old time atmosphere of this historic brick building. A wedding reception was in progress, which added to the richness of a quiet evening. The food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our favorite restaurant!! We lov ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant!! We love the fresh farm to table ingredients prepared in interesting ways. The quarterly changing menu insures there is always something new to enjoy. Great wine selection. Over the top dessert tray. Chef Dan and his crew are the best!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants! The food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! The food is delicious, seasonal and locally based.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for an elegant meal. We ce ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Perfect place for an elegant meal. We celebrate our wedding anniversary every year at this restaurant and still no regrets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly host and waitress, food was int ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Friendly host and waitress, food was interesting and delicious. Room was full but we felt separated.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my fourth visit and each time th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This is my fourth visit and each time the experience gets more and more exquisite. The new fall menu is an amazing blend of flavors and local ingredients. The service continues to be just right. Save room for dessert! And take the time to walk the grounds. An evening that will not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True to form perhaps; it's a balancing a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

True to form perhaps; it's a balancing act, preserving authenticity and accommodating demand. This is a tremendous and largely successful effort in all respects and correctly satisfying.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Located in a historical building that da ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Located in a historical building that dates back to 18th century, was a perfect setting to relax and enjoy a fine meal for me and my colleagues. It deserves it's Zagat award, and is one of the best meals I every ate. The veal filet was cooked to perfection and very tasty. My colleagues also enjoyed their lamb chops and brisket. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, creative, locally-sourced dis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Delicious, creative, locally-sourced dishes, including an entire gluten-free menu! We enjoyed learning about the historic building, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food using locally sourced ing ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent food using locally sourced ingredients and truly outstanding service!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful time and loved the his ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I had a wonderful time and loved the historic feel. Our server was the older gentleman and was very attentive. I had reservations after reading other reviews but will return again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I like going to the Furnace Inn I like t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I like going to the Furnace Inn I like the friendliness of the staff and I really like the food. This time around I was a bit disappointed our waiter was not very friendly. The other one came by and said hello and was friendly the older gentleman. I like the chef came by and greeted us. The food was not as good I got the lamb scaloppini dish and the it was not great. I'm sad, but I will return anyway.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first trip and we will defini ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was our first trip and we will definitely be back! Wonderful food and service - the perfect place for date night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our go to places for spec ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is one of our go to places for special occasions or with special friends. The food is always top notch. There is an extensive wine list, although we like Kir Royal, made correctly with cassis, as our toasting medium. We were there for the end of the current menu before the change over to the winter menu. Almost all of the vegetables are grown for the restaurant and the owner/chef has been there every time we have had dinner there. Service has alway been impeccable and this visit was no different. I had the Jambalaya, not really New Orleans since the chef put his own spin on it. That said, it was most enjoyable. My wife had the crab cakes, again with the chef's own spin on the seasoning, not just the usual Old Bay. All in all, it still lived up to the 5 stars we have accorded in the past. That having been said, we did note some differences from past visits, but not enough to change our view as a go to special place.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Open table had a deal for 500 or but I g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Open table had a deal for 500 or but I got credited for only 100 pt. The food was pretty bland and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation and noted that it w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I made a reservation and noted that it was our 30th Anniversary. Upon arriving for dinner everyone of the Staff congratulated us on our anniversary. All of the servers/waiters were extremely attentive & professional. My wife wanted was interested in the softshell crabs but noted on the menu that they were cooked with ingredients involving almonds. The waiter spoke to the chef and next thing we knew he was at our table ensuring my wife that he would be more than happy to prepare them without the almond ingredients. Meal & atmosphere was fantastic. We ordered dessert and wouldn't you know it it came out on a plate where they had written Happy Anniversary in chocolate, What a great touch! On top of all that the Chef returned to our table to ask how we enjoyed the meal and they sent us home with a complimentary bottle of champagne. What a great evening. We will certainly be returning. Many thanks to all!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the staff at Eldridge Furnace Inn we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

All the staff at Eldridge Furnace Inn were extremely courteous. We received a very detailed explanation of the focus of Chef Wecker's cuisine. The ambiance of the Inn was quiet, romantic, and quaint. We did take our well behaved children with us this time and there was a wide selection on the menu to suit all of our palates. All of the food was superb. The combination of flavors and textures was top notch. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always good to visit the Elkridge F ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2016

It's always good to visit the Elkridge Furnace Inn. Our friend had not been there before and she really enjoyed having lunch with us. The food was excellent. I have never had a bad meal in the many times I have visited over the years. Many of the items on our plate were grown in the garden on the premises. The atmosphere is wonderful but I was distressed to see new town homes being built on Furnace Branch Road. I fear they will ruin the lovely location of the restaurant. Fortunately it's located a little further down the road. I love the history of the building and can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is really a very nice place, which ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is really a very nice place, which I would highly recommend. It is not cheap, nor should it be for the high quality creative food that they serve. The real disappointment was the server; a young man who was, to tell the truth, very polite and attentive. However, he knew virtually nothing about how the dishes were prepared or what their ingredients were. He had to go back to talk to the chef three times to answer what should have been quite simple questions. Either no one bothered to make sure he was trained on this information, or he simply didn't pay attention or write anything down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful restaurant, quiet. Attentive ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, quiet. Attentive staff. Expensive.

Tags: La perle du quartier, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Romantique, Une carte des vins remarquable, Une vue pittoresque
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Dinner was delicious they help us pick a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dinner was delicious they help us pick a great wine our waiter was outstanding and the food was awesome chef Dan and his wife Donna always make us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

At least my fifth time here at the Furna ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

At least my fifth time here at the Furnace Inn; however, this time, they earned five stars.

Everything was outstanding. From the greeting to the exit, it was as good as it gets.

The wine director, Ali, introduced us to a different wine than we were accustomed to.

Perfect. Service (Courtney) was stellar. Good job Furnace Inn!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome menu, chef was very personable

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

awesome menu, chef was very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I just love this restaurant for its ambi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I just love this restaurant for its ambience and service. My only suggestion when ordering food might be to ask the server's opinion. The menu is original, but not always in a good way. for instance, my sister ordered the braised rib eye steak. We were curious as to why a rib eye, which is typically tender and juicy, would need braising. Ultimately, she was underwhelmed. The meal tasted like Mom's post roast. It could have been any cut of beef, such as chuck. You could not tell it was rib eye. A broiled or pan seared rib eye would have suited my sister better.

I don't live in Maryland, so I am always craving crabs. I ordered the crab cakes, which came with a sauce containing mustard and herbs. The sauce overpowered what I imagine was a delicious crab cake. Some times it's good to just let a good food stand on its own. My other sister ordered jambalaya and the server excitedly said that was very popular. And my sister did, in fact, like it. So go with the servers' suggestions and you won't be sorry.

A really wonderful thing about this place is that fact that you don't have to shout to be heard. It is a rarity to find such a beautiful, refined atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here for dinner and enjoyed ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been here for dinner and enjoyed my meal very much so when a friend suggested meeting for lunch I said yes. The lunch menu is very limited and after looking things over the only choice that didn't have an ingredient I didn't like added to it was the crabcake platter (which we both ended up getting. We both agreed that it was pretty much tasteless as far as what you'd expect for a Maryland crabcake and didn't find the ground mustard sauce they placed it on the taste we wanted added to a crabcake. While we both agreed we'd return for dinner, $14.00 for a tasteless crabcake didn't add to our get together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.