About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: 7349940211

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes
Risotto Croquettes
Garpacho
Potage Dauphinois
Duck Breast With Turnip Potato Puree
Salmon In Puff Pastry With Basil-Cream Sauce
Veal
Bread
Stuffed Mushrooms
Mai Tai
Sautéed Beef Tenderloin With Roquefort
Pear Tart
Risotto Balls

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
7 More
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Best Ambiance
Ann Arbor
Best Value
Ann Arbor
Romantic
Ann Arbor
Special Occasion
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

special occasion (129)
romantic (108)
notable wine list (96)
See All
fit for foodies (86)
neighborhood gem (51)
good for groups (50)
late-night find (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
hot spot (13)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Overall the food and ambiance were very ...

Dined 5 days ago

Overall the food and ambiance were very good. The porterhouse steak was one of the most expensive items on the menu but had a lot of fat on it. The most disappointing thing was our waiter, who had the personality of an avocado. His service was efficient, but quite curt. It was our anniversary and it would have been nice to have a server who was more upbeat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. W ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. We dine there frequently as well as entertain family & friends there. The food and service are excellent. Love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for the first time for our an ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went there for the first time for our anniversary and was a Great choice! Food and service was excellent and was given a gift certificate to return which we will.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here to meet a friend I haven't see ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Came here to meet a friend I haven't seen in a while, fantastic food (I got the duck), wonderful server and there was a jazz band playing. I would come here every weekend if my budget allowed me too

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

The duck breasts are the best I have eve ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The duck breasts are the best I have ever eaten. The wine list is superb. Steve, the wine expert, is very helpful in choosing a wine that you like when describing your tastes in wine. Since this was restaurant week, the restaurant was very busy, and the service was slow. The owner, Dennis, was refilling water glasses. Desserts are always high on the scale, chocolate mousse and creme brulee. As always, we enjoy the Earle for great dinner and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I love the Earle , unfortunately the las ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I love the Earle , unfortunately the last two times I have been it takes forever to get your food! Not sure what is going on.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal , apps,cocktails, wine and s ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely meal , apps,cocktails, wine and shared dessert for special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. The fo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food and service is truly outstanding and we would not think of going anywhere else for special occasions or just with a group of friends!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, attentive service good v ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service good value during restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is one of my favorite restaura ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The Earle is one of my favorite restaurants and never disappoints. I always get their salmon wrapped in puff pastry and this time my boyfriend had the duck, which was also very good. They have by far the best service I have ever experienced. As we are still young, we can only afford to go a couple times a year, but every time the waitress or sommelier helps us pick out a bottle of wine. Usually nice places like this will always point you towards an outrageously expensive bottle, but we explained cost is a factor and they had no trouble pointing us to a bottle between $20-30 without a second thought. Highly recommend for any special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Ann A ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor - we go a few times a year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places for excellent stea ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the few places for excellent steak and other great food along with outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal! I had the duck and my fianc ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great meal! I had the duck and my fiance had the rack of lamb - absolutely delicious. The waitress excelled at her job and was very positive and engaging.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Third time there, went with th ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved it. Third time there, went with the in-laws and had a fabulous meal...the jazz band was fantastic!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Favorite

Dined on June 4, 2016

I took my husband there for his birthday. It's his favorite restaurant. He has been a customer from the day it opened. Since we married I have become a great fan. The ambiance is our style. I haven't seen my husband so animated about a restaurant in a long time. That include the "Best of..."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All of the employees were pleasant, help ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

All of the employees were pleasant, helpful, and polite. The food (salmon) was delicious. Thank you for making our occasion quite special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Place for a Special Occassion

Dined on June 2, 2016

Went on a Thursday night around 7; was very low key with excellent food and service! Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The duck is a big hit. Scallops ever so ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The duck is a big hit. Scallops ever so slightly miss the mark with an all-but-cloyingly-sweet sauce.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

regular "earlie"

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is consistently good and well prepared, attentive service without hovering. On our most recent visit we were a group of five, we covered the whole range of the menu with our entrees. Two fish, veal, a steak and a shrimp pasta dish. Everyone loved their choices. We split three desserts, which we understand are prepared in house and were delightful. We were celebrating a birthday and it was all good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Evening.

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife suggested the Earle for our 22nd anniversary and we were not disappointed by the decision. The food was excellent, it was quiet enough to have pleasant conversation however we did not go on a Jazz night so I am sure things get a bit louder with the live music.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic dinner at The Earle.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Another fantastic dinner at The Earle.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great wine list, good food

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall, The Earle was good. The meal is started with some fresh baked bread and the butter that is served with it is unbelievable. The wine list is quite impressive and they have a resident wine expert who can handle all of your questions and suggest something for you to try. The wine is quite pricey though and it does not say anywhere on the menu that wine by the glass is available (it very well could be, it is just not on the menu). The french onion soup was delicious and I split two pasta dishes for the main course, both of which were good. For dessert I tried their cheesecake, which was pretty average. I would come here again and would recommend for dates but it was not a restaurant that I will go to all the time because of both the price and the fact that the food didn't really knock me off my seat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good, but could be better

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was well prepared, portions reasonable, prices on the high side given the menu was not unique or up-scale. Food was more on the comfort side than on the trendy side. Location was nice, but seating was tight. Atmosphere was a bit casual for the price of the meals and the décor was a bit outdated. We enjoyed our meal, but even our teens did not rave about it (liked it, but it wasn't a WOW - albeit they are foodies so hard to impress). For the price, we would rather try another spot, however, I was not dissatisfied with anything specifically. Menu was diverse enough to satisfy most tastes. Service was good and everyone was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Sautéed Duck Breasts!

Dined on May 5, 2016

The Sautéed Duck Breasts were very good. Very moist and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Off night

Dined on May 1, 2016

We typically enjoy the Earle very much and have dined there frequently over the years. However, on this night the food and service (save the sommelier) didn't live up to the Earle's normal standard. The wait between drinks, soup/salad and entrees was interminable. They were out of their signature veal dish, which was the main reason for going. The explanation was "it's graduation weekend." Well, everyone in a 50 mile radius knows that so order more veal. It would seem they don't handle crowds so well so going forward we'll avoid those times. Both pasta dishes we ordered were luke warm, but we didn't complain or send back because we didn't know when we might see them again. I'm sure we'll go back but probably not as often.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food here was excellent. And the service impeccable. Both the wait staff serving alcohol and the food were a great help and very attentive, while being careful not to be too pushy. They also were willing to accomodate guests that had special requests and create something to suit people with different tastes and dietary requirements. The wine list is pretty extensive. We settled on a white from Argentina and it did not disappoint. It was dry with mild, fruity overtones. For the appetisers we chose: - risotto balls stuffed with mozarella, breaded and fried. This while not outstanding was very good, especially when paired with the marinara sauce provided. - escargot in flaky pastry, which was also very good. It was cooked perfectly without appearing to be smothered in butter and had a slightly mushroomy texture and taste and the pastry was a good addition to complement it. - smoked salmon with avocado slices. This is the best smoked salmon I've tasted. For entrees we did: - All the beef options provided were soft, tender and succulent and beautifully flavoured. - The white fish entree cooked in chive butter and topped with seasonings was delicious, tender and flaky - The vegetable phyllo, a cooked assortment of vegetables wrapped in a light doughy crust had excellent texture and taste, though I suspect the chef probably went overboard with the rosemary. For dessert we did: - An almond cake smothered in amaretto in a raspberry sauce - Carrot cake slice - Tiramisu All of these were good, with the carrot cake being the least liked primarily because I felt it was not moist enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

service was awful, brought wrong salad 3 ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

service was awful, brought wrong salad 3x's. Server was non-existent. so disappointed. food was not great. never again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GEM of a restaurant!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We all enjoyed our meals - steak au pouive, the chicken dish, steak w/beuure blanc and the duck breast. Service was excellent and well-timed also. We are still talking about it after several days. We've been to The Earle in the past, and don't know why we don't return more often - I guess it's because we wanted to keep it "special," but we decided not to waste our money on so-so restaurants anymore. The Earle will be our "regular" place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and delicious. Would definitely return

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our party of six selected the salmon en croute (I had this - it was absolutely fabulous), grilled salmon, duck , veal scallopini and lamb. All were deemed delicious. For dessert, the chocolate Chambord mousse was outstanding. Cozy setting with rough brick walls and great music at an appropriate level in the background.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was especially excellent, prepa ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was especially excellent, prepared per our special request perfectly. It certainly rated with the best white fish that we have had the pleasure of eating in Michigan.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday gathering!

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

As usual, the Earle provided the perfect venue, with great food and great service to celebrate a happy occasion. We mostly had drinks and appetizers and salads. Don't miss the bruschetta and roasted garlic appetizers. Panzanella and Caesar salads are so delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

QUACK QUACK

Dined on April 10, 2016

We go here several times a year to order the duck breasts. We do not even ask for a menu, it is so perfect every time. Cant wait to go back again. thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding French cuisine. An Ann Arbor ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Outstanding French cuisine. An Ann Arbor landmark for good reason. Notable wine list.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Good, old-fashioned food

Dined on April 2, 2016

We celebrated our birthday at the Earle because of its great birthday meal discount. It's our favorite of the local restaurants that offer such a discount. The food was delicious, but only because it used tons of butter, salt and sugar. For instance, the fish on cooked spinach was great, and we could see the butter swimming on the bottom of the plate. The duck with pears was also delicious, and yet it tasted so sweet that it could have had maple syrup poured on top. Lately, we're starting to prefer more healthy means of preparation--a light touch on the fat, little or no sugar, and much more in the way of fresh herbs, interesting spices and fresh citrus. You're not likely to find this at the Earle, though. We don't regret going...it's just that I can't see going more than once a year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Live jazz band! The servers are very nice and attentive, food portion is on the big side.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sadly, just so-so....

Dined on March 26, 2016

The ambiance was nice, but thought the menu was limited. There were 4 of us and didn't remember anything being outstanding. I can't even remember our dessert, which I know we had. We had "tag team" for waitresses and still thought the service was slow, neither of them inquired if we wanted additional drinks. We felt it was pricey for what we ordered. In my opinion, there are some much better restaurant choices to be savored in Ann Arbor! Not sure if we'll go back or not.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was a very intimate setti ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The restaurant was a very intimate setting. The service was top notch. The food was great. My guest enjoyed her birthday dinner, and the staff was great with birthday treats.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Overpriced decent food

Dined on March 26, 2016

I was a little disappointed in this restaurant. First, the assistant waiter or what ever he was had a chip on his shoulder and was a bit snooty. No reason for this. It's not the Ritz. The food was mediocre. I say this because for the price we paid for each meal I would expect a lot more in quality. The wine list is very good and extensive.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Choices

Dined on March 25, 2016

I'm the only vegan in our group. I really enjoyed the vegetables in phyllo even though it's not completely vegan. The wine our friend selected was memorable. Had a really nice time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Considering the prices, this was a major ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Considering the prices, this was a major disappointment. Smothered. Practically everything anyone ordered was smothered with cheese sauces. Poor presentation of food on plate - smushed together. Service was basic - take order, deliver, a couple of checkup visits - but not engaging or warm. . Won't be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.