About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: (734) 994-0211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crab Cakes - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Risotto Croquettes - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Potage Dauphinois - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Garpacho - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Salmon In Puff Pastry With Basil-Cream Sauce - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Duck Breast With Turnip Potato Puree - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Pear Tart - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Veal - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Risotto Balls - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Bread - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Stuffed Mushrooms - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Sautéed Beef Tenderloin With Roquefort - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Mai Tai - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (47)
See All
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Cozy (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Live Music (34)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (19)
Authentic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Historic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service, great food!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, great food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Ann Arbor Restaurant week... ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Ann Arbor Restaurant week.... very good!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Healthy, Business Meals, Organic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Duck breast (4/5) - Heard so much about ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Duck breast (4/5) - Heard so much about it and was so glad it's on the restaurant week menu. It comes with two large pieces of duck breast (great for its value) with brussel sprouts and parsnip-potato puree (pretty much a mashed potato). In general, it was good. I liked the sweet and savory of the dish. The problem is that the duck kind of chewy, which is surprising because it was perfectly medium rare. I really did enjoy the flavor, but for such a fancy restaurant I don't think the duck should be so chewy.

Flourless chocolate cake (4/5) - Good, not superb. It's very dense, will be plenty even to share. Glad it was on the restaurant week menu, otherwise not sure if it's worthwhile.

The bread was mediocre, and disappointed that it was served completely cold given how fancy the restaurant was. Service was good. I think this restaurant is worth a try during restaurant week, but not worthwhile for its price tag outside of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good! Will return for sure ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good! Will return for sure!! I ate the Restaurant Week menu so not sure about the actual menu, but bet is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The interior is so pretty and nice. I lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The interior is so pretty and nice. I love the vibe and the ambiance. However, food itself is not that tasty - appetizers and desserts are good but entrees are just okay (and compared to the price, they are ...). But it was a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was great, as always! The wait ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great, as always! The waiter we had this time left a lot to be desired; worse person we have had in years! Everyone else was very nice. Couldn't tell if he was having an off day or if he always lacks that much.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We have been dining at the Earle for dec ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been dining at the Earle for decades and are always happy with our meals, as well as the cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for start of restaurant week and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for start of restaurant week and were delighted with the selections available for restaurant week pricing, which were identical to items on the regular menu.

The quality of the offerings and quality of service were exceptional, despite a very busy first night of restaurant week.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time visiting your re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first time visiting your restaurant, an overdue date night of parents of an 9 month old! The food was spectacular and much more than we imagined. Hats off to your chef and kitchen team they are wonderful! We had crab cakes and calamari apps, lamb and steak dinners. We loved the peach cosmo and the fact that two hearted was on tap. I just wish our service matched the rest of our visit, not that it was terrible just nothing positive either.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Steve the Somm made our night so special ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Steve the Somm made our night so special! He had a tough challenge selecting a wine for someone who wanted to try Reds without liking them!

Our server was attentive, the pace of the evening was wonderful! We will be back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant if it's in the budget

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great restaurant if it's in the budget

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was awesome. The live jazz music ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was awesome. The live jazz music (volume, acoustic) made for a relaxing date night. We did salads and shared appetizer (roasted garlic/sun dried tomatoes, shrimp and calamari). Would recommend all again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose The Earle to celebrate our daug ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We chose The Earle to celebrate our daughter's birthday and were not disappointed. A last minute addition to our reservation was handled without fuss. As always, the food was top notch and the service impeccable. Well done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I always enjoy dining out at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and I always enjoy dining out at The Earle. It has become one of our regular dining destinations. The salmon And Delmonico Steak are delicious choices. I highly recommend that you try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always great for a special occasion. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always great for a special occasion. We love it for the food, staff and jazz.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have never been disappointed at The E ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have never been disappointed at The Earle. The food is consistently prepared and beautifully presented. The service was perfect, attentive, but not overly. We had two wait people and both seamlessly interspersed and did not miss a beat. Our steak was cooked exactly to medium rare as requested. My husband and I split the main course, which we often do, as the dishes there are rich and very flavorful and neither of us can finish a whole meal on our own. I would recommend the Earle for it's cozy atmosphere (particularly in the winter), and satisfying delicious meals.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals and service we hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of the best meals and service we have ever had!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is one of my favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Earle is one of my favorite restaurants. The service is always excellent and everyone is very friendly. The food is prepared perfectly. I've never had an issue with anything and I've been dining here for at least 7 or 8 years.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the pastry wrapped salmon, excell ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had the pastry wrapped salmon, excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was quite bland. But, I loved t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My steak was quite bland. But, I loved the almond paste with raspberry sauce dessert. Others in my group enjoyed their meals. Piano & Double bass were playing jazzy music. It was a warm atmosphere. Crowd was mostly senior citizens (on NYE).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great food and atmosphere. Extensive win ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Extensive wine list. Our waiter, however, lacked experience. Rather than fill our empty glasses, he asked if we wanted more water without a pitcher in his hands. We had to ask for a bread basket like all the other tables had. When I thanked him, he nodded his head at me. He rarely checked on us. When we inquired about what type of wine a specific bottle was, he said he didn't know and was not allowed to talk about the wine list. Considering the menu prices, we expected more courteous service. It did appear that the other wait staff was more efficient.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We love the Earle. We went for New Years ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love the Earle. We went for New Years Eve with friends. We always have excellent service, we are never rushed and the food is always good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another outstanding special birthday din ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Another outstanding special birthday dinner with my husband and adult children. The Earle is my favorite place to celebrate my birthday and they offer a great discount if you visit on your birth date. The service was very attentive, and the food was excellent except for the veggie blend accompaniment which was way too buttery (swimming). Save room for dessert, they have a whole tray of awesome choices, of note is the Tuscan torte--dense cake with sliced apple/pear served with warm cream/(creme anglaise?).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I like The Earle and in fact first dined ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I like The Earle and in fact first dined there the week that it opened. The menu has changed very little over time, which has its pros and cons. Good, because I can look forward to ordering dishes and desserts that have become old friends; but not so good -- and I'm not complaining here -- because I would like to try something new and different from time to time. I frequented the restaurant for quite a few years, mostly for the terrific wine selection (thanks, Steve!), but also for the intelligent clientele and quiet atmosphere, which made conversation possible without having to shout as is the case in most Ann Arbor restaurants. Regrettably, those days have passed, and now the customers are more likely to come dressed in cargo pants and Michigan memorabilia. And the noise level has increased dramatically. The service, which used to be impeccable, is spotty. The wait staff that I came to know and appreciate, and which displayed a nearly Parisian level of professionalism, is long gone. Turnover in wait staff is now high and the quality of service can be marginal. On a recent visit, the waiter seemed intent on not allowing my water glass to become the least bit empty, practically hovering about before pouncing and pouring water out of the side of his pitcher so as to splash it all over the table -- and even on to my cell phone. No apology was offered. A word of advice to diners: place your water glass just at the waiter's end of the table so as to avoid the consequences of this unfortunate practice.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Earle consistently provides great fo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Earle consistently provides great food with excellent service. Wine list is outstanding and reasonably priced. Our go to place for dinner.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome! A Christmas dinner with the ja ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome! A Christmas dinner with the jazz group.

However, didn't play enough. They were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there!! Bar server Sarah was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

First time there!! Bar server Sarah was so sweet cara and dwayne were cool the happy hour was pretty cool and I like the seperate sides!! It was for 30th xmas birthday. I wanted low key, relaxed ambiance but a great environment for the occasion!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

good food, service was good, enjoyed the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

good food, service was good, enjoyed the wine bar and atmosphere there

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Earle and its stellar wine list are ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Earle and its stellar wine list are classics. Dark, candle-lit, retro, with a live jazz combo some nights--great for dates and special occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is flawless. The meal was ex ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service is flawless. The meal was excellent and the wine and cocktails are fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish the piano would of been playing. Ex ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wish the piano would of been playing. Excellent food!! Great service!!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite having two servers who where to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Despite having two servers who where to take care of us that evening they where mostly MIA the entire night and when we mentioned something the response was we wanted to leave you alone while there was only 6 tables that had guests at. The food was top notch but the service was very poor which was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and is fairly quiet. Service was rather slow. Overall, it's a pretty place to have a meal but it's rather expensive so it's only a special occasion place for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Extensive and interesting menus. Quiet w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Extensive and interesting menus. Quiet which is good for conversations. Other restaurants in A2 are to loud/noicey for a comportable dinner and to enjoy company of friends, food, wine. Wait staff very attentive which makes for a pleasant experience.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

There are at least four corklined booths ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

There are at least four corklined booths for tables of four, enabling conversation!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Earle serve real french/italian food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The Earle serve real french/italian food that is very good (100% sure for french as I'm French, and I have to say... I didn't tried italian food). The prices are elevated, corresponding well to the high quality food they serve, without being to much expensive. The service is excellent. There was somebody playing guitar this time, last time was piano... I really appreciated this detail. The Earle also proposes good deals for special occasion like birthdays (50% off of the food bill) and restaurant weeks, for which the quality and the quantity is not decreased and is largely affordable. I think you understood I really like it !

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle was a great spot for my boyfri ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Earle was a great spot for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. They gave us a 50% discount on all food for the birthday occasion, which was huge. Great ambiance and delicious food. More affordable bottles of wine than I thought. Would definitely refer for a nice dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in Ann Arbor with ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Some of the best food in Ann Arbor with some of the worst service.

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday.

We were never greeted by the servers. The only conversation we had was "Hi my name is __, are you looking for a bottle of wine tonight?" and "Have you decided on dinner for this evening?" Those were the only two statements made to us by the wait staff. We were hoping to get some soft drinks as well or at least to be welcomed since it was our first time at this restaurant but this did not happen.

I should mention that after my girlfriend arrived, it took 25 minutes for someone to come speak to us which is when they asked us what we wanted to eat. After we ordered the bottle of wine, it took over 30 minutes for someone to bring an ice bucket at which point the wine was nearly gone. The appetizers came out very quickly and then the entrees took a very long time (+40 minutes). It was strangely inconsistent without any explanation from the waitstaff. We ended up asking a different server to please tell our server that we needed to leave in 15 minutes so either bring the food now or bring us the check without it. They then finally brought the food and the check together along with boxes since we didn't even have time to eat the meal. Incredibly disappointing.

The food itself was delicious. I would rate the meal as good or better than anything else in that area or on main street. I am just saddened the chef's talents are being squandered on that waitstaff.

It was truly sad to have this experience given that the prices are on par with other nearby restaurants like Gratzi, Black Pearl, and Grange, all of which exhibit vastly superior service. We won't be returning especially after speaking with friends who have had similar experiences here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

The salmon was wonderful...everything wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The salmon was wonderful...everything was perfect..great cheesecake..

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was enjoyable; food was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The evening was enjoyable; food was great; service was a bit off. We waited awhile for our wine. Our dinners were served to the wrong table then delivered to us. Nonetheless, The Earle is one of our favorite places. We will be back. Their Happy Hour is the best in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.