About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: 7349940211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes
Risotto Croquettes
Potage Dauphinois
Garpacho
Salmon In Puff Pastry With Basil-Cream Sauce
Duck Breast With Turnip Potato Puree
Pear Tart
Veal
Risotto Balls
Bread
Stuffed Mushrooms
Sautéed Beef Tenderloin With Roquefort
Mai Tai

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
10 More
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Best Ambiance
Ann Arbor
Best Value
Ann Arbor
Neighborhood Gem
Ann Arbor
Romantic
Ann Arbor
Special Occasion
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Special Occasion (79)
Romantic (76)
Notable Wine List (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (60)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Live Music (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Historic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Earle has always been a great place ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Earle has always been a great place to enjoy a special evening in Ann Arbor, whether it's after a football game or just an evening out. It may be a little "gourmet" for some people but if you truly love great food, this is one of the best. Everything is prepared to high standards. It also may be a little on the expensive side but for special occasions (or even just a nice night out) it is well worth it. If you just want to eat and leave, this is probably not the place for you, but if you enjoy "dining", give it a try. A favorite of ours!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Earle is great for good conversation ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Earle is great for good conversations, since you are not sitting next to a lot of people...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a party of 8 so they put us in dingy ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a party of 8 so they put us in dingy, low-ceiling room with no ambience. Steak was more than half fat. Sauces overdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I had the veal scallopini, which was abs ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had the veal scallopini, which was absolutely superb. My husband had the duck, and he was equally pleased with it. Flavors were well developed in both dishes. We were going to go to Gratzi's but chose The Earle because Gratzi's had eliminated our favorites from their menu. We have always enjoyed dining at The Earle, but these particular menu items were absolutely outstanding and we haven't quit talking about them yet, they were so good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since we've been to Th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It's been a while since we've been to The Earle and I'm so glad we chose it. Our meals were delicious. Each of the four of us selected a different entree and each was delighted. The live music added the perfect touch to our evening. Don't miss The Earle. We'll go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! My boyfriend and I came here f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing!! My boyfriend and I came here for our 2 year anniversary, and they took such good care of us. I had the salmon, stuffed with pesto and served with shrimp. Hands down the best salmon I've ever had. My boyfriend got the Delmonico steak, and it was also incredible. Service wasn't overly bubbly, but I actually enjoyed that because it allowed us to have private conversations without having to worry about being interrupted. The staff made great suggestions, and they even had two people taking care of us. At the end of our meal, they gave us a Happy Anniversary card with a $10 gift certificate to come back (and some amazing truffles) The only minor complaint that I would have is the portion size of the appetizers. If you come here, I'd say stick to entrees and desserts. But all around, this is an incredibly romantic and delicious find. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful, romantic restaurant. Excelle ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful, romantic restaurant. Excellent for a date or anniversary celebration. Delicious food!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Disabled Access, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Given reviews, I found some of the food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Given reviews, I found some of the food disappointing. The duck and lamb chops were quite good, but the beef in roquefort sauce (recommended by the waiter) was overwhelmed by the sauce. The wine list is extensive and the sommelier made a recommendation for a tasty but relatively inexpensive bottle. Given all the excellent restaurants in Ann Arbor, I would not hurry back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Earle is my favorire restaurant in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Earle is my favorire restaurant in Ann Arbor. I stop there a couple of times every year and never have been disappointed, Great food and service, fantastic wine list, and live jazz on weekends.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar menu is a great deal, delicious food ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Bar menu is a great deal, delicious food; an extra perk that is runs until 8P!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and food were outstanding! W ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service and food were outstanding! We will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience quiet and understated. Food exc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Ambience quiet and understated. Food excellent, well presented. Table settings comfortable, not cramped but cozy. Good variety on menu. Service was friendly, caring but not too many checks for needs. Overall a nice place for an evening out.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. The atmosphere, the service, food is all perfect. It's romantic and intimate, too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful. Only draw back was th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was wonderful. Only draw back was the music wasn't loud enough. We really wanted to be able to enjoy it. Otherwise, very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a lovely place to celebrate somet ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a lovely place to celebrate something special. Great wine list and wines by the glass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy going to the Earle. The foo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always enjoy going to the Earle. The food is interesting and always very good. The service is excellent. The ambience is quiet and elegant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous and the wine was equal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was fabulous and the wine was equally great. Loved the facility and the food. Will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here with two friends and we orde ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I came here with two friends and we ordered salads, appetizers, and drinks for dinner. The service was great, and the food was good too!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food and service was excellent at th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with my experience ce ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was very pleased with my experience celebrating my birthday at The Earle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All entrees were delicious, as was the d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

All entrees were delicious, as was the desserts and especially so the caesar salads made with what seemed like dressing from scratch-the authentic way!

One suggestion, Veal Marsala would have been a better choice than Veal Parmigiana, which had a bit too much melted cheese.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality food, Jazz band is a nice touch, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Quality food, Jazz band is a nice touch, good service, pretty expensive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food, service and atmosphere here wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere here was great! If you're thinking about trying this place, go for it! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third (AND LAST) visit to Th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was my third (AND LAST) visit to The Earle. I had previously given it the benefit of the doubt BUT the service has been consistently bad - the wait staff seems disinterested and even when the restaurant is half empty the interminable waiting time for food to arrive at the table is outrageous! When it does arrive the quality is poor - watery overcooked vegetables, cloying sauces and unattractive presentation. I was embarrassed to have taken guests there. At these prices I expect a high quality meal - it was far from that. The Earle no longer lives up to it's former reputation. I cannot in good conscience recommend this restaurant and will definitely NOT be back. By the way, I previously sent a letter to to the owner expressing my concerns but did not receive the courtesy of a reply.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We went to The Earle for a pleasant even ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went to The Earle for a pleasant evening with friends. I usually order the duck breast but I decided to try something different this time, so I ordered the veal scallops. I enjoyed them, but they would have been a lot better if they had less garlic. The garlic was so powerful that I could barely taste the meat or the other ingredients in the sauce. On the other hand, our one friend loved her whitefish and our other friend and my wife loved the coquilles st. jacques. I tasted the coquilles and wished I had ordered that instead; they were delicious.

The service was excellent and the server recommended good wines to accompany our meals. I will definitely return to The Earle, but I don't think I'll order veal scallops again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hi I wouldn't post this, the earl was wo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Hi I wouldn't post this, the earl was wonderful. And it doesn't change my opinion but if I can send in a pic please tell me, we ordered the mushrooms as an app and a veggie in the dish had a sticker on it still kind of a buzz kill. However I would still come back :-)

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

as always food good service good only ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

as always food good service good only suggestion menu alittle stale not many changes like thet used to do years ago had a half off coupon better yet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. Service was friendly ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was good. Service was friendly, but the order took entirely too long. Most of our time was spent waiting for the food. Restaurants wasn't even half full. It was probably just an off day or mistake and others will have a great time, but for the price and time it took, I'll look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We made a reservation for 4 to celebrate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We made a reservation for 4 to celebrate a birthday. The Earl was very quiet when we arrived (it was the 2nd day of the Ann Arbor Art Fair) but we had made an early reservation knowing that it would get busy later in the evening. We were seated in a somewhat undesirable part of the restaurant (near the firehose) which was disappointing given that they were NOT busy at all. I'm not sure why were seated there as we were appropriately dressed. We did not complain. The service was good but not overly friendly. The food was excellent.

I would recommend but with the suggestion that you specify the area in which you would like to be seated.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always great food. Service, in the end, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always great food.

Service, in the end, not so great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We always enjoy a dinner at The Earle wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We always enjoy a dinner at The Earle when we are in Ann Arbor for the Art Fair. Our server Dwayne is tops. The best onion soup. Wonderful service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Had a great evening

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great meal. Had a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've gone to the Earle for years. The w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've gone to the Earle for years. The wait staff generally has a sense of humor. The atmosphere is unique and welcoming. The food is always delicious. The coupon ($10 off) helps....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've loved the Earle for many years. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've loved the Earle for many years. The ambience is wonderful; it's comfortable, the wine list is fantastic and reasonably priced, and the service is outstanding. However, I am tired of the largely unchanging menu and the unchanging desserts. I've been coming to the Earle since the 90s, and while the food is good, there is no recognition that food has changed in the outside world. The main flavor in my last meal was butter. I love butter, but it was too much even for me. I'd love to see some lighter, cleaner food with herbs and spices. I want the chef and owner to take some risks and make some changes. Otherwise, I can't see it lasting much longer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fabulous, service very attentive ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is fabulous, service very attentive. The 3 piece jazz group is a bonus to a wonderful dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great service and outstanding ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, great service and outstanding food experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went out for a date night and was ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went out for a date night and was very pleased. The food was outstanding and the service was amazing. Our waiters were very attentive and always had a smile on their faces (yes we had 2 servers). The scallops and steak were wonderful and would definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at the Earle. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at the Earle. It was a pleasant evening and we were able to sit outside (be careful as the sidewalk is not totally level). The wine list is impressive both by the bottle or glass and the menu varied. My husband had the peppered tenderloin which he found very good, and it was cooked to perfection. I enjoyed the scallops immensely.

Service was alright. All tables were full outside and I think they could have used a little more help. We were not even asked if we wanted dessert (very important course), so we walked around and got some elsewhere.

All in all though, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I ordered the scallops and I did not exp ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I ordered the scallops and I did not expect the sauce to be so rich. I actually got sick after dinner. We also ordered the pesto chicken, salmon and steak covered w peppercorn. The chicken was okay, my friend said the salmon was overcooked, and the steak was delicious. We also ordered escargot, calamari and stuffed mushrooms. The appetizers were generally delicious except for the escargot which tasted fishy. Service was good. Probably wouldn't come back because the scallops made me sick, however someone else ordered it from our table and she didn't get sick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great location. Underground. Nice jazz, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great location. Underground. Nice jazz, but loud and poor entrees. Eggplant parmesan and chicken pasta were limp and tasteless. Salmon in the puff pastry tasted ok but was very salty and heavy. Felt gross afterwards. Desserts were excellent. Good wine and drinks menu but not acceptable for such a pricey place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.