About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: 7349940211

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes
Risotto Croquettes
Garpacho
Potage Dauphinois
Duck Breast With Turnip Potato Puree
Salmon In Puff Pastry With Basil-Cream Sauce
Veal
Bread
Stuffed Mushrooms
Mai Tai
Sautéed Beef Tenderloin With Roquefort
Pear Tart
Risotto Balls

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
10 More
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Ambiance
Ann Arbor
Best Value
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Neighborhood Gem
Ann Arbor
Romantic
Ann Arbor
Special Occasion
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

special occasion (120)
romantic (100)
notable wine list (93)
See All
fit for foodies (81)
neighborhood gem (49)
good for groups (41)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We made a reservation for 4 to celebrate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

We made a reservation for 4 to celebrate a birthday. The Earl was very quiet when we arrived (it was the 2nd day of the Ann Arbor Art Fair) but we had made an early reservation knowing that it would get busy later in the evening. We were seated in a somewhat undesirable part of the restaurant (near the firehose) which was disappointing given that they were NOT busy at all. I'm not sure why were seated there as we were appropriately dressed. We did not complain. The service was good but not overly friendly. The food was excellent.

I would recommend but with the suggestion that you specify the area in which you would like to be seated.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always great food. Service, in the end, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always great food.

Service, in the end, not so great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We always enjoy a dinner at The Earle wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We always enjoy a dinner at The Earle when we are in Ann Arbor for the Art Fair. Our server Dwayne is tops. The best onion soup. Wonderful service and great atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Had a great evening

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great meal. Had a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've gone to the Earle for years. The w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've gone to the Earle for years. The wait staff generally has a sense of humor. The atmosphere is unique and welcoming. The food is always delicious. The coupon ($10 off) helps....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've loved the Earle for many years. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've loved the Earle for many years. The ambience is wonderful; it's comfortable, the wine list is fantastic and reasonably priced, and the service is outstanding. However, I am tired of the largely unchanging menu and the unchanging desserts. I've been coming to the Earle since the 90s, and while the food is good, there is no recognition that food has changed in the outside world. The main flavor in my last meal was butter. I love butter, but it was too much even for me. I'd love to see some lighter, cleaner food with herbs and spices. I want the chef and owner to take some risks and make some changes. Otherwise, I can't see it lasting much longer.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fabulous, service very attentive ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is fabulous, service very attentive. The 3 piece jazz group is a bonus to a wonderful dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great service and outstanding ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, great service and outstanding food experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went out for a date night and was ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went out for a date night and was very pleased. The food was outstanding and the service was amazing. Our waiters were very attentive and always had a smile on their faces (yes we had 2 servers). The scallops and steak were wonderful and would definitely visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at the Earle. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at the Earle. It was a pleasant evening and we were able to sit outside (be careful as the sidewalk is not totally level). The wine list is impressive both by the bottle or glass and the menu varied. My husband had the peppered tenderloin which he found very good, and it was cooked to perfection. I enjoyed the scallops immensely.

Service was alright. All tables were full outside and I think they could have used a little more help. We were not even asked if we wanted dessert (very important course), so we walked around and got some elsewhere.

All in all though, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I ordered the scallops and I did not exp ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I ordered the scallops and I did not expect the sauce to be so rich. I actually got sick after dinner. We also ordered the pesto chicken, salmon and steak covered w peppercorn. The chicken was okay, my friend said the salmon was overcooked, and the steak was delicious. We also ordered escargot, calamari and stuffed mushrooms. The appetizers were generally delicious except for the escargot which tasted fishy. Service was good. Probably wouldn't come back because the scallops made me sick, however someone else ordered it from our table and she didn't get sick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great location. Underground. Nice jazz, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great location. Underground. Nice jazz, but loud and poor entrees. Eggplant parmesan and chicken pasta were limp and tasteless. Salmon in the puff pastry tasted ok but was very salty and heavy. Felt gross afterwards. Desserts were excellent. Good wine and drinks menu but not acceptable for such a pricey place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great food- excellent ambience with the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food- excellent ambience with the live jazz. Wait staff was great and helpful.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent! Quality food, exceptio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always excellent! Quality food, exceptional wine list. The linguine with shrimp was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday, not only was my meal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was my birthday, not only was my meal free but there is a sliding percentage for the rest of your party. Food was great, service exceptional, you always know what you are getting at the Earle...consistency!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food in a really neat old fashione ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

great food in a really neat old fashioned under ground setting.

Wine list is great, and jazz or similar music almost every night.

Half price birthday special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at the Earle and loved the lo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time at the Earle and loved the look of the restaurant. Wine list was amazing, food was decent. I was a little surprised that the food wasn't better, but I could be picky and spoiled as I live in Seattle and have been exposed to many wonderful restaurants. Serves were fantastic and my friends loved the restaurant overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food and ambiance were very ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall the food and ambiance were very good. The porterhouse steak was one of the most expensive items on the menu but had a lot of fat on it. The most disappointing thing was our waiter, who had the personality of an avocado. His service was efficient, but quite curt. It was our anniversary and it would have been nice to have a server who was more upbeat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. W ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. We dine there frequently as well as entertain family & friends there. The food and service are excellent. Love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for the first time for our an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went there for the first time for our anniversary and was a Great choice! Food and service was excellent and was given a gift certificate to return which we will.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here to meet a friend I haven't see ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Came here to meet a friend I haven't seen in a while, fantastic food (I got the duck), wonderful server and there was a jazz band playing. I would come here every weekend if my budget allowed me too

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The duck breasts are the best I have eve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The duck breasts are the best I have ever eaten. The wine list is superb. Steve, the wine expert, is very helpful in choosing a wine that you like when describing your tastes in wine. Since this was restaurant week, the restaurant was very busy, and the service was slow. The owner, Dennis, was refilling water glasses. Desserts are always high on the scale, chocolate mousse and creme brulee. As always, we enjoy the Earle for great dinner and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

I love the Earle , unfortunately the las ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I love the Earle , unfortunately the last two times I have been it takes forever to get your food! Not sure what is going on.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Lovely meal , apps,cocktails, wine and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely meal , apps,cocktails, wine and shared dessert for special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food and service is truly outstanding and we would not think of going anywhere else for special occasions or just with a group of friends!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, attentive service good v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service good value during restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is one of my favorite restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Earle is one of my favorite restaurants and never disappoints. I always get their salmon wrapped in puff pastry and this time my boyfriend had the duck, which was also very good. They have by far the best service I have ever experienced. As we are still young, we can only afford to go a couple times a year, but every time the waitress or sommelier helps us pick out a bottle of wine. Usually nice places like this will always point you towards an outrageously expensive bottle, but we explained cost is a factor and they had no trouble pointing us to a bottle between $20-30 without a second thought. Highly recommend for any special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Ann A ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor - we go a few times a year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places for excellent stea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the few places for excellent steak and other great food along with outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! I had the duck and my fianc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great meal! I had the duck and my fiance had the rack of lamb - absolutely delicious. The waitress excelled at her job and was very positive and engaging.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it. Third time there, went with th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved it. Third time there, went with the in-laws and had a fabulous meal...the jazz band was fantastic!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family Favorite

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I took my husband there for his birthday. It's his favorite restaurant. He has been a customer from the day it opened. Since we married I have become a great fan. The ambiance is our style. I haven't seen my husband so animated about a restaurant in a long time. That include the "Best of..."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of the employees were pleasant, help ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

All of the employees were pleasant, helpful, and polite. The food (salmon) was delicious.

Thank you for making our occasion quite special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Place for a Special Occassion

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Went on a Thursday night around 7; was very low key with excellent food and service! Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck is a big hit. Scallops ever so ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The duck is a big hit. Scallops ever so slightly miss the mark with an all-but-cloyingly-sweet sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

regular "earlie"

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is consistently good and well prepared, attentive service without hovering. On our most recent visit we were a group of five, we covered the whole range of the menu with our entrees. Two fish, veal, a steak and a shrimp pasta dish. Everyone loved their choices. We split three desserts, which we understand are prepared in house and were delightful. We were celebrating a birthday and it was all good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Evening.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife suggested the Earle for our 22nd anniversary and we were not disappointed by the decision. The food was excellent, it was quiet enough to have pleasant conversation however we did not go on a Jazz night so I am sure things get a bit louder with the live music.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic dinner at The Earle.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Another fantastic dinner at The Earle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine list, good food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall, The Earle was good. The meal is started with some fresh baked bread and the butter that is served with it is unbelievable. The wine list is quite impressive and they have a resident wine expert who can handle all of your questions and suggest something for you to try. The wine is quite pricey though and it does not say anywhere on the menu that wine by the glass is available (it very well could be, it is just not on the menu). The french onion soup was delicious and I split two pasta dishes for the main course, both of which were good. For dessert I tried their cheesecake, which was pretty average.

I would come here again and would recommend for dates but it was not a restaurant that I will go to all the time because of both the price and the fact that the food didn't really knock me off my seat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good, but could be better

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was well prepared, portions reasonable, prices on the high side given the menu was not unique or up-scale. Food was more on the comfort side than on the trendy side. Location was nice, but seating was tight. Atmosphere was a bit casual for the price of the meals and the décor was a bit outdated. We enjoyed our meal, but even our teens did not rave about it (liked it, but it wasn't a WOW - albeit they are foodies so hard to impress). For the price, we would rather try another spot, however, I was not dissatisfied with anything specifically. Menu was diverse enough to satisfy most tastes. Service was good and everyone was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.