About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: 7349940211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Risotto Croquettes - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Potage Dauphinois - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Garpacho - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Salmon In Puff Pastry With Basil-Cream Sauce - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Duck Breast With Turnip Potato Puree - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Pear Tart - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Veal - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Risotto Balls - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Bread - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Stuffed Mushrooms - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Sautéed Beef Tenderloin With Roquefort - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI
Mai Tai - The Earle, Ann Arbor, MI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
4 More
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Ambiance
Ann Arbor
Best Value
Ann Arbor
Special Occasion
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (54)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Notable Wine List (50)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Cozy (34)
Live Music (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Business Meals (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Historic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The evening was enjoyable; food was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The evening was enjoyable; food was great; service was a bit off. We waited awhile for our wine. Our dinners were served to the wrong table then delivered to us. Nonetheless, The Earle is one of our favorite places. We will be back. Their Happy Hour is the best in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Not what I expected based on others revi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Not what I expected based on others reviews. It was nothing special. It was just an average restaurant with overpriced food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Outstanding from start to finish! Wonder ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding from start to finish! Wonderful food, fabulous service and a great place for a "date night"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early with our grandson, who ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived early with our grandson, who is a student at U of M. The restaurant was mostly empty at the time and the noise level was low. As the restaurant filled, the noise level remained comfortable. I had the veal scallopini, which was delicious. My husband and grandson enjoyed their lambchops and steak. I would definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is very classy, clean and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The restaurant is very classy, clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and the food was very good. The only critique is that our desert want very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Earl is a reference for me. It has p ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Earl is a reference for me. It has personality, charm and presence. This is the best place for a dating night in A2, simple as that.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Earle knocked it out of the park aga ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Earle knocked it out of the park again. All 4 of our entrees were excellent! Duck, veal scallopini, salmon en croute, pasta rustico. Steve made excellent wine selections from the extensive list that he knows well. The most reliably superior food in Ann Arbor. Wine reasonably priced. We will be back soon. Our winter favorite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always had a great dining experience ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always had a great dining experience at the Earle. Nice seating. Service was top of the line. Food and wine selection was great. Nice music although we were just able to enjoy the opening numbers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations for my girlfriends b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I made reservations for my girlfriends birthday. The ambiance was amazing. The live jazz music was relaxing and entertaining! Servers and staff were all kind! I Would definitely go again as well as recommended family and friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Julie provides outstanding service!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Julie provides outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had heard many great things about the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had heard many great things about the Earle and finally had the opportunity to dine at this fine place. The food was amazing, very attentive servers, delicious wine, and great atmosphere. My husband and I will definitely come here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Cozy atmosphere wi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Cozy atmosphere with great jazz music after 8pm. Everyone loved the dinner. Portions were perfect not to much or to little. If I had one complaint it would be the strong odor in the hall near the restrooms.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We 've been to The Earle many times over ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We 've been to The Earle many times over the past decade. It has always been excellent on all counts. This visit was no exception. It is a bit noisy when more than half full, but not exceptionally so - we could carry a conversation with little difficulty. The prices are on the high side, but no more so than other upscale restaurants in the area (thus the "average" value rating), and the food is worth it. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing meals all around! Loved the cala ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing meals all around! Loved the calamari. The duck was the closest to what I've tasted in France. The mixture of flavors with the lamb and the tournados de boeuf were fantastic. The sommelier was a great help. Family came in from out of town for a special occasion and specifically requested this restaurant as their favorite in the area. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as usual, althoug ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food was excellent as usual, although I had to chuckle at the cheaper ingredients (apples and currants instead of pears and raisins...). Our server was very cheerful, helpful, and wonderful, but the server who was in charge of our drinks was not attentive to details (my husband ordered a coke, and nursed a watered down first glass for the entire meal...).

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was a lovely place for birthay dinn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was a lovely place for birthay dinner. The food was delicious, service was very attentive. Jazz trio was in the other room but provided charming background music nonetheless. And offering a birthday discount was unexpected and much appreciated. So much better than a dessert you're too full to eat. Highly recommend. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food as always.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it was a good experience. Howe ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall, it was a good experience. However, when our server discovered we had a gift card, he adopted an attitude and the service slowed down considerably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The Earle is a treasure! Fine cuisine di ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Earle is a treasure! Fine cuisine directed by a great chef is augmented by an outstanding list of wines, with great choices available by both the bottle and the glass. Appetizers, mains, and desserts balance an impressive variety with not having so much that the diner suffers from 'information overload.' The staff are knowledgeable, helpful, pleasant, and professional.

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super delicious food, great service, ple ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Super delicious food, great service, pleasant atmosphere, good time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food as always. Menu rarely change ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food as always. Menu rarely changes much - some seasonal choices would be welcomed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible wine list for any taste and a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Incredible wine list for any taste and any price range. Excellent appetizers and main courses as well. An Ann Arbor favorite

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just went for desert this time but have ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Just went for desert this time but have been a couple time before. Great food, nice music and very nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had dinner here for our 12th wedding ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had dinner here for our 12th wedding anniversary. We weren't especially impressed with the escargot in the puffed pastry as it wasn't very hot. The veal was outstanding and the Dijon salmon absolutely wonderful. We would return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in the back room, which i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were seated in the back room, which isn't very nice. The main rooms have much better ambiance, and live music. The restaurant was busy, and it took a long time for our meals to arrive, although the servers were very apologetic. None of us thought our dinners were worth the wait or the price. I can't recommend going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The duck was delicious as were the Frenc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The duck was delicious as were the French onion soup and the carrot cake. Service was friendly and attentive.. The Earle is a first rate restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and drinks as always. Ver ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks as always. Very good service. My favorite restaurant in Michigan.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our go to restaurants in Ann Arbo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

One of our go to restaurants in Ann Arbor. The happy hour with discounted wine, drinks, appetizers and bowls of mussels for $3.75 is worth the trip. Stay for dinner though. Very good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at The Earle many times. I ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We have eaten at The Earle many times. I believe they have the best food in Ann Arbor. Their wine list has some excellent moderately priced selections. I had the salmon/shrimp entrée...my husband had veal, my son had steak with two sauces. Then we had dessert, crème brule and chocolate mousse. Loved it all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck breast is our menu favorite, bu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The duck breast is our menu favorite, but also like the whitefish, steaks, butternut sq, as well as various pastas. Your wine list & service is the best.....like the affordable selections usually, but will pick something special for celebrations. Our favorite restaurant for many years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food!!! Great service! We wil ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food!!! Great service! We will definitely come back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrees had too much spice / sauces. Ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Entrees had too much spice / sauces. Had the veal, which was tender, but the sauce purse over top was way too sweet and overpowered the overall taste. My friend had the filet with cracked pepper...which was coating the steak making it too spicy.

Nice wine list. Appetizers and soups were very tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to relax with friends. Aweso ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great place to relax with friends. Awesome Happy Hour, $3.95 mussels 20% off drinks at the bar.

Food excellent!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner with our kids ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with our kids and their dates. I miss hearing music, live or piped in.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently good food. The staff always ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Consistently good food. The staff always seems to get the plate in front of you when it is piping hot. If we are looking for a high-end comfort meal, this is where we end up. Management is often running a groupon or similar promotion, so we often use that to help lower the tab.

The best caesar dressing around-so garlicky as to be spicy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not as good as I am used to there. Staff ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not as good as I am used to there. Staff was somewhat ignorant, food was swimming in grease, glass of wine had cork crumbs in it. Disappointing, hopefully just an aberration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The Earle has produced consistently exce ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The Earle has produced consistently excellent food for many years thanks to Shelley Caughey Adams. Steve Goldberg is the highlight for us and keeps us coming back. His extensive list is loaded with fantastic wines at reasonable prices. Steve knows the list and continues to select wines that impress us every time. I hope he never retires. Service and food came a little too slowly but thanks to the outstanding wine Steve picked, we did not mind as much.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were excited to go to The Earle for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were excited to go to The Earle for a nice dinner with friends since it had been many years since we had our first experience there.

We told the waiter from the start that we had a Travel Zoo coupon, and maybe that is why/where things went wrong. Our waiter, who was a bit inattentive to begin with, eventually was replaced by a waitress, who said they were working as a "team". What that resulted in was no one taking care of us. We had to find someone to order an additional cocktail, our dessert never came due to a "lost slip", and I had to refill my own coffee from a server station.

Although the food was hot and tasted fine, the whole experience was dampened by the poor service, although there were MANY staff on hand to serve the patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I've loved the Earle for many years, and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I've loved the Earle for many years, and dined there for many special family occasions. This recent visit was for my birthday. Usually the service and the food are always fantastic. This was the first time that the food seemed sub-par and the service was quite terrible. I hope it was a fluke. It was very busy on a Friday night in October, so maybe the staff was overwhelmed. Either way, it's been my favorite restaurant for years. I hope the quality is not going down. I'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Great place to celebrate a special event ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great place to celebrate a special event, like a birthday. Hostess was particularly helpful in seating us in a quiet booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.