About The Earle

121 West Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

An award winning Ann Arbor institution since 1977, The Earle serves a rotating menu of fine Italian and French cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Selections include lamb chops, veal, beef tenderloin, salmon, duck breast, sea scallops and more. Live jazz plays Tuesday through Saturday in the dining room, while the wine bar offers lighter fare, twenty wines by the glass and Ann Arbor's best Happy Hour. The Earle's nationally recognized wine list (Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence) offers over 1,400 selections. Three private rooms are available and accommodate groups from 6 to 48.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:45 - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashley

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 994-0211

Website:
http://www.theearle.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday we have solo performers (piano or guitar) that play from 8pm until 10pm. On Friday and Saturday we have a soft jazz trio (usually piano, bass and drums). The trio plays from 8:30pm until close. No cover anytime.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available nearby as follows: 1) Large public surface lot that occupies the entire city block, bounded by Huron, First, Washington and Ashley. Entrances are on Ashley (northbound) and First (southbound). This lot is "kitty-corner" from our entrance on Washington St. 2) City parking structure on East Washington (1 1/2 blocks east of The Earle) 3) City structure (very large and always has space) on North Ashley (2 blocks north of The Earle) 4) Street (no meters after 6PM)

Executive Chef:
Shelley Caughey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Earle offers three separate private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Zoe Cowan: 7349940211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes
Risotto Croquettes
Potage Dauphinois
Garpacho
Salmon In Puff Pastry With Basil-Cream Sauce
Duck Breast With Turnip Potato Puree
Pear Tart
Veal
Risotto Balls
Bread
Stuffed Mushrooms
Sautéed Beef Tenderloin With Roquefort
Mai Tai

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Earle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
9 More
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Best Ambiance
Ann Arbor
Best Value
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Romantic
Ann Arbor
Special Occasion
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Special Occasion (101)
Romantic (85)
Notable Wine List (78)
See All
Fit for Foodies (70)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Groups (31)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I came here with two friends and we orde ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

I came here with two friends and we ordered salads, appetizers, and drinks for dinner. The service was great, and the food was good too!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food and service was excellent at th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.Our food and service was excellent at the Earle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with my experience ce ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was very pleased with my experience celebrating my birthday at The Earle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All entrees were delicious, as was the d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

All entrees were delicious, as was the desserts and especially so the caesar salads made with what seemed like dressing from scratch-the authentic way!

One suggestion, Veal Marsala would have been a better choice than Veal Parmigiana, which had a bit too much melted cheese.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality food, Jazz band is a nice touch, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Quality food, Jazz band is a nice touch, good service, pretty expensive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food, service and atmosphere here wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere here was great! If you're thinking about trying this place, go for it! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third (AND LAST) visit to Th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was my third (AND LAST) visit to The Earle. I had previously given it the benefit of the doubt BUT the service has been consistently bad - the wait staff seems disinterested and even when the restaurant is half empty the interminable waiting time for food to arrive at the table is outrageous! When it does arrive the quality is poor - watery overcooked vegetables, cloying sauces and unattractive presentation. I was embarrassed to have taken guests there. At these prices I expect a high quality meal - it was far from that. The Earle no longer lives up to it's former reputation. I cannot in good conscience recommend this restaurant and will definitely NOT be back. By the way, I previously sent a letter to to the owner expressing my concerns but did not receive the courtesy of a reply.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We went to The Earle for a pleasant even ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went to The Earle for a pleasant evening with friends. I usually order the duck breast but I decided to try something different this time, so I ordered the veal scallops. I enjoyed them, but they would have been a lot better if they had less garlic. The garlic was so powerful that I could barely taste the meat or the other ingredients in the sauce. On the other hand, our one friend loved her whitefish and our other friend and my wife loved the coquilles st. jacques. I tasted the coquilles and wished I had ordered that instead; they were delicious.

The service was excellent and the server recommended good wines to accompany our meals. I will definitely return to The Earle, but I don't think I'll order veal scallops again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hi I wouldn't post this, the earl was wo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Hi I wouldn't post this, the earl was wonderful. And it doesn't change my opinion but if I can send in a pic please tell me, we ordered the mushrooms as an app and a veggie in the dish had a sticker on it still kind of a buzz kill. However I would still come back :-)

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

as always food good service good only ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

as always food good service good only suggestion menu alittle stale not many changes like thet used to do years ago had a half off coupon better yet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. Service was friendly ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was good. Service was friendly, but the order took entirely too long. Most of our time was spent waiting for the food. Restaurants wasn't even half full. It was probably just an off day or mistake and others will have a great time, but for the price and time it took, I'll look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We made a reservation for 4 to celebrate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We made a reservation for 4 to celebrate a birthday. The Earl was very quiet when we arrived (it was the 2nd day of the Ann Arbor Art Fair) but we had made an early reservation knowing that it would get busy later in the evening. We were seated in a somewhat undesirable part of the restaurant (near the firehose) which was disappointing given that they were NOT busy at all. I'm not sure why were seated there as we were appropriately dressed. We did not complain. The service was good but not overly friendly. The food was excellent.

I would recommend but with the suggestion that you specify the area in which you would like to be seated.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always great food. Service, in the end, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always great food.

Service, in the end, not so great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We always enjoy a dinner at The Earle wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We always enjoy a dinner at The Earle when we are in Ann Arbor for the Art Fair. Our server Dwayne is tops. The best onion soup. Wonderful service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Had a great evening

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great meal. Had a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've gone to the Earle for years. The w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've gone to the Earle for years. The wait staff generally has a sense of humor. The atmosphere is unique and welcoming. The food is always delicious. The coupon ($10 off) helps....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've loved the Earle for many years. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've loved the Earle for many years. The ambience is wonderful; it's comfortable, the wine list is fantastic and reasonably priced, and the service is outstanding. However, I am tired of the largely unchanging menu and the unchanging desserts. I've been coming to the Earle since the 90s, and while the food is good, there is no recognition that food has changed in the outside world. The main flavor in my last meal was butter. I love butter, but it was too much even for me. I'd love to see some lighter, cleaner food with herbs and spices. I want the chef and owner to take some risks and make some changes. Otherwise, I can't see it lasting much longer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fabulous, service very attentive ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is fabulous, service very attentive. The 3 piece jazz group is a bonus to a wonderful dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great service and outstanding ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, great service and outstanding food experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went out for a date night and was ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went out for a date night and was very pleased. The food was outstanding and the service was amazing. Our waiters were very attentive and always had a smile on their faces (yes we had 2 servers). The scallops and steak were wonderful and would definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at the Earle. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at the Earle. It was a pleasant evening and we were able to sit outside (be careful as the sidewalk is not totally level). The wine list is impressive both by the bottle or glass and the menu varied. My husband had the peppered tenderloin which he found very good, and it was cooked to perfection. I enjoyed the scallops immensely.

Service was alright. All tables were full outside and I think they could have used a little more help. We were not even asked if we wanted dessert (very important course), so we walked around and got some elsewhere.

All in all though, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I ordered the scallops and I did not exp ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I ordered the scallops and I did not expect the sauce to be so rich. I actually got sick after dinner. We also ordered the pesto chicken, salmon and steak covered w peppercorn. The chicken was okay, my friend said the salmon was overcooked, and the steak was delicious. We also ordered escargot, calamari and stuffed mushrooms. The appetizers were generally delicious except for the escargot which tasted fishy. Service was good. Probably wouldn't come back because the scallops made me sick, however someone else ordered it from our table and she didn't get sick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great location. Underground. Nice jazz, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great location. Underground. Nice jazz, but loud and poor entrees. Eggplant parmesan and chicken pasta were limp and tasteless. Salmon in the puff pastry tasted ok but was very salty and heavy. Felt gross afterwards. Desserts were excellent. Good wine and drinks menu but not acceptable for such a pricey place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great food- excellent ambience with the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food- excellent ambience with the live jazz. Wait staff was great and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent! Quality food, exceptio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always excellent! Quality food, exceptional wine list. The linguine with shrimp was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday, not only was my meal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was my birthday, not only was my meal free but there is a sliding percentage for the rest of your party. Food was great, service exceptional, you always know what you are getting at the Earle...consistency!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food in a really neat old fashione ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

great food in a really neat old fashioned under ground setting.

Wine list is great, and jazz or similar music almost every night.

Half price birthday special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at the Earle and loved the lo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time at the Earle and loved the look of the restaurant. Wine list was amazing, food was decent. I was a little surprised that the food wasn't better, but I could be picky and spoiled as I live in Seattle and have been exposed to many wonderful restaurants. Serves were fantastic and my friends loved the restaurant overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food and ambiance were very ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall the food and ambiance were very good. The porterhouse steak was one of the most expensive items on the menu but had a lot of fat on it. The most disappointing thing was our waiter, who had the personality of an avocado. His service was efficient, but quite curt. It was our anniversary and it would have been nice to have a server who was more upbeat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. W ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The Earle is our favorite restaurant. We dine there frequently as well as entertain family & friends there. The food and service are excellent. Love it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for the first time for our an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went there for the first time for our anniversary and was a Great choice! Food and service was excellent and was given a gift certificate to return which we will.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here to meet a friend I haven't see ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Came here to meet a friend I haven't seen in a while, fantastic food (I got the duck), wonderful server and there was a jazz band playing. I would come here every weekend if my budget allowed me too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The duck breasts are the best I have eve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The duck breasts are the best I have ever eaten. The wine list is superb. Steve, the wine expert, is very helpful in choosing a wine that you like when describing your tastes in wine. Since this was restaurant week, the restaurant was very busy, and the service was slow. The owner, Dennis, was refilling water glasses. Desserts are always high on the scale, chocolate mousse and creme brulee. As always, we enjoy the Earle for great dinner and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

I love the Earle , unfortunately the las ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I love the Earle , unfortunately the last two times I have been it takes forever to get your food! Not sure what is going on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Lovely meal , apps,cocktails, wine and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely meal , apps,cocktails, wine and shared dessert for special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food and service is truly outstanding and we would not think of going anywhere else for special occasions or just with a group of friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, attentive service good v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service good value during restaurant week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Earle is one of my favorite restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Earle is one of my favorite restaurants and never disappoints. I always get their salmon wrapped in puff pastry and this time my boyfriend had the duck, which was also very good. They have by far the best service I have ever experienced. As we are still young, we can only afford to go a couple times a year, but every time the waitress or sommelier helps us pick out a bottle of wine. Usually nice places like this will always point you towards an outrageously expensive bottle, but we explained cost is a factor and they had no trouble pointing us to a bottle between $20-30 without a second thought. Highly recommend for any special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Ann A ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Ann Arbor - we go a few times a year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places for excellent stea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

One of the few places for excellent steak and other great food along with outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.