About The Dish

205 N. 10th St, Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

The Dish is a bistro-style restaurant with a heartfelt neighborhood feel. Our passion derives from delicious food, using quality local ingredients, and creating an atmosphere that is community-focused, warm, and intimate. We hope the Dish will quickly become your home away from home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 344-4231

Website:
http://www.thedishboise.com/

Catering:
Custom built to Catering Specifications.

Parking Details:
Guests have the option of using public street parking and a private lot behind the building

Executive Chef:
Jered McCusker

Private Party Facilities:
For Private Functions we have 3 Private Rooms that hold up to 150
and 1 semi private room that holds up to 40.

Private Party Contact:
Eric White: (208)344-4231x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Calamari
kimchi
Cubano
Thai Coconut Chicken Soup
Mac & Cheese
beet fries
Curried Salmon
Fried Cheese Curds
currywurst
Shrimp Stuffed John Dory
Apple Fries
Pan Roasted Monkfish
Baby Ice Berg

The Dish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Idaho
Outdoor Dining
Idaho
Best Food
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

fit for foodies (16)
special occasion (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
See All
good for groups (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (6)
romantic (5)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to the Dish on the recommendatio ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Dish on the recommendation of a family member. The food was delicious! Much different than anything around town. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Dish. The f ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was my second visit to Dish. The first visit was a busy Saturday night, second visit a quiet Monday. The food is impeccably prepared, and beautifully served both times.

I have had the opportunity to taste the Kimchi fries, beet fries, roast cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, brisket, pork po' boy, and salmon salad. (Lots of sharing!) ALL were delightful! But my favorite was the shrimp and grits. I had never had it before, and what a treat! The grits and shrimp were cooked perfectly, and the flavors were delicately balanced. The sagey sausage added excitement to the dish, and the roasted tomatoes were simply divine.

Do not miss a chance to eat at Dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Somehow I have missed The Dish since it ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Somehow I have missed The Dish since it opened, but it is now on my short list! Adventurous food that tastes amazing! Attentive but not hovering staff. Chef who will come to the table to discuss food. Leave room for desert! Everything, beginning to end, was delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent. It was well present ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was excellent. It was well presented, tasted great and prepared well.

Service was also excellent and was timely. All in all we had an excellent experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are semi-regulars at the Dish. I hav ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are semi-regulars at the Dish. I have never had a bad meal or experience here. Do not miss the kimchi fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my husband's birthday and just th ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and just the two of us dined out that night. The service and food was absolutely phenomenal! The efforts put in by the chef and his kitchen staff is so refreshing to see and taste. The pork belly lettuce wraps were delicious! I would highly recommend The Dish to anyone that enjoys fresh ingredients and artistic presentation. A real gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brisket is out of this world!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Brisket is out of this world!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like Dish. The chef has depart ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We really like Dish. The chef has departed for greener pastures and his replacement is capable but my dish (daily special filet with morels) was underseasoned and the mushrooms seemed to be hard, perhaps not rehydrated fully. Service is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We love the Kimchee Fries! So amazing! O ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love the Kimchee Fries! So amazing! Our entire meal was fantastic and the service was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. We b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. We brought our own wine, but noticed that the wine prices are expressive. Other than that, have absolutely nothing negative to say; it was a great dining experience. Our waiter Joe did an excellent job. The manager came to our outside table to check on us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner with friends midweek and t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had dinner with friends midweek and the restaurant was very busy. They accommodated our request for a little later arrival. Good wine list and very pleasant staff. The noise level when they are busy makes it a little hard to carry on conversation. Great server without too much involvement during the meal. The only thing we all really did not like is the fact that the staff started breaking down tables and "cleaning up" while we were still dining. It's like saying "get out of here so we can go home". Bringing in chairs, moving tables, chairs etc. To us this is a real negative. There were other diners also still eating. It really was not that late, probably around 9 - 9:15 PM. Doesn't really favor even considering having desert.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The sweet potato fries were really good ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The sweet potato fries were really good as were the entrees. We had salmon and the cubano sandwich. The recommended dessert was not very good. Deep fried chocolate cake and 3 sauces. The cake batter was still raw and the sauces were bland. Eat dinner there and go home or elsewhere for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our first visit--loved the food, fabulou ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our first visit--loved the food, fabulous service, excellent music. We'll be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice for a family celebratio ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was very nice for a family celebration. The food was good if a little pricy for what you got. The one exception was the Crusted Mac & Cheese, there was no cheese sauce and the 'Crust' was so done it smelled burnt. They had the doors open to the patio where they had live music, which was wonderful at first glance, but it was 97 degrees and we had to leave immediately after our meal due to being too hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Have eaten here three times and always h ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Have eaten here three times and always had great food, great service, and good table. Very nice dining experience! Will recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable... Attentive ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was impeccable... Attentive but not overbearing. The food was top notch... We had the calamari which was not fried; nice twist! We also had the beef cheeks and, once again, a great twist... Don't be scared, it's really good! The atmosphere was nice; a small buzz to the air but not to loud and the decor felt almost diner-ish but with a chic twist. Beer selection a tad bit limited but I found what I wanted and the wine selection was fairly good. Definitely will return and I would recommend The Dish to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Incredible food and excellent service!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Incredible food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Food!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The 5 of us enjoyed many different offerings for dinner with all but the steaks earning rave reviews. Great service even though super busy. Cool vibe and creative dishes.

Will definately be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful evening

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was superb, service was even better. My favorite restaurant in Boise. My steak was perfectly prepared. The kimche fries were a great appetizer. Go here for a delightful dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I eat at the dish at least once a month since it opened. Perhaps the most innovative food in the city. The flavors, textures and presentations are always outstanding. The Dish offers many appetizer, entre, and dessert specials that continuously change so you cant get tired of going there. And Chantel is are favorite server in the city. She knows what we like, she always takes the time to explain in detail all the specials and she always make great suggestions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dish is D-Lish

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

It doesn't get any better than Dish. A foodies heaven, and a delight for anyone who appreciates cutting edge dishes prepared with precision and copious amounts of flavor. Nothing on the menu will disappoint. Could very well be the best meal in all of Boise. Do yourself a favor and make plans to hit up Dish for a meal that will not soon be forgotten.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is simply wonderful. The ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

This restaurant is simply wonderful. The dishes were spectacular and unique. Chantelle was our waitress and she went out of her way to make my husbands birthday fun and our experience there was outstanding. I can't recommend it enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Downtown Boise Meal

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The Dish was terrific for dinner last Friday. The limited menu is all over the place, but what we pieced together was very well done. Notable dishes include the Brussel sprouts, the playful take on potatoes (Banh Mi fries), the Buttermilk Chicken and the Beef cheeks. The beer selection is quite good. A full bar and a bit more clued in service would have moved my rating to 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had an awesome late dinner before headin ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Had an awesome late dinner before heading over for the spud drop New Years Eve night. Started with beef tongue fritters, then had a beet salad, beef cheeks with scalloped potatoes, plus some great beers. Only thing that wasn't expected was the limited menu for New Years Eve. Nothing was posted on website about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, very slow service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was very good, appetizer was great but overpriced. Took way too long to receive appetizer and entrees. Got there at 8:15 and left promptly after eating at 10. Disappointing time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

Great Food, Slow and Poor New Year Service

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The Good:

Food was amazing and the atmosphere is fun. I also think it's a fair price for the presentation, quality and portion of food.

The Not so Good:

Reservation at 8:15 on New Years Eve. Sat right away, because honestly it wasn't that busy for the occasion. It took 15 minutes to have the waitress come by and give us menus. She then said she'd be right back and another 15 minutes went by. We were finally able to order drinks 30 minutes in and it's NOT A FULL BAR. This should be more visible (or visible) on the home page. After getting our drinks almost an hour in we then ordered dinner (at this point most tables are leaving). Apps came in about 30 minutes so no big deal there (if we could have ordered more wine), but we had to wrangle the waitress to do that. Then our entrees came about 40 minutes later (over 2 hours in no) and we hadn't even received our salads. This showed up about 5 minutes after entrees.

By the time we finished eating and was able to get our check (no dessert because 2016 war almost upon us) was 11:30.

With all that there were several dishes I would love to have again and recommend, but the management has to figure out the kitchen and the waitstaff. Had the waitress kept us in the loop and well hydrated this could have been much more enjoyable. Hard to recommend based on our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Dishlicious!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining at The Dish. Excellent service; the bartender made sure to check in with the hostess when our table was delayed. They ended up giving us a better table that came open before ours. The food was amazing...beef cheeks were so tender. Delicious wine paring and a fun waiter to top it off. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Gastronomical Delight

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu featured 2015 favorites, lots of excellent choices. The salmon with curry sauce was superb. The wait staff was attentive and engaging in spite of it being a busy, chaotic evening. Definitely want to return to try other menu choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was marvelous. Our server was w ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was marvelous. Our server was wonderful also, as were the other employees we encountered. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New Years service was POOR

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

On New Years it was recommended to order from one to 4 of the courses at the start of the meal to speed up the service. NO WAY. It took 3 hours for our appetizer, salad, main and dessert to finally get to our table. One order was completely wrong but accepted as we were two hours into the "meal" at that point, one order was so awful that the "Tortellini" tasted more like a tamale. We were told we would have our bill adjusted for the two issues. No way. I will not return to their establishment again. The menu is for "foodies", I simply wanted food. Thankfully, it was at least with good company to converse with.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was very original and it was a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The food was very original and it was a good experience to sample each others dishes. We were treated like we were special. I would recommend this restaurant for celebrating something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just great--extremely accommodating waiter

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

We love the dish and took out of town guests there.

A young man in our party was extremely finicky and our waiter was the Best! Our food was amazing too....sorry for the high maintenance table but we did appreciate this very much..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed so much!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

What a wonderful experience. This place is a beautiful addition to our neighborhood. Every person on the team is passionate about what they do, and the experience shows that. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

My partner, friends, and I come here often. The food is generally my right up my alley. Some of it is a little overdone and greasy/cheesy, but the flavor is great on everything. I can't remember a time I didn't like something I had. I've eaten here so much, that I've got stuck in a mode where I order the same thing almost every time. Last time I was there, I asked the server to surprise me, and ended up with a salmon curry dish. I was very pleasantly surprised. I loved it. Desserts are awesome, service is awesome, and it's a great time whenever we're there. The only improvement I would suggest is liquor, but I under that's not an easy thing to get.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads and vegetables shine here

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We were a group of five on a busy Saturday with the restaurant filled with large groups. Service was well intentioned, but she was assigned too many large groups on what seemed to be multiple floors. We had several good appetizers and then entrees with some excellent sides. I sometimes order one of the veggie sides (cauliflower or brussels sprouts) as an entree as they are that good. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Boise...creative, good food in a nice setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Divine

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Amazing food, impeccable service. In my opinion the best place to experience "foodgasm"))

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a favorite restaurant of ours of ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

This is a favorite restaurant of ours offering a wide variety of entrees. Always something new to try and absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb service coupled with a unique yet ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Superb service coupled with a unique yet cozy atmosphere complimented the respect this chef has for his dishes. Most restaurants cover up the heart of the meal with unnecessary spices and sauces, but not here. The bold combination of untraditional ingredients are prepared together for a flavorful experience. Come with an open mind and don't hesitate to try something new because you will leave satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service.

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I Love the atmosphere and the food choices were excellent. Priced well and not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.