Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Asiago'sAsiago's
(961)
$$$$
Italian | Boise, Boise
Booked 5 times today
Bombay GrillBombay Grill
(5)
$$$$
Indian | Boise, Boise
BerryhillBerryhill
(1015)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Boise, Boise
Booked 2 times today
ALAVITAALAVITA
(300)
$$$$
Italian | Boise, Boise
Booked 15 times today
Owyhee TavernOwyhee Tavern
(43)
$$$$
American | Boise, Boise
Booked 10 times today
ForkFork
(1299)
$$$$
American | Boise, Boise
Booked 13 times today
JuniperJuniper
(170)
$$$$
American | Boise, Boise
Booked 8 times today
lock stock and barrellock stock and barrel
(496)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Boise, Boise
Booked 4 times today
Red Feather LoungeRed Feather Lounge
(451)
$$$$
Northwest | Boise, Boise
Booked 10 times today
Chandlers SteakhouseChandlers Steakhouse
(1436)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Boise, Boise
Booked 15 times today
Flatbread Neapolitan Pizzeria - BoiseFlatbread Neapolitan Pizzeria - Boise
(34)
$$$$
Pizzeria | Boise, Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - BoiseRuth's Chris Steak House - Boise
(248)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Boise, Boise
Booked 4 times today
Saint Lawrence GridironSaint Lawrence Gridiron
(84)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Boise, Boise
Booked 3 times today
Richard'sRichard's
(678)
$$$$
Italian | Boise, Boise
Booked 17 times today

About Permanently Closed - The Dish

205 N. 10th St, Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The Dish is a bistro-style restaurant with a heartfelt neighborhood feel. Our passion derives from delicious food, using quality local ingredients, and creating an atmosphere that is community-focused, warm, and intimate. We hope the Dish will quickly become your home away from home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 344-4231

Website:
http://www.thedishboise.com/

Catering:
Custom built to Catering Specifications.

Parking Details:
Guests have the option of using public street parking and a private lot behind the building

Executive Chef:
Jered McCusker

Private Party Facilities:
For Private Functions we have 3 Private Rooms that hold up to 150
and 1 semi private room that holds up to 40.

Private Party Contact:
Eric White: (208)344-4231x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari - The Dish, Boise, ID
beet fries  - The Dish, Boise, ID
Mac & Cheese - The Dish, Boise, ID
Thai Coconut Chicken Soup - The Dish, Boise, ID
Curried Salmon - The Dish, Boise, ID
Fried Cheese Curds - The Dish, Boise, ID
currywurst - The Dish, Boise, ID
Shrimp Stuffed John Dory - The Dish, Boise, ID
Apple Fries - The Dish, Boise, ID
kimchi - The Dish, Boise, ID
Baby Ice Berg - The Dish, Boise, ID
Pan Roasted Monkfish - The Dish, Boise, ID
Cubano - The Dish, Boise, ID

The Dish - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (5)
See All
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was absolutely fantastic! We ha ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic! We had reservations for 9 and were please to find our table ready and waiting. We were a little disappointed in some of the limitations of the "lunch menu" (i.e. no pita nachos and fewer vegetarian options). The service was slow, however, and it took over 35 minutes for us to get our food in a restaurant with only 6-8 other customers. We were seated and reviewing the menu for several minutes and 4 of us had decided on an item the server later told us (as she walked by) wasn't available. One of our party was informed that one of the items she ordered wasn't available until immediately before our food was out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We have always enjoyed The Dish but not ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have always enjoyed The Dish but not sure if there is a new Chef or it was just an off night. The Pasta special was ridiculously salty, so much so that it could not be consumed. The Brisket was delicious but very rich. The desserts were interesting mixing sweet with savory, not something I particularly enjoy, and did not this evening. Banana and curry sherbet tasted just like that, and not enjoyable, watermelon and basil also off putting. So if this is your kind of thing, experimenting, maybe its for you. But when I spend $$, I want to love every bite. Tonight was a disappointment. To the Chef's credit he did apologize and threw in the desserts for free.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal and great wine list. Sec d ti ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great meal and great wine list. Sec d time there and look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best filet iI have had in year ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I had the best filet iI have had in years served with delightful weggies. Everything was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at the Dish--and the wait sta ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food at the Dish--and the wait staff were knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient. I had steelhead, my boyfriend the chicken--moist, savory, and accompanied by great sides.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both excellent. B ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food and service were both excellent. Beet salad with pickled fennel is one that I will go back for, and the beef tenderloin with jalapeno demi glace was memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went for a birthday celebration...it ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration...it was our first time at this restaurant and it was delicious! Service was great the menu was innovative and many things to choose from. We will go back to sample other dishes. We enjoyed it immensely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Dish served one of the best meals I' ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Dish served one of the best meals I've had in Boise. Five of us went out on this occasion and we were all supremely happy with our choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of 7... Very easy going. 20% gratu ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Group of 7... Very easy going. 20% gratuity... I think the server knew he didn't have to work too hard. No offer in birthday desert or drink, not expected but would've been nice. Overall 4 out of 5, but a little spendy! Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Dish was delicious! A spectacular r ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Dish was delicious! A spectacular restaurant with tasty food and great service. Also, the design and location was refreshing, just a little off the beaten path but still in a great downtown Boise location with easy acces and free parking on the street.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our dining experience. I appreciat ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Loved our dining experience. I appreciate restaurants that change up the menu and play with flavors. Much of the restaurants locally lose their creative touch and stick to the same menu. I have always found The Dish to keep a fresh new perspective on flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dish is our go to restaurant. If you are ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dish is our go to restaurant. If you are an adventurous eater then be sure to sample the Kimchi fries. They are odd and surprisingly delicious all in the same moment.

All of the main courses have an eclectic flair. Our children love their hamburgers, my husband enjoys the Beef Cheeks Bourguignon and I am a sucker for anything with scallops. If you like delicious, unique and out of the box food, than Dish is a must try.

Not to mention they have one of the best hamburgers in Boise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went to the Dish on the recommendatio ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to the Dish on the recommendation of a family member. The food was delicious! Much different than anything around town. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Dish. The f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was my second visit to Dish. The first visit was a busy Saturday night, second visit a quiet Monday. The food is impeccably prepared, and beautifully served both times.

I have had the opportunity to taste the Kimchi fries, beet fries, roast cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, brisket, pork po' boy, and salmon salad. (Lots of sharing!) ALL were delightful! But my favorite was the shrimp and grits. I had never had it before, and what a treat! The grits and shrimp were cooked perfectly, and the flavors were delicately balanced. The sagey sausage added excitement to the dish, and the roasted tomatoes were simply divine.

Do not miss a chance to eat at Dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Somehow I have missed The Dish since it ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Somehow I have missed The Dish since it opened, but it is now on my short list! Adventurous food that tastes amazing! Attentive but not hovering staff. Chef who will come to the table to discuss food. Leave room for desert! Everything, beginning to end, was delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent. It was well present ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was excellent. It was well presented, tasted great and prepared well.

Service was also excellent and was timely. All in all we had an excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are semi-regulars at the Dish. I hav ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are semi-regulars at the Dish. I have never had a bad meal or experience here. Do not miss the kimchi fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my husband's birthday and just th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and just the two of us dined out that night. The service and food was absolutely phenomenal! The efforts put in by the chef and his kitchen staff is so refreshing to see and taste. The pork belly lettuce wraps were delicious! I would highly recommend The Dish to anyone that enjoys fresh ingredients and artistic presentation. A real gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brisket is out of this world!!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Brisket is out of this world!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like Dish. The chef has depart ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We really like Dish. The chef has departed for greener pastures and his replacement is capable but my dish (daily special filet with morels) was underseasoned and the mushrooms seemed to be hard, perhaps not rehydrated fully. Service is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We love the Kimchee Fries! So amazing! O ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love the Kimchee Fries! So amazing! Our entire meal was fantastic and the service was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. We b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. We brought our own wine, but noticed that the wine prices are expressive. Other than that, have absolutely nothing negative to say; it was a great dining experience. Our waiter Joe did an excellent job. The manager came to our outside table to check on us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner with friends midweek and t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had dinner with friends midweek and the restaurant was very busy. They accommodated our request for a little later arrival. Good wine list and very pleasant staff. The noise level when they are busy makes it a little hard to carry on conversation. Great server without too much involvement during the meal. The only thing we all really did not like is the fact that the staff started breaking down tables and "cleaning up" while we were still dining. It's like saying "get out of here so we can go home". Bringing in chairs, moving tables, chairs etc. To us this is a real negative. There were other diners also still eating. It really was not that late, probably around 9 - 9:15 PM. Doesn't really favor even considering having desert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The sweet potato fries were really good ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 15, 2016

The sweet potato fries were really good as were the entrees. We had salmon and the cubano sandwich. The recommended dessert was not very good. Deep fried chocolate cake and 3 sauces. The cake batter was still raw and the sauces were bland. Eat dinner there and go home or elsewhere for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our first visit--loved the food, fabulou ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our first visit--loved the food, fabulous service, excellent music. We'll be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice for a family celebratio ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was very nice for a family celebration. The food was good if a little pricy for what you got. The one exception was the Crusted Mac & Cheese, there was no cheese sauce and the 'Crust' was so done it smelled burnt. They had the doors open to the patio where they had live music, which was wonderful at first glance, but it was 97 degrees and we had to leave immediately after our meal due to being too hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Have eaten here three times and always h ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Have eaten here three times and always had great food, great service, and good table. Very nice dining experience! Will recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable... Attentive ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was impeccable... Attentive but not overbearing. The food was top notch... We had the calamari which was not fried; nice twist! We also had the beef cheeks and, once again, a great twist... Don't be scared, it's really good! The atmosphere was nice; a small buzz to the air but not to loud and the decor felt almost diner-ish but with a chic twist. Beer selection a tad bit limited but I found what I wanted and the wine selection was fairly good. Definitely will return and I would recommend The Dish to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Incredible food and excellent service!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Incredible food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Food!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 23, 2016

The 5 of us enjoyed many different offerings for dinner with all but the steaks earning rave reviews. Great service even though super busy. Cool vibe and creative dishes.

Will definately be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful evening

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was superb, service was even better. My favorite restaurant in Boise. My steak was perfectly prepared. The kimche fries were a great appetizer. Go here for a delightful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 16, 2016

I eat at the dish at least once a month since it opened. Perhaps the most innovative food in the city. The flavors, textures and presentations are always outstanding. The Dish offers many appetizer, entre, and dessert specials that continuously change so you cant get tired of going there. And Chantel is are favorite server in the city. She knows what we like, she always takes the time to explain in detail all the specials and she always make great suggestions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dish is D-Lish

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 10, 2016

It doesn't get any better than Dish. A foodies heaven, and a delight for anyone who appreciates cutting edge dishes prepared with precision and copious amounts of flavor. Nothing on the menu will disappoint. Could very well be the best meal in all of Boise. Do yourself a favor and make plans to hit up Dish for a meal that will not soon be forgotten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is simply wonderful. The ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 10, 2016

This restaurant is simply wonderful. The dishes were spectacular and unique. Chantelle was our waitress and she went out of her way to make my husbands birthday fun and our experience there was outstanding. I can't recommend it enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Downtown Boise Meal

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 9, 2016

The Dish was terrific for dinner last Friday. The limited menu is all over the place, but what we pieced together was very well done. Notable dishes include the Brussel sprouts, the playful take on potatoes (Banh Mi fries), the Buttermilk Chicken and the Beef cheeks. The beer selection is quite good. A full bar and a bit more clued in service would have moved my rating to 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had an awesome late dinner before headin ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Had an awesome late dinner before heading over for the spud drop New Years Eve night. Started with beef tongue fritters, then had a beet salad, beef cheeks with scalloped potatoes, plus some great beers. Only thing that wasn't expected was the limited menu for New Years Eve. Nothing was posted on website about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, very slow service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was very good, appetizer was great but overpriced. Took way too long to receive appetizer and entrees. Got there at 8:15 and left promptly after eating at 10. Disappointing time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

Great Food, Slow and Poor New Year Service

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The Good:

Food was amazing and the atmosphere is fun. I also think it's a fair price for the presentation, quality and portion of food.

The Not so Good:

Reservation at 8:15 on New Years Eve. Sat right away, because honestly it wasn't that busy for the occasion. It took 15 minutes to have the waitress come by and give us menus. She then said she'd be right back and another 15 minutes went by. We were finally able to order drinks 30 minutes in and it's NOT A FULL BAR. This should be more visible (or visible) on the home page. After getting our drinks almost an hour in we then ordered dinner (at this point most tables are leaving). Apps came in about 30 minutes so no big deal there (if we could have ordered more wine), but we had to wrangle the waitress to do that. Then our entrees came about 40 minutes later (over 2 hours in no) and we hadn't even received our salads. This showed up about 5 minutes after entrees.

By the time we finished eating and was able to get our check (no dessert because 2016 war almost upon us) was 11:30.

With all that there were several dishes I would love to have again and recommend, but the management has to figure out the kitchen and the waitstaff. Had the waitress kept us in the loop and well hydrated this could have been much more enjoyable. Hard to recommend based on our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Dishlicious!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining at The Dish. Excellent service; the bartender made sure to check in with the hostess when our table was delayed. They ended up giving us a better table that came open before ours. The food was amazing...beef cheeks were so tender. Delicious wine paring and a fun waiter to top it off. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Gastronomical Delight

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu featured 2015 favorites, lots of excellent choices. The salmon with curry sauce was superb. The wait staff was attentive and engaging in spite of it being a busy, chaotic evening. Definitely want to return to try other menu choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.