About The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn

88 Riverside Ave. (W. Front St.)
Red Bank, NJ 07701
View Larger Map

The Molly Pitcher Inn prides itself not only in its fine dining menu but also its service and atmosphere. It is an ideal setting for that special occasion or just an elegant dining experience. Under the crystal chandeliers of our Dining Room, we serve some the most tantalizing cuisine in all of New Jersey. Our panoramic windows provide a truly breathtaking vista. No matter what season or time of day, the quiet stillness of the Navesink River envelops all who dine here.
Our famed Sunday Brunch has been the proud recipient of the Asbury Park Press, Readers’ Choice Award for Best Brunch since 1996. The Brunch is available Sundays from October through mid-June. On Easter, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas we offer a seasonal and more extensive Brunch for our guests to celebrate their special holidays; reservations are required.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm (October 20 - Father's Day)
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm (Lunch not served on Sundays during Brunch season)
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Riverside Ave

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 747-2500

Website:
http://www.themollypitcher.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live piano and singing Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings, and Sundays during our Brunch Buffet. Supper Club Dinners, Wine Dinners and Special Events!

Catering:
Extensive selection of banquet menus are available, including Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet and Tea.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet service available for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Red Bank Train Station.

Executive Chef:
Bill Roll

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
New Jersey - Central
Special Occasion
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Red Bank ›

scenic view (27)
special occasion (25)
great for brunch (19)
See All
romantic (17)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (10)
fit for foodies (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
notable wine list (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful place to celebrate ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was a wonderful place to celebrate my graduation. The service was exceptional, our waiter Nelson made the experience very special! I would definitely recommend Molly Pitcher Inn.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

DINNER

Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely venue enjoyed a wonderful view overlooking the Navesink River. However, disappointing meal. Entrees fair; (we had two different fish entress) presentation artfully arranged but meager portions. My fish dish was to be served with vegetables which turned out to be two peelings of squash which were decorative but hardly could be classified as a dish with vegetables.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So good

Dined on April 25, 2016

Got a last minute lunch reservation at the Inn to take an out of town guest. View was beautiful. They were impressed. The food was good, the service outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Date Night

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went to Molly Putcher Inn for Dinner. The food was great or server was excellent my only real complaint was that the lighting in the dinning room was to bright so you couldn't see the beautiful waterfront scenery when it got dark out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful view. Wonderful attentive serv ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Beautiful view. Wonderful attentive service. Nice portions. Tasty dishes.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to enjoy for a special occ ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Great place to enjoy for a special occasion. Service is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

A lovely, relaxing experience dining wit ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

A lovely, relaxing experience dining with a beautiful view. The quality of the food was equal to the level of the ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining

Dined on March 4, 2016

I am a frequent diner at the Molly Pitcher Inn for many reasons. The food is of the best quality. It is always presented beautifully and cooked to perfection. The wait staff is polite and competent, especially Hallie and Lauro and Juan. The environment is perfect; it is quiet, but not to quiet, it is well lit, you can actually read the menu; you can enjoy a beautiful meal and at the same time enjoy your company. There is no having to negotiate with the environment which I find at many trendy restaurants. The tables are far enough apart that everyone isn't on top of each other. I am thankful to have such a quality restaurant so close to where I live.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Beautiful presentation. ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Amazing food. Beautiful presentation. The MP provided a wonderful NJ experience for clients from the West Coast.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Dinner 40th anniversary

Dined on February 17, 2016

Went for dinner February 17th . The appetizers fell short. The figs had no cheese filling and the salad no nuts, as indicated on the menu. We mentioned it to waitress, she said she will tell chef. She also knew we ordered the figs because of the cheese. She returned , never mentioning an apology from anyone. The main course that my husband was to have fingerling potatoes. No fingerling, a line of mashed. Disappointed in our dining experience. We mentioned that it was a special occasion. Won't be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was attentive, and knowledgeable!

Dined on February 17, 2016

It has been at least 2 years since we were back to the Molly Pitcher for dinner and don't know why we waited that long! Always consistent with dinner, friendly staff, and love the fact that men must wear a jacket! Our niece had their wedding reception here, and my high school pals of 30 years meet for brunch. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It didn't happen

Dined on February 6, 2016

We received a phone call at around1pm that the restaurant was not opening on Friday night. They changed our reservations to the bar area. Needles to say we cancelled as we were looking for a romantic dinner. It also made it impossible to get a resonable time dinner reservation😟

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Have been going here for many years and it never disappoints. Beautiful atmosphere overlooking the Navesink River. Food is always delicious. Limited menu but wonderful choices; Seafood pie, salmon, fillet , pasta etc. and served to perfection. I had my 70th party here and it was Fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely Venue

Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband & I got married 4 yrs. ago at the Molly Pitcher & they did an outstanding job. We've recommended them to many of our friends & family. Our dining experience the other night was lovely, although it fell short in several respects. I felt that the beef was not done to what we expected when we asked for medium. When we received our plates, the filet was red & bloody in the center & although we sent it back to have it cooked more, the flavor was not tastiest. Bland is the only word I can think of if that can apply to meat flavor! Considering the cost of the Filet Minon, we expected something outstanding. However, our waitress was wonderful, we had a wonderful view of the river, the dining room is very pretty & if it wasn't for one woman, at the table next to us whose voice was so loud it was jarring, we had a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary celebration.

Dined on January 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 51st Anniversary Sat. night. We were happy that the hostess honored our request for a window table. Our cocktails were as ordered and our appetizers and dinner were excellent. We had only ordered coffee and after dinner drinks for dessert and were pleasantly surprised with a delicious gelato with a Happy Anniversary wish on the plate. We totally enjoyed our evening and would absolutely come back or recommend for a wonderful dining experience. The piano in the lounge was also very nice in the dining room.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was over cooked. Beautiful room an ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

Food was over cooked. Beautiful room and friendly service - sad the food was not up to area stanards.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Birthday Lunch

Dined on December 24, 2015

The restaurant in the hotel couldn't be nicer for the view.Unfortunately my food did not live up to the view. My fish smelled of fish and it should not have that odor. I had to ask for lemon.. The chicken pot pie was a popular dish and looked good.I wonder who the Chef is at his place? Service was very good as well as the deserts.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife's retirement

Dined on December 23, 2015

The atmosphere, service, and meal all were excellent. My son and I were so grateful to the Molly for the making her last day of work a truly memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Elegant and Classy with Great Food

Dined on December 6, 2015

We were here on a Satruday night before Christmas and the dining room was decorated beautifully. The menu is not large but the food was great.Service was paced perfectly. It's old school but elegant. Only two things to point out: It seemed strange for a place that values their dress code so highly that the hostess Megan dressed like she was about to clean out her garage.Maybe she is part of the housekeeping staff and had to fill in at the last minute. Also, would have been romatic but the lighting is way too bright. Not only was it harsh inside the dinning room but it obliterate the view of the river. They need to get a dimmer switch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Restaurant is lost in a time warp. Gentl ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Restaurant is lost in a time warp. Gentlemen are required to wear jackets and if necessary the restaurant will supply one (44 long) for any man in need. It is then placed over the back of his chair while he dines in his button down plaid shirt. Absurd system. The views of the river are tremendous. The menu is tired and the food just average. I ordered the filet mignon medium rare and received two slices of tenderloin medium well. The Duck entree was forgettable. This has always been a beautiful holiday spot, piano player in the bar, holiday decorations in the lobby. Let's pick it up guys, not too late for a makeover and an updated high end menu.

food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Food views and atmosphe ...

Dined on December 4, 2015

Love this place. Food views and atmosphere to die for. Well worth the price.

food4
ambience3
service4

Food was very good, the lighting in the ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

Food was very good, the lighting in the dining room was to bright. Couldn't get into a relaxing mood, even when I asked if they would dim a little they refused. Couldn't appreciate the water views. Probably go back during the day.

food4
ambience4
service4

One of my favorites

Dined on November 14, 2015

Good food, wonderful brunch in season, great views, good service. Nice bar.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dining at the Molly Pitcher Inn

Dined on October 29, 2015

I had a room at the Molly Pitcher Inn for a romantic evening with my girlfriend for her birthday. It was 5pm on a Thursday and not at all crowded. We had a view near the expansive window that gave a great view of the Navesink River. For starters, the staff was fantastic! Hallie, our waitress, could not have been nicer or have been any more professional! She was friendly, attentive and could not have been any better at her job. Even the young man who cleaned and reset the tables was friendly and you could tell took a great amount of pride in his job. While the food is not cheap, it is of excellent quality and delicious! They even remember my girlfriend's birthday and brought her a small sundae with a candle for no charge. We could not have been more happy with the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great View, friendly, great food

Dined on October 7, 2015

Dined here before a show at the Count Basie for the first time and it was very good, met all my expectations. The menu is a little pricey, but the food is worth it and the scenery overlooking the water is absolutely stunning (especially at sunset). Ambiance is great, quiet. I didn't go into the bar area, but that seemed like a nice option for the future possibly. Overall, I will go back and I do recommend this dining room :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely view of the Navesink and delightful dining

vip
Dined on September 24, 2015

We decided upon The Molly Pitcher Inn Dining Room as the perfect place to have lunch on such a gorgeous day. We were not disappointed. Our waitress, Mariel, was very nice and was very attentive. My husband tried the Chicken Pot Pie and he enjoyed every bite. I had the salmon over a salad and was very happy with my choice. The ambiance and view of the water is stunning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Great birthday for my mom!

Dined on September 19, 2015

My cousin took our twin moms here for their birthday and we all loved it. We ordered he Burrata, beet salad, sea scallops, seafood pot pie and braised short ribs. All the food was really delicious and they even ended the night with an unsolicited birthday dessert. Overall great scenery, food and ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A Special Anniversary Dinner

Dined on September 12, 2015

We had tickets to Count Basie Theater and wanted to celebrate with a special dinner in Red Bank. Although the weather was overcast & drizzly, we enjoyed the view of the river from our window seat. We shared a caesar salad and each had beef short ribs which were superb. We told our server, who was very attentive, it was our anniversary. The dish, holding our warm chocolate dessert with gelato on the side, was beautifully decorated with chocolate sauce saying "Happy Anniversary". The Molly Pitcher Inn made our 50th Anniversary dinner very special!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on August 29, 2015

I wanted to surprise my wife with a romantic birthday dinner with a scenic view and spent many hours surfing the web to find the perfect place. I found the perfect place- Molly Pitcher Inn. We were seated by the window just before dusk and watched the water and boats go into the night. My wife had the lamb and I had the filet minion. Both were spectacular, as was the service. In every aspect, we were treated with a professionalism you see in few other places. You may spend a few more dollars than you would in a lesser restaurant, but for a celebration like a birthday or anniversary, it is sooooooo worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

Okay

Dined on August 29, 2015

The view from our window table was very nice. The beet salad was just 'okay'. I asked the server how the crab cakes were and she said, 'oh, they're GREAT'. Well, if I had been blindfolded I wouldn't have known WHAT I was eating. I ordered tea and the only sweetner was Equal; I don't eat ANYTHING with artificial sweetners.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Great ambiance,service was good,food was ...

Dined on August 24, 2015

Great ambiance,service was good,food was very good rack of lamb was done to perfection,salad was sent back it was somewhat wilted.all in all a very pleasant evening with a romantic setting.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting, impeccable service

Dined on August 18, 2015

The Molly Pitcher Inn is the definition of elegance, style and charm. I had lunch with a high school friend and the experience was perfect. Most restaurants today have lost their commitment to service and high standards. The Molly Pitcher Inn has preserved tradition. It was such a pleasurable dining experience. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Alottosay

Dined on August 7, 2015

Ownership has a great location with a good reputation for food. The bar is updated but I would strongly suggest that they bring in a decorator to overhaul and update the overall appearance of the lobby and restaurant. It is like going to eat at an assisted living facility. Also the Latino is wasted - why it have a bar and appetizer area right on th e water from 4-7? Chef does a nice job with flavors although food was not hot. Also since this is a seafood shore locale and menu shrimp cocktail should be served more creatively and more plentiful. Make it a signature appetizer. Waitress Hallie made the whole experience very nice - she is a class act.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with a view of the river. ...

vip
Dined on July 24, 2015

Excellent food with a view of the river. Excellent atmosphere. Attentive service.

food4
ambience4
service4

Attractive restaurant on the Navesink River.

Dined on July 19, 2015

This restaurant in the Molly Pitcher Inn is very attractive, with a panoramic view of a marina and the Navesink River, with much boating activity to watch. Although I was dining alone, I was given an excellent table by the windows. This is a rare occurrence when you are single. The dining room was understaffed for that Sunday evening, but my waiter was excellent, timing my drink and two courses the way I requested. Perfect Manhattan was indeed perfect. Shrimp cocktail also a treat, served in a martini glass with two tiered sauces, one horseradish (wasabi?) and the second a good cocktail sauce. It was a nice dining experience after a very long day of travel. Would certainly go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Service was great. Go for the view! Wine ...

vip
Dined on July 6, 2015

Service was great. Go for the view! Wine list was a little odd --- for the high end status of the place, they didn't list vintage. Slightly confusing for sure but the service makes the meal here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Short ribs were fabulous! Staff was generous and

Dined on July 3, 2015

Staff was very gracious and did not hurry us as we lingered over our lunch and extended conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food-Service-View

Dined on June 12, 2015

Among the best dining experiences we have enjoyed. Great service by all. Food was beyond excellent. Can not comment on dessert, which we skipped. With two glasses of wine, appetizers, & entrees the bill was Very Reasonable, comparable to a typical local night out at our favorite local Italian Restaurant. Twenty dollars more in a great NJ restaurant as compared to our Westchester County, NY prices for average, everyday food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch in great setting

Dined on June 8, 2015

We went to lunch here after my grandson's Pre-K graduation at the local parochial school. The service was wonderful as was the food. The setting was spectacular with a table overlooking the Navesink River. This Inn is really beautiful. Just what you'd expect from a very classy, well-maintained old Inn.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal - super, polite service - ...

Dined on June 1, 2015

Excellent meal - super, polite service - fabulous Red Bank landmark.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.