About The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn

88 Riverside Ave. (W. Front St.)
Red Bank, NJ 07701
View Larger Map

The Molly Pitcher Inn prides itself not only in its fine dining menu but also its service and atmosphere. It is an ideal setting for that special occasion or just an elegant dining experience. Under the crystal chandeliers of our Dining Room, we serve some the most tantalizing cuisine in all of New Jersey. Our panoramic windows provide a truly breathtaking vista. No matter what season or time of day, the quiet stillness of the Navesink River envelops all who dine here.
Our famed Sunday Brunch has been the proud recipient of the Asbury Park Press, Readers’ Choice Award for Best Brunch since 1996. The Brunch is available Sundays from October through mid-June. On Easter, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas we offer a seasonal and more extensive Brunch for our guests to celebrate their special holidays; reservations are required.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm (October 20 - Father's Day)
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm (Lunch not served on Sundays during Brunch season)
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm(Jacket Required for Gentleman)

Cross Street:
Riverside Ave

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 747-2500

Website:
http://www.themollypitcher.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live piano and singing Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings, and Sundays during our Brunch Buffet. Supper Club Dinners, Wine Dinners and Special Events!

Catering:
Extensive selection of banquet menus are available, including Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet and Tea.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet service available for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Red Bank Train Station.

Executive Chef:
Bill Roll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn, Red Bank, NJ
The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn, Red Bank, NJ

The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
New Jersey - Central
Best Service
New Jersey - Central
4 More
Best Ambiance
New Jersey - Central
Scenic View
New Jersey - Central
Special Occasion
New Jersey - Central
Contemporary American
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Red Bank ›

Scenic View (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Waterfront (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Historic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent in all categories. Prices and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent in all categories. Prices and bar bill on the high side but the ambiance is worth it for special occasions. Love that jackets are required Friday and Saturday 👍🎄

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is an historic hotel. It is classic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is an historic hotel. It is classic, quiet, dining with dignified ambiance.

Food is also classic dining.

Special occasion place! Really enjoyed returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The seafood pot pie is a must. Service w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The seafood pot pie is a must. Service was great. We will be back again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Would have given a five overall but ther ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Would have given a five overall but there was a holiday event this night and noise from event worked its way intonthe dining room. Will definitely be back because glad to see top service and food are still around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

View, ambiance of dining room, food, foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

View, ambiance of dining room, food, food staff: all awesome

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party was very satisfied with all as ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our party was very satisfied with all aspects of our dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Got together with my cousins for a leisu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Got together with my cousins for a leisurely lunch---Table waiting--window view --outstanding service---everybody enjoyed various meal choices -pasta- fish(Artic Char-crab cakes)-soups and excellent desserts--convenient location to meet coming from N and S---This is our 2nd time for this and will not be the last---

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service person was Nelson and he is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Our service person was Nelson and he is so good he raises the bar on quality service.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a beautiful evening dining ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

It is always a beautiful evening dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to the Molly for our anniversary. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Went to the Molly for our anniversary. Was a great night, though gloomy outside. Will return next month for a birthday, and other special, and not so special, occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jorge was our server and was so accommod ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Jorge was our server and was so accommodating. He was patient with all of our questions and made a special request to have the short rib bar food made into a dining room option. It was my mom and aunts birthday celebration and they brought out dessert with a candle without having to ask. It was a memorable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My business colleague and I chose to eat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My business colleague and I chose to eat in the bar. This was a smaller room where we still had a great view of the water and were able to speak openly without concern for disturbing others. Food was great and service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Molly Pitcher is a long time fixture ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The Molly Pitcher is a long time fixture of Red Bank. Hotel dining rooms are not usually very good, but this one is excellent. The service is wonderful, the view is wonderful, the food is wonderful! What more can you ask?

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited to be seated while hostess gav ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We waited to be seated while hostess gave information to someone for an event. We had a reservation and should of been seated.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A very nice dining experience. Food is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

A very nice dining experience.

Food is very good and lovely setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice water view site, good bar, pro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice water view site, good bar, proper service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I absolutely loved all the staff. My wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I absolutely loved all the staff. My waitress was so kind, enthusiastic , and respectful. Got treated inthe best way. Can't wait to come back for the signature potpie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here with our twenty-something ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dined here with our twenty-something daughters while exploring the area on vacation. We read several reviews on different restaurants before deciding. The view of the river was gorgeous and definitely the highlight of the dining experience. The reception staff was happy to accommodate our request for a window table with only a few minutes of wait time. We saw wedding photos being taken off to the side on the terrace. The food was good, but not anything outstanding and maybe a bit overpriced, and so the lower "value" grade. Our server was outstanding, attentive, knowledgeable, and personable. We had to note, however, that on this August Sunday evening, we were the youngest diners in the restaurant (we are mid-50s) and most tables were filled with people in their 70s+. Our daughters said they felt they were dining in a nursing home!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Breathtaking river views in a newly reno ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Breathtaking river views in a newly renovated and refined atmosphere, offering sophisticated dining and impeccable service. We have enjoyed their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Brunch menus, and will vouch that there is no other restaurant in Monmouth County that comes close to offering the "complete experience" you'll receive at the Molly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating staff. Helpful, and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very accommodating staff. Helpful, and courteous. Breakfast was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was extremely knowledgeable a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our server was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The menu offered many options and I was very torn between fish and lamb. I have never ever seen lamb loin on any menu. This was the best lamb I have ever had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charred Octopus appetizer was excellent. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Charred Octopus appetizer was excellent.

Seafood Pot Pie entree was excellent, generous amount of shrimp, lobster, and scallops in a very tasty wine cream sauce.

Fresh Halibut was nicely prepared and cooked just right (moist and flavorful).

Overall a wonderful dining experience.

The wait staff and hostess were friendly , attentive, and inconspicuous.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pretty restaurant. Have gone there ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very pretty restaurant. Have gone there for years. Food was just okay. I had seafood pot pie. Virtually no lobster, lot of sauce and shell. My wife had the chicken. Small and over cooked.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We have been there many times and enjoye ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2016

We have been there many times and enjoyed it. This time the food was at best mediochre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Had such a great time with family. Servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had such a great time with family. Service was outstanding. Mistakes can happen and we had 2 fish dishes overcooked. The team recooked the two entrées and were very sincere about their guest experience. Great view and we ended up enjoying brunch the following Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A well paced taste extravaganza!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2016

From your first bite to your last sip, this restaurant gives you a feeling of high class and tasteful presence. You are warmly welcomed and offered drinks. The menu is beautifully described and you are aided in your selection. Wait staff is kind, thorough and impeccably trained. Each dish is beautifully plated and the flavors are amazing. Serving size is adequate to fill you but not leave you overwhelmed. The lamb was perfectly seasoned and the beets and greens were a perfect compliment. The seafood pot pie was creamy, and sensuous. Desert was by far our favorite dish - caramelized peaches, creamy brie, pistachio ice cream and puffed pastry was a culinary delight, each bite a little different, hitting various parts of the tongue. We were also given a plate of mini cupcakes by the chef to honor our anniversary - each of these flavors were also fantastic. All in all it was one of our most memorable dining experiences!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and fun

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Molly Pitcher Inn. There's a reason this has been a Jersey Shore icon for decades. The seafood pot pie is memorable. The breathtaking view and attentive service make this a place to relax with family and friends.

Much better than I remember it from years ago. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful place to celebrate ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was a wonderful place to celebrate my graduation. The service was exceptional, our waiter Nelson made the experience very special! I would definitely recommend Molly Pitcher Inn.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DINNER

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely venue enjoyed a wonderful view overlooking the Navesink River.

However, disappointing meal. Entrees fair; (we had two different fish entress) presentation artfully arranged but meager portions. My fish dish was to be served with vegetables which turned out to be two peelings of squash which were decorative but hardly could be classified as a dish with vegetables.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

So good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Got a last minute lunch reservation at the Inn to take an out of town guest. View was beautiful. They were impressed. The food was good, the service outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Date Night

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went to Molly Putcher Inn for Dinner. The food was great or server was excellent my only real complaint was that the lighting in the dinning room was to bright so you couldn't see the beautiful waterfront scenery when it got dark out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful view. Wonderful attentive serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Beautiful view. Wonderful attentive service. Nice portions. Tasty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place to enjoy for a special occ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Great place to enjoy for a special occasion. Service is top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A lovely, relaxing experience dining wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2016

A lovely, relaxing experience dining with a beautiful view. The quality of the food was equal to

the level of the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Elegant Dining

 
 (London)·Dined on March 4, 2016

I am a frequent diner at the Molly Pitcher Inn for many reasons. The food is of the best quality. It is always presented beautifully and cooked to perfection. The wait staff is polite and competent, especially Hallie and Lauro and Juan. The environment is perfect; it is quiet, but not to quiet, it is well lit, you can actually read the menu; you can enjoy a beautiful meal and at the same time enjoy your company. There is no having to negotiate with the environment which I find at many trendy restaurants. The tables are far enough apart that everyone isn't on top of each other. I am thankful to have such a quality restaurant so close to where I live.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Beautiful presentation. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Amazing food. Beautiful presentation. The MP provided a wonderful NJ experience for clients from the West Coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner 40th anniversary

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Went for dinner February 17th . The appetizers fell short. The figs had no cheese filling and the salad no nuts, as indicated on the menu. We mentioned it to waitress, she said she will tell chef. She also knew we ordered the figs because of the cheese. She returned , never mentioning an apology from anyone. The main course that my husband was to have fingerling potatoes. No fingerling, a line of mashed. Disappointed in our dining experience. We mentioned that it was a special occasion. Won't be coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Our waitress was attentive, and knowledgeable!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2016

It has been at least 2 years since we were back to the Molly Pitcher for dinner and don't know why we waited that long! Always consistent with dinner, friendly staff, and love the fact that men must wear a jacket! Our niece had their wedding reception here, and my high school pals of 30 years meet for brunch.

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It didn't happen

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We received a phone call at around1pm that the restaurant was not opening on Friday night. They changed our reservations to the bar area. Needles to say we cancelled as we were looking for a romantic dinner. It also made it impossible to get a resonable time dinner reservation😟

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.