About The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn

88 Riverside Ave. (W. Front St.)
Red Bank, NJ 07701
View Larger Map

The Molly Pitcher Inn prides itself not only in its fine dining menu but also its service and atmosphere. It is an ideal setting for that special occasion or just an elegant dining experience. Under the crystal chandeliers of our Dining Room, we serve some the most tantalizing cuisine in all of New Jersey. Our panoramic windows provide a truly breathtaking vista. No matter what season or time of day, the quiet stillness of the Navesink River envelops all who dine here.
Our famed Sunday Brunch has been the proud recipient of the Asbury Park Press, Readers’ Choice Award for Best Brunch since 1996. The Brunch is available Sundays from October through mid-June. On Easter, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas we offer a seasonal and more extensive Brunch for our guests to celebrate their special holidays; reservations are required.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm (October 20 - Father's Day)
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm (Lunch not served on Sundays during Brunch season)
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm(Jacket Required for Gentleman)

Cross Street:
Riverside Ave

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 747-2500

Website:
http://www.themollypitcher.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live piano and singing Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings, and Sundays during our Brunch Buffet. Supper Club Dinners, Wine Dinners and Special Events!

Catering:
Extensive selection of banquet menus are available, including Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet and Tea.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet service available for your convenience.

Public Transit:
Red Bank Train Station.

Executive Chef:
Bill Roll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn
The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn

The Dining Room - Molly Pitcher Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Jersey - Central
Best Ambiance
New Jersey - Central
Scenic View
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Red Bank ›

Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A very nice dining experience. Food is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

A very nice dining experience.

Food is very good and lovely setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved all the staff. My wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I absolutely loved all the staff. My waitress was so kind, enthusiastic , and respectful. Got treated inthe best way. Can't wait to come back for the signature potpie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here with our twenty-something ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dined here with our twenty-something daughters while exploring the area on vacation. We read several reviews on different restaurants before deciding. The view of the river was gorgeous and definitely the highlight of the dining experience. The reception staff was happy to accommodate our request for a window table with only a few minutes of wait time. We saw wedding photos being taken off to the side on the terrace. The food was good, but not anything outstanding and maybe a bit overpriced, and so the lower "value" grade. Our server was outstanding, attentive, knowledgeable, and personable. We had to note, however, that on this August Sunday evening, we were the youngest diners in the restaurant (we are mid-50s) and most tables were filled with people in their 70s+. Our daughters said they felt they were dining in a nursing home!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Breathtaking river views in a newly reno ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Breathtaking river views in a newly renovated and refined atmosphere, offering sophisticated dining and impeccable service. We have enjoyed their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Brunch menus, and will vouch that there is no other restaurant in Monmouth County that comes close to offering the "complete experience" you'll receive at the Molly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating staff. Helpful, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very accommodating staff. Helpful, and courteous. Breakfast was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was extremely knowledgeable a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our server was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The menu offered many options and I was very torn between fish and lamb. I have never ever seen lamb loin on any menu. This was the best lamb I have ever had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charred Octopus appetizer was excellent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Charred Octopus appetizer was excellent.

Seafood Pot Pie entree was excellent, generous amount of shrimp, lobster, and scallops in a very tasty wine cream sauce.

Fresh Halibut was nicely prepared and cooked just right (moist and flavorful).

Overall a wonderful dining experience.

The wait staff and hostess were friendly , attentive, and inconspicuous.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pretty restaurant. Have gone there ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very pretty restaurant. Have gone there for years. Food was just okay. I had seafood pot pie. Virtually no lobster, lot of sauce and shell. My wife had the chicken. Small and over cooked.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We have been there many times and enjoye ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We have been there many times and enjoyed it. This time the food was at best mediochre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Had such a great time with family. Servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had such a great time with family. Service was outstanding. Mistakes can happen and we had 2 fish dishes overcooked. The team recooked the two entrées and were very sincere about their guest experience. Great view and we ended up enjoying brunch the following Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A well paced taste extravaganza!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

From your first bite to your last sip, this restaurant gives you a feeling of high class and tasteful presence. You are warmly welcomed and offered drinks. The menu is beautifully described and you are aided in your selection. Wait staff is kind, thorough and impeccably trained. Each dish is beautifully plated and the flavors are amazing. Serving size is adequate to fill you but not leave you overwhelmed. The lamb was perfectly seasoned and the beets and greens were a perfect compliment. The seafood pot pie was creamy, and sensuous. Desert was by far our favorite dish - caramelized peaches, creamy brie, pistachio ice cream and puffed pastry was a culinary delight, each bite a little different, hitting various parts of the tongue. We were also given a plate of mini cupcakes by the chef to honor our anniversary - each of these flavors were also fantastic. All in all it was one of our most memorable dining experiences!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and fun

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Molly Pitcher Inn. There's a reason this has been a Jersey Shore icon for decades. The seafood pot pie is memorable. The breathtaking view and attentive service make this a place to relax with family and friends.

Much better than I remember it from years ago. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful place to celebrate ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was a wonderful place to celebrate my graduation. The service was exceptional, our waiter Nelson made the experience very special! I would definitely recommend Molly Pitcher Inn.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DINNER

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely venue enjoyed a wonderful view overlooking the Navesink River.

However, disappointing meal. Entrees fair; (we had two different fish entress) presentation artfully arranged but meager portions. My fish dish was to be served with vegetables which turned out to be two peelings of squash which were decorative but hardly could be classified as a dish with vegetables.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

So good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Got a last minute lunch reservation at the Inn to take an out of town guest. View was beautiful. They were impressed. The food was good, the service outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Date Night

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went to Molly Putcher Inn for Dinner. The food was great or server was excellent my only real complaint was that the lighting in the dinning room was to bright so you couldn't see the beautiful waterfront scenery when it got dark out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful view. Wonderful attentive serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Beautiful view. Wonderful attentive service. Nice portions. Tasty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place to enjoy for a special occ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Great place to enjoy for a special occasion. Service is top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A lovely, relaxing experience dining wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

A lovely, relaxing experience dining with a beautiful view. The quality of the food was equal to

the level of the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Elegant Dining

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I am a frequent diner at the Molly Pitcher Inn for many reasons. The food is of the best quality. It is always presented beautifully and cooked to perfection. The wait staff is polite and competent, especially Hallie and Lauro and Juan. The environment is perfect; it is quiet, but not to quiet, it is well lit, you can actually read the menu; you can enjoy a beautiful meal and at the same time enjoy your company. There is no having to negotiate with the environment which I find at many trendy restaurants. The tables are far enough apart that everyone isn't on top of each other. I am thankful to have such a quality restaurant so close to where I live.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Beautiful presentation. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Amazing food. Beautiful presentation. The MP provided a wonderful NJ experience for clients from the West Coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner 40th anniversary

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Went for dinner February 17th . The appetizers fell short. The figs had no cheese filling and the salad no nuts, as indicated on the menu. We mentioned it to waitress, she said she will tell chef. She also knew we ordered the figs because of the cheese. She returned , never mentioning an apology from anyone. The main course that my husband was to have fingerling potatoes. No fingerling, a line of mashed. Disappointed in our dining experience. We mentioned that it was a special occasion. Won't be coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Our waitress was attentive, and knowledgeable!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

It has been at least 2 years since we were back to the Molly Pitcher for dinner and don't know why we waited that long! Always consistent with dinner, friendly staff, and love the fact that men must wear a jacket! Our niece had their wedding reception here, and my high school pals of 30 years meet for brunch.

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It didn't happen

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We received a phone call at around1pm that the restaurant was not opening on Friday night. They changed our reservations to the bar area. Needles to say we cancelled as we were looking for a romantic dinner. It also made it impossible to get a resonable time dinner reservation😟

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Have been going here for many years and it never disappoints. Beautiful atmosphere overlooking the Navesink River. Food is always delicious. Limited menu but wonderful choices;

Seafood pie, salmon, fillet , pasta etc. and served to perfection. I had my 70th party here and it was Fabulous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Venue

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband & I got married 4 yrs. ago at the Molly Pitcher & they did an outstanding job. We've recommended them to many of our friends & family. Our dining experience the other night was lovely, although it fell short in several respects. I felt that the beef was not done to what we expected when we asked for medium. When we received our plates, the filet was red & bloody in the center & although we sent it back to have it cooked more, the flavor was not tastiest. Bland is the only word I can think of if that can apply to meat flavor! Considering the cost of the Filet Minon, we expected something outstanding. However, our waitress was wonderful, we had a wonderful view of the river, the dining room is very pretty & if it wasn't for one woman, at the table next to us whose voice was so loud it was jarring, we had a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary celebration.

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 51st Anniversary Sat. night. We were happy that the hostess honored our request for a window table. Our cocktails were as ordered and our appetizers and dinner were excellent.

We had only ordered coffee and after dinner drinks for dessert and were pleasantly surprised with a delicious gelato with a Happy Anniversary wish on the plate.

We totally enjoyed our evening and would absolutely come back or recommend for a wonderful dining experience.

The piano in the lounge was also very nice in the dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was over cooked. Beautiful room an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Food was over cooked. Beautiful room and friendly service - sad the food was not up to area stanards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Birthday Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

The restaurant in the hotel couldn't be nicer for the view.Unfortunately my food did not live up to the view. My fish smelled of fish and it should not have that odor. I had to ask for lemon.. The chicken pot pie was a popular dish and looked good.I wonder who the Chef is at his place? Service was very good as well as the deserts.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wife's retirement

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

The atmosphere, service, and meal all were excellent. My son and I were so grateful to the Molly for the making her last day of work a truly memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant and Classy with Great Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We were here on a Satruday night before Christmas and the dining room was decorated beautifully. The menu is not large but the food was great.Service was paced perfectly. It's old school but elegant. Only two things to point out: It seemed strange for a place that values their dress code so highly that the hostess Megan dressed like she was about to clean out her garage.Maybe she is part of the housekeeping staff and had to fill in at the last minute. Also, would have been romatic but the lighting is way too bright. Not only was it harsh inside the dinning room but it obliterate the view of the river. They need to get a dimmer switch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant is lost in a time warp. Gentl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Restaurant is lost in a time warp. Gentlemen are required to wear jackets and if necessary the restaurant will supply one (44 long) for any man in need. It is then placed over the back of his chair while he dines in his button down plaid shirt. Absurd system.

The views of the river are tremendous. The menu is tired and the food just average. I ordered the filet mignon medium rare and received two slices of tenderloin medium well. The Duck entree was forgettable. This has always been a beautiful holiday spot, piano player in the bar, holiday decorations in the lobby. Let's pick it up guys, not too late for a makeover and an updated high end menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love this place. Food views and atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Love this place. Food views and atmosphere to die for. Well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good, the lighting in the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Food was very good, the lighting in the dining room was to bright. Couldn't get into a relaxing mood, even when I asked if they would dim a little they refused. Couldn't appreciate the water views. Probably go back during the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

One of my favorites

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Good food, wonderful brunch in season, great views, good service. Nice bar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Superb dining at the Molly Pitcher Inn

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

I had a room at the Molly Pitcher Inn for a romantic evening with my girlfriend for her birthday. It was 5pm on a Thursday and not at all crowded. We had a view near the expansive window that gave a great view of the Navesink River. For starters, the staff was fantastic! Hallie, our waitress, could not have been nicer or have been any more professional! She was friendly, attentive and could not have been any better at her job. Even the young man who cleaned and reset the tables was friendly and you could tell took a great amount of pride in his job. While the food is not cheap, it is of excellent quality and delicious! They even remember my girlfriend's birthday and brought her a small sundae with a candle for no charge. We could not have been more happy with the experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great View, friendly, great food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Dined here before a show at the Count Basie for the first time and it was very good, met all my expectations. The menu is a little pricey, but the food is worth it and the scenery overlooking the water is absolutely stunning (especially at sunset). Ambiance is great, quiet. I didn't go into the bar area, but that seemed like a nice option for the future possibly. Overall, I will go back and I do recommend this dining room :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely view of the Navesink and delightful dining

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 24, 2015

We decided upon The Molly Pitcher Inn Dining Room as the perfect place to have lunch on such a gorgeous day. We were not disappointed. Our waitress, Mariel, was very nice and was very attentive. My husband tried the Chicken Pot Pie and he enjoyed every bite. I had the salmon over a salad and was very happy with my choice. The ambiance and view of the water is stunning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday for my mom!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

My cousin took our twin moms here for their birthday and we all loved it. We ordered he Burrata, beet salad, sea scallops, seafood pot pie and braised short ribs. All the food was really delicious and they even ended the night with an unsolicited birthday dessert. Overall great scenery, food and ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A Special Anniversary Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

We had tickets to Count Basie Theater and wanted to celebrate with a special dinner in Red Bank. Although the weather was overcast & drizzly, we enjoyed the view of the river from our window seat. We shared a caesar salad and each had beef short ribs which were superb. We told our server, who was very attentive, it was our anniversary. The dish, holding our warm chocolate dessert with gelato on the side, was beautifully decorated with chocolate sauce saying "Happy Anniversary". The Molly Pitcher Inn made our 50th Anniversary dinner very special!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.