Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Romantic (72)
See All
Scenic View (67)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Notable Wine List (42)
Local Ingredients (41)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Seasonal (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful dining room and view. Quiet so good conversation possible. Food was good

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a wonderful experience to celebrate my 60th birthday! Food was superb and the waitstaff was excellent. Our waitress, Danielle, made the evening special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Had an amazing dinner celebrating our anniversary! Service and staff top notch.Food was incredible! Will highly recommend!! Thanks again for a memorable evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Inn. The Stable was good although the menu was limited. We were disappointed with the brunch at Deerpark. The Bistro was okay but not worth the expense.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Wonderful dinners, incredible service. Well worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Overall experience was not as what we expected. Service was very poor, we had to ask for our server several times at the host desk (It took about 30 minutes to place a desert order). Dinner plates didn’t came up right: steak was burned on outside and rare on inside ( we ordered it med-well for my child). Server was surprised we sent it back. Other staff was very friendly and helpful as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2017

My husband and I had a very romantic birthday dinner ... the food and service was wonderful. We truly enjoyed our day and evening at the Biltmore Estate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Wanted something special for our 25th wedding anniversary.

Made reservations at the Biltmore Inn to stay overnight and decided to eat in the dining room.

We chose the 3 course fixed price meal with the wine paring option. The food was extremely fresh and well prepared, the wines that were paired with each course were excellent matches. The atmosphere was fantastic - we were seated at a table where we could see the mountains in the distance as the sun set and after the sun set, we were also able to watch the fireplace - many of the other tables provided one view or the other - which would have been fine also. Wait staff were very friendly and provided excellent service.

Was also impressed with the cleanliness of the dining room. Quite often large stone fireplaces like the one in the dining room have small cob webs in them - they appear overnight and require constant cleaning to keep clean - I had the impression that a white glove test would have been passed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

a very poor attempt to emulate fine dining, do not waste your time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

This was a beautiful experience. My father took me for my birthday, and it was very rememberable. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2017

As is the case with all of the amenities at the Inn, attention to detail was outstanding. Our servers were professional and attentive. Mention was made of my request for gluten-free options, the warm bread being really yummy. My daughter said the salmon was very good; my filet was good. My dessert, a smore delicacy, was good until I tasted the chocolate. My advice would be to leave out the smoke flavor. As they say, if it isn't broken, then don't fix it. Overall we had a terrific dining experience and our thanks to the chef and staff!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of the best meals my wife and I have ever had. Our server, Danielle, was exceptionally knowledgable and helpful. The amuse bouche offerings were delectable. My wife and I both ordered the Filet and literally ate every bit of everything on the plate. The prix fixe menu caught us a little by surprise (limited choices), but everything we chose was fantastic and the portions were just right. A fine dining experience for certain.

And the view! If you can get a window table, you must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

ADEQUATE BUT NOT GET SPECIAL. ONLY INDIGESTION WAS THE MOST LASTING IMPRESSION

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food and service we're outstanding. Will definitely done here during my next visit to Biltmore Estate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our Friday evening experience was marred by jarring music from a live band coming down the grand staircase into the dining room competing with the restaurant's classical music. The service however was attentive and prompt and the presentations were attractive and original. The dishes however didn't measure up to the $85/p.p. tab. ($65 prix fixe for our 3 course meal + $20 entry ticket to enter the Biltmore grounds)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great evening celebrating our anniversary. They made us feel special and added a lot to our celebration. Food was unique, delicious and presented beautifully.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Our romantic get away for our 47th anniversary was a wonderful experience overall and staying at the Inn added so much to our visit. The ambience and facilities gave you the feeling of actually being entertained and seeing what the Vanderbilt's experienced. The staff throughout the Inn and total property were very helpful, cordial and friendly. My dinner experience on Oct. 3 was good with the "pork belly" starter and "lamb chops" as my entree. Your ice cream for dessert is wonderful. My wife had the "filet" both nights and added the "crab meat" on Oct 3rd and was very pleased with her choices as well as desserts. The breakfast both days was great and the food at the Biltmore Garden Cafe and Bakery was also excellent. Overall we had a wonderful experience and would come again. Thanks for asking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Wonderful restaurant, wonderful service. Only downside to this dinner was the first course Ahi. Too salty for my palate...but as was all the dishes, wonderfully presented.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had a delightful evening with out of town guests. Some of the food was unusual but what I tried was very tasty . Being hard of hearing I appreciated the low noise level, something I have problems with in most restaurants. Prices struck me as a bit high overall, but we thought the 3 course prix fixe meal was good value. The location, being able to look out to the mountains, contributed significantly to the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our experience was an epicurean delight! The wait staff were very professional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Served me the wrong appetizer and no apology. Person who brought out food was too soft spoken and went over the food too fast to understand. Otherwise everything was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had an incredible dining experience at the Inn! We were both a little apprehensive because of the menu however, everything we had was excellent. My husband's filet was the best we have ever had (and we live in a city with many excellent steak restaurants)! Tender and oh so delicious! Must visit if you are seeing the Biltmore!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have been going to the Dining Room for a number of years. You used to be the #1 restaurant in Asheville. Now what??? You are number 24 or whatever. Have you wondered about this? Do you even check it out? Service was not that great. Food was mediocre. You know what? Call me if you even know who I am. Also, your prices are outrageous.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We received excellent one on one attention. Very impressed with knowledge of wait staff for gluten free needs and gluten free options were amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

A truly wonderful experience, delicious fresh fish and exciting choices for every course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We were entertaining a friend, and this was the perfect spot for excellent ambiance and a delicious meal. We all chose the 3 course option, and our entrees (salmon and fillet) were perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The appetizers were fabulous and our ice cream trio desserts were the perfect way to end our dinner. The service was, as always elegant.

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was an excellent location for a romantic dinner. We celebrated our 23 year anniversary. The meal was excellent. The service was amazing. They even provided small bites as complements from the chef to cleanse the pallet. Their food was so refined and the taste was excellent. For dessert they even wrote happy anniversary on the rim of the plate. The whole night was a food experience to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was great, dry pricey, felt rushed, had a waiter who had too many tables, was not attentive. Asked for an ice tea and my husband got A $20 glass of wine, never got my wine, drank water, asked for the bread 4 times until we got some then he brought our bill, laid 2 tiny dessert treats on table in plate after we ate dessert, other waiters were giving people small boxes and these were treats for later. That's the way we always got them, this was our 7th time there, was my husbands 79th birthday, wanted it to be special, was average, a lot of money for average, always a pleasant experience in past, disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We especially enjoyed having Brandon as our server. He was attentive, knowledgeable, personable, and gracious. The food was very well presented and tasty. All in all, a highly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had very high expectations for the 3-course dinner, and although it was very good, we were somewhat disappointed. In large measure this was because the pinot noir recommended to us by the waiter did not pair well with our scallops sauteed in duck fat. The desserts were creative but not altogether successful (beet sorbet with one dessert and corn ice cream with another). The setting was perfect, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Waiter was courteous and said the right things, but didn't know how to pour wine, letting it dribble down the side of the bottle both at the beginning of pouring and at the end. Too much wine on the tabled cloth and his towel at all four places. No respect for $120 wine.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was exquisite. The views toward Pisgah were stunning. Questions were expertly answered. We (two couples) were celebrating 49th anniversaries and had looked forward to the special evening, and it was just that. Lots of unique touches to make us feel valued. The varied menu allowed us to try things that we had never had before--all delicious. The chef sent out "tastes" for us to try. Our server, Luke, was attentive and ever ready to respond without hovering. Kamor was just as attentive. A memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Top notch service and extremely friendly staff. Definitely recommend for unique and/or special events

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Just superb in every way! Accommodating staff, flexible with special requests. Made our dinners so very special. Stunning views. Will definitely make a return trip.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was exquisite and the staff was friendly and very accommodating! Fireworks after our meal was such a nice surprise this Labor Day Weekend:) It was such a beautiful place to celebrate my Mom's 70th birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed a great evening to celebrate 34 years of marriage. Luke did a great job recommending and directing us through our choices and providing excellent service. The food we felt was well portioned, had the 3 course option. We always appreciate when we are recognized as "locals" and get the local treatment. We will definitely return at another time, likely with good friends in tow.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great for special occasions. Celebrated my wife's 80th birthday. We loved the attention the staff provided. The 3 course meals were excellent. We were seated by the window and enjoyed the scenery.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.