About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
15 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Best Value
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

special occasion (123)
romantic (107)
scenic view (104)
See All
fit for foodies (66)
notable wine list (60)
good for groups (17)
great for brunch (16)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the The Dining Room for our 35t ...

Dined 6 days ago

We chose the The Dining Room for our 35th Anniversary meal!! Wow!! Awesome!! One of the top places we have ever eaten. Elizabeth, our server, was extremely personable and helpful, as well her assisting staff. The location of our table, the food presentation, the taste of all the food and the view, was so romantic! We were blessed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, beautiful room and d ...

Dined 7 days ago

Impeccable service, beautiful room and delicious food. What a wonderful restaurant to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We absolutely loved it. And the Biltmore wine was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was excellent. The waiter expl ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our meal was excellent. The waiter explained any questions we had and he was very attentive throughout our dining experience. We would certainly dine at The Dining Room when we return to Asheville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were staying at the Inn for my wife's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were staying at the Inn for my wife's birthday so I decided to make a reservation here because it was easy. We were very pleasantly surprised, the food was excellent as was the service. We had a table by the window and close to the fireplace so we were able to enjoy both. The only issue was that we were too close to the kitchen so we heard the noise. I would highly recommend for fine dining and/or special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner I've had in many years. Fan ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best dinner I've had in many years. Fantasticservice, ambiance....a total pleasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening for our first night arriv ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely evening for our first night arriving to the hotel. The food was good but a bit over seasoned. I'm sure there's big competition in Asheville to impress all the foodies and chefs trying to outdo each other. We're very simple diners; let the quality of the food, ambiance, elegant staff, etc make the experience special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious; the service was ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was delicious; the service was friendly,attentive, efficient, and welcoming. The ambience was an understated elegance; gracious, with wonderful outside views.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was only exceeded by the service. V ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was only exceeded by the service. Views of the surrounding area and mountains was excellent. How 5 star dining should be.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a window and view and was a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We requested a window and view and was accommodated nicely. Entire staff was very attentive and made our anniversary dinner noteworthy. Nice dessert gesture was much appreciated.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Server and his is back staff were gracio ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Server and his is back staff were gracious and accommodating. The table by the window overlooking the patio was lovely. The food was delicious and reasonably priced considering the upscale setting. Will look forward to going again on our next visit to the area

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food presentation was perfection

Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary and this was the ultimate dining experience by far!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 8, 2016

The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The food and presentation was outstanding. We completely enjoyed our dinner and would recommend this to a friend. Thank you for an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant room with beautiful views. Impec ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Elegant room with beautiful views. Impeccable service and the food was amazing. Very nice to dine in the old great style instead of just being fed. I think the dress code should definitely be jackets for men.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

I thought it was lovely however the webs ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I thought it was lovely however the website had me thinking this was a much more GRAND hotel than it really was so it was somewhat of a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent experience

Dined on June 2, 2016

We had dinner with another couple in the Main Dining Room and had an excellent experience. The room is arranged nicely with window tables and a large fireplace. Our servers were well-mannered and very professional. The food was exceptional in both presentation and taste. The menu offers just the right collections of appetizers, entrees and desserts. I would highly recommend for a special occasion or for an impressive business dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Basically a lovely evening. We were gues ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Basically a lovely evening. We were guest at the Inn and enjoyed breakfast here immensely so we may have set our hopes a little high. The ambiance was grand and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Unfortunately the food was overcooked and over salted. My wife sent her Salmon back, everyone was polite and apologetic but the replacement was also over cooked.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The server we had Elizabeth help us unde ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

The server we had Elizabeth help us understand the menu she suggested things that we should try. She also had a helper that filled our glass with water when it was low. He also ask us would we like any bread he was a very wonderful sever also great personality both Elizabeth and the other server cannot recall his name but my husband and I had a wonderful time at the dining room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect from the Open Tab ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was perfect from the Open Table reservation to the dessert. The food was excellent. Also gave us a sample of a cucumber soup that was out of this world. The service was excellent. I would highly recommend The Dining Room.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5-Stars plus

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything about the Dining Room was 5star. Attention to detail. Food was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible bite after bite. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was incredible bite after bite. Variety was sufficient and the service was perfection. Not a wine drinker but the Diet Coke was excellent. Cost for 3 course for two was $140. Thought the cost for the food quality and service was well worth it in this case.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful experience

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our recent dinner in the Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore was another outstanding dining experience in this fine restaurant. From the time we were welcomed at the host's station until we said good night, we enjoyed an truly memorable evening. The ambiance is refined and subdued, the views are magnificent, the food is of outstanding quality, the service by the wait staff was gracious and helpful without being intrusive, making the overall experience a truly memorable occasion. In our estimation it is the finest dining experience in the Asheville area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living Up to a Great Tradition

Dined on May 25, 2016

There is not a lot to say, other than you will not be disappointed. Good Food, Great Service. Money well spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful evening. So glad we ch ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Such a wonderful evening. So glad we chose to celebrate our anniversary at the Biltmore. In a word - perfection!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always appreciate outstanding service ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We always appreciate outstanding service and enjoy our evenings with the friendly people at The Inn's Dining Room or in the Library.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinning at the Biltmore Inn

Dined on May 22, 2016

We took the 3 course option. the menu selection was great, the food tasted wonderful. Service was excellent, had a table with a view, wine selection was ample, had the Vanderbilt cabernet, menu selection was ample. Portions were the exact size not too small, not too large. Overall it was a great selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super Dining Experience

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Dinner was spectacular. The restaurant space takes its light from the large view windows when daylight permeates the room. After dark, the incandescent lights cast a warm-colored glow that nicely matches the light from the blazing fireplace. The menu is interesting in that it's prix fixe (a complete meal offered at a fixed price) by default: Three courses (Appetizer, Entrée, and Dessert) or Five Courses (Cold Plate, Hot Plate, Fish, Meat, and Dessert). The latter is composed of small plates. The two of us chose the three courses. Recommended: Spring Mushroom Soup (Snow Camp Cheese Custard, Black Garlic, Morel Powder), Crab Knuckle Torchon (Spring Peas, Crispy Asparagus, Basil, Avocado, Lemon Grass), Filet of Halibut (Green Garlic Panisse, Olive Tapenade, Cucumber Crème Fraiche), Lamb Loin (Roasted Mushrooms, Fava Beans, Red Quinoa, Fig Mostarda, Balsamic) House-Made Ice Creams (Choice of Ice Cream du Jour, Chocolate, Vanilla, Coffee) Local Honey and Dark Chocolate (Flourless Chocolate Cake, Orange Blossom Mousse, Black Pepper Beignet, and Lemon Grass Ice Cream) The service was intelligently and amply done, with no undue fussiness.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and delicious, innova ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Impeccable service and delicious, innovatively prepared dishes. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biltmore-level Quality

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was a birthday dinner and had to be something special. It was. I added a flower arrangement to the reservation that the staff kept out of sight until I requested it be presented. The menu has something for every taste and our meals were prepared and served superbly. The waiter and staff were organized, efficient, patient, and amiable. We selected the three-course option (the other option is five courses) and a fine wine. Although we dressed for the occasion, many other diners were dressed more casually (it IS a vacation destination). The price was commensurate with the quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful

Dined on May 18, 2016

For special occasions this is a beautiful, romantic place. The service is outstanding and the food choices were wonderful. We had the 3 course dinners that included dessert too. We stayed at the hotel as well and couldn't have been more pleased. We look forward to our next visit to the hotel and dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on May 18, 2016

Dining room was beautiful with a spectacular view. Friendly wait staff and good wine selection. And the desserts were incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was one of the better meals I've eaten in a long time. I would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly a dining experiences!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our first time at the Biltmore,.. We stayed at the Inn , which was equally beautiful! When we arrived the dining room was maybe 1/3 full,.. We were shown to probably the worst table and asked for a better table, which we got. Hostess said our name as Eastmon and actually it is Eastwood. After that all went well! Enjoyed the 3 course dinner,. Everything superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best food and service. Would defini ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The best food and service. Would definitely go back for a special occasion,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and waiters were very attentiv ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff and waiters were very attentive through out the meal. They make you feel as though they are glad to see you and serve you. Food was fantastic! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Mother's Day Weekend

Dined on May 6, 2016

My daughter presented me with a long weekend as a Mother Daughter weekend to the Biltmore. We did every tour that was offered (except the carriage ride which was booked up). Our dinner at "The Biltmore Inn" was just prefect from the time we drove up to the wait staff at the end. Thank you for such a pleasant visit and experience the wonderful food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aniversary celebration

Dined on May 5, 2016

Everything was absolutely divine! When the dessert plate was brought they had written Happy Aniversary in chocolate! This was truly a night to remember!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I dine at top restaurants all over the c ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

I dine at top restaurants all over the country regularly to entertain customers as part of my job responsibilities. On this occasion it was a personal trip to the Inn at the Biltmore Estate to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had dinner in the main dining room at the Inn and everything was sensational - the food, the service, and the ambiance! Well done!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on May 4, 2016

Outstanding service, food and atmosphere. A great view of the mountains if near a window. Steak was spot on, tender and flavorful. Lamb was excellent as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Mr. Brown allowed us plenty of time to e ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Mr. Brown allowed us plenty of time to enjoy our cocktails, savor each course, and linger over dessert. A most memorable experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BettyfromTexas

Dined on April 28, 2016

Loved the dining room - great food, great service - thoroughly enjoyed the wine pairings

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.