About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (77)
Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (73)
See All
Scenic View (62)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Good for a Date (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Worth the Drive (40)
Fireplace (37)
Local Ingredients (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Historic (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Seasonal (25)
Cozy (24)
Authentic (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've stayed at the Inn and eaten in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We've stayed at the Inn and eaten in the dining room nearly every year for our anniversary, and we've never been disappointed. The service is always impeccable, with thoughtful touches, and the food is always top-notch. My wife is a vegetarian, and she is well-accommodated, even on a five-course tasting menu.

My only gripe about the place is that they inflate the price of drinks compared to Biltmore's own establishments just down the hill. For example, a glass of 18-year Macallan and a bottle of Biltmore's California-made "The Hunt" red wine are both $10 more expensive at the Inn compared to The Bistro or Cedric's Pub.

We got a wine flight matched to our 5-course meal this time, and while it doesn't include any top-shelf stuff, it was thoughtfully paired and very tasty.

Will be back again next year!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was emailed prior to arrival of the dr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

I was emailed prior to arrival of the dress code for dinner for both men and women. I wore jacket and tie (tie optional). They sat a couple at the table to our right plaid shirt and jeans and to my left in jeans and a long sleeve T shirt. 4 star restaurant I think not

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Really enjoyed my first time at this res ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyed my first time at this restaurant . The entire experience was well worth the price. From the location, views, staff and the incredible food.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and innovative food. T ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent service and innovative food. The Mushroom Amuse Bouche was delicious, the servings were the perfect size. Wine list interesting, many were their wines. Hope to go back next year,

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brian was the best server we have ever h ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Brian was the best server we have ever had. Amazing dining experience with and even more amazing selection of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable evening at The D ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening at The Dining Room at Biltmore Inn. The staff was very accomodating, friendly and concerned with meeting our needs. The food was well prepared and the presentation quite attractive as well as delicious. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant service, r ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant service, relaxing evening. Menus was limited but adequate. Were there to relax, and were not hurried. Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

impeccable service and a limited but int ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 3, 2017

impeccable service and a limited but interesting prix-fix menu (winter). absolutely a place to dress up for and be a mature, sophisticated grown-up.

The wine list and cocktail choices range from Biltmore varietals, to a broad inventory of high-end liquors. Beer is also available.

Plan on spending at least $80 per person for food and more depending upon libations.

If you are a season pass holder (recommend) you may bring guests after 5, Reservations needed on season.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. What a wonderful night! The ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding. What a wonderful night! The food was wonderful but the ambiance even better. The waitstaff made us feel very special just with their normal kindness and attentiveness. It was nice to splurge!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful experience. Danielle and th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A wonderful experience. Danielle and the entire staff were very attentive to us through the entire meal. The food was equally delicious. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While I thought the Inn at Biltmore was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While I thought the Inn at Biltmore was decent, I don't think the food was worth the money spent. Entree selection left a little to be desired, but I typically don't mind that if the food is good. Service was excellent, and presentation was top notch as well. Portions were small but the big issue to us was that the food taste was a little bland. Wine selection was solid, but any non-Biltmore wines were expensive, almost as if they were trying to force you to drink their wine (which typically are not very good). Our waiter was very knowledgeable about wine, and that really impressed us. Overall our feeling was that the restaurant was trying to APPEAR to be extraordinary rather than to BE extraordinary, but we did enjoy our visit and feel that with a few small improvements that they can achieve the restaurant quality they are obviously seeking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Appetizers were excellent as were the de ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Appetizers were excellent as were the desserts. Three out of four entrees were good. One was fairly bad, bronzini was over salted and over cooked. No one came to our table to check on any issues until we were all done. Finally got the attention of someone to summon our waitress who offered the person a new dinner (the rest of us were finished). She then offered a free glass of wine. Cannot recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting. Three courses were perfect and the entire dinner was an event. Dress nice and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining room,as you enter ,when w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely dining room,as you enter ,when we arrived we were gong to be seated in a hall way away from the main dining room,I objected so we waited for a table although the restaurant was not full.

There was a fixed menu for the evening ,We both enjoyed our selections.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Exceptional view. Elegant surroundings. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Exceptional view. Elegant surroundings. Attentive service. Food quality and food preparation was unsatisfying for an establishment of such a high reputation and price: specifically, sea bass over prepared. Filet quality was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent, have stayed at the end numero ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent, have stayed at the end numerous times and the dining room never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only problem is that there are very ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The only problem is that there are very few entree choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to the Dining ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was our second visit to the Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. First trip we had the full 5-course option, but this time the 3-course option was plenty. Excellent service and wine list. One of our party could not eat dairy, and his courses were all tailored to that requirement without extensive discussion. I recommend valet parking. It's $8 (plus tip, so $10) and they'll give everyone in the car little bottles of water when you leave. Nice.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated cuisine. The dining room d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Sophisticated cuisine. The dining room decor, relative to the excellent food and service, is not notable. We dined at Christmastime, in the evening. At that hour, the outside is dark, so there is no view. There were minimal holiday decorations in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were well pleased with our dining exp ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were well pleased with our dining experience at The Inn Dining Room. The service was impeccable and very accommodating to our need for a later reservation time. The reservations staff and the servers were courteous, very professional and just what we expected. We chose the fixed price menu, and were pleased with the variety as well as the price. The food was very nicely presented and very good. The wine list was quite extensive. The ambiance was wonderful with lovely views along the outer walls and seating in front of the lovely fireplace where we dined. The noise level was very comfortable for conversation. We look forward to staying at the Inn and dining there again.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second annual family dinner here, an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our second annual family dinner here, and always a special event to dine at the Inn. Tremendous value for the quality, taste, and presentation of food, and the service is impeccable. No trip to the Biltmore is complete without dinner in the Dining Room at the Inn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service is superior. The w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service is superior. The waitstaff is extremely attentive and accommodating. The fixed price menu is a bargain for the quality and quantity of food served. There is a 3 or 5 course option. The 3 course was so much food that I cannot imagine eating the 5 course. When the check was presented a complimentary box of assorted sweet treats accompanied the bill. Nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Notables: Food was delicious, service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Notables: Food was delicious, service was attentive without being overbearing, venue was dressy, setting was formal, I would recommend.

Room for improvement: dinner rolls or sticky and flavorless. Waiter was overly effusive. Restaurant was hard to find in the dark. Owners of the park should consider better signing and lighting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything went beautufully. Looking for ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything went beautufully. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Dining Room was our choice for my wi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Dining Room was our choice for my wife's birthday, and for the most part we were not disappointed. Of course be ready to pay top dollar for the name and location if not necessarily for the quality of service.

Food was excellent, with the she crab soup and black forest cake especially well-done. The latter was served on a plate with "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate...a nice touch, except it was given to me rather than my wife who was actually having the birthday. A "miss" from the service perspective, especially since our server had wished my wife a happy birthday earlier in the meal! Since this server seemed a bit less than genuine in his interest in service (including no updates on the very slow meal service) it wasn't a particular surprise.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Service was outstan ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Expensive as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is extremely limited. VERY dis ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The menu is extremely limited. VERY disappointed that the dining room was not decorated more for Christmas. The entrance (lobby) of the hotel/restaurant was decorated nicely, but certainly nothing "over the top". We drove 6 hours for this whole experience and it was nice, but not what we expected. Don't need to do it again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service was very good. There w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food and service was very good. There was a table of 6 in the middle of the main dining room. I could here them more than the lovely person I was there with. I am afraid they don't really enforce any kind of real decorum or dress code. I literally had to sit and listen to a group of people yell across the table at each other. They should have gone to Cendricks. Perhaps the estate needs to invest in some mall rooms where larger groups can partake or you will have to start to bring in live music and make it louder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Three of us enjoyed a leisurely cocktail ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Three of us enjoyed a leisurely cocktail and visit while we considered the menu. I had the salmon--delicious. We each chose the 3 course menu. It worked out well. We were there from 7 p.m. until 10 p.m.--a very relaxing and enjoyable time!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Inn is first class. We also stayed a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Inn is first class. We also stayed at the Grove Park Inn. Omni needs to send their entire staff to Biltmore for training. Our get a way was fantastic.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It wasn't dinner. It was an experience. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It wasn't dinner. It was an experience. It's an experience that everyone needs to have at some point in time in their life. Absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the perfect place to celebrate ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This was the perfect place to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. Love the atmosphere, the food and overall service. It was a great night with my lovely wife.

Thank you for providing a wonderful night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early seating after the restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We had an early seating after the restaurant had just opened and were taken far away from the fireplace which is where we wanted to be seated for the ambiance . Our hostess did not give us a reason for seating us where she did. The food was delicious, everyone in our party was very pleased. The one thing we would have liked was more rolls without having to ask again. The service was outstanding! Overall, a good experience!

Tags: Healthy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere was wonderful. We had a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful. We had a great table with a window view of the mountains as well as the fireplace. The service was fantastic and the food was excellent. We splurged on a mini vacation to the Biltmore House for the weekend and enjoyed every minute there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service makes the meal. Food was good. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service makes the meal. Food was good. Attention paid to every detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A fabulous venue for special celebration ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A fabulous venue for special celebrations. Christmas time at the Biltmore is very special. The food was superb and the service impeccable. The ambiance couldn't have been better with our table fronting a warm glowing fireplace. Our 45th anniversary dinner at The Dining room was memorable indeed. We would definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. I would highly recom ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing experience. I would highly recommend. Make sure you have access to the grounds before trying to eat on site.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was romantic and elegant. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our experience was romantic and elegant. The service was impeccable. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to see the Biltmore Estate and d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We came to see the Biltmore Estate and decided to splurge and do a nice supper for my birthday. From the second we walked into the Inn to getting our coats from the host and our car from the valet, it was an experience I hope to never forget. Thank you to everyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome service and ambience!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome service and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.