About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
15 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Best Value
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (119)
Scenic View (106)
Romantic (106)
See All
Fit for Foodies (68)
Notable Wine List (57)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Historic (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The variety of food that is available wa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The variety of food that is available was very nice. As a prix file menu, I wasn't too sure how things would be, but it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really enjoyed our visit and will defini ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really enjoyed our visit and will definitely be back. Felt like a very special person all week. Loved it!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All staff members were very pleasant and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

All staff members were very pleasant and attentive to ensuring a memorable dining experience--from the very beginning to the end. We were very impressed with the menu and culinary skills needed for implementation. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service, great ambiance, great pre ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

great service, great ambiance, great presentation. small portions, salty.

Food didn't suit me. The salad was just about two bites, the dressing was okay

if you like caeser dressing. You would think lettuce was expensive as small a portion as they

provided. Ordered the grouper, also a small portion, but extremely salty. To

me the presentation was just great, but means nothing since I don't like salty

fish. The sorbet dessert was very good. The bill was almost $200. I wouldn't

say it was great value. Not a restaurant that I would go back to.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a dinner at the Inn that was one ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a dinner at the Inn that was one of the best we have ever had. The service was superb, and the food was elegantly presented and delicious. This rates as one of the best high end restaurants in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was remarkably good. Every cou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was remarkably good. Every course was good. Each person's choice was just very good. Even though very expensive, we considered this a very reasonable cost for the food experience we got. We have spent the same or more for a less quality food experience.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A dining experience to be sure! Went wi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A dining experience to be sure! Went with the 5 course option, no regrets. Yes, it's pricey, but the food is beautifully presented, wonderfully prepared and served with the highest levels of detail. We celebrated our anniversary there...a very memorable night. Gorgeous dining room, impeccable attention to just about everything. We'll be back!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view and amazing food! I cann ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Beautiful view and amazing food! I cannot hdbddbsisjnsbd

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, spectacular views, elega ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful food, spectacular views, elegant atmosphere and service beyond compare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to the Dining R ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was our first visit to the Dining Room so we weren't sure how t would be. The food was terrific, the service attentive but not obtrusive and the views of the Smokies were fantastic. It managed to be cozy and personal altho it was a fairly large space. Great for that special dinner in Asheville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dining experience was fantastic. The ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our dining experience was fantastic. The food was delicious and probably the best meal we have ever had. The service was outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We couldn't have asked for a better anniversary dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore E ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore Estate is the best overall dining experience in WNC.

The food is outstanding; the presentation is artful; the service is impeccable. The staff is attentive & authentic; plentiful but not obtrusive. We have dined at most restaurants in the Western North Carolina region & are well traveled so we have a good frame of reference.

The Dining Room is a good value when compared to other high-end offerings in the area.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well done dinner with spot on service in ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Well done dinner with spot on service in a classic setting.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful 5 course dinner wit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely wonderful 5 course dinner with wine pairings!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Both stea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Both steak and trout prepared perfectly. Biltmore wines are nice quality. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was nicely prepared and present ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was nicely prepared and presented in a interesting fashion. Service was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Dining Room was lovely. Dinner was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The Dining Room was lovely. Dinner was great. Definitely" Fine Dining"

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I did the course meals. W ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My friends and I did the course meals. We went to The Dining Room for my birthday. The food was delicious overall and very filling (WORTH EVERY PENNY) Did not get a birthday cake unfortunately. However we did complimentary desserts from the chef!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Staff made special accommodations to mee ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Staff made special accommodations to meet our dining needs. They made us feel very special during our dining experience. They especially made my wife feel wonderful by preparing special gluten free bread for her. It was our 50th Wedding Anniversary and this was the perfect dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really nice meal well prepared and ser ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

A really nice meal well prepared and served. Expensive but worth it. We will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was wonderful. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful. The server was skilled, suggesting specialty dishes with out pushing, offering substitutions when my husband said he didn't like the vegetable, always there when we needed something but never hovering. The kitchen sent out several little tastings between coarses.

Everything we had, was done to perfection. Of course, the view of the mountains with the sun setting was spectacular.

Even the bill for such an incredable experience was well within budget making us feel like we were a Vanderbilt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in A ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in Asheville, North Carolina, and we were looking for a great fine dining experience to indulge our foodie sides. The Biltmore fine dining experience we had with our servers Brian and Kamor was superb, far exceeding our expectations. We both spent years in the restaurant industry (I worked at Ruth's Chris and Fleming's) and were blown away by the creativity of the chef and the attentiveness of the waitstaff. If I had three hands, I would give the Inn at the Biltmore three thumbs up! Alas, I only have two hands, so two thumbs will have to do! Take your family here for a night you will never forget.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cocktail experience in lobby not very go ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cocktail experience in lobby not very good, poor service. Dining including service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was fantastic. One of the best ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was fantastic. One of the best meals I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service I've ever experienced from ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best service I've ever experienced from start to finish. I would go back, and have, again. Mr Vanderbilt would be proud.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Certainly the most elegant large dining ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Certainly the most elegant large dining room I have dined in. The service was excellent - friendly and efficient. The food was unique and very good. The view of the sunset from the porch was outstanding. It was a special occasion for me and my partner and was indeed a memorable one.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. Ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Our seating was ahead of the time predicted by the host, even though we arrived 1/2 hour early. Service was exactly on time with consultations regarding readiness before each course. The price was lower than expected. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband took me to The Dining Room fo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband took me to The Dining Room for my birthday this past weekend. He had mentioned he wanted a table by the window for my birthday and also that I had a food allergy. Elizabeth and Madison (I think?) catered to my every need! They double checked every item to make sure it was safe to eat. The view was outstanding! Madison even took us outside for our photo. The appetizer, entree, and dessert were all wonderful! Elizabeth even gave us a little treat (dairy free!) to take home. I will definitely be back. Best birthday dinner ever!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary with some ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary with some of the best food and best service we've received ever. The food is varied and interesting. The portions are manageable. The dessert with a special anniversary wish written in chocolate was the absolute topper. All the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The views from our table of the mountains and sunset (and morning)were stunning. Thank you for making our visit to the Biltmore so enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is extraordinary and every part ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service is extraordinary and every part of the meal was completely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely dining experience. We ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a lovely dining experience. We had the five course meal and enjoyed it very much. We would recommend it to anyone staying or visiting the Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 25th wedding ann ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Everyone we encountered on staff in the dining room wished us a happy anniversary. Our waiter addressed us as Mr. and Mrs. S.... We were made to feel very special on our special day. Our waiter made several great course recommendations which we selected. The watermelon salad was delightful ;The corn soup - sweet and creamy; The filet - tender and perfectly cooked. I felt a bit disappointed with my grouper and rice dish. The fish, in my opinion, was overcooked and the rice seasoning was a little salty. That is why I did not give a five star rating on the food. The Hazelnut cheesecake dessert was yummy and there was a "happy anniversary" wish written in chocolate on the plate. It was a wonderful dining experience! Definitely go if you get a chance to do so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service...the way you want to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Impeccable service...the way you want to be serve when you dine out!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and the food was abs ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Exceptional service and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and wonderfully p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was delicious and wonderfully prepared. The waiter was pleasant and kind with just enough attention to us but was not overly attentive. He was definitely an experienced professional. His recommendations were helpful and we enjoyed the entire meal. It could not have been a better dining experience for celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dinner! The scones were fab ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

What a great dinner! The scones were fabulous and the pastry chef even shared her recipe with me! Incredibly nice. My Dad's meal included an incredible salad presentation that resembled art, a filet mignon that he remarked was the best he had ever had-he is 91! I had the Biltmore version of lobster therimdor-kudos to the chef again! Treats all along the way-a little cup of spicy soup to wake up our palette, tiny blueberry tarts before dessert, and scrumptous jellies after dessert. I had homemade ice cream that was a generous three scoops of creamy heaven. The only thing that did not wow us was Dad's dessert of three melons. The rest was beyond excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, albeit, a bit pr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent, albeit, a bit pricey. Service staff and ambiance was outstanding. Overall, a great dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful dining experience. Food was fa ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Food was fantastic, the service was impeccable, and the dining room and the view from the table were beautiful.

I chose this restaurant for my 50th birthday dinner and couldn't be happier that I did. My husband and enjoyed everything about our dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, excellent selections ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent selections and wonderful flavor. We highly recommend the 5 course menu which allows a selection of several delicious items to enjoy a full range of cuisine offered by the chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.