About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (64)
Romantic (62)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Scenic View (48)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fireplace (40)
Good for a Date (37)
Worth the Drive (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Cozy (25)
Historic (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday dinner- little far from downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

The service is amazing and the food incredible! We each got our four main courses at the same time with one waiter for each one. Jerry the maitre'd could not have been nicer. The only negative was the wine prices but hey, it is part of the experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service. All staff makes you feel special. Food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very elegant and classy but not too expensive. We had 3 course for $65 and 5 for $95. The food was excellent. A lot of men had jackets on and women dresses/skirts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

From the moment you descend the stairs into the formal dining room the ambience alerts you to expect something special. From that point on everything gets better-great service, great creative menu. The food from appetizers to dessert was wonderful. A place for those special times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is a special occasion kind of place. Located on the Biltmore Estate, I felt like the meal was designed to make you feel like you were at a dinner in the House itself. Options for a Three or Five course meal. The staff was wonderful and the food was amazing. What an experience!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Dinning Room at the Inn is absolutely wonderful. The food is truly a work of art. This is somewhere everyone should experience at least once. We went two nights in a row while staying at Biltmore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Highly Recommend This Dining Experience! The dinner taste like HEAVEN!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our service was outstanding, the restaurant was perfect, our beef was kinda dry, for the price it should have been better. Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic food and service !

Highly recommend this resturant!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

would not have dinner again, tuna tar tar average, she crab soup is not she crab if you are from Florida or the Bahama's , beef was very good and the breakfast bar the next morning was ok, not worth the price. very noisy and tables very close one to another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The Dining Room is a delicious and convenient fine dining experience while staying at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. Service is top-notch, and there are always creative food preparations and presentations. The five-course option with per-course wine pairings is a tasty and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Little pricey for the portion and not cooked exactly as wished. Overall it was enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was very nice. Filets were good, but not outstanding! We have had better! Was a nice restaurant for special occasion. Very quiet and elegant! Very Pricey!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Took advantage of an off season deal to stay at the Inn at Biltmore and dined at their restaurant. The meal was excellent and the service very good. I would recommend the restaurant for special occasion/date night with your significant other. Also enjoyed the Library lounge after dinner that had great ambiance in front of the fire and live jazz music. Nice low key end to the evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We experienced a memorable anniversary. Wonderful food. Great service. All in all, worth expense.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My issues: 1. Did not get window table as requested. 2. Wine by glass poured by waitress and about half of what we received when ordering by glass at hotel bar. 3. Food much too rich. I ordered salmon with maple glazed collards and bread pudding. Collards doused in maple sugar so that is all I could taste. Still can't figure function of bread pudding.

Summary: disappointing meal at very expensive cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I always love dining here even if the food is just ok

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our waitress Molly was outstanding! Food and ambiance perfect.

Our only complaint was not being informed ahead of time that a special pass was required to enter the property for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Dinner at the Inn is very special. The food is second to none, in both taste and creativity. Our server was very professional, yet warm and personable, willing to make recommendations when asked. Although the ambience at the Inn is elegant, it never feels stuffy or pretentious. I would be happy to return for a special event in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Hank went out of his way to make our dining experience a wonderful one. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Exceeded expectations, despite high end prices. Food quality and prep is comparable to high end restaurants in major cities, much food sourced locally. Ordered carbonara appetizer, filet and lobster main courses. Deserts also excellent. Very slow day in restaurant, service outstanding but not overbearing. Traditional, formal space for quiet, intimate dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Everything was awesome. I brought my wife here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. The presentation, the ambiance, the service and food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've stayed at the Inn and eaten in the dining room nearly every year for our anniversary, and we've never been disappointed. The service is always impeccable, with thoughtful touches, and the food is always top-notch. My wife is a vegetarian, and she is well-accommodated, even on a five-course tasting menu.

My only gripe about the place is that they inflate the price of drinks compared to Biltmore's own establishments just down the hill. For example, a glass of 18-year Macallan and a bottle of Biltmore's California-made "The Hunt" red wine are both $10 more expensive at the Inn compared to The Bistro or Cedric's Pub.

We got a wine flight matched to our 5-course meal this time, and while it doesn't include any top-shelf stuff, it was thoughtfully paired and very tasty.

Will be back again next year!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was emailed prior to arrival of the dress code for dinner for both men and women. I wore jacket and tie (tie optional). They sat a couple at the table to our right plaid shirt and jeans and to my left in jeans and a long sleeve T shirt. 4 star restaurant I think not

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Really enjoyed my first time at this restaurant . The entire experience was well worth the price. From the location, views, staff and the incredible food.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent service and innovative food. The Mushroom Amuse Bouche was delicious, the servings were the perfect size. Wine list interesting, many were their wines. Hope to go back next year,

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Brian was the best server we have ever had. Amazing dining experience with and even more amazing selection of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening at The Dining Room at Biltmore Inn. The staff was very accomodating, friendly and concerned with meeting our needs. The food was well prepared and the presentation quite attractive as well as delicious. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant service, relaxing evening. Menus was limited but adequate. Were there to relax, and were not hurried. Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 3, 2017

impeccable service and a limited but interesting prix-fix menu (winter). absolutely a place to dress up for and be a mature, sophisticated grown-up.

The wine list and cocktail choices range from Biltmore varietals, to a broad inventory of high-end liquors. Beer is also available.

Plan on spending at least $80 per person for food and more depending upon libations.

If you are a season pass holder (recommend) you may bring guests after 5, Reservations needed on season.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding. What a wonderful night! The food was wonderful but the ambiance even better. The waitstaff made us feel very special just with their normal kindness and attentiveness. It was nice to splurge!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A wonderful experience. Danielle and the entire staff were very attentive to us through the entire meal. The food was equally delicious. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While I thought the Inn at Biltmore was decent, I don't think the food was worth the money spent. Entree selection left a little to be desired, but I typically don't mind that if the food is good. Service was excellent, and presentation was top notch as well. Portions were small but the big issue to us was that the food taste was a little bland. Wine selection was solid, but any non-Biltmore wines were expensive, almost as if they were trying to force you to drink their wine (which typically are not very good). Our waiter was very knowledgeable about wine, and that really impressed us. Overall our feeling was that the restaurant was trying to APPEAR to be extraordinary rather than to BE extraordinary, but we did enjoy our visit and feel that with a few small improvements that they can achieve the restaurant quality they are obviously seeking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Appetizers were excellent as were the desserts. Three out of four entrees were good. One was fairly bad, bronzini was over salted and over cooked. No one came to our table to check on any issues until we were all done. Finally got the attention of someone to summon our waitress who offered the person a new dinner (the rest of us were finished). She then offered a free glass of wine. Cannot recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting. Three courses were perfect and the entire dinner was an event. Dress nice and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely dining room,as you enter ,when we arrived we were gong to be seated in a hall way away from the main dining room,I objected so we waited for a table although the restaurant was not full.

There was a fixed menu for the evening ,We both enjoyed our selections.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Exceptional view. Elegant surroundings. Attentive service. Food quality and food preparation was unsatisfying for an establishment of such a high reputation and price: specifically, sea bass over prepared. Filet quality was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent, have stayed at the end numerous times and the dining room never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The only problem is that there are very few entree choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was our second visit to the Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. First trip we had the full 5-course option, but this time the 3-course option was plenty. Excellent service and wine list. One of our party could not eat dairy, and his courses were all tailored to that requirement without extensive discussion. I recommend valet parking. It's $8 (plus tip, so $10) and they'll give everyone in the car little bottles of water when you leave. Nice.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Sophisticated cuisine. The dining room decor, relative to the excellent food and service, is not notable. We dined at Christmastime, in the evening. At that hour, the outside is dark, so there is no view. There were minimal holiday decorations in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were well pleased with our dining experience at The Inn Dining Room. The service was impeccable and very accommodating to our need for a later reservation time. The reservations staff and the servers were courteous, very professional and just what we expected. We chose the fixed price menu, and were pleased with the variety as well as the price. The food was very nicely presented and very good. The wine list was quite extensive. The ambiance was wonderful with lovely views along the outer walls and seating in front of the lovely fireplace where we dined. The noise level was very comfortable for conversation. We look forward to staying at the Inn and dining there again.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our second annual family dinner here, and always a special event to dine at the Inn. Tremendous value for the quality, taste, and presentation of food, and the service is impeccable. No trip to the Biltmore is complete without dinner in the Dining Room at the Inn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service is superior. The waitstaff is extremely attentive and accommodating. The fixed price menu is a bargain for the quality and quantity of food served. There is a 3 or 5 course option. The 3 course was so much food that I cannot imagine eating the 5 course. When the check was presented a complimentary box of assorted sweet treats accompanied the bill. Nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Notables: Food was delicious, service was attentive without being overbearing, venue was dressy, setting was formal, I would recommend.

Room for improvement: dinner rolls or sticky and flavorless. Waiter was overly effusive. Restaurant was hard to find in the dark. Owners of the park should consider better signing and lighting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything went beautufully. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Dining Room was our choice for my wife's birthday, and for the most part we were not disappointed. Of course be ready to pay top dollar for the name and location if not necessarily for the quality of service.

Food was excellent, with the she crab soup and black forest cake especially well-done. The latter was served on a plate with "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate...a nice touch, except it was given to me rather than my wife who was actually having the birthday. A "miss" from the service perspective, especially since our server had wished my wife a happy birthday earlier in the meal! Since this server seemed a bit less than genuine in his interest in service (including no updates on the very slow meal service) it wasn't a particular surprise.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Expensive as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The menu is extremely limited. VERY disappointed that the dining room was not decorated more for Christmas. The entrance (lobby) of the hotel/restaurant was decorated nicely, but certainly nothing "over the top". We drove 6 hours for this whole experience and it was nice, but not what we expected. Don't need to do it again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.