About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / Western North Carolina
11 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (70)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Scenic View (57)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Local Ingredients (38)
Notable Wine List (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Historic (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Seasonal (22)
Fireplace (21)
Authentic (19)
Cozy (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome service and ambience!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome service and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous everything

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was too chatty and obse ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The entire staff was too chatty and obsequious, even the bread server was full of questions and comments, and the main waiter for our table just ran off at the mouth whenever he spoke. Maybe some people like the attention but it was just too much interaction, from the hostess to the coat check, to the server, to the waiter and on down the line. Economy of speech might be practiced a bit more here. The food was not that good. I couldn't discern any crab in the she-crab soup, the lobster with sun chokes and persimmon just did not work (and it carried a $10.00 surcharge), and the "Autumn Apple" dessert was weird with the apples in what seemed like a wonton wrapper. I was very disappointed, as this was a special dinner for me and my husband prior to touring Biltmore House for a Candlelight Tour, and it just wasn't worth the money, nor anticipation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent service! The food was delicio ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service! The food was delicious and the dining room is beautiful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had better $65 fixed price meals. N ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

I've had better $65 fixed price meals. Nice view though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have yearly pass and love getting in ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

We have yearly pass and love getting in the holiday spirit at the Biltmore House. We weren't disappointed. The Christmas trees and large fireplace in the dining room were lovely. The waiter(Luke) calling me by my last name, which isn't easy was a nice touch. Everything was exceptional. The she crab soup was wonderful.

The filet didn't even need a knife. Desserts were a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room is elegant and sophistic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

The dining room is elegant and sophisticated. The service is personal and very attentative. The one drawback is the that there is only a set menu but no al' a carte. The set menu has several good choices but does not allow for personal configuration of the meal. We have dined at the Inn dining room each Christmas season for many years and until this year have been able to chose each course of our meal. The new format does not have the selection offered in prior years and consists of the basic beef, pork, chicken and fish dishes which do not have the excitement and flair of past menus. We will continue to dine here each year but would like to see the return of the wide variety, al' a carte menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The atmosphere and decor was excellent. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere and decor was excellent. The food was tasty but not worth the price for dinner. I did have breakfast there and the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at the Biltmore. The staff was incredibly accommodating, concerned that our choices met the dietary restrictions (food allergy) that we outlined prior to our visit. We chose three course meals, and the amount of food was more than adequate. I wish I had made a different choice for my entree; it was a bit heavy, but my husband was happy with his filet. I should have asked more questions about my choice, which was an entree featuring sea bass.

The staff made our experience very special. The chef wrote a Happy Anniversary message on my dessert plate in chocolate!

I would highly recommend the dining room at the Inn at the Biltmore Estate.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone rolled out the red carpet for e ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everyone rolled out the red carpet for every step of our meal! It made all the difference! We eat out regularly and have never had service quite like this! Unbelievable! If you want to feel like a king and queen, dine here! We will book every meal here next time we are in Asheville! Spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I spent our special occasion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My wife and I spent our special occasions at the Biltmore Estate and having dinner at the Inn was a hit 5 star all the way.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience! Lovely Inn & Dinin ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very nice experience! Lovely Inn & Dining room! Special anniversary dining! Awesome food!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose the 5 course menu and we're not ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We chose the 5 course menu and we're not disappointed! Try the lobster and persimmon, you will not regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with excellent food. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but pricey. You pay fo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was good but pricey. You pay for the atmosphere and location. Desert was so so

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This dinner was a special occasion and d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This dinner was a special occasion and did not disappoint. The entire experience was perfection from the ambiance and service to the amuse bouche to the meal and superbly finished off with dessert. Highly recommend for a special treat. It's expensive but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Passholders , this was not our first ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As Passholders , this was not our first dining experience here. This visit was quite disappointing! We enjoyed wonderful cocktails upstairs by he fireplace before our dinner reservation. Our waitstaff at the table was excellent, no complaints there! The first course and wine was very nice, but after that, things went downhill! We waited 45 minutes for our entree to arrive and apparently others did also. I looked around the room and only one or two tables had any food! When the entree finally arrived, my fish was so highly salted that it was practically inedible. They offered to replace it, but by that time I was so frustrated, hungry etc that I just wanted to eat whatever else was served as the side dishes! My husbands's dinner was ok, although not really stellar.

This venue should do better than this. The holidays attract huge volumes of customers; I understand that, but they should plan better and provide a "fine dining" experience, which includes, above all, the FOOD,

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating my 50th birthday with friend ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Celebrating my 50th birthday with friends and family. The staff made us feel extra special, answered our questions about the food and made great suggestions for pairing with drinks.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best dining experi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Absolutely one of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice 3 course meal was great

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very nice

3 course meal was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Loved dinner at the Inn! Such a sp ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Loved Loved dinner at the Inn! Such a special memory!

From the greeting til we left, the hospitality was amazing!

The steak was great and the salad was unique but I loved it!

We felt the service was very good- The attention to every detail was great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our starters were great. The gluten fre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our starters were great. The gluten free breads were 5 stars. However the surf and turf was a disappointment. The surf was good, but the steak was charred (obviously cooked on a dirty grill) and dry. Neither one of us were able to finish it. We were discounted $28 off our bill which was kind, but not enough considering the cost of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was very good and artistically pres ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was very good and artistically presented. Service impeccable. Dessert highlight of the meal and the gift box of after dinner candies exceptional.

Only complaint is that like everything else associated with the Biltmore property, a good bit overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Service was very g ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great. Service was very good. We were seated at a table in a back hallway and it felt isolated. Next time we will ask for the main dining area near the fireplace. No ambiance in the back corridor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The Dining Room at the Biltmore Inn was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Dining Room at the Biltmore Inn was wonderful. Our server, Hank, treated us like we were royalty. The food was excellent and the servings were of nice size to leave you able to enjoy all courses. We love the Biltmore. It is another world when you are there!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dinner, and very excellent s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A wonderful dinner, and very excellent service. This was a great way to end the day after touring Biltmore mansion. A perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite possibly the best meal I have ever ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Quite possibly the best meal I have ever had dining out, and the service was fantastic. Though expensive, this restaurant is definitely worth visiting at least once for a romantic date or special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Incredible service and food. Wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing. Incredible service and food. Would highly recommend

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was mediocre and expensive. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was mediocre and expensive. We will never eat there again

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The staff knows and understands impeccab ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The staff knows and understands impeccable service. I recommend the wine course.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stayed at the Inn on The Biltmore Est ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We stayed at the Inn on The Biltmore Estate for our 30th wedding anniversary. The Inn restaurant was convenient and very nice. We had a great evening and wonderful 5 course meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and we were treated like royalty. The sommelier was wonderful answering all our questions and our pairings were perfect for our tastes. The food was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The ambiance was warm and relaxing.

We will definiatly dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining at a relatively reasonable p ...

 
 (County Durham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fine dining at a relatively reasonable price on the Biltmore Estate. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 3 course dinner was very good. The p ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The 3 course dinner was very good. The presentation on each entree was beautiful. We sat next to the fireplace with the lit Christmas tree. It was very relaxing. The sesame crusted tuna, lobster & perssimons and pumpkin spice cheesecake was delicious. All the servers were extremely cordial. The staff looked happy and willing to make our experience wonderful.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the most fabulous dinner experie ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This is the most fabulous dinner experience I've ever had. I would recommend the restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service provided by the staff was impecc ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service provided by the staff was impeccable. Luke was our server. Chef's creations were outstanding. Thank you for an outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to dine for special occa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent place to dine for special occasions! Service and menu selections are superb!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining out is difficult when you have a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Dining out is difficult when you have a hypersensitivity to soy. The Dining Room has a scratch kitchen and the executive chef even came out and talked with us to assure me that my meal would be soy free. The meal was delicious and the service wonderful. Would highly recommend and hope to go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Disabled Access, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not quite what we expected. We had 3 c ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Not quite what we expected. We had 3 couples and since the menu was either 3 or 5 courses, if one ordered 2 starters, the rest of the table needed to wait for the first course to be finished before the second was brought out. The only course that came out at the same time was the entree. As a result, it took about 2.5 hours for dinner (about 30 minutes per course) even though we all had the 3 course dinner. In addition, the entrees we had were nothing special. Our server was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The dining experience was exceptional. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The dining experience was exceptional. All the personnel were very attentive, knowledgeable and helpful explaining items on the menu. The atmosphere was superb. The dining room was decorated for the Christmas holidays. Greatly enjoyed our dinner there and had a table by the window so that we could enjoy the beautiful view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.