About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (65)
Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (58)
See All
Scenic View (46)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Fireplace (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Worth the Drive (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Cozy (26)
Historic (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Seasonal (19)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly Recommend This Dining Experience! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Highly Recommend This Dining Experience! The dinner taste like HEAVEN!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was outstanding, the restaur ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Our service was outstanding, the restaurant was perfect, our beef was kinda dry, for the price it should have been better. Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food and service ! Highly reco ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic food and service !

Highly recommend this resturant!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

would not have dinner again, tuna tar ta ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

would not have dinner again, tuna tar tar average, she crab soup is not she crab if you are from Florida or the Bahama's , beef was very good and the breakfast bar the next morning was ok, not worth the price. very noisy and tables very close one to another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Dining Room is a delicious and conve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The Dining Room is a delicious and convenient fine dining experience while staying at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. Service is top-notch, and there are always creative food preparations and presentations. The five-course option with per-course wine pairings is a tasty and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Little pricey for the portion and not co ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Little pricey for the portion and not cooked exactly as wished. Overall it was enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Was very nice. Filets were good, but no ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was very nice. Filets were good, but not outstanding! We have had better! Was a nice restaurant for special occasion. Very quiet and elegant! Very Pricey!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took advantage of an off season deal to ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Took advantage of an off season deal to stay at the Inn at Biltmore and dined at their restaurant. The meal was excellent and the service very good. I would recommend the restaurant for special occasion/date night with your significant other. Also enjoyed the Library lounge after dinner that had great ambiance in front of the fire and live jazz music. Nice low key end to the evening.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We experienced a memorable anniversary. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We experienced a memorable anniversary. Wonderful food. Great service. All in all, worth expense.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My issues: 1. Did not get window table a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My issues: 1. Did not get window table as requested. 2. Wine by glass poured by waitress and about half of what we received when ordering by glass at hotel bar. 3. Food much too rich. I ordered salmon with maple glazed collards and bread pudding. Collards doused in maple sugar so that is all I could taste. Still can't figure function of bread pudding.

Summary: disappointing meal at very expensive cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I always love dining here even if the fo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I always love dining here even if the food is just ok

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our waitress Molly was outstanding! Foo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our waitress Molly was outstanding! Food and ambiance perfect.

Our only complaint was not being informed ahead of time that a special pass was required to enter the property for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Inn is very special. The ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Dinner at the Inn is very special. The food is second to none, in both taste and creativity. Our server was very professional, yet warm and personable, willing to make recommendations when asked. Although the ambience at the Inn is elegant, it never feels stuffy or pretentious. I would be happy to return for a special event in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Hank went out of his way to make our din ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Hank went out of his way to make our dining experience a wonderful one. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations, despite high end ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Exceeded expectations, despite high end prices. Food quality and prep is comparable to high end restaurants in major cities, much food sourced locally. Ordered carbonara appetizer, filet and lobster main courses. Deserts also excellent. Very slow day in restaurant, service outstanding but not overbearing. Traditional, formal space for quiet, intimate dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was awesome. I brought my wif ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Everything was awesome. I brought my wife here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. The presentation, the ambiance, the service and food was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've stayed at the Inn and eaten in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've stayed at the Inn and eaten in the dining room nearly every year for our anniversary, and we've never been disappointed. The service is always impeccable, with thoughtful touches, and the food is always top-notch. My wife is a vegetarian, and she is well-accommodated, even on a five-course tasting menu.

My only gripe about the place is that they inflate the price of drinks compared to Biltmore's own establishments just down the hill. For example, a glass of 18-year Macallan and a bottle of Biltmore's California-made "The Hunt" red wine are both $10 more expensive at the Inn compared to The Bistro or Cedric's Pub.

We got a wine flight matched to our 5-course meal this time, and while it doesn't include any top-shelf stuff, it was thoughtfully paired and very tasty.

Will be back again next year!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was emailed prior to arrival of the dr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was emailed prior to arrival of the dress code for dinner for both men and women. I wore jacket and tie (tie optional). They sat a couple at the table to our right plaid shirt and jeans and to my left in jeans and a long sleeve T shirt. 4 star restaurant I think not

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Really enjoyed my first time at this res ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Really enjoyed my first time at this restaurant . The entire experience was well worth the price. From the location, views, staff and the incredible food.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and innovative food. T ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent service and innovative food. The Mushroom Amuse Bouche was delicious, the servings were the perfect size. Wine list interesting, many were their wines. Hope to go back next year,

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brian was the best server we have ever h ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Brian was the best server we have ever had. Amazing dining experience with and even more amazing selection of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, , Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable evening at The D ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening at The Dining Room at Biltmore Inn. The staff was very accomodating, friendly and concerned with meeting our needs. The food was well prepared and the presentation quite attractive as well as delicious. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant service, r ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant service, relaxing evening. Menus was limited but adequate. Were there to relax, and were not hurried. Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

impeccable service and a limited but int ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 3, 2017

impeccable service and a limited but interesting prix-fix menu (winter). absolutely a place to dress up for and be a mature, sophisticated grown-up.

The wine list and cocktail choices range from Biltmore varietals, to a broad inventory of high-end liquors. Beer is also available.

Plan on spending at least $80 per person for food and more depending upon libations.

If you are a season pass holder (recommend) you may bring guests after 5, Reservations needed on season.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. What a wonderful night! The ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Outstanding. What a wonderful night! The food was wonderful but the ambiance even better. The waitstaff made us feel very special just with their normal kindness and attentiveness. It was nice to splurge!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful experience. Danielle and th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A wonderful experience. Danielle and the entire staff were very attentive to us through the entire meal. The food was equally delicious. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While I thought the Inn at Biltmore was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While I thought the Inn at Biltmore was decent, I don't think the food was worth the money spent. Entree selection left a little to be desired, but I typically don't mind that if the food is good. Service was excellent, and presentation was top notch as well. Portions were small but the big issue to us was that the food taste was a little bland. Wine selection was solid, but any non-Biltmore wines were expensive, almost as if they were trying to force you to drink their wine (which typically are not very good). Our waiter was very knowledgeable about wine, and that really impressed us. Overall our feeling was that the restaurant was trying to APPEAR to be extraordinary rather than to BE extraordinary, but we did enjoy our visit and feel that with a few small improvements that they can achieve the restaurant quality they are obviously seeking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Appetizers were excellent as were the de ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Appetizers were excellent as were the desserts. Three out of four entrees were good. One was fairly bad, bronzini was over salted and over cooked. No one came to our table to check on any issues until we were all done. Finally got the attention of someone to summon our waitress who offered the person a new dinner (the rest of us were finished). She then offered a free glass of wine. Cannot recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting. Three courses were perfect and the entire dinner was an event. Dress nice and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining room,as you enter ,when w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely dining room,as you enter ,when we arrived we were gong to be seated in a hall way away from the main dining room,I objected so we waited for a table although the restaurant was not full.

There was a fixed menu for the evening ,We both enjoyed our selections.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Exceptional view. Elegant surroundings. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Exceptional view. Elegant surroundings. Attentive service. Food quality and food preparation was unsatisfying for an establishment of such a high reputation and price: specifically, sea bass over prepared. Filet quality was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent, have stayed at the end numero ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent, have stayed at the end numerous times and the dining room never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only problem is that there are very ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The only problem is that there are very few entree choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to the Dining ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was our second visit to the Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. First trip we had the full 5-course option, but this time the 3-course option was plenty. Excellent service and wine list. One of our party could not eat dairy, and his courses were all tailored to that requirement without extensive discussion. I recommend valet parking. It's $8 (plus tip, so $10) and they'll give everyone in the car little bottles of water when you leave. Nice.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated cuisine. The dining room d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Sophisticated cuisine. The dining room decor, relative to the excellent food and service, is not notable. We dined at Christmastime, in the evening. At that hour, the outside is dark, so there is no view. There were minimal holiday decorations in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were well pleased with our dining exp ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were well pleased with our dining experience at The Inn Dining Room. The service was impeccable and very accommodating to our need for a later reservation time. The reservations staff and the servers were courteous, very professional and just what we expected. We chose the fixed price menu, and were pleased with the variety as well as the price. The food was very nicely presented and very good. The wine list was quite extensive. The ambiance was wonderful with lovely views along the outer walls and seating in front of the lovely fireplace where we dined. The noise level was very comfortable for conversation. We look forward to staying at the Inn and dining there again.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second annual family dinner here, an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our second annual family dinner here, and always a special event to dine at the Inn. Tremendous value for the quality, taste, and presentation of food, and the service is impeccable. No trip to the Biltmore is complete without dinner in the Dining Room at the Inn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service is superior. The w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service is superior. The waitstaff is extremely attentive and accommodating. The fixed price menu is a bargain for the quality and quantity of food served. There is a 3 or 5 course option. The 3 course was so much food that I cannot imagine eating the 5 course. When the check was presented a complimentary box of assorted sweet treats accompanied the bill. Nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Notables: Food was delicious, service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Notables: Food was delicious, service was attentive without being overbearing, venue was dressy, setting was formal, I would recommend.

Room for improvement: dinner rolls or sticky and flavorless. Waiter was overly effusive. Restaurant was hard to find in the dark. Owners of the park should consider better signing and lighting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything went beautufully. Looking for ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything went beautufully. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.