Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (75)
Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (71)
See All
Scenic View (62)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Notable Wine List (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Local Ingredients (36)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We were entertaining a friend, and this was the perfect spot for excellent ambiance and a delicious meal. We all chose the 3 course option, and our entrees (salmon and fillet) were perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The appetizers were fabulous and our ice cream trio desserts were the perfect way to end our dinner. The service was, as always elegant.

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was an excellent location for a romantic dinner. We celebrated our 23 year anniversary. The meal was excellent. The service was amazing. They even provided small bites as complements from the chef to cleanse the pallet. Their food was so refined and the taste was excellent. For dessert they even wrote happy anniversary on the rim of the plate. The whole night was a food experience to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was great, dry pricey, felt rushed, had a waiter who had too many tables, was not attentive. Asked for an ice tea and my husband got A $20 glass of wine, never got my wine, drank water, asked for the bread 4 times until we got some then he brought our bill, laid 2 tiny dessert treats on table in plate after we ate dessert, other waiters were giving people small boxes and these were treats for later. That's the way we always got them, this was our 7th time there, was my husbands 79th birthday, wanted it to be special, was average, a lot of money for average, always a pleasant experience in past, disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We especially enjoyed having Brandon as our server. He was attentive, knowledgeable, personable, and gracious. The food was very well presented and tasty. All in all, a highly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had very high expectations for the 3-course dinner, and although it was very good, we were somewhat disappointed. In large measure this was because the pinot noir recommended to us by the waiter did not pair well with our scallops sauteed in duck fat. The desserts were creative but not altogether successful (beet sorbet with one dessert and corn ice cream with another). The setting was perfect, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Waiter was courteous and said the right things, but didn't know how to pour wine, letting it dribble down the side of the bottle both at the beginning of pouring and at the end. Too much wine on the tabled cloth and his towel at all four places. No respect for $120 wine.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was exquisite. The views toward Pisgah were stunning. Questions were expertly answered. We (two couples) were celebrating 49th anniversaries and had looked forward to the special evening, and it was just that. Lots of unique touches to make us feel valued. The varied menu allowed us to try things that we had never had before--all delicious. The chef sent out "tastes" for us to try. Our server, Luke, was attentive and ever ready to respond without hovering. Kamor was just as attentive. A memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Top notch service and extremely friendly staff. Definitely recommend for unique and/or special events

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Just superb in every way! Accommodating staff, flexible with special requests. Made our dinners so very special. Stunning views. Will definitely make a return trip.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was exquisite and the staff was friendly and very accommodating! Fireworks after our meal was such a nice surprise this Labor Day Weekend:) It was such a beautiful place to celebrate my Mom's 70th birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed a great evening to celebrate 34 years of marriage. Luke did a great job recommending and directing us through our choices and providing excellent service. The food we felt was well portioned, had the 3 course option. We always appreciate when we are recognized as "locals" and get the local treatment. We will definitely return at another time, likely with good friends in tow.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great for special occasions. Celebrated my wife's 80th birthday. We loved the attention the staff provided. The 3 course meals were excellent. We were seated by the window and enjoyed the scenery.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at a great deal of fine dining establishments. We travelled to the Biltmore for a romantic weekend getaway and decided to treat ourselves to a decadent meal at The Dining Room. We each ordered the five course meal. The food was mediocre at best. The service was slow, and somewhat discombobulated. The overall experience was absolutely lousy, making it the worst restaurant experience we've ever had. I don't mind paying $300 for an amazing meal and remarkable service, but paying $300 for food that was barely pedestrian and service was that inexcusably sloppy is just nauseating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We always enjoy the dining room at the Biltmore Inn. This time took friends. Had a prix fixe meal with risotto, tomato bisque, lamp chops, scallops amongst 4 of us. Plus dessert is always delicious. Best of all is our long-time waiter and friend, Hank. He always takes the best care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food at the Dining Room at the Inn on Biltmore was AMAZING. Their chefs are masters of their craft. It was hands down the best seafood I have ever had in my life. I took 14 friends and everyone has an amazing meal. It was perfect in every way!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Dinner was amazing and the staff was outstanding. The food was among the best tasting we have ever had experienced. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service and the food we're extremely well prepared yet miss fair was quite provincial the meal took an enjoyable two hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great meal! Our service was excellent, and the food was well presented and prepared. Absolutely a wonderful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My wife and I dined her for her birthday. We've been fortunate to have dined in some of the finest restaurants in the world, and our experience at the Dining Room was comparable to some of those fine experiences. The service was outstanding, and our primary server, Brandon, did a fantastic job. The food was excellent. My wife is gluten sensitive and they were very knowledgeable about the accommodations that the chef could make on each menu item. Also, they brought here some of the best gluten free breads that she's had anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This was a great fine dining experience. Each course was excellent. Portions were just adequate. Dessert was big. I had the steak. It was delicious. My wife had lamb chops. All three course were on a gourmet level. One of the best restaurants I had eaten at.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Wonderful evening! Rxcellent food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at the Biltmore Inn and it was an exceptional experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely outstanding 5-star restaurant by any standard! The food, the service, the ambience all were fantastic. We dined for our 50th anniversary - a very special occasion and I was nervous that it might be less than perfect. I was not disappointed, however. It was one of the outstanding meals of my lifetime and my wife was overwhelmed. I'd recommend it highly for any special event or just an evening of very fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Spectacular setting and view with an outstanding choice of delicious meals. Service was exceptional and especially warm and friendly. We go again and highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was wonderful, the ambiance was perfect, but the food left a lot to be desired. I cannot recommend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our anniversary dinner could not have been any nicer. They know how to treat you here and the food is wonderful. Just the right proportions. If you can, ask for a window seat for two.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a lovely dining experience in a warm and welcoming atmosphere while celebrating my oldest daughter's 30th Birthday. The filet minion was perfect and the Opera cake delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was very disappointed in our dining experience. The dining room is beautiful but it was one of the worst meals I had in a long time. We had a group of four celebrating my parents 60th anniversary and I really wanted to do something special for them. The food was so bad I was embarrassed. The hot dish appetizer was pork cheek over cornbread. Both were very over cooked and dry but edible. For the meal, three of us got the filet, and one the scallops. The first problem was the main meal came over an hour after the appetizer was cleared. I enjoy a paced meal but it seemed a bit too long. When the meals came, they were all at room temperature. Totally unacceptable. After such a long wait, none of us decided to send it back. It got worse from there. It was one of the worst cuts of filet I have had in many years. I do not think it would be possible for me to purchase such poor quality in any public market. Additionally, it was totally bland. It seemed like they forgot to season the steak with any salt or pepper and of course, there was not any on the table. The steak was served over mashed potatoes, but I guess they think they are such a fine dining experience that a teaspoon of it smeared on the plate would be fine. There were also green beans with mushrooms that were adequate but slightly over cooked with very little taste. I wont go into details but dessert was no better. The server was apologetic and did comp us our wine which was a nice gesture. Overall, we left hungry and disappointed. I will not go back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

For a fine dining experience the food was subpar. The dishes were overly complex with too many distinct flavors that did not work well together. I ordered the risotto, steak and peach dessert. Risotto was good, but was topped with peppers that did not go well with the rest of the dish. Steak was excellent. The peach dessert was bizarre in its construction, texture and flavors. It was the first time in my life that I chose not to finish my dessert. My wife had the tuna, chicken and ice cream. The tuna was presented in a bowl with several other items that did not go well with the fish. The fish also tasted and smelled as though it were turning bad. Her chicken was cold in the middle and the portion was very small. Smaller portions are to be expected when dining in this kind of restaurant but the chicken portion was meat equivalent of three or four chicken nuggets. Her desert was good. I would not recommend the restaurant despite the wonderful service and mood because the food. My wife, a chef on her own, felt as though the chef was trying much too hard to create unique dishes and present them in unusual ways that the chef forgot that above everything else, the food must first taste good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was an excellent choice on my part. We had a superb experience dining here on our very first night in Asheville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary getaway at the Inn at Biltmore. The Dining Room was exquisitely decorated. The food was phenomenal and the service outstanding. They made us feel welcome, important and special. We highly recommend The Dining Room at The Inn at Biltmore and look forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was a wonderful fine dining experience. The staff was excellent, especially our head waiter Elijah. They made our anniversary a very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We made reservations for an early dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The wait staff was phenomenal and food superb. We agreed that we couldn't have had a better experience. We would recommend this dining experience whole-heartedly. Thank you for making our anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Enjoyed the dinning experience. Great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Thanks for making our dining experience memorable! You all exceeded above our expectations!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was great, nice presentations. Service okay: appropriate demeanor, sometimes less attentive than expected at this level. Had to ask for more bread when plates empty, left wine menu on table nearly half way through dinner. Oddly only wife got Happy Anniversary plate for dessert.

Wine menu by glass very low end, disappointing.

Kudos to kitchen for having sugar free dessert available other than a fruit plate, and waiter for knowing that was available upon asking. That is something sadly missing from nearly every restaurant we go to, even though 10% of Americans are diabetic.

Value, despite price point! Had the three course dinner and we were plenty full and more than satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

An exquisite restaurant with surprising and delectable menu choices. Service is unparalleled. One of our top experiences ever in dining. Expect the unexpected.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The Biltmore Inn has several places to dine. Wish I had chosen a different restaurant. Our food was mediocre, my s'mores dessert looked repulsive, the service was poor. Our choice was steak accompanied by broccolini and mashed potatoes. A tablespoon of potatoes painted on the plate and three strings of broccolini? The only good thing was a very good Trefthen Cabernet I ordered. We won't be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.