About The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate

Lodge Street Biltmore Estate
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located at the Inn on Biltmore Estate, indulge in elegant dining specializing in regional cuisine. Our culinary team invites you to enjoy our seasonal menus featuring a three, five or seven course prix-fixe selection in a setting of white tablecloths, beautiful views, and gracious service. We strive to support the local community through the use of sustainable agriculture.


A valid Biltmore Estate admission ticket, Biltmore Annual Pass, or current lodging at the Inn on Biltmore Estate are required to visit any Biltmore restaurant. For evening access to the Estate inquire at the Biltmore Welcome Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly (Sunday-Thursday): 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Dinner Nightly (Friday and Saturday): 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
1 Antler Hill Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28803

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(866) 800-4623

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/dining-room.asp

Parking Details:
Please remember estate access required. Must have a valid Biltmore Estate admissions ticket, be a Biltmore Annual Passholder, or registered Inn on Biltmore Estate guest.

Executive Chef:
David Ryba

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We feature a Private Dining Room with an attached patio that may be reserved for dinner parties. For convenience and comfort, we may accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Dining Room - Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
14 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Best Value
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (128)
Scenic View (114)
Romantic (114)
See All
Fit for Foodies (75)
Notable Wine List (63)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friends and I did the course meals. W ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

My friends and I did the course meals. We went to The Dining Room for my birthday. The food was delicious overall and very filling (WORTH EVERY PENNY) Did not get a birthday cake unfortunately. However we did complimentary desserts from the chef!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A really nice meal well prepared and ser ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

A really nice meal well prepared and served. Expensive but worth it. We will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was wonderful. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful. The server was skilled, suggesting specialty dishes with out pushing, offering substitutions when my husband said he didn't like the vegetable, always there when we needed something but never hovering. The kitchen sent out several little tastings between coarses.

Everything we had, was done to perfection. Of course, the view of the mountains with the sun setting was spectacular.

Even the bill for such an incredable experience was well within budget making us feel like we were a Vanderbilt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in A ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in Asheville, North Carolina, and we were looking for a great fine dining experience to indulge our foodie sides. The Biltmore fine dining experience we had with our servers Brian and Kamor was superb, far exceeding our expectations. We both spent years in the restaurant industry (I worked at Ruth's Chris and Fleming's) and were blown away by the creativity of the chef and the attentiveness of the waitstaff. If I had three hands, I would give the Inn at the Biltmore three thumbs up! Alas, I only have two hands, so two thumbs will have to do! Take your family here for a night you will never forget.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cocktail experience in lobby not very go ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cocktail experience in lobby not very good, poor service. Dining including service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was fantastic. One of the best ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was fantastic. One of the best meals I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service I've ever experienced from ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best service I've ever experienced from start to finish. I would go back, and have, again. Mr Vanderbilt would be proud.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Certainly the most elegant large dining ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Certainly the most elegant large dining room I have dined in. The service was excellent - friendly and efficient. The food was unique and very good. The view of the sunset from the porch was outstanding. It was a special occasion for me and my partner and was indeed a memorable one.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. Ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Our seating was ahead of the time predicted by the host, even though we arrived 1/2 hour early. Service was exactly on time with consultations regarding readiness before each course. The price was lower than expected. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband took me to The Dining Room fo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband took me to The Dining Room for my birthday this past weekend. He had mentioned he wanted a table by the window for my birthday and also that I had a food allergy. Elizabeth and Madison (I think?) catered to my every need! They double checked every item to make sure it was safe to eat. The view was outstanding! Madison even took us outside for our photo. The appetizer, entree, and dessert were all wonderful! Elizabeth even gave us a little treat (dairy free!) to take home. I will definitely be back. Best birthday dinner ever!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary with some ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary with some of the best food and best service we've received ever. The food is varied and interesting. The portions are manageable. The dessert with a special anniversary wish written in chocolate was the absolute topper. All the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The views from our table of the mountains and sunset (and morning)were stunning. Thank you for making our visit to the Biltmore so enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is extraordinary and every part ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service is extraordinary and every part of the meal was completely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely dining experience. We ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a lovely dining experience. We had the five course meal and enjoyed it very much. We would recommend it to anyone staying or visiting the Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 25th wedding ann ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Everyone we encountered on staff in the dining room wished us a happy anniversary. Our waiter addressed us as Mr. and Mrs. S.... We were made to feel very special on our special day. Our waiter made several great course recommendations which we selected. The watermelon salad was delightful ;The corn soup - sweet and creamy; The filet - tender and perfectly cooked. I felt a bit disappointed with my grouper and rice dish. The fish, in my opinion, was overcooked and the rice seasoning was a little salty. That is why I did not give a five star rating on the food. The Hazelnut cheesecake dessert was yummy and there was a "happy anniversary" wish written in chocolate on the plate. It was a wonderful dining experience! Definitely go if you get a chance to do so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service...the way you want to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Impeccable service...the way you want to be serve when you dine out!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and the food was abs ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Exceptional service and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and wonderfully p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was delicious and wonderfully prepared. The waiter was pleasant and kind with just enough attention to us but was not overly attentive. He was definitely an experienced professional. His recommendations were helpful and we enjoyed the entire meal. It could not have been a better dining experience for celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dinner! The scones were fab ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

What a great dinner! The scones were fabulous and the pastry chef even shared her recipe with me! Incredibly nice. My Dad's meal included an incredible salad presentation that resembled art, a filet mignon that he remarked was the best he had ever had-he is 91! I had the Biltmore version of lobster therimdor-kudos to the chef again! Treats all along the way-a little cup of spicy soup to wake up our palette, tiny blueberry tarts before dessert, and scrumptous jellies after dessert. I had homemade ice cream that was a generous three scoops of creamy heaven. The only thing that did not wow us was Dad's dessert of three melons. The rest was beyond excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, albeit, a bit pr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent, albeit, a bit pricey. Service staff and ambiance was outstanding. Overall, a great dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic service, excellent selections ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent selections and wonderful flavor. We highly recommend the 5 course menu which allows a selection of several delicious items to enjoy a full range of cuisine offered by the chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our experience at Biltmore! Elizab ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Loved our experience at Biltmore! Elizabeth made my girlfriend's 30th birthday above and beyond our expectations. We will be coming back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Room is very nicely done - elegant. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The Room is very nicely done - elegant. Service was excellent and the food superb. The ambiance is subdued and very comfortable. Relaxed dress code but I felt more comfortable in a sport coat. Extensive wine list - some highly priced but a large selection of moderately priced excellent choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This will be a short review. Except for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This will be a short review. Except for the corn soup, which was excellent, and the deserts, the food was bland and tasteless. I had the charbroiled octopus as an appetizer and we both had the hearts of romaine with Caesar dressing. Tasteless! Ditto for the grouper. If your taste buds were gone, you would appreciate the presentation. Mine are not thus the low score.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience! Outstanding ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always a great experience! Outstanding food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Biltmore Dining Room is 5 star in ev ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Biltmore Dining Room is 5 star in every way. The food, attentive, professional service, atmosphere, and view. It was just fabulous. They have a preset menu of either 3 or 5 courses. We did the 3 course with about 3-4 drinks each. I added a lobster tail to the filet for an extra $20. Total was $250 with gratuity. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and this was one of Open Tables Top 3 that we dined at in Asheville. One word describes the restaurant "Elegant" we enjoyed a vey quiet meal with a window seat and view of the garden area. The service was Outstanding and service impeccable. We had the 5 Course Prix Fixe menu and all courses were exceptional. We had one of the Estate wines that we tasted at the Winery earlier that day. Be sure to not miss dining at this wonderful restaurant when in Asheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This past weekend, my husband and I cele ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This past weekend, my husband and I celebrated our 10th year wedding anniversary. We could have gone anywhere in the world to do it. It was such a delight and joy to celebrate it at the Biltmore Estates...enjoying all of its splendid offering such as the Dining Room. We invited our best friends to join us . We're still chatting about the Dining Room. We had a great experience. We're already planning our next trip...and passing the word on to other special family members and friends. We rate you with a A++

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the food was amazi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was remarkable and the special ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was remarkable and the special care of my dessert plate telling me happy birthday was priceless! Thank you for the wonderful experience on my special day!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went for our 25th wedding ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I went for our 25th wedding anniversary and we had the most awesome evening. The restaurant, food and particularly the waitstaff were all outstanding. We cannot say enough good things about the entire hotel and restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The veal dish was terrible...no meat all ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The veal dish was terrible...no meat all fat and bone.

Gave us a free after dinner drink to make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had the most amazing time, and it ble ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had the most amazing time, and it blew away our expectations. We will definitely be back as soon as we are visiting asheville again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, presentation, and service al ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food, presentation, and service along with a spectacular view of the mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each of the staff at the Biltmore Inn re ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Each of the staff at the Biltmore Inn restaurant were professional in an unassuming manner making their service most enjoyable. The food was of the highest quality and its presentation completed a remarkable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. Service was won ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Service was wonderful made you feel very welcome. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely excellent from start to finis ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely excellent from start to finish. Be prepared to pay $$$$ but worth every penny for that special occasion. Beautiful view too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Well prepared wi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was wonderful. Well prepared with quality ingredients and great presentation. We opted for the five courses and took our time dining. The entire dining room staff was very attentive and knowledgeable.

We never had to ask for anything, it was always there.

Our overall experience was fantastic, and hope to visit this fine restaurant again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the first time for my wife's bi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for the first time for my wife's birthday last Saturday. Incredible service! Food was excellent. Though portion size was small, the were fresh and well presented. Will most certainly be going back in the future for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is impeccable. Each course serve ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service is impeccable. Each course served was delicious. Great evening with friends that the meal made it even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just perfect. Great dining experience vv ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Just perfect. Great dining experience vvkoved th entire evening

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.