About The Del-Bar

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday 4:30pm - 8:15pm, Dinner Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: 6082531861x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Wisconsin
Best Restaurants in Lake Delton ›

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Romantic (26)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (12)
Historic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fireplace (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were excellent!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Love the oysters and escargo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! Love the oysters and escargot. The service was impeccable. I would dine there more frequently if we lived closer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a lovely night there, i have been ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had a lovely night there, i have been there before and things have not changed which is a good thing. My husband was a little disappointed in the shrimp but overall the did was good other than the sweetness in the rice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was amazing as always!! It is pric ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was amazing as always!! It is pricy. Would go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best place we have been to in years. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The Best place we have been to in years. The food was excellent. So glad for the gift certificate that we received to be able to come there.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our family holiday get togeth ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Celebrated our family holiday get together and birthday, staff is extremely accommodating, food was excellent, cocktails outstanding, overall supper club ambiance brought back many fond memories

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected the food was fabulous. I ha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2016

As expected the food was fabulous. I had the scottish salmon and hubby had the walleye and both were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, the Del Bar did not disappoi ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Once again, the Del Bar did not disappoint! We were celebrating an 85th birthday with family members (to include 5 yr. old twins). As usual the service was attentive but not overbearing. Four of us (2 couples) ordered the escargot to share--shear heaven! Small squares of puff pastry sit atop large snails floating in their herb-y garlic butter--too die for, IMHO. My salmon entree was terrific (apart from being too large--half coming home!), and I highly recommend upgrading to the Oscar Style. The chunks of white crab meat were huge, plentiful, and sweet. Better than almost anything that we encountered when we lived in Maryland--now that says a lot!! I had substituted a vegetable for my potato choice, but I was enjoying my dinner so much that I didn't notice that it hadn't turned up. However, the staff did, so they boxed it up for me and allowed me to have a free dessert to compensate--how nice. The twins liked their pizzas: in fact everyone was very enthusiastic about their choices. My free dessert was an outstanding mango/raspberry creamsicle: a scoop of intensely flavored mango sorbet on one end with one of raspberry on the other and a scoop of a vanilla bean gelato in between, all topped with minimal whipped cream and a drizzle of white chocolate--extremely otherworldly! Can't wait for another occasion to go back :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was wonderful one of the best I ha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Steak was wonderful one of the best I have ever have. The king crab was good a bit fishy but was still very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic steaks and seafood, excellent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic steaks and seafood, excellent service, great old fashions and a warm and friendly atmosphere made it a perfect evening for the two of us. The Del-Bar gets 5 stars in our book. We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Del-Bar has become our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Del-Bar has become our favorite restaurant in Wisconsin Dells. Always good food and reasonable pricing for the area. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. This was the only time where we had "spotty" service so I will chalk this one up to one of those bad nights that servers sometimes have. Great bar area with seasoned bartenders that know how to poor a good drink.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The service and food was very good. Sal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service and food was very good. Salad was fresh, cheese curds were solid and the Friday fish fry was very good. Our table preferred the fried over the baked. Atmosphere was nice and dining room was quiet. Decor

Was dated but was not completely irrelevant. My one and only complaint was the drink prices. My father in law and I thought the old fashions were phenomenal until we got the check. Through the course of our dining experience he had six old fashions. Apparently at the axel bar Korbel is considered a premium alcohol= $9.25 each. In the end our six old fashions equaled our food bill. I'm a man of principal and for this reason alone I will not be back and try the numerous other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was delicious! From the excel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was delicious! From the excellent escargot and oysters Rockefeller, to the shrimp, walleye, steak, and pork chop, our party of eight enjoyed it all. We decided to check out The Del-Bar on a whim and we were not disappointed. We'll definitely be back the next time we visit the Dells! It's a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Been going there for 15 years and have n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Been going there for 15 years and have never had a bad experience.

Love the Dell-Bar

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Del-Bar. Great seafood and ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We love the Del-Bar. Great seafood and steaks. The ambiance is very comfortable and welcoming.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for an intimate dinner or a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place for an intimate dinner or a large group gathering. Excellent menu, terrific wine list...one of our all-time favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish fry! Hashbrowns are excellent!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best fish fry! Hashbrowns are excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always look forward to Del Bar. It's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We always look forward to Del Bar. It's iconic in the dells. Oysters were outstanding, drinks as well. Salads good. 20 oz bone in ribeye cut from a huge loin so pretty thin, but good flavor. Bernaise sauce was overpowered with lemon juice. Desserts and after dinner drinks good. Pecan pie. Hash browns as a side were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice, simple atmosphere. It was not lou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice, simple atmosphere. It was not loud at all, which is hard to come by these days. Food was yummy- we went on Friday evening for the fish fry. Julienne the hostess was nice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

ALWAYS A PLEASURABLE EXPERIENCE TO HAVE ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2016

ALWAYS A PLEASURABLE EXPERIENCE TO HAVE COCKTAILS AND DINNER AT THE DEL-BAR.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great!!! Drinks were great!! Lo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great!!! Drinks were great!! Loved the atmosphere! We had a 7:30 reservation and didn't get seated until after 8.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

LOVE this supper club and try to visit i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 5, 2016

LOVE this supper club and try to visit it whenever we're in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Del Bar. W ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was our second visit to Del Bar. We very much enjoy the ambiance and food. Service has been fantastic both visits.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Del-Bar was recommended to us for a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Del-Bar was recommended to us for a nice dinner out and it did not disappoint. Our waitress was very knowledgeable regarding the menu and able to make suggestions. She was attentive to our needs but not overbearing in any way. The house spinach salad was delicious with just the right amount of bacon dressing. The rolls were warm and the perfect accompaniment with the salad. Our entrees were equally satisfying giving all 3 five stars....Tempura shrimp had crispy coating and perfectly cooked shrimp, Grilled Salmon with bernaise sauce was moist and tender without being raw in the center, and the Pan Fried Perch was a pleasant substitute for the Walleye which they were out of....it included 6 pieces of fish which allowed for a take home meal. The wine list was wonderful especially as it included wines from the Wollersheim Winery which we had toured earlier in the day. The Prairie Fume is one of the Winery's signature wines and was on the Del Bar menu. All in all we would give the Del Bar 5 stars and cannot wait to go back. We would like to be seated in the bar area next time which seems to have a cozier atmosphere and a feel of the 1950's or 60's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AS USUAL THE STAFF, AND YOU ALL KNOW WHO ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2016

AS USUAL THE STAFF, AND YOU ALL KNOW WHO I MEAN, ESPECIALLY BONNIE, KELLY, KAREN, ETC. ETC. WERE WONDERFUL. THE FOOD TOO WAS TERRIFIC AS ALWAYS.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at the Del Bar many, many t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I have dined at the Del Bar many, many times. It is quite frankly one of my most favorite places to dine.

I took my wife there for her birthday,the food was excellent, but I was disappointed with one thing. The restaurant knew it was her birthday. I thought for sure when the meal was done they would bring her either a desert on the house or a small piece of cake with a candle in it. their was none except the waitress did bring her a small plate of plain whip cream with a candle in it. I thought this was pretty cheap on the part of the Dell Bar. When you spend that kind of money there and it's a special occasion, they could of at least sprang for desert for her (nothing elaborate, but something better than a dish of whip cream.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I visit Del-Bar whenever in town for bus ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I visit Del-Bar whenever in town for business (several times per year). Food and service is always outstanding. As always I look forward to returning during my next visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy the Del Bar. Food was go ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy the Del Bar. Food was good. Was somewhat disappointed that they were out of the Walleye which is one of my favorite entrees. They substituted Perch for the same price...hmmmm.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

CONSISTENTLY AWESOMELY VERY GOOD. GREAT ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

CONSISTENTLY AWESOMELY VERY GOOD. GREAT FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDGEABLE STAFF. WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE EVERY TIME!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious and always so much fun!!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious and always so much fun!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best crab cakes on small plates. Excelle ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Best crab cakes on small plates. Excellent waitress provided explanations as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Del-Bar is simply awesome !!! We go ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Del-Bar is simply awesome !!! We go there often and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor is dated but keeps that charmi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The decor is dated but keeps that charming classic supper-club feel. You can show up dressed up or totally casual and be comfortable and then the FOOD IS AMAZING. Would highly recommend it - we had a lot of variety at the table from baked haddock, to chicken cordon bleu, to steak, and even a kids meal and it was all absolutely perfect. Don't miss this classic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I have eaten at The Del Bar a number of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have eaten at The Del Bar a number of times. The food is always excellent and the service top notch. You are made to feel very comfortable and relaxed never any pressure to eat up and move on.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant for steaks and a ve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant for steaks and a very good wine list. We go there every time we're in the Wisconsin Dells area, so that should tell you something.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great experience as always. The Del Bar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great experience as always. The Del Bar never disappoints. Renee offered great service and a well paced meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks and great old fashions! T ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing steaks and great old fashions!

The best French Onion soup I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easily the finest restaurant in the Dell ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Easily the finest restaurant in the Dells. Food delicious, service outstanding. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all the way around, from servi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent all the way around, from service to food. We had the Walleye and Flatiron, would highly recommend both. Plan to go back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance!! Class ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance!! Classy. A welcome oasis from the surrounding hectic vacation atmosphere!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.