About The Del-Bar

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: 6082531861x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Lake Delton ›

special occasion (68)
romantic (55)
fit for foodies (37)
See All
good for groups (35)
notable wine list (34)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Waite staff was wonderful. They were ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our Waite staff was wonderful. They were kind and patient with our large group of 13. The food was delicious. The perfect place to celebrate a special birthday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the place.

Dined on May 20, 2016

We eat at the Del-Bar whenever we are in the Dells The food is great and we love the ambiance. It is reminiscent of a time gone by

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

the filet was perfectly cooked and seaso ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

the filet was perfectly cooked and seasoned and the exotic mushrooms were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Menu was pretty typical American fare... ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Menu was pretty typical American fare...steak and seafood...good and generally well presented. Nothing unusual...spinach salad was soggy instead of crisp. Reasonable prices. Not a very creative menu. Server was very quiet, merely doing her job. Did not offer any help. One person in our party had to send entree back immediately because plate was hot but food ice cold. Made us wonder how long it had been in the fridge before being microwaved! Rolls were nice and fresh. Hum drum wine list. Noise level was almost unacceptable...tables too close together and no division in the open dining room...like a cafeteria. Probably a better room somewhere else in the restaurant. Would not go back solely because there was absolutely no atmosphere and way too noisy. I expected more and was disappointed. I would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Wisconsin's great restaurants. Ha ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of Wisconsin's great restaurants. Have the occasion to dine there four+ times a year and my thought is the food just keeps getting better. Great place for very nice wines by the glass and a terrific wine list that's fairly priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Del Bar

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lucas was our waiter. I introduced my wife and myself to Lucas. He made a point to use our names as he checked on us throughout the night. The service was prompt. The food arrived in a reasonable time, everything was the right temperature and delicious. I tried the sauteed mushroom side dish and really enjoyed the flavor. Our cocktails were tasty and ample quantity.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a set menu for the Mother's Day Brunch: of $25 + a free Mimosa for the Moms. Two people ordered off the regular menu and upgraded the salad. The food & service was excellent. The dining room was full but not overcrowded like many restaurants are for Mother's Day. We had a very enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy this restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

We eat here on special occasions. , the night before Mothers day. We had a choice of 4 oysters which were all great before precisely prepared steaks. The wine list was superior and tasty.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

The steaks are excellent, done to perfection, that is what brings us back. Attentive waitresses. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary, we were treated to a glass of champagne before dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Del-Bar rocks....

Dined on May 4, 2016

Been coming to the Del-Bar for years...and food and the service only get better. One of the finest restaurants in the mid-west.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good times!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Dined with family and friends. Excellent food and very nice service a comfortable, but nice environment. We will return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak and sides. Great wine li ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent steak and sides. Great wine list. We were seated by the coy pond. It was beautiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't think of one negative thing….

Dined on April 30, 2016

Starting with the Brandy Old Fashioned, which was made to perfection, the cracker/bread basket had variety of times, and the Spinach Salad with bacon dressing is a must. Had the Filet Mignon…..which was "melt in your mouth" delicious. And topped the meal off with a Grasshopper. Prices are on the upper end, but the food was well worth the cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! The spinach salad was great ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food! The spinach salad was great and I can't say enough to about the hash browns! The ribeye was an excellent cut with just enough fat for flavor. Lucas was a great server and was attentive to our needs. Worth every penny! This will be our new go-to place when in the Dells.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food. Lucas did his usual ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Always great food. Lucas did his usual high level of service. My wife and I never miss dining at Del-Bar when we visit the Dells.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Great place in the dells for great food ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Great place in the dells for great food !

food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome food. Just wish we weren't so cl ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Awesome food. Just wish we weren't so close to the bar area. There was a really loud, annoying lady that talked politics the whole time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Outstanding as always!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Del Bar Restaurant!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent steaks aged and prepared perfectly. Cocktails very good they know how to make a brandy old fashioned. Wait staff excellent. Don't delay go there today.!!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should not miss

Dined on April 16, 2016

After spending at least a week in the Dells each year, we finally went to Del Bay and now wonder why we waited so long. Food and service were outstanding- we will now be back each year!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great meal for my husband birthday ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a great meal for my husband birthday Waitress was very friendly and our steaks were great. Cooked just the way we wanted them. The services was great and no waiting for service or the meal. It was a little pricey but a very good meal. The spinach salad was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1

I wont come back our server was very rud ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

I wont come back our server was very rude. And did not check on us to make sure our dinner was ok. Which it was not. My husband gave me half of his burger because the chicken sandwich i ordered was not edible she had an attitude when I asked if the patron margarita my husband ordered was patron. Clearly was not there is a huge difference between that and a cheap Gold tequila. I know my margaritas! No apologies about the obvious mess up. Hey there's a plus the crab cakes were great and it was very clean and quiet. Other than that just not somewhere I would go again. Ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Del-Bar dinner is always special and per ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Del-Bar dinner is always special and perfect. Oysters Rockefeller and raw oysters were delicious. Seared scallops and spinach salad are excellent. Whenever we can we go to Del-Bar. We are never disappointed. It is always wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Wisconsin Supper-club!

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Del-Bar is a Wisconsin and Wisconsin Dells Institution, one of my favorite spots to dine. I was attending a weekend conference at the Chula Vista resort and traveled in a day early just to dine at Del-Bar. our Cocktails were Makers Mark Manhattan and Bloody Mary - all were excellent. For an appetizer it was the scallops - fantastic! My favorite entre is the filet with mushrooms and has browns - as good as ever. Of course to top off this excellent meal we shared a grasshopper. The Del-Bar is a must if your a Wisconsin foodie in the vicinity of Wisconsin Dells.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night

Dined on April 2, 2016

From the moment we entered the Del Bar, we were treated awesomely. We arrived earlier than our reservation and were able to be seated immediately. All wait staff were pleasant and attentive. Our waitress was super nice and knowledgeable. She was friendly and checked on us often. She knew the menu and commented positively on our choices. We were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food with generous portions. ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Delicious food with generous portions. Truly enjoyed our dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We were amazed at the service Renee T provided us with. She was very nice and attentive. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best walleye I have ever had! Save room ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Best walleye I have ever had! Save room for the peanut butter pie too! Great food, great service and a great traditional supper club menu. Love it!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant and effective service. Good men ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Pleasant and effective service. Good menu breadth. Food presented well and served at the right temperature. Appreciated broiled alternative to Friday fried fish special.

food5
ambience5
service5

It's always been a great place to eat I ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

It's always been a great place to eat I will always come back to the Del Bar to eat and enjoy myself

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stopped in early on a Friday evening ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We stopped in early on a Friday evening and though tempted to eat in the bar where there was more activity, opted for a quiet table next to the gas fireplace and next to a glass window that overlooked a koi pond and scenic pine trees (which gradually got covered as the snow began). Service was extremely hospitable and the dinner (salmon and steak) were excellent. Excellent drinks and wine; good French onion soup; and tasty salads/dressings. I would imagine it gets extremely crowded during busy summer season, but now is a good time to visit!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From Madison, well worth the drive! The ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

From Madison, well worth the drive! The food, cocktail, dessert and service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious food. The wine sect ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Absolutely delicious food. The wine section is phenomenal and great prices. Also love the cracker basket. Would highly recommend Del Bar to everyone!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend this restaurant

Dined on February 21, 2016

This is a very nice place, and I visit here every time I'm in the Dells. The food is fantastic, and the ambience is wonderful. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great choice for date night!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Service was excellent. Steaks and seafood were superb. Best cheese curds ever! Mix drinks were very good also. It is a pricey place, but very well worth it. Definitely would splurge and go there again. We dressed nice, but you could go casual and feel comfortable either way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh oysters and great seafood for a Fr ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Fresh oysters and great seafood for a Friday night. We were able to celebrate our 10 year anniversary, Valentine's Day, and my 41st Birthday! Very happy, we always have a great dinner at The Del-Bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated anniversaries and had special occasions here many times. The service and food is always spectacular. The only downside we noticed this last visit is there were so many kids that the noise level had risen. Would love to see the restaurant seat families with kids in one area. We don't really think this restaurant is a good fit for kids.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak was good but the lobster was fishy, Love the spinach salad

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food

Dined on February 10, 2016

We have a marketing conference in the dells every year and we usually get a group to go to the Del Bar every year. Great drinks, Great Filet Mignon and Awesome Service every single time. We will see you next year!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place to relax and have some good ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Great place to relax and have some good food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.