About The Del-Bar

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: 6082531861x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Lake Delton ›

special occasion (83)
romantic (59)
fit for foodies (47)
See All
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (29)
neighborhood gem (24)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great meal and service. I love the ol ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 13 hours ago

A great meal and service. I love the old style steakhouse ambiance with just enough modern style to make it inviting. I loved the bar atmosphere, leather bucket swivel stools. There was light background music, nothing blaring in your ear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Del-Bar was the perfect place to enj ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Del-Bar was the perfect place to enjoy fabulous food, friends, and fine dining!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was very good, th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The overall experience was very good, the only disappointment was 2 menu items we specifically went there for, they were out of them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ma our reservation about an hour and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We ma our reservation about an hour and a half before we went there. Hostess at the restaurant did not have an updated sheet with our reservation. She did work to get our party of 6 seated within 5-10 minutes. Loved the spinach salad and steaks. Pricey but certainly a step above all the hamburger and pub places in the Dells.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We love the Delbar... Whenever we are in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love the Delbar... Whenever we are in the Dells we eat there. We love their spinach salad, Tempura Shrimp, and I always upgrade to get Brussel Sprouts. We look forward each time to our visit. We also like their tap beer and wine selection. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience in the middle of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great dining experience in the middle of the Wisconsin Dells. We were looking for a nice restaurant for my wife's birthday - and Del-Bar did not disappoint. Tables spaced far enough apart for intimate conversation. Personal, but not intrusive service. Great menu, perfectly prepared food - including a wonderful gluten-free menu. Beautifully plated. An all around wonderful evening. We will be back and will be recommending this to all our friends!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a party of 10. Everyone's meal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Went with a party of 10. Everyone's meal was excellent. The service was exceptional. Very pleased. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Wisconsin supper club, wonderful p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Wisconsin supper club, wonderful people and excellent food. You can not go wrong if you go to the Dell Bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special dinner to celebrate my daughte ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A special dinner to celebrate my daughter's first teaching job. We love the atmosphere at the Del Bar. Although the restaurant was full, the noise level was low. A more casual summer tourist crowd, but still elegant. We all enjoyed our food selections. The wait staff was attentive. At first I sensed they were trying to hurry us along, and it was busy. But we settled in for a nice relaxing meal and ended up being at our table for nearly two hours of conversation and good food. A memorable meal and a nice way to celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Del Bar is a family favorite dining ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Del Bar is a family favorite dining spot. The food and service never disappoint us. When in Wisconsin Dells, the Del Bar is the highlight of our visit to the city,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wisconsin supper club and the wall ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Wisconsin supper club and the walleye is great!

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Enjoyed are t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, great service! Enjoyed are time there while in the Dells.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Del Bar has been a Wisconsin Dells s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Del Bar has been a Wisconsin Dells staple for generations of families and is always noted as a "special" night out. It used to be primarily for couples out dining but now more families are there so if you're looking to get away from kids you won't be. Food is always good quality and desserts are excellent. Service very good. It's a traditional Wisconsin supper club in many ways -- tradition is nice in this day of every restaurant buying/selling from the same food distributor or being a chain just like the one in every other town.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING, HOWEVER..THE DECOR ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING, HOWEVER..THE DECOR WAS ALL DIFFERENT SHADES OF BROWN..VERY DEPRESSING AND DATED THE AMBIANCE SUCKED BIG

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The Del-Bar is a memorable experience. E ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Del-Bar is a memorable experience. Everything is splendid; from the drinks to the entrees, the service and the ambiance. My wife was delighted which is all one can ask. Classic in the best sense.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our dining experience was outs ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always our dining experience was outstanding. We go every year for our anniversary to enjoy the romantic setting and experience! Our server was very sweet and very attentive to our needs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. This is our 3rd time t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was amazing. This is our 3rd time there, tonight celebrating our anniversary. It is such a great atmosphere and the level of service was very good. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant we've found in the W ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The best restaurant we've found in the Wisconsin Dells area. Very good service and food. Very comfortable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food and 5 star ambiance... all in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

great food and 5 star ambiance... all in a very competitive environment...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waiter never came back and poured the wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Waiter never came back and poured the wine. For what I paid, I would expect this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great window seat, great servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great window seat, great service and awesome food! This was our first time to Del-Bar and we will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it !! Great atmospheres staff f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved it !! Great atmospheres staff food and drinks. Classy place - but not somewhere to go slumming or with kids looking for a child's meal!! Go to tgif or Applebee's of that is what you want.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delbar is always a favorite to go out to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delbar is always a favorite to go out to dinner for birthdays. They never disappoint, great food, great service, and always a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Del Bar always has great food. We we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Del Bar always has great food. We were a bit spoiled the last time we went as our wait person kept very good tabs on filling our water each time and kept wiping up our spot. They didn't do that as well this time. It was still very good, but we didn't feel as spoiled as we were the last time. Also, they didn't offer more of the great toast that we loved so much this time. Wasn't as impressed as last time there.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great cuisine. Great chef! We stayed in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great cuisine. Great chef! We stayed in the Dells for a long weekend and had to eat dinner there twice it was so good! It's one of the reasons we drive from the Chicago suburbs to eat out!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We went for our 1st anniversary and they ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for our 1st anniversary and they served us complimentary champagne! It was a very nice evening. Service could have been a bit better, though. I sat without any water for most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a good time at dinner. We were a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a good time at dinner. We were a fairly large group, and the staff was very accommodating to our group. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Del-Bar, great ambiance, excell ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love the Del-Bar, great ambiance, excellent service and wonderful food! My favorite place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delbar the Great

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

There are just three words to say. Fantastic, fantastic, fantastical!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and Excellent Service.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was great and the restaurant atmosphere was that of a first class restaurant. In my opinion, the best up scale restaurant in the Dells.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic supper club

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

A classic Wisconsin upscale supper club with a great bar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4/5

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

First of all, overpriced. Good food (no WoW!) Great service. If they could serve steak little hotter (they know how to serve hot onion soup, very good btw) that would be awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff. Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Standy

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We've been going here for years. Our meal was perfect, great food, friendly waitress and outstanding service even with a little one. Will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Salmon & walleye were very good. The wal ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Salmon & walleye were very good. The walleye is by far the best I have ever eaten. We were there early on a Friday to take advantage of food specials available until 6:00.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

My fiancé and I went in for our 4th anniversary. I specified we wanted a private table and that it was our anniversary when I made the reservation. When we arrived they told us " Happy Anniversary" and gave us a toast of Champaign. We were seated at a private table near a large window with a pond. It was VERY nice. THANK YOU DEL-BAR! We will definitely return and would recommend it to others as well!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Waite staff was wonderful. They were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our Waite staff was wonderful. They were kind and patient with our large group of 13. The food was delicious. The perfect place to celebrate a special birthday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best, Every time I have eaten ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Simply the best, Every time I have eaten at Del-Bar, it's been the same. We tell everyone we know who goes to the Dells, you have to eat at Del-Bar at least one night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Love the place.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We eat at the Del-Bar whenever we are in the Dells The food is great and we love the ambiance. It is reminiscent of a time gone by

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the filet was perfectly cooked and seaso ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

the filet was perfectly cooked and seasoned and the exotic mushrooms were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.