About The Del-Bar

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: 6082531861x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Lake Delton ›

special occasion (72)
romantic (52)
fit for foodies (41)
See All
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (30)
neighborhood gem (19)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great window seat, great servic ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great window seat, great service and awesome food! This was our first time to Del-Bar and we will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved it !! Great atmospheres staff f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved it !! Great atmospheres staff food and drinks. Classy place - but not somewhere to go slumming or with kids looking for a child's meal!! Go to tgif or Applebee's of that is what you want.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delbar is always a favorite to go out to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delbar is always a favorite to go out to dinner for birthdays. They never disappoint, great food, great service, and always a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Del Bar always has great food. We we ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Del Bar always has great food. We were a bit spoiled the last time we went as our wait person kept very good tabs on filling our water each time and kept wiping up our spot. They didn't do that as well this time. It was still very good, but we didn't feel as spoiled as we were the last time. Also, they didn't offer more of the great toast that we loved so much this time. Wasn't as impressed as last time there.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great cuisine. Great chef! We stayed in ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great cuisine. Great chef! We stayed in the Dells for a long weekend and had to eat dinner there twice it was so good! It's one of the reasons we drive from the Chicago suburbs to eat out!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

We went for our 1st anniversary and they ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for our 1st anniversary and they served us complimentary champagne! It was a very nice evening. Service could have been a bit better, though. I sat without any water for most of the time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a good time at dinner. We were a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a good time at dinner. We were a fairly large group, and the staff was very accommodating to our group. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Del-Bar, great ambiance, excell ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Love the Del-Bar, great ambiance, excellent service and wonderful food! My favorite place!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delbar the Great

Dined on June 10, 2016

There are just three words to say. Fantastic, fantastic, fantastical!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and Excellent Service.

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was great and the restaurant atmosphere was that of a first class restaurant. In my opinion, the best up scale restaurant in the Dells.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic supper club

Dined on May 30, 2016

A classic Wisconsin upscale supper club with a great bar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

4/5

Dined on May 30, 2016

First of all, overpriced. Good food (no WoW!) Great service. If they could serve steak little hotter (they know how to serve hot onion soup, very good btw) that would be awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff. Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Standy

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We've been going here for years. Our meal was perfect, great food, friendly waitress and outstanding service even with a little one. Will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Salmon & walleye were very good. The wal ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Salmon & walleye were very good. The walleye is by far the best I have ever eaten. We were there early on a Friday to take advantage of food specials available until 6:00.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 24, 2016

My fiancé and I went in for our 4th anniversary. I specified we wanted a private table and that it was our anniversary when I made the reservation. When we arrived they told us " Happy Anniversary" and gave us a toast of Champaign. We were seated at a private table near a large window with a pond. It was VERY nice. THANK YOU DEL-BAR! We will definitely return and would recommend it to others as well!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Waite staff was wonderful. They were ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our Waite staff was wonderful. They were kind and patient with our large group of 13. The food was delicious. The perfect place to celebrate a special birthday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Simply the best, Every time I have eaten ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Simply the best, Every time I have eaten at Del-Bar, it's been the same. We tell everyone we know who goes to the Dells, you have to eat at Del-Bar at least one night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the place.

Dined on May 20, 2016

We eat at the Del-Bar whenever we are in the Dells The food is great and we love the ambiance. It is reminiscent of a time gone by

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

the filet was perfectly cooked and seaso ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

the filet was perfectly cooked and seasoned and the exotic mushrooms were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Menu was pretty typical American fare... ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Menu was pretty typical American fare...steak and seafood...good and generally well presented. Nothing unusual...spinach salad was soggy instead of crisp. Reasonable prices. Not a very creative menu. Server was very quiet, merely doing her job. Did not offer any help. One person in our party had to send entree back immediately because plate was hot but food ice cold. Made us wonder how long it had been in the fridge before being microwaved! Rolls were nice and fresh. Hum drum wine list. Noise level was almost unacceptable...tables too close together and no division in the open dining room...like a cafeteria. Probably a better room somewhere else in the restaurant. Would not go back solely because there was absolutely no atmosphere and way too noisy. I expected more and was disappointed. I would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Wisconsin's great restaurants. Ha ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of Wisconsin's great restaurants. Have the occasion to dine there four+ times a year and my thought is the food just keeps getting better. Great place for very nice wines by the glass and a terrific wine list that's fairly priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Del Bar

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lucas was our waiter. I introduced my wife and myself to Lucas. He made a point to use our names as he checked on us throughout the night. The service was prompt. The food arrived in a reasonable time, everything was the right temperature and delicious. I tried the sauteed mushroom side dish and really enjoyed the flavor. Our cocktails were tasty and ample quantity.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a set menu for the Mother's Day Brunch: of $25 + a free Mimosa for the Moms. Two people ordered off the regular menu and upgraded the salad. The food & service was excellent. The dining room was full but not overcrowded like many restaurants are for Mother's Day. We had a very enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy this restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

We eat here on special occasions. , the night before Mothers day. We had a choice of 4 oysters which were all great before precisely prepared steaks. The wine list was superior and tasty.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

The steaks are excellent, done to perfection, that is what brings us back. Attentive waitresses. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary, we were treated to a glass of champagne before dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Del-Bar rocks....

Dined on May 4, 2016

Been coming to the Del-Bar for years...and food and the service only get better. One of the finest restaurants in the mid-west.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good times!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Dined with family and friends. Excellent food and very nice service a comfortable, but nice environment. We will return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak and sides. Great wine li ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent steak and sides. Great wine list. We were seated by the coy pond. It was beautiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't think of one negative thing….

Dined on April 30, 2016

Starting with the Brandy Old Fashioned, which was made to perfection, the cracker/bread basket had variety of times, and the Spinach Salad with bacon dressing is a must. Had the Filet Mignon…..which was "melt in your mouth" delicious. And topped the meal off with a Grasshopper. Prices are on the upper end, but the food was well worth the cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! The spinach salad was great ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food! The spinach salad was great and I can't say enough to about the hash browns! The ribeye was an excellent cut with just enough fat for flavor. Lucas was a great server and was attentive to our needs. Worth every penny! This will be our new go-to place when in the Dells.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food. Lucas did his usual ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Always great food. Lucas did his usual high level of service. My wife and I never miss dining at Del-Bar when we visit the Dells.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Great place in the dells for great food ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Great place in the dells for great food !

food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome food. Just wish we weren't so cl ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Awesome food. Just wish we weren't so close to the bar area. There was a really loud, annoying lady that talked politics the whole time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Outstanding as always!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Del Bar Restaurant!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent steaks aged and prepared perfectly. Cocktails very good they know how to make a brandy old fashioned. Wait staff excellent. Don't delay go there today.!!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should not miss

Dined on April 16, 2016

After spending at least a week in the Dells each year, we finally went to Del Bay and now wonder why we waited so long. Food and service were outstanding- we will now be back each year!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great meal for my husband birthday ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a great meal for my husband birthday Waitress was very friendly and our steaks were great. Cooked just the way we wanted them. The services was great and no waiting for service or the meal. It was a little pricey but a very good meal. The spinach salad was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1

I wont come back our server was very rud ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

I wont come back our server was very rude. And did not check on us to make sure our dinner was ok. Which it was not. My husband gave me half of his burger because the chicken sandwich i ordered was not edible she had an attitude when I asked if the patron margarita my husband ordered was patron. Clearly was not there is a huge difference between that and a cheap Gold tequila. I know my margaritas! No apologies about the obvious mess up. Hey there's a plus the crab cakes were great and it was very clean and quiet. Other than that just not somewhere I would go again. Ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Del-Bar dinner is always special and per ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Del-Bar dinner is always special and perfect. Oysters Rockefeller and raw oysters were delicious. Seared scallops and spinach salad are excellent. Whenever we can we go to Del-Bar. We are never disappointed. It is always wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.