About The Del-Bar

800 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Lake Delton, WI 53940
View Larger Map

Del-Bar “the best steaks in town since 1943.” Passionate, fairly priced wine list. Cocktail lounge. Prime Steaks, Jumbo seafood, Fresh fish, Sandwiches and more. The perfect place to hold small meetings, casual affairs, and great dinner parties.

The Del-Bar was establish in 1943 as a Roadside Steakhouse by Jim and Alice Wimmer and today is still family owned and operated by Jeff and Jane Wimmer. The "Prairie style" ambiance, renovations and expansions are by James Dresser, an important protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
E Hiawatha Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1861

Website:
http://www.del-bar.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Uptagraw

Private Party Facilities:
Copper Room maximum100 guests for sit down dinner.
70 for private meeting w/presentation Screen, projector, microphone & wifi.
Garden Room maximum 30 guests for sit down dinner.
18 guests for meeting w/presentation. Screen projector & wifi.
Wine room maximum 24 for sit down dinner.
Patio maximum 20 for sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jane or Jeanette: 6082531861x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Del-Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Lake Delton ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Kid-friendly (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience as always. The Del Bar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great experience as always. The Del Bar never disappoints. Renee offered great service and a well paced meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks and great old fashions! T ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing steaks and great old fashions!

The best French Onion soup I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all the way around, from servi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent all the way around, from service to food. We had the Walleye and Flatiron, would highly recommend both. Plan to go back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance!! Class ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance!! Classy. A welcome oasis from the surrounding hectic vacation atmosphere!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience was wonderful. The food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This experience was wonderful. The food was fabulous. Everything was just great. HIGHLY recommend the DEL-BAR. Will be back the next time we are in the Dells

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner, only the service was p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic dinner, only the service was poor, waitress rushed us from the moment we sat down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The food was Great! the service was even ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was Great! the service was even better. we had a wine at the bar after the meal and the people were so friendly!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. We did have to ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was wonderful. We did have to wait a bit longer for the check but the experience was top notch. Very accommodating service. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was ecellent! We will drive the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was ecellent! We will drive the 2 hours any time. Service was outstanding!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall a great experience. Comparable t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall a great experience. Comparable to Ishnala minus the view. The service is fantastic and the atmosphere will have you thinking you stepped back into the old supper clubs of past. I ordered a brandy old fashioned sweet. The drink was perfectly balanced and thus delicious. We started with the stuffed mushrooms and calamari as our server, Rainee, suggested. Both were great. The mushrooms were flavorful and the calamari was tempura fried. Next out came crackers and a bread basket along with the salads. The greens and veggies were fresh and the dressing was made in house. Very good. Next up was the filet mignon. I requested medium and it came out medium well which was fine with me. My baked potato was average but the steak was like butter. No A1 or bbq sauce needed here. No gristle or fat either. I ate every bite. For dessert I enjoyed the creme brûlée. Very good. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant surprise! We spent one night i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pleasant surprise! We spent one night in the Wisconsin Dells as a stop on way to St. Paul. We were staying at the Hilton garden inn next door and asked about the restaurant. We were no impressed by anything in the Dells except this restaurant! Old type steak house with excellent steaks! The spinach salad recommended by all was correct! My husband liked his halibut as well. Would actually go back to this restaurant if it wasn't in the dells! The dells could be great with kids but we didn't have any with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great Food, excellent service - overall ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great Food, excellent service - overall an outstanding evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very slow and key items on t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was very slow and key items on the menu were not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall a great Supper Club experience b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Overall a great Supper Club experience but expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good. Service was outstan ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was very good. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I have been coming to the Del Bar for ov ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have been coming to the Del Bar for over 50 years having grown up in both Chicago and Lake Delton. Del Bar remains a preferred family special event place, as well as just a treat for daily dining. The ambiance is so rare to find these days; it is casually elegant and quiet enough to hear all persons around the table. The menu is populated with the tried and true recipes and sprinkled throughout with specials - and they are all brilliantly done, tasty and compelling, and satisfying.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Del-Bar was recommended at our B&B a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Del-Bar was recommended at our B&B as "fine dining." The server was very professional but it was a bit too casual for "fine dining" (we felt a little overdressed among the families and vacationers). We waited about 15 minutes for drinks, although the bartender sent her apologies. The food was good, although ordinary and the prices a little steep. The filet I ordered "medium" was "medium well," but otherwise fine. The bread selection was excellent along with some unusually delicious butter. We liked the Prairie Style design of the building. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner but would probably try other places in the area first before returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food and service was exceptional. Ou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and service was exceptional. Our family had a great experience and recommend this place for a special dinning outing for anyone visiting the Wisconsin Dells.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal and service. I love the ol ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A great meal and service. I love the old style steakhouse ambiance with just enough modern style to make it inviting. I loved the bar atmosphere, leather bucket swivel stools. There was light background music, nothing blaring in your ear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always stopat DelBar when we are look ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We always stopat DelBar when we are looking for a special dining expirience. We had a bad original expirience due to a seriously lackluster server-but since then have had Bonnie as our waitress and have never been disappointed again, (we now request her for our server) We always enjoy her friendly and attentive service. 20% off wine nights bring us in, and walleye, rockafeller, cremebrulee and escargot keep us coming back. Hats off to this great supperclub.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

What a wonderful dinner for our wedding ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

What a wonderful dinner for our wedding anniversary. Perfect atmosphere, excellent food, service was top notch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Del-Bar was the perfect place to enj ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Del-Bar was the perfect place to enjoy fabulous food, friends, and fine dining!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was very good, th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The overall experience was very good, the only disappointment was 2 menu items we specifically went there for, they were out of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ma our reservation about an hour and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We ma our reservation about an hour and a half before we went there. Hostess at the restaurant did not have an updated sheet with our reservation. She did work to get our party of 6 seated within 5-10 minutes. Loved the spinach salad and steaks. Pricey but certainly a step above all the hamburger and pub places in the Dells.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We love the Delbar... Whenever we are in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love the Delbar... Whenever we are in the Dells we eat there. We love their spinach salad, Tempura Shrimp, and I always upgrade to get Brussel Sprouts. We look forward each time to our visit. We also like their tap beer and wine selection. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience in the middle of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great dining experience in the middle of the Wisconsin Dells. We were looking for a nice restaurant for my wife's birthday - and Del-Bar did not disappoint. Tables spaced far enough apart for intimate conversation. Personal, but not intrusive service. Great menu, perfectly prepared food - including a wonderful gluten-free menu. Beautifully plated. An all around wonderful evening. We will be back and will be recommending this to all our friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a party of 10. Everyone's meal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Went with a party of 10. Everyone's meal was excellent. The service was exceptional. Very pleased. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Wisconsin supper club, wonderful p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Wisconsin supper club, wonderful people and excellent food. You can not go wrong if you go to the Dell Bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special dinner to celebrate my daughte ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A special dinner to celebrate my daughter's first teaching job. We love the atmosphere at the Del Bar. Although the restaurant was full, the noise level was low. A more casual summer tourist crowd, but still elegant. We all enjoyed our food selections. The wait staff was attentive. At first I sensed they were trying to hurry us along, and it was busy. But we settled in for a nice relaxing meal and ended up being at our table for nearly two hours of conversation and good food. A memorable meal and a nice way to celebrate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Del Bar is a family favorite dining ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Del Bar is a family favorite dining spot. The food and service never disappoint us. When in Wisconsin Dells, the Del Bar is the highlight of our visit to the city,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wisconsin supper club and the wall ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Wisconsin supper club and the walleye is great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Enjoyed are t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, great service! Enjoyed are time there while in the Dells.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Del Bar has been a Wisconsin Dells s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Del Bar has been a Wisconsin Dells staple for generations of families and is always noted as a "special" night out. It used to be primarily for couples out dining but now more families are there so if you're looking to get away from kids you won't be. Food is always good quality and desserts are excellent. Service very good. It's a traditional Wisconsin supper club in many ways -- tradition is nice in this day of every restaurant buying/selling from the same food distributor or being a chain just like the one in every other town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING, HOWEVER..THE DECOR ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING, HOWEVER..THE DECOR WAS ALL DIFFERENT SHADES OF BROWN..VERY DEPRESSING AND DATED THE AMBIANCE SUCKED BIG

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The Del-Bar is a memorable experience. E ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Del-Bar is a memorable experience. Everything is splendid; from the drinks to the entrees, the service and the ambiance. My wife was delighted which is all one can ask. Classic in the best sense.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our dining experience was outs ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always our dining experience was outstanding. We go every year for our anniversary to enjoy the romantic setting and experience! Our server was very sweet and very attentive to our needs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. This is our 3rd time t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was amazing. This is our 3rd time there, tonight celebrating our anniversary. It is such a great atmosphere and the level of service was very good. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant we've found in the W ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The best restaurant we've found in the Wisconsin Dells area. Very good service and food. Very comfortable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food and 5 star ambiance... all in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

great food and 5 star ambiance... all in a very competitive environment...

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waiter never came back and poured the wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Waiter never came back and poured the wine. For what I paid, I would expect this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.