About The Dawson

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Awarded a Bib Gourmand in 2014 and 2015, The Dawson is a casual neighborhood hangout features an energetic series of bi-level indoor and outdoor spaces. Each unique area is approachable, yet versatile in offerings, as well as experience. The menu presents a new American cuisine characterized by simple flavors with a farm-driven Midwestern sensibility by chef Shaun King. The beverage program of house made sodas, cocktails, craft beers and wines creatively complements chef King’s menu. A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.
offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
4:30PM - 10PM MONDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)
4:30PM - 11PM TUESDAY - THURSDAY (BAR UNTIL 12AM)
4:00PM - 12AM FRIDAY AND SATURDAY (BAR UNTIL 1:30AM)
4:00PM - 10PM SUNDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)

BRUNCH HOURS:
10:30AM - 3:00PM SATURDAY AND SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Grand - Halsted & Milwaukee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Blue Line across the street

Executive Chef:
Shaun King

Additional:
Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dawson
  • The Dawson
The Dawson
The Dawson

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River West ›

great for outdoor dining (117)
fit for foodies (101)
good for groups (99)
See All
neighborhood gem (72)
hot spot (68)
special occasion (60)
great for brunch (57)
vibrant bar scene (51)
romantic (31)
great for lunch (24)
notable wine list (18)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (10)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it. Great indoor / outdoor setting ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved it. Great indoor / outdoor setting. The umbrella covered patio and the upstairs balcony were great. Brunch menu was different and the food very satisfying. Our waiter was terrific. Knowledgeable. Professional. Friendly. Not sure what it would be like on a Saturday nite but it would be good to find out.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for father's day brunch with 2 smal ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for father's day brunch with 2 small children, and the ambience and food was great! Would definitely come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The outdoor dining is what we decided to ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The outdoor dining is what we decided to come here for and are so happy we did! Our waiter, Kevin, took great care of us and contributed to the great meal and experience we had. We would definitely come back here again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a great time. Wendy our serv ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We had such a great time. Wendy our server and Luis made our experience wonderful!

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was great and the drinks were d ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great and the drinks were delicious. No complaints at all..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went heref or no othe reason than to enj ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went heref or no othe reason than to enjoy a fun night out with my girlfriend. From the vibe to the food, everything lived up to the hype

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE The Dawson. Amazing Food, Drinks a ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

LOVE The Dawson. Amazing Food, Drinks and Staff. One of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. Never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. The hostess, ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was fantastic. The hostess, server and buser were on their game. However, the lamb rack tasted like it was frozen, dethawed and grilled without seasoning, the sides served with it were better than the actual lamb. The pork belly lettuce wraps were good but literally just pork belly cubes in a lettuce bibb. They put bleu cheese in my MIL's Greek salad and the server acted like that was totally acceptable. The music was techno versions of hit songs. Wish it were just the hit song, I felt like I was eating at Forever 21. Beautiful interior, well trained staff, disappointing food. I won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great. We sat outside nea ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was great. We sat outside near a speaker. It was loud. I would definatkey go back but not sit in the corner near the speaker

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

the food was okay but the desserts were ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

the food was okay but the desserts were great! wine was good too. I would come back for drinks and desserts.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a great experience!!! Beautiful o ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a great experience!!! Beautiful outside where we celebrated 2 birthdays. Great place for Sunday Fun Day Brunch!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there for dinner before a concer ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went there for dinner before a concert @ Northerly Island, food atmosphere and the service were top notch. We were scheduled to go to The Gage but my sister recommended as it is the sister spot to the Gage. Great suggestion, we had an enjoyable time and will be heading back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous...great service, out ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely fabulous...great service, outdoor tables with enough room between not to feel 'squeezed'. Brunch was terrific, very nice variety on the drink menu. I'm a big one for music, not loud crazy but good background, mood setting and for a lovely outdoor lunch PERFECT..highly recommend, will go back for dinner, soon,

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4

the ambiance and vibes are what makes th ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

the ambiance and vibes are what makes this place. Food is good and so are drinks but a little bit over priced. Overall great experience

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the BEST restaurants around. Not ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

One of the BEST restaurants around. Not only is the food awesome they run like a well oiled machine. We haven't experienced this kind of service at a restaurant in a long time. If you haven't been there, go!! Their speciality cocktails are inventive and the food is to die for. Run there now! Tell Michael (the manager) we sent you.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Now this is special!

Dined on June 2, 2016

A delightful surprise on our first time visit for a birthday celebration. The service was amazing - attentive but not hovering. Prosecco start off with mussels and saffron bread, squid and salad. Birthday dessert treat from the house. It was all wonderful. I would say it's a 20 something spot, but we didn't mind. Our server was very personable and efficient. A great experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome patio and fantastic food. I'd hi ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome patio and fantastic food. I'd highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Dawson Does It Again

Dined on May 23, 2016

I have been to The Dawson many times, and it is generally my "go-to" no matter what the occasion. When I have friends visiting from out of town, I always make sure that we come to The Dawson at least once while they are in town. My friends, Kati and Jonathan, had just gotten married in Santa Fe and had taken the train to Chicago on their way back to Baltimore. I could think of no better place to celebrate. They were both blown away by The Dawson's food and beverages. I look forward to celebrating special occasions (or just any ordinary day) for many years to come at this extraordinarily fabulous eatery.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great outdoor spot

Dined on May 22, 2016

The hostess was fabulous! Our server, however, didn't seem to want to be there and wasn't helpful with the menu. She took away our empty drink glasses and walked away without asking if we'd like another. I joked that the hostess' enthusiasm made up for our server's lack of enthusiasm. I can't believe it's taken me so long to go there. I love the outdoor area, the cocktails were really good and there is something for everyone. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

I visited with three others for my girlf ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I visited with three others for my girlfriend's birthday. We had attended the Time-Out Mac and Cheese Smackdown and had been wanting to visit the restaurant to sample more of what they had. The award-winning mac and cheese is still brilliant. The hummus is also very good. The entrees were more hit-or-miss; the chicken and halibut were excellent, with simple, standout flavor. The pork and lamb were far more complicated. It was difficult to get some of each ingredient in a single bite, so they were bit inconsistent. The pork cut was also fatty and unevely-cooked, so, while the dish was still good, there wasn't enough pork to go around with all the other ingredients. Service was attentive, cheerful, and very helpful.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wish I discovered earlier

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

What a great find! Yelped "alfresco dining" to find them. The outdoor garden is perfect, the service and food were fantastic. Their menu is really innovative - so trust your server's recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Honestly, the food was just okay. Flavo ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Honestly, the food was just okay. Flavor was kind of lacking, which was disappointing given that the food isn't cheap. Got the steak "medium" but it was more "well done" than medium. My husband ordered the tuna collar (their special) and while it was huge, flavor was missing. Fun outdoor patio is available, but I'd tell anyone looking for real flavor that they're better off elsewhere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Dawson. Cool, comfortable vibe ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the Dawson. Cool, comfortable vibe with great food and very affordable wine list. Outdoor space is a bonus for this urban gem.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I had a great experience. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My family and I had a great experience. We loved the food and really appreciated the service. We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend for Saturday brunch for ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I took a friend for Saturday brunch for her birthday. Everything about The Dawson is 5 star. The space is absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent and the wait staff couldn't have been nicer. The food is wonderful and the menu eclectic. Not your run of the mill brunch menu. This is a restaurant that pays attention to its customers. Sometimes when a restaurant receives alot of publicity and good reviews, the servers become laid back. Not at The Dawson. Marcela the General Manager stopped by our table to make sure we had everything and we were comfortable. She then sent over a complimentary piece of their house made berry pie with coffee. I have not seen that kind of service in a very long time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the place

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love the place

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Service was wonderful and so ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent! Service was wonderful and so was the patio atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved it. Nice trendy spot, a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Absolutely loved it. Nice trendy spot, atmosphere was perfect.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Started poor, service grew great

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were greeted promptly and placed a drink order. The waitress returned to take our appetizer order, and required us to place our dinner order at the same time. Fortunately the food wasn't rushed out though. However, we waited 40 minutes from the time we sat until we received our drinks. Our appetizers came out before drinks were delivered. We asked another waiter, the bartender, and hostess staff for assistance to get our beverages during the 40 minutes. The food all was delicious though. The manager came over to apologize. They comped the first drinks and our two appetizers for us, which was greatly appreciated and saved me coming back. I love this place - the food, the atmosphere, the cocktails... so definitely happy to see they redeemed themselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Not what you expect for Chicago dining

Dined on May 6, 2016

Atmosphere and drinks were good. The hostess stand was a bit of a mess and really not very friendly. We had reservations, but I showed up an hour early to make sure to get on the list for outside seating. They told me that the reservation trumps the wait list, but that ended up not being the case. We ended up waiting almost 2 hours after our reservation time to get an "outdoor" table, which ended up being the first table by the windows barely outside. As for the food, it was nothing special. In Chicago you expect really good food especially so close to the West Loop. We had the chicken fried lobster for the appetizer and it was really lacking flavor. My pork entree was all fat. Just not worth the money in our opinion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything at the Dawson was wonderful. The food, drinks, ambiance, all of it. I went there with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday and will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Our experience at the Dawson was great, ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our experience at the Dawson was great, the food was all wonderful especially the lamb loin and ceviche. We were there celebrating an engagement and they had nice touches like bringing us some champagne at the start of our meal and some surprise desserts. Overall we felt so welcome and will be going back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not disappoint!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I was beyond pleased with my first experience at The Dawson! The food and cocktails were amazing! I would highly recommend the Who You Talking Bout, Willis cocktail - delicious! We ordered the chicken fried lobster and it was so amazing and a great start to the meal. I had the top sirloin and it was perfectly cooked. The service was also wonderful! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails, all the food was fabulo ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great cocktails, all the food was fabulous. We had a group of 8 and sat outside, it was a perfect evening for it. Everyone's dishes were great, the burger is fabulous as are the mahi tacos for two. And try the GTO cocktail, it was a big hit with us. Add to that the wonderful service and we couldn't have hoped for a better dining experience!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a Fabulous Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went in on a beautiful Sunday and sat on the patio for a leisurely brunch, food and service were fab! However maybe not the best spot if you're in a hurry.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I'm a big fan of The Dawson, so I was a ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

I'm a big fan of The Dawson, so I was a little taken back by our dinner experience. The oysters, were good as were the scallops, Mac-n-cheese was awesome, our bartender who made our pre-dinner drinks was great. He made excellent drinks and was pretty cool. Our waitress could have been nicer but maybe she was having a bad night or something, at least pretend you want to be working. Even with all that, the most disappointing thing was there "special" grilled prime rib. Now I know prime rib is fatty, that's were the flavor comes from. This cut of meat was so fatty I left more than 1/2 of it. Plus it was coated in a wine sauce that made it very difficult to even trim the fat off, because I couldn't see it. Such a disappointment for the price. ADDENDUM*** I reached out to the Dawson about the unfortunately dinner experience, and they were wonderful with getting back to me and offering me $$ back or a gift card. I went with the gift card bc they really are a good place to have dinner or drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

A solid urban dining experience. The ch ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A solid urban dining experience. The chef is fantastic, the cocktails are far better than average and the food is great. They are not lazy with their menu as it seems to change up almost with the weather. I shared the mahi tacos for two and there was plenty of meat and toppings. A little spendy particularly if you order multiple cocktails but the service and food quality supports the price.

food2
ambience3
service1

That was such a terrible experience. Fro ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

That was such a terrible experience. From the food to the service. Our server might have checked on us once. I had to flag down someone else for coffee and water refills. At one point we had three empty cups and an empty bottle of water. The food was cold as well. Did not see how this place had such amazing reviews.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Chicago visitor

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great ambience, good balanced atmosphere a very relaxing neighbourhood feel that draws all age groups

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Resturant

Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful evening at the Dawson. I love the seasonal menu (drinks included). Wonderful service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.