About The Dawson

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Awarded a Bib Gourmand in 2014 and 2015, The Dawson is a casual neighborhood hangout features an energetic series of bi-level indoor and outdoor spaces. Each unique area is approachable, yet versatile in offerings, as well as experience. The menu presents a new American cuisine characterized by simple flavors with a farm-driven Midwestern sensibility by chef Shaun King. The beverage program of house made sodas, cocktails, craft beers and wines creatively complements chef King’s menu. A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.
offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
4:30PM - 10PM MONDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)
4:30PM - 11PM TUESDAY - THURSDAY (BAR UNTIL 12AM)
4:00PM - 12AM FRIDAY AND SATURDAY (BAR UNTIL 1:30AM)
4:00PM - 10PM SUNDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)

BRUNCH HOURS:
10:30AM - 3:00PM SATURDAY AND SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Grand - Halsted & Milwaukee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Blue Line across the street

Executive Chef:
Shaun King

Additional:
Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dawson
  • The Dawson
  • The Dawson
The Dawson
The Dawson
The Dawson

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (138)
Fit for Foodies (95)
Good for Groups (92)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Special Occasion (67)
Hot Spot (65)
Great for Brunch (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Romantic (31)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Late-night Find (14)
Scenic View (11)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time! Our server was atte ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great time! Our server was attentive and sooo knowledgable about the menu. Then drinks were A+ and the ambiance was just right. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome outdoor patio. Great cocktails ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome outdoor patio. Great cocktails (love the "G.T.O.") Creative and flavorful food.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, but menu is limited. Fun plac ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, but menu is limited.

Fun place to go but this time we had a total flake for a waitress.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great location, amazing outdoor patio, t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great location, amazing outdoor patio, top notch service and amazing food. I was a little nervous about eating there as I love great food and frankly I haven't been hearing a lot of people talking about The Dawson lately. I was totally blown away by both the cocktails AND the food. Totally exceeded my expectations and I would go back tonight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got together with friends who hadn't bee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Got together with friends who hadn't been together in a long time. Marcela and Meagan made the experience amazing!

The food was great and the service careful and attentive.

Really great space....Really great folks...Really coming back for more... Front house were great too.. Alexis, Michael and Fletcher ? (bartender)...

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Dawson is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Dawson is one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago - the Chicken Fried Lobster is amazing and the outdoor dining space is hard to beat

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to The Dawson a handful of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have been to The Dawson a handful of times now and had a great experience overtime. The outdoor patio is one of the best in the city. They have a sizable and reasonably priced bourbon list and mix up some solid cocktails. The food is elevated bar / southern classics and hasn't disappointed yet. Definitely worth checking out the weekday deals like $10 burger and beer on Tuesday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great ambiance, great patio and really g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great ambiance, great patio and really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good mix of small plates and entrees. Ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good mix of small plates and entrees. Our sever Megan was over the top great. Too bad it was raining as the outdoor dining area with large fireplace would be special for an evening out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on the patio and the ambiance was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We sat on the patio and the ambiance was great! Good food, good, service, yummy cocktails - very enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was fantastic.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the vibe of this place. Very good c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the vibe of this place. Very good cocktails and wine. Food menu gives a variety of options to share. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Mahi Mahi tacos... excellent

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had the Mahi Mahi tacos... excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Daughter working in the city. Fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Visited Daughter working in the city.

Found Dawson's.

Sat outside in cute Patton.

Amazing chicken fried lobster

However, the BBG pulled pork filled cupcake was to die for.

Our waiter was exceptional.

We shall return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

chicken fried lobster appetizer was a 10 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

chicken fried lobster appetizer was a 10, I would order two of them next time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very hip place. Outdoor seating on a su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very hip place. Outdoor seating on a summer evening is the place to be. And cocktails are made with care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a hospitable and tasty experience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a hospitable and tasty experience at the Dawson! Amazingly friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great outdoor patio for brunch. Good br ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great outdoor patio for brunch. Good breakfast sandwich and the group next to us had a huge disco ball filled with champagne!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Patio! Great options on Menu!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great Patio! Great options on Menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great venue, inventive food, energetic a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great venue, inventive food, energetic atmosphere. We travel to Chicago a couple times a year and always see out great places to dine. This is a memorable spot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service, accomoda ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food and great service, accomodating and gracious to guests with a few allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fantastic dinner with our frien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner with our friends. Delicious food and fantastic service. Even a dinner mix up was handled professionally and to our satisfaction. The bar is a fun place too! The bartenders are fun, friendly and make awesome concoctions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience! The patio is a abs ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful experience! The patio is a absolutely beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for my Birthday. When we sh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We came here for my Birthday. When we showed up and asked to sit on the patio the hostess said no problem and found us a table. We shared a few dishes including the seafood paella special which was amazing! I can't wait to come back again and enjoy the patio again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My book club met here for brunch on Sund ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My book club met here for brunch on Sunday and had the most incredible experience. The staff and service were exceptional and handle an oversight with such class and professionalism I was blown away! The food was excellent as well. I'm a loyal customer and plan to come back again and again. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered a Ild Fashioned and they said it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ordered a Ild Fashioned and they said it would be a dollar more for a square ice cube.

Didn't have the first bottle of wine, out of stock.

Old fashion took over 30 min to make.

They ran out of our second choice of wine after one bottle.

Nothing special with the food. Overpriced in general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Only thing I would change is the server. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Only thing I would change is the server. She was not concerned with our interests and offered items to increase her check. We had enough food left over for the entire table, all 8 people, and didn't need to order certain items. She should've had a bit more consideration to what would fit our needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

First, our server did not come speak to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First, our server did not come speak to us for at least 10 minutes after we were seated. I had to ask a busboy who would be taking care of us and then she turned up. When we let her know that we had theater tickets and needed to leave by a certain time (we still had 1 hour and 15 minutes to dine), she sort of panicked and said we needed to order everything right away because they take a long time to prepare their food and she didn't want us to be late. That was thoughtful, but ALL the food--AND WE ORDERED MANY THINGS--arrived at the same time about 15 minutes later! It's hard to believe it was prepared to order. We liked the food but it couldn't overcome the serving errors.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Fantastic service!! Good was amazing!! T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic service!! Good was amazing!! The restaurant is also very nice! Perfect for a brunch, get together, or even a party!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Nice wine list an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service was excellent. Nice wine list and beer selection. Great variety of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the atmosphere of this place as w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love the atmosphere of this place as well as the wine list...however, I'm not sure if we were being pushed out, but out waitress was beyond pushy as far as rushing us to order. We ordered apps and drinks and there wasn't more than 4 minutes that passed over the course of 4 hours that she didn't come by. While I appreciate an attentive waitress, I don't appreciate one who simply takes away our menues after, in her opinion, it seemed as if we weren't going to order more food. It was very off putting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall the food was pretty solid, my on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall the food was pretty solid, my one complaint is the lobster had a funny aftertaste and I found unsettling especially given the cost. Everything else I enjoyed

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for brunch on a pseudo-rainy Sunday ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for brunch on a pseudo-rainy Sunday. The best thing about this place, in my opinion, is the patio area. Due to the weather, we had to sit inside. It seemed like the outside was just as big as the inside. The food was good. I had the BEALT sandwich. The was pretty big. My friend got the pork mac and cheese. That portion was HUGE. Delicious - but huge. We had some drinks with brunch so the bill came out higher for brunch that the prior night's dinner (which also included drinks) so that was the only down side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was pretty bummed out that we weren't ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was pretty bummed out that we weren't assigned to sitting out on the patio.We also didn't receive our drinks till we were done with our dinner.They def made it up by a round of free drinks and a bottle of champagne.Overall the experience was great and we enjoyed our time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I was very excited to try the Dawson and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was very excited to try the Dawson and thought it would be a great place to take a friend who was visiting from out of town. Unfortunately, the experience was not what I had expected. We waited over 45 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. There were multiple tables that were seated ahead of us even though they arrived well after we did. When the staff realized their mistake, they brought over a round of drinks but by then we were all very hungry. The appetizers were all very good, however most of our entrees came out cold. We sent one of the entrees back, but it did not come out much better the second time. The staff was nice enough to remove that meal from our total bill. Overall, I enjoyed the outdoor patio but was very disappointed in the service and quality of food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had brunch and thoroughly enjoyed our ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had brunch and thoroughly enjoyed our pastries , entrees and Bloody Mary's! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere, good price ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, good price for what you get. Waiter was good and very knowledgeable. A bit slow at times but Burger night Tuesday seemed to be busy.

We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious, but a little pricey. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was delicious, but a little pricey. The outdoor area is great - very cool vibe. Dishes were perfect for sharing. The mussels were fantastic - served with grilled bread -delish! We also got a whole chicken that was more than enough for 3 - in fact, we had leftover lunch for another 2! Also, the corn palote was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant is very nice for the unu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant is very nice for the unusual location at Grand and Milwaukee. But it gives them tons of space for I'm sure a reasonable rent. The patio area is huge and comfortable. Decor is very rustic but attractive; however, there's not enough shade outside yet--need some awnings guys! Food was good, especially the avocado toast and the cinnamon rolls. Parking is surprisingly problematic; they do valet but it's $12. Then there's some pay street parking at $4 per hour(!) but just drive around a little and you can find free parking. It's weird.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious dinner with some old friends. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious dinner with some old friends. Great outdoor area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.