About The Dawson

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Awarded a Bib Gourmand in 2014 and 2015, The Dawson is a casual neighborhood hangout features an energetic series of bi-level indoor and outdoor spaces. Each unique area is approachable, yet versatile in offerings, as well as experience. The menu presents a new American cuisine characterized by simple flavors with a farm-driven Midwestern sensibility. The beverage program of house made sodas, cocktails, craft beers and wines creatively complements our menu. A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.
offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
4:30PM - 10PM MONDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)
4:30PM - 11PM TUESDAY - THURSDAY (BAR UNTIL 12AM)
4:00PM - 12AM FRIDAY AND SATURDAY (BAR UNTIL 1:30AM)
4:00PM - 10PM SUNDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)

BRUNCH HOURS:
10:30AM - 3:00PM SATURDAY AND SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Grand - Halsted & Milwaukee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Blue Line across the street

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Michele Lee Kaminski
Private Events Manager
The Dawson
P: 312-372-4001
D: 312-459-9414
mkaminski@the-dawson.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dawson, Chicago, IL
  • The Dawson, Chicago, IL
  • The Dawson, Chicago, IL
The Dawson, Chicago, IL
The Dawson, Chicago, IL
The Dawson, Chicago, IL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Good for Groups (34)
Hot Spot (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Casual (20)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fireplace (11)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Scenic View (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Appetizers were phenomenal - all were st ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Appetizers were phenomenal - all were standards but had a unique twist. Hummus contained some fried chickpeas which added great texture, mac and cheese had bacon and pork and bacon wrapped dates had a red sauce which unexpectedly had heavy dijon mustard flavor. The entrees had unexpected twists like bbq lentils and pickled onion rings which are excellent and out of the ordinary. The only minor issues we had (and not really issues) but 1) the pork chop was cut off the bone and one of the pieces had a huge piece of bone left in it which could not be eaten and 2) the bread pudding was served cold and the warm chocolate sauced poured over it melted the excellent bourbon and smoked almond ice cream. Our group of 6 all really enjoyed it and have recommended it to others! We will go back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

It was my sister in law's last weekend h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my sister in law's last weekend here visiting us from Ireland and we wanted to go someplace new and close to our usual haunt (Emmitt's). This place is a great spot for beautiful food, an energetic atmosphere, great bar, and for people-watching. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and give great recommendations. The GM Kim, was warm and welcoming to us as newbies to the place. We were even pleased to have the owner Mr. Billy Lawless himself (a fellow Irishman) come and have a chat with us as we were finishing dinner and enjoying our drinks. We will definitely be back and recommending The Dawson to all our friends and out of town guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great brunch. Jack was server. G ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had a great brunch. Jack was server. Great service

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great but what made the eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was great but what made the evening even better was Ashley our server who we have had once before.

Ashley is extremely knowledgeable, personable and makes the whole evening most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Grilled whole branzino was outstanding. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Grilled whole branzino was outstanding. I took off a star because the steak was only a 4 star. The service was outstanding, as always in a Lawless restaurant. Even my college-aged grandson noticed it.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices are exorbitantly high for the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The prices are exorbitantly high for the quality and amount of food. This place is just good for the super expensive drinks. The main floor has a lame, trendy motif. The upstairs bar is better but only open on weekends. Thought they would get their act together by now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Creative menu for brunch. May not appea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Creative menu for brunch. May not appeal to everyone.

All other aspects of the dining experience were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Dawson is a great space with an amaz ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Dawson is a great space with an amazing menu. The wait staff could be a little friendlier, I understand they want to keep it moving, but when 1/2 the tables are open for a Sunday lunch where friends are clearly catching up, your tip will be much higher with a nice/friendly attitude! I had the avocado toast and thought it was delicious, highly recommend. They have a great patio that is amazing for warm weather!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good food and solid service. Great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very good food and solid service. Great atmosphere, this place is worth a try.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Relaxing place for a get together with f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Relaxing place for a get together with friends and family. Exceptional service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food delicious, nice ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service, food delicious, nice beer list. A little pricey though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is quite large, 2 floors of s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place is quite large, 2 floors of seating with a bar. Interior is like a large modern cabin surrounded by a wooden fence. Dim lighting, comfortable seating, and restaurant specific cocktails. Our group of 3 only ate the shared plates which were all delicious: bacon wrapped dates, roasted veggies, beef tartare, and octopus. For desert we shared the Devil's Food Cake, which was coffee infused and just lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought a client here from out of town ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I brought a client here from out of town. Drinks were great, service was impeccable, food was good and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. The noise level was appropriate, we could hear each other easily. A great place for business meetings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Brunch menu is good, we sat outside whic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch menu is good, we sat outside which was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The scallops were tasty but a bit gritty ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The scallops were tasty but a bit gritty. My date liked his fish very much. The vegetarian lasagna (?) and kale salad and that the others seemed to have been quite satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was great and the service was i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was great and the service was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic cocktails and surprisingly exc ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic cocktails and surprisingly excellent food. Service was perfect. Very cool location and decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was excellent, but the bill seemed high given that several people had mac and cheese as their main course.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We had dinner here for my friend's 30th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had dinner here for my friend's 30th birthday. They were very accommodating and the service was great. My only complaint was that they charged a cake cutting fee which seems a little silly when you spend as much as we did.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good place to grab dinner prior to a Haw ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good place to grab dinner prior to a Hawks game, which is what we did. Excellent service, very attentive. Appetizers were great (beat salad, bacon dates). As for the entrees, they are expensive but the portions are very healthy. The chicken, for instance, is half a bird, but very well prepared. We also had the pork chops and mussels. All good. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing service in a beautiful space and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Amazing service in a beautiful space and delicious food and cocktails. Love beacon tavern, acanto, and the gage, but might have a new favorite in this family of excellent options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely extraordinary service! Jack, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely extraordinary service! Jack, a new waiter, was extremely knowledgeable for his new tenure. He was exceptionally responsive to one of our guests dietary restrictions and made her experience limitless as well!

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a late lunch/brunch on Satur ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for a late lunch/brunch on Saturday. Not very crowded or noisy which was a plus for us. Food, cocktails and services were quite good.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the appetizers and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We really enjoyed the appetizers and the cool atmosphere, but we thought everything was really overpriced. We had het the chicken-fried lobster which consisted of a 3 oz lobster. It was delicious, but would I pay $18 for just 3 -4 bites? Not again... We tried as many dishes as possible, and although the heading says "to share", most portions were 3-5 bites at the most and we're talking $18-20 per plate. To be fair, the food was absolutely delicious, but I guess the menu was a little misleading. It's basically fine dining trying to be "casual and fun". I think it would be better to market the restaurant as a fine-dining type of restaurant, so people don't get fooled when the mini-portions arrive.I would have been happier ordering my own appetizer and main rather than "share". But, again, it's because the food was so good!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Burger was good, as were the turkey saus ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Burger was good, as were the turkey sausages. The enchiladas weren't that great though. Drink good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great libation program, but still able t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great libation program, but still able to make a standout cosmo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Dawson always pleases! Try the chick ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The Dawson always pleases! Try the chicken fried lobster for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter went out of his way to delive ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The waiter went out of his way to deliver us great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've ate here a few times before and en ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We've ate here a few times before and enjoyed it very much. However, this time the food took over an hour to be served and they told us it was all new kitchen staff. They were very nice about it and ended up picking up our check. The food is pretty good and nice environment. Not sure if we'll go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fun evening out with friends. Great ambi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fun evening out with friends. Great ambience, delicious cocktails and everyone was generally happy with their meals (although I thought my salmon dish was a bit boring). Devils Food desert is a MUST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great time, looking forward to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always a great time, looking forward to next dining experience :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason it's not a 5 is just the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The only reason it's not a 5 is just the small things that made me feel slightly uneasy throughout the night. Nothing serious, but it was a thing of "this place is really relaxed, this could be troublesome."

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sat outside in the garden at The Dawson ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Sat outside in the garden at The Dawson and it was quite lovely. A beautiful Chicago evening. Burgers were good and we had a sweet place to catch up and talk. Our waitress was very nice but not the most attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We used to love this place. Last few tim ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We used to love this place. Last few times it wasn't the same as it was last summer. The vibe wasn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

great food and atmosphere outdoor seatin ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 15, 2016

great food and atmosphere

outdoor seating in a casual environment

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, drinks, service and place. O ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food, drinks, service and place. One of those places you can always have a good meal and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Chicago! Took ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Chicago! Took out of town guests and had a great meal with great service. I had the salmon - superb! - and a GTO - awesome cocktail. Highly recommended, always!

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Dawson. I always get good s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love the Dawson. I always get good service and I go for chicken fried lobster. It is so wonderful that I pay extra for an extra lobster tail.

I can't wait til it gets cold outside and I can get mashed potatoes. Mmmmm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great except for the coff ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great except for the coffee. It was not the best brew and was a bit luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My best friend and I truly enjoyed our e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My best friend and I truly enjoyed our evening here! The ambiance is phenomenal. We sat at the inside table closest to the patio and it was perfect. We were not too chilly but were able to feel the cool evening breeze. I would absolutely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.