About The Dawson

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Awarded a Bib Gourmand in 2014 and 2015, The Dawson is a casual neighborhood hangout features an energetic series of bi-level indoor and outdoor spaces. Each unique area is approachable, yet versatile in offerings, as well as experience. The menu presents a new American cuisine characterized by simple flavors with a farm-driven Midwestern sensibility. The beverage program of house made sodas, cocktails, craft beers and wines creatively complements our menu. A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.
offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
4:30PM - 10PM MONDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)
4:30PM - 11PM TUESDAY - THURSDAY (BAR UNTIL 12AM)
4:00PM - 12AM FRIDAY AND SATURDAY (BAR UNTIL 1:30AM)
4:00PM - 10PM SUNDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)

BRUNCH HOURS:
10:30AM - 3:00PM SATURDAY AND SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Grand - Halsted & Milwaukee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Blue Line across the street

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Michele Lee Kaminski
Private Events Manager
The Dawson
P: 312-372-4001
D: 312-459-9414
mkaminski@the-dawson.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dawson
  • The Dawson
  • The Dawson
The Dawson
The Dawson
The Dawson

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (114)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Groups (61)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Special Occasion (49)
Hot Spot (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Great for Brunch (33)
Romantic (24)
Great for Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Scenic View (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Good for a Date (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've ate here a few times before and en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

We've ate here a few times before and enjoyed it very much. However, this time the food took over an hour to be served and they told us it was all new kitchen staff. They were very nice about it and ended up picking up our check. The food is pretty good and nice environment. Not sure if we'll go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fun evening out with friends. Great ambi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fun evening out with friends. Great ambience, delicious cocktails and everyone was generally happy with their meals (although I thought my salmon dish was a bit boring). Devils Food desert is a MUST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The only reason it's not a 5 is just the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

The only reason it's not a 5 is just the small things that made me feel slightly uneasy throughout the night. Nothing serious, but it was a thing of "this place is really relaxed, this could be troublesome."

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sat outside in the garden at The Dawson ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Sat outside in the garden at The Dawson and it was quite lovely. A beautiful Chicago evening. Burgers were good and we had a sweet place to catch up and talk. Our waitress was very nice but not the most attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

great food and atmosphere outdoor seatin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

great food and atmosphere

outdoor seating in a casual environment

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, drinks, service and place. O ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food, drinks, service and place. One of those places you can always have a good meal and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Chicago! Took ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Chicago! Took out of town guests and had a great meal with great service. I had the salmon - superb! - and a GTO - awesome cocktail. Highly recommended, always!

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Dawson. I always get good s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love the Dawson. I always get good service and I go for chicken fried lobster. It is so wonderful that I pay extra for an extra lobster tail.

I can't wait til it gets cold outside and I can get mashed potatoes. Mmmmm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great except for the coff ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great except for the coffee. It was not the best brew and was a bit luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My best friend and I truly enjoyed our e ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My best friend and I truly enjoyed our evening here! The ambiance is phenomenal. We sat at the inside table closest to the patio and it was perfect. We were not too chilly but were able to feel the cool evening breeze. I would absolutely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The seafood choices were excellent! The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The seafood choices were excellent! The chicken fried lobster was phenomenal and we really enjoyed the crab rolls. Great place to have a date in a quiet and intimate setting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best patio! The staff are delightful ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The best patio! The staff are delightful, coffee is good and the dishes tasty! The quiche was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome outdoor dining space! Great cock ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome outdoor dining space! Great cocktails, good sharing menu - great place to meet friends for a night out!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was amazing. The service was gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was amazing. The service was great. They had a good selection of beer and craft cocktails and I will definitely be coming again!

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to The Dawson ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This was our second visit to The Dawson and we loved it as much as the first time. The raw fish appetizers are creative and offer an intense mix of flavor and texture. Cocktails are good and happily local and artisinal spirits are available but they are served in those pitiful dinky glasses that hipsters don't seem to know were meant for champagne never gin. The lamb entree was outstanding. The best of the dishes here offer a creative and complex mix of flavor and texture not often found. And the outside dining is fabulous with great city views and conversation possible, which it is not inside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! Our server was atte ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a great time! Our server was attentive and sooo knowledgable about the menu. Then drinks were A+ and the ambiance was just right. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

WOW - what a find! The ambiance, service ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

WOW - what a find! The ambiance, service and food were simply incredible. Chicken Fried Lobster? Mac n cheese with pork shoulder and bacon? Beet salad with candied pistachios and humbolt fog?? Wonderful wine list rounded out the experience...we will definitely be back. And not soon enough!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't not enjoy the food at all. Ordere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Didn't not enjoy the food at all. Ordered a burger and let's just say it was overall bad. The brioche bun was way too big for the burger and to top it off, my burger was the wrong temperature. Not only that but the overall meat tasted bad. I also ordered the porch chop and it wasn't great. It was dry and bland. The server was nice and the ambience was ok but definetly not worth $80.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome outdoor patio. Great cocktails ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Awesome outdoor patio. Great cocktails (love the "G.T.O.") Creative and flavorful food.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious cocktails - mimosas and bellin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

delicious cocktails - mimosas and bellinis. we also had a variety of brunch items - oysters, avocado toast, peach melba french toast, duck confit enchiladas. We enjoyed a variety of really delicious items from the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, but menu is limited. Fun plac ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, but menu is limited.

Fun place to go but this time we had a total flake for a waitress.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great location, amazing outdoor patio, t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great location, amazing outdoor patio, top notch service and amazing food. I was a little nervous about eating there as I love great food and frankly I haven't been hearing a lot of people talking about The Dawson lately. I was totally blown away by both the cocktails AND the food. Totally exceeded my expectations and I would go back tonight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got together with friends who hadn't bee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Got together with friends who hadn't been together in a long time. Marcela and Meagan made the experience amazing!

The food was great and the service careful and attentive.

Really great space....Really great folks...Really coming back for more... Front house were great too.. Alexis, Michael and Fletcher ? (bartender)...

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Dawson is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Dawson is one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago - the Chicken Fried Lobster is amazing and the outdoor dining space is hard to beat

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to The Dawson a handful of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have been to The Dawson a handful of times now and had a great experience overtime. The outdoor patio is one of the best in the city. They have a sizable and reasonably priced bourbon list and mix up some solid cocktails. The food is elevated bar / southern classics and hasn't disappointed yet. Definitely worth checking out the weekday deals like $10 burger and beer on Tuesday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great ambiance, great patio and really g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great ambiance, great patio and really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good mix of small plates and entrees. Ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good mix of small plates and entrees. Our sever Megan was over the top great. Too bad it was raining as the outdoor dining area with large fireplace would be special for an evening out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on the patio and the ambiance was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We sat on the patio and the ambiance was great! Good food, good, service, yummy cocktails - very enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was fantastic.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the vibe of this place. Very good c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the vibe of this place. Very good cocktails and wine. Food menu gives a variety of options to share. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Mahi Mahi tacos... excellent

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had the Mahi Mahi tacos... excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Daughter working in the city. Fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Visited Daughter working in the city.

Found Dawson's.

Sat outside in cute Patton.

Amazing chicken fried lobster

However, the BBG pulled pork filled cupcake was to die for.

Our waiter was exceptional.

We shall return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

chicken fried lobster appetizer was a 10 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

chicken fried lobster appetizer was a 10, I would order two of them next time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very hip place. Outdoor seating on a su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very hip place. Outdoor seating on a summer evening is the place to be. And cocktails are made with care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a hospitable and tasty experience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a hospitable and tasty experience at the Dawson! Amazingly friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great outdoor patio for brunch. Good br ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great outdoor patio for brunch. Good breakfast sandwich and the group next to us had a huge disco ball filled with champagne!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Patio! Great options on Menu!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great Patio! Great options on Menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great venue, inventive food, energetic a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great venue, inventive food, energetic atmosphere. We travel to Chicago a couple times a year and always see out great places to dine. This is a memorable spot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service, accomoda ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food and great service, accomodating and gracious to guests with a few allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fantastic dinner with our frien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner with our friends. Delicious food and fantastic service. Even a dinner mix up was handled professionally and to our satisfaction. The bar is a fun place too! The bartenders are fun, friendly and make awesome concoctions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.