About The Dawson

730 West Grand Ave
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Awarded a Bib Gourmand in 2014 and 2015, The Dawson is a casual neighborhood hangout features an energetic series of bi-level indoor and outdoor spaces. Each unique area is approachable, yet versatile in offerings, as well as experience. The menu presents a new American cuisine characterized by simple flavors with a farm-driven Midwestern sensibility. The beverage program of house made sodas, cocktails, craft beers and wines creatively complements our menu. A nod to the contiguous Dawson Brothers Fireplace Plant of late 19th century Chicago, The Dawson's interior design draws inspiration from the history of the neighborhood and the industrial innovation of that era and offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.
offers an artfully stripped-down aesthetic, highlighting natural and reclaimed materials in unexpected ways throughout the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
4:30PM - 10PM MONDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)
4:30PM - 11PM TUESDAY - THURSDAY (BAR UNTIL 12AM)
4:00PM - 12AM FRIDAY AND SATURDAY (BAR UNTIL 1:30AM)
4:00PM - 10PM SUNDAY (BAR UNTIL 11PM)

BRUNCH HOURS:
10:30AM - 3:00PM SATURDAY AND SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Grand/Milwaukee/Halsted

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-8955

Website:
http://www.the-dawson.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking and Valet.

Public Transit:
Grand Blue Line across the street

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Michele Lee Kaminski
Private Events Manager
The Dawson
P: 312-372-4001
D: 312-459-9414
mkaminski@the-dawson.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Dawson, Chicago, IL
  • The Dawson, Chicago, IL
  • The Dawson, Chicago, IL

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We are passionate about the food, beverage, and hospitality we provide and look forward to collaborating with you, our guest, to make your event memorable!

The Dawson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Modern Decor (22)
Fun (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Casual (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fireplace (9)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter was great. Server seemed new. She ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Waiter was great. Server seemed new. She kept reaching over us and even dropped a plate once. Wine was sour. Food was good but overpriced. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very friendly engaging staff. Food was c ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very friendly engaging staff. Food was creative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First winter experience at the Dawson. ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

First winter experience at the Dawson. Not as lively as the summer crowd and setting however my fiancée loved the salmon. The drinks were great as well. Overall, I wished there was a more energetic crowd present.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Genuinely couldn't have been any better. ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Genuinely couldn't have been any better. We went for a birthday on Sunday and the service was just amazing. We forget our servers name but she was great and so was the manager!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every single dish was outstanding! The f ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Every single dish was outstanding! The flavors were unique, the dishes were perfectly seasoned and prepared. We had the chorizo fondue, beet & burrata salad, chicken tiki marsala, friend lobster, king salmon, apple crisp, chocolate bread pudding & coffee. I know, it's a lot of food. But we wanted to try everything! We will be back for sure!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food!

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great service, good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Dawson for Sunday brunch ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to The Dawson for Sunday brunch and it was incredible. The decor is trendy with great rustic industrial vibes. We ordered the chorizo hash and avocado toast and were very impressed. The mimosas could have been stronger but all and all, we are looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall food was okay but not great. Des ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall food was okay but not great. Desserts were not that good and not worth the calories. Drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and the waitstaff were both exc ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and the waitstaff were both excellent. We even had a two year old with us and she was treated with care and respect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the future, people who are making res ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

In the future, people who are making reservations for New Years Eve should be informed that there will be a different menu that night that differs from the usual menu available. We were unfortunately caught off guard when we were seated with the change in menu which contained a limited amount of options to order. If we would have known this, we would not have chosen to go here for NYE.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome Dawson

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome Dawson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exceptional! The mussels ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was exceptional! The mussels were delicious as were the other appetizers we tried-entrees also incredible - great to have more than one vegan option to keep everyone happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Dawson

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

I love the Dawson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals we have had in Chi ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the best meals we have had in Chicago. The entire meal was phenomenal, especially that chicken fried lobster! Needless to say, we licked our plates clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, my experience at The Dawson w ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, my experience at The Dawson was great. Good food, great drinks and the staff are attentive and courteous. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flavors and unique combinations are ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

The flavors and unique combinations are always outstanding. We go there often and love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I did go to the restaurant but I got an ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

I did go to the restaurant but I got an email saying I was a no show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The mole sauce on the Duck Condit Enchil ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

The mole sauce on the Duck Condit Enchiladas was the delicious flavor that the dish provided. The entire menu sounded fantastic and the dishes we selected were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers were phenomenal - all were st ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Appetizers were phenomenal - all were standards but had a unique twist. Hummus contained some fried chickpeas which added great texture, mac and cheese had bacon and pork and bacon wrapped dates had a red sauce which unexpectedly had heavy dijon mustard flavor. The entrees had unexpected twists like bbq lentils and pickled onion rings which are excellent and out of the ordinary. The only minor issues we had (and not really issues) but 1) the pork chop was cut off the bone and one of the pieces had a huge piece of bone left in it which could not be eaten and 2) the bread pudding was served cold and the warm chocolate sauced poured over it melted the excellent bourbon and smoked almond ice cream. Our group of 6 all really enjoyed it and have recommended it to others! We will go back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Dine at The Dawson very often and bring ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Dine at The Dawson very often and bring guests from out of town or friends who have never experienced the amazingness of The Dawson. The food is always phenomenal but service this Sunday was extremely slow and the restaurant was dead. It was very odd as the service isn't normally that off. They were very nice and offered us the house bourbon to apologize for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was my sister in law's last weekend h ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was my sister in law's last weekend here visiting us from Ireland and we wanted to go someplace new and close to our usual haunt (Emmitt's). This place is a great spot for beautiful food, an energetic atmosphere, great bar, and for people-watching. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and give great recommendations. The GM Kim, was warm and welcoming to us as newbies to the place. We were even pleased to have the owner Mr. Billy Lawless himself (a fellow Irishman) come and have a chat with us as we were finishing dinner and enjoying our drinks. We will definitely be back and recommending The Dawson to all our friends and out of town guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great brunch. Jack was server. G ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had a great brunch. Jack was server. Great service

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great but what made the eve ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was great but what made the evening even better was Ashley our server who we have had once before.

Ashley is extremely knowledgeable, personable and makes the whole evening most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Grilled whole branzino was outstanding. ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Grilled whole branzino was outstanding. I took off a star because the steak was only a 4 star. The service was outstanding, as always in a Lawless restaurant. Even my college-aged grandson noticed it.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices are exorbitantly high for the ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

The prices are exorbitantly high for the quality and amount of food. This place is just good for the super expensive drinks. The main floor has a lame, trendy motif. The upstairs bar is better but only open on weekends. Thought they would get their act together by now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Creative menu for brunch. May not appea ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Creative menu for brunch. May not appeal to everyone.

All other aspects of the dining experience were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Dawson is a great space with an amaz ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Dawson is a great space with an amazing menu. The wait staff could be a little friendlier, I understand they want to keep it moving, but when 1/2 the tables are open for a Sunday lunch where friends are clearly catching up, your tip will be much higher with a nice/friendly attitude! I had the avocado toast and thought it was delicious, highly recommend. They have a great patio that is amazing for warm weather!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good food and solid service. Great ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very good food and solid service. Great atmosphere, this place is worth a try.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Relaxing place for a get together with f ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Relaxing place for a get together with friends and family. Exceptional service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food delicious, nice ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service, food delicious, nice beer list. A little pricey though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is quite large, 2 floors of s ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place is quite large, 2 floors of seating with a bar. Interior is like a large modern cabin surrounded by a wooden fence. Dim lighting, comfortable seating, and restaurant specific cocktails. Our group of 3 only ate the shared plates which were all delicious: bacon wrapped dates, roasted veggies, beef tartare, and octopus. For desert we shared the Devil's Food Cake, which was coffee infused and just lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought a client here from out of town ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

I brought a client here from out of town. Drinks were great, service was impeccable, food was good and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. The noise level was appropriate, we could hear each other easily. A great place for business meetings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Brunch menu is good, we sat outside whic ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch menu is good, we sat outside which was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The scallops were tasty but a bit gritty ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

The scallops were tasty but a bit gritty. My date liked his fish very much. The vegetarian lasagna (?) and kale salad and that the others seemed to have been quite satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was great and the service was i ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was great and the service was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic cocktails and surprisingly exc ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic cocktails and surprisingly excellent food. Service was perfect. Very cool location and decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was excellent, but the bill seemed high given that several people had mac and cheese as their main course.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We had dinner here for my friend's 30th ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had dinner here for my friend's 30th birthday. They were very accommodating and the service was great. My only complaint was that they charged a cake cutting fee which seems a little silly when you spend as much as we did.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good place to grab dinner prior to a Haw ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good place to grab dinner prior to a Hawks game, which is what we did. Excellent service, very attentive. Appetizers were great (beat salad, bacon dates). As for the entrees, they are expensive but the portions are very healthy. The chicken, for instance, is half a bird, but very well prepared. We also had the pork chops and mussels. All good. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing service in a beautiful space and ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Amazing service in a beautiful space and delicious food and cocktails. Love beacon tavern, acanto, and the gage, but might have a new favorite in this family of excellent options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.