Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 76 times today

The Darling Oyster Bar

4.6
826 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
  • Bar Seating
The Darling Oyster Bar is a casual seafood restaurant and raw bar. The Darling's menu features fresh seafood and creative ingredients, served with an approachable style. The Darling Oyster Bar’s atmosphere promotes comfortable hospitality; with a lively, neighborhood feel.

Anchoring The Darling Oyster Bar is a stunning raw bar showcasing fresh, made-to-order seafood. Guests can enjoy the lively raw bar scene while overlooking historic King Street from The Darling’s iconic storefront. The Darling raw bar also offers full service dining.

Located in the heart of Upper King Street, The Darling Oyster Bar is housed in a 115-year old historic building that enjoys a storied past. A mix of the original 1900’s reclaimed wood, whole exposed brick walls, classic tile, antique molding, and nautical theme combine to create a setting that is all at once convivial, charming, and comfortable.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- Thursday, 4pm to 10pm; Bar open late
Friday- Saturday, 4pm to 11pm; Bar to 2am
Sunday, 11am to 10pm; Bar open late
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 641-0821
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joe Dimaio
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Morris Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a private lot for our customers
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 826 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I had Sunday Brunch, my wife had the Chower Fries, and I had the breakfast sandwich and one side. Both were excellent, server was pleasant and efficient and surroundings were very nice.
We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Celebrating a birthday!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Oyster special had gulf oysters for $1/piece. Food prepared very well and service was also very good. Will go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 3 days ago

Service was dismal; food was substandard. Nothing that they advertised on the website was actually available. One of the worst dining experiences I ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Only reservation we were able to get was at 10pm. Make your reservations in advance!
Since it was later, the bar crowd was a little rowdier at that time.

I got the scallops and my husband got the shrimp and grits. I know this is an oyster bar, but we just weren’t feeling oysters that night. They were both pretty good, nothing to write home about though. The seafood/side proportions seems a little off (few scallops and a huge pile of lentils). Knowing this, I would definitely recommend staying with the raw bar and not the entrees.

Service was good, lighting/ambience nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Very good meal and excellent service. A very hip scene that died down around 10 PM.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Even with a reservation they sat us in a small dank cave, not the nice open dining room that had many available seats. Many young people with out reservations were sat in the nice open airy dining room after us. The only people sat in the cave was another older couple. They may as well rename it the old peoples room. Except for the oysters the food was nasty. I wouldn't serve the clam strips to a staving dog, and the octopus salad was a wet mess with a couple rubbery octopus pieces. We were actually depressed when we left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Good place for happy hour. Oysters were wonderful and so was the clam chowder.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great food! Waiter was super fun and we had a great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Very good fresh seafood, well prepared, and good service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The table service is excellent and the main room is vibrant ambience. If you are offered a bad table--and there are some--talk to the manager, he's very accommodating. The young women at check-in, no so much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had a blast!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good food and service. Would go back On another visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Super fresh oysters! Love the feel of the ambiance. Waiter could have been a bit more friendly, but still a good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Enjoyed the meal. Great service. Pleased with the publicity this restaurant is getting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Met by friendly hostess and seated immediately through our reservation. This was our second visit. Previously visited last fall. Location is excellent in downtown Charleston. Our waiter was friendly and checked on us throughout our brunch. We enjoyed The Captain- a Bloody Mary to die for! It contained a lobster claw, a king crab leg, shrimp, a hushpuppy and olives- AMAZING! The ceviche was probably the best I e ever eaten. Will definitely return and highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Love fleet landing such a great restaurant with an amazing view!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We weren’t told about happy hour specials when we arrived. It was our neighbor table that let us in on the $1 oysters. Disappointing white wine selection. Octopus salad was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We made reservations and were placed in the back where all the servers walk by

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food was great, server was attentive. We were sat in the middle of the bar and it was incredibly loud. That noise level was a turn off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This place was great! We ordered oysters and they were delicious and I don't even like oysters! The ceviche was also amazing!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We have eaten at this restaurant many times and have loved it, however there seems to be a chef change or something this weeks meal was very pricy 450.00+ and the fish were cooked very dry, the cocktail sauce was not up to par and the salads and vegetables were not up to par. The king crab, shrimp and oysters from the shucking area were great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Atmosphere was great and the service was good, but the food left a lot to be desired. Everything was super salty, greasy and generally flavorless. Couldn’t see myself heading back here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

great food and environment with a great date

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Oysters & ambience great, hush puppies bland and tasteless and a menu that needs broadening. Very limited choices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Our server, Lauren I believe, was very pleasant and appropriately attentive. Had wonderful oysters for appetizers. My wife got the soft shell crab special and really enjoyed it. I had the shrimp and grits and shaved brussel sprouts. In the end, my dish was far too salty to give it more than a fair. As the saltiness was cumulative, by the time I’d become dissatisfied it would have been rude to send it back. Shrimp were done expertly, grits were nice and creamy, just too salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Absolute perfection. The pasta dish and oysters were delicious. We will be returning next time we are in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great Oyster shooters, wonderful service and a friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Food, customer service, and ambience was absolutely wonderful! My wife and I were visiting from Atlanta. We recommend the Darling Oyster Bar highly.

The blue mountain oysters were the freshest I’ve ever tasted. We are looking forward to our next visit to Charleston. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We started our oyster bar hop at The Darling because we knew it to be excellent a year ago. It still is! Great selection of local oysters and perfect drink pairings. The Paloma is perfectly intoxicating with St. Helena's Sound oysters.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Our entrees came before our salad. Out of the Catch of the Day. Server did not ask if we still would the salad and charged us for it anyway

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Pleasant. Highly recommend the Key Lime Pie.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Decent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great restaurant. The oyster selection was very good and they were served perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food here is super amazing. Our server was very attentive and offered great recommendation. Although we had a reservation, the reception was very warm and friendly and seated us quickly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Oysters were good. Lobster & King Crab Roll was incredible. Rest of the table got burgers and had great things to say about them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Say st oyster bar service prompt and courteous

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went there for a date night and it was AMAZING ! The bar area had just the right ambiance for a quick drink then we had dinner in the dining side. We had two orders of the shrimp ceviche- it was that good! All the oysters were delicious with a zangy sauce. My boyfriend loved the lobster roll and My black linguini pasta was tasty. We will definitely be going back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Really interesting space and nice menu but food took forever and wasn’t all that great, except their grits. Grits were awesome but this was a long wait for grits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Superb meal with great service! The rest of this review is to fulfill the character number requirements.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21