The Darling Oyster Bar

4.6
900 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
The Darling Oyster Bar is a casual seafood restaurant and raw bar. The Darling's menu features fresh seafood and creative ingredients, served with an approachable style. The Darling Oyster Bar’s atmosphere promotes comfortable hospitality; with a lively, neighborhood feel.

Anchoring The Darling Oyster Bar is a stunning raw bar showcasing fresh, made-to-order seafood. Guests can enjoy the lively raw bar scene while overlooking historic King Street from The Darling’s iconic storefront. The Darling raw bar also offers full service dining.

Located in the heart of Upper King Street, The Darling Oyster Bar is housed in a 115-year old historic building that enjoys a storied past. A mix of the original 1900’s reclaimed wood, whole exposed brick walls, classic tile, antique molding, and nautical theme combine to create a setting that is all at once convivial, charming, and comfortable.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- Thursday, 4pm to 10pm; Bar open late
Friday- Saturday, 4pm to 11pm; Bar to 2am
Sunday, 11am to 10pm; Bar open late
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 641-0821
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joe Dimaio
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Morris Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a private lot for our customers
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 900 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Wonderful seafood tower. Best fresh oysters in chs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Drinks were disappointing. Service was ok but could have been better—we enjoyed our first appetizers, but then waited quite some time for our server to return to place our additional orders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

So delicious! Love the lobster! I recommend the seafood plateau!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The oysters and shrimp were great, and the salads we had were outstanding

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We heard very good things about Darling Oyster Bar, so were pretty amped for a special dining experience. We shared Geechie Boy Grits (pretty good, actually), Kale Slaw (not bad) and a shrimp (3) Fry Basket that was very disappointing, since the shrimp were way over cooked. I wouldn't say the shrimp were 'dry' but pretty close to it. The two sauces were pretty good, in fact, the tartar sauce reminded me of the stuff my grandmother use to make, but otherwise, just a huge disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely love the look and ambience of this place. Great happy hour specials!! Will definitely be back next time I travel to Charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great bar scene with excellent craft cocktails, delicious food, and fun people watching.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great overall experience from the oyster shooters to the main course the food was delicious. The service was excellent Brittany had all the answers and excellent recommendations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The Darling Oyster is a must during a Charleston trip. I love the atmosphere and the food is always top notch!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great food. Reasonable cost. Excellent service. Friendly and competent server

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Amazing food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Of all the restaurants I tried in Charleston, The Darling Oyster Bar was my favorite. My friend and I both ordered the special: wreak fish with a slather of peach jam in a corn and plum sauce. It was so flavorful and a very unique entrée. We absolutely loved it. Our server, Delaney, was terrific. I will definitely return to The Darling Oyster Bar on my next trip to Charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The appetizers were excellent. Oysters were on point. The service was great. Our favorite was the handsome guy that took our picture with our food. The staff and food was incredible. We will be back!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The best meal we had in Charleston was here! From the black squid pasta with mussels to the pork chop to the scallops—one was as good or better than the other! Highly recommend The Darling!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Wonderful fresh oyster happy hour! Pretty solid selection of fantastically fried seafood. Very helpful and knowledgeable service (it was my first oyster in the half-shell experience).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The collards were better this time than the previous time. The first time I tried the collards, they seemed old and had been cooked down quite a bit to the point where the liquid had cooked off and they ended up very salty. We had the hushpuppies because our server said they were very good. I had her take it and told her we didn't like them. She didn't say anything. The two drinks we had were good. The lobster and crab rolls were good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food was amazing, our waiter was fantastic and we loved the decor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

My daughter and I were visiting Charleston during the second week of Spoleto. After the performance we attended, we were drawn in by the website menu and were pleased that we could make a quick reservation online. We both had the lobster and king crab roll and it was the best we've ever had. Our server was wonderful and just attentive enough to allow us time to talk and relax. We had not heard of this restaurant before so it was really a shot in the dark, but we would go back again and would recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Great food, good service, fresh oysters as well as a great selection.

Outstanding small plate dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

This was our first visit to this new innovative restaurant. Food was creative and delicious. Others must agree as it was packed on a Wednesday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We came for my birthday. I love oysters and I researched restaurants online and found The Darling Oyster Bar. The oysters were outstanding. Loved the baked ones also. The fried clams strips were delicious. I would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Fantastic! Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Food was great, service was better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

You want the magical huge Bloody Mary with the lobster claw, crab leg, shrimp, and hush puppy. It’s a cocktail and an appetizer.
After that - the raw bar is great but you really need the lobster roll. It has a blend of crab which is interesting but it’s fat with meat and delicious. Go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Amazing food and drinks. Only negative was our food came out at the same time as our appetizers - both very very quickly. Dinner was 45 minutes😂

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great oyster varieties. The smaller seafood plateau contained 2 clams, 8 oysters, 8 steamed shrimp, and 6 sections of about 3 snow crab legs. All were delicious and very fresh. The sauces that came with it-cocktail, tartar, pickeld horseradish, minionette, and hot sauce were made in house. The clam chowder contained a good amount of chopped clams, but was over powered by a green olive sauce on the surface.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Great and fresh seafood in Charleston. Go for happy hour $1 oysters!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Very good.Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Sunday Brunch was good. Must try the Bloody Mary & get The Captain version. I had a lobster claw almost as big as my hand in the drink.

Kitchen closes at 2PM on Sunday, but tried the Shrimp & Grits, outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great food, yummy oysters and a great vibe! Waiter was nice and knowledgeable. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great cocktails, atmosphere is lively. Oyster and food is so good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We had an amazing dining experience ever with our 1 year old. The shrimp and grits are killer and the happy hour oysters are a bargain! I would say this is one of the best values for the money in the city.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My husband and I went to Darling one night during our anniversary trip. They seated us at a two person table that was so close to the next table I had to awkwardly squeeze between the two tables to sit on the booth side. The tables were so small we barely had room for a dozen oysters, two small plates and two drinks. We were given the oysters without crackers and waited several minutes to receive the crackers after asking. The oysters also had a different taste that I did not enjoy, but my husband did. We also ordered two sides to enjoy with our oysters, but our waitress kept asking if she could put an entree order in for us after we said no. She also asked my husband if she could get him another beer even though his was half full. We definitely felt like we were trying to be up sold and pushed to purchase more the entire time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Fun and friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Very good dinner. Great oysters

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Creative and extremely delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great food! Great environment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Delish! Great vibe, decor and good energy! Still thinking about the shrimp cocktail! A true Charleston experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

How does a place with “oyster” in its name not deliver them to your table when that is the first thing you order upon sitting down?!? The special was delicious, however, the fried fish basket was skimpy on the main attraction of the dish and abundant on french fries. “Show me the meat!”

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by The Darling Oyster Bar