About The Darling Oyster Bar

513 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

The Darling Oyster Bar is a casual seafood restaurant and raw bar. The Darling's menu features fresh seafood and creative ingredients, served with an approachable style. The Darling Oyster Bar’s atmosphere promotes comfortable hospitality; with a lively, neighborhood feel.

Anchoring The Darling Oyster Bar is a stunning raw bar showcasing fresh, made-to-order seafood. Guests can enjoy the lively raw bar scene while overlooking historic King Street from The Darling’s iconic storefront. The Darling raw bar also offers full service dining.

Located in the heart of Upper King Street, The Darling Oyster Bar is housed in a 115-year old historic building that enjoys a storied past. A mix of the original 1900’s reclaimed wood, whole exposed brick walls, classic tile, antique molding, and nautical theme combine to create a setting that is all at once convivial, charming, and comfortable.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday, 4pm to 10pm; Bar open late
Friday- Saturday, 4pm to 11pm; Bar to 2am
Sunday, 11am to 10pm; Bar open late

Cross Street:
Morris Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 641-0821

Website:
http://www.thedarling.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private lot for our customers

Executive Chef:
Joe Dimaio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Darling Oyster Bar
The Darling Oyster Bar

The Darling Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (107)
hot spot (94)
good for groups (64)
See All
neighborhood gem (61)
vibrant bar scene (58)
special occasion (48)
romantic (27)
great for brunch (25)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (13)
scenic view (10)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good oyster selection and food. Service ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined a day ago

Good oyster selection and food. Service was a tad spotty, but overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food and atmosphere were both fabulo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food and atmosphere were both fabulous. Our waiter had no knowledge of the delicious oysters we ordered. We had ordered two of each kind and she couldn't begin to tell us which were which. She seemed flustered after this and tried to avoid our table.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed our experience here with frie ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our experience here with friends visiting from out of town. The oyster selection was good and they were definitely fresh. Our server, Katie, was friendly and knowledgeable. I only rated the ambiance a bit lower as we were seated near the main entryway in a wide hallway of sorts. The bar dining area with large windows overlooking King Street would be much more appealing and I would request seating in this area next time. We do plan to visit again soon!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance in the bar - had drin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the ambiance in the bar - had drinks/oysters at bar then dinner at table in bar area. Service was great - friendly, attentive waiters - w/ sense of humor.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Darling Oyster was so charming and v ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Darling Oyster was so charming and very, very good. Service could have been slightly improved at times, but food and ambiance were wonderful. Had a great time with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Adorable place and good food overall. H ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Adorable place and good food overall. However, because it's so popular, service felt a little rushed. The food came out a little too fast--- like they were just trying to shuffle us out to get the next table seated. Not exactly a relaxed dining experience, albeit lively.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wife and I ate here; coctails were above ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wife and I ate here; coctails were above average while my wife really enjoyed the shrimp and grits. Oysters had that deep clean sea taste that keeps you coming back. Best oyster shooter I ever had too! Big fan and will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic waitress! Food was amazing! W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic waitress! Food was amazing! Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wanted to try something new on a recent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wanted to try something new on a recent trip to Charleston. This meal was the highlight of our meals out (including some venerable and well known spots). We opted to order small plates so we could have a lot of tasting options. The baked oysters were amazing-we ordered them both ways and each were equally delicious. Also tried the clam strips, which are definitely not your HoJo clam strips of the past. First of all it's a huge serving. The flavors trend a little bit towards Asian and are deeply satisfying. The creole shrimp was a hit with my husband. It has a lot of bacon flavor, balanced by a hint of mustard. The green salad was a good counterpoint, but not very memorable. Dessert! Waiter tried to steer us to some local ice cream spots, but we are so happy we ordered the oatmeal cookie blondie with ice cream. Gooey, hot, delicious.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Darling restaurant! Amazing food, great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Darling restaurant! Amazing food, great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool place in the main dining room, that ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cool place in the main dining room, that is what differentiates this place.

We changed our reservations at another restaurant specifically because of the pics posted by others. Hostess took us to a dark hallway where there is constant server traffic. I requested to be moved to the main dining area where here were open seats but was denied. We should have simply left but the family was hungry.

The waitress was nice, food good, but the experience was ruined by eating in the hallway. When making a reservation tell them you want the main dining area so you can enjoy what you are paying for. Food not much different than 100 other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Party of 3 enjoyed 4 different menu item ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Party of 3 enjoyed 4 different menu items--crab salad, dozen oysters, salmon cake eggs benedict, and fried oysters/shrimp combo---all delicious. Wonderfully smart decor in vintage building, excellent service, reasonably priced food and beverages. Delightful Sunday brunch fun. Local residents will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully decorated. Awesome service f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautifully decorated. Awesome service from Evan and John. The food was outstanding especially the poutine french fries. The mimosas were inexpensive and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The selection of oysters is smaller than ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The selection of oysters is smaller than I'm used to however they were so delicious. The cocktails were unique and very good. The menu is small, but the food was amazing. The staff was very attentive and made great recommendations. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot! Fun and lively, great seafoo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great spot! Fun and lively, great seafood, great service and a new and different place to go. Oyster spaghetti highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of the food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Quality of the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, my party had a wonderful time h ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Overall, my party had a wonderful time here. The food and drinks were excellent. Very accommodating to our group, and dealt with any issues expeditiously.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing oysters! So much fun sitting at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing oysters! So much fun sitting at the oyster bar is fun and it's nice to watch the oysters being shucked. Wonderful service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was impeccable. The food was ama ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was impeccable. The food was amazing. We tried 3 different raw oysters, baked oysters, Cajun shrimp and hush puppies. Loved it all. New restaurant that stands out in old Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have eaten here several times and it ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have eaten here several times and it is always very good. Two of our favorites are the oyster spaghetti and the seared diver scollops. For dessert they make a great pineapple upside down cake. A very friendly staff help make dinner a treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Hip place. Seafood was great. Sit at r ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Hip place. Seafood was great. Sit at raw bar and watch the world go by.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations are a must to make the expe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Reservations are a must to make the experience the most enjoyable as it fills up fast. Noisy but energetic. Not a lot of food choices if you aren't doing the raw bar but enough and the food was good. Good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for happy hour. Big deal, 50 cen ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went for happy hour. Big deal, 50 cents off the $1.50 oyster. Full price on the rest. $1 off drinks. Hohum. The Ordinary has all oysters and appetizers half off during hapopy hour, definitely a better deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Superb raw bar and everything on the men ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Superb raw bar and everything on the menu is yummy! Drinks are specialty be beer selection is good. Kinda has the do a few things, and do them well motto to it. Decor is electric and modern.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable time! Loved the oyster choice ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Enjoyable time! Loved the oyster choices! And the lobster cocktail was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a party of 14 including several k ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a party of 14 including several kids and they were very accommodating. I got the tuna which was great. They have a fairly small menu which I didn't mind, but others might want more options. However, everything on that they do offer was prepared very well. Staff was beyond nice. Def. check it out if you can.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oyster bar. Many choices of oysters. App ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Oyster bar. Many choices of oysters. Appetizers delicious and generous in portion. (shrimp creole and snapper cerveche). Split dinner of seared yellow fin tuna.

Server attentive. Unusual wine list. Interesting seating. One room open w bar, booths and tables. For formal dining. Tables in separate room.

Two issues. Valet parking is offered but valet not there at 6pm. When he did arrive he stays in back lot rather than out front. This is fine but neither hostess could tell us that info when asked. Nor did hostesses know about street parking , times when enforced. Plus because we parked in street due to no valet we were informed that bar tender and restaurant don't kept change. Tacky treatment. Also it's a turn off to have a server advise their customer that happy hour oysters have no flavor. Almost left. Glad I stayed and ordered other items.

Disconnect needs to be addressed.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The oysters were great and the entrees w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The oysters were great and the entrees were good. The drink were also really good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have not been back to Charleston for a f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Have not been back to Charleston for a few years. Really enjoyed the Darling. The menu was well thought out. Food was delicious. The oysters were fresh and the presentation was marvelous. The fried food was awesome. The salads were also great. I was in town for 4 days and hit the Darling two times!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Darling Oyster is fast becoming one of o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Darling Oyster is fast becoming one of our favorite Charleston restaurants. Never have been disappointed, never.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went for my wifes birthday the food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

went for my wifes birthday the food was amazing. The waiter brought over complimentary oyster shooters and he put a candle on my wifes desert without being asked. Can't wait to go back

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from Boston, and every ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were visiting from Boston, and every single thing we ordered was absolutely delicious! We loved the restaurant, the ambiance and our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we were pleased with the food. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall we were pleased with the food. The service definitely needed improvement. We ordered the large seafood platter and before we were half finished they brought our main course. We were at a small table for two so we had them return the entrees to the kitchen. The minute we finished the seafood our entrees were back. My husband finished a few minutes ahead of me and they immediately cleared his plate and eating area. A few minutes later I placed my fork down to get a drink of wine and they took my plate even though I had small amount left on the plate. It actually became comical.

I understand needing to fill the tables multiple times but it was later at night and there were plenty of empty tables. We were in and out in 50 minutes - not what I call a relaxing evening. We probably will not be back since Charleston has so many great eating establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My first time at the Darling Oyster, I t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My first time at the Darling Oyster, I thought was very impressive. Our waitress was very kind and recommended great food. I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

enjoyed the raw bar and steamed shrimp i ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

enjoyed the raw bar and steamed shrimp immensely - had half price on the wine bottle, thought it appears I may not have received the discount on the bar tab - live and learn

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

New favorite place in Charleston! The f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

New favorite place in Charleston! The food was fabulous. Go for $1 oysters during happy hour.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at The Dar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my first time dining at The Darling Oyster Bar. The drink options, raw bar, specials and brunch menu were all wonderful. I ended up getting the smoked salmon eggs Benedict and it was perfectly prepared and more than I could finish.

I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

get the clam strip starter. it's new to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

get the clam strip starter. it's new to the menu and I hope they keep it!

the food at the Darling was delicious, the service great and the restaurant is really lovely -- its hip AND comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a very nice place. The service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a very nice place. The service was excellent with an incredibly friendly staff. The food was good as well. It was just a bit too expensive for what we got, so I will probably not be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Darling on our first visit to Ch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went to Darling on our first visit to Charleston. Nice place to eat. Wait staff was great! Friendly and they took the time to explain the menu, even making recommendations based on customer feedback. My wife and I really appreciated that. They were also accomodating for any requests made to altar a menu item. I would recommend this restaurant to others. The food was really good, fresh, and came out to our table quickly. The price for dinner was not bad at all. Nice atmosphere inside and we were seated very quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.