HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 62 times today

The Darling Oyster Bar

4.5
683 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (49)
  • Fun (45)
  • Neighborhood Gem (34)
The Darling Oyster Bar is a casual seafood restaurant and raw bar. The Darling's menu features fresh seafood and creative ingredients, served with an approachable style. The Darling Oyster Bar’s atmosphere promotes comfortable hospitality; with a lively, neighborhood feel.

Anchoring The Darling Oyster Bar is a stunning raw bar showcasing fresh, made-to-order seafood. Guests can enjoy the lively raw bar scene while overlooking historic King Street from The Darling’s iconic storefront. The Darling raw bar also offers full service dining.

Located in the heart of Upper King Street, The Darling Oyster Bar is housed in a 115-year old historic building that enjoys a storied past. A mix of the original 1900’s reclaimed wood, whole exposed brick walls, classic tile, antique molding, and nautical theme combine to create a setting that is all at once convivial, charming, and comfortable.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- Thursday, 4pm to 10pm; Bar open late
Friday- Saturday, 4pm to 11pm; Bar to 2am
Sunday, 11am to 10pm; Bar open late
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 641-0821
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Morris Street
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 683 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5
  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Dave (Charlotte)
3.0
Dined 3 days ago

Second time to Darling. Unfortunately, this trip was disappointing- cocktails were not great; bone in pork chop was over cooked and dry, mussels(fish of the day) were at best ok.

Preston was a great server - he and manager took care of issues but you just can’t spend this much money and have a poor experience

Report
Helpful
loveCharleston (Charleston)
5.0
Dined 6 days ago

Fun newish place on King. Good prices. Great food. Especially the oysters. Also have the clam chowder fries. You won’t regret it.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0
Dined on January 14, 2018

Delicious food and darling restaurant! Try the moondancer oysters.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
4.0
Dined on January 13, 2018

Our food was very good and our waitress was very up to date on all specials. Our seating was not good at door with big curtain right at my lap and feet, moving every time door opened. As for better table !!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0
Dined on January 13, 2018

Excellent ambiance. Second time I've been at The Darling, and I was blown away by the food. I was showing a friend from out of town around the city, and I'm glad we stopped in.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0
Dined on January 10, 2018

An evening out while at a conference. Excellent. Nice to be away from the plasticity of typical conference restaurants.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0
Dined on January 9, 2018

Fun place with interesting menu
Great night

Report
Helpful
JeffBG (Charleston)
4.0
Dined on January 2, 2018

very relaxing atmosphere. great and friendly service. food combinations we tried off of the appetizer list were very well done. great shrimp and scallops, with wonderful accompanying sides.

Report
Helpful
jcatl (Atlanta)
4.0
Dined on December 31, 2017

My wife and I ate an early New Year's Eve meal at the Darling. While the service, cocktails and food were mostly good (my grouper stew was sort of bland), the ambiance is highly dependent on whether you are seated in the main dining room next to the bar, or the darker dining area adjacent to the front door, as we were. Since it was quite cold there was a blast of frigid air every time the front door was opened. I would go here again but for special occasions request the main dining room.

Report
Helpful
vipJennifer (Charleston)
5.0
Dined on December 31, 2017

Top notch spot for delicious seafood. Best oysters I have ever had. Very reasonable prices and great happy hour specials.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
69

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- Thursday, 4pm to 10pm; Bar open late
Friday- Saturday, 4pm to 11pm; Bar to 2am
Sunday, 11am to 10pm; Bar open late
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Morris Street
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 641-0821
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a private lot for our customers
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joe Dimaio
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine