Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Many of our more popular appetizers, beer, wine and cocktails from the regular menu discounted for Happy Hour at the Pearl Bar and Sushi Bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Spicy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Scenic View (6)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent waitstaff was top notch. Waiter was dedicated to service of his customers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent. A little noisy. We were celebrating a birthday as noted on the reservation and the waiter didn't mention or asked anything about the occasion. The food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I have always loved this restaurant so I wanted to share it with my friend who were first time visitors to Rehoboth. I made my reservations on Open Table. When we arrived, I was told the only way to get a seat outside was to call the restaurant not by using Open Table. This was a disappointment for all four of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice experience; great food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant is my 11-year-old son's favorite place! The food is awesome and we love the ambiance. Especially being outside with the live fish ponds. It was raining this weekend so we sat inside which was just as neat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A great experience although somewhat pricey. Good food, nice presentation, attentive service and a very pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely try again.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food is always very good at The Cultured Pearl. Very creative making rolls and good specials. We were disappointed to get one roll, the spicy tuna, that was much too salty. Otherwise everything was excellent - we will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I remember Cultured Pearl to be pretty good in early 2000 but it has changed.

When I recently first walked into the entrance of their latest location, it looked like a small mini mall with doors to several businesses nearby and several posters, which is a bit confusing. A nicely dressed host stood nearby who took us upstairs to the main dining area, which looked a bit junky. We passed a cart full of fried food, like French fries and chicken nuggets, presumably for children. I felt like I was in Golden Corral. I went ahead and ordered dinner, which was mediocre.

Although they still have the pretty ponds with fish and a few parakeets, this place lacks ambience and good Food. Foodies should avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food is excellent! I don't think I have had something there that I didn't live. They also have a great children's buffet that my kids love! It contains both traditional kid favorites as well as Japanese cuisine that they can try. The kids also like to see the resident fish and the birds. The service has always been highly attentive. The ambiance is really relaxing and peaceful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nice portions of well prepared food with nice ambiance. Good value. Moderate prices but with some inexpensive options. Happy hour menu looks good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have eaten at the Cultured Pearl multiple times and it never disappoints! it is always a favorite when we travel to the beach for a long weekend. The ambiance is great, whether you are sitting outside on their rooftop or in their dining room. Whether you love traditional sushi , noodles, or are vegetarian there is truly something for everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything is always really good hear. I love the Cashew Chicken, my partner got the seafood pasta which was amazing! The scallops in the pasta and the crab chunks basically melting in our mouths, it was that good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a fantastic meal. We tried a variety of rolls and sushi and tried two varieties from the "edamame bar." The edamame dishes were sauteed in different seasonings and came with a dipping sauce. Both were delicious. The firecracker roll was a big hit. The tuna poke was only so-so; not that great of quality of fish and it didn't have much of a soy/sesame taste as is typical. Our service was great, despite the restaurant have two large groups in. It was a bit noisy but we were seated far from the large groups and could easily hear our conversation. Overall, a wonderful experience and our group would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Superb......our group of 7 travel a great deal & eat sushi frequently & all raved about quality of CP sushi! It was superb!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The Cultured Pearl is one of my favorite restaurants in Rehoboth. We make a point of going everytime we are visiting. The fish quality is outstanding and the service is wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

"The Pearl" is always great! Awesome sushi, great kids buffet and interesting drinks mixed drinks! Always a stop for me when I'm in Rehoboth Beach!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Eat here often when we're at the beach. This time it was just ok. Sushi is usually better. Hope it's not a sign.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Superb cuisine and outstanding service .... no wonder this eatery ranks among the Nation's leading Asian restaurants.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Good food. A little slow. A little loud. Would repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fun date night. Good sushi, great service, nice atmosphere

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved it!! Favorites were the Eastern Shore edamame and the OC and Lump Cali sushi rolls!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We love sushi so this is our go to place. I recommend the sea monster, firecracker and the shaggy. The cream of crab soup is also excellent. The staff are welcoming and friendly. We have never been disappointed with our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The Cultured Pearl is always a gem. We had a great waiter named Ovidiu. He was very helpful and knowable about the dishes. We had an incredible salad of their own creation called Cultured Salad. It was excellent. We also had three Susi rolls that were very fresh and tasty. Try their Cultured Pearl roll its very good. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The live music was a little two much for a restaurant that only had three tables sat. We waited about 45 minutes for four Maki rolls. That was a little late. Food was good but not filling. The rolls were all so small!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious food, tasty drinks, fast service. Love this place!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always sushi selection is outstanding and presentation very nice!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere, pretty lights, and great food. The nightly special cocktail, a strawberry mojito, was excellent. Half of our party ordered various vegetarian sushi, which they enjoyed very much. The curries, green chicken and red shrimp, were spicy and tasty. We wished the weather had been warm enough for us to take advantage of the outdoor roof-top deck.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place with a great atmosphere! Sushi was outstanding and the service is top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waiter was very knowledgeable and made good suggestions. Sushi was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was out first time here. Definately would recommend this place to other.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been there many times and never dissapointed, food and drinks were awsome. If I would chose to make a suggestion it were be more choices of salads. Can't do ginger. Servers are great make you feel like they have known you forever !!!!!!! We are locals so not so much in summer but wow when fall comes we are back. Thanks Allan & Joanne Desrosiers

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. cocktails and food was very good. Pricing is high especially cocktails. $15.00 for a grey goose dirty martini.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waitress, Susan, was a delight. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and answered all questions in a courteous and professional manner. Thanks to her, the selections we made were a delight to savor and enjoy.
Rest assured you will see us return this year.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Organic, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

For an appetizer we had Dumplings - Shrimp and Pork and they were excellent. Dinner was the
Thai Cashew Chicken and Sapporo Surf and Turf. My husband and I both enjoyed our dinner. We also ordered Sake Sangria for drinks and Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie and the chef's special cheesecake for desert. Our server wasn't that friendly or attentive but we would recommend the restaurant to friends and return ourselves.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The sushi was excellent as always! The service was average, nothing to write home about. I think the host was friendlier than the wait staff. We don't go there for the service, we go for the outstanding sushi. Next time I think we will just sit at the sushi bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food especially the Maki and gracious patient service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had wonderful sashimi and maki rolls. All of the ingredients were fresh and top-quality. Our waiter was great, and it was a truly fun dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were in the mood for some yummy sushi, and ended up going to the Cultured Pearl for date night. The decor was festive and charming, and there was a band that added smooth music to our dining experience. All of the food came out in a timely manner, and each dish was well prepared and tasty. We tried the Winter Noodles, which were so delicious! All of our maki were well made, and the flavor combinations were delicious. We can't wait for our next date at the Cultured Pearl!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An awesome dining experience. Japanese cuisine in so many unique and delicious ways. Shouldn't miss it when visiting Rehobeth Beach.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent as usual. We love their sushi, but we thought eel bowl (una ju) and Sakamushi were good, too. Thank you for opening the whole week:)

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.