About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday and Saturday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Promotions

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 15, 2016 - Aug 15, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 15, 2016 - Aug 15, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid Apr 15, 2016 - Aug 15, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
8 More
Best Food
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Service
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Ambiance
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Value
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Fit for Foodies
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Romantic
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Special Occasion
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Most Booked
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

great for outdoor dining (43)
special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
romantic (21)
scenic view (16)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (13)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were disappointed with our visit to C ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We were disappointed with our visit to Cultured Pearl this time. We have visited several times in prior years while in Rehoboth and had good experiences, but this time was different. Our waitress made several mistakes: hot tea was brought lukewarm; iced tea was brought with almost no ice and was lukewarm; 2 of 4 meals had soup included and we ordered 2 additional soups, but our waitress only brought us 2 soups - we had to flag her down for the other 2; my son ordered a meal and added salmon roe - which we made sure she got right (she thought he said salmon roll), but when his food arrived, it was salmon sushi. Otherwise, the food was good, but not as spectacular as in prior visits.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good fish quality and attentive to sever ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Good fish quality and attentive to severe nut allergy which is really important. We make a point of patronizing places with that type of attention to detail.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This place always top rate. Food, view ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This place always top rate. Food, view, drinks are always fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I love this restaurant and have been com ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I love this restaurant and have been coming hear for YEARS. However this last experience was my least enjoyable. The food was still very good and the service was fine BUT the restaurant had live entertainment - a singer - and it was so loud that we could barely have a conversation. We didn't come to hear music - we came to enjoy a relaxed family dinner and the music made that hard. So the moral of the story is to avoid Friday nights during the summer so you don't have to listen to the music. BTW, it wasn't even that good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for serving wonderful vegan fo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Thank you for serving wonderful vegan food! Could you offer a vegan dessert too? In addition, the service was excellent and very kid-friendly. We will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cultured pearl had exceptional servi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The cultured pearl had exceptional service. The sushi was fresh and their many flavored edamame was fantastic. Their outdoor seating is quite an experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We found our place. After some good rev ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We found our place. After some good reviews we gave it a try and we will be back again next year - from the cocktails to the appatizers, the entree and sushi and dessert we were pleased each course and had great service. A bit confusing to enter and which floor to go to (we were using elevator with my grandma) but that is the only complaint I could think of.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining here. Be ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our second time dining here. Beautiful restaurant on every level, though a little pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good. The menu is cr ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is always good. The menu is creative without being bizarre. The setting is good.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I make a point to visit The Cultured Pea ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I make a point to visit The Cultured Pearl every time I am in Rehoboth, it is consistently wonderful. Sushi is fresh and the dishes are always tasty.

food5
ambience4
service3

Our first trip to the Cultured Pearl and ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Our first trip to the Cultured Pearl and we enjoyed it very much. We visited during Rehoboth Restaurant Week and took advantage of the fixe price menu, but everything we ordered was on their very extensive menu. For starters, I had the Sweet and Spicy Scallops (not too spicy, which was good), and my wife enjoyed pork dumplings with a delicious sauce. Both were winners. For our main course, she tried a selection of sushi, and I had the cashew chicken. Again, both of us loved our selections. Having been part time residents of the beach area for many years, we would rank Cultured Pearl as one of the best places we've ever tried in the area. One caution: it is expensive. Our restaurant week 3 course meals were $45/person but if you are ordering normally there will be some serious ka-chining as you work your way through a very extensive and attractive selection of dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service

Dined on June 5, 2016

Consistently great food and great service. Our server was very attentive and helpful. Our kids enjoy seeing the resident fish and birds. They also have a great chikdren's buffet. I highly recommend visiting.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent atmosphere!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We made a reservation online and our table was ready the minute we arrived. Our server was quick, courteous, and knowledgeable, and the food was exceptional. Everyone was very satisfied!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food, Good Service

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Have dined here several times and the food is consistently very good. The live music on weekends makes the experience much more pleasurable. Our server really knew his stuff. Will certainly return and always bringing friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

We've been going to CP for many years. W ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We've been going to CP for many years. We really enjoy the sushi. Our favorite rolls are the Mexican and the Spicy California. Yum!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Parking

Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything awesome however you should be able to provide change for the meters, instead sending customers to other establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to The Cultured Pearl f ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We've been going to The Cultured Pearl for over 15 years and each time everything was outstanding. The seafood is so fresh, the service outstanding!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

disappointed

Dined on May 22, 2016

I used to love going here but the last few times I have been disappointed. It's still popular but the food doesn't seem to be as good as it used to be and while the waiter service has been good, it takes an inordinate amount of time for food to come out of the kitchen. There are better options.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! The spicy octopus ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was great! The spicy octopus and dumplings are a must have.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and great sushi. Cream of ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service and great sushi. Cream of Crab soup is a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must dining experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

I love the Cultured Pearl. Especially out of season because in-season it gets too crowded and then it takes longer to get served and drinks. But if you have time, it's worth the wait. I took my sister and she fell in love with it. The Edamame is the best and most unique I have ever had. All of their entrees were incredible. We had the best waitress we've ever had there - her name is Saki and she was wonderful! Great wine selection and a variety of unique drinks. Sushi is also incredible. A must visit in Rehoboth. The entertainment is also unique.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as always. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. All three of our courses were served with enough time between each to relax. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Music is too loud!!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We love the Cultured Pearl and have eaten there many, many times and I'm sure will eat there many more. The food and service are always fantastic. The cream of crab soup is to die for! However, if you are there on evenings when there is live music during the dinner hours, the music is so loud that if you are in the main dining room, you cannot hear what anyone at your table is saying and have to yell to be heard. That is really not conducive to a pleasant dinner. We have therefore asked to be seated either outside (if the weather is good) or way back in the side room as far away from the music as possible. This is really a shame.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

More than sushi

Dined on April 30, 2016

One can really get almost anything , but the sushi is excellent; the steak sushi was a bit disappointing, mostly due to the infinitesimal amount of steak, but any other dish is bound to please. There is live entertainment on weekends, not always the best, but certainly energetic Try the Japanese ice cream and definitely the hot saki, never mind the cocktails

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite sushi in Rehoboth Beach!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We're longtime fans of the Cultured Pearl, always fun and always good. Their live scallop is so fresh and this time they had Firefly Squid! And their bartender makes a great Cosmo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good food and service, waiter was helpful and attentive. Great menu selections as well. Nice ambience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were treated very well for our 41st Anniversary! We got treated by the bar tenders for our cream soup when they over heard it was 41st anniversary and we also got a complementary dessert. We only only had to pay for our entrees, The food was very delicious and the service was outstanding! This our first time coming to the Cultured Pearl. We will be back.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great...except

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food here is always really good. I got sushi and an asian vegetable medley on the side. It was perfect. Only downside was we ordered tea after. It was brought out all fancy in our own kettles. We were told to wait a little. I'm assuming to let it steep. We waited a good 5 mins and it was like warm at best. The kettles were hot but the tea was not. Just annoying to spend $3 on cold tea. Overall though we had fun. There was a live band that was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 8, 2016

We love Cultured Pearl! The food is always great and a wonderful place to gather with friends!!! Our server Sake is fabulous!!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VISIT HERE FOR A SENSATIONAL EATING EXPERIENCE

Dined on April 3, 2016

We consider the Cultured Pearl one of the three finest eateries in Rehoboth. Definitely top notch. From the "greet and meet" at the entry of the dining room through paying the bill you can't help but feel like royalty. The hot dishes we selected reverberated with flavor sensations. Definitely one of the best braised steaks I have eaten in a long time. Cooked to perfection with an exquisite flavor. The assorted fresh vegetables were crisp and their taste was a perfect complement to the meat. The desserts are to die for. We had a flour-less chocolate cake. Knock your socks off! All the portions are generous. You definitely need to bring an appetite along.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service would recom ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Exceptional food and service would recommend to friends

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We come here for dinner every time we vi ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We come here for dinner every time we visit my parents. The quality of the food never disappoints and the service is always excellent. Thanks for another great experience!

food4
ambience4
service3

Food was excellent and enjoyed the enter ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was excellent and enjoyed the entertainment. My only complaint is that the service was too fast and efficient. We would have liked some breathing time before courses.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinary Gem in Coastal Delaware

Dined on March 25, 2016

Once again Cultured Pearl provided a fantastic meal. The food was outstanding and the service was amazing, especially as the staff was short-handed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great server and the food was wonderful. ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great server and the food was wonderful. I was there with my 4 grand kids and everyone was great. Would go back in a second.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We came on a Friday night in February. Everything that we had was so delicious! As an added bonus, they had live music and a dance floor set up on this particular evening. It was such a fun night out: amazing dinner, music and dancing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome Food/but waiter seemed high!!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Awesome experience! My only complaint was with our waiter. He was ok but he was a bit stand-offish and he was not very attentive. He seemed like he was high, to be honest. We did watch him do a Saki bomb with the guests at the table next to us, so maybe he did too many of them. We did dine rather late on Valentines. But food was awesome, atmosphere was great and all the other staff were really super nice!! We had just gotten engaged and he didn't even congratulate us and we had to ask him several times for a dessert menu. The gentleman providing the music was awesome!!! He congratulated us and sang our favorite John Legend Song! This place rocks!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, Great ambience

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, Great ambience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great establishment and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

I absolutely love it here and you guys are great! My wife and I had Valentine's dinner there and had an excellent experience. Our waitress Sharon did an awesome job, and the food is always phenomenal. I would recommend to anyone...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food, service and entertainment was excellent on Saturday of Valentines Day weekend. Our group of 7 was treated great by the staff.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.