Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 11, 2017 - Jan 11, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 11, 2017 - Jan 11, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Many of our more popular appetizers, beer, wine and cocktails from the regular menu discounted for Happy Hour at the Pearl Bar and Sushi Bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid Sep 11, 2017 - Jan 11, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Authentic (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (16)
Scenic View (15)
Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Live Music (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (5)
Spicy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was slow in taking the order ad slower in having the food brought to the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

This place has really gone downhill in my opinion. The food may be fine, as I only eat the Tempura there and it wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Happy Hour, And Sushi ... Specials Include Firecracker Roll And Their Trademark
Pearl Martini ( Wasabi Stuffed Olives With Ginger On A Toothpick ) A Must !

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

It's always a pleasure to eat at The Cultured Pearl. Great sushi, well presented. My wife had the roasted duck breast with udon- very good.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very long wait for order even though restaurant was not crowded on a Thursday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Haven't eaten here in years. Definitely my loss. Food, service, and ambiance were all wonderful. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 6, 2017

A staple for us when we visit Rehoboth! Always fantastic!

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent sushi rolls, very tasteful combinations , raw sashimi melts in your mouth- like be this place! Here very frequently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have dined over a dozen times here and the food is consistently of high quality. In the past, we've dined outside on the rooftop, which is a wonderful place on a nice day. We made a request to sit outside on this occasion but was not given a table outside. The reason i downgraded this visit to 3 stars is that I learned from our server that when you reserve a table through Open Table you will not be given an outdoor table, even if you request this on the special requests. So, be warned, if you want an outside table you will either need to call the restaurant to make a reservation and give up your 100 points, or settle for your points and an inside table (and feel like a second class guest.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was our first time here. We came for our wedding anniversary. It was clean, quiet, and beautiful. Our server was excellent and very nice. Our food was awesome and arrived very quickly. I had sushi and my husband had a ramen noodle bowl. We both loved our meals. For our anniversary, they gave us a free dessert. It was delicious, and so kind of them. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious (made to order). Servers were friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful and fun evening ! Sushi was incredible and so were the edamame!!Smokey style forever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

All in all, I was not impressed. I had made a reservation and upon our arrival we were toured areound the restaurant looking for a table, eventally seated in the serving alley. The live music was pretty good. The sushi was uninspired, flat in terms of taste, and was not as I expected based on other reviews and reccomendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good spot for sushi , especially if you can get a table on roof deck. Sushi is fairly priced and service is good. Still fairly noisy despite a small crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Consistently excellent food, my favorite place to eat sushi.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food is always good and we have visited this establishment often; this visit we had terrible service. Long wait for drinks and brought me the wrong meal. My husband was finished eating when I received what I ordered.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had excellent food and service at The Cultured Pearl last Saturday night. We highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great family meal- the kids tried new things and we all shared plates. Edamame was overpriced. Otherwise very good experience. Definitely recommend as a great rehoboth beach dining option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Birthday for a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As always, we returned to the Cultured Pearl when we were in Rehoboth, Delaware this past week. The sushi was great- fresh and up to par. The dining room was full with happy diners as far as we could tell. The service was a bit slow, as it often tends to be; however, our server was great and very attentive keeping us satisfied with drinks and conversation in between courses. If you like sushi, I recommend you visit for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very pricey, but the sushi is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Cultured Pearl always pleases - food, service, ambience. It continues to deserve rave reviews.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Have been coming to Cultured Pearl since it was on Wilmington Ave and this year was incredibly disappointing. We ate there twice this summer (had made 3 reservations and canceled last one). They are very pricey and this summer, food was fair. tofu was awful, rainbow row mayonnaisey; vege tempura boring...just not up to Cultured Pearl standards. AND my drink (cocktail) glass was cleared before I finished '

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was great but took a long time to get to us, however our waiter was excellent. We were on vacation and wanted a great dining experience. The restaurant is beautiful, lots of levels and great outdoor rooftop space. We did not get the option to sit outside which we would have loved. We will try it again and request to sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Couldn't ask better service or food. The wait staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The food was excellent and the decor was extremely well done. All this made for a great evening out with my girlfiend.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Reservations and reception experience were horrible. Almost walked out but my kids and guests wanted to see the fish so we stayed for dinner. Service was very slow. Was very disappointed since I was taking guests from out of town for their first time in rehoboth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We love the food here. I was really impressed with the "all you can eat" children's buffet. Very clever pricing structure $1.00 per year old the child is. Our little one at a full meal for a $1.00!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food itself was tasty, but our server had very little personality and wasn't very attentive. We also had to wait an exceptionally long time for our sushi. Apparently the kitchen was backed up. My husbands roll was quite small. For the price I just don't think the value was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Made a reservation on opentable well in advance, did not get a table outside and was told it was an hour wait. It's one of the main reasons to eat here. Would only recommend if you specifically get an outside table. Everything else was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Solid sushi restaurant in Rehoboth; food is always very good. The restaurant has a great rooftop deck with seating under lights and canopies, which is a delightful ambiance. HOWEVER, be warned that the restaurant does not take requests for the rooftop seating via Open Table (you have to actually call the restaurant). We learned the hard way and were very disappointed, since the deck was the main reason we drove from Bethany to Rehoboth for our sushi dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Amazing food, awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Waitress was prompt and extremely helpful when asked about the menu. The atmosphere is outstanding as well as the sushi. Very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very good value for the children's buffet, however, adult drinks and food prices more than pay for the children. $125.00 plus tip with a meal where we in and out in less than one hour, doesn't make for nice night out dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Heard this restaurant was excellent. Unfortunately, they ran out of gas/fuel and could not provide any food that could be cooked. I had a salad/drink. My husband had a beer and sushi roll. Very disappointed. Won't go back. 🙃 If anything after waiting, give us free drinks. Something on the house. No, did not.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Hade a wonderful meal at the Cultured Pearl , our party of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We will definitely be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The restaurant is one of our favorites. The reason for 3/4 stars instead of 5 was only because eating out on a Saturday night in Rehoboth in summer is just ridiculously busy. So I think we will probably not do that again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic food! Amazingly fresh fish (with the sushi) and awesome Korean BBQ dish. Waitstaff is helpful and attentive. Awesome rooftop option too! Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great place with many accolades for sushi
Service was very good - waitress kept children engaged which was a nice touch

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.