Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 11, 2017 - Jan 11, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 11, 2017 - Jan 11, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Many of our more popular appetizers, beer, wine and cocktails from the regular menu discounted for Happy Hour at the Pearl Bar and Sushi Bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid Sep 11, 2017 - Jan 11, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fun (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Healthy (12)
Authentic (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Romantic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Live Music (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort by
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The the spicy tuna salad and the dragon roll were exceptional. Our waiter, Patrick was very attentive to our dining needs .

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I was very disappointed. Requested a quiet table and was seated in front of the area where a very bad band began playing after we had ordered. Food was only mediocre, not nearly as good as our first visit. We are not likely to return. There are much better values without the high volume of a bad band.

I did receive a call after we left and an apology for not looking at my reservation request for a quiet table. I accept the apology, but they should have payed attention to the reservation to begin with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The Cultured Pearl continues to be an outstanding restaurant! You will always have the freshest food. We have been eating here for many years and they never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We had a lovely time at The Cultured Pearl on a Friday night. The first table they offered us was in an awkward corner away from the main dining area and next to the kitchen. They willingly accommodated our request for a change. We ended at a great table where we could enjoy the music by 'Shades of Blue'. Best sushi in town. Highly recommend the outside deck in warm weather.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Their edamame is the best I have ever tasted - so many different options of flavors - fabulous sushi and even willing to make things to order that aren't specifically on the menu. One of our favorite Rehoboth Beach spots. We love it here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Service and food were excellent! Waiter was awesome . Entertainment was Bryan Clark..

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The Cultured Pearl in Rehoboth Beach never disappoints. We took our daughter for her birthday dinner, along with some friends. Food was great, live music was wonderful, even some parents dancing, much to the embarrassment of the teenagers in our group. Love the Cultured Pearl!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I've been to The Cultured Pearl various times in the past two years but this visit was a disappointment. The menu was revised and the dishes we selected we felt were not up to previous offers. We had a cashew chicken entree that was served in a bowl that was more like a soup. Once we ate the ingredients, e.g., the chicken, cashews and other ingredients we were left with half full bowls of soppy liquid. The dish tasted ok but it's like eating a bowl of spaghetti and meatballs only to have half the bowl filled with very watery tomato sauce at the end. Would anyone want that? Service was also not up to all the prior visits---very slow to come to the table, didn't check in during the meal, seemed detached. Always recommended before, but can't today based on this visit---maybe it's an anomaly. We did enjoy the Friday night live entertainment which is half the reason we went here. That was good, but loud, and we couldn't have easy conversation with our other friends who were with us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Food was incredible...great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Always a good choice for sushi. Jazz Fest makes this a special place with great food and music.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The menu is confusing. Waaaayyy over priced everything. Music was so loud couldn’t have a conversation at our table. Pork spring rolls were fried in dirty tasting oil. Extremely over priced for the level of quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2017

First time visiting. Decided to attend happy hour (4-6) off season. Nice atmosphere and bar was packed a little after 5. Happy hour at sushi bar too which had plenty of seats. Tried the firecracker and crispy calamari rolls which were both good. Discounted beer, selected wine by glass and specialty cicktails. Tried the Kappa Tini which includes pearl cucumber vodka, Thatcher's Organic Cucumber Liquor, and lime. For those who like cucumber, it was a refeshing cocktail. Service at the bar was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have been eating at the Cultured Pearl since it first opened in Rehoboth Beach, and all of our meals have been great! We have a vegetarian in our family, and the menu works for all of us. Our current favorite maki are the Mangocado and Pinatsu rolls - delicious! The sushi is always fresh and beautifully presented. Friendly and helpful staff, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Been many times and always a deliscious meal, lovely setting and great service.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very expensive for the quantity of food that you receive. Sushi amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service was slow in taking the order ad slower in having the food brought to the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This place has really gone downhill in my opinion. The food may be fine, as I only eat the Tempura there and it wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Excellent Happy Hour, And Sushi ... Specials Include Firecracker Roll And Their Trademark
Pearl Martini ( Wasabi Stuffed Olives With Ginger On A Toothpick ) A Must !

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

It's always a pleasure to eat at The Cultured Pearl. Great sushi, well presented. My wife had the roasted duck breast with udon- very good.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very long wait for order even though restaurant was not crowded on a Thursday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Haven't eaten here in years. Definitely my loss. Food, service, and ambiance were all wonderful. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 6, 2017

A staple for us when we visit Rehoboth! Always fantastic!

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent sushi rolls, very tasteful combinations , raw sashimi melts in your mouth- like be this place! Here very frequently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have dined over a dozen times here and the food is consistently of high quality. In the past, we've dined outside on the rooftop, which is a wonderful place on a nice day. We made a request to sit outside on this occasion but was not given a table outside. The reason i downgraded this visit to 3 stars is that I learned from our server that when you reserve a table through Open Table you will not be given an outdoor table, even if you request this on the special requests. So, be warned, if you want an outside table you will either need to call the restaurant to make a reservation and give up your 100 points, or settle for your points and an inside table (and feel like a second class guest.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was our first time here. We came for our wedding anniversary. It was clean, quiet, and beautiful. Our server was excellent and very nice. Our food was awesome and arrived very quickly. I had sushi and my husband had a ramen noodle bowl. We both loved our meals. For our anniversary, they gave us a free dessert. It was delicious, and so kind of them. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious (made to order). Servers were friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful and fun evening ! Sushi was incredible and so were the edamame!!Smokey style forever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

All in all, I was not impressed. I had made a reservation and upon our arrival we were toured areound the restaurant looking for a table, eventally seated in the serving alley. The live music was pretty good. The sushi was uninspired, flat in terms of taste, and was not as I expected based on other reviews and reccomendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good spot for sushi , especially if you can get a table on roof deck. Sushi is fairly priced and service is good. Still fairly noisy despite a small crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Consistently excellent food, my favorite place to eat sushi.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food is always good and we have visited this establishment often; this visit we had terrible service. Long wait for drinks and brought me the wrong meal. My husband was finished eating when I received what I ordered.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had excellent food and service at The Cultured Pearl last Saturday night. We highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great family meal- the kids tried new things and we all shared plates. Edamame was overpriced. Otherwise very good experience. Definitely recommend as a great rehoboth beach dining option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Birthday for a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As always, we returned to the Cultured Pearl when we were in Rehoboth, Delaware this past week. The sushi was great- fresh and up to par. The dining room was full with happy diners as far as we could tell. The service was a bit slow, as it often tends to be; however, our server was great and very attentive keeping us satisfied with drinks and conversation in between courses. If you like sushi, I recommend you visit for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very pricey, but the sushi is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Cultured Pearl always pleases - food, service, ambience. It continues to deserve rave reviews.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Have been coming to Cultured Pearl since it was on Wilmington Ave and this year was incredibly disappointing. We ate there twice this summer (had made 3 reservations and canceled last one). They are very pricey and this summer, food was fair. tofu was awful, rainbow row mayonnaisey; vege tempura boring...just not up to Cultured Pearl standards. AND my drink (cocktail) glass was cleared before I finished '

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.