About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday and Saturday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Promotions

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 15, 2016 - Aug 15, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 15, 2016 - Aug 15, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid Apr 15, 2016 - Aug 15, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
10 More
Best Overall
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Food
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Service
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Ambiance
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Value
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Fit for Foodies
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Romantic
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Special Occasion
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Most Booked
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (40)
great for outdoor dining (35)
See All
good for groups (31)
romantic (29)
neighborhood gem (25)
hot spot (19)
vibrant bar scene (13)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (9)
notable wine list (8)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! The spicy octopus ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great! The spicy octopus and dumplings are a must have.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and great sushi. Cream of ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service and great sushi. Cream of Crab soup is a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must dining experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

I love the Cultured Pearl. Especially out of season because in-season it gets too crowded and then it takes longer to get served and drinks. But if you have time, it's worth the wait. I took my sister and she fell in love with it. The Edamame is the best and most unique I have ever had. All of their entrees were incredible. We had the best waitress we've ever had there - her name is Saki and she was wonderful! Great wine selection and a variety of unique drinks. Sushi is also incredible. A must visit in Rehoboth. The entertainment is also unique.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as always. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. All three of our courses were served with enough time between each to relax. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Music is too loud!!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We love the Cultured Pearl and have eaten there many, many times and I'm sure will eat there many more. The food and service are always fantastic. The cream of crab soup is to die for! However, if you are there on evenings when there is live music during the dinner hours, the music is so loud that if you are in the main dining room, you cannot hear what anyone at your table is saying and have to yell to be heard. That is really not conducive to a pleasant dinner. We have therefore asked to be seated either outside (if the weather is good) or way back in the side room as far away from the music as possible. This is really a shame.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

More than sushi

Dined on April 30, 2016

One can really get almost anything , but the sushi is excellent; the steak sushi was a bit disappointing, mostly due to the infinitesimal amount of steak, but any other dish is bound to please. There is live entertainment on weekends, not always the best, but certainly energetic Try the Japanese ice cream and definitely the hot saki, never mind the cocktails

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite sushi in Rehoboth Beach!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We're longtime fans of the Cultured Pearl, always fun and always good. Their live scallop is so fresh and this time they had Firefly Squid! And their bartender makes a great Cosmo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good food and service, waiter was helpful and attentive. Great menu selections as well. Nice ambience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were treated very well for our 41st Anniversary! We got treated by the bar tenders for our cream soup when they over heard it was 41st anniversary and we also got a complementary dessert. We only only had to pay for our entrees, The food was very delicious and the service was outstanding! This our first time coming to the Cultured Pearl. We will be back.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great...except

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food here is always really good. I got sushi and an asian vegetable medley on the side. It was perfect. Only downside was we ordered tea after. It was brought out all fancy in our own kettles. We were told to wait a little. I'm assuming to let it steep. We waited a good 5 mins and it was like warm at best. The kettles were hot but the tea was not. Just annoying to spend $3 on cold tea. Overall though we had fun. There was a live band that was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 8, 2016

We love Cultured Pearl! The food is always great and a wonderful place to gather with friends!!! Our server Sake is fabulous!!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VISIT HERE FOR A SENSATIONAL EATING EXPERIENCE

Dined on April 3, 2016

We consider the Cultured Pearl one of the three finest eateries in Rehoboth. Definitely top notch. From the "greet and meet" at the entry of the dining room through paying the bill you can't help but feel like royalty. The hot dishes we selected reverberated with flavor sensations. Definitely one of the best braised steaks I have eaten in a long time. Cooked to perfection with an exquisite flavor. The assorted fresh vegetables were crisp and their taste was a perfect complement to the meat. The desserts are to die for. We had a flour-less chocolate cake. Knock your socks off! All the portions are generous. You definitely need to bring an appetite along.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service would recom ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Exceptional food and service would recommend to friends

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We come here for dinner every time we vi ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We come here for dinner every time we visit my parents. The quality of the food never disappoints and the service is always excellent. Thanks for another great experience!

food4
ambience4
service3

Food was excellent and enjoyed the enter ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was excellent and enjoyed the entertainment. My only complaint is that the service was too fast and efficient. We would have liked some breathing time before courses.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinary Gem in Coastal Delaware

Dined on March 25, 2016

Once again Cultured Pearl provided a fantastic meal. The food was outstanding and the service was amazing, especially as the staff was short-handed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great server and the food was wonderful. ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great server and the food was wonderful. I was there with my 4 grand kids and everyone was great. Would go back in a second.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We came on a Friday night in February. Everything that we had was so delicious! As an added bonus, they had live music and a dance floor set up on this particular evening. It was such a fun night out: amazing dinner, music and dancing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome Food/but waiter seemed high!!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Awesome experience! My only complaint was with our waiter. He was ok but he was a bit stand-offish and he was not very attentive. He seemed like he was high, to be honest. We did watch him do a Saki bomb with the guests at the table next to us, so maybe he did too many of them. We did dine rather late on Valentines. But food was awesome, atmosphere was great and all the other staff were really super nice!! We had just gotten engaged and he didn't even congratulate us and we had to ask him several times for a dessert menu. The gentleman providing the music was awesome!!! He congratulated us and sang our favorite John Legend Song! This place rocks!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, Great ambience

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, Great ambience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great establishment and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

I absolutely love it here and you guys are great! My wife and I had Valentine's dinner there and had an excellent experience. Our waitress Sharon did an awesome job, and the food is always phenomenal. I would recommend to anyone...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food, service and entertainment was excellent on Saturday of Valentines Day weekend. Our group of 7 was treated great by the staff.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Seated quickly. Woman sang. Very enjoyable. Sushi was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

The view (table by the window overlooking Rehobeth) was great,. The waitress was perfect and the food and presentation was terrific.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Cultured Pearl

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We love this place. My husband is eating more types of food he has not tried before. We look forward to dining here again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the food and atmosphere here! Consi ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere here! Consistently good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The freshest sushi and beautiful presentation

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a great time introducing a friend to sushi and trying new rolls ourselves . Dessert was awesome. Green treatment and chocolate cales!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Rehoboth Adventure--Girls Night Out

Dined on January 16, 2016

Had an excellent meal, server was great. Saturday nite rush and kitchen was backed up a little, but we had a wonderful time. Everyone in our party of 5 enjoyed their meal and drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a kind!

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food is always amazing every time we come. Drinks are great. Edamame selections are the best I have ever experienced. Service was really good the evening we went. Highly recommend the experience. During season, it gets really crowded and service isn't as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Wonderful service. Loved ...

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

Delicious food. Wonderful service. Loved the great live music! A true Rehoboth Beach gem.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great sushi bar!

Dined on December 12, 2015

Excellent experience at the sushi bar. Just about everything we ordered was off the specials page and everything was fabulous. The sashimi was fresh and delicious. There was an aji special and presentation was great. The icing on the cake was Gekkeikan Horin sake was also a special. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and food

Dined on December 11, 2015

My husband and I are new to the area but chose The Cultured Pearl because it had been highly recommended by a local businessman. We were given a table with the most perfect view possible. We were close to the Christmas tree and next to the second story window looking out onto the street. Trees were decorated with sparkling lights and we were across from a peaceful nativity scene. There were many sushi dishes that sounded appealing but we each chose miso soup and a shrimp dish. My yellow curried shrimp dish had many large, fresh shrimp and was served with jasmine rice and mango chutney. We each enjoyed our meal and are definitely planning a return visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Night out!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Great dinner on a Saturday night! Bryan Clark performing! Awesome entertainment! Will be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently good.

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Consistently good.

food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the dining experience. The filet ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Enjoyed the dining experience. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly. The banana tempura dessert was wonderful for two. The live music was very welcome. Will certainly go back and bring friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Must visit in rehoboth beach

Dined on October 24, 2015

Excellent sushi !!! Very good service !!!ade our anniversary dinner a great one.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Look forward ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Excellent service and food. Look forward to returning!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the menu, first time there because ...

Dined on October 9, 2015

Loved the menu, first time there because of Brian Clark! First day here for a week and plan to go back. Service great and friendly but quite noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Japanese focused restaurant

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

We have been enjoying sushi/sashimi in New Jersey, New York, Los Angeles for many years. As new Delaware residents this was our first time at Cultured Pearl though tried a couple of other places in Rehoboth area before. Hands down this was the best sushi I have had in years, maybe ever. Fish was very fresh, rice had just the right amount of stickiness and flavor. Service was excellent on a quiet weekday evening. My wife had shrimp teriyaki and it was excellent. Decent wine and saki list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Asian food, excellent service

Dined on September 27, 2015

Great to find great Asian food, including miso, sushi, Teriyaki, etc. Very friendly staff and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.