Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Many of our more popular appetizers, beer, wine and cocktails from the regular menu discounted for Happy Hour at the Pearl Bar and Sushi Bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid May 9, 2017 - Sep 9, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Authentic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Scenic View (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Fun (10)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Spicy (7)
People Watching (7)
Live Music (5)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place with many accolades for sushi
Service was very good - waitress kept children engaged which was a nice touch

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was rather attentive to my sister which we both found flattering and pleasantly amusing. We chatted about it for the rest of the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a reservation at 8:15. Food came to our table at 9:30! Luckily, it was good food, but the wait was excessive. Sushi is very good, but I've had better for the price. The menu is extensive, though, and I would go again just to try other things. I would call, not use Open Table, to get a table outside (which they do not do if you make the reservation with Open table). I would also make sure I am not that hungry, get a good wine and enjoy the company, to prepare for the loooooong wait.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have been coming to your restaurant for close to 20 years. My husband and I used to drive into Rehoboth from our Sea Colony family vacation spot in Bethany for a date night. We would get a babysitter and leave the kids for a few hours just to dine with you. We starting bringing our kids a few years later and/or getting carry out and bringing it all the way back to Bethany. About 5 years ago we started a Mother/Daughter (s) tradition of visiting Rehoboth for a few nights each summer and the trip always includes a dinner at your restaurant. We look forward to it all year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Family get together to have my sister met my boyfriend. I have to say the Ahi Poke is the closest to Hawaii Ahi Poke I have tasted. Just love the Godzilla roll. And enjoyed the Maui roll too.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Loved the Cultured Pearl! Sushi was awesome. Service was excellent. Not too expensive and worth every penny. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We love this restaurant and it's make it a point of dining there every time we're in town. The sushi is always amazing and delicious. The menu always has great entrees and is good for fish, veggies or whatever. The best part is that they are VERY child friendly! I highly recommend the Pearl to anyone for a god dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food is consistently good, however the service was the slowest we have experienced in over a dozen or so of our visits.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Disappointing - not as good as I remember it. We didn't do sushi, so for that it is probably good. But, if you are not sushi/sashimi fans, the other food wasn't great. The dumplings (both kinds) were just ok. The ramen was not good, the teriyaki chicken was ok, and the maki rolls we did have (oshinko, Delaware and California) were fine. But, for what we had and the bill for 6 people (no alcohol, but for one beer) over $200 wasn't worth it. Our waitress was GREAT though (Sherry?)!!! She was fantastic!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Awful! First off, if you make a reservation through OpenTable you can't sit outside. I wish someone had told us this, because it's the best part of the restaurant! When we asked our server about it they were so rude and dismissive! After accepting out date of being inside, we were excited to try the food. Everything we ordered was over salted and tasted awful. Their signature carb soup cake out cold and the tasted like it came from a can! I would never recommend this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lovely! The food choices are great and there's a beautiful outdoor area!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We dine here about once a week. Requested outside but it was a busy holiday weekend and we were a few minutes late for our res so they couldn't make it happen. Sat us at a bad table tucked on the side of the bar but we're very pleasant and quick to seat us at the sushi bar when we asked. Service was excellent rest of the evening.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always a great evening! Bartender John was very nice and recommended a great Malbec !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Spicy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Delicious cream of crab soup to start. So filling and yummy. We got 3 rolls all delicious. Every vacation in Rehoboth Beach means at least one dinner at The Cultured Pearl.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was less than ok. Dated, tired etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Manager saved the day - Outdoor reservations require phone call along with reservation request

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This place has some of the best sushi around! Able to accommodate vegan, gluten free, and other dietary restrictions. Outside dining is great...on the roof top above a Koi pond! The staff is very friendly and want to make sure you have a good time. I am a local and visit this restaurant year round!

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I've eaten many times at Cultured Pearl, and always enjoyed each meal/experience there.
This was my first time booking online, I wanted to book long in advance as we had family coming in from out of town, and wanted to treat them to the very best.
I was a bit disappointed that I requested a table outside on the koi pond so far in advance but we were still seated inside, and I didn't quite understand the reason I was given, but inside is just as lovely, though it was hard to hear our waitress. She herself was difficult to understand and we were left waiting for beverages for 15-20 minutes at a time, which was also disappointing. That said, this was the only time we've ever had that happen, and I'm not one to give a bad review just from one less than favorable experience.
The food was delicious and beautifully presented, as always. Two of us ordered the thai green curry, two of us ordered sushi platters, and two ordered off the small hot plates menu, which both of them enjoyed. In terms of tasty, authentic asian cuisine, Cultured Pearl simply can't be beat in the southern Delaware area.
The ambiance paired with the amazing food is definitely worth the price, and you can enjoy it for birthdays, dates, and other special occasions. We will, of course, be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always a pleasure from the service to the atmosphere. The food is not to be missed! A must if you are in Rehoboth. Try the firecracker, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

One of my entire family's all time favorites!!! Everyone always finds exactly what they love on the expansive menu!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I came in this restaurant with my girlfriend, the ambiance is really good, there is a great japanese decor with fishes swimming in smalls ponds, it's a little expensive but really tasty. Had a great time here!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice anniversary dinner. The maki and curry we ordered were excellent. A bit pricey but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic patio. Great food. Edamame bar amazing. Sushi was great

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant has been on our vacation rotation for years. We return for the food and the service has always been very good. Unfortunately, the Cultured Pearl continues to be damaged by very rude hosts at the front desk. This seriously detracts from the experience. This is an expensive restaurant that cannot seem to train the hosts to be courteous and welcoming. This past Saturday the host went beyond the usual pretentious condescension and was overtly rude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Impeccable service and delicious food. Get the Godzilla Maki Roll.....it is outstanding! We were seated by the glass wall overlooking the street so the view was great. Our server was very helpful and explained many of the menu items. This is a great place to take a date....very quiet and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We asked to not be rushed. Our dinners came out on top of our appetizers, despite our request. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is one of the best sushi bars I have ever been to. The staff was amazing and the food was even better. There is a great variety of food to choose from so there's something for everyone. Definitely worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We LOVE the atmosphere at The Cultures Pearl. The pear drink is amazing. Please offer more vegan food! We will be coming back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Overall wonderful dining experience. We will definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food at The Cultured Pearl is always very good and consistent. Have dined many times and also purchased carry out.

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was a beautiful spring evening so we sat on the rooftop. The salads, salmon and shrimp and vegetable tempura were all excellent. Plus they serve Evo3 on draft.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My husband and I love this place. We've been coming here since he asked me to marry him in 2014. We spent our 1st dinner being engaged, on our honeymoon, and out 1st & 2nd Anniversary dining here. We've also enjoyed your food to celebrate a few birthdays. The food has always been delicious! My husband loves sushi, he says this place is tied for 1st place on his all time favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

John is the best. We always have a good meal here. A favorite sushi place in DE! I eat here as often as I can when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We always enjoy Cultured Pearl on our visits to Rehoboth Beach. Food is fabulous and the selections fun and creative. Service is top-notch- always a winning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was excellent waitstaff was top notch. Waiter was dedicated to service of his customers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was excellent. A little noisy. We were celebrating a birthday as noted on the reservation and the waiter didn't mention or asked anything about the occasion. The food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I have always loved this restaurant so I wanted to share it with my friend who were first time visitors to Rehoboth. I made my reservations on Open Table. When we arrived, I was told the only way to get a seat outside was to call the restaurant not by using Open Table. This was a disappointment for all four of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice experience; great food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.