About The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

301 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

*Please note: We do NOT accept online reservations for patio seating. If you wish to make a specific request, you MUST contact the restaurant directly at (302) 227-8493

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar located in the heart of Downtown Rehoboth Beach has been voted "The Best of Delaware" every year since it's opening in 1993. Our two award winning menus include an extensive Sushi menu and a diverse kitchen menu with traditional Japanese teriyakis and tempuras, spicy Thai dishes and gourmet American cuisine. Dine outdoors perched atop the 15,000-gallon rooftop koi pond or indoors midst the bamboo gardens and cherry blossoms, or at our traditional Japanese Sushi Bar. Relax in our cozy bar and lounge area and enjoy some of the areas best live entertainment, from solo acoustic acts to great jazz bands. In addition, happy hour is available daily from 4 to 6pm and our parent's "Two-thumbs up!" $1 per year Children's Buffet from 4 to 6pm as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours for Dinner: Sunday throughThursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm. PATIO HOURS ARE WEATHER DEPENDENT AND WE DO NOT ACCEPT ONLINE RESERVATIONS FOR PATIO SEATING. IF YOU WISH TO MAKE A SPECIFIC REQUEST, YOU MUST CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY AT (302)227-8493.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-8493

Website:
http://www.culturedpearl.us/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment and dancing is offered Friday and Saturday evenings year round throughout the later dinner seating until the bar and restaurant close.

Catering:
Our complete menu is available for Gourmet Carry Out and Party Platters can be customized to your liking for parties of all sizes. Please call 302-227-4217 to speak with our knowledgeable staff for help and suggestions when ordering.

Parking Details:
From Memorial Day Weekend to Mid September Parking Meters are in effect from 10am to Midnight. Free parking is available on the streets directly behind the Shops at The Pearl Mall from 5pm until 9am. From 9am to 5pm a Parking Permit is required in these areas.

Street parking is non metered and no permits are required throughout the entire second season from Mid September to Memorial Day Weekend.

Public Transit:
There are Dart Bus stops and Jolly Trolley stops within a short walking distance of the restaurant. Please visit their websites for an updated schedules.

Executive Chef:
Robert Wood & Yasuhiro Sano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website at www.culturedpearl.us for a complete listing of the many events scheduled in our area throughout the year.

Specials

Happy Hour

Sundays, Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Sundays, Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available at the bar and sushi bar only. Special valid Oct 9, 2016 - Feb 9, 2017 on Sundays, Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Food
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Ambiance
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
3 More
Best Value
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Special Occasion
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Most Booked
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Romantic (12)
Fun (11)
Live Music (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Casual (10)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Spicy (9)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Dancing (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I each selected the Shrim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I each selected the Shrimp and Vegetable Tempura. It was the best we have tasted. Miso soup was delicious and served nice and hot. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband, teenage daughters, and I lov ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband, teenage daughters, and I love The Cultured Pearl. They love the sushi and say it is very refreshing and delicious. I don't eat sushi, but I always find something tasty to enjoy. We always leave the restaurant in a wonderful mood and looking forward to the next time we are going to be able to go back..

We try and go on the nights when there is live entertainment. That adds more enjoyment to our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent dinner! I started of ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had an excellent dinner! I started off with the classic cultured martini which I love because of the wasabi/ginger olives. It was perfectly chilled and I had vodka/gin options. We shared the winter noodles with tofu and the tempura which were both delicious. Next we went with various rolls, the Alaskan, Hawaiin, firecracker and philly. All were fresh and yummy and the service was excellent as always. It was the perfect way to cap off a long work week! We will be back very soon!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Live Music, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and great girls night. Liv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome food and great girls night. Live music was a bonus!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Vegan, Healthy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Dancing, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got there at happy hour. Great value. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Got there at happy hour. Great value. Highly recommend the firecracker - it was amazing.

Tags: Spicy, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat. Serio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat. Seriously love this place. Finding that I'm starting to dislike sushi any other place because it's so good here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect! We love it! The food is delici ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Perfect! We love it! The food is delicious and we love the atmosphere!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant and have eaten t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love this restaurant and have eaten there many times. The Cream of Crab soup is to die for!

My only comment is that the live music in the main dining room is way too loud, so loud you can't hear your dinner companions. Ask for a table outside in the summer, or in the back room if you are dining on an evening that has live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a pleasant place to dine . . . MARY ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a pleasant place to dine . . . MARY is to be commended . . .

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice venue with good sushi. Enjoyed dinn ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Nice venue with good sushi. Enjoyed dinner very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Variety of sushi choices make it a good ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Variety of sushi choices make it a good choice for the adventurous and not-so adventurous

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit to the Cultured ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our first visit to the Cultured Pearl, having been to Rehoboth a number of times. The restaurant is very large and casual, so there are a lot of families with children. Which can make it noisy. They also have entertainment on Friday night, which was nice. We were very happy with the food and the service. Food was very good, menu offers a nice variety. Our server was very professional, providing just the right amount of attention.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food with excellent service. We a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food with excellent service. We ate outside and were next to a koi pond. Very relaxing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great time, great food, wonderful server ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great time, great food, wonderful server named Saki.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smokey edamame with garlic is a must try ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Smokey edamame with garlic is a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Every meal at the Cultured Pearl, if it ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Every meal at the Cultured Pearl, if it includes tempura vegetables or sushi, is a winner. Our waitress (Anna, I believe, was her name) was wonderfully gracious, friendly and timely in her visits to our table. From check-in to hot sake and beer/wine to our delicious meals, all four in our party enjoyed the experience. The Cultured Pearl owners, atmosphere, staff and chefs are top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants, love going there. Their sushi is always extremely fresh and tasty and the entrees are very god as well. The service there is second to none. Would and have recommended it often.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Cultured Pearl ROCKED!!! Was very s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The Cultured Pearl ROCKED!!! Was very surprised how good the sushi was in a shore town restaurant. Will come back every time we are in Rehoboth.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to dinner with a few friends on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went to dinner with a few friends on the Sunday of a long Holiday Weekend. We could only get a table at 9:00. We didn't mind, but I would recommend trying to get a reservation more than a couple days in advance. If you want to sit on the rooftop patio, you need to call the hostess to request it. The hostess desk could use some work - I was transferred or put on hold 3 separate times (each time having to explain my reason for calling) before finally speaking to someone (Connie?) who was actually pretty helpful and took her time with me so I wasn't too upset.

The Menu has a nice variety of small plates, entrees, sushi rolls, appetizers, etc. The Edamame is served in a medium sized bowl and between 4 of us, we couldn't finish it. Try the Old Bay seasoned Edamame - a little spicy, but so good.

One woman in our party ordered an entree and 3 of us split the Japanese Street Noodles from the small plate menu and 3 sushi rolls which was just the right amount of food. We had 2 bottles of wine at the table and our check was less than $35 a person before tip.

The menu has a few adventurous items, but as a picky eater, I found several things I wanted to try and liked everything we ordered.

The only real complaint I had was that the sushi and entree took a very long time to arrive. Obviously you want the sushi prepared fresh, but given how empty the restaurant was by the time we ordered (maybe 9:30) it seemed to take a very long time.

Our Server Maki was very friendly, cheerful, and quick to clear empty plates.

Overall a great meal. Great for taking friends or a romantic dinner. Probably not for little kids.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service! The wait were fr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and service! The wait were friendly and efficient. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh ingredients , great presentation.. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fresh ingredients , great presentation...excellent service! Always a treat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, live music was loud for a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good, live music was loud for a dinner setting, but we enjoyed ourselves overall! Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Singer is good but needs the volume to b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Singer is good but needs the volume to be about 10 decibels lower. It's a restaurant not a wedding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Seated in a timely manner; server courte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Seated in a timely manner; server courteous; food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This place is consistently amazing. It ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This place is consistently amazing. It was our fourth time and each time we're increasingly impressed. First of all it's such an interesting sprawling restaurant with multiple levels and the amazing outside deck above a rooftop koi pond. There wasn't live music this time in the main dining area but there was every other time we've been there and it's always been really high calibre musicians. So this time the food was the star! For starters, the smoked-salt edamame were far more than just a snack, they were delicious! The shrimp shumai were savory, beautifully-sculpted and larger-than-usual but still delicate dumplings. The hamachi "cheeks" were delicate, delicious and more meaty than expected. Our three sushi rolls were exquisite, although they took quite a long time to arrive - keep in mind that the sushi bar here is hopping busy, which is a good thing! The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the ponzu oysters, which were pristinely clean but just a little bland - although that may be because I prefer my oysters salty and right out of the crusty shell...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff was friendly..service very slow. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Staff was friendly..service very slow. Not sure if it was a normal thing or perhaps because it was after 8 and end of the summer season. 15 minute wait for a slice of pre-made pie for dessert seems a bit much.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

This was our 1st visit after many years ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was our 1st visit after many years visiting the area, the Food was great! All in our party enjoyed the sushi appetizers and all of our entrees, last wonderful menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Try the various edamame selections that ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Try the various edamame selections that they offer; won't be disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We checked in 20 early. We sat by the ho ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We checked in 20 early. We sat by the hostess stand to wait. She never called us. We asked about our wait time 5 minutes after the reservation and she claimed she texted us. We never got a text. Our server didn't come by our table for 10 minutes when we were first seated. We were ready with our drinks appetizer and dinner order by then. They forgot two sushi rolls. One roll came after we finished dinner. We usually enjoy this restaurant but this experience was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Cultured Pearl continues to be a gastron ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Cultured Pearl continues to be a gastronomic gem and one of the truly great pan-Asian restaurants on the East Coast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends had suichi which they liked. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

My friends had suichi which they liked. We went on a Friday evening and there was a man playing a guitar with the amp turned up very high. It was impossible to talk. The waitress was very accommodating and moved us to another area. I think he food is expensive and not especially great. But if you like suichi. It's probably a good place for you. The singer was not a great performer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Sat at sushi bar. Service was phenomenal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sat at sushi bar. Service was phenomenal. The Hamachi Kama (grilled yellowtail cheek) was amazing and is highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation here for dinner while ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Made a reservation here for dinner while we were at the beach after hearing about great reviews. It did not disappoint - we loved the sushi! The place was packed but service was great - very energetic and friendly. We will definitely be back in the future!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this restaurant! Everyone is ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love this restaurant! Everyone is very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Would definitely recommend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really fantastic food and great service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Really fantastic food and great service. Best place we ate while on vacation for the week. I can't recommend more highly!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi is awesome. The service is alw ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The sushi is awesome. The service is always top notch.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique ambiance and excellent service fr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Unique ambiance and excellent service from Alex!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not only is the food delicious but the w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Not only is the food delicious but the wait staff bring a wonderful knowledge of what they are serving in response to all your questions. It is a truly quality restaurant for Japanese-style food.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard so much about the Cultured P ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had heard so much about the Cultured Pearl and was anxious to give it a try since it gets good reviews. Food was very good and I liked that it had a regular menu and sushi too. A little disappointed that it is not what I would call fine dining since we did not even have table linens, and we were seated right next to kitchen where they were busing the equipment from happy hour.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent food and service- my wife and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and service- my wife and I will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.