Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Cove Trattoria

4.1
78 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Living up to its name, The Cove Trattoria in Scottsdale, AZ takes all of its cues from the classic ingredients and techniques put to use in a traditional Italian trattoria. Along with an array of dishes, there is also an impressive wine list and indoor as well as outdoor dining options.

The menu at The Cove Trattoria features an impressive array of salads that might easily become a meal, and most are sized as entr�es. The antipasti include classics like calamari or PEI mussels. There are also large entr�es that focus on fresh seafood and meats. Vegetarians will love the pasta options and everyone will appreciate the wood-fired gourmet pizzas that are a huge part of The Cove Trattoria success story.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(480) 951-8273
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Enjoy a variety of savory options from our catering menu, designed by our hospitality team
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Daryl Monica: (480) 951-8273
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Scottsdale Rd and Indian Bend
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 78 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
3.8
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was very good. However, all the hard surfaces make it too loud. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. I will go there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Calamari was mushy, broccoli rabe was bitter

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful evening and food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2016

We had not been to an Italian Restaurant that featured a gluten free menu before, so we decided to give it a shot. The experience was excellent, from the moment we walked through the door. The waitress was attentive and happy to answer our questions. The food was great! I lived in Italy 28 years ago, and this food was just as good as being back there. If we ever return to Phoenix, we will definitely eat there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 9, 2016

It's not for us. The atmosphere felt a bit like a clique, we didn't get the impression it's a place that's particularly inclusive of all races.

My husband said his filet was one of the worst steaks he's ever eaten. On the flip side, my sausage caramelized onion pizza was one of the best I've eaten. The food tends toward the trendy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food & attentive water, cozy & consisently good food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 20, 2016

We've been eating at The Cove for almost 14 years...the food and service have remained excellent. It's great to have this restaurant in our neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2016

Delicious food and always a good time. The staff is exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2016

This family run restaurant is as great as it gets; ambiance, food, drink, and
staff are truly FIVE STAR!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2016

Comfortable eating establishment with great happy hour menu for late lunch/early dinner. Friendly staff and good food (great mussels, meatballs!!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Love the addition of cashews to Caesar salad! Service always friendly and good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2016

We love the Caesar salad with cashews and our favorite pizza is the sausage w carmelized onions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2016

My mom has the best dentist in the world, because he gave her a coupon for a free entree from The Cove Trattoria for her birthday. I am so glad he is the generous soul he is, because we had a remarkable meal. Tucked away in the Seville shopping center (just east of 21 Cakes) is this delightful restaurant. The ambiance and decor is pleasing and calm - not jumping out at you as you dine. The noise level was low, but we showed up right as they were opening for dinner, so I don't know what it would be like when they are packed. Mom ordered the prawn primavera and I ordered the tre funghi, both which were exceptional. Mine was literally loaded with three kinds of mushrooms in a light cream sauce. Rather than have the pasta it normally comes with, I opted for the gluten-free linguini, and it was delicious! It tasted just like regular semolina pasta, and arrived al dente, just the way I like it! Mom's primavera was tasty as well, with lots of nice big prawns to accompany the delicious spring veggies and spaghetti noodles. And they conjur up a mean Manhattan, as well! We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2016

We went at 5pm and had a quiet pleasant dinner. The Issa is awesome, the salads great and the service was friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2016

the food here is always amazing. the best mussels you will get anywhere. pizza is great, and all the pasta and chicken dishes are excellent. ask for the ricotta cheesecake!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2016

The experience was as expected. We have been regular customers for years and will continue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

waitperson was so friendly and helpful. celebrating an 80th birthday made special with a great complimentary dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Great little place for a date night! Good food, great wine list and our server was fantastic...funny at times and professional! Delicious and compliments to the chef!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Portions are quite abundant so be careful if ordering salad and appetizer unless you want to bring 1/2 of your entrée home. Friendly service and delicious food. A true hidden treasure of Scottsdale

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I used to dine here a few years ago when we both worked in the area, but it has been a couple of years since we've been here. Our most recent visit was for a family gathering of five people. The service used to be great; this time it was inattentive at best. Our server brought us a wine list & menus, then disappeared to sit and chat with another patron at the bar. It was happy hour but we would not have know that if we hadn't specifically asked. They used to bring a basket of bread to the table - we had to ask (the runners) for that too. The food is still good and even though the place filled up, the noise level was low enough that we could hold conversations without yelling at each other.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2016

Great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2016

This is a little hideaway spot you would want to hang out with the Girls on a Girls night out - love the quietness, the service was great, they have a bar section where you can eat there as well. Loved our dinner

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 10, 2016

We were expecting a more Italian feel rather than a pizza restaurant other than that it was okay

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2016

We were 8 ladies having dinner out. The waiter was great and very attentive. He also gave us each our own check. It is someplace that we will definitely return to have dinner.GNO

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2016

We were impressed with the sophisticated ambiance, cozy lighting, understated decor, delicious pizza, and attentive staff. We are definitely going back to this lovely gem!
I'm so glad they had an ad in the paper; it is a good way for new people like us to discover what others already know - Cove Trattoria is not to be missed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2016

The restaurant is in a very nice neighborhood, easy to access, to park and look quite charming. We've been there twice and it was always crowded. We only had to wait a short time to seat and the services are good. The menu is American with Italian accent and we like it a lot. The jumbo shrimps are spicy and loaded with veggies and noodles. The halibut is grilled just right and served with veggies. The best part is the desserts. The teramisu and panacota are just delicious, creamy but not greasy nor oversweetened. In all, dinner at the Cove Trattoria was an excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

we have gone here for about five years and always had wonderful casual dinners, usually on the Patio. We were inside for New Year's Eve and the ambiance was warm and cozy. The best dinners and dining experience that night. Always wonderful service, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

The food is very fresh and tasty. I love the flatbread pizzas. The Caesar salad is delicious and they add cashews for extra crunch. We found this place on Local Dines where we bought a $40 voucher for $20. Great deal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Everything we have eaten or drank here was very good. We are going back again this Friday, for their happy hour and then dinner:)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 17, 2015

Good food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 12, 2015

The food was not remarkable, but very good and a good value. Two salmon salads were yummy, a pasta dish was tasty and the calzone was HUGE. We will go back. The pizzas looked good and we want to try one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2015

This was a new restaurant for us. Great menu selection and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 6, 2015

The food was delicious and menu selection was very good. Service was excellent and atmosphere was cozy and friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2015

We enjoyed the food and service and will surely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 25, 2015

the food here is absolutely the best. if you love mussels, the best anywhere. the pasta dishes' are great, the wood fired pizza is a+. also, a great happy hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2015

My girlfriend and I went to the Cove on Friday June 12th. Very nice, but casual, restaurant. Server was very courteous and polite, food was delicious, especially the pork loin that I ordered. Nothing major to complain about. Only one minor nitpick: the pre-meal bread was not served warm. Other than that, terrific dining experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 11, 2015

Not many people in bar or restaurant. Service was average, food tasty but would not return. Many lighting fixtures out throughout restaurant, no candles or lamps. 4 tables full in entire restaurant and only 3 people at bar (even during NBA Playoffs). Not fun, not memorable, would not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2015

The Cove Trattoria has good service and good food. We have never been disappointed. The pizzas are exceptional.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2015

Prices were moderate. Food was passable but nothing special. Shrimp appetizer was swimming in oil. Mozerella on "tower" salad was dry. I would not go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2015

This restaurant was quite a bit smaller than I thought it would be. The owner and the maitre'd were very friendly, courteous throughout the visit and the service was timely. I was a little disappointed with the pizza. While it had a excellent ingredients and a wonderful taste, the crust was soft on the bottom and was not really hot when delivered. The ambiance was rather dull, perhaps because it was a Sunday evening and it was somewhat slow.

Report
Helpful
1
2