Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Casual (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Romantic (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

food was good, but, the noise level bordered on the intolerable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Saw this restaurant on Diners Drive-in And Dives, so wanted to check it out. Food was good, not amazing. We had a big group so we had a great time. Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food here is outstanding! Be sure to make your reservation as if you just show up the wait can be long, but the southern twist is so delicious! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

our friends and us had both booked a table for four at 11:00 am and it really didn't matter - we still had to wait. The restaurant was packed full and it was hard to hear each other. The portion sizes were generous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good comfort food (especially for re-located Southerners!). The biscuits with honey are awesome and everything had a wonder home-cooked taste. Good menu variety. The service was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is casual and noise level low enough for conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Went for an early dinner on a Tuesday night. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was delicious. Kids ate fried chicken and mashed potatoes, my husband and I split a burger, grits, collards, and a bibb salad. Everything was as expected, tasty and hot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food at the Country Cat is always great, and the Bloody Mary's outstanding. The service is always friendly and efficient too. My only complaint is the noise level. Even without music there would be plenty of conversation noise, but they insist on cranking up the music even louder. Would prefer a much calmer atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sat at the Chefs counter for Mothers Day. Fantastic menu along with great entertainment from the Chef and crew as they prepared our brunch selection. Lemon Ricottta Pancakes, Housemade sausage and cinnamon swirl challah bread French toast . Everything was delicious. Only disappointment was that they ran out of their fantastic pecan rolls! Menu and cuisine never disappoint!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First off let me start by saying the food was terrific. But we had an 11:00am reservation and were not seated until closer to 11:30. They clearly overbooked. We had my grandmother with use who is elderly and they asked her to stand in the waiting area rather than sit because they needed her chair. Mind you our reservation was 30 minutes late. We ordered cinnamon rolls for before our brunch meal. They were brought at the same time as our entrees. We were told another server took ours for someone else. They should have been removed from our bill. It also took quite a while to be waiting on once seated. Overall the food is great but ther service is severely lacking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Food

The food was excellent as usual. The lemon-ricotta pancakes were delicious. Pecan sticky buns were magnificent. The breakfast sandwich re-defines the term.

The experience was lacking in several respects.

The 10:30 brunch, reserved a month ago for Mother's Day, didn't start until almost 11. It seems as though airlines aren't the only business that overbooks and over sells.

The noise level was high. Conversation was difficult for elderly people.

The server gave us another table's bill. I had to ask for the correct bill.

My overall impression is the front of the house is letting the back of the house down. That's a shame. Food this good deserves a great presentation and a top-notch staff to present it to the customers.

Food 10.0/10.0
Service 3.0/10.0
Overall 5.0/10.0

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Duck was way over cooked and fat was not rendered....chewy. Fried chicken was soggy because it was plated in the vinegar juice from the greens. The cheddar cheese on the burger was cold. We were seated at a booth but out server was also the bartender, so needless to say the service was slow. A very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dinner started with excellent cocktails followed by delicious food. The ambiance was fun and modern and we had a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always incredible food and service. Although, found CC to be too noisy to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was very good, everyone enjoyed their meal. We arrived at 9:00 and there was already a line around the corner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were celebrating a college graduation and had looked online and found this. The website was great and food looked fabulous online. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious fried chicken, collards, trout. Party of four, everything was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was excellent but the music was very loud which made it hard to carry on a conversation. Also we arrived before closing but were told that the kitchen had closed so they could not offer more than ice cream for dessert by the time we were ready for dessert. The server did give options for other places nearby that could serve dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I love the Country Cat. Fun cocktails and delicious food. The music was pretty loud the last time I was there so with all the other people talking, it was hard to hear the people at my table. All in all, it's a fun place to eat in Portland.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was wonderful. We love that everything is fresh and the kitchen is open. Our waitress was great she was friendly and efficient and didn't make us feel as if we should be in a hurry to leave. Thank you so much for the lovely evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had my folks from out of town. They always want to stop by CC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Loved the music but a bit loud to have conversation with all the noise of the restaurant and kitchen as well.

Food okay - a bit overrated in my humble opinion.

Service - good but rushed in the order process.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Delicious food and great atmosphere. We picked this place because we were able to make a reservation for 10 people for Sunday Brunch at a specific time. The were very accommodating and friendly. We were concerned that finding parking would be an issue but it was not at all.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is my second time to The Country Cat, and both times were amazing. The food and service was excellent. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was great

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was absolutely incredible.
The red beet hash was out of this world!!
We went for a birthday brunch and could not be happier with our choice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always, not matter what the meal, we are never disappointed. Professional, friendly, and efficient service. Fabulous food and beverage!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had the Idaho trout and the fried chicken. Both were excellent. Peanut butter pie was pretty good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This was my first time at Country Cat. I'm glad we made a resi right when they opened and we were seated immediately. If you don't, it appears you have to stand outside. They were curt about keeping the door shut with the breeze yet there is no standing space or waiting space - it's a flawed system nonetheless.

We dined on the March dining month special of a three course meal for $29. It was amazing comfort southern food. The dessert was fantastic. I see they have Poutine on the menu and being from BC, I'll have to try it next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I always love the Country Cat. Food is great, everytime and I love that the food has fresh, local, and seasonal options. There is bar seating, as well as seating at the chefs counter, and then larger tables good for groups. Personally, I love the onion rings, I get them almost every time I'm there. I talk about Country Cat to all my friends, a Portland must-have.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I had not realized how small this location is but the food is definitely BIG on taste. The ham hock/bean soup was the best I have ever had. You cannot go wrong with the fried chicken! I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The onion rings and chicken wings are both delicious. We also had the salmon, pot roast and fried chicken, and all of them were great. We were able to make reservations at the last minute and were seated immediately when we got there, even though the restaurant was very busy and is obviously very popular. Parking was easy too. It ticks off all my boxes, I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fabulous food! We were a party of 7 and ordered and shared a large fraction of the menu. The trout and biscuits and chicken were particular favorites. Tables are pretty close together, so it is a tough place to have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, servings were large (I had the trout it was delicious) next time I'll share an entree and save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The breakfast special was amazing. We had leftovers for the next day and it was even tastier.

My son enjoyed the pancake and was happy to color the Country Cat while he was waiting for his meal, which was a short wait.

We always gather a friend to join us so we can book a reservation as the wait can be long to be seated.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The fried chicken is a religious experience and the desserts are divine. Great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Only ate here for brunch but it was really yummy. Great cinnamon rolls, skillet chicken and the bloody Mary was nearly a meal in itself. Friendly staff and prompt service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

1st visit - menu is creative, 1 page but good & varied choices. Excellent prep & presentation - our party had chicharrone nachos, duck, trout & a pork chop/pulled pork/belly combo. Desserts great also. Neighborhood restaurant feel. Parking is dicey.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fabulous! Can't wait to go back next time we're in Portland! If the kids are making a trip home, I will ask them to pick up a to go order for me!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food, as usual, great. Place was busy, and service was pretty decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.