About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
American
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

neighborhood gem (53)
fit for foodies (47)
great for brunch (37)
See All
kid-friendly (26)
special occasion (19)
great for lunch (17)
hot spot (16)
good for groups (15)
vibrant bar scene (7)
romantic (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional service and delicious food. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional service and delicious food. We sat at the cook's counter and very much enjoyed watching the food preparation. Everything is made "in house" from the crackers to the ketchup which is why we return again and again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The special ( ribeye steak) was tough & ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The special ( ribeye steak) was tough & we felt rushed out by our server

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice brunch options

Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought that the pancakes and breakfast potatoes were excellent, and the sausage links LOOKED great, but was very disappointed with the taste. Not the nice, pork sausagey flavor I was expecting. The seasonings were too strong.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely attentive waitress

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous service, beautiful fried chicken dish and the spicy pulled pork was awesome. We were visiting from Seattle (expat Aussies) and the waitress gave us some travel tips for the local area which was great. I will return when I go back to Portland!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner to celebrate my bi ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great dinner to celebrate my birthday. Always amazing food and drinks!

food2
ambience1
service3
value2

We were looking forward to a new dining ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were looking forward to a new dining experience and came away very disappointed. The food was at best and we will not be returning.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Glad we came back

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was really very good, especially the snapper and fried chicken. Beer menu could be expanded. Soft pretzels need improvement- they were tough, not tender. It's been a few years since we ate at CC and we were delighted to see expanded options for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

1st visit

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our 1st visit and the overall experience for the 5 of us was excellent. The service was excellent!! The only shortcoming was the Trout dinner. It was not good and would not be ordered again!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing! Biscuits. Oh yes! The service was great!! Our fantastic waitress handled 6 ladies that couldn't make up their minds like a breeze! And the tall, bun wearing gentlemen who sat us was an added bonus. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a birthday brunch. It was great ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Went for a birthday brunch. It was great! They even added a candle on the scramble and sang happy birthday to our friend!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Popular place

Dined on March 26, 2016

so crowded & noisy. Food & portion sizes but of cinnamon rolls or biscuits only contain a few. Street parking be an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

As always, excellent food and Shotty service

Dined on March 15, 2016

The server we had was rude in multiple ways. Probably the worst part was when he said they didn't accept more than three cards per check (no problem), he also asked us to split it up. There were five of us. So we labeled each individual item with the last name on the card it needed to go to. That wasn't enough. He said that's not right. I just need you to add up totals and tell me which card it goes to. Why not say that the first time? The restaurant was maybe half full. Super slow on a Monday night. Good to know that you are too lazy to properly explain what you wanted. Then you decided to put the fault in your customers when really it was your poor instruction. That was just the most annoying part of his service. There were other actions and comments that we all felt were unnecessary. A couple of us are in the service industry. The food was great as it usually is. I plan to just avoid this location and visit the PDX shop from now on. They are always way better there.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

reservation problem

Dined on March 9, 2016

When we got to the restaurant, they said they didn't have any reservation for us. It was confirmed by Open Table, and a call from the restaurant the night before. I don't know where the breakdown was.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 28, 2016

We have eaten here many times but this time was terrible. From the 50 min wait for our food to the lukewarm food we received it was very disappointing. Needless to say, it will be a very long time before we return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This place did not disappoint, it lived ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This place did not disappoint, it lived up to the hypee. 4 guests, 2 appetizers, a bottle of wine plus 2 deserts 137.00 and the posrtions were great. In addition out of all the sheik portland foodie joints this one takes reservations which is rare for this type of eatery.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time Dining here

Dined on February 27, 2016

Came here to celebrate two birthdays and it was our first time. Not only was our server spectacular, but the food was as-good-as I had heard. The produce that was called out locally and the entree's were spectacular. Will definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Brunch in Portland

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The Cat is such a fun place to have brunch. In addition, the food rocks, oh and the staff is so attentive in such a busy little spot. We love you

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun Brunch Spot

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Casual neighborhood dining with interesting takes on traditional American food. We had brunch and three out of four dishes were excellent. Best Hollendaise sauce ever. Pancakes and sausage also good. The only unhappy comment was that the French toast was not soaked through with the custard sauce, so it was bready inside rather than eggy. Service was quick and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely wonderful. Braised lamb shan ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Braised lamb shank was prepared to perfection.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

worth the drive x2

Dined on February 11, 2016

One of the greatest service experiences at any restaurant anywhere, ever. Best hollandaise in SW. Nondescript decor belies quality above many fancier-looking places. Good prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome service from the hostess who sea ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Awesome service from the hostess who seated us to great guy who served us. It was my birthday and he made brunch extra special. Please send them both my thanks. Food was excellent!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was pretty ok

Dined on February 3, 2016

Everything was good, service was good, but nothing shined for me. I've been for brunch before and that was much much better, but maybe we just misordered.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Accommodation

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were unavoidably detained and missed our 1:30pm reservation by half an hour, which was closing time. The staff was kind enough to graciously accommodate us ... and still serve us great food. They didn't have to - which shows they can go the extra mile. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Finally.

Dined on January 29, 2016

I've been trying for two years to get to the Country Cat. I travel to Portland once a year and finally made it. My wife had the fried chicken and I had the "Whole Hog," (which is more food than I normally eat in a week) but it was all wonderful. Love the grits, too.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Guests are treated as children refusing ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

Guests are treated as children refusing to seat until entire party arrives. Much bragged about fried chicken resembled no authentic piece of chicken, but more importantly had absolutely no taste. The biscuit was amazing. Can't figure out what the draw is.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on January 18, 2016

Got seated promptly and wait staff was very attentive, even though busy. Food is always excellant and generous servings. Biscuits are the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved that we just walked in and out tab ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Loved that we just walked in and out table was ready and waiting for us. System worked wonderfully!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Country cat

Dined on January 10, 2016

Great first experience, the fried chicken was perfect and their beef jerky will make me come back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service1

We waited for an hour for our food to sh ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

We waited for an hour for our food to show up. The fried chicken was yummy. The steak was way undercooked. The lamb was served room temperature. We sent the lamb back and it took them another 15 min to heat it up and return it. Meanwhile, the rest of us sat in front of our food and watched it get cold. The waitress NEVER apologized, even when confronted. She just sent the manager over. After explaining why were unhappy about the lamb and how long we had to wait for our food, she took the lamb off the bill and brought us some free dessert. That was nice. However, the experience was already ruined and we will not being going back. Ps. It was also really cold in there (granted, there was some rather windy frigid air outside) and it was really loud.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Yummy Yummy Food!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Over all I always have a great meal! The fried chicken is the best the service is good!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We feel we are on the set of Cheers every visit

Dined on January 1, 2016

Our title probably dates us, but we really do feel welcomed on every visit. From the greeter, which was a new one last visit, to any of the servers, Brit, Carrie, et al. Owning a business myself, I especially can appreciate how staff can make or break your image despite the best intentions of management. And all I can say is "bravo and job well done." Have told many friends and interested parties about this restaurant and we continue to do so....Happy New Year

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on December 29, 2015

Service was fast and friendly , food was epic , online reservation system works great. The food is epic. This is my new favorite place to eat in Portland and I can hardly wait for the next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice evening out with Family with good food!

Dined on December 29, 2015

Cozy restaurant - greeted as soon as we entered. We were early, so we had a glass of wine at the bar while waiting on the rest of our party to arrive. Wine selections are limited but our Oregon pinot noir was very good! We were seated promptly once our entire group was together but unfortunately our table was directly in front of the door - which opened frequently, letting in cold drafts all evening. I would definitely recommend requesting a table on either side of the door when making a reservation. Our group ordered the biscuit basket and deviled eggs to start and were very pleased with both. Then had the Fried Chicken entrée or the Ribeye special - both were excellent! Overall, the food was excellent and we felt the price was well worth the quality of the meal. Only off-note was the long delay in between visits from the wait staff, but we enjoyed our visit never the less.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food, hopping scene

Dined on December 19, 2015

The country cat is a standby for my family and friends, for a very simple reason: the food is great, the atmosphere is never pretentious, and the service is always on, even when they are busy. If you go during a peak hour, realize that it's going to be noisy. But you will never be served bad food, and I have never been served badly--it's consistently one of the better places in this part of town. About the only reason I don't eat here more often is that fried chicken and bacon every day isn't entirely healthy. But to go once a month is easily done--the menu is that interesting, and no item will be badly prepared.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Sooo..... Good !

Dined on December 13, 2015

Took a group of 8 here for an early Holiday Brunch and celebration. The food and drink was excellent and the staff was so very helpful and friendly. The Bloody Mary is awesome and everyone was able to get what they wanted for Brunch. We'll definitely be back... again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service2

Not impressed

Dined on December 13, 2015

Over all the food was good. Extra large portions considering the price. I went there w/ a part of 4 & the waitress on 2 occassions displayed frustration when we had menu questions. I asked the waitress for some syrup & she kindly brought a shot glass size of syrup. Not once mentioned the charge & I noticed I was charged $2 for a shot glass size of syrup. Total bill for 4 was $87. A lot of other "undisclosed" charges. Gravy for example bcuz my biscuits didn't have nearly enough gravy on it. I got my curiosity of the place out of the way however I will not be going back not recommending it to anyone.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food

Dined on December 7, 2015

Have been here a few times, for brunch and dinner. Always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch experience is never disappoin ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

The brunch experience is never disappointing. Excellent food, service, and the wait staff really cares about their customers. We are repeat foodies for brunch and dinner.

food4
ambience3
service4

Lots of fun at brunch here. Location is ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Lots of fun at brunch here. Location is out of the way.

food3
ambience3
service4

You should go at least once.

Dined on November 8, 2015

This was our second time at the Country Cat. The first time I had the fried chicken. Yummy. However, I have to say I was a little disappointed. We watched the Country Cat episode on DDD in the afternoon to get in the mood. I was expecting my Whole Hog to look like the one prepared in the episode. Well, not quite. No big bone on the chop (but the chop was outstanding), the pork-chetta was the size of a half dollar (maybe), and a little overcooked - not the 5 inch diameter slice shown in the episode, and I got two tiny pieces of shoulder...I think you get the point. Overall, it was fun and the food was good. Yes, I'd go again, but there are many top-notch restaurants in Portland so no time soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.