About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Brunch (19)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Kid-friendly (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Romantic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I enjoyed seeing the menu selections. Al ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed seeing the menu selections. All looked like down-homey comfort foods. Our waiter was great. The only cons I would list were the noise level, which was high (it's a small place), and the food wasn't served very hot. I think mine waited on the line for a bit while the other plates came together. Other than that, all around great place. May go there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food very good, need reservations during ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food very good, need reservations during busy times. Very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Excellent service but food was overrated ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service but food was overrated and disappointing. Never had fried chicken that was so over cooked and hard to chew (yes I said hard to chew...how does that even happen?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We have been to the Cat with friends 5 o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been to the Cat with friends 5 or 6 times sampled just about every dish on the menu and have been disappointed. These guys do meat right. And desserts are up there too.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing and the waitress was th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was amazing and the waitress was the sweetest! Will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I recomeend to have more deserts. pleas ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I recomeend to have more deserts. please include more plates

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at The Country Cat many ti ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have eaten at The Country Cat many times. This particular time we were with my parents who both wear hearing aides. The loudness of this restaurant made it very difficult for our conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Truly unbelievable fried chicken!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Truly unbelievable fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food as always was amazing and Dinne ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food as always was amazing and Dinner was easier to get into. The biscuits are great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has great southern style food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place has great southern style food! The brunch is absolutely outstanding. This is a can't miss spot in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic place to go. Amazing food and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic place to go. Amazing food and the staff is always wonderful. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu - but you have to try the Benedict, lemon ricotta pancakes, and cast iron fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Thought prices w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Service was excellent. Thought prices were high for the amount of food served. My brotherin law really liked it, but he doesn't know how good home cooking tastes. He will probably be back. For us,it was something we had to tryONCE.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Casual ambience, great food, exceptional ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Casual ambience, great food, exceptional service. I loved my killer G & T and moist, delicious salmon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first trip to Country Cat And ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my first trip to Country Cat

And it was AMAZING . The food was fantastic will DEFINITELY be coming back and telling all my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The biscuits were amazing!!! The food an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The biscuits were amazing!!! The food and service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere, excellent eats. A gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, excellent eats. A great place to order a variety of dishes and pass around the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Country Cat for a friend's bi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went to Country Cat for a friend's birthday. Our friends arrived a few minutes early, but the restaurant would not seat them until we arrived, so they had to wait outside, which put the birthday boy in a cranky mood. When we were seated, there was such a stream of cold air blowing on me that I ate with napkins on my shoulders! The food was ordinary, the fish was overcooked, there were no exciting flavors except the peach and arugula salad. The waiter kept apologizing and making excuses for the wait for drinks, and then for the salad, and then for the main course; service was very slow. We won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I was a bit disappointed that I asked fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was a bit disappointed that I asked for them to somehow acknowledge my friend's 20th anniversary and it went completely unnoticed. I also read that gratuity would be added if 6 or more people were in the party and we only had 5 yet they still added the gratuity.....did she think we were going to stiff here based on the people at the table? Wow. Won't be coming back, however the food was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The dinner was excellent and so was the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The dinner was excellent and so was the service! I had the pastrami crusted salmon and my hubby had the whole hog, we both loved our meals. The server was friendly and efficient! I love this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went when they opened at 9am very empty ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went when they opened at 9am very empty since most people sleep in. Had the French toast was pretty dry I think the bread is just too thick or they don't let it soak in egg long enough. Everyone else liked their dishes I would try something else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Except for the noise level which limited ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Except for the noise level which limited conversation, we had an enjoyable dinner. The food was excellent and service fine. I did not appreciate the day before reservation confirmation call with the litany of the rules and regulations. That did not seem welcoming and it was to be our first visit there. One of the rules is that they will not seat you until the entire party is there, even though we had indicated that our friends were coming from WA and giving an update that they were 15 minutes away. This too does not seem like the gracious hospitality I was expecting. All that said, we will return for the food, especially for the pork which my husband said was the best he'd ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fantastic food choices, love getting you ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic food choices, love getting your delicious fried chicken for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Portland on a business trip f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were in Portland on a business trip for my husband and decided to check it out for a early dinner with the kids. We read good things and were blown away by how good it was, it surpassed all expectations. First, service was more than amazing. Very kid friendly but still very classy. Drinks were super good. And the food was beyond great. We eat out often and this goes down as the top 5 best places my husband and I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Outstanding desserts. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Delicious food. Outstanding desserts. Actually everything was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all had a different entree. The wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We all had a different entree. The wine by the glass options were excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious fried chicken dinner! Ability ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious fried chicken dinner! Ability to share one entree with partner much appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was very good. Fairly reasonabl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was very good. Fairly reasonable pricing. Chicken wings very good, asparagus salad meh, needed seasoning summer sausage and Judy cheese was pretty good athough the cheese would have been a bit better if it were warmed IMO.

We had pork 3 ways, mushroom dumplings, fried chicken and duck entrees. All were good but the dumplings started tasting baking sodaish as they sat a bit, pork was great, duck was delish and the fried chicken....hard to screw that up and they did a very nice job.

Dessert we shared 3 puddings butter scotch creme brûlée and chocolate pudding. Very nice

We left satisfied and had a nice bottle petit Syrah, with it.

I liked the decor as well. Nothing crazy amazing but nice.

Open kitchen is nice but I didn't like the kitchen staff had long beard. Not cool if you don't wear a beard net

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress failed to show the bottle of Ch ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Waitress failed to show the bottle of Champagne I had ordered before opening it. As a result, it was the wrong bottle, but I did not wish to embarrass her.

The duck was overcooked. The collard greens were made with way to much vinegar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The best brunch experience my family has ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best brunch experience my family has had in the overrun Portland breakfast scene. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique food selection

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The online reservation and the follow-up to the reservation was very nice, the only fault was the music was way too loud, we had to yell to be heard. And there was no regular ketchup. The service was good and very friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent, the food wasn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was excellent, the food wasn't. We ate there a year ago and had good memories of it. Tonight didn't live up to that. The fried chicken and mashed potatoes with gravy were extremely greasy. The rib eye steaks (the special) were a bit too fatty with too much gristle. May just have been a bad night for them. And again, our waitress was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

LOVE this place

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I love this place! Excellent country fried steak and the benedict looks amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, loud restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing, only con was the restaurant was so loud it was hard to hear people at my table

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate there on a Friday night and the p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate there on a Friday night and the place was packed --- we were seated right away and had exceptional service --- the menu had excellent choices and we all tried different entrees --- the chicken and duck were great!

We would recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food, atmospheres just café fe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food, atmospheres just café feeling and too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Exceptional service and delicious food. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional service and delicious food. We sat at the cook's counter and very much enjoyed watching the food preparation. Everything is made "in house" from the crackers to the ketchup which is why we return again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The special ( ribeye steak) was tough & ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The special ( ribeye steak) was tough & we felt rushed out by our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice brunch options

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought that the pancakes and breakfast potatoes were excellent, and the sausage links LOOKED great, but was very disappointed with the taste. Not the nice, pork sausagey flavor I was expecting. The seasonings were too strong.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely attentive waitress

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous service, beautiful fried chicken dish and the spicy pulled pork was awesome. We were visiting from Seattle (expat Aussies) and the waitress gave us some travel tips for the local area which was great.

I will return when I go back to Portland!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner to celebrate my bi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great dinner to celebrate my birthday. Always amazing food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.