Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Casual (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (12)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious, drinks were wonderful. I would highly recommend making reservations if you plan on having Sunday brunch here.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Country Cat is one of my go-to restaurants. Food and service are always excellent and reliable. And I appreciate that they take reservations because they are always crowded.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

The lemon ricotta pancakes were outstanding !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service! Good food! Always wonderful at The Country Cat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very cute place. Staff is friendly, and the food/price was good considering other places we've been to. The pulled pork/grits was spicy which we didn't have warning on that. Bloody Mary looked good ($9), asked for a short (most places discount price because its much smaller), they don't, so that resulted in us not ordering it. All in all I would recommend trying this place for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Country Cat was especially great for Sunday Brunch because I could make a reservation and do it online. It was a great place to rendezvous with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have a standing wager with my father - the team with the worst record that person must buy a fried 'winner/winner, chicken dinner' for the winner and it has to Country Cat's fried chicken! Always delicious, always fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Conversation was almost impossible due to noise level. Lunch menu was extremely limited - had to choose from breakfast menu. However, Eggs Benedict was very good. Service was good but will not go back because lunch was with group of friends celebrating a birthday and we could not have a conversation across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Delicious food, great service, good time had by all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It's been over 5 years since we were last at The Country Cat and the quality of this restaurant stands up to the test of time. Everything our group ordered was exceptional and I liked that there were some good options for kids. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who doesn't mind a fairly loud setting.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I chose this restaurant for my out of town guests, as it had been featured on a popular eatery show. We arrived on time for our reservation, but because some of our group were held up in Portland traffic, we were not allowed to be seated. I had never heard of this practice before.
Noise level was too high for visiting, but I was afraid to ask for the music to be turned down.
Food was good, but not great, I would not go out of my way to go here again. That said, we did have a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our family has loved Country Cat for years. Food is excellent. We wanted to celebrate my parent's 39th wedding anniversary there. It was to be a return celebration as we had been there to celebrate 6 years ago. The service was on the slow side, but to be fair it was busy. However, I made note that this was for my parent's anniversary and nothing special was done to highlight that as there was before. Tad disappointing. The other thing that wasn't exactly stellar, was sitting 5 people at a 4 person booth. It's not a great experience for the person sitting in the chair and being ran into by passers - by. You just feel like you're in the way. Other than that, it was a pleasant evening, but left us wanting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It was a very hot day and the restaurant was also hot, don't believe they have air conditioning, also very noisy, very difficult to hear the people at my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A MUST-VISIT SORT OF PLACE!

Saw Country Cat on DDD and knew we had to eat there. Every single course of every single meal for all 9 people in our party was delicious, well prepared, unique, and did I mention delicious?

There is no kids' menu listed online so I was concerned about how to feed the 10 and under crowd from the menu listed but was pleasantly surprised to have been offered the kids menu at the door. One item of note: it's not your typical kids' menu with chicken nuggets, grilled cheese, etc. but the options worked well for the littles in our group.

The Whole Hog was incredible; the fried chicken was juicy inside and crispy outside with no bones, the trout meal was light and delicious; the collard greens were a hit - even with the pickiest eater in the crowd, a miracle in itself.

We had drinks before dinner and all were fabulous. I highly recommend this place and we will certainly be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Just visiting, checked OpenTable and chose this one. Great choice, really enjoyed it all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a reservation for 11:30 on Father's Day and didn't get seated until 12. Our server was nice but short and rushed - It was really super busy and chaotic up in there so I understand. We were starving so by the time the food came it didn't matter much because it was delicious and worth the wait. My boyfriend had 2 pretty delicious black pepper vodka bloodies that were garnished with a house-made beef jerky. A nice touch, and super tasty, not too spicey. I'd go back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent Fathers Day Brunch attending by Father, a Priest (a different kind of Father) and a Godfather❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time dining at the The Country Cat. Spare rib special didn't live up to the hype and some of the side dishes weren't that good, but the French toast and fried chicken were fantastic! Server was great but she was overworked with too many tables which made service slow...not her fault though! We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was amazing. Bold flavors, great variety, homey neighborhood feel. We were there for brunch on Saturday and it was a little bit on the loud side but the food was well worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is a lively place to go have breakfast. This is good, but unique comfort food. It took about 30 minutes to be served after ordering, so make sure you're there with good friends. It is also good for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We only were there for Lunch. Very disappointed in the Lunch Menu.

The chicken was ok, the greens were the best overhead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Birthday Celebration

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was delicious from the beginning to the end. The restaurant was noisy but not loud, and there were many families with kids of all ages. Highly recommend if you want to have some fantastic food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great all around dining experience. Fried chicken is proper

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

As always the Country Cat lives up to it's great reputation. The music was unusually loud making conversation difficult. We had reservations but had to wait for a table to become free. Food was very good but seemed alittle salty. I normally get the fried chicken, a favorite. The mashed potatoes seemed very salty.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Love this place - one of our family favorites. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We live in Las Vegas but come to Eugene, OR. Once a year to visit family and every time we go to Country Cat. Their food is incredible, even the greens are the best.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Birthday dinner for me with family from out Of town. I ordered the whole hog so I'd have tasty leftovers. Pulled pork was stringy and I didn't like its taste. Pork belly was tough an inedible. Tough pork belly? Shards of charred meat got stuck in my teeth. Pork chop only thing I could eat and it was just ok. There were 5 of us and the only really good meal was my brother's fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We each had the fried chicken, but subbed a different side. All were delicious and the drinks were great too. The bartender made an awesome spicy bloody mary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Enjoy our experience. Food was fabulous...good southern country with a kick!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This was our first time dining at The Calico Cat. Good was delicious ! Brewed coffee was amazing and the server was attentive and friendly and made us feel welcome! I highly recommend this restaurant and do make reservations as it is best to do so.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Another great night at the Country Cat! Love the fried chicken with the mashed potatoes and collard greens. Our son liked the pasta and cheese. Kids eat for free oon Sundays. Bonus!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

food was good, but, the noise level bordered on the intolerable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Saw this restaurant on Diners Drive-in And Dives, so wanted to check it out. Food was good, not amazing. We had a big group so we had a great time. Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food here is outstanding! Be sure to make your reservation as if you just show up the wait can be long, but the southern twist is so delicious! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

our friends and us had both booked a table for four at 11:00 am and it really didn't matter - we still had to wait. The restaurant was packed full and it was hard to hear each other. The portion sizes were generous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good comfort food (especially for re-located Southerners!). The biscuits with honey are awesome and everything had a wonder home-cooked taste. Good menu variety. The service was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is casual and noise level low enough for conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Went for an early dinner on a Tuesday night. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was delicious. Kids ate fried chicken and mashed potatoes, my husband and I split a burger, grits, collards, and a bibb salad. Everything was as expected, tasty and hot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food at the Country Cat is always great, and the Bloody Mary's outstanding. The service is always friendly and efficient too. My only complaint is the noise level. Even without music there would be plenty of conversation noise, but they insist on cranking up the music even louder. Would prefer a much calmer atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sat at the Chefs counter for Mothers Day. Fantastic menu along with great entertainment from the Chef and crew as they prepared our brunch selection. Lemon Ricottta Pancakes, Housemade sausage and cinnamon swirl challah bread French toast . Everything was delicious. Only disappointment was that they ran out of their fantastic pecan rolls! Menu and cuisine never disappoint!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.