Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (35)
Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Brunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fun (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a good meal. We made reservations and they were a little late seating us, however.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was great, four of us were there to celebrate two birthdays. The place is a little loud but in a festive kind of way. Our server was curt and kind of grumpy, that took a little spark out of our celebration. A great server can make or break an otherwise outstanding meal. Too bad ours was having a bad day.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful meal! Excellent service. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Really good food, wish there was a little more variety for dinner but all the food we had was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As a Southerner, I am picky about my bisquits & gravy and grits. Country Cat's is the best I have had outside of the south!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food. We all four had different meals and we all loved it. Sharing is allowed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food, great service, the best homemade grenadine made outstanding cocktails and value is impressive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Great southern comfort food, I'll be going back as soon as I get a chance!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It can't be easy to handle a party of 8 smack in the middle of Sunday brunch service, but Country Cat made us feel welcome and well-served during our entire visit. One of the members of our group ran late, but we were able to be seated and to place our order while she was still on the way. I was especially impressed that even though she arrived 10-15 minutes after our orders had been placed, the kitchen was still able to serve her meal at the same time they served the rest of us.

Our meals all came out quickly, and they were delicious! Every person in our party was happy with the dish they selected - and my red flannel hash was worth a return visit! The portions were generous (many of us took boxes) and the prices were very reasonable. Our server stayed on top of coffee and everything else throughout the meal and even made an extra effort to get smiles for our group photo.

Portland definitely has some great food, but service is often lacking. If you want the best of both, I highly recommend Country Cat for brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was our first visit, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our brunch club ladies try a new place each time and we headed out east for The Country Cat this month. Great food and drinks! We were all stuffed and had leftovers to take home. The place was jam-packed and our waitress was super friendly, at our table just enough and the food came in no time at all. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fried chicken=AMAZING!! Beet sandwich is so good! And the mashed potatoes are addicting.
Worth the drive for us!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Country Cat's Whole Hog dish was outstanding - best I have every tasted.
We also tried the Moscato Marinated Peach, Toasted Pecan, & Soft Goat Cheese Salad, which was surprising combination but a delight to the palate.
For dessert we had the pudding trio and each was wonderful; an excellent way to end the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

With the exception of having to wait to be sat, once everyone in our party was present, you should try this place for breakfast/brunch. Amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Super super casual funky eatery with massive quantities of truly divine food. We had the deviled eggs, a "tomatoes, tomatoes and more tomatoes" salad, the fried snapper with salsa verde (BEST THING!) and the fried chicken with mashed potatoes an incredibly tasty greens. Come STARVING. This amount of food could've fed four easily! We're professional foodies from New Orleans, so we have high expectations, and this place did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have had meals at County Cat for the past 4 or so years and the meals have been great. While it is crowded and somewhat noisy at dinnertime, it serves great drinks and wonderful food.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I would have given it a higher rating but it was a very warm night and there was barely any air conditioning. It was difficult to be comfortable and enjoy the food, which was exceptional, in the heat. Chances are we won't go again until the weather cools.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our onion rings and my red snapper were absolutely delicious! Our family from England loved their dinner and the place.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

THe food was outstanding and service was very commendable. THey had a great variety of meals to choose from I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food is wonderful! It's creative and very tasty. Nice place to try everything on the menu!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was amazing, came out faster then I would have thought as we ordered the pan fried chicken. Amazing dish. We also had two people in our party split a large plate ( the hole hog) and they where happy to accommodate the request. When I made my reservations on OpenTable I was able to let them know ahead of time with allergies work for people in our party and they were able to accommodate that perfectly . I would highly recommend trying this place out for your next night out on the town. We also got to look at there brunch menu while there that they do everyday tell two and it looks amazing as well can definitely say we will be back soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The restaurant did a great job of accommodating my party of 8 when we had a reservation for 6. Drinks were great and the atmosphere is comfortable. The salads were tasty and fresh. The entrees were rather clumsy in their formulation, though. The smoked duck was rubbery and overdone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had dinner with appetizers and drinks. Liked the potted cheese, pork rinds and pretzels w/ beer cheese dip. Bacon on the burger was delicious, the collard greens lacked depth of flavor, as well as the gravy on the mashed potatoes. Overall, the general consensus from our group was that maybe the breakfast menu might be better tasting.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

One of our local favorites! A must go to... Love the local resource they use and the dishes are all sharable. Devil eggs are the BEST!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Healthy, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was delicious, drinks were wonderful. I would highly recommend making reservations if you plan on having Sunday brunch here.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Country Cat is one of my go-to restaurants. Food and service are always excellent and reliable. And I appreciate that they take reservations because they are always crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The lemon ricotta pancakes were outstanding !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service! Good food! Always wonderful at The Country Cat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We always have a good time here and it's a place we like to bring visiting friends and family to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very cute place. Staff is friendly, and the food/price was good considering other places we've been to. The pulled pork/grits was spicy which we didn't have warning on that. Bloody Mary looked good ($9), asked for a short (most places discount price because its much smaller), they don't, so that resulted in us not ordering it. All in all I would recommend trying this place for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Country Cat was especially great for Sunday Brunch because I could make a reservation and do it online. It was a great place to rendezvous with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have a standing wager with my father - the team with the worst record that person must buy a fried 'winner/winner, chicken dinner' for the winner and it has to Country Cat's fried chicken! Always delicious, always fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Conversation was almost impossible due to noise level. Lunch menu was extremely limited - had to choose from breakfast menu. However, Eggs Benedict was very good. Service was good but will not go back because lunch was with group of friends celebrating a birthday and we could not have a conversation across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at Country Cat. Love their Chicken Fried Steak (top it with a poached or fried egg); the benedicts, their home fries and this last time, the pecan rolls. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Delicious food, great service, good time had by all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It's been over 5 years since we were last at The Country Cat and the quality of this restaurant stands up to the test of time. Everything our group ordered was exceptional and I liked that there were some good options for kids. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who doesn't mind a fairly loud setting.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I chose this restaurant for my out of town guests, as it had been featured on a popular eatery show. We arrived on time for our reservation, but because some of our group were held up in Portland traffic, we were not allowed to be seated. I had never heard of this practice before.
Noise level was too high for visiting, but I was afraid to ask for the music to be turned down.
Food was good, but not great, I would not go out of my way to go here again. That said, we did have a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our family has loved Country Cat for years. Food is excellent. We wanted to celebrate my parent's 39th wedding anniversary there. It was to be a return celebration as we had been there to celebrate 6 years ago. The service was on the slow side, but to be fair it was busy. However, I made note that this was for my parent's anniversary and nothing special was done to highlight that as there was before. Tad disappointing. The other thing that wasn't exactly stellar, was sitting 5 people at a 4 person booth. It's not a great experience for the person sitting in the chair and being ran into by passers - by. You just feel like you're in the way. Other than that, it was a pleasant evening, but left us wanting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It was a very hot day and the restaurant was also hot, don't believe they have air conditioning, also very noisy, very difficult to hear the people at my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A MUST-VISIT SORT OF PLACE!

Saw Country Cat on DDD and knew we had to eat there. Every single course of every single meal for all 9 people in our party was delicious, well prepared, unique, and did I mention delicious?

There is no kids' menu listed online so I was concerned about how to feed the 10 and under crowd from the menu listed but was pleasantly surprised to have been offered the kids menu at the door. One item of note: it's not your typical kids' menu with chicken nuggets, grilled cheese, etc. but the options worked well for the littles in our group.

The Whole Hog was incredible; the fried chicken was juicy inside and crispy outside with no bones, the trout meal was light and delicious; the collard greens were a hit - even with the pickiest eater in the crowd, a miracle in itself.

We had drinks before dinner and all were fabulous. I highly recommend this place and we will certainly be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.