Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (28)
Casual (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We had the Idaho trout and the fried chicken. Both were excellent. Peanut butter pie was pretty good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my first time at Country Cat. I'm glad we made a resi right when they opened and we were seated immediately. If you don't, it appears you have to stand outside. They were curt about keeping the door shut with the breeze yet there is no standing space or waiting space - it's a flawed system nonetheless.

We dined on the March dining month special of a three course meal for $29. It was amazing comfort southern food. The dessert was fantastic. I see they have Poutine on the menu and being from BC, I'll have to try it next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I always love the Country Cat. Food is great, everytime and I love that the food has fresh, local, and seasonal options. There is bar seating, as well as seating at the chefs counter, and then larger tables good for groups. Personally, I love the onion rings, I get them almost every time I'm there. I talk about Country Cat to all my friends, a Portland must-have.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I had not realized how small this location is but the food is definitely BIG on taste. The ham hock/bean soup was the best I have ever had. You cannot go wrong with the fried chicken! I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The onion rings and chicken wings are both delicious. We also had the salmon, pot roast and fried chicken, and all of them were great. We were able to make reservations at the last minute and were seated immediately when we got there, even though the restaurant was very busy and is obviously very popular. Parking was easy too. It ticks off all my boxes, I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fabulous food! We were a party of 7 and ordered and shared a large fraction of the menu. The trout and biscuits and chicken were particular favorites. Tables are pretty close together, so it is a tough place to have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, servings were large (I had the trout it was delicious) next time I'll share an entree and save room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The breakfast special was amazing. We had leftovers for the next day and it was even tastier.

My son enjoyed the pancake and was happy to color the Country Cat while he was waiting for his meal, which was a short wait.

We always gather a friend to join us so we can book a reservation as the wait can be long to be seated.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The fried chicken is a religious experience and the desserts are divine. Great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Only ate here for brunch but it was really yummy. Great cinnamon rolls, skillet chicken and the bloody Mary was nearly a meal in itself. Friendly staff and prompt service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

1st visit - menu is creative, 1 page but good & varied choices. Excellent prep & presentation - our party had chicharrone nachos, duck, trout & a pork chop/pulled pork/belly combo. Desserts great also. Neighborhood restaurant feel. Parking is dicey.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fabulous! Can't wait to go back next time we're in Portland! If the kids are making a trip home, I will ask them to pick up a to go order for me!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food, as usual, great. Place was busy, and service was pretty decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Fried chicken is perfectly cooked and outstanding! The Whole Hog was flavorful and tender. The brussel sprouts were a great accompaniment and we started off with delicious jerky!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The last few times our chicken (they're known for their fried chicken) has been over cooked, it's still tasty but not stellar, I might order something else next time. The mashed potatoes and gravy are homemade and delicious, as are the greens. We ordered biscuits and potato bread before dinner and were impressed with the biscuits. They were light and fluffy with a crisp crust. The potato bread crust was dark brown and a bit on the bitter side, wouldn't order that again. We ordered the pudding trio to share (must try for pudding lovers), its rich and satisfying. We shared two orders between seven people, and it was perfect. The service was great, our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I would go for the fried chicken. Awesome! Mashed potatoes and collard greens dripping in bacon deliciousness. That stuff is fire! The cheese and sausage pot is yummy as is the trio of creme brulee flavors. Can't miss. Must go!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food here is great! We went here for brunch to celebrate my birthday. The portions are on the large side and are a good value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We made a reservation online and arrived at the restaurant a little early. We were quickly seated and greeted by our server who was very friendly. Everything on their menu looked amazing and was very reasonably priced. The food was absolutely delicious and worth every penny. We will be back to this restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Each of us enjoyed our breakfasts. The whole wheat banana pancakes were marvelous. The homemade sausage was excellent. The eggs benedict were superb, as was the hash and the fried chicken sandwich. We'll come again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The only disappointment was, we made reservation because we were entertaining clients; business dinner. They would not seat us until all parties had arrived. We specifically picked a restaurant that took reservations to avoid this. Why make a reservation if they wont seat you? Sounds oxymoron!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The mashed potatoes were cold and watery, the braised beef no longer had the wonderful mushrooms and potatoes, the onion rings are still great but that was the only thing that was good as we'll as the drinks. I do not plan on returning here since the food was so disappointing. The coconut pie was ok, but had a gritty texture. Where is the chef and pastry chef? On vacation somewhere?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

overall it was good, and the waitron was excellent. the people who sat us at our table could've been a bit more friendly, but whatever. Parking was difficult in that neighborhood on Saturday night, so carpool if you go. the food was quite good and we all shared bites of each other's plates. my favorites were the collard greens and the ravioli. It was very noisy, (where's that setting in the survey?) I couldn't hear half of the conversations with our friends across the table and had to resort to lip reading and hoping for the best...

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had only been to the Country Cat for breakfast. Decide it was time to try dinner. The four of us really enjoyed our meal. Everything we had was exceptional. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Country Cat to anybody wanting a great meat in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food, great service and a fantastic weekend brunch experiance

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service was slight for a group and without concern beyond the needs of the restaurant,,
Food was laughable and 1/3 of what 8ppl ordered could not be eaten... Meats were ok...biscuits pleasantly filled our stomachs....everything else, belonged elsewhere in the house...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We'd never been here for brunch before, only for dinner. It is a much better venue for dinner, in terms of the food. Always friendly, though.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was pretty good for a busy Saturday night. I don't think the food is worth all the hype, but I did adore the beef jerky. The place is a little weird, holding true to Portland form! The ice tea was delicious! There are a lot of great restaurants in Portland! Try them all! I'm certainly glad we went here. It was 18' outside and the restaurant was very cold inside. Didn't help that our reserved table was by the door!!! Brrrr! So cold!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waitress was amazing, she knew the menu front to back and was super helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A came on New Year's Day with a 20 month old toddler. Food excellent and the toddler enjoyed it too.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went for a Birthday. Food was good, Service was excellent. Wine selection was average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love the eggs Benedict here, so good. My son loves the fried chicken and the French toast is divine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Country Cat never disappoints! And about those onion ring thingies👏😍👏😍

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food and great service as always. Such a fun menu and awesome drink and food specials. Biscuits are heavenly: fresh and warm. Lovely brunch meal. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific southern/pacific northwest combo food. Love the duck, salmon, fried chicken. A little noisy for me but most good places are noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The pros
The Country Cat has excellent food and usually very good service. They offer unique dishes full of flavor and well presented. Your water cup does not go empty and the servers are well informed about the food they offer. The restaurant also takes reservations which is a huge plus because they can get very busy.

The cons
The noise level is quite high. The room temperature is too cold in winter and too hot in summer. I've had a couple friends complain that they tend to charge extra for every little thing. For example, if you want to substitute a side they charge you extra, even if it is a cheaper side item or they will offer to add cheese to your eggs, then charge extra. They won't provide separate checks for your table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The waitress was dismissive and rude. The chicken was red and felt cold. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love the fried chicken for breakfast and the kid eats the pancakes with enthusiasm. The booths are cozy and the cocktails are creative. We love the cat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and great service Highly recommended

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was fun to visit a Guy Fieri (Diners, Drive-ins and Dives) spot. It was good, but not exceptional. We got the Whole Hog and the Fried Chicken (both recommended by Guy). The chicken was seriously excellent. The Hog was good, but not great. I wish it had lived up to its hype. The service was really excellent and they were really friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Delicious and abundant food at this "not-your-everyday-country-food" place--excellent fried chicken, cornmeal-crusted snapper, and onion rings, among many other treats! They even have Omission gluten-free beer, a real plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.