About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (40)
great for brunch (30)
See All
good for groups (20)
special occasion (18)
kid-friendly (17)
hot spot (15)
great for lunch (12)
romantic (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Casual ambience, great food, exceptional ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Casual ambience, great food, exceptional service. I loved my killer G & T and moist, delicious salmon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first trip to Country Cat And ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was my first trip to Country Cat

And it was AMAZING . The food was fantastic will DEFINITELY be coming back and telling all my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The biscuits were amazing!!! The food an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

The biscuits were amazing!!! The food and service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere, excellent eats. A gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, excellent eats. A great place to order a variety of dishes and pass around the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Country Cat for a friend's bi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went to Country Cat for a friend's birthday. Our friends arrived a few minutes early, but the restaurant would not seat them until we arrived, so they had to wait outside, which put the birthday boy in a cranky mood. When we were seated, there was such a stream of cold air blowing on me that I ate with napkins on my shoulders! The food was ordinary, the fish was overcooked, there were no exciting flavors except the peach and arugula salad. The waiter kept apologizing and making excuses for the wait for drinks, and then for the salad, and then for the main course; service was very slow. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I was a bit disappointed that I asked fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was a bit disappointed that I asked for them to somehow acknowledge my friend's 20th anniversary and it went completely unnoticed. I also read that gratuity would be added if 6 or more people were in the party and we only had 5 yet they still added the gratuity.....did she think we were going to stiff here based on the people at the table? Wow. Won't be coming back, however the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The dinner was excellent and so was the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The dinner was excellent and so was the service! I had the pastrami crusted salmon and my hubby had the whole hog, we both loved our meals. The server was friendly and efficient! I love this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went when they opened at 9am very empty ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went when they opened at 9am very empty since most people sleep in. Had the French toast was pretty dry I think the bread is just too thick or they don't let it soak in egg long enough. Everyone else liked their dishes I would try something else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Except for the noise level which limited ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Except for the noise level which limited conversation, we had an enjoyable dinner. The food was excellent and service fine. I did not appreciate the day before reservation confirmation call with the litany of the rules and regulations. That did not seem welcoming and it was to be our first visit there. One of the rules is that they will not seat you until the entire party is there, even though we had indicated that our friends were coming from WA and giving an update that they were 15 minutes away. This too does not seem like the gracious hospitality I was expecting. All that said, we will return for the food, especially for the pork which my husband said was the best he'd ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fantastic food choices, love getting you ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic food choices, love getting your delicious fried chicken for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Portland on a business trip f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were in Portland on a business trip for my husband and decided to check it out for a early dinner with the kids. We read good things and were blown away by how good it was, it surpassed all expectations. First, service was more than amazing. Very kid friendly but still very classy. Drinks were super good. And the food was beyond great. We eat out often and this goes down as the top 5 best places my husband and I have ever eaten.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Outstanding desserts. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Delicious food. Outstanding desserts. Actually everything was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all had a different entree. The wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We all had a different entree. The wine by the glass options were excellent

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious fried chicken dinner! Ability ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious fried chicken dinner! Ability to share one entree with partner much appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was very good. Fairly reasonabl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was very good. Fairly reasonable pricing. Chicken wings very good, asparagus salad meh, needed seasoning summer sausage and Judy cheese was pretty good athough the cheese would have been a bit better if it were warmed IMO.

We had pork 3 ways, mushroom dumplings, fried chicken and duck entrees. All were good but the dumplings started tasting baking sodaish as they sat a bit, pork was great, duck was delish and the fried chicken....hard to screw that up and they did a very nice job.

Dessert we shared 3 puddings butter scotch creme brûlée and chocolate pudding. Very nice

We left satisfied and had a nice bottle petit Syrah, with it.

I liked the decor as well. Nothing crazy amazing but nice.

Open kitchen is nice but I didn't like the kitchen staff had long beard. Not cool if you don't wear a beard net

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress failed to show the bottle of Ch ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Waitress failed to show the bottle of Champagne I had ordered before opening it. As a result, it was the wrong bottle, but I did not wish to embarrass her.

The duck was overcooked. The collard greens were made with way to much vinegar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The best brunch experience my family has ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best brunch experience my family has had in the overrun Portland breakfast scene. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique food selection

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The online reservation and the follow-up to the reservation was very nice, the only fault was the music was way too loud, we had to yell to be heard. And there was no regular ketchup. The service was good and very friendly

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent, the food wasn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was excellent, the food wasn't. We ate there a year ago and had good memories of it. Tonight didn't live up to that. The fried chicken and mashed potatoes with gravy were extremely greasy. The rib eye steaks (the special) were a bit too fatty with too much gristle. May just have been a bad night for them. And again, our waitress was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

LOVE this place

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I love this place! Excellent country fried steak and the benedict looks amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, loud restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing, only con was the restaurant was so loud it was hard to hear people at my table

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate there on a Friday night and the p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate there on a Friday night and the place was packed --- we were seated right away and had exceptional service --- the menu had excellent choices and we all tried different entrees --- the chicken and duck were great!

We would recommend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional service and delicious food. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional service and delicious food. We sat at the cook's counter and very much enjoyed watching the food preparation. Everything is made "in house" from the crackers to the ketchup which is why we return again and again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The special ( ribeye steak) was tough & ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The special ( ribeye steak) was tough & we felt rushed out by our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice brunch options

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought that the pancakes and breakfast potatoes were excellent, and the sausage links LOOKED great, but was very disappointed with the taste. Not the nice, pork sausagey flavor I was expecting. The seasonings were too strong.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely attentive waitress

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous service, beautiful fried chicken dish and the spicy pulled pork was awesome. We were visiting from Seattle (expat Aussies) and the waitress gave us some travel tips for the local area which was great.

I will return when I go back to Portland!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner to celebrate my bi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great dinner to celebrate my birthday. Always amazing food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking forward to a new dining ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were looking forward to a new dining experience and came away very disappointed. The food was at best and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Glad we came back

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was really very good, especially the snapper and fried chicken. Beer menu could be expanded. Soft pretzels need improvement- they were tough, not tender. It's been a few years since we ate at CC and we were delighted to see expanded options for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

1st visit

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our 1st visit and the overall experience for the 5 of us was excellent. The service was excellent!! The only shortcoming was the Trout dinner. It was not good and would not be ordered again!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing! Biscuits. Oh yes! The service was great!! Our fantastic waitress handled 6 ladies that couldn't make up their minds like a breeze! And the tall, bun wearing gentlemen who sat us was an added bonus.

Can't wait to come back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a birthday brunch. It was great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Went for a birthday brunch. It was great! They even added a candle on the scramble and sang happy birthday to our friend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Popular place

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

so crowded & noisy. Food & portion sizes but of cinnamon rolls or biscuits only contain a few. Street parking be an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, excellent food and Shotty service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The server we had was rude in multiple ways. Probably the worst part was when he said they didn't accept more than three cards per check (no problem), he also asked us to split it up. There were five of us. So we labeled each individual item with the last name on the card it needed to go to. That wasn't enough. He said that's not right. I just need you to add up totals and tell me which card it goes to. Why not say that the first time? The restaurant was maybe half full. Super slow on a Monday night. Good to know that you are too lazy to properly explain what you wanted. Then you decided to put the fault in your customers when really it was your poor instruction. That was just the most annoying part of his service. There were other actions and comments that we all felt were unnecessary. A couple of us are in the service industry. The food was great as it usually is. I plan to just avoid this location and visit the PDX shop from now on. They are always way better there.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

reservation problem

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

When we got to the restaurant, they said they didn't have any reservation for us. It was confirmed by Open Table, and a call from the restaurant the night before. I don't know where the breakdown was.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We have eaten here many times but this time was terrible. From the 50 min wait for our food to the lukewarm food we received it was very disappointing. Needless to say, it will be a very long time before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This place did not disappoint, it lived ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This place did not disappoint, it lived up to the hypee. 4 guests, 2 appetizers, a bottle of wine plus 2 deserts 137.00 and the posrtions were great. In addition out of all the sheik portland foodie joints this one takes reservations which is rare for this type of eatery.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

First Time Dining here

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Came here to celebrate two birthdays and it was our first time. Not only was our server spectacular, but the food was as-good-as I had heard. The produce that was called out locally and the entree's were spectacular. Will definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Brunch in Portland

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Cat is such a fun place to have brunch. In addition, the food rocks, oh and the staff is so attentive in such a busy little spot. We love you

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Brunch Spot

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Casual neighborhood dining with interesting takes on traditional American food.

We had brunch and three out of four dishes were excellent. Best Hollendaise sauce ever. Pancakes and sausage also good. The only unhappy comment was that the French toast was not soaked through with the custard sauce, so it was bready inside rather than eggy.

Service was quick and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.