Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (36)
Casual (33)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Brunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (13)
Fun (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The dining room was lively on the Saturday night of our visit. There were four of us. We tried the deviled eggs and we all liked them. The steak special and the salmon from the menu were good but not remarkable. The fried chicken the best ever- crispy outside, tender inside and not greasy. The wait staff was pleasant but we must have over stayed our welcome as after we paid our bill the entire table was cleared including the water glasses. After several passes by we stopped a person who seemed to be a manager type and asked why our table was cleared. She said "we have a reservation for this table". We quickly got up and left but felt that put a damper on what was otherwise a fun evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We enjoyed a birthday dinner at Country Cat this past week. Loved the food, waitress was great! Temp inside was regulated by front door which allowed cold air in. I would ask for a specific area to be seated for next visit. Ambiance was fair.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The service was EXCELLENT. Quick and friendly but staff didn’t try to linger and make conversation or interrupt conversation. Food was super tasty, we had fried chicken and salmon. Both highly recommended. Great atmosphere & chill decor. Great job!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Friendly down to earth service that was attentive without being intrusive. Food was awesome. Some of best duck I’ve ever had. Check Chicken also wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was fantastic! Very busy but we didn't have to wait for service. Highly recommend Country Cat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Biscuits were a little cold, but had great potential. Food was good, but wouln’t Repeat.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service. Nice, happy atmosphere. Hard to beat.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Visited for brunch - SOOOO good! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Disappointed with the biscuits and gravy. The biscuit was extremely hard, so much so that I was unable to eat certain parts. Also, the potatoes were over done and lacked flavor. Tasted like 5x fried potatoes and not in a good way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Everything was a 5. Loved every morsel. The only thing my family had a slight problem with was the noise. It was a little difficult to talk to each other. Luckily the food was more the amazing. We will still eat here again despite the noise. The food is that good.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food and experience! Had dinner here this weekend with friends and everyone was very, very happy. Service staff was attentive and helpful, and the food was delicious. Everything came out with great timing and the place seemed really well run (even down to the open kitchen where you could hear the chef calling out orders to be fired up). We had several appetizers (onion ring shoestrings and pretzels with beer cheese) as well as each of us a different entree and several desserts for the table and nothing disappointed. The beer cheese was absolute heaven, and the 12 year old with us said he wanted to be buried soaked with the double cheeseburger sauce and juice, and have another double cheeseburger as his last meal on the planet - a total compliment from a picky eater who was skeptical of Thousand Island on a burger to begin with. The fried chicken was amazing, roasted vegetables and sides were all great and the desserts (peach fruit crisp and pudding sampler) were all fantastic. I had seen this restaurant on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives and it definitely did not disappoint! Will definitely be going back to try brunch and probably dinner again as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The Country Cat is one of my very favorite restaurants of all time. I have never tasted better onion rings, buttermilk biscuits, chicken fried steak, fruit crisp (peach, specifically), or jerky than those that they serve. Everything else is way up there, too. The service is very knowledgeable and attentive. The ambiance is thoroughly enjoyable. I would go out of my way to bring a visitor to our city here just to show off our good fortune.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great menu. Whole hog, beef, duck and fried chicken all great (we did a lot of sharing). Love the biscuits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Food was great. We had the full pig, salmon, smoked duck, and desserts. Everything was tasty and flavorful and the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Still thinking about those Collard Greens.. might have to road trip it back down just for that.. I live in Seattle.. so that’s say’n a lot, ya they were that good.. along with everything else we ordered.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love the Country Cat and have taken friends there several times. The food was tasty and the service is friendly and prompt. This time a couple of our dishes were a bit too salty. We continue to love the menu and will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I saw the restaurant featured on Drive-Ins, Diners & Dives. I went for the "Whole Hog", which was featured on the show and it did not disappoint (Chop, pulled pork and pork belly with grits)! The duck was great as well! Bar drinks were delicious. Our server Carrier was EXCELLENT, she has been with the restaurant since they opened 10 years ago. She knew all details about the menu and was able to steer us in the perfect direction for our entrees and dessert. We will be back!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Brunch was outstanding, as usual. Great food, great atmosphere, and I love that they carry Smith tea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Best collard greens ever. Nice southern style menu. Casual setting was good for the kids. Service was very friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wonderful food. Chicken was outstanding as was the whole hog. Also enjoyed the appetizer of chicharrones. Would definitely recommend a visit for good food!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I had the smoked duck with the succotash--really tasty, great flavors. My son is coming to town and loves fried chicken so Country Cat is a no brainer. Plus the cocktails are imaginative and pretty yummy. I'm thrilled to find another neighborhood jewel, just wish it was in my neighborhood!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Menu was clear, concise and colorfully described. No one had a difficult time deciding what to choose. Everything we chose had amazing flavors that were tastefully seasoned. We plan to return for brunch or lunch when we're in the area.

I'm glad I saw the episode of DDD to check this restaurant out.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fantastic food. The six of us ordered different entrees and shared small bites.

Duck (my choice) was the overwhelming favorite, but everything was very good.

Pricing was quite reasonable given quality of the food. Wine list was also well-priced.

I was impressed that staff sent an email reservation confirmation and then called me the next day. I know they do that out of self-interest, but I still appreciated the reach out.

Negatives: 1. so noisy that wait staff actually apologized. Might have just been one or two boisterous tables. It was Friday night.

2. Wait person did a great job with wine, but forgot to bring beers that three people ordered.

Overall, 4.75 stars. We had a great time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was a good meal. We made reservations and they were a little late seating us, however.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was great, four of us were there to celebrate two birthdays. The place is a little loud but in a festive kind of way. Our server was curt and kind of grumpy, that took a little spark out of our celebration. A great server can make or break an otherwise outstanding meal. Too bad ours was having a bad day.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful meal! Excellent service. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Really good food, wish there was a little more variety for dinner but all the food we had was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As a Southerner, I am picky about my bisquits & gravy and grits. Country Cat's is the best I have had outside of the south!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food. We all four had different meals and we all loved it. Sharing is allowed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food, great service, the best homemade grenadine made outstanding cocktails and value is impressive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Great southern comfort food, I'll be going back as soon as I get a chance!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It can't be easy to handle a party of 8 smack in the middle of Sunday brunch service, but Country Cat made us feel welcome and well-served during our entire visit. One of the members of our group ran late, but we were able to be seated and to place our order while she was still on the way. I was especially impressed that even though she arrived 10-15 minutes after our orders had been placed, the kitchen was still able to serve her meal at the same time they served the rest of us.

Our meals all came out quickly, and they were delicious! Every person in our party was happy with the dish they selected - and my red flannel hash was worth a return visit! The portions were generous (many of us took boxes) and the prices were very reasonable. Our server stayed on top of coffee and everything else throughout the meal and even made an extra effort to get smiles for our group photo.

Portland definitely has some great food, but service is often lacking. If you want the best of both, I highly recommend Country Cat for brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was our first visit, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our brunch club ladies try a new place each time and we headed out east for The Country Cat this month. Great food and drinks! We were all stuffed and had leftovers to take home. The place was jam-packed and our waitress was super friendly, at our table just enough and the food came in no time at all. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fried chicken=AMAZING!! Beet sandwich is so good! And the mashed potatoes are addicting.
Worth the drive for us!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Country Cat's Whole Hog dish was outstanding - best I have every tasted.
We also tried the Moscato Marinated Peach, Toasted Pecan, & Soft Goat Cheese Salad, which was surprising combination but a delight to the palate.
For dessert we had the pudding trio and each was wonderful; an excellent way to end the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

With the exception of having to wait to be sat, once everyone in our party was present, you should try this place for breakfast/brunch. Amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Super super casual funky eatery with massive quantities of truly divine food. We had the deviled eggs, a "tomatoes, tomatoes and more tomatoes" salad, the fried snapper with salsa verde (BEST THING!) and the fried chicken with mashed potatoes an incredibly tasty greens. Come STARVING. This amount of food could've fed four easily! We're professional foodies from New Orleans, so we have high expectations, and this place did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have had meals at County Cat for the past 4 or so years and the meals have been great. While it is crowded and somewhat noisy at dinnertime, it serves great drinks and wonderful food.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I would have given it a higher rating but it was a very warm night and there was barely any air conditioning. It was difficult to be comfortable and enjoy the food, which was exceptional, in the heat. Chances are we won't go again until the weather cools.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.