About The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar

7937 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97215-2341
View Larger Map

**WE DO NOT RESERVE ALL OF OUR TABLES TO ALLOW FOR WALK-IN CUSTOMERS. PLEASE CALL THE RESTAURANT TO FIND OUT OUR AVAILABILITY.**
At The Country Cat Dinner House & Bar, American craft cooking is truly at its prime. The cozy, soulful restaurant is nestled in southeast Portland’s Montavilla neighborhood. The seasonally focused menu represents the best local offerings from surrounding markets ranging from ranch-direct meats to produce freshly picked from neighboring farms. Adam and Jackie Sappington have blended their talents as Chef and Pastry Chef to create this family-driven and community focused eatery.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SE 80th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 408-1414

Website:
http://www.thecountrycat.net/

Parking Details:
There is off-street parking in the back of the building as well as street parking surrounding the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trimet Busline #15

Executive Chef:
Adam Sappington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Calico Room provides intimate private dining for all occasions with décor featuring cream colors and dark wood, with full audio/visual equipment, in a 1,200 square foot space.

The Country Cat Dinnerhouse and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (22)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would go for the fried chicken. Awesom ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I would go for the fried chicken. Awesome! Mashed potatoes and collard greens dripping in bacon deliciousness. That stuff is fire! The cheese and sausage pot is yummy as is the trio of creme brulee flavors. Can't miss. Must go!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, , Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is great! We went here for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food here is great! We went here for brunch to celebrate my birthday. The portions are on the large side and are a good value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We made a reservation online and arrived ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We made a reservation online and arrived at the restaurant a little early. We were quickly seated and greeted by our server who was very friendly. Everything on their menu looked amazing and was very reasonably priced. The food was absolutely delicious and worth every penny. We will be back to this restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, , Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each of us enjoyed our breakfasts. The w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Each of us enjoyed our breakfasts. The whole wheat banana pancakes were marvelous. The homemade sausage was excellent. The eggs benedict were superb, as was the hash and the fried chicken sandwich. We'll come again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only disappointment was, we made res ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The only disappointment was, we made reservation because we were entertaining clients; business dinner. They would not seat us until all parties had arrived. We specifically picked a restaurant that took reservations to avoid this. Why make a reservation if they wont seat you? Sounds oxymoron!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The mashed potatoes were cold and watery ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The mashed potatoes were cold and watery, the braised beef no longer had the wonderful mushrooms and potatoes, the onion rings are still great but that was the only thing that was good as we'll as the drinks. I do not plan on returning here since the food was so disappointing. The coconut pie was ok, but had a gritty texture. Where is the chef and pastry chef? On vacation somewhere?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

overall it was good, and the waitron was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

overall it was good, and the waitron was excellent. the people who sat us at our table could've been a bit more friendly, but whatever. Parking was difficult in that neighborhood on Saturday night, so carpool if you go. the food was quite good and we all shared bites of each other's plates. my favorites were the collard greens and the ravioli. It was very noisy, (where's that setting in the survey?) I couldn't hear half of the conversations with our friends across the table and had to resort to lip reading and hoping for the best...

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had only been to the Country Cat for bre ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had only been to the Country Cat for breakfast. Decide it was time to try dinner. The four of us really enjoyed our meal. Everything we had was exceptional. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Country Cat to anybody wanting a great meat in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service and a fant ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food, great service and a fantastic weekend brunch experiance

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slight for a group and witho ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service was slight for a group and without concern beyond the needs of the restaurant,,

Food was laughable and 1/3 of what 8ppl ordered could not be eaten... Meats were ok...biscuits pleasantly filled our stomachs....everything else, belonged elsewhere in the house...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We'd never been here for brunch before, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We'd never been here for brunch before, only for dinner. It is a much better venue for dinner, in terms of the food. Always friendly, though.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was pretty good for a busy Satur ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was pretty good for a busy Saturday night. I don't think the food is worth all the hype, but I did adore the beef jerky. The place is a little weird, holding true to Portland form! The ice tea was delicious! There are a lot of great restaurants in Portland! Try them all! I'm certainly glad we went here. It was 18' outside and the restaurant was very cold inside. Didn't help that our reserved table was by the door!!! Brrrr! So cold!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waitress was amazing, she knew the m ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waitress was amazing, she knew the menu front to back and was super helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A came on New Year's Day with a 20 month ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A came on New Year's Day with a 20 month old toddler. Food excellent and the toddler enjoyed it too.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for a Birthday. Food was good, Ser ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went for a Birthday. Food was good, Service was excellent. Wine selection was average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the eggs Benedict here, so good. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love the eggs Benedict here, so good. My son loves the fried chicken and the French toast is divine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Country Cat never disappoints! And a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Country Cat never disappoints! And about those onion ring thingies👏😍👏😍

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service as always. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food and great service as always. Such a fun menu and awesome drink and food specials. Biscuits are heavenly: fresh and warm. Lovely brunch meal. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific southern/pacific northwest comb ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific southern/pacific northwest combo food. Love the duck, salmon, fried chicken. A little noisy for me but most good places are noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pros The Country Cat has excellent f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The pros

The Country Cat has excellent food and usually very good service. They offer unique dishes full of flavor and well presented. Your water cup does not go empty and the servers are well informed about the food they offer. The restaurant also takes reservations which is a huge plus because they can get very busy.

The cons

The noise level is quite high. The room temperature is too cold in winter and too hot in summer. I've had a couple friends complain that they tend to charge extra for every little thing. For example, if you want to substitute a side they charge you extra, even if it is a cheaper side item or they will offer to add cheese to your eggs, then charge extra. They won't provide separate checks for your table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The waitress was dismissive and rude. Th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The waitress was dismissive and rude. The chicken was red and felt cold. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We love the fried chicken for breakfast ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love the fried chicken for breakfast and the kid eats the pancakes with enthusiasm. The booths are cozy and the cocktails are creative. We love the cat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service Highl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and great service Highly recommended

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fun to visit a Guy Fieri (Diners, ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was fun to visit a Guy Fieri (Diners, Drive-ins and Dives) spot. It was good, but not exceptional. We got the Whole Hog and the Fried Chicken (both recommended by Guy). The chicken was seriously excellent. The Hog was good, but not great. I wish it had lived up to its hype. The service was really excellent and they were really friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and abundant food at this "not ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Delicious and abundant food at this "not-your-everyday-country-food" place--excellent fried chicken, cornmeal-crusted snapper, and onion rings, among many other treats! They even have Omission gluten-free beer, a real plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Country Cat always get high reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Country Cat always get high reviews so we were curious to try the restaurant. Was not impressed. Crowded and fairly noisy. Of 5 people 2 were disappointed , 2 loved their meals and one was neutral. The pork was great, the hamburger and chicken not so great. The mussels and clams were floating in grease which was an odd way to prepare them. The salad was a salad. Will not be in a rush to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Grits and biscuits are amazing, easy onl ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Grits and biscuits are amazing, easy online reservation

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I've been to Country Cat four times, and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I've been to Country Cat four times, and this was the first time I was disappointed with the food, which is generally darned good. I've already reconciled myself to it being very loud, so that didn't faze me. But both my husband and I got the Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon, and - ugh! Full of bones! I guess I appreciate that it's real salmon or whatever, but bones in your breakfast was extremely off-putting. And the potatoes were dried out, so overall a cryin' shame. My elderly parents fortunately got a very standard dish of eggs and potatoes, which they felt was "fine." Not great, not tasty, just fine. I hope we just hit a low point in quality control because it's great to have a nice brunch/dinner place in our neighborhhood.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food we finally had the fried ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent food we finally had the fried chicken and I had braised beef so goood

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner. Loved the commitment ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent dinner. Loved the commitment to sourcing food and wine locally. Enjoyed it so much that we had to get to the airport early to next morning to check out the location of Country Cat at the airport.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I set a reservation online and when I go ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I set a reservation online and when I got there our table was ready for us the second we walked in. The food is amazing and quick and the service is exceptional! Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fried chicken and greens! The dri ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great fried chicken and greens! The drinking vinegar was interesting too.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed seeing the menu selections. Al ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I enjoyed seeing the menu selections. All looked like down-homey comfort foods. Our waiter was great. The only cons I would list were the noise level, which was high (it's a small place), and the food wasn't served very hot. I think mine waited on the line for a bit while the other plates came together. Other than that, all around great place. May go there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food very good, need reservations during ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food very good, need reservations during busy times. Very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Excellent service but food was overrated ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service but food was overrated and disappointing. Never had fried chicken that was so over cooked and hard to chew (yes I said hard to chew...how does that even happen?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We have been to the Cat with friends 5 o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been to the Cat with friends 5 or 6 times sampled just about every dish on the menu and have been disappointed. These guys do meat right. And desserts are up there too.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing and the waitress was th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was amazing and the waitress was the sweetest! Will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I recomeend to have more deserts. pleas ...

 
 (México)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I recomeend to have more deserts. please include more plates

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at The Country Cat many ti ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have eaten at The Country Cat many times. This particular time we were with my parents who both wear hearing aides. The loudness of this restaurant made it very difficult for our conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Truly unbelievable fried chicken!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Truly unbelievable fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.