Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Benihana - Salt Lake CityBenihana - Salt Lake City
(702)
$$$$
Japanese | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 25 times today
The Roof RestaurantThe Roof Restaurant
(1862)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 64 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake CityRuth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City
(694)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 10 times today
Caffe MoliseCaffe Molise
(1159)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 21 times today
Current Fish & OysterCurrent Fish & Oyster
(647)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 33 times today
BambaraBambara
(1811)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 30 times today
EvaEva
(84)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 12 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - Salt Lake City - City CreekBRIO Tuscan Grille - Salt Lake City - City Creek
(456)
$$$$
Italian | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 25 times today
PalletPallet
(982)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 18 times today
Stanza Restaurant & Wine BarStanza Restaurant & Wine Bar
(246)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 12 times today
FincaFinca
(366)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 16 times today
Texas De Brazil - Salt Lake CityTexas De Brazil - Salt Lake City
(370)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 24 times today
Stoneground KitchenStoneground Kitchen
(275)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 12 times today
Martine CafeMartine Cafe
(711)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 17 times today
Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake CityOasis Cafe - Salt Lake City
(436)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 9 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About The Copper Onion

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
See All
Local Ingredients (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Beet soup, octopus, patatas bravas wer excellent. The cheese board had excellent cheeses on it, however they didn't necessarily work that well together. The tagliatelli, pasta carbonara and goat cheese salad were good, but nothing exceptional. The service was very good, except just and we wanted to pay the server disappeared for twenty minutes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The menu changed that day and didn't have what we came for. The waitress made it clear she could care less. The food was inconsistently seasoned. Some food had way too much, others very bland. The burger I had was basically a French onion soup. Couldn't taste anything else, completely over powered by the onions. The mushroom appetizer tasted like nothing, just very chewy. The chocolate pudding dessert was very good, well balanced with sweet, savory, and salty flavors. The wine list was very expensive.
Overall, I give it 2.5/5 stars. It's a good concept but poorly executed and not a good value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We're so glad that Brittany works there now. We miss Marty B. And we finally caught with Aimee Joy again after way too many years apart. Thanks as always

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, perfect date spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My daughter was in from Seattle and craving the Portobello mushroom sandwich. Wish we had checked the menu prior to going because it isn't on there anymore... the food we did have was good, but, it is always disappointing when your favorite item is gone. Hope they bring it back, as well as the black pepper fettucine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Ice cream is spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very good food and service. All the staff are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Copper Onion is a place where the people and the food have a way of making you feel instantly welcome. This restaurant's menu offers a great selections of sides, entrees, desserts, etc. They have perfected the portions of their meals and leave you 100% satisfied. You truly feel at home as soon as you are greeted at the door right to the very end when you're given the check. I would definitely recommend this place for either a fancy or casual occasion!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Best dinner in a long time......and we are picky. Great wine as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Server was MIA. Took our order, and didn't see him again until it was time to pay the bill. I ordered my burger medium-well, but got something that was barely medium, and never had a chance to send it back. Some drink refills and bread would have been nice, too. One would expect better from a restaurant with their prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by several friends for our visit to SLC. Our overall experience was very good. Our server, Juve, was outstanding. He made up for any other shortcomings. The food was good and the kitchen was fairly accommodating for dietary needs. I had trout and my husband had a very interesting take on Saag Paneer. The biggest drawback was that food came out too quickly. We were still eating our appetizers when entrees were brought out by a food runner. Our server noticed this and apologized. We sat inside because it was quite hot, but the patio looked really nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Really excellent, interesting food! Not too expensive. I had the beet side to start - mixed with olives, pistachios, and arugula - could be considered a salad - great flavors! - really excellent! I had the trout entree which was served with a sweet pea and herb spaetzle base. Awesome! My only criticism was the glass of Viognier that I ordered - did not taste at all like a Viognier should (that's my favorite white wine varietal, so I have tried many!) I got a glass of a French rose instead, which was good.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Andrea the hostess was terrific , professional, accommodating and helpful! All of our meals were delicious and the service was excellent. Very friendly staff too

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good experience in the main. Service was brisk (Alan) but helpful in terms of identifying options, especially for one lactose intolerant guest. Food came quickly and was well prepared. Borscht was a stand out, as was guava sorbet. Accompaniments to main courses were a little off, too much oil/dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Absolutely a great experience. Food and service were amazing. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Casual atmosphere and either lively or noisy depending on your dining preference. Great food. Our two entrees were home runs and our two deserts were grand slam home runs - the chocolate pudding that takes you back to your childhood (if you were very lucky as a child) and the single best cheesecake thst I have ever had! Reasonable wine list and beer selection to compliment the food. I would highly recommend the Copper Onion to anyone.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This was my first time at the Copper Onion and I was not disappointed. I had a reservation and was seated immediately. The service was great, the food came in a reasonable amount of time, and we were checked back on but not hovered over. I vaguely mentioned that something was salty and the next thing I knew I had a new serving in front of me. I wish all places acted like this!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was little louder and tighter than expected. Kind of felt like we were dining with the people next to us, and we could barely hear each other. Our server was great, but soft-spoken so she had to repeat herself more than once (we're in our 20's, neither is hard of hearing). The food was absolutely amazing! We had the Patatas Bravas as an appetizer and it was more food than we expected (not a bad thing). They were cooked perfectly and the spicy aioli was really good but not too hot. For entrees we ordered the Pasta Carbonara and the Wagyu Beef Stroganoff, both were really good. Portion sizes were generous but not too huge. Would definitely eat here again. It's on the pricier side if you order drinks, apps, sides and dessert, but that's what we were expecting for our night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Just amazing! Great food, great service, great city. Loved it!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Loved the unusual sounding dish: clams, chorizo and pasta. Waitress was great in getting us out in 50 minutes for the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was wonderful and prompt. The waitress was dismissive and brief. The cocktails were really bad.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Visiting SLC for the first time and wanted to have a great dinner which we did! Thought our server could've been more friendly; he barely made eye contact and barely smiled

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful place. We try to hit it up every chance we can when we are in the area.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome as always! We had a great time treating my wife, mom, and mother-in-law to a late Mother's day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Utah. Everything I get there is absolutely delicious. Best steak I have ever had. Melts in your mouth. And their beef stroganoff is to die for. Love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We split several small plates, so I cannot offer anything on the entrees. But our food was fresh and well prepared. The real drawback on a Friday night was the NOISE. It should be called Copper Ceiling. Because it is in fact a copper hammered ceiling. And when it's full, man, super loud. Forget having an intimate or even any conversation. But if that's your bag, then you'll be all over it. We went to eat and the food was above average, not truly memorable, but just fine for a Friday night. But I can't plan on going back because of the unreal noise of the place. I wish I had a decibel meter, it must have been over 100dB.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great place! Loved the look and feel of the restaurant and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The meal was delicious. I was a bit miffed that we had to pay $10 to have you serve the birthday cake I brought, though I can sort of understand. It was way too noisy for us. We ended up shouting all through dinner to be heard.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place, food is pretty good. It's a bit pricey and the portions tend be on the small side. Eg my side of fries were basically 7 potato wedges. But it has a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing with respect to creativity, presentation and execution. The only downside was our hostess. She behaved as if it were an imposition to seat us. She was our first interaction with the Copper Onion and we very nearly walked out. Fortunately, we have a sense of humor and nicknamed her "bass-face". It would have been sad to miss such an exciting meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As a solo woman I felt very comfortable dining here. I was greeted very nicely and had a lovely bartender. The lamb riblets were excellent and so was the lemon mousse.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Came in for Mother's Day and all of us really enjoyed our food. Service was great too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was my birthday. They only give a free scoop of icecream for that but it was a great meal regardless. Ask about the specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always a great place to eat. Never disappoints. Staff is friendly and food fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Just a delightful evening. We chose outdoor dining on purpose. I was there a few months ago, in the winter months. It was so noisy indoors that, once the restaurant was filled, we could hardly hear each other across the table. The hammered copper ceiling is gorgeous, but sound baffles would work better! My only complaint. Just a great please otherwise! Thanks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food, good portions, reasonable price for the quality of the meal. Sometimes felt a little loud (maybe turn down the volume on the music playing?). Much nicer outside than inside to be able to have conversation. Pretty good service.

Tags: Organic, People Watching, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our second time dining at Copper Onion and we were not disappointed with the food or service! We shared a cheese plate and olives as our appetizer - swoon! I had the lamb riblets and they were outstanding. My husband had the pasta special and raved about it. Our wine choice was a Spanish wine called Alzania and it paired exceptionally well with our meal. Our server was Brady and he was very pleasant and efficient and took excellent care of us. Reservations are a must. Seating is somewhat cramped - which would be my only minor complaint. We were squashed into a corner table which didn't really fit my husband's 6' 6" frame BUT the food was so delicious we weren't really all that bothered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was spot on. It was the best pasta I've ever had.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food, especially the Burger and the french dip. Amazing. Service was spot on- Friendly, knowledgeable and humorous. Had a great time and a great meal.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and service were great, but the restaurant with it's loud music was too noisy for us. We met friends for dinner and had to leave shortly after eating just so we could hear each other!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.