Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About The Copper Onion

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for a Date (47)
Creative Cuisine (47)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Local Ingredients (31)
Fun (30)
Casual (30)
Open Kitchen (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Authentic (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
People Watching (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (8)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful place. We try to hit it up every chance we can when we are in the area.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome as always! We had a great time treating my wife, mom, and mother-in-law to a late Mother's day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Favorite restaurant in Utah. Everything I get there is absolutely delicious. Best steak I have ever had. Melts in your mouth. And their beef stroganoff is to die for. Love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

We split several small plates, so I cannot offer anything on the entrees. But our food was fresh and well prepared. The real drawback on a Friday night was the NOISE. It should be called Copper Ceiling. Because it is in fact a copper hammered ceiling. And when it's full, man, super loud. Forget having an intimate or even any conversation. But if that's your bag, then you'll be all over it. We went to eat and the food was above average, not truly memorable, but just fine for a Friday night. But I can't plan on going back because of the unreal noise of the place. I wish I had a decibel meter, it must have been over 100dB.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place! Loved the look and feel of the restaurant and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

The meal was delicious. I was a bit miffed that we had to pay $10 to have you serve the birthday cake I brought, though I can sort of understand. It was way too noisy for us. We ended up shouting all through dinner to be heard.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great place, food is pretty good. It's a bit pricey and the portions tend be on the small side. Eg my side of fries were basically 7 potato wedges. But it has a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As a solo woman I felt very comfortable dining here. I was greeted very nicely and had a lovely bartender. The lamb riblets were excellent and so was the lemon mousse.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was my birthday. They only give a free scoop of icecream for that but it was a great meal regardless. Ask about the specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always a great place to eat. Never disappoints. Staff is friendly and food fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Just a delightful evening. We chose outdoor dining on purpose. I was there a few months ago, in the winter months. It was so noisy indoors that, once the restaurant was filled, we could hardly hear each other across the table. The hammered copper ceiling is gorgeous, but sound baffles would work better! My only complaint. Just a great please otherwise! Thanks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food, good portions, reasonable price for the quality of the meal. Sometimes felt a little loud (maybe turn down the volume on the music playing?). Much nicer outside than inside to be able to have conversation. Pretty good service.

Tags: Organic, People Watching, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our second time dining at Copper Onion and we were not disappointed with the food or service! We shared a cheese plate and olives as our appetizer - swoon! I had the lamb riblets and they were outstanding. My husband had the pasta special and raved about it. Our wine choice was a Spanish wine called Alzania and it paired exceptionally well with our meal. Our server was Brady and he was very pleasant and efficient and took excellent care of us. Reservations are a must. Seating is somewhat cramped - which would be my only minor complaint. We were squashed into a corner table which didn't really fit my husband's 6' 6" frame BUT the food was so delicious we weren't really all that bothered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was spot on. It was the best pasta I've ever had.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food, especially the Burger and the french dip. Amazing. Service was spot on- Friendly, knowledgeable and humorous. Had a great time and a great meal.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and service were great, but the restaurant with it's loud music was too noisy for us. We met friends for dinner and had to leave shortly after eating just so we could hear each other!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was a superb dining experience. The waiter (Ben) was knowledgeable, attentive and easily accessible. The cocktail I had was excellent. My associates enjoyed well prepared and plated dishes and the timing of the food and it's presentation was above average. Of spectacular note were the marrow bones, the pickles, rainbow trout was really succulent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place every time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Have been several times. This time for brunch they got rid of the breakfast/brunch menu with just a regular breakfast. We asked and they made one for us. Waiter was exceptionally slow. Have had him before and he was slow then too. Also, we were the first to arrive just before the restaurant opened and were told to wait but people who came in after us were seated first. Woman at the front couldn't keep track of who was waiting where. Food was OK, very greasy bacon and potatoes. Probably won't go back for brunch anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I go to The Copper Onion every time I am in SLC. The beef stroganoff is to die for. Better make reservations though!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food, great service, and great price. I highly recommend dinner here. First time in Salt Lake City and glad we were recommended to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food is always amazing! It has been a different experience every time. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant of the copper group and I've never had a bad or disappointing experience here. The servers are extremely professional and personable. I typically spend at least 2 or more hours here, even during lunch, and have never been given the impression that the wait staff is eager to turn the table or get me out (rare). The food is truly some of the best in the city, consistently unique, seasonal, and offering something for everyone. And if there's a wait, you can always get a drink next door at copper commons (yum!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent wait staff and entrees were exceptional! My husband practically licked his plate (lamb riblets)!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great Easter Brunch. Food was amazing and our server (Brady) was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was good and the service was pretty good but it felt like our server was more interested in the big tables than with is. Having said that he still made we had everything we needed, just not as timely as the large tables.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was good. Ordered for brunch the Cuban sandwich. A little disappointed with the sandwich after having amazing sandwiches some other places. Besides this comment food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great overall. only complaint is that the lighting was a little too dim.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The beef stroganoff is crazy good, and enjoyed a top notch burger as well! Had a seat at the chef's counter, which made us feel like a part of the action in the kitchen. It was truly amazing to watch the professionals at work! Great beer, great atmosphere, great service, and fantastic food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I hadn't been to the copper onion in some time and was very disappointed. Service was very poor with others who came in after us getting water way before us. The server seemed exasperated each time she came to the table. Not sure I will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was good portion size is small. The cheesecake was delish

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent food service a bit slow but worth the. Wait

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Load. Food was very good but really nothing special for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had brunch at Copper Onion. I ordered the Mushroom Scramble. It came with hashbrowns and was nothing spectacular. The best part was sitting outside in the sunshine. If I came back to Copper Onion I would come for dinner not brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I have been here before when the food deserved 5 stars. But some of the food we ordered was too salty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A real treat! Excellent choices, right sized portions encourage multiple choices. Great food, fun dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food and service. Portion on the small side. Expect to wait even if you have reservation and you arrive on time. It's very busy. Good vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Another great meal at Copper Onion. Everything was very, very good. To bad it's so hard to get in these days

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent meal. Very quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.