Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About The Copper Onion

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Casual (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Fun (29)
Open Kitchen (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Romantic (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Seasonal (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Organic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Tapas (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent wait staff and entrees were exceptional! My husband practically licked his plate (lamb riblets)!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great Easter Brunch. Food was amazing and our server (Brady) was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was good and the service was pretty good but it felt like our server was more interested in the big tables than with is. Having said that he still made we had everything we needed, just not as timely as the large tables.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was good. Ordered for brunch the Cuban sandwich. A little disappointed with the sandwich after having amazing sandwiches some other places. Besides this comment food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great overall. only complaint is that the lighting was a little too dim.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The beef stroganoff is crazy good, and enjoyed a top notch burger as well! Had a seat at the chef's counter, which made us feel like a part of the action in the kitchen. It was truly amazing to watch the professionals at work! Great beer, great atmosphere, great service, and fantastic food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I hadn't been to the copper onion in some time and was very disappointed. Service was very poor with others who came in after us getting water way before us. The server seemed exasperated each time she came to the table. Not sure I will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was good portion size is small. The cheesecake was delish

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent food service a bit slow but worth the. Wait

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Load. Food was very good but really nothing special for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had brunch at Copper Onion. I ordered the Mushroom Scramble. It came with hashbrowns and was nothing spectacular. The best part was sitting outside in the sunshine. If I came back to Copper Onion I would come for dinner not brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I have been here before when the food deserved 5 stars. But some of the food we ordered was too salty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A real treat! Excellent choices, right sized portions encourage multiple choices. Great food, fun dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food and service. Portion on the small side. Expect to wait even if you have reservation and you arrive on time. It's very busy. Good vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Another great meal at Copper Onion. Everything was very, very good. To bad it's so hard to get in these days

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent meal. Very quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Typically good but definitely an off night. Lamb riblets were just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The quality of the food and the little extras (Bearnaise for the burger as an example) were not there anymore. It might just have been an off night and that I got the wrong things because usually I really like this place. It was still good, just not amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was delicious, the service was great, everything was on point. If you're reading this and haven't made a reservation you better hurry they go fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've been to the Copper Onion a few times and the service is always great. However, this last time we went we ordered the bone marrow, duck confit, the house burger, and the lamb riblets. They all had very good potential, but sadly, everything we had that night (and even the last couple of times we went) the food has been too salty. Perhaps because we've always ordered meat? After this last time I don't think we'll go back. I would recommend for drinks, dessert, and a close bite to eat by the Broadway Theatre, but with a caveat about the saltiness of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had the mussels, scallops, honey ice cream, cheescake, carbonara, amongst other things. Can't wait to go back. Not one thing was less than expected.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was great, attentive staff, and overall great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best food value for the money restaurant in SLC - always superb experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Copper Onion never disappoints. Not wanting to sit with a heavy meal in our stomachs before the Opera, we decided to share dishes. We started with the goat cheese salad, a panko-breaded medallion of creamy goat cheese on a bed of fresh greens drizzled with a herb vinaigrette. After the first bite I wished that I had it all to myself. Our shared entree was the Cast Iron Mary's Chicken. The clear sauce with the kale and pine nuts was light and tasty. The chicken was just a tad overdone, but still very good. We finished with the chocolate pudding. This is a dessert that should not be shared. It was topped with whipped cream and a pinch of salt, with a touch of olive oil. It was so yummy there was a fight to see who would get the last bite. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Having a reservation made everything very smooth. The restaurant is nice and clean, good looking as well and is one of my wife's favorite places. I get the quality of the experience, but our food this last time was a little lack luster in flavor and warmth. Service was decent in that things came and went in a decent time frame, but I didn't really know who our server was or who I was tipping for it. Great place that I do recommend, was just not as great this time as it has been in the past

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I love the Copper Onion. The food is always amazing. I was disappointed when it was suggested we get a bottle instead of 3 glasses and then noticed the bottle price was more than the cost of 5 separate glasses.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Have rested on their laurels too long. Food quality is down and service is excruciatingly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food! The bone marrow is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food! The server was very nice, but also very rushed, so the service lacked a little. All of the food came to the table at once, the appetizers with the entrees, the timing on this would have made a difference in our experience as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The quality of the menu offerings is unsurpassed! From the higher end steak frites, which was cooked to a perfect medium rare as requested, to the surprise hit of the night, the Griddled Cauliflower (which was as flavorful and substantial as a vegetable can get, I would think), everything was carefully and wonderfully prepared! And service was absolutely top notch!! Even though we arrived for a late evening reservation at 9:45pm, there wasn't even a hint of rushing us, which is somewhat rare in Utah.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his Birthday. I knew beforehand that it was pricey. It was well worth it though. The food was exceptional. Our waiter was attentive, and he had a great attitude. The food though, 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love the copper onion. I've been here several times, and I'm impressed each time. Brunch is awesome. The best way to experience the onion is to have a reservation, though. Otherwise, you'll spend quite a bit of time waiting for a table, especially for brunch and dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This restaurant is amazing. Casual but in a good way. Great food... top notch service. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We are from OH and a friend from SLC recommended the Copper Onion. We had starters, a salad, and the caste iron chicken. It was all amazing. So amazing we made reservations before we left the restaurant to come back the following day. Service was great, company was great, we sat at the chef counter (great) and had an amazing date. Highly recommended. No complaints.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Enjoyed another great meal at Copper Onion. This time was a birthday dinner. Great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. Everything was amazing. The only downside was the noise level.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Fabulous dinner at this restaurant. The service was top-notch and we never felt rushed. The restaurant is not large and don't expect to get a table without reservations.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

In town for a conference. Loved the ricotta dumplings and gourmet burger. Pasta good too. Cheesecake was more interesting than good. Convenient location and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We love the food ALWAYS! And our server Angie is a rockstar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great Food. Small-medium portions, nice place though very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.