About The Copper Onion

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Chop
Polenta
wagyu steak
Salmon
Risotto
Frittata
Daily Risotto
Sauteed Mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Stroganoff
Patatas Bravas
Rib Eye Steak For Two
Warm Apple Cake With Maple Ice Crean
Duck Cassoulet
Mussels
Creminelli Barolo Salami
Waygu Beef Tartare
Braised Kurabuta Pork Belly
Halibut
spinach frittata
cinnamon roll
Ricotta Dumplings
Tagliatelle
Eggs Benedict
Mimosa
Bread
Bone Marrow
Carbonara
Lamb Riblets
Steak Frites
Chicken And Wild Rice Soup
Vegetable Frittata
Mushroom Scramble
Mushroom Rissotto
Corn Side Dish
Mushrooms And A Fresh Egg
Rainbow Trout
Tempranillo Wine
Alaskan Halibut
Open Face Beef Chuck Roast Sandwich
Chicken Arugala Salad
Cubano Sandwich
Shashito Peppers
Reuben
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Meat And Cheese Plater
Roasted Carrots
Green beans
Pulled Pork Poutine
Crab & Jalepeno Pasta
Bananna Split
Meat Loaf With Mashed Potatoes And Grilled Vegetables
Strawberry Salad
Cardamom-Spiced Chocolate Pudding
Vegetable Risotto
Mushrooms, Potato Strings, Fried Egg, Spinach
Snake River Farms Waygu Bone Marrow
Trio of Veggie Sides
Duck Poutine
Duck Confit With Chard
Cuban Sandwich
Parmesan Risotto Balls
Spinach Side Dish
Wagyu Burger With Streak Fries
Scallops Appetizer Special
Copper Onion Burger
Pork Shanks Special
Peas Side Dish
Sugar Snap Peas
Pickled Carrots
Chicken Special
Pepper Appetizer
Beef Stroganoff
Brussel sprouts
Sauteed Mushrooms With Fried Egg And Potato Sticks
French Dip Sandwich
Winter Punch
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich
Gorgeous
Waygu Beef Poutine
Steak

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Fit for Foodies (100)
Hot Spot (60)
Special Occasion (58)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Great for Lunch (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Brunch (30)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
Late-night Find (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service! It's little l ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service! It's little loud a little crowded, little expensive. But well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The appetizer was good. My wife had the ...

 
 (Nordbayern)
·Dined 5 days ago

The appetizer was good. My wife had the special for an entrée and it was not good and very pricey. Mine was OK but again, not necessary worth the money.

Service was very good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We eat at Copper Onion a few times per y ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

We eat at Copper Onion a few times per year. We had an amazing app of grilled octopus. I love octopus when it is well prepared and they nailed it. The shrimp ceviche on the other hand was a bit of a disappointment. It was pretty bland (no citrus flavor that I could tell) and the onions in the mix were in huge pieces that were way too overwhelming. I still like CO, but I think they should revise the ceviche.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I have dined here multiple times and hav ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have dined here multiple times and have never been impressed by the hostesses. Servers are great, but the Hostesses continue to disappoint. They don't smile, treat you like a number, and rarely show gratitude for choosing Copper Onion. Copper Commons, amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was pretty good food. Portions are s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was pretty good food. Portions are small, prices high. So it can be nice for a special occasion. Loved sitting outside, it was perfect! (we had 8:45 reservation on a mid-August evening. Weather was cool enough to be just perfect outside!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great experience - especially profession ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience - especially professional service. Food fantastic. Inside is noisy, but outside is pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing pork-chop. Amazing everything! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing pork-chop. Amazing everything! I want to try it all, but I don't think I can not order the pork-chop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but not fabulous. Service ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was good, but not fabulous. Service OK. But it was the noise level that made the entire experience negative for me. I don't mind an energetic establishment. But having to shout to be heard by the person directly across from me - all it made me want to do is get my food and get out as quickly as I could. Spending over $100 for two people (and only one of us had an adult beverage), I would prefer a little more ambience than airport flight line. But if that is what you like, then you should go to the Copper Onion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

It was unexpected to find such a creativ ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was unexpected to find such a creative menu and well-prepared foods in Salt Lake City. We enjoyed all of the dishes, from appetizers/salads to desserts. Highly recommend when you are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Aimee, our server, was one of the most p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Aimee, our server, was one of the most polished I have witnessed in a LONG time. She knew the menu inside-out, made suggestions, full of information, and impeccable likability with epic table-side manners!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the waiter was gave great ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food and the waiter was gave great service but the red headed hostess lacked customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

We were visiting from out of town and th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and the Copper Onion was perfect!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing menu- it was hard to narrow down ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing menu- it was hard to narrow down our choices! Went with friends and had a wonderful time. Would go back again and again! Highly recommend the Beef Stroganoff!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Below expectations. A nice place for noi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Below expectations. A nice place for noisy people. Best part was that they validated parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Our server was really rude. We couldn't ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was really rude. We couldn't figure out what we did wrong but he would cut us off and not look at us in the eye. He seemed irritated the whole time with us...I think his name was Alec. His attitude and lack of desire to help describe which entrees were popular was bizarre since this was all our first time there. Maybe he does t like his job? Either way it ruined our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Overpriced meal for food that is just me ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overpriced meal for food that is just meh. They could have at least included a roll or something. I ordered lamb ribs and that was literally all I got...with 1/4 cup of beans underneath. My friend and I went somewhere afterwards because we were still hungry and didn't feel like paying more for overrated food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great fun with three girlfriends. Good f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great fun with three girlfriends. Good food and wine. Just a little loud for chatting but will still come back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. The atmosphere w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious. The atmosphere was quite nice. However, not stating the prices of the specials until the bill arrived was not desirable. Next time, we will make it a point to get the prices prior to the order. There was such a difference in the price from the regular menu items, that we asked if it was right. Unfortunate that the waiter failed to mention the price when describing the specials, and especially when ordering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ricotta dumplings, the best carbonara I' ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ricotta dumplings, the best carbonara I've ever had, pickles even my pickle picky coworker loved, steak frites, goat cheese salad, chocolate pudding. There aren't many places I've eaten where everything we ordered, we would order again. But we would go back next time we're in town and bring more people with us so we could try more. Staff was friendly too. We went next door to grab a drink when we arrived early for our reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had heard good things about The Copper ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had heard good things about The Copper Onion and read many wonderful reviews so my expectations were high....and they were met full on! My new favorite restaurant in SLC. First off, our waiter Ammie was fantastic. She treated us like family. She was not overbearing. She was efficient and so appreciative of our compliments to our whole dining experience. She was absolutely delightful. We started with the sautéed corn and it was so flavorful and fresh. I had the goat cheese salad and the vinaigrette was probably the best I've ever had...so light and flavorful. For my entree I had the beef stroganoff. I'm always a sucker for that when it's on any menu. This was by far the best I've ever had and the serving size was perfect. I was so happy when I left there! My family thoroughly enjoyed their food as well. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation based on a recommenda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Made a reservation based on a recommendation from my brother who used to live in SLC. The restaurant's food was delicious, the service was top notch. I recommend Copper Onion for dates, a business dinner or any time you want some great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great simple, delicious food options at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great simple, delicious food options at a very reasonable price. The service was tremendous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Downtown foodie spot! Creative me ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great Downtown foodie spot! Creative menu! Must have the Ricotta Dumplings! They are unique and delicious!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food made with great ingredi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Outstanding food made with great ingredients . Innovative, creative dishes.

Prices fair. Very good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Copper Onion has never disappointed. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Copper Onion has never disappointed. Well maybe just once the salad chef was a little heavy-handed with the vinegar on the otherwise beguilingly-simple arugula salad... but such a trifle is easily forgiven. Have been through half the menu and haven't found a single item that wasn't stellar. Staff is also top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in salt lake!! We go eve ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best restaurant in salt lake!! We go every time we are in the area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tomato and avocado salad was fresh and f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Tomato and avocado salad was fresh and flavorful. Stroganoff is worth the recommendation. Asian shrimp was nice but not a big fan of the purple rice balls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Don't understand why the positive review ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Don't understand why the positive reviews about food. I have been at this restaurant twice already and both times we thought the food was simply average. It was well presented though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The Copper Onion is very close to the Ma ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Copper Onion is very close to the Marriott downtown and had several excellent reviews. While Salt Lake City is a vibrant, interesting town on most days, Sundays are laid back, and often difficult to find early breakfast places available. We waited until the 10:30 AM opening and was seated in a nice area. The menu is classic breakfast foods with a meat eater touch. We don't eat meat so even the Huevos Rancheros which included Pork was not possible. However, our server offered to remove the pork if we desired. Sounded great, what could you replace it with? Fruit, cottage cheese? Sorry, we don't have cottage cheese, and fruit is too expensive. How about some more black beans? Reluctantly we agreed, ate and left. Sadly, although the meal was tasty, we left feeling less than satisfied, thinking just how expensive is a few berries in Utah?? More than the Pork? I doubt it. Might be a good area to consider improving.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Terrific evening at The Copper Onion. Gr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific evening at The Copper Onion. Great food, well presented and a knowledgeable wait staff. Terrific value for the price and someplace I'd readily visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent evening, wonderful waitress an ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent evening, wonderful waitress and host, could not ask for any better. Great food!!

Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diverse & interesting menu. Very nice am ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Diverse & interesting menu. Very nice ambiance. Great food.

Great service. The clam w chorizo was super!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the duck was extremely rare uninspiring ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

the duck was extremely rare

uninspiring

bland

$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The location is wonderful and enjoy the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The location is wonderful and enjoy the décor. I've only dined at Copper Onion, maybe, four times because of the noise level. It's difficult to have an intimate conversation. The meal was fine; the crust on the goat cheese was perfect, however, the dumplings were too dense. The flavor of the dumplings was good. Enjoyed the wine. The server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Our group of six had mixed success with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our group of six had mixed success with ordering. My trout dish was bland and uninspired. My neighbor loved her stroganoff. Likewise with desserts, mine was boring but the chocolate pot was praised. The waiter rushed us by picking up plates still being eaten and bringing our checks right after setting down dessert. It wasn't even 8:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Outstanding food, always! Wonderful and ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding food, always!

Wonderful and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My reservation through opentable was not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My reservation through opentable was not recognized. I called ahead to confirm and was told that I had no reservation and that I ought to try copper kitchen where I probably made my reservation. Even when I showed the hostess my reservation she did not recognize it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall I was pleased with my visit at t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall I was pleased with my visit at the Copper Onion. The food was very good, service was very fast, and drink selection very large. Setting is not ideal for a quiet intimate dinner between to people, some of the seating and table arrangements are small and close together. Come here to enjoy good food,and meet friends and socialize.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like to eat brunch on the covered pat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We like to eat brunch on the covered patio. Very pleasant, noise level low, food always good as well as the service. A nice place to eat in downtown SLC.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, interesting cocktails, decen ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, interesting cocktails, decent wine list. A very nice patio for outdoor dining. A good variety of options on the menu, and knowledgable servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.