About The Copper Onion

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Fun (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Casual (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
People Watching (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Organic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tapas (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have loved Copper Onion. I was disappo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I have loved Copper Onion. I was disappointed this last time that the menu has not changed. It is beginning to feel dated. It is time for an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

In SLC for a conference and had heard go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

In SLC for a conference and had heard good things about this place so made a reservation. Everything was great. Three of us seated at a shared table. I had the triple I loved the lentils and beets sides, my coworker liked the brussel sprouts and I thought they were good (but those lentils made me smile). The pasta putanesca rivaled the best putanesca I have had. We shared the chevre cheesecake which was rich and tasty with a marmalade like compote. Terrific service from a great woman who had mad betty boop meets Rosie the riveter style. Great night

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service we spot on! They ma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Our food and service we spot on! They make all their own bread, which adds a special touch!The house olives and pickles are a great way to start the meal! We will be back to try more of the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was phenomenal, our waitress ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was phenomenal, our waitress Angie was top tier in terms of friendliness and professionalism. She deserves a raise.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious, wonderful ambiance ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious, wonderful ambiance and service. It has become our go to for fine dining on special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for Valentine's Day. The envir ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day. The environment was greasy and the service was phenomenal. My girlfriend loved it and it was very romantic

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The stroganoff is to die For!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The stroganoff is to die For!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always top notch. The foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service is always top notch. The food is absolutely amazing! If you want the best beef stroganoff you've ever eaten, go to Copper Onion. We have never been let down on the food and service. It's definitely one of our most favorite restaurants in SLC. Be sure to plan in advance and book a reservation. Fun place and great ambience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly open atmosphere, Food is top qu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Friendly open atmosphere, Food is top quality (fresh), Very Creative Menu Items (appetizers, specials, etc.)

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for dinner date with a reservati ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for dinner date with a reservation. Service was fine. Food was fantastic. Loved everything, including sides, appetizer, entrees, and dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I dined here for Valentin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I dined here for Valentine's Day. I'd heard the food was good so we wanted to try it. I was expecting more ambiance, but it was really loud and hard to hear each other over the noise. The food was great, though, so overall I'd recommend it, maybe just not for a date when you're expecting lots of conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Love the food and service here. They nev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the food and service here. They never disappoint 😊

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and phenomenal food. Coppe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service and phenomenal food. Copper Onion was the perfect place to celebrate an early Valentine's Day.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience... the beef st ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always a great experience... the beef stroganoff and carbonara are always incredibly delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very very salty

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food very very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food at Copper Onion is delicious, a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food at Copper Onion is delicious, and they always have something new and fresh. I adore their Carbonara—served with a fresh egg yolk, but somehow they always get the sauce smooth and perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ammie, our server, was very friendly and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ammie, our server, was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This place was so good, got the bone mar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This place was so good, got the bone marrow and that was fabulous, and I had their special duck that day and they did wonderful on it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Flavors and preparation o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service. Flavors and preparation of food were surprisingly good. Server was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! Would definitely go ag ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great restaurant! Would definitely go again when back in SLC

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch was fantastic. Service was great ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Brunch was fantastic. Service was great. My only complaint was that my poached eggs on my Benedict was hard! Never have I had that before. I didn't complain because it was so damn good otherwise.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Copper Onion is different than most ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Copper Onion is different than most restaurants you'll find in Utah. It is a great place to try new things;however, my last visit wasn't so great. It was way too noisy to the point I felt like my friend and I had to scream back and forth just to talk. Also, the food was just "okay". I had been there once before and was blown away by the flavors and freshness. I can't say that for this last visit. I'm sure I'll visit again but maybe during the day. Hoping it isn't so loud.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

I visited The Copper Onion while traveli ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I visited The Copper Onion while traveling with some of my co-workers. The six of us shared several dishes from the menu - both small plates and main courses. The real standouts were the lamb riblets, ricotta dumplings, steak frites and the pâte on the charcuterie board. The cocktails were truly outstanding; although there were only 4 house cocktails, each were delicious and inventive. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Although not a huge space, it felt more intimate than packed in. The service was spot-on and our waitress made great recommendations as well as kept the drinks flowing. Coming from Boston, where we have some world-class restaurants, all of us were impressed and very glad we chose the Copper Onion. Each of us would quickly go back the next time we're in Salt Lake City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DO NOT LEAVE WITHOUT TRYING THE STROGANO ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

DO NOT LEAVE WITHOUT TRYING THE STROGANOFF!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had only an hour to enjoy dinner; the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had only an hour to enjoy dinner; the wait staff took great care of us and served the food with perfect timing. A fine experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food, service and overall value perh ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food, service and overall value perhaps the finest in many years!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you are looking for a great place wit ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

If you are looking for a great place with fantastic food, excellent service, and a casual atmosphere, i suggest the Copper Onion. With Chef Justin Nelson in charge, the food quality is very consistent. The presentation is very eye appealing and the flavors are out of this world. The servers treat you like royalty and are always wanting to do more for you. If you have not tried The Copper Onion, i suggest you do so and enjoy the dining experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting Salt Lake City on busines ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I was visiting Salt Lake City on business, and was looking for a place to have lunch. Had a recommendation to go to the Copper Onion. Sat at the Chef's bar. You can see the Chef and his assistants preparing the food there in front of you. They had a line of burgers organized to be prepared. Thought ... why not? Looked at the menu, and couldn't really find anything that called my attention, so I ordered their burger. Wow! It was the most amazing taste. I am sure everything else in the menu is amazing, but if you go there, and you eat beef, go for the burger. By the way, service was simply amazing. Pity I don't get to go to SLC as much.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food is good but the restaurant is S ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

the food is good but the restaurant is SO LOUD. service was okay, not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Stroganoff was amazing. Best i have ever ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Stroganoff was amazing. Best i have ever had. Food came quick. Perfect experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Copper Onion is one of my favorite p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Copper Onion is one of my favorite places in Salt Lake City. Great atmosphere, great food, and reasonable prices for the quality. I highly recommend the Ricotta dumplings on the starters menu. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you so much for the great food and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Thank you so much for the great food and service, Ammie was great.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Organic, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This will be a lunch that keeps on givin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This will be a lunch that keeps on giving - as there was a bone chip in my burger which cracked my tooth - now awaiting crown and probably a root canal too - which will make that a $500 burger! Although this was a business lunch, it is a loud place and difficult to have conversations. Service was slow and inattentive. Appetizer plates (including a pile of mussel shells!) were not cleared when lunch arrived - and not even cleared until after lunch plates were! Several of us ordered tea and no cream or sugar was provided (or even offered). Food was so-so. While the location is good and close to nearby hotel, we won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food, friendly and quick service.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food, friendly and quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love dining here! We are from Ca ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Always love dining here! We are from California, so can't get here often, but dine here whenever we are in SLC for Sundance. Great menu selection. Fresh ingredients. Great flavor. We had lunch at The Copper Onion and loved our selections: the French dip sandwhich with arugula salad, cuban sandwich, and freshly made fettuccine cacio. Our server, Brittany, was terrific in making recommendations & ensuring we had a great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, copper onion is a smash hit. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

As always, copper onion is a smash hit. The food was amazing, the drinks were great, the cheese plate was delicious, and it was overall an excellent experience. Our server seemed a little distracted one point, but was overall gracious and attendant (and it was a really busy night, so I'm not blaming him).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We always love visiting the Copper Onion ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always love visiting the Copper Onion while downtown. The service is great, the food is amazing, and we always have a great time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though we ran 30 mins late for our brunc ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Though we ran 30 mins late for our brunch rez due to Film Fest, they held our table. So nice. We had a wonderful brunch, then off to Kinky Boots at The Eccles Theatre!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal and service was very good. They ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The meal and service was very good. They would not accept an Open Table reward as part payment. If you accept the reservation, you should accept the whole package. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome brunch, the food and service are ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Awesome brunch, the food and service are both excellent!

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.