About The Copper Onion

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Utah
Hot Spot
Utah
American
Utah
5 More
Most Booked
Utah
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

fit for foodies (101)
special occasion (59)
hot spot (55)
See All
neighborhood gem (48)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (32)
romantic (29)
great for brunch (27)
great for outdoor dining (19)
notable wine list (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
968 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointing

Dined 4 days ago

Portion sizes were very small. I don't need to take home an entire extra meal worth of food, but one entree was not enough to fill me. The food was quite expensive so I thought it would be a reasonable portion size. We had appetizers before the meal which were also very small, but even with the appetizers we left hungry. I was disappointed because we had seen the Copper Onion many times when we went to a show at the Broadway Theatre, but it was always packed so we couldn't try it out. This time we planned in advance and got online reservations so we could have the best possible experience. We won't be going back.

food3
ambience3
service3

Decent food. Had to wait 45 minutes afte ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Decent food. Had to wait 45 minutes after our reservation time before we were seated. Waiter forgot to enter an entree into the computer so that meal was delayed. They comped it and dessert but overall wasn't anything remarkable about the meal. Kind of overpriced , particularly the wine.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I love going to this restaur ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I love going to this restaurant! The food has always been so good. These guys don't disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

While visiting in Utah I can tell you we ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

While visiting in Utah I can tell you we didn't have a bad bite to eat the entire trip, being from the New Orleans area I was impressed just about everywhere we ate especially the Copper Onion, this place would fit right in and hold it's own down in New Orleans, great food!!!! I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Same good food, marginal service

Dined on May 18, 2016

We have been to the copper onion many times and have always enjoyed it. In the previous 10+ times the servers were more like from New York and made you feel like a regular even if you were not. This time while not bad was different. I knew we were in trouble when the server asked to chill my red wine, and it sort of devolved from there. We will likely go back but will now likely add other restaurants to the rotation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Great Food; Lousy Service

Dined on May 17, 2016

We went to the Copper Onion for our 30th Anniversary based on the recommendation of friends. The food was very good but I was a little surprised by the sub-par service. The waiter took a very long time to take our order and when he brought us anything he wouldn't even stop--just tossed it on the table as he was passing by. Very odd! He seemed put off that he had to wait on us. Also the noise level is quite loud so if you are looking for a quiet place for conversation this is probably not the restaurant for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the 5 year anniversary of our fir ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

It was the 5 year anniversary of our first date, which was brunch at Copper Onion. If anything, the food, services, and ambiance has only improved. The cinnamon roll was amazing, and the Patatas Bravas and Copper Onion Burger (our favorite standard items) were perfect. Service was both friendly and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I really, really wanted to like it.

Dined on May 14, 2016

I loved sitting out on the patio. The weather was beautiful. Our server was attentive and kind. But the food...it wasn't great. We even got recommendations from our server, which makes me inclined to believe that we didn't just order poorly. Actually, the food was just flat-out disappointing. Ribs were dry. Fish was plain. The ricotta dumplings were the only delicious part of the meal. Overall, it was too expensive for the meh food we received. I was hoping for a great experience, as this was our anniversary dinner, but we left feeling unsatisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with great ambiance

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were able to sit outside on the patio and take in all that downtown SLC has to offer. The food was great and the service was impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food but....

Dined on May 13, 2016

We occasionally go to the Copper Onion because we like their innovative cuisine. However, every time we go, we find their food just a bit too salty. It tastes awesome at first but as you eat the dish, it seems to get saltier and saltier. Very fresh ingredients, great combination of ingredients but each time the food is just a bit off (too salty or too acidic). Cocktails are great, ambience is also very nice, and the service is very attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We were eager to try Copper Onion based ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were eager to try Copper Onion based on recommendations from like minded foodie friends. The service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was warm yet modern with an open feel. Our cheese course was delicious and we were well attended to. Unfortunately, I poorly chose the pasta special for the evening, hoping for a grand food adventure. The promise of ricotta stuffed shells infused with tomato sauce and citrus intrigued me, but left me wanting. Combining capers, tomato sauce, citrus rind, and bacon as an embellishment is far too much salt and acid on one plate. Likewise, the pasta resembled the shape and texture of maggots, so eating with my eyes first was a little daunting. The only saving grace of this dish was the floral garnish from what I assumed was lavender. It toned things down, but still felt disjointed. Texturally the rind was cumbersome and the oily citrus flavor overpowered everything about the dish. Trying to eat luscious pasta with rind is like chewing gum with whole almonds. It just doesn't fit. The anticipated ricotta was neither visible nor tasted and it was overall a disappointment. I would eat here again just to try one of their more revered dishes. As stated before, the staff were amazing, and I am positive this was a one-time unfortunate experience. I can't wait to give it another try.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are always amazed at the flavor in an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We are always amazed at the flavor in anything we order from Copper Onion! The food tastes amazing and the service is great. The servers are very knowledgeable about each of the items. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was great for the most part. Se ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great for the most part. Service was a bit off. Our appetizer was literally thrown onto our table. And it was our first time here, did not expect the antipasto to be a bowl full of olives with one piece of cheese and one piece of meat. But my trout was over-the-top fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Salt Lake City. Copper O ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best food in Salt Lake City. Copper Onion never disappoints. The Beef Stroganoff is amazing!

food3
ambience3
service5

Eggs Benedict made with shaved ham and v ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Eggs Benedict made with shaved ham and very soft poached egg, not my preference but maybe yours? Server was outstanding in knowledge and proficiency.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday for the wife

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food portions were a great size and not overdone. bright flavors with full flavor mixes. we split the romaine and the dumplings and this left room for the main course and dessert. I never order dessert but couldnt pass on the cheese cake. I had never been here but will return . Spent 100$ with out blinking. Tipped my waiter handsomely and he deserved it. He was busy yet attentive. Team service meant food runner got you hot food while the waiter was busy attending to other patrons. Love that type of service. Owner/ manager was a friendly greeting while we waited a few minutes for our table. Make your reservations well in advance. Popular downtown spot!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service, I was really imp ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

great food and service, I was really impressed

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Many times here... Many times happy!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We've eaten here many times and at many tables. We always enjoy the food and beverages and our server was very nice and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have never had such a delicious hamburger and fries! Almost everything about our meal exceeded expectations. The only thing that bothered me at all was that the tables are very close together, so as the seating started to fill up, another couple was seated right next to us. It almost felt like we were there with them because they were in such close quarters. Would have liked a little more privacy. Other than that... Excellent food, service & location! We live out of town (about 75 miles away), but will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Flavors

Dined on April 21, 2016

I had a great dining experience. When ever I can dine outside it makes it that much better. The wine was delicious and the food was fantastic. I love tasting unique dishes with a lot of flavors and that is what I got. The service was amazing. Our server was very helpful in choosing which appetizers to get. The atmosphere was very laid back and relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Wagu beef stroganoff is outstanding. ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The Wagu beef stroganoff is outstanding. Also the Mary's cast iron chicken - very good!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great cocktails... Heavy handed on the salt..

Dined on April 5, 2016

Came here with my gf a few days ago. I had the tequila cocktail which was fantastic. Everything was good... The Stroganoff, Duck, Seabass... However, everything was way too salty.. I like salt since it brings out the flavor of foods, but the cooks were extremely heavy handed with the amount of salt used is all of the dishes. Please take note.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretty good-would recommend

Dined on April 4, 2016

A nice find in Salt Lake. The food is very good. Had to substitute a better carb with the steak, however. The steak came with french fries, so I asked to have the much better butternut squash ravioli.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Judy

Dined on April 3, 2016

I have been to the Copper Onion numerous times and the food was as good as it usually is, however the service was slow and somewhat inattentive, even though the restaurant was not that busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Good Food

Dined on March 31, 2016

Food was good. Limited selection of wines. Too noisy. The Copper ceiling looks nice, but reflects all sound.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife and I decided to take a weekend getaway up to SLC and were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled across the Copper Onion while walking around looking for a place to eat. The place was packed but we were able to be seated fairly quickly. Our waitress, Aimee, was super happy and very personable. I had their Carbonara and my wife got their Meatloaf (be warned, its HUGE!). We both left with full bellies and are excited to let our friends know about this place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5* Went for late breakfast right from airport

Dined on March 19, 2016

Everyone loved their meal. I had heuvos rancheros done very differently, but love all the flavors! Sat at counter watched the chefs do their magic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very fresh with many different ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was very fresh with many different flavors. Service was excellent. Waitstaff was personable and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good, so good...

Dined on March 17, 2016

I think I may have had one of the best meals I've ever had. It was a special, some type of steak - Waygu? with chard and fingerling potatoes...sooo good. I want come back to SLC just for this meal. Oh, staff was great, bartender was talkative, quick and attentive. These are pros, you can tell.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Always A Good Experience

Dined on March 16, 2016

Copper Onion has yet to let me down. Good food, friendly service and an energetic atmosphere always makes for a fun dining experience. And I love their sangria too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Out of Town

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Came here on a trip from out of town. My husband and I enjoyed the pea soup. It was unbelievably delicious but so filling that we could hardly eat anything else. We did however enjoy the pepper Mussels. The waiter recommended a wonderful red wine. We would come again for sure.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Will go back

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was unbalanced. The mushroom and potato string appetizer was excellent. But the stroganoff, supposedly their signature dish, was very salty. The vegetable cassoulet was also unbalanced: The mushrooms were very good, the squash mixture was good, but the beans were bland.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic! Always come to this restaura ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic! Always come to this restaurant when in Salt Lake.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Food, very loud

Dined on March 4, 2016

Because I made reservations, I thought seating would be spaced out and more private. Our table was nearly on top of the the one next to us. Also, it was so loud. You have to yell to be hear. The group next to us had no problem yelling over each other. I won't go there again for dinner but would be willing to give it another shot for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Will be returning

Dined on March 4, 2016

Probably the best meal I have had in Utah since moving here two and half years ago. Friendly, but not aggressive service. Short but varied menu. The only decent martini I have ever had in this alcohol un-friendly state. Young crowd, but this 70+ year old didn't feel out of place. I had the duck, which was beautifully cooked and delicious. My companion had the beef stroganoff, which she enjoyed. We had started with the meat board and the cheese board (the cheeses were a little skimpy). Good flavors and nice variety. We ended with cheesecake and Irish Coffee, which was well made and well balanced. So, altogether pretty darn good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and service are amazing!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Our food and service was amazing!! My only complaint is that the restaurant is very loud. Not good for a romantic meal. We were sitting at a table for two. It was still hard to hear each other.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Copper Onion

Dined on February 25, 2016

If you're looking for unusual food that also happens to be absolutely fantastic, Copper Onion is the place for you. It's a little on the spendy side but well worth it especially for special occasions or to impress a date.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Def worth another visit

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

The brussels sprouts and wagyu beef stroganoff were amazing. Fries were lacking, mushroom barley was okay, and the pork belly was missing something... Will def be returning for the wagyu beef stroganoff, though. Would have licked the plate if I didn't have to worry about embarrassing other people in my party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantatic food

Dined on February 22, 2016

Jose was out waiter and he did a fantastic job and recommended the Pork Chop-DELICIOUS. You must try it. My friend had the lamb and loved it. We both enjoyed the great energy of the restaurant. It was bustling without being loud. We did not imbibe but the desserts looked great. I highly recommend this downtown gem. NOTE for out of towners, 3rd is also Broadway. We drove around the block looking for Broadway :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Their wagyu beef stroganoff is great. I ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

Their wagyu beef stroganoff is great. I almost always get it because it's one of those dishes where you are afraid to get something else in fear that it won't be as good. I have had other plates here from time to time and am always impressed.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.