About The Copper Onion

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Chop
wagyu steak
Polenta
Risotto
Salmon
Frittata
Daily Risotto
Tempranillo Wine
Alaskan Halibut
Sauteed Mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Stroganoff
Patatas Bravas
Rib Eye Steak For Two
Warm Apple Cake With Maple Ice Crean
Mussels
Duck Cassoulet
Creminelli Barolo Salami
Waygu Beef Tartare
Braised Kurabuta Pork Belly
Halibut
spinach frittata
cinnamon roll
Ricotta Dumplings
Tagliatelle
Eggs Benedict
Mimosa
Bread
Bone Marrow
Lamb Riblets
Carbonara
Steak Frites
Vegetable Frittata
Chicken And Wild Rice Soup
Corn Side Dish
Mushroom Scramble
Mushroom Rissotto
Mushrooms And A Fresh Egg
Rainbow Trout
Cubano Sandwich
Reuben
Chicken Arugala Salad
Shashito Peppers
Open Face Beef Chuck Roast Sandwich
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Meat And Cheese Plater
Green beans
Roasted Carrots
Crab & Jalepeno Pasta
Pulled Pork Poutine
Strawberry Salad
Meat Loaf With Mashed Potatoes And Grilled Vegetables
Bananna Split
Vegetable Risotto
Cardamom-Spiced Chocolate Pudding
Mushrooms, Potato Strings, Fried Egg, Spinach
Duck Poutine
Snake River Farms Waygu Bone Marrow
Trio of Veggie Sides
Duck Confit With Chard
Wagyu Burger With Streak Fries
Pork Shanks Special
Sugar Snap Peas
Peas Side Dish
Cuban Sandwich
Copper Onion Burger
Parmesan Risotto Balls
Pepper Appetizer
Chicken Special
Pickled Carrots
Spinach Side Dish
Scallops Appetizer Special
Sauteed Mushrooms With Fried Egg And Potato Sticks
Brussel sprouts
French Dip Sandwich
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich
Winter Punch
Beef Stroganoff
Waygu Beef Poutine
Steak
Gorgeous

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Utah
American
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

fit for foodies (96)
hot spot (55)
special occasion (51)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
good for groups (35)
great for outdoor dining (35)
great for lunch (34)
romantic (27)
great for brunch (25)
notable wine list (15)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

This was our first time dining at the Co ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time dining at the Copper Onion. We had been told that it was outstanding and that we definitely should try it. My son -in-law is a real foodie and if he recommends it then it must be good! So we decided to come for my husband's birthday. Unfortunately, we did not have a positive experience. My husband and myself both ordered the hamburger, he with fries and I ordered the arugula salad. Both burgers were ordered medium and both came completely overcooked with no sight of pink in the middle, which therefore made the meat very dry. My husband's plate had only five fries on it, which was a disappointing serving size. My arugula salad was made with very old, slimy arugula. Sometimes my husband feels that I'm too picky and am too quick to send food back, but he totally agreed that the salad was inedible. I did send the salad back and the waiter sent out a new salad that was fresher. He did not deliver it himself and he never came back to the table to see if things were satisfactory. We both ate our overcooked hamburgers with a great degree of disappointment. My only hope is that perhaps this was just an "off" night and if we ever were to return we might have a better experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Rather disappointed after reading other ...

Dined 7 days ago

Rather disappointed after reading other reviews. Waiter had an attitude (and not just at our table), tables so close we had conversations with our neighbors, mediocre food. The menu looked a lot better than the food tasted.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favorite spot we visit with out of tow ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

A favorite spot we visit with out of town guests, and it always lives up to expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was amazing. Food was to die ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. Food was to die for, the beef stroganoff was the best I've ever had. I am coming back to try more options. You all are the bomb.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I was a little confused when I made the ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I was a little confused when I made the reservation for Copper Onion, thinking it was the Copper Commons next door. That straightened out, we were shown to a table directly beneath the air conditioning vent, which made things pretty chilly even on a very hot day. The food was unique and very good; I had the clams and chorizo pasta, while my wife had the asparagus soup. The server was also very attentive and kind enough to take a picture for us to help celebrate our wedding anniversary. One of the managers also gave us a cheesecake for dessert, which we normally wouldn't have ordered, but it was very nice. The place was SO LOUD! I have a bit of a hearing loss, and it was hard to hear my wife and really hard to understand the server. The noise level was so high that it was unpleasant and almost painful. I can't imagine how the employees work there without hearing protection. What I will refuse to do in the future is book a reservation through Open Table. This outfit is just obnoxious. I don't know how many emails I've received from them over a week's time; maybe eight or nine. And to call me to confirm a restaurant reservation? That's just tacky.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our father's day l ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our father's day lunch. The Brunch Carbonara serving is way too small

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely brunch service on the patio. One ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely brunch service on the patio. One of the best brunch's for a light, delicious meal and with the sun shining on you there's no excuse to not day drink! Favorites are shishito peppers to start, cinnamon rolls and the mushroom scramble. And of course prosecco!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit to the Copper O ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is our second visit to the Copper Onion and we were very pleased with our choice again. Food was perfectly prepared and quickly arrived at the table. Wait staff was attentive and handled special needs (gluten free) with no difficulties or errors. Every diner in our group was extremely pleased with their meal. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place! The food and service ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We love this place! The food and service are awesome. I was very disappointed to see that they had taken the cherry glazed porkchops off of the menu. We had been raving about them and sending people there to eat them. We live out of town now and were so looking forward to eating them! We still loved the food and would go back...just bring back those porkchops!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. I managed score last ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding meal. I managed score last minute reservation and enjoyed sitting at chef's table. Every course excellent. Particularly enjoyed the agnolotti and wine selection. Hope return SLC soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch spot! Food was amazing. Coo ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great brunch spot! Food was amazing. Cooked to order and great service from Aimee! Parking is free on Sunday. Very busy and it took a bit to get our check but otherwise a really great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great pork chops!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great pork chops!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Locally sourced foods, knowledgeable server

Dined on June 9, 2016

I was in Salt Lake City on a work trip, and had a $25 dinner voucher. I chose this place because I farm in upstate New York and am always interested in how "farm-to-fork" looks elsewhere. Copper Onion was great, in this respect. The server told me exactly what each dish that I asked about was comprised of, how it was prepared, and where the key ingredients had come from. The food also was delicious. This restaurant is a bit on the high end, but it's wonderful food and I think it's still a good value. My bill for a small plate of a braised pork belly, a large bowl of an incredible watermelon base gazpacho, a couple of glasses of wine, and a chocolate pudding dessert (more than half of which I took to go and savored the next night) was $61 including the tax and a $10 tip (on $48). The most expensive components were the wine and dessert. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who enjoys simply prepared, locally sourced foods.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Chef's Counter was great fun. Kale salad ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Chef's Counter was great fun. Kale salad special was the best of what I ordered. Octopus was pretty chewy. Mussels were solid. Great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food very peaceful

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food very peaceful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved it! The service was amazing! We had brunch the morning after a bachelorette party and all of the girls loved it. The outdoor seating had a great atmosphere and was well shaded. Great food with fast service. The server even brought us complimentary ice cream after he brought us the check. Thanks, Alex!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Overrated

Dined on June 4, 2016

Server must have had a bad day or didn't like her job, because she was abrupt and condescending. Asking for ice was beneath her or for a spoon. Some lettuce was stuck between the slates of the table. We cleaned it. Food delicious, however when we asked for a desert menu and her recommendations, she said "I don't like deserts, but I know some people do." I didn't ask for her personal taste, just a food best from the restaurant. This is our third time there, each time it gets worse. FOOD Great! Servers not so much.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Let down

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We've eaten here before, so I was surprised by the ineptness this time. The soup/salad was served before we rec'd our cocktails, and the entree was served very soon thereafter...The food was OK-I had shortribs and she had the duck-both were soso.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch

Dined on May 31, 2016

Tasty fresh prepared classic food. Ambiance was set so you could be at ease.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointing

Dined on May 28, 2016

Portion sizes were very small. I don't need to take home an entire extra meal worth of food, but one entree was not enough to fill me. The food was quite expensive so I thought it would be a reasonable portion size. We had appetizers before the meal which were also very small, but even with the appetizers we left hungry. I was disappointed because we had seen the Copper Onion many times when we went to a show at the Broadway Theatre, but it was always packed so we couldn't try it out. This time we planned in advance and got online reservations so we could have the best possible experience. We won't be going back.

food5
ambience3
service3

The stroganoff was exceptional. The res ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The stroganoff was exceptional. The rest of the dining experience okay.

food3
ambience3
service3

Decent food. Had to wait 45 minutes afte ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Decent food. Had to wait 45 minutes after our reservation time before we were seated. Waiter forgot to enter an entree into the computer so that meal was delayed. They comped it and dessert but overall wasn't anything remarkable about the meal. Kind of overpriced , particularly the wine.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I love going to this restaur ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I love going to this restaurant! The food has always been so good. These guys don't disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

While visiting in Utah I can tell you we ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

While visiting in Utah I can tell you we didn't have a bad bite to eat the entire trip, being from the New Orleans area I was impressed just about everywhere we ate especially the Copper Onion, this place would fit right in and hold it's own down in New Orleans, great food!!!! I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Same good food, marginal service

Dined on May 18, 2016

We have been to the copper onion many times and have always enjoyed it. In the previous 10+ times the servers were more like from New York and made you feel like a regular even if you were not. This time while not bad was different. I knew we were in trouble when the server asked to chill my red wine, and it sort of devolved from there. We will likely go back but will now likely add other restaurants to the rotation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Great Food; Lousy Service

Dined on May 17, 2016

We went to the Copper Onion for our 30th Anniversary based on the recommendation of friends. The food was very good but I was a little surprised by the sub-par service. The waiter took a very long time to take our order and when he brought us anything he wouldn't even stop--just tossed it on the table as he was passing by. Very odd! He seemed put off that he had to wait on us. Also the noise level is quite loud so if you are looking for a quiet place for conversation this is probably not the restaurant for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were celebrating birthdays and chose Copper Onion based on reviews and recommendations. We were not disappointed. Service was outstanding and food was excellent. We were seated inside and it was a bit noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the 5 year anniversary of our fir ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

It was the 5 year anniversary of our first date, which was brunch at Copper Onion. If anything, the food, services, and ambiance has only improved. The cinnamon roll was amazing, and the Patatas Bravas and Copper Onion Burger (our favorite standard items) were perfect. Service was both friendly and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I really, really wanted to like it.

Dined on May 14, 2016

I loved sitting out on the patio. The weather was beautiful. Our server was attentive and kind. But the food...it wasn't great. We even got recommendations from our server, which makes me inclined to believe that we didn't just order poorly. Actually, the food was just flat-out disappointing. Ribs were dry. Fish was plain. The ricotta dumplings were the only delicious part of the meal. Overall, it was too expensive for the meh food we received. I was hoping for a great experience, as this was our anniversary dinner, but we left feeling unsatisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with great ambiance

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were able to sit outside on the patio and take in all that downtown SLC has to offer. The food was great and the service was impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food but....

Dined on May 13, 2016

We occasionally go to the Copper Onion because we like their innovative cuisine. However, every time we go, we find their food just a bit too salty. It tastes awesome at first but as you eat the dish, it seems to get saltier and saltier. Very fresh ingredients, great combination of ingredients but each time the food is just a bit off (too salty or too acidic). Cocktails are great, ambience is also very nice, and the service is very attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We were eager to try Copper Onion based ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were eager to try Copper Onion based on recommendations from like minded foodie friends. The service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was warm yet modern with an open feel. Our cheese course was delicious and we were well attended to. Unfortunately, I poorly chose the pasta special for the evening, hoping for a grand food adventure. The promise of ricotta stuffed shells infused with tomato sauce and citrus intrigued me, but left me wanting. Combining capers, tomato sauce, citrus rind, and bacon as an embellishment is far too much salt and acid on one plate. Likewise, the pasta resembled the shape and texture of maggots, so eating with my eyes first was a little daunting. The only saving grace of this dish was the floral garnish from what I assumed was lavender. It toned things down, but still felt disjointed. Texturally the rind was cumbersome and the oily citrus flavor overpowered everything about the dish. Trying to eat luscious pasta with rind is like chewing gum with whole almonds. It just doesn't fit. The anticipated ricotta was neither visible nor tasted and it was overall a disappointment. I would eat here again just to try one of their more revered dishes. As stated before, the staff were amazing, and I am positive this was a one-time unfortunate experience. I can't wait to give it another try.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are always amazed at the flavor in an ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We are always amazed at the flavor in anything we order from Copper Onion! The food tastes amazing and the service is great. The servers are very knowledgeable about each of the items. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was great for the most part. Se ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great for the most part. Service was a bit off. Our appetizer was literally thrown onto our table. And it was our first time here, did not expect the antipasto to be a bowl full of olives with one piece of cheese and one piece of meat. But my trout was over-the-top fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Salt Lake City. Copper O ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best food in Salt Lake City. Copper Onion never disappoints. The Beef Stroganoff is amazing!

food3
ambience3
service5

Eggs Benedict made with shaved ham and v ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Eggs Benedict made with shaved ham and very soft poached egg, not my preference but maybe yours? Server was outstanding in knowledge and proficiency.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday for the wife

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food portions were a great size and not overdone. bright flavors with full flavor mixes. we split the romaine and the dumplings and this left room for the main course and dessert. I never order dessert but couldnt pass on the cheese cake. I had never been here but will return . Spent 100$ with out blinking. Tipped my waiter handsomely and he deserved it. He was busy yet attentive. Team service meant food runner got you hot food while the waiter was busy attending to other patrons. Love that type of service. Owner/ manager was a friendly greeting while we waited a few minutes for our table. Make your reservations well in advance. Popular downtown spot!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service, I was really imp ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

great food and service, I was really impressed

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Many times here... Many times happy!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We've eaten here many times and at many tables. We always enjoy the food and beverages and our server was very nice and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have never had such a delicious hamburger and fries! Almost everything about our meal exceeded expectations. The only thing that bothered me at all was that the tables are very close together, so as the seating started to fill up, another couple was seated right next to us. It almost felt like we were there with them because they were in such close quarters. Would have liked a little more privacy. Other than that... Excellent food, service & location! We live out of town (about 75 miles away), but will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.