About The Copper Onion

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Chop
Polenta
wagyu steak
Salmon
Risotto
Frittata
Daily Risotto
Sauteed Mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Stroganoff
Patatas Bravas
Rib Eye Steak For Two
Warm Apple Cake With Maple Ice Crean
Duck Cassoulet
Mussels
Creminelli Barolo Salami
Waygu Beef Tartare
Braised Kurabuta Pork Belly
Halibut
spinach frittata
cinnamon roll
Ricotta Dumplings
Tagliatelle
Eggs Benedict
Mimosa
Bread
Bone Marrow
Carbonara
Lamb Riblets
Steak Frites
Chicken And Wild Rice Soup
Vegetable Frittata
Mushroom Scramble
Mushroom Rissotto
Corn Side Dish
Mushrooms And A Fresh Egg
Rainbow Trout
Tempranillo Wine
Alaskan Halibut
Open Face Beef Chuck Roast Sandwich
Chicken Arugala Salad
Cubano Sandwich
Shashito Peppers
Reuben
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Meat And Cheese Plater
Roasted Carrots
Green beans
Pulled Pork Poutine
Crab & Jalepeno Pasta
Bananna Split
Meat Loaf With Mashed Potatoes And Grilled Vegetables
Strawberry Salad
Cardamom-Spiced Chocolate Pudding
Vegetable Risotto
Mushrooms, Potato Strings, Fried Egg, Spinach
Snake River Farms Waygu Bone Marrow
Trio of Veggie Sides
Duck Poutine
Duck Confit With Chard
Cuban Sandwich
Parmesan Risotto Balls
Spinach Side Dish
Wagyu Burger With Streak Fries
Scallops Appetizer Special
Copper Onion Burger
Pork Shanks Special
Peas Side Dish
Sugar Snap Peas
Pickled Carrots
Chicken Special
Pepper Appetizer
Beef Stroganoff
Brussel sprouts
Sauteed Mushrooms With Fried Egg And Potato Sticks
French Dip Sandwich
Winter Punch
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich
Gorgeous
Waygu Beef Poutine
Steak

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Utah
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Fit for Foodies (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My pasta was way too garlicky for me and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

My pasta was way too garlicky for me and they re-made the dish to my liking. I rarely admit that I hate something or send it back but they took care of it - no problem. A+ for outstanding attentiveness and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service are very good but i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service are very good but it is not a place for quiet conversation as the noise level, between the music and other customers, is very loud.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Use Qualtrics - their surveys are more s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Use Qualtrics - their surveys are more streamlined and easier to use. I considered not finishing my survey because of the user interface

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Normally this is my favorite Salt Lake C ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Normally this is my favorite Salt Lake City restaurant. This time, however, The food was much too salty. Even the field greens from my goat cheese salad tasted like salt. As I said, this was my favorite restaurant in Salt Lake City, but I think it will be a while before I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Food! Loved the Stroganoff!!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Food! Loved the Stroganoff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Considering how hard it is to get a rese ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Considering how hard it is to get a reservation and actually get into CO it seems a tiny bit of a let down to find out that while very good, the are many restaurants in SLC just a good. Noisy, noisy, noisy. Our charming server who was attentive at all the right times in spite of the pandemonium made the evening more fun than it might have been. Plan well ahead if you want a table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyable time with girlfriends who have ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyable time with girlfriends who have very different opinions on food. The food and selection was great from the meat eaters, kale lovers and a vegan. Wonderful staff was great at helping us with our selections and modifying the menu for my vegan friend. The food came quickly and was the best prepared chicken I had ever had anywhere! It was clean and cozy. Look forward to returning when I am visiting Salt Lake City again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is a bit confusing. There ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The restaurant is a bit confusing. There is a bar down the street called The Copper Commons. It is related to the restaurant but is too far away to be a place to wait for a table. The Copper Onion does not have a bar where you can wait for a table to be ready, so you kind of have to stand awkwardly in the reception area.

Once seated, the ambience is really quite nice. The lighting in particular is pretty perfect.

Cocktails were inventive and delicious. My dinner (Cast Iron Mary's Chicken) was very good, but my husband thought his Duck a la Moutarde was very salty. We joked that the duck had probably hung out at the Salt Lake a lot, but maybe it was't a joke after all.

All in all, we felt it was a solid choice.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious- especially lov ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Everything was delicious- especially loved the burger and the ricotta dumplings but it was all wonderful. Service was attentive and thoughtful without hovering. No complaints at l, we loved this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did the Dine Around Salt Lake City $10 l ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Did the Dine Around Salt Lake City $10 lunch. The taco plate was excellent. Would easily do this again. Service was very good at busy lunch time. Noise level was very high and not a place for lunchtime conversation with your dining buddies.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This place was outstanding. The service ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This place was outstanding. The service was exceptional- something that is hard to come by these days. The food was excellent, you could taste the freshness of the ingredients. You could tell the chefs really have a passion for cooking and it shows. Will definitely be back and highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Healthy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the daily special pasta with s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I ordered the daily special pasta with shrimps and cheese. it tasted yummy but the noodle should be cooked a little longer. My husband ordered BBQ sandwich and it was perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Once seated, the food was excellent and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Once seated, the food was excellent and the service very good. However had to wait over 20 minutes for a table despite making a reservation 3 weeks in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I wasn't sure how this would be as I rea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I wasn't sure how this would be as I read a lot of mixed reviews. Our meal was excellent. Super fresh and great flavor. I had pasta carbonara and the pasta was so light and good. The sauce was just right. Not too heavy as carbonara sauce can be. My friend had the salmon special and he raved about it. The service was better than I had read about which was a bonus as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place never disappoints! It's my fa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place never disappoints! It's my favorite restaurant to book for any occasion out. The food is always spectacular and I love the ambiance, selection, and service. Never had a bad meal and don't anticipate that I ever will. I highly recommend it if you are looking for something with a Northern California vibe of fresh food done in unique combinations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of the dishes (eggs, steak, lentils ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Most of the dishes (eggs, steak, lentils) that we got were lacking salt - a little salt could have really upped the flavor. The cucumber salad was VERY delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Copper Onion is such a staple in Salt La ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Copper Onion is such a staple in Salt Lake. I typically frequent for Brunch but when a dinner reservation became available I booked it for Friday night. Always bustling, I enjoy the energy and looked forward to the meal. The pork belly was great as always. I ordered an evening special, Cioppino, and my boyfriend the chicken. My only critique of the meal was the service. This place really knows how to flip tables. But I was signing our bill less than 45 minutes later. I would have loved a slightly less rushed experience. Our waitress wanted our entree order as soon as she put our appetizer between us. For the price of food the experience was lacking and I missed fondly a different time at Copper Onion where the service was gentle and each bite of food was perfectly and simply delicious. I may wait a few months to return again for dinner. There are better service experiences to be had in the city now. But I will be back over and over for brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food everytime! Our go to spot in ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food everytime! Our go to spot in salt lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, great service! It's little l ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food, great service! It's little loud a little crowded, little expensive. But well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The appetizer was good. My wife had the ...

 
 (Nürnberg)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The appetizer was good. My wife had the special for an entrée and it was not good and very pricey. Mine was OK but again, not necessary worth the money.

Service was very good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We eat at Copper Onion a few times per y ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We eat at Copper Onion a few times per year. We had an amazing app of grilled octopus. I love octopus when it is well prepared and they nailed it. The shrimp ceviche on the other hand was a bit of a disappointment. It was pretty bland (no citrus flavor that I could tell) and the onions in the mix were in huge pieces that were way too overwhelming. I still like CO, but I think they should revise the ceviche.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I have dined here multiple times and hav ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have dined here multiple times and have never been impressed by the hostesses. Servers are great, but the Hostesses continue to disappoint. They don't smile, treat you like a number, and rarely show gratitude for choosing Copper Onion. Copper Commons, amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was pretty good food. Portions are s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was pretty good food. Portions are small, prices high. So it can be nice for a special occasion. Loved sitting outside, it was perfect! (we had 8:45 reservation on a mid-August evening. Weather was cool enough to be just perfect outside!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great experience - especially profession ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great experience - especially professional service. Food fantastic. Inside is noisy, but outside is pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing pork-chop. Amazing everything! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing pork-chop. Amazing everything! I want to try it all, but I don't think I can not order the pork-chop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but not fabulous. Service ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was good, but not fabulous. Service OK. But it was the noise level that made the entire experience negative for me. I don't mind an energetic establishment. But having to shout to be heard by the person directly across from me - all it made me want to do is get my food and get out as quickly as I could. Spending over $100 for two people (and only one of us had an adult beverage), I would prefer a little more ambience than airport flight line. But if that is what you like, then you should go to the Copper Onion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

It was unexpected to find such a creativ ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was unexpected to find such a creative menu and well-prepared foods in Salt Lake City. We enjoyed all of the dishes, from appetizers/salads to desserts. Highly recommend when you are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Aimee, our server, was one of the most p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Aimee, our server, was one of the most polished I have witnessed in a LONG time. She knew the menu inside-out, made suggestions, full of information, and impeccable likability with epic table-side manners!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the waiter was gave great ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food and the waiter was gave great service but the red headed hostess lacked customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

We were visiting from out of town and th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and the Copper Onion was perfect!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing menu- it was hard to narrow down ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing menu- it was hard to narrow down our choices! Went with friends and had a wonderful time. Would go back again and again! Highly recommend the Beef Stroganoff!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Below expectations. A nice place for noi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Below expectations. A nice place for noisy people. Best part was that they validated parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Our server was really rude. We couldn't ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was really rude. We couldn't figure out what we did wrong but he would cut us off and not look at us in the eye. He seemed irritated the whole time with us...I think his name was Alec. His attitude and lack of desire to help describe which entrees were popular was bizarre since this was all our first time there. Maybe he does t like his job? Either way it ruined our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Overpriced meal for food that is just me ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overpriced meal for food that is just meh. They could have at least included a roll or something. I ordered lamb ribs and that was literally all I got...with 1/4 cup of beans underneath. My friend and I went somewhere afterwards because we were still hungry and didn't feel like paying more for overrated food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great fun with three girlfriends. Good f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great fun with three girlfriends. Good food and wine. Just a little loud for chatting but will still come back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. The atmosphere w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious. The atmosphere was quite nice. However, not stating the prices of the specials until the bill arrived was not desirable. Next time, we will make it a point to get the prices prior to the order. There was such a difference in the price from the regular menu items, that we asked if it was right. Unfortunate that the waiter failed to mention the price when describing the specials, and especially when ordering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ricotta dumplings, the best carbonara I' ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ricotta dumplings, the best carbonara I've ever had, pickles even my pickle picky coworker loved, steak frites, goat cheese salad, chocolate pudding. There aren't many places I've eaten where everything we ordered, we would order again. But we would go back next time we're in town and bring more people with us so we could try more. Staff was friendly too. We went next door to grab a drink when we arrived early for our reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had heard good things about The Copper ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had heard good things about The Copper Onion and read many wonderful reviews so my expectations were high....and they were met full on! My new favorite restaurant in SLC. First off, our waiter Ammie was fantastic. She treated us like family. She was not overbearing. She was efficient and so appreciative of our compliments to our whole dining experience. She was absolutely delightful. We started with the sautéed corn and it was so flavorful and fresh. I had the goat cheese salad and the vinaigrette was probably the best I've ever had...so light and flavorful. For my entree I had the beef stroganoff. I'm always a sucker for that when it's on any menu. This was by far the best I've ever had and the serving size was perfect. I was so happy when I left there! My family thoroughly enjoyed their food as well. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation based on a recommenda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Made a reservation based on a recommendation from my brother who used to live in SLC. The restaurant's food was delicious, the service was top notch. I recommend Copper Onion for dates, a business dinner or any time you want some great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great simple, delicious food options at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great simple, delicious food options at a very reasonable price. The service was tremendous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.