About The Copper Onion

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Chop
wagyu steak
Polenta
Salmon
Risotto
Frittata
Daily Risotto
Sauteed Mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Stroganoff
Patatas Bravas
Rib Eye Steak For Two
Warm Apple Cake With Maple Ice Crean
Mussels
Duck Cassoulet
Creminelli Barolo Salami
Waygu Beef Tartare
Braised Kurabuta Pork Belly
Halibut
spinach frittata
cinnamon roll
Ricotta Dumplings
Tagliatelle
Eggs Benedict
Mimosa
Bread
Bone Marrow
Lamb Riblets
Carbonara
Steak Frites
Vegetable Frittata
Chicken And Wild Rice Soup
Corn Side Dish
Mushroom Scramble
Mushroom Rissotto
Mushrooms And A Fresh Egg
Rainbow Trout
Tempranillo Wine
Alaskan Halibut
Cubano Sandwich
Reuben
Chicken Arugala Salad
Shashito Peppers
Open Face Beef Chuck Roast Sandwich
Pork Belly (Buta no Kaku Ni)
Meat And Cheese Plater
Green beans
Roasted Carrots
Crab & Jalepeno Pasta
Pulled Pork Poutine
Strawberry Salad
Meat Loaf With Mashed Potatoes And Grilled Vegetables
Bananna Split
Vegetable Risotto
Cardamom-Spiced Chocolate Pudding
Mushrooms, Potato Strings, Fried Egg, Spinach
Duck Poutine
Snake River Farms Waygu Bone Marrow
Trio of Veggie Sides
Duck Confit With Chard
Wagyu Burger With Streak Fries
Pork Shanks Special
Sugar Snap Peas
Peas Side Dish
Cuban Sandwich
Copper Onion Burger
Parmesan Risotto Balls
Pepper Appetizer
Chicken Special
Pickled Carrots
Spinach Side Dish
Scallops Appetizer Special
Sauteed Mushrooms With Fried Egg And Potato Sticks
Brussel sprouts
French Dip Sandwich
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich
Winter Punch
Beef Stroganoff
Waygu Beef Poutine
Steak
Gorgeous

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
1 More
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

fit for foodies (91)
special occasion (52)
hot spot (48)
See All
great for outdoor dining (45)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (30)
great for brunch (25)
romantic (23)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent evening, wonderful waitress an ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent evening, wonderful waitress and host, could not ask for any better. Great food!!

Can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diverse & interesting menu. Very nice am ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Diverse & interesting menu. Very nice ambiance. Great food.

Great service. The clam w chorizo was super!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the duck was extremely rare uninspiring ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

the duck was extremely rare

uninspiring

bland

$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The location is wonderful and enjoy the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The location is wonderful and enjoy the décor. I've only dined at Copper Onion, maybe, four times because of the noise level. It's difficult to have an intimate conversation. The meal was fine; the crust on the goat cheese was perfect, however, the dumplings were too dense. The flavor of the dumplings was good. Enjoyed the wine. The server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Outstanding food, always! Wonderful and ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding food, always!

Wonderful and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My reservation through opentable was not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My reservation through opentable was not recognized. I called ahead to confirm and was told that I had no reservation and that I ought to try copper kitchen where I probably made my reservation. Even when I showed the hostess my reservation she did not recognize it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall I was pleased with my visit at t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall I was pleased with my visit at the Copper Onion. The food was very good, service was very fast, and drink selection very large. Setting is not ideal for a quiet intimate dinner between to people, some of the seating and table arrangements are small and close together. Come here to enjoy good food,and meet friends and socialize.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like to eat brunch on the covered pat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We like to eat brunch on the covered patio. Very pleasant, noise level low, food always good as well as the service. A nice place to eat in downtown SLC.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, interesting cocktails, decen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, interesting cocktails, decent wine list. A very nice patio for outdoor dining. A good variety of options on the menu, and knowledgable servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and we got to try a new di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service and we got to try a new dish (shrimp ceviche). This is my go-to for a great meal in SLC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to SLC for a business trip from Atl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went to SLC for a business trip from Atlanta. When I found out I would have to do a working lunch, the first place I thought of was Copper Onion. I was disappointed to see the beef stroganoff missing from the menu but when I asked the waiter he said the kitchen might still be able to make it for me. Luckily they did and it was even better than I remembered! Paired with a new favorite mineral water- Vichy Catalan, it was a memorable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at the Copper Onion was very go ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food at the Copper Onion was very good, but the service was not great. One entree was not cooked as requested. As that dish was taking time to be prepared correctly, the other entree got cold. Properly trained staff would have taken away both entrees and brought them back at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We loved the personal attention our wait ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We loved the personal attention our waitress gave us, including the extra bread. All our our food was absolutely amazing, and we will definitely return on our next visit to SLC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always amazing!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! The food NEVER and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love this restaurant! The food NEVER and everyone I take falls in love.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food . Very well done . Servic ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic food . Very well done . Service was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I appreciated that there was no rush. W ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I appreciated that there was no rush. We were encouraged to take our time. Also, the food came at a nice pace so you could enjoy it and have a small break before the next course. The food portions were large so we had leftovers to take home.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Still fighting with the wait staff about ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Still fighting with the wait staff about substituting something healthier for hash browns. And it is still puzzling to me why any business that deals with the public want to annoy customers over what is no big deal elsewhere. What are you thinking!

(Food is good though.)

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The waitstaff seemed rushed and distract ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The waitstaff seemed rushed and distracted, even though our reservation was for 5:30 (granted, it was a Saturday, but the place didn't seem packed). It was our anniversary, and I wanted to ask the waiter to take our picture, but he was never at our table long enough to ask. The drinks and food all came out relatively quickly, which I really appreciate. It was just dropped off really briskly, and we weren't checked on much at all. Our utensils were cleared with our plates, and our dessert was dropped off without utensils so quickly that I couldn't ask for them. It then took me quite a while to flag someone down for utensils. I almost got up to get them for myself. All that aside, the food and drinks were delicious. And we liked the music that was playing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Predictably good with exceptional servic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Predictably good with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always have a good meal and perfect afte ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always have a good meal and perfect after movie place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This may be all the rage in town, and th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This may be all the rage in town, and the hardest restaurant to get into in SLC, but sadly, the hype is better than the experience. Reservation requests must be left on a voicemail, and IF they have something, they'll call back. You're left wondering. Not great for a special occasion. Wine list was fabulous. Every starter was delicious, as was dessert...short and sweet. However, for main courses...anything other than the wagyu stroganoff (at twice the price of others) was hit or miss. As for atmosphere...the noise level had us feeling as if we were in a late night bar, yelling at each other across the table. The chairs were super uncomfortable, and did not encourage diners to linger (but, maybe that's their strategy). Half our group felt ripped off, the other half happy with the value for money, but won't be rushing back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food every time!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, a good experience. The venue wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Overall, a good experience. The venue was very loud and difficult to have a conversation. The food was good with a good portion size. The wine list is good, a bit overpriced, but good. Would recommend for an occasional dinner. If you want to have more of an intimate dinner, this is not the place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Phenomenal. Every last bit was a wonderf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Phenomenal. Every last bit was a wonderful combination of flavors and expertly prepared, and the service was excellent. I would most definitely visit here again next time I am in Salt Lake City.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at the Co ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was our first time dining at the Copper Onion. We had been told that it was outstanding and that we definitely should try it. My son -in-law is a real foodie and if he recommends it then it must be good! So we decided to come for my husband's birthday. Unfortunately, we did not have a positive experience. My husband and myself both ordered the hamburger, he with fries and I ordered the arugula salad. Both burgers were ordered medium and both came completely overcooked with no sight of pink in the middle, which therefore made the meat very dry. My husband's plate had only five fries on it, which was a disappointing serving size. My arugula salad was made with very old, slimy arugula. Sometimes my husband feels that I'm too picky and am too quick to send food back, but he totally agreed that the salad was inedible. I did send the salad back and the waiter sent out a new salad that was fresher. He did not deliver it himself and he never came back to the table to see if things were satisfactory. We both ate our overcooked hamburgers with a great degree of disappointment. My only hope is that perhaps this was just an "off" night and if we ever were to return we might have a better experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Rather disappointed after reading other ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Rather disappointed after reading other reviews. Waiter had an attitude (and not just at our table), tables so close we had conversations with our neighbors, mediocre food. The menu looked a lot better than the food tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

A favorite spot we visit with out of tow ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A favorite spot we visit with out of town guests, and it always lives up to expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was amazing. Food was to die ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. Food was to die for, the beef stroganoff was the best I've ever had. I am coming back to try more options. You all are the bomb.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a little confused when I made the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I was a little confused when I made the reservation for Copper Onion, thinking it was the Copper Commons next door. That straightened out, we were shown to a table directly beneath the air conditioning vent, which made things pretty chilly even on a very hot day.

The food was unique and very good; I had the clams and chorizo pasta, while my wife had the asparagus soup.

The server was also very attentive and kind enough to take a picture for us to help celebrate our wedding anniversary. One of the managers also gave us a cheesecake for dessert, which we normally wouldn't have ordered, but it was very nice.

The place was SO LOUD! I have a bit of a hearing loss, and it was hard to hear my wife and really hard to understand the server. The noise level was so high that it was unpleasant and almost painful. I can't imagine how the employees work there without hearing protection.

What I will refuse to do in the future is book a reservation through Open Table. This outfit is just obnoxious. I don't know how many emails I've received from them over a week's time; maybe eight or nine. And to call me to confirm a restaurant reservation? That's just tacky.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our father's day l ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our father's day lunch. The Brunch Carbonara serving is way too small

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely brunch service on the patio. One ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely brunch service on the patio. One of the best brunch's for a light, delicious meal and with the sun shining on you there's no excuse to not day drink! Favorites are shishito peppers to start, cinnamon rolls and the mushroom scramble. And of course prosecco!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to the Copper O ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is our second visit to the Copper Onion and we were very pleased with our choice again. Food was perfectly prepared and quickly arrived at the table. Wait staff was attentive and handled special needs (gluten free) with no difficulties or errors. Every diner in our group was extremely pleased with their meal. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! The food and service ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We love this place! The food and service are awesome. I was very disappointed to see that they had taken the cherry glazed porkchops off of the menu. We had been raving about them and sending people there to eat them. We live out of town now and were so looking forward to eating them! We still loved the food and would go back...just bring back those porkchops!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal. I managed score last ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding meal. I managed score last minute reservation and enjoyed sitting at chef's table. Every course excellent. Particularly enjoyed the agnolotti and wine selection. Hope return SLC soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot! Food was amazing. Coo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great brunch spot! Food was amazing. Cooked to order and great service from Aimee! Parking is free on Sunday. Very busy and it took a bit to get our check but otherwise a really great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great pork chops!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great pork chops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Locally sourced foods, knowledgeable server

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I was in Salt Lake City on a work trip, and had a $25 dinner voucher. I chose this place because I farm in upstate New York and am always interested in how "farm-to-fork" looks elsewhere. Copper Onion was great, in this respect. The server told me exactly what each dish that I asked about was comprised of, how it was prepared, and where the key ingredients had come from. The food also was delicious.

This restaurant is a bit on the high end, but it's wonderful food and I think it's still a good value. My bill for a small plate of a braised pork belly, a large bowl of an incredible watermelon base gazpacho, a couple of glasses of wine, and a chocolate pudding dessert (more than half of which I took to go and savored the next night) was $61 including the tax and a $10 tip (on $48). The most expensive components were the wine and dessert.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who enjoys simply prepared, locally sourced foods.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef's Counter was great fun. Kale salad ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Chef's Counter was great fun. Kale salad special was the best of what I ordered. Octopus was pretty chewy. Mussels were solid. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place and food was tasty but t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Beautiful place and food was tasty but the tuna was bad ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.