Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About The Copper Onion

The Copper Onion is one of the new additions to the growing Utah foodie scene. Former NYC chef (and native Utahan) Ryan Lowder now brings his personal take on New American cuisine to his own kitchen with an approach inspired by his passion for Utah’s outstanding farmstead ingredients and his experience as a chef cooking his way through Barcelona, NYC and South America. The Copper Onion serves a wide array of vegetable side dishes and a menu designed to explore and share, with plates such as Ricotta Dumplings with lemon, sage and brown butter and Braised Pork Belly with seasonal vegetables. An insistent focus on the freshest and best is paramount; sausages and burgers are ground daily, bread is baked and ice cream is made in house, offering casual diners an exceptional experience at affordable prices.

111 E Broadway
Suite 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm, Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
State St. & 300 S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 355-3282

Website:
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Lowder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Copper Onion Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Fun (29)
Open Kitchen (28)
Casual (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Hot Spot (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Organic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Tapas (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

The quality of the food and the little extras (Bearnaise for the burger as an example) were not there anymore. It might just have been an off night and that I got the wrong things because usually I really like this place. It was still good, just not amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious, the service was great, everything was on point. If you're reading this and haven't made a reservation you better hurry they go fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been to the Copper Onion a few times and the service is always great. However, this last time we went we ordered the bone marrow, duck confit, the house burger, and the lamb riblets. They all had very good potential, but sadly, everything we had that night (and even the last couple of times we went) the food has been too salty. Perhaps because we've always ordered meat? After this last time I don't think we'll go back. I would recommend for drinks, dessert, and a close bite to eat by the Broadway Theatre, but with a caveat about the saltiness of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the mussels, scallops, honey ice cream, cheescake, carbonara, amongst other things. Can't wait to go back. Not one thing was less than expected.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great, attentive staff, and overall great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Best food value for the money restaurant in SLC - always superb experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Copper Onion never disappoints. Not wanting to sit with a heavy meal in our stomachs before the Opera, we decided to share dishes. We started with the goat cheese salad, a panko-breaded medallion of creamy goat cheese on a bed of fresh greens drizzled with a herb vinaigrette. After the first bite I wished that I had it all to myself. Our shared entree was the Cast Iron Mary's Chicken. The clear sauce with the kale and pine nuts was light and tasty. The chicken was just a tad overdone, but still very good. We finished with the chocolate pudding. This is a dessert that should not be shared. It was topped with whipped cream and a pinch of salt, with a touch of olive oil. It was so yummy there was a fight to see who would get the last bite. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Having a reservation made everything very smooth. The restaurant is nice and clean, good looking as well and is one of my wife's favorite places. I get the quality of the experience, but our food this last time was a little lack luster in flavor and warmth. Service was decent in that things came and went in a decent time frame, but I didn't really know who our server was or who I was tipping for it. Great place that I do recommend, was just not as great this time as it has been in the past

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I love the Copper Onion. The food is always amazing. I was disappointed when it was suggested we get a bottle instead of 3 glasses and then noticed the bottle price was more than the cost of 5 separate glasses.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Have rested on their laurels too long. Food quality is down and service is excruciatingly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food! The bone marrow is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food! The server was very nice, but also very rushed, so the service lacked a little. All of the food came to the table at once, the appetizers with the entrees, the timing on this would have made a difference in our experience as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The quality of the menu offerings is unsurpassed! From the higher end steak frites, which was cooked to a perfect medium rare as requested, to the surprise hit of the night, the Griddled Cauliflower (which was as flavorful and substantial as a vegetable can get, I would think), everything was carefully and wonderfully prepared! And service was absolutely top notch!! Even though we arrived for a late evening reservation at 9:45pm, there wasn't even a hint of rushing us, which is somewhat rare in Utah.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his Birthday. I knew beforehand that it was pricey. It was well worth it though. The food was exceptional. Our waiter was attentive, and he had a great attitude. The food though, 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love the copper onion. I've been here several times, and I'm impressed each time. Brunch is awesome. The best way to experience the onion is to have a reservation, though. Otherwise, you'll spend quite a bit of time waiting for a table, especially for brunch and dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This restaurant is amazing. Casual but in a good way. Great food... top notch service. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We are from OH and a friend from SLC recommended the Copper Onion. We had starters, a salad, and the caste iron chicken. It was all amazing. So amazing we made reservations before we left the restaurant to come back the following day. Service was great, company was great, we sat at the chef counter (great) and had an amazing date. Highly recommended. No complaints.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Enjoyed another great meal at Copper Onion. This time was a birthday dinner. Great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. Everything was amazing. The only downside was the noise level.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Fabulous dinner at this restaurant. The service was top-notch and we never felt rushed. The restaurant is not large and don't expect to get a table without reservations.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

In town for a conference. Loved the ricotta dumplings and gourmet burger. Pasta good too. Cheesecake was more interesting than good. Convenient location and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We love the food ALWAYS! And our server Angie is a rockstar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great Food. Small-medium portions, nice place though very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The mussels were fabulous as ever. I definitely recommend them. The romaine salad needed a little more oomph.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was stellar! Service was great, ambience was of this place was awesome. First time eating here and I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I loved the chorizo scramble. It was delicious and I enjoy breakfast here more than lunch and dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was amazing and the options on the menu is very unique. However I didn't like the lack of space in the restaurant, the tables are very close together and it was extremely loud. My date and I could barely have a conversation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is delicious. The recipes are original and the ingredient fusions are genius! The service is extraordinary! The servers are knowledgeable about their dishes. They are attentive and courteous. They are friendly and kind. The pricing on the menu is easily reasonable. I would recommend The Copper Onion to anyone!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Organic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

In a word...awesome! Have tried about 8 different menu items and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Copper Onion continues to excel! My wife and I spend January and February skiing here in Salt Lake City and the Copper Onion is a must every year. This is at least our sixth year and we have always had an excellent meal. We love the sides of Brussel sprouts and Beets. This year the Lamb Riblets and Mussels were outstanding. I can guarantee that what ever you have it will be good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Fantastic food. I really loved it. Service was terrific and quick. Great for a date or business lunch. Prices were really reasonable for the quality of food. This is really an outstanding restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food. Great service. Craft cocktails. Must try: Beef Stroganoff!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I have loved Copper Onion. I was disappointed this last time that the menu has not changed. It is beginning to feel dated. It is time for an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

In SLC for a conference and had heard good things about this place so made a reservation. Everything was great. Three of us seated at a shared table. I had the triple I loved the lentils and beets sides, my coworker liked the brussel sprouts and I thought they were good (but those lentils made me smile). The pasta putanesca rivaled the best putanesca I have had. We shared the chevre cheesecake which was rich and tasty with a marmalade like compote. Terrific service from a great woman who had mad betty boop meets Rosie the riveter style. Great night

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our food and service we spot on! They make all their own bread, which adds a special touch!The house olives and pickles are a great way to start the meal! We will be back to try more of the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was phenomenal, our waitress Angie was top tier in terms of friendliness and professionalism. She deserves a raise.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious, wonderful ambiance and service. It has become our go to for fine dining on special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentine's Day. The environment was greasy and the service was phenomenal. My girlfriend loved it and it was very romantic

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The stroganoff is to die For!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service is always top notch. The food is absolutely amazing! If you want the best beef stroganoff you've ever eaten, go to Copper Onion. We have never been let down on the food and service. It's definitely one of our most favorite restaurants in SLC. Be sure to plan in advance and book a reservation. Fun place and great ambience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.