About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Great for Lunch
New Mexico
Contemporary American
New Mexico
9 More
Most Booked
New Mexico
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Contemporary American
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (90)
fit for foodies (79)
romantic (60)
See All
great for lunch (50)
notable wine list (47)
great for outdoor dining (34)
neighborhood gem (32)
good for groups (14)
great for brunch (13)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I try to stop by The Compund at least on ...

Dined 6 days ago

I try to stop by The Compund at least once when I am in SF. They're still on their game. Pricey, but excellent food and service and great wine list, and knowledgeable somm. All good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Thrilled to catch Chanterelles season, b ...

Dined 7 days ago

Thrilled to catch Chanterelles season, but still love the polenta with wild mushrooms for a table share. Lobster Salad not to be missed. For lunch, you can't make a mistake with anything ono the menu

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As The Compound enjoys an absolutely ast ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

As The Compound enjoys an absolutely astounding reputation, I was probably looking to be "blown out of the water." It was quite good, but not really exceptional. The waiter was quite nice to have the bar fix a white sangria for me, a nice summer drink which few places offer. I found the menu unimpressive, offering rather bizarre starters which you have to be in the mood for. There was only one salad offered, and no cold soup offered on a hot summer day. The entrees were limited. I had the salmon, which was quite good but nothing that made my eyebrows lift with surprise or delight. My companions enjoyed their entrees but without excitement. The Compound is a perfectly good restaurant with no major flaws, but also no major delights or surprises. As the owner is the only James Beard winner in the area, as the restaurant has a superlative reputation, and as Santa Fe is filled with excellent dining opportunities . . . I just expected more. Not disappointed at all, just not impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a dinner meeting. Both the atmosp ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a dinner meeting. Both the atmosphere and the taste of the dishes were good. And the staffs were so fantastic !!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not disappointed as we went here for lun ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Not disappointed as we went here for lunch. had not been for years. were traveling from abq to taos. Excellent seafood salad and stacked salad. very good carrot cake. Service a wee bit lax as waiter seemed over stretched, but still very good. A must stop for you foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

They tried very hard, but were pretentio ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

They tried very hard, but were pretentious and the waiter was on top of us. Food was very good, but not so special. Restaurant was empty. My husband's steak first came overcooked, then undercooked. My Fish was overcooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to The Compound while vacationing ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

I went to The Compound while vacationing and a practice of mine is to go to fancier, high-end restaurants for lunch instead of dinner to save money. We were surprised by the small-looking portions but surprised again to feel full after consuming the decadently flavored meal. I was also pleased that one of their specials was a vegetarian dish because I mentioned when making the reservation that my guest as a vegetarian. This is an excellently serviced establishment with delicious food and a beautiful location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For fine dining, ambiance and excellent ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

For fine dining, ambiance and excellent service the Compound is in a class of its own, exceptional!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Without question, one of the most elegan ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Without question, one of the most elegant and intimate dining experiences in Santa Fe. But, I am biased. I had the first date with my wife in 1973 here! So, the nostalgia factor is heavily weighted whenever I dine here. However, I must say that this establishment has retained its superlative standards for decades. It is a "go-to" place for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

Well I did not like my entree. My husban ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Well I did not like my entree. My husband sent his back as it was over cooked. They gave us great free desserts but I would not eat there again nor recommend it. Too many great restaurants in area

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We were very disappointed in the food. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. We have been dining at the Compound for 30+ years, and although the service was excellent, the rest of our experience was mediocre. I'm not sure why, but something has changed besides the decorating.

food5
ambience4
service4

The beef Tenderloin was amazing.

Dined on June 12, 2016

The beef Tenderloin was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The compound is a gem. We loved it. I ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The compound is a gem. We loved it. I had the fillet. The plate was beautifully arranged. Immediately after my first bite, I realized why I was not given a steak knife. The beef was so tender and deliciously seasoned it just melted in my mouth! We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We've eaten at the Compound many times over the years. My salmon was excellent. (dinner) My partner's duck was poor, dry and tough. (dinner). Service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting, great ambience and the f ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Lovely setting, great ambience and the food was outstanding Too many choices so we must go back to try the other entrees, certainly not a hardship.

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband's favorite restaurant in Sant ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband's favorite restaurant in Santa Fe! We return most every time we're in Santa Fe ... Tenderloin fantastic and perfectly prepared, morel mushrooms a delicious accompaniment to our steak! Service impeccable. Never disappointed ... A must for every visitor seeking an unmatched, fine-dining experience. Outside seating is beautiful ... Request it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Still one of the top 5 in SF. Strongly u ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Still one of the top 5 in SF. Strongly urge first timers to dine here v

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Classic & Classy

Dined on May 30, 2016

A delightful lunch at this beautiful restaurant. High quality, mostly 'classic' dishes (though a few innovative offerings). A friendly server. A better than good wine list (tilted a bit towards old guard producers, rather than cool, new producers (did have a very nice Provence rose by the glass). Good value for the quality of the food/room /service. If its nice, DO sit outside....absolutely lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a few truly venerable Santa Fe restaurants

Dined on May 28, 2016

Continues to be one of our first choices for a first-class, enjoyable and relaxing dinner in an understated setting. The food continues to be excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great lunch when visitors are in town

Dined on May 25, 2016

The Compound is always our choice for lunch when friends are on town. The pastrami sandwich, the stacked salad, and the buffalo burger our all outstanding choices. It's a special place for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was terrible. Thewaterhadto ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was terrible. Thewaterhadtobeasked3xforbread.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was supurb and the s ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

As always, the food was supurb and the service was excellent. Have never been even slightly disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Santa Fe! Chef Mark K ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Best restaurant in Santa Fe! Chef Mark Kiffin definitely amazes! Our server, Alejandro was exceptional and made our evening extraordinary. The sommelier was equally impressive. A fantastic dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first dining experience with The Compound, and my husband and I could not have been more pleased. The service was phenomenal and the food superb. My husband and I ate at a much more touted establishment, also on Canyon Road, the night before, it it paled in comparison!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never disappoints. T ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The chicken schnitzel is legendary, and the hamburgers are a transcendental experience. This visit I tried the stacked salad. Primo! The fabulous service is the best part of all. Spoil yourself and come here for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous..... as usual!

Dined on May 19, 2016

My realtor and I went to The Compound to celebrate the closing on my new home in Santa Fe. It was perfect: fabulously delicious meal, great service, delightfully homey ambiance and yummy wine. Could not have been any more satisfying. Thank you for nailing it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

We had been here a few years ago and rem ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We had been here a few years ago and remembered it as great. This time service was slow, the waiter spilled wine all over my glass and had to be asked to wipe it off. The main complaint is the food was poor. Ordered the duck, and while the accompaniments were good the filet size piece of duck was so tuff as to be inedible. They comped us one meal, but with limited nights in Santa Fe it was so disappointing to have wasted the night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lunch visit was for a special occasi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our lunch visit was for a special occasion-big birthday-and we definitely chose the right spot. Love the understated elegance, light and decor in the restaurant. Our server, Mario was attentive and helpful with our menu selections. When time for dessert, the plate was decorated with Birthday wishes in chocolate to me. That was special. Hostess was giving a tour to some women about the property and we were able to share some of the information. The Compound is a Santa Fe jewel!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on May 11, 2016

Very elegant, understated dining room. The friendly staff greeted us warmly, and David, our server, was very pleasant and personable without being too intrusive. He knew both the menu and the wine list. He gave us time for cocktails without trying to rush us. The food was very good, although the menu seems a little outdated. I'm sure the regulars encourage that. Everything was well made and well presented. Some seasonings were off a little bit, and some could have used a touch more salt, but those are minor, minor quibbles. The desserts were beautiful and flavorful. The wine list is extensive, but the range of choices could be broader and less high end. Part of that is due to a healthy markup. Still, a wonderful place for a celebratory event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the finest restaurants you could ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

One of the finest restaurants you could find. The chicken schnitzel was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food & service were excellent as always. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food & service were excellent as always. It is a bit pricey both for food & wine especially with small wine pours @ $ 14.00 & $17.00 per glass! So. It IS a special occasion place in our book!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

We've eaten here in the past and have always enjoyed it. While fairly expensive, the choices, preparations, and service made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Culinary Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food, service, wine list are truly outstanding in every respect. You won't find a better restaurant in the entire region.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Overrated Compound

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Hyde didn't match reality. Tables are very close...enough to hear everyone's conversation. Service was not personal...more routine and robotic. Hostess was not very happy to be there. Food was good but got lost in the other distractions noted above.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our best meals ever!!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

My mother and I met in Sante Fe from opposite sides of the country to celebrate our birthdays. We went to The Compound for lunch and split the sweetbreads & foix gras appetizer and the Wagyu beef burger. The appetizer was simply outstanding, the best we have ever had. The burger was absolutely delicious, perfectly done and perfectly seasoned, with a nicely toasted bun. The entire lunch was one of the best meals we have ever had in our lives.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

25th Anniversary

Dined on April 16, 2016

Booked a place for two at the Compound's bar for my 25th Anniversary. Have been here before for special occassions and this didnot disappoint. First, the bar seats 12, need reservations-great scene, locals (us), out of towners, various walks of life, all interacting. My only complaint was that the duck breast in the duck charcuterie was tough. Had great oysters to begin, along with a wonderful asparagus saled. My wife's lobster risotto got rave reviews. Desert was served in a decorated plate with a "25th Happy Anniversary" logo piped onto it in chocolate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to restaurant during every visit t ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

My go-to restaurant during every visit to Santa Fe! Dinner is always a treat, but I religiously go there at lunch for the cheeseburger...absolutely the best. Cooked to perfection every time. Love this place. Quiet elegance, but never stuffy. A gem.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never Disappoints.....

Dined on April 9, 2016

LOVE the Compound. Every time we go to Santa Fe, it's a must whether for lunch or dinner. The food is stellar!!! I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good but not outstanding

Dined on April 3, 2016

I've eaten at The Compound before and found it truly exceptional. Absolutely outstanding. This time around I was disappointed. I don't think I've written more than one critical review ever, so this is very unusual. Let me say first that the "Compound Square" cocktail was fantastic as was the glass of Barbera I ordered. Service was also superb. As an appetizer we had the morel mushrooms. They weren't well cleaned so they were somewhat gritty, and their flavor was overwhelmed by the beurre blanc sauce in which they were prepared. The salad with horseradish was just OK, kind of a Caesar salad with horseradish added to the dressing. Nothing special. Finally, my lamb shank was was oddly dry. I don't think I've ever had a dry lamb shank before. The "chickpea fries" that accompanied it didn't bring much to the entree either. So there you go. I think The Compound is a great restaurant but at least for me, this wasn't their night.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch at The Compound

Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose The Compound for Easter Brunch because it is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe, and the special menu that was emailed in advance looked great. We were seated upstairs in a very quiet dining room, which was nice but didn't have the ambience the main dining room has. It took our server a pretty long time to take our drink orders, and when they finially arrived, one was left out. We decided to order the Chicken & Waffles, which was a special we read about online. However, it wasn't on the menu that was printed for that day. That disappointment aside, everything else was great including special cocktails and food. The spring pea soup is quite lovely. To make up for the lack of chicken & waffles, the waiter gave us each a dessert on the house. We ordered one of each dessert offered, four in all, and couldn't decide which was the most fabulous. We will continue to dine at The Compound because all in all, it's very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.