About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
5 More
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Contemporary American
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (75)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Romantic (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Historic (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (18)
Authentic (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (10)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Fireplace (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Scenic View (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Organic (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great. Our seating was not. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was great. Our seating was not. Was celebrating a special occasion and our seating was awkward, between a busy aisle with a table that faced toward the aisle, not towards your company. I wish we would have changed tables. The service was Ok, waiter forgot about something I asked for and had to ask another server several

Times. Would recommend to try at least once. Was expecting a better experience for the price I paid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Absolutely never fails in either present ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely never fails in either presentation or, more importantly, taste and quality! The foie gras and sweet breads is my wife's favorite starter-sheer perfection. My wife had the salmon and I the swordfish, each of us left quite pleased and content with the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Wonderful wine list. Ver ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious food. Wonderful wine list. Very slow between salad and entree. Waited half hour after salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food with a menu full of options f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food with a menu full of options for everyone. I liked that there were non-alcoholic cocktails as I was taking medication and could not have alcohol. The polenta was perfectly paired with the mushrooms and the lamb melted in the mouth. Perfection! Our service was uneven- no one at the door when we arrived, seated by a waiter. We were much younger than the average patron that night and the waiter made several comments about cost. I think this was trying to be kind, but was uncomfortable. Parking is not well marked- you must turn down a long dark drive to get close to the restaurant or take a long walk home in the dark:)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

From the time we arrived, until the time ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

From the time we arrived, until the time we left, we felt special and valued. Sean, our waiter, went out of his way to make us comfortable and perfectly accommodated. His sense of seeing to our needs and mixing in humor and pleasant conversation was awesome. The environment was classy....upscale.....just what we were expecting from the advertisements we reviewed prior to. The food was absolutely tasteful.....well-portioned.....and beautifully plated. Overall, a most memorable experience for the entire family.

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!! Our waiter/server was wonde ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great Food!! Our waiter/server was wonderful, great attitude and friendly--overall it was a great night--will return in the near future---can't say much about the hostess (was not friendly and looked at us like you don't belong in this establishment) but oh well!!! I guess cowboy hats give some people the wrong impression!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love dining in the bar. The bartender wa ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love dining in the bar. The bartender was amazing. Don't miss the onion rings!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Sean was great, he made sure werw good t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sean was great, he made sure werw good the entire night. The food was awesome! My wife loved the lobster.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a very friendly and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food with a very friendly and attentive waiter. One of our best meals in Santa Fe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appetizers were very good, the foie ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our appetizers were very good, the foie gras, the prawns & the broccolini. The main courses were good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful experience, staff, service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful experience, staff, service and food were fantastic. I highly recommended this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoy eating at the Compound w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We really enjoy eating at the Compound when we visit Santa Fe. It's been a must for several years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and wonderful service. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Love the Compound.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going for years and never disa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Have been going for years and never disappoints! Seasonal menu offerings are a gem! Service is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fantastic meal, superb service, a beau ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

A fantastic meal, superb service, a beautiful venue. Hard to top that hat-trick. Rivals any fine restaurant we have ever been to. Recommended without exception.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been waiting years to go here and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I had been waiting years to go here and I was not diappointed. The service was friendly even though upscale formal. The food is amazing - very well done all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary at T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary at The Compound, and it was the best night and dinner we had in Santa Fe! Loved the atmosphere, the food was wonderful, and we had the best waiter! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner meal selections were outstanding. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dinner meal selections were outstanding. Superb service; staff is very well trained. Romantic setting. Owner chef stopped by to make sure we were satisfied with our dinner and device

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food and service. A must whe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Exceptional food and service. A must when in Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the off season so the restaurant wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It's the off season so the restaurant was empty for lunch. Our waiter had plenty of time to provide superior service, and did. His recommendation of wine was perfect. Lunch, well, not so much. First, the good. Fall carrot soup was superb. Really perfection. I ordered the Scottish salmon. The lunch-sized portion was cooked perfectly. The little bit of nameless sauce it sat in was unidentifiable. I'm not sure how one can make rainbow chard with golden raisins & crispy shallots tasteless, but it was. Completely. I love chard and this was a bit undercooked and undistinguished. Which describes the main course.

Desserts: chocolate fig ice cream was exceptional. Apple-cider sorbet wasn't a sorbet at all, the consistency was rough like a granita, and it was almost tasteless. All in all, an undistinguished lunch from a restaurant that should know better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We knew it would be a good night when ou ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We knew it would be a good night when our server, Freddie, approached the table. He was attentive without being smothering! Explained all of our questions with intricate detail. My wife enjoyed the beef tenderloin while I savored the lamb shank! Will definitely return on our next visit to Santa Fe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely anniversary celebration ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had a lovely anniversary celebration at The Compound. Service was appropriately "slow," being just right for the occasion. The food was excellent and we enjoyed our server as well. Although we were stuffed and couldn't finish our meals, we also got a complimentary dessert to celebrate our special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about our visit to the Compou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Everything about our visit to the Compound was enjoyable. Although we arrived early for our lunch reservation, we were seated right away, in a room that was warm and inviting. The butter lettuce and tomato salad was fresh,crisp and dressed perfectly. My shrimp and was perfect in that the grits were creamy and tasty and the rock shrimp were perfectly cooked and delicious. My husband found the wagu burger to be delicious and cooked to order. Our server was friendly and helpful, along with being attentive to our needs.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely as always! Amazing service!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Lovely as always! Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The schnitzel was excellent and prepared ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The schnitzel was excellent and prepared especially for our guest. The salmon was delicious. The tenderloin was slightly overcooked. The starters were excellent. The service was not as attentive as usual. Maybe Monday night is an off night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food, presentation and service was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food, presentation and service was amazing. I would go back in a minute, as well as the 5 others in our party.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Love how they change ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Never disappoints! Love how they change the standards according to the season. Always fresh and innovative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Very "white" tablecloth a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing food! Very "white" tablecloth atmosphere. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love The Compound and always make a p ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love The Compound and always make a point dining there whenever we are in the vicinity of Santa Fe. It's a very popular restaurant, so make reservations in advance. The food is amazing! We love the ambiance of the restaurant. I think it's the best restaurant in Santa Fe!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, The Compound delivers: wonde ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As always, The Compound delivers: wonderful, carefully prepared food,

excellent service in a beautiful restaurant. Must say that your choices

listed above, only somewhat apply to The Compound and miss much of what

makes the Compound a total standout. It is a classic Santa Fe restaurant that

can hold it's own anywhere -- but has the ambience of Santa Fe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think the compound is outstanding and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I think the compound is outstanding and as a resident of S.F. like to eat at the compound for special occasions..however my last visit the waiter was not on top of things..I was surprised.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience! Seated at a perfect t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great experience! Seated at a perfect table location and the service was most attentive and engaging on a very busy full house evening! Quite enjoyable !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Santa Fe for a weekend getawa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were in Santa Fe for a weekend getaway and a friend of ours recommended The Compound for lunch. We had a late lunch reservation so there was only one other table occupied. Therefore the atmosphere was quiet and uneventful. We had hoped to get a table on the patio and were disappointed to find they had closed it two weeks prior. The weather was absolutely perfect, sunny and 74 degrees. What restaurant does not allow guests on their patio with weather like this?

The service was good; our waiter attentive. I ordered the Stacked Salad which was excellent. My husband ordered the Shrimp & Grits, his meal was disappointing. Both the portion size and the shrimp was small. Luckily bread was on the table, otherwise he would have walked away hungry. I believe our experience would have been better if the restaurant was more crowded.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Lovely evening in a quiet, calm tranquil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Lovely evening in a quiet, calm tranquil setting. The menu selection was choice with a delicious

variety of game meat and veggies to accompany. We started with the tasty polenta and wild

mushroom dish to share. Divine. Wanting to try 2 different taste choices for our dinner, we ordered the quail and roast pork. Perfectly presented, awesome & delicous. Portions were very generous. It will be so nice to enjoy another wonderful evening at the Compound again soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the ambiance. Our server, Sean, was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love the ambiance. Our server, Sean, was witty and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Santa Fe restaurant; enjoy eati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Favorite Santa Fe restaurant; enjoy eating in the bar, on patio, and in restaurant depending on the occasion. Always good service, good food.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A lovely setting...ambiance was very spe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A lovely setting...ambiance was very special. Service was excellent. This is a very expensive restaurant so for special occasions or affluent people. My husband had the pork which was excellent but I had the chicken breast with gnocci which was bland beyond belief, especially for Santa Fe... They really need to take the chicken off the menu. I never complain but gave the waiter this feedback since I really liked the restaurant and would love to go again and try something else on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding dinner! Great location, grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Outstanding dinner! Great location, great food, great service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in the world ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 6, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the world. The cocktails are fabulous and the meals my wife and I had were mouth watering. We love The Compound and always plan on eating at this restaurant whenever we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Certainly the most beautiful restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Certainly the most beautiful restaurant in Santa Fe - with great food and wine, good service, and given the quality of the food, not too expensive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.