About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
4 More
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Contemporary American
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (132)
Fit for Foodies (117)
Romantic (90)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (83)
Great for Lunch (69)
Notable Wine List (64)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Brunch (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Scenic View (11)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch at The Compound was disappointing. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lunch at The Compound was disappointing. We had flies buzzing around us the entire time, landing on our faces and meals. And we had been seated inside, not out. My partner's dish was excellent. Mine was just OK. The decor seems dated, banquettes are not terribly comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I know restaurants, and The Compound is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I know restaurants, and The Compound is one of the best I have eaten in snce I left NYC 25 years ago. Do give it a try, you won't be disappointed. Note that if you want to eat on the patio be sure to specify that when making a reservation. If you book using Open Table follow that up with a call to the restaurant to request a patio table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most outstanding restaurants ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the most outstanding restaurants in Santa Fe. Local favorite as well as the tourist trade.

Service and ambiance is always good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food not up to expectations, service slo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food not up to expectations, service slow, inconsistent, has lost ground in recent years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

An absolutely impeccable setting with tr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

An absolutely impeccable setting with tremendous and imaginatively prepared food topped with wonderful wines and professional service.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our foursome enjoyed every aspect of din ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our foursome enjoyed every aspect of dining in the wonderful restaurant and will look forward to our next trip to Santa Fe including a repeat visit to the Compound!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at the compound for years. F ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have dined at the compound for years. Food good, but not as good as about 2 to 3 years back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a highlight of my Santa Fe stay! ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a highlight of my Santa Fe stay! This is possibly the classiest place in town, and their high standard has been maintained throughout the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of my favorites in Santa Fe. Food, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorites in Santa Fe. Food, drinks and service always consistently GOOD!

Thank you Compound for being a aweome place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance & food, but staff seemed ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great ambiance & food, but staff seemed over worked as we had to flag them down for service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Yes, it's pricey, but this is Santa Fe. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Yes, it's pricey, but this is Santa Fe. And the food was amazing, no complaints. I had the chicken breast, which I usually wouldn't order since it's often dull. This was perfection. Chocolate Baked Alaska for dessert was to die for. The atmosphere is quiet and Southwestern without being over the top. The service, unfortunately, was spotty. Sean/Shawn was our waiter. He was very attentive at first, just the right blend of respectful and friendly. But as soon as we had ordered our food and wine, he disappeared. His "backup" had to take care of us. He never came and checked on whether we needed anything, including pouring more wine. Finally, when we were having dessert, he reappeared and was all friendly and jovial. Not the kind of service you expect at a top-tier place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Compound is like a hidden jewel to b ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Compound is like a hidden jewel to be treasured.

The ONLY thing that would have our dinner perfect, was not trying to bite into our brick-hard cherry tart.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Compound continues to be one of the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Compound continues to be one of the best in Santa Fe. The front desk tends to be a bit snobby, but do the job....they seem to want to argue if one is not happy with the initial table selection....they tell you all the other tables are reserved... Food is always good, menu seems to change occasionally for lunch..table servers are above the usual quality for Santa Fe, but some are not totally knowledgeable of menu, etc...Wine list is very diverse, and as expected in Santa Fe, expensive...We have had an annual luncheon with friends for 9 years during Opera Week, and all enjoy the experience very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Simply and always the best. The Compound ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Simply and always the best. The Compound is a must whenever I visit Santa Fe. The food delivers in spades--fresh and local, interesting blending of ingredients, unforgettable flavors, unique, and always breath taking presentation visually. The service is stellar--knowledgeable, available, and yet never intrusive. The room is understated as ever and gorgeous. Such a fabulous evening for all the senses. Cannot wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, presentation and service conti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food, presentation and service continue to be a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a lovely evening at the Compound ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a lovely evening at the Compound -- excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not make that reservation and thus ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I did not make that reservation and thus cannot give you relevant feedback

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Meats were overdone Caesar salad had no ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Meats were overdone Caesar salad had no dressing tasted like water menu limited for an expensive dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

There were four of us. Three of our lunc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

There were four of us. Three of our lunches were fine. The 4th - a lobster and crab main dish salad had one small piece of lobster and one small piece of crab. Service was deplorable! After getting an initial cocktail, we were not asked if we wished another or wine. We were at the table an hour and a quarter before we got served. We were never offered more water or coffee after finishing. We finally had to ask the manager for water. The final problem was that our waiter bussed other empty tables while ours was filled with dirty dishes and glasses. This was probably the worst service I've had anywhere ever! And I was the hostess of the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

A Santa Fe standard which has not lost i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A Santa Fe standard which has not lost its luster over the past 8 years.

food always excellent, service may vary but ambience makes it a great venue

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Compound provided an excellent dinin ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Compound provided an excellent dining experience for my best friend and me. Staff were all so gracious and professional. The only downside was the arrival of a load mouth guest and what appeared to be his female escort for the evening. This couple cut our visit short since we were not too interested in listening to their simplistic and loud conversation. We realize that not much can be done about loud mouths like that; just a stroke of bad luck for us that evening. We'll return to the Compound for some more delicious meals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I booked this restaurant for my parents ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I booked this restaurant for my parents to enjoy a special birthday lunch. I called in advance and asked if I could do something special for my mom's birthday, like order a dessert or something in advance. They told me that what they usually do is to write happy birthday on a plate, then if dessert is ordered the bring it out on that plate. If no dessert is ordered, they still bring it out but with cookies to enjoy after the meal. I said that this sounded great, and he said that it was noted.

They came home, said the food was good and the ambiance lovely. But no one had wished my mom happy birthday. And there had been no plate of cookies or special greetings.

This is a special occasion place, so this is a real bummer. Would recommend choosing somewhere else if you have anything like this in mind.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

A lovely place. A bit snooty but great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A lovely place. A bit snooty but great atmosphere and food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a truly special dining experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a truly special dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sweetbreads were not exceptional. th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Sweetbreads were not exceptional. the sauce was disappointing and the portion was very small. The Soft-Shell Crab were okay but more batter than Crab.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Santa Fe has so many great choices for S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Santa Fe has so many great choices for South Western food. But the Compound creates a very elegant continental menu. Known for their fois gras, & dinner menu, lunch is just as great and has many choices. I had a great chicken schnitzel , with sautéed spinach. Friends had the Compound burger, big and great fries, jumbo crab & Lobster salad, and the Carolina soft shell crab. Everyone was totally pleased. A very sophisticated atmosphere, easy parking and fun to see the surrounding galleries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The flower arrangement needs to be toss ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The flower arrangement needs to be tossed and replaced with regularly designed REAL blossoms. Especially true for the busy summer season.

The one they have has been there for over a year and is faux.

Reflects on the overall quality of the property including the food and service. (Which I rated quite high)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love eating here - especially outdoors. ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love eating here - especially outdoors. Food and experience is always A+. Ask for one of Sam's tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Saved this restaurant for a special occa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Saved this restaurant for a special occasion. Spent a lot of money to get a very fine wine and what should have been an outstanding supper. Started with drinks, mine was not made the way I ordered it with lime juice instead of Rose's and a lime wedge instead of olives, Strike 1. We each ordered an appetizer. They took over 1/2 hour to arrive and by then we had both finished our drinks (they were chosen to go with our appetizers) and were starting into our dinner wine, which had been delivered a few minutes after our drinks. My appetizer was supposed to be similar to a bruschetta (but with a fancier name) on toasted sourdough. It was a sourdough round, but was not toasted and difficult to eat as it all turned into mush. Strike 2. We both ordered the beef tenderloin "medium rare", but they came out rare and still dripping some blood. Strike 3. Our waiter offered to provide a different entrée, but by then, we were ready for dessert and a check. Shawn, our waiter offered to provide two glasses of port for free and we took him up on it. He also told the manager, who never came to our table to apologize, but they took $18.00 off the bill. Little compensation for a dinner that should have been much better for nearly $400 for two. Next time, I'll go across the street to Geronimo.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

On our annual visit to Santa Fe for the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

On our annual visit to Santa Fe for the Opera and the many other wonderful cultural activities this place has to offer, we always have at least one meal at The Compound. Over a period of fifteen years, we have never been disappointed with anything about this fine dining establishment. We hope to continue our return trips to Santa Fe for many more years and fully expect to return to The Compound each time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

ALWAYS IMPRESSES BUT FEELS COMFORTABLE, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

ALWAYS IMPRESSES BUT FEELS COMFORTABLE, GORGEOUS CLASSIC INTERIOR DESIGNED BY ALEXANDER GIRARD [SEE FOLK ART MUSEUM!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly awful. Arrived at 6:30 -- ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Surprisingly awful. Arrived at 6:30 -- first time we saw a waiter to take a drink order was 7:00 -- I had no appetizer and my main course (mediocre food at that) did not arrive until 8:00, one an a half hours after we arrived and sat down. There were several empty tables, so could not blame the average food and lousy service on a crowded Sunday night. Did not stay for dessert and could not wait to get out of there. Will not go back again for some time -- and suggest others try the several good restaurants in Santa Fe instead.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Lobster was great, as was the wine selec ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Lobster was great, as was the wine selected by the wine steward. However, the quail with foie gras was very light on the foie and what was there was dry and crumbly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Every dish was perfect and inventive, th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Every dish was perfect and inventive, the room was charming and the wait staff had us totally charmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stacked salad and Maryland crab cake wer ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Stacked salad and Maryland crab cake were superb! As great a lunch spot in Santa Fe as there is!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in Santa Fe. Rarel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Some of the best food in Santa Fe. Rarely a culinary misfire. Good at lunch and dinner. Not a restaurant for active children and toddlers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a nice evening with friends. Very ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a nice evening with friends. Very limited wine list; focus on domestics & prices high with almost no variation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the whole experience. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the whole experience. It was our first time and didn't disappoint. The service was perfect. The food was delicious - well prepared and presented. We enjoyed the crostini appetizer. Our entrees, wild mushrooms with organic polenta and pork tenderloin with sweet potato gratin were excellent. We shared a chocolate/sweet cherry dessert which was also memorable. The waiter recommended a nice pinot noir which paired perfectly with both entrees. We'll return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our go to standard for fine dining in Sa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our go to standard for fine dining in Santa Fe for many years. Why go anywhere else?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my go-to place when I come to Sa ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is my go-to place when I come to Santa Fe and it never disappoints. Whether the dish is complex or simple, the flavored are wonderful and the preparation is superb. The servers are all helpful and welcoming, and the chef was very willing to answer my cooking questions. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Outdoor Eating, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.