About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New Mexico
Contemporary American
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
8 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Contemporary American
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (96)
fit for foodies (93)
romantic (62)
See All
great for lunch (53)
great for outdoor dining (48)
notable wine list (47)
neighborhood gem (34)
vibrant bar scene (13)
good for groups (13)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (7)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our main waiter did not pay attention to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our main waiter did not pay attention to his surroundings

as our cell phone was on the table and he quickly took the menus knocking the phone off onto the stone patio which cracked the screen. He did not offer any compensation not even a free drink . In addition from the beginning he was rude, rushed us, and did not know the specials .

I left my number for the manager to follow up with this incident but I have not received a response .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Never disappoints us and always is consi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Never disappoints us and always is consistent. Enjoyed having my birthday lunch there.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful special occasion pla ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a wonderful special occasion place. The tables in the courtyard are really beautiful . All the staff was warm and gracious. If we lived in the Santa Fe/Albequerque area, this would always be our special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly one of Santa Fe's gems on the rest ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Truly one of Santa Fe's gems on the restaurant scene. We had eaten a late lunch, so opted to skip appetizers (despite several that sounded absolutely wonderful), and chose well-made Martinis instead. While drinking them, we watched a magnificent sunset during a light rain, so the scenery sitting along the western side of the restaurant was serendipitous!

My wife had a balsamic grilled chicken breast with lardo and kale gnocchi with grilled corn, which was simply outstanding, and I had a Scottish salmon, roasted to perfection and full of flavor. Wine by-the-glass selection was good, as we were able to find wines that complemented our dishes very well. Our dessert was not only unusual, but one of the best we've ever eaten: a panna cotta with peaches, caramelized corn and a bit of Grand Marnier--outstanding!

Our server was highly efficient, but had all the charisma of a dishrag. That is the only fault I could find with this wonderful restaurant. (It's located just off Canyon Road, near the top of the art gallery section, and has ample parking.)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My kale salad was so salty it was almost ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

My kale salad was so salty it was almost inedible. Service was fine but it was crowded and noisy in the back yard. It's nice that there is parking. Notc really worth the money. I prefer Geronimo for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Totally outstanding. Definitely back in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Totally outstanding. Definitely back in the game.

Adored the quail and the salmon. Lovely service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overhearing a waiter complaining to anot ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

Overhearing a waiter complaining to another about a nearby table's "under- ordering" is not sexy. I understand that your tips is a function of the guest's total tab-- to vocally express this within earshot of other diners is simply uncouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Eat here every time I'm in Santa Fe. It ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Eat here every time I'm in Santa Fe. It is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is excellent and service friendly-a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food is excellent and service friendly-a fantastic place to eat

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the two best restaurants in Santa ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the two best restaurants in Santa Fe. Here & Arroyo Vino. everything was prepared excellently. Service was not up to the quality of the food, but good not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Compound is that special restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Compound is that special restaurant that you take special friends to or to celebrate a special event. The chef is an excellent creator and will stop by your table and engage you in your opinion of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a 25th wedding anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was a 25th wedding anniversary dinner, for me and my husband. the atmosphere was romantic and the ambiance was beautiful. The food was excellent! They sat us outside in the garden area, which made our date very special. The staff was very attentive also.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and absolutely the bes ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent service and absolutely the best fish and onion rings I have ever eaten. The prices are excellent. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing was terrible but nothing was ter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nothing was terrible but nothing was terrific. My food tasted like Fall dishes but it was 95 degrees in the middle of summer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Having been in Santa Fe almost 3 weeks w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Having been in Santa Fe almost 3 weeks we were looking for special places we had not yet tried. to have one of our last dinners here. From the moment we walked in we were treat like royalty. The very professional staff made us feel welcome and at home. Restaurants of this caliber often generate intimidation bu there was none if that here. Offered the wine list we settled on a server-recommend rose that was perfectly chilled and delicious.

For a starter I ordered soft shell crab stuffed with Jumbo Crab Remoulade, Summer Sweet Corn & Tomato, Red Pepper Coulis that rendered it the best such dish I have ever had. The halibut entree was perfect. Served with Portuguese Chorizo, Potato, Garlic & Pimento, Almond Romesco, Saffron Aioli & Hen Glaze it was a delight not soon to be repeated.

My wife ordered a stater of a "daily special" mushroom dish with vegetable ingredients I cannot remember and all prepared to perfection. Lacking a big appetite she then settled on a bowl of ummer Tomato Soup with Creole Barbecued Shrimp & Buttermilk Biscuit. Both were memorable and satisfying.

I plan to return to Santa Fe frequently and when I do an early stop at the Compound is on the list so I can continue to sample this wonderful menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great setting for a relaxed "fine dining ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great setting for a relaxed "fine dining" lunch. Food, wine and service couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fifth visit to The Compound and it n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our fifth visit to The Compound and it never disappoints! We live out of state and our last visit there was two years ago. We were thrilled that it continues to be outstanding in every way. Lots of excellent menu options and we particularly enjoyed the soft shell crab and the halibut. Service is outstanding--efficient and friendly but not obtrusive. No one rushed us through our meal. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch had a better atmosphere than dinne ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Lunch had a better atmosphere than dinner. Food was excellent, wine choice fabulous. Unfortunately, service was not good. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

A noteworthy meal from the Martinis to t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A noteworthy meal from the Martinis to the main course.

Sam was very attentive to our needs. Will look forward to the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 30 minutes after being seated ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We waited 30 minutes after being seated for someone to come to our table to take our drink order., while watching the tables next to ours seated 15 minutes after we were seated already receiving their drinks. I ordered a bottle of wine which was opened and poured at our table by the manager. The rest of the evening nobody ever came over to refill our wine glasses. I had to refill them all evening. The same thing with our water glasses. Not a single waiter ever refilled our glasses the entire evening. Bread arrived without any butter. The butter arrived 20 minutes later.

A restaurant needs more than a critically acclaimed chef!!!!! It needs a staff that is attentive to the patrons. I've received more attentive service at IHOP. This restaurant was a great disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Exceptionally great experience. We trav ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Exceptionally great experience. We traveled to Santa Fe specifically to dine at the Compound and Geronimos. Both deserve the fine reviews. My wife loved her lobster and I enjoyed the salmon. The facility was very special and our service was great. We were expecting a fine evening and we were not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food. Great service. My only r ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. My only regret was I didn't book earlier so we could get the patio. We still got a nice table near a window

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an excellent meal - the tuna tart ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had an excellent meal - the tuna tartare appetizer was really yummy. My lamb was a bit rare and the waiter immediately took it away and brought back a perfectly cooked portion. He also recommended a great glass of red wine to accompany it. My husband's steak was just right and melt in the mouth tender. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had heard that the Compound was the b ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had heard that the Compound was the best restaurant in Santa Fe, and this was our first time there. The waiter was very accommodating and professional. We had a half bottle of wine which was OK. The tomato soup was good, it had 3 small fried shrimp in it. My husband had mushrooms with polenta which was good. I had halibut which was also good. Nothing was great or outstanding. It was $100.00 for two, which is less expensive than we thought it would be. Really, just a standard restaurant. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful salmon!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful salmon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I try to stop by The Compund at least on ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I try to stop by The Compund at least once when I am in SF. They're still on their game. Pricey, but excellent food and service and great wine list, and knowledgeable somm. All good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Thrilled to catch Chanterelles season, b ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Thrilled to catch Chanterelles season, but still love the polenta with wild mushrooms for a table share. Lobster Salad not to be missed. For lunch, you can't make a mistake with anything ono the menu

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As The Compound enjoys an absolutely ast ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

As The Compound enjoys an absolutely astounding reputation, I was probably looking to be "blown out of the water." It was quite good, but not really exceptional. The waiter was quite nice to have the bar fix a white sangria for me, a nice summer drink which few places offer. I found the menu unimpressive, offering rather bizarre starters which you have to be in the mood for. There was only one salad offered, and no cold soup offered on a hot summer day. The entrees were limited. I had the salmon, which was quite good but nothing that made my eyebrows lift with surprise or delight. My companions enjoyed their entrees but without excitement. The Compound is a perfectly good restaurant with no major flaws, but also no major delights or surprises. As the owner is the only James Beard winner in the area, as the restaurant has a superlative reputation, and as Santa Fe is filled with excellent dining opportunities . . . I just expected more. Not disappointed at all, just not impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a dinner meeting. Both the atmosp ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a dinner meeting. Both the atmosphere and the taste of the dishes were good.

And the staffs were so fantastic !!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not disappointed as we went here for lun ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Not disappointed as we went here for lunch. had not been for years. were traveling from abq to taos. Excellent seafood salad and stacked salad. very good carrot cake. Service a wee bit lax as waiter seemed over stretched, but still very good. A must stop for you foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

They tried very hard, but were pretentio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They tried very hard, but were pretentious and the waiter was on top of us. Food was very good, but not so special. Restaurant was empty. My husband's steak first came overcooked, then undercooked. My Fish was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

I went to The Compound while vacationing ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I went to The Compound while vacationing and a practice of mine is to go to fancier, high-end restaurants for lunch instead of dinner to save money. We were surprised by the small-looking portions but surprised again to feel full after consuming the decadently flavored meal. I was also pleased that one of their specials was a vegetarian dish because I mentioned when making the reservation that my guest as a vegetarian. This is an excellently serviced establishment with delicious food and a beautiful location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For fine dining, ambiance and excellent ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

For fine dining, ambiance and excellent service the Compound is in a class of its own, exceptional!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Without question, one of the most elegan ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Without question, one of the most elegant and intimate dining experiences in Santa Fe. But, I am biased. I had the first date with my wife in 1973 here! So, the nostalgia factor is heavily weighted whenever I dine here. However, I must say that this establishment has retained its superlative standards for decades. It is a "go-to" place for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Well I did not like my entree. My husban ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Well I did not like my entree. My husband sent his back as it was over cooked.

They gave us great free desserts but I would not eat there again nor recommend it. Too many great restaurants in area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We were very disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. We have been dining at the Compound for 30+ years, and although the service was excellent, the rest of our experience was mediocre. I'm not sure why, but something has changed besides the decorating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The beef Tenderloin was amazing.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The beef Tenderloin was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The compound is a gem. We loved it. I ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The compound is a gem. We loved it. I had the fillet. The plate was beautifully arranged. Immediately after my first bite, I realized why I was not given a steak knife. The beef was so tender and deliciously seasoned it just melted in my mouth! We will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We've eaten at the Compound many times over the years.

My salmon was excellent. (dinner)

My partner's duck was poor, dry and tough. (dinner).

Service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely setting, great ambience and the f ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Lovely setting, great ambience and the food was outstanding

Too many choices so we must go back to try the other entrees, certainly not a hardship.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.