About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New Mexico
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Great for Lunch
Santa Fe / Mountains
5 More
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Contemporary American
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (98)
fit for foodies (86)
romantic (70)
See All
great for lunch (55)
notable wine list (50)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for outdoor dining (28)
good for groups (19)
great for brunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was terrible. Thewaterhadto ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service was terrible. Thewaterhadtobeasked3xforbread.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was supurb and the s ...

Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food was supurb and the service was excellent. Have never been even slightly disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Santa Fe! Chef Mark K ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant in Santa Fe! Chef Mark Kiffin definitely amazes! Our server, Alejandro was exceptional and made our evening extraordinary. The sommelier was equally impressive. A fantastic dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first dining experience with The Compound, and my husband and I could not have been more pleased. The service was phenomenal and the food superb. My husband and I ate at a much more touted establishment, also on Canyon Road, the night before, it it paled in comparison!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never disappoints. T ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The chicken schnitzel is legendary, and the hamburgers are a transcendental experience. This visit I tried the stacked salad. Primo! The fabulous service is the best part of all. Spoil yourself and come here for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous..... as usual!

Dined on May 19, 2016

My realtor and I went to The Compound to celebrate the closing on my new home in Santa Fe. It was perfect: fabulously delicious meal, great service, delightfully homey ambiance and yummy wine. Could not have been any more satisfying. Thank you for nailing it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

We had been here a few years ago and rem ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We had been here a few years ago and remembered it as great. This time service was slow, the waiter spilled wine all over my glass and had to be asked to wipe it off. The main complaint is the food was poor. Ordered the duck, and while the accompaniments were good the filet size piece of duck was so tuff as to be inedible. They comped us one meal, but with limited nights in Santa Fe it was so disappointing to have wasted the night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lunch visit was for a special occasi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our lunch visit was for a special occasion-big birthday-and we definitely chose the right spot. Love the understated elegance, light and decor in the restaurant. Our server, Mario was attentive and helpful with our menu selections. When time for dessert, the plate was decorated with Birthday wishes in chocolate to me. That was special. Hostess was giving a tour to some women about the property and we were able to share some of the information. The Compound is a Santa Fe jewel!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on May 11, 2016

Very elegant, understated dining room. The friendly staff greeted us warmly, and David, our server, was very pleasant and personable without being too intrusive. He knew both the menu and the wine list. He gave us time for cocktails without trying to rush us. The food was very good, although the menu seems a little outdated. I'm sure the regulars encourage that. Everything was well made and well presented. Some seasonings were off a little bit, and some could have used a touch more salt, but those are minor, minor quibbles. The desserts were beautiful and flavorful. The wine list is extensive, but the range of choices could be broader and less high end. Part of that is due to a healthy markup. Still, a wonderful place for a celebratory event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the finest restaurants you could ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

One of the finest restaurants you could find. The chicken schnitzel was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food & service were excellent as always. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food & service were excellent as always. It is a bit pricey both for food & wine especially with small wine pours @ $ 14.00 & $17.00 per glass! So. It IS a special occasion place in our book!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

We've eaten here in the past and have always enjoyed it. While fairly expensive, the choices, preparations, and service made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Culinary Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food, service, wine list are truly outstanding in every respect. You won't find a better restaurant in the entire region.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Overrated Compound

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Hyde didn't match reality. Tables are very close...enough to hear everyone's conversation. Service was not personal...more routine and robotic. Hostess was not very happy to be there. Food was good but got lost in the other distractions noted above.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our best meals ever!!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

My mother and I met in Sante Fe from opposite sides of the country to celebrate our birthdays. We went to The Compound for lunch and split the sweetbreads & foix gras appetizer and the Wagyu beef burger. The appetizer was simply outstanding, the best we have ever had. The burger was absolutely delicious, perfectly done and perfectly seasoned, with a nicely toasted bun. The entire lunch was one of the best meals we have ever had in our lives.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

25th Anniversary

Dined on April 16, 2016

Booked a place for two at the Compound's bar for my 25th Anniversary. Have been here before for special occassions and this didnot disappoint. First, the bar seats 12, need reservations-great scene, locals (us), out of towners, various walks of life, all interacting. My only complaint was that the duck breast in the duck charcuterie was tough. Had great oysters to begin, along with a wonderful asparagus saled. My wife's lobster risotto got rave reviews. Desert was served in a decorated plate with a "25th Happy Anniversary" logo piped onto it in chocolate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to restaurant during every visit t ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

My go-to restaurant during every visit to Santa Fe! Dinner is always a treat, but I religiously go there at lunch for the cheeseburger...absolutely the best. Cooked to perfection every time. Love this place. Quiet elegance, but never stuffy. A gem.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never Disappoints.....

Dined on April 9, 2016

LOVE the Compound. Every time we go to Santa Fe, it's a must whether for lunch or dinner. The food is stellar!!! I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good but not outstanding

Dined on April 3, 2016

I've eaten at The Compound before and found it truly exceptional. Absolutely outstanding. This time around I was disappointed. I don't think I've written more than one critical review ever, so this is very unusual. Let me say first that the "Compound Square" cocktail was fantastic as was the glass of Barbera I ordered. Service was also superb. As an appetizer we had the morel mushrooms. They weren't well cleaned so they were somewhat gritty, and their flavor was overwhelmed by the beurre blanc sauce in which they were prepared. The salad with horseradish was just OK, kind of a Caesar salad with horseradish added to the dressing. Nothing special. Finally, my lamb shank was was oddly dry. I don't think I've ever had a dry lamb shank before. The "chickpea fries" that accompanied it didn't bring much to the entree either. So there you go. I think The Compound is a great restaurant but at least for me, this wasn't their night.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch at The Compound

Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose The Compound for Easter Brunch because it is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe, and the special menu that was emailed in advance looked great. We were seated upstairs in a very quiet dining room, which was nice but didn't have the ambience the main dining room has. It took our server a pretty long time to take our drink orders, and when they finially arrived, one was left out. We decided to order the Chicken & Waffles, which was a special we read about online. However, it wasn't on the menu that was printed for that day. That disappointment aside, everything else was great including special cocktails and food. The spring pea soup is quite lovely. To make up for the lack of chicken & waffles, the waiter gave us each a dessert on the house. We ordered one of each dessert offered, four in all, and couldn't decide which was the most fabulous. We will continue to dine at The Compound because all in all, it's very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A little off

Dined on March 27, 2016

For many years The Compound has been our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe so we were surprised that this time it didn't quite measure up, in regard to the food, which is, after all, the main consideration. All of the seafood was overcooked - had to use a knife to cut the shrimp into bite size in the cioppino. The pappardelle pasta was bland and ordinary, even with the duck ragu. I worry that Chef Kiffin may be distracted by his Zacatecas restaurant in ABQ. Or perhaps we just caught them on an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals from start to fini ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

One of the best meals from start to finish I've ever had. While expensive, the proportions are large. My wife and I split the pork tenderloin and my parents split the lobster. The half portions were the size of full meals at other places. The hummingbird cake for desert was the best I've ever had. There is a reason the head chef and owner is a James Beard award winner. The staff and service were equally as impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our dinner was great...food and service..until the restaurant became busy and then service slowed down and noone refilled my water glass all evening. Also there was a loud female diner in our room who made it uncomfortable for the rest of us. I believe it should have been the manager to politely ask her to quiet it down instead of a few of us shushing her.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding! It Was truly an exceptional experience from start to finish. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every respect

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Outstanding service, superb food and wine. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the steak

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent Restaurant except our "medium" steaks were very rare. Maybe too quickly thawed from frozen.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, wonderful service. Quiet ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful service. Quiet enough for a group to hear each other speak. Nice wine list

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing in all accounts!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Amazing in all accounts!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Compound is always a favorite.

Dined on March 11, 2016

This is our first choice for a great local restaurant, the food is consistently top rate. The service is excellent. The Compound never disappoints. The courtyards a very nice during the warmer months for brunch or lunch. The Chicken Schnitzel is my favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Fell a bit short

Dined on March 1, 2016

Over priced for offerings. Not overly creative. Filet steak was not as tender as expected. Salmon was ordered medium rare, came out a bit past medium. Better options in SantaFe for the price range.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great location but disappointing meal

Dined on February 28, 2016

My son was visiting from out of town and I had always wanted to try the Compound. The onsite parking was a plus and the dining room is lovely but the food, at least what I ordered was not as special as we expected based on reputation. It was restaurant week so I had prime rib ravioli appetizer that was way too heavy and a little soggy. My salmon was cooked well but full of bones. The waiter's response: I'll let the chef know... My son's brussels sprout salad was less than tasty but his steak was just fine. What was exemplary was the coconut sorbet dessert - so delicious we left happy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Whereas the food ix very good as was the service, the lower priced wine list is minimal and there are numerous wines that could be sold at huge mark ups for $25-40 per bottle. This is a void in this menu. Granted this is an upper end restaurant in pricing, but some people may drink water only when the wines start where they do. Especially if you are not there during Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Compound compounded

Dined on February 27, 2016

Waiter was uber professional even with a party next door that was above raucous. Every dish was superb. Dishes sampled included Shaved Brussels Sprout salad, Short Rib Ravioli, Denver Steak and Scottish Salmon, Hummingbird Cake. Each dish was a strong YES for both diners. Having dined out seven nights that week, The Compound ranked near the top of the restaurants sampled.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Waiter was unfriendly. We were seated ne ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Waiter was unfriendly. We were seated next to a table with a young child who was out of control and whose parents did little to help the situation. The other table next to us was very loud. It was an unpleasant environment and not the intimate dinner we had anticipated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Santa Fe

Dined on February 26, 2016

We have been going to The Compound since the 70's, and it only gets better. This is a top choice in Santa Fe for an elegant dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

a good experience

Dined on February 25, 2016

Just outstanding! been here before,so no surprise, but still something new and great on each visit

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on February 25, 2016

The thing that sets the Compound apart from other high end Santa Fe restaurants is the highly professional staff. There are a number of restaurants in Santa Fe that serve equally great food, but so often we are frustrated by second-tier waiters and waitresses and their helpers (especially) who apparently have not been trained to do, or not do, such things as take women's food and drink orders before the men's (or maybe this is now a micro-aggression), place wine and drink glasses in the proper place on the table, ask "How's everything tasting?", wait until everyone has finished his or her meal before starting to clear the table, etc. None of these things is complicated or difficult, but it's nice that we have at least one restaurant in town that takes time to provide first class training for its employees, to accompany its first class cuisine.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A splendid vegan meal

Dined on February 25, 2016

The chef was fabulous about tweaking the menu so I could eat vegan. I was prepared to eat vegetarian off the menu since it was a special occasion. But when he took our orders, the waiter asked if we had any dietary issues. I said I was a vegan and the chef modified every course. Absolutely delicious. Best risotto I've ever had -- even from my pre-vegan days. My husband's omnivorous meal was splendid as well. But the gracious way my food was modified and served made my meal taste especially good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Evening in Every Way

Dined on February 24, 2016

After many visits to Santa Fe we finally managed to dine at The Compound, and it did not disappoint. It happened to be Restaurant Week so we selected items from the special menu with some apprehension, not knowing if they would represent the regular menu in quality, portions, etc. Our meal and experience could not have been finer. For our entree we selected Denver Steak since we seldom eat steak. It had an excellent flavor and was cooked exactly as specified. The Brussel Sprout Salad had an uncommon delicate flavor (for Brussel Sprouts) but was simultaneously hearty with a fresh, crunchy texture. Everything we chose surpassed our expectations and servings were generous, particularly given the restaurant week special fare. The waiter (Alex) was extremely attentive while not being overbearing and timed the courses perfectly. It was so enjoyable that we bought a gift card for a local friend and the Asst Manager, Charles, was most helpful with the purchase. We will definitely return whenever we visit Santa Fe!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to detail and patrons wishes outstanding

Dined on February 24, 2016

Food was excellent, presentation artistic, location secluded and romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.