About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
New Mexico
Most Booked
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
Santa Fe / Mountains
4 More
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Contemporary American
Santa Fe / Mountains
Most Booked
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (122)
Fit for Foodies (109)
Great for Outdoor Dining (88)
See All
Romantic (85)
Great for Lunch (71)
Notable Wine List (60)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Scenic View (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Historic (8)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nothing to say but great things all the ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nothing to say but great things all the way around. We've lived in Santa Fe for four years, and never disappointed going to the compound. One of our top 3 favorites!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another lovely destination in Santa Fe, ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another lovely destination in Santa Fe, the Compound is quietly, impeccably serene. Go for a tour of the room and artwork if you arrive early enough to not disturb other diners. Stay for a cocktail on the gorgeous patio.

Dinner was very good, the service was too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

On a recent visit to Santa Fe, the resta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

On a recent visit to Santa Fe, the restaurant was highly recommended to us. We were very disappointed. The menu was fairly traditional for a good high end restaurant. No special local dishes. The food (we had rack of lamb which they cut off of the bone and served. It was fine but the service was not! The waiter spilled an appetizer for another nearby table on the floor next to my husband. He did not pick it up, nor ask if it had hit him or stained his pants until he went back to the kitchen for a replacement order. We needed to ask three times for bread and wine refills. Needless to say, we did not stay for dessert and coffee!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The Compound never disappoints. Not only ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Compound never disappoints. Not only is it a great looking place, but the food is predictably good. Expensive, but good for a special night out

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Table in unattractive outside corner, wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Table in unattractive outside corner, waiter who hovered over two couples who needed to talk for a while. Waiter who recommend a wine pairing for halibut, red, and then forgot to bring the wine, two of the four entries were barely warm or overlooked. Staff member came to check on a meal that had first been send back and put a sweaty hand on my shoulder. Not an experience worthy of one of the most expensive Santa Fe joints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Dinner was delicious. Restaurant was qui ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Dinner was delicious. Restaurant was quiet enough that we could converse easily. Service was very good but not excellent. They could use a little training. Overall, the experience was very positive and I highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding, best restaurant in Santa Fe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Outstanding, best restaurant in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pretentious. Had high expectations, but ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pretentious. Had high expectations, but clearly the Compound is more interested in being sophisticated than pleasing customers. Food ranged from superb (Halibut) to mediocre (poorly made drink, and a rock hard Chocolate Baked Alaska). The wine list is obscenely priced 400-600% markup. Santa Fe is full of truly great restaurants, this isn't one of them - you can pay much less and get much more elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a very nice lunch with out of town f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a very nice lunch with out of town friends. Food was excellent and service exceptional: attentive without being over bearing. The chanterelle mushroom appetizer was to "die for"! Had not been to The Compound in over a year and now it will be on our list for more frequent dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an enjoyable dinner with friends. En ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had an enjoyable dinner with friends. Entrees were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well prepared dishes, perhaps with a bit ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Well prepared dishes, perhaps with a bit too much salt for my palate, but I tend to use as little as possible. Excellent steak; Tasty is slightly salty appetizer (mushrooms); an Lovely desert, with nice flourishes. With advance study, we were able to find a very nice wine for $70. Numanthia Termes Toro is a full bodied red and proud of it. It would have been easy to find one for more than 3 times the price, but unnecessary with this available.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Compound is consistently great.A won ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Compound is consistently great.A wonderful lunch,as always!!!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Still the classic in Santa Fe. Can't bea ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Still the classic in Santa Fe. Can't beat soft shell crab starter. The Wolf Ranch Quail could have been an entree. Can't go wrong with the lamb, pork or halibut. Wines are pricey, but good variety for the cuisine. Save room for an interesting dessert

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the other 3 in my party really lov ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

While the other 3 in my party really loved their lunch, I found the Halibut Fish and Chips overly breaded. I will return to the restaurant and just not order Fish and Chips again. Thanks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Refined environment, good (not great) fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Refined environment, good (not great) food, boring menu, very good service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We rediscovered The Compound this summer ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We rediscovered The Compound this summer and have enjoyed three terrific meals there recently. The menu and wine list are appealing, the kitchen prepares excellent food, and the service is top-shelf.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of many visits to the Compo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was one of many visits to the Compound. The food and service were outstanding as always. This is a rare example of a restaurant with a stellar reputation that is still working hard to deserve that reputation. Over years of dining at the Compound I have not seen any drop off in quality and creativity. This is very hard to achieve and I congratulate them on their continued success.

Minor note: one room has decorative fabric ceiling tiles that are dated looking and water stained. These clash with the otherwise impeccable decor and should be replaced asap.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely evening. Very responsive servers ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lovely evening. Very responsive servers and plate timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slipping.... Small servings for price. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Slipping.... Small servings for price. Pokey service. Waiter completely forgot my order of a margarita, even though he asked me specifics for the tequila. Our lunches ranged from excellent to just good. Whaa! This was our former "go-to"spot in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excelllent restaurant! We went there fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excelllent restaurant! We went there for a friend's birthday and were not disappointed. The service was impeccable and all of the food we ordered was outstanding. The lamb shank, the filet and the lobster are all highly recommended. Suggest making a reservation well in advance to secure a table on the patio during the warmer summer months, although the tables inside were all very nice. The prices are what you would expect for a restaurant of this caliber and on par with other nice restaurants in Santa Fe. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Compound kitchen is tops. Incredibl ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The Compound kitchen is tops. Incredible creativity with food. Pure culinary artists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great, but very disappointed wi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was great, but very disappointed with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Sold out of the entree item my wife orde ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Sold out of the entree item my wife ordered. Otherwise, excellent food and ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Compound never disappoints. Fantasti ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The Compound never disappoints. Fantastic service and delicious food. What a treat to find softshell crab on the menu and they were yummy!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Few appetizers Only one soup available ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Few appetizers

Only one soup available

DecDecor needs help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Foie Gras & Sweetbreads were outstandin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Foie Gras & Sweetbreads were outstanding. (Hudson Valley Fois Gras was cooked perfectly). Compliments to the chef.

Service was terrific. Cody, our main server, was attentive and paced all of our three courses to OUR comfort. Victor and the assistant manager, Charles, were friendly, helpful, and cordial.

The whole experience was excellent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed with service... was my daug ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Disappointed with service... was my daughters 21st birthday and we had to wait way too long for food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not for wine lovers. Every wine is marke ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Not for wine lovers. Every wine is marked up over 400%. A disservice to those who wish a decent glass of wine with their meal. A $15 bottle of mediocre Rioja, for example, was over $60 at the Compound. Gouging on wine prices makes the restaurant a "no go" for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been going to the Compound about ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We have been going to the Compound about once a year (we don't live in Santa Fe) ever since it opened. It has always been good, but this is a new high. One of the two best in Santa Fe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant on Canyon Road. The p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Lovely restaurant on Canyon Road. The patio is beautiful and very quiet, even with a large party going on. Food was great! We'll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

time and time again The Compound delight ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

time and time again The Compound delights. My past two visits have left me a bit unhappy with the service, especially with how long it takes for a service person to come to the table after being seated......more early attention would be welcome.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful lunch at the Compound. Chicken ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Wonderful lunch at the Compound. Chicken schnitzel was delicious, and they make a great negroni. Great waiter and very friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Santa Fe's most pleasant patio/co ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

One of Santa Fe's most pleasant patio/courtyard areas (also lovely interior seating. High-end, pricey food & wine choices, but some affordable options...their 'chicken schnitzel' and 'fish n chips' are excellent and pair with 'by the glass' wines. Our server 'Alex' took good care of us. For patio seating, book & call ahead...you'll be glad you did ;)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived at 7:45 on Monday Aug 22nd for o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Arrived at 7:45 on Monday Aug 22nd for our reservation for 2. The male Host advised us that they were busy and we would probably have to wait for our waiter to get to us. He mentioned again when seating us that we would just have to wait. If you don't have the staff to provide timely service, don't allow a reservation to be made.

Waiter arrived and we could feel his stress, impatience, lack of eye contact. Long span of time between appetizer and entree. Received entree at 9P. In passing he advised us our meals would be coming shortly. Yes, I imagined if I waited long enough, that the entrees would finally get there. Waiter never checked back on our Filet preparation or if we needed anything.

Prior to the long wait for our entrees, the Hostess asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu. Even she was surprised that we hadn't eaten.

The only defined time with the waiter was after presenting our Opera Ticket Envelope coupons. He made it very clear as to what the full charge of the meal was for me to interpret that I am to tip on the original dinner tab. Slow service, rude Host, lack of follow up, and insulting. The name Compound is correct, one compound problem after another.

This is my second poor experience at The Compound in a month. Foolish me.

Patrick Galbreath

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. a must every trip to Santa Fe. Food is always outstanding & very creative. Very good wine list, but more important a very knowledgeable sommelier. He know every ingredient in each dish & which wine will compliment the entire dish. the contemporary Santa Fe style multi room layout offers a good variety of seating arrangements. The wait staff is perfectly attentive without being intrusive. The bar is intimate while the layout offers good opportunity for striking up conversations w/ other patrons both locals & visitors.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

QWHEN IS SANTA FE NM THIS THE PLACE TO ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

QWHEN IS SANTA FE NM THIS THE PLACE TO SINE EXCELLENT

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding menu, ambiance and service. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding menu, ambiance and service. A neighborhood favorite. Outdoor dining for lunch is one of our favorite times.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lunch at The Compound was disappointing. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lunch at The Compound was disappointing. We had flies buzzing around us the entire time, landing on our faces and meals. And we had been seated inside, not out. My partner's dish was excellent. Mine was just OK. The decor seems dated, banquettes are not terribly comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I know restaurants, and The Compound is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I know restaurants, and The Compound is one of the best I have eaten in snce I left NYC 25 years ago. Do give it a try, you won't be disappointed. Note that if you want to eat on the patio be sure to specify that when making a reservation. If you book using Open Table follow that up with a call to the restaurant to request a patio table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most outstanding restaurants ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the most outstanding restaurants in Santa Fe. Local favorite as well as the tourist trade.

Service and ambiance is always good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.