About The Compound Restaurant

653 Canyon Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm - 9:00pm (Summer Hours: 5:30 - 10:30)

Cross Street:
Paseo de Peralta

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-4353

Website:
http://www.compoundrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample parking behind the restaurant and seasonal valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Mark Kiffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The picturesque gardens and elegant dining rooms of this historic place have been the backdrop to many special moments for our guests. Every event is brought to life through detailed planning for events with 10 to 250 guests.

The Compound Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Historic (17)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fireplace (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (5)
Organic (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chicken schnitzel with lemon caper b ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

The chicken schnitzel with lemon caper butter is a standout. The house made pastrami is wonderfully smoky. It was a great lunch and we look forward to trying out the dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food in this restaurant is always go ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The food in this restaurant is always good! The wait staff is as good as any restaurant in the country! Hats off to them. And hats off to the chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced for quality and employees sho ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Overpriced for quality and employees should be trained regarding courtesy to customers

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious and excellently served, we had ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Delicious and excellently served, we had a wonderful experience where our conversation and the magic at the table was given space and respect. There was no sense of rushing, we were allowed to enjoy our fabulous food, wine and company for as long as we liked. A true pleasure.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was less than lukewarm and borderl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Staff was less than lukewarm and borderlined on rude. Food was unremarkable. I have waited several years to visit this restaurant. A total disappointment. Cynthia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The lobster, lamb and filet were all ver ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The lobster, lamb and filet were all very good. Our waiter was attentive without rushing us. Always come here when in Santa Fe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was great! Our waiter Will was v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was great! Our waiter Will was very knowledgeable and helpful. The food is very good

I just think the restaurant could use an update

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

I've heard about The Compound for years ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I've heard about The Compound for years and finally had a chance to eat at this legendary place. Like the simple elegance of the ambiance; the authentic, direct style of food -- a high piled nice salad, a well prepared piece of fish, a lovely cup of tea served properly, with a pot and hot water. Good bread, nice entree, good service. I look forward to visiting The Compound again.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although it was the most expensive item ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Although it was the most expensive item on the menu, the lobster was very poorly prepared and probably not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food with some flair added to more ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food with some flair added to more traditional dishes, attractive decor and arrangement of rooms. But, it got noisy and ended up being somewhat expensive compared to other equivalent quality restaurants in the region.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual lunch time at the Compound is g ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As usual lunch time at the Compound is great, even when your the first ones. This is really a must do in Santa Fe and the wagyu burger is great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As we sat down, the hostess said that ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As we sat down, the hostess said that our table has another booking that evening but enjoy - strike 1. Our waiter failed to inform us that that were specials, we had to ask - strike 2. My appetizer was served with an ingredient i specifically asked to not be included. The waiter served it to me anyways. I had to return it and wait for another one - strike 3. Overall the service and food was mediocre at best. We had high expectations and were disappointed. Last time dining at The Compound

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Culinary art. The beef tenderloin was t ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Culinary art. The beef tenderloin was the best cut of beef ever, and the waiter said it was grass feed, which hardly seems possible. The hollandaise sauce and potatoes and peppers were exceptionally prepared. The gingerbread and chocolate loaf were the best desserts we've had. This makes the 3rd time in a row that your restaurant has performed exceptionally well and improved each time. Where's top for you? Can hardly wait for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent! Sommeli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Sommelier Brook was fantastic, very well informed & responsive, and willing to discuss wine pairing options at length. He understood us well and was able to offer great options to complement our dinner. The entire staff made us feel welcome and took really good care of us, kept our glasses full and very attentive to our needs. The overall experience was exceptional and enjoyable. Coat check was very nice - great fine dinning experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a fantastic dining experience! T ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a fantastic dining experience! The beef tenderloin the best we've eaten. Freddy took the best care of us ... a real special Christmas treat! Many thanks and Happy Birthday Chef Kiffin! 🎄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was some of the best in NM. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was some of the best in NM. The location is great and they were wonderfully accomodating with my grandparents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From time we walked in to the time we le ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

From time we walked in to the time we left it was a great experience.

Food was fabulous and cooked perfectly.

Everyone who worked there could not of been more helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent food, good service, lov ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always excellent food, good service, lovely location, parking. What ele can one hope for in Santa Fe?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We've dined with the Compound since 1960 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We've dined with the Compound since 1960's. Always a treat. Never fails.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend from out of town treated me to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 13, 2016

A friend from out of town treated me to dinner at the Compound on Monday, and what a treat it was. The food was fantastic--everything from the wild mushroom polenta to the beef tenderloin was thoughtfully prepared and beautifully presented. And the wait staff was fun and informative. I love the quiet, understated elegance of the restaurant, and will definitely return. The Compound has certainly earned its reputation as one of Santa Fe's best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was horrible. Noise level so lo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was horrible. Noise level so loud you could not hear conversations at your table and food was average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

My only complaint was the seat cushion o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My only complaint was the seat cushion on the banco where I was sat was so crushed down on the front edge of the cushion that it made it difficult to sit there and not slip forward. I did mention this to the hostess as we were leaving, Cord Martin

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality food and presentation. Aging amb ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Quality food and presentation. Aging ambiance. Service fair.

Dinner prices lofty even for Canyon Road Sant Fe.

$100 per person with moderately priced wine and dessert.

I often pay less than that in San Francisco , New York, Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful, Santa Fe style location - a m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Beautiful, Santa Fe style location - a mix of classic and contemporary; this elegant, well appointed establishment is one of the best in the city. Our food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Don't miss!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our seating was not. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was great. Our seating was not. Was celebrating a special occasion and our seating was awkward, between a busy aisle with a table that faced toward the aisle, not towards your company. I wish we would have changed tables. The service was Ok, waiter forgot about something I asked for and had to ask another server several

Times. Would recommend to try at least once. Was expecting a better experience for the price I paid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Absolutely never fails in either present ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely never fails in either presentation or, more importantly, taste and quality! The foie gras and sweet breads is my wife's favorite starter-sheer perfection. My wife had the salmon and I the swordfish, each of us left quite pleased and content with the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Wonderful wine list. Ver ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious food. Wonderful wine list. Very slow between salad and entree. Waited half hour after salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food with a menu full of options f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food with a menu full of options for everyone. I liked that there were non-alcoholic cocktails as I was taking medication and could not have alcohol. The polenta was perfectly paired with the mushrooms and the lamb melted in the mouth. Perfection! Our service was uneven- no one at the door when we arrived, seated by a waiter. We were much younger than the average patron that night and the waiter made several comments about cost. I think this was trying to be kind, but was uncomfortable. Parking is not well marked- you must turn down a long dark drive to get close to the restaurant or take a long walk home in the dark:)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

From the time we arrived, until the time ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

From the time we arrived, until the time we left, we felt special and valued. Sean, our waiter, went out of his way to make us comfortable and perfectly accommodated. His sense of seeing to our needs and mixing in humor and pleasant conversation was awesome. The environment was classy....upscale.....just what we were expecting from the advertisements we reviewed prior to. The food was absolutely tasteful.....well-portioned.....and beautifully plated. Overall, a most memorable experience for the entire family.

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!! Our waiter/server was wonde ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great Food!! Our waiter/server was wonderful, great attitude and friendly--overall it was a great night--will return in the near future---can't say much about the hostess (was not friendly and looked at us like you don't belong in this establishment) but oh well!!! I guess cowboy hats give some people the wrong impression!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love dining in the bar. The bartender wa ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love dining in the bar. The bartender was amazing. Don't miss the onion rings!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Sean was great, he made sure werw good t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sean was great, he made sure werw good the entire night. The food was awesome! My wife loved the lobster.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a very friendly and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food with a very friendly and attentive waiter. One of our best meals in Santa Fe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appetizers were very good, the foie ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our appetizers were very good, the foie gras, the prawns & the broccolini. The main courses were good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful experience, staff, service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful experience, staff, service and food were fantastic. I highly recommended this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoy eating at the Compound w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We really enjoy eating at the Compound when we visit Santa Fe. It's been a must for several years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and wonderful service. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Love the Compound.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going for years and never disa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Have been going for years and never disappoints! Seasonal menu offerings are a gem! Service is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fantastic meal, superb service, a beau ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

A fantastic meal, superb service, a beautiful venue. Hard to top that hat-trick. Rivals any fine restaurant we have ever been to. Recommended without exception.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been waiting years to go here and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I had been waiting years to go here and I was not diappointed. The service was friendly even though upscale formal. The food is amazing - very well done all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.