About The Commons

14481 Woodinville-Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Woodinville Wine District, The Commons is a neighborhood gathering place serving a wide range of seasonal comfort food and drinks in an inviting and informal setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 8am to 9pm
Friday, 8am to 10pm
Saturday, 8am to 10pm
Sunday 8am to 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
NE 145th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 892-7012

Website:
http://www.thecommonscafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders may be picked up at any of our restaurant locations and delivery is available throughout the Puget Sound. We recommend placing all orders with a 48 hours’ notice to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Rocky Windsor

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Commons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (16)
See All
Comfort Food (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Family Style (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great dinner with friends. The men ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great dinner with friends. The menu is varied with entrees, sandwiches, and salads. I had the fried chicken cob salad. Their fried chicken is very good and not greasy. The pretzel roll appetizer is really good and I have previously enjoyed their chicken pot pie. Other members of my party enjoyed the burger and grilled cheese with tomatoe bisque. The menu varies some with the seasons. The atmosphere is great with big windows and lots of wood.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good, but our food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was good, but our food was cold and over cooked

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a relative from SF visiting so we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a relative from SF visiting so we thought Commons would be a great place for dinner but it did not meet our expectations. First, they were out of Jameson when ordered, there were no dry white wines offered and the craft cocktail that was ordered tasted watered down with no flavor. Next, the food was alright. Out of four dishes, my sons kid menu of the fish 'n chips was the best. The grilled cheese had too much onions & the tomato soup which accompanied was about 4oz & cold. Lastly, the service was not great. We did not receive appetizer plates so we had to get up ourselves to ask for plates & our waiter was not personable or friendly. We liked the ambiance of the restaurant but it's not worth over $125!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Delicious food! Fun atmosphere! Reasonab ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food! Fun atmosphere! Reasonably priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good, but I've noticed the qualit ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always good, but I've noticed the quality of the finished product seems to be slipping a bit over time. Sadly this usually seems to be the way it goes with favorite restaurants. Oh well, we still enjoy going there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was lacking as our cocktails cam ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was lacking as our cocktails came after the dinner was served. Meal was good. Would not go again for dinner, but will go for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Fun, delicious, interesting menu. Excee ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fun, delicious, interesting menu. Exceeded expectations and look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French press coffee was delivered with p ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

French press coffee was delivered with parsley in the pot and French toast was as cold as ice. Both corrected but not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Drove a long way (1hr) for an anniversar ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Drove a long way (1hr) for an anniversary date and though the food was good, everything else did not match the price ($75) . Lived up to its "Commons" name. Maybe we should have guessed? Highlight was watching the other guests, though, at the "man-bun" party.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

First off, this is a very busy restauran ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

First off, this is a very busy restaurant so don't go without reservations. The aroma when you first walk is is mouthwatering! The staff is super friendly and the vibe is energetic. Even though the noise level is high, the tables are set well apart so it's not too bad. The food... omg, delicious comfort food with a modern edge. I had the elk burger which was cooked perfectly and flavor filled. Had a side of chick pea salad, again wonderful although a bit under seasoned. Wine list touts some great local wineries, which I love. All told, I'd come back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely wonderful Girls' Night ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an absolutely wonderful Girls' Night Out with my tween. Becca, our server, was wonderful and super welcoming! Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was good, the food was ex ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The atmosphere was good, the food was excellent for myself and my two friends. The chai tea latte was the best I've ever had. Courtesy was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great ambiance, nice open venue. Great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great ambiance, nice open venue. Great menu, wonderful preparations. A bit noisy but lively.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal at The Commons. This ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another great meal at The Commons. This is where we go when we need a great burger or other comfort food. Been there many times and it's always good. Had the elk burger. My bride had the fish and chips. Started with a great cob salad. Drinks (their version of Moscow Mule) was not up to what we have had there in the past. Pretty much tasteless. We won't order that one again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I appreciated that we were seated straig ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I appreciated that we were seated straight away even though two people in our party of 4 arrived about 5 minutes after our reservation time. That is the one positive thing I can say about our experience. The ambiance, service, and food lacked in different ways. The restaurant was very loud, our food was warm but not hot, and service was a little slow - which I can appreciate when it is busy because I used to be a server. It wasn't that busy - there was an empty 4-top near us the entire meal. The server lacked enthusiasm and sense of urgency, and didn't clear our plates until we were signing our credit card receipts. At the end of the day, I wouldn't highly recommend The Commons.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Pork Carnitas were amazing.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Pork Carnitas were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a very fun Friday out! Delicious ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a very fun Friday out! Delicious cocktails and dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, fun decor! Will definitely b ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food, fun decor! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere were good. We both ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food and atmosphere were good. We both had the BLTA of the restaurant week menu. It was good but would have been better with crisper bacon and on toasted sourdough - it comes on ciabatta. I had a G&T that wasn't all that flavorful and was a little light on the G. She had the Spicy Mule (?) which was pretty good. I then tried the Salty Dog which I was expecting to be a more masculine drink. It was, however, very tall and pink. It would not have looked out of place with an umbrella. It also lacked a heavy hand in the pouring department.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good food here and our waitress was supe ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 15, 2016

good food here and our waitress was super nice, can't ask for more that that!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, great food! Service was q ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service, great food! Service was quick and knowledgeable. We'll definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere of The Commons was quite ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The atmosphere of The Commons was quite inviting. Rustic-style décor with a well-laid out dining area and bar make for a pleasant dining experience. However, for some reason there were a decent amount of flies near my table, hopefully they get rid of those swiftly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Organic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It gets a little drafty if you sit close ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It gets a little drafty if you sit close to the door in colder months, but everything else seems spot on. Parking can get a little crazy in the area too. The food and service make a wonderful night out however. Intense burger, "simple" yet divine avocado toast, fresh salads, decadent and satisfying fried chicken and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was good. Can't wait to try some of ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was good. Can't wait to try some of their pastries should I come again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Location is great. Parking sucks. Food i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Location is great. Parking sucks. Food is mediocre. Prices are too high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic hash and appetizers were very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fantastic hash and appetizers were very unique. Loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been here many times, and it's alw ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We've been here many times, and it's always very good and a good value. Only criticism from this visit was that the crust on my chicken pot pie was quite burnt. Otherwise, food was excellent (particularly the desserts).

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Deafening but delightful. Best carnitas ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Deafening but delightful. Best carnitas on the eastside.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The fried chicken is amazing. Perfectly ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The fried chicken is amazing. Perfectly fried and crispy without being greasy. I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good atmosphere, good food, good service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good atmosphere, good food, good service, reasonably priced.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at reasonable prices. The lo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food at reasonable prices. The location is good as its in the middle of the area with wineries so you can walk to when done wine tasting. Similar to Purple, however, a little better priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and service were excellent! It ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and service were excellent! It's too noisy for much conversation and parking is a challenge but I'd still go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food but so loud and noisy we had ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food but so loud and noisy we had to shout to be heard across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location, OK food, and really slow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great location, OK food, and really slow service (group of 4 people).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was great, but that was it. Bori ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was great, but that was it. Boring appetizer of heirloom tomatoes sliced with toasted bread seriously?? Wheres the layer of flavor? Dead Korean pork app, shoe leather at least the lettuce was fresh. Kale salad was decent, way too much Rogaine and the chicken was dry, precooked and anemic, yuck.

My husband had the bbq pork sandwich which was good but very sloppy and wet, dripped all over the plate. We sat in an empty room surrounded by three tables of screaming children by a harried host who looked over whelmed... Not sure why, the place wasn't nearly at half capacity for a Friday night.

Not sure what happened to this place, we loved it a year ago food was delicious and service was excellent. So sad, not interested in returning.

Waiter was great though... Saved what otherwise was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

This place is a go to for us when we're ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This place is a go to for us when we're in Woodinville. Food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The unique food offerings were impressiv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The unique food offerings were impressive. Quality was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was lacking. Our server for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was lacking. Our server forgot things like coffee cream and sugar, even after being reminded. The food was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Breakfast and lunch are good here but di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Breakfast and lunch are good here but dinner is highly mediocre. Besides forgetting to bring out our appetizer the side salad I had was undressed. The dinner menu is also limited and it's mostly lunch food at dinnertime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I went to The Commons with a friend and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I went to The Commons with a friend and her daughter in the midweek and had a very nice meal. It was a great place to be able to catch up as the higher ceilings make for a lower noise level. Enjoyed the food too and the prices were very reasonable. I USED to run from there at the weekends when it was Tully's Coffee so pleased it's managed to now be used by an equally nice establishment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.