About The Classic Cup

301 W 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

The Country Club Plaza is the place to see and be seen in K.C., and this European cafe.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
47th Street & Wornall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 753-1840

Website:
http://www.classiccup.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Turner

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Classic Cup Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Kansas City
Great for Lunch
Kansas City
Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
2 More
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

great for outdoor dining (52)
great for brunch (50)
great for lunch (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
fit for foodies (35)
special occasion (33)
romantic (21)
scenic view (19)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, cla ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, classic Sunday brunch in KC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Sunday Brunch

Dined 4 days ago

I had a great time taking my friend to Birthday Brunch! Our server was fantastic! The restaurant was so busy but we were always tended to - our food came quick and we were both pleased! Love the Classic Cup!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Ordered the blacken chicken Caesar salad ...

Dined 6 days ago

Ordered the blacken chicken Caesar salad. Chicken was extremely dry. It was a birthday, which was mentioned in the reservation. No acknowledgment was given to it. Wait staff, although very polite, appeared to be given too many tables to care for at one time.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Longtime favorite. The ambiance is enou ...

Dined 7 days ago

Longtime favorite. The ambiance is enough to attract me. Even on a cold day, the long and shallow profile makes you feel like your at a European-like sidewalk café. It's comfortable for drinks and aps or a business meeting or even a special occasion. The Cellar facility is excellent for a group up to 60. On a great day, the outdoor deck is the best spot to enjoy the Country Club Plaza. Add in the fact its a strong 4-star restaurant with well-crafted, dependable dishes and you have an outstanding restaurant. If you are a wine enthusiast, owner Stephen Malloy is one of the top personalities in the region and he has built a killer wine cellar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The "go to" place for a casual weekend b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The "go to" place for a casual weekend brunch on the Plaza.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great mall-area outdoor dining option--g ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great mall-area outdoor dining option--great waitress (Stephanie), good beef--all loved our food and drink. Shocked at the bill being from the NE--great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been to Classic Cup in the past. But it's been over a year. This time was very disappointing. The wait stuff wasn't pleasant and I rarely saw a smile on anyone face. Some of the staff looked sloppy and for the price I'm paying I felt this slight nicer restaurant would reflect this. I was also disappointed in my food. Very bland and my mother in laws sticky French toast wasn't soaked all the way through and the bread was extremely difficult to cut.

food5
ambience5
service3

After nearly 20 years since I last went, ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

After nearly 20 years since I last went, food remains great. The location was packed for breakfast. Service came with an attitude, but my friends said that was unusual. Great plaza breakfast place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for breakfast

Dined on April 24, 2016

Met a friend after the Trolley Run. Sat outside and had a great breakfast. Remembered the coffee being better but otherwise the food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The waitress wasn't very attentive to us.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a 5.30 reservation, with few tables occupied. The service was slow, and the server didn't seem to really care about her work. She was unfamiliar with some of the items on the menu, looked over our heads when we were talking to her, and basically seemed uninterested. Food was great, as always! We will return, of course.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Plaza Must

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wed dined before the opera on a recent Spring evening. Tables by the window or outside allow diners to see the energy of the Plaza. The salmon salad is reasonable and very tasty. The only downside is they don't have happy hour pricing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food and location, didn't honor reservation

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and location here are wonderful. The price is reasonable. If you get lucky and get to sit outside you'll really enjoy it. My biggest complaint is that we had a reservation, yet we still had to wait 30 minutes and the hostess wasn't very helpful and refused to smile. Good food, definitely worth checking out. The service could use some help.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service1

My husband and I did not have the best e ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I did not have the best experience. The hostess was rude and impatient with us, and overall the service felt rushed. I ordered the crab cake Benedict and while tasty, my poached eggs were almost hard poached. I just left feeling very unsatisfied.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary Night Out

Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoyed Classic Cup for our anniversary. We sat outside in the front of the restaurant (outdoor seating both front and back), so the noise rating is lower than it would have been if we sat inside. The service was great and food presentation was very nice, however, I do not recommned the scallops. The dish was rather expensive for 3 scallops that had mediocre flavor and were gritty (yes, I know scallops can have sand in them when removed from the shell, but honestly these were gritty). My husband ordered salmon, which was over cooked. It has been a couple of years since we last dined at The Classic Cup and we did not experience this in the past. I hope it was just an off night and this will not occur if we dine there in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local dining. Love it when the doo ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great local dining. Love it when the doors are open and you can see people strolling by, even if you are inside. They have some nice affordable wines on their menu, delicious food, great service. All around fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I like this place. Good food, super slow service.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I like this place. For a casual experience I recommend the back patio. The front seating is nice atmosphere both in and out. Food is good. Tons of wine selections though be ware the wines are very expensive and by the bottle only. Service very slow and ran out of menus even tough there was tons of empty seats...that was odd.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a Favorite...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Had LATE brunch on a Sunday and food was impeccable, as always. Service wasn't the best I've ever had , but still good. I can't remember the last time I've visited KC and NOT eaten at The Classic Cup.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great breakfast

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Sunday Brunch - great menu selection with amazing omelettes. Coffee is great (Roasterie) and abundant.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Classic Cup delivers a high quality menu.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Classic Cup delivers a high quality menu at an affordable cost. As well, its central location on the Kansas City Plaza gives it an ambience few restaurants can offer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Waiter was willing to share recommendati ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Waiter was willing to share recommendations. Loved that it was a quiet atmosphere.

food1
ambience3
service4

Though I usually have good food experien ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Though I usually have good food experience, today was not the case as I had to send my food back twice due to being over cooked

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got it right

Dined on April 3, 2016

Thank you, Classic Cup. We had fabulous food and a great conversation. Our waitress was appropriately attentive and we were all satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Easter/brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our seating was prompt. The hostess had a charisma bypass, no smiles no real greeting ,follow me and sit down. the waitress was fine and the food was very below average for this restaurant. My son almost broke a tooth on his French toast and my wife's salmon eggs Benedict was not great. I asked for an English muffin with my omelette and no potatoes. My food arrived with potatoes and no English muffin. All in all, we will probably not return even though this has been our favorite place for Easter/Mother's Day.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice Place!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I had Easter Brunch and we had a blast. Didn't realize The Classic Cup had a wine cellar. They sat us in the wine cellar (we were advised ahead of time) it's down stairs below the restaurant and we'll probably reserve it for an office Christmas Party.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Last minute dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

Classic Cup is always my go-to restaurant, especially last minute. The food is always amazing, the wine list is plentiful, and the scenery is always vibrant. My wife and I love the romantic setting. And the wall of windows facing The Plaza make it the ideal place to people watch. This is by far our favorite restaurant in Kansas City.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love coming here for brunch! ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Absolutely love coming here for brunch! The atmosphere feels very European and the food is delicious!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Avoid Mid-Day Menu

Dined on March 19, 2016

Classic Cup was very packed on a Saturday morning. Our reservation was at 11 am, and we arrived 10 minutes early but were not seated until 11:15-11:20ish. Upon being seated, we were surprised to find that breakfast was no longer served at 11 am on a Saturday. Instead, they were serving a mid-day menu that consisted mostly of salads. I had the only "breakfasty" item available, a bagel with salmon, and it was delicious. I would recommend the Classic Cup to a friend, with the caveat that they should avoid the mid-day menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This place has amazing breakfast! Try th ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

This place has amazing breakfast! Try their pancakes, bread pudding, and lox - all were amazing! The price for the pancakes seems a little high, especially to add blueberries, but totally worth it. Make a God cappuccino, too! We've gone every morning during our KC vacation. No complaints!

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent food, appropriate s ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

As always, excellent food, appropriate servers.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Euro-style cafe

Dined on March 7, 2016

I've been for breakfast twice, both times I received well-prepared, high-quality food and competent service. Very classy place without being pretentious. I can't wait for the patio to open for the spring.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Embarrassed

Dined on March 6, 2016

I suggested The Classic Cup as a place to meet 2 friends. This was the first visit for both of them. Neither will return. The decor and ambiance perfect. Food presentation beautiful. Staff did not make either of them feel welcomed or comfortable. It was as if we were not sitting at the table. No questions asked. No beverage refilled: water, tea ,coffee. Only actions. Plates removed while we were still chewing. Check placed in the middle of the table...and then snatched up before we had time to review. But the action that sealed the deal was the collect of the napkins -one was jerked out from under an elbow. One of my friends did speak to the manager before we left. I am sorry I cannot recommend again.

food5
ambience5
service5

It's amazing to me how Classic Cup can m ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

It's amazing to me how Classic Cup can manage to be so busy and still serve so quickly. Best breakfast spot in Country Club Plaza.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

good not great

Dined on February 28, 2016

very lovely brunch other than my eggs benedict was not great. eggs were over-cooked. need a runny yolk for them to be good. should be something they should perfect seeing the amount of brunches they serve.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waited a long time

Dined on February 28, 2016

We showed up 10 minutes early for our reservation. We ended up waiting 35 more minutes (45 total) to get seated. Apparently a reservation didn't mean much to them.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3

We were seated by kitchen entry; dishes ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were seated by kitchen entry; dishes being slammed, glasses breaking and water pitcher falling and splashed water on me. Every one rushed and stressed. Hoping for a quiet, romantic night with my husband so a little disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love those griddle cakes!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We always have breakfast here when we stay at the Plaza. Service was great and everyone enjoyed the food.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good. My wife loves it!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Always good. My wife loves it!

food1
ambience3
service2

My breakfast was extremely greasy

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

My breakfast was extremely greasy

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good service & food

Dined on February 26, 2016

Very good service & food

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.