About The Classic Cup

301 W 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

The Country Club Plaza is the place to see and be seen in K.C., and this European cafe.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
47th Street & Wornall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 753-1840

Website:
http://www.classiccup.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Turner

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Classic Cup Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Great for Brunch (37)
Great for Lunch (32)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Scenic View (19)
Romantic (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hostess was inundated and disregarded me ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Hostess was inundated and disregarded me once I made my way to the hostess station - after waiting in line, another customer jumped ahead of me and was seated immediately. When our turn came to be seated, she made me get rid of coffee I had purchased elsewhere, saying it was against health codes. However the table right next to us had coffee cups from another source sitting on their table. A portion of our order was cold when it arrived. Not a good birthday brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Absolutely loved it. All perfect! Keep ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Absolutely loved it. All perfect! Keep up the great work ….

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass was really bad, served over ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sea bass was really bad, served over and under a cover like a hash house sauce. The aspargras was not fresh. Will not go back. Years past it was a fine place to enjoy. That is now past.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Not the same experience we have had in t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not the same experience we have had in the past. Probably will be our last time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

First time there and will definitely be ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time there and will definitely be back. Fantastic food at great prices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good, but service wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was pretty good, but service was lackluster. After watching all the people around me get waited on, I finally got to ask for drink order. The waiter was brief and unwelcoming, which is frustrating because my company frequents Classic Cup for lunch and service is usually a little better. Hopefully my experience will be better next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the Classic Cup! Our fave brunch sp ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love the Classic Cup! Our fave brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was delicious. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was great. Food was delicious. Everyone was courteous and helpful. Our out of town guests found it charming and affordable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great brunch on a Sunday morn ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was a great brunch on a Sunday morning. I reserved a table for two and was received by the restaurant at the exact time I had reserved. They had outdoor seating and indoor seating. Unfortunately due to the hot weather, the indoor tables were all taken. My girlfriend and I ended up taking a table outside with a view of the plaza facing the Buca side. Service was prompt and very good even with a full house of guests. The food was evenly portioned and the pricing was not bad at all for what they were serving. I would visit this place again if I was interested in brunch within the Plaza area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, a good meal with nice atmospher ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall, a good meal with nice atmosphere. Service was a little below avg., but server was new. Manager was very helpful and covered where needed. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a great place for brunch, so many ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always a great place for brunch, so many options ranging from their world famous griddle cakes to their salmon-egg benedict. Classy and courteous servers, with seating out front and out back, with fabulous cocktails and a full bar - something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I always recommend The Classic Cup for g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I always recommend The Classic Cup for guests from both in and out of town. It is a wonderful gem in the middle of many chain restaurants.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our concert ended earlier than expected, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our concert ended earlier than expected, and the restaurant was able to take us earlier than our reservation. We much appreciated their flexibility.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service - wonderful food. I'd ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent Service - wonderful food. I'd definitely recommend it for bruch.

Very crowded - but with a reservation we got seated immediately.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite breakfast spot. Excellent ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our favorite breakfast spot. Excellent service and great chef inspired menu. Follow it with a walk around the Plaza.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Came here for brunch with some friends and was very pleased with everything! Our food was delicious and we had a great time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Menu is terrific. Service, ambiance and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Menu is terrific. Service, ambiance and atmosphere is always spot on!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was really hot. Service was terrible.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was really hot. Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

The KC Location for Brunch!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a must-do for brunch when in the Kansas City Plaza area. Amazing plates. Our group had the daily quiche, french toast, and salmon Benedict. Smiles all around. Elizabeth was a friendly and attentive server!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what I expected

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner and were very disappointed. The entre' selection was limited and what we did order was either bland and at the worst cold. For an "institution" that has been on the Plaza for years, they have just become tired and overpriced. Will mark this one off as an overall bad decision.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

For a place that is known for brunch, es ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

For a place that is known for brunch, especially a holiday weekend, way below par! It took over 15 minutes to get drink after we ordered at bar, then seated. Bartender was rude and was inconvenienced by our asking for a mimosa with cranberry juice, instead of orange juice. I can't drink orange juice!

Food was overlooked for seared to medium rare. It was done. Trying to get check so we could leave took longer! Will never visit this place again. I have given it too many tries!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The waitress hardly checked on us and we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waitress hardly checked on us and we had to ask several times to have our drinks refilled and coffee too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I have been for lunch and the food was amazing but our recent visit for dinner was not good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Love going to classic cup! Always great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love going to classic cup! Always great service! Love the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, cla ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, classic Sunday brunch in KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Sunday Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had a great time taking my friend to Birthday Brunch! Our server was fantastic! The restaurant was so busy but we were always tended to - our food came quick and we were both pleased!

Love the Classic Cup!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the blacken chicken Caesar salad ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Ordered the blacken chicken Caesar salad. Chicken was extremely dry. It was a birthday, which was mentioned in the reservation. No acknowledgment was given to it. Wait staff, although very polite, appeared to be given too many tables to care for at one time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Longtime favorite. The ambiance is enou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Longtime favorite. The ambiance is enough to attract me. Even on a cold day, the long and shallow profile makes you feel like your at a European-like sidewalk café. It's comfortable for drinks and aps or a business meeting or even a special occasion. The Cellar facility is excellent for a group up to 60. On a great day, the outdoor deck is the best spot to enjoy the Country Club Plaza. Add in the fact its a strong 4-star restaurant with well-crafted, dependable dishes and you have an outstanding restaurant.

If you are a wine enthusiast, owner Stephen Malloy is one of the top personalities in the region and he has built a killer wine cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The "go to" place for a casual weekend b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The "go to" place for a casual weekend brunch on the Plaza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great mall-area outdoor dining option--g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great mall-area outdoor dining option--great waitress (Stephanie), good beef--all loved our food and drink. Shocked at the bill being from the NE--great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been to Classic Cup in the past. But it's been over a year. This time was very disappointing. The wait stuff wasn't pleasant and I rarely saw a smile on anyone face. Some of the staff looked sloppy and for the price I'm paying I felt this slight nicer restaurant would reflect this. I was also disappointed in my food. Very bland and my mother in laws sticky French toast wasn't soaked all the way through and the bread was extremely difficult to cut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

After nearly 20 years since I last went, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

After nearly 20 years since I last went, food remains great. The location was packed for breakfast. Service came with an attitude, but my friends said that was unusual. Great plaza breakfast place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great spot for breakfast

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Met a friend after the Trolley Run. Sat outside and had a great breakfast. Remembered the coffee being better but otherwise the food was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress wasn't very attentive to us.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a 5.30 reservation, with few tables occupied. The service was slow, and the server didn't seem to really care about her work. She was unfamiliar with some of the items on the menu, looked over our heads when we were talking to her, and basically seemed uninterested.

Food was great, as always! We will return, of course.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Plaza Must

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Wed dined before the opera on a recent Spring evening. Tables by the window or outside allow diners to see the energy of the Plaza. The salmon salad is reasonable and very tasty. The only downside is they don't have happy hour pricing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food and location, didn't honor reservation

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and location here are wonderful. The price is reasonable. If you get lucky and get to sit outside you'll really enjoy it.

My biggest complaint is that we had a reservation, yet we still had to wait 30 minutes and the hostess wasn't very helpful and refused to smile.

Good food, definitely worth checking out. The service could use some help.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

My husband and I did not have the best e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I did not have the best experience. The hostess was rude and impatient with us, and overall the service felt rushed. I ordered the crab cake Benedict and while tasty, my poached eggs were almost hard poached. I just left feeling very unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Anniversary Night Out

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoyed Classic Cup for our anniversary. We sat outside in the front of the restaurant (outdoor seating both front and back), so the noise rating is lower than it would have been if we sat inside. The service was great and food presentation was very nice, however, I do not recommned the scallops. The dish was rather expensive for 3 scallops that had mediocre flavor and were gritty (yes, I know scallops can have sand in them when removed from the shell, but honestly these were gritty). My husband ordered salmon, which was over cooked. It has been a couple of years since we last dined at The Classic Cup and we did not experience this in the past. I hope it was just an off night and this will not occur if we dine there in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great local dining. Love it when the doo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great local dining. Love it when the doors are open and you can see people strolling by, even if you are inside. They have some nice affordable wines on their menu, delicious food, great service. All around fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like this place. Good food, super slow service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I like this place. For a casual experience I recommend the back patio. The front seating is nice atmosphere both in and out. Food is good. Tons of wine selections though be ware the wines are very expensive and by the bottle only. Service very slow and ran out of menus even tough there was tons of empty seats...that was odd.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.