About The Classic Cup

301 W 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

The Country Club Plaza is the place to see and be seen in K.C., and this European cafe.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
47th Street & Wornall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 753-1840

Website:
http://www.classiccup.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Turner

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Classic Cup Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Sunday Lunch (8)
Casual (8)
People Watching (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Historic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice experience overall. I had a b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very nice experience overall. I had a business lunch, so we needed a somewhat quite place to meet. Great atmosphere, food was very good and service was wonderful. I had the bison sliders, the best bison burger I have ever had to this point.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Three of us went for Brunch on Saturday ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Three of us went for Brunch on Saturday morning at 10. The restaurant was crowded (it was a lovely day and everyone was out people-watching). We had a reservation and were seated promptly. The English muffins in the Eggs Benedict were a little difficult to cut, but the dish was delicious and the potatoes were great. We'd definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Classic cafe in beautiful neighborhood. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Classic cafe in beautiful neighborhood. Great service. Extensive menu. Great pancakes!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place on the Plaza to meet friends. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice place on the Plaza to meet friends. Lots of sunlight. Busy but not noisy. Good salads and eggs benedict. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Allowed us to sit and talk after dining without signaling we should leave.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast is dependable, coffee always g ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Breakfast is dependable, coffee always good, allows for private conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great brunch with friends at Cla ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Another great brunch with friends at Classic Cup! Always enjoy going here for the Sunday Brunch. Even better when my friends order something different so I can share some of theirs and enjoy more than one of my favorite dishes!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was not my first time dining at Cla ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was not my first time dining at Classic Cup. Usually it is wonderful. Last Saturday afternoon, it was awful! Service was bad; hot food was cold & cold drink (Mimosa) was room temperature. Food / flavor was not up to par that day either. I hope this was just an off day for them.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Not the Classic Cup I remembered. A life ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Not the Classic Cup I remembered. A life long KC resident we used to always pick Classic Cup for special events. It had been awhile and I was looking forward to dining outside. The hostess wasn't pleased to be there. No gracious greeting. Our server was very sweet, but clearly we were her first or second table. Did not know the menu and came back multiple times to get our order right. All that I appreciated, she did her best, but I felt a restaurant of this caliber, or one I used to know, would have better training support for their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

A great Country Club Plaza staple. Gene ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

A great Country Club Plaza staple. Generally consistent service, food, and presentation. Expect a wait during peak times but other than that, fairly easy to get in.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined to catch up with old friends fr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We dined to catch up with old friends from out of town. We wanted a place to gather for some quiet conversation. On a gorgeous summer evening, the inside seating was empty, except for our table... And even the outside wan't full, to our surprise. The food we had was fine, though I had the Caesar salad, with added Salmon for a topper, and I was surprised at what seemed like an unusually small Salmon portion.

We could have had our quiet conversation, except for the SCREAMING motorcycles on the street in front of the cafe. We literally jumped in our seats when the cycles raced by. This is not the restaurant's fault, but I suspect it must impact their business. I think we will hesitate to come back when the sidewalk windows are open, due to this noise.

So, the Cup is a pleasant space, in a great location, hampered by motorcycle noise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great value. Waiter was not as attentiv ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great value. Waiter was not as attentive as we would have wished. Had to request water refills repeatedly before getting them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

As regulars, we've come to expect a cons ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

As regulars, we've come to expect a consistently great breakfast experience at CC. Not today. Many missteps: seated my husband and I back by powder room and kitchen, despite request for seating on side. Husband's chair was bumped every time server dashed by, no apologies. Bloody Mary too spicy or too bland, inconsistent (did someone new try their hand at bartending today?). Pancake "anemic, " not cooked through, cold and rubbery - clearly had been sitting out for a while (end of breakfast shift). Manager brought out food and presentation did not appear off to him. It was clear from conversation of other guests around us that we were not the only ones who thought something was off today. Nonetheless, we know this is not the norm and will return. Normally, we love it and it's one of favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was very good but ambiance was not. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was very good but ambiance was not. The table next to us was so close when the lady sitting At the next wanted to get out we had to move our table. Very noisy and the waiter was not very courteous, we have eaten there numerous times and always been quite pleased. This time we were a bit disappointed. We wil give it another try.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

The evening was just great. We had the h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The evening was just great. We had the hanger steak in red wine reduction, and it was the best we had ever had. We are always pleased with the food and service at CC. Also you have a very nice wine list, which includes wines which are reasonably priced, but delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I chose Classic Cup for a business lunch ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I chose Classic Cup for a business luncheon/meeting. I know how busy it gets and chose to reserve an early time. Everything was just great!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was inundated and disregarded me ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Hostess was inundated and disregarded me once I made my way to the hostess station - after waiting in line, another customer jumped ahead of me and was seated immediately. When our turn came to be seated, she made me get rid of coffee I had purchased elsewhere, saying it was against health codes. However the table right next to us had coffee cups from another source sitting on their table. A portion of our order was cold when it arrived. Not a good birthday brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Absolutely loved it. All perfect! Keep ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Absolutely loved it. All perfect! Keep up the great work ….

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass was really bad, served over ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sea bass was really bad, served over and under a cover like a hash house sauce. The aspargras was not fresh. Will not go back. Years past it was a fine place to enjoy. That is now past.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Not the same experience we have had in t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not the same experience we have had in the past. Probably will be our last time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

First time there and will definitely be ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time there and will definitely be back. Fantastic food at great prices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good, but service wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was pretty good, but service was lackluster. After watching all the people around me get waited on, I finally got to ask for drink order. The waiter was brief and unwelcoming, which is frustrating because my company frequents Classic Cup for lunch and service is usually a little better. Hopefully my experience will be better next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the Classic Cup! Our fave brunch sp ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love the Classic Cup! Our fave brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was delicious. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was great. Food was delicious. Everyone was courteous and helpful. Our out of town guests found it charming and affordable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great brunch on a Sunday morn ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was a great brunch on a Sunday morning. I reserved a table for two and was received by the restaurant at the exact time I had reserved. They had outdoor seating and indoor seating. Unfortunately due to the hot weather, the indoor tables were all taken. My girlfriend and I ended up taking a table outside with a view of the plaza facing the Buca side. Service was prompt and very good even with a full house of guests. The food was evenly portioned and the pricing was not bad at all for what they were serving. I would visit this place again if I was interested in brunch within the Plaza area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, a good meal with nice atmospher ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall, a good meal with nice atmosphere. Service was a little below avg., but server was new. Manager was very helpful and covered where needed. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a great place for brunch, so many ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always a great place for brunch, so many options ranging from their world famous griddle cakes to their salmon-egg benedict. Classy and courteous servers, with seating out front and out back, with fabulous cocktails and a full bar - something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I always recommend The Classic Cup for g ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2016

I always recommend The Classic Cup for guests from both in and out of town. It is a wonderful gem in the middle of many chain restaurants.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our concert ended earlier than expected, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our concert ended earlier than expected, and the restaurant was able to take us earlier than our reservation. We much appreciated their flexibility.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service - wonderful food. I'd ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent Service - wonderful food. I'd definitely recommend it for bruch.

Very crowded - but with a reservation we got seated immediately.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite breakfast spot. Excellent ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our favorite breakfast spot. Excellent service and great chef inspired menu. Follow it with a walk around the Plaza.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Came here for brunch with some friends and was very pleased with everything! Our food was delicious and we had a great time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Menu is terrific. Service, ambiance and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Menu is terrific. Service, ambiance and atmosphere is always spot on!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was really hot. Service was terrible.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was really hot. Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

The KC Location for Brunch!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a must-do for brunch when in the Kansas City Plaza area. Amazing plates. Our group had the daily quiche, french toast, and salmon Benedict. Smiles all around. Elizabeth was a friendly and attentive server!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what I expected

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner and were very disappointed. The entre' selection was limited and what we did order was either bland and at the worst cold. For an "institution" that has been on the Plaza for years, they have just become tired and overpriced. Will mark this one off as an overall bad decision.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

For a place that is known for brunch, es ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2016

For a place that is known for brunch, especially a holiday weekend, way below par! It took over 15 minutes to get drink after we ordered at bar, then seated. Bartender was rude and was inconvenienced by our asking for a mimosa with cranberry juice, instead of orange juice. I can't drink orange juice!

Food was overlooked for seared to medium rare. It was done. Trying to get check so we could leave took longer! Will never visit this place again. I have given it too many tries!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The waitress hardly checked on us and we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waitress hardly checked on us and we had to ask several times to have our drinks refilled and coffee too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Food

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I have been for lunch and the food was amazing but our recent visit for dinner was not good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Love going to classic cup! Always great ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love going to classic cup! Always great service! Love the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, cla ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, classic Sunday brunch in KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.