About The Classic Cup

301 W 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

The Country Club Plaza is the place to see and be seen in K.C., and this European cafe.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
47th Street & Wornall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 753-1840

Website:
http://www.classiccup.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Turner

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Classic Cup Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Kansas City
Outdoor Dining
Kansas City
Great for Brunch
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Great for Lunch
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

great for outdoor dining (60)
great for brunch (53)
great for lunch (47)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (29)
scenic view (23)
romantic (21)
good for groups (17)
notable wine list (14)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was delicious. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was great. Food was delicious. Everyone was courteous and helpful. Our out of town guests found it charming and affordable

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great brunch on a Sunday morn ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was a great brunch on a Sunday morning. I reserved a table for two and was received by the restaurant at the exact time I had reserved. They had outdoor seating and indoor seating. Unfortunately due to the hot weather, the indoor tables were all taken. My girlfriend and I ended up taking a table outside with a view of the plaza facing the Buca side. Service was prompt and very good even with a full house of guests. The food was evenly portioned and the pricing was not bad at all for what they were serving. I would visit this place again if I was interested in brunch within the Plaza area.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, a good meal with nice atmospher ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overall, a good meal with nice atmosphere. Service was a little below avg., but server was new. Manager was very helpful and covered where needed. Will go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a great place for brunch, so many ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always a great place for brunch, so many options ranging from their world famous griddle cakes to their salmon-egg benedict. Classy and courteous servers, with seating out front and out back, with fabulous cocktails and a full bar - something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always recommend The Classic Cup for g ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I always recommend The Classic Cup for guests from both in and out of town. It is a wonderful gem in the middle of many chain restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our concert ended earlier than expected, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our concert ended earlier than expected, and the restaurant was able to take us earlier than our reservation. We much appreciated their flexibility.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service - wonderful food. I'd ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent Service - wonderful food. I'd definitely recommend it for bruch. Very crowded - but with a reservation we got seated immediately.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite breakfast spot. Excellent ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our favorite breakfast spot. Excellent service and great chef inspired menu. Follow it with a walk around the Plaza.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch spot

Dined on June 11, 2016

Came here for brunch with some friends and was very pleased with everything! Our food was delicious and we had a great time!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu is terrific. Service, ambiance and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Menu is terrific. Service, ambiance and atmosphere is always spot on!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience1
service1

It was really hot. Service was terrible.

Dined on June 9, 2016

It was really hot. Service was terrible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The KC Location for Brunch!

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a must-do for brunch when in the Kansas City Plaza area. Amazing plates. Our group had the daily quiche, french toast, and salmon Benedict. Smiles all around. Elizabeth was a friendly and attentive server!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not what I expected

Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner and were very disappointed. The entre' selection was limited and what we did order was either bland and at the worst cold. For an "institution" that has been on the Plaza for years, they have just become tired and overpriced. Will mark this one off as an overall bad decision.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

For a place that is known for brunch, es ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

For a place that is known for brunch, especially a holiday weekend, way below par! It took over 15 minutes to get drink after we ordered at bar, then seated. Bartender was rude and was inconvenienced by our asking for a mimosa with cranberry juice, instead of orange juice. I can't drink orange juice! Food was overlooked for seared to medium rare. It was done. Trying to get check so we could leave took longer! Will never visit this place again. I have given it too many tries!!

food5
ambience2
service1

The waitress hardly checked on us and we ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The waitress hardly checked on us and we had to ask several times to have our drinks refilled and coffee too.

food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Food

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have been for lunch and the food was amazing but our recent visit for dinner was not good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Love going to classic cup! Always great ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Love going to classic cup! Always great service! Love the menu!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, cla ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent place for a relaxing, hip, classic Sunday brunch in KC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had a great time taking my friend to Birthday Brunch! Our server was fantastic! The restaurant was so busy but we were always tended to - our food came quick and we were both pleased! Love the Classic Cup!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Ordered the blacken chicken Caesar salad ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Ordered the blacken chicken Caesar salad. Chicken was extremely dry. It was a birthday, which was mentioned in the reservation. No acknowledgment was given to it. Wait staff, although very polite, appeared to be given too many tables to care for at one time.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Longtime favorite. The ambiance is enou ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Longtime favorite. The ambiance is enough to attract me. Even on a cold day, the long and shallow profile makes you feel like your at a European-like sidewalk café. It's comfortable for drinks and aps or a business meeting or even a special occasion. The Cellar facility is excellent for a group up to 60. On a great day, the outdoor deck is the best spot to enjoy the Country Club Plaza. Add in the fact its a strong 4-star restaurant with well-crafted, dependable dishes and you have an outstanding restaurant. If you are a wine enthusiast, owner Stephen Malloy is one of the top personalities in the region and he has built a killer wine cellar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The "go to" place for a casual weekend b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The "go to" place for a casual weekend brunch on the Plaza.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great mall-area outdoor dining option--g ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great mall-area outdoor dining option--great waitress (Stephanie), good beef--all loved our food and drink. Shocked at the bill being from the NE--great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been to Classic Cup in the past. But it's been over a year. This time was very disappointing. The wait stuff wasn't pleasant and I rarely saw a smile on anyone face. Some of the staff looked sloppy and for the price I'm paying I felt this slight nicer restaurant would reflect this. I was also disappointed in my food. Very bland and my mother in laws sticky French toast wasn't soaked all the way through and the bread was extremely difficult to cut.

food5
ambience5
service3

After nearly 20 years since I last went, ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

After nearly 20 years since I last went, food remains great. The location was packed for breakfast. Service came with an attitude, but my friends said that was unusual. Great plaza breakfast place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for breakfast

Dined on April 24, 2016

Met a friend after the Trolley Run. Sat outside and had a great breakfast. Remembered the coffee being better but otherwise the food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The waitress wasn't very attentive to us.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a 5.30 reservation, with few tables occupied. The service was slow, and the server didn't seem to really care about her work. She was unfamiliar with some of the items on the menu, looked over our heads when we were talking to her, and basically seemed uninterested. Food was great, as always! We will return, of course.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Plaza Must

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wed dined before the opera on a recent Spring evening. Tables by the window or outside allow diners to see the energy of the Plaza. The salmon salad is reasonable and very tasty. The only downside is they don't have happy hour pricing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food and location, didn't honor reservation

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and location here are wonderful. The price is reasonable. If you get lucky and get to sit outside you'll really enjoy it. My biggest complaint is that we had a reservation, yet we still had to wait 30 minutes and the hostess wasn't very helpful and refused to smile. Good food, definitely worth checking out. The service could use some help.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service1

My husband and I did not have the best e ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I did not have the best experience. The hostess was rude and impatient with us, and overall the service felt rushed. I ordered the crab cake Benedict and while tasty, my poached eggs were almost hard poached. I just left feeling very unsatisfied.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary Night Out

Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoyed Classic Cup for our anniversary. We sat outside in the front of the restaurant (outdoor seating both front and back), so the noise rating is lower than it would have been if we sat inside. The service was great and food presentation was very nice, however, I do not recommned the scallops. The dish was rather expensive for 3 scallops that had mediocre flavor and were gritty (yes, I know scallops can have sand in them when removed from the shell, but honestly these were gritty). My husband ordered salmon, which was over cooked. It has been a couple of years since we last dined at The Classic Cup and we did not experience this in the past. I hope it was just an off night and this will not occur if we dine there in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local dining. Love it when the doo ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great local dining. Love it when the doors are open and you can see people strolling by, even if you are inside. They have some nice affordable wines on their menu, delicious food, great service. All around fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I like this place. Good food, super slow service.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I like this place. For a casual experience I recommend the back patio. The front seating is nice atmosphere both in and out. Food is good. Tons of wine selections though be ware the wines are very expensive and by the bottle only. Service very slow and ran out of menus even tough there was tons of empty seats...that was odd.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a Favorite...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Had LATE brunch on a Sunday and food was impeccable, as always. Service wasn't the best I've ever had , but still good. I can't remember the last time I've visited KC and NOT eaten at The Classic Cup.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great breakfast

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Sunday Brunch - great menu selection with amazing omelettes. Coffee is great (Roasterie) and abundant.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Classic Cup delivers a high quality menu.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Classic Cup delivers a high quality menu at an affordable cost. As well, its central location on the Kansas City Plaza gives it an ambience few restaurants can offer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Waiter was willing to share recommendati ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Waiter was willing to share recommendations. Loved that it was a quiet atmosphere.

food1
ambience3
service4

Though I usually have good food experien ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Though I usually have good food experience, today was not the case as I had to send my food back twice due to being over cooked

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got it right

Dined on April 3, 2016

Thank you, Classic Cup. We had fabulous food and a great conversation. Our waitress was appropriately attentive and we were all satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.