About The Church Key

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-5:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: 818-398-7677x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Church Key, West Hollywood, CA
The Church Key, West Hollywood, CA

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our 2nd time at Church Key. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Church Key. We ordered otter pops and food from the carts. The food was good, but not great. We waited over an hour for our dessert donuts to be served. We finally asked for our check, and said we would forget the donuts. That's when they were brought to us, on the house. Our dinner was over 3 hours, because of the slow service throughout the evening, but especially for the dessert ( and they only serve one item for dessert).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Ordered the grilled hanger steak and it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ordered the grilled hanger steak and it was amazing and on top of that orders the brioche donut OMG! To die for it melts in your mouth and you can't help but want to lick the whole plate after you're done. And our waitress Michele was great made us feel comfortable and enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get the donuts.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Get the donuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful experience and dinner. Dim Sum ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful experience and dinner. Dim Sum was unique and DELICIOUS. The entrees were good sized and unique. There was nothing we didn't enjoy about the evening. And get the popcorn. You'll thank us later!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was terrible. Food used to be m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was terrible. Food used to be much better. I was a big fan of the restaurant but it took a turn. The service was so bad - we had to flag someone down 3 times just to order and might have seen our waiter once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very very overpriced for what you get. A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very very overpriced for what you get. Also the mimosas are not made with actual OJ and the bloody Mary's are watery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The Church Key for brunch is a MUST if ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Church Key for brunch is a MUST if visiting LA or living here. I can honestly say it was the best meal I have had here since I moved from the East Coast (I've been here for 8 months). The bottomless Rose champagne was AMAZING, and my glass was maybe empty for a maximum total of a whole minute the entire brunch. The food: OMG. So decadent and definitely a splurge from your diet. It was incredible! The service was great; our waitress was super attentive and everyone was pleasant. Will for sure be back, and take all of my visitors and clients there too!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, innovative preparations, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food, innovative preparations, great appetizers and small plates. Au courant Sunset Boulevard atmosphere with exposed brick white-washed walls and distressed tin ceilings that are high and dramatic, with chandeliers and old bookcases, mismatched chairs and casual vibe.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the staff were wonderful an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food and the staff were wonderful and made sure that our party of ten was well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time here and we went ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was my first time here and we went for brunch. The food itself was pretty okay. Overpriced but large portions. Unfortunately some of the items that were going for high end just ended up falling flat. The menu advertised bottomless rose which they did not have available - they need to make a note on both their website and menu if they're not going to honor their own specials. Waitress was nice when we could get her attention. Overall, probably won't be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As usual the food was very good and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As usual the food was very good and the creativity and presentation very good as well. We were accomodated even though we arrived early and were among the last to leave. We generally enjoyed the experience (not our first time), though the staff were a bit overly aggressive when we needed time to talk and clearly the staff, including the manager, did not understand what a "short" expresso is. I had to explain a few times until they got it right and even then it was watery and not what it should have been. But a small price to pay for a generally good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place! No words can describe it... ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place! No words can describe it... you must experience for your self.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was empty and yet still servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Restaurant was empty and yet still service was slow. Server really didn't add much value. Halibut was bad and steak was tough. Crab and spinach cheese dip was worst I've had and came with a few pieces of seeded crackers instead of hearty bread to stand up to all that heavy cheese. Poor judgment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Out of Hendrix out of appetizers not the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Out of Hendrix out of appetizers not the best start. Then no more kettle one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I visited Church Key while on holiday. T ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I visited Church Key while on holiday. There were 2 problems:

1) my friend was in crutches but they still sat us at the furthest table from the door despite the restaurant being fairly quiet.

2) our waiter explained to us the concept of the tasting trolley after we had been approached by the waitress and bombarded with food options. Very confusing. Once explained we decided we would skip starters and try some of the items on the trolley. We clarified this with our waiter only to receive or mains before the trolley had a chance to reappear. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The manager was fantastic. A great eve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The manager was fantastic. A great evening. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

worst service I've ever received. We did ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

worst service I've ever received. We didn't have a server, rather the host/manager? somewhat served us, if you can call it that

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Don't go. Valet no where to be found. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Don't go. Valet no where to be found. Walk in. No hostess to be found. Get seated finally and wait 15 minutes for a waiter. Then wait another 15 minutes for.a drink. Drinks were bad. Food was bad. Service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Confused. Not one specific theme for fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Confused. Not one specific theme for food.

Drinks are great. Must try Pink Lips.

Dessert was also good. Highly recommend the Brioche Donuts.

If I do return, it'll be for drinks and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the mix of elegant and modern in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I loved the mix of elegant and modern industrial decor enough to remember it when I remodel my kitchen, and the food was excellent, especially the Snapper dish, but the service was not up to par with what I expected. The host was noticeably more enthusiastic seating the four young ladies with heels, rompers and cleavage who walked in after us while we waited with a reservation, but we were willing to forgive that. The bartender was quick and attentive, but said yes, they have a Red Blend, yet served me a Malbec. That's ok. I love Malbec. Our server was the most disappointing. He filled our water consistently throughout the meal, but he took ages to show up at the beginning, seemed completely uninterested in spending (scratch that) wasting any time at our table during the meal, and completely forgot about a beer my husband ordered, but was never around to be reminded.

It wasn't bad service. It was just what I would expect from a cheap restaurant chain. It didn't do the food any justice, unfortunately. I wouldn't go back, simply because there are so many other restaurants to choose from, and it wouldn't be difficult to improve on the service at any one of them.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This restaurant was great. Great service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant was great. Great service and style of food. Cool atmosphere and great for large groups or a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a party of 10. It was really good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a party of 10. It was really good food and a nice atmosphere. Our waiter was missing in action 75% of the time we were there. Had to get ups several times to ask him to bring things, more water, drinks, napkins, silver ware... they weren't that busy when we were there and I saw him chatting with the other waitresses often when he should have been making sure we were okay, but I guess since the gratuity was included in the big party he knew he could slack.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Very impressed by this place. The staff ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very impressed by this place. The staff was most wonderful - we were visiting Los Angeles and wanted to find a place with live music to go to after our dinner. The server recommended us a few places and also asked the manager of the restaurant to recommend us something. The food was great as well - really enjoyed the pork ribs. I had a half-portion and it was more than enough. The small bites were also very nice, and wine was at a discounted pricing (before 7pm).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thought this would be a fun place to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We thought this would be a fun place to grab some appetizers and enjoy different selections from the tapas cart. We sat in the restaurant for over an hour and the cart came by one time with 4 choices. This place is not sure what it wants to be food-wise -- is it tapas or not? You need to be more clear with your guests. In addition, a party of 4 sat down next to us with 2 "service" dogs. The dogs smelled, and were jumping around. Not appetizing. Maybe you need a dog area? Regardless, we then left immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were there late on a wednesday and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were there late on a wednesday and the restaurant was much quieter than we expected. It used to be packed all the time. The food was delicious but the serves were much smaller than expected for the price, ie: the dim sum dishes had only 1 item on them rather than the normal 2 that you would expect. Also there was a lot of variation in size. We both had the spicy tuna on crispy rice but one was half the size of the other, so that was kind of weird. I highly recommend the ahi taco though, that was so delicious we had 2 each.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch is a must here. Incredible food, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Brunch is a must here. Incredible food, bottomless mimosas, excellent service! Wish I lived in LA so I could eat here more often!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of us 4 girls went to Church Key ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

A group of us 4 girls went to Church Key for a Bday Brunch... It was a great experience. My first time there. We were expecting the Champagne bottles to remain on the table for the 'bottomless mimosa' experience, but I guess a new rule has gone into effect for those previous patrons who abused the bottomelessness.. The waiter was still very attentive to make sure our glasses were never empty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager stepped up when our waitress ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The manager stepped up when our waitress was snoozing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a cool place. The menu is a big ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was a cool place. The menu is a big confusing as the Dim Sum is not really dim sum and is really just a-la-cart menu.

Also the staff was a bit confused about orders, we got extra dishes we didnt order. They didnt charge for it, but still, lost revenue for the establishment.

The donuts however are aaaaammmmaaazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent. I had the biscui ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the biscuits and gravy. The bottomless Rose Champagne was a nice surprise and they were not stingy at all about filling the glasses back up. The brioche donuts were a bit overwhelmingly sweet, but still delicious and the "chocolate milk" that came along with them was a nice, whimsical touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Get the donuts. Amazing!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Get the donuts. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and ambiance was overall awesom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food and ambiance was overall awesome but they sat us down about 40 mins after I made my reservation. They should have at least offered us a free cocktail or appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

This was my third time dining at The Chu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was my third time dining at The Church Key and as before I was not disappointed. The food was amazing and the service was equally as good. I will be back again and I am telling everyone about the Church Key!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was at 9 pm on a Friday ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our reservation was at 9 pm on a Friday night, yet my boyfriend and I weren't seated until 945, even though there were tables open. The place wasn't even packed. My boyfriend had to ask the host twice what was going on, and he was met with attitude. Once we finally sat, it took another 20 minutes for the waitress to come over. For our 9 pm reservation, we did not eat until 1030. By that time, we were over it and although the food was great, it was not worth a second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Overall positive. Service not as good as ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall positive. Service not as good as prior visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a lovely brunch at The Church Key wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a lovely brunch at The Church Key with some girlfriends. It wasn't very busy, but the offerings were delicious! Bottomless mimosas, strong coffee, and those brown butter brioche donuts? To die for! I intend to go back often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really love coming here. They do an am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2016

I really love coming here. They do an amazing mixology bar and the food is amazing. They have nice and friendly staff that is knowledgeable and takes their time to explain the menu. I truly recommend anyone to try this place especially in the recent months it has really grown and stepped up to the next level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only do I love the food on the menu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Not only do I love the food on the menu but the food on the dim sum carts is fun and delicious. It's a great place to go with friends for a fun night out. And DO NOT skip the donuts for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, eclectic food finds, cool dr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, eclectic food finds, cool drinks, cool atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor and slow service. Dinner carts stop ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Poor and slow service. Dinner carts stopped making rounds at 9:30! Which is part of the reason we came here in the first place. Poor selection of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.