Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Church Key

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-4:00 pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: (818) 398-7677

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Fun (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Casual (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fireplace (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (6)
Tapas (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Live Music (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Trendy with funky decor

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I love The Church Key! The servers are extremely friendly and the food is delicious. It's a great place to have a fun brunch with friends--one of my favorite LA Spots.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The place is really lovely! We went for brunch and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was extremely nice and attentive. They kept bring refills for the Mimosas without our once having to ask. The restaurant itself is so pretty and felt so pleasant. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I was running 15 min late to my 8pm reso, the hostess told me I needed to hurry because they weren't taking any reservations past 8pm. At 8:40p a couple walked into the restaurant... the waiter was very helpful and friendly. The food was so salty.. from our salad to the beef and broccoli. Donuts were amazing as usual.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had heard so many good things about The Church Key that we were a bit skeptical upon arrival. Wow, were we ever pleasantly surprised to learn that all those good things were absolutely true. The food was so flavorful and creatively prepared. The service was sensational and the Sunday night movies on the big screens were a big hit with the family. I've had a lot of high end hamburgers and I just want to say, TCK's was one of the best I've had in a long, long time. The dim sum cart was a lot of fun. Fixed Price menu was a great bargain. Recommend it highly. The warm doughnuts are the dessert of choice. Don't miss them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter with a couple friends who also have never been here. Such a good vibe and overall loved the experience! Seated immediately and all agreed on bottomless mimosas, though they had other bottomless options like Rosè, margaritas and blood Mary's which were fun options but since I've haven't done brunch in a while, I wanted classic mimosas! We ordered the doughnuts that everyone raves about, and my god, they were absolute perfection! Literally melted in my mouth. I got the eggs Benedict and would definitely recommend! They have a girl walking around constantly refilling our champ glasses so we all left full and tipsy, which to me is all I want from a good brunch! I want to say I'll come back for dinner but I really just want to come back for brunch ASAP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love this place. Food is delicious. However, I was disappointed they change their avocado toast. Plus, kids ordered red velvet pancakes and they didn't know there were peppercorns on the pancakes. Wish the server would've said something about that.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went on a Sunday night. Warning: it's movie night. They were playing Harry Potter--not exactly sexy night out on the Sunset Strip. Terrible service--appalling. No one else in the restaurant and the food took two and a half hours start to finish. Between the Harry Potter, the empty restaurant, and the glacial service, terrible if putting it mildly. The food, however, was great--just hard to enjoy. Very frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I love Churchkey, so many choices for brunch with the same food, except Churchkey. The food is at a different level, and the service is outstanding and the servers are generous. Delilah was such a sweet heart and very accommodating. So rare to see a hostess get down and make sure the tables don't wobble, etc. Very detailed.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My girlfriends and I went to The Church Key for a ladies' night out. We were pleased by the food and cocktail selections and loved the unique dim sum carts that came around with small bites and boozy popsicle. The decor is spot on, an eclectic mix of vintage and modern, rustic and glam— all without being too busy, surprisingly. Tall ceilings and white washed walls keep things airy and elevated. The hallway to the washrooms offers plenty of selfie/photo ops, with a bold mural and telephone booth. Have fun! The Church Key offers a plethora of conversation starters. From the gyoza to the graffiti wall, you definitely won't run out of things to gush over.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Saw this place on YouTube video featuring their one of a kind brown butter glazed donuts. Decided to check it out. Found out they had a menu of delicious sounding food and decided to try it with my girlfriend.
Quick response. This place is great!
Long response. The atmosphere is one I can really enjoy and stay it for hours. The service was amazing; extremely kind, polite, and patient. The food was more than amazing, and yes the donuts are a must have.
Overall I highly recommend this place but it does come with a high price tag...Well larger than I am use to, but totally worth it and will try to go again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I wouldn't go back. Think it's past its prime.... Place was half empty, service was just okay, value vs meal, was not good. Many other better places along Sunset Plaza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The Food was amazing. The woman who rolled around with speciality drinks was kind of annoying, but I get it. Gotta up sale.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was fantastic but the service was terrible. Our server was one of
The worst I've ever had. The manager and hostess really tried to make up for it but it's just very frustrating when your server is an absolute JERK. I'd go back for the food in a heartbeat as long as Isaiah wasn't our waiter (or even on the schedule for that day)

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fun and easy with a group of old friends. Donuts didn't disappoint and the dim sum was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall very tasty food. However, we were disappointed when we asked for our bill and our server did not bring it to us for over 35 minutes. We saw her walk past us at least a dozen times and tried to get her attention. Even though she may have not been, it almost felt like she was intentionally ignoring us. It was a bummer because up until that point, we were raving about the place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Seated quickly and the service was great. Delicious food and a dark, cozy ambience. YOU HAVE TO GET THE DONUTS!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

New Restaurant date night with my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Church Key is awesome. The dim-sum carts are no gimmick - the food from them is outstanding, and cheap. The rooms are big and chic, yet the seating is cozy. Service is great - food remains outstanding. Cocktails are well executed. This dinner had a couple of hiccups compared to previous visits. We ordered a total of 4 dim sums, 2 appetizers, and 2 main dishes. The 4 dim sums were excellent. However the steak tartare appetizer was a bit bland. The "Chicken Pot Pie/Coq au Vin" is nondescript and rather tasteless - however the dish we took to replace it (scallops and spaghetti squash) was fantastic. All tolled, maybe the Church Key wasnt on its A-game, but still, its a great restaurant - we've been a half-dozen times, and we'll be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They were very accommodating with my vegan dietary needs. One, criticism is that they really had a poor beer selection.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overcooked, burnt hash browns. Gloppy croque madame...where is the bacon? Salt shakers contain large salt crystals that must be ground to be usable (or extractable from the shaker). Manning level seemed overwhelmed by the crowd and unable to attend to table adequately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a great place! Kind of had it all. The bar is amazing, the food is delicious, and the service is in point. Just save room for the donuts!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I was extremely disappointed with the food here. I usually don't complain about food unless it's unexceptable, and in this case, it was. My party tried the pork chop, chicken pot pie, and steak. The pork chop was dry. Chicken pot pie was watery, had very little meat, and had bones in it. The steak came out cold. The potatoes were raw and carrots over cooked. They also had dim sum items that came around that were literally bite size. For the prices they charged, you could get a whole meal out of them. Overall the experience was poor and prices high. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was cold and overpriced. Our server barely paid attention to us, and worst of all, when we told him the food was cold, he said 'okay', then never came back.


DON'T DINE HERE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely loved everything about this place. Decor, food, service bottomless Rose Champagne - all was splendid

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This restaurant has a lot going for it - beautiful decor, good service, central location. The food, however, was a massive disappointment. For the price the dishes lacked flavor and the seafood entree was over cooked and didn't taste at all fresh. A real shame as the interior is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Only Arthur the server was professional the rest of the staff clearly did not want to be there.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Date night. They had a Grammy special going while they showed the awards. It was fun!

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent brunch. Lots of creative twists on familiar dishes. Great service on the bottomless mimosas, lots of natural light in a chill environment. Lots of bar seating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greg our waiter was excellent! The hostess was a little confused and ended up giving our table to someone else because she claims she couldn't find us at the bar. But Greg was exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never disappoints. Foodies will love the assortment of plates. Always something amazing, always something new.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great space, interesting concept with the dim sum and frozen drink carts. Friendly service. Comfortable seating.

The valet parking service was off but this had nothing to do with the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love love love !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great! Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

They were unbelievably, out of two items from the entree menu. The dimsum items are expensive relative to the portion received. The donuts were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmostphere. Pork Belly dish was ice cold , but once brought back and re done, it was delicious. I never eat doughnuts, but these are SO amazing...a must.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant was great and food was really good. Only issue they promote this dim sum cart thing but after being there over hour and a half the carts never came out. We were looking forward to that part of the meal. We finished are dinner and were too full to eat any more. Not sure what the deal was there. They say the carts come out every 20-30 mins but not the case Saturday night. Oh well!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were very pleased with our brunch experience at The Church Key. The service was top notch, our server knew exactly when to come by and offer assistance. Food was terrific as well. We ended up spending almost three hours there, and did not feel rushed to leave.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We loved the decor and ambience in the restaurant. Our food was good. The brussel sprout Caesar salad was very salty. Probably from the Parmesan cheese. Everything else tasted great, but prices were a bit high for the amount of food we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.