Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Church Key

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-3:00 pm

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 18 hours ago

Every restaurant should have a server like Richard. Great suggestions great knowledge great attitude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 19 hours ago

I ordered the chilaquiles and thought that the dish was okay. Service was terrible. Our waiter hardly came by to see how we were doing. I don’t think I’d recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

I’ve been here a few times and every time has been amazing until now. They’ve changed up their dim sum system and there was no pan am cart. Also the fish was super dry which was disappointing and the waiter didn’t do anything about it.
I don’t know if I’ll be back at this point as it ruined my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Delilah the hostess was great. Our servers were horrible. Ordered pancakes. Took 20 minutes took get syrup for them. Our food came to our table separately so in our party of 4 our entrees showed up more than 20 minutes apart Horribly incompetent and lazy wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night and the restaurant was about 25% full... first red flag. Food and service both mediocre. Sushi had a very weird, antiseptic (?) taste to it. 3 people from our group ended up getting sick from something we ate (not the sushi, though, b/c one of us didn't eat it). We totally over ordered (not just a little, but prob 1.5-2x what we actually ate) based on our server's recommendation which, in my opinion, equates to bad service. With all the really great restaurants LA has to offer, I won't be going back here anytime soon :(

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Excellent. Loved CKFC, pierogis and donut dessert. Waiter did a great job. Didn’t love the cauliflower, missed the mark by comparison to other dishes. We’ll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was amazing but service was so bad! People left and right of our table were complaining too. It was as if 1 waiter was working the whole restaurant. I honestly recommend the dim sum menu, it was so fun eating small tapas style for our group. But the waiter didn’t care to check on us to see if we needed another drink or wanted to order anything else. It was just so odd. Overall though our group had a nice evening here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We had such a fun time! Our server, Richard, was amazing - so attentive, friendly, and gave us great suggestions. The food is excellent and the dim sum trolley is such a cute idea. The only thing I missed was the alco-pop cart which I think used to go round on weekdays too and now is only on weekends. A truly fun, delicious place to eat - I've been a handful of times now and always had a great experience :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Such a great place for a fun brunch with friends! Invited 3 friends and they loved it! Awesome energy and vibe! Loved my chicken and waffles and bottomless mimosas were just that - no limit and no bottom!

This was my second time at Church Key (the first time was dinner - cool meal then too!) and Looking forward to a third time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had a group of friends (cast of tv show big brother on cbs) join me for the amazing donuts, food, drinks and POPCORN.
As per usual, the wait staff is moving up in my list of WORST service EVER! I should have learned my lesson with their staff after my second bad experience, now 3 in a row, ALL different servers yet ALL of them have very little knowledge about their menu and just fail as a wait staff especially for the price points of the place! LITERALLY THE WORST WAITERS!! The popcorn is deliscious and typically they offer you a free serving for the table, that did NOT happen, when I asked for popcorn for the table it happened to be after the kitchen closed and we were denied popcorn. VERY DISAPPOINTING. When we were heading out we noticed BAGS of popcorn at the host stand and this just proves yet once again how very little this wait staff knows and/or tries to please their guests. I don't foresee recommending this restaurant ever again and I don't plan on ever spending my money here again just to be let down for a 4th time!
I've made a point to inform The Church Key (prior to this negative experience I notified the restaurant two other times; once in June 2017 and a 2nd time in July 2017) and here we are in September 2017 and now a third negative experience with the same issues - zero changes have been made so I see this place lasting a year at the most! My mission is to inform potential guests of this place to a valid wasting their money for this kind of service! NOT WORTH IT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food and drinks were delicious, however the cocktail prices are outrageous!!!
$18.00 For a casamigos margarita.
GTFO

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The worst service. Ordered champagne and didn't finish the bottle because they never refilled our glasses. Food came out cold.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had the 7 course chef choice... it was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great service and the food was creative and delicious

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

GREAT FOOD
GREAT SERVICE
JENNIFER WAS GREAT!!!
RED LIPS A MUST DRINK 💋

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wasn't too impressed with the food. Server Richard was very nice. However the hostess was neither warm nor welcoming. She did not smile or really look at me when I told her I had reservations. She simply looked down at her screen and didn't not even gesture for me and my guest to follow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Delicious little bites, highly recommend the Nut Crusted Thai Snapper!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great atmosphere. Dim sum was great and perogies and flank steak were excellent. Only negative was that my boyfriends Enchiladas were not very hot when they got to the table. Donuts amd milkshake a nice unique way to end a meal! Our server Richard was very polite and catered to our every need! Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was my second time dining here. I had incredible service the first time but not the second. We did bottomless brunch and often had to wait a while for drink refills. Whereas the first time I visited, they topped off drinks when they were just half full. The food and atmosphere are amazing though so I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Almost everything was very good. Food was outstanding. Our service was not above average, but looking around I think we drew the short straw waitstaff wise. Everybody but our server seemed on the ball.

A minor annoyance...the mimosas are not kept cold. They apparently make them in pitchers to save time, but they do not refrigerate the pitchers. So by the time my wife got it was room temperature and flat. They did replace it with a rose champagne for free, but even that was barely chilled.

Worth a revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love this place. Went there on a double date and everybody loved what they ordered. We got the fried chicken, catch of the day and the beef and broccoli. All were delicious! They also have carts that visit each table with appetizers. We got the falafel and the sausage lettuce wrap. We were pleased with all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

À few creative and tasty dishes but some real mishaps like the so-called Dimsum who are not Dimsum but sort of Asian tapas, or the donuts which were very greasy. Friendly but inefficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Such poor servive and thw dim sum cart, which was the whole reason we went, was not even brought out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We celebrated my birthday and decided to try the bottomless mimosas and brunch. The chilequilles were amazzzing! It was VERY loud and difficult to hear people at my table or anybody for that matter. All in all it was a great time and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

2nd time here. Food was great. A little load with all the people but we enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Friendly wait staff. The brought appetizer and breakfast at the same time, so the main dish was cold and not that great. Cozy atmosphere. $15 bottomless mimosas for 2 hours!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an awesome time! Great good great drinks great music!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always enjoy church key. I've taken business associates here, I've taken friends and out of towners and also my wife for date nights. Great for any occasion. People enjoy the dim sum carts. The burger is perfection. A favorite in the city for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a lovely meal here. The beef with broccoli was a hit, and my Thai fried chicken was a symphony of flavors. Service was great, and the wine list, while limited, had a few gems on it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall the brunch food was just slightly above average. Try chicken & waffles elsewhere as it was not impressive here. I'll try the toad in a hole if we do brunch again. The brioche donuts are the Real MVP here! Get them carry out if you have to. The service in general was poor today. Diners at almost every table near us were complaining. Service was very slow and poor attention to detail. The bright spot was our eventual server, Dierdre, who stepped in to take up the slack. She proactively discounted our check and threw in a couple of those "fire" donuts. The coffee was excellent too. Most def return for donuts and coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Made reservations for a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend. The venue has a really great ambiance and very delicious food. The pork belly appetizer was a big hit with the boys. A great restaurant for groups -- the staff definitely made it a memorable night with great humor and accommodating service. Thank you for a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fun place to have dinner and catch up with friends. The car with small bites is fun - bypass the appetizers and get something from the cart. Great cocktails!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Sadly, The Church Key has seen better days. The food was under seasoned. They had not received there produce delivery yet- which meant certain menu items were unavailable.

The service was simply awful. Multiple requests had to be made to refill the water, order another drink, ask for salt and pepper.

My last meal at The Church Key will in fact be my last meal at The Chursh Key. Sad really- it was once very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

brunch is bland and away overpriced. good drinks tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our second time here, and unfortunately, same as the first time. It's all style and no substance I'm afraid. The food is just not good. Having been in the F&B industry, in free-standing restaurants as well as hotel F&B operations, I have had thousands of meals from bad to amazing, and this execution just doesn't live up to the promise, the price, or even the location.
The design of the space is great, however, so if you just want to grab a drink...do so. But don't invest in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really great spot for brunch. Chicken and waffles were the best I've had. Really great prices for bottomless mimosas and even bottomless rose. Will definitely be back to try out their dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and they went out of their way to help me celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I miss the cocktail ice pops. The food felt ordinary. Our waitress was snitty. It just wasn't as fun as it used to be. We won't be coming back. The only food that stood out was the reliable donuts. But my friend missed having a fuller dessert menu.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was disappointed that the "waiter" who should have helped us just ignored us. I had to ask for service and the person who took care of us was wonderful. Thanks Daniel for not making me give up on this place. Service here is always hit or miss nd today was terrible except for Daniel. He was pleasant, helpful and very nice. Fried chicken and waffles were delightful and waffles had that extra crunch outside and softness inside. Please fix service or you'll lose patrons. Reviews should start about food not terrible service. Daniel thank you again for your attentive and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

While still very good, the Church Key has now clearly declined from the excellent restaurant it was just a year ago. The dim sums, which are ordered off of carts pushed through the dining room, remain the high point - not just super-tasty, but super-cheap too - I recommend getting every one you see. The appetizers also remain strong. However the main dishes have been lately mediocre. This time we had scallops, which were a bit bland. And the burger was a bit of a mess, using a special sauce that's indistinguishable from that of a Big Mac - and it's not clear if this is meant to be ironic. Further, it's topped by a muck of sauteed onions (I think) and some other not-readily-identifiable stuff, akin to In n Out's "animal style." And it's $22. (!) The cocktails are still great, as is the service and the ambience. To be clear: this remains a very good restaurant, but it's fallen from among the ranks of the elite. We'll be giving it some time off, but we'll certainly return, hopeful that they regain their form.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.