About The Church Key

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-5:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: (818) 398-7677

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Church Key, West Hollywood, CA

Report a photo problem

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was terrible. Had to flag down a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Service was terrible. Had to flag down a waiter after 40 minutes. There were 5 of us, with 4 eating. My friend ordered scallops, 2 of us ordered fish, and the other got the burger. My friend's scallops came out so fast it was hard to believe they had time to cook them. It then took 20 minutes for the other entrees to be served. We can only guess they had an extra order lying around so served them up before the rest of the entrees even started to cook. And they were cold. Once my fish arrived., the presentation was uninspired and it tasted like a fish stick. A 30 dollar fish stick.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Food was excellent but our waitress neve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent but our waitress never attended to us at all, we had one of the hosts take our order and serve us. The waitress was nice but completely inattentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The doughnut dessert was to die for. Eve ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

The doughnut dessert was to die for. Everything I had on that menu was delicious

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very well-prepared food in a distinctly ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very well-prepared food in a distinctly creative manner. Needs a better "by the glass" wine list. Overall, a fun and memorable night out.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

When I arrived on time for my reservatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When I arrived on time for my reservation, they tried to sit me at the bar instead of giving me a table. They agreed to sit me at a table but it had lazy boy chairs which put the table at chin level. Unacceptable. I asked and was given a regular chair. The guy at the table next to me said he'd had the same problem and had needed to ask for the chair to be swapped. A disappointing start to on ok meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I was excited to have dinner. Sat at the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was excited to have dinner. Sat at the bar got a drink and then was ignored while no one was in the restaurant. So I left and went next door and had a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Our table ordered several dishes, and en ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our table ordered several dishes, and enjoyed everything except one. They were kind enough to comp us for the dish that we did not like. Overall, it was a wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful interior, wonderful friendly s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful interior, wonderful friendly staff, and amazing food. Fun to share dim sum cart items.

Entree servings are huge, sharing is encouraged. Will definitely go back and would recommend highly.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful ambience and delicious eats w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delightful ambience and delicious eats with good service ...what more could one ask for/

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super good food and great vibe. The deco ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Super good food and great vibe. The decor is beautiful. Feels like you are somewhere else. The dim sum carts for little bites are great. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always have a great time at Church Key ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I always have a great time at Church Key. The service, cocktails and food are great. I like the idea of carts coming by to actually see the food, I alway choose that option vs. the menu because I definitely eat with my eyes first. Also the valet right in front of the door is super convenient.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was horrible. The waiter cla ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our service was horrible. The waiter claimed that we were out "smoking" (none of use smoke and if anyone was gone from the table it was once to use the restroom) and that is why he never came back to our table to see what else we wanted. We numerous times had to go to the bar or find him to order anything. We barely ate because the service was so bad we just wanted to leave. It's sad because the ambiance is so great!!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

unbearably noisy...first time we went a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

unbearably noisy...first time we went a year ago the food was fantastic. Disappointing for all four of us this time. Waiters were difficult to find and unsmiling... looked stressed.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was tasty. Drinks were creative and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was tasty. Drinks were creative and the staff was great. There are great dinner specials on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly, loved the a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The staff was very friendly, loved the ambience and decor. Nice touch having the Christmas tree. Had to take off a couple of stars because the service was extremely slow. Food was great, with the small exception being that my boyfriend's poached egg wasn't runny - probably because it sat too long before being served. Waitress and manager were very friendly and apologetic, even bringing out a free donut (so good!!), but service remained slow even after that. We waited a very long time for the check because of a mix-up with a Gilt voucher we had. Still, I would come back again and give it another shot. Would be great if they could add a couple more vegetarian options during brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food and ambiance are excellent but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food and ambiance are excellent but are overshadowed by the terrible serivce. we waited over 20 minutes to be seated with a reservation and had three different waiters through the evening, and it took us at least a half hour to order drinks and each course and a lot of our order was wrong, including the bill at the end.

Probably wouldn't go back as they are ovbiously understaffed not worth the price for the poor service, we were ignored the whole night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Quite simply, the Church Key is among th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Quite simply, the Church Key is among the very best restaurants in LA. The food is extremely creative and very tasty, the offerings change often enough to keep it interesting, and the dim sum carts are no gimmick - the dishes to be had from them are frequently outstanding. We had 2 appetizers, 2 mains, 5 dim sums and dessert - nearly every dish was a home run. Service is great too - the room is funky, cool, comfortable, and none too loud - the cocktails are terrific - the wine list is sufficient. We've had dinner here at least 5 or 6 times, and we'll be back again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant, was a great com ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I loved this restaurant, was a great combination of fun and yummy options, and the decor was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time at Church Key. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Church Key. We ordered otter pops and food from the carts. The food was good, but not great. We waited over an hour for our dessert donuts to be served. We finally asked for our check, and said we would forget the donuts. That's when they were brought to us, on the house. Our dinner was over 3 hours, because of the slow service throughout the evening, but especially for the dessert ( and they only serve one item for dessert).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Ordered the grilled hanger steak and it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ordered the grilled hanger steak and it was amazing and on top of that orders the brioche donut OMG! To die for it melts in your mouth and you can't help but want to lick the whole plate after you're done. And our waitress Michele was great made us feel comfortable and enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get the donuts.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Get the donuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful experience and dinner. Dim Sum ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful experience and dinner. Dim Sum was unique and DELICIOUS. The entrees were good sized and unique. There was nothing we didn't enjoy about the evening. And get the popcorn. You'll thank us later!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was terrible. Food used to be m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was terrible. Food used to be much better. I was a big fan of the restaurant but it took a turn. The service was so bad - we had to flag someone down 3 times just to order and might have seen our waiter once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very very overpriced for what you get. A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very very overpriced for what you get. Also the mimosas are not made with actual OJ and the bloody Mary's are watery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The Church Key for brunch is a MUST if ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Church Key for brunch is a MUST if visiting LA or living here. I can honestly say it was the best meal I have had here since I moved from the East Coast (I've been here for 8 months). The bottomless Rose champagne was AMAZING, and my glass was maybe empty for a maximum total of a whole minute the entire brunch. The food: OMG. So decadent and definitely a splurge from your diet. It was incredible! The service was great; our waitress was super attentive and everyone was pleasant. Will for sure be back, and take all of my visitors and clients there too!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, innovative preparations, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food, innovative preparations, great appetizers and small plates. Au courant Sunset Boulevard atmosphere with exposed brick white-washed walls and distressed tin ceilings that are high and dramatic, with chandeliers and old bookcases, mismatched chairs and casual vibe.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the staff were wonderful an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food and the staff were wonderful and made sure that our party of ten was well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time here and we went ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was my first time here and we went for brunch. The food itself was pretty okay. Overpriced but large portions. Unfortunately some of the items that were going for high end just ended up falling flat. The menu advertised bottomless rose which they did not have available - they need to make a note on both their website and menu if they're not going to honor their own specials. Waitress was nice when we could get her attention. Overall, probably won't be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As usual the food was very good and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As usual the food was very good and the creativity and presentation very good as well. We were accomodated even though we arrived early and were among the last to leave. We generally enjoyed the experience (not our first time), though the staff were a bit overly aggressive when we needed time to talk and clearly the staff, including the manager, did not understand what a "short" expresso is. I had to explain a few times until they got it right and even then it was watery and not what it should have been. But a small price to pay for a generally good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place! No words can describe it... ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place! No words can describe it... you must experience for your self.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was empty and yet still servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Restaurant was empty and yet still service was slow. Server really didn't add much value. Halibut was bad and steak was tough. Crab and spinach cheese dip was worst I've had and came with a few pieces of seeded crackers instead of hearty bread to stand up to all that heavy cheese. Poor judgment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Out of Hendrix out of appetizers not the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Out of Hendrix out of appetizers not the best start. Then no more kettle one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I visited Church Key while on holiday. T ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I visited Church Key while on holiday. There were 2 problems:

1) my friend was in crutches but they still sat us at the furthest table from the door despite the restaurant being fairly quiet.

2) our waiter explained to us the concept of the tasting trolley after we had been approached by the waitress and bombarded with food options. Very confusing. Once explained we decided we would skip starters and try some of the items on the trolley. We clarified this with our waiter only to receive or mains before the trolley had a chance to reappear. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The manager was fantastic. A great eve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The manager was fantastic. A great evening. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

worst service I've ever received. We did ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

worst service I've ever received. We didn't have a server, rather the host/manager? somewhat served us, if you can call it that

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Don't go. Valet no where to be found. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Don't go. Valet no where to be found. Walk in. No hostess to be found. Get seated finally and wait 15 minutes for a waiter. Then wait another 15 minutes for.a drink. Drinks were bad. Food was bad. Service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Confused. Not one specific theme for fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Confused. Not one specific theme for food.

Drinks are great. Must try Pink Lips.

Dessert was also good. Highly recommend the Brioche Donuts.

If I do return, it'll be for drinks and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the mix of elegant and modern in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I loved the mix of elegant and modern industrial decor enough to remember it when I remodel my kitchen, and the food was excellent, especially the Snapper dish, but the service was not up to par with what I expected. The host was noticeably more enthusiastic seating the four young ladies with heels, rompers and cleavage who walked in after us while we waited with a reservation, but we were willing to forgive that. The bartender was quick and attentive, but said yes, they have a Red Blend, yet served me a Malbec. That's ok. I love Malbec. Our server was the most disappointing. He filled our water consistently throughout the meal, but he took ages to show up at the beginning, seemed completely uninterested in spending (scratch that) wasting any time at our table during the meal, and completely forgot about a beer my husband ordered, but was never around to be reminded.

It wasn't bad service. It was just what I would expect from a cheap restaurant chain. It didn't do the food any justice, unfortunately. I wouldn't go back, simply because there are so many other restaurants to choose from, and it wouldn't be difficult to improve on the service at any one of them.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This restaurant was great. Great service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant was great. Great service and style of food. Cool atmosphere and great for large groups or a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a party of 10. It was really good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a party of 10. It was really good food and a nice atmosphere. Our waiter was missing in action 75% of the time we were there. Had to get ups several times to ask him to bring things, more water, drinks, napkins, silver ware... they weren't that busy when we were there and I saw him chatting with the other waitresses often when he should have been making sure we were okay, but I guess since the gratuity was included in the big party he knew he could slack.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.