Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Church Key

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-3:00 pm

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: (818) 398-7677

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Almost everything was very good. Food was outstanding. Our service was not above average, but looking around I think we drew the short straw waitstaff wise. Everybody but our server seemed on the ball.

A minor annoyance...the mimosas are not kept cold. They apparently make them in pitchers to save time, but they do not refrigerate the pitchers. So by the time my wife got it was room temperature and flat. They did replace it with a rose champagne for free, but even that was barely chilled.

Worth a revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love this place. Went there on a double date and everybody loved what they ordered. We got the fried chicken, catch of the day and the beef and broccoli. All were delicious! They also have carts that visit each table with appetizers. We got the falafel and the sausage lettuce wrap. We were pleased with all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

À few creative and tasty dishes but some real mishaps like the so-called Dimsum who are not Dimsum but sort of Asian tapas, or the donuts which were very greasy. Friendly but inefficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Such poor servive and thw dim sum cart, which was the whole reason we went, was not even brought out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We celebrated my birthday and decided to try the bottomless mimosas and brunch. The chilequilles were amazzzing! It was VERY loud and difficult to hear people at my table or anybody for that matter. All in all it was a great time and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

2nd time here. Food was great. A little load with all the people but we enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Friendly wait staff. The brought appetizer and breakfast at the same time, so the main dish was cold and not that great. Cozy atmosphere. $15 bottomless mimosas for 2 hours!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an awesome time! Great good great drinks great music!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always enjoy church key. I've taken business associates here, I've taken friends and out of towners and also my wife for date nights. Great for any occasion. People enjoy the dim sum carts. The burger is perfection. A favorite in the city for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a lovely meal here. The beef with broccoli was a hit, and my Thai fried chicken was a symphony of flavors. Service was great, and the wine list, while limited, had a few gems on it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall the brunch food was just slightly above average. Try chicken & waffles elsewhere as it was not impressive here. I'll try the toad in a hole if we do brunch again. The brioche donuts are the Real MVP here! Get them carry out if you have to. The service in general was poor today. Diners at almost every table near us were complaining. Service was very slow and poor attention to detail. The bright spot was our eventual server, Dierdre, who stepped in to take up the slack. She proactively discounted our check and threw in a couple of those "fire" donuts. The coffee was excellent too. Most def return for donuts and coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Made reservations for a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend. The venue has a really great ambiance and very delicious food. The pork belly appetizer was a big hit with the boys. A great restaurant for groups -- the staff definitely made it a memorable night with great humor and accommodating service. Thank you for a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fun place to have dinner and catch up with friends. The car with small bites is fun - bypass the appetizers and get something from the cart. Great cocktails!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Sadly, The Church Key has seen better days. The food was under seasoned. They had not received there produce delivery yet- which meant certain menu items were unavailable.

The service was simply awful. Multiple requests had to be made to refill the water, order another drink, ask for salt and pepper.

My last meal at The Church Key will in fact be my last meal at The Chursh Key. Sad really- it was once very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

brunch is bland and away overpriced. good drinks tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our second time here, and unfortunately, same as the first time. It's all style and no substance I'm afraid. The food is just not good. Having been in the F&B industry, in free-standing restaurants as well as hotel F&B operations, I have had thousands of meals from bad to amazing, and this execution just doesn't live up to the promise, the price, or even the location.
The design of the space is great, however, so if you just want to grab a drink...do so. But don't invest in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really great spot for brunch. Chicken and waffles were the best I've had. Really great prices for bottomless mimosas and even bottomless rose. Will definitely be back to try out their dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and they went out of their way to help me celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I miss the cocktail ice pops. The food felt ordinary. Our waitress was snitty. It just wasn't as fun as it used to be. We won't be coming back. The only food that stood out was the reliable donuts. But my friend missed having a fuller dessert menu.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was disappointed that the "waiter" who should have helped us just ignored us. I had to ask for service and the person who took care of us was wonderful. Thanks Daniel for not making me give up on this place. Service here is always hit or miss nd today was terrible except for Daniel. He was pleasant, helpful and very nice. Fried chicken and waffles were delightful and waffles had that extra crunch outside and softness inside. Please fix service or you'll lose patrons. Reviews should start about food not terrible service. Daniel thank you again for your attentive and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

While still very good, the Church Key has now clearly declined from the excellent restaurant it was just a year ago. The dim sums, which are ordered off of carts pushed through the dining room, remain the high point - not just super-tasty, but super-cheap too - I recommend getting every one you see. The appetizers also remain strong. However the main dishes have been lately mediocre. This time we had scallops, which were a bit bland. And the burger was a bit of a mess, using a special sauce that's indistinguishable from that of a Big Mac - and it's not clear if this is meant to be ironic. Further, it's topped by a muck of sauteed onions (I think) and some other not-readily-identifiable stuff, akin to In n Out's "animal style." And it's $22. (!) The cocktails are still great, as is the service and the ambience. To be clear: this remains a very good restaurant, but it's fallen from among the ranks of the elite. We'll be giving it some time off, but we'll certainly return, hopeful that they regain their form.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

great service, ambience, food and drinks! the waiter and cart people were so lovely and gave us an entire round of complementary drinks!! definitely coming back

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Honestly amazing. Valet convenient...text when your ready...appetizers were great..especially the ceasAR salad brussel sprouts! Meal was amazing I had the fried chicken that could have fed 3 people.. delish! To end the night we had to try their specialty doughtnuts and honestly it was mouth watering! Even if your not a doughnut person try it! Once you go Church key your never goin back. Brunch looks amazing and I am sure we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Drinks were delicious and dim sum was good. They advertised free popcorn on dim sum nights Tuesday and Wednesday, so my friend want to try. They charged the day we went. The valet was missing in action for 15 minutes. After waiting a long time, I asked the waitress and was told she had no order listed. They gave my part of 3 free brioche donuts as consolation. Our order ENT in and we were served around 9 am. Yes, the company was great but the dinner experience was dismal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This restaurant did not disappoint. Food was eclectic and interesting; nice ambience/decor

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I arrived at the restaurant only to have the staff tell me that the 3 pm reservation I had made was cancelled because they closed the restaurant. They advised that the reservation system "shouldn't have allowed me to make a reservation." In all actuality, they should have had the staff properly update the system to represent accurate availability. I have been here three times and each time there is some kind of operational issue, either with the staff, kitchen and now the organization of reservations. This place was great when it first opened, but it is clear why it is always half empty now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was excellent. I wish the portions were a bit larger but I suppose they keep it moderate so that there's room for dessert! It's a must to try one of their desserts. We had the bridge doughnut and I was blown away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I was really dissapointed by this restaurant. It took a LONG time to get our drinks, and then both meals (I was with one friend) were not good at all. I got the chicken and biscuits, the biscuits were burnt and the chicken was very so-so. My friend got the Halibut and that was also very mediocre, she said it tasted frozen. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It's over priced. The food was good. It not great. For the price, I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a fav spot. We actually prefer eating up at the bar and people-watching, and the food has yet to disappoint. I choose it over Eveleigh nextdoor every time. Great drinks.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Decent experience overall. The good was mediocre at most and the bottomless mimosas were like 81% orange juice and rest champagne (obv). We were celebrating Mother's Day so we were hoping the menu wasn't as bleh and limited. I've been here otherwise and generally speaking it's a great restaurant with good food and great drinks. Just wouldn't ever come here for mother day or any day with pre-fix menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place for special occasions and sitting down and unwinding. The staff is truly professional and the food is exceptional. The menu rotates seasonally so if there's something that you like get it before it's gone. I came for the main course but I stayed for the doughnuts (try them you'll thank me later)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pleasantly surprised - and also were very welcoming to my 8 yr old son. Home Run all around.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

They should definitely do a better job with their dessert menu. Only 2 desserts offered until I asked about ice cream and then the server wrote the options on a piece of paper .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My first experience at the Church Key was for Sunday Brunch with a few friends. The atmosphere was great, the large space has serval micro-environments which allow you to easily hear your guests and carry on a conversation. All the entrees ordered came out perfectly and we ordered a Dutch Baby Pancake to share at the start and an order of the Brioche Donuts to end the meal. The staff member with the pitcher of mimosa's was never far out of site. She never let a glass get empty, circling around topping glasses off throughout the brunch. Definitely recommend to others and I'll be back as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing! My girlfriends and I loved the décor. The food was amazing (especially those donuts) and the lady refilling our bottomless mimosas was SO on top of it. Can't wait to go back!!! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We came for brunch and their bottomless mimosas are good and they keep your glass full. The portions here are huge but the food is only just ok. The only thing that is delicious that we had was the donuts. They are a MUST HAVE. Everything else is medium.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Slow! Bland food, usually good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Trendy with funky decor

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I love The Church Key! The servers are extremely friendly and the food is delicious. It's a great place to have a fun brunch with friends--one of my favorite LA Spots.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.