About The Church Key

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-5:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: 818-398-7677x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Great for Brunch (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Romantic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

worst service I've ever received. We did ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

worst service I've ever received. We didn't have a server, rather the host/manager? somewhat served us, if you can call it that

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Don't go. Valet no where to be found. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Don't go. Valet no where to be found. Walk in. No hostess to be found. Get seated finally and wait 15 minutes for a waiter. Then wait another 15 minutes for.a drink. Drinks were bad. Food was bad. Service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Confused. Not one specific theme for fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Confused. Not one specific theme for food.

Drinks are great. Must try Pink Lips.

Dessert was also good. Highly recommend the Brioche Donuts.

If I do return, it'll be for drinks and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the mix of elegant and modern in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I loved the mix of elegant and modern industrial decor enough to remember it when I remodel my kitchen, and the food was excellent, especially the Snapper dish, but the service was not up to par with what I expected. The host was noticeably more enthusiastic seating the four young ladies with heels, rompers and cleavage who walked in after us while we waited with a reservation, but we were willing to forgive that. The bartender was quick and attentive, but said yes, they have a Red Blend, yet served me a Malbec. That's ok. I love Malbec. Our server was the most disappointing. He filled our water consistently throughout the meal, but he took ages to show up at the beginning, seemed completely uninterested in spending (scratch that) wasting any time at our table during the meal, and completely forgot about a beer my husband ordered, but was never around to be reminded.

It wasn't bad service. It was just what I would expect from a cheap restaurant chain. It didn't do the food any justice, unfortunately. I wouldn't go back, simply because there are so many other restaurants to choose from, and it wouldn't be difficult to improve on the service at any one of them.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This restaurant was great. Great service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant was great. Great service and style of food. Cool atmosphere and great for large groups or a date.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a party of 10. It was really good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a party of 10. It was really good food and a nice atmosphere. Our waiter was missing in action 75% of the time we were there. Had to get ups several times to ask him to bring things, more water, drinks, napkins, silver ware... they weren't that busy when we were there and I saw him chatting with the other waitresses often when he should have been making sure we were okay, but I guess since the gratuity was included in the big party he knew he could slack.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Very impressed by this place. The staff ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very impressed by this place. The staff was most wonderful - we were visiting Los Angeles and wanted to find a place with live music to go to after our dinner. The server recommended us a few places and also asked the manager of the restaurant to recommend us something. The food was great as well - really enjoyed the pork ribs. I had a half-portion and it was more than enough. The small bites were also very nice, and wine was at a discounted pricing (before 7pm).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thought this would be a fun place to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We thought this would be a fun place to grab some appetizers and enjoy different selections from the tapas cart. We sat in the restaurant for over an hour and the cart came by one time with 4 choices. This place is not sure what it wants to be food-wise -- is it tapas or not? You need to be more clear with your guests. In addition, a party of 4 sat down next to us with 2 "service" dogs. The dogs smelled, and were jumping around. Not appetizing. Maybe you need a dog area? Regardless, we then left immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were there late on a wednesday and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were there late on a wednesday and the restaurant was much quieter than we expected. It used to be packed all the time. The food was delicious but the serves were much smaller than expected for the price, ie: the dim sum dishes had only 1 item on them rather than the normal 2 that you would expect. Also there was a lot of variation in size. We both had the spicy tuna on crispy rice but one was half the size of the other, so that was kind of weird. I highly recommend the ahi taco though, that was so delicious we had 2 each.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch is a must here. Incredible food, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Brunch is a must here. Incredible food, bottomless mimosas, excellent service! Wish I lived in LA so I could eat here more often!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of us 4 girls went to Church Key ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A group of us 4 girls went to Church Key for a Bday Brunch... It was a great experience. My first time there. We were expecting the Champagne bottles to remain on the table for the 'bottomless mimosa' experience, but I guess a new rule has gone into effect for those previous patrons who abused the bottomelessness.. The waiter was still very attentive to make sure our glasses were never empty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager stepped up when our waitress ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The manager stepped up when our waitress was snoozing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a cool place. The menu is a big ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was a cool place. The menu is a big confusing as the Dim Sum is not really dim sum and is really just a-la-cart menu.

Also the staff was a bit confused about orders, we got extra dishes we didnt order. They didnt charge for it, but still, lost revenue for the establishment.

The donuts however are aaaaammmmaaazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent. I had the biscui ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the biscuits and gravy. The bottomless Rose Champagne was a nice surprise and they were not stingy at all about filling the glasses back up. The brioche donuts were a bit overwhelmingly sweet, but still delicious and the "chocolate milk" that came along with them was a nice, whimsical touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Get the donuts. Amazing!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Get the donuts. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and ambiance was overall awesom ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food and ambiance was overall awesome but they sat us down about 40 mins after I made my reservation. They should have at least offered us a free cocktail or appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

This was my third time dining at The Chu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was my third time dining at The Church Key and as before I was not disappointed. The food was amazing and the service was equally as good. I will be back again and I am telling everyone about the Church Key!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was at 9 pm on a Friday ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our reservation was at 9 pm on a Friday night, yet my boyfriend and I weren't seated until 945, even though there were tables open. The place wasn't even packed. My boyfriend had to ask the host twice what was going on, and he was met with attitude. Once we finally sat, it took another 20 minutes for the waitress to come over. For our 9 pm reservation, we did not eat until 1030. By that time, we were over it and although the food was great, it was not worth a second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Overall positive. Service not as good as ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall positive. Service not as good as prior visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a lovely brunch at The Church Key wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a lovely brunch at The Church Key with some girlfriends. It wasn't very busy, but the offerings were delicious! Bottomless mimosas, strong coffee, and those brown butter brioche donuts? To die for! I intend to go back often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really love coming here. They do an am ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I really love coming here. They do an amazing mixology bar and the food is amazing. They have nice and friendly staff that is knowledgeable and takes their time to explain the menu. I truly recommend anyone to try this place especially in the recent months it has really grown and stepped up to the next level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only do I love the food on the menu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Not only do I love the food on the menu but the food on the dim sum carts is fun and delicious. It's a great place to go with friends for a fun night out. And DO NOT skip the donuts for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, eclectic food finds, cool dr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, eclectic food finds, cool drinks, cool atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor and slow service. Dinner carts stop ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Poor and slow service. Dinner carts stopped making rounds at 9:30! Which is part of the reason we came here in the first place. Poor selection of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great service. The waitress keep our dri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service. The waitress keep our drinks flowing and we never had to ask for anything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The carts do not come out as often as th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The carts do not come out as often as they say they will and they don't have as many options on them as they say. They ran out of a lot of options by 8:00 at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This could be my favorite new restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This could be my favorite new restaurant. The food and drinks were great and I loved the dim sum carts were such a fun addition to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food friendly staff great bar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

great food friendly staff great bar i have had dinner in this reaurant a number of times I enoy going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just ok

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was great, and I like the dim sum idea, but the food is just blah. Small portions way overpriced with not that much taste. I had the corn truffled pasta, and all it tasted like was cream of corn from a can. The wine selection is pretty slim, and the dim sum food was good but again way overpriced for the size. The service was great, and I loved the look of the joint. I was also annoyed that the menu was different online. I went in for crabs to realize they don't sell that dish anymore! :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I came with a large group for a business ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I came with a large group for a business dinner and the group really enjoyed it. Lots of variety and we were surprised by a special thing they do sometimes which is have a themed traveling cart of foods to choose from and we almost wished we'd not ordered dinner since the traveling thing was so great. It was Chinese foods, yummy dumplings, that came around. It's a huge space that doesn't get too loud so it's perfect for groups and we'll return for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Actually was a bit disappointing as the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Actually was a bit disappointing as the previous time I was there we had a great night and enjoyed the vodka Popsicles..this time the lady who either prepares them or gets the ice ready wasn't there..that's one of the main reasons I made a Rez in the first place..our waitress spoke like she had marbles in her mouth and I couldn't understand a word she said..like she was whispering..food was good, however must have had tons of salt as I couldn't get my jewelry. The next day..sorry to say I will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

If anything, visit the Church Key for th ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

If anything, visit the Church Key for the donuts. They were, by far, the best donuts I've ever had! The rest of the food and cocktails were nicely presented, but lacked flavor. It was bit disappointing. The quality of the food did not match the price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Not great

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was terrible -- took awhile to place our order. Server did not check up on us very often. Slow to order, slow to serve. Just a poor service experience overall. The food was okay, not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Went for brunch. Don't order the fried F ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for brunch. Don't order the fried French toast. Not good. It was dry and not very tasty. Should come w berries or something. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A group of us celebrated Mother's Day by ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A group of us celebrated Mother's Day by eating at The Church Key for brunch. We were disappointed that they didn't offer a better brunch selection, especially on a holiday like Mother's Day. Food was underwelming as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Delicious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Unique twist on everyday dishes. Creative ingredients make for an interesting & yummy dining experience. There are food carts that go around with various treats- like sushi or chick pea fries- and the restaurant itself is a really handsome space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mondays-fried chicken only

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Went on a Monday, did not know it was fried chicken only. No carts. Short staffed, food came out before drinks arrived. Waiter was nice but you could tell he was overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Average lunch spot - LA

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went in with high expectations, as the reviews on Yelp were very good. The brunch menu was very limited, which was disappointing. Everything was very heavy (ie; fried/ dense) and breakfasty... it would have been nice to have more lunch options (besides the burger) and even a salad at the minimum. We also read about the Pan Am cart, which we did not see in the restaurant. Maybe that's a night time feature?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Really love going here. They have amazin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Really love going here. They have amazing food, in addition to the menu they also have cards that will have small bites. Sure you save room for that and don't forget about the "otter pops" careful though sometimes the liquor is a little bit stronger than you expect. Will definitely come back here and recommend everybody to try this it's a very unique experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Church Key is very sexy chic, its gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The Church Key is very sexy chic, its great place for a date night or a girls night out. The food was delicious, a little bit pricey for the portion size. We ended our meal with the brioche donuts, a this is a MUST try for every customer...melts in your mouth. A little disappointed in the service, our drinks and food took a little bit longer then normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.