Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Church Key

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-5:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: (818) 398-7677

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Fun (19)
Hot Spot (18)
See All
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Casual (12)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fireplace (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Fun and easy with a group of old friends. Donuts didn't disappoint and the dim sum was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall very tasty food. However, we were disappointed when we asked for our bill and our server did not bring it to us for over 35 minutes. We saw her walk past us at least a dozen times and tried to get her attention. Even though she may have not been, it almost felt like she was intentionally ignoring us. It was a bummer because up until that point, we were raving about the place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Seated quickly and the service was great. Delicious food and a dark, cozy ambience. YOU HAVE TO GET THE DONUTS!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

New Restaurant date night with my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Church Key is awesome. The dim-sum carts are no gimmick - the food from them is outstanding, and cheap. The rooms are big and chic, yet the seating is cozy. Service is great - food remains outstanding. Cocktails are well executed. This dinner had a couple of hiccups compared to previous visits. We ordered a total of 4 dim sums, 2 appetizers, and 2 main dishes. The 4 dim sums were excellent. However the steak tartare appetizer was a bit bland. The "Chicken Pot Pie/Coq au Vin" is nondescript and rather tasteless - however the dish we took to replace it (scallops and spaghetti squash) was fantastic. All tolled, maybe the Church Key wasnt on its A-game, but still, its a great restaurant - we've been a half-dozen times, and we'll be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They were very accommodating with my vegan dietary needs. One, criticism is that they really had a poor beer selection.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overcooked, burnt hash browns. Gloppy croque madame...where is the bacon? Salt shakers contain large salt crystals that must be ground to be usable (or extractable from the shaker). Manning level seemed overwhelmed by the crowd and unable to attend to table adequately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a great place! Kind of had it all. The bar is amazing, the food is delicious, and the service is in point. Just save room for the donuts!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I was extremely disappointed with the food here. I usually don't complain about food unless it's unexceptable, and in this case, it was. My party tried the pork chop, chicken pot pie, and steak. The pork chop was dry. Chicken pot pie was watery, had very little meat, and had bones in it. The steak came out cold. The potatoes were raw and carrots over cooked. They also had dim sum items that came around that were literally bite size. For the prices they charged, you could get a whole meal out of them. Overall the experience was poor and prices high. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was cold and overpriced. Our server barely paid attention to us, and worst of all, when we told him the food was cold, he said 'okay', then never came back.


DON'T DINE HERE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely loved everything about this place. Decor, food, service bottomless Rose Champagne - all was splendid

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Only Arthur the server was professional the rest of the staff clearly did not want to be there.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Date night. They had a Grammy special going while they showed the awards. It was fun!

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent brunch. Lots of creative twists on familiar dishes. Great service on the bottomless mimosas, lots of natural light in a chill environment. Lots of bar seating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greg our waiter was excellent! The hostess was a little confused and ended up giving our table to someone else because she claims she couldn't find us at the bar. But Greg was exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never disappoints. Foodies will love the assortment of plates. Always something amazing, always something new.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great space, interesting concept with the dim sum and frozen drink carts. Friendly service. Comfortable seating.

The valet parking service was off but this had nothing to do with the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love love love !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

They were unbelievably, out of two items from the entree menu. The dimsum items are expensive relative to the portion received. The donuts were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmostphere. Pork Belly dish was ice cold , but once brought back and re done, it was delicious. I never eat doughnuts, but these are SO amazing...a must.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant was great and food was really good. Only issue they promote this dim sum cart thing but after being there over hour and a half the carts never came out. We were looking forward to that part of the meal. We finished are dinner and were too full to eat any more. Not sure what the deal was there. They say the carts come out every 20-30 mins but not the case Saturday night. Oh well!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were very pleased with our brunch experience at The Church Key. The service was top notch, our server knew exactly when to come by and offer assistance. Food was terrific as well. We ended up spending almost three hours there, and did not feel rushed to leave.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We loved the decor and ambience in the restaurant. Our food was good. The brussel sprout Caesar salad was very salty. Probably from the Parmesan cheese. Everything else tasted great, but prices were a bit high for the amount of food we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ordered off the LA Dine menu. First course was great, as was dessert. The entree beef cheeks were good but came out a bit on the cold side.

Main waiter was fine; however, we were transferred to another waiter near the end of our meal and he made a rather uncalled for, rude remark when he took our table over.

Other than that had a decent experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Hostess was amazing got us seated quickly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

LOVED The Church Key! Servers were genuine and super friendly, food was delicious (those donuts!!!). Great Sunday brunch spot with bottomless drinks and a DJ playing great music! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The waitstaff seemed overworked but were trying their best. Considering it was DineLA, and the restaurant was very busy, everything went very well and they were sure to keep the bottomless mimosas flowing. Overall a very good meal for the price.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very busy place. Great service. Both the hostess and our server were very attentive. Loved the brioche donuts which were made to order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loved the food! Drinks were great. Only thing, the place died down after 11:00 pm. We left around midnight and it was pretty empty. So no late night vibe, but great spot never the less.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was all absolutely fantastic and clever, we were all extremely pleased.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best service in LA. The host was very generous and friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service was terrible. Had to flag down a waiter after 40 minutes. There were 5 of us, with 4 eating. My friend ordered scallops, 2 of us ordered fish, and the other got the burger. My friend's scallops came out so fast it was hard to believe they had time to cook them. It then took 20 minutes for the other entrees to be served. We can only guess they had an extra order lying around so served them up before the rest of the entrees even started to cook. And they were cold. Once my fish arrived., the presentation was uninspired and it tasted like a fish stick. A 30 dollar fish stick.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was excellent but our waitress never attended to us at all, we had one of the hosts take our order and serve us. The waitress was nice but completely inattentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The doughnut dessert was to die for. Everything I had on that menu was delicious

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very well-prepared food in a distinctly creative manner. Needs a better "by the glass" wine list. Overall, a fun and memorable night out.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When I arrived on time for my reservation, they tried to sit me at the bar instead of giving me a table. They agreed to sit me at a table but it had lazy boy chairs which put the table at chin level. Unacceptable. I asked and was given a regular chair. The guy at the table next to me said he'd had the same problem and had needed to ask for the chair to be swapped. A disappointing start to on ok meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was excited to have dinner. Sat at the bar got a drink and then was ignored while no one was in the restaurant. So I left and went next door and had a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our table ordered several dishes, and enjoyed everything except one. They were kind enough to comp us for the dish that we did not like. Overall, it was a wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful interior, wonderful friendly staff, and amazing food. Fun to share dim sum cart items.
Entree servings are huge, sharing is encouraged. Will definitely go back and would recommend highly.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.