About The Church Key

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5:30pm - 2:00am.
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am - 3:00pm.
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-3:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Steven Fretz

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: 818-398-7677x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Hollywood
American
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

fit for foodies (65)
hot spot (60)
good for groups (54)
See All
special occasion (47)
vibrant bar scene (36)
great for brunch (35)
romantic (32)
neighborhood gem (24)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (12)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

If anything, visit the Church Key for th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

If anything, visit the Church Key for the donuts. They were, by far, the best donuts I've ever had! The rest of the food and cocktails were nicely presented, but lacked flavor. It was bit disappointing. The quality of the food did not match the price.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Not great

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was terrible -- took awhile to place our order. Server did not check up on us very often. Slow to order, slow to serve. Just a poor service experience overall. The food was okay, not spectacular.

food4
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch. Don't order the fried F ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for brunch. Don't order the fried French toast. Not good. It was dry and not very tasty. Should come w berries or something. Everything else was great.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A group of us celebrated Mother's Day by ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A group of us celebrated Mother's Day by eating at The Church Key for brunch. We were disappointed that they didn't offer a better brunch selection, especially on a holiday like Mother's Day. Food was underwelming as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on April 29, 2016

Unique twist on everyday dishes. Creative ingredients make for an interesting & yummy dining experience. There are food carts that go around with various treats- like sushi or chick pea fries- and the restaurant itself is a really handsome space.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Mondays-fried chicken only

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Went on a Monday, did not know it was fried chicken only. No carts. Short staffed, food came out before drinks arrived. Waiter was nice but you could tell he was overwhelmed.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Average lunch spot - LA

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went in with high expectations, as the reviews on Yelp were very good. The brunch menu was very limited, which was disappointing. Everything was very heavy (ie; fried/ dense) and breakfasty... it would have been nice to have more lunch options (besides the burger) and even a salad at the minimum. We also read about the Pan Am cart, which we did not see in the restaurant. Maybe that's a night time feature?

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

The Church Key is very sexy chic, its gr ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Church Key is very sexy chic, its great place for a date night or a girls night out. The food was delicious, a little bit pricey for the portion size. We ended our meal with the brioche donuts, a this is a MUST try for every customer...melts in your mouth. A little disappointed in the service, our drinks and food took a little bit longer then normal.

food5
ambience5
service1

The food was fantastic. If anything, we ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was fantastic. If anything, we over ordered because it all sounded (and looked) so good. The service was inattentive at best

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

No carts on Monday

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were surprised to find out they don't do the 'dim sum' cart service on Monday. We wouldn't have made a reservation for Monday night. Monday is fried chicken night which wasn't worth the inflated price for fried chicken/cole slaw/ mac and cheese. We were sat right under the stereo speaker which made it hard to hold a conversation.

food3
ambience3
service2

The space is nice and my initial impress ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The space is nice and my initial impression was that we were going to really like the Church Key. However, while our server was friendly; he seemed to want to rush us into ordering drinks and food. The 4 of us had never been to this place and needed a moment to look at the cocktail menu( only one at a table of 4 of us) and food menu. Our server came back a few times to ask about drinks but never thought to get us additional cocktail menus so we did not have to look at the list one at a time.. He did not ask us about water and we had to ask a couple of times to get water while we were waiting for our cocktails and appetizers. The food was just ok; nothing terrible but nothing so great either. We did order several items off the dim sum carts that go around with various foods in addition to many dishes off the menu as the dishes are small and meant to be shared. After many different shared dim sum starters our server brought us several main dishes but never offered to get us new plates despite our small plates and forks needing to be changed at this point . Nothing happened unless we asked for it. Our server only seemed to care about our cocktail orders and then there was no more service at our table unless we stopped someone. We had to ask for everything;. Sadly this was a disappointing experience and none of us would go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The skirt steak and the donuts were amaz ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The skirt steak and the donuts were amazing! Loved the ambiance too. It's a great place for date night or a night out with friends. I would definitely come back :)

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Service - poor entres

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was great! Amazing! The dim sum was great as well. Unfortunately the entres were nothing to brag about. I ordered the crab legs and they were over cooked, my husband and friend ordered the fish and it was also over cooked. My friends husband ordered the skirt stake and he said if it weren't for the fact that he was hungry he wouldn't have eaten it. Collectively we decided to go elsewhere for desert. Very unfortunate!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bottomless Mimosas

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fancy food and trendy place. You might not be stuffed after, but you'll feel trendy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch at Church Key

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic food and ambiance for Sunday brunch with friends. They graciously accommodated our large party. Needed our mimosas refilled a little faster though :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hot Spot

Dined on April 2, 2016

Came here on a Friday night for Happy Hour and was so sad they recently changed their menu. However the food was stellar amazing. I was so impressed by the presentation and how delicious everything was. I loved the Dim Sum carts and the Burger was fabulous. Desserts were to die for and I can't stop thinking about the doughnuts. I can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greek Yogurt Parfait was Delicious

Dined on March 20, 2016

Came here for brunch and had a great time! The bottomless mimosas were delicious and the service was even better! Will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

The seating was awkward. Sitting on a lo ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The seating was awkward. Sitting on a low vouch inhibited conversation and was awkward for eating dinner. I like new and trendy but this was more like loud and obnoxious. The appetizers, particularly the charcuterie platter were good, main courses lacked interesting flavor.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Our waiter was attrocious!

Dined on March 20, 2016

I didn't realize why we were getting such poor service until we got the bill and I saw that the tip was added in since we were a party of six. He didn't need to be polite or attentive since he knew he was automatically getting a large tip. He was horrible.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not Good Anymore

Dined on March 19, 2016

we used to love this place because of the food carts- unfortunately they don't really do this anymore. Service was horrible- no one had answers. It was a mess. Food wasn't even good.

food4
ambience5
service4

Really enjoyed the ambiance, the fondue, ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance, the fondue, and the crab

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Church Key

Dined on March 17, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner with a friend. We had a great time. Food was incredible and we were treated well. Have already convinced my boyfriend we should go try it together

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Well prepared food. Menu is eclectic, m ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Well prepared food. Menu is eclectic, maybe too eclectic - dim sum carts? KFC Monday? We stuck to the core menu and think we were happy going that direction. Wine list is nicely diverse, although the first two bottles we ordered weren't available. Excellent cocktails. Attentive but not pesky service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

R U Kidding - a great meal

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We have been to ChurchKey before. Each time the food is excellent. Who knew that this "fancy" restuarant had fried chicken on Monday night. All that we ate was totally terrific!! The perogies and the falafal (yep that's right falafal) on the Dim Dum cart wer wonderful. Highly recommend the Caeser salad and the pork belly. The red snapper and the burger were spot on. The donuts, well you gotta eat the donuts. And, I had a root beer float that was as good as any that I had as a kid. And, as good as the food is, our Server, Chelsea, was special. She made our celebration enjoyable and memorable. Great sense of humor and gives her opinion openly and honestly. Only negative comment, is that they gotta fix the door. Go and if it is not repaired you will know what I mean. Truly a great meal and a great time....Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience but was kinda bummed th ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great experience but was kinda bummed that the Dim Dun cart never made it around. The wait team was fantastic and food was delicious.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Reservation Shmes-reservation

Dined on March 13, 2016

We arrived 10 minutes before our reservation. We checked in with the hostess. She asked our name and said it would be a few minutes before she could see us. They were clearly busy. SO GLAD I made a reservations. No problem, we could wait a few minutes. 15 minutes later , we still hadn't been called. The hostess was no where to be found and more people started showing up. No one was being greeted and no names were being taken. Finally the hostess appeared again, asked us our name AGAIN and said it would be just a few more minutes. End of story, we waited AN HOUR after our reservation and still hadn't been seated. There were about 15 people waiting in the lobby waiting to be seated. The couple behind us also had reservations and were being ignored. We ended up leaving and going next door to Eveleigh where the food and customer service was far better than Church key. Very disappointing. My friends and I won't be returning.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Unfortunate Experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

I have heard many great things about the Churchkey and so I was very disappointed with my group's brunch experience on last Sunday. We had a reservation for 6 and were luckily seated right away, but we were not introduced to our server until about 30 minutes after being seated. The restaurant was very busy as there seemed to be a large party in the back section, but the restaurant was not well staffed at all. We ordered bottomless mimosas and because of how busy it was our glasses were left empty for lengths of time before being refilled. After our server had taken our food orders he came back to us about 20 minutes after our order only to inform us that the kitchen had run out of two of the entrees we had ordered. It was upsetting that it took this long to realize that they were out of stock and that our food order was just put in. Once we reselected our entrees the food did not come out until over an hour later. When our food was delivered all the entrees were served except for one, and we actually saw the server with the 6th entree and he left with it! I tracked down the server and explained that the entree was not dropped on our table with the others. Our server then came to report that the other server had made the mistake and given the entree to the wrong table! The entree then came out shortly after the rest of our party had nearly finished eating. Our server was kind enough to bring us two bottles of champagne to the table and he was trying his best, but clearly the restaurant was way too short staffed! I would of expected a manager to have come out and speak to the tables who were experiencing such bad service! When the bill came we found it quite unfortunate that nothing was adjusted from the bill, especially the entree that was given to the wrong table. We did appreciate the addtional champagne, but this was really included in the bottomless cost that we were paying for already. I would expect much better service from the Churchkey.

food3
ambience4
service3

We waited 30 minutes to be seated and th ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We waited 30 minutes to be seated and then another 10 to even get greeted with some water for the table along with ordering a drink. 2 of the same drink came 20 minutes later, weird... It's obvious there needs to be better communication between wait staff and bar staff and vice versa. Also the server that was supposed to have our table kept making excuses about why service was sub par like "oh people called out today" and "sorry this other table has had me busy", I'm the first one to be lenient in a service setting but come on, that's not the guests problem and I certainly don't care to hear it. Luckily a different server stepped in and proceeded to take care of our table. He was polite, prompt and treated us with urgency and care. We liked him. The cart dishes we ordered were great but wish they would have been hotter, they were a little on the cold side. It wouldn't be my first choice of venue but I would go back if someone suggested it.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Anniversary Disappointment

Dined on March 13, 2016

I was a restaurant manager for 11 years so I get it but...We were there to celebrate our two-year anniversary - it was our 1st date spot. We had an 8:30 dinner reservation. The bar was so overwhelmed that it took 10 minutes for someone to even acknowledge us and give us drink menus. At 9pm, with no update from the hostess, we grabbed two seats at the bar and let the hostess know we were going to stay there as they still did not have our table ready. After we found the bar seats, another 15 minutes for menus and a 2nd round of drinks. The food cart / apps were great - much speedier than bar service. The burger and cannelloni were tasty but nothing to write home about. We were so disappointed in the whole experience but...the drinks were made well when we finally got them and the food was "good". I've always recommended it and will go back because I've been many times in the last two years and it's usually good - maybe they were having an off-night.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

More Tapas Please

Dined on March 6, 2016

The cart only came around twice and it was the same one! It was a Saturday night around 9:00pm and it was fairly crowded so why not have them coming by more often?! Our waiter did say they come around every 20mins- we timed it, not the case. Bummer too my friend needed some more food to go with his sorry piece of meat he was given. BUT the burger was really good, would come back for that. And the drinks were made well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a really lovely meal. Everyone was super accommodating and the food was delicious. Can't ask for much more! Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my adult kids here after a show a ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

I took my adult kids here after a show at the Ahmanson. We all loved it and would definitely come back. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and quick without being intrusive. Food was fantastic as well as the cocktail list which we had a lot of fun sampling. The menu had a variety to please everyone but we loved the dim sum carts, especially the Pan Am cart that had the house made otter pop style frozen cocktail. This place was a hit with all of us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must-Go Dine!

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Mondays are fried chicken night! Delish! Can order for yourself or go family style. They also feature a dim-sum-like concept with carts of food every once in awhile passing by that you can grab items from. Love the unique concept, great ambiance, and delicious food. Noise level towards the front was louder than in the back by the bar. If want slightly quieter table ask for the table towards the back. Enjoy! I'll definitely go back next time I'm in L.A.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Horrible service, mediocre food not worth the wait

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I came here with a party of 8 people with a reservation at 1230pm on a Sunday. Now that is typically a busy time for any restaurant, but the service was actually embarrassing. Even though our table was ready at 1230pm, we were not seated for a few minutes (why, i don't know.) I kept checking in with the hostess to know response. Finally, when my group sat down, our drink orders were immediately taken, but the waiter didn't come back to take our food order until 1:15pm (45 minutes after our original reservation time). While the food is good, it wasn't worth the wait. The portions are small, and given the locale, the prices are a pinch too high for what you're getting for. In our group, most people ordered the Croque Madame, which seemed like a small portion given its price point. I had the avocado toast, which was good - nice presentation, but practically very hard to eat. People can come here for bottomless mimosas ($13!) so that's the one perk: the mimosa girl is the only attentive person serving and takes bottomless very seriously. She redeemed the entire brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, ambience, and food!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Drinks and food were very good. Stand outs: foi gras and chicken liver plate, Brussels sprout Caesar salad, red snapper

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was our 2nd time there & enjoyed it more than the 1st time! Awesome ambiance, food & service. Will definitely come back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food , lackluster service

Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was good but overpriced and portions small. The service was lackluster- our table asked three different servers for water, drinks, and more food since we were still hungry after our main course came. Our server took our order and then never came back till he told us he was leaving. I won't be back and won't recommend it- too many other good restaurants in LA with better prices and service.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Loved!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a great night at The Church Key. The food was amazing. The service was okay, but I will say it was a busy night.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall great experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

The only thing I was disappointed about was the food. I was expecting the steak to be delicious and it was not. We were waiting for the cart to come around and he said they come around every 45 mins. So I didn't get to experience that part. A little sad about that, since that was one of the reasons why I wanted to go there. However, our Server Eric was wonderful!!! We had a young lady that was delivering drinks and she just came over to our table, not introducing herself and instead just placed my wine on the table and gave it to my friend which she didn't order it, I did. After she placed my wine on the table she just walked away. The reason why I gave it an overall great experience was the ambience and Eric and the the gentleman that came to our table to bring our dinner. Great service is very hard to find nowadays.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A-M-A-Z-I-N-G Experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

From the moment we walked in, we were seated accordingly. Place is spacious and have room to walk in without bothering other diners. Got a seat right next to the bar which is entertaining to watch and next to this adorb fire place. Great service from our waiter and food came in fast and freshly prepared. Let's the talk about the menu, precise, elegant and tasty. Will not disappoint in any way. Good portion to share or for an individual. It was an amazing dinner for both of us considering it was Valentine's day when we tried to explore this gem. Last but not the least, best way to sweeten the night with the caramel glazed home made brioche, donut in short was amazingly soft and melts in your mouth. Thank you for another good eats restaurant of West Hollywood, we will definitely come back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.