About The Church Key

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-5:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: 818-398-7677x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
American
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

fit for foodies (38)
good for groups (29)
special occasion (26)
See All
hot spot (25)
great for brunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (10)
romantic (10)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall positive. Service not as good as ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall positive. Service not as good as prior visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a lovely brunch at The Church Key wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a lovely brunch at The Church Key with some girlfriends. It wasn't very busy, but the offerings were delicious! Bottomless mimosas, strong coffee, and those brown butter brioche donuts? To die for! I intend to go back often.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really love coming here. They do an am ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I really love coming here. They do an amazing mixology bar and the food is amazing. They have nice and friendly staff that is knowledgeable and takes their time to explain the menu. I truly recommend anyone to try this place especially in the recent months it has really grown and stepped up to the next level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only do I love the food on the menu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Not only do I love the food on the menu but the food on the dim sum carts is fun and delicious. It's a great place to go with friends for a fun night out. And DO NOT skip the donuts for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, eclectic food finds, cool dr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, eclectic food finds, cool drinks, cool atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor and slow service. Dinner carts stop ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Poor and slow service. Dinner carts stopped making rounds at 9:30! Which is part of the reason we came here in the first place. Poor selection of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great service. The waitress keep our dri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service. The waitress keep our drinks flowing and we never had to ask for anything.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The carts do not come out as often as th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The carts do not come out as often as they say they will and they don't have as many options on them as they say. They ran out of a lot of options by 8:00 at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This could be my favorite new restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This could be my favorite new restaurant. The food and drinks were great and I loved the dim sum carts were such a fun addition to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food friendly staff great bar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

great food friendly staff great bar i have had dinner in this reaurant a number of times I enoy going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just ok

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was great, and I like the dim sum idea, but the food is just blah. Small portions way overpriced with not that much taste. I had the corn truffled pasta, and all it tasted like was cream of corn from a can. The wine selection is pretty slim, and the dim sum food was good but again way overpriced for the size. The service was great, and I loved the look of the joint. I was also annoyed that the menu was different online. I went in for crabs to realize they don't sell that dish anymore! :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Actually was a bit disappointing as the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Actually was a bit disappointing as the previous time I was there we had a great night and enjoyed the vodka Popsicles..this time the lady who either prepares them or gets the ice ready wasn't there..that's one of the main reasons I made a Rez in the first place..our waitress spoke like she had marbles in her mouth and I couldn't understand a word she said..like she was whispering..food was good, however must have had tons of salt as I couldn't get my jewelry. The next day..sorry to say I will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

If anything, visit the Church Key for th ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

If anything, visit the Church Key for the donuts. They were, by far, the best donuts I've ever had! The rest of the food and cocktails were nicely presented, but lacked flavor. It was bit disappointing. The quality of the food did not match the price.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Not great

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was terrible -- took awhile to place our order. Server did not check up on us very often. Slow to order, slow to serve. Just a poor service experience overall. The food was okay, not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Went for brunch. Don't order the fried F ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for brunch. Don't order the fried French toast. Not good. It was dry and not very tasty. Should come w berries or something. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A group of us celebrated Mother's Day by ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A group of us celebrated Mother's Day by eating at The Church Key for brunch. We were disappointed that they didn't offer a better brunch selection, especially on a holiday like Mother's Day. Food was underwelming as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Delicious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Unique twist on everyday dishes. Creative ingredients make for an interesting & yummy dining experience. There are food carts that go around with various treats- like sushi or chick pea fries- and the restaurant itself is a really handsome space.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mondays-fried chicken only

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Went on a Monday, did not know it was fried chicken only. No carts. Short staffed, food came out before drinks arrived. Waiter was nice but you could tell he was overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Average lunch spot - LA

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went in with high expectations, as the reviews on Yelp were very good. The brunch menu was very limited, which was disappointing. Everything was very heavy (ie; fried/ dense) and breakfasty... it would have been nice to have more lunch options (besides the burger) and even a salad at the minimum. We also read about the Pan Am cart, which we did not see in the restaurant. Maybe that's a night time feature?

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The Church Key is very sexy chic, its gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The Church Key is very sexy chic, its great place for a date night or a girls night out. The food was delicious, a little bit pricey for the portion size. We ended our meal with the brioche donuts, a this is a MUST try for every customer...melts in your mouth. A little disappointed in the service, our drinks and food took a little bit longer then normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The food was fantastic. If anything, we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was fantastic. If anything, we over ordered because it all sounded (and looked) so good. The service was inattentive at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

No carts on Monday

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We were surprised to find out they don't do the 'dim sum' cart service on Monday. We wouldn't have made a reservation for Monday night. Monday is fried chicken night which wasn't worth the inflated price for fried chicken/cole slaw/ mac and cheese. We were sat right under the stereo speaker which made it hard to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The space is nice and my initial impress ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The space is nice and my initial impression was that we were going to really like the Church Key. However, while our server was friendly; he seemed to want to rush us into ordering drinks and food. The 4 of us had never been to this place and needed a moment to look at the cocktail menu( only one at a table of 4 of us) and food menu. Our server came back a few times to ask about drinks but never thought to get us additional cocktail menus so we did not have to look at the list one at a time.. He did not ask us about water and we had to ask a couple of times to get water while we were waiting for our cocktails and appetizers. The food was just ok; nothing terrible but nothing so great either. We did order several items off the dim sum carts that go around with various foods in addition to many dishes off the menu as the dishes are small and meant to be shared. After many different shared dim sum starters our server brought us several main dishes but never offered to get us new plates despite our small plates and forks needing to be changed at this point . Nothing happened unless we asked for it. Our server only seemed to care about our cocktail orders and then there was no more service at our table unless we stopped someone. We had to ask for everything;. Sadly this was a disappointing experience and none of us would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love this place ... Recommend to everyo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Love this place ... Recommend to everyone we know!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The skirt steak and the donuts were amaz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The skirt steak and the donuts were amazing! Loved the ambiance too. It's a great place for date night or a night out with friends. I would definitely come back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service - poor entres

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was great! Amazing! The dim sum was great as well. Unfortunately the entres were nothing to brag about. I ordered the crab legs and they were over cooked, my husband and friend ordered the fish and it was also over cooked. My friends husband ordered the skirt stake and he said if it weren't for the fact that he was hungry he wouldn't have eaten it. Collectively we decided to go elsewhere for desert. Very unfortunate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Bottomless Mimosas

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fancy food and trendy place. You might not be stuffed after, but you'll feel trendy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at Church Key

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic food and ambiance for Sunday brunch with friends. They graciously accommodated our large party. Needed our mimosas refilled a little faster though :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hot Spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Came here on a Friday night for Happy Hour and was so sad they recently changed their menu. However the food was stellar amazing. I was so impressed by the presentation and how delicious everything was. I loved the Dim Sum carts and the Burger was fabulous. Desserts were to die for and I can't stop thinking about the doughnuts. I can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Greek Yogurt Parfait was Delicious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Came here for brunch and had a great time! The bottomless mimosas were delicious and the service was even better! Will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seating was awkward. Sitting on a lo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The seating was awkward. Sitting on a low vouch inhibited conversation and was awkward for eating dinner. I like new and trendy but this was more like loud and obnoxious. The appetizers, particularly the charcuterie platter were good, main courses lacked interesting flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our waiter was attrocious!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I didn't realize why we were getting such poor service until we got the bill and I saw that the tip was added in since we were a party of six. He didn't need to be polite or attentive since he knew he was automatically getting a large tip. He was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Not Good Anymore

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

we used to love this place because of the food carts- unfortunately they don't really do this anymore. Service was horrible- no one had answers. It was a mess. Food wasn't even good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really enjoyed the ambiance, the fondue, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance, the fondue, and the crab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Church Key

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner with a friend. We had a great time. Food was incredible and we were treated well. Have already convinced my boyfriend we should go try it together

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well prepared food. Menu is eclectic, m ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Well prepared food. Menu is eclectic, maybe too eclectic - dim sum carts? KFC Monday? We stuck to the core menu and think we were happy going that direction. Wine list is nicely diverse, although the first two bottles we ordered weren't available. Excellent cocktails. Attentive but not pesky service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

R U Kidding - a great meal

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We have been to ChurchKey before. Each time the food is excellent. Who knew that this "fancy" restuarant had fried chicken on Monday night. All that we ate was totally terrific!! The perogies and the falafal (yep that's right falafal) on the Dim Dum cart wer wonderful. Highly recommend the Caeser salad and the pork belly. The red snapper and the burger were spot on. The donuts, well you gotta eat the donuts. And, I had a root beer float that was as good as any that I had as a kid. And, as good as the food is, our Server, Chelsea, was special. She made our celebration enjoyable and memorable. Great sense of humor and gives her opinion openly and honestly. Only negative comment, is that they gotta fix the door. Go and if it is not repaired you will know what I mean. Truly a great meal and a great time....Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience but was kinda bummed th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great experience but was kinda bummed that the Dim Dun cart never made it around. The wait team was fantastic and food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservation Shmes-reservation

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We arrived 10 minutes before our reservation. We checked in with the hostess. She asked our name and said it would be a few minutes before she could see us. They were clearly busy. SO GLAD I made a reservations. No problem, we could wait a few minutes. 15 minutes later , we still hadn't been called. The hostess was no where to be found and more people started showing up. No one was being greeted and no names were being taken. Finally the hostess appeared again, asked us our name AGAIN and said it would be just a few more minutes.

End of story, we waited AN HOUR after our reservation and still hadn't been seated. There were about 15 people waiting in the lobby waiting to be seated. The couple behind us also had reservations and were being ignored.

We ended up leaving and going next door to Eveleigh where the food and customer service was far better than Church key. Very disappointing. My friends and I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unfortunate Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I have heard many great things about the Churchkey and so I was very disappointed with my group's brunch experience on last Sunday. We had a reservation for 6 and were luckily seated right away, but we were not introduced to our server until about 30 minutes after being seated. The restaurant was very busy as there seemed to be a large party in the back section, but the restaurant was not well staffed at all. We ordered bottomless mimosas and because of how busy it was our glasses were left empty for lengths of time before being refilled. After our server had taken our food orders he came back to us about 20 minutes after our order only to inform us that the kitchen had run out of two of the entrees we had ordered. It was upsetting that it took this long to realize that they were out of stock and that our food order was just put in. Once we reselected our entrees the food did not come out until over an hour later. When our food was delivered all the entrees were served except for one, and we actually saw the server with the 6th entree and he left with it! I tracked down the server and explained that the entree was not dropped on our table with the others. Our server then came to report that the other server had made the mistake and given the entree to the wrong table! The entree then came out shortly after the rest of our party had nearly finished eating. Our server was kind enough to bring us two bottles of champagne to the table and he was trying his best, but clearly the restaurant was way too short staffed! I would of expected a manager to have come out and speak to the tables who were experiencing such bad service! When the bill came we found it quite unfortunate that nothing was adjusted from the bill, especially the entree that was given to the wrong table. We did appreciate the addtional champagne, but this was really included in the bottomless cost that we were paying for already. I would expect much better service from the Churchkey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.