Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Church Key

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-3:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: (818) 398-7677

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (11)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Tapas (8)
People Watching (5)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our second time here, and unfortunately, same as the first time. It's all style and no substance I'm afraid. The food is just not good. Having been in the F&B industry, in free-standing restaurants as well as hotel F&B operations, I have had thousands of meals from bad to amazing, and this execution just doesn't live up to the promise, the price, or even the location.
The design of the space is great, however, so if you just want to grab a drink...do so. But don't invest in the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really great spot for brunch. Chicken and waffles were the best I've had. Really great prices for bottomless mimosas and even bottomless rose. Will definitely be back to try out their dinner menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and they went out of their way to help me celebrate my birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I miss the cocktail ice pops. The food felt ordinary. Our waitress was snitty. It just wasn't as fun as it used to be. We won't be coming back. The only food that stood out was the reliable donuts. But my friend missed having a fuller dessert menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was disappointed that the "waiter" who should have helped us just ignored us. I had to ask for service and the person who took care of us was wonderful. Thanks Daniel for not making me give up on this place. Service here is always hit or miss nd today was terrible except for Daniel. He was pleasant, helpful and very nice. Fried chicken and waffles were delightful and waffles had that extra crunch outside and softness inside. Please fix service or you'll lose patrons. Reviews should start about food not terrible service. Daniel thank you again for your attentive and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

While still very good, the Church Key has now clearly declined from the excellent restaurant it was just a year ago. The dim sums, which are ordered off of carts pushed through the dining room, remain the high point - not just super-tasty, but super-cheap too - I recommend getting every one you see. The appetizers also remain strong. However the main dishes have been lately mediocre. This time we had scallops, which were a bit bland. And the burger was a bit of a mess, using a special sauce that's indistinguishable from that of a Big Mac - and it's not clear if this is meant to be ironic. Further, it's topped by a muck of sauteed onions (I think) and some other not-readily-identifiable stuff, akin to In n Out's "animal style." And it's $22. (!) The cocktails are still great, as is the service and the ambience. To be clear: this remains a very good restaurant, but it's fallen from among the ranks of the elite. We'll be giving it some time off, but we'll certainly return, hopeful that they regain their form.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

great service, ambience, food and drinks! the waiter and cart people were so lovely and gave us an entire round of complementary drinks!! definitely coming back

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Honestly amazing. Valet convenient...text when your ready...appetizers were great..especially the ceasAR salad brussel sprouts! Meal was amazing I had the fried chicken that could have fed 3 people.. delish! To end the night we had to try their specialty doughtnuts and honestly it was mouth watering! Even if your not a doughnut person try it! Once you go Church key your never goin back. Brunch looks amazing and I am sure we'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Drinks were delicious and dim sum was good. They advertised free popcorn on dim sum nights Tuesday and Wednesday, so my friend want to try. They charged the day we went. The valet was missing in action for 15 minutes. After waiting a long time, I asked the waitress and was told she had no order listed. They gave my part of 3 free brioche donuts as consolation. Our order ENT in and we were served around 9 am. Yes, the company was great but the dinner experience was dismal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This restaurant did not disappoint. Food was eclectic and interesting; nice ambience/decor

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I arrived at the restaurant only to have the staff tell me that the 3 pm reservation I had made was cancelled because they closed the restaurant. They advised that the reservation system "shouldn't have allowed me to make a reservation." In all actuality, they should have had the staff properly update the system to represent accurate availability. I have been here three times and each time there is some kind of operational issue, either with the staff, kitchen and now the organization of reservations. This place was great when it first opened, but it is clear why it is always half empty now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was excellent. I wish the portions were a bit larger but I suppose they keep it moderate so that there's room for dessert! It's a must to try one of their desserts. We had the bridge doughnut and I was blown away.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was really dissapointed by this restaurant. It took a LONG time to get our drinks, and then both meals (I was with one friend) were not good at all. I got the chicken and biscuits, the biscuits were burnt and the chicken was very so-so. My friend got the Halibut and that was also very mediocre, she said it tasted frozen. Would not go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It's over priced. The food was good. It not great. For the price, I expected more.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always a fav spot. We actually prefer eating up at the bar and people-watching, and the food has yet to disappoint. I choose it over Eveleigh nextdoor every time. Great drinks.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place for special occasions and sitting down and unwinding. The staff is truly professional and the food is exceptional. The menu rotates seasonally so if there's something that you like get it before it's gone. I came for the main course but I stayed for the doughnuts (try them you'll thank me later)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pleasantly surprised - and also were very welcoming to my 8 yr old son. Home Run all around.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

They should definitely do a better job with their dessert menu. Only 2 desserts offered until I asked about ice cream and then the server wrote the options on a piece of paper .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My first experience at the Church Key was for Sunday Brunch with a few friends. The atmosphere was great, the large space has serval micro-environments which allow you to easily hear your guests and carry on a conversation. All the entrees ordered came out perfectly and we ordered a Dutch Baby Pancake to share at the start and an order of the Brioche Donuts to end the meal. The staff member with the pitcher of mimosa's was never far out of site. She never let a glass get empty, circling around topping glasses off throughout the brunch. Definitely recommend to others and I'll be back as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing! My girlfriends and I loved the décor. The food was amazing (especially those donuts) and the lady refilling our bottomless mimosas was SO on top of it. Can't wait to go back!!! :)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We came for brunch and their bottomless mimosas are good and they keep your glass full. The portions here are huge but the food is only just ok. The only thing that is delicious that we had was the donuts. They are a MUST HAVE. Everything else is medium.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Slow! Bland food, usually good!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Trendy with funky decor

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I love The Church Key! The servers are extremely friendly and the food is delicious. It's a great place to have a fun brunch with friends--one of my favorite LA Spots.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The place is really lovely! We went for brunch and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was extremely nice and attentive. They kept bring refills for the Mimosas without our once having to ask. The restaurant itself is so pretty and felt so pleasant. We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

sat us in a corner table. very nice waiters. the food is good, not great. atmosphere and drinks are everything here.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I was running 15 min late to my 8pm reso, the hostess told me I needed to hurry because they weren't taking any reservations past 8pm. At 8:40p a couple walked into the restaurant... the waiter was very helpful and friendly. The food was so salty.. from our salad to the beef and broccoli. Donuts were amazing as usual.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had heard so many good things about The Church Key that we were a bit skeptical upon arrival. Wow, were we ever pleasantly surprised to learn that all those good things were absolutely true. The food was so flavorful and creatively prepared. The service was sensational and the Sunday night movies on the big screens were a big hit with the family. I've had a lot of high end hamburgers and I just want to say, TCK's was one of the best I've had in a long, long time. The dim sum cart was a lot of fun. Fixed Price menu was a great bargain. Recommend it highly. The warm doughnuts are the dessert of choice. Don't miss them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter with a couple friends who also have never been here. Such a good vibe and overall loved the experience! Seated immediately and all agreed on bottomless mimosas, though they had other bottomless options like Rosè, margaritas and blood Mary's which were fun options but since I've haven't done brunch in a while, I wanted classic mimosas! We ordered the doughnuts that everyone raves about, and my god, they were absolute perfection! Literally melted in my mouth. I got the eggs Benedict and would definitely recommend! They have a girl walking around constantly refilling our champ glasses so we all left full and tipsy, which to me is all I want from a good brunch! I want to say I'll come back for dinner but I really just want to come back for brunch ASAP!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love this place. Food is delicious. However, I was disappointed they change their avocado toast. Plus, kids ordered red velvet pancakes and they didn't know there were peppercorns on the pancakes. Wish the server would've said something about that.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went on a Sunday night. Warning: it's movie night. They were playing Harry Potter--not exactly sexy night out on the Sunset Strip. Terrible service--appalling. No one else in the restaurant and the food took two and a half hours start to finish. Between the Harry Potter, the empty restaurant, and the glacial service, terrible if putting it mildly. The food, however, was great--just hard to enjoy. Very frustrating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I love Churchkey, so many choices for brunch with the same food, except Churchkey. The food is at a different level, and the service is outstanding and the servers are generous. Delilah was such a sweet heart and very accommodating. So rare to see a hostess get down and make sure the tables don't wobble, etc. Very detailed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My girlfriends and I went to The Church Key for a ladies' night out. We were pleased by the food and cocktail selections and loved the unique dim sum carts that came around with small bites and boozy popsicle. The decor is spot on, an eclectic mix of vintage and modern, rustic and glam— all without being too busy, surprisingly. Tall ceilings and white washed walls keep things airy and elevated. The hallway to the washrooms offers plenty of selfie/photo ops, with a bold mural and telephone booth. Have fun! The Church Key offers a plethora of conversation starters. From the gyoza to the graffiti wall, you definitely won't run out of things to gush over.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Saw this place on YouTube video featuring their one of a kind brown butter glazed donuts. Decided to check it out. Found out they had a menu of delicious sounding food and decided to try it with my girlfriend.
Quick response. This place is great!
Long response. The atmosphere is one I can really enjoy and stay it for hours. The service was amazing; extremely kind, polite, and patient. The food was more than amazing, and yes the donuts are a must have.
Overall I highly recommend this place but it does come with a high price tag...Well larger than I am use to, but totally worth it and will try to go again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I wouldn't go back. Think it's past its prime.... Place was half empty, service was just okay, value vs meal, was not good. Many other better places along Sunset Plaza

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The Food was amazing. The woman who rolled around with speciality drinks was kind of annoying, but I get it. Gotta up sale.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was fantastic but the service was terrible. Our server was one of
The worst I've ever had. The manager and hostess really tried to make up for it but it's just very frustrating when your server is an absolute JERK. I'd go back for the food in a heartbeat as long as Isaiah wasn't our waiter (or even on the schedule for that day)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fun and easy with a group of old friends. Donuts didn't disappoint and the dim sum was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall very tasty food. However, we were disappointed when we asked for our bill and our server did not bring it to us for over 35 minutes. We saw her walk past us at least a dozen times and tried to get her attention. Even though she may have not been, it almost felt like she was intentionally ignoring us. It was a bummer because up until that point, we were raving about the place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Seated quickly and the service was great. Delicious food and a dark, cozy ambience. YOU HAVE TO GET THE DONUTS!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.