Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Church Key

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-3:00 pm

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (9)
Fun (8)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Music (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort by
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Every stage of the process took about 20 minutes each, from getting our drinks, to ordering to getting to the check to having the check picked up. Worst of all, my boyfriend (who is kosher) had to send his salmon eggs benedict back because the whites where literally the consistency of water and we didn't realize til the end of the meal that he'd been given chorizo in the replacement instead of salmon. The salmon they serve is a blood red color so though the consistency looked different (it looked like the salmon came back crispy), it wasn't immediately apparent as it would have been with normal salmon. His body hasn't processed pork in over a decade and therefore he was sick the rest of our three day weekend. The waiter comped that dish (which we appreciated), but was spastic and inattentive the duration of the meal.

Additionally, the music was loud to the point that we couldn't even hold a conversation across the table.

I used to work in the service industry and typically have a lot of patience and empathy for how difficult the job is, but this experience was simply awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We love the creativity of the restaurant, the friendly and accommodating staff, and getting our food quickly as we had somewhere to go. Always enjoy being there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We really enjoyed the environment but the servers took a long time 40 minutes to bring all the food out except 1 dish. It took an additional 10 min to bring out the final party's dish (birthday pancakes). The birthday pancakes were burnt. This ambiance and live music were nice but the service was poor.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I really enjoy this not only because they bring in a dj for brunch but the bottomless mimosas are, amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

It was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Really enjoy brunch at the Church Key! The bottomless mimosas and bellinis can't be beat, and the menu is so innovative. I positively love the Toad in a Hole! Great food in a very eclectic atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Amazing staff and food. The location is wonderful the wait staff was extremely accommodating. The dim sum cart options were fun and delicious, great drinks, and creatively thoughtful entrees

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2017

I've been here a few times and the service is always slow and not attentive. This time, the hostess was absent for a good 5 minutes. The servers had no idea where she was. And then she suddenly appeared from somewhere outside. Wish they'd get this sorted out. It would really make a difference in the ambience and experience. And the otter pop cart seems to have been discontinued. We were there for 2.5 hours and there was no sign of it. Might be the last time I go for a long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 15, 2017

I don't mind paying good money for good food. This place is worth every penny. Get the donuts if you love yourself.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The portions were quite small for the price, but otherwise was happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The Church Key isn’t what it used be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

The Church Key joins a ever lengthening list of overpriced restaurants in America (Los Angeles for sure!) that qualify as "fancy bar food" masquerading as fine dining (surely the markup creeps well above 400%). With a modicum of creativity, you're better off making a nice cocktail at home and cooking your own lovely dinner. Don't go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Loved all the little plates. We loved trying all the different kinds of food

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2017

This was my 5th visit in the past 2 years and The Church Key continues to be fabulous and fun! The food is delish. The ambiance/decor/fun dim sum concept are unique. My only complaint is that the Pork Belly dish is less pork belly and more other stuff. The pork belly was still OUTSTANDING but I'd rather have more/most pork belly vs. any other ingredient. Long live The Church Key!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Waitress was terrible. We had to keep getting up from our meal to go to the bar to order drinks ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2017

If you want to feel like in club at 1pm on a Sunday where you have poor food. Booze is cheap and warm. Music was good but need to be prepared to yell at your friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Spent my 27th birthday at the Church Key and had the best time. They were very accommodating and the section where my group was seated was perfect for my big group! It was my second time and i can’t wait to go back! The food was yummy and the bottomless is amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Quite loud to carry on conversation at a normal speaking tone. Otherwise, a great experience with a great ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Richard is great. Corned Beef Egg sandwich+++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Every restaurant should have a server like Richard. Great suggestions great knowledge great attitude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Each time I visit Church Key i'm never disappointed. The service, the food and the atmosphere are most welcoming! Will be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Music was a tad loud but it was good music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I ordered the chilaquiles and thought that the dish was okay. Service was terrible. Our waiter hardly came by to see how we were doing. I don’t think I’d recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I’ve been here a few times and every time has been amazing until now. They’ve changed up their dim sum system and there was no pan am cart. Also the fish was super dry which was disappointing and the waiter didn’t do anything about it.
I don’t know if I’ll be back at this point as it ruined my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Delilah the hostess was great. Our servers were horrible. Ordered pancakes. Took 20 minutes took get syrup for them. Our food came to our table separately so in our party of 4 our entrees showed up more than 20 minutes apart Horribly incompetent and lazy wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night and the restaurant was about 25% full... first red flag. Food and service both mediocre. Sushi had a very weird, antiseptic (?) taste to it. 3 people from our group ended up getting sick from something we ate (not the sushi, though, b/c one of us didn't eat it). We totally over ordered (not just a little, but prob 1.5-2x what we actually ate) based on our server's recommendation which, in my opinion, equates to bad service. With all the really great restaurants LA has to offer, I won't be going back here anytime soon :(

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Excellent. Loved CKFC, pierogis and donut dessert. Waiter did a great job. Didn’t love the cauliflower, missed the mark by comparison to other dishes. We’ll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was amazing but service was so bad! People left and right of our table were complaining too. It was as if 1 waiter was working the whole restaurant. I honestly recommend the dim sum menu, it was so fun eating small tapas style for our group. But the waiter didn’t care to check on us to see if we needed another drink or wanted to order anything else. It was just so odd. Overall though our group had a nice evening here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We had such a fun time! Our server, Richard, was amazing - so attentive, friendly, and gave us great suggestions. The food is excellent and the dim sum trolley is such a cute idea. The only thing I missed was the alco-pop cart which I think used to go round on weekdays too and now is only on weekends. A truly fun, delicious place to eat - I've been a handful of times now and always had a great experience :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Such a great place for a fun brunch with friends! Invited 3 friends and they loved it! Awesome energy and vibe! Loved my chicken and waffles and bottomless mimosas were just that - no limit and no bottom!

This was my second time at Church Key (the first time was dinner - cool meal then too!) and Looking forward to a third time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had a group of friends (cast of tv show big brother on cbs) join me for the amazing donuts, food, drinks and POPCORN.
As per usual, the wait staff is moving up in my list of WORST service EVER! I should have learned my lesson with their staff after my second bad experience, now 3 in a row, ALL different servers yet ALL of them have very little knowledge about their menu and just fail as a wait staff especially for the price points of the place! LITERALLY THE WORST WAITERS!! The popcorn is deliscious and typically they offer you a free serving for the table, that did NOT happen, when I asked for popcorn for the table it happened to be after the kitchen closed and we were denied popcorn. VERY DISAPPOINTING. When we were heading out we noticed BAGS of popcorn at the host stand and this just proves yet once again how very little this wait staff knows and/or tries to please their guests. I don't foresee recommending this restaurant ever again and I don't plan on ever spending my money here again just to be let down for a 4th time!
I've made a point to inform The Church Key (prior to this negative experience I notified the restaurant two other times; once in June 2017 and a 2nd time in July 2017) and here we are in September 2017 and now a third negative experience with the same issues - zero changes have been made so I see this place lasting a year at the most! My mission is to inform potential guests of this place to a valid wasting their money for this kind of service! NOT WORTH IT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food and drinks were delicious, however the cocktail prices are outrageous!!!
$18.00 For a casamigos margarita.
GTFO

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The worst service. Ordered champagne and didn't finish the bottle because they never refilled our glasses. Food came out cold.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had the 7 course chef choice... it was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great service and the food was creative and delicious

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

GREAT FOOD
GREAT SERVICE
JENNIFER WAS GREAT!!!
RED LIPS A MUST DRINK 💋

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wasn't too impressed with the food. Server Richard was very nice. However the hostess was neither warm nor welcoming. She did not smile or really look at me when I told her I had reservations. She simply looked down at her screen and didn't not even gesture for me and my guest to follow.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Delicious little bites, highly recommend the Nut Crusted Thai Snapper!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great atmosphere. Dim sum was great and perogies and flank steak were excellent. Only negative was that my boyfriends Enchiladas were not very hot when they got to the table. Donuts amd milkshake a nice unique way to end a meal! Our server Richard was very polite and catered to our every need! Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was my second time dining here. I had incredible service the first time but not the second. We did bottomless brunch and often had to wait a while for drink refills. Whereas the first time I visited, they topped off drinks when they were just half full. The food and atmosphere are amazing though so I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.