About The Church Key

8730 W. Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

The Church Key is a take on Modern American Cuisine that incorporates carts and a dim sum style of cuisine along with an extensive seasonal shared plate dining experience.We specialize in "funked" up cocktails, and an array of specialty cocktail carts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm - 1:00am.

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am-5:00pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(424) 249-3700

Website:
http://www.thechurchkeyla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Two fireplaces enhance the private dining area, which is suitable for up to 25 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Talene Kanian: (818) 398-7677

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Church Key Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fireplace (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 20 hours ago

Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely loved everything about this place. Decor, food, service bottomless Rose Champagne - all was splendid

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Only Arthur the server was professional the rest of the staff clearly did not want to be there.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Date night. They had a Grammy special going while they showed the awards. It was fun!

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent brunch. Lots of creative twists on familiar dishes. Great service on the bottomless mimosas, lots of natural light in a chill environment. Lots of bar seating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greg our waiter was excellent! The hostess was a little confused and ended up giving our table to someone else because she claims she couldn't find us at the bar. But Greg was exceptional!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never disappoints. Foodies will love the assortment of plates. Always something amazing, always something new.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great space, interesting concept with the dim sum and frozen drink carts. Friendly service. Comfortable seating.

The valet parking service was off but this had nothing to do with the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love love love !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

They were unbelievably, out of two items from the entree menu. The dimsum items are expensive relative to the portion received. The donuts were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmostphere. Pork Belly dish was ice cold , but once brought back and re done, it was delicious. I never eat doughnuts, but these are SO amazing...a must.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant was great and food was really good. Only issue they promote this dim sum cart thing but after being there over hour and a half the carts never came out. We were looking forward to that part of the meal. We finished are dinner and were too full to eat any more. Not sure what the deal was there. They say the carts come out every 20-30 mins but not the case Saturday night. Oh well!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were very pleased with our brunch experience at The Church Key. The service was top notch, our server knew exactly when to come by and offer assistance. Food was terrific as well. We ended up spending almost three hours there, and did not feel rushed to leave.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We loved the decor and ambience in the restaurant. Our food was good. The brussel sprout Caesar salad was very salty. Probably from the Parmesan cheese. Everything else tasted great, but prices were a bit high for the amount of food we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ordered off the LA Dine menu. First course was great, as was dessert. The entree beef cheeks were good but came out a bit on the cold side.

Main waiter was fine; however, we were transferred to another waiter near the end of our meal and he made a rather uncalled for, rude remark when he took our table over.

Other than that had a decent experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Hostess was amazing got us seated quickly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

LOVED The Church Key! Servers were genuine and super friendly, food was delicious (those donuts!!!). Great Sunday brunch spot with bottomless drinks and a DJ playing great music! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The waitstaff seemed overworked but were trying their best. Considering it was DineLA, and the restaurant was very busy, everything went very well and they were sure to keep the bottomless mimosas flowing. Overall a very good meal for the price.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very busy place. Great service. Both the hostess and our server were very attentive. Loved the brioche donuts which were made to order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loved the food! Drinks were great. Only thing, the place died down after 11:00 pm. We left around midnight and it was pretty empty. So no late night vibe, but great spot never the less.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was all absolutely fantastic and clever, we were all extremely pleased.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best service in LA. The host was very generous and friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service was terrible. Had to flag down a waiter after 40 minutes. There were 5 of us, with 4 eating. My friend ordered scallops, 2 of us ordered fish, and the other got the burger. My friend's scallops came out so fast it was hard to believe they had time to cook them. It then took 20 minutes for the other entrees to be served. We can only guess they had an extra order lying around so served them up before the rest of the entrees even started to cook. And they were cold. Once my fish arrived., the presentation was uninspired and it tasted like a fish stick. A 30 dollar fish stick.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was excellent but our waitress never attended to us at all, we had one of the hosts take our order and serve us. The waitress was nice but completely inattentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The doughnut dessert was to die for. Everything I had on that menu was delicious

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very well-prepared food in a distinctly creative manner. Needs a better "by the glass" wine list. Overall, a fun and memorable night out.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When I arrived on time for my reservation, they tried to sit me at the bar instead of giving me a table. They agreed to sit me at a table but it had lazy boy chairs which put the table at chin level. Unacceptable. I asked and was given a regular chair. The guy at the table next to me said he'd had the same problem and had needed to ask for the chair to be swapped. A disappointing start to on ok meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was excited to have dinner. Sat at the bar got a drink and then was ignored while no one was in the restaurant. So I left and went next door and had a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our table ordered several dishes, and enjoyed everything except one. They were kind enough to comp us for the dish that we did not like. Overall, it was a wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful interior, wonderful friendly staff, and amazing food. Fun to share dim sum cart items.

Entree servings are huge, sharing is encouraged. Will definitely go back and would recommend highly.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delightful ambience and delicious eats with good service ...what more could one ask for/

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Super good food and great vibe. The decor is beautiful. Feels like you are somewhere else. The dim sum carts for little bites are great. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I always have a great time at Church Key. The service, cocktails and food are great. I like the idea of carts coming by to actually see the food, I alway choose that option vs. the menu because I definitely eat with my eyes first. Also the valet right in front of the door is super convenient.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our service was horrible. The waiter claimed that we were out "smoking" (none of use smoke and if anyone was gone from the table it was once to use the restroom) and that is why he never came back to our table to see what else we wanted. We numerous times had to go to the bar or find him to order anything. We barely ate because the service was so bad we just wanted to leave. It's sad because the ambiance is so great!!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

unbearably noisy...first time we went a year ago the food was fantastic. Disappointing for all four of us this time. Waiters were difficult to find and unsmiling... looked stressed.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was tasty. Drinks were creative and the staff was great. There are great dinner specials on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The staff was very friendly, loved the ambience and decor. Nice touch having the Christmas tree. Had to take off a couple of stars because the service was extremely slow. Food was great, with the small exception being that my boyfriend's poached egg wasn't runny - probably because it sat too long before being served. Waitress and manager were very friendly and apologetic, even bringing out a free donut (so good!!), but service remained slow even after that. We waited a very long time for the check because of a mix-up with a Gilt voucher we had. Still, I would come back again and give it another shot. Would be great if they could add a couple more vegetarian options during brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food and ambiance are excellent but are overshadowed by the terrible serivce. we waited over 20 minutes to be seated with a reservation and had three different waiters through the evening, and it took us at least a half hour to order drinks and each course and a lot of our order was wrong, including the bill at the end.

Probably wouldn't go back as they are ovbiously understaffed not worth the price for the poor service, we were ignored the whole night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Quite simply, the Church Key is among the very best restaurants in LA. The food is extremely creative and very tasty, the offerings change often enough to keep it interesting, and the dim sum carts are no gimmick - the dishes to be had from them are frequently outstanding. We had 2 appetizers, 2 mains, 5 dim sums and dessert - nearly every dish was a home run. Service is great too - the room is funky, cool, comfortable, and none too loud - the cocktails are terrific - the wine list is sufficient. We've had dinner here at least 5 or 6 times, and we'll be back again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I loved this restaurant, was a great combination of fun and yummy options, and the decor was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Church Key. We ordered otter pops and food from the carts. The food was good, but not great. We waited over an hour for our dessert donuts to be served. We finally asked for our check, and said we would forget the donuts. That's when they were brought to us, on the house. Our dinner was over 3 hours, because of the slow service throughout the evening, but especially for the dessert ( and they only serve one item for dessert).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ordered the grilled hanger steak and it was amazing and on top of that orders the brioche donut OMG! To die for it melts in your mouth and you can't help but want to lick the whole plate after you're done. And our waitress Michele was great made us feel comfortable and enjoyed our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Get the donuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful experience and dinner. Dim Sum was unique and DELICIOUS. The entrees were good sized and unique. There was nothing we didn't enjoy about the evening. And get the popcorn. You'll thank us later!

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was terrible. Food used to be much better. I was a big fan of the restaurant but it took a turn. The service was so bad - we had to flag someone down 3 times just to order and might have seen our waiter once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very very overpriced for what you get. Also the mimosas are not made with actual OJ and the bloody Mary's are watery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Church Key for brunch is a MUST if visiting LA or living here. I can honestly say it was the best meal I have had here since I moved from the East Coast (I've been here for 8 months). The bottomless Rose champagne was AMAZING, and my glass was maybe empty for a maximum total of a whole minute the entire brunch. The food: OMG. So decadent and definitely a splurge from your diet. It was incredible! The service was great; our waitress was super attentive and everyone was pleasant. Will for sure be back, and take all of my visitors and clients there too!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food, innovative preparations, great appetizers and small plates. Au courant Sunset Boulevard atmosphere with exposed brick white-washed walls and distressed tin ceilings that are high and dramatic, with chandeliers and old bookcases, mismatched chairs and casual vibe.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food and the staff were wonderful and made sure that our party of ten was well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was my first time here and we went for brunch. The food itself was pretty okay. Overpriced but large portions. Unfortunately some of the items that were going for high end just ended up falling flat. The menu advertised bottomless rose which they did not have available - they need to make a note on both their website and menu if they're not going to honor their own specials. Waitress was nice when we could get her attention. Overall, probably won't be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.