About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Worth the Drive (42)
Business Meals (32)
Cozy (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Private Room (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (11)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (4)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great as always... Good food and great service! We went with a group of coworkers and everytime had a blast.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the best restaurant we have ever been to. The service was perfect. Everything we ordered came out quickly and the food was fantastic. The only downside is how expensive it is but honestly it was so worth what we spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Best restaurant we've eaten at in GR. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Decided to try the Chop House instead of Ruth Chris this time, we had drinks and dinner, steak was a little under cooked but they took care of that pretty quickly, then took off the salad from the bill. they did ask if we were celebrating anything, but that is where it ended they really dont care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Love The Chop House! It is our family's go to restaurant for special adult occasions!! (Especially love the round table with the crystal chandelier) They have a great steak & seafood menu, extensive wine list & cocktails, and provide outstanding service! We always head downstairs for an after dinner drink and a stoogie!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous dining experience. Our first visit. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The Sea Bass was an Epicurean delight! The service as usual was 5 star. The staff runs as a finally tuned precision machine. It is truly a delight to eat there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful night! Today is my husband's birthday and our waiter TJ helped make it extremely special. We will be back soon, wonderful time, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Highly recommended this for an anniversary or business meal, great service, they go above and beyond!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ambiance was very nice - able to have a conversation without speaking louder to be heard over the noise level. Food was perfect and prepared to perfection. Service was leisurely and server was attentive to our needs and not overly checking. Will always recommend The Chop House to all our friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time I've visited, but it was worth the wait. Get the Fillet, you will NOT be disappointed. It is amazing. We sat upstairs. The tables were a little close together for my liking, but it wasn't too bad. Its was also very dark, but again, didn't really take away from the experience. It was quite loud. We were there on a Friday night, and it was difficult to hear our server at times, though conversation between my wife and I was fine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We enjoy dining at The Chop House in Grand Rapids when there is a birthday due to the discount provided. Otherwise, there are better dining options for the same price nearby. The service always stands out as exceptional. The family style sides are quite large. The entre' generally lacks the 'wow' that would accompany the price paid anywhere else. The cocktails are usually well-crafted. Initially, we were declined our reservation as it was made online and not in their system. Once we showed them the reservation confirmation, and multiples reminders that were send regarding it, they found a spot for us in the back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was great. We visited for the first time on my birthday. The only issue if any was that our table was in the walk way so it was quite busy. Maybe next time my husband and I will get a quieter spot.
Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have to say the service we had was amazing! Our server Jamison did a great job explaining your menu, since this was our first time at the Chop House. He also, recommend different foods for our sides. The cooks did a wonderful job on our steaks. The food was for sure a ten and while as the services. We left very happy.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a little dark in the room- our pictures didn't turn out- too dark. The chicken had too much pepper on it but the steak was great! The prices are high so we would probably only go for birthdays and have your 1/2 off special. otherwise it was good. our server was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A great restaurant starts with great food. And Chophouse passes this test with flying colors. Everything we ordered was just wonderful. And they do have some dishes that are not standard on restaurant menus. But a great restaurant also has wonderful service and Chophouse servers and other personnel treated us in a wonderful manner. It was clear they were to serve us and it is not a bad thing to feel pampered once in a while. Our server Val took great care of us. The Chophouse can stand up with the best of restaurants one can find in Chicago, San Francisco, or New York or other big cities. I hope they keep maintaining their quality.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was a great dining experience. Would return again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Love Chop House for birthdays! The food and service are outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing Food and Service. The Atmosphere was Awesome and No Long wait We really enjoyed ourselves

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great experience. Enjoyed every step of our visit, from wine at the bar to dessert and coffee after an extraordinary dinner. Even the leftovers were delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding, highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was the second time we've been to the Chop House in GR. The first time was amazing. This time we felt as if we were being rushed out the door from the time we sat down. We ordered drinks with the waiter hovering as we decided on wine. Then he immediately asked about salad soup and appetizers. We asked for a minute to decide and he was back in 30 seconds wanting to know what we decided. He tried to get us to order our entrée at that time and we asked for a bit of time. He was right back again in 30 seconds. The entrée was delivered as the appetizer was removed and even with dessert the entire experience was over in one hour. We were never asked if we'd like coffee. Our bill was delivered to our table before the dessert was delivered. The appetizer was great. The asparagus were like rocks and tasteless. I wanted a filet medium rare but he waiter said it would be better medium as the middle would still be red and warm if medium. I got medium and it was way overdone for my taste. I'd get medium rare and not listen next time. Crème Brulee was awesome. Wine was excellent but waiter was in too big of a hurry to ask if I wanted more. With reservation at 6:30 I suppose the waiter wanted to turn the table but a customer was lost in the process.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was a very good experience. We have gone several times and each

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Need more variety of cuts of meat. $50 for each cut is very high.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 24, 2017

If you want to relax at dinner and feel the comfort of home, then go to Chop House. Outstanding food, great selection of wine and other adult festive beverages along with cuisine that is just top drawer this is the place to go.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We dined for a birthday celebration!
The appetizer (crab and lobster cakes) a bit overdone.
The wedge salad was excellent as was the lobster bisque. There was a nice assortment of breads.
Service throughout the evening was excellent!
The entree selections (filet of beef) were delicious although a bit more rare than medium rare. The Bernaise sauce was a nice addition. The mushrooms were very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The service and the food as usual where outstanding.
I find such a friendly environment as soon as I step into the Chop House.
It's just a great place to relax and unwind after a long day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I felt like because we were taking advantage of the birthday deal our server didn't check on us as much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Will return on another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Best service and BEST STEAK in town! Tried a few new dishes this time, all were outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our permanent home is in Savannah, Georgia and we also have a condo in downtown GR, and the Chop House is our "go to" place for dinners on special occasions as well as a few other times a year. The food is outstanding, and our service on the 20th was just sensational. Our server carefully recommended wines for us and he is extremely knowledgeable. For any steak lovers visiting Grand Rapids, head across the street to Chop House from Ruth's Chris, and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Phenomenal. That's all there is to it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I ate here for a late Valentine's Day Dinner. He had the Filet Mignon and I had the North Atlantic Salmon. We shared a side of the Garlic Smashed Potatoes, everything was phenomenal!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Dinner with significant other added to an excellent weekend in GR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I ordered a cowboy steak medium- was very tasty, but portions were not even medium rare but rare. My wife ordered a filet medium well. The steak per her was overdone, tough and tasteless. I hate to complain; I really enjoyed my other two visits to the Chop House in past years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful experience. Great birthday dinner. Travis was an awesome server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very attentive staff. Immediate assistance with coats, and directly to table seating per our reservation for 6. Beautiful restaurant. Server was fabulous and so was the food, beautifully presented. Ambience was wonderful and not too noisy considering the busy evening. No rush by staff. Very enjoyable by all in our group.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great appetizer, steak and sides selection and unique craft beers that are made specially for the Chop House. Prior to this, the craft beer selection was small and never changed. More variety in local Michigan Craft beers is always a plus.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Chop House must be the best restaurant in Grand Rapids! Everything from the food to the service was more than I could have wanted! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great. The issue we did have was resolved professionally and with tact.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.