About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
14 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (130)
romantic (108)
notable wine list (60)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Appetizer Lollipop lamb chops were anore ...

Dined 3 days ago

Appetizer Lollipop lamb chops were anorexic. Had better at a blues house. I couldn't stomach the house salad dressing. The Medium Well Porterhouse Steak came out Medium. It needed Steak Sauce. Tasted like something from Texas Roadhouse instead of a fine resturant. The mashed potatoes left a instant potatoes taste in my mouth. I had to chase down a server, not even ours, to get the check. Never again. I should have went to Ruth Chris. I went there for Mother's Day and I should have went back.

food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here before and really enj ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We have dined here before and really enjoyed it. We decided it would be a great place to celebrate our daughters graduation. We could not have chosen a better spot. The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. If you are in the mood for steak in Grand Rapids, this is the place you want to go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent! Unmatched by any other GR restaurant.

Dined on May 20, 2016

The taste and presentation of the dinner here was excellent. Items were fresh, cooked with attention to detail and served in a manner worthy of note. While rated $$$$ the quantity was in keeping with the price point. A wonderful gem nestled in downtown GR. Well worth one's venture and time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food & great service!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food & great service!

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Treated like huge inconvenience. Terribl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Treated like huge inconvenience. Terrible service and main waiter was not friendly at all. Food was just okay. The value was not there as the meal was extremely expensive and food was just ok with terrible service. I would never recommend this to friend let alone a stranger.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappoints.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Took a good friend who is from out of state, and we had a memorable meal. We chose the cowboy steak and the porterhouse. She also had the bisque and I had my steak done "Oscar" style. She adored the bisque...and I enjoyed the Oscar. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We loved using the online booking. When ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We loved using the online booking. When we got to the location we had to wait longer for our seats before sitting down BUT the manager took care of our drink that we ordered and then got us our seats.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I chopped 1 star off The Chop House and ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I chopped 1 star off The Chop House and I will tell you why. First the positives; beautiful decor, incredible service and truly very good food. Why remove a star, you ask? There was nothing special about the Caesar salad but that isn't the reason. The menu states that the Cowboy Ribeye is 22oz to 24oz. The steak was beautiful when it came to the table, cooked perfectly and and seasoned quite nicely. However, there was a huge amount of fat on the steak. So including bone and fat, I might have had about 10oz of beef. I eat at a lot of great steak places and I would go back to The Chop House. I would probably not order the Ribeye but would opt for the NY strip instead because at least I would not encounter an unknown quantity of fat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

"No WOW factor"

Dined on May 10, 2016

A nice meal, a pleasant ambiance and fancy but ok service. Considering the price, it's nothing to write home about. The French onion soup was very good, the fillet steak was good, the ala cart broccoli and mashed potatoes were ordinary, the Rosemary chicken lacked flavor, the bread basket was marginal and the carmalized sugar on the cream brûlée tasted a bit burnt. If it weren't for the birthday discount I'm not sure we'd consider it for any other special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

better than most

Dined on May 7, 2016

went early evening and service was outstanding. even hostesses were right on the money, the liquor was priced correctly, appetizers above average cost, but average. entrees and addons better than average but cost far exceeded average. biggest complaint, four people dine, cost over $425.00, and when i'm done i still had to pay for parking. validate and make your customers feel better about what they just spent for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely Impressed!

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was by far my best experience I have had at a restaurant. The food was INCREDIBLE and the service was spot on. I loved the presentation of all the dishes. I seriously would recommend this place to ANYONE looking for a really nice upscale romantic restaurant. We had everything from their beer, to wine, and appetizers with soup and salad to our main dinner and dessert. Every single bite of food was amazing. I could write all day on how much I loved this place. Seriously... Husband and I went here for our wedding anniversary and they even wrote out "Happy Anniversary" on our desert plate. And I have to add, my husband is not one that will compliment a place on food and service, and he talked about this place for a couple of days!! It is a bit pricey so it will be a while before we get the chance to go back, but it's worth every penny!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

you gotta check it out .. it's on the bucket list

Dined on May 6, 2016

i was very impress with everything, don't if you are not going to just take your time . it will not be for you ... so relax and enjoy

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chop House always works to main the ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Chop House always works to main the highest of quality in their service and food. When going to other restaurants I always judge them using the Chop House in Grand Rapids as the bar that they must meet. A few come close .

food2
ambience3
service5
value5

My steak was undercooked. It was fancy.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great corn. Steak had good flavor. Cocktail was really strong. I would come back. It's a bit pricey should be a little bit cheaper especially for what you get.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Terrific

Dined on April 29, 2016

We dine at Chop House every couple months, and it is always a sensational meal. Food and service were, as usual, impeccable and the wine list is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food and service we're excellent! We celebrated my daughter's graduation from GVSU. The desert she ordered had happy graduation in chocolate on the dish. The prices are high but the value was higher.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellant Anniversary Choice

Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our second wedding anniversary at the Chop House on 4/25/16. From the moment we sat down to the moment we left we enjoyed every minute. Kim our waitress was beyond wonderful!! She had a great sense of humor and very attentive. For our dessert she even had the plate personalized, unbeknownst to us. The food was divine and so was the entire staff. We just may be making the Chop House our go to for many anniversary's to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding!!!!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Food and service was outstanding!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our waiter. Good was delicious. Gr ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved our waiter. Good was delicious. Great ambience and really cool cigar bar downstairs

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Stellar service and excellent food

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We returned to the Chop House recently, having not visited for the past two or three years. We were most impressed by the friendly, professional service and attention to the smallest detail. The menus (on tablets) are fun, and display photos of each item, which is very helpful. Make sure you look at the photo and description, because some entrees come with sides, while others do not, and it may influence your decision to order the a la carte side dishes. The portions are large; it's a good idea to ask your server if something should be shared. All of our entrees (filet, veal chop, strip steak) were cooked perfectly as requested. I highly recommend the grilled romaine salad (good to split between two people). The wines by the glass are somewhat expensive, and the collection of white wines by the glass is a little limited. Dessert selection is outstanding. The only thing keeping me from going right back is that it is quite expensive. They have to pay for all those servers somehow!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was excellent

Dined on April 15, 2016

The steak was excellent yet the was undercooked and for dessert the creme brulee had too much egg and was not the correct flavor or consistency.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

DELICIOUS lobster tail

Dined on April 15, 2016

DELICIOUS lobster tail

food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was excellent and t ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The customer service was excellent and the side dishes were superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time at The Chop House

Dined on April 11, 2016

We went to The Chop House for my birthday and the food was outstanding. The service was impeccable, which is something I really appreciate as a former fine dining server. Pricey but worth it. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Husbands birthday

Dined on April 9, 2016

We've gone to Chop House the last few years for my husbands birthday. It is always superb!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great atmosphere but food sub par

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at the Chop House and were looking forward to it as the reviews online had it rated high. The atmosphere is very nice, dimly lit, great ambience. The service was excellent as well. Attentive to our needs and extremely professional. That's where the positive review ends however. The food was sub par for what was a $250.00 dinner for two. Our oysters on the half shell tasted extremely fishy and had sand in them as well. Not a great way to start. My biggest reason for going was the meat so I ordered the Cowboy Steak ($50.00 something) as it is the fattiest and one of the tastiest bone-ins they have. When I ate it however the flavor was bland. I should preface that I LOVE steak and have eaten at many high end restaurants that showcase that as one of their features. I found Ruth Chris next door to have a better steak than Chop House. If the restaurant were less money I would probably go back to give it a second try. Unfortunately it is not so I will not be coming back.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it for birthday

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had an amazing meal! The food was great, the service was fantastic and the manager came over to greet us and was super nice. Thanks for making the meal as special as we were hoping!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Free Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 5, 2016

We have dined here multiple times and I'm always impressed with the preparation of the Filet Mignon. From start to finish, the experience was as expected. My only complaint is the the special 'presentation' of the food (all dishes lowered/served at the same time). Drinks were topped off routinely. I've definitely had better for less $$, but it was a special occasion and the requested destination.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

Larger group, stuck by the front door ab ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Larger group, stuck by the front door about froze. Service was very very slow. Loved this place until this bad experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

I'll just start by saying that you WILL. NOT. receive better service anywhere else. Possibly anywhere else in your life. The attentiveness, professionalism, and attention to detail is 2nd to none. The crew at the chop house never ceases to amaze me! I went here with my realtor and we were both blown away by the food. It's always soo Delicious. My realtor couldn't stop raving about the food between bits. I had the beef wellington which was absolutely exquisite. Robbie had the Dover Sole which was delicate,tender and delicious.. cream corn was perfect, everything was 5 stars. Can't wait for an excuse to come back...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food

Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent food. Great service. Special occasion. Very expensive but awesome

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I always have a great experience here.

Dined on March 29, 2016

I always have a great experience here.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great bday dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

We preferred real paper menu over iPad which they gladly brought . fantastic dinner

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Benchmark Others Never Quite Reach

Dined on March 28, 2016

From the ever professional and attentive staff, to the special service details, and the excellent food, The Chop House is the High End Dining dinning experience you always hope for. You may hear yourself saying Wow out loud, as I did when this perfect porterhouse steak was ceremonially presented. The Chop House is an excellent place to go for a special occasion. But it would also be a go for a business lunch as well. This level of experience, comes with a comparable price. But fair for this class of experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 23, 2016

Chop House was amazing! Everything from the service (Kim was the BEST), the wine list, and most importantly, the food was beyond expectations. The filet was perfection, the lobster bisque was to die for and the crab cakes were the best I've ever had. Will definitely return next time I'm in GR. Thanks again for a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service!

Dined on March 22, 2016

Let me start out by saying that the service was excellent! Our waiter, Matthew, i believe, was great! I've just never been wowed by the food. There are a lot of people in town who love Chop House, so you should take my review with a grain of salt. I also don't eat steak anymore, and didn't personally order it at this dinner. I had the crab cakes for my meal and thought they were average. The sides and veggies were all very good and fresh. Wine list is really nice....options at many price levels. We didn't go downstairs for this dinner, but the cigar lounge is a nice change of pace and something a little different if you're looking for something unique to do in GR.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Special Occasion Spot

Dined on March 22, 2016

The menu is fantastic. The service was fantastic. It was a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food

Dined on March 21, 2016

First time at this restaurant and it has become my number one place for dining. Great menu but we had two specials of the day; for appetizer (spicy shrimps) and entrée (filet mignon). Both were winners of first prize at a food competition. Definitely returning there next time in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

wonderful

Dined on March 19, 2016

I took my husband there for his birthday. At first steak was too rare for my taste sent it ack came back a little dry BUT manager came out ordered another one and fixed our bill. It was a wonderful experience. Appetizer drinks food n dessert was amazing and so was waiting staff. Customer for life here!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion Destination

Dined on March 18, 2016

My husband and I love to go here at least once a year for a very special night out. The food is first class as well as the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.