About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (65)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Worth the Drive (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Cozy (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (27)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Groups (15)
Private Room (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our permanent home is in Savannah, Georg ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Our permanent home is in Savannah, Georgia and we also have a condo in downtown GR, and the Chop House is our "go to" place for dinners on special occasions as well as a few other times a year. The food is outstanding, and our service on the 20th was just sensational. Our server carefully recommended wines for us and he is extremely knowledgeable. For any steak lovers visiting Grand Rapids, head across the street to Chop House from Ruth's Chris, and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal. That's all there is to it!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal. That's all there is to it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here for a late Val ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I ate here for a late Valentine's Day Dinner. He had the Filet Mignon and I had the North Atlantic Salmon. We shared a side of the Garlic Smashed Potatoes, everything was phenomenal!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with significant other added to a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner with significant other added to an excellent weekend in GR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a cowboy steak medium- was ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered a cowboy steak medium- was very tasty, but portions were not even medium rare but rare. My wife ordered a filet medium well. The steak per her was overdone, tough and tasteless. I hate to complain; I really enjoyed my other two visits to the Chop House in past years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience. Great birthday din ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience. Great birthday dinner. Travis was an awesome server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive staff. Immediate assistan ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Very attentive staff. Immediate assistance with coats, and directly to table seating per our reservation for 6. Beautiful restaurant. Server was fabulous and so was the food, beautifully presented. Ambience was wonderful and not too noisy considering the busy evening. No rush by staff. Very enjoyable by all in our group.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizer, steak and sides selecti ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great appetizer, steak and sides selection and unique craft beers that are made specially for the Chop House. Prior to this, the craft beer selection was small and never changed. More variety in local Michigan Craft beers is always a plus.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chop House must be the best restaura ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Chop House must be the best restaurant in Grand Rapids! Everything from the food to the service was more than I could have wanted! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. The issue we did ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great. The issue we did have was resolved professionally and with tact.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

T his was or 13 dinner with you for Vale ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

T his was or 13 dinner with you for Valentine's Day. This is first year we reserved on the Saturday before Valentine's though. We've been married 10 years. We got engaged on Valentine's here and it was or first Valentine's dinner together so the Chop House has been a part of our romantic life every year. Very special to us. But,. No place, not even your competitor across the street compares.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Chop House is fantastic. I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As always the Chop House is fantastic. If it's a special occasion and I could pick, hands down The Chop House would be it every time. The food is always wonderful and the atmosphere is very romantic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service and food

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just because trying new and places we ha ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Just because trying new and places we have not been to very nice good food wait staff will share our time there with many friends and employees I work with

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding as always and m ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was outstanding as always and matched in quality by the servive. A favorite of ours for birthday celebrations!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have typically dined on average at th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We have typically dined on average at the Chop House 3-4 times per year. It was always a "treat" to look forward to. However, the last experience may be our last. The service was rushed and made us feel as if we were being hurried. I felt our server was in favor of rushing us out of there. He asked me if I was still working on my cocktail, in which I said I was, as it was half full yet. I kid you not, literally 2-3 minutes later, as I was conversing with my party, the server returned to grab my drink. This time he didnt bother asking if I was finished. He also, grabbed the bread and I asked if I could keep it to finish. His response was, "trust me, you wont even miss it". Granted, our food was quickly presented to our table, but I did want the bread too. Then to end our dining experience, he picked up my plate that I still had 1/4 of my filet left on it. This time, I did call him back as I wanted to take the leftover scraps to my dog. Pretty embarrasing position to call back the server for my plate that I wasnt finished with. I felt like the service was not worth putting up with even if the food is top notch. Unfortunately, our dining experience was disappointing and not the "treat" it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I absolutely LOVE this place! Food and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I absolutely LOVE this place! Food and service are top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome , we will be back. Thank you ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Awesome , we will be back. Thank you very much for a great eventing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I do not get out much and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My husband and I do not get out much and twice a year we look forward to spending our birthdays at chop house. Normally it's a wonderful experience however this pass time wasn't as expected. I ordered the Beef Wellington as done every other time. After returning home that evening, within a couple of hours I became pretty sick. I had not eaten before so think possible food poisoning or the steak may not have been cooked enough. By morning I was OK but definitely not how I wanted to spend my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent as always! First time for my d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent as always! First time for my date, and he LOVED it!!! Wants to go back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, cooked just right! Music was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, cooked just right! Music wasn't overpowering and we were able to talk to each other without raising our voices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Can not express how amazing this place i ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Can not express how amazing this place is. The manager Jake was awsome. He treated us great and our waitress sarah was very professional and gave us excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time eating here and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our first time eating here and we loved it. From the time you walk in until you leave the service was wonderful and the food was excellent. Definitely goung to eat here again

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my grandmother here to celebra ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I brought my grandmother here to celebrate her 85th bday and that was her first visit. She really enjoyed it! Our server John was the best, he's actually waited on my husband and I a few times and I'm glad he was there that night.

We will be back soon!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I dined at Chop House b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined at Chop House before the GVSU Presidential Dance. The service was excellent and also the food. We will be making future reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chop House is still our favorite for cel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Chop House is still our favorite for celebrating bdays because of their 1/2 special. Other than that we wouldn't go because it's so overly priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant! The food and service i ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great restaurant! The food and service is always first class. After dinning at The Chop House , I rave for days about the food. The jumbo lobster and crab cakes are heavenly. This restaurant is the best upscale restaurant in Grand Rapids. Michigan

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sea Bass was phenomenal and the spin ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The Sea Bass was phenomenal and the spinach as a side dish was superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chop House never disappoints. The f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Chop House never disappoints. The food is impeccable. Service was outstanding. Excellent wine selection. Best Restaurant next to my own.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service as always. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food and great service as always. Nice spacing between courses and made for a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation was for 7:15 and we were not ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Reservation was for 7:15 and we were not seated until 7:50 PM. Our waiter John was not the best. He acted very disassociated from why he was there. Long time between courses. Not the best experience that we have had there. Quite disappointed actually!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding service by John!!! The food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Outstanding service by John!!! The food was fantastic!! We are currently on the Whole 30 food plan and had great options!! Again John was very helpful!!! We will be going back after our 30 days are up for dessert!!!! We went for dinner before going across the street to DeVos Hall for a show and had plenty of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the menue with pictures. Also pics ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved the menue with pictures. Also pics of degree of doneness! Of meat. My medium rare cowboy was perfect. Atmosphere nice for evening dinner had a. Booth. Desert of creme bruhle cheesecake. Awsome. No complaints. Waiter and staff all very attentive. Thanks you. Larry kubiak

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Chop House for my husband's ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went to the Chop House for my husband's 40th Birthday and had an amazing experience. Overall service was it's super attentive best, steaks were fabulous, and we had a wonderful dining experience. This is a birthday tradition for us, and I have never failed to be impressed by the level of service, even on a discounted meal. You will continue to earn our business. Also, THANK YOU for the creamed spinach and kale. Even with melt in your mouth filet, this was by far the best bite of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible and the atmosphe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was incredible and the atmosphere was just right. I was very happy with the wine selection and our server did an excellent job.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful food, very plea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great service, wonderful food, very pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first Visit to The Chop House was 1/2 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My first Visit to The Chop House was 1/21/17. I was really excited to try it after all the hype that I heard. After all, its supposedly one of Grand Rapids best steak houses. In a nut shell I was quite disappointed. My friends filet was over, my veggies were amazingly bland, and the Wellington was not something I'd ever order again or recommend to anyone. Ruth's Chris is across the street and everything was better there excluding noise level.

Best wishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

it was great, just great. Olde style ste ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

it was great, just great. Olde style steakhouse with a regal vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined here to celebrate a birthday party ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dined here to celebrate a birthday party. The quality of service provided by the staff, chefs and the management was exceptional. A special thanks to Harry, the general manager for making it all happen. Furthermore, Matt and Harry helped me with last minute changes and even offered me an upgrade. That was a very special night. Definitely dining here again. Keep up the good work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed another great dinner prior to ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed another great dinner prior to an event at DeVos Hall. Our server, Kim, was not only attentive to our meal service, but had a welcoming wit at the same time. Kudos to the entire staff in the front and the back of the house!

P.S. We love the cheesecake desserts!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.