About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
10 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (119)
romantic (90)
notable wine list (52)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was remarkable. Food was excelle ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was remarkable. Food was excellent. Seemed like a "happening" place.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This is a good restaurant, there is no ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a good restaurant, there is no questioning that. However, when you have a $200 bill with only 2 beers, you would expect it to be a new benchmark in fine dining. Everything was great, just not the next level I was expecting.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday celebration with top-notc ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great birthday celebration with top-notch food & service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner. Highly recommend the Co ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Awesome dinner. Highly recommend the Cowboy or the Beef Wellington. Jacob and Blake were both extraordinarily friendly and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very chic place to find excellent Food and Drink

Dined on June 7, 2016

Chop House has it all! Superbly prepared food, lovely ambiance, wait staff that delivers your selections like a well-rehearsed ballet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I've summited a review before. Sadly I o ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

I've summited a review before. Sadly I only do it when it's not good. We were there for my birthday. We had our twin 9 year old boys with us (as we always do when we come to the chop house) Our food was great! But our service was TERRIBLE! We were there for 2 hours 10 minutes. I lost count at how long it took us to get our meal but I know it took over 2o minutes to get our dessert?!?!?! Come on. It would be one thing if we had asked for it to drag out. But we didn't. Our kids were very well behaved for that long of a sit and for that I was grateful. But for all the other I was just frustrated

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place for a Special Occasion

Dined on May 31, 2016

We went here for a birthday dinner. You can't beat the birthday deal. The service is awesome and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was very attentive and the food wa ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Staff was very attentive and the food was excellent

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way! The only place ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding in every way! The only place I want to dine in Grand Rapids.

food5
ambience5
service5

Every aspect of dining at the Chop House ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Every aspect of dining at the Chop House in Grand Rapids is a superb and gratifying experience.

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Appetizer Lollipop lamb chops were anore ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Appetizer Lollipop lamb chops were anorexic. Had better at a blues house. I couldn't stomach the house salad dressing. The Medium Well Porterhouse Steak came out Medium. It needed Steak Sauce. Tasted like something from Texas Roadhouse instead of a fine resturant. The mashed potatoes left a instant potatoes taste in my mouth. I had to chase down a server, not even ours, to get the check. Never again. I should have went to Ruth Chris. I went there for Mother's Day and I should have went back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, ambiance, service, etc! ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful food, ambiance, service, etc! Here are more symbols in order to reach" more than 50. 😜

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Chop house is a great place for cele ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The Chop house is a great place for celebrating special occasions, enjoying an evening with your colleagues from work, or treating your special someone to a wonderful dinner. Prices are on the higher end, but the service and the quality of food make it of good value. My girlfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary and neither of us had been to the Chop House before, needless to say we were pleased with our visit. Our server knew the menu forwards and backwards and didn't seem to be in a rush to check her other tables and focused on us .The only knock I have on the place, and it might just be my personal preference, was the lighting--it was a bit on the dark side, but to each their own. Overall a great experience--one in which I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here before and really enj ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We have dined here before and really enjoyed it. We decided it would be a great place to celebrate our daughters graduation. We could not have chosen a better spot. The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. If you are in the mood for steak in Grand Rapids, this is the place you want to go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent! Unmatched by any other GR restaurant.

Dined on May 20, 2016

The taste and presentation of the dinner here was excellent. Items were fresh, cooked with attention to detail and served in a manner worthy of note. While rated $$$$ the quantity was in keeping with the price point. A wonderful gem nestled in downtown GR. Well worth one's venture and time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food & great service!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food & great service!

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Treated like huge inconvenience. Terribl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Treated like huge inconvenience. Terrible service and main waiter was not friendly at all. Food was just okay. The value was not there as the meal was extremely expensive and food was just ok with terrible service. I would never recommend this to friend let alone a stranger.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappoints.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Took a good friend who is from out of state, and we had a memorable meal. We chose the cowboy steak and the porterhouse. She also had the bisque and I had my steak done "Oscar" style. She adored the bisque...and I enjoyed the Oscar. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We loved using the online booking. When ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We loved using the online booking. When we got to the location we had to wait longer for our seats before sitting down BUT the manager took care of our drink that we ordered and then got us our seats.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I chopped 1 star off The Chop House and ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I chopped 1 star off The Chop House and I will tell you why. First the positives; beautiful decor, incredible service and truly very good food. Why remove a star, you ask? There was nothing special about the Caesar salad but that isn't the reason. The menu states that the Cowboy Ribeye is 22oz to 24oz. The steak was beautiful when it came to the table, cooked perfectly and and seasoned quite nicely. However, there was a huge amount of fat on the steak. So including bone and fat, I might have had about 10oz of beef. I eat at a lot of great steak places and I would go back to The Chop House. I would probably not order the Ribeye but would opt for the NY strip instead because at least I would not encounter an unknown quantity of fat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

"No WOW factor"

Dined on May 10, 2016

A nice meal, a pleasant ambiance and fancy but ok service. Considering the price, it's nothing to write home about. The French onion soup was very good, the fillet steak was good, the ala cart broccoli and mashed potatoes were ordinary, the Rosemary chicken lacked flavor, the bread basket was marginal and the carmalized sugar on the cream brûlée tasted a bit burnt. If it weren't for the birthday discount I'm not sure we'd consider it for any other special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

better than most

Dined on May 7, 2016

went early evening and service was outstanding. even hostesses were right on the money, the liquor was priced correctly, appetizers above average cost, but average. entrees and addons better than average but cost far exceeded average. biggest complaint, four people dine, cost over $425.00, and when i'm done i still had to pay for parking. validate and make your customers feel better about what they just spent for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely Impressed!

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was by far my best experience I have had at a restaurant. The food was INCREDIBLE and the service was spot on. I loved the presentation of all the dishes. I seriously would recommend this place to ANYONE looking for a really nice upscale romantic restaurant. We had everything from their beer, to wine, and appetizers with soup and salad to our main dinner and dessert. Every single bite of food was amazing. I could write all day on how much I loved this place. Seriously... Husband and I went here for our wedding anniversary and they even wrote out "Happy Anniversary" on our desert plate. And I have to add, my husband is not one that will compliment a place on food and service, and he talked about this place for a couple of days!! It is a bit pricey so it will be a while before we get the chance to go back, but it's worth every penny!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

you gotta check it out .. it's on the bucket list

Dined on May 6, 2016

i was very impress with everything, don't if you are not going to just take your time . it will not be for you ... so relax and enjoy

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chop House always works to main the ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Chop House always works to main the highest of quality in their service and food. When going to other restaurants I always judge them using the Chop House in Grand Rapids as the bar that they must meet. A few come close .

food2
ambience3
service5
value5

My steak was undercooked. It was fancy.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great corn. Steak had good flavor. Cocktail was really strong. I would come back. It's a bit pricey should be a little bit cheaper especially for what you get.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Terrific

Dined on April 29, 2016

We dine at Chop House every couple months, and it is always a sensational meal. Food and service were, as usual, impeccable and the wine list is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food and service we're excellent! We celebrated my daughter's graduation from GVSU. The desert she ordered had happy graduation in chocolate on the dish. The prices are high but the value was higher.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellant Anniversary Choice

Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our second wedding anniversary at the Chop House on 4/25/16. From the moment we sat down to the moment we left we enjoyed every minute. Kim our waitress was beyond wonderful!! She had a great sense of humor and very attentive. For our dessert she even had the plate personalized, unbeknownst to us. The food was divine and so was the entire staff. We just may be making the Chop House our go to for many anniversary's to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding!!!!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Food and service was outstanding!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our waiter. Good was delicious. Gr ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved our waiter. Good was delicious. Great ambience and really cool cigar bar downstairs

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Stellar service and excellent food

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We returned to the Chop House recently, having not visited for the past two or three years. We were most impressed by the friendly, professional service and attention to the smallest detail. The menus (on tablets) are fun, and display photos of each item, which is very helpful. Make sure you look at the photo and description, because some entrees come with sides, while others do not, and it may influence your decision to order the a la carte side dishes. The portions are large; it's a good idea to ask your server if something should be shared. All of our entrees (filet, veal chop, strip steak) were cooked perfectly as requested. I highly recommend the grilled romaine salad (good to split between two people). The wines by the glass are somewhat expensive, and the collection of white wines by the glass is a little limited. Dessert selection is outstanding. The only thing keeping me from going right back is that it is quite expensive. They have to pay for all those servers somehow!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was excellent

Dined on April 15, 2016

The steak was excellent yet the was undercooked and for dessert the creme brulee had too much egg and was not the correct flavor or consistency.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

DELICIOUS lobster tail

Dined on April 15, 2016

DELICIOUS lobster tail

food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was excellent and t ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The customer service was excellent and the side dishes were superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time at The Chop House

Dined on April 11, 2016

We went to The Chop House for my birthday and the food was outstanding. The service was impeccable, which is something I really appreciate as a former fine dining server. Pricey but worth it. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Husbands birthday

Dined on April 9, 2016

We've gone to Chop House the last few years for my husbands birthday. It is always superb!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great atmosphere but food sub par

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at the Chop House and were looking forward to it as the reviews online had it rated high. The atmosphere is very nice, dimly lit, great ambience. The service was excellent as well. Attentive to our needs and extremely professional. That's where the positive review ends however. The food was sub par for what was a $250.00 dinner for two. Our oysters on the half shell tasted extremely fishy and had sand in them as well. Not a great way to start. My biggest reason for going was the meat so I ordered the Cowboy Steak ($50.00 something) as it is the fattiest and one of the tastiest bone-ins they have. When I ate it however the flavor was bland. I should preface that I LOVE steak and have eaten at many high end restaurants that showcase that as one of their features. I found Ruth Chris next door to have a better steak than Chop House. If the restaurant were less money I would probably go back to give it a second try. Unfortunately it is not so I will not be coming back.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it for birthday

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had an amazing meal! The food was great, the service was fantastic and the manager came over to greet us and was super nice. Thanks for making the meal as special as we were hoping!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Free Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 5, 2016

We have dined here multiple times and I'm always impressed with the preparation of the Filet Mignon. From start to finish, the experience was as expected. My only complaint is the the special 'presentation' of the food (all dishes lowered/served at the same time). Drinks were topped off routinely. I've definitely had better for less $$, but it was a special occasion and the requested destination.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.