About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Good for a Date (85)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
See All
Romantic (80)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Business Meals (38)
Notable Wine List (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Cozy (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Private Room (14)
Authentic (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fireplace (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Our Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful atmosphere and their service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The lamb chops and sea bass where outstanding! Overall just a great experience.
We also loved the Ken Wright Pino Noir !

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

The chop house is amazing. The food impeccable, the service wonderful, the atmosphere breath taking. If I had the coins I would dine at the chop house weekly. The birthday special is how I can go there and celebrate. Such an incredible treat:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow, it was expensive. I went on my birthday and received a free meal. It was still expensive. The steak and the scallops were worth it though. The salad and appetizers were good too, but all those things add up workout if you are on a budget.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

Went to The Chophouse for my birthday with a friend. I had filet with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus, which was outstanding. Great atmosphere, service, and value, particularly since it was my birthday, so our bill was reduced by 50%.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Have gone to The Chop House for my birthday the past 2 years and every time I have received exceptional service. The food is absolutely amazing and worth every penny. I love that they do the birthday special because otherwise it's a bit out of my price range, but it makes me look forward to my birthday meal now. The wait staff are all very polite and are very attentive to what the customers may need. I highly recommend The Chop House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service here is always outstanding, the food is delicious, and I love the pomegranate martinis. Yum.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great appetizers, delicious fresh salads and melt in your mouth steaks! The best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A friend recommended The Chop House to me, claiming it was better than Ruth's Chris.

I was very underwhelmed.

The ambiance was very pleasing and the staff was exceedingly courteous. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. I have no complaints from a customer service perspective, although I felt a bit rushed to order from the moment we sat down (we wanted to look over the menu for a moment, but less than a minute after being seated, we were asked if we knew what we wanted).

My complaint is with the food.

I ordered the beef wellington. It was a mess. The wellington was soggy and the pastry and the beef came apart too easily (the pate/duxelles should connect the two). The plate presentation left a lot to be desired. Accompanying my wellington was an under cooked piece of broccoli and a cold carrot. The taste and presentation were bland and sloppy.

My girlfriend ordered the 11oz filet, medium rare. It was tough and bland, which really surprised us given what we read on the Chop House's website. I can't really elaborate here, we were just really disappointed. Also, the presentation was severely lacking- just a piece of meat on a white plate. If a prison ever made filet for its prisoners, this is exactly how you would expect it to be displayed.

We did enjoy our cheesecake!

I do not ever leave negative reviews, but I feel compelled here. For $200 (with tip), you expect a memorable meal. I do not mind spending a lot on a really good dinner and do so with some regularity, but I have never been so disappointed with a $200+ dinner.

Please go across the street to Ruth's Chris and save yourself the letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Every year on our anniversary, we celebrate by dining at The Chop House, and we are never disappointed. The ambiance is wonderful, the service is top-tier and the cuisine is some of the best in the region. My husband claims the tuna is the best he has ever had. I always order the filet, and it is mouth-watering. When you dine at The Chop House, you feel as if the wait staff is there to provide you with a memorable experience. You are not rushed. And the wine menu is lovely. Not many restaurants offer grilled romaine, which we truly enjoy. The Chop House is a "must dine" experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always a good place for a special occasion. The food and the service is outstanding. Prices are reasonable considering the relevant competition.
My only complaint is that the wine list is very limited and over priced. We do enjoy the cocktails! We will return and would recommend the Chop House to our friends. We think it is much better the place across the street!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had to send my steak back twice. Food was very bland. For the cost we paid it was not worth it. Staff was very friendly and polite. The crab cake appitzer was the only thing i liked. We had 2 appitezers, lamb chops, fillet migon, mac and cheese,corn, and two drinks. I dont feel like i got my money worth. Should have went to Logans or Outback

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place is beyond expression of words!!! We always have a great time with wonderful service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a terrific dinner everyone enjoyed and the kids were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service. Our waitress Amber was wonderful. Gave us good suggestions and checked on us often. Steak was perfect. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always a great experience. Attentive wait staff and excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I am never disappointed by the Chop House! Great service, amazing drinks, wonderful food and a very comfortable ambience. Definitely my "go to" fine dining!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food service ambiance has been covered don't impose your restrictions on me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food although somewhat pricey. Great for a special occasion. A nice featu9was a special inscribed dessert plate highlighting our anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The Chop House has spoiled us. The service and the food is always top-notch. This particular evening was a typical early dinner before a show at DeVos Hall. Our server, Nick, was on his game - as always - and we were in our theater seats with ten minutes to spare. My steak was done to perfection. My wife and I both enjoyed the new "house" salad as well as a few new creative desserts. Kudos to the front & back of the house!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing. Admittedly, on the more expensive side of dinners, but so worth it for a special celebration. I do not think it is possible to order bad food here. The wine list is impressive and the whole experience was so great. We had a very special night here that we will remember for years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very overpriced for flavorless filet mignon (actually soggy and tasted watered down). The filet was presented by itself on a large empty plate. The side portions were very generous but again extremely overpriced. The staff was wonderful but the food very disappointing so we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wait staff was outstanding! They made dining an event!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our service was very good, but the food was mediocre at best for the price we paid. The food was not hot when it was served and not all that tasty. Ruth's Chris is far superior in food quality and product pricing. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service and atmosphere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was off. Calamari appetizer was bathed in sauce, rendering the (once) crispy calamari soggy. Lobster bites were hard to find in the sea of vegetables. Oscar topping for the steak had inedible lobster pieces. On the bright side, the potatoes an gratin were amazing as always - one of the wonders of the modern world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We went to The Chop House to celebrate my husbands Birthday with our family. We were seated right away , no waiting . Our waitress for the evening was the Best. Excellent service ! The Food was amazing, from appetizers to a wonderful dessert finish. Would highly recommend The Chop House for a great experience !!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing Food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had an outstanding time. Everything from the moment we came in was taken care of in the utmost professional and first class manner. Jen our waitress was fabulous. We would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We have been to The Chophouse on numerous occasions and have never left unimpressed (or hungry). The scallops are to die for, along with the lobster bisque. We have thoroughly enjoyed everything we have ever ordered. Great selection, excellent service, good ambiance. Make sure you save room for the creme brûlée cheesecake!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Best high end steak house I've experienced. Steaks are cooked perfectly. Love the cigar bar in the basement also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We have had many excellent meals in the past years since you have opened. However, the steak instead of outstanding was just good which is fine for other restaurants but not up to the standard we would expect for the Chop House. However, this will not keep us from dinning at the Chop House. Things can not always be perfect so the next time we have dinner I'm sure the steak will be back to its normal outstanding quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent service and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We celebrated a birthday and visited for the first time. The food was delicious and the portions were larger than we had anticipated. We each ordered a salad and an entree along with two sides. We took one of the sides home as we were both too full. The service is excellent. Our water glasses never reached the half full and everyone who approached our table made us feel like we were their most important guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2017

As usual excellent meal! Great service and awesome abiance!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great private table for our family dinner celebrating a birthday. Excellent steaks. Very good and large lobster tails. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Jameson was awesome!!!! To bad he was a golden hawk. Overall a good waiter. Made our time very pleasurable .

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

birthday dinner, the 50% off was great! the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food good service good atmosphere just wish they would have applied there a birthday discount to my meal knowing it was 2 days after our visit and i was scheduled to work on my bday(public safety).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.