About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
10 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (115)
romantic (82)
notable wine list (49)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointed. $52.00 Cowboy Steak w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointed. $52.00 Cowboy Steak was tough and flavorless. Wife's fillet was mealy and tasteless. The staff and manager were apologetic and tried to make things right which was appreciated. The replacement steak was not much better however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Hostesses were welcoming and accommodati ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

Hostesses were welcoming and accommodating. Bartender was knowledgeable and attentive. Our server John W was wonderful - patient and efficient and had great recommendations for wine pairing with our meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals that I (we) have h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best meals that I (we) have had! Great menu and very well made cocktails. Service was attentive but not over done. We were there to celebrate my mother's birthday. The restaurant came as a recommendation from a friend of hers. Just overall very well done!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place to have dinner. Staff wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place to have dinner. Staff was excellent and food was out of this world. Will be dining there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice way to celebrate an anniversar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very nice way to celebrate an anniversary. Been a long time since I have had that nice a dining experience, a special treat for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Most of the food was good, not great. I ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Most of the food was good, not great. I ordered a large filet. The cut was one near the end so was irregular. It came out a little overdone, but not enough to warrant returning to the kitchen. The servers were spot on and did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding including the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was outstanding including the service. I would say it far exceeds its competition across the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food, pleas ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, pleasant ambiance. Very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We always enjoy the atmosphere at the Ch ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We always enjoy the atmosphere at the Chop House. As always the service is top notch. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, our meal was exceptional, the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

As always, our meal was exceptional, the service was flawless, and the atmosphere made our birthday celebration feel like a true celebration. We had four different cuts of steaks on our table and all of them were perfectly seasoned and cooked to the requested temperature. The seafood platter appetizer is a must have as a starter. And they have the best selection of steakhouse sides of any steakhouse I have been too , including a creamed corn and macaroni and cheese side that are good enough to go back to just have those for dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was disappointed with the food. I got ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was disappointed with the food. I got the salmon, and my husband got the swordfish; both of which were ok, but definitely not worth the price. We also got the side of mashed potatoes which was awful-tasted like fish. We did enjoy the french onion soup though, which we got to share prior to our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I decided to try out Chop ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I decided to try out Chop House for our first wedding anniversary last year and we fell in love. The food, the staff, the ambiance were all 5 star worthy. So much so that we decided before we even left that this would be our anniversary tradition. So this past weekend we followed through for our second anniversary and again we were thrilled with our evening. Quite a few staff members including two different managers came to our table to wish us a happy anniversary. This is something we now look forward to every year. Thank you Chop House for such a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time was had due to a great dining ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great time was had due to a great dining environment!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service fro ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service from crystal. We can't wait to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chop House is amazing. It is a gem ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Chop House is amazing. It is a gem in the downtown of Grand Rapids. There are not many high end restaurant with this quality of food and atmosphere. Thanks for a great evening celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding !!!! An excel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was outstanding !!!! An excellent dining experience from the time walking in the door to the time walking out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding, the food wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was outstanding, the food was remarkable, & the atmosphere was exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd time here and we've nev ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This was our 3rd time here and we've never been dissappointed in any way. The scallops are our all time favorite dish! The staffs are very kind and outstanding! They all deserve a raise! ;) We celebrated our 6 year anniversary and each of our birthdays here and they make us feel sooo special! I love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the portions were ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great and the portions were very large. All the sides were definitely large enough to share. The atmosphere was very nice and the staff was good, not always at your table, but there when you needed them. For my budget, this would be special occasion dining only.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

If I am to be totally honest, I was real ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

If I am to be totally honest, I was really disappointed with The Chop House overall. I was looking forward to a high end dinner with my husband, as we do not get a chance to do that very often, and It started off great! The service was wonderful, the menu was impressive, and the prices were about what we expected. However, when our food came, we were seriously disappointed. He ordered the venison, and it was good, but by NO means was it worth what we paid for it. I ordered the swordfish, and it was very dry and very bland for being blackened. We ordered the garlic spinach as a side, and it was so salty, we couldn't even eat it. The best part of the whole meal was the Creme brûlée and the coffee. Sad, because We spent over $150 for a meal we could have had elsewhere for about half that price and it would have been just as good or better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The chop house has a nice environment. Q ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The chop house has a nice environment. Quiet enough to have normal conversations. Food was excellent and the ambiance was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Basic upscale steakhouse. The menu wasn' ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Basic upscale steakhouse. The menu wasn't terribly imaginative. I would suggest this place for business travelers who were looking to expense a good steak dinner with clients who didn't have adventurous tastes. Pricey but no surprises and service was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Service was remarkable. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Service was remarkable. Food was excellent. Seemed like a "happening" place.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a good restaurant, there is no ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a good restaurant, there is no questioning that. However, when you have a $200 bill with only 2 beers, you would expect it to be a new benchmark in fine dining. Everything was great, just not the next level I was expecting.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great birthday celebration with top-notc ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great birthday celebration with top-notch food & service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always exception. Well pa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The service is always exception. Well paced, appropriate attention. A willingness to make the experience special . First rate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my son's 18th birthday. He w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We went for my son's 18th birthday. He was treated royally, making the occasion truly special for him. The cigar bar didn't hurt the experience, either. ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome dinner. Highly recommend the Co ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Awesome dinner. Highly recommend the Cowboy or the Beef Wellington. Jacob and Blake were both extraordinarily friendly and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not have a good evening because d ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We did not have a good evening because despite our having made this reservation over a month in advance, we were to be seated at the overly-large table between the bar and the window. We were a group of six and this table seats 10 - 12 people in addition to which it is a very wide table which is awkward for people with hearing difficulties. We requested a different table but were told we could not be accommodated. We were so unhappy that we ended up moving across the street to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

A very chic place to find excellent Food and Drink

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Chop House has it all! Superbly prepared food, lovely ambiance, wait staff that delivers your selections like a well-rehearsed ballet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've summited a review before. Sadly I o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've summited a review before. Sadly I only do it when it's not good. We were there for my birthday. We had our twin 9 year old boys with us (as we always do when we come to the chop house) Our food was great! But our service was TERRIBLE! We were there for 2 hours 10 minutes. I lost count at how long it took us to get our meal but I know it took over 2o minutes to get our dessert?!?!?! Come on. It would be one thing if we had asked for it to drag out. But we didn't. Our kids were very well behaved for that long of a sit and for that I was grateful. But for all the other I was just frustrated

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great Place for a Special Occasion

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We went here for a birthday dinner. You can't beat the birthday deal. The service is awesome and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was very attentive and the food wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Staff was very attentive and the food was excellent

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way! The only place ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding in every way! The only place I want to dine in Grand Rapids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every aspect of dining at the Chop House ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Every aspect of dining at the Chop House in Grand Rapids is a superb and gratifying experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizer Lollipop lamb chops were anore ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Appetizer Lollipop lamb chops were anorexic. Had better at a blues house. I couldn't stomach the house salad dressing. The Medium Well Porterhouse Steak came out Medium. It needed Steak Sauce. Tasted like something from Texas Roadhouse instead of a fine resturant. The mashed potatoes left a instant potatoes taste in my mouth. I had to chase down a server, not even ours, to get the check. Never again. I should have went to Ruth Chris. I went there for Mother's Day and I should have went back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Wonderful food, ambiance, service, etc! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful food, ambiance, service, etc! Here are more symbols in order to reach" more than 50. 😜

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chop house is a great place for cele ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The Chop house is a great place for celebrating special occasions, enjoying an evening with your colleagues from work, or treating your special someone to a wonderful dinner. Prices are on the higher end, but the service and the quality of food make it of good value. My girlfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary and neither of us had been to the Chop House before, needless to say we were pleased with our visit. Our server knew the menu forwards and backwards and didn't seem to be in a rush to check her other tables and focused on us .The only knock I have on the place, and it might just be my personal preference, was the lighting--it was a bit on the dark side, but to each their own. Overall a great experience--one in which I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here before and really enj ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have dined here before and really enjoyed it. We decided it would be a great place to celebrate our daughters graduation. We could not have chosen a better spot. The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. If you are in the mood for steak in Grand Rapids, this is the place you want to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Unmatched by any other GR restaurant.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The taste and presentation of the dinner here was excellent. Items were fresh, cooked with attention to detail and served in a manner worthy of note. While rated $$$$ the quantity was in keeping with the price point. A wonderful gem nestled in downtown GR. Well worth one's venture and time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.