About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (86)
Romantic (75)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Notable Wine List (41)
Business Meals (38)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Appetizers were great! Wish we would have eaten apps all night. Main course scallops were the best I've ever had. Beef wellington was not good at all. It didn't look appetizing, nor did it taste appetizing. Would definitely recommend this place for your birthday since they do 50% off bill. Other than that, I feel everything was overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

I have always loved the Chop House. It used to be the best Steak in GR at a reasonable price. But now almost all the steaks start at $50 and that is too much. No local beers on tap and a bottle was $10.95! The aspargus was tough. Could not even eat the ends. That should NEVER happen at this price.
The prices have jumped up since Ruth Chris came to town. I guess they saw how much they could get for their steaks. Sad, just not a value for me.
Service was exceptional as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was amazing!!! My husband and I really enjoyed our evening for his birthday. Great staff overall great experience! We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Chop House always takes your dining experience to the next level! Fantastic food and fantastic service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything at this restaurant is delicious, but the steaks are what really shine. Don't be tempted by the other menu items. Just get a steak!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I went to dinner because it was my birthday and they have a special. I ordered the Cowboy Steak, Mac & Cheese and Mushrooms.

The steak was $53 before discount. It was cooked well but the flavor was not there. I had to request salt to improve it. I have been to other high end steak houses and have never had to do that.

The Mac & Cheese was fantastic! The mushrooms were unfortunately very mushy.

I would go back but only on my birthday in order to get the discount. I would NOT pay full price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had an awesome meal here for our FIRST Anniversary! Very well put together meal. I feel we couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service. Fantastic food. Free meal on your birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The filet with spinach and crab meat was just superb. Now add a side dish of that pronominal creamed corn and you have a meal fit for a king!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Birthday celebration! Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great food, great service! Will definitely go back again. Loved the birthday surprise at the end.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

John is amazing when it comes to the best service ever when out to eat

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waiter was very good. The wine was very good. It was nice to order from an iPad and see photos of what the food would look like. Our appetizer was the scallops. They were good but served Luke warm. Our 8 oz fillet was very good with spinach, bacon and lump crab. Only complaint once again served Luke warm. No few dessert for our anniversary. Had to pay for the creme brûlée cheesecake but they did write happy Anniversary on it.
Overall good but not hot enough.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had another great meal at the Chop House. Service was great, noise was a bit more than previous experiences. I noticed for the first time a TV in the bar area, I felt that it brought down the ambiance of classiness that I noticed from before. The food however was great and we didn't feel rushed to get through the meal. Expect to pay it is $$$$.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I normally have the "Cowboy" (ribeye) steak when we go to the Chop House. This last time, my wife and I both decided to try the South African lobster. While it was excellent, I thought it was a tad over-priced at $69. When comparing it to the $50 ribeye, the wow factor wasn't there. But, I am a red meat lover and I believe that when I go to a steak house, I should order a steak.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had! We both ordered the filet mignon with peppercorn encrusted goat cheese. Unbelievable!

Harry, the general manager, is the absolute best! Everyone is well-informed, professional, and cater to every need.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was fabulous as usual. Our server TJ was great. He was attentive, while not hovering. This is by far our favorite restaurant in West Michigan. Well worth the drive from the lake shore. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I thought the lamb chop appetizer was cooked perfect but 2 of the chops were really tough and had to be cut off the bone and sliced thin to eat them . My bill for 2 steaks one twice baked potato and spinach and 2 drinks was $194.00 but because my wife's birthday was that day it ended being $103.00 which is 3 times what I pay at Texas Roadhouse which has much better steak and I'm out the door including salads and all the bread I want for $40.00. Sorry but I wasn't impressed. Our server how ever was AWESOME and took excellent care of us . I won't be back but I guess if you have the money to throw away . No even if I were loaded I wouldn't be back .

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The Sea Bass was just outstanding. It was accompanied with spinach and sticky rice. What a wonderful meal.
Chef Zak is nothing short of being an artist with food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The Filet is the best I have ever had. Ask for T J as a waiter.
he is the best

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fantastic dining experience for my wife and I before attending a downtown concert. Very elegant atmosphere, impeccable service, and flawless food. Filet Mignon was excellent, and the twice-based potato was wonderful and BIG - we shared and still only ate half of it. For dessert, we highly recommend the Creme Brûlée Cheesecake. Flawless and romantic dining experience all the way around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The Chop House in Grand Rapids is a lovely restaurant. I loved the ambiance and the quallity of the food. My dinner, as well as my friend's dinner, were cooked to perfection. The staff was attentive and friendly. This is a really good place to dine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Loved our experience! We always go here for our birthdays. Terrance provides exceptional customer service, remembers us from year to year, listens to our needs and treats us with kindness and so respectfully!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Dinner was an Epicurean delight. The filet was done to perfection along withe crab meat all on a lovely bed of spinach. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always have had a very good time when I've dined at The Chop House, and the last visit was as I hoped it would be. I was with my lady friend and we were celebrating our 4 month anniversary of going out together, so I really wanted her to be impressed. Everything was beyond expectations and I couldn't be happier with our experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Chop House is now our go-to for very special occasions. It's expensive, so we will only go to celebrate very special events. It is an experience. The service is exceptional, from the greeting at the door, all the way through the "good night." The food is amazing. All our meat was prepared exactly as we asked, and it was absolutely delicious. Our filets were literally melting in our mouths! Our main server was very personable and knowledgable about the menu, and made some perfect recommendations. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent service and food as always. This is the best restaurant in town! Water boy was a little over anxious in his refilling our water glasses.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our first time dining at the Chop House. Great experience. Great service. Very helpful staff. Excellent food choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everytime I go to the Chop House it's a great experience. The wait staff is extremely knowledgeable and professional and the food is always amazing.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The sea bass and steak dinners were excellent. Service was great. Candle on table would be nice. Little disappointed cigar lounge was not open for after dinner drink and smoke.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, great service, made our anniversary a memorable one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Never disappoints. Service is splendid and very professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Always an incredible experience. Best place for a lovely meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent steaks, the ambiance was great, we were seated in the basement dining room and cigar lounge. Server was incredibly knowledgeable and personable. Had a great time, would highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our table was a little close to the party next to us so it wasn't as private as I would have wished but the food was amazing and so was the service. If you go on your birthday it is half off for up to four people!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very welcoming from the minute you walk through the door. We came early and had drinks at the bar before dinner. Our waiters did an excellent job in being attentive - our water glasses were always full, presentation was impressive, and his description of menu items was very good. The interactive menu was nice too - being able to view the item before ordering it to see exactly what it would look like. We each ordered the Porterhouse and both were done perfectly to our differing likings and seasoned beautifully. Delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were referred by friends that are in GR on a regular basis. We were pleased by all aspects of our evening. The service ,food, and hosts were all excellent. We were somewhat surprised by people in casual shorts and shower shoes eating out at an upscale restaurant, but I suppose if they can pay the bill and behave you have to be accepting.

Delighted Guests

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great birthday dinner to celebrate as a family. Food and service were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great service, great food and great experience! Top restaurant in GR!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Enjoy the service. I was celebrating my cousin birthday and she enjoyed it. It was our first time visiting the Chop House and will come again. Food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.