About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
10 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (99)
Romantic (84)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and cuisine. The only ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and cuisine. The only gripe I have is the rule of 50% off meal only on the day of your birthday. When the server tells you that you missed out it is even worse. Why not have a wider range of time since some birthdays are celebrated late.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

There was a full house during ArtPrize. ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 7 days ago

There was a full house during ArtPrize. Despite that, the waiter was very attentive. Nice salad, very good steak and tuna entrees, with amazing quality ingredients, although a bit too salty for our tastes. I ordered half portion of a salad, which was a good recommendation given the size, and it was great. I also ordered a half portion of asparagus as a side dish, which was grilled o perfection, but did get a whole portion somehow. The dessert sorbets were so-so; not very flavorful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was in town for ArtPrize with my 11 year ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

Was in town for ArtPrize with my 11 year old daughter. We both love steak and I wanted to go out for a special meal that was a sure thing. The Chophouse did not disappoint. I sometimes find restaurants dismissive of women dining alone and was very impressed with the level of service we received. Our server was very patient and helpful with my inability to choose a glass of wine and the filets were cooked perfectly. Atmosphere lovely. Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous menu choices. Very accommodatin ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fabulous menu choices. Very accommodating for splitting salads accompanists . Jacob our waiter made our dining experience memorable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious & great wine list ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was delicious & great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure to dine at The Ch ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine at The Chop House. Great steaks, over-the-top salads, and service beyond compare (ask to be seated in "John's" section!).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like this restaurant. The steaks were ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We like this restaurant. The steaks were excellent. We would go more often but it is a bit too pricy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had two errors with orders (brought wron ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Had two errors with orders (brought wrong salad and then wrong entree); then had to wait for correction, but encouraged other guests to start their meal so their food didn't get cold. Created an awkward situation. Of all the expectations we had, we assumed (because of the caliber of the establishment) that the orders would have been perfect. Plus, there were only four of us dining.

The meats were all excellently prepared and seasoned; very flavorful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great, friendly staff, living ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was great, friendly staff, living in Kalamazoo with the drive. Will be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and went here for the first time ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and went here for the first time for our 10 year anniversary. Our steaks were amazing and cooked perfect to our request. Our waiter was on point and very knowledgeable. Our glasses were never dry (water,wine or whiskey). Great staff, great food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for dinner. They sat us next to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We came for dinner. They sat us next to the server station outside the kitchen. A classy restaurant such as this should not have any tables in such a bad spot.

The food was good. The Steak Au Poivre was tender and well-trimmed, but not enough sauce. The Sautéed Spinach was delicious. Service was attentive with water quickly refilled. I will say that the way the servers put down the plates in front of us for each course was strange. They would look at each other, nod at each other, and place the plates down in synch, like they do on Downton Abbey.

The real disappointment and what prevented me from giving this restaurant a higher rating was their dessert and cigar lounge. Apparently, they use it for private functions as well so if there is a private party in there, smoking is not allowed. They said smoking can commence after 10pm, but then said that it can't commence until the private party leaves, which can be way after 10pm. They suggested we call ahead whenever we want to smoke cigars to see if there is a private function going on that night, but that is just too unpredictable for my liking. I rate the lounge as a fail and I do not recommend people come here for cigars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Went to celebrate our 15 year anniversar ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. The waiter, Michael, was amazing. We asked his suggestions and he was on point! We loved how the pastry chef specialized dessert for us!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service & wonderful meal! We ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service & wonderful meal! We love The Chop House!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably my worst experience at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was probably my worst experience at the chop house; normally have a wonderful time. This time our service was intermittent at best (over an hour to get our food, empty drink glasses for 10+ minutes at a time) and when the food finally did come out, it was over cooked. I want to really emphasize that this is the first time I've had such issues, but it does happen.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was excellent! The prices we ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The service was excellent! The prices were a bit hard to swallow, although the food was not. It was also exceptional. It mostly goes to the prices. Kinda hard to accept and defend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here to celebrate my birthday be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went here to celebrate my birthday before going to the theater on a Saturday evening. The place seems to book up fast. The ambiance and service are both top notch. The electronic menu is wonderful and even includes pictures of most of the food items.

Portion sizes are generous, the shareable side dishes are probably good for four to six depending on appetites. Its an upscale steakhouse, so expect to spend quite a bit. The food wasn't spectacular for the price, but its a nice way to treat yourself or a business guest.

I would recommend and go there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is above and beyond here and the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service is above and beyond here and the food is spectactular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not very impressed with the Chop H ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was not very impressed with the Chop House. My steak was not very tender and I could not taste anything wonderful about it. It was rather tough. Also, the sides are not very flavorful or creative. A bit of a let down. Finally, they double charged the bill on the credit card, leaving my sister with an overdrawn bank account. What is worse, the manager said he was new and needed to wait until Monday to even solve the issue...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Food was fabulous as always, but the 15 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was fabulous as always, but the 15 minute wait (we had a reservation) and the used wine glass on my table brought the night down. I feel like when you're dropping that kind of money on a meal, there's a basic expectation to not have to deal with dirty items and a lengthy wait.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to Chop House for my husband's b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went to Chop House for my husband's birthday and we had a wonderful experience! The 50% deal is truly that--50% off your total food bill for 2 people (drinks excluded). We were so pleased with our salads, steaks, sides, and dessert! Our drinks were equally enjoyable! The service here is fantastic and we could not have been more pleased. The wait staff here is top notch. We will definitely be making many return visits. Thank you for such a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were amazing. Cocktails expertly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Steaks were amazing. Cocktails expertly done. Service (John W.) was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jameson was great!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Jameson was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the best that I've had at the GR Cho ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Not the best that I've had at the GR Chop House but I also figure everyone has at least one bad day. My steak was way under cooked and surprisingly tough. I will return as every other time I have been there it has been outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I promised my business partners/customer ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I promised my business partners/customers an outstanding dinner evening and with no exceptions they all agreed it was!

All food was exceptional, the lobster bisque to die for. Great wine and perfect service.

Will definitely select this restaurant again for future business dinners.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Chop House last night (8/26/ ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went to the Chop House last night (8/26/16) with my wife for dinner. We enjoyed the food our during our last visit, however this time it was simply terrible. My wife ordered the spicy shrimp app, the shrimp were dry and over cooked. Our entrees arrived shortly after we finish the app. I ordered the bone in filet special and my wife the scallops. We also had mashed potatoes, Mac n cheese, and asparagus. All of our food was devoid of favor. The scallops were mushy as well as the bacon in the smashed potatoes my wife received. The steak had the blandest cheese on top that did not complement the steak. The sauce for the steak was unbalanced and only tasted bitter. All of our food was in desperate need of salt. The smashed potatoes bland no butter no creaminess just unpleasant to eat. The macaroni noodles and the sauce had not taste. If the asparagus didn't have parmesan cheese on top they would been an under cooked messed but at least the cheese gave a tiny bit of flavor.

The only positives were good service and an excellent dessert, creme brûlée cheesecake. A definite waste of $250 last night. We would have been better off getting fast food somewhere. Overall the worst meal we've every head at a fine dinning establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Wonderful place have dinner for occasion ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful place have dinner for occasion. We eat there at least twice a year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raw oyster were fantastic, potatoes ched ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Raw oyster were fantastic, potatoes cheddar au gratin excellent, and the steaks were done to our liking!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

If you want class this is the place. Fro ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

If you want class this is the place. From the minute we arrived it was a true experience. You can tell every staff member is well trained. Moving on to the food. It is a bit pricey but outstanding. While our waiter was 21.5 years old he made our dinning worth the price. He is an outstanding asset to this establishment.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening at The Chop H ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at The Chop House. The food was fantastic and service was terrific. They were very kind to celebrate our anniversary with us with an inscription on our dessert plate. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

"Would have been nice to have been offered a dessert on the house for our celebration."

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was amazing from the moment ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was amazing from the moment we walked in the door. The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience and service were exceptional as ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ambience and service were exceptional as should be expected at a restaurant like this. The food however was disappointing. I ordered the porter house medium rare and it was fairly bland to be blunt. Ordered mashed potatoes and asparagus as sides and both were very disappointing. For the price paid, it just wasn't what I expected it to be.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to dinner after a long work confere ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went to dinner after a long work conference. Excellent food and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and the food ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was superb. !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating our anniversary. We had a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary. We had a very enjoyable evening. Our server was very attentive, and had a thorough understanding of the tablet menus. His suggestion of a wine pairing was perfect as well. We didn't feel rushed at all, and took about two hours to enjoy our meal and conversation.

Note: Their steak preparation follows an 'enthusiast' doneness level (my term,) so most will want to request one additional level of cooking time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

The food at the chop house was great! Ou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food at the chop house was great! Our server was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey but excellent. Service and food w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Pricey but excellent. Service and food were great. A great place for a special occasion! Bring your wallet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We all had filet. They were decent but d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We all had filet. They were decent but definitely have had better. The wedge salads were great. The side dish of Mac n Cheese was not edible. So bad. Also the side dish of augratin potatoes were bad. We sent them back & ordered the baked potatoes. We were all surprised that these two sides were so bad. Manager came over to apologize & asked what we didn't like about them. We all thought they should of comped our bill for the potatoes but they didn't. Wouldn't go back & wouldn't recommend The Chophouse. Better off at Ruth Chris

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Came here for a night out with my wife. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Came here for a night out with my wife. This was our first trip to the Chop House and it was more than could have been expected. Exceptional food and service. We had used the online reservation, and were seated immediately upon arrival. All of the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend the 11oz filet Oscar style!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a wonderful evening. Courses were we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Was a wonderful evening. Courses were well-timed and food and service were perfect! Tried cigar lounge and it was a great experience as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My filet was superb; one of the best eve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My filet was superb; one of the best ever. Grilled romaine tasty.

We were seated in a booth this time; will request this next visit.

Our server,Jessica, was charming and attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.