About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
7 More
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (105)
Romantic (79)
Notable Wine List (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (25)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to the Chop House last night (8/26/ ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went to the Chop House last night (8/26/16) with my wife for dinner. We enjoyed the food our during our last visit, however this time it was simply terrible. My wife ordered the spicy shrimp app, the shrimp were dry and over cooked. Our entrees arrived shortly after we finish the app. I ordered the bone in filet special and my wife the scallops. We also had mashed potatoes, Mac n cheese, and asparagus. All of our food was devoid of favor. The scallops were mushy as well as the bacon in the smashed potatoes my wife received. The steak had the blandest cheese on top that did not complement the steak. The sauce for the steak was unbalanced and only tasted bitter. All of our food was in desperate need of salt. The smashed potatoes bland no butter no creaminess just unpleasant to eat. The macaroni noodles and the sauce had not taste. If the asparagus didn't have parmesan cheese on top they would been an under cooked messed but at least the cheese gave a tiny bit of flavor.

The only positives were good service and an excellent dessert, creme brûlée cheesecake. A definite waste of $250 last night. We would have been better off getting fast food somewhere. Overall the worst meal we've every head at a fine dinning establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Wonderful place have dinner for occasion ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful place have dinner for occasion. We eat there at least twice a year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raw oyster were fantastic, potatoes ched ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Raw oyster were fantastic, potatoes cheddar au gratin excellent, and the steaks were done to our liking!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

If you want class this is the place. Fro ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

If you want class this is the place. From the minute we arrived it was a true experience. You can tell every staff member is well trained. Moving on to the food. It is a bit pricey but outstanding. While our waiter was 21.5 years old he made our dinning worth the price. He is an outstanding asset to this establishment.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening at The Chop H ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at The Chop House. The food was fantastic and service was terrific. They were very kind to celebrate our anniversary with us with an inscription on our dessert plate. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

"Would have been nice to have been offered a dessert on the house for our celebration."

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was amazing from the moment ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was amazing from the moment we walked in the door. The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience and service were exceptional as ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ambience and service were exceptional as should be expected at a restaurant like this. The food however was disappointing. I ordered the porter house medium rare and it was fairly bland to be blunt. Ordered mashed potatoes and asparagus as sides and both were very disappointing. For the price paid, it just wasn't what I expected it to be.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to dinner after a long work confere ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went to dinner after a long work conference. Excellent food and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and the food ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was superb. !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating our anniversary. We had a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary. We had a very enjoyable evening. Our server was very attentive, and had a thorough understanding of the tablet menus. His suggestion of a wine pairing was perfect as well. We didn't feel rushed at all, and took about two hours to enjoy our meal and conversation.

Note: Their steak preparation follows an 'enthusiast' doneness level (my term,) so most will want to request one additional level of cooking time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

The food at the chop house was great! Ou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food at the chop house was great! Our server was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey but excellent. Service and food w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Pricey but excellent. Service and food were great. A great place for a special occasion! Bring your wallet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We all had filet. They were decent but d ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We all had filet. They were decent but definitely have had better. The wedge salads were great. The side dish of Mac n Cheese was not edible. So bad. Also the side dish of augratin potatoes were bad. We sent them back & ordered the baked potatoes. We were all surprised that these two sides were so bad. Manager came over to apologize & asked what we didn't like about them. We all thought they should of comped our bill for the potatoes but they didn't. Wouldn't go back & wouldn't recommend The Chophouse. Better off at Ruth Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Came here for a night out with my wife. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Came here for a night out with my wife. This was our first trip to the Chop House and it was more than could have been expected. Exceptional food and service. We had used the online reservation, and were seated immediately upon arrival. All of the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend the 11oz filet Oscar style!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a wonderful evening. Courses were we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Was a wonderful evening. Courses were well-timed and food and service were perfect! Tried cigar lounge and it was a great experience as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My filet was superb; one of the best eve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My filet was superb; one of the best ever. Grilled romaine tasty.

We were seated in a booth this time; will request this next visit.

Our server,Jessica, was charming and attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have always had a great experience at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have always had a great experience at The Chop House- food was excellent-price was probably best for a special occasion. We had the best waiter ever- Jamison-knew his stuff, had some humor, just did a great job.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was extraordinary, Service was ph ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Dinner was extraordinary, Service was phenomenal. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chop House always manages to go abov ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Chop House always manages to go above and beyond a normal restaurant experience. The greeters are friendly, the wait staff are very well trained and knowledgeable, and the food is magnificent! We celebrated my husband's birthday (you can't beat The Chop House's birthday discount) recently with a bottle of wine that was recommended by our server, Amber, and completely met our very peculiar wine expectations. Our meal was served in a timely manner and prepared to our satisfaction. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chop House was wonderful from greeting t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Chop House was wonderful from greeting to the carrot cake desert (Thanks, Caleb!). The food is so delicious and the servers are amazing. We celebrated our anniversary, requested a booth and we couldn't have asked for more. A great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walk in the door and you enter a world o ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Walk in the door and you enter a world of superb ambiance , professional staff and the food was excellent . It's a totally great dining experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visit the Chop House about twice a mon ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I visit the Chop House about twice a month and find the service to outstanding. Also, I love the cigar bar, however, it should be dedicated even if you have to reduce its size so people can count on it being available or not. The décor seems dated and dark...could use an overhaul. I keep coming because of the service, food, and cigar lounge.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time dining here in 6wks. Food wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Second time dining here in 6wks. Food was wonderful. Brought family. They loved it also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my husband birthday. The sta ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went for my husband birthday. The staff was very friendly and responsive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service with delicious upscale ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent service with delicious upscale cuisine. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

With out a doubt, the best r estaurant i ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

With out a doubt, the best r

estaurant in Grand Rapids

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. $52.00 Cowboy Steak w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very disappointed. $52.00 Cowboy Steak was tough and flavorless. Wife's fillet was mealy and tasteless. The staff and manager were apologetic and tried to make things right which was appreciated. The replacement steak was not much better however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Hostesses were welcoming and accommodati ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Hostesses were welcoming and accommodating. Bartender was knowledgeable and attentive. Our server John W was wonderful - patient and efficient and had great recommendations for wine pairing with our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals that I (we) have h ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best meals that I (we) have had! Great menu and very well made cocktails. Service was attentive but not over done. We were there to celebrate my mother's birthday. The restaurant came as a recommendation from a friend of hers. Just overall very well done!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place to have dinner. Staff wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place to have dinner. Staff was excellent and food was out of this world. Will be dining there again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice way to celebrate an anniversar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very nice way to celebrate an anniversary. Been a long time since I have had that nice a dining experience, a special treat for us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Most of the food was good, not great. I ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Most of the food was good, not great. I ordered a large filet. The cut was one near the end so was irregular. It came out a little overdone, but not enough to warrant returning to the kitchen. The servers were spot on and did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding including the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was outstanding including the service. I would say it far exceeds its competition across the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food, pleas ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, pleasant ambiance. Very expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We always enjoy the atmosphere at the Ch ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We always enjoy the atmosphere at the Chop House. As always the service is top notch. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, our meal was exceptional, the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

As always, our meal was exceptional, the service was flawless, and the atmosphere made our birthday celebration feel like a true celebration. We had four different cuts of steaks on our table and all of them were perfectly seasoned and cooked to the requested temperature. The seafood platter appetizer is a must have as a starter. And they have the best selection of steakhouse sides of any steakhouse I have been too , including a creamed corn and macaroni and cheese side that are good enough to go back to just have those for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was disappointed with the food. I got ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was disappointed with the food. I got the salmon, and my husband got the swordfish; both of which were ok, but definitely not worth the price. We also got the side of mashed potatoes which was awful-tasted like fish. We did enjoy the french onion soup though, which we got to share prior to our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I decided to try out Chop ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I decided to try out Chop House for our first wedding anniversary last year and we fell in love. The food, the staff, the ambiance were all 5 star worthy. So much so that we decided before we even left that this would be our anniversary tradition. So this past weekend we followed through for our second anniversary and again we were thrilled with our evening. Quite a few staff members including two different managers came to our table to wish us a happy anniversary. This is something we now look forward to every year. Thank you Chop House for such a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time was had due to a great dining ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great time was had due to a great dining environment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service fro ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service from crystal. We can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.