About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Romantic (68)
See All
Good for Birthdays (62)
Good for a Date (58)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (32)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Totally outstanding dining experience. The setting, hostess, food and server, all ultra professional. Attentive to every need, knowledgeable, available while not smothering. You will be happy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service from start to finish, tasty bone-in NY Strip

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was amazing. The server was very knowledgeable of the menu and had awesome suggestions as what to order. T.J was an awesome server.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My girlfriend and I celebrated our anniversary here. I had never been, but it was definitely something I would recommend to anyone that wants to show someone special that you mean a lot to them. The service is great, speedy, and helpful. It's pricey (almost $200 for a table for 2--which includes appetizer, drinks, dessert, and tips), but I guarantee you will be impressed by the Chop House. Foodwise--everything was cooked perfectly, and without prompt, the servers wrote "Happy Anniversary" on our dessert plate--an unexpected, yet welcome, surprise. It was a little louder than expected, probably because there were so many people there around dinner time, but that's not the restaurant's fault that their food is so good that they attract large crowds. Happy to say had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The perfect place to go in your birthday! The wait staff was excellent and the crime brulee cheesecake was amazing (as was the steak) as usual!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food is nearly always exceptional. First time we've had a less than stellar experience. One party sent her steak back to be less rare and it returned to her unchanged in any way. My house salad was so drenched in vinaigrette dressing it was nearly unedible. Also did not care for seating in main dining room as it was extremely distracting and unrelaxing to have staff rushing by us so frequently. Our wait staff was very attentive and served us well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Came for my birthday and it was amazing! Great food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had the Cowboy ribeye it was not the normal great steak I have had in 15 or so visits
Very thin and was not cooked as I had asked but did not have time to wait for another one
I would still come back but this trip was not so great

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The Chop House has been our go to place for many previous visits when we want a special dinner out. However, this time we were very disappointed. I don't know if they have a new chef or if something was just off in the kitchen that night. My wife's onion soup was too salty (she's had it several times before and it was always great). Her crab cakes were cold and after replacing them and taking them off the check, they were still not up to Chop House standards. My Beef Wellington supposedly only is available medium rare, which is the way I would order it anyway, was very rare. Since the meat was under cooked, the puff pastry was also under cooked and doughy. Since we had already sent back my wife's meal, I let it go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food, ambiance and fantastic service. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Amazing service-best I've had!! Food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great romantic ambiance, food was prepared as ordered, service was A1, our server Valerie was top notch and was honestly one of the best servers we've had in recent memory, very professional with a great mix of friendliness ....5 stars

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

What a pleasant surprise we found while dining @ the Chop House. Had reservations to celebrate my wife's birthday & all went well, good food, great service & a substantial discount when I received our bill. I had no idea they gave you a break on a birthday dinner. Well, they deducted the 11 oz. filet off our bill. I don't need to mention how much that is but it was a nice surprise. We will return to the Chop House again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I wanted to give them great ratings but there were a few things that kept me from doing so. The wait staff were excellent. Loved the synchronized delivery of the meals onto the table. Great touch. Our waitress was very nice, courteous and knowledgeable of the menu. I ordered a dirty martini with blue cheese stuffed olives to start, then for my appetizer and meal I ordered 1/2 dozen oysters and a N.Y. Strip and requested it medium rear. (Light pink on the edges and darker pink in the center was what I was told to expect.) Well my martini came and was really enjoying it until I took a bite of my olive and discovered it was stuffed with anchovy. I mentioned it to our waitress. She apologized and instead of brining me a fresh drink, she took over 15 minutes and brought me replacement olives, which by now the drink has the fishy after taste. Then my oysters came, and 2 of 6 of them looked a bit iffy and tiny. Was disappointed but was looking forward to the main course and was hoping for better. And so my steak was presented in sync with my colleagues but my dissappointment continued as I cut into my steak and it was cooked medium to medium well...light pink all the way through. Since I was with 8 others and didn't want to make a big deal in front of our gracious host I ate a few bits and took the rest to go.
I had heard amazing reviews and really wanted the food to be as amazing as the service, but it wasn't meant to be...at least not for me. 🤐

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food, presentation, service were all excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Omg. I wish i would have taken photos. The place is imacculant... We were there for my boyfriends birthday. John was our waiter and John was awesomeeeee. He explained the menu, i mean down to what was in the food. Lol. He just answered all of our questions and was funny. Like seriously he was awesome. We live in GR, MI and never had service that John provided. The Lump blur crab and crab cakes were soooo fresh. Then when the food was brought to our table they sat it down simultaneously. If you havent been go and make sure you see if John may be your waiter. Im sure there all as nice. Tell him Tiff sent you to him. Lol. ( not that he will remember me). Thanks Chop house for making this night great. Dont forget to go downatairs to the lounge and have a cigar watch a little football✔✔.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent. Service was top notch and food was as good as it gets. I would recommend to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Exceptional food and service! Great for special occasions. Friendly and helpful staff. Everything is top notch and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Service was excellent.
Drinks were very good.
Lobster bisque was outstanding.
Main dishes (filet mignon and NY strip) were very under-seasoned. I had my filet served "Oscar Style," which adds two asparagus spears, two lobster claws, and bernaise sauce. The lobster claws were severely over-cooked - actually tough. Overall, it was a good evening, but the food itself fell far short of the $250+ (before tip) cost for a meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The waitress was excellent. The food was great. Great birthday celebration!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Outstanding in every way! It was truly a memorable evening to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

My wife and I go here for some birthdays. Great birthday (day of) special.
The price is high no-matter-what, but the food is great. Similar menu to Ruth's Chris but a bit more casual atmosphere.
If you are looking for a nice occasion meal, this could be it. Just be prepared to spend some $

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Staff was VERY friendly and knowledgeable of all items on the menu

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was amazing.....as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

It was great neithet of us had ever been treated so special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had a great dinner and all the food was perfected. We're glad we finally had the opportunity to go - and will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We love this place so much! My husband and I always choose the Chop House for a special birthday date night dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Our dinning experience was a great way to celebrate our thirteenth year anniversary!

Looking forward to doing it again next year!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

First time ever coming here and everything was beyond my expectations. Valerie was our waitress and she did an excellent job explaining the menu and answering any questions we had. Valerie made our experience even more better. Great Job Valerie!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We enjoyed a perfect birthday dinner. The staff was excellent. The food was equally impressive. Everything is a la carte, but portions are very generous and can be easily shared. The atmosphere is quiet, and is great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

From start to finish, the experience was outstanding. ALL of the staff (in addition to our server) was friendly, efficient and helpful. The food is perfectly prepared. Obviously, it is pricey, but most people realize that going into the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 31, 2017

First sub par visit at Chop House. Salad and soup were very good. My wife's oysters were quite sandy. I ordered Berkshire pork chops cooked to chefs recommendations of medium, but one raw and inedible and other very very well done. They did take off the bill. Lastly, despite having made reservations, we were seated right by stairs leading down to restrooms.
We will go back again, but not with out of town guests

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I drove three hours south to take my girlfriend here for her birthday. Hands down the best steak we’ve ever had. The service was incredible too. I can’t say enough great things about this place and will definitely be back soon

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and service were first class. It made our 30th wedding anniversary extra special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Spectacular service and wonderful food. Always something new as the chef's feature. Love this restaurant for special celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Dinner was excellent - service was great! Definitely going back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Appetizers were great! Wish we would have eaten apps all night. Main course scallops were the best I've ever had. Beef wellington was not good at all. It didn't look appetizing, nor did it taste appetizing. Would definitely recommend this place for your birthday since they do 50% off bill. Other than that, I feel everything was overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I have always loved the Chop House. It used to be the best Steak in GR at a reasonable price. But now almost all the steaks start at $50 and that is too much. No local beers on tap and a bottle was $10.95! The aspargus was tough. Could not even eat the ends. That should NEVER happen at this price.
The prices have jumped up since Ruth Chris came to town. I guess they saw how much they could get for their steaks. Sad, just not a value for me.
Service was exceptional as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was amazing!!! My husband and I really enjoyed our evening for his birthday. Great staff overall great experience! We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Chop House always takes your dining experience to the next level! Fantastic food and fantastic service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.