About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Chop House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
The Chop House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
The Chop House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (55)
Good for Birthdays (50)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Notable Wine List (37)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Attentive, polite, and caring staff. An ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 hours ago

Attentive, polite, and caring staff. Another memorable meal at The Chop House with excellent choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as usual and Crystal the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great as usual and Crystal the server was great and very quick to please our party

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but we were disap ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was excellent but we were disappointed with the table we were seated at. We were there to celebrate our anniversary and it was not romantic at all. We were seated right next to the station were the servers entered and tabulated their orders . That really prevented it from being a special evening for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was really good and didn't have ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was really good and didn't have to wait forever for it. Dining area was very nice and upscale. My filet was served as ordered as well as my husbands ribeye. The sides were extremely good as well. We had asparagus and cheese potatoes...yum!

The wait staff was very prompt with getting us whatever we needed.

The only thing I would change is validating parking, or a refund on parking. That would have been a nice higher end perk to a very nice evening in an awesome restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and mother in law used the reser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and mother in law used the reservation for a birthday celebration. The food was excellent and my mother in law really enjoyed it as it was her first time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the oysters as a starter. They ra ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had the oysters as a starter. They ran from stand size to small, with the quality less than good. Realize it's Michigan in mid winter, but if offered, I expect better quality.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Always enjoy going for Birthday deal of ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always enjoy going for Birthday deal of 2 for 1. We love sitting in the booth for dinner and enjoying dessert downstairs on the couches.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but food and service was outstand ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Pricey but food and service was outstanding! Even the cocktails were terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food. A little pricey ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service and food. A little pricey but worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful waiter. Delicious food. We wil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Wonderful waiter. Delicious food. We will definitely be back soon. It was a little dark however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in town - hands down. Ne ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best restaurant in town - hands down. Never disappoints, from the food to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come multiple times a year so we have ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We come multiple times a year so we have a great base line to critic our experience. Service was amazing as always. I am disappointed because our reservations had a specific request not to be seated by the stairs because it is always a high traffic area and I was going to tell my husband I was pregnant. So where did we get seated? The table between the stairs and the walkway to the stairs. Very non private. Probably the most exposed table possible. So I waited to tell him because it was hard for me to hear him talk and I didn't want to miss a minute of his reaction. Food was amazing (fillet, crab cakes, lobster bisque, crab bites, calliflower, cream brulee) with the exception of the scallops, Moroccan shrimp and bread basket. I LOVE their scallops but this time they were totally over salted, to the point my tongue curled. The shrimp was delish but the bread it came on was so hard I could barely cut it. Literally had to use my muscles to cut it in half. We don't come for the bread basket but they have this amazing bread with fruit in it so we usually have them bring it to the table. This time their was only 2. Types of bread white and wheat. No fruit bread and no crackers. We were a little disappointed but its only bread. So it was good but not great. Hoping for a better experience next time. We would never give Chop House up because 90% of the food is to die for. :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately our second experience at t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unfortunately our second experience at the Chop House wasn't as great as the first. The entres we selected - were not available. Our waiter forgot to tell us. The timing of us receiving the food was off - we had the smallest pieces of bread I have ever seen. When we couldn't get the ribeye we were charged extra for our meal. My husband ordered his meat between medium to medium well - it was served rare and had to be taken back to be cooked. Unfortunately what we thought would be another awesome meal - wasn't. It is too bad.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Chop House is very nice for special Occa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Chop House is very nice for special Occasions however; be prepared-for the prices. Everything is alacart, steaks are very expensive. Don't expect to spend less than $180.00 for a dinner for 2. Example: a glass of wine $11.95. This from a the same bottle/brand I can buy at Meijer for $19.00. Not criticising. Just a fact!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner was, as ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner was, as usual, exceptional. The holiday ambiance, coupled with the impeccable service, and delectable meal was a tradition that we will continue to partake in for as long as we are able to. As the price is something we can only afford on a special occasion, it's well worth a once-a-year trip for anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers and sides were delicious and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Appetizers and sides were delicious and service was amazing. But Chop House is known as good for steaks. Both my husband and my steaks were not cooked right. He ordered medium and was medium rare after server confirmed how medium was supposed to be cooked. I ordered medium well, server stated pink throughout which was good with me. My steak was well and super dry. So if going for steaks, skip steaks and get appetizers and sides.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service! Would highly ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Would highly recommend for fine dining in downtown GR.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

45 anniversary

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

45 anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our umteenth visit and once again this p ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our umteenth visit and once again this place delivers.. excellence at every level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I highly recommend the Chilean Sea Bass ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I highly recommend the Chilean Sea Bass and the Dover Sole.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been many times; great service but not t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Been many times; great service but not this time. Waiter preoccupied and non-attentive. Told him it was my cousin's birthday upon arrival and his response was "you better have ID and be able to prove it". Never said Happy Birthday. I ordered a rarer filet but the one I was served was thin, and my cousin who orders medium well had a thick filet, so we asked if perhaps they got them mixed up. Waiter insisted they were fine, and I again asked if they got mixed up as rare is usually thicker, and then he ordered us to cut it down the middle to look. We really didn't want to cut them down the middle as they cool off faster, but he stood there and repeated that we needed to cut it down the middle, which we did, and as we thought, steaks had been served to us wrong so we swapped.

Potato came, but no vegetable, so asked waiter and he said we didn't order it. We got it at end of meal, and he didn't charge, but was too late to eat it at that point. Waiter assumed we were done and ready to check us out, but we told him we were having desert. Again, he seemed in quite a hurry; maybe he was supposed to get off soon and was stuck serving us? I said we would be having our favorite, the creme brulee. He only brings one... we asked about the other and he said "you just said "we are having the creme brulee, so I thought you were sharing". So we shared.

He was not mean, he just seemed like he was so preeoccuped that he could not get our orders straight, make them good, check on us, and seemed to rush us.

We left about a 50% tip regardless since one meal was free and we figured he had to share with the other staff assisting and did not want to short them. Hope we never get this waiter again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The Chop House never fails to impress, f ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Chop House never fails to impress, from ambience to food quality to wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such civil and not overly obsequious ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Such civil and not overly obsequious service. The lobster bisque and french onion soups are fantastic. The bread is just right. We arrived at 515p for a 730p show and it worked out perfect and we did NOT have entrees, just soup, salad, dessert, and coffee.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a good time , great service and food ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 14, 2016

had a good time , great service and food, blah blah,blah

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, the food was outstanding and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 14, 2016

As always, the food was outstanding and you can't beat the price on your birthday--50% off dinner for two. I had filet mignon which just melts in your mouth, partner had dover sole which he said was excellent. Service is always attentive without being overbearing or too stuffy.

Reservations highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food. 😁

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great service, great food. 😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent, we req ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food and service were excellent, we requested a quiet table thru open table to celebrate our anniversary but that didn't happen, restaurant was very busy and the noise level was quite high. For the money the servings could have been a bit more generous on the entrees, I had the bone in filet (very good) and my wife had the Dover sole. We both had the lobster bisque, yum! And shared a salad and desert, we did not go home hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

4 of 5 in our party said the steaks were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

4 of 5 in our party said the steaks were bland, asparagus was terrible, desserts were good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointing visit. I special ordered ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Disappointing visit. I special ordered a cake for my sister's 60th birthday a week in advance and they dropped the ball. I even called the morning of our visit and they could not confirm the cake was made. Instead, they gave us a cheesecake as an afterthought with messy writing and they charged me $45 for it, twice as much what the cake would have cost me. After spending $450 on dinner, I expected better service than this. I sent the restaurant a message to complain but I have yet to be contacted by anyone. I doubt I will ever return to this establishment.

Tags: Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

A very good meal, very attentive staff. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A very good meal, very attentive staff. It would be the type of place for a celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reservation process seems weird. We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The reservation process seems weird. We had to go earlier than we wanted because they were booked, yet there were many empty tables at the time we really wanted. Prices are getting higher and higher. Coffee was most disappointing, very weak. Still our place to go for special occasions. Food/service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely fabulous! Always a wonderful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Always a wonderful dining experience. I had the honor of treating two dear friends and my husband to dinner in celebration of a birthday. John was our waiter and he was fabulous. Expect to see us again real soon. My best, Brenda

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was personable but a little slow in the beginning. There was a lot of noise from a large group nearby that made it hard to talk. Wished they had moved the group to their own area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. I really lik ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and service. I really liked our waitress. To me the atmosphere is a little too stuffy but that is just my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thank you for making our birthday celebr ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thank you for making our birthday celebration so nice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but spot on service and exception ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pricey but spot on service and exceptional food will make for a memorable meal

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd time at the Chop House. 1st time was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

3rd time at the Chop House. 1st time was amazing. this last time was not impressed at all

We get there at 8 on sat night. order drinks. then 15 mins later order dinner.. soup comes out immediately. 72 mins later our steaks come out it was 9:27 when we got our entrées.. i dont mind waiting 30-45 mins. but over a hour is ridiculous. especially at a restaurant of this caliber and price.

I've been in the restaurant biz for over 25 years and if something like this ever happened dinner was discounted or comped completely.

Needless to say we will.never reture to this establishment. Thank goodness for an abundant selection in west Michigan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Hands down, the best steak I've ever had ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hands down, the best steak I've ever had! Ruth's Chris was close but this was better. I had the Beef Wellington and my wife tried the Steak au Poivre and both were AMAZING!! We also shared the Cheddar au Gratin Potatoes which were top notch as well. As would be expected, the service was great. Wish we could have reviewed the desserts too but couldn't eat another bite. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.