About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: 8884563463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
9 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Romantic (72)
Special Occasion (72)
Good for Birthdays (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Business Meals (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A very good meal, very attentive staff. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

A very good meal, very attentive staff. It would be the type of place for a celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reservation process seems weird. We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

The reservation process seems weird. We had to go earlier than we wanted because they were booked, yet there were many empty tables at the time we really wanted. Prices are getting higher and higher. Coffee was most disappointing, very weak. Still our place to go for special occasions. Food/service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely fabulous! Always a wonderful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely fabulous! Always a wonderful dining experience. I had the honor of treating two dear friends and my husband to dinner in celebration of a birthday. John was our waiter and he was fabulous. Expect to see us again real soon. My best, Brenda

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was personable but a little slow in the beginning. There was a lot of noise from a large group nearby that made it hard to talk. Wished they had moved the group to their own area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. I really lik ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and service. I really liked our waitress. To me the atmosphere is a little too stuffy but that is just my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thank you for making our birthday celebr ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thank you for making our birthday celebration so nice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but spot on service and exception ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Pricey but spot on service and exceptional food will make for a memorable meal

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd time at the Chop House. 1st time was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

3rd time at the Chop House. 1st time was amazing. this last time was not impressed at all

We get there at 8 on sat night. order drinks. then 15 mins later order dinner.. soup comes out immediately. 72 mins later our steaks come out it was 9:27 when we got our entrées.. i dont mind waiting 30-45 mins. but over a hour is ridiculous. especially at a restaurant of this caliber and price.

I've been in the restaurant biz for over 25 years and if something like this ever happened dinner was discounted or comped completely.

Needless to say we will.never reture to this establishment. Thank goodness for an abundant selection in west Michigan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Hands down, the best steak I've ever had ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hands down, the best steak I've ever had! Ruth's Chris was close but this was better. I had the Beef Wellington and my wife tried the Steak au Poivre and both were AMAZING!! We also shared the Cheddar au Gratin Potatoes which were top notch as well. As would be expected, the service was great. Wish we could have reviewed the desserts too but couldn't eat another bite. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceeded expectations, as always. I int ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exceeded expectations, as always. I introduced 6 others to your restaurant and they too, will come back again.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special occasion restaurant . Foo ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great special occasion restaurant . Food exceptional!. Waiter Jon made the evening remember able. Spend the money. Good food and service is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply amazing! Our new favorite restau ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Simply amazing! Our new favorite restaurant in Grand Rapids. It is pricy, but the impeccable service and delightful food perfectly prepared and served was worth every penny. Our compliments to the chef and our server.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent quality food - we all had perf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent quality food - we all had perfectly done filet mignon. The kale/spinach soufflé, mashed potatoes, Caesar salad, and mushrooms were superb sides. The music was a bit loud at one point, but upon request they kindly turned it down for us. Above all, the service couldn't have been better.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for a special occasion or a romanti ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good for a special occasion or a romantic evening but can get pricey, great cigar lounge where your not overwhelmed by the smell as they have a fantastic fresh air system in place and a great selection of cigars and liquors plus deserts available while you relax in overstuffed furniture.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for our anniversary. We had a wedge ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for our anniversary. We had a wedge salad w/ blue cheese which was excellent and a house salad w/vinaigrette. We both had steak (strip and au poivre)and were very happy with the taste and the preparation. Au Gratin potatoes were excellent, hot and tasty along with the popular creamed corn. Finished with a cold chocolate cake. Not to memorable. Will go with something else next time.

Service is always top shelf. Prices are also top shelf. Plan on dropping over $100 per person plus parking. I guess that is why we don't return too often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Filet and cream corn was great. highly r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Filet and cream corn was great. highly recommend. Will return

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal - just the right amount o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent meal - just the right amount of attention by our knowledgeable waitress. Outstanding birthday promotion.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and the food was amazing; my o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The staff and the food was amazing; my only complaint would be that I didn't care for the Asparagus (which is probably me favorite vegetable), but my overall experience was great!

And the birthday deal was a great way to get me to try it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Chop House never disappoints. Great ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Chop House never disappoints. Great salads (large portions), great prime filets (cooked to perfection), and great service ("Jacob" was attentive, helpful, and happy to explain the options).

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always , from the time I entered the ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

As always , from the time I entered the Chop House until I left every thing about this establishment is a 10+ .

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. One of grand rapi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent restaurant. One of grand rapids best!!

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Repas d’affaires, Une occasion spéciale, Cocktails artisanaux, Idéal pour les fêtes, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It seemed that most diners were there fo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It seemed that most diners were there for a special occasion. I really enjoyed the meal and it was my second visit. Very nice place for my birthday meal...Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my husband's birthday and br ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday and brought our 5 year old. The food and wine were delicious. Our service was amazing. TJ was our server. I highly recommend him. The only downside was a family next to us dressed in jeans and sweatshirts with Dad on the phone all through their meal. For a $400 dinner I would expect a more refined clientele.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was *so* bland. We went for my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was so bland. We went for my birthday and got 50% off the check. I got Beef Wellington and Creamed Kale/Spinach and he got a bone-in ribeye and baked potato. The Beef Wellington was so bland that I didn't finish it (how is it possible to make a bland beef Wellington?). The creamed spinach had more cream than contents - I had to go fishing around to find some spinach or kale. The ribeye was very plain. It had a good beef flavor, but there didn't seem to be any seasonings at all. The exception was the dessert. The Oreo creme brûlée cheesecake was delicious and only $8 regular price. We won't be back for the food, even if 50% off. I can cook better at home for less than $80.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great menu. Great Food. Great Service. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great menu. Great Food. Great Service. All the staff was awesome. I love the way that they all come together to place every ones entree on the table at the same time. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been there since my business ent ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Had not been there since my business entertainment days. Food was very good and the service only marred by delay in serving one appetizer. Doesn't any place have a dress code anymore? Baseball caps and tee shirts when you're spending $75-$100 per person. Really detracts from the dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food, the service, and the ambience ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food, the service, and the ambience are always wonderful for celebrating a special event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, great food, great service and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 18, 2016

As always, great food, great service and great feel. The birthday offer makes it one of our favorite values too. Our top special occasion restaurant in west Michigan.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Service was great. We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was great. We were seated immediately.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was spectacular. Great ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food and service was spectacular. Great atmosphere. A little pricey but is a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chop House is one of the best restau ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Chop House is one of the best restaurants in the Grand Rapids area. The service is excellent, very knowledgeable , and friendly . The menu offers a nice variety of entrees, desserts, sides are generous enough to share. Salad is generous portion and very fresh ingredients. We love to come here whenever we are in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was flat out delicious! The ser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our meal was flat out delicious! The service was so professional, you felt like you had your own personal butler. Loved it, totally worth the price!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a fabulous experience.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Always a fabulous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience at the Chop House ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The overall experience at the Chop House was great! Our service was very good. The food was delicious. We went with the lobster crab cakes, filet, roasted cauliflower and au gratin potatoes. The amount of food was enough for a meal of leftovers the next day as well. I cannot imagine ordering appetizers or salads beforehand with the amount of food in the entrees. We usually only go for their birthday special, which is awesome. It still makes for a fairly pricey meal, but affordable. It was a great treat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was great. We made ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The dining experience was great. We made reservations and the table was ready on time. The waiter was terrific. The food was great...very tender New York Strip.

We would go again when traveling to Grand Rapids.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated by the aisle where every ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were seated by the aisle where every waiter, waitress, customer, bar and bathroom traveler went past. It was incredibly distracting and unnecessary as there were several other tables for two open. We made reservations to avoid exactly this.

With that said, the service and food were excellent. They work hard to serve, so the table setting was somewhat forgivable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Awesome service and great food, we have ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Awesome service and great food, we have never had a bad meal here. Tried the onion soup this time. Very good. and the Crème Brulee' cheesecake was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was expensive for a petit filet...44. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

It was expensive for a petit filet...44.00 for the steak is a bit too much for anything but a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Service by Jameison was outstanding. Th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Service by Jameison was outstanding. The wedge salad was exceptional, but the Bone in Ribeye was under seasoned and did not have very good chew. If you aren't going to have salt and pepper on the table, the steak better be well seasoned. For the money which I do not mind spending, you'll get a better meal across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service. Excellent menu and f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent menu and food. Great appetizers, salads, entrees.

Very nice wines by the glass or bottle. Very comfortable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.