About The Chop House - Grand Rapids

The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html

190 Monroe Ave NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 451-6184

Website:
http://www.thechophousegrandrapids.com/

Private Party Facilities:
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.

Private Party Contact:
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Cozy (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (17)
Private Room (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing Food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an outstanding time. Everything from the moment we came in was taken care of in the utmost professional and first class manner. Jen our waitress was fabulous. We would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to The Chophouse on numerous occasions and have never left unimpressed (or hungry). The scallops are to die for, along with the lobster bisque. We have thoroughly enjoyed everything we have ever ordered. Great selection, excellent service, good ambiance. Make sure you save room for the creme brûlée cheesecake!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Best high end steak house I've experienced. Steaks are cooked perfectly. Love the cigar bar in the basement also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We have had many excellent meals in the past years since you have opened. However, the steak instead of outstanding was just good which is fine for other restaurants but not up to the standard we would expect for the Chop House. However, this will not keep us from dinning at the Chop House. Things can not always be perfect so the next time we have dinner I'm sure the steak will be back to its normal outstanding quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a birthday and visited for the first time. The food was delicious and the portions were larger than we had anticipated. We each ordered a salad and an entree along with two sides. We took one of the sides home as we were both too full. The service is excellent. Our water glasses never reached the half full and everyone who approached our table made us feel like we were their most important guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2017

As usual excellent meal! Great service and awesome abiance!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great private table for our family dinner celebrating a birthday. Excellent steaks. Very good and large lobster tails. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Jameson was awesome!!!! To bad he was a golden hawk. Overall a good waiter. Made our time very pleasurable .

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

birthday dinner, the 50% off was great! the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food good service good atmosphere just wish they would have applied there a birthday discount to my meal knowing it was 2 days after our visit and i was scheduled to work on my bday(public safety).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday. The service was spectacular as was the food. I think we took home as much as we ate! The sides are definitely for two or more!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Another great visit to the Chop House. Kim our server was awesome. She made some great suggestions that we took her up on and she was right. It was a very nice evening out.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Chop House not only nails it with the food, but they also excel at the experience. Never have I had someone drape a napkin over my lap nor placed my dish at the EXACT same time as every other person at the table. The attention to detail and amount of effort is obvious. All of this, and the waiting staff is impeccable. Kim is particularly excellent. She understands needs and anticipates wants. She is pleased to explain the menu, make suggestions, and even just chat. All the while, she never makes you feel out of place. We even went a second time, and she not only remembered what he had the night before but specifically asked the Chef to create ANOTHER special just for us to have something new. Truly amazing. I simply can't say enough. But I'll sure try to explain the experience to as many as I can.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent service, food quality, and wine options. Feels like a Chicago or New York restaurant in ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The dinner and service was amazing as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was delicious! Waitress was top notch, and steaks were cooked to perfection!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our waiter was the reason i will pay more for service than the meal...he knocked it out of the park....hint he has South Carolina roots

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our family has dined here several times over the years. The food has been good, but this past weekend it was the best yet. Very enjoyable. My only complaint is the noise level, mixed with the endless traffic to and from the lower level. If this were a place a table of four or more could carry on a quiet conversation we would come more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I had been told by a few people that The Chophouse has the best steak in Grand Rapids. And I would have to say that is an understatement. My boyfriend and I both agree that was the best steak we had ever eaten anywhere. Didn't even need a knife it was so tender. Thank you for making our special occasion one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was good and the chef knows what he's doing. The atmosphere is great and well designed.
The food is overpriced, I had foie gras that was so small I could finish it in one bite if I wanted. The meat is very good quality but for 49$ you don't have included any sides, it's way too expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great experience! The best steak I have ever had. The service was wonderful. I would recommend for any special occasion or date. Great place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We've been there three times now , each time has been great . Great food and staff . This is going to sound weird but the most comfrontable chairs I've ever sat in at a restaurant 😃

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great as always... Good food and great service! We went with a group of coworkers and everytime had a blast.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was the best restaurant we have ever been to. The service was perfect. Everything we ordered came out quickly and the food was fantastic. The only downside is how expensive it is but honestly it was so worth what we spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Best restaurant we've eaten at in GR. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Decided to try the Chop House instead of Ruth Chris this time, we had drinks and dinner, steak was a little under cooked but they took care of that pretty quickly, then took off the salad from the bill. they did ask if we were celebrating anything, but that is where it ended they really dont care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love The Chop House! It is our family's go to restaurant for special adult occasions!! (Especially love the round table with the crystal chandelier) They have a great steak & seafood menu, extensive wine list & cocktails, and provide outstanding service! We always head downstairs for an after dinner drink and a stoogie!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fabulous dining experience. Our first visit. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The Sea Bass was an Epicurean delight! The service as usual was 5 star. The staff runs as a finally tuned precision machine. It is truly a delight to eat there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a wonderful night! Today is my husband's birthday and our waiter TJ helped make it extremely special. We will be back soon, wonderful time, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food! Highly recommended this for an anniversary or business meal, great service, they go above and beyond!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ambiance was very nice - able to have a conversation without speaking louder to be heard over the noise level. Food was perfect and prepared to perfection. Service was leisurely and server was attentive to our needs and not overly checking. Will always recommend The Chop House to all our friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time I've visited, but it was worth the wait. Get the Fillet, you will NOT be disappointed. It is amazing. We sat upstairs. The tables were a little close together for my liking, but it wasn't too bad. Its was also very dark, but again, didn't really take away from the experience. It was quite loud. We were there on a Friday night, and it was difficult to hear our server at times, though conversation between my wife and I was fine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We enjoy dining at The Chop House in Grand Rapids when there is a birthday due to the discount provided. Otherwise, there are better dining options for the same price nearby. The service always stands out as exceptional. The family style sides are quite large. The entre' generally lacks the 'wow' that would accompany the price paid anywhere else. The cocktails are usually well-crafted. Initially, we were declined our reservation as it was made online and not in their system. Once we showed them the reservation confirmation, and multiples reminders that were send regarding it, they found a spot for us in the back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was great. We visited for the first time on my birthday. The only issue if any was that our table was in the walk way so it was quite busy. Maybe next time my husband and I will get a quieter spot.
Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have to say the service we had was amazing! Our server Jamison did a great job explaining your menu, since this was our first time at the Chop House. He also, recommend different foods for our sides. The cooks did a wonderful job on our steaks. The food was for sure a ten and while as the services. We left very happy.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a little dark in the room- our pictures didn't turn out- too dark. The chicken had too much pepper on it but the steak was great! The prices are high so we would probably only go for birthdays and have your 1/2 off special. otherwise it was good. our server was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.