The Chop House - Grand Rapids

4.7
1828 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
The Chop House in Grand Rapids features the finest in Midwestern, grain-fed meats, USDA Prime beef & premium wines in a refined & elegant setting. Roasted Rack of Venison, Luscious Australian Rib Lamb Chop, & Fresh Lobster grace the menu. Perfect for that special night out or for entertaining business clients, The Chop House features specialized private dining areas tailored to meet your every need.
To complete this unparalleled dining experience head next door to La Dolce Vita, our specially designed Dessert & Cigar Lounge & treat yourself to sinfully delicious fine desserts hand crafted by our own Pastry Chef. The Chop House is the place to treat yourself to consummately satisfying fine dining. Prepare To Be Pampered... click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_grand.html
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(616) 451-6184
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Chop House in Grand Rapids offers not just one private dining area's but three! The Napa Suite enclosed in glass can seat up to 40, The Maduro Room with it's elegantly comfortable tables & decor offers seating for up to 20 & the Semi Private Dining in the main dining room can accommodate up to 20.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Harry Johnson: (888) 456-3463
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1828 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was great but if you like well-done steaks then make sure you stipulate very well-done; friends' meals were a little too rare for their liking. Otherwise, a great place (if cost is no object) and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Everything was excellent. I ordered based on 2 recommendations by the waiter and was entirely satisfied. The lobster bisque is a must-try. The ambiance is on the dark/romantic side and it's easy to talk. Presentation of food is impeccable. Just the right amount of attention from the waiter. I normally have difficulty with bartenders not being able to make my martinis exactly the way I order them. This drink was perfectly made the first time. It's expensive but very much worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and fabulous food! The steaks were so flavorful, best lobster bisque soup, terrific seafood also. Great for a group as the sides are for sharing. Crab and lobster cakes appetizer was wonderful also. Always a pleasure to dine here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day celebration😀

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Dining here was a wonderful experience.
The presentation of food by the servers is very impressive. Dinner was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The best restaurant that I have been to in Grand Rapids. Superior service, incomprable food and a stupendous wine list. A must visit for anyone looking for a great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The food was delish but I think the service is what really did it for me. Our waitress, Valerie was sweet and knowledgeable of the menu and most of all very authentic. She gave great recommendations the whole night, even when we asked her what we should do afterwards! Thank you for making our experience a 10/10!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Food was very good as expected, ambience was also very good but service provided was high pressure from the start and basically fast, fast, fast. Our goal was to have a wonderful dinner and just take some time to relax and enjoy. Despite our best efforts to slow her down, we were pressured to order our drinks, an appetizer, the meal and then of course receive the check. Don't remember a lot about the meal except how much pressure was exerted. Have been to Chop House located in Ann Arbor many times and have always considered it a very special place to go. Very disappointed in this visit to the Chop House in Grand Rapids.
Would not reccomend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

I had requested a round table for our group and the restaurant happily accommodated us. The table was ready and waiting for us when we arrived. The servers were very polite and readily available when we needed anything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

BEST Beef Wellington! Never disappointed with the entire experience The Chop House has to offer! Brought our parents there for the first time and they were absolutely amazed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Wonderful entrees, large portions (sides are large enough to split), amazing desserts.
Service was impeccable, our waitress June was informative and fun. This was our second visit and both times we enjoyed a top notch dining experience. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Service, beverages and food was top notch, zero complaints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great food, great service. Loved it. Gave us the worst table in the house but still a great experience and awesome meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

My boyfriend and I went to The Chop House for my birthday. We had an amazing time! The food was phenomenal! The chefs feature filet makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Chad was very knowledged on all areas of the menu, was super attentive, and friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Service was excellent as always however our steaks were not cooked appropriately and had very little flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Our server was EXCELLENT! Her attention to detail was on point. Her expectations from her staff were extremely high. She made the experience exquisite. I'm a humble single mom and I'll eat what ever is in-front of me without any judgement or concern. When her staff poured my lobster bisque soup, some dripped over the side and she asked him to remove it from me and had someone else re-serve the soup so it was adequately poured. WOW!! I'm a perfection however and her perfection was impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Love this place!! The food was terrific. It is more costly than most, but it’s my favorite place in all of Grand Rapids. The servers were just so gracious and friendly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Our waitress was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and patient as we worked our way through the menu and in choosing a bottle of wine. We had filets with a handful of accoutrements all of which were delicious and cooked to our liking. The dessert, which was recommended by our waitress, was a phenomenal way to end the meal. We left extremely full and satisfied with the celebratory dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

They have changed the menu.
It is not as good and definitely not worth the $

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Amazing meal.... Thank you for helping us celebrate our Anniversary. Just sad that I forgot to grab my filet after we finished dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We went to Chop House for husband’s birthday. Food was excellent and the service from the staff was superb. Our waiter was TJ, and he was excellent. His recommendations were spot on, and his support staff was contentious. I think I’m out of superlative adjectives, but our evening was just that good. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Traveled to Grand Rapids just for the night and had heard good things. It’s was good but extremely over priced for what it was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Everything was delicious. Service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Wow, the staff was great, the crab gnocchi was amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience! Our server was attentive to each of us, the food was superb, the ambience made the evening special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

My first experience at the Chop House exceeded my expectations from the high quality and savory flavor of the food to the excellent service. I can't wait to visit again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Chop House. Couldnt have been better from the service through dessert, outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Nice ambiance, great staff but the food was not as good as I thought it would be. Steaks were ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

This is definitely the best restaurant in Grand Rapids the new food on the menu was incredible as well as all the regular standbys. The chef prepared and presented the food very well our server sunny was top-notch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great food and service. I will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Always guaranteed a great meal , everyone there is very professional and have great personalities.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The service and overall experience has been on a steady decline. The restaurant has been full on my last several visits (including not being able to meet reservation times on this visit), so I wonder about being lackadaisical about too much success. The service has slipped dramatically from prior experience of waiter being available without being over-present to now having to flag down someone for service. Our waiter did not describe special dishes properly and could not answers our questions on some of the regular items. I wonder if the Chop House has new management that cares more about bottom line than customer loyalty. We had mediocre service at the restaurant and atrocious service at La Dolce Vita once we were able to get in. I have been able to accept delayed availability (generally 10:00 PM) to smoke in advertised “cigar bar”, but tonight we were delayed (advertised 9:00 PM, 10:30 PM actual) due to customers being “close” to the stairwell, a good 50 feet and 1 floor from any cigar smoker. The humidor is down to less that 15 smoking options. If the vision is a good steakhouse in an “old school” atmosphere, you have it. If you want to be the best steakhouse in town with unique experience, falls short.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We spent time with our grand son and his girlfriend. He leaving to go out of state for college. Has to be their first part of June was a great time and food just to visit with the..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

My wife and I had an anniversary / birthday meal and it was very enjoyable. The food was excellent, the atmosphere comfortable and the wait staff were very professional, friendly, attentive, and helpful. It is somewhat pricey but well worth it. We will go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our dinner and service was fabulous! The only thing I would have changed was the au gratin potato selection. They were a bit dry for my taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We visited The Chop House for our Anniversary dinner, and the experience was excellent. The service was impeccable and the steak was outstanding. It is definitely an expensive location for a night out, but the quality of the food and the service lived up to the price tag.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food was very good as usual, our server was very nice and did her best but had a large party as well and our service suffered. We were left waiting for the sauce for our steak (which is an up-charge) to the point our steak was cold when we received it. The food runner who delivered our dinner stated he would bring the sauce and after several minutes our server came to check on us and offered to go get the sauce. The meal was delicious, but for the steep prices I feel up-charged sauces and extras should be delivered with the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Superb service, amazing food, always a special treat on a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Birthday dinner was great! Food and drinks were delicious, as they should be for the price.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
46