Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Chop House - Charleston

Lovers of life's finer pleasures make The Chop House in Charleston Town Center a frequent destination. It is a dining experience of exceptional refinement & refreshment. Offering the stars of the American chop house tradition, USDA Prime Beef, classic Veal Chop, Roasted Rack of Venison, luscious Colorado Rib Lamb Chop, , Fresh Lobster, Ports, Cognac, Single Malt Scotch, Fine Hand Rolled Cigars & more, all served with distinctive style in a strong, luxurious setting of comfortable leather & beautiful wood. click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_char.html

1003 Charleston Town Center
Charleston, WV 25389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 344-3954

Website:
http://www.thechophouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking* is now available!
Monday –Saturday Only.
To better serve you and to create a memorable dining experience for you and your guests, we now offer Valet Parking for your convenience.
*Restrictions Apply: Excludes parking during Civic Center Events. Cost is $10 per vehicle, plus gratuity to the Valet Attendant. No overnight parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Sink into the luxury of the private glass room at The Chop House in Charleston, with seating for up to 20 it is the perfect place to host a business dinner, wedding rehearsal dinner or birthday celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Glen Pyle: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 5 days ago

Dined with a first time visiting couple to WV from Louisiana on business/pleasure. They, as well as my wife and I considered the evening very enjoyable, the food great and the table service even better! Perfect evening for our expectations!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Phenomenal food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The lobster bites are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Nice and quiet. Food was delicious. Waiter was helpful and went the extra mile. Bourbon gelato was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I liked this place but there were two things that I didn't care for...
The decor was strange and did not flow. Nothing made sense. It was dusty and for a place that charges what they do for food, cleaning should be of utmost importance.
The server seemed okay. We had a gift card and the remainder of the total was $2.45. I put $22 in the book with the gift card and he brought back a receipt for the remaining $2.45 due. This shouldn't have happened. I guess it wasn't obvious the remainder that wasn't covered in the gift card was to be taken from the cash left with the remainder for the server in the tip.
This made the server seem dishonest.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Best restaurant in Charleston---stellar service, excellent food---loved the shrimp & grits!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My filet mignon was slightly over done. I ordered medium rare, and it was almost medium well. It was still good, so I did not complain. However, I will send it back next time if this occurs again. Previous visits resulted in perfectly cooked meat (filet mignons). The waiter asked how my filet was cooked, and I answered prematurely before actually taking a bite, so I take the blame for not communicating accurately. The kale, quinoa salad was superb, large enough to share. The garlic smashed potatoes were great, but also large enough proportions to share.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great service, great food, excellent wine. My wife and I will be back when we come next year!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Every thing was great as usual. The bartender Mathew was fantastic. The one negative was that they didint have espresso. I was told that the machine had broken and they were not going to replace it. NO and I Mean NO fine eating establishment should ever say they dont have espresso. Totaly bush league. Lucky for the restaurant The bar tender Mathew went to Pannera next door and got it for us. He saved the evening. That is what Top service is supposed to be like. Get the espresso machine replaced or fixed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food and service are "Great!" However, each time we have gone to the Charleston Chop House, we found the noise level to be excessively loud...especially concerning its reputation for good food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was very good. One of the better steaks in Charleston. Nice decor and good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went to the Chop House for our anniversary dinner. Food was overpriced for what you got. Ordered an 11oz filet mignon and it was no where near 11oz, but it was cooked to order, I'll give it that. All the sides were al a cart. Nothing came with that measly piece of meat. We had to ask for water and we didn't get the complimentary rolls or bread. When we asked the waiter why we didn't get the bread, he said that he forgot. Never did get the bread. Service was mediocre at best. For the money that they are charging for their food, I expected better service for a so called upscale restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The Birthday discount gives the "lower income" class the opportunity to enjoy the excellent cuisine and pamper their loved one on their special day. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Overall I was disappointed with this visit. The wait service was very good, but the appetizer and salad portions were way too large for a 5 star restaurant. The steaks were prepared correctly, but not tender. The grilled Asparagus was not cleaned properly and a little under done. This was not as good as the last time we visited.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I visited the chop house on Wednesday April 12 @ around 7. The place was empty which worried me at first but the staff was well dressed, greeted me promptly, and sat me immediately. I don't remember my servers name.
At first glance at the menu the prices almost took my breath (expensive). Again I was impressed with the level of class and the relaxed but elegant decor and environment so I decided that I'd judge prices based on food quantity, accuracy, and quality rather than just what I'm used to.
I ordered a filet mignon and was given the option for salad and bread which I took advantage of.
The salad was extra money but it was HUGE. My steak arrived (cooked perfectly medium per my request) before I finished my salad but the combination of the two was fantastic. There were three types of bread that were all equally fantastic. My total including tip came to around $65 for just me but it was undoubtedly one of the top 5 meals I've ever eaten. I walked away full, satisfied, and wanting to return... I'd say money well spent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was excellent. We had steaks, lobster bites, soups, and appetizers. The waiter was only ok. A little slow. Maybe he had too many tables? And he was a bit short/miffed if we asked questions. At all. And clearly had an attitude. We won't go back, which is a shame because the steaks were so good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Dining at the chophouse was an experience that was unforgettable. The service and food were excellent. The waiter was so attentive that he noticed when my napkin hit the floor and replaced it without having to be asked to. It was a great meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent! Sea bass was outstanding! Tim was terrific. Was spectacular from begginning to end

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took my wife there for her birthday which is a great deal they offer on birthdays. Nice upscale restaurant. Food was very good. Steaks cooked to perfection with very good flavor. Shane was our waiter and he did an excellent job. First time there for my wife and she loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We ate there twice in three nights in the area. Both nights the service was acceptable. The first night the steaks were excellent. The cheese cake was acceptable. The second night the steaks were a bit over cooked and I tried the venison which came out basically rare. The flavor was quite shallow and seemed to last only as deep as the glaze penetrated it. It was a bit to under cooked to really be edible at its core, and for better or worse due to the lack of any flavor there was no real desire to try to eat it. So in summary, stick to the steaks, avoid the venison and hope they get them temp right.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very enjoyable meal, the pork chops were excellent as well as the grilled asparagus

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Perfectly cooked Filet Mignon and very healthy salad consisting of kale, quinoa, and shredded red cabbage, all formed into the shape of a cup. Great garlic smashed potatoes, too!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Seafood was excellent, especially for a steak house. Sea bass & lump crabmeat & lobster cakes were superior. Generous portions

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. Matt, our server, was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I'm visiting from New York City, so I tend to look at things through that lens. Bottom line, if you're selling $49 steaks and $38 fish entrees, everything better be perfect. And it isn't. The food is good, but not excellent. Average sauces, glumpy mashed potatoes, poor cocktails. The sweet and sour calamari was a hot mess. Like something you'd get at Hooters. Our service was less than amateurish. This server seemed like he had never served before. Look, in Charleston, this is big deal. And the ambiance is nice, and the intentions are good. But need to improve on the bartending, improve on the server training, and step up on the little thing like sauces and sides and appetizers.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wanted prime steak and in WV choices are limited. My steak was cooked perfectly, tasted good, but was not prime in my opinion. Too much gristle and part was tough. Sides were average. Have never had an issue with price when the product is equal to the cost. Service was good. Overall, not worth the price. I wish it were different because we eat out 4 times a week.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food, excellent wait staff. We went for a pre valentines dinner and we're blown away at the attention to detail they show. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, drink selection and dessert. It is definately pricy but in my opinion it's worth every penny.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. Service did not match up to food and price. Very poor. No one followed up as to our experience. Poor management.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a nice date with my husband, something different around the Charleston area..oh my goodness. We got the three cheese baked macaroni and the filet mignon, both were cooked to perfection. The service was friendly also. We will be going back for our anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, People Watching, Casual, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

it was very good. probably the best steak i've ever eaten and the service was excellent. never go more than a few minutes with just a half empty cup

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We normally order the filet and cowboy steak but decided to try something new. The crab and lobster cakes and the sea bass were phenomenal. Can't wait to return!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food and service were excellent as always. The atmosphere was perfect for my birthday celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overrated for the price. We were there at 5 PM on. Saturday and they were out of our order. Seriously? For a place with high prices, there doesn't appear to be a dress code. I expect that men would need a collared shirt & maybe a sport jacket. Not the case. Flannel and work boots accepted. My second visit there and my last.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner. We both had salmon which was excellent. The fish and side portions were very large. Couldn't finish. Service was good. Food arrived in a reasonable amount of time. There was a large party of businessmen there at the time and they got a little loud but not too bad. The dining room is small.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It took us 2 hours to eat - service was very slow. The restaurant was beautiful and wine was excellent. For the price you are paying, I would have expected above average service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Good service, terrible food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always outstanding food and service!! Jason was our waiter and he is always top notch..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Establish a dress code & enforce it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nicest restaurant in Charleston with possible exception of Laury's

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding. I expected a showier presentation for the fine dining experience I thought it was suppose to be. Very overpriced for the 1 hour dining experience. I'll go somewhere else for my next special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.