Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Chop House - Charleston

Lovers of life's finer pleasures make The Chop House in Charleston Town Center a frequent destination. It is a dining experience of exceptional refinement & refreshment. Offering the stars of the American chop house tradition, USDA Prime Beef, classic Veal Chop, Roasted Rack of Venison, luscious Colorado Rib Lamb Chop, , Fresh Lobster, Ports, Cognac, Single Malt Scotch, Fine Hand Rolled Cigars & more, all served with distinctive style in a strong, luxurious setting of comfortable leather & beautiful wood. click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_char.html

1003 Charleston Town Center
Charleston, WV 25389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 344-3954

Website:
http://www.thechophouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking* is now available!
Monday –Saturday Only.
To better serve you and to create a memorable dining experience for you and your guests, we now offer Valet Parking for your convenience.
*Restrictions Apply: Excludes parking during Civic Center Events. Cost is $10 per vehicle, plus gratuity to the Valet Attendant. No overnight parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Sink into the luxury of the private glass room at The Chop House in Charleston, with seating for up to 20 it is the perfect place to host a business dinner, wedding rehearsal dinner or birthday celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Glen Pyle: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Visited The Chop House for my wife's birthday on a Monday evening. The food was excellent and the staff, especially Bianca, was amazing. We had a wonderful evening celebrating. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was good, but no better than other high end restaurants in the Charleston area. Price is much higher than nicer restaurants in the local area. Service was very good, but it should’ve been.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Can't beat the Chop House on your birthday. Always great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I got the amazing venison, because potato and vegetable were included for $40. Most of the other entrees did not include either, without spending another $20 plus more than $40 just for the steak, alone. Unlike Outback, in the same Mall, which always has great comparable quality steak entrees for less with 2 sides included.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was excellent as always, and our server Bryant was very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always great food and service. Service was a little too attentive this evening. Would have liked 5 minutes to catch up with husband. Always a great place to dine!!! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Visited several times and am never disappointed. Excellent atmosphere, outstanding food, outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was my daughter;s 60th birthday and I wanted the evening to be special. We all ordered the weekend special that was $39.95. This included a special wine. We never received the wine. Finally at the end of the meal we mentioned that we had not received it and so they then offered it. and as we had paid for drinks during dinner, we no longer wanted it. They did go ahead and bring one glass. The restaurant was not crowded at all, so I was very disapointed in the evening. i would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Overall this evening was a good meal. Probably the first time I did not have a perfect filet - a bit fatty and the asparagus was undercooked. But I have eaten there at least 50 time and this was the first. Great staff and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Our server was outstanding (wish i could remember her name), you would have thought it was her restaurant.
I'm not from the Charleston WV area, but my customers are, and i know that they will be taking their wives there in the future.
An extremely satisfying experience!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food for a special occasion! Service was great also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

A great restaurant for special occasions, or just a high end dinner. Always great service and fine dining in a nice quiet setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The staff is amazing! Friendly! The food was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

They said all their meat was Prime wet aged. My steak was very tough. My wife had the Waygu beef and Frites. She sent the first one back and the second one they brought was just as bad. It was full of grissel, and very tough. Neither of our steaks were close to Prime beef!!
Their website said they had valet parking, but they had no attendant that night, so we had to park on the mall parking garage, which did not seem very safe at 10 pm when we left.
A terrible experience!! Stay away!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The service was impeccable. The only suggestion would be a little more seasoning on the waygu ribeye as it was a little bland. Every other item from the lobster bites to the salads, my wife's crab cakes and finally our desserts were delicious. We will definitely return for one of our birthdays soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Bryant our wait staff was amazing, very informative and helpful for our dinner selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food and service as expected for price range.
Congenial and helpful staff.
Happy hour $6.00 martinis with house (New Amsterdam )gin well prepared.
Bar food a Tasty Bargain.
Great half off bargain for birthdays.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

As always great service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary here. The restaurant was inviting. There were quite a few people there but it wasn't loud. I understand why reservations are needed. Our Host was very nice and helpful. The menu was on tablet and easy to navigate. Our food was amazing. Our dining experience was overall what we expected. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very good steak. Very pricey.
I would recommend to someone with extra money for a exceptional cut of meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I was surprised to find this gem in Charleston. Would recommend to anyone that enjoys fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Dined with a first time visiting couple to WV from Louisiana on business/pleasure. They, as well as my wife and I considered the evening very enjoyable, the food great and the table service even better! Perfect evening for our expectations!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Phenomenal food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The lobster bites are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The only thing I thought was not good ,in this type of place the customers should be dressed better. This type of restaurant should have a dress code. We did enjoyed everything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Nice and quiet. Food was delicious. Waiter was helpful and went the extra mile. Bourbon gelato was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I liked this place but there were two things that I didn't care for...
The decor was strange and did not flow. Nothing made sense. It was dusty and for a place that charges what they do for food, cleaning should be of utmost importance.
The server seemed okay. We had a gift card and the remainder of the total was $2.45. I put $22 in the book with the gift card and he brought back a receipt for the remaining $2.45 due. This shouldn't have happened. I guess it wasn't obvious the remainder that wasn't covered in the gift card was to be taken from the cash left with the remainder for the server in the tip.
This made the server seem dishonest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Best restaurant in Charleston---stellar service, excellent food---loved the shrimp & grits!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My filet mignon was slightly over done. I ordered medium rare, and it was almost medium well. It was still good, so I did not complain. However, I will send it back next time if this occurs again. Previous visits resulted in perfectly cooked meat (filet mignons). The waiter asked how my filet was cooked, and I answered prematurely before actually taking a bite, so I take the blame for not communicating accurately. The kale, quinoa salad was superb, large enough to share. The garlic smashed potatoes were great, but also large enough proportions to share.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great service, great food, excellent wine. My wife and I will be back when we come next year!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Every thing was great as usual. The bartender Mathew was fantastic. The one negative was that they didint have espresso. I was told that the machine had broken and they were not going to replace it. NO and I Mean NO fine eating establishment should ever say they dont have espresso. Totaly bush league. Lucky for the restaurant The bar tender Mathew went to Pannera next door and got it for us. He saved the evening. That is what Top service is supposed to be like. Get the espresso machine replaced or fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food and service are "Great!" However, each time we have gone to the Charleston Chop House, we found the noise level to be excessively loud...especially concerning its reputation for good food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was very good. One of the better steaks in Charleston. Nice decor and good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went to the Chop House for our anniversary dinner. Food was overpriced for what you got. Ordered an 11oz filet mignon and it was no where near 11oz, but it was cooked to order, I'll give it that. All the sides were al a cart. Nothing came with that measly piece of meat. We had to ask for water and we didn't get the complimentary rolls or bread. When we asked the waiter why we didn't get the bread, he said that he forgot. Never did get the bread. Service was mediocre at best. For the money that they are charging for their food, I expected better service for a so called upscale restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The Birthday discount gives the "lower income" class the opportunity to enjoy the excellent cuisine and pamper their loved one on their special day. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Overall I was disappointed with this visit. The wait service was very good, but the appetizer and salad portions were way too large for a 5 star restaurant. The steaks were prepared correctly, but not tender. The grilled Asparagus was not cleaned properly and a little under done. This was not as good as the last time we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I visited the chop house on Wednesday April 12 @ around 7. The place was empty which worried me at first but the staff was well dressed, greeted me promptly, and sat me immediately. I don't remember my servers name.
At first glance at the menu the prices almost took my breath (expensive). Again I was impressed with the level of class and the relaxed but elegant decor and environment so I decided that I'd judge prices based on food quantity, accuracy, and quality rather than just what I'm used to.
I ordered a filet mignon and was given the option for salad and bread which I took advantage of.
The salad was extra money but it was HUGE. My steak arrived (cooked perfectly medium per my request) before I finished my salad but the combination of the two was fantastic. There were three types of bread that were all equally fantastic. My total including tip came to around $65 for just me but it was undoubtedly one of the top 5 meals I've ever eaten. I walked away full, satisfied, and wanting to return... I'd say money well spent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was excellent. We had steaks, lobster bites, soups, and appetizers. The waiter was only ok. A little slow. Maybe he had too many tables? And he was a bit short/miffed if we asked questions. At all. And clearly had an attitude. We won't go back, which is a shame because the steaks were so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.