Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About The Chop House - Charleston

Lovers of life's finer pleasures make The Chop House in Charleston Town Center a frequent destination. It is a dining experience of exceptional refinement & refreshment. Offering the stars of the American chop house tradition, USDA Prime Beef, classic Veal Chop, Roasted Rack of Venison, luscious Colorado Rib Lamb Chop, , Fresh Lobster, Ports, Cognac, Single Malt Scotch, Fine Hand Rolled Cigars & more, all served with distinctive style in a strong, luxurious setting of comfortable leather & beautiful wood. click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_char.html

1003 Charleston Town Center
Charleston, WV 25389
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 344-3954

Website:
http://www.thechophouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking* is now available!
Monday –Saturday Only.
To better serve you and to create a memorable dining experience for you and your guests, we now offer Valet Parking for your convenience.
*Restrictions Apply: Excludes parking during Civic Center Events. Cost is $10 per vehicle, plus gratuity to the Valet Attendant. No overnight parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Sink into the luxury of the private glass room at The Chop House in Charleston, with seating for up to 20 it is the perfect place to host a business dinner, wedding rehearsal dinner or birthday celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Glen Pyle: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Chop House - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Business Meals (14)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great Beer (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent! Sea bass was outstanding! Tim was terrific. Was spectacular from begginning to end

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took my wife there for her birthday which is a great deal they offer on birthdays. Nice upscale restaurant. Food was very good. Steaks cooked to perfection with very good flavor. Shane was our waiter and he did an excellent job. First time there for my wife and she loved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We ate there twice in three nights in the area. Both nights the service was acceptable. The first night the steaks were excellent. The cheese cake was acceptable. The second night the steaks were a bit over cooked and I tried the venison which came out basically rare. The flavor was quite shallow and seemed to last only as deep as the glaze penetrated it. It was a bit to under cooked to really be edible at its core, and for better or worse due to the lack of any flavor there was no real desire to try to eat it. So in summary, stick to the steaks, avoid the venison and hope they get them temp right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very enjoyable meal, the pork chops were excellent as well as the grilled asparagus

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Perfectly cooked Filet Mignon and very healthy salad consisting of kale, quinoa, and shredded red cabbage, all formed into the shape of a cup. Great garlic smashed potatoes, too!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Seafood was excellent, especially for a steak house. Sea bass & lump crabmeat & lobster cakes were superior. Generous portions

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. Matt, our server, was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I'm visiting from New York City, so I tend to look at things through that lens. Bottom line, if you're selling $49 steaks and $38 fish entrees, everything better be perfect. And it isn't. The food is good, but not excellent. Average sauces, glumpy mashed potatoes, poor cocktails. The sweet and sour calamari was a hot mess. Like something you'd get at Hooters. Our service was less than amateurish. This server seemed like he had never served before. Look, in Charleston, this is big deal. And the ambiance is nice, and the intentions are good. But need to improve on the bartending, improve on the server training, and step up on the little thing like sauces and sides and appetizers.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wanted prime steak and in WV choices are limited. My steak was cooked perfectly, tasted good, but was not prime in my opinion. Too much gristle and part was tough. Sides were average. Have never had an issue with price when the product is equal to the cost. Service was good. Overall, not worth the price. I wish it were different because we eat out 4 times a week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food, excellent wait staff. We went for a pre valentines dinner and we're blown away at the attention to detail they show. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, drink selection and dessert. It is definately pricy but in my opinion it's worth every penny.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. Service did not match up to food and price. Very poor. No one followed up as to our experience. Poor management.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a nice date with my husband, something different around the Charleston area..oh my goodness. We got the three cheese baked macaroni and the filet mignon, both were cooked to perfection. The service was friendly also. We will be going back for our anniversary!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, People Watching, Casual, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

it was very good. probably the best steak i've ever eaten and the service was excellent. never go more than a few minutes with just a half empty cup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We normally order the filet and cowboy steak but decided to try something new. The crab and lobster cakes and the sea bass were phenomenal. Can't wait to return!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food and service were excellent as always. The atmosphere was perfect for my birthday celebration.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overrated for the price. We were there at 5 PM on. Saturday and they were out of our order. Seriously? For a place with high prices, there doesn't appear to be a dress code. I expect that men would need a collared shirt & maybe a sport jacket. Not the case. Flannel and work boots accepted. My second visit there and my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner. We both had salmon which was excellent. The fish and side portions were very large. Couldn't finish. Service was good. Food arrived in a reasonable amount of time. There was a large party of businessmen there at the time and they got a little loud but not too bad. The dining room is small.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It took us 2 hours to eat - service was very slow. The restaurant was beautiful and wine was excellent. For the price you are paying, I would have expected above average service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Good service, terrible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always outstanding food and service!! Jason was our waiter and he is always top notch..

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Establish a dress code & enforce it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nicest restaurant in Charleston with possible exception of Laury's

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding. I expected a showier presentation for the fine dining experience I thought it was suppose to be. Very overpriced for the 1 hour dining experience. I'll go somewhere else for my next special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary when we booked a table at the Chop House. From the moment we walked in we were treated like very special guests. The service was superb and the food was delectable. It was truly a peaceful, enjoyable experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I have dined at The Chop House about a dozen times and I have always had a very good experience. The food is always cooked to specification, side dishes are large enough for at least 3 people if not 4, and the salads are very generous. The wait staff are very knowledgeable about the wine list and are usually able to give good recommendations. I normally go here for business dinners, but have also dined with adult family members. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are planning to spend $100.00 - $150.00+ for dinner for two people - more if you have several alcoholic drinks. The attire is dressy casual, but I definitely would not feel over dressed if I were to wear my best "little black dress" and my dinner guest wore a suit and tie. Great meeting place for business or a special occasion with family and/or friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is the second time I have been to the Chop House. I would recommend the lamb lollipops as an appetizer. The main issue I had was that our food took so long to be delivered and my steak was slightly overcooked. I did speak with the manager about it and he apologized and did comp the price of our meal.

I don't know if going on a Wednesday night was the problem. Last time I went was on a Friday.

I will go again, but probably only on a weekend night as that may be when they have their "A Team" staff on the schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Top notch. Will definitely return. Food was delicious service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wife and I both had filet and both steaks were poorly seasoned. The sides and salads were tasty but I expected more of the steak preparation. Certainly not worth $45 for unseasoned steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I dine here on a regular basis and the food and service always exceed my expectations, Drinks are pricey but good. I had the pork chop special instead of the normal steak. It was awesome and a good value. Renee was most attentive and totally responsive. Great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was a business dinner. Staff were very attentive and professional. Food was well prepared and very tasty. Price point is on the high end, but the experience was worth while.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have eaten here several times on our way through W. Va from NC. The steaks are fabulous. We love the side items. Great food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

They were slammed with concert-goers, so the overall feel was not the same. Nevertheless, we always enjoy this restaurant. We'll be back!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a very nice atmosphere and great service. The restaurant was very busy due to a concert at the civic center which may have contributed to our food not being as warm as it should have been. Paying $70 a plate there shouldn't be any qualms with the food but it wasn't their best effort. For the best dinner in Charleston, ChopHouse is losing their spot even being in the conversation right now.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great service and food before the Garth Brooks concert. Online reservation system was easy to use and the wait time was short .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Drove to Charleston for the Garth Brooks concert. Made reservation online for The Chop House. Great atmosphere and great food. Service was excellent. Enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food. Great service! We enjoyed our evening very much, and recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We wanted a restaurant close to the Civic Center as we were going directly to a concert afterward, and saw Chop House on the map we were looking at. I asked a friend about it, being a Charleston native, and she said Chop House was very good, if a little pricey. We had amazing margaritas, a filet, the crab and lobster cakes, garlic smashed potatoes, and steamed broccoli and were very impressed! Excellent food! Very good service. Very nice atmosphere. We were in and out within an hour and made it to the concert in plenty of time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Server was excellent xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The service and food were very good! I am quite sure I and my date will dine there in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.