About The Chop House - Charleston

1003 Charleston Town Center
Charleston, WV 25389
View Larger Map

Lovers of life's finer pleasures make The Chop House in Charleston Town Center a frequent destination. It is a dining experience of exceptional refinement & refreshment. Offering the stars of the American chop house tradition, USDA Prime Beef, classic Veal Chop, Roasted Rack of Venison, luscious Colorado Rib Lamb Chop, , Fresh Lobster, Ports, Cognac, Single Malt Scotch, Fine Hand Rolled Cigars & more, all served with distinctive style in a strong, luxurious setting of comfortable leather & beautiful wood. click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_char.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 344-3954

Website:
http://www.thechophouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking* is now available!
Monday –Saturday Only.
To better serve you and to create a memorable dining experience for you and your guests, we now offer Valet Parking for your convenience.
*Restrictions Apply: Excludes parking during Civic Center Events. Cost is $10 per vehicle, plus gratuity to the Valet Attendant. No overnight parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Sink into the luxury of the private glass room at The Chop House in Charleston, with seating for up to 20 it is the perfect place to host a business dinner, wedding rehearsal dinner or birthday celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Glen Pyle: 888-456-3463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Maryland Lump Crab & Lobster Cakes
  • Parmesan Encrusted Halibut
Maryland Lump Crab & Lobster Cakes
Parmesan Encrusted Halibut

The Chop House - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
5 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Best Value
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food were outstanding. Both ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. Both of us had the Expresso rubbed filet which was awesome. Our server, Thea, was responsive and made our meal a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected find in Charleston...although ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Unexpected find in Charleston...although a chain restaurant, the food and service were exceptional at this location. Our waiter gave accurate descriptions of the appetizers and entrees. Food was well prepared and our table was ideal to have a family meal. Would definitely come back here when headed to or through Charleston, WV.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we were served was delicious. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything we were served was delicious. Best formal restaurant in Charleston by a mile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just excellent all around. Very nicely s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Just excellent all around. Very nicely shucked oysters and perfectly cooked Filet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food and service were great ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Although the food and service were great, our seating was not optimal. We were placed in the bar area, I think because the place was not crowed. No one was seated next to us, so we did have some privacy. However, the main dining area (where we have always been seated on our previous visits) is much nicer than the bar area. Since we did have reservations, I would have thought we would be seated in the main dining area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We mada s reservation for a party of two ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We mada s reservation for a party of two and we were seated at a perfect table for the two of us. We arrived and returned to our hotel just across the street, the Embassy Suites, via the hotel van, and the Chop House maitre d' called ahead for our pick up, which was very appreciated. Our lovely server was very friendly in a most professional way, and she made sure we enjoyed a delicious dinner along with our wine, a special occasion for us. We thought the way our entrees were service was a step above the usual, too. Would highly recommend for any special evening. Being from the San Francisco bay area, we have outstanding restaurants here to compare to the Chop House, and this one comes out at the top!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always. Business tra ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Business traveler on my own so appreciate their happy hour at the bar. Great food selections and discount glasses of wine and other cocktails. Love the sesame Salmon over seaweed salad and shrimp cocktail! The red and white wines for happy hour are nice selection too! Service exceptional too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to The Chop Hous ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was my first visit to The Chop House. I chose it for its close proximity to my hotel and from reviews on OpenTable. Ordering is done on a digital device at the table and the server showed me how to find the wine list by the glass. I ordered a salad which was tasty but very, very large. I ordered the rib lamb chops (I believe from Australia) with au gratin potatoes. I was disappointed in the lamb chops because they were quite fatty--more fat than meat-- and served more rare than I requested (I requested that they be cooked medium to just a little pink.) I enjoyed the large portion of au gratin potatoes which were quite delicious . When I told the female server why I was disappointed in the lamb, she offered to get me another entrée but I said I was filling up on the salad and potatoes and didn't want another protein. She had the lamb taken off my bill which I consider an effective customer remedy. She also offered a free dessert but I really was full and didn't want something sugary anyway. Considering what the restaurant did to satisfy me, I would recommend the restaurant to others and would be happy to try it again the next time I'm in Charleston, WV. The atmosphere and décor of the restaurant show luxurious comfort and an old-fashioned vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food! Presentation was perfec ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food! Presentation was perfect waitress was very knowledgable. We were just traveling through the area would go back if it was in OKLAHOMA.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server knocked it out of the park. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server knocked it out of the park. Our meals were amazing! The Chop House wins most improved restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Bryant was absolutely a joy. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our server Bryant was absolutely a joy. He was very attentive and entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We could not have had better service tha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We could not have had better service than by Catherine at the bar and by David at the table. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed this place. Their lamb ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this place. Their lamb chops were perfect as well as their drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than the typical white table clot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Better than the typical white table cloth chain steak house. Sides could be improved...add creamed spinach to steamed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I chose the location to celebrate my 68t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I chose the location to celebrate my 68th birthday with some family, the free meal for myself was and incentive. I also chose it because it serves Beef Wellington, which is becoming difficult to find. While the prices were on the high side the overall care, attention, service and food quality were tremendous. One of our party is employed in the food industry at a family restaurant specializing in steaks. He said that he may have been spoiled for there steaks after sampling his. While the sides are ala carte they are large enough to be shared by several people.

If I return to the Charleston WV area I am very likely to return to Chops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful! From the wine and main c

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

ourse to the waiters. The employees all worked to help each other and make all the people dining have a great experience. The food was cooked to perfection. This was our one date night on our trip in WV and we were very impressed, we enjoyed ourselves and the food very much.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and the best service anywhere

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The halibut, my husband's pork chops, the sides, the lobster bisque, the salad were all spectacular, but my filet was not up to the standard we are used to enjoying at this fine restaurant. It was not anywhere near as thick, nor was it as lean, as it typically is. Even so, you can't find a better waitstaff. Thomas was personable, charming, and anticipated our needs before we even did--even plating my husband's birthday cake for each of our guests! One inferior steak will not keep us away.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We both had the halibut special which wa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We both had the halibut special which was awesome. Learning from the night before, we split the wedge salad which was again served crisp and cool. Half an order worked great. Bryant's table service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both my food and service were excellent. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Both my food and service were excellent. The expresso rubbed filet was cooked to perfection. The wedge salad was likewise delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We booked on Open Table, since we were t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We booked on Open Table, since we were travelling. We got a table at a convenient time at "the last minute".

Food, service, and wine were all super.

Since it was a "high protein" meal, we had to do a dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jerry

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the wedge salad and espresso rubbed filet mignon. Both were outstanding and the service provided by Thea was awesome. Prices are a little high but everything was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jerry

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I have dined here numerous times and have been impressed on those previous visits however this time was disappointing. I normally have the filet mignon but decided to try something different. Two of my three lamb chops were excellent however I couldn't even cut the third one. Tried eating it with my fingers however it was so bony and gristley that I could not get any meat from it. Another member of our party had the fish and after sending it back twice decided not to eat it. Hoping this was an anomaly but embarrassing for a business meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Last time I was here I noticed others ea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Last time I was here I noticed others eating burgers that looked delicious. So I ordered this time and it was fantastic. Also enjoyed shrimp cocktail. Discount wines at bar too for happy hour. Catherine, bartender, was very nice and attentive to my needs and others. Very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Experience

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We selected The Chop House based on its reputation and it exceeded our expectations. The service by all the team was excellent -- especially like the personal feeling and made it special for my wife's birthday. Waiter was very helpful and guided us to some wine we really enjoyed. The steaks exceeded our expectations and the waiter made sure each was to our liking. The room we were in was a little "cramped" and no windows but do not let this stop you from going to this restaurant. Highly recommend The Chop House for special occasion or group meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

DO NOT MISS THIS ONE

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

While I may go to the Chop House in Ann Arbor more often, this location is the best in terms of service. I asked for a "hearts of romaine" ceasar and it came with many dark green leaves. They whisked it away and brought a replacement instantly with apologies.

My Dover Sole Meuniere was the best I have had. My husband's steak was excellent, as well.

If you find yourself in Charleston, don't even consider anyplace else to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The food was very good as it always is when I go there. However, the service was horrendous. There's no reason to wait for over an hour and ten minutes to receive the entree after the appetizers were finished. For a two person table/ticket that cost $200+ the service should be notably better. Especially when it was a slow evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Less than expected!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We moved to the area recently and Saturday was my anniversary. I had been to the restaurant previously and enjoyed myself and told the family I would have to take them.

When we arrived we used valet parking - the gentlemen were extremely friendly and efficient. Our reservation and table were ready and we were taken to our table immediately - so far, so good.

The waiter was not on his game is the best way to describe his attitude. We ordered our drinks (2 glasses of wine and 1 glass of milk) and two appetizers. the shrimp cocktail was enjoyable (shrimp had started to freezer burn) and the lobster bites were - just okay, they were not hot (been sitting in the window to long). My wife ordered the seasoned salmon - she was not impressed as previous guests had noted on their review (ordering seafood at a steak restaurant). My daughter ordered the lobster bisque - way to salty. I ordered the 11oz filet med-rare - it was over cooked. The bill was just under $250.00 (including valet and tip).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent experience

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We had an excellent dinner with our young children with us. The food was great, but the service made the experience amazing! Thank you for the excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. My go to place ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food and service. My go to place in Charleston for that special occasion. I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Special Birthday

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food and service impeccable. Disappointed to look around and see that our table was the only one without a tablecloth and center ambience light. Attention to detail makes a difference!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A steakhouse that does a fine job but ha ...

vip
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

A steakhouse that does a fine job but has priced themselves for the business dinner and diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Best Restaurant in Charleston

vip
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

This restaurant consistently delivers top quality food and service. The return of the Valet service has cemented this as Charleston's best restaurant. Steak, seafood, salads. Top Notch mixed drinks and a very good wine list with a knowledgeable staff to assist with a selection. Don't let the mall location fool you. This is fine dining. Split the salad. You'll thank me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bryant is an excellent server. He brings ...

vip
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Bryant is an excellent server. He brings a smile to my face every time he serves us. The food was great, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday dinner

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The restaurant was inviting and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious and came at the appropriate times. Our server Justin was engaging and friendly. The only negative was that the bar conversation was extremely loud and disruptive. We were seated right next to the bar area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

SERVICE WAS EXCELLANT AND FOOD WAS GREAT

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was perfect as it normally is at the Chop House. This was the best server we have had at the chop house. I wish I could remember the ladies name. We had a 630 reservation and sat by the fireplace if that helps any? Thanks again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost "Perfect" Charleston West Virginia Eatery

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my husband to The Chop House for his birthday which is also Valentine's Day. Our waiter, Bryant, greeted us and carefully attended to our every request, even making some great suggestions . The service as well as the food was outstanding. It was an awesome evening, comparable to the type of experience I would expect in any world class city. We have only one suggestion; it would be wonderful if The Chop House could consider opening for lunch or a weekend brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chop House

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I'm not one who can afford to enjoy a restaurant such as The Chop House on a regular basis, so my wife and I attended on her birthday to take advantage of their birthday discount.

I'm an avid lover of bread, so the starter bread was very enjoyable. We were served four or five different types. My wife had a filet mignon. It was cooked to perfection and was the best steak either of us had eaten to date. I ordered salmon. It's hard to really improve how well salmon is cooked from restaurant to restaurant. I'd never experienced BBQ salmon, and it was fantastic. Our sides were the smashed potatoes and the macaroni. The potatoes were perfectly made and the macaroni (with the inclusion of a mild pepper taste) was unlike any I'd ever had. Remarkable.

The only negative of our experience was that our table was really close to the door, so it was a little cold in our area (the outside temperature was in the teens that evening). This didn't hinder our time, and we weren't shivering or uncomfortable.

The service was great, and the server was extremely helpful. For the ~$70 we paid for the entirety of our meal due to the birthday discount, it was beyond worth it. It's well worth the full price of the meal, if one has the means. We will, without question, be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

We really enjoyed my birthday celebration. Everything was delicious, and the server (Justin) was very gracious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loud and prices are up

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Very disappointed this time. They gave away our table and moved us off bar and it was very loud and hard to have a conversation. Good was good but prices are getting high.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Tendsto be pricy but great food. Got th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Tendsto be pricy but great food. Got there early (5-630) and ate at bar for happy hour. Great selection with reasonable prices for drink and food. Next to me guys eating a 10 Oz burger that looked fantastic! Ordered the shrimp cocktail and sesame salmon based on recommendations! So glad I did, both were great! Look forward to going back to try the burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.