About The Chop House - Charleston

1003 Charleston Town Center
Charleston, WV 25389
View Larger Map

Lovers of life's finer pleasures make The Chop House in Charleston Town Center a frequent destination. It is a dining experience of exceptional refinement & refreshment. Offering the stars of the American chop house tradition, USDA Prime Beef, classic Veal Chop, Roasted Rack of Venison, luscious Colorado Rib Lamb Chop, , Fresh Lobster, Ports, Cognac, Single Malt Scotch, Fine Hand Rolled Cigars & more, all served with distinctive style in a strong, luxurious setting of comfortable leather & beautiful wood. click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_char.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 344-3954

Website:
http://www.thechophouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking* is now available!
Monday –Saturday Only.
To better serve you and to create a memorable dining experience for you and your guests, we now offer Valet Parking for your convenience.
*Restrictions Apply: Excludes parking during Civic Center Events. Cost is $10 per vehicle, plus gratuity to the Valet Attendant. No overnight parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Sink into the luxury of the private glass room at The Chop House in Charleston, with seating for up to 20 it is the perfect place to host a business dinner, wedding rehearsal dinner or birthday celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Glen Pyle: 888-456-3463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Chop House - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
6 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Fit for Foodies
West Virginia
Romantic
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

special occasion (43)
romantic (32)
notable wine list (23)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and the best service anywhere

Dined on May 13, 2016

The halibut, my husband's pork chops, the sides, the lobster bisque, the salad were all spectacular, but my filet was not up to the standard we are used to enjoying at this fine restaurant. It was not anywhere near as thick, nor was it as lean, as it typically is. Even so, you can't find a better waitstaff. Thomas was personable, charming, and anticipated our needs before we even did--even plating my husband's birthday cake for each of our guests! One inferior steak will not keep us away.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We both had the halibut special which wa ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We both had the halibut special which was awesome. Learning from the night before, we split the wedge salad which was again served crisp and cool. Half an order worked great. Bryant's table service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Both my food and service were excellent. ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Both my food and service were excellent. The expresso rubbed filet was cooked to perfection. The wedge salad was likewise delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We booked on Open Table, since we were t ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We booked on Open Table, since we were travelling. We got a table at a convenient time at "the last minute". Food, service, and wine were all super. Since it was a "high protein" meal, we had to do a dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jerry

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the wedge salad and espresso rubbed filet mignon. Both were outstanding and the service provided by Thea was awesome. Prices are a little high but everything was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Jerry

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I have dined here numerous times and have been impressed on those previous visits however this time was disappointing. I normally have the filet mignon but decided to try something different. Two of my three lamb chops were excellent however I couldn't even cut the third one. Tried eating it with my fingers however it was so bony and gristley that I could not get any meat from it. Another member of our party had the fish and after sending it back twice decided not to eat it. Hoping this was an anomaly but embarrassing for a business meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Last time I was here I noticed others ea ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Last time I was here I noticed others eating burgers that looked delicious. So I ordered this time and it was fantastic. Also enjoyed shrimp cocktail. Discount wines at bar too for happy hour. Catherine, bartender, was very nice and attentive to my needs and others. Very personable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

We selected The Chop House based on its reputation and it exceeded our expectations. The service by all the team was excellent -- especially like the personal feeling and made it special for my wife's birthday. Waiter was very helpful and guided us to some wine we really enjoyed. The steaks exceeded our expectations and the waiter made sure each was to our liking. The room we were in was a little "cramped" and no windows but do not let this stop you from going to this restaurant. Highly recommend The Chop House for special occasion or group meals.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DO NOT MISS THIS ONE

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

While I may go to the Chop House in Ann Arbor more often, this location is the best in terms of service. I asked for a "hearts of romaine" ceasar and it came with many dark green leaves. They whisked it away and brought a replacement instantly with apologies. My Dover Sole Meuniere was the best I have had. My husband's steak was excellent, as well. If you find yourself in Charleston, don't even consider anyplace else to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Service

Dined on March 14, 2016

The food was very good as it always is when I go there. However, the service was horrendous. There's no reason to wait for over an hour and ten minutes to receive the entree after the appetizers were finished. For a two person table/ticket that cost $200+ the service should be notably better. Especially when it was a slow evening.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Less than expected!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We moved to the area recently and Saturday was my anniversary. I had been to the restaurant previously and enjoyed myself and told the family I would have to take them. When we arrived we used valet parking - the gentlemen were extremely friendly and efficient. Our reservation and table were ready and we were taken to our table immediately - so far, so good. The waiter was not on his game is the best way to describe his attitude. We ordered our drinks (2 glasses of wine and 1 glass of milk) and two appetizers. the shrimp cocktail was enjoyable (shrimp had started to freezer burn) and the lobster bites were - just okay, they were not hot (been sitting in the window to long). My wife ordered the seasoned salmon - she was not impressed as previous guests had noted on their review (ordering seafood at a steak restaurant). My daughter ordered the lobster bisque - way to salty. I ordered the 11oz filet med-rare - it was over cooked. The bill was just under $250.00 (including valet and tip).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on February 29, 2016

We had an excellent dinner with our young children with us. The food was great, but the service made the experience amazing! Thank you for the excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. My go to place ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food and service. My go to place in Charleston for that special occasion. I have never been disappointed.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Special Birthday

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food and service impeccable. Disappointed to look around and see that our table was the only one without a tablecloth and center ambience light. Attention to detail makes a difference!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Charleston

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

This restaurant consistently delivers top quality food and service. The return of the Valet service has cemented this as Charleston's best restaurant. Steak, seafood, salads. Top Notch mixed drinks and a very good wine list with a knowledgeable staff to assist with a selection. Don't let the mall location fool you. This is fine dining. Split the salad. You'll thank me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bryant is an excellent server. He brings ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Bryant is an excellent server. He brings a smile to my face every time he serves us. The food was great, as usual.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great birthday dinner

Dined on February 19, 2016

The restaurant was inviting and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious and came at the appropriate times. Our server Justin was engaging and friendly. The only negative was that the bar conversation was extremely loud and disruptive. We were seated right next to the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SERVICE WAS EXCELLANT AND FOOD WAS GREAT

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was perfect as it normally is at the Chop House. This was the best server we have had at the chop house. I wish I could remember the ladies name. We had a 630 reservation and sat by the fireplace if that helps any? Thanks again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost "Perfect" Charleston West Virginia Eatery

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my husband to The Chop House for his birthday which is also Valentine's Day. Our waiter, Bryant, greeted us and carefully attended to our every request, even making some great suggestions . The service as well as the food was outstanding. It was an awesome evening, comparable to the type of experience I would expect in any world class city. We have only one suggestion; it would be wonderful if The Chop House could consider opening for lunch or a weekend brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Chop House

Dined on February 13, 2016

I'm not one who can afford to enjoy a restaurant such as The Chop House on a regular basis, so my wife and I attended on her birthday to take advantage of their birthday discount. I'm an avid lover of bread, so the starter bread was very enjoyable. We were served four or five different types. My wife had a filet mignon. It was cooked to perfection and was the best steak either of us had eaten to date. I ordered salmon. It's hard to really improve how well salmon is cooked from restaurant to restaurant. I'd never experienced BBQ salmon, and it was fantastic. Our sides were the smashed potatoes and the macaroni. The potatoes were perfectly made and the macaroni (with the inclusion of a mild pepper taste) was unlike any I'd ever had. Remarkable. The only negative of our experience was that our table was really close to the door, so it was a little cold in our area (the outside temperature was in the teens that evening). This didn't hinder our time, and we weren't shivering or uncomfortable. The service was great, and the server was extremely helpful. For the ~$70 we paid for the entirety of our meal due to the birthday discount, it was beyond worth it. It's well worth the full price of the meal, if one has the means. We will, without question, be returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday

Dined on February 8, 2016

We really enjoyed my birthday celebration. Everything was delicious, and the server (Justin) was very gracious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

loud and prices are up

Dined on January 27, 2016

Very disappointed this time. They gave away our table and moved us off bar and it was very loud and hard to have a conversation. Good was good but prices are getting high.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Tendsto be pricy but great food. Got th ...

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Tendsto be pricy but great food. Got there early (5-630) and ate at bar for happy hour. Great selection with reasonable prices for drink and food. Next to me guys eating a 10 Oz burger that looked fantastic! Ordered the shrimp cocktail and sesame salmon based on recommendations! So glad I did, both were great! Look forward to going back to try the burger!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining to impress or simply a date night it works!

Dined on January 22, 2016

The environment was super friendly and we never felt rushed. I called 3 times changing the number of diners and they accommodated us. Waiter was great he was both efficient and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special requests

Dined on January 19, 2016

This reservation was made on my behalf for a professional colleague & his new bride. Called ahead to arrange for champagne service [and was later informed] that (it) was executed perfectly. Much appreciated. Will continue to use the Chop House as my "go to" when in town. Staff are always professional & hospitable. Thanks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Great food, service, but bar area???

Dined on January 13, 2016

Food was outstanding, service was perfect, but they sat us in the bar, and it was extremely loud. We tried to get them to move us and it was a no go although I don't think they were too busy at 5:45 pm. The food and service still made it great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice anniversary dinner.

Dined on January 2, 2016

The wait staff was friendly, the food was great, and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Unimpressive

Dined on December 29, 2015

Splurging for our anniversary, I expected to pay big $$$ for the meal, knowing everything on the menu would be grossly overpriced. I ordered the $46.95 Beef Wellington (entree only) Rather than being wrapped in freshly made brioche, as it should be, it was wrapped in store-bought puff pastry. When I commented on this to our server, who had asked us if everything was prepared "to perfection," she giggled nervously and said, "That's the way we make it here." I did not, of course, expect her to change the dough, but perhaps to offer an alternative. Food presentation is minimal at best--mine was the wrapped steak on a plate with an in-artistic splash of reddish brown goo in front of it. It was tasty, however. The worst part of the evening was the very noisy group at the bar in close proximity to us, particularly the piercingly loud cackling woman. Overall, not an excellent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb fare & excellent service!!!

Dined on December 26, 2015

We went to celebrate my parents 50th anniversary. My father & I enjoyed the feature dish, Parmesan crusted halibut with lobster cream sauce. This was truly the best fish dish I've ever tasted. It's not on the menu, but it is featured often according to our waiter. My mother & daughter had crabcakes. They were also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very happy with the food, service was sl ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

Very happy with the food, service was slow at first then over quick.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Evening

Dined on November 27, 2015

Spent an amazing evening with my granddaughter and her other grandmother. Everything was amazing - food, drinks, wine, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Busy and loud at the beginning but it wa ...

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

Busy and loud at the beginning but it was just before a basketball game. Then things quieted down s great deal. Interesting menu with lots of detail. Excellent food with appropriate portions - although I wish they had a 6 oz steak.

food4
ambience4
service5

Solid choice in charleston - when you ca ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Solid choice in charleston - when you can't get reservation at Noah's. If your visiting the city this is an easy location to find right at the large downtown mall (once was largest indoor mall east of Mississippi until the mega malls came into play in the 1980s). Food is good. Solid steaks. Nothing totally outstanding. If your a steak person and used to upscale steak places I'd skip the chop house because you will be disappointed. Service is fantastic. Place is quite. Other options I would recommend if your visiting charleston 1) Noah's - get a reservation it's very small and absolutely amazing - think NYC good 2) south hills market 3) Fazio's and if your looking more casual 4) Bluegrass Kitchen or 5) south hills bistro

food3
ambience2
service3

We weren't that impressed.

Dined on November 13, 2015

Did not compare to Ruth's Chris. The only thing that compared were the prices. The Cowboy was far from prime. We didn't care about the cost,but we expected quality food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food & service

Dined on November 11, 2015

Upon entering the restaurant we were warmly greeted/welcomed by the hostess & promptly escorted to our assigned table. I had previously requested (on the dinner reservation form) for an intimate section of the main dining room & was pleased to receive as such. The hostess appropriately assisted my date into her chair & informed us of our waiter for the evening. We are both frequent guests at the Charleston ChopHouse; making it a point to dine whenever in town or during special occasions [or even "just because"]. Renée was prompt, professional, & hospitable. She recommended a Spanish red wine (Marques de Caceras) that we both enjoyed. Our glasses were never less than half empty as both Renée & her assistant made sure to provide excellent service. Our salads were fresh. Our main course was hot, savory, & cooked to perfection. Although we did not partake in dessert, Renée made sure to uniquely celebrate my birthday upon check presentation. It was much appreciated. We had an exceptional night thanks to the staff (both front of house & kitchen), the food, and the ambiance. Will be returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressed

Dined on November 11, 2015

Ate dinner here after searching for a high-end restaurant in town. Had one friend recommend it. I am very glad we chose this place. The services was outstanding, the menu offered a great variety, the portion sizes were generous and everything tasted extremely good. This is absolutely a place people should go when looking for a very nice dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner

Dined on November 7, 2015

We enjoyed a great evening and dinner at the Chop House. From the time we walked in until we walked out, everything was excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was good and it was a short walk fr ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Food was good and it was a short walk from the hotel. Portions are too big for one person - we should have split both the meal and a single salad.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Day

Dined on October 22, 2015

We came to Charleston to see our niece who is a freshman at UC and to make a special day for her. We ended our day with a lovely dinner at the Chop House. The whole dining experience was wonderful. We were greeted with a smile and sat promptly. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. We all had the fillet mignon, seasoned perfectly, and so tender I could have used a butter knife. My niece and I shared the garlic smashed potatoes which were quite nice. Our dinner was completed with a lovely piece of chocolate tort. My niece enjoyed it so much photos of her food made her Facebook page.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

A bit more attention to beverage fill-up ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

A bit more attention to beverage fill-up would have garnered an excellent server review. As it were the person was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.