About The Chop House - Charleston

1003 Charleston Town Center
Charleston, WV 25389
View Larger Map

Lovers of life's finer pleasures make The Chop House in Charleston Town Center a frequent destination. It is a dining experience of exceptional refinement & refreshment. Offering the stars of the American chop house tradition, USDA Prime Beef, classic Veal Chop, Roasted Rack of Venison, luscious Colorado Rib Lamb Chop, , Fresh Lobster, Ports, Cognac, Single Malt Scotch, Fine Hand Rolled Cigars & more, all served with distinctive style in a strong, luxurious setting of comfortable leather & beautiful wood. click here for special events and promotions information http://msventures.com/thechophouse_web/pages/chop_char.html

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 344-3954

Website:
http://www.thechophouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking* is now available!
Monday –Saturday Only.
To better serve you and to create a memorable dining experience for you and your guests, we now offer Valet Parking for your convenience.
*Restrictions Apply: Excludes parking during Civic Center Events. Cost is $10 per vehicle, plus gratuity to the Valet Attendant. No overnight parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Sink into the luxury of the private glass room at The Chop House in Charleston, with seating for up to 20 it is the perfect place to host a business dinner, wedding rehearsal dinner or birthday celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Glen Pyle: 888-456-3463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Maryland Lump Crab & Lobster Cakes - The Chop House - Charleston, Charleston, WV
  • Parmesan Encrusted Halibut - The Chop House - Charleston, Charleston, WV
Maryland Lump Crab & Lobster Cakes - The Chop House - Charleston, Charleston, WV
Parmesan Encrusted Halibut - The Chop House - Charleston, Charleston, WV

The Chop House - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Charleston ›

Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (7)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time I have been to t ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time I have been to the Chop House. I would recommend the lamb lollipops as an appetizer. The main issue I had was that our food took so long to be delivered and my steak was slightly overcooked. I did speak with the manager about it and he apologized and did comp the price of our meal.

I don't know if going on a Wednesday night was the problem. Last time I went was on a Friday.

I will go again, but probably only on a weekend night as that may be when they have their "A Team" staff on the schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Top notch. Will definitely return. Foo ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 7 days ago

Top notch. Will definitely return. Food was delicious service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wife and I both had filet and both steak ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wife and I both had filet and both steaks were poorly seasoned. The sides and salads were tasty but I expected more of the steak preparation. Certainly not worth $45 for unseasoned steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I dine here on a regular basis and the f ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I dine here on a regular basis and the food and service always exceed my expectations, Drinks are pricey but good. I had the pork chop special instead of the normal steak. It was awesome and a good value. Renee was most attentive and totally responsive. Great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a business dinner. Staff were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was a business dinner. Staff were very attentive and professional. Food was well prepared and very tasty. Price point is on the high end, but the experience was worth while.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times on our ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have eaten here several times on our way through W. Va from NC. The steaks are fabulous. We love the side items. Great food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were slammed with concert-goers, so ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

They were slammed with concert-goers, so the overall feel was not the same. Nevertheless, we always enjoy this restaurant. We'll be back!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a very nice atmosphere and great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a very nice atmosphere and great service. The restaurant was very busy due to a concert at the civic center which may have contributed to our food not being as warm as it should have been. Paying $70 a plate there shouldn't be any qualms with the food but it wasn't their best effort. For the best dinner in Charleston, ChopHouse is losing their spot even being in the conversation right now.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Always great service and great food!

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food before the Garth ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great service and food before the Garth Brooks concert. Online reservation system was easy to use and the wait time was short .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drove to Charleston for the Garth Brooks ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Drove to Charleston for the Garth Brooks concert. Made reservation online for The Chop House. Great atmosphere and great food. Service was excellent. Enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service! We enjoyed o ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food. Great service! We enjoyed our evening very much, and recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a restaurant close to the Civi ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We wanted a restaurant close to the Civic Center as we were going directly to a concert afterward, and saw Chop House on the map we were looking at. I asked a friend about it, being a Charleston native, and she said Chop House was very good, if a little pricey. We had amazing margaritas, a filet, the crab and lobster cakes, garlic smashed potatoes, and steamed broccoli and were very impressed! Excellent food! Very good service. Very nice atmosphere. We were in and out within an hour and made it to the concert in plenty of time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was excellent xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Server was excellent xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and food were very good! I ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The service and food were very good! I am quite sure I and my date will dine there in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was very upset with the service it was h ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Was very upset with the service it was horrible had to ask for refills he was not very patient with children and for the money that was spent the service was not good a steak was not cooked to proper temperature had to be sent back and a side was for gotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service and food were outstanding. Both ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. Both of us had the Expresso rubbed filet which was awesome. Our server, Thea, was responsive and made our meal a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected find in Charleston...although ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Unexpected find in Charleston...although a chain restaurant, the food and service were exceptional at this location. Our waiter gave accurate descriptions of the appetizers and entrees. Food was well prepared and our table was ideal to have a family meal. Would definitely come back here when headed to or through Charleston, WV.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we were served was delicious. ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything we were served was delicious. Best formal restaurant in Charleston by a mile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just excellent all around. Very nicely s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Just excellent all around. Very nicely shucked oysters and perfectly cooked Filet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with our dinner speci ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I was disappointed with our dinner specifically because the food was so salty. I commented on it to the zither and they offered other options to eat but that would have stopped us from eating together.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Although the food and service were great ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Although the food and service were great, our seating was not optimal. We were placed in the bar area, I think because the place was not crowed. No one was seated next to us, so we did have some privacy. However, the main dining area (where we have always been seated on our previous visits) is much nicer than the bar area. Since we did have reservations, I would have thought we would be seated in the main dining area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We mada s reservation for a party of two ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We mada s reservation for a party of two and we were seated at a perfect table for the two of us. We arrived and returned to our hotel just across the street, the Embassy Suites, via the hotel van, and the Chop House maitre d' called ahead for our pick up, which was very appreciated. Our lovely server was very friendly in a most professional way, and she made sure we enjoyed a delicious dinner along with our wine, a special occasion for us. We thought the way our entrees were service was a step above the usual, too. Would highly recommend for any special evening. Being from the San Francisco bay area, we have outstanding restaurants here to compare to the Chop House, and this one comes out at the top!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always. Business tra ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Business traveler on my own so appreciate their happy hour at the bar. Great food selections and discount glasses of wine and other cocktails. Love the sesame Salmon over seaweed salad and shrimp cocktail! The red and white wines for happy hour are nice selection too! Service exceptional too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to The Chop Hous ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was my first visit to The Chop House. I chose it for its close proximity to my hotel and from reviews on OpenTable. Ordering is done on a digital device at the table and the server showed me how to find the wine list by the glass. I ordered a salad which was tasty but very, very large. I ordered the rib lamb chops (I believe from Australia) with au gratin potatoes. I was disappointed in the lamb chops because they were quite fatty--more fat than meat-- and served more rare than I requested (I requested that they be cooked medium to just a little pink.) I enjoyed the large portion of au gratin potatoes which were quite delicious . When I told the female server why I was disappointed in the lamb, she offered to get me another entrée but I said I was filling up on the salad and potatoes and didn't want another protein. She had the lamb taken off my bill which I consider an effective customer remedy. She also offered a free dessert but I really was full and didn't want something sugary anyway. Considering what the restaurant did to satisfy me, I would recommend the restaurant to others and would be happy to try it again the next time I'm in Charleston, WV. The atmosphere and décor of the restaurant show luxurious comfort and an old-fashioned vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food! Presentation was perfec ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food! Presentation was perfect waitress was very knowledgable. We were just traveling through the area would go back if it was in OKLAHOMA.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server knocked it out of the park. ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server knocked it out of the park. Our meals were amazing! The Chop House wins most improved restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Bryant was absolutely a joy. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our server Bryant was absolutely a joy. He was very attentive and entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We could not have had better service tha ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We could not have had better service than by Catherine at the bar and by David at the table. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed this place. Their lamb ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this place. Their lamb chops were perfect as well as their drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than the typical white table clot ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Better than the typical white table cloth chain steak house. Sides could be improved...add creamed spinach to steamed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I chose the location to celebrate my 68t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2016

I chose the location to celebrate my 68th birthday with some family, the free meal for myself was and incentive. I also chose it because it serves Beef Wellington, which is becoming difficult to find. While the prices were on the high side the overall care, attention, service and food quality were tremendous. One of our party is employed in the food industry at a family restaurant specializing in steaks. He said that he may have been spoiled for there steaks after sampling his. While the sides are ala carte they are large enough to be shared by several people.

If I return to the Charleston WV area I am very likely to return to Chops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful! From the wine and main c

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 28, 2016

ourse to the waiters. The employees all worked to help each other and make all the people dining have a great experience. The food was cooked to perfection. This was our one date night on our trip in WV and we were very impressed, we enjoyed ourselves and the food very much.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and the best service anywhere

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The halibut, my husband's pork chops, the sides, the lobster bisque, the salad were all spectacular, but my filet was not up to the standard we are used to enjoying at this fine restaurant. It was not anywhere near as thick, nor was it as lean, as it typically is. Even so, you can't find a better waitstaff. Thomas was personable, charming, and anticipated our needs before we even did--even plating my husband's birthday cake for each of our guests! One inferior steak will not keep us away.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We both had the halibut special which wa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 11, 2016

We both had the halibut special which was awesome. Learning from the night before, we split the wedge salad which was again served crisp and cool. Half an order worked great. Bryant's table service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both my food and service were excellent. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Both my food and service were excellent. The expresso rubbed filet was cooked to perfection. The wedge salad was likewise delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We booked on Open Table, since we were t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We booked on Open Table, since we were travelling. We got a table at a convenient time at "the last minute".

Food, service, and wine were all super.

Since it was a "high protein" meal, we had to do a dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jerry

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2016

I had the wedge salad and espresso rubbed filet mignon. Both were outstanding and the service provided by Thea was awesome. Prices are a little high but everything was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jerry

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 27, 2016

I have dined here numerous times and have been impressed on those previous visits however this time was disappointing. I normally have the filet mignon but decided to try something different. Two of my three lamb chops were excellent however I couldn't even cut the third one. Tried eating it with my fingers however it was so bony and gristley that I could not get any meat from it. Another member of our party had the fish and after sending it back twice decided not to eat it. Hoping this was an anomaly but embarrassing for a business meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Last time I was here I noticed others ea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Last time I was here I noticed others eating burgers that looked delicious. So I ordered this time and it was fantastic. Also enjoyed shrimp cocktail. Discount wines at bar too for happy hour. Catherine, bartender, was very nice and attentive to my needs and others. Very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.