About The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino

2411 W Sahara Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89102
View Larger Map

A Local’s Steakhouse Slightly Off the Strip.
The Charcoal Room features great steaks, fresh fish and daily special selections along with a superb wine list in the heart of Las Vegas. Our bar offers complete dinner service along with fine beverage selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
5pm-10pm Sun-Thurs
5pm-11pm Fri-Sat

Cross Street:
W. Sahara and I-15 Freeway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 221-6678

Website:
http://palacestation.sclv.com/Dining.aspx

Parking Details:
Free Hotel Covered Self Parking in Garage and Complementary Valet.

Public Transit:
Easy access from I-15 Freeway. Complementary shuttle to and from airport and Fashion Show Mall on the Las Vegas Strip. Call front desk for times.

Executive Chef:
Franciso Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether you're planning a business dinner or an intimate social gathering, the upscale elegance of The Charcoal Room at Palace Station's Private Dining Room has the perfect ambiance. Audio visual capabilities are available.

The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Cozy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We eat there often, they've improved ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

We eat there often, they've improved service and food quality which was already great since opening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to the restaurant many time ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to the restaurant many times and every time the food is perfect and service is always attentive. The very best value for such great quality!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salad and potato now included with meal. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Salad and potato now included with meal...makes it so reasonable. The filet mignon was delish!

Tags: , Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible food for the price. Very atte ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Incredible food for the price. Very attentive service and waiter knowledgeable in wines. Wine list could use some improvement but what is there is fairly priced.

Manager visited each table and stopped to talk and ask about food and service.

We fine here frequently for dinner and Happy Hour.

Highly recommended for both.Easily competed with Strip restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, , Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet mignon's were great. Keep the same ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Filet mignon's were great. Keep the same quality when it comes to meat product. Prime rib needs to be better. All you can eat salad was a better idea back in the Broiler Room days, it made the experience much better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter,Gary very knowledgeable. Fran ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waiter,Gary very knowledgeable. Frank (mgr?) made sure everything was ok. It was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent All Around! Food and Service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent All Around! Food and Service were Exemplary. Will definitely return! Great for Family and Friends. Quality Food, prepared and presented in a beautiful manner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Vegas from the east coast a cou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We visit Vegas from the east coast a couple of times every year. We select a steak house each visit and have been to many of the finest in Vegas over the years. The Charcoal Room was a hit and we will definitely return. Great steaks and unbelievable value!

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

This is a much better restaurant than th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a much better restaurant than the one it replaced, if for no other reason than the quality & preparation of the steak, which is on par with about any other high end restaurant, without the pretentiousness. Frank, the manager was extremely personable & helpful in selecting a wine, & stopped by our table several times to make sure we were satisfied. The prices are very reasonable, & the hotel has given us a significant discount coupon on two different stays, which made for a very good value.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It took a while to get our food like 45 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It took a while to get our food like 45 minutes later. Food was excellent. The waiter was not friendly at all with us but noticed that he is friendlier with others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

For the prices and quality of food I wou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

For the prices and quality of food I would have expected better service. My water glass stayed empty most of the time. Dirty plates were left in front of us for a long time - some were never cleared. We poured our own wine most of the time. Tables around us that were dirty were not cleared. Had to ask for steak knives and all four of us were eating steaks. The bar near by was so loud with drunk people that it really took away from a pleasant dining experience. I normally do not like the wait staff to be hovering but we actually felt ignored. If you don't want to talk with other people and you want to watch football on the big screen (sort of like a sports bar) while eating better than bar food menu- then this is place for you. The food was good and well prepared including the deserts.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Had reservations and was seated right aw ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had reservations and was seated right away. Server took a while to take our order. Had the lobster and filet mignon which was awesome. We also had the oysters which were delicious. Our server was a little slow as far as getting the drinks and he didn't really stop by to check on us which was a bummer. Price value was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Another great meal with excellent servic ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Another great meal with excellent service. Such a fun evening. Thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was tasty after we sent back origin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was tasty after we sent back original steak that was cooked incorrectly. How they responded to our concern was great. They have great teamwork. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food, as always, was excellent. Hav ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent. Have never had a bad meal there. Would highly recommend to friends and family. Have only lived in Las Vegas for a short time after relocating from Wisconsin. Best steak I have had here by far! Glad you went from ala carte to full meals. Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were both outst ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and the service were both outstanding. Will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. It was everything I hoped it would be. The place was not crowded and the food and service were excellent. There were a couple of tables that were a bit more loud and distracting, but we really enjoyed ourselves. We come to Las Vegas the same time each year and we'll enjoy dinner here on our next trip. Thank you for a memorable anniversary experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience. Attentive ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Attentive service, great food, and reasonably priced. We love the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding. Brian, our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was outstanding. Brian, our server, was incredible. He was able to answer all our questions on the menu and gave us excellent suggestions on what to order. Food came out hot and the steak was cooked perfect. Enjoyed eating there. Will defiantly go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, , Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great steak at a great price. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was a great steak at a great price. The place was empty and we still had to wait on our server more than we should have. It was our anniversary and nothing special was offered. For a great steak cooked perfectly this is for you. If you want pampering this is not for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was outstanding! I would recom ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was outstanding! I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area! Steaks were cooked to perfection.

Service was a little slow, but was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Have eaten at The Charcoal Room at Palac ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Have eaten at The Charcoal Room at Palace Station on several occassions. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gary our server was excellent, he made u ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Gary our server was excellent, he made us feel special, we love the rib eye steak, big proportion and cooked to our liking, the cilantro sauce Gary recommended was indeed special. Price was just right. Will definitely come here again.g

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food. atmosphere, and service are al ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food. atmosphere, and service are all top quality. It is a great meal for a very good value. All four of the salads are extraordinary. The potatoes au gratin are the best that can be had anywhere. The stakes are really well prepared and flavorful. You have the best prime rib in the city. Above all else your bartender Carrie is the best professional in town and makes every guest feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate our 46th anniversary w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went to celebrate our 46th anniversary with friends. The service was slow, the waiter had to be told three times about getting ice in our water, lemons for the water and to bring each diner a setup to eat. He didn't come back to take the food order for fifteen minutes. The busser was kind enough to get the ice and lemons after we hailed him down. The side was not as ordered and when the waiter finally came back to tell him, most of our dinner was complete. When the re-fire was done, it was still uneatable.

Tags: , Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food. Salad was disappointing. I ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food. Salad was disappointing. I wanted a "cheap"salad-just iceberg lettuce and was told it could not be done. Disappointing and a bad start to the meal. Service was below average. Entree was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The staff was wonderful and the food was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food was amazing. My only issue was the noise from the surrounding area. I understand that yes, it is in a casino but, they did have doors they could have closed to keep the ambiance lovely.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mediocre except for the Kit ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was mediocre except for the Kitchen Sink Caesar Salad which was great! The sauces for the Chilled Seafood Jackpot were not explained. The drawn butter was cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good and the manager was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was good and the manager was a great guy. Unfortunately, our waiter disappeared at the end for about 10 minutes. The other staff was assisting, but he was needed to get our check.

Also, it was loud and unusual how certain staff members kept going out an odd emergency exit door in plain view and in the middle of the restaurant. This was all while the manager was assisting people in the wine room. The staffs a little immature.

All in all, it's a good place for family. I'd go to the Charcoal Room at the Sante Fe Station if you are looking for a date, business or fine dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great steak dinner at reasonable prices ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great steak dinner at reasonable prices compared to others in Vegas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

affordable off strip restaurant, great s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

affordable off strip restaurant, great service, good wine list to fit everyone's price range

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This has become one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This has become one of my favorite restaurants for special restaurants because they treat

you SPECIAL. The seafood specials are fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I eat at the Charcoal Ro ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My daughter and I eat at the Charcoal Room whenever we visit Vegas. The food is always good and the service is outstanding. The servers are always friendly, have good suggestions, and are very helpful. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific upscale steak place in an unlik ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Terrific upscale steak place in an unlikely casino (Palace Station). The pan seared sea bass was fantastic, the best I've had in a long time. The filet mignon was slightly overcooked based on how I ordered it. Took a bit too long to get our order considering the place was not very busy at the time. Other than that, service was great and we would go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Steak cooked perfectly.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great. Steak cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Service was disappointi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Food was great. Service was disappointing. Waitress was more than rude.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Our server, Gary was exceptional. The r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our server, Gary was exceptional. The rest of the experience, not so much. My husband liked his steak. My chicken looked anorexic...and had no taste. The salad was mediocre and the mashed potatoes were average. Not running back there anytime soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall great place. Service and food we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Overall great place. Service and food were amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!!!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.