About The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino

2411 W Sahara Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89102
View Larger Map

A Local’s Steakhouse Slightly Off the Strip.
The Charcoal Room features great steaks, fresh fish and daily special selections along with a superb wine list in the heart of Las Vegas. Our bar offers complete dinner service along with fine beverage selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
5pm-10pm Sun-Thurs
5pm-11pm Fri-Sat

Cross Street:
W. Sahara and I-15 Freeway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 221-6678

Website:
http://palacestation.sclv.com/Dining.aspx

Parking Details:
Free Hotel Covered Self Parking in Garage and Complementary Valet.

Public Transit:
Easy access from I-15 Freeway. Complementary shuttle to and from airport and Fashion Show Mall on the Las Vegas Strip. Call front desk for times.

Executive Chef:
Franciso Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether you're planning a business dinner or an intimate social gathering, the upscale elegance of The Charcoal Room at Palace Station's Private Dining Room has the perfect ambiance. Audio visual capabilities are available.

The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It took a while to get our food like 45 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It took a while to get our food like 45 minutes later. Food was excellent. The waiter was not friendly at all with us but noticed that he is friendlier with others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

For the prices and quality of food I wou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

For the prices and quality of food I would have expected better service. My water glass stayed empty most of the time. Dirty plates were left in front of us for a long time - some were never cleared. We poured our own wine most of the time. Tables around us that were dirty were not cleared. Had to ask for steak knives and all four of us were eating steaks. The bar near by was so loud with drunk people that it really took away from a pleasant dining experience. I normally do not like the wait staff to be hovering but we actually felt ignored. If you don't want to talk with other people and you want to watch football on the big screen (sort of like a sports bar) while eating better than bar food menu- then this is place for you. The food was good and well prepared including the deserts.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Had reservations and was seated right aw ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had reservations and was seated right away. Server took a while to take our order. Had the lobster and filet mignon which was awesome. We also had the oysters which were delicious. Our server was a little slow as far as getting the drinks and he didn't really stop by to check on us which was a bummer. Price value was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Another great meal with excellent servic ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Another great meal with excellent service. Such a fun evening. Thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was tasty after we sent back origin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was tasty after we sent back original steak that was cooked incorrectly. How they responded to our concern was great. They have great teamwork. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food, as always, was excellent. Hav ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent. Have never had a bad meal there. Would highly recommend to friends and family. Have only lived in Las Vegas for a short time after relocating from Wisconsin. Best steak I have had here by far! Glad you went from ala carte to full meals. Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were both outst ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and the service were both outstanding. Will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. It was everything I hoped it would be. The place was not crowded and the food and service were excellent. There were a couple of tables that were a bit more loud and distracting, but we really enjoyed ourselves. We come to Las Vegas the same time each year and we'll enjoy dinner here on our next trip. Thank you for a memorable anniversary experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience. Attentive ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Attentive service, great food, and reasonably priced. We love the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding. Brian, our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was outstanding. Brian, our server, was incredible. He was able to answer all our questions on the menu and gave us excellent suggestions on what to order. Food came out hot and the steak was cooked perfect. Enjoyed eating there. Will defiantly go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great steak at a great price. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was a great steak at a great price. The place was empty and we still had to wait on our server more than we should have. It was our anniversary and nothing special was offered. For a great steak cooked perfectly this is for you. If you want pampering this is not for you.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was outstanding! I would recom ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was outstanding! I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area! Steaks were cooked to perfection.

Service was a little slow, but was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Have eaten at The Charcoal Room at Palac ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Have eaten at The Charcoal Room at Palace Station on several occassions. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gary our server was excellent, he made u ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Gary our server was excellent, he made us feel special, we love the rib eye steak, big proportion and cooked to our liking, the cilantro sauce Gary recommended was indeed special. Price was just right. Will definitely come here again.g

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food. atmosphere, and service are al ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food. atmosphere, and service are all top quality. It is a great meal for a very good value. All four of the salads are extraordinary. The potatoes au gratin are the best that can be had anywhere. The stakes are really well prepared and flavorful. You have the best prime rib in the city. Above all else your bartender Carrie is the best professional in town and makes every guest feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate our 46th anniversary w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went to celebrate our 46th anniversary with friends. The service was slow, the waiter had to be told three times about getting ice in our water, lemons for the water and to bring each diner a setup to eat. He didn't come back to take the food order for fifteen minutes. The busser was kind enough to get the ice and lemons after we hailed him down. The side was not as ordered and when the waiter finally came back to tell him, most of our dinner was complete. When the re-fire was done, it was still uneatable.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food. Salad was disappointing. I ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food. Salad was disappointing. I wanted a "cheap"salad-just iceberg lettuce and was told it could not be done. Disappointing and a bad start to the meal. Service was below average. Entree was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The staff was wonderful and the food was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food was amazing. My only issue was the noise from the surrounding area. I understand that yes, it is in a casino but, they did have doors they could have closed to keep the ambiance lovely.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the manager was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was good and the manager was a great guy. Unfortunately, our waiter disappeared at the end for about 10 minutes. The other staff was assisting, but he was needed to get our check.

Also, it was loud and unusual how certain staff members kept going out an odd emergency exit door in plain view and in the middle of the restaurant. This was all while the manager was assisting people in the wine room. The staffs a little immature.

All in all, it's a good place for family. I'd go to the Charcoal Room at the Sante Fe Station if you are looking for a date, business or fine dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

The food was mediocre except for the Kit ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was mediocre except for the Kitchen Sink Caesar Salad which was great! The sauces for the Chilled Seafood Jackpot were not explained. The drawn butter was cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steak dinner at reasonable prices ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great steak dinner at reasonable prices compared to others in Vegas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

affordable off strip restaurant, great s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

affordable off strip restaurant, great service, good wine list to fit everyone's price range

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This has become one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This has become one of my favorite restaurants for special restaurants because they treat

you SPECIAL. The seafood specials are fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I eat at the Charcoal Ro ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My daughter and I eat at the Charcoal Room whenever we visit Vegas. The food is always good and the service is outstanding. The servers are always friendly, have good suggestions, and are very helpful. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific upscale steak place in an unlik ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Terrific upscale steak place in an unlikely casino (Palace Station). The pan seared sea bass was fantastic, the best I've had in a long time. The filet mignon was slightly overcooked based on how I ordered it. Took a bit too long to get our order considering the place was not very busy at the time. Other than that, service was great and we would go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Steak cooked perfectly.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great. Steak cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Service was disappointi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Food was great. Service was disappointing. Waitress was more than rude.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Our server, Gary was exceptional. The r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our server, Gary was exceptional. The rest of the experience, not so much. My husband liked his steak. My chicken looked anorexic...and had no taste. The salad was mediocre and the mashed potatoes were average. Not running back there anytime soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall great place. Service and food we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Overall great place. Service and food were amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!!!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Party of 4 Ordered the large seafood ja ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Party of 4

Ordered the large seafood jackpot, 2 surf & turf specials, plus wine, coffee & deserts.

Food was excellent. The presentation was spectacular. Service was the best.

This was a special occasion and the restaurant staff made this extra special.

It's been over a week and my two guests are still talking about this meal.

Thank you Charcoal Room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steakhouse ever. The strip and the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best steakhouse ever. The strip and the prime rib were awesome

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timothy is an excellent waiter and the l ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Timothy is an excellent waiter and the lady mixing drinks at the bar is very capable. The steaks were cooked perfectly and delicious. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Charcoal Room for the fir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went to The Charcoal Room for the first time last April using a voucher from My Vegas Slots game. It has become our new favorite restaurant in Vegas and we will definitely be back and tell our friends to go there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian, our waiter was EXCELLENT. Always ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Brian, our waiter was EXCELLENT. Always there when you needed, paid a lot of attention to us, but didn't overwhelm us. Now, the not so good...wife's drink was supposed to be a top shelf cosmo...no ice glass & she was able to down it quickly. It wasn't strong at all. Mgr came over & asked how everything was, we told him & he got another drink asap. This was a top shelf cosmo. Good & strong. meal was very good, except the side of burnaise was very lumpy. Ck came & noticed that both cosmos were billed. Surprised they didn't take care of the first one. Oh well. We'll be going back to T-Bones @ Red Rock, still the best.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wow! Great happy hour to start. The tuna ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wow! Great happy hour to start. The tuna tartare was great. Drinks were great as well Then had dinner. The 10 fox filet mignon was outstanding and the crab legs were also a delight. Had a great Zinfandel to boot. All very reasonably priced. The server and manager were also very attentive. Our favorite new place to dine in Las Vegas. And easy free parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a group of ten for a going away p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Booked a group of ten for a going away party. They gave us a private room without us even asking. The food & service was exquisite. Everyone was so accommodating & made us feel special.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Charcoal is a very nice place to din ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The Charcoal is a very nice place to dine, with excellent food at most reasonable prices.

Service, and ambience was excellent. Menu choices first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten there many times and the fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I have eaten there many times and the food value is excellent as is the food quality. The Seafood Jackpot is the best deal in town!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.