About The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino

2411 W Sahara Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89102
View Larger Map

A Local’s Steakhouse Slightly Off the Strip.
The Charcoal Room features great steaks, fresh fish and daily special selections along with a superb wine list in the heart of Las Vegas. Our bar offers complete dinner service along with fine beverage selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
5pm-10pm Sun-Thurs
5pm-11pm Fri-Sat

Cross Street:
W. Sahara and I-15 Freeway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 221-6678

Website:
http://palacestation.sclv.com/Dining.aspx

Parking Details:
Free Hotel Covered Self Parking in Garage and Complementary Valet.

Public Transit:
Easy access from I-15 Freeway. Complementary shuttle to and from airport and Fashion Show Mall on the Las Vegas Strip. Call front desk for times.

Executive Chef:
Franciso Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV

Private Dining

Whether you're planning a business dinner or an intimate social gathering, the upscale elegance of The Charcoal Room at Palace Station's Private Dining Room has the perfect ambiance. Audio visual capabilities are available.

The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
1 More
Best Value
Westside

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Authentic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding! I would recom ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was outstanding! I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area! Steaks were cooked to perfection.

Service was a little slow, but was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Have eaten at The Charcoal Room at Palac ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Have eaten at The Charcoal Room at Palace Station on several occassions. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gary our server was excellent, he made u ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Gary our server was excellent, he made us feel special, we love the rib eye steak, big proportion and cooked to our liking, the cilantro sauce Gary recommended was indeed special. Price was just right. Will definitely come here again.g

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food. atmosphere, and service are al ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food. atmosphere, and service are all top quality. It is a great meal for a very good value. All four of the salads are extraordinary. The potatoes au gratin are the best that can be had anywhere. The stakes are really well prepared and flavorful. You have the best prime rib in the city. Above all else your bartender Carrie is the best professional in town and makes every guest feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate our 46th anniversary w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went to celebrate our 46th anniversary with friends. The service was slow, the waiter had to be told three times about getting ice in our water, lemons for the water and to bring each diner a setup to eat. He didn't come back to take the food order for fifteen minutes. The busser was kind enough to get the ice and lemons after we hailed him down. The side was not as ordered and when the waiter finally came back to tell him, most of our dinner was complete. When the re-fire was done, it was still uneatable.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food. Salad was disappointing. I ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food. Salad was disappointing. I wanted a "cheap"salad-just iceberg lettuce and was told it could not be done. Disappointing and a bad start to the meal. Service was below average. Entree was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The staff was wonderful and the food was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food was amazing. My only issue was the noise from the surrounding area. I understand that yes, it is in a casino but, they did have doors they could have closed to keep the ambiance lovely.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the manager was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was good and the manager was a great guy. Unfortunately, our waiter disappeared at the end for about 10 minutes. The other staff was assisting, but he was needed to get our check.

Also, it was loud and unusual how certain staff members kept going out an odd emergency exit door in plain view and in the middle of the restaurant. This was all while the manager was assisting people in the wine room. The staffs a little immature.

All in all, it's a good place for family. I'd go to the Charcoal Room at the Sante Fe Station if you are looking for a date, business or fine dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

The food was mediocre except for the Kit ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was mediocre except for the Kitchen Sink Caesar Salad which was great! The sauces for the Chilled Seafood Jackpot were not explained. The drawn butter was cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steak dinner at reasonable prices ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great steak dinner at reasonable prices compared to others in Vegas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

affordable off strip restaurant, great s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

affordable off strip restaurant, great service, good wine list to fit everyone's price range

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This has become one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This has become one of my favorite restaurants for special restaurants because they treat

you SPECIAL. The seafood specials are fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I eat at the Charcoal Ro ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My daughter and I eat at the Charcoal Room whenever we visit Vegas. The food is always good and the service is outstanding. The servers are always friendly, have good suggestions, and are very helpful. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific upscale steak place in an unlik ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Terrific upscale steak place in an unlikely casino (Palace Station). The pan seared sea bass was fantastic, the best I've had in a long time. The filet mignon was slightly overcooked based on how I ordered it. Took a bit too long to get our order considering the place was not very busy at the time. Other than that, service was great and we would go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Steak cooked perfectly.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great. Steak cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Service was disappointi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Food was great. Service was disappointing. Waitress was more than rude.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Our server, Gary was exceptional. The r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our server, Gary was exceptional. The rest of the experience, not so much. My husband liked his steak. My chicken looked anorexic...and had no taste. The salad was mediocre and the mashed potatoes were average. Not running back there anytime soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall great place. Service and food we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Overall great place. Service and food were amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!!!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Party of 4 Ordered the large seafood ja ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Party of 4

Ordered the large seafood jackpot, 2 surf & turf specials, plus wine, coffee & deserts.

Food was excellent. The presentation was spectacular. Service was the best.

This was a special occasion and the restaurant staff made this extra special.

It's been over a week and my two guests are still talking about this meal.

Thank you Charcoal Room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steakhouse ever. The strip and the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best steakhouse ever. The strip and the prime rib were awesome

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timothy is an excellent waiter and the l ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Timothy is an excellent waiter and the lady mixing drinks at the bar is very capable. The steaks were cooked perfectly and delicious. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Charcoal Room for the fir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went to The Charcoal Room for the first time last April using a voucher from My Vegas Slots game. It has become our new favorite restaurant in Vegas and we will definitely be back and tell our friends to go there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian, our waiter was EXCELLENT. Always ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Brian, our waiter was EXCELLENT. Always there when you needed, paid a lot of attention to us, but didn't overwhelm us. Now, the not so good...wife's drink was supposed to be a top shelf cosmo...no ice glass & she was able to down it quickly. It wasn't strong at all. Mgr came over & asked how everything was, we told him & he got another drink asap. This was a top shelf cosmo. Good & strong. meal was very good, except the side of burnaise was very lumpy. Ck came & noticed that both cosmos were billed. Surprised they didn't take care of the first one. Oh well. We'll be going back to T-Bones @ Red Rock, still the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wow! Great happy hour to start. The tuna ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wow! Great happy hour to start. The tuna tartare was great. Drinks were great as well Then had dinner. The 10 fox filet mignon was outstanding and the crab legs were also a delight. Had a great Zinfandel to boot. All very reasonably priced. The server and manager were also very attentive. Our favorite new place to dine in Las Vegas. And easy free parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a group of ten for a going away p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Booked a group of ten for a going away party. They gave us a private room without us even asking. The food & service was exquisite. Everyone was so accommodating & made us feel special.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Charcoal is a very nice place to din ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The Charcoal is a very nice place to dine, with excellent food at most reasonable prices.

Service, and ambience was excellent. Menu choices first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten there many times and the fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I have eaten there many times and the food value is excellent as is the food quality. The Seafood Jackpot is the best deal in town!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We tried the Charcoal Room after receivi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We tried the Charcoal Room after receiving a coupon in the mail from Station Casinos and we were pleasantly surprised with the design of the room, the excellent service and the quality of the food for the price paid. The menu offers a wide range of items to choose from and from what we saw at surrounding tables everyone appeared to be enjoying themselves. We will definitely go back, even without a coupon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dined here before and food was great thi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Dined here before and food was great this time food was aweful. Prime rib was tough and crab legs were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a delightful dinner; excellent fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a delightful dinner; excellent food and service in a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Perfect setting for casual upscale dining. The pork was perfect and the steaks were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always great and Carrie & La ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food is always great and Carrie & Laura made it special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is really good. The prices are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food is really good. The prices are very fair. Service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great value. Food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent service and great value. Food was very good and entrees come with salad and side.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful experience every time food is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wonderful experience every time food is always perfect and staff very friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent way to celebrate a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was an excellent way to celebrate an upcoming wedding and birthday even though it was done earlier than the actual events. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome waiter. Wish I could r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had an awesome waiter. Wish I could remember his name. The $99 steak and lobster for 2 , was fantastic. Best lobster we've ever had. Just a really great dinner. Well done charcoal room!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the Lamb Chops. Like the new menu. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

loved the Lamb Chops. Like the new menu. the service was fine, salad and sides were ok.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter was frozen. There w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The seafood platter was frozen. There were pieces of ice in the crab legs. Made us wonder what justified the cost. Server's voice was very loud, a bit off-putting for the atmosphere. The restaurant seemed understaffed. Overall okay but not great. Management should communicate what items on the wine list are out so the servers are not put on the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I was extremely excited to visit this ve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was extremely excited to visit this venue but sadly it fell short of expectations. When we arrived, the restaurant was nearly empty so we did not expect any time delay to our show we planned to see that evening.

The service was very slow as it seemed the server was overwhelmed with what I could see 4 tables. Due to her situation, she seemed to be talking "at" us as opposed to asking us what we would like. We had bread on the table for 5-7 minutes before drinks came. Salad came after and was delicious however, dinner entrees came close to 45 minutes after our salads. We noticed that one of the tables left because their food took too long. The other table was complaining to the manager whom we finally saw after waiting so long. He paid for their meal because the guest was so angry. He offered us free dessert. I suppose if I would have let him know how angry I was, he would have paid for our meals too. Instead we used a coupon and points to pay. I still tipped the waiter accordingly as this was not her fault but managements. The whole left side of the restaurant had food and some guests already leaving before we got our entrees. We opted to celebrate our special occasion elsewhere as we were now running late to our show. We were at the restaurant nearly 2 hours. We barely made it to the show.

I find it disappointing that because we kept our cool about the terrible service, we were not given the same treatment or courtesy as the guests who expressed their anger. It is likely we will not visit again as other Stations steak houses are much more attentive.

Please address this to your staff that we are "guests", not just customers. Courtsey should be given to each guest fairly and equally.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.