About The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino

2411 W Sahara Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89102
View Larger Map

A Local’s Steakhouse Slightly Off the Strip.
The Charcoal Room features great steaks, fresh fish and daily special selections along with a superb wine list in the heart of Las Vegas. Our bar offers complete dinner service along with fine beverage selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
5pm-10pm Sun-Thurs
5pm-11pm Fri-Sat

Cross Street:
W. Sahara and I-15 Freeway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 221-6678

Website:
http://palacestation.sclv.com/Dining.aspx

Parking Details:
Free Hotel Covered Self Parking in Garage and Complementary Valet.

Public Transit:
Easy access from I-15 Freeway. Complementary shuttle to and from airport and Fashion Show Mall on the Las Vegas Strip. Call front desk for times.

Executive Chef:
Franciso Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
  • The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino
The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino

Private Dining

Whether you're planning a business dinner or an intimate social gathering, the upscale elegance of The Charcoal Room at Palace Station's Private Dining Room has the perfect ambiance. Audio visual capabilities are available.

The Charcoal Room - Palace Station Hotel & Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Las Vegas
Steakhouse
Las Vegas
Best Overall
Westside
6 More
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Fit for Foodies
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside

special occasion (29)
romantic (21)
good for groups (18)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
notable wine list (7)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and great value. Food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and great value. Food was very good and entrees come with salad and side.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful experience every time food is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wonderful experience every time food is always perfect and staff very friendly

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent way to celebrate a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was an excellent way to celebrate an upcoming wedding and birthday even though it was done earlier than the actual events. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome waiter. Wish I could r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had an awesome waiter. Wish I could remember his name. The $99 steak and lobster for 2 , was fantastic. Best lobster we've ever had. Just a really great dinner. Well done charcoal room!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the Lamb Chops. Like the new menu. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

loved the Lamb Chops. Like the new menu. the service was fine, salad and sides were ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter was frozen. There w ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The seafood platter was frozen. There were pieces of ice in the crab legs. Made us wonder what justified the cost. Server's voice was very loud, a bit off-putting for the atmosphere. The restaurant seemed understaffed. Overall okay but not great. Management should communicate what items on the wine list are out so the servers are not put on the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I was extremely excited to visit this ve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was extremely excited to visit this venue but sadly it fell short of expectations. When we arrived, the restaurant was nearly empty so we did not expect any time delay to our show we planned to see that evening.

The service was very slow as it seemed the server was overwhelmed with what I could see 4 tables. Due to her situation, she seemed to be talking "at" us as opposed to asking us what we would like. We had bread on the table for 5-7 minutes before drinks came. Salad came after and was delicious however, dinner entrees came close to 45 minutes after our salads. We noticed that one of the tables left because their food took too long. The other table was complaining to the manager whom we finally saw after waiting so long. He paid for their meal because the guest was so angry. He offered us free dessert. I suppose if I would have let him know how angry I was, he would have paid for our meals too. Instead we used a coupon and points to pay. I still tipped the waiter accordingly as this was not her fault but managements. The whole left side of the restaurant had food and some guests already leaving before we got our entrees. We opted to celebrate our special occasion elsewhere as we were now running late to our show. We were at the restaurant nearly 2 hours. We barely made it to the show.

I find it disappointing that because we kept our cool about the terrible service, we were not given the same treatment or courtesy as the guests who expressed their anger. It is likely we will not visit again as other Stations steak houses are much more attentive.

Please address this to your staff that we are "guests", not just customers. Courtsey should be given to each guest fairly and equally.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food and a nice new restaurant. Ass ...

 
 (Shropshire)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good food and a nice new restaurant. Assorted selection on menu. Restaurant was new and nice and clean. Staff were very nice and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner was wonderful. Prime rib larger t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dinner was wonderful. Prime rib larger than my head. Chopped salad was good. Wedge salad much better!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the Prime Rib and King Crab legs ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ordered the Prime Rib and King Crab legs. Prime rib was cooked perfectly. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service once again. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service once again. The Charcoal Room is truly a hidden gem inside a not so great casino.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, romantic but can be family fr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very nice, romantic but can be family friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but not excellant. Servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food was good but not excellant. Service was great. This is located in a casino so it is noisy/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Easy on & off freeway, terrific food and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Easy on & off freeway, terrific food and Laura is outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & value; varied menu, would go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Good food & value; varied menu, would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious it's a beautiful place to wine & dine !!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , atmosphere, andservice. Exc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food , atmosphere, andservice. Excellent variety of appetizers, salads, and entrees.

Excellent Key Lime Pie.

.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Buffet!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Upon reviewing comments made on Yelp, we decided to try this place to take an aunt out for Mother's Day (we were vacationing in Vegas). We got there early thinking that it would get swamped (10:30am), but once there, we were the only ones there except for a single guy in another table. We were met and welcomed by Brian, our waiter, who was very helpful and always had a ready smile. The food was great, and I suspect that's the reason why most people rant and raved about it. We unfortunately didn't check out the menu, so this only applies to their Mother's Day brunch/buffet. It had the usual fare for an upscale place, plus a bottomless Bloody Mary special. A little on the high-end for the price (I think it was $50/pp, plus $15 for the drink) since there are many similarly highly recommended dining areas in Vegas, but it was worth it this one time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great people...food..atmosphere!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great people...food..atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food at a great value. The staff is very attentive and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor, menu and wait staff have been ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The decor, menu and wait staff have been upgraded since its days as The Broiler. A basket of warm bread was delivered to our table shortly after receiving our menus. The warm raisin bread being an immediate hit. My wife chose the Colorado lamb chops, 4 ribs cooked medium rare as requested that included both a serviceable house salad and baked potato. I chose the pan seared seabass which was accompanied by sauteed broccoli and salad. The seabass was generous in size and perfectly grilled, but it would have benefited from a sauce which I neglected to request though a squirt of lemon helped. The month of May's My Generation specials included paying with 1/2 points at all steakhouses so color me happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was great! We had 25$ coupon from the hotel reservation. This made the meal a normal price for two people. The service was slow even though they had plenty of help and weren't that busy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I took my husband here for his 38 birthday dinner.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Brian was our Server on 04/15/16. He was very kind and chatty with us. He made great recommendations. The Lobster was amazing . Cooked perfectly! At the end of our dinner Brian brought a piece of carrot cake out with a candle to celebrate for my husbands birthday. Brian told us about a special where you get 2 7 oz filets and a 24oz lobster tail with 2 sides. Since I did not want steak that night, Brian was kind enough to get me the Salmon with the deal. All that food for $99.00. What a steal. We are planning on going back again just for the Fried Chicken we hear is so delicious. We have older kids in their teens and I think it is a great place to go with family because the prices are reasonable and the food is great. Thank you for a wonderful Dinner to ring in Johns 38th Birthday!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

What a deal for $35 ! We had Oysters Shrimp Crab Salmon three meats eggs cooked to order ! Waffles Fruit Cheese Eggs Benny bacon Sausage taters you name it...add $10 and get endless mimosa's or bloody Mary's - the bomb!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service was great! Love thi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food and service was great! Love this place! Would recommend .

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Had a great experience here! Service was fast and server was always attentive, but did not hover. Steak was cooked to perfection and the shrimp scampi was delicious too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Palace Station Charcoal Room

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The Charcoal Room at Palace Station is a great value. The steaks are excellent. Be sure to ask for Laura as your server. She makes the dining experience exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time there and was great again.

 
·Dined on March 1, 2016

This is kind of a hidden gem. I have had eaten at several "nice" restaurants on the strip that have been more expensive yet not as good. This was my second time eating there and it was great both times. A very nice menu with plenty of options, great service, and great food. For an upscale restaurant in Vegas the value is excellent. Take a trip off strip, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I was surprised to have such a great experience being in such an old casino. We were around the corner with my son at a basketball practice and went there at the last minute. The food was great and it was reasonably priced. I will definitely go back for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite good. The filets were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was quite good. The filets were large and thick, and the sauteed mushrooms were great too. Also enjoyed the sauteed spinach---very garlicky. The crab cake appetizer was very good, with lots of crab and minimal breadcrumb. Although the food was great, I cannot say the same about the service. Our server Timothy barely came around. But more importantly, he didn't listen when we ordered. My wife ordered a petite filet but she got a regular filet. I ordered shrimp scampi with my filet, but he never took it down, and I never got it. I wanted to order bernaise sauce for my steak, but Timothy cut me off and walked away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

V-day at the Charcoal

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I made this reservation thinking that I would have two other people with me however I was alone... The staff at the Charcoal made me feel comfortable even though I was alone. Service was quick and food was good. Presentation could have been better but was adequate. Over all I would rate it a 8 out of 10

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steak & seafood

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The steak is always great & the seafood fresh. It's never so busy that you can't get a reservation. The prices are reasonable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

island4fun

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Only problem, my king red crab legs was warm, my husband had to return his steak 3 times, other than that it was a nice place for a date.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Find!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Not only was the food amazing, but the service was excellent! This gem of a restaurant is tucked away in one of the more obscure casinos, but offers a quiet dining experience away from the hustle and bustle of the strip. Plenty of (free!) parking and easy access through the casino. The dining room was simply and elegantly appointed, and our waitress and servers were attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious and fresh (scallops were perfectly seared) and so inexpensive. Definitely will be going back whenever I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak to die for!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

One word.......STEAK!!!! Huge pieces of steak for a really good price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Located inside the casino, the Charcoal room offered a causal, but upscale experience for moderate prices. The steak was very good and the wine selection was excellent.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Might return someday but not in the near future.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The server Brian had too many tables. He did not arrive in a timely manner for our order, salads or the check. The dinner salad had a funny taste, did not eat it. The potatoes were a good size but they were not cooked enough. When told to bring backed mash potatoes Brian took it upon himself to bring back another hard potato (not a good choice) should've brought what was asked for. We looked around and other tables were not eating their potatoes. Some of the crab legs were a little cold still. But it was a good price and size. We waited a least 15 minutes for our table to be cleared and then for Brian to return with the check. The check was wrong as Brian put in the wrong amount of our coupon and took off too may pts. To get Brian back to make the correction took forever. I got the Manager and explained what happened. Instead of going 50 feet to the Players Club and put my points back on my Chairman card he said it would take a couple days and for me to check on it. The next afternoon the pts were not back so I called GVR Players Club and they called the Broiler Manager and it was taken care of around 5 PM. Overall not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Not in the heart of the strip, but you will enjoy!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Decided to try due to the reviews and overcrowded "popular" restaurants. What I found was a place that I will eat at again when I return. The food was fantastic, the prices were incredible, and the overall experience for our group was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

The steaks were great, especially the rib-eye. Service was perfect as well. Our waiter answered all of our questions and we loved his recommendations. We will definitely dine here again!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An oasis of class. ..

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

The Charcoal Room is a gem, hidden within the smokey, unappealing Palace Station. The food and service are on par with many that charge twice as much. In addition, entrees come with salad and potato. Wines are modestly priced as well.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.