Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Chapel Grill

3.9
741 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

The Chapel Grill in Naples, Florida specializes in serving steaks and seafood. Housed in a renovated church, the restaurant offers an elegant atmosphere and features indoor and outdoor dining.

The Chapel Grill serves dinner nightly and offers a daily happy hour. The restaurant offers a wide assortment of appetizers, soups and salads, seafood and butcher block entrées for diners to choose from. The appetizer selection at the restaurant includes tuna tartare, jumbo lump crab trio, black n bleu risotto and chilled jumbo shrimp cocktail. Main fare at The Chapel Grill includes plank roasted salmon, red rock cod Florentine, braised short rib and Chapel rock chop.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tavern opens at 4 pm for happy hour and dining room opens at 5 pm .
We are open Tuesday thru Sunday and closed Mondays .
Indoor and outdoor seating.
Off season we are open Thursday thru Sunday (starting Monday May 11,2015),
Closed Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(239) 206-4310
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jorge Nolasco
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Chapel Grill's Private Dining Program accommodates any private event from 10 to 300 people. Our private dining room alone can entertain up to 60 people. We will also offer full service catering for your off-site events. As Event Coordinators for the Chapel Grill we will help you choose the best menu for your special event. We have multiple tiers of menus to offer, all of which are customizable for your specific event. Whether you are looking for a full sit down menu or light passed hors d'oeurvers we can accommodate any taste and budget.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Erka Spaho: (239) 273-0183
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Contact for more details (239)206-4310
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th St S
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complementary valet parking. Additionally, there is street parking surrounding the restaurant as well as a parking garage one block away.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thursday through Sunday 5PM-8PM
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Contact for more details (239)206-4310
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 741 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed our Mother's Day brunch. We were seated a few minutes after arriving for our 11:30 reservation. We were in the middle room which was quiet until the end of our meal when a large enthusiastic group was seated next to us--after that it was hard to have our own conversation. The buffet was nicely presented with waffles, eggs Benedict, custom omelets, appetizers, carved prime rib, salmon, sides, and several desserts. The trays were replenished often and the items were delicious. The prime rib was rare and tender. The eggs on the Benedict were perfect. Our server Kevin served our mimosas promptly and kept our plates cleared. A very pleasant relaxing brunch and we will go back. The ticket was a bit surprising at $100 for brunch for two, however.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 8, 2016

I went to the Chapel Grill for their Mother's Day brunch. I was greatly disappointed with their buffet. The food was below satisfactory and not fresh. For the price of $30 per person for the buffet... I was surprised that the Belgian waffles weren't made to order. In fact they were soggy. The seafood and muscles were dried out. I brought a group of 7 and I was embarrassed that I choose to bring them here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice environment and very nice experience for a first visit. The place was empty when we arrived for our 8 pm reservation on a Friday night but it is still off season. Location could be better. Food was good, service was ok but could have been better since the place was empty. I would try again during the prime season and see how it goes.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2016

Chapel Grill was one of our favorite finds when it first opened here in Naples. The setting was unique, the wait staff friendly and knowledgeable, and the food was excellent.

Unfortunately, I think that the owners made the mistake of sitting too long upon their laurels, depending on the word of mouth generated from their initial offering to the market to carry them on rather than investing in their staff and menu.

I'm sure the fact that they close for the summer plays no small part in the restaurant's decline, as I can't imagine how they keep their best staff when they're only open for half the year.

We've given the Chapel Grill a good three tries after mediocre experiences at each. This last experience, though not a travesty by any stretch, was likely the last time we'll be going there.

The wait staff, while earnest, were not of the caliber that is required to compete against similarly priced restaurants in the area. The food was, in a similar fashion, good, but not great, and does not live up to the price point that the establishment has chosen.

Our last dinner there was uninspired, with typical offerings found in any number of other restaurants. My food was particularly salty, right down to the horseradish sauce that accompanied my prime rib.

Again, Chapel Grill is a "good" restaurant, but in the environment of Naples, and taken alongside literally hundreds of of other offerings, there is far better out there at a far better price point. I sincerely hope the owners take note of their declining clientele and make the changes they need to bring the place back to its initial glory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2016

We were looking for a special good quality restaurant and while we ate at the bar in the past and it was fun - dining in the main restaurant was outstanding. Server was knowledgeable, attentive and had an appropriate sense of humor. Can't remember our server's name (but then again I can't remember a lot of things!) I believe he was from Michigan. Anyways , he was a true professional. The food was really outstanding, we had peppercorn steak, a scallop dish and grilled cod. All were very well prepared and excellent quality. While we have been to several restaurants in Naples - the Chapel Grille is now right at the top of our list. Thank you and we'll see you real soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was good and service was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2016

Dont mistake this for a lower key, lower cost restaurant. The food is as good as any place on S. 5th Avenue, and the prices certainly matched the places on S. 5th Avenue. Our waiter was ok, but perhaps not as polished as waiters on 5th Ave or 3rd St.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2016

Wait staff and atmosphere were great. However, for $44, I expect brunch to offer more than the typical Sheraton/Marriott type buffet breakfast or include a drink. The menu stated prime rib and lamb carving stations, but there was no prime rib offered that day. The lamb was excellent, however. The restaurant came highly recommended, but I won't return for the brunch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2016

It is hard to believe that this restaurant remains in business. The food is really poor...not just the menu, but the preparation and presentation is sub standard. The ambiance and decor is spoiled by cramming tables together, even though very few tables were occupied. When you can get a last minute reservation for 6 during season in Naples, one should already know that the food must be bad, as the standard in Naples is very mediocre generally. It is a shame as the location and decor are quite good...just need a chef badly.

We will not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2016

The salmon dinner was delicious! We love the outside seating!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Sea bass and salmon was lifeeee!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

I especially liked the fact that the tables were not too close together and you could actually have a conversation because the room was relatively quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2016

Waiter let us sit and chat with our drinks before we ordered- I had soup and salad- friend had ribs and we enjoyed it very much- would like to go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2016

We are outside on the covered porch. Excellent place to enjoy the dining. Service was friendly and competent. Menu was varied and wine list featured good values. Rate this as a 'sleeper' place. Worth checking out.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2016

Prime rib was dry and tasteless. It's the Sunday night special, but wasn't very special. Overpriced wine list doesn't help.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Although the fish seemed fresh, it was rather tasteless. Ambiance was beautiful and quaint, the food was a disappointment especially considering that it is pricey. Much better food choices in Naples. Too bad, because the setting is quite spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Menu is very good - lots of yummy choices, both land and sea. Nice outdoor dining in two different areas plus outdoor bar seating. Pleasant service. Just two short blocks south of busy 5th Ave, with easy parking. Worth finding!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Great evening. First time and we will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2016

The meals we received was terrible We complain to the way that he did take the mules back as we left we spoke to the manager he barely stayed up to address our issues he was sitting down at the front door we will never return to this restaurant and I don't recommend it to anyone else either High season and nobody was there at quarter to 7 something is deadly wrong with this restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2016

Our whole experience was wonderful. I had promoted the Chapel Grill to my 4 visiting sisters, and not one of us was disappointed. We marveled over the Tuna Tartare appetizer, and the pork chop entrée, and the Chicken Forestierre entrée, and our speciality cocktails and a lovely bottle of wine from the "End of the Bin" list, which was quite a bargain. Our waiter was Kevin, and he was very helpful and knowledgeable and attentive. And, he was good-natured and funny in putting up with our chit-chat and our inability to make decisions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant and we weren't disappointed! The Coco Loco calamari was a delicious surprise with calamari, chorizo, and zucchini. The Mahi Mahi and Caramelized Scallops were very good. Of course my favorite part of the meal is dessert and I was in heaven with the Pineapple Banana bread pudding .. Perfect way to end a lovely evening. Shout out to our server Jen who was very pleasant and engaging!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

They were slammed on the night we dined there and did a nice job when I asked for someone to take a drink order as they sent the bartender over to take our order :-). Food was very good and service from that point forward was good as well. They even pulled our car up to the valet by requesting our ticket as we were wrapping up the bill. Nice touch!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 12, 2016

We had been here 2 years ago and really enjoyed everything. I understand they just recently reopened so I was excited to meet friends there for dinner. BIG mistake. The food was average, the ambiance was not warm and inviting but rather stark and bland. I will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2016

Great food, horrible, slow service. We've tried this restaurant three times and it's been the same every time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2016

1st time here & was very impressed. Portions were reasonably sized; 1/2 salad was much appreciated option. Prices were reasonable for Naples. Will recommend & return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was excellent. the waiter ignored us for some time before taking our drink orders. the restaurant coud use a few special menu items. I tend to look at specials as the best the house has to offer in terms of freshness

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2016

Very disappointed in the calamari appetizer - more zucchini and onions than calamari, and what was there was quite dry and without taste. You're better off with a salad as a starter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Delicious Gluten-free martini

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was superb and our waiter, Kevin, was attentive and had a great sense of humor. We'll be sure to ask for him when we go back. The only issue we had was that the restaurant was too warm when we arrived. We asked Kevin if the a/c temp could be lowered and within a short time, the temp was comfortable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2016

We went on Sunday the last night of the big art show a crossed the street which we failed to realize when we made the reservation and regretted when we turned the corner of of fifth and realized the streets were closed. We wiggled down the alley and made our way to the restaurant thinking we made a mistake only to be surprised the place was only about 20 percent full had a seat at the bar and had a drink then we went in and enjoyed the prime rib special a couple of glasses of wine and desert and our bill was only $102.00 we went home happy we finally tried the Chapel grill looking forward to our next trip back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

We ate on the patio. Great drink menu. Prime rib was fantastic. Had black and blue risotto app was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 19, 2016

The bartenders for the outside bar were inattentive and unprofessional. The food was fair at best. Our party of four was very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Great Food, service and in an enjoyable surrounding chapel that has a Naples history!
What could be better than this. In a world of instant gratification it is great to find a
restaurant that reminds us of time gone by in a gentler time. This is a winner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2016

Lovely dinner on the porch. Good was great pineapple bread pudding for dessert was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2016

Prime rib was cool, fat deposits floating in the cold at jus. Very disappointed as we have been there before. Only about 4 tables were occupied, no valet.
Our waitress was pleasant so we did not complain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Great brunch - best prime rib I've ever had. Nice display.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Very nice meal at a very nice restaurant. Our waitress and the rest of the staff were very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2016

Our party of six was delighted with our overall dining experience at The Chapel Grill in Naples, Florida! Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and shown promptly to our table. Our waiter explained dinner options, including a sunset menu that included three courses at a great value! We all enjoyed our sunset meal in this lovely restaurant. We can't wait to go back! Valet parking is available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2016

Great prime rib. Wonderful Service at this Naples Restaurant. This season we have frequented The Chapel Grill 5 times and each time the staff was wonderful and the food outstanding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 5, 2016

I have gone there a lot it was all around vey bad

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19