About The Cellars

4001 Church Point Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

The Cellars Restaurant, tucked in the heart of Church Point neighborhood in Virginia Beach, and located in the historic Church Point Manor House, presents fine dining in an intimate setting. Our menu is American regional cuisine, that changes seasonally, and we offer over 160 fine wines. The restaurant is divided, with seating for up to 70 in our elegant main dining room, and a more relaxing mood in our bar and lounge, with fireplaces in both areas.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 5:00 pm until 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Meeting House Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-2210

Website:
http://www.thecellarsvb.com/

Parking Details:
Limited

Executive Chef:
Ika Zaken

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi With Quail
  • Scallops
Gnocchi With Quail
Scallops

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:30PM

The Cellars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
6 More
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Neighborhood Gem
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
American
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

romantic (54)
special occasion (49)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (28)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great atmosphere and good se ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and good service. We had a wonderful time. A tad expensive but a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty entrees great wine selections, and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Tasty entrees great wine selections, and top notch service!!! I will return again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed! We went to The Cella ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very disappointed! We went to The Cellars for the first time last year on our 34th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Our waiter was Lorenzo and he was so helpful as I had many questions and very indecisive. The food was outstanding. This time it was our 35th anniversary and decided to return for another great dining experience but that is NOT what transpired. Our waiter was not as friendly and seemed not to know as much about the food. Some of our favorite appetizers were not on the menu, ex. Oysters Rockefeller. We ordered the crabcake at $16.00 apiece and to be honest enjoyed the side greens more than the fifty cent sized piece of crabcake. When we asked for a refill of the small bread basket with only whole grain bread, we were told that the kitchen could only provide the same assortment of pieces as the original basket - huh? In addition the 2 whole grain pieces they did give us were from the end of the loaf. I ordered the chicken dish as an entree which was a huge disappointment (dried out). When we complained about the chicken dish almost as soon as it was delivered, the waiter said he was sorry, but offered no fix. My husband ordered the seafood special which he said was good...not great. Overall, considering the high end pricing, we felt that it was a poor value for our money and we will not return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The Cellars is one of outlet true favori ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Cellars is one of outlet true favorites. Food is always excellent, service is fantastic, and we leave wanting to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service, the best i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service, the best in Virginia Beach in my opinion. Excellent wine and beverage selection. The noise level rating would have been lower, but the table next to us was very very loud. On other occasions at The Cellars, the noise level was fine, easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fifth visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our fifth visit to the restaurant. The food has consistently been good as well as the atmosphere. Friday night with our table of six, we ordered from the menu. One of my guests (A new resident of the North End)asked if it would be possible for a substitution on the side order and was told in no uncertain terms that the chef would not allow any substitutions...which we found to be pompous and arrogant,frankly. I was actually embarrassed having talked up the restaurant as much as I did.

Personally, I was told that the flank steak would come medium rare although I asked for it to be medium when the plate arrived it was very rare and my request had clearly been rejected .Although the food was good, we were not impressed with the arrogance of the chef and frankly for the price...it was unwarranted. Although the service has been very good every other time, the waiter was very dramatic, almost uncomfortably so.

Overall ,the evening was somewhat disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our first visit and will not be ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our first visit and will not be our last. Everything was superb -the meal was outstanding and the portions were perfect. The ambiance was perfect and our server was outstanding. Thank you for a wonderful evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most delightful surprise! We will be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A most delightful surprise! We will be talking about this meal for years to come. The Cellars has set the bar for excellence in dining and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service from our server Kendr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Impeccable service from our server Kendrick. Extensive wine list with a good selection of wines at varying price points. Dinner was wonderful from beginning to end. I had the hangar steak and my husband selected the rack of lamb. Both were perfectly prepared and a lovely presentation. We will return - with friends! What a delightful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and ambiance. Romantic. G ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great location and ambiance. Romantic. Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the best meal we have had in a lo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was the best meal we have had in a long time with great attention to detail and presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lorenzo was our waiter and he was the ab ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Lorenzo was our waiter and he was the absolute best with recommendations and service. The atmosphere and ambiance were awesome. This place is a hidden secret. The tables do not have salt and pepper shakers or any standard sauces in other restaurants because the food does not need anything added. Seasoned to perfection! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Birthday

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic evening. Service and staff was wonderful. Food was perfect. Unfortunately there was a unhappy customer sitting across from us and she tried her hardest to ruin everyone's evening, but do to the professionalism of the staff they calmed the beast; some people just can't be satisfied.

My wife and I truly enjoyed our night out The Cellar is a classy place we apreciate the staff and will recommend you to all of our friends. Thanks for a great evening😍

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lorenzo and Jim our waiters were fantast ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Lorenzo and Jim our waiters were fantastic. Give them raises now. First class restaurant . Maitre de was terrific. I will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overambitious

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

They try to be stylish at the cellars with quite some effort by the wait staff and a price level set high. But the food does not really match the overall setting

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Knowledgable waiter who gave interesting ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Knowledgable waiter who gave interesting background about the menu, chef, property's history. The ambiance was intimate and relaxed. Prices were a little high for frequent dining for us, but I walked away feeling that the cost was worth the quality of food and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellars has mastered perfect executi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The Cellars has mastered perfect execution. The plates are deceptively simple, with every element well conceived and screamingly fresh. Dishes come out beautiful. Service is attentive and professional. Ideal fine dining in a charming environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly our experience at the Cell ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We thoroughly our experience at the Cellars. The food service and ambiance was great. I would recommend a little more options on the main menu as I only saw maybe 2 items I would enjoy. Otherwise it was a great time as that was our first visit. We will come back for a special occasion. Thank you for helping us enjoy the experience. Jeanne Cornish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A true gem hidden in a quiet Virginia Be ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A true gem hidden in a quiet Virginia Beach neighborhood. Our server, Joshua, was outstanding. He was polite, professional, very knowledgeable and entertaining. It made for a very enjoyable evening. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellars is impeccable! My wife and I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Cellars is impeccable! My wife and I had high expectations and the food still surprised and delighted us.

The lamb and duck were as wonderful as we expected. What was not expected was the amazing level of flavor and artistry the chef put into everything else. From the amuse-bouche, to the vegetables and sauces accompanying the entrees, to the delicious desserts and coffee. And certainly you've already read about the wine list.

We'll done. Right to the top of our picks for date nights and special occiasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our second time there and we wer ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our second time there and we weren't disappointed. The food is delicious! The staff are wonderful. It isn't cheap but well worth going

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From beginning to end our evening was sp ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

From beginning to end our evening was spectacular. Our waiter, Leonardo, has twice exceeded our expections as his knowledge of the cocktails and the menu is extensive. Our secret hide-away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Review Title

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Parking was a challenge. I had to drive around the building once to end up parking literally on the street corner.

We were seated in a back section. It was nice but when the waiter spoke it was so loud in that section it was hard to hear him. the table next to us was being attended to by the what I presumed to be the chef and night manager. Which is what attributed to the louder conversation.

Dinner was good and the service was very good up to dessert time. It took so long to get the dessert we decided and told our waiter we would take it to go. At the same time I asked for the check. We got the check but no dessert. We didn't get charged for it so we just left.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I found this restaurant online. It was incredible.

The atmosphere is super romantic and the food is second to none. The rib eye I had was perfectly cooked and my wife loved her snapper. I highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I enjoyed everything abou ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed everything about our evening at the Cellar's . We will be back. Actually we will be dining with 6 other guest on Tuesday May,17th. Really looking forward to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical Night

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I wanted to experience fine dining and boy did we ever! The food was delicious!!!!! The waiter was kind and knowledgeable and attentive in a good way. The service was spectacular and the venue wonderful! I will definitely be a repeat customer! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was the perfect romantic date spot

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I heard about this place from a friend. She said it had a great atmosphere and the best chicken dish around. From the moment we drove in the neighborhood, I realized she was not lying. Nestled in the middle of a gorgeous million dollar neighborhood, sat this glorious little gem. The sense of awe we felt never stopped even when we found our way down to the cellar. The mood, food and service combined perfectly to make it a magical night for me and my love.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, small dinning area ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, small dinning area give the restaraunt a very cozy and intimate feeling, wait staff was remarkable and dinner was incredible, both the rack of lamb and the duck breast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Fantastic food with very knowledgeable staff. I'm not much of a wine drinker, but they were able to help my girlfriend and I pick out a bottle that we could enjoy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the seafood and cheese plate. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I enjoyed the seafood and cheese plate. Wonderful ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place. It's a bit small but wo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Love this place. It's a bit small but worth the alone time with the wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is very deserving of the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This restaurant is very deserving of their #1 rank. Easily my favorite restaurant in Virginia. I have never been disappointed in the service, the food, or the drinks. Will continue to frequent this lovely spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and different. Excellent wine list.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The entrees were different and limited. However, there was a menu on line and we failed to review. We did find a few things we could enjoy and they were very good. Extensive wine list. Service was excellent. Wonderful wait staff. I would recommend The Cellar to anyone who enjoy different dishes and excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

This was a special day for me and my wife. It was our 10 yr anniversary. The atmosphere was great and very different. The food was amazing. Compliments to the chef. I am a food critic. I will pay for top dollar on food. I believe service says a lot. Our waiter was fantastic. I'll be back very soon. Place was hard to find, but once you been there. Its memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Danielle

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We love The Cellars and frequent the venue for special occasions and wine night. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable regarding the menu and wine. The ambiance is remarkable. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tranquiity

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The Cellars is in a lovely older home in a relatively newer up scale neighborhood. It feels as if you are going to your friend's home in lovely location. The staff is warm, friendly and well trained. The menu is limited, but well selected with special features in each meal. If you want a unique and fulfilling dining experience at a price that is excellent value this is the place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY DISAPPOINTED

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We had friends coming in from out of town and wanted to take them somewhere nice. We'd heard great things about The Cellars and made a reservation a month in advance. The night before our reservation a person from The Cellars called to tell us our reservation would need to be canceled because of a repair that was being made. We ask if we could change the reservation to the next night and was told that would not be possible. Our friends came and left, but none of us even got to try The Cellars. I emailed The Cellars the next day and still have not heard back from them. Very disappointing, considering the reputation they have established.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

VALENTINE DREAM

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took the wife to The Cellars after searching the net for "the most romantic restaurant in the VA Beach area" -- it did not disappoint! Restaurant basically sits in the basement of a bed and breakfast but don't let that fool you -- it is nice, very nice. Very romantic, formal, with amazing service and amazing food. If you are in the VA Beach (Norfolk) area, you must visit this amazing gem. You and your partner will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

AWESOME truly worth its Trip Advisor rating

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

From just getting to the restaurant it gives you a anticipation. No let down anywhere from the enviorment, food, service and setting. Celebrated Valentine Day and it was worth the travel and excellent and it worth every penny. The special as a 18oz steak that my wife raved about, the bison and boar meatloaf was a good experrience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

This place is amazing thir menu has variety and always has a delicious special of the menu . The dessert is delicious! Definitely our date night spot

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.