Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

One Fish Two FishOne Fish Two Fish
(1450)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 28 times today
Coastal GrillCoastal Grill
(1417)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 26 times today
Zia MarieZia Marie
(434)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 5 times today
Leaping Lizard CafeLeaping Lizard Cafe
(81)
$$$$
American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 4 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Virginia BeachRuth's Chris Steak House - Virginia Beach
(856)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 8 times today
Aldo's RistoranteAldo's Ristorante
(1466)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 20 times today
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Virginia BeachBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Virginia Beach
(400)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 3 times today
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Virginia BeachMcCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Virginia Beach
(2459)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 5 times today
The Melting Pot - Virginia BeachThe Melting Pot - Virginia Beach
(1533)
$$$$
Fondue | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 10 times today
Hot TunaHot Tuna
(478)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 2 times today
Texas de Brazil - NorfolkTexas de Brazil - Norfolk
(1126)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 33 times today
Terrapin RestaurantTerrapin Restaurant
(1322)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 11 times today
Lynnhaven Fish HouseLynnhaven Fish House
(675)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Bahama Breeze - Virginia BeachBahama Breeze - Virginia Beach
(77)
$$$$
Caribbean | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 1 time today
Eat. An American BistroEat. An American Bistro
(600)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 10 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Permanently Closed - The Cellars

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The Cellars is a romantic hideaway nestled in the heart of the Church Point Manor Inn. Fresh, seasonal menus, an extensive wine list and hand-crafted cocktails make the Cellars the perfect spot to celebrate any special occasion.

4001 Church Point Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 5:00 pm until 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Meeting House Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-2210

Website:
http://www.thecellarsvb.com/

Parking Details:
Limited

Executive Chef:
Ika Zaken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We reserved our time for the 16th of December only to receive a phone call that the resturant was closing effective immediately and so we did not go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

They are no longer open. They are closed.
Very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at The Cellars celebrating my wife's birthday. We loved it so much that we made reservations for New Years Eve.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Service was outstanding. My favorite dish was the gnocchi.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The Cellars was phenomenal. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had in the United States. The food was exquisitely prepared and the wine recommendation was perfect. We will go again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Had a great evening with my special lady friend. Went on Weds and they had half price wine by the bottle. A great way to enjoy some pricey wines without the ouch factor. Filet Mignon was exception as was the halibut wrapped in prosciutto.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had my one year anniversary dinner here. I was so pleased with the romantic setting, the food was phenomenal, and the staff was stellar. Highly recommend this restaurant for a nice romantic dinner and one of the best restaurants in Virginia Beach.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolute perfection!!!! Best meal and atmosphere in town!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

From our initial entry the service was impeccable. It was very inviting. The hostess gave an informative history about the restaurant. Our waiter was helpful, prompt and courteous. The food was fantastic!
I would recommend "The Cellars"

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Cellars lived up to it's reputation. The food and service were terrific. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgable. it was a very a very comfortable spot. This was our first visit to Virginia Beach and was glad we had the opportunity to dine at The Cellars

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What an amazing venue! Most romantic and special dinner you can find in the Hampton Roads area by far! The service was very personal and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was stunning and hands down the most tasty! Highly recommend for an anniversary or special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We haven't been to The Cellars for a while and thought it would be a great place to celebrate our anniversary. It was as good as I remembered. The drinks, food and staff were wonderful. It won't be as long of a time between visits next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Cellars was recommended to us by a friend. A really wonderful dining experience from the service, food and location. The menu changes every season so the food reflects the time of year.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our first time to The Cellars, sorry we waited so long! We enjoyed our wedding anniversary there the other night and it was fabulous. We had an early reservation, got our pick of tables and had the place to ourselves for the first part of our meal. Lorenzo, our server, was outstanding!! He showed us around the restaurant and explained everything to us, making it all sound so good it was hard to choose. We had the filet mignon, superbly cooked and the lamb tagine, also excellent. We will enjoy more meals at The Cellars in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

When I made reservations I told the man (I believe his name was Nick) that our friend was taking three of us gals out for our birthday. He told me that he would notate this and that they like to give a surprise. My surprise was that they did nothing, even after I mentioned it to our waiter. I am thankful that I had not told my friends that they were getting a surprise.
The meal was delicious, the service was excellent and I would definitely recommend the Cellers to anyone. Just don't expect any surprises.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The evening was wonderful ... it's a beautiful place and the food was what we expected, fantastic. Will go back for sure.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great evening to celebrate our anniversary with friends. The Cellars is one of our favorites!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The dining experience was wonderful and the service and food was wonderful, as well. This place goes to the top of my list of places to eat around here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2016

What an experience! The food was absolutely incredible. We had the Red Snapper and the Rack of Lamb, both were cooked to perfection. They now offer a French Onion soup. I'm not normally a fan, but in this case found myself asking for more bread to soak up every drop. The other appetizer we ordered was the crab cake, and I've not had better anywhere else. Large portion, with no fillers - just amazing taste. To be completely honest at the risk of sounding silly... these were dishes you'd want to lick clean.

It's a beautiful venue - quiet and romantic. The service was impeccable, and our waiter was very friendly and charming. Prices are fair for this type of dining, and you WILL NOT leave hungry.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were thrilled to have found this little-known gem! Drinks were spectacular, sommelier was spot-on with his recommendation, and food was wonderful. I am a native New Yorker and have been disappointed with so many of Norfolk and Virginia Beach restaurants. However, the Cellars is a very different dining experience. We started with the special salad, which was a wonderful confluence of divine flavors. The scallops were in a dreamy sauce that was so good, I could have licked the plate! My honey was practically humming with joy b/c the lamb chops were so good. Of course, we had to have dessert and the pot de creme was lucious. Of course, we had to end with an after-dinner drink and decided on espresso martinis, as recommended by our waitress, Krista. Even if you want to forego the dessert, I would strongly suggest the decadent espresso martini... YUM! A fabulous find and I've been spreading the word. The absolute best all-around meal experience since coming to VA! BTW, we were seated in the historic part of the restaurant, which was exceptionally charming. Though, no matter where you are seated, the food will be unsurpassed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 21, 2016

This was a real Treat
Located in a bed and breakfast
Down in the cellar
A little odd location in a subdivision
But was superb

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambuance and food. This is definitely a place to go for a nice, quiet, fine dining experience. The service was outstanding. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food and wonderful ambiance! Great place for a date or special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Got the filet however was not informed of the crab topping, and since I have a seafood allergy was unable to enjoy it completely. Additionally I wanted it prepared as medium and it was red and bloody upon cutting into it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! Ambiance, food, service were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I want to say that my review here, and above, is more a reflection on the night that we potentially chose to enjoy our dinner at The Cellars more than anything. It was our 2nd anniversary and we were looking for a cozy & quiet place to enjoy dinner. We made our reservation weeks in advance and showed up on time as scheduled. After requesting a nice, quiet area (in my reservation) we were promptly placed beside a table of 6 who clearly had been drinking for several hours. They were loud and obnoxious and really made the 1st half of our dinner unbearable. When we asked to move locations though we were told there weren't any other open tables available.

On to dinner, our waiter (Josh) was extremely helpful and friendly but it did take about 20 minutes to get the sommelier over to our table to assist with wine. He did do an outstanding job and we finally got our evening kicked off with something nice. We decided to skip the appetizer and go straight for the dinner menu in hopes of saving our appetite for dessert. However, with a menu of only 6 entrees we were discouraged to find that 1 wasn't being served and the other (hanger steak) had been switched out for a filet. Again, disappointing, but not the end of the world. We got the steak and "season vegetables" and although both were delicious I was again underwhelmed with the fact that there wasn't a starch served (or even offered) and then that my vegetables really were tomato slices, onion slices, and two pieces of squash...just not to the level of what I would expect from a $40 entrée.

Finally, we made it to dessert, very excited for a nightcap....however, again when we saw the menu it was brought to our attention that only 3 dessert items were available and the one we wanted was not being served. Very unfortunate, and again with such a small selection you would expect to at least be able to try what's listed. So, long story short, we left hungry which is never a good thing with a $150 meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food in a cozy atmosphere. The portion sizes were ample. The prices were a little high on apps and entrees, but not out of expectations. Great service staff. Overall great experience. Recommended for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Elegant fine dining in a historic atmosphere with excellent food and service. The chef knows his way around bisque and crepes suzette as well as great steaks and seafood.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My steak was cooked perfectly. The presentation on all dishes was worthy of awards. The wait staff was very attentive. The atmosphere was private and romantic. However; for us the taste was not highly palate pleasing and we would be hard pressed to explain why as the food was of good quality and it was well prepared. Maybe I would say the tastes didn't pair quite well. Maybe worth another try.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I had only heard about this restaurant online through friends and friends of friends. Had to give it a try, waiter was very helpful in explaining specials. Bartender made me a drink to order which was spectacular! Chef cooked an amazing meal And came out of kitchen to socialize. Very quiet atmosphere to hold a conversation without having to talk over music or other guest. What a great hidden gem of a restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2016

FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE! Exquisite food. Small but highly selective menu. Extensive wine list. Incredibly intimate setting. Hilarious proprietor. Definitely a monthly repeat!

Dining Occasion:Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Outstanding place to take good friends that have done you a favor or just to get together.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We've dined here several times and our experience is always excellent, from the ambiance, to the craft cocktails, to the impeccable service. The food is beautifully prepared and always delicious. It's our favorite "special treat" place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2016

My Wife and I chose The Cellars for our anniversary dinner because of the quiet romantic atmosphere and the outstanding menu. We have been here several times with friends and family and have never been disappointed. The staff is knowledgeable about food items and always courteous and professional without being rude.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Impeccable service and incredible food makes this the best dining in Hampton Roads. Kudos!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food, service was pretty good, not real personable. The portions were small which is expected, but the price of the steak on special was a surprise ($51)...we might have ordered it anyway, but I hate when they don't have a written list of specials and prices.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional food & service. The section we were in was nice but the ceiling does not fit the rest of the decor & the lighting drew attention to that. Probably nicer in the winter with the fire.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always superb food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have loved this place for years. I have seen the changes of staff over the years and was always willing to accept the new menus, staff etc and with open excitement of what is next. The new wait staff is not good. The manager or staff did not return my phone calls when trying to make the reservation and ultimately had to do it on OpenTable. The menu is ok at best. We did have a few apps that were good( oysters and cheese plate). Entrees were over priced, and it was already pricey prior, which was never an issue because the food quality and service matched the cost. We are twice a month customers and my wife and I are disappointed by what has happened to this amazing secret gem of a place we loved. It does still have the best bartender at the beach and his St. Blaze cocktail creation!! Don't think we will be going back unless I hear of changes. Regards, David & Isabel Lillard.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Will was a superlative server, and on the spot with his cocktail and wine recommendations. Do not miss this hidden gem in Va Beach, as it is off the beaten path but truly and unique and magnificent dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.