About The Cellars

4001 Church Point Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

The Cellars is a romantic hideaway nestled in the heart of the Church Point Manor Inn. Fresh, seasonal menus, an extensive wine list and hand-crafted cocktails make the Cellars the perfect spot to celebrate any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 5:00 pm until 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Meeting House Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-2210

Website:
http://www.thecellarsvb.com/

Parking Details:
Limited

Executive Chef:
Ika Zaken

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi With Quail - The Cellars, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Scallops - The Cellars, Virginia Beach, VA
Gnocchi With Quail - The Cellars, Virginia Beach, VA
Scallops - The Cellars, Virginia Beach, VA

The Cellars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
7 More
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Historic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (6)
Fireplace (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at The Ce ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at The Cellars celebrating my wife's birthday. We loved it so much that we made reservations for New Years Eve.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience. Service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Service was outstanding. My favorite dish was the gnocchi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Cellars was phenomenal. One of the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The Cellars was phenomenal. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had in the United States. The food was exquisitely prepared and the wine recommendation was perfect. We will go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went there for my husband's birthday recently and the atmosphere was nice and the service was good. The food was delightful. A nice selection of wine and beer along with cocktails. A nice romantic time out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great evening with my special lady ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Had a great evening with my special lady friend. Went on Weds and they had half price wine by the bottle. A great way to enjoy some pricey wines without the ouch factor. Filet Mignon was exception as was the halibut wrapped in prosciutto.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Had my one year anniversary dinner here. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had my one year anniversary dinner here. I was so pleased with the romantic setting, the food was phenomenal, and the staff was stellar. Highly recommend this restaurant for a nice romantic dinner and one of the best restaurants in Virginia Beach.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute perfection!!!! Best meal and at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolute perfection!!!! Best meal and atmosphere in town!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 12 year Anniversary at th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Celebrated our 12 year Anniversary at the Cellars and I am so glad we chose this place even though it was a bit of a drive for us. Food and service were very good. We will definitely be back. Waiter brought us complimentary Champagne, which was very nice. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From our initial entry the service was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

From our initial entry the service was impeccable. It was very inviting. The hostess gave an informative history about the restaurant. Our waiter was helpful, prompt and courteous. The food was fantastic!

I would recommend "The Cellars"

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Cellars lived up to it's reputation. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Cellars lived up to it's reputation. The food and service were terrific. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgable. it was a very a very comfortable spot. This was our first visit to Virginia Beach and was glad we had the opportunity to dine at The Cellars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing venue! Most romantic and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What an amazing venue! Most romantic and special dinner you can find in the Hampton Roads area by far! The service was very personal and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was stunning and hands down the most tasty! Highly recommend for an anniversary or special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been to The Cellars for a whi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We haven't been to The Cellars for a while and thought it would be a great place to celebrate our anniversary. It was as good as I remembered. The drinks, food and staff were wonderful. It won't be as long of a time between visits next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice romantic setting. The service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very nice romantic setting. The service and food were superb. We had the oyster appetizer, good but small early season oysters. I had the prosciutto-wrapped halibut, my wife had the filet. Both were excellent. Wine selection was nice. The creme caramel dessert was outstanding. Pricey, but worth it! We will be back. Thanks to Josh for his excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cellars was recommended to us by a frien ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Cellars was recommended to us by a friend. A really wonderful dining experience from the service, food and location. The menu changes every season so the food reflects the time of year.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time to The Cellars, sorry we ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our first time to The Cellars, sorry we waited so long! We enjoyed our wedding anniversary there the other night and it was fabulous. We had an early reservation, got our pick of tables and had the place to ourselves for the first part of our meal. Lorenzo, our server, was outstanding!! He showed us around the restaurant and explained everything to us, making it all sound so good it was hard to choose. We had the filet mignon, superbly cooked and the lamb tagine, also excellent. We will enjoy more meals at The Cellars in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I made reservations I told the man ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

When I made reservations I told the man (I believe his name was Nick) that our friend was taking three of us gals out for our birthday. He told me that he would notate this and that they like to give a surprise. My surprise was that they did nothing, even after I mentioned it to our waiter. I am thankful that I had not told my friends that they were getting a surprise.

The meal was delicious, the service was excellent and I would definitely recommend the Cellers to anyone. Just don't expect any surprises.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was wonderful ... it's a bea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The evening was wonderful ... it's a beautiful place and the food was what we expected, fantastic. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening to celebrate our anniversa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great evening to celebrate our anniversary with friends. The Cellars is one of our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner! But why not use real ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had a great dinner! But why not use real candles? Lol

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was wonderful and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The dining experience was wonderful and the service and food was wonderful, as well. This place goes to the top of my list of places to eat around here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an experience! The food was absolu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2016

What an experience! The food was absolutely incredible. We had the Red Snapper and the Rack of Lamb, both were cooked to perfection. They now offer a French Onion soup. I'm not normally a fan, but in this case found myself asking for more bread to soak up every drop. The other appetizer we ordered was the crab cake, and I've not had better anywhere else. Large portion, with no fillers - just amazing taste. To be completely honest at the risk of sounding silly... these were dishes you'd want to lick clean.

It's a beautiful venue - quiet and romantic. The service was impeccable, and our waiter was very friendly and charming. Prices are fair for this type of dining, and you WILL NOT leave hungry.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were thrilled to have found this litt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were thrilled to have found this little-known gem! Drinks were spectacular, sommelier was spot-on with his recommendation, and food was wonderful. I am a native New Yorker and have been disappointed with so many of Norfolk and Virginia Beach restaurants. However, the Cellars is a very different dining experience. We started with the special salad, which was a wonderful confluence of divine flavors. The scallops were in a dreamy sauce that was so good, I could have licked the plate! My honey was practically humming with joy b/c the lamb chops were so good. Of course, we had to have dessert and the pot de creme was lucious. Of course, we had to end with an after-dinner drink and decided on espresso martinis, as recommended by our waitress, Krista. Even if you want to forego the dessert, I would strongly suggest the decadent espresso martini... YUM! A fabulous find and I've been spreading the word. The absolute best all-around meal experience since coming to VA! BTW, we were seated in the historic part of the restaurant, which was exceptionally charming. Though, no matter where you are seated, the food will be unsurpassed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a real Treat Located in a bed a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 21, 2016

This was a real Treat

Located in a bed and breakfast

Down in the cellar

A little odd location in a subdivision

But was superb

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very impressed with the ambuance ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambuance and food. This is definitely a place to go for a nice, quiet, fine dining experience. The service was outstanding. We will be back.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and wonderful ambiance! Great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food and wonderful ambiance! Great place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Got the filet however was not informed o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Got the filet however was not informed of the crab topping, and since I have a seafood allergy was unable to enjoy it completely. Additionally I wanted it prepared as medium and it was red and bloody upon cutting into it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous dining experience! Ambiance, fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! Ambiance, food, service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time with The Cellars, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This was our 2nd time with The Cellars, and it was even more wonderful than the first. We simply cannot imagine a better place to spend our wedding anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I want to say that my review here, and a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I want to say that my review here, and above, is more a reflection on the night that we potentially chose to enjoy our dinner at The Cellars more than anything. It was our 2nd anniversary and we were looking for a cozy & quiet place to enjoy dinner. We made our reservation weeks in advance and showed up on time as scheduled. After requesting a nice, quiet area (in my reservation) we were promptly placed beside a table of 6 who clearly had been drinking for several hours. They were loud and obnoxious and really made the 1st half of our dinner unbearable. When we asked to move locations though we were told there weren't any other open tables available.

On to dinner, our waiter (Josh) was extremely helpful and friendly but it did take about 20 minutes to get the sommelier over to our table to assist with wine. He did do an outstanding job and we finally got our evening kicked off with something nice. We decided to skip the appetizer and go straight for the dinner menu in hopes of saving our appetite for dessert. However, with a menu of only 6 entrees we were discouraged to find that 1 wasn't being served and the other (hanger steak) had been switched out for a filet. Again, disappointing, but not the end of the world. We got the steak and "season vegetables" and although both were delicious I was again underwhelmed with the fact that there wasn't a starch served (or even offered) and then that my vegetables really were tomato slices, onion slices, and two pieces of squash...just not to the level of what I would expect from a $40 entrée.

Finally, we made it to dessert, very excited for a nightcap....however, again when we saw the menu it was brought to our attention that only 3 dessert items were available and the one we wanted was not being served. Very unfortunate, and again with such a small selection you would expect to at least be able to try what's listed. So, long story short, we left hungry which is never a good thing with a $150 meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food in a cozy atmosphere. The po ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food in a cozy atmosphere. The portion sizes were ample. The prices were a little high on apps and entrees, but not out of expectations. Great service staff. Overall great experience. Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant fine dining in a historic atmosp ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Elegant fine dining in a historic atmosphere with excellent food and service. The chef knows his way around bisque and crepes suzette as well as great steaks and seafood.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My steak was cooked perfectly. The prese ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My steak was cooked perfectly. The presentation on all dishes was worthy of awards. The wait staff was very attentive. The atmosphere was private and romantic. However; for us the taste was not highly palate pleasing and we would be hard pressed to explain why as the food was of good quality and it was well prepared. Maybe I would say the tastes didn't pair quite well. Maybe worth another try.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I had only heard about this restaurant o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I had only heard about this restaurant online through friends and friends of friends. Had to give it a try, waiter was very helpful in explaining specials. Bartender made me a drink to order which was spectacular! Chef cooked an amazing meal And came out of kitchen to socialize. Very quiet atmosphere to hold a conversation without having to talk over music or other guest. What a great hidden gem of a restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE! Exquisite food. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2016

FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE! Exquisite food. Small but highly selective menu. Extensive wine list. Incredibly intimate setting. Hilarious proprietor. Definitely a monthly repeat!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding place to take good friends t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Outstanding place to take good friends that have done you a favor or just to get together.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a city that's known for its very busy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2016

In a city that's known for its very busy and often over-crowded restaurants, this stands out as a gem. It's intimate, has incredible service, and its setting is unique. I've been there with a small group in its private dining room and also with my wife or another couple in the main room. Calling it a "main room" is almost a misnomer because I think it has a dozen table there, tops. These tables allow you to share an intimate dining experience and enjoy some excellent food. The menu is not overly complicated and changes periodically to show off the chef's abundant skills. This is one of those restaurants where the portions seem to be just the right size and encourage you to try something new. As well, the drink menu is creative and encourages experimentation. Lastly, the service is extraordinary. The staff seem to know the right level of attention without being unwelcome intrusions. On our last visit we were treated to the engaging attention and expertise of our waiter Lorenzo. He made us feel at home and never rushed. Even our busser Max stood out with his speedy and precise service turning simple tasks into precise ones. If you're looking for a special spot for any meal but especially a birthday, anniversary, or first date, this is it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined here several times and our e ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We've dined here several times and our experience is always excellent, from the ambiance, to the craft cocktails, to the impeccable service. The food is beautifully prepared and always delicious. It's our favorite "special treat" place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and incredible food m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Impeccable service and incredible food makes this the best dining in Hampton Roads. Kudos!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Wife and I chose The Cellars for our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2016

My Wife and I chose The Cellars for our anniversary dinner because of the quiet romantic atmosphere and the outstanding menu. We have been here several times with friends and family and have never been disappointed. The staff is knowledgeable about food items and always courteous and professional without being rude.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service was pretty good, ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food, service was pretty good, not real personable. The portions were small which is expected, but the price of the steak on special was a surprise ($51)...we might have ordered it anyway, but I hate when they don't have a written list of specials and prices.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.