About The Cellars

4001 Church Point Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

The Cellars Restaurant, tucked in the heart of Church Point neighborhood in Virginia Beach, and located in the historic Church Point Manor House, presents fine dining in an intimate setting. Our menu is American regional cuisine, that changes seasonally, and we offer over 160 fine wines. The restaurant is divided, with seating for up to 70 in our elegant main dining room, and a more relaxing mood in our bar and lounge, with fireplaces in both areas.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 5:00 pm until 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Meeting House Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-2210

Website:
http://www.thecellarsvb.com/

Parking Details:
Limited

Executive Chef:
Ika Zaken

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:30PM

The Cellars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
4 More
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
American
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

romantic (47)
special occasion (45)
notable wine list (26)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (18)
vibrant bar scene (3)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly our experience at the Cell ...

Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly our experience at the Cellars. The food service and ambiance was great. I would recommend a little more options on the main menu as I only saw maybe 2 items I would enjoy. Otherwise it was a great time as that was our first visit. We will come back for a special occasion. Thank you for helping us enjoy the experience. Jeanne Cornish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Cellars is impeccable! My wife and I ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Cellars is impeccable! My wife and I had high expectations and the food still surprised and delighted us. The lamb and duck were as wonderful as we expected. What was not expected was the amazing level of flavor and artistry the chef put into everything else. From the amuse-bouche, to the vegetables and sauces accompanying the entrees, to the delicious desserts and coffee. And certainly you've already read about the wine list. We'll done. Right to the top of our picks for date nights and special occiasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second time there and we wer ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our second time there and we weren't disappointed. The food is delicious! The staff are wonderful. It isn't cheap but well worth going

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From beginning to end our evening was sp ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

From beginning to end our evening was spectacular. Our waiter, Leonardo, has twice exceeded our expections as his knowledge of the cocktails and the menu is extensive. Our secret hide-away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Review Title

Dined on May 7, 2016

Parking was a challenge. I had to drive around the building once to end up parking literally on the street corner. We were seated in a back section. It was nice but when the waiter spoke it was so loud in that section it was hard to hear him. the table next to us was being attended to by the what I presumed to be the chef and night manager. Which is what attributed to the louder conversation. Dinner was good and the service was very good up to dessert time. It took so long to get the dessert we decided and told our waiter we would take it to go. At the same time I asked for the check. We got the check but no dessert. We didn't get charged for it so we just left.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

I found this restaurant online. It was incredible. The atmosphere is super romantic and the food is second to none. The rib eye I had was perfectly cooked and my wife loved her snapper. I highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed everything abou ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed everything about our evening at the Cellar's . We will be back. Actually we will be dining with 6 other guest on Tuesday May,17th. Really looking forward to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical Night

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I wanted to experience fine dining and boy did we ever! The food was delicious!!!!! The waiter was kind and knowledgeable and attentive in a good way. The service was spectacular and the venue wonderful! I will definitely be a repeat customer! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was the perfect romantic date spot

Dined on April 23, 2016

I heard about this place from a friend. She said it had a great atmosphere and the best chicken dish around. From the moment we drove in the neighborhood, I realized she was not lying. Nestled in the middle of a gorgeous million dollar neighborhood, sat this glorious little gem. The sense of awe we felt never stopped even when we found our way down to the cellar. The mood, food and service combined perfectly to make it a magical night for me and my love.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, small dinning area ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, small dinning area give the restaraunt a very cozy and intimate feeling, wait staff was remarkable and dinner was incredible, both the rack of lamb and the duck breast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic atmosphere

Dined on April 22, 2016

Fantastic food with very knowledgeable staff. I'm not much of a wine drinker, but they were able to help my girlfriend and I pick out a bottle that we could enjoy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the seafood and cheese plate. ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

I enjoyed the seafood and cheese plate. Wonderful ambience

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. It's a bit small but wo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Love this place. It's a bit small but worth the alone time with the wife.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is very deserving of the ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

This restaurant is very deserving of their #1 rank. Easily my favorite restaurant in Virginia. I have never been disappointed in the service, the food, or the drinks. Will continue to frequent this lovely spot!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful and different. Excellent wine list.

Dined on March 26, 2016

The entrees were different and limited. However, there was a menu on line and we failed to review. We did find a few things we could enjoy and they were very good. Extensive wine list. Service was excellent. Wonderful wait staff. I would recommend The Cellar to anyone who enjoy different dishes and excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on March 3, 2016

This was a special day for me and my wife. It was our 10 yr anniversary. The atmosphere was great and very different. The food was amazing. Compliments to the chef. I am a food critic. I will pay for top dollar on food. I believe service says a lot. Our waiter was fantastic. I'll be back very soon. Place was hard to find, but once you been there. Its memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Danielle

Dined on March 2, 2016

We love The Cellars and frequent the venue for special occasions and wine night. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable regarding the menu and wine. The ambiance is remarkable. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tranquiity

Dined on March 1, 2016

The Cellars is in a lovely older home in a relatively newer up scale neighborhood. It feels as if you are going to your friend's home in lovely location. The staff is warm, friendly and well trained. The menu is limited, but well selected with special features in each meal. If you want a unique and fulfilling dining experience at a price that is excellent value this is the place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Dined on February 24, 2016

We had friends coming in from out of town and wanted to take them somewhere nice. We'd heard great things about The Cellars and made a reservation a month in advance. The night before our reservation a person from The Cellars called to tell us our reservation would need to be canceled because of a repair that was being made. We ask if we could change the reservation to the next night and was told that would not be possible. Our friends came and left, but none of us even got to try The Cellars. I emailed The Cellars the next day and still have not heard back from them. Very disappointing, considering the reputation they have established.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

VALENTINE DREAM

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took the wife to The Cellars after searching the net for "the most romantic restaurant in the VA Beach area" -- it did not disappoint! Restaurant basically sits in the basement of a bed and breakfast but don't let that fool you -- it is nice, very nice. Very romantic, formal, with amazing service and amazing food. If you are in the VA Beach (Norfolk) area, you must visit this amazing gem. You and your partner will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME truly worth its Trip Advisor rating

Dined on February 12, 2016

From just getting to the restaurant it gives you a anticipation. No let down anywhere from the enviorment, food, service and setting. Celebrated Valentine Day and it was worth the travel and excellent and it worth every penny. The special as a 18oz steak that my wife raved about, the bison and boar meatloaf was a good experrience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing find

Dined on February 5, 2016

This place is amazing thir menu has variety and always has a delicious special of the menu . The dessert is delicious! Definitely our date night spot

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Anniversary

Dined on February 5, 2016

Though dinner is expensive, it is a great place for special occasions. The filet is among the best in town. I wish they had more mid priced ($50+/-) wines to choose from, however.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needle In The Haystack

Dined on February 3, 2016

Never heard about The Cellars until reading about it in an Opentable email. The place is a true 5 star adventure. The grounds and interior are truly delightful. Service was exceptional. Food was probably the best I've had since coming to Virginia 17 years ago. Truly a unique adventure that I would recommend to anyone. One caveat. The menu is fairly limited. I would suggest checking it on line before making a reservation. From what I understand, the menu is changed 3 or 4 times per year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent meal. The Ban Ban shr ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Another excellent meal. The Ban Ban shrimp were impressive. The back room can be just a litttttle loud because the acoustics but still a great ambiance

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Cellars Experience

Dined on January 20, 2016

This place is perfect for a romantic outing. Our server Lorenzo was excellent. He knew the menu and had a catering approach while also being patient and respectful of our alone time. The food was superb. The Ban Ban Shrimp was phenomenal. The entrees were larger portioned than I expected which was a bonus. Overall it was an excellent dining experience and I look forward to trying different dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lorenzo provided excellent service. Reco ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Lorenzo provided excellent service. Recommended wine selection, appetizer, and entrees was superb! Highly recommend. Atmosphere was quaint and elegant. Thanks again for a very special evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal and setting

Dined on January 16, 2016

The setting was unique and quite romantic. The meal was superb. The wait staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance

Dined on January 14, 2016

My favorite winter restaurant,sitting by the fire,with great wine and food,service.the crab soup is in a light broth and the best I have ever had

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible

Dined on January 10, 2016

The food is incredible and my mouth still waters thinking about the meal we had. The service was exceptional, as usual, even though the restaurant was busier than normal. Our server was attentive without being bothersome, and the overall experience was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyable and quite romantic. ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable and quite romantic. Blew the pants right off my date.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The Cellars in Virginia Beach, VA.

Dined on December 31, 2015

I booked a New Year's Eve table for two in large part based on Trip Advisor reviews. A couple of days before the dinner I checked the website of The Cellars to see their menu. While I felt their prices were high I was willing to keep the reservation. There was no mention on their website about a fixed price menu for New Year's Eve. When we were seated I was told that it was in fact only a fixed price menu at approx. $100 per person. I was very upset and normally would have left but being New Year's Eve I felt I had few options but to stay. A $100 dinner per person is expensive in any location and should have extraordinary service. Our coats were not taken by the hostess when we arrived. The table location was good. Our waitress was obviously new and inexperienced. She was not familiar with the dishes offered or the type of fish in one of the dishes. Bottom line is they should have offered a regular menu and either OpenMenu or The Cellars should have informed us prior to arrival about the special event menu and prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best night we've had in years!

Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I were visiting Virginia Beach--again--and were looking for a new spot for a date night. The Cellars was the find of a lifetime. If you have the chance to get there in advance of your reservation, do so--sit at the bar and enjoy Will the bartender come up with amazing libations to start the night off right. Once seated in the gorgeous restaurant, Samantha took it from there. She was amazing. Professional yet down-to-earth, fun-loving yet determined to ensure we'd have a perfect, romantic evening. The bam bam shimp were insanely good, as were my scallops. My husband had the crab soup and the veal, and he was just as impressed as I was. Their wine list is superb, as is their sommelier. We will return to The Cellars every time we go to Virginia Beach, which is often. We were blown away and are already looking forward to our next visit. Thanks for a wonderful, entertaining evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem in Middle of Neighborhood

Dined on December 30, 2015

I took my wife here to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. This restaurant is definitely the place to go for special occasions when you want to dress up. The lights are dimmed. There are tiny candles at every table. The tables are spaced a good distance away from each other. The restaurant isn’t noisy at all. There’s a man who plays saxophone in the corner, and it’s very soothing. The service is excellent. Our waiter was very helpful in picking out items from the menu. He was friendly and conversed with us; he wasn’t in a hurry or anything. I told him we never heard of this place until I found it online. He said they don't advertise very much. I think that's a good thing. This place isn't like a steakhouse or grill for casual eating. I’m not really a wine guy. If you ask me the difference between moscato and mascara I couldn’t tell you. The waiter was very helpful when I told him I was new to wine and wanted to try it. He gave me a free sample. I even spilt it, but he didn't get mad. He just got me a new glass. The appetizers were great. The ban-ban shrimp was a little too rich, but I still enjoyed it. The crab soup was kind of thin, but that’s just being nitpicky. We got free bread with homemade butter. The butter was creamy and melted right onto the bread. The wait for our entrees was a little long but was definitely worth it. I got the lamb, and it was so juicy. My wife got the steak, which was equally as juicy. The vegetables were cooked to perfection. The moscato was very sweet. I ended up buying a whole bottle. The taste complimented the food very well. For desert, we got a dish with a shortbread cookie, vanilla ice cream, and warm, sliced apples. With all the components together, the dish was perfect. Of course with the high quality food and service, the bill was pricy, but it makes sense. That’s why this restaurant is more for special occasions. I definitely recommend this for a special date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite new restaurant

Dined on December 25, 2015

Outstanding from start to finish. Staff were knowledgeably and friendly. Food and drinks were amazing. Ambiance was wonderful. Look forward to going again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Romantic Restaurant

Dined on December 24, 2015

We made reservations for Christmas Eve. Although we had reservations, we sat and waited for ten minutes on our table. Once we were seated, the set up was really nice and it allowed us to almost feel like we were eating by ourselves. The wait staff was friendly and helpful when it came to assisting in making a dinner selection. The food was very tasty. Overall good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as Always

Dined on December 23, 2015

Enjoyed another fantastic meal at the Cellars. Went there for the wife's birthday, because its her favorite place - and it remains so. She had a nice Salmon dish, with a fondue appetizer. I had a large portion fantastic steak. Very soft and strong taste. I had the crab soup as an appetizer and recommend it. Service was fantastic. Only knock was finding out they did not have my favorite bourbon (Woodford Double-Oaked) which they had last time. Maple Manhattan was nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic dinner venue in Church Point

Dined on December 23, 2015

Once again my wife and I celebrated out Anniversary at The Cellars restaurant and loved it. For a romantic or special occasion you cannot beat the ambiance of this quaint venue. The staff, food, wine, everything was top-notch...The Cellars is the one place we go to when we really just want to relax together and celebrate...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Winner

Dined on December 19, 2015

This is our 4th visit to this wonderul restaurant. We were excited because we were going with friends from California who appreciate good food and atmosphere. The Cellars is top notch for atmosphere, wonderful service and fantastic food. All of our food was delectible , except the gentleman ordered the bison meatloaf and thought it was too salty. The Shrimp, soups, salads, fish and scallops were amazing. We will certainly return for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience.

Dined on December 18, 2015

First visit for our 10th anniversary. Everyone was professional and personable. The decor was incredible and the food exceptional. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.