Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About The Cellar Restaurant

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: (386) 258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Historic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing. Best rack of lamb I have ever had. I took my wife for our aniversary while visiting drom D.C. and it did not disapoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Extremely clean restaurant with fabulous selection of food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was just excellent! The ambience was fantastic the food was delicious and Joseph supplied excellent service to our table. It was an early Mother's Day dinner that turned out just excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We don't understand all of the hype. On our trip to Daytona, this was number 4 on our 'what dinner we liked best' out of the five dinners we had in the Daytona area. Out of the 2 Italian restaurants we tried, this was number 2. We don't drink wine so we can't comment on the selection. The bread and oil was standard fare for Italian. The pasta we had was lacking flavor. We found the decor a bit old. Perhaps we went on an 'off' night so we say, give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My meal was fantastic, my wifes, not so. She said it was bland, she is a food critic. Seemed pricey for pasta , not worth $. Ambiance was fantastic. Great find, but for only special occasions, not regular dining. Too pricey on just about everything. Servers seemed rushed as well, no real patience with customers, maybe because it was an 8:00 resv. And closing at 9:00 on sunday, it shouldnt matter, but it showed. Not good

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service by Joseph. Met the Chef and his wife- both own the restaurant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excell as always! Door is outstanding ad Lena overseeing restaurant is classy and customer focused. Merchant if Venues drinks are unique ad a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful food and service. All homemade pastas. Authentic Italian food. Great variety.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Clearly this is one of the best dinner experiences you will ever have. The food is always exceptional and fresh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing experience! It was my husband and my first time to dine here. The experience was wonderful. We hope to go back the next time we visit Daytona! Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Visiting in the the area. Wonderful meal..excellent service...highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was amazing. Very cozy and romantic atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Never disappointed, always high quality experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Pricey, but not exceptional. I can cook better, I used to like to come for lunch, but the dinners were nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

From beginning to end, the service was remarkable! Starting off with the appointment reservation was scheduled and having the table ready. Waiter told us of the specials and gave us a book of wine selection. Being attentive of our drinks the whole evening and making sure they were never empty. Food came out and both plates looked amazing. Wife had the lamb while I had the filet mignon. Both delicious! Chardonnay (glass) was perfect temperature and remained so the whole evening. Couldn't have asked for a better evening for this newly wed couple!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

By far the best restaurant in Daytona. We travel from New England every March and make this restaurant our first stop. This year we stopped several times. Food is fabulous....along with service. Can hardly wait to return next March.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Todo estuvo excelente!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another great meal, just that simple!! The service and food are second to none. And don't even start on the wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and great atmosphere.
You will not find a better assortment of homemade desserts anywhere in the area.

Wonderful service!

We will be back at least once a month.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a special place for dinner...service is great..food delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, and the staff was awesome, especially Richard, our waiter. Ask for him, you won't be sorry. Lina, the hostess and half owner also suggested (at our request) a great bottle of wine that would go well with our veal, and her suggestion was spot on perfect!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very nice food, excellent wine selection, great service, highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Almost everything was superb, especially the service (Cesar and the hostess) and overall ambiance. The carpaccio was excellent and the ravioli also fine. My 'osso bucco' was actually a braised lamb shank, ample and very tasty but not what I had anticipated.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This restaurant never fails to please. The food is creative and absolutely delicious. The service is attentive but not hovering. Very nice wine list and it is a lovely setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our second visit and we are going to put it on our "todo list" at least once a month. EVERYTHING was A+.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One word captures our experience at The Cellar... Perfect! It was wonderful from the very first bite to the final sip of espresso. It is worth the money! Bon appetit

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Was here for vacation. First time eating at the Cellar. It was amazing. Food was delicious and services was beyond Great. Definitely will be coming back

Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Location is awesome but the food was just okay. We had the fish special and the salmon. Salmon was definitely better and for the price the food was not over the top.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Cellar is my favorite restaurant in the Daytona Beach area. The cuisine is creative and delicious. The chef offers the most wonderful and unique ingredients. The service is exceptional and attentive. Can't say enough about this great spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Perfect for a romantic dinner. Very quiet with excellent service from waiter. Highly recommended! Very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We weren't very pleased with metrodie. She wasn't very hospitable and professional.
For restaurant like this you need to have a more professional one.
The food were great.
Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoy this restaurant. It is warm and friendly with great food and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This restaurant was exceptional. My husband and I were so impressed we made a reservation for Valentine's day. The restaurant is in a cellar but there is a very nice dining room where one does not have to traverse stairs which was good for my husband. Service was superb. The waiter was there when one wanted something and he disappeared when we were eating or talking. The wine we had (a Super Tuscan) was really very good. The wine list is very extensive so for wine lovers it is a dream. Can't imagine anyone not liking it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Best place in Daytona Beach for special occasions. Never disappointed with food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service and very warm atmosphere

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a classy restaurant with food you do not ordinarily find in nearby restaurants. I usually try something new and I am never disappointed. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time at this Restaurant. My wife and I were celebrating our 15 year Wedding Anniversary and looking for a cozy, local type of restaurant that offered more of a fine dining experience. This place was perfect and we were both very happy with the entire experience. The food was exceptional! The owner recognized from my reservation it was our anniversary. She came to our table and said Happy Anniversary and gave us a free dessert. We cannot wait to go back for another dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I was a big fan of the Cellar for years. It's seems something has changed. The staff is not as attentive and forgetful. They have reduced the quantity and quality of the portions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Attentive service, great advice on wine selection, and meal was terrific!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food and service was tasty and good. The owner was nice, greeted us down stairs then seated us quickly. Our server was knowledgeable and great with his descriptions of each plate. We had a couple glasses of wine with 2-apps and 2-dinners. The food was favorable, tasty, done right. The portions were all a little on the smaller, light side. Our total bill was $111 for 2, then add tip. We felt the restaurant did a great job for the area, it's tough to find restaurant's/service in the Daytona beach area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.