About The Cellar Restaurant

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: 386-258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Food
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Service
Orlando / Central Florida East
11 More
Best Ambiance
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
Romantic
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Overall
Daytona Beach
Best Food
Daytona Beach
Best Service
Daytona Beach
Best Ambiance
Daytona Beach
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Daytona Beach ›

special occasion (30)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (21)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (4)
 (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, European ambience, excellen ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place, European ambience, excellent cuisine and unobtrusive service. I think the pasta dishes could be more reasonably priced so that more people would order these as a pre-cursor to the main dish as you would in Italy. Instead I think people order the pasta as a main dish (which is fine as it is excellent) and they miss out on the other main entree dishes. The main entree dishes are unique and also excellent. Overall it was a fine dining experience and I would highly recommend. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. Homemade pasta s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was perfect. Homemade pasta sets it apart from Most places. Such attention to detail and spectacular wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and atmosphere were outst ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding. A superb dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good food and service. Neve ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Never had anything that wasn't pleasing to palate or the eye.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Restaurant for Special Occasion

Dined on April 23, 2016

...or when you just want to have a lovely evening out with great food, excellent service and beautiful ambiance. This restaurant was a wonderful find in Daytona. Wished I lived closer, if I did I would go as often as I could. Can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic find on our only night in Daytona Beach

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were so happy to find the Cellar when we had only one night in Daytona Beach for dinner. All of the staff were gracious and welcoming even though we were the last table seated for the night. All of the food we tried was wonderful. They serve half orders of pasta which was perfect because we can't resist homemade pasta! Everything we tried was wonderful. The owner Lena was a lovely host and it was obvious that she pays attention to every detail. I will definitely go back next time I am in Daytona Beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in the area!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Fabulous food excellent wine tremendous service It is always special when you dine at The Cellar

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

25th Anniversary. Best place to go for ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

25th Anniversary. Best place to go for food and atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and presentation

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our meal was excellent with great food presentation. Service was attentive. Very nice ambiance .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food very romantic awesome find th ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

great food very romantic awesome find the whole staff was very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in Daytona Beach

Dined on April 10, 2016

Hands down The Cellar is Daytona's finest restaurant. Impeccable service, outstanding cuisine all in an intimate environment. The cost is higher than most restaurants in this area but WELL worth the extra expense. We could not recommend The Cellar more highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at The Cellar many times o ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have dined at The Cellar many times over the years. It remains our favorite place to dine in the area. Exemplary staff and the food is consistently prepared to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellar was a welcome surprise that l ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

The Cellar was a welcome surprise that left us looking for for a return date even before we left. Price was reflective of the overall experience. Atmosphere was classy. Waitstaff attentive without being intrusive. Food was well prepared and presented, taste was exceptional. After 12 years of coming to Daytona for the month of March, this is by far the best best restaurant we have been to. No question The Cellar is on our Must Return list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

Everything was excellent! The staff was very attentive and polished. The service was on point and was not interruptive. Our food was exquisite. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food Always a great experienc ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Fantastic food Always a great experience First learned of The Cellar because of the rave reviews on Open Table The Cellar never disappoints. The staff the ambience and especially the food is always fantastic !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was exquisite

Dined on January 22, 2016

If you don't mind spending a few dollars this place is very good. Literally the only drawback is the price, absolutely no complaints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

UPSCALE AND DELICIOUS

Dined on January 19, 2016

A MUST if you are in Daytona and looking for an upscale restaurant ...Food is Northern Italian and done perfectly...nothing else to say but go there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate and delicious

Dined on January 16, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a date on our vacation. This place was as good as any place we would go to for a special occasion in Chicago. The setting is very quiet, intimate, and romantic. The staff were all excellent and attentive without being overbearing. All recommendations were great and the wine recommendation was perfect. We had the sausage polenta, pesto farfalle, and the ribeye chef special which were all as good as anything we have had anywhere else. While the price seems expensive, its on par with any upscale dining in any major city and it delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time...

Dined on January 15, 2016

The Cellar is one of our regular special occasion restaurants in the Daytona Beach area. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place

Dined on January 15, 2016

Great place good food great service for special occasion

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at it's best in Daytona Beach

Dined on January 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Cellar Restaurant, starting with the welcome at the door to the fantastic service and even more awesome food! Since it was my birthday we decided to splurge and ordered appetizers, main courses and desserts. This restaurant is a bit expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion (how I envy those who go there frequently!). Although it has an extensive wine bar, we aren't that kind of couple and had a beer instead (thanks for having those!). This is the restaurant to go to if you want one of the best meals you've ever had, and it certainly made my birthday memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth going back!

Dined on January 14, 2016

This dining experience was one of the highlights of our trip. Charming atmosphere, attentive staff, & absolutely delicious food! The lamb chops melted in your mouth, & the duck was amazing. Then the desserts just topped it all off. Pricey but worth every penny. We look forward to going back. I'd probably order the duck (again)! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service a bit stuffy, not kid-friendly

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

I was excited to try this restaurant. Immediately upon arriving, we noticed the hostess was less than thrilled at the fact we had a toddler with us. The atmosphere was a bit stuffy and while the food was generally good, we never felt quite welcome. The pastas were very good but portions were very small. Appetizers were big however.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the Best !

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Great Décor, Incredible food ! Gourmet Chef with top quality food .Lots of items to choose from on the menu, all kinds of pasta, duck, veal, shrimp, fish, something for everyone. Nicely decorated to look like a wine cellar. Owner and chef , hands on, and very much involved. This is truly fine dining !!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant!!

Dined on November 26, 2015

We had an incredible dinner here last Wednesday. My husband and I each at half orders of pasta for appetizers both of which were delicious. I had a veal chop from my entrée and my husband had salmon. Both were cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dedication to all details - ambience, qu ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Dedication to all details - ambience, quality and presentation of food and outstanding service by all staff members. One of THe best dining experiences ever ! Worth many return visits. You cannot be disappointed here.

food5
ambience5
service5

World Class

Dined on November 18, 2015

We have had the good fortune to dine at the finest restaurants in the U.S. and several countries. We recently dined at The Cellar and the food was absolutely amazing. Every dish was so delicious and impeccably plated. The service was second to none. This restaurant is truly World Class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

This is an excellent restaurant and I wo ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

This is an excellent restaurant and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in fine cuisine in an intimate setting. Our waiter Diego, was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Daytona

Dined on November 14, 2015

I heard about this place a few years ago and finally got to try it out. I was not disappointed. The service, food, wine, staff were all four stars. They do not advertise and admission is by reservation only, another sign of a great restaurant. My partner and I had a great "date" night. Thank you Lena! (Rusty's friends).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service, great food

Dined on November 9, 2015

We have been frequenting the Cellar for about five years and have never been disappointed. The service is impeccable, the food always prepared perfectly. A great, romantic spot in an historic building. We can recommend it without reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Evening

Dined on November 5, 2015

Enjoyed it with 3 other guys. Listed on Historical Register, and old photos of Warren Harding were interesting. Ceiling a bit low, so a bit on the noisy side.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food

Dined on November 4, 2015

This guy knows his food. Interesting dishes that are well thought out and executed. My only negative comment is that the whole place is very disorganized. I'm sure it has to do with the fact there are two small kitchens on opposite sides of the place. The beet salad was a bit light on the beets. I would have enjoyed a small offering of bread or an amuse Bouche. Overall good though

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully romantic

Dined on October 31, 2015

The Cellar is such a gem in the Daytona area. I brought my boyfriend for his 25th birthday, and it was absolutely beautiful. The location is sweet, and the staff all humble and quick to cater to any need. Thank you to all the staff at the Cellar, you made the night so special for our short stay. We are Miami Beach locals, and avid restaurant goers. I am so happy that we found each other, and I look forward to spending some time amongst the dim-lit, romantic ambience if I'm to come to Daytona again. Thank you all! <3

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! Very innovative men ...

Dined on October 28, 2015

Food was wonderful! Very innovative menu!

food5
ambience5
service5

Racergirl

Dined on October 24, 2015

While at Daytona for a 3 day PCA event, we ate at the Cellar every night. Lena is very welcoming with fine knowledge of her extensive wine list. The food is scrumptious with lovely combinations of ingredients. Nicole is a sweet competent server. It's THE place for fine dining in Daytona!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of Daytona

Dined on October 24, 2015

We in Daytona are fortunate to have such a classy and elegant restaurant! There are always great choices for appetizers, entrees and desserts. And I am always happy to have a restaurant who serves espresso to top off the evening! I must remind myself to go more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very impressive and must try!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

I'm Italian origin, i live in Miami and because of my business i travel to Europe and eat in the best restaurants you can imagine. I am very difficult when it comes to food, wine and service. i always try to avoid eating in american Italian restaurants because most of the time i can do it better at home. I could tell you that I was very impressed with the food, presentation, service, pricing and the wine list. It will be one of my hang outs when in Daytona Beach which is once a month.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Was charge ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Outstanding food and service. Was charged $40 corkage for bringing my own wine. I've never been charged more than $25 for corkage elsewhere with most restaurants charging $15. If you dine at The Cellar drink water! And don't bring your own water since they may charge you $40 corkage!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Evening

Dined on October 17, 2015

The Cellar is always outstanding. Wonderful, creative entrees, great service and a fine fine selection.

Tags: romance, special occasions, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.