About The Cellar Restaurant

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: 386-258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Food
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Service
Orlando / Central Florida East
8 More
Best Ambiance
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
Romantic
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Overall
Daytona Beach
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Daytona Beach ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (29)
notable wine list (28)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best Restaurants in Volusia C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the best Restaurants in Volusia County ! We have never been disappointed. Have compared similar dishes at other highly recommended restaurants and the Cellar always wins.

Pasta, salads, fish, Veal....all wonderful ! Service is top notch, professional, friendly & attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere were top notch. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and atmosphere were top notch. Our server Nicole was great, she knew the menu and everything she suggested was spot on. This is a top spot to dine!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for me and my wife for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent choice for me and my wife for date night while on vacation

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the environment is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing, the environment is excellent. We will be going again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best place in Central Florida, alway ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Best place in Central Florida, always outstanding...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good. Th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was very good. The ambiance is good, particularly since it is in a cellar. The tuna special was very good as were the veal dishes. The salads were very different and flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A completely wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A completely wonderful dining experience from the food, to the service, to the atmosphere -- everything was uniformly great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Nicole was amazing. Nicole wa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server Nicole was amazing. Nicole was attentive in a non obtrusive way to our conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only Florida restaurant where I rea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The only Florida restaurant where I really love to take friends and family . So exceptional.

One bite of their pasta and you realize what you have been settling for. It's shocking how good it is. Of course, all their dishes are carefully prepared and presented as if they we entertaining their friends and family.

Never disappoints, always special. Delightful .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent all around the meal was prepar ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

excellent all around

the meal was prepared and served well, and well above the usual preparation--

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Italian dining. Even a basic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding Italian dining. Even a basic pasta was amazingly executed - I could have eaten it as an entree! Unique and charming atmosphere, well staffed - trust your servers wine suggestions! Was staying in Daytona for weekend away but will be driving up from home in Orlando just to eat here again soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance, menu items, superb and com ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The ambiance, menu items, superb and comprehensive wine list, and expertise of the kitchen will satisfy even the most discriminating individual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellar always has the best food. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Cellar always has the best food. The pasta is simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint downstairs venue with good menu. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Quaint downstairs venue with good menu.

But the noise level on this Friday evening was too much for me. I carry a sound level meter on my smartphone (professional necessity). The routine din was 86 decibels. That is only one tick away from a heavy machine operator 3 feet from his/her equipment.

Not conducive to enjoy an expensive dinner.

In my mind there is a difference between energetic and frenetic. The two male waiters contribute to the noise by bellowing at each table.

There are physical things to improve the situation (softer fabric and ceiling, quiet music, etc).

But the best menu in the world isn't enjoyable when you have to shout to your date 3 feet away thru dinner. There are a few tables of 6. They had to shout to communicate.

One staff member said it was quieter during the week. The place deserves another try but on a Tuesday.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Interesting place with good food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very small place with about a dozen tables. Luckily for us when we first arrived at 6:00 there was only a few tables occupied so it was quiet and cozy. By 7pm the place was full and it was quite noisy and we were sandwiched between two 'loud' ladies - my husband and I prefer a more quiet atmosphere for fine dining. My husband absolutely loved his dishes (half a portion of meat raviolis for his appetizer (not on the appetizer menu but they will do half of a pasta dish as your appetizer if you ask for it) and the snapper & jumbo shrimps (Duetto Verde e Nero) for his main dish - I loved my prosciutto and melons dish for my appetizer and the lamb (Osso Buco D'Agnelo con Risotto alle Verdure) was very tender but I would have prefer a nice tomato or beef sauce with it - I'm not a really big fan of risotto. My big disappointment was my chocolate mousse which had too much salt in it since I was looking for a bittersweet taste to end my meal and was a bit shocked to taste something salty at that finishing stage of my meal - it was nice of them not to charge me for it. They do make an awesome cappuccino. I also love the fact that I could order half a bottle of wine (really nice Etude Pinot Noir) since my husband doesn't. Our lady server was very nice and helpful and accepted my opinion of my dessert with grace as was the manager, which I was very grateful and showed that they really care.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Experience

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at The Cellar Restaurant to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed! We made reservations about 2 weeks in advance and were seated immediately when we arrived. The food, service, WINE and atmosphere were all excellent! We definitely recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, European ambience, excellen ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great place, European ambience, excellent cuisine and unobtrusive service. I think the pasta dishes could be more reasonably priced so that more people would order these as a pre-cursor to the main dish as you would in Italy. Instead I think people order the pasta as a main dish (which is fine as it is excellent) and they miss out on the other main entree dishes. The main entree dishes are unique and also excellent. Overall it was a fine dining experience and I would highly recommend. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top noche Italian

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I find many Italian restaurants boring. Not so with The Cellar. The avocado and crab and shrimp appetizer was very nice as was the duck. Efficient service and a great wine list made this a memorable evening meal. I will head back here next chance I get.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect. Homemade pasta s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was perfect. Homemade pasta sets it apart from

Most places. Such attention to detail and spectacular wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and atmosphere were outst ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding. A superb dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. Neve ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Never had anything that wasn't pleasing to palate or the eye.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Restaurant for Special Occasion

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

...or when you just want to have a lovely evening out with great food, excellent service and beautiful ambiance. This restaurant was a wonderful find in Daytona. Wished I lived closer, if I did I would go as often as I could. Can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic find on our only night in Daytona Beach

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were so happy to find the Cellar when we had only one night in Daytona Beach for dinner. All of the staff were gracious and welcoming even though we were the last table seated for the night. All of the food we tried was wonderful. They serve half orders of pasta which was perfect because we can't resist homemade pasta! Everything we tried was wonderful. The owner Lena was a lovely host and it was obvious that she pays attention to every detail. I will definitely go back next time I am in Daytona Beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best in the area!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Fabulous food excellent wine tremendous service

It is always special when you dine at The Cellar

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

25th Anniversary. Best place to go for ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

25th Anniversary. Best place to go for food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and presentation

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our meal was excellent with great food presentation. Service was attentive. Very nice ambiance .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food very romantic awesome find th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

great food very romantic awesome find the whole staff was very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in Daytona Beach

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Hands down The Cellar is Daytona's finest restaurant. Impeccable service, outstanding cuisine all in an intimate environment. The cost is higher than most restaurants in this area but WELL worth the extra expense. We could not recommend The Cellar more highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at The Cellar many times o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We have dined at The Cellar many times over the years. It remains our favorite place to dine in the area. Exemplary staff and the food is consistently prepared to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellar was a welcome surprise that l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The Cellar was a welcome surprise that left us looking for for a return date even before we left. Price was reflective of the overall experience. Atmosphere was classy. Waitstaff attentive without being intrusive. Food was well prepared and presented, taste was exceptional. After 12 years of coming to Daytona for the month of March, this is by far the best best restaurant we have been to. No question The Cellar is on our Must Return list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Everything was excellent! The staff was very attentive and polished. The service was on point and was not interruptive. Our food was exquisite. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food Always a great experienc ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Fantastic food

Always a great experience

First learned of The Cellar because of the rave reviews on Open Table

The Cellar never disappoints. The staff the ambience and especially the food is always fantastic !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was exquisite

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

If you don't mind spending a few dollars this place is very good. Literally the only drawback is the price, absolutely no complaints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

UPSCALE AND DELICIOUS

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

A MUST if you are in Daytona and looking for an upscale restaurant ...Food is Northern Italian and done perfectly...nothing else to say but go there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Intimate and delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a date on our vacation. This place was as good as any place we would go to for a special occasion in Chicago. The setting is very quiet, intimate, and romantic. The staff were all excellent and attentive without being overbearing. All recommendations were great and the wine recommendation was perfect. We had the sausage polenta, pesto farfalle, and the ribeye chef special which were all as good as anything we have had anywhere else. While the price seems expensive, its on par with any upscale dining in any major city and it delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

The Cellar is one of our regular special occasion restaurants in the Daytona Beach area. Never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Great place good food great service for special occasion

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at it's best in Daytona Beach

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Cellar Restaurant, starting with the welcome at the door to the fantastic service and even more awesome food! Since it was my birthday we decided to splurge and ordered appetizers, main courses and desserts. This restaurant is a bit expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion (how I envy those who go there frequently!). Although it has an extensive wine bar, we aren't that kind of couple and had a beer instead (thanks for having those!). This is the restaurant to go to if you want one of the best meals you've ever had, and it certainly made my birthday memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth going back!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

This dining experience was one of the highlights of our trip. Charming atmosphere, attentive staff, & absolutely delicious food!

The lamb chops melted in your mouth, & the duck was amazing. Then the desserts just topped it all off. Pricey but worth every penny. We look forward to going back. I'd probably order the duck (again)!

Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.