About The Cellar Restaurant

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: 386-258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Food
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Service
Orlando / Central Florida East
6 More
Best Ambiance
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Romantic
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Daytona Beach ›

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food well prepared and presented (S ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food well prepared and presented (SSue loved the rack of lamb cooked as ordered), good wine selection, great servers, cordial owner, can't wait to return. "Nuff said"!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine meal - Osso Bucco was a delight. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fine meal - Osso Bucco was a delight. Wife had a fine veal picante. She said it was the best EVER. Very nice meal. Fabulous wine list, too.

Will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in NYC and travel around the wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We live in NYC and travel around the world and we are super picky about food and restaurants. It better be very good. The Cellar is a true GEM! Ambiance, service, waiter demeanor, menu, wine list, and finally the most delicious and creative food! MUST go and try for yourselves! You won't be sorry. I promise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mother to The Cellar to celebr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I took my mother to The Cellar to celebrate her 69th birthday. Everything was great--the food, the setting and the wine. It was a relaxing and memorable evening for the four of us. I have lived in the Daytona Beach area for a number of years, and this was my first time to The Cellar. I will be back with friends, family and business associates. Bravo and Grazie!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to The Cellar to celebrate my Bi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We went to The Cellar to celebrate my Birthday. I was excited because I had excellent food the previous 2 times. To start we had 3 Lobster Specials & Carpaccio di Manzo. All appetizers were excellent. 2nd course we had (1/2 portion) Pappardelle con Grancio e Pesto & Pappardelle con Salsiccia; both were very good but very small portions. Entrees' consisted of Duck Breast; he thought it was very good although he was very sick in night & early morning. My husband had the Salmon special & said it was excellent. My sister and I had the Ribeye steak special ($45). It was the worst piece of meat I have ever tasted. It was about 1 1/2" thick & when I cut in center it was like sawing wood. I asked for med rare & got well done, same as other guest. This piece of meat had absolutely no taste! I told the waiter our steaks were terrible, he said he would talk to manager. The manager never came to the table! Our waiter returned & said the steak would be comped. I did not find out until the next day that only one steak was comped.

Needless to say I will not return as well as our companions...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Treated a friend to birthday dinner and ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Treated a friend to birthday dinner and he loved it! We all had a starter - and everyone was happy. The avocado with shrimp and crab salad was terrific! The mushroom risotto was gobbled and everyone cleaned their plates. The affogato was delicious! We will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Italian food in a nice and cozy at ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Italian food in a nice and cozy atmosphere. It does get a little noisy as mentioned by some of the other reviewers but it wasn't too bad on the night of our visit. I highly recommend the Cellar if you're looking to have a nice dinner out with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, good value for t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent, good value for the quality. Our server was new and learning, but very attentive. Over all, a lovely experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was decent, service was great, but ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was decent, service was great, but table about 20ft from us talking in normal voices was so annoying we had to move our table around the corner and we could still hear all of their conversation. Terrible acoustics!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Cellar is by far, one of the best re ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Cellar is by far, one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The food and service were second to none.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a special night out, we definitely chose the right place. We loved our meal, our server was great and the night was just what we had wanted. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining exemplified. From the moment ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fine dining exemplified. From the moment you enter the restaurant is top notch. Highly professional waitstaff, good wine list, great menu options. Food was as good as expected for the price, which is fairly high. All in all an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very delightful evening with good frie ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

A very delightful evening with good friends and very good food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was very impressive but t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The atmosphere was very impressive but the employees were more so. Very polite and professional. The food was exceptional. People had said it is pricey but if you can supply quality then it is worth it. I highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always celebrate our anniversary at T ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We always celebrate our anniversary at The Cellar. Never disappoints. Food, atmosphere, service always excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get there often enough. It is a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We don't get there often enough. It is a special evening to go there. Always great. Service is

always excellent as are menu choices.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We drive in from Orlando to come to the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We drive in from Orlando to come to the Cellar... it is certainly worth the drive!! The BEST filet mignon ever!!! Everything was perfect... and ALL OF THE FOOD deliciously prepared!! The Cellar is the best food you will find in Daytona, hands down!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 11 year wed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 19, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 11 year wedding anniversary and decided to dine at a nice Italian restaurant near Daytona Beach. The service ,the food,the ambiance was all great. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting the Daytona Beach area

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This our favorite restaurant for both da ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This our favorite restaurant for both date night and special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful presentation of dishes. Servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful presentation of dishes. Service was without flaw. Because of the cosy atmosphere the noise level is high and impossible to have a private conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our anniversary and we were loo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our anniversary and we were looking for something special.. We found it. The food was superior and Joseph our server was top notch. My appetizer was a lamb ravioli with a cream mushroom sauce, melt in your mouth. The main course was sea scallops on risotto, vegetable medley ( that included some golden beets) and a small portion of au gratin potatoes. All were delish. The ambiance was perfect, a nice quiet corner without the noise that you have of chain restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife there for her birthday on ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I took my wife there for her birthday on a Wednesday at 6 p.m. It's a bit pricey for what you get.

As we reached the bottom of the stairwell into the cellar, we both detected a bit of a musty odor. The tables were arranged too close together for my preference. My snapper was overcooked. My wife's salmon was cooked perfectly. The plates were "over-stacked" with too many different vegetables/flavors going on. Acoustics are not good, as loud people conversing can be annoying. Early on there was a woman halfway across the room who was complaining to her male companion about how she had been disrespected by someone. It's hard to have a normal conversation with the noise which get louder as the room begins to fill with people around 6:30. You can order a half portion of a pasta dish as an appetizer, so we ordered the Ravioli Marco Polo. We both thought it was too al dente and too doughy. The wine list was fairly extensive, but it had only a few choices of Italian wines with the DOC and DOCG certifications . . . disappointing for an Italian restaurant. The service was outstanding. Our water glasses were kept full, and the wine was appropriately poured for us. The kitchen was fast with all courses. We were pleasantly surprised when the server placed a lit candle on my wife's "lava cake," to celebrate her birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I was so pleased to find this amazingly ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was so pleased to find this amazingly quaint restaurant in Daytona! The food, service, ambience were impeccable. It's truly a rare find and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The couple that own this place have the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The couple that own this place have the restaurant in their home but what a great job they did with the layout and design. Aside from that it is a hidden gem in Daytona and if you love different variations of Italian food this is a definite place to stop

The foods were all prepared fresh the wine list extensive and the service was right there.

Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've dined at the Cellar many times over ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've dined at the Cellar many times over the course of 2 years, driving 77 miles South to enjoy their rich gems and morsels. This occasion it was phenomenal!!! My guest and I shared the Gnocchi special appetizer and it provided flavors of Italy. For the entree, I had the OssoBucco and my guest had the Snapper special. Both were to die for!!

Joseph, our server was top notch, as he always is! The wine list contains some wonderful Italian wines that will satisfy any palate. I maintain a 500 bottle inventory of wines from Italy, France and California. I prefer to select from The Cellar's inventory since they do possess some top notch Wineries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best Italian food in Florida. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 28, 2016

By far the best Italian food in Florida. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at our table for almost 2 hours and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Sat at our table for almost 2 hours and during that time frame we had food in front us for maybe 25 minutes, tops. It is Italian, feed me like it is Italian. And if you want a pre or post dinner drink, don't eat here. They don't exist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Another outstanding dinner at the Cellar ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Another outstanding dinner at the Cellar. It's our special occasion place and we are never disappointed. My duck and my husband's veal were perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. When Lina learned that it was my birthday she treated us to a lovely little dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Ann ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary at The Cellar and it was the perfect choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best restaurant in Daytona are ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Still the best restaurant in Daytona area! Great food and good Napa and other wines. Our guests were very happy and I love the Espresso while others eat desert! I heartily recommend The Cellar!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just returned from wonderful evening at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Just returned from wonderful evening at the Cellar. We always celebrate special occasions here. Our server Jasmine was very professional and attentive.

Look forward to our next return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cellar is one of my wife and my favo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Cellar is one of my wife and my favorite restaurants in the Daytona Beach area, when we're looking for a very special dining-out evening. It's definitely not an "every day" type of place because the bill can climb quite quickly if you pick a nice bottle of wine from their extensive wine list, and some of the entrees aren't what you'd call inexpensive. That said, the food is truly excellent, and the ambiance of the dining rooms is one-of-a-kind for the area, and there's a lot of interesting history to the building itself. It's not impossible to get in for dinner without a reservation, but we'd highly recommend it. It's not a large restaurant, which is a major plus for us, and they always seem very busy. If you don't mind splurging a little for an exceptional meal, you won't leave disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I was impressed with the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found this restaurant by an Internet s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2016

I found this restaurant by an Internet search for a romantic restaurant to take my wife to for her birthday while we were on our Florida vacation. We were not disappointed !! The food was awesome, the service was excellent, and the ambiance of the restaurant was welcoming and outstanding. It was by far the best meal we had on the entire trip and provided us with lasting memories of my Wife's Birthday. Thank You again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just delightful to be there. Never disap ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just delightful to be there. Never disappoint, always consistently delicious. The best restaurant by far. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at the Cellar, it is ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time at the Cellar, it is nice to find a spot with formal dinner setting. The reservation was a breeze. The service was excellent. The dinner menu had lot of options. The wine list deserves a special mention. The food was excellent, and appetizing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant with outstanding ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2016

A wonderful restaurant with outstanding food and a perfect amount of attention from the waiter. The wine list is extensive, the fresh hand made pasta was delectable and the desserts are special. Enhancing it all was the cozy atmosphere of being in a cellar!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town on vacation celebrating ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were in town on vacation celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The Cellar was the perfect place to go, romantic, excellent food, and extensive wine list. The elk was our favorite thing and was wonderful, tender, and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food I have had in a long time.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Best food I have had in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a larger party came, my table becam ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Once a larger party came, my table became less of a priority to my waitress. They did explain that the food would take longer to be served (as it is made fresh), but there was a solid 30 to 40 minute wait between the appetizer and the entrée. My bill took a while to be brought as well and when I asked for a refill for an empty cup, it took 5 minutes (I timed it) to get me my drink. I had already been sitting for a few minutes with an empty cup before I got my waitresses attention.

Overall it was a great experience for the food part, but the service could be better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.