Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About The Cellar Restaurant

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: (386) 258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Historic (11)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (0)
Sort By:
S
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another great meal, just that simple!! The service and food are second to none. And don't even start on the wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and great atmosphere.
You will not find a better assortment of homemade desserts anywhere in the area.

Wonderful service!

We will be back at least once a month.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a special place for dinner...service is great..food delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, and the staff was awesome, especially Richard, our waiter. Ask for him, you won't be sorry. Lina, the hostess and half owner also suggested (at our request) a great bottle of wine that would go well with our veal, and her suggestion was spot on perfect!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very nice food, excellent wine selection, great service, highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Almost everything was superb, especially the service (Cesar and the hostess) and overall ambiance. The carpaccio was excellent and the ravioli also fine. My 'osso bucco' was actually a braised lamb shank, ample and very tasty but not what I had anticipated.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This restaurant never fails to please. The food is creative and absolutely delicious. The service is attentive but not hovering. Very nice wine list and it is a lovely setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our second visit and we are going to put it on our "todo list" at least once a month. EVERYTHING was A+.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One word captures our experience at The Cellar... Perfect! It was wonderful from the very first bite to the final sip of espresso. It is worth the money! Bon appetit

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Was here for vacation. First time eating at the Cellar. It was amazing. Food was delicious and services was beyond Great. Definitely will be coming back

Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Location is awesome but the food was just okay. We had the fish special and the salmon. Salmon was definitely better and for the price the food was not over the top.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Cellar is my favorite restaurant in the Daytona Beach area. The cuisine is creative and delicious. The chef offers the most wonderful and unique ingredients. The service is exceptional and attentive. Can't say enough about this great spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Perfect for a romantic dinner. Very quiet with excellent service from waiter. Highly recommended! Very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We weren't very pleased with metrodie. She wasn't very hospitable and professional.
For restaurant like this you need to have a more professional one.
The food were great.
Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoy this restaurant. It is warm and friendly with great food and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This restaurant was exceptional. My husband and I were so impressed we made a reservation for Valentine's day. The restaurant is in a cellar but there is a very nice dining room where one does not have to traverse stairs which was good for my husband. Service was superb. The waiter was there when one wanted something and he disappeared when we were eating or talking. The wine we had (a Super Tuscan) was really very good. The wine list is very extensive so for wine lovers it is a dream. Can't imagine anyone not liking it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Best place in Daytona Beach for special occasions. Never disappointed with food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service and very warm atmosphere

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a classy restaurant with food you do not ordinarily find in nearby restaurants. I usually try something new and I am never disappointed. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time at this Restaurant. My wife and I were celebrating our 15 year Wedding Anniversary and looking for a cozy, local type of restaurant that offered more of a fine dining experience. This place was perfect and we were both very happy with the entire experience. The food was exceptional! The owner recognized from my reservation it was our anniversary. She came to our table and said Happy Anniversary and gave us a free dessert. We cannot wait to go back for another dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I was a big fan of the Cellar for years. It's seems something has changed. The staff is not as attentive and forgetful. They have reduced the quantity and quality of the portions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Attentive service, great advice on wine selection, and meal was terrific!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food and service was tasty and good. The owner was nice, greeted us down stairs then seated us quickly. Our server was knowledgeable and great with his descriptions of each plate. We had a couple glasses of wine with 2-apps and 2-dinners. The food was favorable, tasty, done right. The portions were all a little on the smaller, light side. Our total bill was $111 for 2, then add tip. We felt the restaurant did a great job for the area, it's tough to find restaurant's/service in the Daytona beach area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Took my wife and father-in-law, for my wifes birthday. ..the staff was very attentive and professional. ..it had a speak easy type of style to it...the food was excellent, along with their long wine list...will be back soon. ..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was outstanding! Best we've found in Daytona Beach.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This is our go to soot in Daytona. It never disappoints. Great food served be great people.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Memorable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always a great experience. Great food, service all in a beautiful historic building. Put it on your to do list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food well prepared and presented (SSue loved the rack of lamb cooked as ordered), good wine selection, great servers, cordial owner, can't wait to return. "Nuff said"!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fine meal - Osso Bucco was a delight. Wife had a fine veal picante. She said it was the best EVER. Very nice meal. Fabulous wine list, too.

Will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We live in NYC and travel around the world and we are super picky about food and restaurants. It better be very good. The Cellar is a true GEM! Ambiance, service, waiter demeanor, menu, wine list, and finally the most delicious and creative food! MUST go and try for yourselves! You won't be sorry. I promise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I took my mother to The Cellar to celebrate her 69th birthday. Everything was great--the food, the setting and the wine. It was a relaxing and memorable evening for the four of us. I have lived in the Daytona Beach area for a number of years, and this was my first time to The Cellar. I will be back with friends, family and business associates. Bravo and Grazie!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We went to The Cellar to celebrate my Birthday. I was excited because I had excellent food the previous 2 times. To start we had 3 Lobster Specials & Carpaccio di Manzo. All appetizers were excellent. 2nd course we had (1/2 portion) Pappardelle con Grancio e Pesto & Pappardelle con Salsiccia; both were very good but very small portions. Entrees' consisted of Duck Breast; he thought it was very good although he was very sick in night & early morning. My husband had the Salmon special & said it was excellent. My sister and I had the Ribeye steak special ($45). It was the worst piece of meat I have ever tasted. It was about 1 1/2" thick & when I cut in center it was like sawing wood. I asked for med rare & got well done, same as other guest. This piece of meat had absolutely no taste! I told the waiter our steaks were terrible, he said he would talk to manager. The manager never came to the table! Our waiter returned & said the steak would be comped. I did not find out until the next day that only one steak was comped.
Needless to say I will not return as well as our companions...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Treated a friend to birthday dinner and he loved it! We all had a starter - and everyone was happy. The avocado with shrimp and crab salad was terrific! The mushroom risotto was gobbled and everyone cleaned their plates. The affogato was delicious! We will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Italian food in a nice and cozy atmosphere. It does get a little noisy as mentioned by some of the other reviewers but it wasn't too bad on the night of our visit. I highly recommend the Cellar if you're looking to have a nice dinner out with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent, good value for the quality. Our server was new and learning, but very attentive. Over all, a lovely experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was decent, service was great, but table about 20ft from us talking in normal voices was so annoying we had to move our table around the corner and we could still hear all of their conversation. Terrible acoustics!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Cellar is by far, one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The food and service were second to none.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a special night out, we definitely chose the right place. We loved our meal, our server was great and the night was just what we had wanted. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fine dining exemplified. From the moment you enter the restaurant is top notch. Highly professional waitstaff, good wine list, great menu options. Food was as good as expected for the price, which is fairly high. All in all an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.